Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 423 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (44) Tires (2)
Electrical System (45) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (96) Traction Control System (15)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (103) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (12)
Engine (13) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (68)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (20) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/9/2018 - FRANKLIN, TN
THE HEADLIGHTS COME ON AND OFF. BULBS HAVE BEEN REPLACED, FUSES AND STILL THEY PERIODICALLY COME ON AND OFF. WHEN I TAKE THE TO DEALER THEY SAY NO ISSUES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/5/2018 - PHOENIX, AZ
EVERY DAY ONE OF MY HEADLIGHTS ARE NOT WORKING. ONE DAY IT COULD BE THE LEFT ONE, THE OTHER DAY COULD BE THE RIGHT ONE. I'M AFRAID BOTH MIGHT GO OUT DURING NIGHT TIME DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2018 - PASADENA, CA
COMPLETE SHUTDOWN OF PRIUS AUTOMOBILE WITH NO WARNING WHILE IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET. ROLLED TO A STOP IN SAFE AREA. NOTHING WORKED EXCEPT EMERGENCY BLINKERS. NO INSTRUMENTATION OR WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED. THE CAR WAS LOCKED IN FWD PARK AND COULD NOT BE TOWED BY FLATBED TOW TRUCK AS THERE IS NO OVERRIDE. LIFT TOW TRUCK WAS USED TO GET TO DEALER. DIAGNOSED AS MELTED HYBRID INVERTOR PUMP. DEALER REPLACED PUMP AND FUSE FOR A $641.47 COST TO ME. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY/FREEWAY IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER. THE COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT WARNING AT FREEWAY SPEED COULD VERY EASILY ENDED UP AS A MULTIPLE CAR PILE UP. JUST THE THOUGHT OF CROSSING MULTIPLE LANES IN TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER, JUST ROLLING, MAKES ME THINK IT'S TIME TO GET RID OF THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2018 - PASADENA, CA
COMPLETE SHUTDOWN OF PRIUS AUTOMOBILE WITH NO WARNING WHILE IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET. ROLLED TO A STOP IN SAFE AREA. NOTHING WORKED EXCEPT EMERGENCY BLINKERS. NO INSTRUMENTATION OR WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED. THE CAR WAS LOCKED IN FWD PARK AND COULD NOT BE TOWED BY FLATBED TOW TRUCK AS THERE IS NO OVERRIDE. LIFT TOW TRUCK WAS USED TO GET TO DEALER. DIAGNOSED AS MELTED HYBRID INVERTOR PUMP. DEALER REPLACED PUMP AND FUSE FOR A $641.47 COST TO ME. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY/FREEWAY IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER. THE COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT WARNING AT FREEWAY SPEED COULD VERY EASILY ENDED UP AS A MULTIPLE CAR PILE UP. JUST THE THOUGHT OF CROSSING MULTIPLE LANES IN TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER, JUST ROLLING, MAKES ME THINK IT'S TIME TO GET RID OF THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2018 - PASADENA, CA
COMPLETE SHUTDOWN OF PRIUS AUTOMOBILE WITH NO WARNING WHILE IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET. ROLLED TO A STOP IN SAFE AREA. NOTHING WORKED EXCEPT EMERGENCY BLINKERS. NO INSTRUMENTATION OR WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED. THE CAR WAS LOCKED IN FWD PARK AND COULD NOT BE TOWED BY FLATBED TOW TRUCK AS THERE IS NO OVERRIDE. LIFT TOW TRUCK WAS USED TO GET TO DEALER. DIAGNOSED AS MELTED HYBRID INVERTOR PUMP. DEALER REPLACED PUMP AND FUSE FOR A $641.47 COST TO ME. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY/FREEWAY IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER. THE COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT WARNING AT FREEWAY SPEED COULD VERY EASILY ENDED UP AS A MULTIPLE CAR PILE UP. JUST THE THOUGHT OF CROSSING MULTIPLE LANES IN TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER, JUST ROLLING, MAKES ME THINK IT'S TIME TO GET RID OF THIS CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/16/2018 - FRESNO, CA
THE LIGHTBULBS BURN OUT VERY EASILY. THE CAR STALLS WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO LEAVE FROM A LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS BUT NOT ON MY MODEL AND THERE SHOULD BE SOMETIMES WHEN STOPPING ON BREAKS THE CAR WILL SHOW SLIPPERY ALERT EVEN THOUGHT THERE IS NO REASON FOR IT. ALL THESE THINGS HAVE CAUSED DANGER FOR US WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR YEARS

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/16/2018 - FRESNO, CA
THE LIGHTBULBS BURN OUT VERY EASILY. THE CAR STALLS WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO LEAVE FROM A LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS BUT NOT ON MY MODEL AND THERE SHOULD BE SOMETIMES WHEN STOPPING ON BREAKS THE CAR WILL SHOW SLIPPERY ALERT EVEN THOUGHT THERE IS NO REASON FOR IT. ALL THESE THINGS HAVE CAUSED DANGER FOR US WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR YEARS

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/11/2018 - KAYSVILLE, UT
MY HEADLIGHTS KEEP RANDOMLY TURNING OFF ON THEIR OWN WHILE PARKED OR DRIVING, IN THE DARK OR THE LIGHT. TO TROUBLESHOOT I HAVE REPLACED THE HEADLIGHTS AND TIGHTENED THE WIRE CONNECTIONS, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. ONLY TURNING THE HEADLIGHTS OFF AND BACK ON SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY FIX THE PROBLEM...UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT TURNS ITSELF OFF. I HAD A SIMILAR PROBLEM WITH MY HONDA PILOT 2005 A FEW YEARS AGO AND THERE WAS A SAFETY RECALL ON THE HEADLIGHT WIRE HARNESS KIT THAT WAS CORRODED FROM HUMIDITY AND OVERHEATING AND FAILING. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED DOZENS OF TIME ON MY PRIUS, MOSTLY AFFECTING THE LEFT HEADLIGHT ONLY, BUT A COUPLE TIMES ON BOTH HEADLIGHTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2018 - KAYSVILLE, UT
MY HEADLIGHTS KEEP RANDOMLY TURNING OFF ON THEIR OWN WHILE PARKED OR DRIVING, IN THE DARK OR THE LIGHT. TO TROUBLESHOOT I HAVE REPLACED THE HEADLIGHTS AND TIGHTENED THE WIRE CONNECTIONS, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. ONLY TURNING THE HEADLIGHTS OFF AND BACK ON SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY FIX THE PROBLEM...UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT TURNS ITSELF OFF. I HAD A SIMILAR PROBLEM WITH MY HONDA PILOT 2005 A FEW YEARS AGO AND THERE WAS A SAFETY RECALL ON THE HEADLIGHT WIRE HARNESS KIT THAT WAS CORRODED FROM HUMIDITY AND OVERHEATING AND FAILING. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED DOZENS OF TIME ON MY PRIUS, MOSTLY AFFECTING THE LEFT HEADLIGHT ONLY, BUT A COUPLE TIMES ON BOTH HEADLIGHTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/9/2018 - MESA, AZ
LAST YEAR MY HEADLIGHTS STARTED FLICKING ON AND THEN WHEN I TURNED THEM OFF AND THEN BACK ON, THEY WOULD BOTH WORK AGAIN. SOMETIMES IT'S JUST ONE HEADLIGHT, EITHER LEFT OR RIGHT AND SOMETIMES ITS BOTH AT THE SAME TIME OR ONE AND THEN IN A MILE OR TWO THE OTHER MAKING IT SO BOTH ARE OUT. I'VE HAD MY BULBS REPLACED AND SINCE LOOKED AT AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THE BULBS WERE BOTH STILL GOOD. I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT IS A VERY EXPENSIVE PROCESS FOR FIXING THE PROBLEM BUT IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS TO BE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT 65 MPH WITH TWO KIDS IN THE CAR AND HAVE BOTH HEADLIGHTS GO OUT ON YOU. IT HAPPENS WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHAT TYPE OF SURFACE WE ARE DRIVING ON. I HAPPENS EVERY SINGLE TIME I DRIVE MY CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds