Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 82 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (4) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (12) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (5) Wheels (11)
Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

4/14/2014 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
I HAVE A VOLKSWAGEN 2009 VW ROUTON VAN...AKA REBADGED CHRYSLER MINI VAN. THE OEM TPMS HAS A NON-ANODIZED ALUMINUM VALVE RETAINING NUT WHICH CRACKED AND CAUSED A DEFLATION AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE. TO HAVE A SAFETY DEVICE THAT CAUSES AN UNSAFE CONDITION AND A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE THAT COULD LEAD TO INJURY OR DEATH IS UNACCEPTABLE. I HAVE INSPECTED THE OTHER THREE RETAINING NUTS ON THE VALVE STEMS AND FOUND ONE THAT IS CRACKED AND THE THE OTHERS HAVE SEVERE CORROSION THAT WILL NEED REPAIRED AND REPLACED. A RUBBER AND BRASS VALVE STEM THAT WAS TRUE AND TRIED AND "SAFE" FOR SO MANY YEARS WAS THE ACCEPTED NORM TO BE REPLACED WHEN YOU PUT NEW TIRES ON A VEHICLE. I NOW FIND MYSELF ASKING, HAVE ENGINEERS IGNORED AND FORGOTTEN THE PRINCIPLES OF CORROSION AND THE ENVIRONMENT HAS ON ALUMINUM METALS TO MAKE SUCH A TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM, THAT IS SET UP TO FAIL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - CANTON, MI
WE HAVE A 2009 VW ROUTAN SEL THAT HAS STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES NOW (4-5) WHILE DRIVING. THERE IS NO WARNING AND CAR LOSES POWER. CAR STARTS UP IMMEDIATELY AFTER PUTTING IN PARK AND RESTARTING. THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM AND THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2010 MODEL AS WELL AS THE CHRYSLER MINIVAN WHICH THIS CAR IS BASED FROM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - CANTON, MI
WE HAVE A 2009 VW ROUTAN SEL THAT HAS STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES NOW (4-5) WHILE DRIVING. THERE IS NO WARNING AND CAR LOSES POWER. CAR STARTS UP IMMEDIATELY AFTER PUTTING IN PARK AND RESTARTING. THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM AND THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2010 MODEL AS WELL AS THE CHRYSLER MINIVAN WHICH THIS CAR IS BASED FROM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - ELIZABETHTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH THE ENGINE INCLUDING ELECTRICITY AND POWER STEERING SHUTS OFF COMPLETELY. HAD TO PULL OVER AND PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART THE CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. I TOLD THE DEALER THAT I READ ABOUT THE RECALL ON THE YEAR AFTER MODEL THAT THEY FIXED THEIR CAR (CHANGED WIN MODULE) FREE OF CHARGE. HE SAID MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. WHEN DOES IT BECOME A RECALL? THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2014 - CHUGIAK, AK
SLIDING DOOR LOCKS MAKING VERY LOUD VIBRATING NOISE WHEN LOCKED AND FIT THE DESCRIPTION OF RECALL 10V252000 BY VW FOR 2009 ROUTANS MADE IN WINDSOR CANADA DURING THE SECOND HALF OF 2008. SAYS THAT CAR COULD CATCH FIRE BUT VW SAUS THAT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED SOME HOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2014 - FITHIAN, IL
VAN ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WILL NOT START. WHEN YOU TURN THE KEY YOU JUST GET A CLICK... THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 5 MONTHS (THE WHOLE TIME I HAVE HAD THIS VAN) SOME DAYS YOU TRY TO START IT, IT WONT START. THEN YOU TRY AGAIN AND IT MAY START. YESTERDAY THE VAN HAD TO BE TRAILERED TO A DEALERSHIP...BECAUSE YET AGAIN IT WILL NOT START. NOT THE BATTERY OR ALTERNATOR. WE BELEIVE IT IS A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

WHEELS

3/4/2014 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THE VALVE STEM BROKE OFF WHEN I WENT TO PUT AIR IN IT AND THE TIRE (FRONT DRIVER SIDE) IMMEDIATELY DEFLATED. THE VALVE STEM IS METAL AND APPARENTLY CORRODED. ABOUT A MONTH LATER THE REAR DRIVER SIDE BEGAN TO LEAK AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THEN TODAY (3/4/14) THE VALVE STEM BROKE OFF THE PASSANGER FRONT TIRE WHEN I WENT TO UNSCREW THE CAP (I COULD HEAR AIR HISSING OUT BEFORE I EVEN TOUCHED IT). IF THIS HAD HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING, I COULD HAVE HAD A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2014 - OVIDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE WIND MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2014 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES AND VIBRATES WHEN BRAKING AT OVER 30 MPH. HAD BRAKES SERVICE 3 TIMES AND THE PROBLEM STILL PERSISTS. THERE MUST A DEFECT IN THE BRAKE COMPONENT . OTHER OWNERS HAVE SIMILAR PROBLEMS .THEY SHOULD HAVE A RECALL OR SOMETHING BEFORE SOMEBODY DIES.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2013 - MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,046.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds