Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 146 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (57) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (5) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (37) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (6) Wheels (11)
Equipment (1) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/23/2015 - ST. LOUIS , MO
VEHICLE LOOSES ALL POWER WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPEN 3 TIMES IN 5 DAYS. HAPPENS RANDOMLY. TRIED USING ANOTHER KEY WITH NOTHING ON KEY CHAIN AND STILL HAPPENS. I ALSO TRIED TO GIGGLE KEY WHILE VEHICLE IS PARKED AND RUNNING BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE LOSE OF POWER. THIS IS VERY, VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE YOU HAVE LIMITED STEERING AND BRAKING WHEN ENGINE STALLS. VW WEB-SITE SAYS RECALL IS PENDING. THIS IS DANGEROUS!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - KEIZER , OR
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - SPRINGFEILD , VA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE FOR A FEW MILES AND THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V396000( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.PERFORMED A VIN LOOK UP AND THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. PP

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - ASHBURN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO SPECIFY WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2015 - YORK, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

1/3/2015 - LYNNWOOD, WA
OUR 2009 ROUTAN RANDOMLY LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE ATTEMPTS TO TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FIVE TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. OUR ROUTAN IS PART OF THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHICH SHOULD FIX THIS PROBLEM, YET MORE THAN SIX MONTHS AFTER THIS POTENTIALLY DEADLY RECALL WAS ISSUED, VOLKSWAGEN HAS NOT OFFICIALLY ISSUED A REPAIR, SO OUR DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPAIR. WE HAVE CONTACTED VOLKSWAGEN DIRECTLY, AND ALL WE HAVE BEEN TOLD IS "WE ARE STILL WAITING FOR MORE INFORMATION." CONSIDERING VOLKSWAGEN ISSUED THIS SAME RECALL ON THE 2010 ROUTAN MORE THAN THREE YEARS AGO AND SHOULD BE FAMILIAR WITH THE REPAIR, I FIND THIS UNACCEPTABLE. IT IS A LAWSUIT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/3/2015 - LYNNWOOD, WA
OUR 2009 ROUTAN RANDOMLY LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE ATTEMPTS TO TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FIVE TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. OUR ROUTAN IS PART OF THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHICH SHOULD FIX THIS PROBLEM, YET MORE THAN SIX MONTHS AFTER THIS POTENTIALLY DEADLY RECALL WAS ISSUED, VOLKSWAGEN HAS NOT OFFICIALLY ISSUED A REPAIR, SO OUR DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPAIR. WE HAVE CONTACTED VOLKSWAGEN DIRECTLY, AND ALL WE HAVE BEEN TOLD IS "WE ARE STILL WAITING FOR MORE INFORMATION." CONSIDERING VOLKSWAGEN ISSUED THIS SAME RECALL ON THE 2010 ROUTAN MORE THAN THREE YEARS AGO AND SHOULD BE FAMILIAR WITH THE REPAIR, I FIND THIS UNACCEPTABLE. IT IS A LAWSUIT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/3/2015 - LYNNWOOD, WA
OUR 2009 ROUTAN RANDOMLY LOSES POWER AND THE ENGINE ATTEMPTS TO TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FIVE TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. OUR ROUTAN IS PART OF THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL, WHICH SHOULD FIX THIS PROBLEM, YET MORE THAN SIX MONTHS AFTER THIS POTENTIALLY DEADLY RECALL WAS ISSUED, VOLKSWAGEN HAS NOT OFFICIALLY ISSUED A REPAIR, SO OUR DEALERSHIP WILL NOT REPAIR. WE HAVE CONTACTED VOLKSWAGEN DIRECTLY, AND ALL WE HAVE BEEN TOLD IS "WE ARE STILL WAITING FOR MORE INFORMATION." CONSIDERING VOLKSWAGEN ISSUED THIS SAME RECALL ON THE 2010 ROUTAN MORE THAN THREE YEARS AGO AND SHOULD BE FAMILIAR WITH THE REPAIR, I FIND THIS UNACCEPTABLE. IT IS A LAWSUIT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/30/2014 - SALINAS, CA
WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHERE THE VAN COMPLETELY SHUTS OFF EVEN WHILE RUNNING. REPORTED IT TO OUR LOCAL VW DEALER AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT IT MIGHT BE AN IGNITION PROBLEM WHICH IS PART OF A RECALL. WAS INFORMED THAT AT THIS TIME THEY CAN'T REPAIR IT BECAUSE THEY DON'T MAKE THAT PART. HAD IT COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ON US WHILE IT WAS GETTING SERVICED AT THE DEALER FOR NEW BRAKES. WAS TOLD THAT ALL IT NEEDED WAS NEW BATTERY. PAID FOR IT AND GOT IT TO START ONLY TO SHUT DOWN AGAIN TWO DAYS LATER. TOOK IT BACK AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THAT IT IS NOT THE RECALL ITS SOMETHING ELSE THATS CAUSING FOR THE CAR TO SHUT OFF. NOW THE DEALER SAID THAT THEY WILL PAY FOR THE PART BUT WE PAY FOR LABOR AND WE HAVE 7 DAYS TO AGREE. THEY NEED TO FIX THIS ONGOING PROBLEM. WE ARE NOW CARRYING AROUND $175 JUMPER TO START IT WHEN IT SHUTS OFF. HAVE HAD TO SIGN UP FOR TOW ASSISTANCE PROGRAM JUST IN CASE MY FAMILY IS STRANDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2014 - SALINAS, CA
WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHERE THE VAN COMPLETELY SHUTS OFF EVEN WHILE RUNNING. REPORTED IT TO OUR LOCAL VW DEALER AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT IT MIGHT BE AN IGNITION PROBLEM WHICH IS PART OF A RECALL. WAS INFORMED THAT AT THIS TIME THEY CAN'T REPAIR IT BECAUSE THEY DON'T MAKE THAT PART. HAD IT COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ON US WHILE IT WAS GETTING SERVICED AT THE DEALER FOR NEW BRAKES. WAS TOLD THAT ALL IT NEEDED WAS NEW BATTERY. PAID FOR IT AND GOT IT TO START ONLY TO SHUT DOWN AGAIN TWO DAYS LATER. TOOK IT BACK AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THAT IT IS NOT THE RECALL ITS SOMETHING ELSE THATS CAUSING FOR THE CAR TO SHUT OFF. NOW THE DEALER SAID THAT THEY WILL PAY FOR THE PART BUT WE PAY FOR LABOR AND WE HAVE 7 DAYS TO AGREE. THEY NEED TO FIX THIS ONGOING PROBLEM. WE ARE NOW CARRYING AROUND $175 JUMPER TO START IT WHEN IT SHUTS OFF. HAVE HAD TO SIGN UP FOR TOW ASSISTANCE PROGRAM JUST IN CASE MY FAMILY IS STRANDED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds