Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 222 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (109) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Visibility (2)
Engine (54) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2016 - SAHUARITA, AZ
THE CAR WON'T START INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN YOU TURN THE KEY IT JUST CLICKS. THE STARTER IS NOT ENGAGED OR THE FLYWHEEL DOESN'T TURN. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER SAID IT WAS FAULTY TIPM MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. GOOGLE TIPM ROUTAN/ CHRYSLER / DODGE / JEEP AND YOU WILL SEE THIS IS A HUGE PROBLEM. NOT SURE WHY THE GOVERNMENT WON'T FORCE CHRYSLER / VOLKSWAGEN (CHRYSLER MANUFACTURED THE ROUTAN FOR VOLKSWAGEN) TO RECALL THEM AFFECTED VEHICLES. THIS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND ITS A $1200 TO REPLACE. COMPLETELY RIDICULOUS IF THIS IS SUCH A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/7/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER WAS SHAKEN UP AND WAS TAKEN TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM FOR MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED AND TOWED TO A TOW YARD. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/28/2016 - MILLINGTON, TN
I BOUGHT MY VW ROUTAN USED IN SEPTEMBER 2014. IN THE 1ST COUPLE OF MONTHS THE TRANSMISSION WOULD STOP SHIFTING (I WOULD TURN IT OFF AND BACK ON) TO FIX IT AND IN NOVEMBER 2014 THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AND GOT STUCK IN 3RD GEAR WHILE DRIVING AND WOULDN'T RESET AFTER TURNING OFF, THIS IS WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AT 62,000 MILES. HAD TO HAVE A NEW $6000 TRANSMISSION BROUGHT IN FROM GERMANY TO BE PUT IN THE VAN. NOW LESS THAN 30,000 MILES LATER AFTER A NEW ORIGINAL TRANSMISSION PUT IN, HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM NOT SHIFTING OUT OF 3RD GEAR AND HAVING TO PULL IT OVER TURN IT OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON FOR IT TO WORK PROPERLY AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2016 - TORRINGTON, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED TEN TIMES PRIOR TO THIS FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/4/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I AM HAVING ALL KINDS OF BRAKE PROBLEMS! I HAD TO REPLACE ALL THE PADS AND ROTORS WHICH WHERE BADLY RUSTED AT 28000.AND NOW AT 44000 I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THEM ALL AGAIN AND CALLIBORS I ALSO HAD ALL 4 TIRES GO FLAT AT DIFFERENT TIMES BECAUSE OF VALVE SENSORS CORRODING AND FALLING INTO TIRES! SKYLIGHT LEAKS! DRIVERS SIDE SLIDING DOOR DOES NOT CLOSE AUTOMATICLY!RUBER ON RUNNING BOURDS KEPT COMMING OFF.DEALER FINNALY REINBURSED ME AFTER GOING BACK 2 OR3 TIMES TO HAVE THEM GLUE IT DOWN. I SPEND MORE TIME TRYING TO FIX IT THAN DRIVING IT IT ONLY HAS 44000 MILES! VEHICLE IS A LEMMON!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2016 - RANDALLS TOWN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V194000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2016 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ETIMES THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START FOR NO APPARENT REASON.VW SERVICE DEPT. CANNOT DETECT AN ISSUE. INE LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING-VW CANNOT DETECT ANYTHING WRONG.* ALARMS GO OFF BUT NO SIGNAL SHOWING ON THE DASHBOARD.ER WINDOWS AND SEATS WORK INTERMITTENTLY- ND VEHICLE'S SLIDING DOOR WIDE OPEN I PARKING LOT, TWICE. * HAVE ALSO FOUND WINDOWS OPEN. OUR LIFT GATE (TRUNK) OPENED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY.* VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT,WHILE DRIVING, REVVED AND WOULD NOT RESET UNTIL PULLING OVER AND TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE. THOUGH VW COULD NOT FIND FAULTY READINGS AND DIDN'T BELIEVE TIPM IS THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY COULDN'T READ IT. BEING FAMILIAR WITH PROGRAMMING, I KNOW THAT GLITCHES CAN CAUSE FAULTY READINGS.IF THERE IS A GLITCH BEFORE THE READING CAN BE PROCESSED BY THE COMPUTER, THERE WILL BE NO FAULTY READING LOGGED. A PC WON'T SAVE A FILE, EITHER IF THE POWER SUPPLY IS INTERRUPTED BEFORE IT CAN DO SO..TIPM MALFUNCTIONS CAN ALSO CAUSE ALL OTHER ISSUES I HAVE EXPERIENCED. UPON GETTING A SECOND OPINION FROM TRANSMISSION SPECIALISTS, THEY SAID ONLY THE SOLENOID WAS FAULTY. THEY ALSO CONFIRMED THAT A FAULTY TIPM BOX WILL CAUSE SOLENOID ISSUES AND EVENTUALLY RUIN THE NEW ONE, TOO. ENTLY, ALL LOCKS STOPPED WORKING & THE VEHICLE CAN ONLY BE OPENED & LOCKED MANUALLY. AT THE SAME TIME ALL INTERIOR LIGHTS WERE ON AND HAD TO BE TURNED OFF AT THE DASHBOARD- THIS WOULD HAVE DRAINED THE BATTERY HAD IT HAPPENED ON A WORK DAY. VW HAS HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 2 FULL DAYS AND YET DOESN'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT. WE HAVE HAD THESE ISSUES AND USELESS REPAIRS FOR OVER 2 YEARS. ALL ISSUES POINT TO FAULTY TIPM (MANUFACTURED BY CHRYSLER, WHO HAD TO SETTLE IN A LAWSUIT ABOUT THE TIPM BOX/ FAULTY RELAY ISSUE FOR JEEP, DODGE, AND CHRYSLER). WE NEED HELP WITH THESE ISSUES. TOO MANY OF US HAVE IT 2011 AND 2012 MODELS AS WELL. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/21/2016 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ETIMES THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START FOR NO APPARENT REASON.VW SERVICE DEPT. CANNOT DETECT AN ISSUE. INE LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING-VW CANNOT DETECT ANYTHING WRONG.* ALARMS GO OFF BUT NO SIGNAL SHOWING ON THE DASHBOARD.ER WINDOWS AND SEATS WORK INTERMITTENTLY- ND VEHICLE'S SLIDING DOOR WIDE OPEN I PARKING LOT, TWICE. * HAVE ALSO FOUND WINDOWS OPEN. OUR LIFT GATE (TRUNK) OPENED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY.* VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT,WHILE DRIVING, REVVED AND WOULD NOT RESET UNTIL PULLING OVER AND TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE. THOUGH VW COULD NOT FIND FAULTY READINGS AND DIDN'T BELIEVE TIPM IS THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY COULDN'T READ IT. BEING FAMILIAR WITH PROGRAMMING, I KNOW THAT GLITCHES CAN CAUSE FAULTY READINGS.IF THERE IS A GLITCH BEFORE THE READING CAN BE PROCESSED BY THE COMPUTER, THERE WILL BE NO FAULTY READING LOGGED. A PC WON'T SAVE A FILE, EITHER IF THE POWER SUPPLY IS INTERRUPTED BEFORE IT CAN DO SO..TIPM MALFUNCTIONS CAN ALSO CAUSE ALL OTHER ISSUES I HAVE EXPERIENCED. UPON GETTING A SECOND OPINION FROM TRANSMISSION SPECIALISTS, THEY SAID ONLY THE SOLENOID WAS FAULTY. THEY ALSO CONFIRMED THAT A FAULTY TIPM BOX WILL CAUSE SOLENOID ISSUES AND EVENTUALLY RUIN THE NEW ONE, TOO. ENTLY, ALL LOCKS STOPPED WORKING & THE VEHICLE CAN ONLY BE OPENED & LOCKED MANUALLY. AT THE SAME TIME ALL INTERIOR LIGHTS WERE ON AND HAD TO BE TURNED OFF AT THE DASHBOARD- THIS WOULD HAVE DRAINED THE BATTERY HAD IT HAPPENED ON A WORK DAY. VW HAS HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 2 FULL DAYS AND YET DOESN'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT. WE HAVE HAD THESE ISSUES AND USELESS REPAIRS FOR OVER 2 YEARS. ALL ISSUES POINT TO FAULTY TIPM (MANUFACTURED BY CHRYSLER, WHO HAD TO SETTLE IN A LAWSUIT ABOUT THE TIPM BOX/ FAULTY RELAY ISSUE FOR JEEP, DODGE, AND CHRYSLER). WE NEED HELP WITH THESE ISSUES. TOO MANY OF US HAVE IT 2011 AND 2012 MODELS AS WELL. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/21/2016 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ETIMES THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START FOR NO APPARENT REASON.VW SERVICE DEPT. CANNOT DETECT AN ISSUE. INE LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING-VW CANNOT DETECT ANYTHING WRONG.* ALARMS GO OFF BUT NO SIGNAL SHOWING ON THE DASHBOARD.ER WINDOWS AND SEATS WORK INTERMITTENTLY- ND VEHICLE'S SLIDING DOOR WIDE OPEN I PARKING LOT, TWICE. * HAVE ALSO FOUND WINDOWS OPEN. OUR LIFT GATE (TRUNK) OPENED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY.* VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT,WHILE DRIVING, REVVED AND WOULD NOT RESET UNTIL PULLING OVER AND TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE. THOUGH VW COULD NOT FIND FAULTY READINGS AND DIDN'T BELIEVE TIPM IS THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY COULDN'T READ IT. BEING FAMILIAR WITH PROGRAMMING, I KNOW THAT GLITCHES CAN CAUSE FAULTY READINGS.IF THERE IS A GLITCH BEFORE THE READING CAN BE PROCESSED BY THE COMPUTER, THERE WILL BE NO FAULTY READING LOGGED. A PC WON'T SAVE A FILE, EITHER IF THE POWER SUPPLY IS INTERRUPTED BEFORE IT CAN DO SO..TIPM MALFUNCTIONS CAN ALSO CAUSE ALL OTHER ISSUES I HAVE EXPERIENCED. UPON GETTING A SECOND OPINION FROM TRANSMISSION SPECIALISTS, THEY SAID ONLY THE SOLENOID WAS FAULTY. THEY ALSO CONFIRMED THAT A FAULTY TIPM BOX WILL CAUSE SOLENOID ISSUES AND EVENTUALLY RUIN THE NEW ONE, TOO. ENTLY, ALL LOCKS STOPPED WORKING & THE VEHICLE CAN ONLY BE OPENED & LOCKED MANUALLY. AT THE SAME TIME ALL INTERIOR LIGHTS WERE ON AND HAD TO BE TURNED OFF AT THE DASHBOARD- THIS WOULD HAVE DRAINED THE BATTERY HAD IT HAPPENED ON A WORK DAY. VW HAS HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 2 FULL DAYS AND YET DOESN'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT. WE HAVE HAD THESE ISSUES AND USELESS REPAIRS FOR OVER 2 YEARS. ALL ISSUES POINT TO FAULTY TIPM (MANUFACTURED BY CHRYSLER, WHO HAD TO SETTLE IN A LAWSUIT ABOUT THE TIPM BOX/ FAULTY RELAY ISSUE FOR JEEP, DODGE, AND CHRYSLER). WE NEED HELP WITH THESE ISSUES. TOO MANY OF US HAVE IT 2011 AND 2012 MODELS AS WELL. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/17/2016 - WELLINGTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STARTED TO OPERATE INDEPENDENTLY AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, TURN SIGNALS, AND AIR CONDITIONER FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds