Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 211 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (105) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (53) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/24/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE VEHICLE DOES NOT START PERIODICALLY. THE VEHICLE WILL START FOR 2 TO 3 WEEKS AND THEN NOT START SEVERAL TIMES. IF YOU WAIT FOR A PERIOD OF TIME OR PLAY WITH THE FUSE BOX, OR TRY DIFFERENT WAYS TO START THE VEHICLE IT WILL START. THIS IS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING AND HAD ALL THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND HAVE BEEPING NOISES FOR NO REASON. NO WARNING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED AND NO ERRORS ARE ON THE COMPUTER. THE VEHICLE HAS A NEW BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR. I HAVE READ ONLINE THE ENTIRE TIPM UNIT(FUSE BOX/ELECTRICAL SYSTEM CONTROL UNIT) IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ALONG WITH THE STARTER AND FUEL PUMP RELAYS, WHICH IS WELL OVER $1000 WORTH OF WORK, BUT I HAVE NOT HAD IT COMPLETED YET. OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE VEHICLE TURNING OFF WHILE DRIVING, WHICH FORTUNATELY HAS NOT HAPPENED TO ME YET. THE VEHICLE HAS A DVD SYSTEM THAT WORKED AND DOES NOT WORK NOW. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL ITEM A LONG TIME AGO, SINCE I UNDERSTAND VOLKSWAGEN IS WELL AWARE OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2016 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
FOR YEARS I HAVE EXPERIENCED INTERMITTENT FAILURES IN STARTING MY CAR, EACH TIME IF I WAIT A WHILE IT WILL START. ADDITIONALLY, BEGINNING IN FEB 2016, MY ENGINE WILL SIMPLY SHUT DOWN WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION (PRETTY SCARY). I HAVE DEALT WITH VW SEVERAL TIME TO NO AVAIL AND ALWAYS AT MY EXPENSE. THIS LATEST DEVELOPMENT MAY COST ME OR SOMEONE ELSE THEIR LIFE. VW ACTS LIKE THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED TO ANYONE ELSE AND IF THEY CAN'T RECREATE THE ISSUE THEY CAN'T ADDRESS THE ISSUE, REALLY! THIS IS CRIMINAL! I HAVE HAD A STARTER REPLACED AS WELL AS A SWITCH AND NO CHANGE. ALL I GET FROM VW IS "YOU CAN TAKE IT TO ANOTHER DEALER AND GET A SECOND OPINION WE WILL COVER 1 HOUR OF THE COST TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM" REALLY NO GREATER EXPERTISE NO INFORMATION SHARING, JUST ANOTHER DEALER, THE THIRD OF WHICH WILL LIKELY TELL ME, WE CAN'T CREATE THE PROBLEM!

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2016 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
FOR YEARS I HAVE EXPERIENCED INTERMITTENT FAILURES IN STARTING MY CAR, EACH TIME IF I WAIT A WHILE IT WILL START. ADDITIONALLY, BEGINNING IN FEB 2016, MY ENGINE WILL SIMPLY SHUT DOWN WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION (PRETTY SCARY). I HAVE DEALT WITH VW SEVERAL TIME TO NO AVAIL AND ALWAYS AT MY EXPENSE. THIS LATEST DEVELOPMENT MAY COST ME OR SOMEONE ELSE THEIR LIFE. VW ACTS LIKE THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED TO ANYONE ELSE AND IF THEY CAN'T RECREATE THE ISSUE THEY CAN'T ADDRESS THE ISSUE, REALLY! THIS IS CRIMINAL! I HAVE HAD A STARTER REPLACED AS WELL AS A SWITCH AND NO CHANGE. ALL I GET FROM VW IS "YOU CAN TAKE IT TO ANOTHER DEALER AND GET A SECOND OPINION WE WILL COVER 1 HOUR OF THE COST TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM" REALLY NO GREATER EXPERTISE NO INFORMATION SHARING, JUST ANOTHER DEALER, THE THIRD OF WHICH WILL LIKELY TELL ME, WE CAN'T CREATE THE PROBLEM!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/13/2016 - TALBOTT, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE STARTED NORMALLY. THE STABILITY AND TRACTION CONTROL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

5/13/2016 - TALBOTT, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE STARTED NORMALLY. THE STABILITY AND TRACTION CONTROL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2016 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
ALL ICONS ON INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHT UP CAUSING WIPERS TO DEPLOY, LOSS OF RADIO/GPS, HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS, TURN SIGNALS, FOG LIGHTS AND PREVENTING THE UNLOCKING OF REAR DOORS. PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED BY PORT CHARLOTTE VW SPECIALIST AS TIPM FAILURE. THIS FAILURE OCCURS WHEN IN MOTION AND WHEN IGNITION IS TURNED ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2016 - MIDDLETOWN, NJ
RE: SLIDING DOOR WIRING HARNESS. DEFECTIVE EXTRUSION COATING ON COOPER WIRES, WHICH IS A NON-MALLEABLE COATING PRONE TO CRACKING AND BREAKING. CAUSES FAILURE IN ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, DISABLING ELECTRONICS IN THE DOOR AND POTENTIAL GROUNDING OF VOLTAGE. THE UNDESIRED RESULT IS AN IMPROPERLY LOCKED DOOR THAT CAN BE JARRED OPEN AND IS NOT PROPERLY SECURED WILL RATTLE WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

2/16/2016 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2016 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2016 - AURORA, CO
WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND SHOOK LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO STALL WHEN BRAKING. THE THROTTLE LIGHTENING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CAME ON. WHEN PARKED, THE ENGINE REVVED EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH AND I HAD TO SHUT IT OFF TO STOP IT. THE ENGINE HAS BEEN REPLACED ALONG WITH ALL ELECTRICAL WIRING AND THE RADIATOR AND RADIATOR FAN. THE DEALERSHIP HAS SAID ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN REPAIRED. ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC HAS NOT FOUND ANYTHING WRONG. THE INTERIOR LIGHTS DO NOT DIM BUT ARE EITHER ON OR OFF. THE SLIDING DOORS WILL STOP WORKING OR WORK PARTIALLY. THE THROTTLE BOX IS CURRENTLY BEGIN REPLACED AS A BEST GUESS SOLUTION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds