Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 239 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (116) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (1) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (16) Visibility (2)
Engine (62) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (30) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/30/2017 - LEXINGTON, KY
WON'T SHIFT GEARS...... NUMEROUS TIME HAD TO QUICKLY PULL OVER SIDE TO SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART. SOMETIME IT WORKS SOMETIMES IT WON'T .

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2017 - GREELEY, CO
OUR ROUTAN HAS, YET AGAIN, LEFT ME STRANDED. I WAS RUNNING ERRANDS WITH TWO OF MY CHILDREN AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT FOR ME OR, IT WOULD APPEAR FROM RESEARCH I'VE DONE, FOR THIS MAKE AND MODEL. OUR MECHANIC HAS RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CAN NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. IT IS A SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE IT IS UNRELIABLE AND LEAVES ME STRANDED, TWICE LATE AT NIGHT, SEVERAL TIMES, FORTUNATELY, IN FRONT OF MY OWN HOME AND THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2017 - MADISON, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED AND DID NOT STOP. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-822-8987 AND STATED THAT AN UNKNOWN RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED A COUPLE OF YEARS AGO TO REPAIR THE WIRING ON THE DOOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED IN 2013. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 140,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2017 - GREELEY, CO
THE IGNITION SWITCH HAS FAILED MULTIPLE TIMES LEAVING US STRANDED. WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED. OUR MECHANIC HAS RUN MULTIPLE DIAGNOSTICS TO NO AVAIL, THEY REPLACED THE STARTER AND WE CONTINUE TO EXPERIENCE IGNITION FAILURE. AT TIMES, THE CAR WILL START AND NOT GO INTO GEAR. WE HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GET IT INTO GEAR BY TURNING IT OFF AND BACK ON AGAIN, ASSUMING IT WILL TURN BACK ON AGAIN. THERE IS DANGER IN BEING STRANDED FAR FROM HOME WITH CHILDREN IN THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2017 - ELDRIDGE, IA
ENGINE WILL NOT START. HAPPENS ON OCCASION BUT HAPPENED ENOUGH THAT I HAD TWO STARTERS INSTALLED AS WELL AS A BATTERY. WHAT ELSE COULD IT BE? CAN TURN THE KEY AND NOTHING HAPPENS. I CAN POSSIBLY SIT THERE AND TURN THE IGNITION 10+ TIMES AND STILL NOTHING. THOUGHT IT COULD BE A BAD SPOT IN THE NEW STARTER?? CLEANED BATTERY POSTS OFTEN AND NOW HAVE TREATED THE CONNECTIONS. WOULD LIKE NOT TO RECEIVE ANOTHER CALL FROM LOVELY WIFE THAT THE VAN WOULD NOT START. HAS TO BE SOMETHING WITH A CIRCUIT STAYING OPEN OR SOMETHING. SAFETY ISSUE DUE TO NOT KNOWING IF YOUR CAR IS GOING TO START WHEN YOU ARRIVE TO A DESTINATION. ISSUE HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 2+ YEARS AND VAN HAS 100K MILES LAST INSTANCE OF ISSUE: 23 JUNE 2017

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2017 - ELDRIDGE, IA
ENGINE WILL NOT START. HAPPENS ON OCCASION BUT HAPPENED ENOUGH THAT I HAD TWO STARTERS INSTALLED AS WELL AS A BATTERY. WHAT ELSE COULD IT BE? CAN TURN THE KEY AND NOTHING HAPPENS. I CAN POSSIBLY SIT THERE AND TURN THE IGNITION 10+ TIMES AND STILL NOTHING. THOUGHT IT COULD BE A BAD SPOT IN THE NEW STARTER?? CLEANED BATTERY POSTS OFTEN AND NOW HAVE TREATED THE CONNECTIONS. WOULD LIKE NOT TO RECEIVE ANOTHER CALL FROM LOVELY WIFE THAT THE VAN WOULD NOT START. HAS TO BE SOMETHING WITH A CIRCUIT STAYING OPEN OR SOMETHING. SAFETY ISSUE DUE TO NOT KNOWING IF YOUR CAR IS GOING TO START WHEN YOU ARRIVE TO A DESTINATION. ISSUE HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 2+ YEARS AND VAN HAS 100K MILES LAST INSTANCE OF ISSUE: 23 JUNE 2017

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2017 - ELDRIDGE, IA
ENGINE WILL NOT START. HAPPENS ON OCCASION BUT HAPPENED ENOUGH THAT I HAD TWO STARTERS INSTALLED AS WELL AS A BATTERY. WHAT ELSE COULD IT BE? CAN TURN THE KEY AND NOTHING HAPPENS. I CAN POSSIBLY SIT THERE AND TURN THE IGNITION 10+ TIMES AND STILL NOTHING. THOUGHT IT COULD BE A BAD SPOT IN THE NEW STARTER?? CLEANED BATTERY POSTS OFTEN AND NOW HAVE TREATED THE CONNECTIONS. WOULD LIKE NOT TO RECEIVE ANOTHER CALL FROM LOVELY WIFE THAT THE VAN WOULD NOT START. HAS TO BE SOMETHING WITH A CIRCUIT STAYING OPEN OR SOMETHING. SAFETY ISSUE DUE TO NOT KNOWING IF YOUR CAR IS GOING TO START WHEN YOU ARRIVE TO A DESTINATION. ISSUE HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 2+ YEARS AND VAN HAS 100K MILES LAST INSTANCE OF ISSUE: 23 JUNE 2017

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/21/2017 - AVE MARIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPENED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GURLEY LEEP MOTORWERKS (4004 GRAPE RD, MISHAWAKA, IN 46545) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOCK SWITCH AND LOCKING ROD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE DOOR LATCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT LATER THE POWER LOCKS ON THE SAME DOOR FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO GURLEY LEEP MOTORWERKS WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CABLE GUIDE WIRE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/21/2017 - AVE MARIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPENED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GURLEY LEEP MOTORWERKS (4004 GRAPE RD, MISHAWAKA, IN 46545) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOCK SWITCH AND LOCKING ROD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE DOOR LATCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT LATER THE POWER LOCKS ON THE SAME DOOR FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO GURLEY LEEP MOTORWERKS WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CABLE GUIDE WIRE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/21/2017 - AVE MARIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPENED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GURLEY LEEP MOTORWERKS (4004 GRAPE RD, MISHAWAKA, IN 46545) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOCK SWITCH AND LOCKING ROD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE DOOR LATCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT LATER THE POWER LOCKS ON THE SAME DOOR FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO GURLEY LEEP MOTORWERKS WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CABLE GUIDE WIRE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds