Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 244 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (1) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (16) Visibility (2)
Engine (63) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (30) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/16/2017 - MORRISVILLE, NC
THE CAR DOES NOT START AFTER A STOP. IT TAKES HOURS BEFORE IT RESTARTS. REPLACED BATTERY, STARTER STILL SAME ISSUE. MANY OTHER VW ROUTAN OWNERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. THE CAR HAS POWER BUT SOMETHING IS MESSED UP IN THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2017 - MORRISVILLE, NC
THE CAR DOES NOT START AFTER A STOP. IT TAKES HOURS BEFORE IT RESTARTS. REPLACED BATTERY, STARTER STILL SAME ISSUE. MANY OTHER VW ROUTAN OWNERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. THE CAR HAS POWER BUT SOMETHING IS MESSED UP IN THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/14/2017 - PALADINE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 15-25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FOX VALLEY VOLKSWAGEN SCHAUMBURG (1000 E GOLF RD, SCHAUMBURG, IL 60173, (847) 839-8101) WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V194000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE RECURRED AT LEAST 15 TIMES WITHIN THE PAST TWO WEEKS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,900.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2017 - IRVINGTON, NJ
AS OF JANUARY 2017 I HAVE HAD THE REPEATED ISSUE OF THE CAR NOT STARTING WHEN TURNED ON. NOTE THE RECALL ON THE IGNITION WAS DONE BY THE VW DEALER PREVIOUSLY. THE CAR NOT STARTING AT FIRST OCCURRED ONCE AND AWHILE. THEN BECAME MORE CONSISTENT, I REPLACED THE STARTER IN MARCH 2017 THINKING THAT WOULD RESOLVE THE ISSUE. SINCE THEN THE PROBLEM KEEPS OCCURRING. VW DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT THE ISSUE IS AND WANTS ME TO REPLACE THE STARTER AGAIN. I'VE RESEARCHED THIS MECHANICAL PROBLEM AND FOUND OUT A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. THERE'S A CLICK WHEN YOU ATTEMPT TO START THE CAR AND THIS IS AFTER THE BATTERY AND STARTER HAS BEEN REPLACED. THE LONGEST I'VE WAITED FOR THE CAR TO START IS ABOUT 30 MINUTES. I ATTEMPT TO START IT A FEW MINUTES ARE SITTING IN THE CAR, SOMETIMES IT TAKES ONE TRY SOMETIMES IT TAKES 20 TRIES THEN THE CAR WILL START UP. I'VE REPORTED THIS TO VW CARE AND THEY ADVISED ME TO GET THE STARTER REPLACED AGAIN, SPENDING MORE MONEY. THIS IS NOT A CUSTOMER CARE ISSUE, THIS IS ON THE VW COMPANY.

View Details

STEERING

10/5/2017 - MATHEWS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT DETECTED A BURNING ODOR WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT OBSERVED SMOKE OUTSIDE AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, HEADLIGHTS, AND RADIO FAILED TO WORK. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER, OPENED THE HOOD, AND SAW NO SIGN OF A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH TO THE STARTER HAD FAILED (BURNED) AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE POWER STEERING LINE FAILED AND LEAKED. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WERE SO MANY ELECTRICAL FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE AND RECOMMENDED HER TO CONTACT NHTSA. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V194000 AND 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION SWITCH). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/5/2017 - MATHEWS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT DETECTED A BURNING ODOR WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT OBSERVED SMOKE OUTSIDE AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, HEADLIGHTS, AND RADIO FAILED TO WORK. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER, OPENED THE HOOD, AND SAW NO SIGN OF A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH TO THE STARTER HAD FAILED (BURNED) AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE POWER STEERING LINE FAILED AND LEAKED. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WERE SO MANY ELECTRICAL FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE AND RECOMMENDED HER TO CONTACT NHTSA. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V194000 AND 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION SWITCH). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/5/2017 - MATHEWS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT DETECTED A BURNING ODOR WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT OBSERVED SMOKE OUTSIDE AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, HEADLIGHTS, AND RADIO FAILED TO WORK. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER, OPENED THE HOOD, AND SAW NO SIGN OF A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH TO THE STARTER HAD FAILED (BURNED) AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE POWER STEERING LINE FAILED AND LEAKED. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WERE SO MANY ELECTRICAL FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE AND RECOMMENDED HER TO CONTACT NHTSA. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V194000 AND 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION SWITCH). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/1/2017 - GREELEY, CO
VEHICLE WON'T START. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME AND I HAVE FILLED PREVIOUS INCIDENT REPORTS. IT LEFT ME STRANDED AGAIN TODAY AFTER I PICKED UP MEDICINE FOR A CHILD AT HOME RECOVERING FROM SURGERY. THIS VEHICLE IS UNRELIABLE AND THEREFORE THE SITUATION IS UNACCEPTABLE. OUR MECHANIC HAS RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG. WE TOOK A LEAP OF FAITH AND HAD A NEW STARTER INSTALLED, THIS WAS NOT THE PROBLEM. I WOULD BUY ANOTHER CAR, BUT RIGHT NOW THIS IS NOT AN OPTION FOR US. WE NEED HELP!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/30/2017 - LEXINGTON, KY
WON'T SHIFT GEARS...... NUMEROUS TIME HAD TO QUICKLY PULL OVER SIDE TO SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART. SOMETIME IT WORKS SOMETIMES IT WON'T .

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2017 - GREELEY, CO
OUR ROUTAN HAS, YET AGAIN, LEFT ME STRANDED. I WAS RUNNING ERRANDS WITH TWO OF MY CHILDREN AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT FOR ME OR, IT WOULD APPEAR FROM RESEARCH I'VE DONE, FOR THIS MAKE AND MODEL. OUR MECHANIC HAS RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CAN NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. IT IS A SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE IT IS UNRELIABLE AND LEAVES ME STRANDED, TWICE LATE AT NIGHT, SEVERAL TIMES, FORTUNATELY, IN FRONT OF MY OWN HOME AND THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds