Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 85 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (5) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (14) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (5) Wheels (11)
Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

4/22/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
POWER SLIDING DOORS ACTUATE ON OWN, WITHOUT WARNING, BOTH OPEN AND CLOSE WITH NO REGARD TO HUMANS OR OBJECT IN THE PATH. DOOR HANDLES CHROME DELAMINATION CAUSING SEVERE CUTS. POWER THIRD ROW SEATING MOTOR/FRAME FAILURE CAUSING SEATS MOUNTING POINTS TO BE UNSECURE. DEALER AND VW OF AMERICA UNWILLING TO CORRECT SAFETY ISSUES WITHOUT LARGE FINANCIAL COMPENSATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
POWER SLIDING DOORS ACTUATE ON OWN, WITHOUT WARNING, BOTH OPEN AND CLOSE WITH NO REGARD TO HUMANS OR OBJECT IN THE PATH. DOOR HANDLES CHROME DELAMINATION CAUSING SEVERE CUTS. POWER THIRD ROW SEATING MOTOR/FRAME FAILURE CAUSING SEATS MOUNTING POINTS TO BE UNSECURE. DEALER AND VW OF AMERICA UNWILLING TO CORRECT SAFETY ISSUES WITHOUT LARGE FINANCIAL COMPENSATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/22/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
POWER SLIDING DOORS ACTUATE ON OWN, WITHOUT WARNING, BOTH OPEN AND CLOSE WITH NO REGARD TO HUMANS OR OBJECT IN THE PATH. DOOR HANDLES CHROME DELAMINATION CAUSING SEVERE CUTS. POWER THIRD ROW SEATING MOTOR/FRAME FAILURE CAUSING SEATS MOUNTING POINTS TO BE UNSECURE. DEALER AND VW OF AMERICA UNWILLING TO CORRECT SAFETY ISSUES WITHOUT LARGE FINANCIAL COMPENSATION.

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS THE POWER STEERING BECAME STIFF AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. AFTER THE VEHICLE STALLED THE TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000 MILES AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 74,000 MILES. SR

View Details

ENGINE

4/20/2014 - TULSA, OK
THE VEHICLE HAS A NEW BATTERY WHICH IS CORRECTLY INSTALLED AND FREE OF CORROSION. WHEN THE KEY FOB IS PLACED INTO THE IGNITION AND MOVED FORWARD, THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START. THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON, AND IT SHOULD START, BUT IT DOES NOT. IF YOU KEEP TRYING, OR WALK AWAY AND COME BACK AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN, IT DOES SOMETIMES START. THIS INTERMITTENT PROBLEM SEAMS TO HAVE NO RHYME OR REASON AND I AM CONCERNED THE VEHICLE MIGHT STOP WHILE MY WIFE OR I DRIVE IT. THIS GENERALLY HAPPENS 4 TO 5 TIMES A MONTH. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2014 - TULSA, OK
THE VEHICLE HAS A NEW BATTERY WHICH IS CORRECTLY INSTALLED AND FREE OF CORROSION. WHEN THE KEY FOB IS PLACED INTO THE IGNITION AND MOVED FORWARD, THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START. THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON, AND IT SHOULD START, BUT IT DOES NOT. IF YOU KEEP TRYING, OR WALK AWAY AND COME BACK AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN, IT DOES SOMETIMES START. THIS INTERMITTENT PROBLEM SEAMS TO HAVE NO RHYME OR REASON AND I AM CONCERNED THE VEHICLE MIGHT STOP WHILE MY WIFE OR I DRIVE IT. THIS GENERALLY HAPPENS 4 TO 5 TIMES A MONTH. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

WHEELS

4/14/2014 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
I HAVE A VOLKSWAGEN 2009 VW ROUTON VAN...AKA REBADGED CHRYSLER MINI VAN. THE OEM TPMS HAS A NON-ANODIZED ALUMINUM VALVE RETAINING NUT WHICH CRACKED AND CAUSED A DEFLATION AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE. TO HAVE A SAFETY DEVICE THAT CAUSES AN UNSAFE CONDITION AND A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE THAT COULD LEAD TO INJURY OR DEATH IS UNACCEPTABLE. I HAVE INSPECTED THE OTHER THREE RETAINING NUTS ON THE VALVE STEMS AND FOUND ONE THAT IS CRACKED AND THE THE OTHERS HAVE SEVERE CORROSION THAT WILL NEED REPAIRED AND REPLACED. A RUBBER AND BRASS VALVE STEM THAT WAS TRUE AND TRIED AND "SAFE" FOR SO MANY YEARS WAS THE ACCEPTED NORM TO BE REPLACED WHEN YOU PUT NEW TIRES ON A VEHICLE. I NOW FIND MYSELF ASKING, HAVE ENGINEERS IGNORED AND FORGOTTEN THE PRINCIPLES OF CORROSION AND THE ENVIRONMENT HAS ON ALUMINUM METALS TO MAKE SUCH A TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM, THAT IS SET UP TO FAIL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - CANTON, MI
WE HAVE A 2009 VW ROUTAN SEL THAT HAS STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES NOW (4-5) WHILE DRIVING. THERE IS NO WARNING AND CAR LOSES POWER. CAR STARTS UP IMMEDIATELY AFTER PUTTING IN PARK AND RESTARTING. THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM AND THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2010 MODEL AS WELL AS THE CHRYSLER MINIVAN WHICH THIS CAR IS BASED FROM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - CANTON, MI
WE HAVE A 2009 VW ROUTAN SEL THAT HAS STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES NOW (4-5) WHILE DRIVING. THERE IS NO WARNING AND CAR LOSES POWER. CAR STARTS UP IMMEDIATELY AFTER PUTTING IN PARK AND RESTARTING. THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM AND THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2010 MODEL AS WELL AS THE CHRYSLER MINIVAN WHICH THIS CAR IS BASED FROM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - ELIZABETHTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH THE ENGINE INCLUDING ELECTRICITY AND POWER STEERING SHUTS OFF COMPLETELY. HAD TO PULL OVER AND PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART THE CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. I TOLD THE DEALER THAT I READ ABOUT THE RECALL ON THE YEAR AFTER MODEL THAT THEY FIXED THEIR CAR (CHANGED WIN MODULE) FREE OF CHARGE. HE SAID MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. WHEN DOES IT BECOME A RECALL? THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds