Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 205 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (100) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (52) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2016 - AURORA, CO
WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND SHOOK LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO STALL WHEN BRAKING. THE THROTTLE LIGHTENING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CAME ON. WHEN PARKED, THE ENGINE REVVED EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH AND I HAD TO SHUT IT OFF TO STOP IT. THE ENGINE HAS BEEN REPLACED ALONG WITH ALL ELECTRICAL WIRING AND THE RADIATOR AND RADIATOR FAN. THE DEALERSHIP HAS SAID ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN REPAIRED. ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC HAS NOT FOUND ANYTHING WRONG. THE INTERIOR LIGHTS DO NOT DIM BUT ARE EITHER ON OR OFF. THE SLIDING DOORS WILL STOP WORKING OR WORK PARTIALLY. THE THROTTLE BOX IS CURRENTLY BEGIN REPLACED AS A BEST GUESS SOLUTION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/5/2016 - AURORA, CO
WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND SHOOK LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO STALL WHEN BRAKING. THE THROTTLE LIGHTENING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CAME ON. WHEN PARKED, THE ENGINE REVVED EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH AND I HAD TO SHUT IT OFF TO STOP IT. THE ENGINE HAS BEEN REPLACED ALONG WITH ALL ELECTRICAL WIRING AND THE RADIATOR AND RADIATOR FAN. THE DEALERSHIP HAS SAID ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN REPAIRED. ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC HAS NOT FOUND ANYTHING WRONG. THE INTERIOR LIGHTS DO NOT DIM BUT ARE EITHER ON OR OFF. THE SLIDING DOORS WILL STOP WORKING OR WORK PARTIALLY. THE THROTTLE BOX IS CURRENTLY BEGIN REPLACED AS A BEST GUESS SOLUTION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/5/2016 - AURORA, CO
WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN AND SHOOK LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO STALL WHEN BRAKING. THE THROTTLE LIGHTENING LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY CAME ON. WHEN PARKED, THE ENGINE REVVED EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH AND I HAD TO SHUT IT OFF TO STOP IT. THE ENGINE HAS BEEN REPLACED ALONG WITH ALL ELECTRICAL WIRING AND THE RADIATOR AND RADIATOR FAN. THE DEALERSHIP HAS SAID ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN REPAIRED. ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC HAS NOT FOUND ANYTHING WRONG. THE INTERIOR LIGHTS DO NOT DIM BUT ARE EITHER ON OR OFF. THE SLIDING DOORS WILL STOP WORKING OR WORK PARTIALLY. THE THROTTLE BOX IS CURRENTLY BEGIN REPLACED AS A BEST GUESS SOLUTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2016 - ACWORTH, GA
I BOUGHT A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED 2009 ROUTAN. AFTER ABOUT A YEAR, THE CAR RANDOMLY WILL NOT START, IT JUST CLICKS BUT WILL NOT START. REPLACED BATTERY. STILL - CAR WILL NOT START. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 3 YEARS. HAD STARTER & ALTERNATOR CHECKED - BOTH GOOD. HAD THE IGNITION RECALL DONE AND PROBLEM RESOLVED ITSELF FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS - NOW IT STARTED DOING THIS AGAIN - RANDOMLY WILL NOT START. HUBBY MOVED A WIRE UNDER THE HOOD AND MAGICALLY THE CAR STARTED. GOT HOME AND VAN WILL NOT START! AFTER SPENDING $5,200 ON A NEW TRANSMISSION - I HATE TO PUT ANY MORE $$ INTO THIS VAN. HAS ANYONE FOUND A FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM - I'VE SEEN MANY HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE. TALKED TO A LADY AT VW REPAIR SHOP WHO HAS BEEN IN EXCESS OF $3,000 TRYING TO FIX THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM. STILL KEEPS HAPPENING. HELP!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2016 - ACWORTH, GA
I BOUGHT A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED 2009 ROUTAN. AFTER ABOUT A YEAR, THE CAR RANDOMLY WILL NOT START, IT JUST CLICKS BUT WILL NOT START. REPLACED BATTERY. STILL - CAR WILL NOT START. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 3 YEARS. HAD STARTER & ALTERNATOR CHECKED - BOTH GOOD. HAD THE IGNITION RECALL DONE AND PROBLEM RESOLVED ITSELF FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS - NOW IT STARTED DOING THIS AGAIN - RANDOMLY WILL NOT START. HUBBY MOVED A WIRE UNDER THE HOOD AND MAGICALLY THE CAR STARTED. GOT HOME AND VAN WILL NOT START! AFTER SPENDING $5,200 ON A NEW TRANSMISSION - I HATE TO PUT ANY MORE $$ INTO THIS VAN. HAS ANYONE FOUND A FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM - I'VE SEEN MANY HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE. TALKED TO A LADY AT VW REPAIR SHOP WHO HAS BEEN IN EXCESS OF $3,000 TRYING TO FIX THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM. STILL KEEPS HAPPENING. HELP!

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
AFTER MY VAN HAS BEEN SITTING FOR A WHILE AND IT BEEN WARMED UP FOR 15 MINUTES. WITH IN THE FIRST 2 TO 5 MILES OF DRIVING THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE VAN WILL SHUT OFF AND THE STEERING WHEEL AND BREAK WILL FAIL. THEN I HAVE TO TURN THE KEY TO OFF AND RESTART THE VAN AND IT SOMETIME REPEAT ITSELF IF I'M STUCK IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

STEERING

12/1/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
AFTER MY VAN HAS BEEN SITTING FOR A WHILE AND IT BEEN WARMED UP FOR 15 MINUTES. WITH IN THE FIRST 2 TO 5 MILES OF DRIVING THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE VAN WILL SHUT OFF AND THE STEERING WHEEL AND BREAK WILL FAIL. THEN I HAVE TO TURN THE KEY TO OFF AND RESTART THE VAN AND IT SOMETIME REPEAT ITSELF IF I'M STUCK IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/1/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
AFTER MY VAN HAS BEEN SITTING FOR A WHILE AND IT BEEN WARMED UP FOR 15 MINUTES. WITH IN THE FIRST 2 TO 5 MILES OF DRIVING THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE VAN WILL SHUT OFF AND THE STEERING WHEEL AND BREAK WILL FAIL. THEN I HAVE TO TURN THE KEY TO OFF AND RESTART THE VAN AND IT SOMETIME REPEAT ITSELF IF I'M STUCK IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/30/2015 - ASHVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE REPAIR FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V194000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) WAS PERFORMED. SINCE THE REPAIR, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE STALLING FAILURE, AND THE FOB WAS REPLACED TWICE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM MIGHT NEED TO BE REWIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAIURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2015 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SLIDING DOOR WIRING FAILED FOR BOTH SLIDING DOORS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND RECOMMENDED THAT IT NEEDED TO BE TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT ELECTRICAL WIRING FOR BOTH SLIDING DOORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL AS A FRACTURED WIRING HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) ON OCTOBER 15, 2010. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL REMEDY FAILED TO PREVENT THE FAILURE FROM OCCURRING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds