Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 227 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (110) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Visibility (2)
Engine (55) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2017 - NORCROSS, GA
THE VEHICLE HAS ONLY 85800 MILES AND WHEN DRIVING IN THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 75 TO 80 MILES, THE VEHICLE LOSES POWER AND MAY CAUSE A BAD ACCIDENT. WHEN DRIVING IN THE CITY STREET, THE VEHICLE DOES THE SAME THING. IT LOSES POWER

View Details

STEERING

2/8/2017 - RALEIGH, NC
AUTO - P215/15R16

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/8/2017 - RALEIGH, NC
AUTO - P215/15R16

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2016 - ANTELOPE, CA
MY 2009 VOLKSWAGEN RUTAN DIES WHILE DRIVING. I'VE ON THE VEHICLE FOR TWO YEARS AND THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING THE WHOLE TIME. THAT USUALLY HAPPENS AT LOWER SPEEDS (UNDER 35MPH). IT HAPPENS WHEN I'M GOING STRAIGHT AND WHEN I'M TURNING CORNERS, GOING OVER OR NO BUMPS AT ALL. WHEN MIKE CARR DIES I LOSE STEERING, ALL POWER/ELECTRICAL. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO VOLKSWAGEN THREE TIMES FOR THIS ISSUE. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS SERVICED FOR A RECALL FIX. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED SO I TOOK IT BACK AND WAS INFORMED OF A SECOND RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE. SO I HAD IT SERVICED FOR THE SECOND RECALL FIX. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED SO I TAKE IT BACK A THIRD TIME. VOLKSWAGEN SERVICE DEPARTMENT KEPT MY CAR FOR OVER TWO WEEKS AND THEN TOLD ME THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED AND SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/13/2016 - WEST HARRISON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SMOKE ENTERED INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR CAUGHT FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A MECHANIC EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2016 - PARMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS WARMED UP, IT LOST POWER. WHEN THE ENGINE WAS NOT WARMED UP, THE VEHICLE COULD ONLY BE OPERATED FOR 10 TO 15 MINUTES. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOCK TORQUE CONVERTER BETWEEN THE VALVE BODY WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2016 - SAHUARITA, AZ
THE CAR WON'T START INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN YOU TURN THE KEY IT JUST CLICKS. THE STARTER IS NOT ENGAGED OR THE FLYWHEEL DOESN'T TURN. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER SAID IT WAS FAULTY TIPM MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. GOOGLE TIPM ROUTAN/ CHRYSLER / DODGE / JEEP AND YOU WILL SEE THIS IS A HUGE PROBLEM. NOT SURE WHY THE GOVERNMENT WON'T FORCE CHRYSLER / VOLKSWAGEN (CHRYSLER MANUFACTURED THE ROUTAN FOR VOLKSWAGEN) TO RECALL THEM AFFECTED VEHICLES. THIS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND ITS A $1200 TO REPLACE. COMPLETELY RIDICULOUS IF THIS IS SUCH A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/7/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER WAS SHAKEN UP AND WAS TAKEN TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM FOR MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED AND TOWED TO A TOW YARD. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/28/2016 - MILLINGTON, TN
I BOUGHT MY VW ROUTAN USED IN SEPTEMBER 2014. IN THE 1ST COUPLE OF MONTHS THE TRANSMISSION WOULD STOP SHIFTING (I WOULD TURN IT OFF AND BACK ON) TO FIX IT AND IN NOVEMBER 2014 THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AND GOT STUCK IN 3RD GEAR WHILE DRIVING AND WOULDN'T RESET AFTER TURNING OFF, THIS IS WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AT 62,000 MILES. HAD TO HAVE A NEW $6000 TRANSMISSION BROUGHT IN FROM GERMANY TO BE PUT IN THE VAN. NOW LESS THAN 30,000 MILES LATER AFTER A NEW ORIGINAL TRANSMISSION PUT IN, HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM NOT SHIFTING OUT OF 3RD GEAR AND HAVING TO PULL IT OVER TURN IT OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON FOR IT TO WORK PROPERLY AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2016 - TORRINGTON, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED TEN TIMES PRIOR TO THIS FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds