Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 96 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (5) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine (20) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (9) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (6) Wheels (11)
Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2014 - WOODSTOCK VALLEY, CT
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGON ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE BRAKE ROTORS HAVE TO BE REPLACED EVERY 8,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS TEST, THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO FIND PROBLEMS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT TO TAKE HIS VEHICLE INTO DEALERS AND HAVE IT CHECKED AND A CASE MANAGER WILL WOULD BE IN TOUCH. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT THE TIME OF FAILURE WAS 58,329. LNC

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/15/2014 - WOODSTOCK VALLEY, CT
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGON ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE BRAKE ROTORS HAVE TO BE REPLACED EVERY 8,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS TEST, THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO FIND PROBLEMS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT TO TAKE HIS VEHICLE INTO DEALERS AND HAVE IT CHECKED AND A CASE MANAGER WILL WOULD BE IN TOUCH. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT THE TIME OF FAILURE WAS 58,329. LNC

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2014 - AMELIA, VA
AT LEAST TWICE PER MONTH WHEN I DRIVE MY VAN, THE STEERING WILL SUDDENLY GO OUT, THEN THE BRAKES WILL STOP WORKING, THEN IT WILL JUST SHUT OFF. SO FAR IT HAS ONLY HAPPENED WHEN I WAS DRIVING AT PRETTY LOW RATES OF SPEED. I'VE CALLED THE VW DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES AND EACH TIME THEY SAY THAT THEY HAVEN'T HEARD OF ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE AND WANT TO CHARGE ME A FORTUNE JUST TO LOOK AT IT. WITH THE NEWEST RECALL, I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED AND THE DEALERSHIP STILL CLAIMS THAT THEY HAVE NO CLUE WHAT I'M TAKING ABOUT WHEN ALL THESE VEHICLE WERE MADE BU THE SAME MANUFACTURER. THIS HAS HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES, I CAN FEEL IT IN THE STEERING RIGHT BEFORE IT HAPPENS. AS SOON AS MY STEERING STARTS TO GET TIGHT, I HAVE TO HIT THE BRAKES RIGHT AWAY BEFORE THEY GO OUT, AND TURN THE CAR OFF. USUALLY WHEN I RESTART THE CAR, IT'S FINE. THIS IS GETTING RIDICULOUS AND I SHOULD HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS WITH A VEHICLE WHEN THERE IS A PROPER FIX. I HAVE 4 CHILDREN AND ANOTHER ON THE WAY AND THIS IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2014 - AMELIA, VA
AT LEAST TWICE PER MONTH WHEN I DRIVE MY VAN, THE STEERING WILL SUDDENLY GO OUT, THEN THE BRAKES WILL STOP WORKING, THEN IT WILL JUST SHUT OFF. SO FAR IT HAS ONLY HAPPENED WHEN I WAS DRIVING AT PRETTY LOW RATES OF SPEED. I'VE CALLED THE VW DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES AND EACH TIME THEY SAY THAT THEY HAVEN'T HEARD OF ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE AND WANT TO CHARGE ME A FORTUNE JUST TO LOOK AT IT. WITH THE NEWEST RECALL, I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED AND THE DEALERSHIP STILL CLAIMS THAT THEY HAVE NO CLUE WHAT I'M TAKING ABOUT WHEN ALL THESE VEHICLE WERE MADE BU THE SAME MANUFACTURER. THIS HAS HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES, I CAN FEEL IT IN THE STEERING RIGHT BEFORE IT HAPPENS. AS SOON AS MY STEERING STARTS TO GET TIGHT, I HAVE TO HIT THE BRAKES RIGHT AWAY BEFORE THEY GO OUT, AND TURN THE CAR OFF. USUALLY WHEN I RESTART THE CAR, IT'S FINE. THIS IS GETTING RIDICULOUS AND I SHOULD HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS WITH A VEHICLE WHEN THERE IS A PROPER FIX. I HAVE 4 CHILDREN AND ANOTHER ON THE WAY AND THIS IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/1/2014 - AMELIA, VA
AT LEAST TWICE PER MONTH WHEN I DRIVE MY VAN, THE STEERING WILL SUDDENLY GO OUT, THEN THE BRAKES WILL STOP WORKING, THEN IT WILL JUST SHUT OFF. SO FAR IT HAS ONLY HAPPENED WHEN I WAS DRIVING AT PRETTY LOW RATES OF SPEED. I'VE CALLED THE VW DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES AND EACH TIME THEY SAY THAT THEY HAVEN'T HEARD OF ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE AND WANT TO CHARGE ME A FORTUNE JUST TO LOOK AT IT. WITH THE NEWEST RECALL, I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED AND THE DEALERSHIP STILL CLAIMS THAT THEY HAVE NO CLUE WHAT I'M TAKING ABOUT WHEN ALL THESE VEHICLE WERE MADE BU THE SAME MANUFACTURER. THIS HAS HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES, I CAN FEEL IT IN THE STEERING RIGHT BEFORE IT HAPPENS. AS SOON AS MY STEERING STARTS TO GET TIGHT, I HAVE TO HIT THE BRAKES RIGHT AWAY BEFORE THEY GO OUT, AND TURN THE CAR OFF. USUALLY WHEN I RESTART THE CAR, IT'S FINE. THIS IS GETTING RIDICULOUS AND I SHOULD HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS WITH A VEHICLE WHEN THERE IS A PROPER FIX. I HAVE 4 CHILDREN AND ANOTHER ON THE WAY AND THIS IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/1/2014 - DARNESTOWN, MD
YOUR SITE WOULDN'T ALLOW PULL-DOWN FOR AFFECTED PARTS EARLIER, HERE IS PART OF THE E-MAIL REPORT I FIRST SENT DEALER 5/6/14: " ..SOMETHING NEW IS A PROBLEM W/MY ROUTAN BUT I WANT TO CHECK IN PRIOR TO MAKING AN APPT. SINCE WE SO RECENTLY HAD IT IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC CHECK UP. HERE'++S WHAT'++S HAPPENING IT'++S VERY SCARY: 6 TIMES NOW OVER THE LAST 2 WEEKS IT'++S JUST CONKED-OUT/SHUT OFF WHILE I-++M DRIVING, LEAVING ME WITH NO STEERING, BRAKES OR ANYTHING! FORTUNATELY IT'++S HAPPENED IN LOW TRAFFIC AREAS ON FAIRLY STRAIGHT ROADS SO I-++VE BEEN ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE, BUT I-++M GETTING SCARED TO DRIVE MY VAN. YESTERDAY- IT CONKED OUT THREE TIMES...BRINGING KIDS HOME FROM SCHOOL-- AGAIN VERY SCARY, AND ONCE ON A TURN WHICH WAS DIFFICULT BUT LUCKILY NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME... THESE EVENTS... ALL HAPPENED AT LOW SPEED 15-30 MPH AND HAPPEN SO ++QUIETLY I CAN BARELY TELL IT-++S HAPPENED... IT-++S LIKE THE KEY/IGNITION SOMEHOW FLICKS ALL BY ITSELF INTO THE ACC POSITION. THEN I HAVE TO WAIT -++TIL THE VAN STOPS, TURN THE KEY AND VAN ALL THE WAY OFF AND RE-START. THEN IT SEEMS TO START UP FINE. BUT THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES JUST YESTERDAY P.M.... IT'++S DANGEROUS, AND I-++M GETTING MORE AND MORE SCARED TO DRIVE MY VAN, BUT I HAVE TO WITH FOUR KIDS AND ACTIVITIES." TODAY 6/30/14 (AGAIN) DEALER FOUND NO PROBLEM. COST TO REPLACE SWITCH $989.00. I RESEARCHED DELPHI, CHINA, AUSTIN MARTIN AND FULLY BELIEVE A COMMONALITY WITH GM RECALL EXISTS. THE ROUTAN IS A VW & CHRYSLER COMPLICATING MY RESEARCH. I'VE FOLLOWED HIERARCHY- DEALER, VW, NOW NHTSA BUT HIT A ROAD BLOCK(NO PUN). PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS ASAP. UPDATE 6/30- GM RECALLED 8M MORE AS "UNINTENDED KEY IGNITION ROTATION"- EXACTLY WHAT'S HAPPENING WITH MY ROUTAN. I TRIED SUBMITTING THIS COMPLAINT EARLIER- BUT YOUR WEBSITE WOULDN'T ALLOW. SO THIS IS NOT SOMEONE JUMPING ON THE BANDWAGON. THIS IS REAL, PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2014 - ROSEVILLE, CA
WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE SHUT OFF LIKE THE IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF - LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES SINCE INCIDENT DATE. VOLKSWAGEN SERVICE COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2014 - ROSEVILLE, CA
WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE SHUT OFF LIKE THE IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF - LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES SINCE INCIDENT DATE. VOLKSWAGEN SERVICE COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2014 - CEDAR TOWN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE WOULD STALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIN MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2014 - BEXLEY, OH
I'VE HAD THE VW ROUTAN SINCE 2010 - PURCHASED IT WITH 6,000 MILES ON IT. IT'S A SEL SO IT'S AUTO-EVERYTHING. IN THE PAST 12-16 MONTHS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT PASSENGER AUTO DOORS STOPPED WORKING DUE TO A WIRING ISSUE. (2 SEPERATE INCIDENTS; $300 EACH REPAIR). TODAY, MY LEFT PASSENGER AUTO DOOR STOPPED WORKING AGAIN. THE VEHICLE SEES NORMAL USAGE AND HAS NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds