Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN - 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (77) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (43) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (23) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2015 - HALLANDALE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME. THE DEALER DID NOT PROVIDE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2015 - MILLERSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RELATED TO THE RECALL WAS EXPERIENCED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE DETAILS OF THE FAILURE WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REQUIRED TO BE DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER BEFORE THE RECALL REMEDY COULD BE PERFORMED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - BURBANK, IL
OIL CONSUMPTION SINCE 12000 MILES. VW DEALER NEVER WANT TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. KEEP TELL ME THIS NORMAL. NOW I HAVE TO ADD QUARTER OIL EVERY1400 MIL. I HOPE THE RECALL WILL FIX THIS PROBLEM. I HAD TO REPLACE BRAKES AT 12000 MILES DUE THE WHILE BRAKES. I'VE DONE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST 3 TIMES ALREADY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - EAGAN, MN
OVER THE PAST 2 MONTHS, OUR 2009 VW ROUTAN HAS REPEATEDLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE WILL STOP, CAUSING THE POWER BRAKING AND POWER STEERING TO GO OUT. ONCE WE PULL OVER AND TURN THE VEHICLE OFF, WE CAN RESTART IT. HOWEVER, RECENTLY IT'S STARTED TO AGAIN STALL WITHIN ONLY A COUPLE OF MILES OF THE FIRST STALL. WE REPLACED THE ERG VALVE ALREADY. IN DOING SOME RESEARCH, IT APPEARS THAT THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM MAY BE DUE TO AN IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEM. OUR VEHICLE IS ONE THAT IS PART OF THE RECALL THAT VW ISSUED OVER 7 MONTHS AGO! I CALLED VW CUSTOMER CARE YESTERDAY AND WAS TOLD THAT THE RECALL PART STILL ISN'T AVAILABLE BUT IT SHOULD BE "READY SOON." THE PERSON I TALKED WITH HAD NO IDEA WHEN "SOON" WOULD BE. HE SAID THE PARTS ARE COMING FROM A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER. HE TOLD ME TO BRING OUR VW TO A VW DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THEM COMPLETE A DIAGNOSIS ON IT. I EXPLAINED THAT THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS FOR US AND THAT I WAS UNWILLING TO PAY THE DEALERSHIP ANY ADDITIONAL MONEY FOR A DIAGNOSIS FEE WHEN IT IS CLEARLY PART OF THE RECALL PROBLEM. THE CUSTOMER CARE REPRESENTATIVE STARTED A CASE ON OUR VEHICLE (WHATEVER THAT MEANS). IN THE MEANTIME, I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AS I HAVE 2 YOUNG CHILDREN THAT I WILL NOT PUT AT RISK OF THIS THING SHUTTING DOWN WHILE WE ARE GOING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. IT IS CLEAR TO ME THAT VW HAS EXCEEDED AN APPROPRIATE AMOUNT OF TIME TO FIX THE RECALL ISSUE ON ALL OF THESE ROUTANS. WHEN WILL VW BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE TO FIX THE RECALL ISSUE - IT'S BEEN OVER 7 MONTHS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/31/2015 - TAYLOR, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT ROTORS HAD TO BE REPLACED THREE TIMES SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED AND TWICE IN THE LAST YEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE ROTOR, CALIPER, AND HUB. THE TECHNICIAN INSISTED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT PROPERLY REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/31/2015 - RIVERDALE, GA
IN JULY 2012 I BOUGHT A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN MINIVAN. I HAVE REPORTED THE FOLLOWING MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEMS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO NO RESOLVE: LOSS OF POWER -++ THE CAR WILL COMPLETELY LOSE POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKS WHILE DRIVING. FOR EX ON 12/22 FROM 5:32P -++ 10:48P, THE CAR LOST POWER AND STEERING WHEEL LOCKED 11 TIMES. SLIDING DOORS AUTOMATICALLY OPEN -++ THE DOORS WILL NOT CLOSE SECURELY, WON-++T OPEN, OR WILL APPEAR CLOSED AND SPONTANEOUSLY REOPEN. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL TIMES WE WILL GO OUT FOR THE EVENING OR COME OUT FOR WORK IN THE MORNING AND BOTH DOORS ARE OPENED. AT TIMES, WHILE DRIVING, THE DOOR (PARTICULARLY THE DRIVER SIDE REAR) WILL APPEAR CLOSED AND SECURE HOWEVER IT WILL SOUND AS IF IT HAS SUDDENLY JUMPED OFF TRACK AND THE DOOR WILL CRACK OPEN. WE TOOK THE CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED VEHICLE TO BE SERVICED 8XS WITHIN THE WARRANTY TIME AND WE WERE TOLD EACH TIME BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS NOT ON TO TRIGGER A CODE THAT OUTLINE THE PROBLEMS THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE. WE HAVE SUFFERED A GREAT DEAL OF PERSONAL AND EMOTIONAL STRESS AS THESE ARE CRITICAL AND HIGHLY DANGEROUS HIGHWAY SAFETY CONCERNS. I-++M WORRIED EACH TIME MY FAMILY GETS INTO THE MINIVAN AND I CONTINUE TO FULFILL MY CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT OF $320+ PER MONTH WITHOUT FAIL HOWEVER I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE THE SAME FROM VOLKSWAGEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2015 - RIVERDALE, GA
IN JULY 2012 I BOUGHT A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN MINIVAN. I HAVE REPORTED THE FOLLOWING MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEMS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO NO RESOLVE: LOSS OF POWER -++ THE CAR WILL COMPLETELY LOSE POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKS WHILE DRIVING. FOR EX ON 12/22 FROM 5:32P -++ 10:48P, THE CAR LOST POWER AND STEERING WHEEL LOCKED 11 TIMES. SLIDING DOORS AUTOMATICALLY OPEN -++ THE DOORS WILL NOT CLOSE SECURELY, WON-++T OPEN, OR WILL APPEAR CLOSED AND SPONTANEOUSLY REOPEN. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL TIMES WE WILL GO OUT FOR THE EVENING OR COME OUT FOR WORK IN THE MORNING AND BOTH DOORS ARE OPENED. AT TIMES, WHILE DRIVING, THE DOOR (PARTICULARLY THE DRIVER SIDE REAR) WILL APPEAR CLOSED AND SECURE HOWEVER IT WILL SOUND AS IF IT HAS SUDDENLY JUMPED OFF TRACK AND THE DOOR WILL CRACK OPEN. WE TOOK THE CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED VEHICLE TO BE SERVICED 8XS WITHIN THE WARRANTY TIME AND WE WERE TOLD EACH TIME BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS NOT ON TO TRIGGER A CODE THAT OUTLINE THE PROBLEMS THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE. WE HAVE SUFFERED A GREAT DEAL OF PERSONAL AND EMOTIONAL STRESS AS THESE ARE CRITICAL AND HIGHLY DANGEROUS HIGHWAY SAFETY CONCERNS. I-++M WORRIED EACH TIME MY FAMILY GETS INTO THE MINIVAN AND I CONTINUE TO FULFILL MY CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT OF $320+ PER MONTH WITHOUT FAIL HOWEVER I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE THE SAME FROM VOLKSWAGEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/26/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THERE WAS A BEEPING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE RANGE SELECTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 VOLKSWAGEN ROUTAN. WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THERE WAS A BEEPING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE RANGE SELECTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V396000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/25/2015 - SOUTH BERWICK, ME
WE HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 2 MONTHS WITH NO ISSUES, WHEN WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IT CAME WITH A CLEAN CARFAX LISTING NO RECALLS. ON 3/10/15 MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON A 2 LANE COUNTRY ROAD GOING ABOUT 35MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND SHE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE ENGINE APPEARED TO HAVE CUT OUT, SHE HAD NO POWER STEERING AND NO POWER BRAKES AND WAS UNABLE TO STOP OR STEER THE VEHICLE. THE DASH DISPLAYED THE ANTI-SLIP LIGHT, BUT NO OTHERS. THE VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN TO A STOP, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONCOMING TRAFFIC AS SHE WAS NO LONGER IN HER PROPER LANE, AND NO CARS BEHIND HER. SHE WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTART IT AS IF NOTHING HAD HAPPENED AND IT WAS FINE AFTER THAT FOR THE REST OF HER COMMUTE. WE CONTACTED VW ABOUT THE ISSUE AND THEY REQUESTED THAT WE BRING THE CAR TO A VW DEALER FOR INSPECTION. WE DID THAT, AND VW CLAIMED THAT OUR VEHICLE WAS NOT IMPACTED BY RECALL # RNA1, BUT INSTEAD THEY INSISTED THE ISSUE WAS CAUSED BY A FAULTY EGR VALVE, AND GAVE ME AN ENGINE TROUBLE CODE OF C121C THAT THEY CLAIMED CORRESPONDED WITH THE FAILING EGR VALVE. VW CHARGED ME OVER $100 FOR THE DIAGNOSIS, AND A DAY LATER AFTER COMPLAINING TO VW CUSTOMER CARE THEY AGREED TO REFUND THE CHARGES. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE INDEPENDENT DEALERSHIP THAT I ORIGINALLY PURCHASED THE CAR AT THE SAME DAY THAT VW DIAGNOSED THIS, AND THEY WERE NOT IN AGREEMENT WITH THE EGR DIAGNOSIS, AND ALSO COULD NOT CORROBORATE THE TROUBLE CODE C121C AS BEING RELATED TO AN EGR ISSUE, RATHER IT COMES UP AS A TORQUE REQUEST SIGNAL DENIED TROUBLE CODE INSTEAD. THE INDEPENDENT DEALER ALSO FOUND THAT I HAD STORED CODES FOR ABS MALFUNCTIONS, SUNROOF ERRORS AND MIC/CCN INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. THE INDEPENDENT DEALER CLEARED THESE CODES BEFORE LEAVING THAT DAY. ON 3/25/15 MY WIFE WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 35MPH WHEN THE CARS ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN IN A SIMILAR FASHION. NO CODES

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds