Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I - 2010 BMW 535I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 27 complaints filed for the 2010 BMW 535I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 BMW 535I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 BMW 535I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bag (1) Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Steering (1) Tires (1)
Child Seat (1) Engine (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/9/2014 - SUNRISE, FL
I PURCHASED A PRE-OWNED 2010 BMW 535I ON 12/31/2013. THE NEXT DAY (NEW YEAR'S DAY), AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR INDICATION, THE VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY SHUT DOWN, COMING TO A ROLLING STOP. AS SOON AS THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN, THE DASHBOARD SHOWED A "FUEL PUMP" WARNING, WHICH ALSO NOTED THAT "CONTINUED DRIVING IS POSSIBLE." HOWEVER, SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RE-START WERE NOT SUCCESSFUL, AND THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PUSHED TO A SAFE LOCATION. PRIOR TO THE ENGINE FAILURE, I WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 35 MPH ON A 2-LANE DIVIDE ROADWAY, WHERE CONSTRUCTION BARRICADES REPLACED THE SHOULDER. THE INCIDENT OCCURRED JUST AROUND MIDNIGHT, AND THERE WAS VERY LITTLE TRAFFIC, SO WE WERE SPARED CERTAIN CATASTROPHE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO MY HOME, AND ALTHOUGH THE ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON, WE WERE ABLE TO DRIVE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FROM THERE. FOR THE NEXT 30+ DAYS, VARIOUS FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM COMPONENTS WERE SERVICED AND/OR REPLACED INCLUDING THE FOLLOWING: HIGH-PRESSURE FUEL PUMP REPLACED; LOW-PRESSURE FUEL PUMP REPLACED; FUEL INJECTORS FLUSHED, IGNITION COILS AND SPARK PLUGS REPLACED. AFTER EACH OF THOSE "FIXES", THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO US, AND SHUT DOWN AGAIN ON THE ROAD AND IN TRAFFIC WITHIN 2 DAYS. FINALLY, THE INJECTION PUMP CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED, AND THE VEHICLE UNDERWENT A COMPLETE SOFTWARE SYSTEM UPDATE. WE PICKED UP THE VEHICLE FOR THE 4TH TIME ON 2/3/2014, AND IT APPEARS THAT THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN CORRECTED AND OUR SAFETY RESTORED....

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2014 - SUNRISE, FL
I PURCHASED A PRE-OWNED 2010 BMW 535I ON 12/31/2013. THE NEXT DAY (NEW YEAR'S DAY), AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR INDICATION, THE VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY SHUT DOWN, COMING TO A ROLLING STOP. AS SOON AS THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN, THE DASHBOARD SHOWED A "FUEL PUMP" WARNING, WHICH ALSO NOTED THAT "CONTINUED DRIVING IS POSSIBLE." HOWEVER, SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RE-START WERE NOT SUCCESSFUL, AND THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PUSHED TO A SAFE LOCATION. PRIOR TO THE ENGINE FAILURE, I WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 35 MPH ON A 2-LANE DIVIDE ROADWAY, WHERE CONSTRUCTION BARRICADES REPLACED THE SHOULDER. THE INCIDENT OCCURRED JUST AROUND MIDNIGHT, AND THERE WAS VERY LITTLE TRAFFIC, SO WE WERE SPARED CERTAIN CATASTROPHE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO MY HOME, AND ALTHOUGH THE ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON, WE WERE ABLE TO DRIVE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FROM THERE. FOR THE NEXT 30+ DAYS, VARIOUS FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM COMPONENTS WERE SERVICED AND/OR REPLACED INCLUDING THE FOLLOWING: HIGH-PRESSURE FUEL PUMP REPLACED; LOW-PRESSURE FUEL PUMP REPLACED; FUEL INJECTORS FLUSHED, IGNITION COILS AND SPARK PLUGS REPLACED. AFTER EACH OF THOSE "FIXES", THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO US, AND SHUT DOWN AGAIN ON THE ROAD AND IN TRAFFIC WITHIN 2 DAYS. FINALLY, THE INJECTION PUMP CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED, AND THE VEHICLE UNDERWENT A COMPLETE SOFTWARE SYSTEM UPDATE. WE PICKED UP THE VEHICLE FOR THE 4TH TIME ON 2/3/2014, AND IT APPEARS THAT THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN CORRECTED AND OUR SAFETY RESTORED....

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
IGNITION COIL MALFUNCTION REOCCURS AFTER DEALERSHIP REPAIRS OF THE SAME PROBLEM. CAUSES ENGINE SPEED TO VARY AND BE OUTSIDE THE DRIVERS CONTROL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
IGNITION COIL MALFUNCTION REOCCURS AFTER DEALERSHIP REPAIRS OF THE SAME PROBLEM. CAUSES ENGINE SPEED TO VARY AND BE OUTSIDE THE DRIVERS CONTROL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/23/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
DESCRIPTION: THE FRONT PASSANGER SIDE DOOR ACTUATOR WENT BAD. AS A RESULT, DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK WHEN HANDLE IS DOUBLE-PULLED. THE MAIN PROBLEM IS, THE DOOR IS DESIGNED SUCH THAT, IT CANNOT BE UNLOCKED MANUALLY BY PULLING THE LOCK STUD UP... THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THE DOOR IS TO PULL THE HANDLE TWICE. THEREFORE, WHEN THE ACTUATOR MALFUNCTIONS, THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THE DOOR AND GET OUT OF THE CAR IS BY PRESSING THE UNLOCK BUTTON WHICH IS ON THE MAIN CONTROL PANEL. RISK: IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT WITH A PASSENGER SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT, SHE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR AND GET OUT OF THE CAR. IF THE PASSENGER IS A CHILD OR SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO OPERATE THE UNLOCK BUTTON IN THE MAIN CONTROL PANEL, IT MIGHT GET VERY SERIOUS. FREQUENCY: ABOUT SIX MONTHS AGO, MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR ACTUATOR WENT BAD, AND WAS REPLACED UNDER MY WARRANTY (UNDER 50K). BUT, I HAD TO PUT UP A FIGHT TO GET IT COVERED BY WARRANTY. NOW THE PASSENGER SIDE ACTUATOR IS GONE. AND BMW REFUSES TO FIX IT UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. BROWSING ONLINE, I FOUND QUITE A FEW PEOPLE HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES. HERE IS A DISCUSSION THREAD I OPENED, AND SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE: HTTP://WWW.BIMMERFEST.COM/FORUMS/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=674994 ALSO, MANY MENTIONED THIS ARTICLE BELOW, WHICH MIGHT HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY THE SAME ISSUE: HTTP://GUARDIANLV.COM/2013/09/14-YEAR-OLD-GIRL-DIED-TRAPPED-INSIDE-LOCKED-CAR-VIDEO/ CONCLUSION: THIS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE IN THE SAME CAR. THIS HAPPENED TO A LOT OTHER PEOPLE. THIS IS, IN MY OPINION, A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AND DEFINITELY POSES GRAVE SECURITY RISK. BMW SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE COSTS AND GET THE FAULTY ACTUATORS REPLACED AT NO COST TO THE CONSUMERS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/20/2013 - WILDORMAR , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE FOG LIGHT WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE HOUSING FOR THE LIGHT HAD BECOME MELTED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER BUT THE DEFECT WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT RECALLED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,100.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/12/2013 - GERMANTOWN , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS AND REAR TURN SIGNALS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE WIRES FOR THE BRAKES LIGHTS AND REAR TURN SIGNALS BURNED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2013 - LONG BEACH, CA
ON JANUARY 12, 2013, WHILE DRIVING WITH MY FAMILY ON A SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY AT SPEEDS OF ROUGHLY 70 MPH, OUR 2010 BMW 535I SEDAN, SUDDENLY LOST POWER, STALLED, COULD NOT ACCELERATE, AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO CONTROL AS I CROSSED 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC; SURPRISINGLY GUIDED THE VEHICLE SAFELY TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER. AT THE TIME THE VEHICLE LOST POWER, A WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT DISPLAYED, "ENGINE MALFUNCTION-REDUCED POWER." AS A RESULT, IT REQUIRED A TOW SERVICE TO A LOCAL BMW DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2013 - LONG BEACH, CA
ON JANUARY 12, 2013, WHILE DRIVING WITH MY FAMILY ON A SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY AT SPEEDS OF ROUGHLY 70 MPH, OUR 2010 BMW 535I SEDAN, SUDDENLY LOST POWER, STALLED, COULD NOT ACCELERATE, AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO CONTROL AS I CROSSED 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC; SURPRISINGLY GUIDED THE VEHICLE SAFELY TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER. AT THE TIME THE VEHICLE LOST POWER, A WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT DISPLAYED, "ENGINE MALFUNCTION-REDUCED POWER." AS A RESULT, IT REQUIRED A TOW SERVICE TO A LOCAL BMW DEALERSHIP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/11/2012 - FRESH MEADOWS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY THEN THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S DESTINATION AND WAS LATER TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THREE OF THE SIX THE FUEL INJECTORS HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WAS 53,300.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds