Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 192 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (5) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2017 - FREDERICK, MD
MY 2010 CHEVY CAMARO HAS ONLY 14,361 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AND IS NOT SUBJECTED TO WEATHER OVER 99% OF THE TIME. A FEW MONTHS AGO I NOTICED A VERY FAINT MARK OR SCRATCH OR CRACK IN THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD OVER THE AIRBAG. IT IS BECOMING MORE PRONOUNCED AND NOW A SECOND CRACK IS FORMING. I CHECKED WITH MY LOCAL DEALER AND THEY IN TURN CHECKED WITH A GM REP. THEY ARE TELLING ME THEY WILL REPLACE IT FOR ABOUT $1250 BUT I WILL HAVE TO PAY $800 OF THE COSTS. CONSIDERING THAT I TREAT MY CAR WITH THE UTMOST CARE AND ADDING TO THAT THE FACT THAT THE INTERNET IS FILLED WITH COMPLAINTS ABOUT CRACKS OVER THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG ON 2010 CAMAROS, THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FURTHER FOR A POSSIBLE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2017 - BONIFAY, FL
MY CARS "ENGINE LIGHT" CAME ON AROUND 120,000 MILES SO I TOOK INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT READ A CODE OF P0008 ENGINE TIMING. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS DUE TO DIRTY OIL. I BOUGHT THE CAR USED A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO WITH CLOSE TO 80,000 MILES ON IT AND I KEEP THE OIL CHANGED BETWEEN EVERY 3000 TO 4000 MILES. IVE ASKED AROUND TO A FEW OTHER SHOPS THEIR OPINION AND THEY TELL ME THE SAME THING. THE PRICE IM GETTING QUOTED COUNTING PARTS AND LABOR IS CLOSE TO $1300 AND I CANT AFFORD THAT KIND OF BILL. IT APPEARS THAT IF OTHERS ARE HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE THEN A RECALL SHOULD BE BROADCAST OUT AND BE COVERED UNDER WARRENTY? IIM A DIE HARD BOW TIE GUY AND ALL IVE EVER OWNED WAS A GM CARS AND TRUCKS. I CURRENTLY HAVE MY 2010 CAMARO A 2003 CHEVY TRUCK WITH ONLY 121000 MILES AND A 1971 CHEVY TRUCK THAT IM RESTORING. IS THERE ANYWAY THAT YALL COULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS ISSUE EVERYONE IS STARTING TO HAVE WITH THESE? I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT ENTERPRISE CHEVROLET HAD A CAMARO IN THIS WEEK WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AS WELL AS A FEW OTHERS IVE TALKED TO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - LINCOLN, CA
MANUAL DRIVER'S SEATBACK WENT FORWARD ON ITS OWN & STUCK IN FORWARD POSITION AND TRUNK POPPED ON ITS OWN WHILE STATIONARY. 2010 CAMARO 2LT HADN'T BEEN DRIVEN OVER CHRISTMAS BREAK. WHILE OUT STROLLING, MY HUSBAND STOPS TO CRANK THE CAR SINCE IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS. HE GOT IN, CRANKED IT. NO TROUBLE. A WEEK LATER I WENT TO DRIVE IT TO WORK, USED REMOTE KEY TO UNLOCK DOORS AND NOTICED THE SEATBACK WAS STUCK CLOSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. I TRIED LATCH ON SEAT'S BACK AND SIDE LEVER, BUT COULDN+T GET THE SEATBACK TO MOVE. I CALLED TO TELL MY HUSBAND I WAS TAKING OUR OTHER VEHICLE TO WORK AND ASKED IF HE'D RAISED THE SEATBACK THE DAY HE CRANKED THE CAR FOR GOOD MEASURE. HE DIDN'T RECALL DOING SO. LATER THAT EVENING, WE WENT TO LOOK AT THE CAR TOGETHER, USED THE REMOTE TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. HE TRIED MOVING THE SEATBACK AND COULDN'T. HE NOTICED THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AND ASKED IF I'D POPPED IT. I DIDN+T THINK SO, BUT MAYBE I HIT THE WRONG BUTTON WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS. HE SLAMMED THE TRUNK SHUT. WE THOUGHT PERHAPS HE FORGOT TO LOCK THE CAR AND SOMEONE HAD RUMMAGED THROUGH OUR CAR AND JAMMED THE SEAT. A BRIEF ONLINE SEARCH REVEALED OTHER CAMARO OWNERS W/ SAME ISSUE. THE SEATBACK HAD GONE FORWARD ON ITS OWN. I THOUGHT, IF SEATBACKS ARE MOVING FORWARD ON THEIR OWN WHAT HAPPENS IF SOMEONE'S DRIVING. UNSAFE! I VISITED NHTSA ONLINE AND SAW PICTURES ARE HELPFUL. I WENT HOME TO TAKE A PIC. THIS TIME THE REMOTE DIDN+T UNLOCK THE DOORS, SO I USED THE KEY. AFTER PHOTOS, I NOTICED THAT THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AGAIN. NO WAY I +HIT THE WRONG BUTTON,+ THE REMOTE WASN'T WORKING. I CHECKED TRUNK AND NOTED THE INSIDE LIGHTS WEREN'T ON. THE CAR'S BATTERY HAD DRAINED FROM THE TRUNK BEING OPEN FOR EXTENDED PERIODS OF TIME ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. SEATBACK MOVING FORWARD ON ITS OWN AND TRUNK POPPING ON ITS OWN+NOT A COINCIDENCE. BOTH ARE SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

SEATS

1/17/2017 - LINCOLN, CA
MANUAL DRIVER'S SEATBACK WENT FORWARD ON ITS OWN & STUCK IN FORWARD POSITION AND TRUNK POPPED ON ITS OWN WHILE STATIONARY. 2010 CAMARO 2LT HADN'T BEEN DRIVEN OVER CHRISTMAS BREAK. WHILE OUT STROLLING, MY HUSBAND STOPS TO CRANK THE CAR SINCE IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS. HE GOT IN, CRANKED IT. NO TROUBLE. A WEEK LATER I WENT TO DRIVE IT TO WORK, USED REMOTE KEY TO UNLOCK DOORS AND NOTICED THE SEATBACK WAS STUCK CLOSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. I TRIED LATCH ON SEAT'S BACK AND SIDE LEVER, BUT COULDN+T GET THE SEATBACK TO MOVE. I CALLED TO TELL MY HUSBAND I WAS TAKING OUR OTHER VEHICLE TO WORK AND ASKED IF HE'D RAISED THE SEATBACK THE DAY HE CRANKED THE CAR FOR GOOD MEASURE. HE DIDN'T RECALL DOING SO. LATER THAT EVENING, WE WENT TO LOOK AT THE CAR TOGETHER, USED THE REMOTE TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. HE TRIED MOVING THE SEATBACK AND COULDN'T. HE NOTICED THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AND ASKED IF I'D POPPED IT. I DIDN+T THINK SO, BUT MAYBE I HIT THE WRONG BUTTON WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS. HE SLAMMED THE TRUNK SHUT. WE THOUGHT PERHAPS HE FORGOT TO LOCK THE CAR AND SOMEONE HAD RUMMAGED THROUGH OUR CAR AND JAMMED THE SEAT. A BRIEF ONLINE SEARCH REVEALED OTHER CAMARO OWNERS W/ SAME ISSUE. THE SEATBACK HAD GONE FORWARD ON ITS OWN. I THOUGHT, IF SEATBACKS ARE MOVING FORWARD ON THEIR OWN WHAT HAPPENS IF SOMEONE'S DRIVING. UNSAFE! I VISITED NHTSA ONLINE AND SAW PICTURES ARE HELPFUL. I WENT HOME TO TAKE A PIC. THIS TIME THE REMOTE DIDN+T UNLOCK THE DOORS, SO I USED THE KEY. AFTER PHOTOS, I NOTICED THAT THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AGAIN. NO WAY I +HIT THE WRONG BUTTON,+ THE REMOTE WASN'T WORKING. I CHECKED TRUNK AND NOTED THE INSIDE LIGHTS WEREN'T ON. THE CAR'S BATTERY HAD DRAINED FROM THE TRUNK BEING OPEN FOR EXTENDED PERIODS OF TIME ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. SEATBACK MOVING FORWARD ON ITS OWN AND TRUNK POPPING ON ITS OWN+NOT A COINCIDENCE. BOTH ARE SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/17/2017 - LINCOLN, CA
MANUAL DRIVER'S SEATBACK WENT FORWARD ON ITS OWN & STUCK IN FORWARD POSITION AND TRUNK POPPED ON ITS OWN WHILE STATIONARY. 2010 CAMARO 2LT HADN'T BEEN DRIVEN OVER CHRISTMAS BREAK. WHILE OUT STROLLING, MY HUSBAND STOPS TO CRANK THE CAR SINCE IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS. HE GOT IN, CRANKED IT. NO TROUBLE. A WEEK LATER I WENT TO DRIVE IT TO WORK, USED REMOTE KEY TO UNLOCK DOORS AND NOTICED THE SEATBACK WAS STUCK CLOSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. I TRIED LATCH ON SEAT'S BACK AND SIDE LEVER, BUT COULDN+T GET THE SEATBACK TO MOVE. I CALLED TO TELL MY HUSBAND I WAS TAKING OUR OTHER VEHICLE TO WORK AND ASKED IF HE'D RAISED THE SEATBACK THE DAY HE CRANKED THE CAR FOR GOOD MEASURE. HE DIDN'T RECALL DOING SO. LATER THAT EVENING, WE WENT TO LOOK AT THE CAR TOGETHER, USED THE REMOTE TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. HE TRIED MOVING THE SEATBACK AND COULDN'T. HE NOTICED THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AND ASKED IF I'D POPPED IT. I DIDN+T THINK SO, BUT MAYBE I HIT THE WRONG BUTTON WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS. HE SLAMMED THE TRUNK SHUT. WE THOUGHT PERHAPS HE FORGOT TO LOCK THE CAR AND SOMEONE HAD RUMMAGED THROUGH OUR CAR AND JAMMED THE SEAT. A BRIEF ONLINE SEARCH REVEALED OTHER CAMARO OWNERS W/ SAME ISSUE. THE SEATBACK HAD GONE FORWARD ON ITS OWN. I THOUGHT, IF SEATBACKS ARE MOVING FORWARD ON THEIR OWN WHAT HAPPENS IF SOMEONE'S DRIVING. UNSAFE! I VISITED NHTSA ONLINE AND SAW PICTURES ARE HELPFUL. I WENT HOME TO TAKE A PIC. THIS TIME THE REMOTE DIDN+T UNLOCK THE DOORS, SO I USED THE KEY. AFTER PHOTOS, I NOTICED THAT THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AGAIN. NO WAY I +HIT THE WRONG BUTTON,+ THE REMOTE WASN'T WORKING. I CHECKED TRUNK AND NOTED THE INSIDE LIGHTS WEREN'T ON. THE CAR'S BATTERY HAD DRAINED FROM THE TRUNK BEING OPEN FOR EXTENDED PERIODS OF TIME ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. SEATBACK MOVING FORWARD ON ITS OWN AND TRUNK POPPING ON ITS OWN+NOT A COINCIDENCE. BOTH ARE SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/3/2017 - WHITEFISH BAY, WI
I HAVE HAD CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON IN THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES, CODES P0008 AND P0017 TIMING CHAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL CHEVY DEALERSHIPS FOR DIAGNOSIS PER GM AND CHEVY, BOTH TIMES THEY STATED THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD BE REPLACED. THE FIRST TIME THE CAMARO WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY THE CARMARO LOST POWER AND BEGAN TO SHAKE, I PULLED OVER PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND NOTICED A WEIRD IDLE AND SHAKE. I WAS TOLD AFTER CONTACTING GM AND CHEVY THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND NEED HAS TO MEET A CERTAIN NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS BEFORE THEY CAN INCLUDE THE 2010-14 CAMARO INTO THE TIMING CHAIN RECALL AND EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR 10 YEARS AND 100,000 MILES. AS THEY HAVE FOR OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME TIMING CHAIN PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT RIGHT, MY VEHICLE HAS BEING PARKED FOR 1 YEAR SINCE THIS STARTED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/19/2016 - MCRAE, AR
AROUND 60,000 MILES THE "CHECK AIR BAG" LIGHT CAME ON. THE PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG COMES ON AND GOES OFF DURING TRAVEL. IF I WAS TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT WHILE THE BAG HAPPENS TO HAVE TURNED ITSELF OFF, I'M AFRAID A MUCH GREATER INJURY WILL OCCUR. DEALER SAYS ITS NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND WILL COST AROUND $1,000 TO REPLACE THE COMPUTER BOARD IN PASSENGER SEAT. I BELIEVE THIS AFFECTS OTHER CHEVROLET MODELS AS WELL. CHEVROLET SHOULD RECALL THE CIRCUIT BOARD BEFORE THEIR CUSTOMERS ARE INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2016 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITH P0008 OBD-II TROUBLE CODE: ENGINE POSITIONS SYSTEM PERFORMANCE BANK 1. TWICE WAS TOLD BY DEALERSHIP IT WAS AN OIL ISSUE EVEN THOUGH NO OIL CHANGE ALERTS CAME ON AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT KEPT COMING BACK AFTER SERVICE (OCCASIONALLY INTERMITTENT). MPG WAS NEGATIVELY IMPACTED DURING REGULAR OPERATION AND OCCASIONAL ROUGH IDLING AT STOPLIGHTS. AT 77,000 MILES (AND JUST PAST THE 7 YEARS COVERED BY EXTENDED WARRANTY), WAS FINALLY TOLD THIS WAS A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE AND $1,700 TO FIX (OF COURSE NOT COVERED). RESEARCH ON STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN FROM P0008 ERROR FOR CAMAROS INDICATED MANY OTHERS WITH ISSUE AND EXTENDED WARRANTY UP TO 10 YEARS/120,000 MILES ISSUED BY GM FOR OTHER VEHICLE MODELS USING SAME ENGINE. BULLETIN/WARRANTY SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO AFFECTED 2010 CAMAROS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2016 - FRASER, MI
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WAS IN MOTION. TOOK TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS: NEED TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN ON A CAR WITH 44000 MILES ON IT. CAR USUALLY SITS IN WINTER. ALL MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED BY THE DEALER. ORDERED THE CAR AND PURCHASED IT TO KEEP IT. ALWAYS HAND WASHED. IT IS THE V-6 ENGINE AND I UNDERSTAND THAT THEY WILL ONLY REPAIR THIS ENGINE ON CADILLACS & SOME SATURN MODELS. IT IS THE SAME ENGINE USED IN VARIOUS VEHICLES. I FEEL THAT THIS IS VERY PREMATURE. I HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A TIMING CHAIN. I UNDERSTAND THAT THE GEARS ARE PLASTIC AND THE CHAIN IS METAL. I DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS SHOULD BE A COST TO ME AS THIS IS DESIGNED TO FAIL. IM SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/21/2016 - FRASER, MI
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WAS IN MOTION. TOOK TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS: NEED TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN ON A CAR WITH 44000 MILES ON IT. CAR USUALLY SITS IN WINTER. ALL MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED BY THE DEALER. ORDERED THE CAR AND PURCHASED IT TO KEEP IT. ALWAYS HAND WASHED. IT IS THE V-6 ENGINE AND I UNDERSTAND THAT THEY WILL ONLY REPAIR THIS ENGINE ON CADILLACS & SOME SATURN MODELS. IT IS THE SAME ENGINE USED IN VARIOUS VEHICLES. I FEEL THAT THIS IS VERY PREMATURE. I HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A TIMING CHAIN. I UNDERSTAND THAT THE GEARS ARE PLASTIC AND THE CHAIN IS METAL. I DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS SHOULD BE A COST TO ME AS THIS IS DESIGNED TO FAIL. IM SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds