Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 187 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (4) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (35) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/22/2016 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITH P0008 OBD-II TROUBLE CODE: ENGINE POSITIONS SYSTEM PERFORMANCE BANK 1. TWICE WAS TOLD BY DEALERSHIP IT WAS AN OIL ISSUE EVEN THOUGH NO OIL CHANGE ALERTS CAME ON AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT KEPT COMING BACK AFTER SERVICE (OCCASIONALLY INTERMITTENT). MPG WAS NEGATIVELY IMPACTED DURING REGULAR OPERATION AND OCCASIONAL ROUGH IDLING AT STOPLIGHTS. AT 77,000 MILES (AND JUST PAST THE 7 YEARS COVERED BY EXTENDED WARRANTY), WAS FINALLY TOLD THIS WAS A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE AND $1,700 TO FIX (OF COURSE NOT COVERED). RESEARCH ON STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN FROM P0008 ERROR FOR CAMAROS INDICATED MANY OTHERS WITH ISSUE AND EXTENDED WARRANTY UP TO 10 YEARS/120,000 MILES ISSUED BY GM FOR OTHER VEHICLE MODELS USING SAME ENGINE. BULLETIN/WARRANTY SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO AFFECTED 2010 CAMAROS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2016 - FRASER, MI
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WAS IN MOTION. TOOK TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS: NEED TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN ON A CAR WITH 44000 MILES ON IT. CAR USUALLY SITS IN WINTER. ALL MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED BY THE DEALER. ORDERED THE CAR AND PURCHASED IT TO KEEP IT. ALWAYS HAND WASHED. IT IS THE V-6 ENGINE AND I UNDERSTAND THAT THEY WILL ONLY REPAIR THIS ENGINE ON CADILLACS & SOME SATURN MODELS. IT IS THE SAME ENGINE USED IN VARIOUS VEHICLES. I FEEL THAT THIS IS VERY PREMATURE. I HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A TIMING CHAIN. I UNDERSTAND THAT THE GEARS ARE PLASTIC AND THE CHAIN IS METAL. I DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS SHOULD BE A COST TO ME AS THIS IS DESIGNED TO FAIL. IM SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/21/2016 - FRASER, MI
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WAS IN MOTION. TOOK TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS: NEED TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN ON A CAR WITH 44000 MILES ON IT. CAR USUALLY SITS IN WINTER. ALL MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED BY THE DEALER. ORDERED THE CAR AND PURCHASED IT TO KEEP IT. ALWAYS HAND WASHED. IT IS THE V-6 ENGINE AND I UNDERSTAND THAT THEY WILL ONLY REPAIR THIS ENGINE ON CADILLACS & SOME SATURN MODELS. IT IS THE SAME ENGINE USED IN VARIOUS VEHICLES. I FEEL THAT THIS IS VERY PREMATURE. I HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE A TIMING CHAIN. I UNDERSTAND THAT THE GEARS ARE PLASTIC AND THE CHAIN IS METAL. I DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS SHOULD BE A COST TO ME AS THIS IS DESIGNED TO FAIL. IM SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO.

View Details

ENGINE

11/4/2016 - RALSTON, NE
TIMING CHAIN. TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP TO DIAGNOSE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. REVEALED CODE P0008 WHICH WAS LATER FOUND TO BE AN ISSUE WITH A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN. VEHICLE HAD JUST OVER 50,000 MILES AND EVEN THE DEALER ADMITTED IT SHOULD NOT HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. AFTER RESEARCH, DISCOVERED THAT THE SAME ENGINE USED IN THE 2010 LLT CAMARO WAS USED IN OTHER GM VEHICLES---BUT THOSE VEHICLES HAD POWER TRAIN WARRANTIES EXTENDED TO 10 YEAR/120,000 MILES TO HELP COVER THIS POTENTIAL ISSUE. THIS WAS NOT DONE FOR THE CAMARO, SO I WAS FORCED TO PAY NEARLY $1400 TO REPAIR MY CAR SINCE THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. WHY WAS THE WARRANTY NOT EXTENDED ON THE CAMARO WHICH USES THE SAME ENGINE AS THOSE OTHER GM VEHICLES??

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/31/2016 - LOWELL, MA
CRACKED DASH ABOVE PASSENGER AIRBAG

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2016 - FAIRBORN, OH
HAVING THE ERROR CODE P0008 SHOW UP ON MY CAMARO 2010 AT 100,000 MILES SEAMS TO BE A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN. LOSS OF POWER HIGH GAS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2016 - NESCONSET, NY
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. READ THE CODE AND IT COMES UP P008. THIS CODE IS FOR THE TIMING CHAIN. IN DOING RESEARCH ON THIS ISSUE THERE SEEMS TO BE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM. FOUND OUT THAT GM HAS EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR THIS ENGINE ISSUE WHERE IT IS USED IN OTHER GM VEHICLES BUT NOT FOR THE CAMARO. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE CAMARO ISN'T INCLUDED WHEN IT HAS THE SAME ENGINE AS THE OTHER GM VEHICLES. THESE OTHER VEHICLE WARRANTIES ARE EXTENDED UNDER CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 10287. THE CEL WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF OVER THE COURSE OF A COUPLE WEEKS. FINALLY IT JUST STAYED ON.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2016 - BRICK, NJ
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CODE P0008 & P0017. DEALER DIAGNOSED NEEDS TIMING CHAINS ON 3.6 V6. MILAGE 52,724 COST APPROX $3,000. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. OTHER GM MODELS WITH 3.6 V6 ENGINES COVERED 10 YEARS 120,000 MILES UNDER CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 10287. CAMARO NOT INCLUDED. NEEDS TO BE INCLUDED IN RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2016 - GROVE CITY, OH
I HAVE 2010 RS V.6 CAMARO , WITH PROBLEM P0008 BANK 1 ENGINE, NEEDS TIMING CHAIN, MILES 58778 ON 8-2-16 . I SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS OF SAME ISSUE. ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON, PULLED CODE. P0008

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2016 - DALEVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE ACCELERATING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BARELY ACCELERATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE METAL TIMING CHAIN DAMAGED THE PLASTIC TIMING GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000. UPDATED 09/27/16 UPDATED 10/05/16.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds