Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 175 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (4) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - KATY, TX
MY LIGHT ENGINE CAME ON AT AROUND 100,000 MILES, SO I FIGURED IT WAS BECAUSE I NEEDED TO HAVE MY 100,000 MILE MAINTENANCE WORK DONE, WHICH WAS A REGULAR TUNE UP, WHICH INCLUDED, CHANGE OF SPARK PLUGS, AND CHANGE OF ENGINE OIL, TRANSMISSION AND DIFFERENTIAL OIL CHANGE, WHICH I DID BY TAKING IT TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM NEW IN 2010. WHEN I TOOK THE CAR IN IT WAS WORKING FINE WITH NO PROBLEMS AND WAS RUNNING VERY SMOOTH BUT AFTER THEY COMPLETED THE WORK AND 560.00 DOLLARS LATER THE CARE CAME OUT WITH VERY BAD IDLING AND MISSING A LOT AND LOSING POWER! I TOOK THE CAR BACK AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS BECAUSE THE TIMING CHAIN WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED! I DON'T AGREE WITH THEIR DIAGNOSTIC AND FEEL THEY ARE DOING SOMETHING WRONG AND ARE TRYING TO COVER IT UP, SO I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE MATTER TO FIND OUT THAT THERE ARE A LOT OF OTHER CAMARO OWNERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE! SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MATTER I DON'T THINK AN ENGINE'S CHAIN SHOULD GO BAD AT 100,000 MILES! THE DEALER WANTS ME TO PAY 1600.00 TO HAVE IT REPLACED, WHICH I THINK ITS OUTRAGEOUS CONSIDERING THERE ARE A LOT OF PROBLEMS THAT HAVE BEEN REPORTED ON THE SAME ISSUE! I BELIEVE IT IS DANGEROUS DRIVING A VEHICLE WITH A FAULTY TIMING CHAIN FOR IT LOSES POWER WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO ACCELERATE WHEN CROSSING INTERSECTIONS OR SWITCHING LANES!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/7/2016 - WESTCOVINA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2016 - PORT ORANGE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

WHEELS

4/28/2016 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
I HAVE THREE ISSUES FOR MY CAMARO 2010. FIRST AND MOST IMPORTANT IS THE THE TIMING CHAIN, THE CHAIN MOVED AND ACTIVATED THE CAM SENSORS. THE COST TO CHANGE IT IS PRINCELY. SECOND , THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE PASSENGER IS ON. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND PAID AND STILL THEY COULDN'T FIND THE ISSUE SO THEY WANTED MORE MONEY. THIRD, THREE OF THE TIRE SENSORS WHEN ON AND DEALER WANTS MORE MONEY. THE CAR RUNS WITH POOR PERFORMANCE SO I STOP USING IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2016 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
I HAVE THREE ISSUES FOR MY CAMARO 2010. FIRST AND MOST IMPORTANT IS THE THE TIMING CHAIN, THE CHAIN MOVED AND ACTIVATED THE CAM SENSORS. THE COST TO CHANGE IT IS PRINCELY. SECOND , THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE PASSENGER IS ON. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND PAID AND STILL THEY COULDN'T FIND THE ISSUE SO THEY WANTED MORE MONEY. THIRD, THREE OF THE TIRE SENSORS WHEN ON AND DEALER WANTS MORE MONEY. THE CAR RUNS WITH POOR PERFORMANCE SO I STOP USING IT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2016 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
I HAVE THREE ISSUES FOR MY CAMARO 2010. FIRST AND MOST IMPORTANT IS THE THE TIMING CHAIN, THE CHAIN MOVED AND ACTIVATED THE CAM SENSORS. THE COST TO CHANGE IT IS PRINCELY. SECOND , THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE PASSENGER IS ON. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND PAID AND STILL THEY COULDN'T FIND THE ISSUE SO THEY WANTED MORE MONEY. THIRD, THREE OF THE TIRE SENSORS WHEN ON AND DEALER WANTS MORE MONEY. THE CAR RUNS WITH POOR PERFORMANCE SO I STOP USING IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2016 - WILMINGTON, NC
I JUST NOTICE 2 DAYS AGO THAT MY SERVICE REPAIR AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. THE CAR HAS 37291 MILES. I HAVE SEEN THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE WITH OTHER CAMAROS ON THE INTERNET. ALSO THE CONSUMER IS PAYING FOR THESE REPAIR. WHAT IS GOING ON AND WHY SHOULD "WE" PAY FOR THIS?

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2016 - HURLEY, WI
AFTER PUTTING GAS IN MY CAR 1 MILE DOWN THE ROAD MY ENGINE STARTED TO KNOCK I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC HE SAID ENGINE WAS BAD I CALLED GM FOR HELP I WAS UNDER THE HUNDRED THOUSAND MILE WARRANTY BUT THE YEAR OF MY CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 8 YEAR GM TOLD ME TAKE IT TO A DEALER AND THEY WOULD PAY TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT THEIR DEALERS SAID IT NEEDS A TIMING CHAIN I HAD TIMING CHAIN REPLACED ONCE ALREADY ON IT AT 51000 MILES AND NOW AT 96,000 MILES IT WENT AGAIN I MADE APPOINTMENT FOR FOLLOWING WEEK TO GET IT FIXED THEY TOLD ME I COULD DRIVE IT BUT TOO BABY IT THE DAY BEFORE I WAS SUPPOSED TO GET IT FIXED THE ENGINE LOCKED UP ON ME AND WAS STRANDED WITH NO CELL SERVICE WITH MY DAUGHTER NOT TO MENTION IT WAS SNOWING OUT AFTER LOOKING INTO IT I FOUND OUT THESE ENGINES ARE KNOWN FOR BURNING OIL LIKE A COUPLE QUARTS OR 3 BETWEEN OIL CHANGES THESE ENGINES ARE IN THE CADILLAC CTS AND A BUNCH OTHERS AND ARE KNOWN FOR WEAK TIMING CHAIN GM EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THOSE TIRES FOR 120000 MILES 10 YEARS BUT THEY REFUSED TO DO THAT FOR THE CAMARO WHICH HAS THE SAME ENGINE IF THEY DID NOT TELL PEOPLE TO CHANGE OIL AT 15000 MILES OR 10000 MILES THIS PROBLEM WOULD NEVER HAPPEN ALSO THERE IS NO OIL LOW OIL LIGHT SO WHEN YOU GO BY WHAT YOUR CAR TELLS YOU TO YOU WILL LOSE YOUR TIMING CHAIN THIS IS GM'S FAULT THEY HAVE YOU GO TOO FAR IN BETWEEN TO CHANGE YOUR OIL AND THESE ENGINES BURN OIL BAD AND GM HAS KNOWN FOR YEARS IF YOU GO ON CAMARO FORUMS THAT'S ALL YOU HEAR ABOUT WITH THE 2010 CAMAROS AND CADILLAC CTS AND ACADIA RAYBURN OIL BAD AFTER VON HOLZEN ASHLAND WISCONSIN TOLD ME GM WOULD NOT HELP THEY OFFERED ME $1,000 FOR A NEW CAR THAT IS A SLAP IN THE FACE HOW DISRESPECTFUL CAN YOU BE IT SEEMS LIKE GM ONLY WANTED TO GET ME IN THE DOORS OF THEIR DEALERSHIPS SO I WOULD BUY A NEW CAR BECAUSE THEY KNEW MY CAR WAS ALREADY OUT OF WARRANTY SO I OFFER TO HV IT LOOKED AT IF YOU'RE NOT GOING TO HELP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/7/2016 - SARASOTA, FL
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2010 CAMARO SS WITH VERY LOW MILAGE. I NOTICED SOME RUST ON THE UPPER AND LOWER IMPACT BAR. THE UPPER BAR IS COMPLETLY RUSTED THROUGH. I CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY ISSUE DUE TO A FRONT END IMPACT. I UNDERSTAND THE WARRENTY IS 5 YEARS 100K FOR BODY PANELS. IS THERE ANYTHING GM CAN DO TO REPAIR THIS? PLEASE SEE THE 2 ATTACHMENTS, THE DIAGRAM IS PART #18, AND THE PIC IS THE HOLE IN THE BAR. THE RED COLOR IS GREASE THAT I APPLIED TO DETER AND ADDITIONAL RUSTING. I FIND THIS HIGHLY UNUSUAL BECAUSE THE CAR HAS BEEN IN FLORIDA THE ENTIRE LIFE SPAN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2016 - ENFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS STRETCHED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,750. ....UPDATED 04/25/16

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds