Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 106 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9)
Electrical System (18) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/25/2014 - EATON, CO
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WHEN THE CONTACT NOTICED ON THE CONTROL PANEL ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED. AFTER THE MESSAGE THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO OVER 20 MPH. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY INDUCTION NEEDED TO BE CLEANED AND REPLACED THE INDUCTION KIT. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,523. NE

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2014 - FLINT, MI
I OWN A 2010 CAMARO WITH 65,000 MILES. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SYSTEM STARTED SHUTTING OFF AND ON RANDOMLY WITH A PASSENGER IN THE SEAT APPROX. 2 WEEKS AGO WHILE ON A WEEKEND TRIP. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO MY DEALER AND CONTACTED GM COMPLAINT CENTER ON THIS SAFETY ISSUE. IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS THE PASSENGER SEAT SENSOR PAD AS THE CAUSE. THEY OFFERED TO REPLACE AND COVER LABOR BUT NOT THE COST OF PART $311. MY VEHICLE HAS 65000 MILES ON IT I PURCHASE IT NEW AND THE PASSENGER SEAT HAS NOT BEEN USED MUCH AT ALL. MY CONCERN IS THERE ARE OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS SAME ISSUE OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE SEAT PAD SENSOR. THE PAD ITSELF COVERS THE ENTIRE SEAT BOTTOM MADE OF THIN PLASTIC WITH SENSORS BETWEEN THE PLASTIC. I HAVE A CONCERN ABOUT THE RELIABILITY OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM EVEN AFTER THE PAD IS REPLACED. VEHICLES ARE ENGINEERED TO BE SAFE USING SEAT BELTS AND AIR BAGS TOGETHER BUT THEY MUST FUNCTION TO DO SO. I HOPE GM STEPS UP AND LOOKS INTO THIS SAFETY ISSUE BEFORE THERE IS A FAILURE THAT CONTRIBUTES TO AN INJURY OR DEATH. I WILL HAVE IT REPAIRED BUT MY CONFIDENCE IS LOW ON THE DEPENDABILITY OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM IN MY CAMARO!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2014 - BRONX, NY
I HAVE A DISPLAY ON DASHBOARD THAT SAID SERVICE AIR BAG, I WENT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME I HAD TO PAY 900 DOLLAR FOR AN AIRBAG SENSOR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I'M THE ONLY DRIVER FOR THE CAR AND IS RARE WHEN I HAVE A PASSENGER. I HEARD OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/19/2014 - ELLENWOOD, GA
THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON IN MY CAMARO INDICATING THAT THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. I TOOK IT TO THE JIM ELLIS CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP ON PEACHTREE INDUSTRIAL BLVD IN ATLANTA, GA AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE SEAT SENSOR THAT DETERMINES IF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG IS ON OR NOT HAD DETERIORATED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE RISK I RAN WAS THE AIRBAG NOT DEPLOYING IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT OR THE AIRBAG DEPLOYING AT A TIME THAT I DIDN'T WANT IT TO. MY WARRANTY HAD JUST EXPIRED THE YEAR BEFORE WHICH MEANS I WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE FULL PRICE. THIS FIX COST ME OVER $800 AND I DO NOT APPRECIATE HAVING TO SPEND THIS KIND OF MONEY ON A STANDARD FEATURE OF A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT SUPPOSE TO MALFUNCTION, ESPECIALLY THIS EARLY IN THE VEHICLE'S LIFE. IT HAS OCCURRED TO ME THAT THIS HAS BEEN A RECURRING PROBLEM AMONGST CAMAROS BETWEEN 2009 AND 2012. I BELIEVE I SPEAK FOR MOST CONSUMERS WHEN I SAY THAT WE HOLD GENERAL MOTORS AT A HIGHER STANDARD THAN THIS AND THAT WE SHOULD NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH THESE KINDS OF PROBLEMS IN OUR VEHICLES ESPECIALLY WITHIN THE FIRST 65,000 MILES OF IT'S LIFE. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF GENERAL MOTORS REIMBURSED ME THIS $800 SINCE I THIS IS A PROBLEM I SHOULD NOT HAVE HAD TO DEAL WITH THIS SOON IN THE VEHICLES LIFETIME. I LIKE DRIVING MY CAMARO AND I WOULD LIKE TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE IT SAFELY WITHOUT BEING HINDERED BY MAJOR REPAIR COSTS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON AND I'M THINKING THAT THE AIR BAGS DO NOT DEPLOY WHEN NEEDED. ON STAR SENT ME AN E:MAIL STATING THAT IT NEEDS TO BE FIXED. IS IT A RECALL AS I DO NOT HAVE MONEY FOR FIXING IT AS I AM PUTTING MY GRANDDAUGHTER THROUGH COLLEGE AND SHE USES THE CAR EVERYDAY. HELP

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2014 - EAGLE, MI
THE PROBLEM STARTED OUT WITH THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" WARNING DISPLAYING ON THE INFORMATION SCREEN ON THE DASH AND THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT COMING ON WHEN I HAD A PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE. ACCORDING TO THE ON/OFF LIGHT ON THE DOME LIGHT THE PASSENGER BAG IS OFF WHEN THIS WARNING COMES ON. OVER THE PAST MONTH IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE AND IT PROGRESSED TO JUST HAVING THE WARNING GO OFF ALL THE TIME NOW, EVEN WHEN I DON'T HAVE A PASSENGER. I HAVE NOTICED THAT THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THE 2010 MODEL AIRBAG SENSORS GOING BAD. I HAVE SEEN MANY BLOGS THAT PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THEIR AIRBAG SENSOR. I HAVE EVEN READ THAT THIS FIX COSTS OVER $800 TO THE CONSUMER. SINCE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND THIS WILL RESULT IN A FAILURE OF THE AIRBAGS IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH AND MOST LIKELY DEATHS, I FEEL THAT GM SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR PUTTING A SUBSTANDARD PART INTO THEIR SAFETY EQUIPMENT AND FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN YOU PUT INTO PERSPECTIVE HOW LITTLE USE THE PASSENGER SEAT GETS, BECAUSE I ONLY HAVE A PASSENGER IN THE CAR FOR MAYBE 5-10% OF THE TIME. SO THAT MEANS THAT I HAVE ONLY HAD SOMEONE IN THAT SEAT FOR ONLY 2500-5000 MILES. THAT AIRBAG SENSOR HAS HAD VERY LITTLE USE AND IT WENT BAD ALREADY. I FEAR THAT NONE OF THE AIRBAGS WILL DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH, OR EVEN WORSE DEPLOY WHILE DRIVING AND THEN CAUSING AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2014 - RIVERVIEW, MI
2010 V6 CAMARO 6-SPEED MANUAL TRANS GRINDS WHEN SHIFTING INTO 2ND GEAR WHILE MERGING INTO HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AT HIGHER RPMS. THOUGHT IT WAS DRIVER ERROR UNTIL RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM. TURNS OUT MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AND IT IS SAID TO BE THAT THE STOCK BRASS SYNCHROS IN THE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS ARE AT FAULT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/28/2014 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
CHEVROLET CAMARO 2010, DRIVING ON INTERSTATE VEHICLE STEERING BECAME STIFF (FELT AS IF IT LOCKED UP). SLID OFF INTERSTATE ACROSS TWO LANES OFF TRAFFIC INTO THE CRASH BARRIER. $23,000 WORTH OF DAMAGE. TOTAL OF COURSE. AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ONSTAR DID NOT ACTIVATE.

View Details

STEERING

6/28/2014 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
CHEVROLET CAMARO 2010, DRIVING ON INTERSTATE VEHICLE STEERING BECAME STIFF (FELT AS IF IT LOCKED UP). SLID OFF INTERSTATE ACROSS TWO LANES OFF TRAFFIC INTO THE CRASH BARRIER. $23,000 WORTH OF DAMAGE. TOTAL OF COURSE. AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ONSTAR DID NOT ACTIVATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/18/2014 - OAKMAN, AL
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF; I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL REPORTS ONLINE OF OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds