Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 151 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (4) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/21/2015 - OSWEGO, IL
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS INTERMITTENT. I HAVE ONSTAR. ONSTAR SAID IT WAS A CAMSHAFT POSITIONING SENSOR. I WAITED AND THE LIGHT WAS STILL OFF A LONG TIME, BUT CAME ON AND ONSTAR SAID IT WAS CAMSHAFT SENSOR AGAIN AND ANOTHER CODE P008. I FINALLY WENT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS A BAD TIMING BELT AND THAT MY WARRANTY WAS NOW UP. THEY WOULD NOT HELP, I CALLED GM AND THEY DENIED A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINES. BUT OFFERED A 20 % DISCOUNT IF I USED A CHEVY DEALER. I HAVE SEEN MANY ARTICLES ONLINE ABOUT BAD TIMING CHAINS IN THE V6 ENGINES. I DON'T THINK I SHOULD PAY FOR A KNOWN DEFECT. I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW IN 2009. THANK YOU

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2015 - VICTORVILLE, CA
THE VEHICLE DISPLAYED A TROUBLE CODE ON THE DASH. I TOOK IT IN TO GET A READING FOR THE CODE AND IT APPEARS TO BE A P0008 ERROR CODE. AFTER SEARCHING, IT SEEMS THIS CODE IS RELATING TO THE TIMING CHAINS WITHIN THE ENGINE BECOMING STRETCHED. IT ALSO SEEMS THAT A LOT OF OWNERS ARE SEEING THIS ERROR WITH THEIR OWN VEHICLES AND DEALER IS CHARGING ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO 3K TO GET THE ISSUE RESOLVED. TO QUOTE ANOTHER COMPLAINT THAT I SAW REGARDING THE SAME ISSUE: " WHEN IS GM GOING TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM OF THE TIMING CHAINS ON THE CAMARO AS IT HAS THE OTHER MODELS THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. IT IS RIDICULOUS FOR GM TO EXPECT THE BUYER TO COME OUT OF POCKET FOR A PROBLEM THAT IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURER PROBLEM AND NOT CAUSED DUE TO ANYTHING DONE BY THE BUYER. "

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2015 - VICTORVILLE, CA
THE VEHICLE DISPLAYED A TROUBLE CODE ON THE DASH. I TOOK IT IN TO GET A READING FOR THE CODE AND IT APPEARS TO BE A P0008 ERROR CODE. AFTER SEARCHING, IT SEEMS THIS CODE IS RELATING TO THE TIMING CHAINS WITHIN THE ENGINE BECOMING STRETCHED. IT ALSO SEEMS THAT A LOT OF OWNERS ARE SEEING THIS ERROR WITH THEIR OWN VEHICLES AND DEALER IS CHARGING ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO 3K TO GET THE ISSUE RESOLVED. TO QUOTE ANOTHER COMPLAINT THAT I SAW REGARDING THE SAME ISSUE: " WHEN IS GM GOING TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM OF THE TIMING CHAINS ON THE CAMARO AS IT HAS THE OTHER MODELS THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. IT IS RIDICULOUS FOR GM TO EXPECT THE BUYER TO COME OUT OF POCKET FOR A PROBLEM THAT IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURER PROBLEM AND NOT CAUSED DUE TO ANYTHING DONE BY THE BUYER. "

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2015 - VICTORVILLE, CA
PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR KEEPS GOING OFF ON THE CAMARO WHEN DRIVING. EVEN WITH NOTHING ON THE SEAT, THE "SERVICE AIR BAG" MESSAGE APPEARS ON THE DASH, BUT AFTER DRIVING FOR A SHORT DISTANCE, IT GOES AWAY. THEN IT COMES BACK INTERMITTENTLY, AGAIN WITH NOTHING ON THE SEAT. THE ISSUE STARTED APPEARING ON ITS OWN. I'VE SEARCHED IN ONLINE FORUMS AND SEE THAT A LOT OF OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, AND WHEN THEY TAKE IT TO THE DEALER, THE DEALER EXPECTS FOLKS TO PAY A HIGH PRICE TO GET THE ISSUE RESOLVED. I'VE VERIFIED THAT THERE ARE NO CABLES UNPLUGGED UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT AND EVEN VERIFIED THAT ALL CABLES ARE PLUGGED IN SNUGGED TO THE MODULE. IF THE ISSUE EXISTS WITH SO MANY PEOPLE REPORTING THE SAME THING, WHY HASN'T THE MANUFACTURER DONE A RECALL ON THIS? ARE THEY EXPECTING A FATALITY TO OCCUR BEFORE THIS GETS ADDRESSED?

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2015 - MINOCQUA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO ILLUMINATE WHEN THE SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT OCCUPANT MAT SENSOR FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/15/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE ENGINE POWER REDUCE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CODES NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS RESTARTED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES AS THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL RAIL PRESSURE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,552.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2015 - CEDAR HILL, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE ENGINE POWER REDUCE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CODES NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS RESTARTED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES AS THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL RAIL PRESSURE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,552.

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
I TOOK MY CAR IN AND HAD IT DIAGNOSED DUE TO MY CAR RUNNING LOUDER THAN NORMAL AND PROBLEMS WITH THE IDELING OF THE CAR. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I NEEDED NEW TIMING CHAINS AND IT WOULD BE ANYWHERE FROM 2-3 THOUSAND DOLLARS. I'VE BEEN RESEARCHING AND SEE THAN A LOT OF PEOPLE HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE TIMING CHAINS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I HAVE ALSO FOUND THAT GM HAS ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY UP TO 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES FOR OTHER CARS MADE AROUND THE SAME TIME AS MY VEHICLE FOR TIMING CHAINS. WHEN IS GM GOING TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM OF THE TIMING CHAINS ON THE CAMARO AS IT HAS THE OTHER MODELS THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. IT IS RIDICULOUS FOR GM TO EXPECT THE BUYER TO COME OUT OF POCKET FOR A PROBLEM THAT IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURER PROBLEM AND NOT CAUSED DUE TO ANYTHING DONE BY THE BUYER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/4/2015 - VILLA RICA, GA
THE AC COMPRESSOR IN VEHICLE KEEPS GOING OUT. ITS BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES SINCE OCTOBER 2014. IT DOES NOT COOL VEHICLE, MECHANICS HAVE CHECKED FOR LEAKS AND OTHER ISSUES THAT MAY BE CAUSING IT TO GO OUT BUT IT JUST SEEMS TO BE A BAD OEM PART. AFTER EACH FIX THE AC WORKS FOR ABOUT A MONTH OR LESS BEFORE GOING OUT AGAIN. NOW THE COMPANY IS REFUSING TO SEND A REPLACEMENT OR AN UPGRADED PART FOR A FIX THAT IS UNDER WARRANTY STILL AND WITH SUMMER IN THE SOUTH COMING AND NO AC THIS CAN BE A PROBLEM EVEN WITH WINDOWS DOWN. THE MECHANIC FOUND A TECHNICAL BULLETIN FOR THIS ISSUE OF THE COMPANY KNOWING THIS WAS AN BACK IN 2011 YET I RECEIVED NO BULLETIN PRIOR TO 2014 OR ASSISTANCE GETTING THIS FIXED. I MADE CALLS TO THE WARRANTY DEPARTMENT AND BECAUSE I WAS JUST OVER THE 80,000 MILES FOR THIS PART BUT UNDER 100,000 MILES BUMPER TO BUMPER THEY REFUSED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM AND NO ASSISTANCE WITHOUT PAYING AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO DIAGNOSE AND REPLACE AT OVER $1000 AFTER I ALREADY FORKED OUT $400 ORIGINALLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/3/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
DUE TO A STRUCTURAL DEFECT OF THE CAR , WATER ACCUMULATED AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED COMPLETELY. THE DEALERSHIP IDENTIFIED THAT THERE WAS A STRUCTURAL DEFECT RELATED TO THE SUNROOF . THE CAR COMPLETELY LOST ALL POWER SINCE THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED . THEREFORE THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING , AND I WAS UNABLE TO EXIT THE CAR SINCE ALL POWER FAILED . THIS WAS AN IMMEDIATE LIFE THREATENING DANGER . THE DEALERSHIP " REPAIRED " THE PROBLEM AFTER AN EXTENSIVE ASSESSMENT WHICH INCLUDED CORRESPONDENCE WITH GENERAL MOTORS . THE COST OF THE REPAIR WAS $1200 . MY CONCERN IS THAT THIS MAY BE A LIFE THREATENING SAFETY HAZARD IN OTHER VEHICLES OF THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL . I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED THE FULL AMOUNT OF THIS REPAIR SINCE THIS WAS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT . THE OUTCOME OF THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC . PLEASE ADVISE ME ON HOW I WOULD IMPLEMENT THE PROCESS OF REIMBURSEMENT .

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds