Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 197 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (40) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (5) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (40) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/8/2017 - WICHITA, KS
IN FIRST THREE YEARS, THE ELECTRONIC IGNITION MODULE WAS REPLACED THREE TIMES. ON THE THIRD TIME, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE IGNITION WIRING HARNESS WAS NOT FOR A CAMARO. IT WAS INCORRECTLY INSTALLED AT THE FACTORY. SECONDLY, JUST THREE WEEKS AGO, FOUR OF MY CAR'S SIX FUEL INJECTORS WENT BAD. MY CAR ONLY HAD 74,000 MILES ON IT. ALL SIX INJECTORS WERE REPLACED AT MY COST OF $2812.00! OUTRAGEOUS! BOTH TIMES, MY CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2017 - WICHITA, KS
IN FIRST THREE YEARS, THE ELECTRONIC IGNITION MODULE WAS REPLACED THREE TIMES. ON THE THIRD TIME, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE IGNITION WIRING HARNESS WAS NOT FOR A CAMARO. IT WAS INCORRECTLY INSTALLED AT THE FACTORY. SECONDLY, JUST THREE WEEKS AGO, FOUR OF MY CAR'S SIX FUEL INJECTORS WENT BAD. MY CAR ONLY HAD 74,000 MILES ON IT. ALL SIX INJECTORS WERE REPLACED AT MY COST OF $2812.00! OUTRAGEOUS! BOTH TIMES, MY CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/3/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" WARNING INDICATOR TURNS ON AND OFF RANDOMLY. SOMETIMES IT STAYS ON FOR DAYS/ WEEKS, SOMETIMES IT TURNS OF FOR A FEW MINUTES. MY VEHICLE ONLY HAS ABOUT 64K MILES ON IT, AND IT STARTED HAPPENING AT ABOUT 50K. I HAVE YET HAD IT REPAIRED AS I CAN NOT AFFORD TO PAY AL;MOST $1500 TO $1900 TO REPAIR THIS. I AM AWARE OF A CLASS ACTION AGAINST GM FOR THIS ISSUE, AND I HOPE THE PLAINTIFFS WIN AND THE SETTLEMENT CAUSES GM TO HAVE TO RECALL ALL OF THE VEHICLES AFFECTED BY THIS TO REPAIR THE ISSUE AT NO COST TO THE OWNERS, REGARDLESS OF YEARS AND MILAGE OWNED, WHETHER OR NOT THEY WERE THE ORIGINAL OWNERNER OR NOT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/27/2017 - WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING BELT WAS STRETCHED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO NOTIFIED BY THE DEALER THAT THE FAILURE WAS A COMMON OCCURRENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/24/2017 - MURFREESBORO, TN
3.6 TIMING CHAIN P0008 CODE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2017 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON AND IT WAS BROUGHT IN FOR SERVICE. I WAS TOLD THE CODE P0008 MEANT THAT IT HAD A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN WHICH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AND IS A VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR. I RECENTLY FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS VERY COMMON IN OTHER CHEVY ENGINES AND THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTEE WAS EXTENDED TO COVER THESE REPAIRS IN OTHER ENGINES, BUT NOT MY CAMARO. I CURRENTLY ONLY HAVE 73K MILES AND WOULD LIKE TO SEE CHEVY FIX THE ISSUE AS IT HAS BEEN DONE WITH THE OTHER GM CARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/20/2017 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON AND IT WAS BROUGHT IN FOR SERVICE. I WAS TOLD THE CODE P0008 MEANT THAT IT HAD A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN WHICH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AND IS A VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR. I RECENTLY FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS VERY COMMON IN OTHER CHEVY ENGINES AND THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTEE WAS EXTENDED TO COVER THESE REPAIRS IN OTHER ENGINES, BUT NOT MY CAMARO. I CURRENTLY ONLY HAVE 73K MILES AND WOULD LIKE TO SEE CHEVY FIX THE ISSUE AS IT HAS BEEN DONE WITH THE OTHER GM CARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2017 - FREDERICK, MD
MY 2010 CHEVY CAMARO HAS ONLY 14,361 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AND IS NOT SUBJECTED TO WEATHER OVER 99% OF THE TIME. A FEW MONTHS AGO I NOTICED A VERY FAINT MARK OR SCRATCH OR CRACK IN THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD OVER THE AIRBAG. IT IS BECOMING MORE PRONOUNCED AND NOW A SECOND CRACK IS FORMING. I CHECKED WITH MY LOCAL DEALER AND THEY IN TURN CHECKED WITH A GM REP. THEY ARE TELLING ME THEY WILL REPLACE IT FOR ABOUT $1250 BUT I WILL HAVE TO PAY $800 OF THE COSTS. CONSIDERING THAT I TREAT MY CAR WITH THE UTMOST CARE AND ADDING TO THAT THE FACT THAT THE INTERNET IS FILLED WITH COMPLAINTS ABOUT CRACKS OVER THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG ON 2010 CAMAROS, THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FURTHER FOR A POSSIBLE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2017 - BONIFAY, FL
MY CARS "ENGINE LIGHT" CAME ON AROUND 120,000 MILES SO I TOOK INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT READ A CODE OF P0008 ENGINE TIMING. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS DUE TO DIRTY OIL. I BOUGHT THE CAR USED A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO WITH CLOSE TO 80,000 MILES ON IT AND I KEEP THE OIL CHANGED BETWEEN EVERY 3000 TO 4000 MILES. IVE ASKED AROUND TO A FEW OTHER SHOPS THEIR OPINION AND THEY TELL ME THE SAME THING. THE PRICE IM GETTING QUOTED COUNTING PARTS AND LABOR IS CLOSE TO $1300 AND I CANT AFFORD THAT KIND OF BILL. IT APPEARS THAT IF OTHERS ARE HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE THEN A RECALL SHOULD BE BROADCAST OUT AND BE COVERED UNDER WARRENTY? IIM A DIE HARD BOW TIE GUY AND ALL IVE EVER OWNED WAS A GM CARS AND TRUCKS. I CURRENTLY HAVE MY 2010 CAMARO A 2003 CHEVY TRUCK WITH ONLY 121000 MILES AND A 1971 CHEVY TRUCK THAT IM RESTORING. IS THERE ANYWAY THAT YALL COULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS ISSUE EVERYONE IS STARTING TO HAVE WITH THESE? I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT ENTERPRISE CHEVROLET HAD A CAMARO IN THIS WEEK WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AS WELL AS A FEW OTHERS IVE TALKED TO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - LINCOLN, CA
MANUAL DRIVER'S SEATBACK WENT FORWARD ON ITS OWN & STUCK IN FORWARD POSITION AND TRUNK POPPED ON ITS OWN WHILE STATIONARY. 2010 CAMARO 2LT HADN'T BEEN DRIVEN OVER CHRISTMAS BREAK. WHILE OUT STROLLING, MY HUSBAND STOPS TO CRANK THE CAR SINCE IT HAD BEEN SITTING FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS. HE GOT IN, CRANKED IT. NO TROUBLE. A WEEK LATER I WENT TO DRIVE IT TO WORK, USED REMOTE KEY TO UNLOCK DOORS AND NOTICED THE SEATBACK WAS STUCK CLOSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. I TRIED LATCH ON SEAT'S BACK AND SIDE LEVER, BUT COULDN+T GET THE SEATBACK TO MOVE. I CALLED TO TELL MY HUSBAND I WAS TAKING OUR OTHER VEHICLE TO WORK AND ASKED IF HE'D RAISED THE SEATBACK THE DAY HE CRANKED THE CAR FOR GOOD MEASURE. HE DIDN'T RECALL DOING SO. LATER THAT EVENING, WE WENT TO LOOK AT THE CAR TOGETHER, USED THE REMOTE TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. HE TRIED MOVING THE SEATBACK AND COULDN'T. HE NOTICED THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AND ASKED IF I'D POPPED IT. I DIDN+T THINK SO, BUT MAYBE I HIT THE WRONG BUTTON WHEN UNLOCKING THE DOORS. HE SLAMMED THE TRUNK SHUT. WE THOUGHT PERHAPS HE FORGOT TO LOCK THE CAR AND SOMEONE HAD RUMMAGED THROUGH OUR CAR AND JAMMED THE SEAT. A BRIEF ONLINE SEARCH REVEALED OTHER CAMARO OWNERS W/ SAME ISSUE. THE SEATBACK HAD GONE FORWARD ON ITS OWN. I THOUGHT, IF SEATBACKS ARE MOVING FORWARD ON THEIR OWN WHAT HAPPENS IF SOMEONE'S DRIVING. UNSAFE! I VISITED NHTSA ONLINE AND SAW PICTURES ARE HELPFUL. I WENT HOME TO TAKE A PIC. THIS TIME THE REMOTE DIDN+T UNLOCK THE DOORS, SO I USED THE KEY. AFTER PHOTOS, I NOTICED THAT THE TRUNK WAS POPPED AGAIN. NO WAY I +HIT THE WRONG BUTTON,+ THE REMOTE WASN'T WORKING. I CHECKED TRUNK AND NOTED THE INSIDE LIGHTS WEREN'T ON. THE CAR'S BATTERY HAD DRAINED FROM THE TRUNK BEING OPEN FOR EXTENDED PERIODS OF TIME ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. SEATBACK MOVING FORWARD ON ITS OWN AND TRUNK POPPING ON ITS OWN+NOT A COINCIDENCE. BOTH ARE SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds