Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CAMARO - 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (4) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (30) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/7/2016 - BRICK, NJ
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CODE P0008 & P0017. DEALER DIAGNOSED NEEDS TIMING CHAINS ON 3.6 V6. MILAGE 52,724 COST APPROX $3,000. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. OTHER GM MODELS WITH 3.6 V6 ENGINES COVERED 10 YEARS 120,000 MILES UNDER CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 10287. CAMARO NOT INCLUDED. NEEDS TO BE INCLUDED IN RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2016 - GROVE CITY, OH
I HAVE 2010 RS V.6 CAMARO , WITH PROBLEM P0008 BANK 1 ENGINE, NEEDS TIMING CHAIN, MILES 58778 ON 8-2-16 . I SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS OF SAME ISSUE. ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON, PULLED CODE. P0008

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2016 - DALEVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE ACCELERATING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BARELY ACCELERATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE METAL TIMING CHAIN DAMAGED THE PLASTIC TIMING GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2016 - DALEVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE ACCELERATING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BARELY ACCELERATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE METAL TIMING CHAIN DAMAGED THE PLASTIC TIMING GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2016 - BRICK, NJ
ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CAME ON AND I TOOK THE CAR TO PINE BELT CHEVY IN LAKEWOOD, NJ. ENGINE CODE P0008 & P0017 FOR CAMSHAFT POSITION CORRELATION ON 3.6 V6 ENGINE. VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING TIMING CHAINS. CAR ONLY HAS 52,721 MILES ON IT. ESTIMATED COST TO REPAIR $3,000. RESEARCH INDICATES THAT GM HAS A RECALL ON MANY DIFFERENT MAKES AND MODELS FOR TIMING CHAIN FAILURE WITH THE 3.6 V 6 ENGINE WITH THE SAME TIMING CHAIN PART NUMBERS. GM HAS EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS AND 120,000 MILES ON THE AFFECTED MAKES AND MODELS ON ALL VEHICLES EXCEPT THE CAMARO. GM BULLITEN 10287. GM NEEDS TO STEP UP AND INCLUDE THE CAMARO TO ITS TIMING CHAIN RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

7/19/2016 - BRICK, NJ
ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CAME ON AND I TOOK THE CAR TO PINE BELT CHEVY IN LAKEWOOD, NJ. ENGINE CODE P0008 & P0017 FOR CAMSHAFT POSITION CORRELATION ON 3.6 V6 ENGINE. VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING TIMING CHAINS. CAR ONLY HAS 52,721 MILES ON IT. ESTIMATED COST TO REPAIR $3,000. RESEARCH INDICATES THAT GM HAS A RECALL ON MANY DIFFERENT MAKES AND MODELS FOR TIMING CHAIN FAILURE WITH THE 3.6 V 6 ENGINE WITH THE SAME TIMING CHAIN PART NUMBERS. GM HAS EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS AND 120,000 MILES ON THE AFFECTED MAKES AND MODELS ON ALL VEHICLES EXCEPT THE CAMARO. GM BULLITEN 10287. GM NEEDS TO STEP UP AND INCLUDE THE CAMARO TO ITS TIMING CHAIN RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2016 - MUSKEGO, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE SHIFTING INTO SECOND GEAR, THE CONTACT HEARD A NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THREE BOLTS THAT ATTACHED THE DRIVESHAFT TO THE DIFFERENTIAL HAD SHEARED OFF, WHICH CAUSED THE DRIVESHAFT TO DETACH. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE HEAT SHIELD AND FUEL TANK WERE ALSO SEVERELY DAMAGED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2016 - FISHERS, IN
CHECK AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. CHEVROLET DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT INSPECTED AND FOUND CODES B0081-00 & B0074-00, NOTING THAT THE PASSENGER PRESENCE PAD SHORTED OUT AND THAT PAD CONTROLS THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THEY RECOMMEND TO REMOVE AND REPLACE PASSENGER PRESENCE PAD (PART #20972507). WE HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT THEY ARE STATING ANYTHING SAFETY SYSTEM RELATED IS NOT COVERED AND SHOULD BE UNDER A MANUFACTURER RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - KATY, TX
MY LIGHT ENGINE CAME ON AT AROUND 100,000 MILES, SO I FIGURED IT WAS BECAUSE I NEEDED TO HAVE MY 100,000 MILE MAINTENANCE WORK DONE, WHICH WAS A REGULAR TUNE UP, WHICH INCLUDED, CHANGE OF SPARK PLUGS, AND CHANGE OF ENGINE OIL, TRANSMISSION AND DIFFERENTIAL OIL CHANGE, WHICH I DID BY TAKING IT TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM NEW IN 2010. WHEN I TOOK THE CAR IN IT WAS WORKING FINE WITH NO PROBLEMS AND WAS RUNNING VERY SMOOTH BUT AFTER THEY COMPLETED THE WORK AND 560.00 DOLLARS LATER THE CARE CAME OUT WITH VERY BAD IDLING AND MISSING A LOT AND LOSING POWER! I TOOK THE CAR BACK AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS BECAUSE THE TIMING CHAIN WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED! I DON'T AGREE WITH THEIR DIAGNOSTIC AND FEEL THEY ARE DOING SOMETHING WRONG AND ARE TRYING TO COVER IT UP, SO I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE MATTER TO FIND OUT THAT THERE ARE A LOT OF OTHER CAMARO OWNERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE! SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MATTER I DON'T THINK AN ENGINE'S CHAIN SHOULD GO BAD AT 100,000 MILES! THE DEALER WANTS ME TO PAY 1600.00 TO HAVE IT REPLACED, WHICH I THINK ITS OUTRAGEOUS CONSIDERING THERE ARE A LOT OF PROBLEMS THAT HAVE BEEN REPORTED ON THE SAME ISSUE! I BELIEVE IT IS DANGEROUS DRIVING A VEHICLE WITH A FAULTY TIMING CHAIN FOR IT LOSES POWER WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO ACCELERATE WHEN CROSSING INTERSECTIONS OR SWITCHING LANES!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/7/2016 - WESTCOVINA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET CAMARO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds