Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 213 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Tires (4)
Electrical System (45) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (4) Steering (139) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (4) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/22/2014 - NEW BERLIN, WI
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED, MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 58,000. DR

View Details

STEERING

4/21/2014 - ELGIN , IL
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN MADE HER AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 15,000. PM

View Details

STEERING

4/17/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
I WAS DRIVING MY CHEVY COBALT 2010 WHEN I LOST MY POWER STEERING IN AUGUST 2013. ALTHOUGH THIS WAS FIXED DURING THE 2010 RECALL, ANOTHER FAULTY PART WAS INSTALLED IN MY CAR AND I LOST MY POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING THREE YEARS LATER. *** SAFETY CONCERN IS THAT GM IS NOT INCLUDING ALL CHEVY COBALTS 2010 FOR THE STEERING ASSIST MOTOR AND STEERING COLUMN.**** THEY ARE INCLUDING "SOME" MODELS ASSUMING THAT THE CARS THEY FIXED IN 2010 HAVE SAFE PARTS. THAT IS NOT TRUE. THERE ARE NUMEROUS PEOPLE THAT HAD HAD THESE PARTS FAIL AFTER THE 2010 RECALL. PLEASE SEE OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAVE ALSO HAD THIS ISSUE AFTER THE RECALL. HTTP://WWW.ABOUTAUTOMOBILE.COM/COMPLAINT/2010/CHEVROLET/COBALT/STEERING

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/16/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
ME ENCONTRABA MANEJANDO MI CARRO EN CUESTION SOBRE LA LONG BEACH BLV. Y LA MARKET STREET CUANDO DE REPENTE EL TIMON DEL CARRO SE PUSO DURO Y SE ME HACIA DIFICIL MANIOBRAR EL CARRO Y NO PODIA CONTROLAR EL TIMO NPOR LO DURO QUE ESTABA. SE PRENDIO UNA LUZ EN LA PANTALLA DEL CARRO QUE ME DECIA POWER STEERING. Y SOLO CON MUCHO ESFUERZO PUDE PARQUEARME EN UNA CALLE Y APAGAR EL CARRO.HIBA CON MI HIJA DE 9 ANOS Y NOS DIMOS GRAN SUSTO.EL CARRO HOY 17 DE ABRIL 2014 LO LLEVE AL CHEVRONLET DE HARBOR.TELEFONO 562 4248116.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
ME ENCONTRABA MANEJANDO MI CARRO EN CUESTION SOBRE LA LONG BEACH BLV. Y LA MARKET STREET CUANDO DE REPENTE EL TIMON DEL CARRO SE PUSO DURO Y SE ME HACIA DIFICIL MANIOBRAR EL CARRO Y NO PODIA CONTROLAR EL TIMO NPOR LO DURO QUE ESTABA. SE PRENDIO UNA LUZ EN LA PANTALLA DEL CARRO QUE ME DECIA POWER STEERING. Y SOLO CON MUCHO ESFUERZO PUDE PARQUEARME EN UNA CALLE Y APAGAR EL CARRO.HIBA CON MI HIJA DE 9 ANOS Y NOS DIMOS GRAN SUSTO.EL CARRO HOY 17 DE ABRIL 2014 LO LLEVE AL CHEVRONLET DE HARBOR.TELEFONO 562 4248116.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
ME ENCONTRABA MANEJANDO MI CARRO EN CUESTION SOBRE LA LONG BEACH BLV. Y LA MARKET STREET CUANDO DE REPENTE EL TIMON DEL CARRO SE PUSO DURO Y SE ME HACIA DIFICIL MANIOBRAR EL CARRO Y NO PODIA CONTROLAR EL TIMO NPOR LO DURO QUE ESTABA. SE PRENDIO UNA LUZ EN LA PANTALLA DEL CARRO QUE ME DECIA POWER STEERING. Y SOLO CON MUCHO ESFUERZO PUDE PARQUEARME EN UNA CALLE Y APAGAR EL CARRO.HIBA CON MI HIJA DE 9 ANOS Y NOS DIMOS GRAN SUSTO.EL CARRO HOY 17 DE ABRIL 2014 LO LLEVE AL CHEVRONLET DE HARBOR.TELEFONO 562 4248116.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - BELLEVILLE, MI
HELLO. MY 2010 CHEVY COBALT HAS BEEN PLAGUED WITH SERVICE AIR BAG ISSUES FOR A LONG TIME. MY CONCERN THE IGNITION SWITCH IS ONLY A SMOKE SCREEN COMPARED TO THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW WHEN THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON, THE AIR BAGS SYSTEM WILL NOT DEPLOY WHEN NEEDED. I HAVE HAD IT SERVICED A COUPLE TIMES AND INVESTED OVER $700.00 TO HAVE IT FIXED AND IT IS STILL BROKEN. I WAS TOLD THEY KNOW ABOUT A FAULTY DESIGN WITH THE MAIN COM WIRE THAT GOES UNDER THE CARPET AND PASSENGER SEAT TO THE AIR BAG CONTROL BOX TO BREAK THUS RENDERING THE SYSTEM FAULT. THEY REPLACED SEVERAL PARTS IN MY STEERING WHEEL AND IT WORKED FOR A LITTLE WHILE BUT CAME BACK. NOW MY CRUISE CONTROL IS ALSO BROKEN ALONG WITH THE FAULTY AIR BAG SYSTEM.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
DRIVING ON FREEWAY THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON AND LOSS OF POWER STEERING. DIFFICULT TO DRIVE . HAS BEEN GOING ON AND OFF EVER SINCE. NO RECALL FOR MY VIN NUMBER BUT I HAVE READ LOTS OF PROBLEMS WITH POWER STEERING ON THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE

View Details

STEERING

4/14/2014 - MEDFORD, OR
STEERING WHEEL MAKES A LOT SQUEAKING NOISES AND CRUNCHING SOUNDS WHEN I TURN OR AM GOING OVER ROUGH PAVMENT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE , NC
I WAS TURNING LEFT DRIVING TOWARD A STORE & AS SOON AS I CAME OUT OF THE TURN THE CAR TURNED COMPLETELY OFF & NOT EVEN THE GAUGES FLASHED.THE DRIVER BEHIND ME ALMOST HIT ME DUE TO THE SUDDEN STOP BECAUSE OF COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER AND CONTROL. I STEPPED ON THE BRAKES & SHIFTED IT INTO NUTRAL TRYING TO START IT & IT TOOK ME SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO GET IT TO CRANK UP AGAIN. I TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT JUST FOR THE CAR TO TURN OFF ONCE MORE. AFTER I CRANKED IT UP AGAIN IT WAS FINE. CAR HAD ISSUES BEFORE OVER THE YEARS; IT SEEMED TO HAVE LOSS OF POWER PUT REGAINED IT IN AN INSTANT; WAS TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP, INCIDENT COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. CAR HAD RECALL FOR ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST SOON AFTER I PURCHASED IT ON MAY 29, 2010. FOUND OUT RECENTLY ABOUT ONE RECALL FOR IGNITION SWITCH WHEN I TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON APRIL 4, 2014 FOR AN OIL CHANGE. CALLED GM AND THEY CONFIRMED WITH MY VIN # THAT THERE WAS ANOTHER RECALL FOR THE EPS EVEN THOUGH IT HAD BEEN REPLACED IN 2010. YESTERDAY THIRD RECALL FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH KEY LOCK. I WAS ALSO INFORMED BY GM HQ, WHEN I TALKED TO THEM A FOURTH TIME, THAT THEY WERE NOT SURE WHICH COBALTS 2010 HAD EPS PROBLEM, THAT DOES NOT REFLECT THE ANSWERS I RECEIVED ON THREE OTHER OCCASIONS FROM GM HQ'S EXECUTIVE OFFICE. MY DEALERS SYSTEM DOES NOT REFLECT SAME RECALLS THEN GM'S. I WAS TOLD THAT "THE DEALERS GOT THE MEMOS AND HAD PROBABLY NOT GOT TO THEM TO READ THEM YET." I SAW WHAT WAS ON THEIR COMPUTER. GM IS NOT BEING TRUTHFUL AND I AM STARTING TO SUSPECT THAT THEY USED ANOTHER PART WITH THE SAME PART NUMBER WITH THE EPS PROBLEM AND THEREFORE THEY CAN NOT DETERMINE WHICH COBALT IS AFFECTED. GM IS NOT BEING TRUTHFUL AND IS BEING NEGLIGENT IN INFORMING THE DEALERS AND THE VEHICLE OWNERS ( I HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANY RECALL NOTICES IN THE MAIL). BREACH OF CONTRACT. SOLD FAULTY VEHICLE TO ME WITH KNOWLEDGE OF FAULTY PART(S) ON MAY 29, 2010.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds