Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 315 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (90) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (7) Steering (179) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/13/2015 - OKEECHOBEE, FL
MY CAR HAS HAD REGULARLY SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE SINCE WE PURCHASE IT IN FEB 2011. TODAY, AS MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING IT, WE BELIEVE THE ENGINE JUST BLEW UP. THE CAR STARTED SHAKING, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THEN THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE AND THE CAR SHUT DOWN. IT HAD TO BE TOWED BACK TO OUR HOUSE. WE HAVE NO IDEA WHY THIS HAPPENED OR WHAT TO DO. WE CURRENTLY STILL OWE MONEY ON THE CAR. IT IS STILL FINANCED. THIS VEHICLE WAS CONSTANTLY AT CHEVROLET BECAUSE IT HAD PROBLEMS. MANY OF THEM THEY REFUSED TO FIX EVEN THOUGH WE BOUGHT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. I TOOK IT AND COMPLAINED ABOUT THE DASH ACTING STRANGE, THE GAUGES WOULD JUMP AND THE DIGITAL WOULD GO TO ALL DASHES, THEY REPLACED SOMETHING ONCE AND IT STILL DID IT. I COMPLAINED SEVERAL MORE TIMES AND ALL THEY WOULD SAY WAS THEY COULD NOT GET THE ISSUE TO REPLICATE. THERE HAVE BEEN OIL LEAKS THAT WERE REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY, IT WEARS OUT SHOCKS LIKE CRAZY, BOTH FRONT HUBS HAVE HAD TO BE REPLACED, THERE HAS BEEN WATER IN THE HEAD LIGHTS, 1 WAS REPLACED BY THE WARRANTY BUT THEN THE OTHER MY DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO REPLACE AND I HAD TO PAY TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. WATER LEAKS INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT FLOOR BOARD FROM UNDER THE DASH, THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY, WATER LEAKS IN THE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR BOARD FROM UNDER DASH DURRING AND AFTER HEAVY RAINS, DEALERSHIP STATED THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE, NOT TO MENTION THE RECALLS. WE HAVE DONE ALL THE REG. SCHEDULED OIL CHANGES AND SERVICE. IT HAS GOTTEN NEW SPARK PLUGS AND NEW COIL PACKS. NOW THE ENGINE IS BLOWN UP WITH ONLY 135000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/12/2015 - CLARKSVILLE , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING UP A HILL AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE MADE A JERKING MOTION AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MAP SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,500.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2015 - CLARKSVILLE , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING UP A HILL AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE MADE A JERKING MOTION AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MAP SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,500.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2015 - CLARKSVILLE,, PA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 CHEVY COBALT AND THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED LIGHT CAME ON. THE ENGINE REDUCED TO 10 MILES PER HOUR. I HAD A LINE OF CARS BEHIND ME AS I WAS HEADING TO MY SON'S GRADUATION. VERY EMBARRASSING. I AM STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS AND CAN'T AFFORD A MAJOR EXPENSE. POSTS SAID IT WAS THE COMPLETE THROTTLE BODY. I HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL I GET PAID SO I CAN GET IT FIXED. I WILL TAKE IT TO C HARPER IN BELLE VERNON WHERE I GOT IT. NOW I AM STUCK WITH NO WAY TO WORK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/27/2015 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,785.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2015 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE RECEIVED THE RECALL REPAIR FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). MONTHS LATER, THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY RECALLED IGNITION FIXED. IN THE BROCHURE THAT THEY SENT ME TO NOTIFY ME IT SAYS THAT I WILL GET A COMPLIMENTARY VEHICLE WHILE MINE IS FIXED. I CALLED 2 DEALERS ONE IN BURLINGAME AND ONE IN COLMA AND THEY WERE RUDE AS IF I WERE ASKING A FAVOR AND TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO RENT A CAR THAT THEY DON'T GIVE COMPLIMENTARY VEHICLES. IN MARCH I CALLED THEIR 800 NUMBER 1-800-222-1020 THEY GAVE ME THE RUNAROUND AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD CALL ME BACK. I WANT THIS TO BE PROOF THAT I AM TRYING TO GET MY VEHICLE FIXED IN CASE AN ACCIDENT HAPPENS BECAUSE OF THE RECALL PARTS AND THEY SAY IT IS MY FAULT FOR NOT TRYING TO GET IT FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/30/2015 - LORETTO, MN
I AM HAVING AN ISSUE... WHEN I ROLL MY DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW DOWN THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2015 - OAKLAND, CA
VEHICLE WILL SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING AS I AM DRIVING AND WHEN I TRY TO TURN IT BACK ON THE ENGINE SEEMS TO STRUGGLE TO TURN ON. I HAVE NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON DASH BOARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2015 - MAUMEE, OH
MY BOYFRIEND AND I WERE ON OUR WAY HOME FROM CHICAGO (ON I-80/90) WHEN WE HIT A BIT OF LAKE EFFECT SNOW AND ICE. THE SNOW CAUSED OUR CAR TO LOSE TRACTION WHICH IN TURN CAUSED US TO HIT A GUARD RAIL HEAD ON WHILE GOING ROUGHLY 50-55 MPH. OUR AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF EVEN THOUGH WE HIT THE GUARD RAIL HEAD ON. WE ENDED UP BEING PERPENDICULAR IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND WAS HIT BY A SEMI TRUCK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. AGAIN, OUR AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF WHICH WOULD MAKE FOR A TOTAL OF 4 AIRBAGS THAT WERE AFFECTED. I WAS UNAWARE OF AFFECTED AIR BAGS - I ONLY KNEW ABOUT MY IGNITION SWITCH WHICH WAS FIXED MONTHS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds