Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 305 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (86) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (7) Steering (178) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/17/2015 - LOWELL, IN
I WAS DRIVING ON MARCH 10TH 2015 AND THE MESSAGE SERVICE AIR BAGS CAME ON SO I CALLED THE CHEVY CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER AND THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE CONCERNED FOR MY AND MY FAMILY SAFETY AND AGREED TO PAY FOR THE FIRST HOUR OF DIAGNOSTIC THEY CONTACTED THE DEALER SMITH CHEVY IN LOWELL INDIANA SO I TOOK IT TO DEALER SMITH CHEVY IN LOWELL INDIANA AND THE PUT IT ON THE MACHINE FOR DIAGNOSTIC WHICH CHEVY PAID FOR SMITH CHEVY TOLD ME IT WAS A RESET LIKE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND IT RESET IT SELF AND IF I HAD ANY PROBLEMS TO BRING IT BACK. ON MONDAY MARCH 16TH 2015 WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO WORK THE SERVICE AIR BAG MESSAGE CAME ON AGAIN AND ALSO THE LIGHT CAME ON ALSO NOW AT THIS POINT THE MESSAGE AND THE LIGHT CAME ON. I READ THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR MY CHEVY COBALT AND THE WARNING STATES 'IF THE AIRBAG READINESS LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER THE VEHICLE IS STARTED OR COME ON WHILE DRIVING IT MEANS THE AIRBAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT BE WORKING PROPERLY. THE AIRBAG IN THE VEHICLE MIGHT NOT INFLATE IN A CRASH OR THEY COULD EVEN INFLATE WITHOUT A CRASH. TO HELP AVOID INJURY, HAVE THE VEHICLE SERVICED RIGHT AWAY". SO I CALL CHEVY CUSTOMER CARE AGAIN AND THEY GAVE ME A CASE NUMBER#71-1451260282 I SPOKE WITH MARK NUMBER 1-866-790-5700 EXT 41569 HE TOLD ME TO TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALER AND HAVE IT CHECKED. I ASK MARK IF THEY WOULD BE ABLE TO HELP ME PAY FOR THIS BUT HE SAID IT DEPENDS ON WHAT IT IS AND STATED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE OF THE AMOUNT OF YEARS AND MILEAGE. I FEEL THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED BECAUSE THIS MAY HAVE HAPPEN TO OTHER PEOPLE AND JUST HAVE NOT BEEN REPORTED BECAUSE PEOPLE DO NOT KNOW HOW TO REPORT THESE THINGS . .

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2015 - MIAMI, FL
I TOOK EVASIVE ACTION BY SWERVING TO AVOID COLLISION WITH OTHER VEHICLE THAT ABRUPTLY CHANGED LANE AND COLLIDED WITH MY VEHICLE. A A RESULTS, MY VEHICLE STRUCK A CONCRETE BARRIER WALL OF THE ROADWAY, THEN BURST INTO FLAMES UPON IMPACT. MY VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AT A TOTAL LOSS BEFORE FIRE RESCUE RESPONDED. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED. PRIOR TO ACCIDENT I WAS HAVING NUMEROUS IGNITION RELATED PROBLEMS WITH MY CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2015 - MIAMI, FL
I TOOK EVASIVE ACTION BY SWERVING TO AVOID COLLISION WITH OTHER VEHICLE THAT ABRUPTLY CHANGED LANE AND COLLIDED WITH MY VEHICLE. A A RESULTS, MY VEHICLE STRUCK A CONCRETE BARRIER WALL OF THE ROADWAY, THEN BURST INTO FLAMES UPON IMPACT. MY VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AT A TOTAL LOSS BEFORE FIRE RESCUE RESPONDED. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED. PRIOR TO ACCIDENT I WAS HAVING NUMEROUS IGNITION RELATED PROBLEMS WITH MY CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2015 - MIAMI, FL
I TOOK EVASIVE ACTION BY SWERVING TO AVOID COLLISION WITH OTHER VEHICLE THAT ABRUPTLY CHANGED LANE AND COLLIDED WITH MY VEHICLE. A A RESULTS, MY VEHICLE STRUCK A CONCRETE BARRIER WALL OF THE ROADWAY, THEN BURST INTO FLAMES UPON IMPACT. MY VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AT A TOTAL LOSS BEFORE FIRE RESCUE RESPONDED. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED. PRIOR TO ACCIDENT I WAS HAVING NUMEROUS IGNITION RELATED PROBLEMS WITH MY CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/30/2015 - BRANDENBURG , KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/28/2015 - GOSHEN, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED IN THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/22/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO SHAKE WHENEVER THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,010.

View Details

STEERING

1/2/2015 - MILLERS CREEK, NC
GM DEALER RECALLED CAR TO FIX ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST. TOOK CAR IN AND HAD PART REPLACED BUT WHEN CAR WAS DRIVEN HOME IT HAD A GRINDING NOISE AND WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER, WHICH WAS NOT A PROBLEM BEFORE RECALL. RETURNED TO DEALER WHO REPLACED SAID MOTOR AGAIN, WITH SAME RESULTS. RETURNED VEHICLE TO DEALER AGAIN ON 12/30/2014 TO DO DIAGNOSTIC ON PROBLEM WITH STEERING, REALER SAID THERE IS NO DANGER TO DRIVE VEHICLE BUT NEEDS STEERING COLUMN WHICH DEALER REFUSES TO REPLACE UNLESS I ABSORB THE COST THERE WAS NO PROBLEMS WITH STEERING BEFORE DEALER EXCHANGED THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

12/17/2014 - CLAYSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ABS WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

12/17/2014 - CLAYSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ABS WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds