Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 311 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (89) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (7) Steering (179) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2015 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE RECEIVED THE RECALL REPAIR FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). MONTHS LATER, THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY RECALLED IGNITION FIXED. IN THE BROCHURE THAT THEY SENT ME TO NOTIFY ME IT SAYS THAT I WILL GET A COMPLIMENTARY VEHICLE WHILE MINE IS FIXED. I CALLED 2 DEALERS ONE IN BURLINGAME AND ONE IN COLMA AND THEY WERE RUDE AS IF I WERE ASKING A FAVOR AND TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO RENT A CAR THAT THEY DON'T GIVE COMPLIMENTARY VEHICLES. IN MARCH I CALLED THEIR 800 NUMBER 1-800-222-1020 THEY GAVE ME THE RUNAROUND AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD CALL ME BACK. I WANT THIS TO BE PROOF THAT I AM TRYING TO GET MY VEHICLE FIXED IN CASE AN ACCIDENT HAPPENS BECAUSE OF THE RECALL PARTS AND THEY SAY IT IS MY FAULT FOR NOT TRYING TO GET IT FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/30/2015 - LORETTO, MN
I AM HAVING AN ISSUE... WHEN I ROLL MY DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW DOWN THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2015 - OAKLAND, CA
VEHICLE WILL SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING AS I AM DRIVING AND WHEN I TRY TO TURN IT BACK ON THE ENGINE SEEMS TO STRUGGLE TO TURN ON. I HAVE NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON DASH BOARD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/6/2015 - MAUMEE, OH
MY BOYFRIEND AND I WERE ON OUR WAY HOME FROM CHICAGO (ON I-80/90) WHEN WE HIT A BIT OF LAKE EFFECT SNOW AND ICE. THE SNOW CAUSED OUR CAR TO LOSE TRACTION WHICH IN TURN CAUSED US TO HIT A GUARD RAIL HEAD ON WHILE GOING ROUGHLY 50-55 MPH. OUR AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF EVEN THOUGH WE HIT THE GUARD RAIL HEAD ON. WE ENDED UP BEING PERPENDICULAR IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND WAS HIT BY A SEMI TRUCK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. AGAIN, OUR AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF WHICH WOULD MAKE FOR A TOTAL OF 4 AIRBAGS THAT WERE AFFECTED. I WAS UNAWARE OF AFFECTED AIR BAGS - I ONLY KNEW ABOUT MY IGNITION SWITCH WHICH WAS FIXED MONTHS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2015 - MAUMEE, OH
MY BOYFRIEND AND I WERE ON OUR WAY HOME FROM CHICAGO (ON I-80/90) WHEN WE HIT A BIT OF LAKE EFFECT SNOW AND ICE. THE SNOW CAUSED OUR CAR TO LOSE TRACTION WHICH IN TURN CAUSED US TO HIT A GUARD RAIL HEAD ON WHILE GOING ROUGHLY 50-55 MPH. OUR AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF EVEN THOUGH WE HIT THE GUARD RAIL HEAD ON. WE ENDED UP BEING PERPENDICULAR IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND WAS HIT BY A SEMI TRUCK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. AGAIN, OUR AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF WHICH WOULD MAKE FOR A TOTAL OF 4 AIRBAGS THAT WERE AFFECTED. I WAS UNAWARE OF AFFECTED AIR BAGS - I ONLY KNEW ABOUT MY IGNITION SWITCH WHICH WAS FIXED MONTHS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2015 - MAUMEE, OH
MY BOYFRIEND AND I WERE ON OUR WAY HOME FROM CHICAGO (ON I-80/90) WHEN WE HIT A BIT OF LAKE EFFECT SNOW AND ICE. THE SNOW CAUSED OUR CAR TO LOSE TRACTION WHICH IN TURN CAUSED US TO HIT A GUARD RAIL HEAD ON WHILE GOING ROUGHLY 50-55 MPH. OUR AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF EVEN THOUGH WE HIT THE GUARD RAIL HEAD ON. WE ENDED UP BEING PERPENDICULAR IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND WAS HIT BY A SEMI TRUCK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. AGAIN, OUR AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF WHICH WOULD MAKE FOR A TOTAL OF 4 AIRBAGS THAT WERE AFFECTED. I WAS UNAWARE OF AFFECTED AIR BAGS - I ONLY KNEW ABOUT MY IGNITION SWITCH WHICH WAS FIXED MONTHS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2015 - GOSHEN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2015 - LOWELL, IN
I WAS DRIVING ON MARCH 10TH 2015 AND THE MESSAGE SERVICE AIR BAGS CAME ON SO I CALLED THE CHEVY CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER AND THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE CONCERNED FOR MY AND MY FAMILY SAFETY AND AGREED TO PAY FOR THE FIRST HOUR OF DIAGNOSTIC THEY CONTACTED THE DEALER SMITH CHEVY IN LOWELL INDIANA SO I TOOK IT TO DEALER SMITH CHEVY IN LOWELL INDIANA AND THE PUT IT ON THE MACHINE FOR DIAGNOSTIC WHICH CHEVY PAID FOR SMITH CHEVY TOLD ME IT WAS A RESET LIKE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND IT RESET IT SELF AND IF I HAD ANY PROBLEMS TO BRING IT BACK. ON MONDAY MARCH 16TH 2015 WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO WORK THE SERVICE AIR BAG MESSAGE CAME ON AGAIN AND ALSO THE LIGHT CAME ON ALSO NOW AT THIS POINT THE MESSAGE AND THE LIGHT CAME ON. I READ THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR MY CHEVY COBALT AND THE WARNING STATES 'IF THE AIRBAG READINESS LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER THE VEHICLE IS STARTED OR COME ON WHILE DRIVING IT MEANS THE AIRBAG SYSTEM MIGHT NOT BE WORKING PROPERLY. THE AIRBAG IN THE VEHICLE MIGHT NOT INFLATE IN A CRASH OR THEY COULD EVEN INFLATE WITHOUT A CRASH. TO HELP AVOID INJURY, HAVE THE VEHICLE SERVICED RIGHT AWAY". SO I CALL CHEVY CUSTOMER CARE AGAIN AND THEY GAVE ME A CASE NUMBER#71-1451260282 I SPOKE WITH MARK NUMBER 1-866-790-5700 EXT 41569 HE TOLD ME TO TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALER AND HAVE IT CHECKED. I ASK MARK IF THEY WOULD BE ABLE TO HELP ME PAY FOR THIS BUT HE SAID IT DEPENDS ON WHAT IT IS AND STATED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE OF THE AMOUNT OF YEARS AND MILEAGE. I FEEL THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED BECAUSE THIS MAY HAVE HAPPEN TO OTHER PEOPLE AND JUST HAVE NOT BEEN REPORTED BECAUSE PEOPLE DO NOT KNOW HOW TO REPORT THESE THINGS . .

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2015 - MIAMI, FL
I TOOK EVASIVE ACTION BY SWERVING TO AVOID COLLISION WITH OTHER VEHICLE THAT ABRUPTLY CHANGED LANE AND COLLIDED WITH MY VEHICLE. A A RESULTS, MY VEHICLE STRUCK A CONCRETE BARRIER WALL OF THE ROADWAY, THEN BURST INTO FLAMES UPON IMPACT. MY VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AT A TOTAL LOSS BEFORE FIRE RESCUE RESPONDED. THE AIRBAG NEVER DEPLOYED. PRIOR TO ACCIDENT I WAS HAVING NUMEROUS IGNITION RELATED PROBLEMS WITH MY CHEVY COBALT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds