Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 353 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (8) Steering (189) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (103) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (8)
Equipment (2) Power Train (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

5/16/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT WAS LOCKED AND COULD NO LONGER BE USED. THE DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/15/2016 - DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT 55MPH ON CA HWY 111, THE ENGINE JUST SHUT OFF. I WAS IN BUSY FAST MOVING TRAFFIC. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I HAD NOT CHANGED ANYTHING NOR DID I HAVE MORE THAN A SINGLE KEY ON THE KEY RING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/6/2016 - BANGOR, PA
THE DRIVER'S DOOR SPEAKER HAS STOPPED WORKING. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM REPORTED ON CHEVY FORUMS FOR ALL MODEL YEAR COBALTS. THIS PROBLEM CREATES SAFETY CONCERNS AS ALL VEHICLE WARNING CHIMES AND SOUNDS ARE DIRECTED TO THE SPEAKER ON THIS DOOR AND ARE NOW NON-FUNCTIONAL. PARTICULAR CONCERN IS THAT THE TURN SIGNAL MAKE NO SOUND WHEN ACTIVATED. THIS CAN LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT WHEN NO WARNING SOUND IS GENERATED WHEN A DRIVER UNINTENTIONALLY LEAVES A TURN SIGNAL ACTIVATED. THIS WAS REPORT TO CHEVY (REF. 8-2076604032), BUT IT DOES NOT APPEAR THEY WILL BE ISSUING A RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2016 - HANOVER, PA
TAMARA RECALL THE " SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT " CAME ON AND IS STILL ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2016 - SAGINAW, MI
WHEN I GOT TO RED LIGHT TONIGHT 4/29/2016, CAR STARTED JERKING AS IF IT WILL CUT OFF. SCARY DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO.DONT HAVE MONEY FOR EXPENSIVE REPAIRS. HELP.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
ON 4 OCCASIONS THE STEERING STOPPED WORKING AND LOCKED UP. THREE OF THE FOUR TIMES WAS WHEN VEHICLE WAS MOVING IN A BUSY SHOPPING AREA. IN ORDER TO REGAIN STEERING THE CAR WOULD HAVE TO BE STOPPED SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED. AFTER EACH INCIDENT THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED AND VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT IN. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS REPLACED AND CAR RETURNED TO US. AT THE PRESENT TIME THE CAR IS AT DEALERSHIP FOR THE SAME ISSUE THE STEERING LOCKING UP WHILE MOVING. THE CAR REMAINS AT DEALERSHIP AND WE NOTIFIED GM OF THE SITUATION WE RECEIVED A CASE NUMBER, SENIOR ADVISOR AND WERE TOLD TO KEEP LENDER AND THEY WOULD BE REACHING OUT TO DEALERSHIP. AS OF THIS TIME THE DEALERSHIP HAS NOT RESPONDED TO GM EMAIL AND WE HAVE NOT HEARD FROM DEALERSHIP OR GM ABOUT THE STATUS OF THE CAR. WE HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS VERY DANGEROUS AND STRESSFUL ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES AND DO NOT BELIEVE THIS VEHICLE IS SAFE AND NO LONGER WANT OUR LIVES PUT IN DANGER.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2016 - KENWOOD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO BECOME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A POLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
IN THE FALL OF 2015 I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS NO TURN SIGNAL SOUND INDICATING THE TURN SIGNAL WAS IN USE. AT THE SAME TIME I ALSO NOTICED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATOR SOUNDS WERE ALSO NOT WORKING (SET BELT, DOOR OPEN WITH KEY IN, LOW TIRE PRESSURE, ECT) NONE OF THE WARNING SOUNDS ARE NOW WORKING. IT SEEMS THAT THE LEFT FRONT SPEAKER IS USED FOR THE TRANSMITTING OF THE WARNING SOUNDS THUS THERE IS NO SOUND FROM THE LEFT SPEAKER. NONE THE LESS I FEEL THAT WITH THE WARNING SOUNDS NOT WORKING THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
IN THE FALL OF 2015 I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS NO TURN SIGNAL SOUND INDICATING THE TURN SIGNAL WAS IN USE. AT THE SAME TIME I ALSO NOTICED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATOR SOUNDS WERE ALSO NOT WORKING (SET BELT, DOOR OPEN WITH KEY IN, LOW TIRE PRESSURE, ECT) NONE OF THE WARNING SOUNDS ARE NOW WORKING. IT SEEMS THAT THE LEFT FRONT SPEAKER IS USED FOR THE TRANSMITTING OF THE WARNING SOUNDS THUS THERE IS NO SOUND FROM THE LEFT SPEAKER. NONE THE LESS I FEEL THAT WITH THE WARNING SOUNDS NOT WORKING THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/21/2016 - ANGOLA, IN
REAR BRAKES MAKING LOTS OF NOISE, AND ARE CRAP. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE ALOT MORE RECALLS. STOP LETTING GM SCREW US HARD WORKING PEOPLE! MY CAR IS MOVING WHEN I HEAR THE NOISES, MY BRAKE PADS ARE NEW SO THIS IS NOT THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds