Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 261 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (65) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (7) Steering (161) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (9) Visibility (1)
Engine (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (4) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - JESUP, GA
RECIVED A RECALL LETTER FOR 14113 REPLACE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER AND IGNITION... CALLED DEALER NESMITH GMC AND TOLD THEM ABOUT THE PROBLEM WITH THE CAR. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WOULD TAKE 2 TO 4 WEEKS FOR THEM TO GET THE PARTS. WELL NOW IT HAS BEEN 2 MONTHS AND STIIL NOT FIX. CALLED NESMITH GMC AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WILL BE A BIT LONGER.. MY WIFE AND I DO NOT LIKING DRIVING CAR BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM.. WE ARE IN OUR 60'S AND WE DO HAVE TO DRIVE CAR FOR DOCTORS. SHOPPING AND THINGS LIKE THAT.. THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING SENSOR ILLUMINATED AND THE FUEL SENSOR INDICATED THAT THERE WAS A MALFUNCTION. THE CONTACT HAD A FULL TANK OF FUEL WHEN THE FUEL SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING WAS EXTREMELY ROUGH AND FORCE HAD TO BE APPLIED DUE TO A STRONG VIBRATION FROM THE STEERING WHEEL INTERMITTENTLY TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000. DYD

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING SENSOR ILLUMINATED AND THE FUEL SENSOR INDICATED THAT THERE WAS A MALFUNCTION. THE CONTACT HAD A FULL TANK OF FUEL WHEN THE FUEL SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING WAS EXTREMELY ROUGH AND FORCE HAD TO BE APPLIED DUE TO A STRONG VIBRATION FROM THE STEERING WHEEL INTERMITTENTLY TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000. DYD

View Details

STEERING

7/20/2014 - INTERLACHEN, FL
I WAS COMING TO A STOP SIGN AND STEERING GOT TIGHT ON THE CAR, I LOOKED DOWN AND A "POWER STEERING" MESSAGE WAS ON THE DISPLAY. IF I TURN THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON IT WILL BE FINE FOR A COUPLE MINUTES THEN IT WILL GO OUT AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2014 - FARMINGTON, CT
WHILE DRIVING TO A LOCAL BUSINESS IN MY 2010 CHEVY COBALT, I LOST THE POWER STEERING TO MY VEHICLE WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THANKFULLY I WAS DRIVING SLOWLY ON A STRAIGHT ROAD WITH MINIMAL TRAFFIC. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BACK HOME. TO HAVE THE POWER STEERING QUIT SUDDENLY WAS SHOCKING AND FRIGHTENING AND I'M VERY THANKFUL THAT I WASN'T DRIVING IN MORE CHALLENGING CONDITIONS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/18/2014 - NEWARK, DE
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V047000(AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REPAIR WAS NOT TAKEN CARE OF IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME. THE DEALER INDICATED PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN CONTACTED. RG

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - NEWARK, DE
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V047000(AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REPAIR WAS NOT TAKEN CARE OF IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME. THE DEALER INDICATED PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN CONTACTED. RG

View Details

STEERING

7/17/2014 - PITTSBURG, KS
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY RETURNING TO WORK FROM MY LUNCH. I HEAR THE THREE WARNING CHIMES AND LOOK AT THE DASH. THE WARNING READS "POWER STEERING". I SLOW DOWN TO MAKE MY TURN IN A QUARTER MILE AND REALIZED THAT I NO LONGER HAD THE POWER STEERING. I KNEW I WAS ON THE RECALL LIST FOR THE IGNITION AND WAS STILL WAITING FOR THE PART AT MY LOCAL DEALER. I FOUND ONLINE THE BULLETIN 14115. DATED MARCH 31, 2014, THAT REFERRED TO REPLACING THE POWER STEERING MOTOR IN CARS INCLUDING MY 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHEN I RESTARTED MY CAR, THE STEERING WORKED FOR A FEW BLOCKS THEN WENT OUT AGAIN. MY FATHER TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER BECAUSE I HAD TO WORK. I HAD PRINTED OUT THE BULLETIN FOR HIM TO TAKE. THE DEALER HAD NOT HEARD OF IT. HE CALLED DETROIT AND SPOKE TO A MAN NAMED AL AT GM HEADQUARTERS. HE DID NOT HAVE THAT BULLETIN EITHER. THE DEALER WENT AHEAD AND FIXED THE IGNITION RECALL PART, BUT COULD NOT GET THE POWER STEERING ISSUE TO HAPPEN. I DROVE IT LESS THAN ONE DAY AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. I DROVE IMMEDIATELY BACK TO THE DEALER. THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE MOTOR AND POSSIBLY THE STEERING COLUMN. OUT OF POCKET, I PAID FOR THE MOTOR REPLACEMENT. I WAS TOLD IF THEY EVER RECEIVE THE BULLETIN, THEY WOULD REIMBURSE ME. I CHECKED ONLINE FOR THE RECALL ON MY VIN AND IT IS NOT ON THERE. SO IS IT A CURRENT RECALL OR NOT? AND WHY IS GM NOT NOTIFYING PEOPLE ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

7/16/2014 - ANNVILLE, KY
I HAVE RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE IN MAY THAT THIS VEHICLE MODEL HAS BEEN INVOLVED IN NUMEROUS WRECKS RELATED TO FATALITIES/INJURIES AND I WAS DIRECTED TO CONTACT THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE DEFECTIVE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP ON 5/15/2014 AND THEY TOLD ME THEY WOULD ORDER THE PARTS AND THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN THE PARTS CAME IN SO THEY COULD FIX IT. AS OF TODAY(7/16/2014) THIS PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED. GM APPARENTLY HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM SINCE 2004 AND NEGLECTED TO NOTIFY THE PUBLIC OR TAKE CORRECTIVE MEASURES IN THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS SINCE 2004. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND DO NOT SEE THE PROBLEM BEING CORRECTED IN A TIMELY MANNER. I AM REQUESTING YOU EVALUATE IF THERE IS ANY WAY GM CAN BE REQUIRED TO BUY THESE VEHICLES FROM US SO WE CAN PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE AND NOT CONTINUE TO PUT MY LIFE AND MANY OTHERS IN THE SAME SITUATION AT RISK ON A DAILY BASIS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/15/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHILE DRIVING ALONG IN MY COBALT, SUDDENLY,WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE POWER DROPPED OFF AND THE VEHICLE BASICALLY CAME TO A STOP IN BUSY TRAFFIC. THIS, (AFFECTING POWER STEERING, SPEED, CONTROL AND STABILITY),BUT, .. MOST IMPORTANTANTLY !!, .. SEVERELY THREATENED THE SAFETY OF VEHICLE OCCUPANTS. IT WAS ALL I COULD DO TO GET OUT OF HARMS WAY..(.. I WAS TURNING LEFT, SAFELY SPACING ONCOMING TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED THE 1ST TIME..).!! VERY SCAREY WHEN CARS ARE BLASTING TOWARD YOU AND THE CAR WON'T RESPOND AS IT SHOULD. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY MORE TIMES SINCE THAT FIRST ENCOUNTER AND AT ANY TIME, WITHOUT PRIOR WARNING, IT WILL PUT YOU IN VERY HAZARDOUS, UNSAFE, DANGEROUS AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY SITUATIONS..!!!! NICE ENJINERUNG JOB GM ...!!! (WHERE'S THE COMMON SENSE OR FORETHOUGHT..??)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds