Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 279 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (75) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (7) Steering (168) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (9) Visibility (1)
Engine (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (5) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/28/2014 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
PURCHASED CAR USED 4/2014. OIL LEAK REPORTED TO DEALER AND REPAIRED 4/2014. CAR TAKEN BACK TO DEALER FOR SERVICE 8/2014 FOR CONTINUING OIL LEAK. PER DEALER, ENGINE WAS BADLY CAST, CAUSING IT TO BE POROUS. OIL WAS WEEPING THROUGH ENGINE BLOCK. ENTIRE ENGINE NOW BEING REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. NO RECALL NOTICE FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2014 - EASTANOLLEE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE PASSENGER WAS HOSPITALIZED AND SUSTAINED A CONCUSSION. THE DRIVER AND THE REAR PASSENGER SUSTAINED MINOR BRUISES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2014 - GREENFIELD, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED A LEAKAGE COMING FROM THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAGS. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED NUMEROUS OF TIMES WHENEVER IT RAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE AS 30,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - PLYMOUTH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING AT 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS VIOLENTLY JERKING FORWARD, THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER, AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14E021000 (ELECTRICAL) BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,460.

View Details

STEERING

8/11/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2014 - LINCOLN, NH
WE HAD JUST GOTTEN BACK ON INTERSTE 84 EAST BOUND AT NATURAL BRIDGE VIRGINIA HEADING HOME TO NH GOT TO 80 MPHWHEN I HEARD A LOT EXPLOSION AT FIRST I WASN'T SURE WHAT THE NOISE WAS THOUGHT THE WINDSHIELD BLEW THE CAR GOT SHOT ETC THEN I LOOKED AT MY HUSBAND IN THE PASSENGER SEAT AND SAW THE AIRBAG WRAPPED AROUND HIS HEAD I HADN'T EVEN HIT A BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THERE WAS NO REASON FOR THE BAGSD TO DEPLOY THE (REAR PASSENGER BAG HAD GONE OFF TO )LUCKILY THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC AROUND US SO I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER WE CALLED ON STAR TO SEE IF THEY COULD TELL US WHY THE BAGS HAD GONE OFF THEY CONTACTED BALISE CHEVY IN RI AND WE HAD A 3 WAY CALL BALISE TOLD ME TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THEM I ASKED IF I COULD BRING IT TO THE NEAREST CHEVY DEALERSHIP LIKE WE HAVE DONE IN THE PAST WHEN WE HAD CAR TROUBLES WE WERE TOLD THAT IT HAD TO BE BROUGHT TO THERE DEALERSHIP SEEING AS HOW WE WERE SO FAR AWAY WE DROVE IT HOME TO NH AND BROUGHT IT TO LITTLETON CHEVY AND WHEN THEY CHECKED IT OUT WE WERE TOLD THAT IT WAS A SHORT IN THE WIRING DUE TO THE FACT THAT I HAD SPILLED A DRINK IN THE CUP HOLDER WHICH LEAKED ONTO THE WIRES! WHY WOULD ELECTRICAL BE UNDER A CUP HOLDER? AND WHY DID I HAVE EXPOSED WIRES? ARE 2 QUESTIONS I WOULD LIKE ANSWERED

View Details

STEERING

8/8/2014 - FORSYTH, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATE 45 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED FOR THE INITIAL FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED FOR THE INITIAL FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/2/2014 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AS I WAS GETTING OFF THE HIGHWAY. SO SCARY!!!! WENT TO LOCAL DEALER FOR IT TO BE FIXED. THIS WAS BEFORE RECALL....HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR AT LEAST A HALF YEAR TO GET NEW IGNITION SWITCH....WAS ALSO TOLD THERE WILL BE A STEERING WHEEL RECALL.....HAVE NOT BEEN TAKEN CARE OF AND FEEL THAT I'M DRIVING IN A DEATH MACHINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds