Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 348 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (55) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (7) Steering (189) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (103) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (8)
Equipment (2) Power Train (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/28/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
ON 4 OCCASIONS THE STEERING STOPPED WORKING AND LOCKED UP. THREE OF THE FOUR TIMES WAS WHEN VEHICLE WAS MOVING IN A BUSY SHOPPING AREA. IN ORDER TO REGAIN STEERING THE CAR WOULD HAVE TO BE STOPPED SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED. AFTER EACH INCIDENT THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED AND VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT IN. THE STEERING COLUMN WAS REPLACED AND CAR RETURNED TO US. AT THE PRESENT TIME THE CAR IS AT DEALERSHIP FOR THE SAME ISSUE THE STEERING LOCKING UP WHILE MOVING. THE CAR REMAINS AT DEALERSHIP AND WE NOTIFIED GM OF THE SITUATION WE RECEIVED A CASE NUMBER, SENIOR ADVISOR AND WERE TOLD TO KEEP LENDER AND THEY WOULD BE REACHING OUT TO DEALERSHIP. AS OF THIS TIME THE DEALERSHIP HAS NOT RESPONDED TO GM EMAIL AND WE HAVE NOT HEARD FROM DEALERSHIP OR GM ABOUT THE STATUS OF THE CAR. WE HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS VERY DANGEROUS AND STRESSFUL ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES AND DO NOT BELIEVE THIS VEHICLE IS SAFE AND NO LONGER WANT OUR LIVES PUT IN DANGER.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2016 - KENWOOD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO BECOME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A POLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
IN THE FALL OF 2015 I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS NO TURN SIGNAL SOUND INDICATING THE TURN SIGNAL WAS IN USE. AT THE SAME TIME I ALSO NOTICED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATOR SOUNDS WERE ALSO NOT WORKING (SET BELT, DOOR OPEN WITH KEY IN, LOW TIRE PRESSURE, ECT) NONE OF THE WARNING SOUNDS ARE NOW WORKING. IT SEEMS THAT THE LEFT FRONT SPEAKER IS USED FOR THE TRANSMITTING OF THE WARNING SOUNDS THUS THERE IS NO SOUND FROM THE LEFT SPEAKER. NONE THE LESS I FEEL THAT WITH THE WARNING SOUNDS NOT WORKING THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
IN THE FALL OF 2015 I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS NO TURN SIGNAL SOUND INDICATING THE TURN SIGNAL WAS IN USE. AT THE SAME TIME I ALSO NOTICED THAT ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATOR SOUNDS WERE ALSO NOT WORKING (SET BELT, DOOR OPEN WITH KEY IN, LOW TIRE PRESSURE, ECT) NONE OF THE WARNING SOUNDS ARE NOW WORKING. IT SEEMS THAT THE LEFT FRONT SPEAKER IS USED FOR THE TRANSMITTING OF THE WARNING SOUNDS THUS THERE IS NO SOUND FROM THE LEFT SPEAKER. NONE THE LESS I FEEL THAT WITH THE WARNING SOUNDS NOT WORKING THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/21/2016 - ANGOLA, IN
REAR BRAKES MAKING LOTS OF NOISE, AND ARE CRAP. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE ALOT MORE RECALLS. STOP LETTING GM SCREW US HARD WORKING PEOPLE! MY CAR IS MOVING WHEN I HEAR THE NOISES, MY BRAKE PADS ARE NEW SO THIS IS NOT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/21/2016 - ANGOLA, IN
REAR BRAKES MAKING LOTS OF NOISE, AND ARE CRAP. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE ALOT MORE RECALLS. STOP LETTING GM SCREW US HARD WORKING PEOPLE! MY CAR IS MOVING WHEN I HEAR THE NOISES, MY BRAKE PADS ARE NEW SO THIS IS NOT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2016 - ANGOLA, IN
REAR BRAKES MAKING LOTS OF NOISE, AND ARE CRAP. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE ALOT MORE RECALLS. STOP LETTING GM SCREW US HARD WORKING PEOPLE! MY CAR IS MOVING WHEN I HEAR THE NOISES, MY BRAKE PADS ARE NEW SO THIS IS NOT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

3/2/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE PEDAL BECAME STUCK. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UP TO 95 MPH. AFTER APPLYING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MULTIPLE TIMES, IT RELEASED IN THE NORMAL POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/11/2016 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/8/2016 - DELEVAN, NY
STARTING IN 12/15, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT WAS COMING ON INTERMITTENTLY, THEN ALSO THE ABS LIGHT. PER MECHANIC ADVICE, I HAD A WHEEL BEARING REPLACED. AFTER THAT, LIGHTS WERE OFF, THEN BEGAN AGAIN SEVERAL DAYS LATER. MY MECHANIC SAID I SHOULD REPLACE THE OPPOSITE BEARING TO EVEN OUT THE TRACTION SENSOR. 1/21/16 I WAS DRIVING DOWN A HILL, TAPPED THE BRAKE, FELT SOMETHING LOCK UP IN THE FRONT END AND CAREENED ACROSS THE ROAD INTO SOME TREES. I ASKED MY INSURANCE CO ABOUT THIS, AND NOTIFIED CHEVY TOO. NOBODY SEEMED INTERESTED IN PURSUING THE CAUSE OF THE ACCIDENT- TOTALED THE CAR. THANK GOD I WASN'T HURT BADLY AND NOBODY ELSE WAS INVOLVED. I KNOW THEY DON'T WANT TO BOTHER WITH ME BECAUSE I AM SMALL POTATOES. I FEEL I SHOULD AT VERY LEAST BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIRS I HAD DONE AND PAY FOR MY NEW (USED) VEHICLE FOR MY TROUBLE. I THINK MY DRIVING RECORD, MY FAMILIARITY WITH THE ROAD AND THE KNOWLEDGE MY MECHANIC HAS OF MY PROBLEM PLUS THE FACT THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS I SAW ON LINE SHOULD PROVIDE ME SOME HELP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds