Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment (2) Power Train (42) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Tires (4) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (5) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (52) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Structure (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/23/2014 - FRANKFORT, IL
THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN OPERATING IN HEAVY RAID FOR FOUR (4) HOURS. AT APPROXIMATELY 6:00 PM CST IN A CONSTRUCTION ZONE ON I-90 THE WIPERS CANTED OFF OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD RESTING ON THE DRIVER SIDE VIEW MIRROR. THE WIPERS COULD ONLY BE MANUALLY MOVED BACK TO THE WINDSHIELD. A CHECK OF THE FUSE SHOWED IT TO BE INTACT. WIPER MOTOR ASSEMBLY CAN BE HEARD TO 'HUM' WHEN WIPERS ARE ENGAGED, BUT WIPERS DO NOT MOVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2014 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
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

View Details

ENGINE

10/5/2014 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
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

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/5/2014 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
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

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
I PURCHASED MY CAR AT THE END OF DECEMBER 2013, A MONTH LATER MY WIFE NOTICED THE CAR SOUNDED LOUDER THAN USUAL SO I CHECKED THE OIL AND THERE WAS NOT A DROP OF OIL IN THE ENGINE. I QUICKLY ADDED OIL AND PERFORMED AN OIL CHANGE ASAP. I CALLED UP THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ASSURED ME AN OIL CHANGE IS DONE BEFORE EVERY PURCHASE. I ROUTINELY CHECK THE OIL AND ADD ABOUT A QUART A MONTH. AT THE END OF JULY 2014 I TOOK MY CAR TO HAVE THE AC CHECKED OUT AND I ASKED THE SERVICE CENTER TO LOOK AT THE ENGINE SINCE IT WAS LOSING ABOUT A QUART A MONTH. I GET THE CAR BACK A WEEK LATER AND THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE PROBLEM. THEY PERFORMED AN OIL CHANGE AND ASKED THAT I BRING IT BACK FOR THE NEXT OIL CHANGE FOR AN INSPECTION. THIS WAS ON 8/1/2014 AND YESTERDAY 10/2/2014 I CHECKED THE OIL AND ONCE AGAIN THERE WAS NOT A DROP OF OIL. IT IS CURRENTLY AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE TECH CALLED GM IN JULY 2014 AND FOUND OUT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR EQUINOXES LOSING OIL IF THEY TOW BUT THAT DID NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE AND I DO NOT SEE THAT RECALL ANYMORE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/27/2014 - HOLLY RIDGE, NC
THE SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON SO I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE CLOSEST CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE AIRBAG CONNECTORS UNDER BOTH FRONT SEATS. THIS WAS A NEW VEHICLE AT THE TIME SO THE CONNECTORS SHOULD HAVE BEEN NEW. AFTER 2 AND A HALF YEARS LATER THE SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY APPLIED A DIELECTRIC GEL TO THE CONNECTIONS. AS I WAITED FOR MY VEHICLE, I WENT ONLINE AND NOTICED THIS HAS BEEN A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THIS VEHICLE AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED WITH THIS CAR COMPANY AS A RECALL. I WAS THINKING ABOUT PURCHASING A CHEVY IMPALA BUT I MIGHT HAVE TO RETHINK THIS DECISION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/26/2014 - GRAHAM, NC
PURCHASED SUV IN FEB. LOVE IT AND GREAT SUV. HAD OIL CHANGED IT NEVER ALERTS WHEN OIL IS LOW, BUT MUST KEEP CHECK CAUSE COMPUTER AND ACTUAL AMOUNT DO NOT CORRESPOND. EIGHTY PERCENT OF THE TIME THE SEAT ADJUSTMENT WORKS. ONE DAY TOOK PERSON HOME ONLY LEFT FRONT TIRE HIT CURB AS TURNING AROUND. TRAFFIC WAS COMING IT HAD COMPLETELY CUT OFF, WAITED A MINUTE RESTARTED. JUST KNEW I WOULD GET HIT. AS MORE MILES, IT LOSES MORE POWER, GETTING ON INTERSTATE I HAVE TO MEASURE TRAFFIC TO ENSURE I CAN GET ON IN ORDER NOT TO GET HIT. LOVE THE VEHICLE, BUT AFRAID IF KEEP MORE MILES LESS POWER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - GRAHAM, NC
PURCHASED SUV IN FEB. LOVE IT AND GREAT SUV. HAD OIL CHANGED IT NEVER ALERTS WHEN OIL IS LOW, BUT MUST KEEP CHECK CAUSE COMPUTER AND ACTUAL AMOUNT DO NOT CORRESPOND. EIGHTY PERCENT OF THE TIME THE SEAT ADJUSTMENT WORKS. ONE DAY TOOK PERSON HOME ONLY LEFT FRONT TIRE HIT CURB AS TURNING AROUND. TRAFFIC WAS COMING IT HAD COMPLETELY CUT OFF, WAITED A MINUTE RESTARTED. JUST KNEW I WOULD GET HIT. AS MORE MILES, IT LOSES MORE POWER, GETTING ON INTERSTATE I HAVE TO MEASURE TRAFFIC TO ENSURE I CAN GET ON IN ORDER NOT TO GET HIT. LOVE THE VEHICLE, BUT AFRAID IF KEEP MORE MILES LESS POWER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - SLAUGHTER, LA
I AM LOSING A LOT OF OIL WITHIN THE 3000 MILES BEFORE I CHANGE IT. MY CAR IS LOSING POWER IT STALLS IT RUNS VERY LOUDLY AND IT KNOCKS A LITTLE. I PUT AT LEAST 12 QUARTS OF OIL EVERY 3000 MILES AND IT'S NOT LEAKING BECAUSE I CHECKED THE TOP AND THE BOTTOM OF THE MOTOR AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF OIL ANYWHERE NOT EVEN OUT OF MY TAIL PIPE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/16/2014 - SLAUGHTER, LA
I AM LOSING A LOT OF OIL WITHIN THE 3000 MILES BEFORE I CHANGE IT. MY CAR IS LOSING POWER IT STALLS IT RUNS VERY LOUDLY AND IT KNOCKS A LITTLE. I PUT AT LEAST 12 QUARTS OF OIL EVERY 3000 MILES AND IT'S NOT LEAKING BECAUSE I CHECKED THE TOP AND THE BOTTOM OF THE MOTOR AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF OIL ANYWHERE NOT EVEN OUT OF MY TAIL PIPE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds