Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 453 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (115) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (44) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (22)
Engine (131) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (52)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/29/2017 - LAMOORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO GEAR WHILE BEING OPERATED, AND THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION, ABS SENSOR, AND MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED HOWEVER NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 115,656.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2017 - LAMOORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO GEAR WHILE BEING OPERATED, AND THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION, ABS SENSOR, AND MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED HOWEVER NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 115,656.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/29/2017 - LAMOORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO GEAR WHILE BEING OPERATED, AND THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION, ABS SENSOR, AND MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED HOWEVER NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 115,656.

View Details

ENGINE

8/23/2017 - LINCOLN, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE STARTED TO HESITATE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER IN A PARKING LOT TO CHECK THE OIL, AND NOTICED THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE RESERVOIR. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THREE QUARTS OF OIL WERE ADDED TO THE VEHICLE ONE MONTH BEFORE. THE CONTACT HAD EXPERIENCED THE OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE FOR APPROXIMATELY A YEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (DUTEAU CHEVROLET IN LINCOLN, NEBRASKA) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE WARRANTY WAS EXTENDED BY THE MANUFACTURER HOWEVER, THE VIN DID NOT QUALIFY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,391.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2017 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
EXHAUST MANIFOLD COVER ISSUE -THE CAR MADE A LOUD NOISE WHEN I START THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR PLACE WHEN NOISE WAS UNBEARABLE AND FOUND THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD COVER WAS CRACKED AND THAT WAS CAUSING TOXIC AIR PUSHED BACK INTO THE CAR WHEN I TURN ON A/C OR HEAT WHICH IS HAZARDOUS TO THE OCCUPANTS HEALTH. SO I NEEDED TO GET IT FIXED ASAP. I GOOGLED TO SEE IF THERE IS ANY RECALL OR WARRANTY EXTENSION ON THIS PART SO I CAN TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THERE WAS NO RECALL OR WARRANTY EXTENSION ON THIS PART. I RESEARCHED ONLINE AND CAME ACROSS COMPLAINS FROM OTHER CHEVY OWNERS REGARDING THIS ISSUE (COMPLAINS SEEN ONLINE). I CONTACTED CHEVY TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS ISSUE AS WELL AS SEE IF THEY WOULD REIMBURSE THE MONEY I SPENT ON THIS REPAIR (OVER $600) AND THEY TOLD ME I SHOULD HAVE TAKEN IT TO THEIR DEALERSHIP WHERE IN REALITY WOULD HAVE COST ME MORE THAN $1000 IF THERE IS NO RECALL OR WARRANTY EXTENSION ON THIS PART (THE CHEVY FOLKS ARE AWARE THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS PART). I BELIEVE THIS IS A HEALTH HAZARD FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE NOT AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND DRIVE AROUND WITH A CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD COVER BECAUSE THEY CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THAT EXPENSIVE REPAIR. I CONTACTED ANOTHER AUTO REPAIR PLACE AND THEY TOLD ME THE SAME THING ABOUT TOXIC GAS BEING PUMPED INTO THE CAR IF THAT COVER IS NOT FIXED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/15/2017 - NAZARETH, PA
AS WE WERE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET IN A TORRENTIAL RAIN STORM, MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING. I PULLED OVER TO A SIDE ROAD, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON, AND THEY STILL DID NOT WORK. I PUSHED THE WINDSHIELD WIPER LEVER AND THEY WOULD NOT MOVE. I WAS ON VACATION AT THE TIME AND LUCKILY FOUND A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP NEARBY. THEY DIAGNOSED THE CONDITION ALMOST IMMEDIATELY AS CORROSION TO THE FRONT WIPER TRANSMISSION. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID IT WAS EASY TO DIAGNOSE BECAUSE THEY HAVE SEEN THIS ISSUE HAPPEN ON MANY CHEVROLET EQUINOX CARS. HE LOOKED UP RECALL INFORMATION AND THIS EXACT PROBLEM IS CURRENTLY RECALLED ONLY ON A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX (CHEVROLET RECALL REFERENCE #25302). SINCE I HAVE A 2010 EQUINOX, I HAD TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR OUT OF POCKET FOR $240.80. THE DEALERSHIP SAID I WOULD HAVE A GOOD CASE TRYING TO GET REIMBURSED FOR THIS, SINCE IT IS AN EXACT PROBLEM HE HAS SEEN MANY TIMES AND IS CURRENTLY ON A RECALL FOR A DIFFERENT YEAR EQUINOX. I JUST CALLED CHEVROLET'S RECALL DEPARTMENT, AND THEY SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO, BECAUSE THEY CAN ONLY APPROVE REIMBURSEMENT FOR ACTIVE RECALLS, WHICH IS BASED ON THE VEHICLE'S VIN NUMBER. IF AND WHEN A RECALL FOR A 2010 EQUINOX HAPPENS, THEN I WOULD BE ELIGIBLE FOR REIMBURSEMENT. I AM FILLING OUT THIS REPORT, BECAUSE YOU NEED TO KNOW THIS IS THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM THAT IS CURRENTLY RECALLED ON A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX, AND DESERVES TO BE LOOKED INTO FOR THE 2010 EQUINOX AS WELL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2017 - GREENSBORO, NC
THE TRANSMISSION SLIPS OUT OF GEAR IF THE CAR DOES NOT REACH 35 MPH WITHIN THE FIRST TWO STOPS THE CAR MAKES. WHEN INITIALLY PUTTING THE CAR IN DRIVE, THE CAR ROCKS BACK AND FORTH WHILE SHIFTING INTO GEAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/4/2017 - MIDLAND, MI
WHILE DRIVING IN HEAVY RAIN ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55 MPH THE WIPERS SUDDENLY JERKED LEFT AND STOPPED WORKING. ONE WIPER WAS OFF THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD AND THE OTHER WAS STOPPED IN FRONT OF MY FACE. VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE NOT ONLY WAS THERE RAIN POURING DOWN, THERE WAS A WIPER RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME BLOCKING MY VIEW. I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF THE ROAD AND MOVE THE WIPERS TO THEIR NORMAL OFF POSITION BUT THEY NO LONGER FUNCTIONED. A NEW WIPER TRANSMISSION WAS REQUIRED. THE US RECALL FOR 2013 ONLY NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO MATCH THE RECALL IN CANADA. DEFINITELY A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2017 - WHITMORE LAKE, MI
LET ME START OFF BY SAYING THAT I AM ONE OF MANY HAVING THE SAME TROUBLE WITH MY 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX. ON JAN. 21, 2015 I WAS HIT BY A YOUNG DRIVER TOTALING MY 2002 S10 CREW CAB. I FEEL THIS TRUCK SAVED MY LIFE. IN NEED OF A SAFE VEHICLE I FOUND MYSELF AT BOWMAN CHEVROLET PURCHASING A CERTIFIED 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX WITH LESS THAN 41000 MILES. AT THAT TIME I RECEIVED 24 MONTHS OF OIL CHANGES/ROUTINE MAINTENANCE PLUS ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE AND BUMPER TO BUMPER FOR 12MONTHS. THIS VEHICLE SEEMED GREAT TILL MY FIRST OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE. IN LESS THAN 3 MONTHS I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE THEY SAID IT COULDN'T BE SERVICED. I APPARENTLY BOUGHT A CANADIAN VEHICLE. CALLED BOWMAN ABOUT THE ISSUE AND WAS TOLD TO BRING IT BACK TO THEM ( OVER AN HR FROM HOME) AT THIS TIME I MENTIONED A FEW THINGS I FELT WERE ISSUES (MY CAR WOULD RUN ON AFTER SHUT OFF, WOULD ROLL BACKWARDS IN DRIVE AND SHIFTING WOULD PAUSE BETWEEN GEARS). ABOUT A MONTH LATER I GOT MY CAR BACK, NEW DASHBOARD WITH A FEW SCRATCHES AND A GOOD CHIP IN THE WINDSHIELD. WASN'T HAPPY BUT THEY SAID ALL WAS GOOD. UNTIL THE NEXT TIME I HAD TO TAKE IT IN, STILL HAVING RUN ONS WHEN I SHUT OFF THE CAR AND SHIFTING PROBLEMS ALONG WITH A FEW MINOR THINGS( I WAS TOLD WAS NOT COVERED BUT SHOULD HAVE BEEN STILL UNDER WHAT I WAS PROMISED BY THE 12 MONTHS BUMPER TO BUMPER) OVER THE NEXT 21 MONTHS OF MY WARRANTIES I CONTINUED TO HAVE MANY ISSUES WITH MY CAR. NEVER FULLY FIXED EACH TIME I TOOK IT IN AND BEING TOLD MANY TIMES THEY WONT DO THE RECALLS BECAUSE ITS ON A CANADIAN CAR NOT MY NOW AMERICAN CAR. ON JULY 13, 2017 DRIVING ON 96 IN CONSTRUCTION AND RUSH HR TRAFFIC WITH MY GRANDSON THE TRANSMISSION WAS LOSING GEARS AT ONE POINT THE CAR STOPPED ABRUPTLY. WE BARELY MADE IT HOME! DROVE IT TO DEALER NEXT MORNING ONLY HAD 1ST GEAR. APPARENTLY THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. HELP US ALL!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/3/2017 - WHITMORE LAKE, MI
LET ME START OFF BY SAYING THAT I AM ONE OF MANY HAVING THE SAME TROUBLE WITH MY 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX. ON JAN. 21, 2015 I WAS HIT BY A YOUNG DRIVER TOTALING MY 2002 S10 CREW CAB. I FEEL THIS TRUCK SAVED MY LIFE. IN NEED OF A SAFE VEHICLE I FOUND MYSELF AT BOWMAN CHEVROLET PURCHASING A CERTIFIED 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX WITH LESS THAN 41000 MILES. AT THAT TIME I RECEIVED 24 MONTHS OF OIL CHANGES/ROUTINE MAINTENANCE PLUS ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE AND BUMPER TO BUMPER FOR 12MONTHS. THIS VEHICLE SEEMED GREAT TILL MY FIRST OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE. IN LESS THAN 3 MONTHS I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE THEY SAID IT COULDN'T BE SERVICED. I APPARENTLY BOUGHT A CANADIAN VEHICLE. CALLED BOWMAN ABOUT THE ISSUE AND WAS TOLD TO BRING IT BACK TO THEM ( OVER AN HR FROM HOME) AT THIS TIME I MENTIONED A FEW THINGS I FELT WERE ISSUES (MY CAR WOULD RUN ON AFTER SHUT OFF, WOULD ROLL BACKWARDS IN DRIVE AND SHIFTING WOULD PAUSE BETWEEN GEARS). ABOUT A MONTH LATER I GOT MY CAR BACK, NEW DASHBOARD WITH A FEW SCRATCHES AND A GOOD CHIP IN THE WINDSHIELD. WASN'T HAPPY BUT THEY SAID ALL WAS GOOD. UNTIL THE NEXT TIME I HAD TO TAKE IT IN, STILL HAVING RUN ONS WHEN I SHUT OFF THE CAR AND SHIFTING PROBLEMS ALONG WITH A FEW MINOR THINGS( I WAS TOLD WAS NOT COVERED BUT SHOULD HAVE BEEN STILL UNDER WHAT I WAS PROMISED BY THE 12 MONTHS BUMPER TO BUMPER) OVER THE NEXT 21 MONTHS OF MY WARRANTIES I CONTINUED TO HAVE MANY ISSUES WITH MY CAR. NEVER FULLY FIXED EACH TIME I TOOK IT IN AND BEING TOLD MANY TIMES THEY WONT DO THE RECALLS BECAUSE ITS ON A CANADIAN CAR NOT MY NOW AMERICAN CAR. ON JULY 13, 2017 DRIVING ON 96 IN CONSTRUCTION AND RUSH HR TRAFFIC WITH MY GRANDSON THE TRANSMISSION WAS LOSING GEARS AT ONE POINT THE CAR STOPPED ABRUPTLY. WE BARELY MADE IT HOME! DROVE IT TO DEALER NEXT MORNING ONLY HAD 1ST GEAR. APPARENTLY THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. HELP US ALL!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds