Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 167 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (2) Power Train (34) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Tires (3) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Structure (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/15/2014 - BLASDELL, NY
2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO POWER STEERING PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT FAILED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/14/2014 - LOWELL, MA
I WAS DRIVING IN THE HIGHWAY 93, WHEN SUDDENLY THE WHEEL START TO BE VERY HARD, AT THIS MOMENT I WAS TRESPASSING OTHER CAR AND FOR VERY CLOSE I COULDN'T COMPLETE THE OPERATION. I ALMOST HIT THE OTHER CAR, COULD CAUSE A VERY BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE THE SPEED. UNFORTUNATELY EVERYTHING END OKAY, I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR AND STOP IN A SAFETY PLACE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2014 - BATH, MI
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING INTO THE OIL PAN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP AND TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,000. PM

View Details

STEERING

4/8/2014 - BARRE, VT
WIFE STOPPED FOR GAS PULLED OUT ON TO STREET VERY HARD TO STEER. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON AND OFF FOR THE PAST COUPLE YEARS ALMOST WENT AWAY FOR A WHILE. THE PAST COUPLE OF WEEKS IT HAS BEEN CONSTANT WHETHER I AM GOING 2 MPH OR 70 KPH A CONSTANT STIFFNESS IN TURNING RIGHT OR LEFT IT'S AS IF IT WAS A FLUID TYPE POWER STEERING NOT ELECTRICAL.NOW THIS IS A EARLY 2010 WE BOUGHT THIS CAR IN JULY 2009.THERE ARE NO SIGNS OR ANY KIND OF NOISES TO INDICATE ANY KIND OF PROBLEM BUT I AM GETTING KIND OF NERVOUS IN DRIVING THIS SUV ANYMORE.THERE MUST BE OTHER CHEVY CARS THAT HAVE SAME PROBLEM I DO HOPE THERE WILL BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM SOON. THANKS

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALERSHIP AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED A SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND THE BRAKE LINE WAS NOT DETECTED. REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000 MILES AND THE THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 43,000 MILES. SR

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/5/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ENTIRE DASH LIT UP AND CAR STALLED. MESSAGES INCLUDED SERVICE STABILITRAK, SERVICE ABS, ENGINE LIGHT, AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. I LOST POWER, POWER BRAKES, AND POWER STEERING AND COASTED VEHICLE TO A STOP. IT TOOK A COUPLE OF TRIES BUT FINALLY GOT THE CAR TO TURN OVER, ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON BUT DROVE TO DEALER. VEHICLE DID NOT DRIVE CORRECTLY WHEN ACCELERATED, IT WAS SLOW AND JERKY. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, THEY PLUGGED IN THEIR TECH CODE READER AND DETERMINED IT WAS THROTTLE BODY. I WAS GIVEN A CONCIERGE VEHICLE AND INFORMED IT WOULD TAKE THEM THE WEEKEND TO FIX. WHEN I PICKED THE VEHICLE UP THEY CHARGED ME SAYING THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY AND TRIED TO MAKE ME PAY FOR THE RENTAL AND I HAVE STILL NOT BEEN REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIRS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR THE RENTAL CAR. THE SERVICE AGENT AT THE DEALERSHIP PRINTED OFF WHERE IT CLEARLY STATES THAT IT SHOULD BE COVERED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ENTIRE DASH LIT UP AND CAR STALLED. MESSAGES INCLUDED SERVICE STABILITRAK, SERVICE ABS, ENGINE LIGHT, AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. I LOST POWER, POWER BRAKES, AND POWER STEERING AND COASTED VEHICLE TO A STOP. IT TOOK A COUPLE OF TRIES BUT FINALLY GOT THE CAR TO TURN OVER, ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON BUT DROVE TO DEALER. VEHICLE DID NOT DRIVE CORRECTLY WHEN ACCELERATED, IT WAS SLOW AND JERKY. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, THEY PLUGGED IN THEIR TECH CODE READER AND DETERMINED IT WAS THROTTLE BODY. I WAS GIVEN A CONCIERGE VEHICLE AND INFORMED IT WOULD TAKE THEM THE WEEKEND TO FIX. WHEN I PICKED THE VEHICLE UP THEY CHARGED ME SAYING THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY AND TRIED TO MAKE ME PAY FOR THE RENTAL AND I HAVE STILL NOT BEEN REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIRS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR THE RENTAL CAR. THE SERVICE AGENT AT THE DEALERSHIP PRINTED OFF WHERE IT CLEARLY STATES THAT IT SHOULD BE COVERED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ENTIRE DASH LIT UP AND CAR STALLED. MESSAGES INCLUDED SERVICE STABILITRAK, SERVICE ABS, ENGINE LIGHT, AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. I LOST POWER, POWER BRAKES, AND POWER STEERING AND COASTED VEHICLE TO A STOP. IT TOOK A COUPLE OF TRIES BUT FINALLY GOT THE CAR TO TURN OVER, ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON BUT DROVE TO DEALER. VEHICLE DID NOT DRIVE CORRECTLY WHEN ACCELERATED, IT WAS SLOW AND JERKY. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, THEY PLUGGED IN THEIR TECH CODE READER AND DETERMINED IT WAS THROTTLE BODY. I WAS GIVEN A CONCIERGE VEHICLE AND INFORMED IT WOULD TAKE THEM THE WEEKEND TO FIX. WHEN I PICKED THE VEHICLE UP THEY CHARGED ME SAYING THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY AND TRIED TO MAKE ME PAY FOR THE RENTAL AND I HAVE STILL NOT BEEN REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIRS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR THE RENTAL CAR. THE SERVICE AGENT AT THE DEALERSHIP PRINTED OFF WHERE IT CLEARLY STATES THAT IT SHOULD BE COVERED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/3/2014 - COLLINS , OH
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKES WERE DEPRESSED SEVERAL TIMES WHERE THEY EVENTUALLY RESPONDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC BRAKE BOOSTER VACUUM PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 71,000. RK

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2014 - WHEELING, IL
11/13/13 FIRST REPORT OF TRANSMISSION SURGING/BUCKING WHEN COMING TO STOP THEN ENGINE DIES, HAPPENED TWICE. DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE. 12/21/13 TRANSMISSION FAILURE: NO REVERSE, WON'T SHIFT PAST 2ND, TRANS FLUID OK BUT DARK W/ METAL SHAVINGS. FOUND 3,5,R WAVE PLATE FIBERS & STEELS DAMAGED ALONG W/ CLUTCH HOUSING ASSEMBLY, LOW REVERSE SPRING RETAINER & HOUSING. 1,2,3,4,PISTON, LOW REVERSE 1,2,3,4 CLUTCH, LOW REVERSE PISTON. CLEAN CASE, REBUILT VALVE BODY, REPLACED SEALS, INSTALLED OVERHAUL KIT. 2/24/14: REPORTED TRANSMISSION PROBLEM REOCCURRED, DEALER DROVE FOR 2 WEEKS COULD NOT DUPLICATE. 3/24/14: REPORTED TRANSMISSION PROBLEM REOCCURRED 7 TIMES ON 3/23. DEALER ABLE TO DUPLICATE PROBLEM. REPLACE SUNGEAR, OUTPUT CARRIER GEAR SET, WAVE PLATES, OVERHAULED TRANSMISSION, RELEARN SHIFT ADAPT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds