Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 331 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (65) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Engine (93) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/21/2016 - BALDWIN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EXHAUST FUMES ENTERED THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE AIR CONDITIONER VENTS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2016 - GILBERT, AZ
WHILE DRIVING ON AN ARTERIAL CITY STREET APPROX 50MPH THE VEHICLE LUNGED UNEXPECTEDLY WITH A HARD KNOCK SOUND. AFTER SLOWING AT THE LIGHT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED ON NORMALLY. THE NEXT DAY WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PUT IN REVERSE, TO BACK OUT OF THE GARAGE, NOTHING HAPPENED AND WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED STILL NOTHING HAPPENED. THE VEHICLE WAS PUT BACK INTO PARK AND THEN BACK INTO REVERSE AGAIN AND THIS TIME THE TRANSMISSION ENGAGED NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN LATER THE SAME DAY. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY DEALER AND DESCRIBED THE PROBLEM. A TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO RECREATE THE ISSUE AND STATED THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE WAVE PLATE CRACKING IN THE TRANSMISSION. HE STATES THIS HAS BECOME A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR AND WHEN IT FULLY BREAKS IT CAN DO ALOT OF DAMAGE. LATER IN THE MORNING THE SERVICE REP CALLED AND STATED THE WAVE PLATE SHOULD BE REPLACED AND THAT IT WOULD COST $3600. I LOOKED THIS ISSUE UP ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE AND THEIR ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS RELATED TO THIS VERY PART WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION, MANY WITH SCARY STORIES OF WHAT HAPPENED. CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE STATES THAT THERE WAS A NOTICE PUT OUT FOR MODEL YEARS 2007-2009 BUT NOTHING AFTER THAT FOR THE EXACT SAME SAFETY ISSUE. THIS HAS BECOME A TREND AND THE WAVE PLATE/TRANSMISSION ISSUES WITH THE 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX NEED TO BE ADDRESSED BY THE DEALER BEFORE SOMEONE IS HURT. THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ITEM SO THAT THE CUSTOMER IS SAFE AND NOT STUCK WITH A $4000 REPAIR FOR SOMETHING THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAS IDENTIFIED AS AN ISSUE ON THE EXACT SAME MODEL BUT OLDER MODEL YEARS. OBVIOUSLY AFTER IDENTIFYING THE PROBLEM NOTHING WAS DONE TO CORRECT IT IN FUTURE MODEL YEARS AND THEREFORE ALL THOSE CUSTOMERS ARE AT RISK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2016 - COLFAX, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY THE POWER TO THE CAR WAS REDUCED, WAS BARLEY ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. ONLY HAD ONE GEAR TO DRIVE TO A SAFE DISTANCE. HAD VEHICLE TAKEN TO LOCAL REPAIR SHOP AND LEARNED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS SHOT AND THAT IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS NO SIGNS OR INDICATIONS OF THERE EVER BEING ANY ISSUES WITH THE TRANSMISSION. VEHICLE IS UP TO DATE WITH ALL SERVICES RECOMMENDED BY CHEVROLET. THESE MAKES AND MODELS NEED TO BE RECALLED FOR THE TRANSMISSION AS I HAVE NOTICED THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE & MODEL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/12/2016 - MADISONVILLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH IN THE LEFT LANE OF THREE LANE TRAFFIC, A SEMI-TRUCK MERGED FROM THE MIDDLE LANE TO THE LEFT LANE AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE SPUN AROUND AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS AND RECEIVED EXTENSIVE MEDICAL TREATMENT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE WRISTS, BACK, AND NECK AND HAD A CT SCAN FOR LOWER BACK PAINS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE CRASH. THE INSURANCE COMPANY TOWED THE VEHICLE TO A YARD. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHY THE AIR BAGS HAD NOT DEPLOYED AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,070.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2016 - PLEASANT HILL, IA
MY 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX STARTED WITH AN OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM 86,000 MILES MAY 2016 ALL NEW PISTONS, RINGS, HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP TIMING CHAIN AND SEALS COVERED ON GM EXTENDED WARRANTY. 1 MONTH LATER THE TRANNY GOES 87,000 MI TOWED CAR TO DEALER THEY ARE TELLING ME I HAVE NO WARRANTY WILL COST ANYWHERE FROM $3-5,000. ALL I READ IS BAD NEWS ABOUT THIS TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2016 - PLEASANT HILL, IA
MY 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX STARTED WITH AN OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM 86,000 MILES MAY 2016 ALL NEW PISTONS, RINGS, HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP TIMING CHAIN AND SEALS COVERED ON GM EXTENDED WARRANTY. 1 MONTH LATER THE TRANNY GOES 87,000 MI TOWED CAR TO DEALER THEY ARE TELLING ME I HAVE NO WARRANTY WILL COST ANYWHERE FROM $3-5,000. ALL I READ IS BAD NEWS ABOUT THIS TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/27/2016 - CAMDENTON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED SEVERELY AND AN UNKNOWN SOUND WAS HEARD FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2016 - ROSEVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE ENTERING A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND THE VEHICLE DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEED. THE CONTACT HAD TO QUICKLY COAST THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE IT WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2016 - ROSEVILLE, MI
I BOUGHT A 2010 EQUINOX JAN9,2016 FROM VIC CANEVER IN FENTON MI FOR 10320 ON MAY26,2016 I JUST DROPPED OF MY SON AND GRANDSON AND WAS ON MY WAY HOME ON THE EXPRESSWAY WHEN MY TRANSMISSION ALL OF A SUDDEN WENT OUT AS I WAS DRIVING. I ALMOST GOT INTO A BAD WRECK AND COULD OF POSSIBLY LOSE MY LIFE. WHEN I FINALLY GOT ,Y VEHICLE TOWED AND INSPECTED AT BILL'S TRANSMISSION SHOP IN ROSEVILLE MI I WAS SHOWN THE COLOR OF MY TRANSMISSION FLUID WHICH WAS CHARCOAL BLACK AND THICK. I CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND MADE A COMPLAINT AND WAS CONTACTED BY MIKE AGNONE WHO'S THE SENIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER AND BRANDON WHO'S THE USED CAR MANAGER. I WAS TOLD I'LL HAVE TO COME UP WITH 2500 TO GO TOWARDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. WHAT THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND THAT I'M ON A SET INCOME AND DON'T HAVE NO MONEY. GENERAL MOTORS NEEDS TO RECALL ALL THE EQUINOX'S. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND NOTHING BUT BAD THINGS ABOUT THEM AND ALL YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2016 - ROYSE CITY, TX
PURCHASED CAR FROM TOYOTA OF ROCKWALL IN JAN 2015. IN JULY 2015 STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH SHIFT NOT COMING OUT OF PARK, SOMETIMES THE PROBLEM WOULD NOT DUPLICATE, SO I HAD TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE SHOP MULTIPLE TIMES. INITIALLY TOOK CAR TO STONEBRIAR CHEVY (FRISCO, TX), WHO REPLACED THE BATTERY. THE ISSUE OCCURRED AGAIN - I TOOK IT TO NTB (ROCKWALL, TX) & HAD VARIOUS PARTS RELATED TO SHIFTER ASSEMBLY REPLACED. I HAD IT THERE A FEW TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I THEN TOOK IT TO BRITAIN CHEVY (GREENVILLE, TX) 3 TIMES BETWEEN NOV & DEC 2015 - THE CAR SHOWED ERROR CODES P0326, P0324 & P0014. THE FOLLOWING REPAIRS WERE MADE, SOME COVERED UNDER SPECIAL COVERAGE WARRANTIES: REPLACED TRANSMISSION SHIFTER ASSEMBLY, ENGINE BALANCE CHAIN, TENSIONER, GASKET, PUMP, PIPE, SEAL GASKET KIT, 3 BOLTS (VARIOUS PART #S), FILTER, GM DEXOSI 5W30, TIMING CHAIN KIT, CAMSHAFT ACTUATOR & LOOSE CONNECTION AT ECM. AGAIN IN MAY 2016 HAD ISSUES. TOOK CAR TO LAKESIDE CHEVY (ROCKWALL, TX) & RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING ERROR CODES: P0324, P0016 & P0017. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUES (COVERED UNDER SPEC CVG WARRANTY), BUT THAT A BOLT UNAFFILIATED WITH A SPEC CVG WARRANTY OR ANY BOLTS REPLACED IN THE PAST HAD COME LOSE, CAUSING TIMING CHAIN TO HIT ENGINE OVER AND OVER, RESULTING IN ENGINE BEING RUINED AND NEEDING FULL REPLACEMENT (QUOTED $6K FOR THIS). I HAVE BEEN ARGUING THAT THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER SPEC CVG WARRANTY #14159 OR 12313 SINCE IT IS RELATED TO TIMING CHAIN, ETC., BUT WAS TOLD THE BOLT THAT CAME LOSE IS NOT ONE THAT IS LISTED UNDER ANY SPEC CVG WARRANTIES. I BELIEVE THIS IS MOST DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT COME ON UNTIL THE WEEK I TOOK IT BACK IN THE SHOP IN MAY, YET THE MECHANICS HAVE TOLD ME THE BOLT HAS BEEN LOOSE AND CHAIN HITTING MY ENGINE FOR QUITE A BIT LONGER THAN THAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds