Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 234 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (30) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (29) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (44) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (12)
Engine (61) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/23/2015 - LIBERTY, TX
AIR COMPRESSOR- HAS GONE OUT AND THE CAUSE FOR IT WAS WHEN I HAD A RECALL FIXED. CHEVROLET HAS STATED THEY WILL NOT FIX THE ISSUE AND NOW AS A COLLEGE STUDENT I HAVE TO PAY $1000 TO HAVE IT FIXED. I EXPECTED A RELIABLE CAR AND AFTER MORE THAN 5 TIMES IN THE SHOP I REALLY WISH I WOULD HAVE STUCK WITH MY 2001 VEHICLE WHICH WAS MORE RELIABLE THAN WHAT THIS EQUINOX WILL EVER BE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

2/19/2015 - OSCODA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEATER AND DEFROSTER FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V489000 (VISIBILITY). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/19/2015 - SUSQUEHANNA, PA
TRACTION CONTROL MALFUNCTION AND MADE THE CAR GO INTO LOW POWER MODE, HAD TO PULL OVER ON THE HIGHWAY, RESTART IT MANY TIME TO GO AGAIN

View Details

ENGINE

2/19/2015 - SUSQUEHANNA, PA
TRACTION CONTROL MALFUNCTION AND MADE THE CAR GO INTO LOW POWER MODE, HAD TO PULL OVER ON THE HIGHWAY, RESTART IT MANY TIME TO GO AGAIN

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2015 - SUSQUEHANNA, PA
TRACTION CONTROL MALFUNCTION AND MADE THE CAR GO INTO LOW POWER MODE, HAD TO PULL OVER ON THE HIGHWAY, RESTART IT MANY TIME TO GO AGAIN

View Details

ENGINE

2/5/2015 - LENOIR, NC
GM DID A RECALL ON THE RINGS AND PISTONS OF MY CAR. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW AND TOLD THE DEALERSHIP ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS THAT IT WAS USING TOO MUCH OIL. THEY CHECKED IT AND TOLD ME THAT EVERYTHING WAS FINE, TO KEEP ADDING OIL AND THAT THE CAR "JUST USES OIL." NOW AT 98,000 MILES LATER THEY DO A RECALL AND SAY THERE IS A PROBLEM AND THEY ONLY FIXED THE RINGS AND PISTONS, WHICH IS ONLY PART OF THE PROBLEM. MY CAR IS USING 1 - 1.5 QUARTS OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. COMMON SENSE AND MECHANICS TELL ME THAT IF A VEHICLE IS USING THAT MUCH OIL WHERE IS ALL THE EXHAUST AND EMISSIONS GOING, IT IS GOING THROUGH THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. SINCE I AM USING THREE TO FOUR TIMES THE AMOUNT OF OIL THAT SHOULD BE USED, THEN THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER IS WORKING HARDER. NOW MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND AFTER HAVING IT TESTED, GM HAS INFORMED ME THAT I NEED A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER BECAUSE IT IS CLOGGED UP. IT MAKES SINCE THAT IT WOULD BE CLOGGED UP SINCE I AM BURNING THIS EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL DUE TO THE FAULTY RINGS AND PISTONS THAT GM HAS ALREADY AGREED WAS WRONG IN THE FIRST PLACE. NOW, THEY ARE WANTING TO CHARGE ME $1100.00 FOR A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND REPLACED DURING THE RECALL. THEY TELL ME MY CAR HAS TOO MANY MILES AND THEIR WARRANTY COVERS THE CONVERTER FOR 80,000 MILES. I UNDERSTAND I AM OVER THIS MARK AND ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT I BROUGHT THIS MATTER TO THEIR ATTENTION ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS BEFORE THE 80,000 MILE MARK. I SHOULD NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THE $1100.00 TO REPLACE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SINCE THE PROBLEM ORIGINATED FROM THE RINGS AND PISTONS. PLEASE HELP. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/5/2015 - LENOIR, NC
GM DID A RECALL ON THE RINGS AND PISTONS OF MY CAR. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW AND TOLD THE DEALERSHIP ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS THAT IT WAS USING TOO MUCH OIL. THEY CHECKED IT AND TOLD ME THAT EVERYTHING WAS FINE, TO KEEP ADDING OIL AND THAT THE CAR "JUST USES OIL." NOW AT 98,000 MILES LATER THEY DO A RECALL AND SAY THERE IS A PROBLEM AND THEY ONLY FIXED THE RINGS AND PISTONS, WHICH IS ONLY PART OF THE PROBLEM. MY CAR IS USING 1 - 1.5 QUARTS OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. COMMON SENSE AND MECHANICS TELL ME THAT IF A VEHICLE IS USING THAT MUCH OIL WHERE IS ALL THE EXHAUST AND EMISSIONS GOING, IT IS GOING THROUGH THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. SINCE I AM USING THREE TO FOUR TIMES THE AMOUNT OF OIL THAT SHOULD BE USED, THEN THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER IS WORKING HARDER. NOW MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND AFTER HAVING IT TESTED, GM HAS INFORMED ME THAT I NEED A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER BECAUSE IT IS CLOGGED UP. IT MAKES SINCE THAT IT WOULD BE CLOGGED UP SINCE I AM BURNING THIS EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL DUE TO THE FAULTY RINGS AND PISTONS THAT GM HAS ALREADY AGREED WAS WRONG IN THE FIRST PLACE. NOW, THEY ARE WANTING TO CHARGE ME $1100.00 FOR A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND REPLACED DURING THE RECALL. THEY TELL ME MY CAR HAS TOO MANY MILES AND THEIR WARRANTY COVERS THE CONVERTER FOR 80,000 MILES. I UNDERSTAND I AM OVER THIS MARK AND ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT I BROUGHT THIS MATTER TO THEIR ATTENTION ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS BEFORE THE 80,000 MILE MARK. I SHOULD NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THE $1100.00 TO REPLACE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SINCE THE PROBLEM ORIGINATED FROM THE RINGS AND PISTONS. PLEASE HELP. THANK YOU.

View Details

STEERING

1/27/2015 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO A GUARDRAIL. THE CONTACT DID NOT DISCLOSE WHETHER A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LOWER BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/18/2015 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
WHILE DRIVING 55MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DISPLAY. SHORTLY AFTER, A MESSAGE READING "SERVICE STABILI TRAK" APPEARED. THEN, ANOTHER MESSAGE APPEARED "ENGINE POWER REDUCED". MY CAR STARTED SHAKING FIERCELY AND I COULD NOT GO ABOVE 30MPH. I FELT LIKE I WAS SITTING ON A TICKING TIME BOMB. THEN, THE CAR SHUT OFF AUTOMATICALLY. I TRIED RESTARTING THE CAR. IT SEEMED FINE BUT MINUTES LATER THE SAME THINGS HAPPENED. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED AT ADVANCE AUTO PARTS. I RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING CODES: U0100 (ENGINE CONTROL MODULE), P0324 (KNOCK CONTROL SYSTEM), & P2135 (THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR). I THEN TOOK MY VEHICLE TO A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP WHO KEPT MY VEHICLE 5 DAYS. DURING THIS TIME, THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE ROOT OF THE PROBLEM, COULD NOT FIX THE ISSUE, AND RETURNED MY VEHICLE TO ME. THEY SAID THEY COMPLETED A RESET ON THE VEHICLE & THE PROBLEM SHOULD BE RESOLVED. HOWEVER, ON THE WAY HOME FROM THE DEALERSHIP (10 MINUTES OF DRIVE TIME) THE VEHICLE DID THE EXACT SAME THING WITH THE MESSAGES AND SHUT OFF. THIS IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED ASAP!! I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE BUSY HIGHWAY BEFORE IT SHUT OFF AND WAS NEARLY REAR-ENDED FROM A VEHICLE BEHIND. AS AN EXTREMELY PREGNANT WOMAN (WHO'S DUE ANY DAY), I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO WORRY FOR THE SAFETY OF MYSELF OR MY UNBORN CHILD IN A VEHICLE THAT HAS SUCH HIGH SAFETY RATINGS. PLEASE HAVE THESE ISSUES RESOLVED BEFORE SOMEONE TRULY GETS HURT OR KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/9/2015 - TOLONO, IL
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK TO EAT LUNCH AS WITH ANY OTHER DAY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH A "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" MESSAGE AND AN EXCLAMATION MARK. I'VE DONE A TON OF RESEARCH AND HAVE SEEN THIS SHOW UP AS A COMMON ISSUE WITH MANY GM MODELS. I FOUND THE GM TSB 11273 THAT DESCRIBES THE EXACT CONDITION WE ARE HAVING. WANT TO KNOW THE PROBLEM? MY WIFE'S 2010 EQUINOX ISN'T LISTED IN THE TSB!!! I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THIS AT ALL. I'VE CALLED GM TO EXPLAIN THE SITUATION AND THEY WILL HEAR NOTHING OF IT AND ARE TELLING ME THEY WILL NOT COVER THE EXPENSE. IT MAKES NO SENSE TO ME HOW THEY ADMIT FAULT AND PICK OF THE COST OF THE EXACT SAME REPAIR ON OTHER GM MODELS BUT THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR THE REPAIR ON MY VEHICLE FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE AND I COULDN'T EVEN IMAGINE HAVING THIS ISSUE AT A HIGH SPEED, LUCKILY MY WIFE WAS ONLY DRIVING IN TOWN. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. TO MAKE THINGS WORSE, THE VEHICLE DOESN'T EVEN HAVE 55,000 MILES ON IT AND GM IS TELLING ME THE 5 YEAR 100,000 MILE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY DOESN'T EVEN COVER THIS! HOW MUCH SENSE DOES THAT MAKE? THE POWERTRAIN IS THE MEAT OF THE VEHICLE WHICH CANNOT BE UTILIZED IF THE THROTTLE BODY IS ACTING UP BECAUSE THE VEHICLE IS KICKED INTO REDUCED POWER MODE! VERY FRUSTRATED WITH GM'S CUSTOMER SERVICE IN NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds