Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 192 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (2) Power Train (39) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Tires (3) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (4) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Structure (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/26/2014 - QUEEN CREEK, AZ
GM, USED A FELT LIKE MATERIAL ON THE 2010 EQUINOX BETWEEN THE FRONT FENDER AND THE FIRE WALL FOR SOUND DEADENING . I HAVE CHECKED OUT THEIR NEW MODELS AND THEY ARE USING IT ON ALL OF THEM NOW [TRUCKS,CARS,SUVS]. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THIS MATERIAL STAYS WET, COLLECTS SALT, MUD, ETC. AS WE DRIVE ON ROADS WHERE SALT IS USED IN THE US AND CANADA I HAVE REMOVED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE SO FAR. THE FIRE WALL AND FENDER BOTH HAVE SERIOUS RUST WHICH WILL LEAD TO A PERFORATION OF THE PASSENGER CABIN. THERE MUST BE A BETTER MATERIAL TO USE FOR THIS PURPOSE THAT WILL NOT STAY WET. I HAVE CONTACTED GM BUT THEY DID NOT SEEM TOO CONCERNED ABOUT THE ISSUE. HOPE YOU FOLKS HAVE BETTER LUCK THEN MYSELF. PLEASE NOTE WE LIVE IN CANADA AND ARIZONA ABOUT 50/50

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2014 - WEST HAVERSTRAW, NY
WHILE DRIVING IN A STORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING. I HAD TO PULL OVER AND WAIT OUT THE STORM, TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. I TOOK THE CAR TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT THEY NEEDED TO REPLACE THE MOTOR FOR THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS. IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND COST ME $400.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/10/2014 - JUPITER, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS LOCKED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - LINCOLN PARK , NJ
I STARTED THE VEHICLE THE STABILITRAC AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE FORWARD MORE THAN A HALF MILE PER HOUR. HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO DEALER. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE 1 MONTH AGO PRE OWNED FROM THE DEALER. IT HAD GONE THRU THE GENERAL MOTORS 117 POINT INSPECTION TEST BEFORE I BOUGHT IT... I ONLY PUT ON 1000 MILES SINCE I PURCHASED IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2014 - LINCOLN PARK , NJ
I STARTED THE VEHICLE THE STABILITRAC AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE FORWARD MORE THAN A HALF MILE PER HOUR. HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO DEALER. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE 1 MONTH AGO PRE OWNED FROM THE DEALER. IT HAD GONE THRU THE GENERAL MOTORS 117 POINT INSPECTION TEST BEFORE I BOUGHT IT... I ONLY PUT ON 1000 MILES SINCE I PURCHASED IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/4/2014 - NIAGARA FALLS, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 290 (NY), A HEAVY RAINFALL STARTED. DRIVER PUT WIPERS TO HIGH SPEED AND WIPERS STOPPED FUNCTIONING. WIPERS WERE AT THE END OF THE WIPE SWEEP. DRIVER WAS ABLE, DUE TO THE PRIOR USE OF "RAIN-X" TO SEE TO EXIT THE ROAD. WIPERS DID NOT REGAIN FUNCTIONALITY, AFTER VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND WIPERS WERE ATTEMPTED TO BE USED AGAIN. DRIVER IS CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - PAPILLION, NE
WHILE TURNING LEFT ON A MAJOR INTERSECTION THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND STABILITAC LIGHT WITH A WARNING OF REDUCED ENGINE POWER CAME ON. THE CAR COULD ONLY GO 5 MPH WHICH WAS CAUSED ME TO SLOWLY GO THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. TWO ON COMING CARS HAD TO SLAM ON THEIR BREAKS TO AVOID ME. THE DEALER FOUND A DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY. THEY SAID THE CAR IS PROGRAM TO GO INTO REDUCED ENGINE POWER MODE WHEN THE COMPUTER DETECTS THIS ISSUE. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS THIS COME ON WITH OUT WARNING, IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS. SEARCH THE WEB AND YOU WILL FIND THAT MANY WITH THIS TYPE OF CAR FROM GM ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE. I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THE DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY FOR THOSE NOT REPLACED YET AND A REIMBURSEMENT FOR THOSE ALREADY PAID. I HAD TO PAY $400.64 FOR THIS SAFETY REPAIR SO I COULD A AVOID FUTURE ACCIDENTS WHEN TURNING AT INTERSECTIONS. THE REPAIR DETAILS ARE ON FILE AT THE DEALER.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/30/2014 - PAPILLION, NE
PASSENGER SIDE, TOP BLEND DOOR ACTUATOR STUCK AT COOLING POSITION PREVENTING THE DEFROST TO WORK. I COULD NOT SEE AND ALMOST HAD A WRECK. ESTIMATED REPAIR COST IS $600 AS YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE WHOLE DASH APART TO GET TO THE ACTUATOR. I THINK THIS PART SHOULD BE RECALLED AS THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF DEFECTIVE GMC EQUINOX AND TERRAIN ACTUATOR ISSUES ON THE WEB. IF YOU CAN SEE OUT THE WINDOW AS THE DEFROST IS STUCK ON COOL YOU COULD HAVE A WRECK. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2014 - SMYRNA, GA
AT 13,000 MILES THE FUEL TANK, FUEL PUMP, FUEL LEVEL SENSOR REPLACED. AT 56,000 MILES THE WATER PUMP AND BALANCE SHAFT CHAINS WERE REPLACED AFTER THE CAR BROKE DOWN ON THE SIDE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY. AT 64,000 MILES THE CAMSHAFT POSITION ACUTATOR AND SOLENOID VALVES WERE REPLACED AFTER ANOTHER HIGHWAY BREAKDOWN. AT 69,000 MILES THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED FOR A BREAKDOWN ONCE AGAIN. AT 81,000 MILES THE FUEL PUMP AND BALANCE SHAFT CHAINS WERE REPLACED ONCE AGAIN AFTER A BREAKDOWN. AT 90,000 MILES THE CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY. THE WAVE PLATE WAS REPLACED AND METAL DEBRIS WAS FOUND IN THE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/25/2014 - ADDISON, IL
GOOD AFTERNOON. I PURCHASED A 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX ON JANUARY 7TH, 2014. THE DEFROSTER AND THE VENTS ARE NOT WORKING. THE DEFROSTER DELAYS OR DOES NOT COME ON AT ALL. I RESEARCHED RECALLS ON THE CHEVY EQUINOX AND FOUND THAT MY PROBLEMS ARE THE SAME PROBLEMS THAT FALL UNDER THE 09298 RECALL WHICH STATES: "BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF DEFECT MFG. CAMPAIGN NO. 090298 ? COMPUTER MODULE/FMVSS 101 & 103. DOM: 2/09-11/09. VEHICLES FAIL TO MEET FMVSS 101 AND FMVSS 103. SOFTWARE IN CENTER INSTRUMENT PANEL CAN CAUSE HEATING, AIR CONDITIONING, DEFROST, AND RADIO CONTROLS, AS WELL AS PANEL ILLUMINATION TO BECOME INOPERATIVE. DRIVING WITHOUT FUNCTIONING DEFROST SYSTEM CAN DECREASE VISIBILITY AND COULD RESULT IN CRASH WITHOUT WARNING. CORRECT BY REPLACING COMPUTER MODULE IN CENTER INSTRUMENT PANEL" MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL, BUT IT IS THE EXACT PROBLEM I AM HAVING. THE COMPUTER MODULE IS BAD. WOULD YOU HAPPEN TO KNOW IF THERE IS A WAY TO GET THIS CAR FIXED UNDER THE WARRANTY? I BELIEVE MY VIN SHOULD BE INCLUDED, BUT NO ONE AT CHEVROLET WILL HELP ME WITHOUT CHARGING ME A HUGE AMOUNT OF MONEY. I WOULDN'T MIND IF THE VENTS WEREN'T WORKING, BUT THE DEFROSTER NEEDS TO WORK AND IT ISN'T A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE. I JUST THOUGHT I WOULD REACH OUT TO YOU TO SEE IF YOU MIGHT HAVE A BETTER SOLUTION THEN THE RUN AROUND I AM GETTING FROM GM. IF YOU COULD BE CONTACT ME, I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT! I HOPE YOU HAVE A GOOD DAY! THANK YOU, ABBY AMEY ABBY@AMEYS.NET 773-822-3223

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds