Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (2) Power Train (39) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Tires (3) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (4) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (48) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Structure (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - FOLSOM, LA
WHEN GAS IS ADDED TO VEHICLE GAS TANK. THE ENGINE IS HARD TO START. APPEARS AS IF ENGINE IS FLOODED. WILL EVENTUALLY START AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - LEEDS, ME
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO OPERATE. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. NE

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2014 - WAUKEGAN , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED AT THE DEALER, THE MECHANIC NOTICED THAT FUEL WAS CROSS-CONTAMINATED WITH ENGINE OIL. THE MIXTURE CAUSED THE ENGINE TO RUN CONTINUOUSLY AND ROUGHLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/7/2014 - WAUKEGAN , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED AT THE DEALER, THE MECHANIC NOTICED THAT FUEL WAS CROSS-CONTAMINATED WITH ENGINE OIL. THE MIXTURE CAUSED THE ENGINE TO RUN CONTINUOUSLY AND ROUGHLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/30/2014 - AGUADILLA, PR
WHEN THE VEHICLE STARTS IN THE MORNING FOR THE FIRST 15-20 SECONDS YOU COULD HEAR A LOAD RATTLING NOISE THEN THE NOISE GOES AWAY. I HAD CHANGE THE OIL FROM SYNTHETIC TO REGULAR 5W30 BECAUSE WHEN I DRAINED THE CRANK CASE THE ONLY THING I HAD LEFT WAS 1.5 QT, IM TRYING WITH THE REGULAR OIL TO SEE WHAT IT DOES .I HEAR THAT MANY EQUINOX OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH OIL CONSUMSSION.I WOULD LIKE TO REPORTED ,MAYBE ITS A PROBLEM AMONG THESE VEHICLES OWNERS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2014 - PRINCETON, WV
WHILE AT RED LIGHT, I WENT TO PULL OUT AND CAR JUST TURNED OFF. AND HAD TO PUT IT IN PARK AND TURN CAR OFF AND TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR AND IT WOULDN'T START AND HAD TO DO IT AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

7/29/2014 - PRINCETON, WV
WHILE AT RED LIGHT, I WENT TO PULL OUT AND CAR JUST TURNED OFF. AND HAD TO PUT IT IN PARK AND TURN CAR OFF AND TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR AND IT WOULDN'T START AND HAD TO DO IT AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2014 - YPSILANTI, MI
PURCHASED A 2010 EQUINOX,NEW WITH 23 MILES, NOTICED RIGHT AWAY THAT I HAD TO PUT OIL IN SEVERAL TIME WHEN I FILLED UP WITH GAS. TOOK IN FOR 3,00 MILE CHECK WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. THIS HAS BEEN CONTINUOUS, I ALWAYS CARRIED OIL WITH ME AND GO OIL CHANGES EVERY 1,500 TO 2,000 MILE. CAR FINALLY BROKE DOWN THIS WEEKEND AND WAS TOWED TO DEALER FROM WHICH I PURCHASED. SOME THING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS, IT NO LAUGHING MATTER TO SPEND 25,000 TO 30,000 ON A CAR AND IT FALLS APART AT 71,000 AND AM NOT EVEN THROUGH PAYING FOR IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/26/2014 - QUEEN CREEK, AZ
GM, USED A FELT LIKE MATERIAL ON THE 2010 EQUINOX BETWEEN THE FRONT FENDER AND THE FIRE WALL FOR SOUND DEADENING . I HAVE CHECKED OUT THEIR NEW MODELS AND THEY ARE USING IT ON ALL OF THEM NOW [TRUCKS,CARS,SUVS]. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THIS MATERIAL STAYS WET, COLLECTS SALT, MUD, ETC. AS WE DRIVE ON ROADS WHERE SALT IS USED IN THE US AND CANADA I HAVE REMOVED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE SO FAR. THE FIRE WALL AND FENDER BOTH HAVE SERIOUS RUST WHICH WILL LEAD TO A PERFORATION OF THE PASSENGER CABIN. THERE MUST BE A BETTER MATERIAL TO USE FOR THIS PURPOSE THAT WILL NOT STAY WET. I HAVE CONTACTED GM BUT THEY DID NOT SEEM TOO CONCERNED ABOUT THE ISSUE. HOPE YOU FOLKS HAVE BETTER LUCK THEN MYSELF. PLEASE NOTE WE LIVE IN CANADA AND ARIZONA ABOUT 50/50

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2014 - WEST HAVERSTRAW, NY
WHILE DRIVING IN A STORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING. I HAD TO PULL OVER AND WAIT OUT THE STORM, TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. I TOOK THE CAR TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT THEY NEEDED TO REPLACE THE MOTOR FOR THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS. IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND COST ME $400.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds