Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 325 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (61) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Engine (91) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2016 - ROSEVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE ENTERING A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND THE VEHICLE DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEED. THE CONTACT HAD TO QUICKLY COAST THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE IT WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2016 - ROSEVILLE, MI
I BOUGHT A 2010 EQUINOX JAN9,2016 FROM VIC CANEVER IN FENTON MI FOR 10320 ON MAY26,2016 I JUST DROPPED OF MY SON AND GRANDSON AND WAS ON MY WAY HOME ON THE EXPRESSWAY WHEN MY TRANSMISSION ALL OF A SUDDEN WENT OUT AS I WAS DRIVING. I ALMOST GOT INTO A BAD WRECK AND COULD OF POSSIBLY LOSE MY LIFE. WHEN I FINALLY GOT ,Y VEHICLE TOWED AND INSPECTED AT BILL'S TRANSMISSION SHOP IN ROSEVILLE MI I WAS SHOWN THE COLOR OF MY TRANSMISSION FLUID WHICH WAS CHARCOAL BLACK AND THICK. I CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND MADE A COMPLAINT AND WAS CONTACTED BY MIKE AGNONE WHO'S THE SENIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER AND BRANDON WHO'S THE USED CAR MANAGER. I WAS TOLD I'LL HAVE TO COME UP WITH 2500 TO GO TOWARDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. WHAT THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND THAT I'M ON A SET INCOME AND DON'T HAVE NO MONEY. GENERAL MOTORS NEEDS TO RECALL ALL THE EQUINOX'S. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND NOTHING BUT BAD THINGS ABOUT THEM AND ALL YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2016 - ROYSE CITY, TX
PURCHASED CAR FROM TOYOTA OF ROCKWALL IN JAN 2015. IN JULY 2015 STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH SHIFT NOT COMING OUT OF PARK, SOMETIMES THE PROBLEM WOULD NOT DUPLICATE, SO I HAD TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE SHOP MULTIPLE TIMES. INITIALLY TOOK CAR TO STONEBRIAR CHEVY (FRISCO, TX), WHO REPLACED THE BATTERY. THE ISSUE OCCURRED AGAIN - I TOOK IT TO NTB (ROCKWALL, TX) & HAD VARIOUS PARTS RELATED TO SHIFTER ASSEMBLY REPLACED. I HAD IT THERE A FEW TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I THEN TOOK IT TO BRITAIN CHEVY (GREENVILLE, TX) 3 TIMES BETWEEN NOV & DEC 2015 - THE CAR SHOWED ERROR CODES P0326, P0324 & P0014. THE FOLLOWING REPAIRS WERE MADE, SOME COVERED UNDER SPECIAL COVERAGE WARRANTIES: REPLACED TRANSMISSION SHIFTER ASSEMBLY, ENGINE BALANCE CHAIN, TENSIONER, GASKET, PUMP, PIPE, SEAL GASKET KIT, 3 BOLTS (VARIOUS PART #S), FILTER, GM DEXOSI 5W30, TIMING CHAIN KIT, CAMSHAFT ACTUATOR & LOOSE CONNECTION AT ECM. AGAIN IN MAY 2016 HAD ISSUES. TOOK CAR TO LAKESIDE CHEVY (ROCKWALL, TX) & RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING ERROR CODES: P0324, P0016 & P0017. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUES (COVERED UNDER SPEC CVG WARRANTY), BUT THAT A BOLT UNAFFILIATED WITH A SPEC CVG WARRANTY OR ANY BOLTS REPLACED IN THE PAST HAD COME LOSE, CAUSING TIMING CHAIN TO HIT ENGINE OVER AND OVER, RESULTING IN ENGINE BEING RUINED AND NEEDING FULL REPLACEMENT (QUOTED $6K FOR THIS). I HAVE BEEN ARGUING THAT THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER SPEC CVG WARRANTY #14159 OR 12313 SINCE IT IS RELATED TO TIMING CHAIN, ETC., BUT WAS TOLD THE BOLT THAT CAME LOSE IS NOT ONE THAT IS LISTED UNDER ANY SPEC CVG WARRANTIES. I BELIEVE THIS IS MOST DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT COME ON UNTIL THE WEEK I TOOK IT BACK IN THE SHOP IN MAY, YET THE MECHANICS HAVE TOLD ME THE BOLT HAS BEEN LOOSE AND CHAIN HITTING MY ENGINE FOR QUITE A BIT LONGER THAN THAT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
HAVING THE OIL CHANGED AND NOTED THAT THE OIL WAS EXTREMELY LOW. TOOK IT IN AGAIN FOR SERVICE IN JUNE 2016 AND THE OIL WAS ALREADY LOW AGAIN AND HAD NOT BE DRIVEN FAR. MILEAGE IS AT 64,000 MILES. THERE IS NOT A LEAK. HAPPENS EVEN WHEN SITTING STILL.

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2016 - POLAND, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON I80 IN RURAL PA ENGINE STARTED MISSING INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN I EXITED THE ROAD TO INVESTIGATE THE ENGINE IMMEDIATELY STARTED TO RUN VERY ROUGH AND THE INFORMATION CENTER WAS SHOWING A PROBLEM WITH STABILI-TRACK - WHICH MADE NO SENSE SINCE IT WAS SUMMER AND THE ROAD WAS DRY. AFTER VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF FOR AWHILE AND RESTARTED IT SEEMED TO RUN MORE SMOOTHLY. HOWEVER, AS I ACCELERATED BACK UP TO HIGHWAY SPEED THE MISFIRING RETURNED. WE CONTINUED TO LIMP ALONG AT A SLOWER SPEED WITH EMERGENCY FLASHERS OPERATING WHILE WE SEARCHED BY PHONE FOR THE NEAREST GM DEALER. AFTER SEVERAL DIFFERENT ATTEMPTS GM ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE WAS ABLE TO IDENTIFY A DEALER ABOUT 20 MILES AWAY. WE SUCCESSFULLY CONTACTED THEM AND REACHED THEIR LOCATION WHERE THEY WERE ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AS A FAILED #3 CYLINDER COIL. A FIX WAS COMPLETED AND WE WERE ABLE TO RESUME OUR TRIP. I ESTIMATE WE DROVE ABOUT 60 MILES PRETTY MUCH IN THE MIDDLE OF NO WHEE ON 3 CYLINDERS BEFORE BEING ABLE TO FIND HELP. TWO DAYS LATER ON THE RETURN LEG OF THIS SAME TRIP THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALSO FAILED IN A SEVERE RAIN STORM WHILE IN A SEVERAL MILE CONSTRUCTION ZONE WITH NO BERM. ONLY A MIRACLE PREVENTED A MULTIPLE FATALITY MULTIPLE CAR ACCIDENT. THIS WAS A WELL MAINTAINED VEHICLE WITH ONLY 64,000 MILES THAT HAD NEVER PREVIOUSLY HAD ANY SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/6/2016 - POLAND, OH
ON 6-5-2016 WHILE TRAVELING ON THE PA TURNPIKE DURING A RAIN STORM THE VEHICLES WIPERS WERE AT FIRST OPERATING PROPERLY. VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING IN THE RIGHT LANE IN A SEVERAL MILE CONSTRUCTION ZONE WITH NO BERM AND CONCRETE BARRIERS ON BOTH SIDES, RAIN SUDDENLY PICKED UP TO A TORRENTIAL LEVEL. WHEN WIPERS WERE TURNED UP TO MAXIMUM SPEED THE DRIVERS SIDE WIPER IMMEDIATELY WENT BEYOND THE WINDOW ROOF PILLAR AND BOTH WIPERS FROZE IN PLACE. DRIVER FOUND IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OUT THE FRONT WINDOW OR ACCURATELY DETERMINE WHERE HE WAS ON THE ROAD OTHER THAN TO GUESS BY DISTANCE FROM THE LEFT BARRIER. TRAFFIC WAS VERY HEAVY WITH TRAILER TRUCKS PASSING ON LEFT EXTREMELY CLOSE. EMERGENCY FLASHERS WERE ACTIVATED AND SPEED DROPPED TO A CRAWL WITH FEAR OF A CHAIN REACTION ACCIDENT FROM REAR. PASSENGER LEANED OUT RIGHT SIDE WINDOW AND GAVE GUIDANCE TO DRIVER AS TO DISTANCE FROM RIGHT SIDE BARRIER AND DIRECTIONAL ADJUSTMENTS UNTIL VEHICLE FINALLY REACHED AN EMERGENCY PULL OFF AREA. VEHICLE WAS PARKED UNTIL RAIN SUBSIDED TO THE POINT THAT VISIBILITY BECAME GOOD ENOUGH TO SAFELY CONTINUE AT A SLOWER BUT SAFE HIGHWAY SPEED. THIS WILL BE THE LAST GM VEHICLE I WILL EVER OWN . ONLY A MIRACLE PREVENTED THIS FROM BECOMING A MULTIPLE FATALITY MULTIPLE VEHICLE ACCIDENT. THIS WAS A WELL MAINTAINED VEHICLE WITH ONLY 64.000 MILES. ONLY 2 DAYS EARLIER ON THE OUTBOUND LEG OF THIS SAME JOURNEY THE COIL ON THE #3 CYLINDER FAILED ON I80 IN RURAL PA. VEHICLE HAD TO BE NURSED ALONG ON 3 CYLINDERS FOR APPROX. 60 MILES UNTIL A CHEVROLET DEALER COULD BE REACHED WHO THANKFULLY WAS ABLE TO DIAGNOSE AND FIX THE PROBLEM. NEVER PREVIOUSLY HAVE I ENCOUNTERED A ROAD TRIP PROBLEM WITH ANY OTHER VEHICLE I EVER OWNED. WE FEEL EXTREMELY BLESSED TO HAVE SURVIVED THIS TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/1/2016 - APPLETON, WI
I HAVE A 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX AND IN LATE MARCH WHILE DRIVING OUR YOUNG CHILDREN; OUR TRANSMISSION BLEW UP. WHEN I SAY BLEW UP, I MEAN IT LITERALLY EXPLODED AND MY HUSBAND STARTED TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. WE WERE STRANDED AND HAD TO GET IT TOWED. WHEN WE BROUGHT IT INTO THE MECHANIC HE SAID HE WOULD DO WHAT HE COULD TO TRY TO "RE-BUILD" IT AND PERHAPS SAVE US SOME MONEY. ONCE HE OPENED THE HOOD; HE SAID HE COULD NOT BELIEVE HIS EYES AND SAID IT WAS NOT POSSIBLE TO SALVAGE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS TRANSMISSION AND WE PD.$4,000 TO GET THIS PART REPAIRED. HE MENTIONED HE HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT IN 30 YEARS. WHEN I WENT ONLINE I SAW SEVERAL DIFFERENT PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE FOR THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL TRANSMISSION. THEY, AND MYSELF HAVE SENT CONCERNED LETTERS TO GM, HOWEVER; GM WILL NOT HOLD ANY ACCOUNTABILITY FOR THIS ISSUE ALTHOUGH IT HAS HAPPENED TO SO MANY. I WOULD HOPE THE LARGE AMOUNT OF ONLINE REMARKS ARE ENOUGH SAFETY CONCERN TO WORK ON OPENING AN OFFICIAL INVESTIGATION TO GET A RECALL ON THIS. MY TRUCK CAN BE REPLACED; MY CHILDREN CANNOT. I DO NOT BELIEVE GM HAS ACTED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE NATIONAL TRAFFIC AND MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY ACT BY INITIATING A SAFETY RECALL. I FEEL AN OBLIGATION TO REACH OUT TO TRY TO HELP OTHERS WITH THE SAME SITUATION TO TRY TO PREVENT DANGEROUS ACCIDENTS AND SAVE LIVES THAT COULD BE TAKEN AS A RESULT TO THIS FAULTY TRANSMISSION EXPLOSION.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/26/2016 - CHESHIRE, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECAME INOPERABLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

SEATS

4/25/2016 - NIAGARA FALLS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH LUMBAR SEAT SUPPORT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, A LOUD CRACKING NOISE WAS HEARD AND THE FRONT DRIVER LUMBAR SEAT SUPPORT FRACTURED. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DRIVE WITH CAUTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,010.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

4/18/2016 - HARRISBURG, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEATER DID NOT WORK IN THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED.THE VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V489000 (VISIBILITY), BUT THE DEALER DID NOT LOCATE ANY FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds