Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 401 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (94) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (42) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (22)
Engine (113) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (10) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (38)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/13/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION WITH NO SAFETY DEFECT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT AND WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING EVAPORATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION WITH NO SAFETY DEFECT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT AND WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING EVAPORATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/13/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION WITH NO SAFETY DEFECT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT AND WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING EVAPORATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/13/2017 - BROWNSBORO, TX
I GOT A RECAL ABOUT MY AIRBAGS . WHEN I TOOK IT IN THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THE SEATBELT TINSHNER WAS AT FALT AND THAT WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. THE DEALER IS PHELTIER CHEVY IN TYLER TEX.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/13/2017 - BROWNSBORO, TX
I GOT A RECAL ABOUT MY AIRBAGS . WHEN I TOOK IT IN THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THE SEATBELT TINSHNER WAS AT FALT AND THAT WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. THE DEALER IS PHELTIER CHEVY IN TYLER TEX.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/7/2017 - ASHLAND, OH
I BOUGHT A 2010 EQUINOX NEW, AT 49,000 MILES THE TRANSFER CASE WENT OUT OF IT AND NOW 6 MONTHS LATER AT 55,000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT IT WAS THE 3-5 REVERVSE WAVE PLATE WE WERE TOLD THAT SHATTERED. AND SINCE IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY OF COURSE GM WOULD NOT HONOR TO GET THIS PLATE FIXED EVEN THOUGH IT ONLY HAD 55,000 MILES ON IT. WE WERE TOLD THESE PLATES WHEN THEY WERE HARDEN THEY WERE HARDEN TO HARD AND SO THEY SHATTER. THIS IS DEFIANTLY A GM ISSUE AND THEY SHOULD REPAIR THESE AT NO COST BUT THEY WON'T ADMIT THERE IS A PROBLEM. THIS TRANSMISSION JUST HAPPENED ALL AT ONCE I PUT IT IN GEAR AND THERE IT WENT OUT. IF GM IS GOING TO BUILD A THROW AWAY CAR AT 50,000 MILES THEN THEY SHOULD SELL IT AS A THROW AWAY CAR. THEY KNOW THEY HAVE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS BUT THEY KEEP SOCKING THE CONSUMER FOR COSTLY REPAIRS BECAUSE ALL THEY CAN SAY IS IT'S OUT OF WARRANTY. YOU WOULD THINK YOUR CAR WOULD LAST MORE THAN 55,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2017 - ANOKA, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE STATIONARY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START WHEN PROMPTED. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/30/2017 - HIGHLAND, OH
I HAVE TO REPLACE THE WIPER TRANSMISSION FOR THE 3RD TIME SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. I JUST PURCHASED IT AT THE END OF 2012. THE FIRST TIME I WAS DRIVING IN A RAINSTORM, THE SECOND TIME IT WAS THE MIDDLE OF WINTER AND WAS SNOWING, AND NOW TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

1/28/2017 - GREENWOOD, IN
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. EVERY 1,000 MILES OR LESS I NEED TO ADD AT LEAST 1 QUART OF OIL. NO OIL LEAK. HUBLER CHEVROLET IN INDIANAPOLIS HAS INVESTIGATED THE ISSUE. THEY ALSO INDICATED NO LEAK AND THAT THE VEHICLE IS CONSUMING EXCESSIVE OIL. THEY RECOMMEND PISTON AND RING PLACEMENT. I DECLINED SERVICE AT THAT TIME AS THERE IS AN ACTIVE RECALL ON 2010 EQUINOX FOR THIS ISSUE. HOWEVER, MY VIN IS NOT PART OF THIS RECALL. I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE FROM GM AND THEY SUGGESTED I CONTACT NHTSA TO SEE IF MY CAR CAN BE CONSIDERED PART OF THE RECALL SINCE I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND RECOMMENDED REPAIRS AS OTHER 2010 EQUINOX. HUBLER CHEVROLET SERVICE MANAGER RECOMMENDED I CHECK THE OIL 500 MILES TO ENSURE ADEQUATE OIL AND ADD IF NECESSARY. ATTACHED IS THE RECALL PAPERWORK I FOUND FOR THE 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX, WHICH DOES NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE. ALSO ATTACHED IS THE RECEIPT WITH DIAGNOSTIC AND RECOMMENDED REPAIR FROM THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. PLEASE CONSIDER MY REQUEST TO ADD MY VEHICLE AND ANY OTHER 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX WITH THE SAME PROBLEM TO THE ACTIVE RECALL TO FIX THE EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE. WHILE I STAY ON TOP OF CHECKING THE OIL, I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT MY ENGINE WILL LOCK UP WHEN I AM DRIVING. I TRULY FEEL UNSAFE IN MY VEHICLE. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/26/2017 - LANCASTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL. BUMPED A CURB (FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE) AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED (ON A REGULAR ROAD MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN) AND ALL AIRBAGS DEPLOYED EVEN THOUGH THERE WERE NO PASSENGERS. FRONT TIRE WAS RESTING AT CURB (DID NOT GO OVER CURB BECAUSE WAS NOT GOING FAST ENOUGH). ENDED UP WITH A BROKEN NOSE, STITCHES ON FOREHEAD, EYEBROW, TWO AREAS OF NOSE BECAUSE OF CUTS FROM AIRBAGS. ALSO EXTREMELY SWOLLEN HAND WITH FRACTURES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds