Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 440 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (109) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (44) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (22)
Engine (127) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (10) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (48)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2017 - OSTERVILLE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED HESITATION AND JERKING. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LACK OF ENGINE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO A TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER OR MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,143.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2017 - OSTERVILLE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED HESITATION AND JERKING. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LACK OF ENGINE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TOWED TO A TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER OR MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,143.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/5/2017 - VANCOUVER, WA
MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON FOR NO OBVIOUS REASON...I HAVE NO IDEA WHETHER OR NOT IT IS A TAKATA. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS YEAR MAKE AND MODEL...APPARENTLY THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM? THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL BECAUSE THE MANUFACTURER NEEDS TO PAY FOR THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/5/2017 - HAYMARKET, VA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. GM HAS ISSUED SERVICE BULLETINS AND EXTENDED THE COVERAGE OUT TO 120,000 MILES, DEALER KEEPS REQUIRING OIL CONSUMPTION TESTS AND VALIDATED IT WAS OUTSIDE OF SPECIFICATIONS AND STILL NOT FIXING ISSUE CLAIMING "GM" IS THE ONE REQUIRING THE TESTING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2017 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
BROUGHT MY SUV IN DELERSHIP FOR RECALLS FROM 12/5/2016. IT'S BEEN IN FOR MUTIPLABLE RECALLS PLUS OIL CONSUMPTION RECALL NOW RECEIVED MY CAR BACK HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS NOW SERVICE DEPARTMENT TELLING ME MY TRANSMISSION WAVE PLATE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAD RETURNED MY CAR SAYING EVERYTHING WAS FINE TO DRIVE LET ME LEAVE IN IT KNOWING THEY KNEW THIS WOULD HAPPEN. VERY UPSET PLUS AM OUT AROUND $800 DOLLARS THOUGHT THESE RECALLS WERE COVERED NOPE HAD TO COME OUT OF MY POCKET. NOW THEY WANT $4374.69!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/4/2017 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
BROUGHT MY SUV IN DELERSHIP FOR RECALLS FROM 12/5/2016. IT'S BEEN IN FOR MUTIPLABLE RECALLS PLUS OIL CONSUMPTION RECALL NOW RECEIVED MY CAR BACK HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS NOW SERVICE DEPARTMENT TELLING ME MY TRANSMISSION WAVE PLATE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAD RETURNED MY CAR SAYING EVERYTHING WAS FINE TO DRIVE LET ME LEAVE IN IT KNOWING THEY KNEW THIS WOULD HAPPEN. VERY UPSET PLUS AM OUT AROUND $800 DOLLARS THOUGHT THESE RECALLS WERE COVERED NOPE HAD TO COME OUT OF MY POCKET. NOW THEY WANT $4374.69!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

STEERING

7/4/2017 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
BROUGHT MY SUV IN DELERSHIP FOR RECALLS FROM 12/5/2016. IT'S BEEN IN FOR MUTIPLABLE RECALLS PLUS OIL CONSUMPTION RECALL NOW RECEIVED MY CAR BACK HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS NOW SERVICE DEPARTMENT TELLING ME MY TRANSMISSION WAVE PLATE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAD RETURNED MY CAR SAYING EVERYTHING WAS FINE TO DRIVE LET ME LEAVE IN IT KNOWING THEY KNEW THIS WOULD HAPPEN. VERY UPSET PLUS AM OUT AROUND $800 DOLLARS THOUGHT THESE RECALLS WERE COVERED NOPE HAD TO COME OUT OF MY POCKET. NOW THEY WANT $4374.69!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2017 - HOLLY, MI
CAME OUT OF THE GROCERY STORE ABOUT 9PM ON 6-28-17, AND THE CAR WON'T START. HAD IT TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO EVALUATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN ON THE ECOTEC ENGINE HAS BASICALLY MISALIIGNED AND SHREDDED PARTS IN IT'S PATH, DESTROYING THE ENGINE. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND SEE MANY COMPLAINTS OF THIS HAPPENING AND THIS VIDEO LINK: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=AEEUYUNUHGS I CHATTED ONLINE WITH CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE WHO SAYS THAT THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING SINCE I HAD NOT BOUGHT THE CAR "CERTIFIED" AT A GM DEALERSHIP. THE ESTIMATE FOR THESE REPAIRS IS VALUED AT MORE THAN HALF OF WHAT THE CAR IS FINANCED FOR. I'M FEELING LIKE I HAVE A GIANT PIECE OF JUNK ON MY HANDS. LUCKILY IT DIDN'T SEIZE UP WHILE DRIVING. SO FAR MY OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE INCLUES $93.00 FOR THE DIAGNOSIS AND AN ADDITIONAL $44.00 TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALER'S MECHANIC FOR THEM TO DO AN EVALUATION 7-5-17. PROBABLY LOOKING AT $5,000 TO $7,000 OF DOLLARS TO REPAIR AND GET BACK ON THE ROAD. CERTAINLY CAN'T AFFORD THAT. IT PRACTICALLY ADDS UP TO BE THE PRICE OF BUYING A NEW ONE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/24/2017 - MUSKEGON, MI
BUSHINGS FOR WIPER ASSEMBLY WENT BAD. THEY WENT OUT WHEN DRIVING ON A RURAL ROAD. SEEMS LIKE A PART LIKE THAT WOULD LAST LONGER THAN 7 YEARS. NOW I'M FINDING THAT YOU CAN'T BUY THE BUSHINGS. ONLY BUY THE WHOLE ASSEMBLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2017 - LISLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. AFTER APPROXIMATELY TWO SECONDS, THE TRANSMISSION ENGAGED AND THE VEHICLE SLAMMED INTO GEAR. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE OFF OF THE ROADWAY SAFELY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT VEHICLE WAS CYCLED OFF AND BACK ON AND IT OPERATED NORMALLY MOMENTARILY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. ALSO, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO TRAVERSE A HILL, THE TRANSMISSION BECAME INOPERABLE AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO ROLL BACKWARDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BILL KAY CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 601 OGDEN AVE, LISLE, IL 60532; TEL: 603-968-2900) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY STILL BEING DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds