Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 340 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (69) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Engine (94) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (9) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2016 - GREEN BAY, WI
GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE STARTED TO REV, WOULD NOT GO OVER 30 MILES PER HOUR, NO REVERSE, ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. ALMOST INVOLVED IN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2016 - CHARLESTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE GEAR SHIFTER BEGAN TO SLIP. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CONSUMED A LARGE AMOUNT OF OIL. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, THEY COULD NOT ASSIST WITH REIMBURSEMENT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 62,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/21/2016 - INDEPENDENCE, KY
ON 8/20/2016 I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY INTERSTATE IN POURING RAIN WITH MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON HIGH WHEN THE WIPERS WENT LEFT AND STOPPED. THIS LEFT ME IN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I PULLED ONTO THE SHOULDER TO WAIT FOR THE RAIN TO LET UP SO I COULD RE-POSITION THE WIPERS. I TRIED TO USE THEM AGAIN BUT THEY STILL DID NOT WORK. I PULLED BACK ON TO THE INTERSTATE, PARKED UNDER AN OVERPASS, AND CALLED FOR SOMEONE TO BRING A REPLACEMENT FUSE. THIS DID NOT WORK EITHER. BASED ON RESEARCH INTO THIS ISSUE, IT APPEARS THE WIPER TRANSMISSION FAILED. FROM THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND, THIS SEEMS TO BE A WELL KNOWN ISSUE. WITHOUT A DOUBT, IT IS A CRITICAL SAFETY ISSUE! THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE TURNED INTO A RECALL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2016 - MASHPEE, MA
2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS, ENGINE REPLACEMENT AND TRANSMISSION FAILURE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SHE WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT ONTO THE NEXT ROAD AND TRIED SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL THEN BACK TO DRIVE AGAIN. THE VEHICLE REVVED WHEN SHE STEPPED ON THE ACCELERATOR. SHE PULLED OVER INTO A PARKING LOT, SHUT THE ENGINE OFF, AND RE-STARTED IT AGAIN. THE CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TWO MILES TO HER HOME, NEVER GETTING OUT OF FIRST GEAR, WHILE THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV. UPON RETURNING HOME, THE CONSUMER ATTEMPTED TO MOVE THE VEHICLE ONTO THE STREET, OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, BUT SOON DISCOVERED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE. HOWEVER, THE ENGINE REVVED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST WHERE THE CONSUMER WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $ 3,465.90 TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2016 - BYRON CENTER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE HESITATED BEFORE MOVING FORWARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE FINALLY FAILED TO ACCELERATE COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE COMPUTER FOR THE TRANSMISSION HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
I RECEIVED A CHEVROLET 2010 EQUINOX FROM BOB'S SAYS YES SUPER STORE IN COLUMBUS,OHIO IN 2016.TWO WEEKS LATER WE HAD ENGINE PROBLEMS.WE INFORMED THEM AND GOT A DIAGNOSTIC AND BOB SAYS YES INFORMED ME THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG.A FEW WEEKS(APPROXIMATELY 4 WEEKS) GO BY AND WE TAKE IT BACK AND BOBS TELLS US THAT WE HAD TO PAY FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST.SO WE HAD THE STATE OF OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL OFFICE INVOLVED.BOB SAYS YES AGREES TO A FREE DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND WHEN THEY FINALLY AGREED TO LOOK INTO THE PROBLEM THEY AGREED TO PAY THE $1000.00 OF THE $1600.00 OF WHICH $600.00 WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY.LATER DURING THE WEEK I CALL BOB SAYS YES TO GET A UPDATE ON THE REPAIRS AND THEY INFORM ME THAT THEY ARE GOING TO REPLACE THE ENGINE AND THE WORK COST MORE BUT THEY ARE NOT GOING TO CHARGE US MORE.APPARENTLY IF THEY ARE COVERING A RECALL THEN UNDER THE FACT IT IS A RECALL I SHOULD NOT BE PAYING ANYTHING SO I WILL BE CONTACTING THE OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL ON THIS UPDATED INFORMATION.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/30/2016 - UNIONTOWN, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN HARD RAINSTORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECAME INOPERABLE. THIS CAUSED A NEAR COMPLETE LOSS OF FORWARD VISION. WAS ABLE TO GUIDE VEHICLE TO SIDE OF THE ROAD. RAIN WAS SUCH THAT ONLY GUIDANCE BY WHITE/YELLOW STRIPES WAS POSSIBLE; ANY OBJECT FORWARD OF CAR COULD NOT BE SEEN THROUGH RAIN ON WINDSHIELD. WIPERS WERE MOVABLE BY HAND, AND MOTOR WAS AUDIBLY OPERATIONAL; A LINKAGE INTERNAL TO THE CAR HAD FAILED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/28/2016 - VENICE, FL
I HAD EXITED I75 AND WAS DRIVING ON A 35MPH COUNTY ROAD WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED. I WAS DRIVING AT A SLOW SPEED IN ANTICIPATION OF STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT AT A MAJOR INTERSECTION. STEPPED ON THE BRAKES ON MY 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX AND THE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY DOWN, BUT CAR WAS STILL ROLLING. NO WARNING SIGN FROM THE COMPUTER IN THE CAR. I'M SURE THERE ARE OTHERS OUT THERE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. MAJOR DRIVER/ROAD SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/26/2016 - ALLISON PARK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE DID NOT ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH FRACTURED WAVE PLATE THAT NEEDED TO PLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64.300.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2016 - BALDWIN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EXHAUST FUMES ENTERED THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE AIR CONDITIONER VENTS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds