Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 427 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (105) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (44) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (22)
Engine (123) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (10) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (43)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2017 - VENICE, FL
I STARTED TO DRIVE TO A MEETING DURING EVENING RUSH HOUR AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDAL. HEARD THE ENGINE REV, BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALER IN MANUAL MODE AT A SLOW SPEED. THE DEALER SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE, WHICH IS INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION, TO FIND OUT IF THERE IS MECHANICAL FAILURE. AFTER REPLACING THE CONTROL MODULE, THEY SAID THAT THE CAR STILL WOULD NOT MOVE, AND THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO TAKE THE TRANSMISSION APART. COST TO REPLACE THREE PISTONS AND FORWARD CLUTCH FRICTION PLATES WOULD BE $3844 PLUS TAX. THE CAR IS A 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX LT AWD WITH 89000 PLUS MILES. REGULAR DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AND CITY ROADS IN FLORIDA. I CALLED CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY DECLINED TO OFFER ANY COMPENSATION FOR THE TRANSMISSION STATING MY CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I HAVE FOUND SEVERAL ONLINE FORUMS WITH A LOT OF DISSATISFIED CONSUMERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH TRANSMISSION FAILURE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND A KNOWN PROBLEM FOR MANY YEARS THAT HAS BEEN NEGLECTED BY CHEVY. IN MY OPINION THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE EXPERIENCED BY SO MANY CONSUMERS SHOULD WARRANT AN INVESTIGATION/RECALL BY NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRANSPORTATION SAFETY AUTHORITY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - METTER, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 58 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE POWER AS WELL AS MAKING A GRINDING AND BANGING NOISE INSIDE THE MOTOR. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHEN THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY LOST POWER. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE GUARDS AROUND THE TIMING CHAIN DETACHED CAUSING THE MOTOR FAIL AND THE CADILLAC CONVERTERS TO MELT. THE ENTIRE MOTOR WAS REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FIVE DAYS AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,742.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/5/2017 - WESTLAND, MI
THE TRANSMISSION LINKAGE FAILED WHILE DRIVING IN RAIN ON THE FREEWAY FORCING THE DRIVER TO LOSE VISIBILITY IMMEDIATELY AND MAKE AN EMERGENCY STOP ON THE SHOULDER. MY UNDERSTAND IS THAT THERE'S A TSB FOR THE PROBLEM BUT IT'S NOT CLASSIFIED AS A RECALL DUE TO NOT BEING A SAFETY ISSUE(???).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/3/2017 - ATHENS, AL
JUST DRIVING HOME FROM HUNTSVILLE, AL AIRPORT TOOK OFF FROM STOP SIGN ON A MAIN ARTERY STREET IN THE CITY AND MY RPM GAUGE JUST CLIMBED LIKE CRAZY AND I WAS NOT MOVING VERY FAST SO I PULLED OFF MAIN ROAD. I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND TRIED TAKING OFF AGAIN IT SEEMED LIKE IT WAS GOING TO BE O.K. SO I PULLED BACKED ONTO ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC CLEARED AND TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN SO KNOW AT THIS POINT THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING PRETTY BAD WITHOUT ANY WARNING I LIMPED IT HOME AND CALLED DEALER HE THEY TOLD ME TO BRING IT IN AND THEY WOULD CHECK AND ADDVISE FOR $95.00 THEY SAID IT WASNT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY I HAD 85000 MILES ON IT. THEY DIAGNOSED THE TRANS HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $4700.00 I COULD NOT AFFORD THAT SO I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A LOCAL TRANS SHOP FOR REPAIRS. ENDS UP ITS A 6SPEED AUTOMATIC TRANS AND THE REPAIR SHOP HAD TO REPLACE THE 1/3/5 DRUM SOME KIND OF PLATE BROKE INSIDE THE HOUSING THE OWNER OF THE TRAN SHOP SAID IT A REAL PROBLEM GM HAD 2008/09/10 THEY HAVE AN UPDATED DRUM AND SNAP RING FOR REPAIRES. I FEEL LIKE CHEVROLET SHOULD BE RESPONSABLE AT LEAST FOR SOME OF REPAIR COST. THATS MY STORY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/25/2017 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE IDLING AT A RED LIGHT, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE RPMS INCREASED TO 5,000. THE VEHICLE BARELY MOVED AND WOULD NOT ENGAGE IN GEAR. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MOVED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, ENGAGED IN NEUTRAL, WAITED APPROXIMATELY FIVE MINUTES, AND THEN ENGAGED IN DRIVE. THE VEHICLE RETURNED TO NORMAL EXCEPT IT DID NOT GO INTO THIRD GEAR OR REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2017 - HIGH POINT, NC
CAR LOOSES POWER WHILE DRIVING

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2017 - HIGH POINT, NC
CAR LOOSES POWER WHILE DRIVING

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/24/2017 - MIDDLETOWN, MD
WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR/LINKAGE ASSEMBLY BECAME DISENGAGED AFTER JUST UNDER TWO MINUTES OF USAGE ON HIGH WHILE DRIVING IN A TORRENTIAL DOWNPOUR. MECHANIC HAD TROUBLE FINDING A REPLACEMENT BECAUSE "ALL OF THE REPLACEMENTS WERE 'RESERVED' FOR DEALERSHIPS.. WHICH HE TOOK TO MEAN, THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2017 - FAIRFIELD, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON CITY STREETS, MY GAS PEDAL BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. UNABLE TO KEEP MY SPEED, I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE A STOPLIGHT AND HAD TO STOP. WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKES, THE RPM FOR MY VEHICLE WERE STEADILY AT 6-7000. AS THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, I PUT MY FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, RECEIVED A JOLT AS IF THE CAR WAS ACCELERATING, BUT WAS SLOWLY MAKING MY WAY UP TO 20 MPH. AS THE TIME TOOK NEAR 30 SECONDS TO MAKE THE CLIMB ON A FLAT ROAD TO 20 MPH, I DECIDED FOR MY SAFETY TO HIT MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS. AROUND THAT TIME, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I PULLED TO A SIDE STREET AND HIT 'ONSTAR'. THEY WERE ABLE TO GIVE ME TWO CODES THAT APPEARED. P0776 AND P0700. WHILE TALKING TO ONSTAR, MY CAR WAS IN PARK AND AGAIN THE ENGINE WAS PUSHING 7000 RPMS. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAKE IT TO MY HOUSE AS THE CAR WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAINTAIN IT'S SPEED. THE NEXT MORNING I WAS CURIOUS IF I WAS ABLE GET THE CAR OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY OR IF IT COULD MOVE IN A FORWARD MOTION. I WAS FORCED TO PUSH MY CAR OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AS I COULD NOT GO IN REVERSE AT ALL AND AGAIN I NOTICED THAT THE CAR COULD BARELY MOVE FORWARD. AFTER HAVING MY CAR RETURNED FROM SPECIALIST IN TRANSMISSIONS, THEY GAVE ME PICTURES OF WHAT THEY FOUND. WHICH I INCLUDED FIVE WITH THE COMPLAINT. THE ISSUE AFTER TALKING TO THE DEALERSHIP IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND BY READING THOSE TWO CODES WERE ABLE TO INSTRUCT ME THE PARTS THAT BROKE INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION WITHOUT OPENING IT UP OR CHECKING THE TRANSMISSION FLUID.

View Details

ENGINE

4/20/2017 - FAIRFIELD, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON CITY STREETS, MY GAS PEDAL BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. UNABLE TO KEEP MY SPEED, I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE A STOPLIGHT AND HAD TO STOP. WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKES, THE RPM FOR MY VEHICLE WERE STEADILY AT 6-7000. AS THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, I PUT MY FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, RECEIVED A JOLT AS IF THE CAR WAS ACCELERATING, BUT WAS SLOWLY MAKING MY WAY UP TO 20 MPH. AS THE TIME TOOK NEAR 30 SECONDS TO MAKE THE CLIMB ON A FLAT ROAD TO 20 MPH, I DECIDED FOR MY SAFETY TO HIT MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS. AROUND THAT TIME, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I PULLED TO A SIDE STREET AND HIT 'ONSTAR'. THEY WERE ABLE TO GIVE ME TWO CODES THAT APPEARED. P0776 AND P0700. WHILE TALKING TO ONSTAR, MY CAR WAS IN PARK AND AGAIN THE ENGINE WAS PUSHING 7000 RPMS. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAKE IT TO MY HOUSE AS THE CAR WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAINTAIN IT'S SPEED. THE NEXT MORNING I WAS CURIOUS IF I WAS ABLE GET THE CAR OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY OR IF IT COULD MOVE IN A FORWARD MOTION. I WAS FORCED TO PUSH MY CAR OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AS I COULD NOT GO IN REVERSE AT ALL AND AGAIN I NOTICED THAT THE CAR COULD BARELY MOVE FORWARD. AFTER HAVING MY CAR RETURNED FROM SPECIALIST IN TRANSMISSIONS, THEY GAVE ME PICTURES OF WHAT THEY FOUND. WHICH I INCLUDED FIVE WITH THE COMPLAINT. THE ISSUE AFTER TALKING TO THE DEALERSHIP IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND BY READING THOSE TWO CODES WERE ABLE TO INSTRUCT ME THE PARTS THAT BROKE INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION WITHOUT OPENING IT UP OR CHECKING THE TRANSMISSION FLUID.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds