Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 351 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (76) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (21)
Engine (96) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (10) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (28)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2016 - NORRISTOWN, PA
WHILE RAMPING ON TO A BUSY HIGHWAY IN MY 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX (67,000 MILES) ACCELERATING TOWARD 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STARTED DECELERATING AND RPMS CLIMBED. THIS RESULTED IN ME BEING NEARLY REAR-ENDED AND I HAD TO QUICKLY GUIDE THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. THE ENGINE WOULD ONLY REV IN GEAR AND NOT MOVE FORWARD. I SHIFTED THE VEHICLE TO PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. UPON RESTARTING THE VEHICLE IT SEEMED AS IF IT HAD FUNCTION BACK. I PROCEEDED A FEW MILES FURTHER TO A PARKING LOT. AT THIS POINT, THE TRANSMISSION WAS NOT FUNCTIONING WELL ENOUGH TO GO FURTHER. THIS IS WHEN WE CALLED A TOWING SERVICE, AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP. ULTIMATELY, WE WERE TOLD THAT A PLATE HAD GONE OUT IN THE TRANSMISSION AND THAT THIS HAD ALSO DESTROYED SEVERAL OTHER COMPONENTS IN THE TRANSMISSION. THE QUOTE FOR THESE REPAIRS WAS $4600.00. THIS HAPPENED AROUND 67,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND AFTER REPORTING TO THE DEALERSHIP NUMEROUS TIMES EARLY IN OWNERSHIP AND OVER MULTIPLE VISITS THAT THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING AN ODD SOUND COMING FROM THE TRANSMISSION ON SHIFTS. WE REPORTED THESE ISSUES WAY BEFORE THE 100,000 MILES/5 YEAR WARRANTY EXPIRED. INSTEAD OF FINDING ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE TRANSMISSION, THE DEALERSHIP TOLD US THAT IT COULD BE AN ENGINE PROBLEM AND TOLD US TO START COMING IN EVERY 1000 MILES FOR AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. I FEEL THAT THIS WAS A DELAY TACTIC TO MAKE SURE THAT CHEVROLET WOULD NOT HAVE TO COVER WARRANTY REPAIR OF THE TRANSMISSION. I FEEL THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND THAT IT IS A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE, CONSIDERING THAT PRIOR MODELS OF THE CHEVROLET EQUINOX HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH TRANSMISSION PLATES AND THE CHANCE FOR A DEADLY ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THE LOSS OF MOMENTUM IN TRAFFIC WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2016 - GARLAND, TX
I HAVE 72615 MILES ON MY CAR. I JUST HAD TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED. THE TRANSMISSION MECHANIC AT AAMCO SAID IT WAS BECAUSE OF WAVE PLATE FAILURE. MY CAR HAS A 6T45E TRANSMISSION. THE COST TO HAVE THIS REPLACED WAS $3,414.43 AND IN HIS PROFESSIONAL OPINION THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED AT THIS LOW MILEAGE. THIS FAILURE HAPPENED ALL OF A SUDDEN. I HAD NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS UNTIL THE DAY IT WENT OUT COMPLETELY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/14/2016 - SAN DIMAS, CA
WHILE DRIVING IN A RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD, THE CAR BEGAN TO MAINTAIN AN RPM LEVEL OF 5,000 AND WOULD NOT GO ABOVE 25 MPH. GOT THE CAR HOME AND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THE CAR WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A FAILED 3 5 WAVE PLATE. WHEN TEST DRIVING THE VEHICLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM, THE DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED COMPLETELY. THE WAVE PLATE HAD BEGUN TO DETERIORATE AND METAL PARTICLES WERE FLOATING IN THE TRANSMISSION FLUID. THE CAR HAD JUST UNDER 40,000 MILES ON IT BUT IT IS 6 YEARS OLD SO IT IS OUT OF THE WARRANTY. CHEVY OFFERED MINIMAL PRICE ASSISTANCE. THIS ISSUE WITH THE 3 5 WAVE PLATE WAS A KNOWN ISSUE ON 2008 AND 2009 MODELS AND AN EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS ISSUED BY CHEVY. THE PROBLEM WAS SUPPOSED TO BE RESOLVED FOR 2010 MODELS, BUT HERE WE ARE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/13/2016 - SARASOTA, FL
BRAKE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I WENT DIRECTLY TO CHEVY DEALER. THEY FOUND THAT THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR WAS EMPTY AS THE RUBBER SEAL INTO THE BREAK MASTER CYLINDER HAD FAILED. THE DEALER HAD TO REPLACE THE MASTER CYLINDER AND THE BOOSTER AND FLUSH THE BRAKE SYSTEM AT A COST OF $1,210.92. I DISCOVERED THAT THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM HAD LEAD TO RECALLS IN 2010 OF TOYOTA AVALONS AND HIGHLANDERS. ALSO NISSAN IN 2009 RECALLED SENTRAS FOR SAME REASON. MY CHEVY SERVICE MANAGER CONFIRMED THAT MY BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE WAS THE SAME CAUSE. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET HEADQUARTERS AND THEY REFUSE TO DISCUSS THE MATTER WITH ME AND REFUSE TO GIVE ME ANY INFORMATION ON THEIR EXPERIENCE OF THIS BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE.CAN YOU HELP ME?WHY IS THERE NO GM RECALL ?

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/8/2016 - MENOMONEE FALLS, WI
TAKATA RECALL. I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN POURING RAIN AND THE I TURNED THE WIPERS TO GO FASTER AS THE RAIN CAME DOWN HARDER WHILE DRIVING AT LEAST 40MPH ON THE FREEWAY. AT THIS TIME I HAD TO HURRY AND TRY TO GET TO A SAFE SPOT WHICH WAS HARD TO GET TO AS THE VISIBILITY WAS VERY HARD TO SEE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - LAFAYETTE, IN
I'VE HAD AN EXHAUST PROBLEM FOR THE FOURTH TIME!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/7/2016 - GARDNER, MA
WAVE PLATE THE WAVE PLATE BLEW UP IN OUR TRANSMISSION LEAVING US WITH A $5000 BILL ON A VEHICLE WITH ONLY 76000 MILES. THE WAVE PLATE ON 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX'S HAS BEEN RECALLED BY SPECIFIC VIN NUMBERS BY GM BUT FOR WHATEVER REASON MY VIN IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. IT SHOULD BE AND I SHOULDNT BE PAYING A 5000$ BILL. OUR VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD AND 4 YEAR OLD IN THE CAR. MY HUSBAND AND A KIND GENTLEMAN HAD TO PUSH THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE ROADWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/7/2016 - GARDNER, MA
WAVE PLATE THE WAVE PLATE BLEW UP IN OUR TRANSMISSION LEAVING US WITH A $5000 BILL ON A VEHICLE WITH ONLY 76000 MILES. THE WAVE PLATE ON 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX'S HAS BEEN RECALLED BY SPECIFIC VIN NUMBERS BY GM BUT FOR WHATEVER REASON MY VIN IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. IT SHOULD BE AND I SHOULDNT BE PAYING A 5000$ BILL. OUR VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD AND 4 YEAR OLD IN THE CAR. MY HUSBAND AND A KIND GENTLEMAN HAD TO PUSH THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE ROADWAY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/1/2016 - MOUNT CLEMENS, MI
THE WINDSHIELD WIPER TRANSMISSION FAILED CAUSING BOTH WIPERS TO STOP WHILE DRIVING DURING A RAINSTORM, NEARLY CAUSING A CRASH. THIS IS THE SAME PART BEING RECALLED ON 2013 MODELS, AND THE DEALER WOULD ASSUME NO RESPONSIBILITY

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2016 - GARDNER, MA
WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN DEC 2014 AT 42,000 MILES AS A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED $15000 CASH. THE VEHICLE STARTED EXPERIENCING ENGINE TROUBLE IN JULY 2016 IT WE WERE IN THE PROCESS OF OF DIAGNOSTICS FOR EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION AND ENGINE REPAIR. AFTER THE CARE BROKE DOWN ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY WITH MY CHILDREN IN THE BACKSEAT. AUG 2016 THE CAR STALLS AGAIN ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY CHILDREN IN IT. THE TRANSMISSION HAS FAILED. WE HAVENT EVEN OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR 2 YEARS. IT ONLY HAS 76,000 MILES ON IT. BUT GM SAYS ITS PAST THE 5 YEAR WARRANTY MARK BY 8 MONTHS SO THEY WONT HELP. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON HAVING THESE ISSUES WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL. THERE ARE STORIES ALL OVER THE INTERNET WHERE PEOPLE HAVE STALLED ON HIGHWAYS FROM THIS ISSUE! IT NEEDS TO GE RECALLED. THIS IS A DEATH TRAP. WE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OW WORSE. UNFORTUNATELY THATS WHAT IT TAKES NOW A DAYS FOR A COMPANY TO CARE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds