Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 299 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (56) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (4) Suspension (5) Visibility (17)
Engine (84) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/4/2016 - DOWNEY, CA
ENGINE SPUTTERS AND IS VERY NOISY WHEN AT IDLE. ALSO, IT CONSUMES OIL AT AN ALARMING RATE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/3/2016 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
AT 45,000 MILES THE VEHICLE SUFFERED FROM EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AND THE ENGINE BECAME VERY LOUD. THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY WITH A NEW ONE. NOW AT 100,000 MILES IT HAS THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. OUR WARRANTY JUST RAN OUT SO THEY SAID WE ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGES. THE VEHICLE WAS MAINTAINED VERY WELL, I HAVE READ MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AND GM THEMSELVES TOLD US THEY KNEW ABOUT IT WHEN THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED THE FIRST TIME. THEY EXTENDED SPECIAL COVERAGE FOR EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION ON MANY OF THE EQUINOXES TO 10 YRS/100K MI, BUT NEGLECTED TO INCLUDE OUR VEHICLE. GM REFUSES TO CHECK OUR ENGINE SERIAL NUMBER SEPARATE FROM OUR VIN TO VERIFY THAT IT IS ONE OF THE DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS. GM NEEDS TO KNOW THAT THE PROBLEM EXTENDS FARTHER THAN THEY THOUGHT, WHICH IS EASILY SEEN BY SEARCHING ONLINE AND LOOKING AT CASES LIKE OURS. GM NEGLECTED TO PROPERLY FIX OUR ISSUE THE FIRST TIME AND THIS IS POTENTIALLY A MAJOR HAZARD FOR MANY PEOPLE, THEY NEED TO ACTUALLY EXTEND COVERAGE ON ALL VEHICLES AFFECTED. THE ENGINE BURNED 60% OF THE OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES, IT CLATTERS AND SOON WILL STOP WORKING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/29/2016 - HILLSBOROUGH, NH
I PURCHASED THE CAR IN SEPT. 2014. IT WAS USED. WHEN I TOOK IT FOR IT'S FIRST OIL CHANGE I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS COMPLETELY EMPTY OF OIL. I CHECKED IT AGAIN MYSELF AWHILE LATER AND IT WAS DRY AGAIN. I CONTINUED TO CHECK IT AND IT LOSES OIL FAST. IT'S NOT LEAKING AND IT'S DOESN'T SEEM TO BE BURNING IT UP. WHEN I GOOGLE OIL LOSS EQUINOX 2010 I FOULD NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS BY OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY ARE SAYING THE ONLY SOLUTION IS A NEW ENGINE. I HAVE FINALLY CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY ARE TELLING ME THEY MAY NOT COVER IT UNDER THE WARRANTY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/23/2016 - WAIANAE, HI
35R WAVE TORQUE CONVERTOR/TRANSMISSION - DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY ALL OF A SUDDEN GAS PEDAL WOULD NOT ACCELERATE NO SPEED, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I ALMOST GOT HIT BY A CAR AND HAD TO SHIFT MY CAR INTO NEUTRAL AND GLIDE IT TO THE SHOULDER LANE. GM HAS KNOWN ABOUT THE ISSUE FOR QUITE A WHILE WITH THE WAVE PLAT TORQUE CONVERTOR AND TRANSMISSION AND HAS NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE RECALL. MY CAR HAS VERY PRISTINE AND REGULAR MAINTENANCE WITH ONLY 70,000 MILES ON IT. I AM ACTIVE DUTY AND I DO NOT WANT OTHER LIVES TO BE IN DANGER. THERE ARE MANY POSTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE DUPLICATING MY ISSUE EXACTLY THE SAME AND GM HAS NOT TAKEN RESPONSIBILITY. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL. I WAS TOLD I NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/15/2016 - WOODSTOCK, GA
I WAS PARKED AT LOCAL EATERY, ENGINE OFF. CAME OUT, STARTED CAR, PUT IN REVERSE AND PROCEEDED OUT OF PARKING SPOT. REVERSE WORKED FINE. PUT CAR IN DRIVE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. IT WAS LIKE THE CAR WAS IN NEUTRAL AND NOT DRIVE. THE ENGINE REVVED BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO NO AVAIL. HAD IT TOWED TO CHEVROLET DEALER. I HAD NO INDICATION OF ANY TROUBLE, NO LEAKS, NO STRANGE NOISES, JUST THE QUIET REVVING OF THE ENGINE WHEN GIVEN THE GAS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/14/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
ON THE WAY TO WORK IN MY 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, ON A FRIDAY MORNING, PULLING OUT TO THE HIGHWAY MY CAR DID NOT WANT TO SHIFT AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THEN IT WOULD NOT GO INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE. AFTER IT WAS TURNED OFF AND SAT FOR A WILE IT WENT INTO GEAR. I THEN WENT BY A LOCAL AUTO STORE AND THEY READ THE CODE AS P0717 AND P0700 THAT HAD TO DO WITH THE TRANSMISSION. I WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INFO. GOT BACK TO WORK AND CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THEY COULD NOT SEE ME UNTIL LATE MONDAY OR TUESDAY. SO ALL WEEKEND I DROVE IT, LIGHT WAS NO LONGER ON, THOUGHT EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. FORWARD MONDAY AFTERWORK, AT STOP SIGN AND STARTED TO PULL OUT AND THE CAR WOULD NOT GO INTO GEAR. NO REVERSE EITHER, COASTED DOWN THE HILL TO SIDE STREET AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND AFTER SETTING A FEW MINUTES IT WENT INTO GEAR, BUT ONLY LASTED A SHORT WHILE AND WAS STRANDED AGAIN. HAD TO CALL FOR A TOW AND USED TRANCO TRANSMISSION. THEY CALLED AND SAID THE WAVE PLATE HAD BROKE WHICH HAD CAUSED MORE DAMAGE AND WOULD COST $3400. THE REPAIRMAN SAID THIS HAS HAPPENED IN A LOT OF THESE MOTORS, SO I CALLED GM AND THEY SAID THAT AT THIS TIME THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS. BUT IF THEY DO I CAN SUBMIT MY RECEIPT. I'M HOPING THAT IF ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAIN THAT THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF THIS PROBLEM. IT COULD HAVE BEEN A BAD SITUATION, BECAUSE I HAD MY GRANDSON IN THE CAR AND WE COULD HAVE GOTTEN HIT TRYING TO PULL OUT AT THE STOP SIGN AND NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY BECAUSE THE CAR WOULDN'T CHANGE GEARS. JUST GOOGLE WAVE PLATE IN A 2010 EQUINOX AND SEE HOW MANY COMPLAINTS YOU SEE. WHEN I PAY MY BILL, I WILL UPLOAD THE RECIEPT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/11/2016 - COLCORD, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEFROST SYSTEM FAILED TO OPERATE WHEN ACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V489000 (VISIBILITY). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/8/2016 - FISHERS, IN
ON DECEMBER 27, 2015, WE WERE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY 465 IN INDIANAPOLIS; WE WERE ON THE LEFT LANE, APPROX. 65 MILES PER HOUR WHEN WE HEARD A HUGE EXPLOSION. MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING AND WAS ABLE TO CONTROL DE CAR AND DRIVE TO THE RIGHT WHERE WE WERE ABLE TO STOP THE CAR. THE SMELL OF BURNING WAS PRETTY INTENSE, WE WERE NERVOUS AND SHOOK UP FOR WHAT HAD HAPPENED SO MY HUSBAND STEPS OUTSIDE TO VIEW THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE DOESN'T HAVE A SCRATCH NOTHING SHOWING THAT WE HIT SOMETHING, HE LOOKED AT THE ROAD AND EVERYTHING WAS CLEAR. WE CALL OUR INSURANCE FOR A TOWING TRUCK AND THEY TOLD US TO CALL 911 FOR A FASTER SERVICE. WHEN I CALL 911 THEY TOLD ME THE POLICE WAS NOT ABLE TO GET INVOLVED BECAUSE IT WAS NOT AN ACCIDENT. AFTER 1 HOUR WAITING FOR TOWING TRUCK, MY HUSBAND DECIDES TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON, AND IT DID. NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE ENGINE, TIERS, NOTHING. WE PULL THE SIDE AIRBAGS UP AND HOLD THEM WITH THE CAR WINDOWS AND DROVE TO THE DEALERSHIP. GM IS TELLING US THEY CAN'T FIND WHY DE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, BUT THEY TOLD ALLSTATE THAT WE MUST OFF HIT SOMETHING CLOSE TO THE FRONT DRIVER WHEEL, AND WE HAVE ALREADY RESEARCH ALL THE ISSUES, AND IT'S TELLING US THAT THE AIRBAGS CAN'T BE DEPLOYED FOR THAT REASON. WE WERE VERY LUCKY WITH SOME BRUISES IN OUR ARMS AND NECK, BUT WE WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS HAS TO DO WITH ANY RECALLS OR SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2016 - ROYSE CITY, TX
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, WHEN THE CAR WAS STATIONARY, IT WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND RELEASING EMERGENCY BRAKE. I WOULD JUST HEAR THIS CLICKING NOISE NEAR THE KEY IGNITION WHEN I TRIED TO MOVE IT OUT OF PARK. I'VE HAD THE CAR IN AND OUT OF SERVICE ABOUT 6 TIMES FROM JULY - DEC 2015 BECAUSE OF THIS. FIRST FEW TIMES, THE MECHANICS COULD NOT GET THE PROBLEM TO DUPLICATE. ONE OF THOSE TIMES, THEY THOUGHT THE BATTERY CAUSED IT AND SAID IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ANYWAY BC IT WAS WEAK - I DID THAT. ANOTHER TIME, THEY SAID IT WAS BC SOME STUFF HAD SPILLED DOWN IN THERE WHERE THE SHIFTER CABLES WERE, SO THEY CLEANED AND REWIRED IT. STILL ANOTHER TIME THEY SAID A COMPUTER PART WAS SENDING WEAK SIGNALS, SO THEY REPLACED THAT. THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED ONCE, THEN AGAIN BC ONE OF THE PARTS WAS DEEMED DEFECTIVE. THIS LAST VISIT (DEC 2015), THEY SAID IT WAS BAD WIRING FROM THE ECM THAT CAUSED IT. SOME OF THESE SERVICE/DIAGNOSTIC FEES & THE COST OF TOWING HAVE BEEN WAIVED OR REIMBURSED, OTHERS HAVE NO. NONE OF THE ISSUES SPECIFICALLY "RELATED" TO THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY WERE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL. SO AS YOU CAN IMAGINE, I HAVE BEEN OUT AT LEAST $500-700 OVER THESE LAST SEVERAL MONTHS. HUGE INCONVENIENCES - BEING STUCK AT WORK AT THE END OF THE DAY OR AT HOME AS I'M READY TO LEAVE FOR WORK. I AM PLANNING TO TRADE THIS CAR IN WITHIN THE NEXT MONTH OR TWO. IF IT HADN'T BEEN FOR ALL OF THIS, I WOULD'VE LOVED THE CAR. I WAS SATISFIED WITH EVERYTHING ELSE ABOUT IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/7/2016 - ROYSE CITY, TX
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, WHEN THE CAR WAS STATIONARY, IT WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND RELEASING EMERGENCY BRAKE. I WOULD JUST HEAR THIS CLICKING NOISE NEAR THE KEY IGNITION WHEN I TRIED TO MOVE IT OUT OF PARK. I'VE HAD THE CAR IN AND OUT OF SERVICE ABOUT 6 TIMES FROM JULY - DEC 2015 BECAUSE OF THIS. FIRST FEW TIMES, THE MECHANICS COULD NOT GET THE PROBLEM TO DUPLICATE. ONE OF THOSE TIMES, THEY THOUGHT THE BATTERY CAUSED IT AND SAID IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ANYWAY BC IT WAS WEAK - I DID THAT. ANOTHER TIME, THEY SAID IT WAS BC SOME STUFF HAD SPILLED DOWN IN THERE WHERE THE SHIFTER CABLES WERE, SO THEY CLEANED AND REWIRED IT. STILL ANOTHER TIME THEY SAID A COMPUTER PART WAS SENDING WEAK SIGNALS, SO THEY REPLACED THAT. THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED ONCE, THEN AGAIN BC ONE OF THE PARTS WAS DEEMED DEFECTIVE. THIS LAST VISIT (DEC 2015), THEY SAID IT WAS BAD WIRING FROM THE ECM THAT CAUSED IT. SOME OF THESE SERVICE/DIAGNOSTIC FEES & THE COST OF TOWING HAVE BEEN WAIVED OR REIMBURSED, OTHERS HAVE NO. NONE OF THE ISSUES SPECIFICALLY "RELATED" TO THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY WERE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL. SO AS YOU CAN IMAGINE, I HAVE BEEN OUT AT LEAST $500-700 OVER THESE LAST SEVERAL MONTHS. HUGE INCONVENIENCES - BEING STUCK AT WORK AT THE END OF THE DAY OR AT HOME AS I'M READY TO LEAVE FOR WORK. I AM PLANNING TO TRADE THIS CAR IN WITHIN THE NEXT MONTH OR TWO. IF IT HADN'T BEEN FOR ALL OF THIS, I WOULD'VE LOVED THE CAR. I WAS SATISFIED WITH EVERYTHING ELSE ABOUT IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds