Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 462 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (118) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (23)
Engine (131) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (12) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (55)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2017 - BRISTOL, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A TRANSMISSION WAVE PLATE FAILURE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO TERRYVILLE CHEVROLET (302 MAIN ST, TERRYVILLE, CT 06786 (860) 506-6404) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AGAIN AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER OFFERED NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE AND OPENED A CASE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/30/2017 - WATERVLIET, NY
SAME PROBLEM AS WITH A 2006 EQUINOX THE HEATER DEFROSTER GOES COLD WARM AND IS NOT SAFE THE 2006 HAD A RECALL AND WAS BROUGHT TO DENOOYER CHEV COLONIE NY FOR RECALL REPAIR NOW THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS 2010 EQUINOX LTZ. THIS TIME THE RADIO HAS NO SOUND ON LEFT SIDE WEIRD. WHEN I TURN UP THE HEAT IT STARTS A CLICKING SOUND AND WILL NOT STOP UNTIL IT REACHES A CERTAIN TEMPERATURE THEN THE HEAT WILL COME ON FOR 4-5 MINUTES AND GO COLD AND WINTER IT AT MY DOORSTEP SHORTLY. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY GM I WILL CONTACT DENOOYER CHEVROLET TO SEE IF THEY WILL REPAIR IT FOR FREE ALSO READ THAT A COMPUTER ISSUE COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM WILL OCCUR STATIONARY IN MOTION IT DOESN'T MATTER ITS BROKE AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED I HAVE KIDS TO BRING TO SCHOOL ETC

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/26/2017 - DANTE, SD
STABILITRAK SERVICE LIGHT IS ON AND ABS LIGHT IS ON

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/26/2017 - DANTE, SD
STABILITRAK SERVICE LIGHT IS ON AND ABS LIGHT IS ON

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/26/2017 - DANTE, SD
STABILITRAK SERVICE LIGHT IS ON AND ABS LIGHT IS ON

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/24/2017 - IRON RIDGE, WI
I HAVE ISSUES WITH MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS HAVING DISCONNECTED LEAVING MY WIPERS TO NOT BE USABLE. THIS HAPPENED DRIVING HOME FROM WORK IN A DOWNPOUR - ALMOST GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT. ALSO IT HAPPEN WITH MY HUSBAND AND 2 SMALL CHILDREN IN MY CAR AGAIN IN THE RAIN. I FEAR FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY DUE TO THE WIPERS BECOMING INOPERATIVE AT THE TIME THEY ARE NEEDED MOST. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE CHEVY EQUINOX (UNSURE OF THE YEAR OF THESE) THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPENED, PULLED OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH THEIR WIPERS STUCK UP ON THE WINDSHIELD. I HAVE ALSO READ MANY FORUMS ONLINE ABOUT THIS. I SEEN A RECALL IN CANADA FOR THE EQUINOX 2010-2017 BUT THIS ISN'T COVERED IN THE US AS I HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/23/2017 - HAVRE DE GRACE, MD
MY ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON I TAKE CAR TO GM DEALER AND THEY TELL ME I NEED A CATALYTIC CONVERTER, THEY DIDN'T TELL ME THAT THERE WAS A SPECIAL SERVICE COVER FOR THE PART, WHEN I CALLED THEM BACK ABOUT IT THE TELL ME THAT ME CAR WAS OUT OF THE MILE PART OF THE COVERAGE AND THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR IT MYSELF, I CALL GM AND SPOKE TO A LADY NAME ADREA AND SHE INFORMS ME THE SAME THING I TOLD HER I NEVER RECEIVED ANY THING IN THE MAIL CONCERNING IS COVERAGE, SHE SAID THE MAILED THEM OUT MARCH 2017, I ASKED IF SHE WAS ABLE TO TELL IF THERE WAS ONE SENT TO MY ADDRESS SHE COULD NOT. THIS PART IS SHOULD HAVE NEVER BE A SPECIAL SERVICE COVERAGE, BECAUSE IT IS A ENVIRONMENT ISSUES, THIS CAR IS 7 YEARS OLD. SO I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH TRYING TO GET GM TO FIX THIS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/16/2017 - SALEM, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEFROST FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. IN NOVEMBER OF 2016, THE DEFROST FAILED INTERMITTENLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (JOHN JONES SALEM, 1450 IN-60, SALEM, IN, 47167, 812-883-3081) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL AT THE TIME. DUE TO THE REPAIR COST, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN JANUARY OF 2017, THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V489000 (VISIBILTY). THE SAME LOCAL DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT. UPON ARRIVAL AT THE DEALER, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE EXISTING FAILURE AND A LETTER WAS RECEIEVED, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WERE NOT SURE WHY SHE RECEIVED THE RECALL LETTER, AND CONFIRMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT ASSIST AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I HAVE A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX AND ON JULY 21ST, 2017 IT WOULD NOT GO INTO REVERSE. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ONLINE I'VE SEEN THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM THAT I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING. NO 3RD GEAR/NO REVERSE. IT SAYS IT HAS A WAVE PLATE THAT OFTEN BREAKS AND SHOOTS SHATTERED PIECES INTO THE TRANSMISSION, ALL WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR SUSPICION THAT ANYTHING COULD BE WRONG. I CALLED THE FINANCE COMPANY WHICH THEN L THEN LED ME TO GM CUSTOMER SERVICE TELLING ME THERE WERE NO RECALLS OR INFORMATION ABOUT ANYTHING. IT IS NOW OCTOBER 3RD, 2017 AND MY CAR HAS BEEN SITTING IN THE SAME PARKING SPACE (CANNOT REVERSE TO GET OUT OF PARKING SPOT) WITH A FULL TANK OF GAS. I URGE ANYONE WHO EXPERIENCES ANY PROBLEM TO REPORT IT. I NEED HELP AND I NEED IT ASAP!!!

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

10/2/2017 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE DEFROSTER FAILED TO BLOW OUT AIR. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (GUS PAULOS CHEVROLET, 4050 W 3500 S WEST, VALLEY CITY, UT 84120) AND WAS INFORMED TO SCHEDULE A SERVICE APPOINTMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,758.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds