Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 249 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (47) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (5) Visibility (14)
Engine (64) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Service Brakes (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/21/2015 - COTTONTOWN, TN
WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING IN A RAINSTORM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2015 - HERMITAGE, TN
WHEN DRIVING, MY CARS TRANSMISSION HESITATES. IT FEELS LIKE ITS LOSING POWER. ALSO FEELS LIKE THERE'S A MISFIRE. IT'S VERY ANNOYING AND NOT SURE HOW CHEVY CAN MAKE A TRANSMISSION LIKE THIS. THIS IS WHY I DON'T BUY AMERICAN VEHICLES. NO DEALERSHIP WILL DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I'M VERY UPSET. I'M A SINGLE FATHER IN THE MILITARY, I NEED A DECENT VEHICLE AND DON'T MAKE MUCH. CAN ANYONE HELP ME?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2015 - MT. STERLING, KY
TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP FOR DRIVER SIDE SEAT ISSUES COME OUT WITH SEAT ISSUE FIXED BUT REAR DVD MONITORS DIDN'T WORK.

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2015 - HIGHLAND MILLS, NY
MY VEHICLE HAS SIMILAR ISSUES THAT OTHER CONSUMERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT: (1) LOSS OF POWER ON THE HIGHWAY AFTER PRESSING ACCELERATOR PEDAL DOWN TO GAIN SPEED. ENGINE HAS HESITATED AND BACK-FIRED. (2) EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION STILL REMAINS AN ISSUES EVEN THOUGH I HAVE BROUGHT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES. (3) CLANGING NOISE IN THE ENGINE WHICH I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE TURNED OUT TO BE A TIMING BELT ISSUE. VEHICLE LOST MOST POWER AND I BARELY GOT THE VEHICLE BACK TO MY DRIVEWAY. WHEN I WENT TO START VEHICLE NEXT DAY TO BRING TO A REPAIR SHOP, ONLY THE STARTER WAS SPINNING [ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER AS I FOUND OUT THE TIMING BELT DISINTEGRATED]. BY NOT KNOWING THERE WAS A SPECIAL COVERAGE BULLETIN ISSUED FOR THIS PROBLEM [EXTENDS FOR 10 YEARS/120,000 MILES I BELIEVE], MY LOCAL REPAIR SHOP BROUGHT IT TO MY ATTENTION AND SAID ALTHOUGH MY REGULAR WARRANTY ENDED, I SHOULD BRING TO DEALER. IT WAS REPLACED FOR FREE BY DEALER DUE TO SPECIAL COVERAGE IN NOVEMBER 2014 [OVER 4 YEARS OF COMPLAINING ABOUT EXCESSIVE ENGINE NOISE]. BROKEN TIMING BELT CREATED DAMAGE INSIDE THE ENGINE BUT DEALER COVERED ALL DAMAGE. AFTER THE TIMING BELT WAS REPLACED, IT SOUNDED LIKE I HAD A WHOLE NEW ENGINE AS IT WAS SO QUIET. THERE IS STILL A SMALL RATTLING NOISE DURING START-UP, BUT GOES AWAY AFTER ENGINE RUNS. (4) GAS MILEAGE NEVER HAS COME CLOSE TO CHEVROLET'S REPORTED ESTIMATES FOR THIS VEHICLE [I GET ABOUT 20 MPG ON FLAT HIGHWAYS].

View Details

STEERING

5/8/2015 - HOLYOKE, MA
INTERMITTENTLY, THE STEERING WAS SERIOUSLY COMPROMISED WHEN DRIVEN. CONTACTED GM AND THEY SENT ME TO A GM CERTIFIED DEALERSHIP/TECHNICIAN. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED ME THAT THE CAR WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE (DUE TO A "TWISTED STEERING SHAFT") AND STEERING COULD COMPLETELY FAIL AT ANY TIME. I ESCALATED THE ISSUE TO A CHEVROLET SENIOR ADVISOR IN DETROIT. THE SENIOR ADVISOR INFORMED ME THAT THERE WAS NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS FOR THIS TYPE OF ISSUE. I INFORMED THE ADVISOR THAT THIS DEFECT COULD INJURE / KILL SOMEONE IF NOT MADE PUBLIC. HE INDICATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO FURTHER... I JUST DON'T WANT SOMEONE TO GET SERIOUSLY HURT BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. PLEASE INFORM THE PUBLIC OF THIS ISSUE!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2015 - ORANGE PARK, FL
CAR RADIO DISPLAY DOES NOT TURN ON WHEN STARTING CAR. IT WILL AUTOMATICALLY START PLAYING SOMETIMES 10 MINS AFTER DRIVING OR NOT AT ALL.AC WENT OUT ON CAR AT 89000 MILES. PRETTY LOUSY CONSIDERING IT IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD. ALSO MAKES A LOUD NOISE AND SOUNDS LIKE IT IS NOT SHIFTING. SOUND NEVER GOES AWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2015 - ORANGE PARK, FL
CAR RADIO DISPLAY DOES NOT TURN ON WHEN STARTING CAR. IT WILL AUTOMATICALLY START PLAYING SOMETIMES 10 MINS AFTER DRIVING OR NOT AT ALL.AC WENT OUT ON CAR AT 89000 MILES. PRETTY LOUSY CONSIDERING IT IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD. ALSO MAKES A LOUD NOISE AND SOUNDS LIKE IT IS NOT SHIFTING. SOUND NEVER GOES AWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/21/2015 - BURTON, MI
HEATER WILL NOT HEAT AT ALL. BLOWS COLD AIR. CAR IS 2010 !!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/13/2015 - MORGANTON, NC
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON FOR ERROR CODE "LOW CATALYTIC CONVERTER EFFICIENCY ", EMISSIONS. MANUFACTURER HAD VOLUNTEER RECALL FOR EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL EXCESSIVELY AND COATED ELEMENT OF CATALYTIC CONVERTER. MANUFACTURER REPLACED PISTON SEALS AND RINGS TO STOP OIL CONSUMPTION BUT REFUSED TO REPLACED DAMAGED CATALYTIC CONVERTER CAUSED BY OIL CONSUMPTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/6/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
MY 2010 EQUINOX WAS TAKEN IN TO MY MECHANIC TO CHECK MY OIL AS IT WAS BLACK AND SMELT BURNT AND THEY NOTICED THAT I WAS DOWN TO 1/2 QT IN LESS THAN 500 MILES...THE LAST OIL CHANGE THEY CHECKED THE ENTIRE VEHICLE BUT FOUND NO LEAKS AND SUGGESTED TO TAKE IT IN TO A CHEVY DEALER...I WAS UNDER THEIR POWER TRAIN WARRANTY AT THE TIME. OVER THE NEXT FEW MONTHS THEY REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP, FRONT SEAL, REAR SEAL AND NUMEROUS OIL CHANGES IN BETWEEN... RIGHT UP TILL THE LAST WEEK OF THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY... I DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR ANOTHER 2000 MILES AND HAD TO ADD OIL UP TO 4 QUARTS EVERY 500 MILES...I TOOK IT IN ONCE AGAIN IN REGARDS TO THE OIL CONSUMPTION AND THEY PREFORMED THE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST WHICH THE VEHICLE FAILED MISERABLY. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE PISTONS AND RINGS IN CONCERT WITH GM'S WARRANTY COVERING THE REPLACEMENT OF PISTONS AND RINGS IN REGARDS TO THIS PROBLEM. REMEMBER MY POWER-TRAIN WARRANTY WAS NOW OUT OF DATE DUE TO THE DEALERSHIP PUSHING THE REPAIR ALWAYS TO A LATER DATE. THIS WAS DONE IN 2/4/2015, IN LESS THAN TWO MONTHS THE OIL LEVEL HAS DROPPED TO 1.2 A QUART WITH ONLY 500 MILES PUT ON THE VEHICLE SINCE THE INSTALLATION OF NEW PISTONS AND RINGS. IT HAS NOW BEEN BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT ACCORDING TO BULLETIN PIP 5025,(05-16-2012) TWO ITEMS OF CONCERN ARE BROUGHT TO MIND...ONE THE VEHICLE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST FAILED ORIGINALLY, AND FROM ALL OTHER SOURCES BREAK IN PERIOD FOR PISTONS AND RINGS SHOULD TAKE NO MORE THAN 2000 MILES AT A LOSS OF 1 QT PER 1000 MILES. TWO...I LOST 4 QUARTS IN A 500 MILE DURATION. THE BULLETIN ALSO SUGGEST THAT ENGINES HAVING THIS PROBLEM WILL NOT BE REPLACED ONLY REPAIRS WILL BE COVERED AND THAT ZEBRA STRIPES ON THE CYLINDER WALLS ARE NOT COVERED ON THIS REPAIR BULLETIN... IT ALSO STATES THAT ZEBRA STRIPES CANNOT BE REPAIRED...IF NOT REPAIRED OIL CONSUMPTION WILL REMAIN POOR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds