Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 494 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (125) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (24)
Engine (144) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (13) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (57)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/1/2018 - FARMDALE, OH
SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON. IT DOESN'T MATTER IF I AM STOPPED OR DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2018 - KUTZTOWN, PA
OUR 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX WAS WORKING FINE. LAST WEEK WE CAME TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN... HEARD A BANG NOISE AND IT STARTED TO IDLE ROUGH, AND SHUT OFF AT STOP SIGN ( HARD TO EVEN KNOW...SINCE RADIO STILL PLAYING). ALSO SOUNDS LIKE A THRASHING MACHINE.... CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND HAS SINCE GONE OFF AND BACK ON AND BACK OFF. WHAT IS THE BEST CORRECTION FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE. CONTINUES TO SHUT OFF AT STOP SIGNS. ????

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2018 - KUTZTOWN, PA
OUR 2010 CHEVY EQUINOX WAS WORKING FINE. LAST WEEK WE CAME TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN... HEARD A BANG NOISE AND IT STARTED TO IDLE ROUGH, AND SHUT OFF AT STOP SIGN ( HARD TO EVEN KNOW...SINCE RADIO STILL PLAYING). ALSO SOUNDS LIKE A THRASHING MACHINE.... CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND HAS SINCE GONE OFF AND BACK ON AND BACK OFF. WHAT IS THE BEST CORRECTION FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE. CONTINUES TO SHUT OFF AT STOP SIGNS. ????

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2018 - SILVER SPRING, MD
VARIABLE VALVE TIMING CHAIN ISSUE AS WITH THE PREVIOUS YEARS MODELS THAT HAVE HAD PROBLEMS.2007 TO 2009 MODEL YEARS WERE RECALLED FOR THIS SAME ISSUE AND THE 2010 MODEL YEAR V6 IS HAVIG THE SAME PROBLEM. CODES P0016 AND P0017. CRANKSHAFT AND CAMSHAFT CORRELATION. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATES. SAME PROBLEM AS 2007 THRU 2009 THAT WERE COVERED. I CALLED GM BUT THEY SAID THE RECALL DID NOT COVER MY VIN SPECIFIC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2018 - CYPRESS, TX
THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. A TEXAS CERTIFIED REPAIR SHOP DIAGNOSED THE ISSUE AND CONCLUDED THAT THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE ENTIRELY REPLACED AT A COST OF $3,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2018 - SPARTANBURG, SC
MY CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY AND I HAD TO SIT THERE FOR A A LITTLE WHILE BEFORE IT STARTED BACK. THE CAR STARTED BACK. I DROVE THE CAR A LITTLE OVER A 1/.2 OF MILE AND IT STOPPED AGAIN. I STOPPED AND AND SAT AND CRANKED IT BACK UP. I MADE IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP TO BE TOLD MY TRANSMISSION HAD FAILED. THE CAR ONLY HAS 116,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE 2 AIR COMPRESSORS ON THE CAR. THE CAR HAS ALSO DID AN AUTOMATIC SHUTDOWN ON ME. I HAVE HAD TO TOW THIS CAR 4 TIMES. I THINK THE 2010 EQUINOX IS A FAULTY CAR AND IS UNSAFE FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIES TO BE RIDING AROUND IN. THE LAST ACCIDENT HAPPEN ON A BUSY INTERSECTION WITH ME AND MY HUSBAND WE COULD HAVE BEEN HURT WITH ALL THE MAJOR TRAFFIC COMING IN OUR DIRECTIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/15/2018 - WASILLA, AK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO HEAT UPON ENTERING THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. AN UNKNOWN DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER MODULE FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2018 - HOUMA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT PERFORMING PROPERLY AND FELT SLUGGISH. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION AND THE TIMING CHAIN. TRAPP CHEVROLET IN HOUMA, LOUISIANA WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/8/2018 - HOUMA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT PERFORMING PROPERLY AND FELT SLUGGISH. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION AND THE TIMING CHAIN. TRAPP CHEVROLET IN HOUMA, LOUISIANA WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
SINCE I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE, I CONSTANTLY GET A "SERVICE AIRBAG" MESSAGE ON MY DASHBOARD. I HAVE NOTIFIED THE DEALER AS WELL AS GM/CHEVORLET BY PHONE AND WAS TOLD THAT UNFORTUNATELY THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALER IN WHICH I PURCHASED AND SINCE THEY DID NOT SEE THE MESSAGE THEY SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I FEAR (GOD FORBID) BEING IN AN ACCIDENT AND THE AIRBAG DOES NOT DEPLOY. I DO TRAVEL WITH MY CHILDREN IN WHICH ONE OF THE 3 IS A TODDLER. IS THERE ANYTHING THAT CAN BE DONE. - ALSO WHICH IS VERY ANNOYING MY KEY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION. NOW I HAVE 2 SETS OF KEYS ONE GETS STUCK MORE THAN THE OTHER, BUT THERE ARE TIMES WHERE I HAVE TO SPEND HOURS TRYING TO REMOVE IT - I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER BUT ONCE AGAIN WAS TOLD NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS VIDEOS AND FORUMS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. NEEDLES TO SAY I WOULD NEVER PURCHASE A CHEVY AGAIN! TOO MANY ISSUES FOR A CAR THAT I'VE ONLY HAD A FEW YEARS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds