Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 322 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (47) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (104) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (13) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (55) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (6) Suspension (13) Visibility (6)
Engine (68) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (13) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (20) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/17/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
I HAVE A 2010 CHEVY IMPALA LT WITH 90K+ MILES ON IT. I ORIGINALLY BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2011 USED WITH 40K+ MILES ON IT, SO THE CAR IS NO LONGER COVERED THROUGH WARRANTY. ENGINE POWER REDUCED, SERVICE STABILITRAC, ETC. I'M A FULL TIME COLLEGE STUDENT, AND A FULL TIME UBER DRIVER. LAST NIGHT I WAS WITH A PASSENGER ON I-94 HEADING TOWARDS O'HARE AIRPORT. MY CAR REDUCED SPEED AND SUDDENLY DROPPED SPEED FROM 70MPH DOWN TO 50MPH. AS I TURNED ON THE EMERGENCY LIGHT AND START STEERING TO THE RIGHT TO GET ONTO THE SHOULDER I WAS IN THE THIRD LANE TO THE RIGHT (THE EXPRESSWAY IS 4 LANES) AS I WAS TURNING TO THE RIGHT TO GET ONTO THE SHOULDER AND TO GET TO SAFETY MY STEERING LOCKS, AND THERE WAS A RECKLESS DRIVER GOING 100MPH TRYING TO CUT OFF TRAFFIC. THE LANES TO THE LEFT WERE BLOCKED SO HE HAD TO CUT ME OFF BY OVERTAKING ME BY GOING ONTO THE SHOULDER. HE DAMAGED HIS RIGHT REARVIEW MIRROR AND PROBABLY SCRAPPED THE RIGHT SIDE OF HIS CAR PULLING OFF THAT RECKLESS STUNT. HAD I DELAYED THE BREAKING FOR A SECOND I WOULDN'T BE ALIVE MAKING THIS POST TODAY. LUCKILY I TURNED THE CAR OFF, WAITED FOR A FEW MINUTES, TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND TOOK THE NEARBY FULLERTON EXIT, AND WAITED WITH MY PASSENGER AT THE NEARBY TARGET PARKING LOT FOR THE NEXT UBER DRIVER TO PICK UP MY PASSENGER AND GET HER SAFELY TO THE AIRPORT. HAD I NOT ACTED QUICKLY, MY UBER PASSENGER WOULD HAVE MISSED HER FLIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
I HAVE A 2010 CHEVY IMPALA LT WITH 90K+ MILES ON IT. I ORIGINALLY BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2011 USED WITH 40K+ MILES ON IT, SO THE CAR IS NO LONGER COVERED THROUGH WARRANTY. ENGINE POWER REDUCED, SERVICE STABILITRAC, ETC. I'M A FULL TIME COLLEGE STUDENT, AND A FULL TIME UBER DRIVER. LAST NIGHT I WAS WITH A PASSENGER ON I-94 HEADING TOWARDS O'HARE AIRPORT. MY CAR REDUCED SPEED AND SUDDENLY DROPPED SPEED FROM 70MPH DOWN TO 50MPH. AS I TURNED ON THE EMERGENCY LIGHT AND START STEERING TO THE RIGHT TO GET ONTO THE SHOULDER I WAS IN THE THIRD LANE TO THE RIGHT (THE EXPRESSWAY IS 4 LANES) AS I WAS TURNING TO THE RIGHT TO GET ONTO THE SHOULDER AND TO GET TO SAFETY MY STEERING LOCKS, AND THERE WAS A RECKLESS DRIVER GOING 100MPH TRYING TO CUT OFF TRAFFIC. THE LANES TO THE LEFT WERE BLOCKED SO HE HAD TO CUT ME OFF BY OVERTAKING ME BY GOING ONTO THE SHOULDER. HE DAMAGED HIS RIGHT REARVIEW MIRROR AND PROBABLY SCRAPPED THE RIGHT SIDE OF HIS CAR PULLING OFF THAT RECKLESS STUNT. HAD I DELAYED THE BREAKING FOR A SECOND I WOULDN'T BE ALIVE MAKING THIS POST TODAY. LUCKILY I TURNED THE CAR OFF, WAITED FOR A FEW MINUTES, TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND TOOK THE NEARBY FULLERTON EXIT, AND WAITED WITH MY PASSENGER AT THE NEARBY TARGET PARKING LOT FOR THE NEXT UBER DRIVER TO PICK UP MY PASSENGER AND GET HER SAFELY TO THE AIRPORT. HAD I NOT ACTED QUICKLY, MY UBER PASSENGER WOULD HAVE MISSED HER FLIGHT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
I HAVE A 2010 CHEVY IMPALA LT WITH 90K+ MILES ON IT. I ORIGINALLY BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2011 USED WITH 40K+ MILES ON IT, SO THE CAR IS NO LONGER COVERED THROUGH WARRANTY. ENGINE POWER REDUCED, SERVICE STABILITRAC, ETC. I'M A FULL TIME COLLEGE STUDENT, AND A FULL TIME UBER DRIVER. LAST NIGHT I WAS WITH A PASSENGER ON I-94 HEADING TOWARDS O'HARE AIRPORT. MY CAR REDUCED SPEED AND SUDDENLY DROPPED SPEED FROM 70MPH DOWN TO 50MPH. AS I TURNED ON THE EMERGENCY LIGHT AND START STEERING TO THE RIGHT TO GET ONTO THE SHOULDER I WAS IN THE THIRD LANE TO THE RIGHT (THE EXPRESSWAY IS 4 LANES) AS I WAS TURNING TO THE RIGHT TO GET ONTO THE SHOULDER AND TO GET TO SAFETY MY STEERING LOCKS, AND THERE WAS A RECKLESS DRIVER GOING 100MPH TRYING TO CUT OFF TRAFFIC. THE LANES TO THE LEFT WERE BLOCKED SO HE HAD TO CUT ME OFF BY OVERTAKING ME BY GOING ONTO THE SHOULDER. HE DAMAGED HIS RIGHT REARVIEW MIRROR AND PROBABLY SCRAPPED THE RIGHT SIDE OF HIS CAR PULLING OFF THAT RECKLESS STUNT. HAD I DELAYED THE BREAKING FOR A SECOND I WOULDN'T BE ALIVE MAKING THIS POST TODAY. LUCKILY I TURNED THE CAR OFF, WAITED FOR A FEW MINUTES, TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND TOOK THE NEARBY FULLERTON EXIT, AND WAITED WITH MY PASSENGER AT THE NEARBY TARGET PARKING LOT FOR THE NEXT UBER DRIVER TO PICK UP MY PASSENGER AND GET HER SAFELY TO THE AIRPORT. HAD I NOT ACTED QUICKLY, MY UBER PASSENGER WOULD HAVE MISSED HER FLIGHT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/14/2017 - LANSING, IL
DRIVING 65MPH ON HIGHWAY WHEN "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" AND "SERVICE STABILITRAK" LIGHTS CAME ON AND ENGINE STARTED TO THROTTLE DOWN. HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO PULL OVER ONTO LEFT SHOULDER WITH A SEMI CLOSE BEHIND. TURNED CAR OFF FOR 1 MINUTE AND RESTARTED AND THE "REDUCED ENGINE POWER AND "SERVICE STABILITRAK DISAPPEARED. HOW IS THIS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE REQUIRING A RECALL?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/11/2017 - MCCOMB, MS
TAKATA RECALL CAR JERKS HARD EVERY TIME YOU PUSH THE GAS TO MOVE FORWARD OR BACKWARD AS IF IT DON'T WANT TO MOVE. AND THE RPM RISE UP

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/11/2017 - COMMERCE TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING ON A SECONDARY ROADWAY HEARD A LOUD NOISE THEN LOST STEERING CONTROL AS THE FRONT WHEELS LOCKED AND WAS FORCED OFF THE ROAD VEERING TO THE RIGHT. THE FRONT WHEELS WILL NOT ROTATE IN ANY GEAR NOW VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. FELDMAN CHEVROLET OF NOVI, MI STATES THERE IS METAL IN THE TRANSMISSION FLUID. LOW MILES AND NO PRIOR ACCIDENTS, NO TRANSMISSION ISSUES PRIOR, DEALER MAINTAINED. LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/3/2017 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
A COMMON ISSUE AMONGST CHEVY IMPALA'S IS THE "SERVICE STABILITRAK" ERROR. IT COMES ON EVERY DAY AND EFFECTS MY BRAKE PEDAL AND ENGINE POWER. I WILL BE ATTACHING A LINK PROVING THAT THIS HAS BEEN AN IGNORED ISSUE BY GM FOR YEARS. IT IS NOT SAFE TO HAVE THESE CARS ON THE ROAD AND I DEMAND A RECALL/DIFFERENT CAR FROM MY DEALERSHIP AS MY CAR IS LESS THAN 2YRS OLD. HTTPS://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/AUTOMOTIVE/CHEVY_IMPALA.HTML?PAGE=1

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/27/2017 - CRESTVIEW, FL
THIS PROBLEM TENDS TO ONLY HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR IS IN MOTION TRYING TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT AND SIMPLY JUST TRYING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. IT IS VERY HARD TO DESCRIBE WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENS BUT IT'S LIKE THE CAR HAS A HUGE HICCUP AND IT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING IS LOOSE UNDERNEATH. I HAVE TO LIGHTLY TOUCH THE GAS PEDAL TO TRY AND AVOID THIS HAPPENING. I GET THE WARNING LIGHT-SERVICE STABILITRACK AND TRACTION CONTROL. I GET SCARED AT TIMES TRYING TO MAKE TURNS BECAUSE WHEN THE HICCUPPING HAPPENS, IT DELAYS THE CAR FOR SECONDS AND I TRY TO PRESS ON THE GAS BUT IT WON'T GET UP TO SPEED. NEEDLESS TO SAY, IF IT'S POSSIBLE, I TRY AND WAIT FOR A GOOD DISTANCE BETWEEN ME CROSSING AND THE CARS COMING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/20/2017 - KANNAPOLIS, NC
ACCORDING TO YOUR WEBSITE THERE ARE FOUR (4) RECALL ITEMS FOR THIS CAR+ LOWER CONTROL ARM, SEATBELT ASSEMBLE ANCHORAGE PASSENGER PRESSURE SENSOR WIRES AND IGNITION CUT OFF. I HAVE CONTRACTED BEN MYNATT CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AT 281 CONCORD PKWY S, CONCORD, NC 28027 REGARDING THESE RECALLS. ACCORDING TO BEN MYNATT CHEVROLET THESE RECALLS DO NOT ASSIST. PLEASE CONFIRM. I ALSO SEE THAT THERE ARE 313 COMPLAINTS BUT 0 INVESTIGATIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2017 - PACOLET, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE REDUCED ENGINE POWER INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO JERK AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 166,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds