Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 221 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (3) Power Train (30) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (76) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (7) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Suspension (9) Visibility (5)
Engine (45) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (9) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (16) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2015 - BLACKWOOD, NJ
LOUD TICKING SOUND COMING FROM PASSENGER SIDE VENT. I HAVE CHECKED WITH OTHER OWNERS OF CHEVYS WHO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS GOING BACK ABOUT 6 YRS+- WITH IMPALAS AND MALIBU'S. THERE ARE 3 MOTORS ON THE PASSEGER SIDE THAT GO BAD, WHEN ONE IS FIXED THEN AND OTHER TWO GO BAD SHORTLY AFTER. THE COST RANGE IS ABOUT $600.00. I HAVE BEEN ON THE PHONE WITH GM AND THE DEALER WITH NO SATISIFACTION. I AM TOLD THE I HAVE TO PAY THEIR HOURLY RATE TO HAVE THIS INSPECTED, THEN THE REPLACEMENT COST. GM SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS OBVIOUS DEFECT. WHERE CAN I GET HELP. I AM 74YRS OLD AND ON A FIXED INCOME. PLEASE ADVISE!!!!

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WITHOUT WARNING. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO INFORMED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2015 - BENSALEM, PA
TWICE THIS WEEK WHILE DRIVING AT AROUND 55 MPH MY TRACTION CONTROL AND STABILIZATION LIGHT CAME ON ALSO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. AND A MESSAGE THAT SPEED IS REDUCED. THE CAR DID SLOW DOWN AND FELT LIKE MY TRANSMISSION WAS GIVING ME PROBLEMS. WHEN I PULLED OVER AND STOPPED THE ENGINE THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AND THE CAR RAN OK IT TOOK TILL TEH NEXT MORNING FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO GO OUT.I TOOK IT IN FOR A CHECK UP AND WAS TOLD IT NEEDED A GAS PEDAD POSITION SENSOR. I HAD THIS REPLACED AT A TOTAL COST OF $210.00.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - POMEROY, WA
WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE THE DASH LIGHTS DO NOT IMMEDIATELY RESPOND. ADJUSTMENT TO THE LIGHT/DIMMER CONTROL DO NOT MAKE THE LIGHT COME ON. THIS WILL GO ON FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS AND THEN THE DASH LIGHTS WILL SUDDENLY COME ON. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AFTER DARK, YOU CANNOT SEE WHAT GEAR YOU ARE IN, YOUR SPEED IS NOT VISIBLE, NOR ANY OF THE OTHER DASH LIGHTS. IT IS RANDOM AND NOT REPRODUCIBLE FOR SHOP TO SEE. THIS ALSO OCCURRED WITH OUR 2007 CHEVY IMPALA, PROGRESSING TO FINALLY NO DASH LIGHTS AND RESULTED IN $700 REPAIR FOR FAULTY WIRING IN STEERING COLUMN. SHOULD BE LOOKED AT FOR ROOT CAUSE AND ADDRESSED AT FACTORY BEFORE RELEASE. PLEASE, VERY ANNOYING, EXPENSIVE, AND WILL CAUSE ME TO NOT PURCHASE AGAIN.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/27/2015 - MANASSAS PARK, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V48000 (SEAT BELTS); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE SEAT BELT ANCHOR BECAME DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,582.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/25/2015 - BRANCHLAND, WV
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CARS ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON 1ST THEN THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. WHEN THEY CAME ON IT REDUCED POWER TO MY ENGINE AND QUIT ON THE INTERSTATE. I HAD LOOKED UP POSSIBLE CAUSES WHEN I HAD A TEST RAN IT WAS SHOWING THROTTLE BODY I REPLACED IT AND IT NEVER FIXED IT UPON RESEARCH I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE PEOPLE WHO OWNS IMPALAS FROM THE YEARS 2009 AND UP HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AND FEEL IT IS SOMETHING THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. WHAT I HAVE FOUND IDK YET I AM WAITING ON THE PIECE TO SEE IF THIS IS THE ISSUE OR NOT IS THE PEDAL SENSOR COULD BE THE CAUSE. BUT I FEEL IT CAN BE UNSAFE BECAUSE MY CAR HAD QUIT ON A BUSY INTERSTATE WITH CARS TRAVELING AT THE SPEED OF 65MPH AND HIGHER. JUST WHEN I WAS LOOKING IT UP I HAD SAW SO MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES WITH THEIR IMPALAS. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT THANK YOU .\

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2015 - BRANCHLAND, WV
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CARS ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON 1ST THEN THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. WHEN THEY CAME ON IT REDUCED POWER TO MY ENGINE AND QUIT ON THE INTERSTATE. I HAD LOOKED UP POSSIBLE CAUSES WHEN I HAD A TEST RAN IT WAS SHOWING THROTTLE BODY I REPLACED IT AND IT NEVER FIXED IT UPON RESEARCH I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE PEOPLE WHO OWNS IMPALAS FROM THE YEARS 2009 AND UP HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AND FEEL IT IS SOMETHING THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. WHAT I HAVE FOUND IDK YET I AM WAITING ON THE PIECE TO SEE IF THIS IS THE ISSUE OR NOT IS THE PEDAL SENSOR COULD BE THE CAUSE. BUT I FEEL IT CAN BE UNSAFE BECAUSE MY CAR HAD QUIT ON A BUSY INTERSTATE WITH CARS TRAVELING AT THE SPEED OF 65MPH AND HIGHER. JUST WHEN I WAS LOOKING IT UP I HAD SAW SO MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES WITH THEIR IMPALAS. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT THANK YOU .\

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - BRANCHLAND, WV
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CARS ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON 1ST THEN THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. WHEN THEY CAME ON IT REDUCED POWER TO MY ENGINE AND QUIT ON THE INTERSTATE. I HAD LOOKED UP POSSIBLE CAUSES WHEN I HAD A TEST RAN IT WAS SHOWING THROTTLE BODY I REPLACED IT AND IT NEVER FIXED IT UPON RESEARCH I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE PEOPLE WHO OWNS IMPALAS FROM THE YEARS 2009 AND UP HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AND FEEL IT IS SOMETHING THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. WHAT I HAVE FOUND IDK YET I AM WAITING ON THE PIECE TO SEE IF THIS IS THE ISSUE OR NOT IS THE PEDAL SENSOR COULD BE THE CAUSE. BUT I FEEL IT CAN BE UNSAFE BECAUSE MY CAR HAD QUIT ON A BUSY INTERSTATE WITH CARS TRAVELING AT THE SPEED OF 65MPH AND HIGHER. JUST WHEN I WAS LOOKING IT UP I HAD SAW SO MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES WITH THEIR IMPALAS. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT THANK YOU .\

View Details

STEERING

2/23/2015 - LAMORE, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE RACK AND PINION. THE RACK AND PINION HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE ON THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/22/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
AFTER PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE WITHIN 30 DAYS THE AIR BAG SYSTEM LIGHT CAME ON I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO FUTURE NISSAN OF FOLSOM AND THEY STATED THAT I WOULD HAVE TO CALL THE WARRANTY PEOPLE THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT IT. A WEEK LATER I NOTICED WHEN I SLOW DOWN USING THE BREAKS IT MAKES A SHAKING SOUND, MAKING THE WHOLE CAR SHAKE. THIS VEHICLE ALSO HAS NO COVERAGE WHEN PUMPING GAS I NOTICED THE SILVER CAP INSIDE THATS SUPPOSE TO REMAIN CLOSED UNTIL YOU PUT THE GAS PUMP IN THERE IN ALWAYS OPEN, WHICH ALLOWS AIR TO GET INSIDE. MY POWERTRAIN IS NOT ACCELERATIONG PROPERPLY, IT TAKES ABOUT A MINUTE FOR IT TO CATCH ITS GEAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds