Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 174 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (2) Power Train (19) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (51) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (9) Visibility (3)
Engine (40) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (16) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - APPLETON , WI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND SHE WOULD HAVE TO PRESS A BUTTON UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL TO RELEASE THE KEY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING FROM THE SHIFT GEAR NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. NE

View Details

ENGINE

10/14/2014 - TULSA, OK
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONER FAILED WITH OUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000. SS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2014 - DENVER, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V355000(ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE. LB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2014 - SPRINGDALE, MD
PULLED INTO THE GAS STATION TO PUMP GAS, AFTER PUMPING GAS, THE CAR WOULD NOT START. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH IS CAUSE OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE. I CAN NOTT GET THE OTHER ISSUES CORRECTED UNLESS GM FIXES THE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH FOR RECALL #14299. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL DEALERSHIPS IN THE AREA, AND NONE OF THEM HAVE THE PART NEEDED TO FIX MY CAR. I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2010, AND HAVE HAD MANY PROBLEM WITH IT SINCE 2011. THE FUEL PUMP WAS CHANGED 2 TIMES AND THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN REPLACED 1 TIME. I ENCOURAGE THE NHSTA TO LOOK INTO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE AND NOT JUST THE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH. GM HAS FAILED THE CONSUMER IN MANY WAYS, AND I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH MY GM CAR BUYING EXPERIENCE. I'M A SINGLE PARENT AND NEED MY VEHICLE TO RUN AND RUN SAFELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - DECATUR, IL
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT PARTS WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. BT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2014 - GREENFIELD, MA
WHILE DRIVING WITH A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG WOULD SWITCH OFF FOR NO REASON WITHOUT THE PASSENGER MOVING. THIS HAPPENED A NUMBER OF TIMES OVER ABOUT A WEEK. THEN ON FRIDAY OCTOBER 3RD, 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME RIGHT AFTER IT HAPPENED ALL THE GAUGES DROPPED INCLUDING FUEL, MPH, RPM, ETC... SO I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO STOP, THE COMPUTER MODULE IN THE CAR DIED AS WELL AS THE ENGINE. I ENDED UP HITTING A LIGHT POST IN THE PARKING LOT WHILE AVOIDING A PEDESTRIAN. THE CAR HAS SINCE CEASED TO START AT ALL. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT BUT THIS CAR WAS CLEARLY NOT SAFE. I CONSIDER MYSELF VERY LUCKY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/6/2014 - GREENFIELD, MA
WHILE DRIVING WITH A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG WOULD SWITCH OFF FOR NO REASON WITHOUT THE PASSENGER MOVING. THIS HAPPENED A NUMBER OF TIMES OVER ABOUT A WEEK. THEN ON FRIDAY OCTOBER 3RD, 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME RIGHT AFTER IT HAPPENED ALL THE GAUGES DROPPED INCLUDING FUEL, MPH, RPM, ETC... SO I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO STOP, THE COMPUTER MODULE IN THE CAR DIED AS WELL AS THE ENGINE. I ENDED UP HITTING A LIGHT POST IN THE PARKING LOT WHILE AVOIDING A PEDESTRIAN. THE CAR HAS SINCE CEASED TO START AT ALL. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT BUT THIS CAR WAS CLEARLY NOT SAFE. I CONSIDER MYSELF VERY LUCKY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/3/2014 - PEORIA, AZ
I TRIED TO START THE CAR BUT EVERYTHING WAS DEAD. NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. THE KEY WOULD NOT COME OUT OF THE IGNITION. THE BATTERY WAS ONLY TWO DAYS OLD AND IT CHECKED GOOD. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE CHEVY DEALER. THE DEALER HAD THE CAR FOR ALMOST A WEEK ,THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THIS WAS THE THIRD TIME THEY HAVE TRIED TO FIX IT. SINCE THE PROBLEM WASN'T SOLVED I CAN NOT TRUST THE CAR AND MY WIFE CAN NOT DRIVE IT AS YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL FAIL. I HAVE ALSO HAD FOUR ACTUATORS AND TWO COOLING FAN MOTORS REPLACED THAT WERE SUPPOSED TO SOLVE MY PROBLEM. DIDN'T WORK! EITHER GM CAN'T FIX THE PROBLEM OR WON'T. I CAN'T TELL WHICH. ANYWAY I AM DONE WITH GM CARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/1/2014 - SKIPWITH, VA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, MY 17 YEAR OLD SON INFORMED ME THAT THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK IT TO A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP NEAR MY TOWN. THEY RAN TESTS ALL DAY TO SAY THAT A CONNECTION IN THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND A TERMINAL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ($264). BEFORE GETTING HOME, WHICH IS ABOUT 10 MILES FROM THE DEALERSHIP, THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. CALL THE DEALERSHIP AND RETURNED CAR. THIS TIME THEY TELL ME THAT THE SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ($215). I FELT I WAS BEING GIVEN THE RUN AROUND SO I DID NOT GET IT REPAIRED THERE. SIX MONTHS LATER THE LIGHT COMES BACK ON. I TAKE IT TO A HONDA DEALERSHIP THINKING THEY HAVE BETTER QUALITY CARS AND THEY TEST IT. THEY SAY THAT IT'S SOMETHING ELSE IN THE SEAT AND THAT IT WILL BE APPROXIMATELY $700 TO REPAIR. I CONTACT GM TO SEE IF THERE IS A RECALL OR SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE. THEY STATE NO RECALL AND THAT IF IT'S NOT REPAIRED BY CERTIFIED GM DEALERSHIP, IF IT IS LATER RECALLED I WILL NOT BE REFUNDED. I TAKE IT TO CERTIFIED GM DEALER AND THEY SAY THEY DON'T FIND ANYTHING BECAUSE THE SYSTEM HAS BEEN RESET. LAST WEEK, AFTER THE LIGHT STAYING ON CONTINOUSLY I TAKE IT TO THE CERTIFIED GM DEALERSHIP. THEY RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND TELL ME THAT IT'S THE SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER. AFTER PAYING APPROXIMATELY $325 AND THEM KEEPING MY CAR FOR A WEEK, I RECEIVE THE CAR BACK AND 35 MILES LATER THE LIGHT REAPPEARS. I AM DEFINITELY SICK OF THIS CAR AND THINK GM IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT THEY DON'T WANT TO FIX IT BECAUSE OF ALL THE OTHER RECALLS THEY ARE HAVING. I HAVE SPENT OVER $700 TO NO AVAIL. MY NEXT CAR WILL DEFINITELY NOT BE ANYTHING GM! CALLING GM IS A WASTE OF TIME BECAUSE THEY ACT AS IF MY CALL IS A BURDEN TO THEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - MANALATAN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE A LIMITED QUANTITY OF PARTS BEING DISTRIBUTED TO EACH DEALER. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds