Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 120 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (23) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (5) Visibility (3)
Engine (31) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (15) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (15) Steering (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/23/2014 - TYLER , TX
DRIVING DOWN BUSY HWY GOING 75 SPEED, ENGINE POWER REDUCE MESSAGE CAME ON ALSO TRACTION CONTROL MESSAGE, I BEEN GETTING THIS MESSAGE OVER A YEAR IN A HALF TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T SEEM TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT, SINCE THE MESSAGE WOULD GO AWAY AFTER TEN MINUTES OR SO I NEVER TAUGHT WAS ANYTHING MAJOR TILL MY CAR SHOWED THE MESSAGE STARTER DISABLED SERVICE THROTTLE CAME ON BASICALLY LETTING ME KNOW MY CAR WAS GOING TO LOCK ON ME OR SOMETHING AND WITH A FEW SECONDS MY SPEED REDUCED MORE AND I COULD NOT PUSH D GAS ANYMORE I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IN DISBELIEF OF WHAT JUST HAPPENED AND SCARED SO I PARKED AND TURNED OFF MY CAR THEN I TRIED TO TURN IT ON AND IT WOULDN'T EVEN START OR MAKE A STARTING NOISE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOCKED AND I COULDN'T DO ANYTHING, I WAITED AT LEAST TEN MINUTES AND I TRIED AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON THE MESSAGE WAS GONE BUT THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON. TROUGH THE DAY THIS INCIDENT DIDN'T HAPPEN ANYMORE BUT I WENT ON LINE AND I SEE A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME MODEL CAR AS ME ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM!.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/23/2014 - TYLER , TX
DRIVING DOWN BUSY HWY GOING 75 SPEED, ENGINE POWER REDUCE MESSAGE CAME ON ALSO TRACTION CONTROL MESSAGE, I BEEN GETTING THIS MESSAGE OVER A YEAR IN A HALF TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T SEEM TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT, SINCE THE MESSAGE WOULD GO AWAY AFTER TEN MINUTES OR SO I NEVER TAUGHT WAS ANYTHING MAJOR TILL MY CAR SHOWED THE MESSAGE STARTER DISABLED SERVICE THROTTLE CAME ON BASICALLY LETTING ME KNOW MY CAR WAS GOING TO LOCK ON ME OR SOMETHING AND WITH A FEW SECONDS MY SPEED REDUCED MORE AND I COULD NOT PUSH D GAS ANYMORE I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IN DISBELIEF OF WHAT JUST HAPPENED AND SCARED SO I PARKED AND TURNED OFF MY CAR THEN I TRIED TO TURN IT ON AND IT WOULDN'T EVEN START OR MAKE A STARTING NOISE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOCKED AND I COULDN'T DO ANYTHING, I WAITED AT LEAST TEN MINUTES AND I TRIED AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON THE MESSAGE WAS GONE BUT THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON. TROUGH THE DAY THIS INCIDENT DIDN'T HAPPEN ANYMORE BUT I WENT ON LINE AND I SEE A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME MODEL CAR AS ME ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM!.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - TYLER , TX
DRIVING DOWN BUSY HWY GOING 75 SPEED, ENGINE POWER REDUCE MESSAGE CAME ON ALSO TRACTION CONTROL MESSAGE, I BEEN GETTING THIS MESSAGE OVER A YEAR IN A HALF TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T SEEM TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT, SINCE THE MESSAGE WOULD GO AWAY AFTER TEN MINUTES OR SO I NEVER TAUGHT WAS ANYTHING MAJOR TILL MY CAR SHOWED THE MESSAGE STARTER DISABLED SERVICE THROTTLE CAME ON BASICALLY LETTING ME KNOW MY CAR WAS GOING TO LOCK ON ME OR SOMETHING AND WITH A FEW SECONDS MY SPEED REDUCED MORE AND I COULD NOT PUSH D GAS ANYMORE I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IN DISBELIEF OF WHAT JUST HAPPENED AND SCARED SO I PARKED AND TURNED OFF MY CAR THEN I TRIED TO TURN IT ON AND IT WOULDN'T EVEN START OR MAKE A STARTING NOISE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOCKED AND I COULDN'T DO ANYTHING, I WAITED AT LEAST TEN MINUTES AND I TRIED AGAIN AND IT TURNED ON THE MESSAGE WAS GONE BUT THE CHECK ENGINE WAS STILL ON. TROUGH THE DAY THIS INCIDENT DIDN'T HAPPEN ANYMORE BUT I WENT ON LINE AND I SEE A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME MODEL CAR AS ME ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM!.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/21/2014 - CENTERVILLE, OH
EXCESSIVE INSIDE REAR TIRE TREAD WARE AND HYDRAPLANEING IN RAIN AT 65 MILES AN HOUR. HAD CAR ALIGNMENT REPAIRED BY MOVING AND REDRILLING HOLES FOR REAR STRUTS. ALSO HAD TO REPLACE MY SECOND SET OF TIRES. THIS WAS ALL AT MY EXPENSE BECAUSE GM WOULD NOT ACKNOWLEDGE MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I HAD SERIOUS HYDRAPLANEING JUST PRIOR TO THIS. IN FACT IT WAS THE HYDRAPLANING THAT CAUSED ME TO VISIT THE DEALER. NOW SOME 7 MONTHS LATER THE SAME PROBLEM CONTINUES AND I HAVE WORN OUT THE INSIDE TREAD OF 2 NEW REAR TIRES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - ELK GROVE, CA
AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, I AM UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY OR TURN THE VEHICLE OFF SO I CANNOT REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. I FOUND OUT THAT THE WIRING HARNESS IN THE SHIFTER HAD BECOME WORN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I REPLACED THE HARNESS AND AGAIN NOT 1 YEAR LATER I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I SENT CHEVY AN EMAIL AND I AM WAITING FOR A REPLY

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/18/2014 - NORTH SALEM, IN
LOSS OF POWER, SERVICE STABILITRAC, SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL STARTED FLASHING...THE CAR LOST ALL POWER, SHIFTED EXTREMELY HARD AND WOULD ONLY GO ABOUT 5 TO 10 MILES PER HOUR. I WAS ON A MAIN ROAD WITH A LOT OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED, EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE GM DEALER THE FIRST DAY, THEY COULD NOT FIND THE CODE AND THE CAR RAN FINE ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK. THE NEXT MORNING IT DID IT AGAIN, TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY WHICH COSTS ALMOST $700. THAT WAS IN FEBRUARY, I AM NOW 400 MILES FROM HOME AND IT IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING AGAIN....GOING TO CALL A DEALER TODAY AND HOPEFULLY IT WILL BE TAKEN CARE OF AT NO COST. I CALLED GM ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THEIR RESPONSE WAS THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS VIN# AT THIS TIME, YET I KNOW THERE ARE RECALLS OUT DUE TO THE THROTTLE BODY.

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2014 - SNELLVILLE, GA
CAR WAS CHECKED OUT FOR ELECTRICAL NOISE COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD FROM CHEVROLET DEALER AND SAID THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITHIN THE DASHBOARD AREA (PART- AIR INLET RECIRCULATION VALVE, ACTUATOR) WHICH IS WHY WE HEARD LOUD CLICKING NOISES, NOISES WOULD AT TIME CONTINUE EVEN WHEN THE CAR WAS IN OFF POSITION. BUT THREE DAYS LATER TOOK THE CAR TO MY TRUSTED MECHANIC TO HAVE ISSUE FIXED (NON-DEALER) AND MECHANIC NOTICED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN WAS BROKEN (PART: RACK-AND-PINION), AND SAID THAT IT HAS BEEN THIS WAY FOR AWHILE. MECHANIC SHOWED ME EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAW AND INDEED THE COLUMN WAS BROKEN. MECHANIC SAID THAT HE IS SURPRISED WE HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS ISSUE AND THAT WE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED OR KILLED SOMEONE ELSE AND THAT IT NEEDS TO BE FIXED ASAP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/3/2014 - HARTSVILLE, TN
LOOSE IGNITION KEY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE, THE KEY BECAME LODGED INTO THE IGNITION AND WOULD NOT MOVE PASS THE ACC POSITION CAUSING THE BATTERY TO DRAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2014 - LOUISVILLE, TN
WHILE DRIVING ON AN SHARP INCLINE I NEEDED TO APPLY MY BREAKS TO SUCCESSFULLY DECREASE SPEED (65 TO 45). AFTER COMPLETING THIS ACTION A SERVICE MESSAGE APPEARED ON MY DASH BOARD, "SERVICE AIR BAG". THIS MESSAGE HAS BEEN DISPLAYED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE THEN, GENERALLY AFTER APPLYING MY BREAKS SUDDENLY OR ANY TIME I DECREASE FROM A SPEED OVER 60. I CONTACTED MY DEALERSHIP ASKING IF THERE WAS A ISSUE. I WAS TOLD TO HAVE MY COMPUTER RESET BUT THAT SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY FIX MY ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds