Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 469 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (68) Exterior Lighting (44) Seat Belts (7) Steering (134) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (79) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (13) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Electronic Stability Control (60) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (54) Suspension (5) Visibility (4)
Engine (34) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (8) Wheels (14)
Equipment (2) Power Train (49)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2015 - ELK GROVE , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE RPMS FAILED AND THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2015 - RICHMOND , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT FAILED TO RESTART WHEN POWERED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/11/2015 - DETROIT, MI
EVERYTIME IT RAINS OR I GO THRU A CAR WASH WATER LEAKS IN THE CAR.. I'VE HAD THE SEAL REPLACED AND I'M STILL HAVING THE PROBLEM.. I'M CONCERNED THIS COULD CAUSE DAMAGE TO OTHER PARTS OF MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/9/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE TRACTION CONTROL & SERVICE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) LIGHTS WERE COMING ON. ALSO, THE STEERING COLUMN ANGLE SENSOR WAS FOUND TO BE CORRODED, WHICH MAY HAVE CAUSED THE LIGHTS TO STAY ON.

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE TRACTION CONTROL & SERVICE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) LIGHTS WERE COMING ON. ALSO, THE STEERING COLUMN ANGLE SENSOR WAS FOUND TO BE CORRODED, WHICH MAY HAVE CAUSED THE LIGHTS TO STAY ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/29/2015 - MUSKEGO, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE SERVICE ESC, TRACTION CONTROL, AND REDUCED ENGINE POWER WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/29/2015 - OTEGO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. AT 8,528 MILES, THE BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT HAD TO HAVE THE BRAKE PADS, ROTORS, AND FRONT DRIVER SIDE HUB ASSEMBLY REPLACED AT 29,955 MILES AND THEN AGAIN AT 34,761 MILES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED ANOTHER REPLACEMENT OF THE BRAKE PADS, ROTORS, AND FRONT DRIVER SIDE HUB ASSEMBLY AGAIN AT 64,020 MILES. THE CONTACT FELT THAT THE BRAKING SYSTEM WAS A SAFETY DEFECT ON THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AGAIN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,528.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2015 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
MY 2010 CHEVY MALIBU LT 2.4L WON'T GO INTO PARK AND SHIFTER FEELS LOOSE. IF I PUT IT IN PARK POSITION IT SLIDES DOWN TO REVERSE. IN ORDER TO TAKE THE KEY OUT THE IGNITION I HAVE TO SET MY EMERGENCY BRAKE PUT THE SHIFTER TO (P) AND TAKE MY KEYS OUT. WHEN I DO THAT I DON'T KNOW IF THE PARKING IS ENGAGED OR IN REVERSE. EVERYTHING ELSE WORKS AND DRIVES JUST FINE. I TOOK IT TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE COMPONENT HAS A NHTSA SAFETY RECAL IN EFFECT CAMPAIGN # 12V460000. THEY RECOMMENDED TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE CHEVY DEALER...I TOOK THE CAR TO CHEVY DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THAT. ONLY RECALLS THEY HAVE IS #13036- #10085. THEY COULDN'T SEE MY CAR AT THE MOMENT DO TO BEING BACKED UP. SO I TOOK IT TO TOYOTA AND THEY TOOK IT IN. THEY TOLD ME THEY FOUND SHIFTER CABLE RIPPED AND INOP CAUSING VEHICLE NOT TO ENGAGE INTO GEARS PROPERLY. IT SEEMS THAT NHTSA SAFETY RECAL #12V460000 SOUNDS ABOUT RIGHT WITH WHAT I READ ONLINE.

View Details

STEERING

4/24/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE POWER STEERING ON OUR 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU STOPPED FUNCTIONING RECENTLY, REQUIRING THE USE OF GREAT FORCE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE PARKED POSITION. UPON RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING RETURNED, BUT THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED FREQUENTLY TO THE LEFT WHILE DRIVING AND IDLING. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER WHICH DIAGNOSED AN "INTERNAL FAULT IN THE STEERING COLUMN," AND REPLACED THE ENTIRE STEERING SHAFT. THE DEALER REPORTED THAT THIS IS THE SAME SAFETY CONCERN AND THE SAME PART THAT HAS BEEN THE SUBJECT OF A SAFETY RECALL AFFECTING CHEVROLET MALIBUS THROUGH THE 2009 YEAR. NO RECALL HAS YET BEEN ISSUED FOR THIS PROBLEM FOR THE 2010 VEHICLE YEAR, SO WE ARE OUT $1,000 FOR THE COST OF REPAIR. WHY HAVEN'T OWNERS OF VEHICLES WITH THIS FAULTY STEERING MECHANISM BEEN WARNED OF THIS PROBLEM, AND WHY HASN'T A SAFETY RECALL BEEN ISSUED BY CHEVROLET?

View Details

SEATS

4/20/2015 - SHREVEPORT, LA
MY WIFE HAD TURNED ON THE SEAT HEATER. AFTER A PERIOD OF TIME SHE FELT THE BACK OF THE SEAT GETTING VERY HOT AND THEN SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING AND SAW SMOKE INSIDE THE CAR.. SHE LEANED FORWARD AND THEN TURNED OFF THE SWITCH TO THE SEAT HEATER. I EXAMINED THE SEAT AND DISCOVERED A DIME SIZED BURN THROUGH HOLE IN THE SEAT. THE BURN TROUGH IS APPROXIMATELY SHOULDER HIGH ON THE SEAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds