Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 477 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (69) Exterior Lighting (44) Seat Belts (7) Steering (135) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (82) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (13) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (48)
Electronic Stability Control (60) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (56) Suspension (5) Visibility (4)
Engine (35) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (8) Wheels (14)
Equipment (2) Power Train (49)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2015 - PENN HILLS, PA
ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS SINCE THE 2ND WEEK IN APRIL I TRIED TO OPEN MY CAR DOOR USING MY KEY AS I TURNED, ALTHOUGH T2/15HE LOCK LOCKS AND UNLOCKS, THE DOOR WOULD NOT CLOSE. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND THEY TRIED FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES TO CLOSE THE DOOR AND IT JUST BOUNCED BACK OPEN. I TOOK IT TO A CHEVROLET SERVICE CENTER HERE IN PA AT WHICH TIME THE DOOR LATCH CONNECTED WITH NO SIGNS OF AN ISSUE. THE SERVICE TECH LOOKED AND THE LATCH AND SAID TO ME, "IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, JUST LIFT UP THE LATCH AND THERE SHOULD BE NO PROBLEM. YESTERDAY, I GO TO LUNCH, OPEN THE DOOR WITH THE KEY AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I GO TO GET OUT OF THE CAR AND THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. I TRIED FOR ABOUT 1/2 HOUR. I ASKED A TECHNICIAN FROM MY JOB TO SEE IF HE CAN OPEN THE DOOR TO LET ME OUT AND IT DID NOT OPEN, I HAD TO CLIMB OUT OF THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR AND LEAVE ALL LOCKS SO I COULD GET IN THROUGH PASSENGERS SIDE TO GO BACK HOME. APPOINTMENT SCHEDULED WITH MECHANIC ON 4/22/15. TWO WEEKS AGO MY ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN GOING OFF AND ON. I'VE HAD OIL AND OTHER THINGS CHECKED TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/17/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
CRUISE CONTROL RAMDOMLY WORKS. WHEN CRUISE CONTROL FAILS, THIRD BRAKE LIGHT AND TWO REAR BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE. WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED THEN THE THREE LIGHTS THEN GO OFF. WHEN CRUISE CONTROL FAILS THE TRIANGULAR TSC WARNING LIGHT ALSO APPEARS ON THE DISPLAY AND A TYPED MESSAGE APPEARS STATING "TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM OFF". BOTTOM LINE, WHEN CRUISE CONTROIL FAILS, WE DRIVE WITH THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND WHEN BRAKING, BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/17/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
CRUISE CONTROL RAMDOMLY WORKS. WHEN CRUISE CONTROL FAILS, THIRD BRAKE LIGHT AND TWO REAR BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE. WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED THEN THE THREE LIGHTS THEN GO OFF. WHEN CRUISE CONTROL FAILS THE TRIANGULAR TSC WARNING LIGHT ALSO APPEARS ON THE DISPLAY AND A TYPED MESSAGE APPEARS STATING "TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM OFF". BOTTOM LINE, WHEN CRUISE CONTROIL FAILS, WE DRIVE WITH THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND WHEN BRAKING, BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
CRUISE CONTROL RAMDOMLY WORKS. WHEN CRUISE CONTROL FAILS, THIRD BRAKE LIGHT AND TWO REAR BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE. WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED THEN THE THREE LIGHTS THEN GO OFF. WHEN CRUISE CONTROL FAILS THE TRIANGULAR TSC WARNING LIGHT ALSO APPEARS ON THE DISPLAY AND A TYPED MESSAGE APPEARS STATING "TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM OFF". BOTTOM LINE, WHEN CRUISE CONTROIL FAILS, WE DRIVE WITH THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND WHEN BRAKING, BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/16/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
WIPER MOTOR TRANSMISSION JUST WENT OUT FOR THE 3RD TIME YESTERDAY, 1ST OCCURANC WAS JAN 2013 AN DSTOPPED UNEXPECTEDLY GOING DOWN HIGHWAY. REPLACED AT A COST TO ME OF $325. SECOND OCCURANCE WAS SEPT 2014 AND OCCURED ON EXPRESSWAY GOING 70MPH. GM WOULD NOT COVER AS I WAS OVER MILES AND DEALERSHIP WOUDL ONLY GUARANTEE PART FOR 1 YEAR. I AGAIN HAD TO REPLACE AT A COST OF $350. 3RD OCCURANCE WAS LAST NIGHT WITH MY SON! GOING 55-65 MPH ON OHIO TURNPIKE IN THE POURING RAIN. APPOINTMENT TOMOROW. EVERYONE DENIES RESPONSIBILITY

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

6/10/2015 - NEWARK, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, BURNING FUMES EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS IN THE PROCESS OF PULLING OFF THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND PULL OVER SAFELY. WHILE PARKED, A POLICE OFFICER NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED. THE TRUNK WAS MANUALLY OPENED BY THE FIREMEN AND THEY NOTICED THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM THE FUSE PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,700.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2015 - SAUQUOIT, NY
THE TRANSMISSION FAILED ON THIS VEHICLE. IAW GM DOC# 2894053 TECHNICAL BULLETIN THIS IS CAUSED BY A BROKEN 3-5-R APPLY (WAVED) PLATE (507). THE MECHANIC STATED THIS PLATE IS TOO THIN FOR THESE VEHICLES AND WHEN THEY BREAK DOWN, THEY TOTALLY DESTROY A GOOD TRANSMISSION AND THE DRIVER WILL NEVER KNOW UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS POWERING DOWN TO SAFE MODE (GOING FROM 65 TO 40 IN LESS THEN A MINUTE) AND THERE IS NO REVERSE. THE VEHICLE GAVE A FALSE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CODES AND NEVER SHOWED THERE WAS A INSIDE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. CODES WERE P0776 AND PI0780. IF IT WAS NOT FOR THE FACT THAT IT WAS NOT A BUSY DAY. I COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN REAR ENDED AND THEN THIS 3-5-R DEFECT WOULD HAVE BEEN BLAMED ON THE CRASH. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND THIS SHOULD BE REPALCE BY GM. THIS HAS COST ME $2,881.88, AND 3 LOST WORK DAYS. GM SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR SHODDY CHEAP PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/2/2015 - FILLMORE, IN
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES WHEN PRESSING HARD ON BRAKE PAD AND WHEN MAKING TURNS. WARNING LIGHT IN DASH STAYS ON THE WARNING LIGHT MAY GO OFF BRIEFLY WHEN DRIVING AND IT IS REQUIRED TO BRAKE HARD, BUT ILLUMINATES AGAIN WHEN BRAKE IS PRESSED. SOMETIMES, IT COMES ON DURING NORMAL DRIVING WITHOUT BRAKING. SOMETIMES IT COMES ON WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVEN OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD. THIS MALFUNCTION MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE TO DETERMINE IF AIR BAGS ARE ACTUALLY ENGAGED AND WILL OPERATE DURING A CRASH. THE PROBLEM ONLY INCREASED AFTER BODY CONTROL MODULE (BCM) RECALL WAS FIXED ON THE VEHICLE. IT OCCURS EVERY 1-2 DAYS SINCE THE BCM WAS REPAIRED. LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO IDENTIFY A PROBLEM AND HAS NOT BEEN WILLING TO CONTACT GM FOR INFORMATION. EXTREMELY CONCERNED FOR PASSENGER SAFETY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/2/2015 - FILLMORE, IN
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES WHEN PRESSING HARD ON BRAKE PAD AND WHEN MAKING TURNS. WARNING LIGHT IN DASH STAYS ON THE WARNING LIGHT MAY GO OFF BRIEFLY WHEN DRIVING AND IT IS REQUIRED TO BRAKE HARD, BUT ILLUMINATES AGAIN WHEN BRAKE IS PRESSED. SOMETIMES, IT COMES ON DURING NORMAL DRIVING WITHOUT BRAKING. SOMETIMES IT COMES ON WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVEN OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD. THIS MALFUNCTION MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE TO DETERMINE IF AIR BAGS ARE ACTUALLY ENGAGED AND WILL OPERATE DURING A CRASH. THE PROBLEM ONLY INCREASED AFTER BODY CONTROL MODULE (BCM) RECALL WAS FIXED ON THE VEHICLE. IT OCCURS EVERY 1-2 DAYS SINCE THE BCM WAS REPAIRED. LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO IDENTIFY A PROBLEM AND HAS NOT BEEN WILLING TO CONTACT GM FOR INFORMATION. EXTREMELY CONCERNED FOR PASSENGER SAFETY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/2/2015 - FILLMORE, IN
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES WHEN PRESSING HARD ON BRAKE PAD AND WHEN MAKING TURNS. WARNING LIGHT IN DASH STAYS ON THE WARNING LIGHT MAY GO OFF BRIEFLY WHEN DRIVING AND IT IS REQUIRED TO BRAKE HARD, BUT ILLUMINATES AGAIN WHEN BRAKE IS PRESSED. SOMETIMES, IT COMES ON DURING NORMAL DRIVING WITHOUT BRAKING. SOMETIMES IT COMES ON WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVEN OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD. THIS MALFUNCTION MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE TO DETERMINE IF AIR BAGS ARE ACTUALLY ENGAGED AND WILL OPERATE DURING A CRASH. THE PROBLEM ONLY INCREASED AFTER BODY CONTROL MODULE (BCM) RECALL WAS FIXED ON THE VEHICLE. IT OCCURS EVERY 1-2 DAYS SINCE THE BCM WAS REPAIRED. LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO IDENTIFY A PROBLEM AND HAS NOT BEEN WILLING TO CONTACT GM FOR INFORMATION. EXTREMELY CONCERNED FOR PASSENGER SAFETY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds