Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 817 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (110) Exterior Lighting (89) Seat Belts (10) Steering (210) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (153) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (20) Structure (36) Vehicle Speed Control (84)
Electronic Stability Control (130) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (119) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (73) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (19) Wheels (22)
Equipment (2) Power Train (93)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/7/2017 - HUMBOLDT, SD
TAKATA RECALL. THIS RECALL HAS BEEN CLOSED, BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. GM WAS SAID TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM IN MAY,2014. VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN IN AFTER THE RECALL DATE, AND TOLD ITS CLOSED. PROBLEM STILL OCCURS, NOT FIXED. TOLD BY CHEVY THAT IF THERE IS MORE REPAIRS TO BE DONE, IT IS NOT COVERED BY RECALL AND I WILL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. SAME PROBLEM IT HAD BEFORE BUT THE BCM WAS NEVER REPLACED. I WAS DRIVING AND LOST ALL POWER STEERING. WARNING CAME ACROSS STATED POWER STEERING & SERVICE ESC. HAD TO STOP, SHUT OFF ENGINE, START CAR, PROBLEM WENT AWAY FOR 2 MINUTES AND HAPPENED AGAIN. I HAD MY DAUGHTER WITH ME AT THE TIME. SCARY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/7/2017 - HUMBOLDT, SD
TAKATA RECALL. THIS RECALL HAS BEEN CLOSED, BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. GM WAS SAID TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM IN MAY,2014. VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN IN AFTER THE RECALL DATE, AND TOLD ITS CLOSED. PROBLEM STILL OCCURS, NOT FIXED. TOLD BY CHEVY THAT IF THERE IS MORE REPAIRS TO BE DONE, IT IS NOT COVERED BY RECALL AND I WILL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. SAME PROBLEM IT HAD BEFORE BUT THE BCM WAS NEVER REPLACED. I WAS DRIVING AND LOST ALL POWER STEERING. WARNING CAME ACROSS STATED POWER STEERING & SERVICE ESC. HAD TO STOP, SHUT OFF ENGINE, START CAR, PROBLEM WENT AWAY FOR 2 MINUTES AND HAPPENED AGAIN. I HAD MY DAUGHTER WITH ME AT THE TIME. SCARY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/30/2017 - PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI
BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ALL THE TIME. SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT ON. SERVICE CVS LIGHT ON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/30/2017 - PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI
BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ALL THE TIME. SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT ON. SERVICE CVS LIGHT ON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/30/2017 - PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI
BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ALL THE TIME. SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT ON. SERVICE CVS LIGHT ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/27/2017 - ST LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. AFTER A COMPLETE STOP WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED DUE TO NO WARNING SENSORS. A DAY LATER, AN UNKNOWN INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT AUTO SHOP WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MECHANIC RECOMMENDED THE VEHICLE BE TAKEN TO A TRANSMISSION INDEPENDENT DEALER. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (DON BROWN CHEVROLET, 2244 S KINGS HIGHWAY BLVD, ST. LOUIS, MO, 63110) WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 8-3433690388. THE DEALER COULD NOT ASSIST AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 65,505.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/25/2017 - STRATFORD, CT
I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2010 CHEV MALIBU 2LT SEVEN YEARS AGO. IT'S AUTOMATIC, HAS LOW MILES, WELL SERVICED, AND EXCELLENT UPKEEP. SINCE OWNERSHIP, I'VE NOT HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS. HOWEVER, RECENTLY, WHILE DRIVING, AND GOING FROM LOW TO HIGHWAY SPEED, I NOTICED THE CAR INTERMITTENTLY "JERKED". IT SEEMED ALMOST AS IF GEARS WERE SLIPPING AND GETTING STUCK. I THOUGHT, THIS COULDN'T BE SAFE. UNFORTUNATELY, I HAD TO GET MY TOWED FOR SERVICE AFTER THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T MOVE BECAUSE IT WOULDN'T CHANGE GEARS. AFTER HAVING THE DIAGNOSED, I WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION FAILED DUE TO SOME "INTERNAL DEFECT" IN IT. I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT! ABSOLUTELY UNCONSCIONABLE! I DID SOME RESEARCH AND LEARNED GM HAD SOME RECALLS BETWEEN 2008 - 2010 DUE TO TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. I LOVED MY MALIBU 2LT PRIOR TO RECEIVING THIS NEWS ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION. IT APPEARS, GM NEEDS TO TAKE ANOTHER LOOK AT THE SAFETY AND PERFORMANCE ON THE TRANSMISSIONS OF THE 2010 MALIBU.

View Details

STEERING

11/22/2017 - WEST UNION, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LOST STEERING FUNCTIONALITY WHILE BEING OPERATED AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE SERVICE ESC WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS CORRECTED BY MANUALLY RESTARTING THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE RECENT FAILURES WERE NOT REMEDIED USING THIS METHOD DUE TO THE FAILURE BEING MORE SEVERE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 119,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2017 - ONTAIRO, NY
DRIVER TAIL LIGHT GOES IN AND OUT WHEN IT FEELS LIKE IT, AND MY SEAT BELT LGHT COMES ON AND DINGS EVEN THOUGH I HAVE MY SEAT BELT ON. ALSO MY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AS WELL EVEN THOUGH THE ROADS ARE DRY

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/20/2017 - ONTAIRO, NY
DRIVER TAIL LIGHT GOES IN AND OUT WHEN IT FEELS LIKE IT, AND MY SEAT BELT LGHT COMES ON AND DINGS EVEN THOUGH I HAVE MY SEAT BELT ON. ALSO MY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AS WELL EVEN THOUGH THE ROADS ARE DRY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds