Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 701 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Exterior Lighting (76) Seat Belts (8) Steering (178) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (133) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (17) Structure (33) Vehicle Speed Control (73)
Electronic Stability Control (108) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (94) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (17) Wheels (22)
Equipment (2) Power Train (75)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/14/2017 - VINCENNES, IN
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN TRAFFIC, THE TRANSMISSION STARTED TO ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING INTO NEUTRAL, SLIPPING SHIFTS WITHOUT POWER IN THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. WITH INTERMITTENT TRANSMISSION POWER THIS CAUSED A SERIOUS SITUATION IN TRAFFIC. I WAS LUCKILY ABLE TO GET OUT OF TRAFFIC AND LIMP IT HOME. THIS TRANSMISSION HAS 94,000 MILES ON IT. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER, THEY TOOK THE TRANSMISSION APART AND THE TRANSMISSION SUFFERED THE 3-5-R WAVE PLATE FAILURE, THE PLATE HAS A FLAW THAT CAUSES IT TO BREAK APART AND JUST CHEW UP YOUR TRANSMISSION, THIS PART IS A COMMON FAILURE THAT BREAKS AND A FULL REBUILD OF THE TRANSMISSION IS REQUIRED. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS IS AN ENGINEERING FLAW AND THE NEW PARTS THAT ARE USED TO REBUILD THE TRANSMISSION ARE RE-ENGINEERED TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A 6T40 TRANSMISSION, THE BIGGER BROTHER TO THIS TRANSMISSION THE (6T70 AND 6T75) HAS ALREADY BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS ENGINEERING FAILURE. CHEVY KNOW ABOUT THIS FAILURE BUT IS NOT RECALLING THE TRANSMISSION AND REFUSES TO FIX IT. IT COST ME 2500 DOLLARS AND ITS A DRIVING HAZARD WHEN THE TRANSMISSION GOES OUT IN TRAFFIC. THIS IS A DOCUMENTED FAILURE AND HAZARD AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2017 - JAMESTOWN, NY
CRUISE CONTROL WHEN ENGAGED MAINTAINS THE SPEED BUT WHEN CLIMBING A HILL THE RPM'S WON'T SHIFT THE CAR AND THEN ONCE THE CAR REACHES THE SET SPEED IT STILL WON'T SHIFT . THE SET SPEED WITH CRUISE CONTROLS WON'T STAY WHEN DECENDING DOWN A HILL BUT WILL INCREASE WITH SPEED AND WON'T MAINTAIN THE SPEED YOU SET IT AT. THIS IS BAD FOR THE ENGIN AND TRANSMISSION AS WHEN YOU DE ACTIVATE THE CRUISE CONTROLS THE CAR SHIFTS GEARS .

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2017 - JAMESTOWN, NY
MY CAR ONLY HAS 95897 MILES ON IT AND THEIRS SOMETHI G WRONG WITH THE ENGIN TRANSMISSION ... CARS BEEN WELL TAKEN CAR OF AND WHEN YOU CLIMB HILLS IT LOOSES POWER AND HAS A HARD TIME CLIMBING THE HILL.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/9/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ECSLIGHT COME ON AND THEN YOU LOSE POWER STEERING AND GET A ERROR SAYING POWER STEERING IF YOU TURN CAR OFF AND MAKE ON IT AGAIN LIGHT GOES OFF AND THE POWER STEERING COMES BACK CAR WAS ON HIGHWAY THIS AS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIME IN THE LAST TWO SATS

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ECSLIGHT COME ON AND THEN YOU LOSE POWER STEERING AND GET A ERROR SAYING POWER STEERING IF YOU TURN CAR OFF AND MAKE ON IT AGAIN LIGHT GOES OFF AND THE POWER STEERING COMES BACK CAR WAS ON HIGHWAY THIS AS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIME IN THE LAST TWO SATS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/6/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, IT LOST POWER AND SHUT OFF. AN HOUR LATER THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART, BUT SHUT OFF AGAIN AFTER APPROXIMATELY THREE MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLUTCH WAVE PLATES (3RD, 5TH, AND 10TH) FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,006.

View Details

ENGINE

1/3/2017 - BOONVILLE, NY
I WAS DRIVING AND THEN CAME TO A STOP TO PULL ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY.WHEN I TURNED ON THE HIGH WAY MY MALIBU WOULDN'T ACCELERATE AND ACTED AS IF IT WAS IN NEUTRAL, AS A SEMI PULLED UP BEHIND ME I HAD TO PUT IT ALMOST IN A DITCH SO I WOULDN'T GET HIT. MY MECHANIC SAYS ITS THE 3,5,R WAVE PLATE AND THAT HE LOOKED AT ALL THE MALIBU FORUMS ONLINE AND FOUND OUT THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN.I CONTACTED GM AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. NEVER BUYING A CHEVY AGAIN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/3/2017 - BOONVILLE, NY
I WAS DRIVING AND THEN CAME TO A STOP TO PULL ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY.WHEN I TURNED ON THE HIGH WAY MY MALIBU WOULDN'T ACCELERATE AND ACTED AS IF IT WAS IN NEUTRAL, AS A SEMI PULLED UP BEHIND ME I HAD TO PUT IT ALMOST IN A DITCH SO I WOULDN'T GET HIT. MY MECHANIC SAYS ITS THE 3,5,R WAVE PLATE AND THAT HE LOOKED AT ALL THE MALIBU FORUMS ONLINE AND FOUND OUT THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN.I CONTACTED GM AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. NEVER BUYING A CHEVY AGAIN

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/3/2017 - BOONVILLE, NY
I WAS DRIVING AND THEN CAME TO A STOP TO PULL ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY.WHEN I TURNED ON THE HIGH WAY MY MALIBU WOULDN'T ACCELERATE AND ACTED AS IF IT WAS IN NEUTRAL, AS A SEMI PULLED UP BEHIND ME I HAD TO PUT IT ALMOST IN A DITCH SO I WOULDN'T GET HIT. MY MECHANIC SAYS ITS THE 3,5,R WAVE PLATE AND THAT HE LOOKED AT ALL THE MALIBU FORUMS ONLINE AND FOUND OUT THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN.I CONTACTED GM AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. NEVER BUYING A CHEVY AGAIN

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2016 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED ABNORMALLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE REDUCED ENGINE POWER WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,575.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds