Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 733 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (102) Exterior Lighting (81) Seat Belts (8) Steering (192) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (138) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (18) Structure (34) Vehicle Speed Control (75)
Electronic Stability Control (114) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (99) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (63) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (17) Wheels (22)
Equipment (2) Power Train (78)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2017 - FORT WAYNE, IN
I TOOK MY CAR TO THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP TO DIAGNOSE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. THE CAR WAS SUDDENLY LOSING POWER WHEN ACCELERATING AND THE REVERSE GEAR WOULD, AT TIMES, FAIL TO ENGAGE. THE LOSS OF POWER OCCURRED AT SPEEDS ABOVE 20 MPH. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE TRANSMISSION+S 3-5-REVERSE GEAR. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I FOUND THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. IN 2015 GM ISSUED A SPECIAL POLICY (BULLETIN NO. 14404, DATED MARCH 2015) FOR THE 2007 TO 2009 CHEVY MALIBU (6 SPEED MODEL) THAT COVERS THE 3-5-REVERSE WAVE PLATE REPAIR FOR 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES. ALSO, I NOTICED ON THE DIAGNOSTIC SHEET THAT THE DEALERSHIP OMITTED THE PRODUCTION DATE OF THE VEHICLE BUT IT WAS OBVIOUSLY MANUFACTURED IN 2009. THE +IN-SERVICE DATE+ IS 12/15/09. BASED ON THE SITUATION I HAVE EXPERIENCED WITH MY CAR, THEY DID NOT FIX THIS DEFECT WHEN THEY INTRODUCED THE 2010 MODEL. I EXPLAINED THE ABOVE CIRCUMSTANCES TO THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND ALSO TO THEIR CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE BUT THEY REFUSE TO COVER THE REPAIRS FOR THEIR MANUFACTURING DEFECT. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2017 - POWHATAN, VA
WE OWN A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU LTZ, WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER TO PERFORM A RECALL FOR THE BRAKE LIGHTS COMING ON BY THEIR SELF AND STAYING ON TILL YOU TOUCH THE BRAKE, THEN THEY WILL GO OFF FOR 6 SECONDS THEN COME ON AGAIN. WE TOOK BACK TO THE DEALER TO LOOK AT IT AGAIN AND THEY SAID IT WAS BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH THIS TIME. I HAVE READ THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE CHANGED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH AND STILL HAD THE PROBLEM. I ALSO READ THAT THE BCM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM AFTER THE RECALL WAS DONE. THE DEALER PUT SOME DIELECTRIC SILICONE GREASE ON THE CONNECTOR AS A BAND-AID ON THE REAL PROBLEM. I ASSUME IF THE BCM NEEDS TO BE REPLACED THAT WOULD COST GM TO MUCH MONEY. I KNOW THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM AND BELIEVE IT HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE 2004 ON MANY DIFFERENT MODELS. PLEASE HELP US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2017 - POWHATAN, VA
WE OWN A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU LTZ, WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER TO PERFORM A RECALL FOR THE BRAKE LIGHTS COMING ON BY THEIR SELF AND STAYING ON TILL YOU TOUCH THE BRAKE, THEN THEY WILL GO OFF FOR 6 SECONDS THEN COME ON AGAIN. WE TOOK BACK TO THE DEALER TO LOOK AT IT AGAIN AND THEY SAID IT WAS BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH THIS TIME. I HAVE READ THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE CHANGED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH AND STILL HAD THE PROBLEM. I ALSO READ THAT THE BCM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM AFTER THE RECALL WAS DONE. THE DEALER PUT SOME DIELECTRIC SILICONE GREASE ON THE CONNECTOR AS A BAND-AID ON THE REAL PROBLEM. I ASSUME IF THE BCM NEEDS TO BE REPLACED THAT WOULD COST GM TO MUCH MONEY. I KNOW THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM AND BELIEVE IT HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE 2004 ON MANY DIFFERENT MODELS. PLEASE HELP US.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/14/2017 - POWHATAN, VA
WE OWN A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU LTZ, WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER TO PERFORM A RECALL FOR THE BRAKE LIGHTS COMING ON BY THEIR SELF AND STAYING ON TILL YOU TOUCH THE BRAKE, THEN THEY WILL GO OFF FOR 6 SECONDS THEN COME ON AGAIN. WE TOOK BACK TO THE DEALER TO LOOK AT IT AGAIN AND THEY SAID IT WAS BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH THIS TIME. I HAVE READ THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE CHANGED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH AND STILL HAD THE PROBLEM. I ALSO READ THAT THE BCM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM AFTER THE RECALL WAS DONE. THE DEALER PUT SOME DIELECTRIC SILICONE GREASE ON THE CONNECTOR AS A BAND-AID ON THE REAL PROBLEM. I ASSUME IF THE BCM NEEDS TO BE REPLACED THAT WOULD COST GM TO MUCH MONEY. I KNOW THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM AND BELIEVE IT HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE 2004 ON MANY DIFFERENT MODELS. PLEASE HELP US.

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2017 - BROWNSDALE, MN
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WILL LOSE POWER STEERING AND A WARNING CODE WILL DISPLAY ON THE DASH "SERVICE ESC" "SERVICE POWER STEERING". THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING OR WHILE PARKED. UPON RESTARTING THE CAR THE POWER STEERING WILL WORK FOR A BRIEF TIME BEFORE FAILING AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2017 - MORRIS PLAINS, NJ
ALMOST CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE INTO 65 MPH TRAFFIC AND RPM'S RED LINED AND I AM NOT GOING ANYWHERE AND I ALMOST GET HIT FROM BEHIND WITH ON-COMING TRAFFIC. NO 3RD OR 5TH GEAR. ALSO, FOUND NO REVERSE ONCE I WAS ABLE TO GET TO SAFETY. TURNS OUT TO BE A FAILED 3-5-R WAVE PLATE. SCARY STUFF WHEN YOU ARE RED LINING AND GOING NOWHERE! SENT INFORMATION TO CHEVROLET AS IT TURNS OUT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM (CRACKED 3-5-R WAVE PLATE) FOR 2008-2009 AND ALL THESE PARTS FAIL AT LESS THAN 100K MILES. TROUBLE I AM HAVING IS THAT CHEVROLET CLAIMS I DO NOT HAVE THE DEFECTIVE WAVE PLATE IN MY 2010, YET THE FAILURE IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE RECALL FOR EARLIER MODELS. $4000 LATER AND NO HELP FROM GM. YET, IF YOU GO ON LINE, TONS OF PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME WAVE PLATE PROBLEM AT LESS THAN 100K MILES FOR CARS LATER THAN 2009. VERY UNSAFE AND DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS FORTUNATE TO NOT GET REAR ENDED BY A CAR IN MERGING TRAFFIC. OTHERS MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY. GM NEEDS TO ADMIT THE TRANSMISSION DESIGN FLAW WITH THE WAVE PLATE AND RECALL ALL MALIBU CARS FROM 2008-2012 BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED. MY CLAIM IS IF I HAVE THE SAME WAVE PLATE ISSUE AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES THEN EITHER I DO NOT HAVE THE NEW/IMPROVED WAVE PLATE SPECIFICATION OR IT'S AN INHERENT DESIGN FLAW. EITHER WAY, GM SHOULD RECALL THIS PROBLEM FOR SAFETY REASONS. I HAVE ATTACHED THE SB FOR 2008-2009.

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2017 - OSHKOSH, WI
SYMPTOMS STARTED OCCASIONALLY MAINLY WHILE GOING STRAIGHT, AT ANY SPEED, WOULD STAY OFF UNTIL I RESTARTED THE CAR, NOW IT INCREASED TO ALL THE TIMEN WITHIN A FEW MONTHS. WHEN ELECTRIC POWER STEERING IS ON THE STEERING WHEEL WILL SHAKE IN PARK...AND WOULD JERK THE STEERING WHEEL WHILE DRIVING. POWER STEERING GOES OUT.. SAYS TO SERVICE POWER STEERING AND SERVICE ESC. MAKES IT VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER ESPECIALLY AND THE LOWER SPEEDS, I FEEL LIKE I AM DRIVING AS IF I AM DRIVINT A SEMI, FORCES ME TO TAKE WIDER TURNS. DID CONTACT GM, THEY DIDN'T SEEM TO CARE THAT MY CAR HAS SAME SYMPTOMS AS OTHER PREVIOUSLY RECALLED VEHICLES. THE CAR WAS OUT OF THE SPECIAL WARRANTY GM ISSUED DUE TO MILEAGE, I HOWEVER BOUGHT THE CAR USED WITH 170,000 IT HAD ALREADY SURPASSED THE WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/12/2017 - JAMESTOWN, NY
SIDE IMPACT AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY WHEN A CAR SMASHED INTO THE SIDE OF ME ... I WAS DOING 30MPH WHEN I WAS HIT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. POLICE REPORT WAS MADE EVEN THO THE AIRBAG DIDN'T GO OFF...

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/9/2017 - NORTH ATTLEBORO, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,400.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2017 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. I HAVE A 2010 CHEVY MALIBU THAT SHOULD BE INCLUDED INTO THE TAKATA RECALL. I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR TWO WEEKS AGO AND "SERVICE AIR BAG" CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING. AFTER FURTHER INVESTING, GM NEVER ISSUE AN ACTUAL RECALL FOR THE 2010 CHEVY MALIBU. INSTEAD THEY CREATED A "MALIBU SAFETY PROGRAM" THAT ONLY INCLUDES 2010 CHEVY MALIBU ENDING IN THE VIN NUMBERS OF: A4100001 A4166698 AF100056 AND AF271265. MY VIN NUMBER ISN'T INCLUDED IN THIS LIST. THEREFORE I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. FOR AN ISSUE THAT IS OUT OF MY CONTROL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds