Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 768 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (105) Exterior Lighting (82) Seat Belts (8) Steering (201) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (145) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (19) Structure (35) Vehicle Speed Control (76)
Electronic Stability Control (119) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (105) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (69) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (18) Wheels (22)
Equipment (2) Power Train (82)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/20/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TAKATA RECALL THE BREAKS ARE COMING ON WHEN THE BREAK IS NOT ENGAGED AND WHEN THE BREAK LIGHT IS ENGAGED IT DOESN'T COME ON. I HAVE BEEN TO GET A BREAK LIGHT SWITCHED OUT TWICE AND STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. OVER AND OVER AND THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT ALSO SEEMS TO KEEP COMING ON AND THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHY. I AM WASTING MONEY BECAUSE NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIGURE I THEY PROBLEM. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE UNDER RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TAKATA RECALL THE BREAKS ARE COMING ON WHEN THE BREAK IS NOT ENGAGED AND WHEN THE BREAK LIGHT IS ENGAGED IT DOESN'T COME ON. I HAVE BEEN TO GET A BREAK LIGHT SWITCHED OUT TWICE AND STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. OVER AND OVER AND THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT ALSO SEEMS TO KEEP COMING ON AND THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHY. I AM WASTING MONEY BECAUSE NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIGURE I THEY PROBLEM. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE UNDER RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/19/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER AND A FRONT PASSENGER HAD BEEN SEATED IN THE SEATS, THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND WITH NO WARNING THE SIDE AIR BAGS ON BOTH SIDES INADVERTENTLY DEPLOYED WITH FORCE. IN ADDITION, ANOTHER AIR BAG IN THE CEILING DEPLOYED AS WELL. AN UNKNOWN SUBSTANCE EMITTED INTO THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE INSURANCE COMPANY WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO DIAGNOSE AND PROVIDE A SOLUTION TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN IF HIGH HUMIDITY WAS A FACTOR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/17/2017 - SILVERDALE, WA
THE "SERVICE AIRBAG SOON" MESSAGE KEEPS COMING ON. I HAD A DIAGNOSTIC DONE AT THE DEALERSHIP. THEY INDICATED THAT THE AIRBAG MODULE IS FAULTY. THE CAR IS ONLY 7YRS OLD AND HAS LESS THAN 40,000 MILES ON IT, THIS SHOULD NOT BE AN ISSUE. SINCE IT IS A MANUFACTURES FAULTY PART I FEEL THAT THEY SHOULD PAY FOR THE REPLACEMENT PART AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS CAR!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/15/2017 - SPRING, TX
SINCE I DROVE THIS CAR OFF THE LOT IN 2010, ONCE EVERY SIX MONTHS OR SO, THIS CAR WILL SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFT GREATLY REDUCING THE SPEED. IT IS THE EQUIVALENT OF ENGINE BRAKING. IT WAS UNDER AN UNFIXED RECALL WHEN I PURCHASED IT. THE DEALERSHIP, PARKWAY CHEVROLET, MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT IT STILL PERSISTS TO THIS DAY. GIVEN THE SUDDEN DECELERATION THAT THIS CAUSES, AND THE ONLY RESOLUTION IS TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART IT, I FEEL THIS PROBLEM CAN CAUSE DEATH TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE CAR. THE MOST COMMON TIME THAT THIS HAPPENS IS WHEN THE DRIVER IS CHANGING LANES AND THEY GO OVER A RAISED LANE MARKER - ONE OF THOSE LITTLE DOTS SEPARATING LANES IN THE SOUTHERN STATES. THE LAST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS TWO DAYS AGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2017 - SPRING, TX
SINCE I DROVE THIS CAR OFF THE LOT IN 2010, ONCE EVERY SIX MONTHS OR SO, THIS CAR WILL SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFT GREATLY REDUCING THE SPEED. IT IS THE EQUIVALENT OF ENGINE BRAKING. IT WAS UNDER AN UNFIXED RECALL WHEN I PURCHASED IT. THE DEALERSHIP, PARKWAY CHEVROLET, MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT IT STILL PERSISTS TO THIS DAY. GIVEN THE SUDDEN DECELERATION THAT THIS CAUSES, AND THE ONLY RESOLUTION IS TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART IT, I FEEL THIS PROBLEM CAN CAUSE DEATH TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE CAR. THE MOST COMMON TIME THAT THIS HAPPENS IS WHEN THE DRIVER IS CHANGING LANES AND THEY GO OVER A RAISED LANE MARKER - ONE OF THOSE LITTLE DOTS SEPARATING LANES IN THE SOUTHERN STATES. THE LAST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS TWO DAYS AGO.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/15/2017 - WENTZVILLE, MO
BACK IN APRIL OF 2013, THE WIPER STOPPED WORKING DURING HEAVY RAIN AND HEAVY WINDS. TOOK CAR TO LOU FUSZ CHEVROLET OF ST. PETERS, MO (WHICH IS WHERE THE CAR WAS FIRST BOUGHT IN JUNE 2010). MY WIFE AND I WERE ADVISED THAT WIPER TRANSMISSION/MODULE LOOSE AT MOTOR. THE WIPER MODULE ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. ON 6/30/14, DUE TO RAIN ON THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, THE WIPER STOPPED WORKING AGAIN, BUT DUE TO THIS OCCURED OVER A YEAR AGO AND 12,000 WARRANTY EXPIRED, MY WIFE AND WERE TOLD IT HAD TO BE REPLACED AGAIN AND WE HAD TO PAY FOR IT (MILEAGE 92284). ON 6/19/15, WIPER AGAIN GOES OUT DUE TO HEAVY RAIN ON THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY (MILEAGE 113245). IT WAS THEN DETERMINED THAT THE TECH FOUND THE WIPER TRANSMISSION LINK BAR WAS BROKEN. MY WIFE AND I NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH A CAR WITH WIPERS BREAKING DOWN LIKE THIS ONE HAS. UPDATE ON THE PROBLEM: THE WINSHIELD WIPER MOTER OCCURRED AGAIN TO WHERE IT WAS TAKEN TO THE LOU FUSZ ST PETERS, MO, LOCATION ON 5/22/17 WITH A MILEAGE OF 158455. THIS TIME MY WIFE AND I FIRST HAD TO PAY AROUND $400.00 TO REPAIR IT, AGAIN!! I HAVE ALREADY CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS ABOUT THESE ISSUE(S) TO NO AVAIL AT THIS TIME. MY CASE# WITH GM IS UNDER #8-2977838540. THIS IS NOW A TOTAL OF FOUR TIMES THE SAME ISSUE(S) WITH THE WINSHIELD WIPER MOTOR ON THE SAME CAR!!! THIS NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED AND/OR A RECALL NEEDS TO OCCUR. I HAVE ALSO SUBMITTED PREVIOUS OCCURRENCES OF THIS ON THIS WEBSITE UNDER #10735008, #10992948, AND #10995266. THIS IS SAFETY HAZARD!! NOW I AM ASKING SOMEONE FROM NHTSA TO CONTACT ME BY PHONE TO DISCUSS THIS SITUATION.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/15/2017 - WENTZVILLE, MO
ON 6/30/14, DUE TO RAIN ON THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, THE WIPER STOPPED WORKING AGAIN, BUT DUE TO THIS OCCURRED OVER A YEAR AGO AND 12,000 WARRANTY EXPIRED, MY WIFE AND WERE TOLD IT HAD TO BE REPLACED AGAIN AND WE HAD TO PAY FOR IT (MILEAGE 92284). THIS HAS ALSO BEEN FILED UNDER THIS WEBSITE UNDER 10735008 AND 10992948. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND IT NEEDS TO AT LEAST BE THOROUGHLY INVESTIGATED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2017 - MELROSE PARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. HOWARD PONTIAC OF AMHURST, ILLINOIS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PERFORMED A FUEL PUMP RELAY AND SEAT BELT RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/14/2017 - MELROSE PARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. HOWARD PONTIAC OF AMHURST, ILLINOIS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PERFORMED A FUEL PUMP RELAY AND SEAT BELT RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds