Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 620 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (87) Exterior Lighting (65) Seat Belts (8) Steering (165) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (117) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (17) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (62)
Electronic Stability Control (94) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (83) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (49) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (15) Wheels (19)
Equipment (2) Power Train (62)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/13/2016 - ELKIN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE "PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF" ERROR MESSAGE DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD WHILE THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WAS BEING OCCUPIED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/12/2016 - TRUMBULL, CT
DURING A TORRENTIAL DOWNPOUR, I SWITCHED ON MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS. I WAS TRAVELING AT 65 MILES PER HOUR ON THE HIGHWAY. AFTER SLOWING MY SPEED, I SWITCHED THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS TO THE HIGHEST SPEED. AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS, I HEARD A LOUD BANG, AND THE WIPERS COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING. THE ENTIRE WIPER ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR HAS ONLY 66,000 MILES ON IT. I'M LUCKY TO BE ALIVE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, BUT IT COULD HAVE ENDED IN TRAGEDY. THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM WITH THE WIPER MOTOR, BUT THE PART THAT CONNECTS THE MOTOR TO THE WIPER BLADES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/6/2016 - CHATHAM, IL
BRAKE LAMP MALFUNCTION. BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL BRAKE PEDAL PUSHED AT WHICH TIME, BRAKE LIGHTS EXTINGUISH. TRACTION CONTROL AND CRUISE CONTROL ALSO FAIL. SAME VEHICLE WITH SAME ISSUE WAS PREVIOUSLY SUBJECT TO SAFETY RECALL 13036. RECALL WAS COMPLETED AND ISSUE CONTINUED. BRAKE APPLY SENSOR WAS REPLACED, PRIOR TO RECALL AND ISSUE REMAINED. RECALL WORK WAS COMPLETED ON 11/15/14. ISSUES INTERMITTENTLY OCCUR AND IN JUNE 2016 VEHICLE TAKEN TO GM DEALER WHERE BRAKE APPLY SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ISSUE STILL REMAINS AS BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL PEDAL PUSHED, TRACTION CONTROL AND CRUISE CONTROL FAILURE. A PREVIOUS COMPLAINT WAS FILED WITH NHTSA REGARDING THIS VEHICLE AND ABOVE ISSUES PRIOR TO RECALL. ISSUES OCCUR WHEN VEHICLE IS STATIONARY, AND IN MOTION ON CITY STREETS AND INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS. MORE DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/6/2016 - CHATHAM, IL
BRAKE LAMP MALFUNCTION. BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL BRAKE PEDAL PUSHED AT WHICH TIME, BRAKE LIGHTS EXTINGUISH. TRACTION CONTROL AND CRUISE CONTROL ALSO FAIL. SAME VEHICLE WITH SAME ISSUE WAS PREVIOUSLY SUBJECT TO SAFETY RECALL 13036. RECALL WAS COMPLETED AND ISSUE CONTINUED. BRAKE APPLY SENSOR WAS REPLACED, PRIOR TO RECALL AND ISSUE REMAINED. RECALL WORK WAS COMPLETED ON 11/15/14. ISSUES INTERMITTENTLY OCCUR AND IN JUNE 2016 VEHICLE TAKEN TO GM DEALER WHERE BRAKE APPLY SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ISSUE STILL REMAINS AS BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL PEDAL PUSHED, TRACTION CONTROL AND CRUISE CONTROL FAILURE. A PREVIOUS COMPLAINT WAS FILED WITH NHTSA REGARDING THIS VEHICLE AND ABOVE ISSUES PRIOR TO RECALL. ISSUES OCCUR WHEN VEHICLE IS STATIONARY, AND IN MOTION ON CITY STREETS AND INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS. MORE DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/6/2016 - CHATHAM, IL
BRAKE LAMP MALFUNCTION. BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL BRAKE PEDAL PUSHED AT WHICH TIME, BRAKE LIGHTS EXTINGUISH. TRACTION CONTROL AND CRUISE CONTROL ALSO FAIL. SAME VEHICLE WITH SAME ISSUE WAS PREVIOUSLY SUBJECT TO SAFETY RECALL 13036. RECALL WAS COMPLETED AND ISSUE CONTINUED. BRAKE APPLY SENSOR WAS REPLACED, PRIOR TO RECALL AND ISSUE REMAINED. RECALL WORK WAS COMPLETED ON 11/15/14. ISSUES INTERMITTENTLY OCCUR AND IN JUNE 2016 VEHICLE TAKEN TO GM DEALER WHERE BRAKE APPLY SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ISSUE STILL REMAINS AS BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL PEDAL PUSHED, TRACTION CONTROL AND CRUISE CONTROL FAILURE. A PREVIOUS COMPLAINT WAS FILED WITH NHTSA REGARDING THIS VEHICLE AND ABOVE ISSUES PRIOR TO RECALL. ISSUES OCCUR WHEN VEHICLE IS STATIONARY, AND IN MOTION ON CITY STREETS AND INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS. MORE DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/6/2016 - KANNAPOLIS, NC
MY 2010 CHEVY MALIBU IS HAVING ISSUES WITH THE BREAK LIGHTS WORKING IN REVERSE, THE ESC TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR IS GOING OFF. WE HAVE REPLACED THE BREAK LIGHT SWITCH AND IT'S STILL NOT WORKING. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I AM AN AVID CHEVY PERSON, I HAVE HAD THE CAR IN FOR ALL RECALLS AND IT HAPPENED ABOUT A YEAR AFTER. CAR WAS IN MOTION

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2016 - KANNAPOLIS, NC
MY 2010 CHEVY MALIBU IS HAVING ISSUES WITH THE BREAK LIGHTS WORKING IN REVERSE, THE ESC TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR IS GOING OFF. WE HAVE REPLACED THE BREAK LIGHT SWITCH AND IT'S STILL NOT WORKING. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I AM AN AVID CHEVY PERSON, I HAVE HAD THE CAR IN FOR ALL RECALLS AND IT HAPPENED ABOUT A YEAR AFTER. CAR WAS IN MOTION

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/6/2016 - KANNAPOLIS, NC
MY 2010 CHEVY MALIBU IS HAVING ISSUES WITH THE BREAK LIGHTS WORKING IN REVERSE, THE ESC TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR IS GOING OFF. WE HAVE REPLACED THE BREAK LIGHT SWITCH AND IT'S STILL NOT WORKING. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I AM AN AVID CHEVY PERSON, I HAVE HAD THE CAR IN FOR ALL RECALLS AND IT HAPPENED ABOUT A YEAR AFTER. CAR WAS IN MOTION

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/3/2016 - WAYNESBORO, MS
THE AIR BAG LIGHT WON'T GO OFF. WHERE I BROUGHT THE CAR THEY CAME IT WAS A SENOR AND THEY THOUGHT THEY FIXED IT BUT THE LIGHT IS BACK ON IT COMES ON WHEN I'M DRIVING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - VALENCIA, PA
VEHICLE WAS MOVING AT ABOUT 35 MPH WHEN THE DRIVERS INFORMATION CENTER INDICATED A ELECTRONIC STABILITY SERVICE, TRACTION CONTROL SERVICE AND ESC OFF MESSAGES. THIS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES OVER A TWO DAY PERIOD. CAR WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS AND THEY SAID THAT THE COMPUTER HAD STORED A P0300 CODE WHICH IS ENGINE MISFIRE. THE ENGINE RUNS FINE HOWEVER THERE IS A SLIGHT VIBRATION AT IDLE WHILE IN PARK OR NEUTRAL. GM ALSO SENT OUT A LETTER TO ME STATING THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE POSISTION SENSOR THAT MAY CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN. THE DEALER DID NOT ATTEMPT TO DIAGNOS THE PROBLEM WITH THE SENSOR AND STATED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A BAD #2 CYCLINDER WITH COMPRESSION AT 100LBS. THE P0300 CODE CAN BE CAUSED BY THE VARIOUS ELECTRONIC MESSAGES THAT HAVE APPEARED AND THE ENGINE IS NOT THE PROBLEM. THEY WANTED TO TEAR IT DOWN AT A COST OF $2300 TO FIX A PROBLEM THAT DOES NOT EXIST. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 39000 MILES ON IT. THERE ARE NUMEROUS REPORTS OF THIS SAME ISSSUE WITH NHTSA AND GM HAS NOT DEALT WITH THE PROBLEM. ANOTHER ISSUE RELATING TO THIS IS THE FACT THAT THE ENGINE REDUCED POWER MESSAGE COMES ON IN SOME VEHILCLE AND THE CAR SLOWS DOWN AND IS VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE ON THE HIGWAYS. SO FAR MY CAR HAS NOT DONE THAT. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE SOME PRESSURE EXERTED ON GM TO CORRECT THESE MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH THEIR VEHICLE SINCE THE GOVERNMENT BAILED THEM OUT ALONG WITH OUR TAXPAYER FUNDS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds