Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Exterior Lighting (40) Seat Belts (6) Steering (77) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (64) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (10) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (47) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (21) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (13)
Equipment (2) Power Train (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/29/2014 - FINDLAY, OH
THE POWER STEERING ASSIST LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON IN MY CAR BUT THE POWER STEERING HAS WORKED. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TWICE AND WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM WAS NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT. IT WOULD COST HUNDREDS TO FIX. THE POWER STEERING FAILED, HOWEVER, WHEN I WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH. I PULLED OVER TURNED OFF THE IGNITION RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE POWER STEERING WORKED. GM HAS RECALLED EARLIER MODEL YEARS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. SEE RECALL NOTICE AT THIS URL: HTTP://MEDIA.GM.COM/MEDIA/US/EN/GM/NEWS.DETAIL.HTML/CONTENT/PAGES/NEWS/US/EN/2014/MAR/0331-POWER-STEERING.HTML GM HAS REFUSED TO REMEDY THIS SAFETY DEFECT, TELL ME THE PART AT ISSUE OR OR INFORM ME AS TO WHETHER IT IS THE SAME PART THAT LED TO THE RECALL ON THE EARLIER MODEL YEAR.

View Details

WHEELS

10/27/2014 - SHERIDAN, AR
THE RIM ON MY TIRE IS NOT WELDED TOGETHER....LOSING AIR DAILY AND HAS BEEN FOR A WHILE BUT GOT WORSE. NO IMPACT AT ALL THIS IS A DEFECT IN MANUFACTURING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/26/2014 - AURORA, IL
SHORTLY AFTER GETTING THE RECALL REPAIR FOR THE ABS LIGHTING ISSUE IN LATE AUGUST THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I HIT THE BRAKES HARD. AFTER A WHILE IT WENT OFF AND STAYED OFF UNTIL A FEW DAYS LATER WHEN A BACK SEAT PASSENGER CLOSED THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR HARD. IT STILL TO THIS DAY CONTINUES TO GO ON & OFF, SOMETIMES WHEN I HIT A BUMP, OR WHEN I 1ST START THE CAR. I CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD OUR CAR WAS NOT UNDER RECALL FOR THE RECENT AIRBAG ISSUE AND THAT FOR THEM TO INVESTIGATE THE ISSUE WOULD REQUIRE THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE. AND.. SINCE THE WARRANTY ON THE AIRBAG WAS ONLY 3YRS/36,000 MILES THE CHARGE TO ME WOULD BE 1HRS TIME ABOUT $125.00. I FIND THIS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE AND WILL ALSO BE FILING A COMPLAINT WITH GM.

View Details

STEERING

10/25/2014 - BAKERAFIELD, CA
MY SEAT BELT WARNING PINGS WHEN I AM BUCKLED UP AND GOES OFF AS FREQUENTLY AS IT WOULD IF I WAS NOT BUCKLED UP. MY "SERVICE AIR BAG" LIGHT RANDOMLY POPS UP MY CAR REVS WHEN IM DRIVING AT THE SAME PACE ON A FLAT ROAD. WHICH IS SCARY BECAUSE IT SPEEDS UP TOO. MY DRIVING WHEEL STICKS SOMETIMES. I FEEL LIKE ITS NOT A SAFE CAR I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN FEB THINKING IT WAS A GOOD INVESTMENT AND I REGRET IT 100%

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2014 - BRIDGEVILLE, PA
WENT INTO SHOP FOR RECALL OF THE RECALL ID # 103647 - ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ON 2010 CHEVY MALIBU. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK FROM SHOP. I NOW GET SERVICE AIR BAGS WARNING LIGHT ALL THE TIME ON MY DASH.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/24/2014 - BRIDGEVILLE, PA
WENT INTO SHOP FOR RECALL OF THE RECALL ID # 103647 - ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL ON 2010 CHEVY MALIBU. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK FROM SHOP. I NOW GET SERVICE AIR BAGS WARNING LIGHT ALL THE TIME ON MY DASH.

View Details

WHEELS

10/22/2014 - TERRY, MT
I WAS T-BONED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED ON THE PASSENGERS SIDE DOOR AND HIT MY DAUGHTER IN THE FACE. THE AIRBAG HAD FIBERS AND SUCH ON IT THAT WAS IMBEDDED IN MY DAUGHTERS EYE. SHE HAD TO HAVE SURGERY TO GET IT OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2014 - TERRY, MT
I WAS T-BONED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED ON THE PASSENGERS SIDE DOOR AND HIT MY DAUGHTER IN THE FACE. THE AIRBAG HAD FIBERS AND SUCH ON IT THAT WAS IMBEDDED IN MY DAUGHTERS EYE. SHE HAD TO HAVE SURGERY TO GET IT OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/22/2014 - TERRY, MT
I WAS T-BONED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED ON THE PASSENGERS SIDE DOOR AND HIT MY DAUGHTER IN THE FACE. THE AIRBAG HAD FIBERS AND SUCH ON IT THAT WAS IMBEDDED IN MY DAUGHTERS EYE. SHE HAD TO HAVE SURGERY TO GET IT OUT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2014 - NASHVILLE, TN
I WAS STOPPED TO WAIT ON ONCOMING CARS TO PASS TO TURN LEFT ONTO A STREET. AS I WAS ABOUT TO TURN WITH MY CHILDERN IN THE CAR THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND WOULD NOT TURN.IF, MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD HAVE NOT BEEN TURNED ALREADY, AS I WAS GETTING READY TO TURN, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT ON THE RIGHT SIDE WHERE MY CHILD WAS SITTING. I HAD NO OPTION BUT TO DRIVE UP ON THE CURB. THIS IS THE SAME SITUATION AS THE 2008 AND 2009 MODEL MALIBU'S WHICH HAVE A RECALL ON THEM FOR STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM GM'S RECALL #14V15300 RECALLED 3/31/14. OBVIOUSLY THIS RECALL NEEDS TO BE ADDED TO THE 2010 MODEL SINCE IT IS STILL OCCURING. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE FREELAND CHEV. WHERE THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN DUE TO THE BAD TORQUE SENSOR. THIS COSTED ME 689.00 TO REPLACE, I FEEL GM SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS AND ADD THE 2010 MODEL MALIBU TO THE RECALL LIST SO THAT I CAN BE REIMBURSED FOR THEIR ERROR AND SO THEIR CUSTOMERS THAT PUT TRUST IN PURCHASING THEIR VEHICLES ARE SAFE. TO NOTE I HAVE CONTACTED AND SPOKE WITH SEVERAL REPS AT GM NONE OF WHICH OFFERED ANY TYPE OF HELP WITH THIS MATTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds