Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 309 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (32) Steering (68) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (47) Exterior Lighting (33) Seat Belts (6) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (38) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (7) Suspension (5) Visibility (4)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (46) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/23/2014 - MONTICELLO, AR
I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. I HAD TO QUICKLY PULLOVER TO AVOID GETTING HIT BY ONCOMING CARS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/23/2014 - MILTON, WA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE HEADLIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL INTERMITTENTLY TURN OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,555 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE 40,328. SR

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2014 - WINTHROP, ME
MY 2010 MALIBU IS NOW MAKING A CREAKY/CLUNKY NOISE WHEN STEERING INTO A TURN. IT IS MOST NOTICEABLE AT SLOW SPEEDS. I KNOW THE POWER STEERING MOTOR HAS BEEN AN ISSUE IN PRIOR MODEL YEARS. THIS VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY UNDER THE RECALL FOR THE BRAKE LIGHT / TRACTION CONTROL / CRUISE CONTROL ISSUES UNDER RECALL # 13036. THERE HAS BEEN NO DIAGNOSIS DONE ON THE POWER STEERING AS I WILL BRING THIS TO THE DEALER'S ATTENTION WHEN I BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR THE KNOWN RECALL REPAIRS. THE CAR IS NOW GROUNDED UNTIL THE REPAIRS CAN BE MADE AS IT IS JUST TOO UNSAFE TO DRIVE AT THIS POINT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/22/2014 - LORIS, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED THERE WAS A SHORTAGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CLOCK WAS RESET TO 12:00 AM. THE LOW ENGINE COMPRESSION AND CHECK TRANSMISSION LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE ENGINE SKIPPED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER AND SHUT OFF. THE KEY WAS REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION FOR FIVE MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO ITS NORMAL OPERATIONS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER CONTACTED AND DID NOT OFFER A REMEDY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND THERE WERE NO REPAIRS COMPLETED ON THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 87,401.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/22/2014 - LORIS, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED THERE WAS A SHORTAGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CLOCK WAS RESET TO 12:00 AM. THE LOW ENGINE COMPRESSION AND CHECK TRANSMISSION LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE ENGINE SKIPPED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER AND SHUT OFF. THE KEY WAS REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION FOR FIVE MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO ITS NORMAL OPERATIONS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER CONTACTED AND DID NOT OFFER A REMEDY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND THERE WERE NO REPAIRS COMPLETED ON THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 87,401.

View Details

WHEELS

7/20/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
FACTORY INSTALL STEEL RIM IS LEAKING AIR AT THE RIM WELD SEAL. UNREPAIRABLE AND POSE A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. PURCHASE CERTIFIED VEHICLE LAST YEAR (JUN 2013) WITH A TWO (2) YEAR WARRANT. WAS INFORMED RIM WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANY AFTER ONE YEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
LOW BEAM FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHT OUT. HAD HEADLIGHT REPLACED AT DEALERSHIP WHERE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED ONLY FOR THE LIGHT TO GO OUT 1 WEEK LATER. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND THEY SUGGESTED I CONTACT NHTSA/GM FOR THIS PROBLEM. AFRAID FOR MY FAMILIES SAFETY WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT IN RAIN/FOG AND SO FOURTH, AS WELL AS A TRAFFIC FINE FOR DRIVING WITH ONE HEADLIGHT. PLEASE REFER TO NUMEROUS FORUMS ONLINE ( CHEVYMALIBUFORUM.COM & MOTOTREND.COM/CARS/2010/CHEVROLET/MALIBU WITH DRIVERS COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
LOW BEAM FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHT OUT. HAD HEADLIGHT REPLACED AT DEALERSHIP WHERE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED ONLY FOR THE LIGHT TO GO OUT 1 WEEK LATER. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND THEY SUGGESTED I CONTACT NHTSA/GM FOR THIS PROBLEM. AFRAID FOR MY FAMILIES SAFETY WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT IN RAIN/FOG AND SO FOURTH, AS WELL AS A TRAFFIC FINE FOR DRIVING WITH ONE HEADLIGHT. PLEASE REFER TO NUMEROUS FORUMS ONLINE ( CHEVYMALIBUFORUM.COM & MOTOTREND.COM/CARS/2010/CHEVROLET/MALIBU WITH DRIVERS COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/17/2014 - LEE'S SUMMIT , MO
IN JANUARY OF 2014 , MY FATHER NOTICED THERE WAS A HUGE DARK SPOT ON MY SIDE OF THE DRIVE WAY. SO LATER IN THE DAY I TAKE MY CAR TO VALVOLINE AND THEY LET ME KNOW THAT MY CARE IS LEAKING OIL. I TAKE THE CAR TO SALLAS AUTO SHOP AND THEY TELL ME THAT MY CARS AXEL SHAFT HAS A LOT OF PLAY, WHICH IS CAUSING THE AXEL SEAL TO LEAK, WHICH SHOULDNT BE THE CASE BECAUSE IT WAS REPAIRED BEFORE I PURCHASED THE CAR. THEY DEEM MY CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND THEY HAVE ME LEAVE MY CAR AT THE SHOP SO THEY CAN FIX IT. NOT EVEN A WEEK LATER ITS LEAKING AGAIN SO I TAKE IT BACK TO THEM AND THEY CANT REALLY FIGURE OUT WHY ITS STILL LEAKING SO THEY DO A FULL BODY INSPECTION AND FIND THAT, NOT ONLY HAS IT BEEN LEAKING BUT ITS BEEN SHOOTING SHRAP METAL INTO MY TRANSMISSION(CAUSING ME TO LATER HAVE TO ACTUALLY REPLACE THE WHOLE TRANSMISSION). SO I TAKE MY CAR BACK TO THE GUY I BOUGHT IT FROM AND HE TRIES TO FIX IT AND CLAIMS HE STOPPED THE LEAK. NOT TRUSTING HIS SKILLS I FINALLY TAKE IT TO CHEVY AND AFTER HAVING IT "FIXED" SEVERAL PRIOR TIMES, CHEVY ACTUALLY FIXES IT THIS TIME AROUND. APPARENETLY THERE IS A SPECIAL TOOL THAT HAS TO BE USED TO REPAIR THIS PARTICULAR PART THAT NOT A LOT OF MECHANICS HAVE, BUT CHEVY DOES. IVE DONE MY RESEARCH ONLINE AND THIS HAS HAPPENED TO A FEW OTHER PEOPLE, WHICH SEEMS TO BE A MANUFACTURING ISSUE. BECAUSE OF THE LEAK MY CAR WAS DEEMED UNDRIVABLE FOR PREVENTION OF AN ACCIDENT, I WAS OUT OF A CAR FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND A HALF AS WELL AS THE COSTS OF GETTING THIS PROBLEM REPAIRED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2014 - NAUGATUCK, CT
WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY THE SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AS DID THE ESC WARNING LIGHT. I TRIED TO ENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL BUT IT WOULD NOT WORK. WE STOPPED AT A REST AREA AND TURNED THE IGNITION OFF FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES. WE RESUMED OUR TRIP WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED AND TRAVELED FOR APPROX. 10 MINUTES. AT THAT POINT THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT WORK. EVERY TIME WE DRIVE THE CAR NOW, THE WARNING LIGHTS NOW COME ON WITHIN A QUATER MILE. I SAW A RECALL FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM BUT WAS TOLD MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED.THE CAR IS AT THE DEALERS AND WILL BE REPAIRED. HOPEFULLY. I THINK MY CAR AND MANY OTHERS SHOULD BE UNDER A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds