Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 340 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Exterior Lighting (37) Seat Belts (6) Steering (70) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (59) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (9) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (44) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (49) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (20) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Power Train (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/18/2014 - NAPLES, FL
CAR WAS RECALLED FOR #13036 FROM ESTERO BAY CHEVROLET 9/05/2014 ESTERO FLORIDA.THE CAR IS STILL MALFUNCTIONING. TAKEN CAR BACK TO DEALER, THEY STATED THEY CHECK THE WORK DONE. THE CAR STILL SHIFT OUT PARK AND GETS STUFF IN PARK AND WILL NOT SHIFT OUT WITHOUT FORCING THE SHIFTER AND THE BRAKE. 9/18/2014 TAKEN CAR BACK TO DEALER AND TOLD THEM THE CAR IS STILL MALFUNCTIONING. THE SAID IT DID NOT DO IT FOR THEM. I STATED YOU NEED TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR AT LEAST HALF HOUR TO MALFUNCTION. I FEEL GM IS TRYING TO FIX THE PROBLEM THE CHEAPEST WAY POSSIBLE, BY PLACING A WASHER AND GREASE ON THE WIRE HARNESS. I FEEL THE ENTIRE BCM ( BRAKE STABILTY COMTROL MODULE) WIRE HARNESS SHOULD BE REPLACED. THEY HAVE HAS THE CAR FOR 2.1/2 DAYS ANC OULD NOT FIX IT. I HAVE PROCEEDS TO CALL GM ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.. I HAVE NOT DRIVEN THIS CAR IN 5 MONTHS BECAUSE OF THE PROBLEMS TO THE CAR. THIS CAR IS USED BY MY DAUGHTER AND MY INFANT GRANDSON. I NOW HAVE BEEN MAKING CAR PAYMENTS ON IT FOR 5 MONTHS AND COULD NOT USE IT. VERY DISAPPOINTMEND IN GM..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I WAS TRYING TO REVERSE MY 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU LS WHEN I REALIZED I COULDN'T GET MY CAR OUT OF PARK. THE SHIFT CABLE IN MY TRANSMISSION IS BROKEN! THIS SAME SHIFT CABLE THAT WAS REPLACED DURING THE FIRST ROUND OF RECALLS BACK IN EARLY 2013 IS NOW BROKEN!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/14/2014 - MESA, AZ
GASELINE LEAKS FROM TOP OF GAS TANK. EXCESS FLOWS DOWN THE SIDE ONTO TANK SKID PLATE AND EXHAUST PIPES. REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP IMMEDIATELY AT $700 COST. THE LEAK APPEARED TO BE COMING FROM THE FUEL LINE COMING DIRECTLY OUT OF THE FUEL PUMP. NO GAS ODOR HAS BEEN DETECTED SINCE REPAIR. I FOUND OUT THIS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE FOR OTHER MALIBU OWNERS. TO ME, HAVING GASLINE LEAKING ONTO EXHAUST PIPES AND IT BEING A COMMON ACCURANCE SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY NHTSA

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2014 - SHARTSBURG, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE HEAD ON AND ONLY THE AIR BAG IN THE STEERING WHEEL DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BROKEN HIP, NECK AND FOOT AND BACK INJURIES AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED CHEST, BACK AND SHOULDER INJURIES AND BOTH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. BOTH VEHICLES WERE DESTROYED. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/11/2014 - WILMINGTON, NC
WHEN I WENT TO START THE CAR IT STARTED SPUTTERING. IT THEN HAD THE SERVICE ESC LIGHT COME ONE. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND WENT TO RESTART IT. IT STARTED SHACKING AND SPUTTERING AND THEN SAID TRACTION CONTROL. I WENT TO TRY AND DRIVE IT AND IT WOULD NOT LET ME GO OVER 10 MPH. IT ALSO WOULD HESITATE FOR ABOUT 3 TO 4 SECONDS. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE CHEVY PLACE. WHEN I GOT HOME I HAD A LETTER IN THE MAIL DISCUSSING A RECENT RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. IT SEEMED TO HAVE ALL THE SAME ISSUES THAT I HAD EXPERIENCED IN THE LETTER. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CALLED ME THE NEXT MORNING THEY STATED THEY BELIEVED IT WAS SOMETHING OTHER THAN THE RECALL CAUSING THE PROBLEM. THEY STATED THEY WOULD DO THE RECALL AND LET ME KNOW. AFTER THEY DID THE RECALL THEY STATED IT STILL DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND THAT IT MIGHT BE A FUEL ISSUE. I AM WAITING FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST, BUT I FIND IT VERY COINCIDENTAL THAT THERE WAS A RECALL AND MY CAR IS ACTING UP, BUT EVERYONE IS TELLING ME THE TWO ARE NOT RELATED. THEY ARE ALSO TELLING ME IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND I AM HAVING TO PAY TO HAVE IT FIXED. IT SHOULD NOT BE HAVING THESE ISSUES WITH LESS THAN 55,000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2014 - PERRY HALL, MD
FOLLOWED SAFETY RECALL LETTER INSTRUCTIONS TO SCHEDULE INSTALLATION OF BODY CONTROL MODULE PART KOOZ CHEVY DEALER IN WHITE MARSH, MD SAYS THEY DO NOT HAVE PART AND WILL TAKE 3 WEEKS TO ORDER I OBJECT TO THIS FAILURE SINCE LETTER SAYS TO ACT QUICKLY SINCE I AM AT RISK OF CRASH

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2014 - OGDEN, UT
WHILE GOING THRU A TURN THE INPUT SHAFT CAME OUT OF THE RACK AND PINON CAUSING LOSS OF STEERING. WHEELS WENT STRAIGHT CAUSING THE CAR TO JUMP THE CURB AND STRIKE BOULDERS IN THE LAND SCAPE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/7/2014 - CHARLESTON, IL
INTERIOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE LIGHTS IN THE DASHBOARD---DASH LIGHTS (DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER) AND RADIO LIGHTS OCCASIONALLY DO NOT COME ON AND/OR FREQUENTLY GO OFF WHILE DRIVING. RADIO WILL BE WORKING THEN AUX IMPUT DEVICE WILL APPEAR AND THE RADIO STOPS WORKING. ALSO THE RADIO LIGHTS WILL TILE AT TIMES AND THEN START ROLLING IN RECTANGULAR LINES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/7/2014 - CHARLESTON, IL
INTERIOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE LIGHTS IN THE DASHBOARD---DASH LIGHTS (DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER) AND RADIO LIGHTS OCCASIONALLY DO NOT COME ON AND/OR FREQUENTLY GO OFF WHILE DRIVING. RADIO WILL BE WORKING THEN AUX IMPUT DEVICE WILL APPEAR AND THE RADIO STOPS WORKING. ALSO THE RADIO LIGHTS WILL TILE AT TIMES AND THEN START ROLLING IN RECTANGULAR LINES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/7/2014 - CHARLESTON, IL
INTERIOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE LIGHTS IN THE DASHBOARD---DASH LIGHTS (DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER) AND RADIO LIGHTS OCCASIONALLY DO NOT COME ON AND/OR FREQUENTLY GO OFF WHILE DRIVING. RADIO WILL BE WORKING THEN AUX IMPUT DEVICE WILL APPEAR AND THE RADIO STOPS WORKING. ALSO THE RADIO LIGHTS WILL TILE AT TIMES AND THEN START ROLLING IN RECTANGULAR LINES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds