Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 447 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (68) Exterior Lighting (44) Seat Belts (7) Steering (126) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (77) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (12) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electronic Stability Control (56) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (53) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Traction Control System (8) Wheels (13)
Equipment (2) Power Train (44)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/27/2015 - CONCORD, MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE DRIVER WAS DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE DRIVER HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO TURN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE ABOUT WHAT WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL TORQUE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. OO

View Details

STEERING

3/27/2015 - CONCORD, MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE DRIVER WAS DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE DRIVER HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO TURN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE ABOUT WHAT WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL TORQUE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. OO

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2015 - BALDWINSVILLE, NY
WHEN I STARTED MY VEHICLE, AN INDICATOR LIGHT IMMEDIATELY REPORTED A NEED TO SERVICE MY ESC AND MY POWER STEERING WAS DISABLED. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, IT SEEMED TO CORRECT ITSELF. NOW, WHEN DRIVING, MY STEERING WHEEL VIBRATES WHEN THERE IS NO TORQUE APPLIED TO THE WHEEL AND MAKES A CHATTERING NOISE PERIODICALLY. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR A WEEK NOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
YESTERDAY I SENT AN E-MAIL ABOUT THE TURN SIGNAL INDICATOR ARM MALFUNCTIONING FOR THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL ON MY 2010 CHEVY MALIBU. IT GOT TO THE POINT YESTERDAY THAT IF I WANTED TO INDICATE A RIGHT TURN I HAD TO CONSTANTLY HOLD UP THE ARM TO GET IT TO SIGNAL. TODAY I TOOK IT IN TO BE REPAIRED AND IT COST ME $218.00. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT HE HAS REPLACED CLOSE TO A HUNDRED OF THESE IN THE LAST FEW YEARS AND THAT IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH GM PRODUCTS. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE AND IT COULD HAVE GOTTEN ME PULLED OVER BY A POLICEMAN FOR NOT SIGNALING. ALL THE OTHER CARS THAT I'VE OWNED HAVE NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS WHY WE WON'T BE BUYING ANY OTHER GM PRODUCTS. WE'VE HAD TO TAKE THE MALIBU IN FOR A TOTAL OF 5 RECALLS SO FAR. COME ON NOW -- DON'T YOU THINK THIS IS A BIT EXCESSIVE??

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN TRIED TO PUT ON THE TURN SIGNAL FOR THE DIRECTION TO THE RIGHT, THE TURN SIGNAL ARM WOULDN'T ENGAGE AND HAD TO TRY SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT TO SIGNAL. SINCE THEN, THE TURN SIGNAL ARM ONLY WORKS INTERMITTENTLY.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
POWER STEERING WENT OUT WITHOUT ANY INDICATION!!!

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2015 - MILLBURY, MA
LAST SPRING I HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY 2010 CHEVY MALIBU WITH THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY. THE ELECTRONIC STEERING COLUMN ASSEMBLY FAILED RESULTING IN NO POWER STEERING. AFTER RESEARCH I BECAME AWARE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH CHEVY MALIBU'S BUT WAS ONLY COVERED IN RECALLS UNTIL 2009. I PAID FOR REPAIR ON THIS OUT OF POCKET LIKE MANY OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAVE FILED COMPLAINTS AS SEEN WITH RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET. I HAVE JUST DISCOVERED THE COMPANY THAT MADE THE STEERING COLUMN FOR GM, DORMAN, IS RECALLING THEIR STEERING COLUMN THAT WAS INSTALLED IN THE 2010 CHEVY MALIBU. THIS RECALL WAS POSTED IN JULY. WITH THE TROUBLE GM HAS BEEN THROUGH THEY SHOULD BE ON A BETTER HONOR SYSTEM. THIS CAR WAS MANUFACTURED BY GENERAL MOTORS AND SHOULD BE RECALLED BY GENERAL MOTORS WHO SHOULD BE REIMBURSED BY DORMAN. THE PHONE NUMBER FOR DORMAN IS 1-800-523-2492 AND YOU COULD POTENTIALLY BE REIMBURSED BUT YOU WILL NEED THE PART NUMBER OF THE DEFECTIVE STEERING COLUMN. GENERAL MOTORS OFFERS NO COOPERATION IN PART NUMBER INFORMATION. EVEN WITH PREVIOUS CALLS I HAD WITH GM SAYING ALL PARTS USED IN CARS WERE IDENTIFIED BY THE VIN NUMBER OF THE CAR SO THEY KNOW THE ORIGIN WHERE ALL PARTS WERE MANUFACTURED. IT APPEARS TO BE A FINGER POINTING GAME AND THE LOSER IS THE CONSUMER.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

3/18/2015 - FEDERAL WAY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE REAR OF THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BECAME EXTREMELY HOT WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE HEATED SEATS. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT A HOLE WAS BURNED THROUGH THE SEAT BACK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELEMENTS IN THE SEAT WERE FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/16/2015 - MIDDLETOWN, NY
THE POWER STEELING WENT ON THE CAR. IT WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE WHEEL. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON IN THE VEHICLE. APPARANTLY THIS HAS BEEN THE CASE FOR ALL OF THE CHEVY MALIBU'S. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND SHOULD BE PART OF A RECALL LIKE THE PREVIOUS YEARS WERE. I THINK THERE NEEDS TO BE SOME CHANGES TO THE POWER STEERING COLUMNS TO ENSURE THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN IN THE FUTURE MAKES AND CHEVY NEEDS TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND ISSUE A RECALL ON THE 2010 MALIBU TO COVER THIS. IT IS ONLY RIGHT!

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2015 - NORTH MANCHESTER, IN
WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN A CAR FROM A SIDE ROAD, FAILED TO STOP AT THE SIGN. I SWERVED TO AVOID...WHICH I DID. AND MY POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON, ALONG WITH MY ECS. WARNING LIGHT. I NOW HAVE NO POWER STEERING. ALTHOUGH IT DOES RESET IT'S SELF AFTER SHUTTING IT OFF. BUT WILL COME BACK ON SORT AFTER IT IS RUNNING AGAIN. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS IF IT WERE A 09, SINCE MINE IS A 2010 THERE'S NOT. NOTHING CHANGED BETWEEN THE TWO. SO U ASK WHY IS MINE NOT INCLUDED?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds