Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 654 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (95) Exterior Lighting (73) Seat Belts (8) Steering (167) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (123) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (17) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (66)
Electronic Stability Control (103) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (90) Suspension (6) Visibility (5)
Engine (53) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Traction Control System (16) Wheels (20)
Equipment (2) Power Train (69)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 103
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/24/2016 - ROSCOE, IL
I GET THE SERVICE ESC ALERT AND WHEN I BRAKE, MY BRAKE LIGHTS DON'T LIGHT UP BUT WHEN I'M NOT BRAKING, THEY DO NOT LIGHT UP. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR AT LEAST TWO YEARS OFF AND ON

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/18/2016 - IMLAY CITY, MI
THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL RANDOMLY STAY LOCKED EVEN WHEN ITS NOT LOCKED. THIS IS A SAFTEY HAZARD. YOU CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE LOCK ACTUATOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/14/2016 - LUBBOCK, TX
MY "SERVICE AIR BAGS" LIGHT KEPT COMING ON AND THEN REMAINING ON CONTINUALLY. I FOUND A LETTER WRITTEN BY THE DIRECTOR OF CUSTOMER & RELATIONSHIP SERVICES AT CHEVY BACK IN 2010 THAT ADDRESSED THIS PROBLEM AND STATED THAT "TO ENHANCE SIDE IMPACT PROTECTION, YOUR GM DEALERS WILL UPDATE THE WIRING HARNESS FOR BOTH FRONT SEAT SIDE IMPACT AIRBAGS. THIS SERVICE WILL BE PERFORMED FOR YOU AT NO CHARGE." I CONTACTED THE DEALER AT MESSER CHEVY IN LUBBOCK, TX, AND ALSO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT CHEVY. I OPENED UP CASE #8-2314213550 ON 8/19/16, AND I WAS TOLD TO GET A DIAGNOSTICS DONE AT THE DEALER, WHICH I DID. I THEN FOUND OUT THE CASE HAD BEEN ARBITRARILY CLOSED THE SAME DAY IT WAS OPENED! NOW CHEVROLET STATES THAT THE CASE WAS REOPENED ON 9/7/16. I JUST WANT THE PROBLEM FIXED FREE OF CHARGE SINCE THE PREVIOUS OWNER SHOULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS WHEN CHEVY WAS OFFERING THE "SOFT RECALL" REPAIR AT NO CHARGE. CHEVY CALLED IT A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM AT THE TIME TO AVOID AN AIRBAG RECALL MEDIA HYPE. I ASSUME THIS ISN'T RELATED TO ANY TAKATA AIRBAG PROBLEM, BUT IT IS A POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD! I AM GETTING THE RUNAROUND FROM BOTH CHEVROLET AND THE DEALER, AND I JUST THE PROBLEM RESOLVED. THE DEALER TURNED OFF THE WARNING LIGHT, BUT NO REPAIRS HAVE BEEN DONE TO DATE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WAS TURNING ONTO THE INTERSTATE AND THE RPM WAS AT 5 BUT I WAS ONLY GOING 20 MPH.

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2016 - PULLALLUP, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE IDLING, THE ENGINE HESITATED AND THE RPM'S RANDOMLY INCREASED AND DECREASED. ALSO, THE SERVICE TRACTION, ESC, AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MMANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/11/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
I HAD TO HAVE OVER $2500 WORTH OF WORK DONE TO MY CAR, WHICH HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH SOME TORQUE SENSOR AND OTHER PARTS - I SEE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON OTHER CHEVY MALIBU'S IN PREVIOUS MODEL YEARS. I AM WONDERING HOW LONG THIS RECALL WILL TAKE, MY YEAR IS 2010 AND NOT CURRENTLY ON THE RECALL LIST. PRIOR TO THAT, I HAD JUST PAID $2000 FOR OTHER WORK NEEDED ON THIS VEHICLE THAT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I'VE HAD SO MANY ISSUES W/THIS CAR. I HAVE RECEIPTS BUT THEY ARE CURRENTLY IN STORAGE - I AM UNABLE TO UPLOAD THEM RIGHT NOW.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
I HAD TO HAVE OVER $2500 WORTH OF WORK DONE TO MY CAR, WHICH HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH SOME TORQUE SENSOR AND OTHER PARTS - I SEE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON OTHER CHEVY MALIBU'S IN PREVIOUS MODEL YEARS. I AM WONDERING HOW LONG THIS RECALL WILL TAKE, MY YEAR IS 2010 AND NOT CURRENTLY ON THE RECALL LIST. PRIOR TO THAT, I HAD JUST PAID $2000 FOR OTHER WORK NEEDED ON THIS VEHICLE THAT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I'VE HAD SO MANY ISSUES W/THIS CAR. I HAVE RECEIPTS BUT THEY ARE CURRENTLY IN STORAGE - I AM UNABLE TO UPLOAD THEM RIGHT NOW.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/11/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
I HAD TO HAVE OVER $2500 WORTH OF WORK DONE TO MY CAR, WHICH HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH SOME TORQUE SENSOR AND OTHER PARTS - I SEE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON OTHER CHEVY MALIBU'S IN PREVIOUS MODEL YEARS. I AM WONDERING HOW LONG THIS RECALL WILL TAKE, MY YEAR IS 2010 AND NOT CURRENTLY ON THE RECALL LIST. PRIOR TO THAT, I HAD JUST PAID $2000 FOR OTHER WORK NEEDED ON THIS VEHICLE THAT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I'VE HAD SO MANY ISSUES W/THIS CAR. I HAVE RECEIPTS BUT THEY ARE CURRENTLY IN STORAGE - I AM UNABLE TO UPLOAD THEM RIGHT NOW.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2016 - SAINT JOSEPH, MO
MY SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT RECENTLY CAME ON. IT STARTED ONLY COMING ON WHEN A PASSENGER WOULD GET IN OR OUT OF THE CAR. NOW THE LIGHT IS ON AND SENDS ME A NOTIFICATION THAT STATES "SERVICE AIRBAG" ACROSS THE DISPLAY ON THE DASHBOARD JUST UNDER THE SPEEDOMETER. THE LIGHT COMES ON AS SOON AS I START MY CAR AND REMAINS ON. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT AND THE AIRBAGS HAVE NEVER DEPLOYED. WHY IS THE SERVICE AIRBAG NOTIFICATION COMING ON?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2016 - CLEARLAKE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 103
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds