Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 379 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (67) Exterior Lighting (42) Seat Belts (6) Steering (82) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (69) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (10) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (53) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (51) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (25) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Traction Control System (6) Wheels (13)
Equipment (2) Power Train (36)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/16/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 GENERAL MOTORS MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE BACKING OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE THE STEERING ABILITY SEIZED. AFTER APPROXIMATELY AN HOUR THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AGAIN AND DRIVEN HOME. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED INFORMING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER OF THE ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE VIN WAS NOT PART OF A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000. BP

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/15/2014 - ACWORTH, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND ALL AT ONCE THE CAR LOST POWER. THE ESC, CHECKING LIGHT, AND ENGINE POWER REDUCE COME ACROSS THE DISPLAY. I COULD NOT GO OVER 20MPHS, BUT I'M GLAD I WASN'T FAR FROM HOME NOR ANY CAR BEHIND ME AT THE TIME THIS HAPPEN. I WILL BE TAKING MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP DOWN THE STREET FROM MY HOUSE AS SOON AS THEY OPEN UP AT 0700 MONDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2014 TO GET IT CHECK OUT. THIS SCARED ME SO BAD THAT I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. THIS IS SO UNSAFE FOR HIGHWAY TRAVELING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/15/2014 - ACWORTH, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND ALL AT ONCE THE CAR LOST POWER. THE ESC, CHECKING LIGHT, AND ENGINE POWER REDUCE COME ACROSS THE DISPLAY. I COULD NOT GO OVER 20MPHS, BUT I'M GLAD I WASN'T FAR FROM HOME NOR ANY CAR BEHIND ME AT THE TIME THIS HAPPEN. I WILL BE TAKING MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP DOWN THE STREET FROM MY HOUSE AS SOON AS THEY OPEN UP AT 0700 MONDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2014 TO GET IT CHECK OUT. THIS SCARED ME SO BAD THAT I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. THIS IS SO UNSAFE FOR HIGHWAY TRAVELING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/12/2014 - BLACKLICK, OH
DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN I RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING MESSAGES IN THE DIC: "SERVICE ESC" "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL" AND "ENG REDUCED PWR." VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 60 MPH, AND THAT WAS WITH PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. WHEN I HAD TO STOP, THE ENGINE SHOOK. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME - ALTHOUGH, AT ONE POINT, I WAS DRIVING 20 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY ACCELERATION LANE BECAUSE THE CAR COULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL. THE MESSAGES CLEARED WHEN I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON; HOWEVER, THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. DEALER FOUND DTC OF "P2135" AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. THEY SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE EMISSIONS/ENGINE/POWERTRAIN WARRANTY AND CHARGED $500 FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - BLACKLICK, OH
DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN I RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING MESSAGES IN THE DIC: "SERVICE ESC" "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL" AND "ENG REDUCED PWR." VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 60 MPH, AND THAT WAS WITH PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. WHEN I HAD TO STOP, THE ENGINE SHOOK. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME - ALTHOUGH, AT ONE POINT, I WAS DRIVING 20 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY ACCELERATION LANE BECAUSE THE CAR COULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL. THE MESSAGES CLEARED WHEN I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON; HOWEVER, THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. DEALER FOUND DTC OF "P2135" AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. THEY SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE EMISSIONS/ENGINE/POWERTRAIN WARRANTY AND CHARGED $500 FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2014 - OAK PARK, IL
EXITING THE FREEWAY MY CAR DISPLAY FLASHED "ESC OFF" "REDUCE ENGINE POWER". MY CAR CONTINUED TO REDUCE POWER UNTIL IT EVENTUALLY SHUT DOWN. I WAS IN CHICAGO RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC AND COULD NOT PULL ALL THE WAY OVER BEFORE THE CAR SHUT DOWN. MY CAR WAS DISABLE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES. WHEN I STARTED IT BACK UP IT WAS FINE, HOWEVER THE ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON. I CONTINUED TO TRY TO MAKE MY DRIVE HOME AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT TWENTY MINUTES LATER. THIS TIME I WAS NOT IN A SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD. I DID MAKE IT TO THE PARKING LANE AND SET THERE FOR APPROXIMATELY FIVE MINUTES BEFORE RESTARTING THE CAR. THE ENGINE REDUCED POWER ON ME AGAIN APPROXIMATELY TEN MINUTES FROM MY HOUSE. I WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC AGAIN. THE FINAL TIME WAS AS I WAS PARALLEL PARKING MY CAR IN FRONT OF MY HOME AND I JUST LET IT SHUT OFF AFTER I PARKED. I DROVE THE CAR TODAY AND THE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON BUT IT HAS NOT STOPPED. THIS WAS EXTREMELY SCARY AND CONCERNING. HAVING YOUR ENGINE SHUT DOWN OWN A FREEWAY IS TERRIFYING AND DANGEROUS. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON LINE ABOUT OTHER MALIBU OWNERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE. I CAN'T BELIEVE THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL FOR THIS THUS FAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/8/2014 - BURBANK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, A CHIME WAS HEARD AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE EMITTING FROM THE ENGINE. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OR IF ANY INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/3/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HEADLIGHTS FAILED AND ONLY THE HIGH BEAMS WERE WORKING PROPERLY. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/3/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HEADLIGHTS FAILED AND ONLY THE HIGH BEAMS WERE WORKING PROPERLY. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/30/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
AFTER RECEIVING OUR 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU BACK FROM THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AFTER THEM HAVING IT FOR 3 MONTHS TO CORRECT RECALL 13036 THE "SERVICE AIR BAG" MESSAGE COMES ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK. IT WASN'T DOING THIS UNTIL RECALL 13036 WAS DONE AND THE CAR DELIVERED BACK TO US. I VISITED MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THEY STATED THERE IS NO RECALL ABOUT THIS.CHEVROLET HAS STATED THERE IS NO KNOWN ISSUES WITH AIR BAG OR SENSOR PROBLEMS WITH MY MODEL. GM HAS SEVERAL TECH BULLETINS OUT ON THE 'SERVICE AIR BAG" WARNING ISSUES, BUT NO RECALLS. BELOW ARE THE TECH BULLETINS ON AIR BAG SERVICE KNOWN PROBLEMS. AIR BAGS SERVICE BULLETIN NO.: SB-10-09-41-002C COMPONENT(S): AIR BAGS NHTSA ID NUMBER: 10037465 ALL PRODUCTS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS SERVICE BULLETIN CHEVROLET MALIBU 2010 SUMMARY: GM: THE AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY WITH A COUPLE TROUBLE CODES PRESENT. MAY BE CAUSED BY ELECTRICAL HARNESS PROBLEMS. UPDATED ON 6/30/2011. AIR BAGS DATE REPORTED MARCH 01 2011 NHTSA REFERENCE #10038651 TSB REFERENCE #PB-11034 DESCRIPTION: GM: WEAR COULD LEAD TO CORROSION IN THE AIR BAG HARNESS WIRING. THE SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT MAY COME ON. 2010 MALIBU, G10. AIR BAGS DATE REPORTED OCTOBER 01 2010 NHTSA REFERENCE #10036264 TSB REFERENCE #PIE-0118 DESCRIPTION: CHEVROLET: ENGINEERING INFORMATION-SIR/AIRBAG INDICATOR/LIGHT ON, DTC B0012 OR B0013 SET. ENGINEERING ATTEMPTING TO DETERMINE THE ROOT CAUSE OF CONDITION. ENGINEERING HAS A NEED TO GATHER INFORMATION ON VEHICLES PRIOR TO REPAIR THAT MAY AIR BAGS:FRONTAL NHTSA REFERENCE #10033528 TSB REFERENCE #PB-10085 DESCRIPTION: CHEVROLET AIRBAG READINESS LIGHT/SERVICE AIR BAG MESSAGE-REROUTE WIRE HARNESS/REPLACE CONNECTORS. SOME VEHICLES MAY EXPERIENCE WEAR WHICH COULD LEAD TO CORROSION AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW DATE REPORTED FEBRUARY 01 2011 NHTSA REFERENCE #10033528 TSB REFERENCE #PB-10085

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds