Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 348 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Exterior Lighting (39) Seat Belts (6) Steering (72) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (61) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (10) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (44) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (50) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (21) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Power Train (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

9/29/2014 - LINDEN, MI
DRIVERS SEAT (POWER) BROKEN AWAY FROM SLIDING SEAT TRACK ON BACK PASSENGER SIDE OF DRIVER SEAT ALLOWING COMPLETE SEAT TO TILT AND HIT DOOR DURING RIGHT TURN AFFECTING ABILITY TO DRIVE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/27/2014 - MONTGOMERY, AL
WHEN I TRY TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK IT WILL NOT GO INTO THE PARK POSITION. I HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKES ON IN ORDER TO TURN THE CAR OFF. THE KEY CAN NOT BE REMOVED AND I HAVE TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. THE GEARS AUTOMATICALLY SLIDES FROM R TO L WITHOUT PRESSING THE BUTTON. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL IN 2012 FOR THE SHIFT LEVER AND THAT THE PART EXPIRED A YEAR LATER WHEN THE PREVIOUS OWNER HAD IT. I RECENTLY PURCHASED THE VEHICLE 8 MONTHS AGO. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO CHEVROLET AND THEY CONFIRM IT IS THE SHIFT LEVER. I AM REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THE FIX EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS A RECALL ALMOST 2 YEARS AGO WHICH APPEARS TO ME TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

9/26/2014 - DETROIT, MI
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000. DR

View Details

STEERING

9/26/2014 - RACINE, WI
WHILE LEAVING THE PARKING LOT, MY POWER STEERING ALERT CAME ON. I TOOK MY CAR INTO THE MECHANIC, AND HE FOUND AN ERROR MESSAGE RELATING TO THE STEERING COLUMN IN MY CAR. HE SAID TO FIX THE PROBLEM, THEY WOULD NEED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN, ALIGN THE WHEELS/STEERING, ECT. ALL AT A COST OF ABOUT $873. MY CAR ISN'T EVEN 5 YEARS OLD YET, AND I'M FORCED TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN? I SEE THAT GM HAS RECALLED THE 2004-2006, 2009 MALIBU MODELS, AND A NUMBER OF OTHER YEARS AND MODELS DUE TO FAULTY POWER STEERING. I DRIVE HOME TO SEE MY MOM WHO IS AT THE END OF LIFE WITH CANCER. THAT DRIVE IS ABOUT 130 MILES ONE WAY, MOSTLY INTERSTATE DRIVING AT 65MPH. IF I DON'T HAVE THIS FIXED, I COULD POSSIBLY LOOSE MY POWER STEERING, OR WORSE, LOOSE STEERING ALL TOGETHER, AND NOT ONLY INJURE OR KILL MYSELF, BUT OTHERS ON THE ROAD. SO I AM FORCED TO FIX THIS ISSUE, WHICH I FEEL SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALLS. I DON'T THINK I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY ALMOST $1000 FOR A CAR THAT ISN'T EVEN 5 YEARS OLD, THAT I PAID $25,000+ FOR. RESOLUTION FOR ME WOULD BE TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE WORK I'M GOING TO HAVE DONE, AND HAVE THE 2010 MALIBU'S ADDED TO THE RECALL LIST. THANK YOU

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/25/2014 - DALLAS, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH IN A HEAVY RAINSTORM, HE ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON HIS HAZARD LIGHTS ON. THE HAZARD LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. CS

View Details

ENGINE

9/24/2014 - COPIAGUE, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V252000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED WAS UNAVAILBE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. MF

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/24/2014 - COPIAGUE, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V252000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED WAS UNAVAILBE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. MF

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/24/2014 - COPIAGUE, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V252000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED WAS UNAVAILBE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. MF

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - MUSCLE SHOALS , AL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. MF

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/19/2014 - MARTIN, KY
COMPLAINED QUITE A FEW TIMES TO THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE AIRBAG LIGHT COMING ON AND GOING OFF. FIRST TIME WE TOOK IT IN AT 35K MILES THEY REPLACED THE AIRBAG HARNESS. ABOUT 6 MONTHS PASS AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN, ALONG WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT, CAR RUNS RUFF, SO THEY COME OUT WITH A BROKEN FUEL INJECTION WIRE, A BAD AIRBAG CABLE CONNECTION AND A BILL FOR THE REPAIRS. NOW THE AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF AS YOU DRIVE. ITS DUE IN FOR THE ALREADY BRAKE SWITCH RECALL SO WE LET THEM KNOW THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AND GOES OFF. THREE HOURS PASS AND HERE COMES THE COUNTER WORKER WITH A $1500.00 PARTS BILL FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF SIDE AIRBAGS DASH AIRBAGS AND THE SENSORS...I WILL NEVER BUY A NEW CAR AGAIN. RFTBJ./

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds