Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 563 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (78) Exterior Lighting (59) Seat Belts (7) Steering (154) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (105) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (15) Structure (26) Vehicle Speed Control (55)
Electronic Stability Control (77) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (72) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (45) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (14) Wheels (17)
Equipment (2) Power Train (55)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

1/29/2016 - MCDONOUGH, GA
2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU MANUFACTURER STEEL WHEEL ARE DEFECTED, AND CHEVROLET GM WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS MANUFACTURING DEFECT IN THE MOLDING OF THE STEEL, AT A COST OF $233.84 FROM THE DEALERS TO REPLACE. CUSTOMER SERVICE SEND ME TO BELLAMY STRICKLAND IN MCDONOUGH, GA AND THEY ALSO FOUND THE CRACK IN THE STEEL RIM. THERE ARE MANY CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, DATED AS FAR BACK AS 2008 FROM CONSUMERS. THIS WILL BE THE SECOND STEEL RIM I WILL NEED TO REPLACE AT MY EXPENSE. THIS IS A HAZARDOUS AND DANGEROUS FOR THE OWNER/DRIVER AND THE PUBLIC.

View Details

STEERING

1/28/2016 - ODENTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE SERVICE ESC WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AS THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE GREAT EFFORTS TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND THE STEERING OPERATED PROPERLY FOR APPROXIMATELY FIVE MINUTES. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14E044000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO PREVENT THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/25/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE ESC AND LOW POWER WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2016 - BUFFALO, NY
I AM THE OWNER OF A 2010 CHEVY MALIBU 2LT FWD. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN AUGUST OF 2013, SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE MANUFACTURER USED A FAULTY 3-5 REVERSE WAVE PLATE. THIS IS THE SAME WAVE PLATE THAT CAUSED SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO VEHICLES IN THE RECALL OF SIMILAR VEHICLES IN THE 2007-2009 MODELS. THE DEALERSHIP TRIED TO MAKE IT SEEM LIKE I WAS SOME SORT OF FREELOADER BECAUSE I DIDNT NOT FEEL A CAR WITH 63000 MILES ON IT SHOULD HAVE A BAD TRANSMISSION. WHEN ALL WAS SAID AND DONE THE 3-5 WAVE PLATE FELL APART AND SHREDDED MY TRANSMISSION. THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING IN TRAFFIC, THIS ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT NOT ONCE NOT TWICE BUT 3 TIMES. AS THE MY CHILDREN WERE IN THE VEHICLE THE 1ST 2 TIMES THE CAR STOPPED WORKING PROPERLY, THE VERY FIRST TIME THE DEALER STATED THAT EVEN THOUGH THE COMPUTER SHOWED THE FAULT CODES IN THE COMPUTER FROM THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STATING THERE WAS A TRANSMISSION ERROR SINCE THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO MAKE THEM REPEAT IT WAS FINE. 2 WEEKS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND CAUSED ME TO HAVE TO PAY $500 AFTER MUCH COMPLAINING AND PLEADING AS MY CAR WAS ONLY 5 YRS OLD WITH LESS THAN 65000 MILES ON IT, BUT ALL WARANTEES HAD JUST CONVENIENTLY EXPIRED. I FEEL THAT THIS MUST BE LOOKED INTO, THIS IS THE 2ND COMPLAINT THAT I HAVE FILED DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CAR STILL DOES NOT RUN CORRECTLY AND IT HAS BEEN DOCUEMENTED THAT IF IT HAPPENS ONCE IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. THESE VEHICLES ARE NOT ANY SAFER THAN THE EARLIER MODELS AND NEED TO BE LOOKED INTO AS WERE THE 2007-2009 MODELS WITH THE SAME FAULTY TRANSMISSION ISSUES. IF NOT THEN SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED. IF I HAD NOT BEEN ATTENTIVE TO MY CAR MY DAUGHTER OR I WOULD NOT BE HERE, OR A DRIVER OF THE OTHER VEHICLES THAT COULD HAVE BEEN INVOLVED. AS CARS SHOULD NOT JUST STOP ACCELERATING BECAUSE OF CHEVYS NEGLECT TO SEE THIS PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2016 - BUFFALO, NY
I AM THE OWNER OF A 2010 CHEVY MALIBU 2LT FWD. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN AUGUST OF 2013, SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE MANUFACTURER USED A FAULTY 3-5 REVERSE WAVE PLATE. THIS IS THE SAME WAVE PLATE THAT CAUSED SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO VEHICLES IN THE RECALL OF SIMILAR VEHICLES IN THE 2007-2009 MODELS. THE DEALERSHIP TRIED TO MAKE IT SEEM LIKE I WAS SOME SORT OF FREELOADER BECAUSE I DIDNT NOT FEEL A CAR WITH 63000 MILES ON IT SHOULD HAVE A BAD TRANSMISSION. WHEN ALL WAS SAID AND DONE THE 3-5 WAVE PLATE FELL APART AND SHREDDED MY TRANSMISSION. THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING IN TRAFFIC, THIS ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT NOT ONCE NOT TWICE BUT 3 TIMES. AS THE MY CHILDREN WERE IN THE VEHICLE THE 1ST 2 TIMES THE CAR STOPPED WORKING PROPERLY, THE VERY FIRST TIME THE DEALER STATED THAT EVEN THOUGH THE COMPUTER SHOWED THE FAULT CODES IN THE COMPUTER FROM THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STATING THERE WAS A TRANSMISSION ERROR SINCE THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO MAKE THEM REPEAT IT WAS FINE. 2 WEEKS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND CAUSED ME TO HAVE TO PAY $500 AFTER MUCH COMPLAINING AND PLEADING AS MY CAR WAS ONLY 5 YRS OLD WITH LESS THAN 65000 MILES ON IT, BUT ALL WARANTEES HAD JUST CONVENIENTLY EXPIRED. I FEEL THAT THIS MUST BE LOOKED INTO, THIS IS THE 2ND COMPLAINT THAT I HAVE FILED DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY CAR STILL DOES NOT RUN CORRECTLY AND IT HAS BEEN DOCUEMENTED THAT IF IT HAPPENS ONCE IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. THESE VEHICLES ARE NOT ANY SAFER THAN THE EARLIER MODELS AND NEED TO BE LOOKED INTO AS WERE THE 2007-2009 MODELS WITH THE SAME FAULTY TRANSMISSION ISSUES. IF NOT THEN SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED. IF I HAD NOT BEEN ATTENTIVE TO MY CAR MY DAUGHTER OR I WOULD NOT BE HERE, OR A DRIVER OF THE OTHER VEHICLES THAT COULD HAVE BEEN INVOLVED. AS CARS SHOULD NOT JUST STOP ACCELERATING BECAUSE OF CHEVYS NEGLECT TO SEE THIS PROBLEM

View Details

STEERING

1/20/2016 - ELDRED, PA
2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE STEERING REPLACEMENT PARTS ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/17/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
IT FIRST STARTED WHEN MY STABILITY LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND MY CAR ACTED LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE WHEN I WAS IN A STOPPING POSITION. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT 3 TIMES. THEN I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT AND MY STABILITY LIGHT CAME ON AND MY CAR JUST DIED. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED MY COMPUTER SYSTEM. ON MY RECEIPT THEY INDICATED DUE TO SHORT IN THE ECM. REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED THE ECM. SINCE THEN THERE HAS BEEN ONE TIME WHEN MY CAR ACTED LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE. I TURNED OFF THE HEATER AND RADIO THINKING SOMETHING ELSE WAS CAUSING THIS TO HAPPEN AND MY CAR DID NOT DIE.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

1/14/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING HIGH AND SHAKING VIOLENTLY WHILE THE SERVICE ESB AND THE SERVICE TRACTION WARNING MESSAGES DISPLAYED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS STILL SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND MOVING INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,400.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING HIGH AND SHAKING VIOLENTLY WHILE THE SERVICE ESB AND THE SERVICE TRACTION WARNING MESSAGES DISPLAYED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS STILL SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND MOVING INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,400.

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2016 - CICERO, IL
I LOST POWER STEERING OF MY VEHICLE WHILE I WAS TURNING ON A MAJOR INTERSECTION. I ALMOST GOT INTO A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A SEMI-TRUCK. FAULTY ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds