Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 778 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (105) Exterior Lighting (82) Seat Belts (8) Steering (202) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (149) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (19) Structure (36) Vehicle Speed Control (77)
Electronic Stability Control (121) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (111) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (69) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Traction Control System (18) Wheels (22)
Equipment (2) Power Train (84)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 123
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/9/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ESC,TRACTION,ABS LIGHTS COME ON WHILE CAR IS MOVING, AND WHEN FIRST STARTING, A TROUBLE CODE C0131 HAS BEEN RECORDED. THE PROBLEM STARTED IN JUNE OF 2010. A WEEK AFTER WE GOT THE CAR, THE DEALER CHANGED BRAKE LITE SWITCH, THE CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO SHOP 15-20 TIMES IT IS NOW 8-9-2017 NO ONE CAN FIX PROBLEM, MADE CALLS TO GM COSTOMER SERVICE MANY TIMES OVER THE 7 YEARS, STILL NO FIX, GM WANTS US TO PAY FOR REPAIR AND DIAGNOSTIC AS TOO THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY ,WE FEEL GM SHOULD REPAIR THE CAR FREE OF CHARGE AS TO THIS IS DANGEROUS AND HAS NEVER BEEN FIXED ,

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ESC,TRACTION,ABS LIGHTS COME ON WHILE CAR IS MOVING, AND WHEN FIRST STARTING, A TROUBLE CODE C0131 HAS BEEN RECORDED. THE PROBLEM STARTED IN JUNE OF 2010. A WEEK AFTER WE GOT THE CAR, THE DEALER CHANGED BRAKE LITE SWITCH, THE CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO SHOP 15-20 TIMES IT IS NOW 8-9-2017 NO ONE CAN FIX PROBLEM, MADE CALLS TO GM COSTOMER SERVICE MANY TIMES OVER THE 7 YEARS, STILL NO FIX, GM WANTS US TO PAY FOR REPAIR AND DIAGNOSTIC AS TOO THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY ,WE FEEL GM SHOULD REPAIR THE CAR FREE OF CHARGE AS TO THIS IS DANGEROUS AND HAS NEVER BEEN FIXED ,

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/9/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ESC,TRACTION,ABS LIGHTS COME ON WHILE CAR IS MOVING, AND WHEN FIRST STARTING, A TROUBLE CODE C0131 HAS BEEN RECORDED. THE PROBLEM STARTED IN JUNE OF 2010. A WEEK AFTER WE GOT THE CAR, THE DEALER CHANGED BRAKE LITE SWITCH, THE CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO SHOP 15-20 TIMES IT IS NOW 8-9-2017 NO ONE CAN FIX PROBLEM, MADE CALLS TO GM COSTOMER SERVICE MANY TIMES OVER THE 7 YEARS, STILL NO FIX, GM WANTS US TO PAY FOR REPAIR AND DIAGNOSTIC AS TOO THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY ,WE FEEL GM SHOULD REPAIR THE CAR FREE OF CHARGE AS TO THIS IS DANGEROUS AND HAS NEVER BEEN FIXED ,

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/4/2017 - SLIDELL, LA
THE ESC AND TRACTION WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. ESC NOT WORKING SO I WAS VERY VERY CAUTIOUS DRIVING. I TOOK TO DEALER. $1200 + TO REPLACE 2 COMPUTER MODULES FOR BRAKES, STEERING, TRACTION. THIS BRINGS NUMBER OF MODULES NEEDING REPLACEMENT TO 4 ON THIS VEHICLE. EIGHT DAYS LATER, ALL THE SAME LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN PLUS BRAKE FLUID LIGHT. CALLED DEALER AND TOLD TO BRING CAR IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC. I ASKED ABOUT SAFETY AND WAS TOLD TO CHECK BRAKE FLUID. I SAID I DON'T KNOW HOW. SO, I WENT TO CAR AND BRAKE WAS HARDER BUT WORKING. DROVE TO DEALER. WHEN I ARRIVED, THERE IS NO BRAKE FLUID LEFT. LUCKY I MADE IT TO THE DEALER. WAS TOLD EITHER PART NOT INSTALLED PROPERLY OR DEFECTIVE PART. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT COULD HAVE COST MY LIFE OR SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE. IN RESEARCHING LATER, I SEE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THESE WARNING LIGHTS AND MODULES. I AM LUCKY THERE WAS NO INCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

8/4/2017 - SLIDELL, LA
THE ESC AND TRACTION WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. ESC NOT WORKING SO I WAS VERY VERY CAUTIOUS DRIVING. I TOOK TO DEALER. $1200 + TO REPLACE 2 COMPUTER MODULES FOR BRAKES, STEERING, TRACTION. THIS BRINGS NUMBER OF MODULES NEEDING REPLACEMENT TO 4 ON THIS VEHICLE. EIGHT DAYS LATER, ALL THE SAME LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN PLUS BRAKE FLUID LIGHT. CALLED DEALER AND TOLD TO BRING CAR IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC. I ASKED ABOUT SAFETY AND WAS TOLD TO CHECK BRAKE FLUID. I SAID I DON'T KNOW HOW. SO, I WENT TO CAR AND BRAKE WAS HARDER BUT WORKING. DROVE TO DEALER. WHEN I ARRIVED, THERE IS NO BRAKE FLUID LEFT. LUCKY I MADE IT TO THE DEALER. WAS TOLD EITHER PART NOT INSTALLED PROPERLY OR DEFECTIVE PART. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT COULD HAVE COST MY LIFE OR SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE. IN RESEARCHING LATER, I SEE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THESE WARNING LIGHTS AND MODULES. I AM LUCKY THERE WAS NO INCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/4/2017 - SLIDELL, LA
THE ESC AND TRACTION WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. ESC NOT WORKING SO I WAS VERY VERY CAUTIOUS DRIVING. I TOOK TO DEALER. $1200 + TO REPLACE 2 COMPUTER MODULES FOR BRAKES, STEERING, TRACTION. THIS BRINGS NUMBER OF MODULES NEEDING REPLACEMENT TO 4 ON THIS VEHICLE. EIGHT DAYS LATER, ALL THE SAME LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN PLUS BRAKE FLUID LIGHT. CALLED DEALER AND TOLD TO BRING CAR IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC. I ASKED ABOUT SAFETY AND WAS TOLD TO CHECK BRAKE FLUID. I SAID I DON'T KNOW HOW. SO, I WENT TO CAR AND BRAKE WAS HARDER BUT WORKING. DROVE TO DEALER. WHEN I ARRIVED, THERE IS NO BRAKE FLUID LEFT. LUCKY I MADE IT TO THE DEALER. WAS TOLD EITHER PART NOT INSTALLED PROPERLY OR DEFECTIVE PART. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT COULD HAVE COST MY LIFE OR SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE. IN RESEARCHING LATER, I SEE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THESE WARNING LIGHTS AND MODULES. I AM LUCKY THERE WAS NO INCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/27/2017 - BURTON, OH
BRAKE LIGHTS ON WHEN BRAKE NOT APPLIED. BRAKE LIGHTS ARE OFF WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED. REF. RECALL 14V252000. TO DATE 4 RETURNS TO DEALER TO FIX BUT ISSUE STILL PRESENT. PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT AND LAST OCCURRENCE RESULTED IN NEAR END COLLISION FROM VEHICLE BEHIND.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/27/2017 - HURT, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL WITHOUT WARNING AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF AND THE CONTACT WAITED FOR FIVE MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND OPERATED NORMALLY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ANOTHER DAY. IN ADDITION, WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE JOLTED AS IF IT WERE GOING TO STALL. THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (FELLERS CHEVROLET, 715 MAIN ST, ALTAVISTA, VA, 24517) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REBUILT OR REPLACED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN AN OPEN RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V460000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 152,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2017 - EATONTOWN, NJ
"TAKATA RECALL" THE TRACTION SERVICE LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON AND SAYS SERVICE ESC , THEN BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON AND STAY ON WHILE DRIVING. WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL THE LIGHT SO OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2017 - WOODRIDGE, IL
FOR THE 2014 14V252000 RECALL, WE BELIEVE THE PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED AGAIN. WE ARE GETTING IT FIXED AGAIN AT OUR EXPENSE. SALLY BOYLE FROM THE IL ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE TALKED AT LENGTH WITH THE GM COUNSEL TODAY AND GM STATED THAT IL HAS NO JURISDICTION OVER THEM, JUST THE NHTSA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 123
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds