Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Steering (6) Tires (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Structure (9) Traction Control System (2) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (7) Suspension (2) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (2)
Engine (9) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/5/2016 - CEDAR, MI
DASHBOARD IS CRACKED RIGHT BY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG ABOUT 2 INCHES LONG. LEFT TOP CORNER GOING TOWARDS THE WINDOW.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/21/2016 - HALE CENTER, TX
WINTER OF 2014, SILVERADO WOULD ENGAGE IT'S STABILITRACK CONTROL. WHEN THIS HAPPENS IT SLOWS THE SPEED AT WHICH THE TRUCK COULD GO IF IT SENSED THE ROADS MAY BE ICY. THE TRUCK WOULD MOVE BUT VERY SLOWLY AND IT FELT AS IF YOU HAD NO CONTROL OVER IT. EVEN WHEN BRAKING IT SEEMED TO NOT WANT TO BRAKE. DANGEROUS IF IT FELT TO ENGAGE WHILE ON THE ROAD. WE REMOVED THE FUSE THAT WAS ASSOCIATED TO THE STABILITRACK AND FOR A MOMENT WORKED. THEN WHILE SEARCHING ON YOU TUBE, WE FOUND THAT A SENSOR WAS REPLACED ON OTHER TRUCKS. WE REPLACED THE SENSOR AND IT STOPPED IT. TRUCK HAS BEEN GOOD UNTIL THIS WINTER 2015-2016. NOW THE INTERNAL TEMPERATURE OF THE TRUCK HAS TO BE AT LEAST 33 DEGREES OR HIGHER IN ORDER FOR IT TO START IN THE MORNINGS. OTHERWISE IT IS DEAD. I HAVE TO GET RIDES TO WORK, SINCE I WORK IN TOWN, I AM ABLE TO HAVE SOMEONE DRIVE ME BACK HOME BETWEEN 9AM AND 10AM TO COME GET MY TRUCK, CAUSE BY THAT TIME IT USUALLY IS WARM ENOUGH FOR IT TO START. UNLESS THE WHOLE DAY IS GOING TO BE BELOW 32 DEGREES, WELL THEN I AM JUST SHIT OUT OF LUCK! THERE ARE NO RECALLS, BUT I KNOW I CAN'T BE THE ONLY ONE WHO IS HAVING THIS PROBLEM. YOU TUBE SHOWS MANY VIDEOS WITH THESE TRUCKS AND HOW AFTER THEY DO ONE THING, IT WORKS,THEN THEY HAVE TO DO ANOTHER AND ANOTHER. I THINK THAT GM NEEDS TO FIX THESE ISSUES FOR FREE. IT SHOULD BE A RECALL. I JUST CAN'T BE DISHING OUT MONEY WHENEVER THE TRUCK DECIDES IT WANTS TO NOT WORK, GM HAS TO KNOW EXACTLY WHAT IS WRONG, INSTEAD OF JUST SAYING ONE THING AND THEN ANOTHER TO GET OUR MONEY. WE ARE ALREADY PAYING FOR THE TRUCK MONTHLY, DON'T THINK GM IS HURTING FOR MONEY. GM DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!! I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A LOYAL CHEVROLET CONSUMER, MY THOUGHTS ARE CHANGING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2016 - HALE CENTER, TX
WINTER OF 2014, SILVERADO WOULD ENGAGE IT'S STABILITRACK CONTROL. WHEN THIS HAPPENS IT SLOWS THE SPEED AT WHICH THE TRUCK COULD GO IF IT SENSED THE ROADS MAY BE ICY. THE TRUCK WOULD MOVE BUT VERY SLOWLY AND IT FELT AS IF YOU HAD NO CONTROL OVER IT. EVEN WHEN BRAKING IT SEEMED TO NOT WANT TO BRAKE. DANGEROUS IF IT FELT TO ENGAGE WHILE ON THE ROAD. WE REMOVED THE FUSE THAT WAS ASSOCIATED TO THE STABILITRACK AND FOR A MOMENT WORKED. THEN WHILE SEARCHING ON YOU TUBE, WE FOUND THAT A SENSOR WAS REPLACED ON OTHER TRUCKS. WE REPLACED THE SENSOR AND IT STOPPED IT. TRUCK HAS BEEN GOOD UNTIL THIS WINTER 2015-2016. NOW THE INTERNAL TEMPERATURE OF THE TRUCK HAS TO BE AT LEAST 33 DEGREES OR HIGHER IN ORDER FOR IT TO START IN THE MORNINGS. OTHERWISE IT IS DEAD. I HAVE TO GET RIDES TO WORK, SINCE I WORK IN TOWN, I AM ABLE TO HAVE SOMEONE DRIVE ME BACK HOME BETWEEN 9AM AND 10AM TO COME GET MY TRUCK, CAUSE BY THAT TIME IT USUALLY IS WARM ENOUGH FOR IT TO START. UNLESS THE WHOLE DAY IS GOING TO BE BELOW 32 DEGREES, WELL THEN I AM JUST SHIT OUT OF LUCK! THERE ARE NO RECALLS, BUT I KNOW I CAN'T BE THE ONLY ONE WHO IS HAVING THIS PROBLEM. YOU TUBE SHOWS MANY VIDEOS WITH THESE TRUCKS AND HOW AFTER THEY DO ONE THING, IT WORKS,THEN THEY HAVE TO DO ANOTHER AND ANOTHER. I THINK THAT GM NEEDS TO FIX THESE ISSUES FOR FREE. IT SHOULD BE A RECALL. I JUST CAN'T BE DISHING OUT MONEY WHENEVER THE TRUCK DECIDES IT WANTS TO NOT WORK, GM HAS TO KNOW EXACTLY WHAT IS WRONG, INSTEAD OF JUST SAYING ONE THING AND THEN ANOTHER TO GET OUR MONEY. WE ARE ALREADY PAYING FOR THE TRUCK MONTHLY, DON'T THINK GM IS HURTING FOR MONEY. GM DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!! I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A LOYAL CHEVROLET CONSUMER, MY THOUGHTS ARE CHANGING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/14/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THREE CRACKS AROUND THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. FIRST CRACKED APPEARED ABOUT 60,000 MILES FOLLOWED BY THE NEXT SMALLER ONE THEN AROUND 85,000 THE LARGER ONE. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM THAT GM IS AWARE OF BUT IS NOT ACCEPTING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/6/2016 - MELISSA, TX
THE DASHBOARD IS CRACKED IN 3 PLACES AROUND THE AIRBAG. THIS COULD POTENTIALLY BE A SAFETY HAZARD IF THE AIRBAG WERE TO DEPLOY SENDING PROJECTILE PIECES OF PLASTIC TOWARDS THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE. THE CRACKS IN THE DASHBOARD FORMED DUE TO AN OBVIOUS DESIGN FLAW. THERE WAS NO INCIDENT THAT CAUSED THE CRACKS JUST NORMAL DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/4/2015 - DORAVILLE, GA
I HAVE OWNED THE TRUCK SINCE NEW. IN THE LAST YEAR THE DASH STARTED CRACKING RIGHT ABOVE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. DURING THE LAST MONTH THE CRACK HAS EXTENDED TO THE WINDSHIELD

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2015 - LE MARS, IA
MY DASH WAS FINE ON 6-10-15, WHEN GOT IN IT ON THE MORNING OF 6-11-15 THE DASH WAS CRACKED BY THE AIRBAG. THE VEHICLE IS 5 YEARS OLD BUT ONLY HAS 54,000 MILES. I AM THE ONLY OWNER AND IT HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY FREQUENT PROBLEM THAT IS OCCURRING WITH CHEVROLET VEHICLES. SEE THE FOLLOWING SITE: HTTPS://WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/GROUPS/GMDASHCRACK/?FREF=NF THIS APPEARS TO BE A FLAW IN THE QUALITY OF MATERIALS USED IN THESE VEHICLES. NOT ONLY DOES IT TAKE AWAY FROM THE APPEARANCE AND VALUE OF THE VEHICLE, IT IS ALSO A SAFETY CONCERN. WILL THE AIRBAG STILL WORK PROPERLY? IF IN AN ACCIDENT WILL THERE BE FLYING PIECES OF PLASTIC BECAUSE OF THE FLAWED CRACKED EQUIPMENT? THIS SHOULD BE SOMETHING THAT GM TAKES CARE OF FOR ITS CUSTOMERS 100%.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/9/2015 - LE MARS, IA
MY DASH WAS FINE ON 6-10-15, WHEN GOT IN IT ON THE MORNING OF 6-11-15 THE DASH WAS CRACKED BY THE AIRBAG. THE VEHICLE IS 5 YEARS OLD BUT ONLY HAS 54,000 MILES. I AM THE ONLY OWNER AND IT HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY FREQUENT PROBLEM THAT IS OCCURRING WITH CHEVROLET VEHICLES. SEE THE FOLLOWING SITE: HTTPS://WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/GROUPS/GMDASHCRACK/?FREF=NF THIS APPEARS TO BE A FLAW IN THE QUALITY OF MATERIALS USED IN THESE VEHICLES. NOT ONLY DOES IT TAKE AWAY FROM THE APPEARANCE AND VALUE OF THE VEHICLE, IT IS ALSO A SAFETY CONCERN. WILL THE AIRBAG STILL WORK PROPERLY? IF IN AN ACCIDENT WILL THERE BE FLYING PIECES OF PLASTIC BECAUSE OF THE FLAWED CRACKED EQUIPMENT? THIS SHOULD BE SOMETHING THAT GM TAKES CARE OF FOR ITS CUSTOMERS 100%.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/12/2015 - HARRAH, OK
MY SON WAS DRIVING MY NEWLY PURCHASED 2010 CHEVY SILVERADO 1500 Z71 OFFROAD VEHICLE. HE HAD PULLED OFF THE ROADWAY MOMENTARILY, AND UPON PULLING BACK ONTO THE PAVEMENT AND BEGINNING TO GET UP TO SPEED, THE SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN. HE WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AND DROVE ABOUT 50 FEET WHEN IT SHUT DOWN AGAIN. OF COURSE, ALL THE COMPONENTS TO THE AIR BAGS WERE IN THE CABIN AND HE JUMPED OUT OF THE TRUCK WHERE HE WAS STOPPED AND WAS ABLE TO LOOK OVER THE SITUATION. HE CONTACTED ME AND SINCE HE WAS ONLY 31/2 MILES FROM OUR HOME, I DROVE TO THE LOCATION. THE AIR BAGS WERE HANGING, AND THE PASSENGER SEAT BELT WAS LOCKED TIGHT. HE HAD HIS SEAT BELT ON AND IT WAS HANGING. HE SAID HE HADN'T HIT ANYTHING, HAD JUST PULLED BACK ONTO THE PAVEMENT AND THE BAGS WENT OFF. THE TRUCK EVENTUALLY WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AND HE DROVE IT HOME. THE DEPLOYMENT CRACKED THE HEAD LINER AND I HAVE HAD AN ESTIMATE TO REPAIR THE DAMAGE AND FIX THE AIR BAGS, A TOTAL OF $4800 THAT MY INSURANCE WON'T COVER DUE TO THE FACT THERE WERE NO INJURIES BECAUSE THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT. WHY ARE THERE SO MANY INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPENING NATIONWIDE? NOW I AM OUT ALMOST $5000 FOR SOMETHING BEYOND MY CONTROL AS THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED IT WON'T HELP EITHER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/3/2015 - PRENTISS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CONTACT SMELLED AN ABNORMAL ODOR COMING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTICED FLAMES. THE FLAMES EXTINGUISHED ITSELF AFTER 15 MINUTES. THE CONTACT PROCEEDED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE ONCE IT COOLED DOWN. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED TRANSMISSION OIL LEAKING AND STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION GEAR WAS SLIPPING FROM EACH GEAR. THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION LINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds