Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 42 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Steering (6) Tires (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Structure (7) Traction Control System (2) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (4) Suspension (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (2)
Engine (7) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

4/2/2015 - COVINIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2015 - BEAVERCREEK, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 CHEVY SILVERADO ON I-675 AND TRUCK EXPERIENCED IMMEDIATE ENGINE POWER LOSS, SPEED AUTOMATICALLY REDUCED TO 20 MILES PER HOUR AND ENGINE LIGHT W/ ENGINE REDUCED POWER VERBIAGE ALERTED ON DISPLAY. TRUCK ENGINE INSTANTLY STARTED RUNNING / SOUNDING ROUGH AND WOULDN'T ACCELERATE BEYOND 20 MPH. THIS CAUSED IMMEDIATE UNSAFE SITUATION FOR MYSELF AND TRAVELERS ON INTERSTATE. I WAS TRAVELING IN LEFT LANE AND SEVERAL VEHICLES SWERVED AROUND ME AS I MOVED TO RIGHT OFF ROAD, BEYOND WHITE LINE TO STOP MY TRUCK. I QUICKLY LEARNED, BY INTERNET SEARCH, THAT A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN HAD BEEN GENERATED FOR THIS ENGINE FAULT, HOWEVER I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY NOTICE FROM THE CHEVY OR GM CORPORATION TO DATE. PLEASE HELP ALERT THE GENERAL PUBLIC ABOUT THIS SITUATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2015 - WARRENVILLE, IL
VEHICLE LOST POWER, ALL WARNING LIGHTS ON DASH LITE UP. MESSAGE ON DASH READ "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" SPEED REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH WITH NO ACCELERATION. AFTER STOPPING AT A REPAIR FACILITY NO OBD CODES APPEARED AND ON RESTART VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. A SECOND INCIDENT OCCURRED IN LATE FEBRUARY WHILE TURNING A CORNER. SAME SYMTOMS BUT AT MUCH MORE DANGEROUS LOCATION.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2015 - WARRENVILLE, IL
VEHICLE LOST POWER, ALL WARNING LIGHTS ON DASH LITE UP. MESSAGE ON DASH READ "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" SPEED REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH WITH NO ACCELERATION. AFTER STOPPING AT A REPAIR FACILITY NO OBD CODES APPEARED AND ON RESTART VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. A SECOND INCIDENT OCCURRED IN LATE FEBRUARY WHILE TURNING A CORNER. SAME SYMTOMS BUT AT MUCH MORE DANGEROUS LOCATION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/11/2015 - WARRENVILLE, IL
VEHICLE LOST POWER, ALL WARNING LIGHTS ON DASH LITE UP. MESSAGE ON DASH READ "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" SPEED REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH WITH NO ACCELERATION. AFTER STOPPING AT A REPAIR FACILITY NO OBD CODES APPEARED AND ON RESTART VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. A SECOND INCIDENT OCCURRED IN LATE FEBRUARY WHILE TURNING A CORNER. SAME SYMTOMS BUT AT MUCH MORE DANGEROUS LOCATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/24/2015 - SAGINAW, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS FLUID LEAKING UNDER THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION LINES AND TRANSMISSION FLUID NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,075.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/19/2015 - AMES, IA
THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN FOR REPAIRS SEVERAL TIMES (3 -4 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 YEARS) DUE TO FAULTY PARTS OR CONNECTIONS RELATED TO THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE PREVIOUS REPAIRS WERE RELATED TO AIR BAG COMPONENTS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT IS AGAIN ON AND THE PROBLEM THIS TIME HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED.

View Details

STEERING

1/2/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
I WENT TO PARK THE TRUCK THE STEERING WAS HARD AND THE ENGINE ALMOST DIED. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO MONTGOMERY . CHEVORLET ,LOUISVILLE KY. 40213. THEY SAID THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED CLEANING. I PAID $220.77 TO HAVE IT CLEANED. IT DIDNT HELP. THE STEERING IS THE SAME AS BEFORE. IM STILL DRIVING IT.JAN.2 2015

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/20/2014 - RIO RANCHO , NM
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, MY 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO WITH 27,000 MILE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND SLOWED FROM 50MPH TO 25MPH IN A MATTER OF SECONDS. DUE TO THE EXTREME REDUCTION IN SPEED WITH OUT MY BRAKE LIGHTS BEING ENGAGED, A VEHICLE FOLLOWING ME HAD TO MAKE AN EMERGENCY MANEUVER, TURN IN THE RIGHT LANE, AND ALMOST STRUCK A THIRD VEHICLE. THREE WARNING MESSAGES WERE GIVEN THAT INCLUDED, ENGINE POWER REDUCED, TRACTION CONTROL OFF AND SERVICE STABILITRACK. THE VEHICLE STARTED TO RUN EXTREMELY ROUGH AND I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT. WHILE IN THE PARKING, LOT I RESEARCHED THE ABOVE LISTED MESSAGES AND FOUND THAT SEVERAL OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN LINKED TO THE THROTTLE BODY SYSTEM AND THE INTAKE. I THEN RESEARCHED IF ANY RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED FOR THIS VEHICLE. I FOUND THAT A SERVICE BULLETIN WAS ISSUED BUT NOT A RECALL. I WAS ALSO SURPRISED THAT THIS ISSUE APPEARS TO HAVE NOTHING TO DUE WITH STABILITRACK. I THEN LIMPED THE VEHICLE HOME AT 20 MPH. WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD SHIFT FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR IT WOULD LUNG FORWARD VIOLENTLY. I LATER CALLED THE PITRE GMC, IN ALBUQUERQUE NM, AND SPOKE WITH A SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE. I ASKED HIM IF A RECALLED HAD BEEN ISSUED FOR THESE VEHICLES IN REFERENCE TO THIS TYPE OF INCIDENT. HE STATED THAT HE DID NOT KNOW OF A RECALL BUT I COULD DRIVE IT DOWN TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY COULD CHECK THE CODES ON IT. I WAS SURPRISED BY HIS RESPONSE INSTRUCTING ME TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED DUE TO THE LIKELIHOOD OF A MOTOR VEHICLE CRASH THAT COULD RESULT IN SEVER INJURY OR DEATH. HOPEFULLY GM AND NHTSA WILL NOT WAIT UNTIL THERE ARE NUMEROUS DEATHS TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS POTENTIALLY AS DANGEROUS AS THE IGNITION SWITCH ISSUE THAT KILLED SEVERAL PEOPLE. I AM A GENERATIONAL CHEVROLET CONSUMER, BUT THAT WILL PROBABLY CHANGE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/20/2014 - RIO RANCHO , NM
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, MY 2010 CHEVROLET SILVERADO WITH 27,000 MILE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND SLOWED FROM 50MPH TO 25MPH IN A MATTER OF SECONDS. DUE TO THE EXTREME REDUCTION IN SPEED WITH OUT MY BRAKE LIGHTS BEING ENGAGED, A VEHICLE FOLLOWING ME HAD TO MAKE AN EMERGENCY MANEUVER, TURN IN THE RIGHT LANE, AND ALMOST STRUCK A THIRD VEHICLE. THREE WARNING MESSAGES WERE GIVEN THAT INCLUDED, ENGINE POWER REDUCED, TRACTION CONTROL OFF AND SERVICE STABILITRACK. THE VEHICLE STARTED TO RUN EXTREMELY ROUGH AND I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT. WHILE IN THE PARKING, LOT I RESEARCHED THE ABOVE LISTED MESSAGES AND FOUND THAT SEVERAL OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN LINKED TO THE THROTTLE BODY SYSTEM AND THE INTAKE. I THEN RESEARCHED IF ANY RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED FOR THIS VEHICLE. I FOUND THAT A SERVICE BULLETIN WAS ISSUED BUT NOT A RECALL. I WAS ALSO SURPRISED THAT THIS ISSUE APPEARS TO HAVE NOTHING TO DUE WITH STABILITRACK. I THEN LIMPED THE VEHICLE HOME AT 20 MPH. WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD SHIFT FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR IT WOULD LUNG FORWARD VIOLENTLY. I LATER CALLED THE PITRE GMC, IN ALBUQUERQUE NM, AND SPOKE WITH A SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE. I ASKED HIM IF A RECALLED HAD BEEN ISSUED FOR THESE VEHICLES IN REFERENCE TO THIS TYPE OF INCIDENT. HE STATED THAT HE DID NOT KNOW OF A RECALL BUT I COULD DRIVE IT DOWN TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY COULD CHECK THE CODES ON IT. I WAS SURPRISED BY HIS RESPONSE INSTRUCTING ME TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED DUE TO THE LIKELIHOOD OF A MOTOR VEHICLE CRASH THAT COULD RESULT IN SEVER INJURY OR DEATH. HOPEFULLY GM AND NHTSA WILL NOT WAIT UNTIL THERE ARE NUMEROUS DEATHS TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS POTENTIALLY AS DANGEROUS AS THE IGNITION SWITCH ISSUE THAT KILLED SEVERAL PEOPLE. I AM A GENERATIONAL CHEVROLET CONSUMER, BUT THAT WILL PROBABLY CHANGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds