Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 316 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (5) Power Train (14) Steering (234) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (22) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (10) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/16/2015 - ELIZABETHTON, TN
2010 TRAVERSE. DISPLAYED SHOWED TRACTION CONTROL OFF, SERVICE STABILITRAC, ENGINE POWER REDUCED. THE CAR SUDDENLY DROPPED TO 25MPH. I SEE THESE PROBLEMS ALL OVER AND IT SEEMS AS IF MY VIN ISN'T COVERED. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED SERIOUS HARM TO MY FAMILY AND OTHERS. HAD CAR IN THE SHOP TWO MONTHS EARLIER BECAUSE THE DRIVE TRAIN HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2015 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2015 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
2010 CHEVY TRAVERSE LT AWD HAS DEVELOPED A CONSISTENT WHINING NOISE WHILE RUNNING. CHEVY DEALER INVESTIGATED AND SAYS THE STEERING RACK NEEDS TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT'S LEAKING. CAR MAKES UNUSUAL NOISE WHEN TURNING AND IS SOMETIMES HARD TO STEER AROUND CORNERS. NO MENTION OF PUMP BEING INVOLVED. COST ESTIMATE OF $1500 TO REPLACE STEERING RACK. INTERNET SEARCH REVEALED SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH MANY OTHER 2010 TRAVERSE VEHICLES. STILL LOOKING FOR ADDITIONAL INFO. HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY RECALL NOTICE FROM GM AND DEALER SAYS NOT COVERED. REPAIRS NOT DONE YET, INVESTIGATING OPTIONS.

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2015 - DUBLIN, OH
I PURCHASED OUR 2010 TRAVERSE NEW IN SEPTEMBER OF 2009. WE HAVE EXPERIENCED THE POWER STEERING FAILURE AND REPLACEMENT 3 TIMES. THE POWER STEERING GEAR WAS REPLACED AT 9500 MILES, AT 35,000 MILES, AND NOW IT IS OUT AGAIN AT 48,000 MILES. I HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT WON'T GO OFF, NOW THEY ARE TELLING ME MY TIMING CHAIN NEEDS REPLACED BASED ON THE CODES DETECTED FROM THE COMPUTER. I HAVE TRIED TO GET GM, AND OR A LOCAL DEALER TO WORK WITH ME ON THESE ON GOING ISSUES, AND THEY COULD CARE LESS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2015 - DUBLIN, OH
I PURCHASED OUR 2010 TRAVERSE NEW IN SEPTEMBER OF 2009. WE HAVE EXPERIENCED THE POWER STEERING FAILURE AND REPLACEMENT 3 TIMES. THE POWER STEERING GEAR WAS REPLACED AT 9500 MILES, AT 35,000 MILES, AND NOW IT IS OUT AGAIN AT 48,000 MILES. I HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT WON'T GO OFF, NOW THEY ARE TELLING ME MY TIMING CHAIN NEEDS REPLACED BASED ON THE CODES DETECTED FROM THE COMPUTER. I HAVE TRIED TO GET GM, AND OR A LOCAL DEALER TO WORK WITH ME ON THESE ON GOING ISSUES, AND THEY COULD CARE LESS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/8/2015 - NEW ALBANY, OH
MY 2010 TRAVERSE EXPERIENCED A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE THIS MORNING. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE SPEED WAS IMMEDIATELY REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH. THIS OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING AND IN HEAVY FREEWAY TRAFFIC NEARLY CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO BE REAR ENDED BY SEVERAL OTHER CARS. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD SIGNAL AND MANAGED TO REACH THE ROAD SHOULDER AFTER TRAFFIC HAD CLEARED. AFTER STOPPING FOR 10 MINUTES I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE IN AN ATTEMPT TO DRIVE TO THE CLOSEST DEALER FOR SERVICE. AFTER COVERING ABOUT 6 MILES THE SAME WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS REDUCED AGAIN, BUT I MANAGE TO REACH THE DEALERSHIP. AT THE CHEVROLET DEALER THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY HAD FAILED & NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THIS WAS NOT A WARRANTY ITEM. I PAID THE SIGNIFICANT COST FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF AND CONTACTED BOTH GM & CHEVROLET DIVISION TO NOTIFY THEM OF THE FAILURE AND ASK FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR WHAT IS CLEARLY A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. FURTHER RESEARCH INDICATES THAT A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF TRAVERSE OWNERS HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEM AND SERVICE REPS AT BOTH CHEVROLET & GM SAID THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH THE ISSUE BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FROM THEM. MY CASE FOR COST REIMBURSEMENT IS STILL PENDING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2015 - NEW ALBANY, OH
MY 2010 TRAVERSE EXPERIENCED A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE THIS MORNING. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE SPEED WAS IMMEDIATELY REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH. THIS OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING AND IN HEAVY FREEWAY TRAFFIC NEARLY CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO BE REAR ENDED BY SEVERAL OTHER CARS. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD SIGNAL AND MANAGED TO REACH THE ROAD SHOULDER AFTER TRAFFIC HAD CLEARED. AFTER STOPPING FOR 10 MINUTES I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE IN AN ATTEMPT TO DRIVE TO THE CLOSEST DEALER FOR SERVICE. AFTER COVERING ABOUT 6 MILES THE SAME WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS REDUCED AGAIN, BUT I MANAGE TO REACH THE DEALERSHIP. AT THE CHEVROLET DEALER THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY HAD FAILED & NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THIS WAS NOT A WARRANTY ITEM. I PAID THE SIGNIFICANT COST FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF AND CONTACTED BOTH GM & CHEVROLET DIVISION TO NOTIFY THEM OF THE FAILURE AND ASK FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR WHAT IS CLEARLY A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. FURTHER RESEARCH INDICATES THAT A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF TRAVERSE OWNERS HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEM AND SERVICE REPS AT BOTH CHEVROLET & GM SAID THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH THE ISSUE BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FROM THEM. MY CASE FOR COST REIMBURSEMENT IS STILL PENDING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/8/2015 - NEW ALBANY, OH
MY 2010 TRAVERSE EXPERIENCED A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE THIS MORNING. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE SPEED WAS IMMEDIATELY REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH. THIS OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING AND IN HEAVY FREEWAY TRAFFIC NEARLY CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO BE REAR ENDED BY SEVERAL OTHER CARS. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD SIGNAL AND MANAGED TO REACH THE ROAD SHOULDER AFTER TRAFFIC HAD CLEARED. AFTER STOPPING FOR 10 MINUTES I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE IN AN ATTEMPT TO DRIVE TO THE CLOSEST DEALER FOR SERVICE. AFTER COVERING ABOUT 6 MILES THE SAME WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS REDUCED AGAIN, BUT I MANAGE TO REACH THE DEALERSHIP. AT THE CHEVROLET DEALER THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY HAD FAILED & NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THIS WAS NOT A WARRANTY ITEM. I PAID THE SIGNIFICANT COST FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF AND CONTACTED BOTH GM & CHEVROLET DIVISION TO NOTIFY THEM OF THE FAILURE AND ASK FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR WHAT IS CLEARLY A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. FURTHER RESEARCH INDICATES THAT A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF TRAVERSE OWNERS HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEM AND SERVICE REPS AT BOTH CHEVROLET & GM SAID THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH THE ISSUE BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FROM THEM. MY CASE FOR COST REIMBURSEMENT IS STILL PENDING.

View Details

STEERING

1/8/2015 - HUGHESVILLE, MD
THE DATE ON THIS COMPLAINT IS THE DATE THAT THINGS GOT WORSE, BUT THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS. I WAS DRIVING ON THE BACKROADS AND SLOWED TO PULL INTO A NEIGHBORHOOD AND AS I TURNED THE WHEEL SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND GROANED VERY LOUD. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT 6 OR 7 TIMES WITHIN A 4 HOUR PERIOD BUT HAS SINCE WENT BACK TO THE MOANING WHEN TURNING. FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS, WHENEVER I SLOW TO TURN, MY WHEEL MOANS/WHINES AS IF MY POWER STEERING IF FAILING. I HEARD OF A RECALL AND TALK TO MY LOCAL DEALER. THEY SAID GM WOULD NOT REPLACE THE PART UNLESS IT ACTUALLY FAILS. THIS IS RIDICULOUS, ALL I CAN SAY IS IF MY STEERING FAILS AND SOMEONE IN MY FAMILY GETS HURT FROM LOSS OF POWER STEERING, GM WILL BE FIRST ON MY LIST TO SUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/8/2015 - HUGHESVILLE, MD
WIFE WAS DRIVING THE KIDS TO SCHOOL THIS MORNING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE DISPLAYED SHOWED TRACTION CONTROL OFF, SERVICE STABILITRAC, ENGINE POWER REDUCED. THE CAR SUDDENLY DROPPED TO 25MPH. I SEE THESE PROBLEMS ALL OVER AND IT SEEMS AS IF MY VIN ISN'T COVERED. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED SERIOUS HARM TO MY FAMILY AND OTHERS. THIS IS NOT THE ONLY ISSUE, I ALSO HAVE A COMPLAINT ABOUT THE STEERING PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds