Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 451 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (5) Power Train (37) Steering (278) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (31) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility (7)
Engine (77) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (8) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2017 - SAINT PAUL, MN
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON. WHEN BROUGHT TO THE DEALER I WAS TOLD THAT THE CODE WAS INDICATING THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS STRETCHED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 80,000 MILES AND HAS HAD EXCELLENT MAINTENANCE. THIS PROBLEM ALSO OCCURRED WITH 2009 TRAVERSES AND GM EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THOSE MODELS TO 120,000MILES/10 YEARS AND PAID FOR THE REPAIR. WHEN CALLING GM ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM IN THE 2010, WE WERE TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY WOULD DO. THE DEALER TOLD US IT WOULD COST US 3,200 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED ON VARIOUS SITES BY THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE. WE WERE TOLD IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED IT COULD CAUSE EXTREME ENGINE DAMAGE WHEN IT BREAKS. GM SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS DEFECT BEFORE SOMEONE HAS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT AS A RESULT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2017 - PARKER, CO
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT AROUND 82,000 MILES. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE TELLING US THE TIMING CHAIN IS STRETCHED AND NEEDS REPLACED. $2,200.00 TO REPAIR. I'VE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND THIS VERY ISSUE WAS FIXED UNDER WARRANTY FOR THE 2007-2009 MODEL YEARS. FOR SOME REASON GM IS NOT WARRANTING BEYOND THAT. WHILE RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE I FOUND INSTANCES WHERE THE CHAIN CATASTROPHICALLY FAILED CAUSING THE DRIVE SYSTEM TO LOCK UP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/9/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE STABILITRAC WARNING AND REDUCED ENGINE POWER WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE STABILITRAC WARNING AND REDUCED ENGINE POWER WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2017 - ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA
GAS TANK DOES ACCURATELY SHOW HOW MUCH GAS I HAVE LEFT. THE FUEL GAUGE CONSTANTLY FLUCTUATES. I WAS DRIVING AND MY MILE RANGE SHOWED I HAD 54 MILES WORTH OF GAS LEFT. I MADE A STOP AND THE CAR WAS IDLING AND WHEN I GOT BACK IN THE CAR IT SHOWED I HAD 89 MILES WORTH OF GAS LEFT. WHEN I GOT TO MY DESTINATION I GOT THE LOW FUEL WARNING MESSAGE. I HAVE WATCHED MY FUEL GAUGE AND MILE RANGE GO UP INCREMENTALLY WHILE IN PARK. THIS ISSUE IS THE SAME ISSUE AS A RECALL WITH LATER MODELS AND IT CAN CAUSE A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT IF MY CAR STALLS OR SHUTS OFF BECAUSE THERE WAS NOT AS MUCH GAS IN THE CAR AS THE GAUGE STATES. SIMILAR RECALL BELOW WITH SAME EXACT ISSUES. RECALL SUBJECT : INACCURATE FUEL GAUGE READING REPORT RECEIPT DATE: APR 30, 2014 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V223000 COMPONENT(S): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE POTENTIAL NUMBER OF UNITS AFFECTED: 51,640 MANUFACTURER: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/7/2017 - ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA
GAS TANK DOES ACCURATELY SHOW HOW MUCH GAS I HAVE LEFT. THE FUEL GAUGE CONSTANTLY FLUCTUATES. I WAS DRIVING AND MY MILE RANGE SHOWED I HAD 54 MILES WORTH OF GAS LEFT. I MADE A STOP AND THE CAR WAS IDLING AND WHEN I GOT BACK IN THE CAR IT SHOWED I HAD 89 MILES WORTH OF GAS LEFT. WHEN I GOT TO MY DESTINATION I GOT THE LOW FUEL WARNING MESSAGE. I HAVE WATCHED MY FUEL GAUGE AND MILE RANGE GO UP INCREMENTALLY WHILE IN PARK. THIS ISSUE IS THE SAME ISSUE AS A RECALL WITH LATER MODELS AND IT CAN CAUSE A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT IF MY CAR STALLS OR SHUTS OFF BECAUSE THERE WAS NOT AS MUCH GAS IN THE CAR AS THE GAUGE STATES. SIMILAR RECALL BELOW WITH SAME EXACT ISSUES. RECALL SUBJECT : INACCURATE FUEL GAUGE READING REPORT RECEIPT DATE: APR 30, 2014 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V223000 COMPONENT(S): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE POTENTIAL NUMBER OF UNITS AFFECTED: 51,640 MANUFACTURER: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/28/2016 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2016 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/23/2016 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
MY CHECK-ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS ON A 300 MILE TRIP, AND THE TROUBLE CODES AT 2 DIFFERENT SHOPS INDICATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAD STRETCHED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED AT 81,000 MILES. LUCKILY, THE VEHICLE DID NOT BREAKDOWN ON THE HIGHWAY. PRIOR TO LEARNING ABOUT SIMILAR PROBLEMS IN 2009 AND SOME 2010 MODELS, I HAD THE CHAIN REPLACED BY A NON GM MECHANIC. SINCE THEN I LEARNED THAT GM HAS REIMBURSED OR EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON SELECT TRAVERSE VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2016 - GLENCOE, MN
NOT SURE I SHOULD DO THIS BUT IT HAS OCCURED 2 TIMES BOW. MY TRAVERSE ECCELERATOR GETS STUCK DOWN AND YOU CANT ATOP. THE ONLY WAY TO STOP IS PUT IN NUTRAL IF YOU HAVE THE TIME. I AM AFRAID TO HAVE MY WIFE DEIVE THIS. IT HAPPENED FOR THE 2ND TIME SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT THE OTHER DAY. THE BREAKS WONT WORM UNLESS YOU PUT IT INTO NUTRAL!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds