Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 418 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (5) Power Train (31) Steering (265) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (29) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (60) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/20/2016 - SWEETWATER, TN
STEERING BECOMES VERY DIFFICULT TURNING AT LOW SPEEDS PARKING MERGING INTO TRAFFIC OR NAVIGATING A TURN THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS OCCURRENCE THAT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS AND BODILY HARM AS WELL AS SERIOUS PHYSICAL DAMAGE TO PROPERTY. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON MANY OCCASIONS TAKING TURNS WHILE IN TRAFFIC AT LOW SPEED ENTERING A PARKING SPACE. I LOVE THE VEHICLE ITSELF AND I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER SEEING THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS POSTED THAT CHEVY HAS NOT STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE . THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN! THE DEALERS DON'T EVEN KNOW EXACTLY WHAT THE ISSUE IS. THEY ARE GOING FROM RECOMMENDING REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION TO RACK TO STEERING PUMPS ETC. LET'S NOT WAIT UNTIL LIVES ARE LOST OVER THIS AS WE HAVE SEEN IN THE PAST! SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE IMMEDIATELY TO RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM. IF MULTIPLE SERVICE BULLETINS HAVE BEEN ISSUED THEN YOU ARE AWARE THERE IS A PROBLEM. SOMEONE PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING!

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
CAR STOPPED FUNCTIONING IN MIDDLE OF HIGHWAY WITH NO WARNING. WAS VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WITH 2 SMALL CHILDREN IN THE VEHICLE. NO STEERING, NO POWER BRAKES AND NO ENGINE. TRAVERSE WAS PURCHASED NEW IN AUG 2010 AND HAS APPROX. 55,000 MILES. NEEDS NEW ENGINE. HAD CHAIN ISSUES IN JAN 2015.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2016 - ASSONET, MA
STEERING BECOMES VERY DIFFICULT TURNING AT LOW SPEEDS PARKING MERGING INTO TRAFFIC OR NAVIGATING A TURN THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS OCCURRENCE THAT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS AND BODILY HARM AS WELL AS SERIOUS PHYSICAL DAMAGE TO PROPERTY. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON MANY OCCASIONS TAKING TURNS WHILE IN TRAFFIC AT LOW SPEED ENTERING A PARKING SPACE AND HAS ALSO OCCURRED WHILE MY YOUNGEST, A FAIRLY NEW DRIVER WAS AT THE WHEEL . I LOVE THE VEHICLE ITSELF AND I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER SEEING THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS POSTED THAT CHEVY HAS NOT STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE . THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN! THE DEALERS DON'T EVEN KNOW EXACTLY WHAT THE ISSUE IS. THEY ARE GOING FROM RECOMMENDING REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION TO RACK TO STEERING PUMPS ETC. LET'S NOT WAIT UNTIL LIVES ARE LOST OVER THIS AS WE HAVE SEEN IN THE PAST! SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE IMMEDIATELY TO RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM. IF MULTIPLE SERVICE BULLETINS HAVE BEEN ISSUED THEN YOU ARE AWARE THERE IS A PROBLEM. SOMEONE PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING!

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2016 - CALMAR, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO STEER THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2016 - NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ
MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH POWER STEERING. 9/30/2010 BROUGHT VEHICLE IN FOR GRINDING NOISE & VIBRATION, GEAR BOX ASSEMBLY INDICATED AS PROBLEM, REPLACED STEERING GEAR. 10/12/11- NOISE WHEN TURNING: REPLACED SPRING & RACK, 10/18/11 VIBRATION WHEN TURNING, POWER STEERING PUMP DETERMINED AS CULPRIT , REPLACED PUMP; 5/17/12 STEERING MAKING GRINDING NOISE, NO FLUID... REPLACED POWER STEERING FLUID; 5/19/2012 GRINDING NOISE WHEN TURNING WHEEL, AGAIN NO FLUID, INLET CLAMP LOOSE, RESECURED & ADDED FLUID AGAIN, 6/22/2016, INTERMITTENTLY WHEN GO TO TURN POWER STEERING LIKE A MANUAL STEERING, NO POWER STEERING FLUID, CHECKED, POWERING STEERING PUMP & STEERING GEAR DETERMINED TO BE CAUSE, $ 464 FOR REPAIRS! IF MY YOUNGER DRIVING AGE CHILDREN WERE DRIVING, WOULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2016 - WORTHINGTON, OH
JUNE 2016, APPROX. 114,000 MI - FELT A LURCH IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC; FLASHED "SERVICE STABILITRAK," "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL," "BACKUP ALERTS = OFF". THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC SPED UP, I REALIZED I ONLY HAD ONE GEAR AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 60MPH. A SERIOUS PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE! SEVERAL HOURS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON, BUT THE CAR DROVE NORMALLY -- STRAIGHT TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TO NEED $2400 IN TRANSMISSION REPAIR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING FAULT CODES: P182E & C0561. THEY WILL REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION MODE SHIFT SENSOR AND THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. THE MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED US THAT WE WILL EVENTUALLY NEED A $700 REPAIR FOR THE CONTROL ARMS IN THE REAR SUSPENSION -- GE HAS CORRECTED A KNOWN FAULT IN THE PARTS. ALL THIS IS ON TOP OF A $3000 REPAIR DONE IN APRIL 2015 AT 92,500 MI. FOR KNOWN STEERING DEFECTS. IN THAT CASE, AS THE TRAVERSE WARMED UP, THE POWER STEERING GOT HARD TO TURN. GM REPAIRED PART OF THE PROBLEM AT NO COST, REPLACING POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR HOUSING. ANOTHER MECHANIC COMPLETED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY THAT WAS ALSO PART OF THE PROBLEM. THESE ARE BOTH SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS AND REPAIRS NEEDED IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER BEFORE NEEDING MORE THAN ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/15/2016 - WORTHINGTON, OH
JUNE 2016, APPROX. 114,000 MI - FELT A LURCH IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC; FLASHED "SERVICE STABILITRAK," "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL," "BACKUP ALERTS = OFF". THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC SPED UP, I REALIZED I ONLY HAD ONE GEAR AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 60MPH. A SERIOUS PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE! SEVERAL HOURS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON, BUT THE CAR DROVE NORMALLY -- STRAIGHT TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TO NEED $2400 IN TRANSMISSION REPAIR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING FAULT CODES: P182E & C0561. THEY WILL REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION MODE SHIFT SENSOR AND THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. THE MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED US THAT WE WILL EVENTUALLY NEED A $700 REPAIR FOR THE CONTROL ARMS IN THE REAR SUSPENSION -- GE HAS CORRECTED A KNOWN FAULT IN THE PARTS. ALL THIS IS ON TOP OF A $3000 REPAIR DONE IN APRIL 2015 AT 92,500 MI. FOR KNOWN STEERING DEFECTS. IN THAT CASE, AS THE TRAVERSE WARMED UP, THE POWER STEERING GOT HARD TO TURN. GM REPAIRED PART OF THE PROBLEM AT NO COST, REPLACING POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR HOUSING. ANOTHER MECHANIC COMPLETED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY THAT WAS ALSO PART OF THE PROBLEM. THESE ARE BOTH SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS AND REPAIRS NEEDED IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER BEFORE NEEDING MORE THAN ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2016 - WORTHINGTON, OH
JUNE 2016, APPROX. 114,000 MI - FELT A LURCH IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC; FLASHED "SERVICE STABILITRAK," "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL," "BACKUP ALERTS = OFF". THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC SPED UP, I REALIZED I ONLY HAD ONE GEAR AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 60MPH. A SERIOUS PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE! SEVERAL HOURS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON, BUT THE CAR DROVE NORMALLY -- STRAIGHT TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TO NEED $2400 IN TRANSMISSION REPAIR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING FAULT CODES: P182E & C0561. THEY WILL REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION MODE SHIFT SENSOR AND THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. THE MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED US THAT WE WILL EVENTUALLY NEED A $700 REPAIR FOR THE CONTROL ARMS IN THE REAR SUSPENSION -- GE HAS CORRECTED A KNOWN FAULT IN THE PARTS. ALL THIS IS ON TOP OF A $3000 REPAIR DONE IN APRIL 2015 AT 92,500 MI. FOR KNOWN STEERING DEFECTS. IN THAT CASE, AS THE TRAVERSE WARMED UP, THE POWER STEERING GOT HARD TO TURN. GM REPAIRED PART OF THE PROBLEM AT NO COST, REPLACING POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR HOUSING. ANOTHER MECHANIC COMPLETED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY THAT WAS ALSO PART OF THE PROBLEM. THESE ARE BOTH SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS AND REPAIRS NEEDED IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER BEFORE NEEDING MORE THAN ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2016 - ALAMO, TX
WITHOUT ANY WARNING THE SHIFTING GEAR STOP WORKING WHEN PLACED ON PARK, THE TRUCK MOVES FORWARD OR BACKWARDS DEPENDING ON WHERE I PARK IT, THE PERSON WASHING MY TRUCK WAS LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO STOP IT WHEN HE NOTICED IT WAS MOVING BACKWARDS WHEN PARKED UPHILL, IT COULD HAVE BEEN A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT POSSIBLY FATAL!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2016 - CORTLANDT MANOR, NY
THE TIMING CHAIN HAS STRETCHED AND THE DEALER SAYS IT WILL TAKE 19 HOURS TO CHANGE IT. AUTO MFG WENT TO TIMING CHAINS FROM RUBBER BELTS, SO THEY DON'T HAVE TO CHANGE IT. THE WARRANTY IS FOR 5 YRS OR 100,000 MILES. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THE WARRANTY FOR THIS EXPENSIVE JOB SHOULD BE EXTENDED. ONCE THE CHAIN BRAKES, THE CAR IS DONE. THE CAR MAKES NOISE AND DOESN'T ACCELERATE PROPERLY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. FIRST NOTICED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON ABOUT 6 MONTHS OR SO AGO. IT WASN'T UNTIL WE BROKE DOWN IN CANADA THAT THE DEALER THERE SAID IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN WHEN THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds