Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 297 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (4) Power Train (12) Steering (225) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (20) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (10) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (17) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/21/2014 - OMAHA, NE
AT VERY LOW SPEEDS (WHEN PARKING IN A PARKING STALL OR PARALLEL PARKING) OUR POWER STEERING STARTS TO SEIZE UP AND THE WHEEL BECOMES VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN...IN FACT IT TAKES EVERY OUNCE OF MY PETITE BODY TO GET IT TO TURN. UPON BRINGING IT IN WE HAVE LEARNED THAT THERE IS A WARRANTY EXTENSION OUT ON THIS VERY ISSUE AND ALSO RECEIVED A LETTER INDICATING THAT. UNFORTUNATELY THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE ISSUE THEREFORE THE FIX WAS NOT COMPLETED. I WOULD THINK THAT ANY TYPE OF STEERING FAILURE THAT COMES WITHOUT AN INDICATOR WARNING LIGHT SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A "SAFETY ITEM". WE HAVE ALSO HAD A CLUNKING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN SINCE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND GETS WORSE WHEN IT-++S COLD OUT. ALSO WE NOW HAVE A POWER STEERING WHEEL GEAR LEAK AND THE DEALERSHIP INDICATED TO US THAT THEY ALSO THOUGHT THAT THE LEAK MIGHT BE A PART OF THE PROBLEM WHICH IS ALSO ALARMING FOR AGAIN THE FACT THAT I AM LOSING POWER STEERING WITH NO WARNING LIGHT INDICATOR. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS TO BE THE ROOT OF OUR ISSUE BECAUSE IF IT WAS A FLUID LEVEL ISSUE IT WOULD BE MORE CONSISTENT RATHER THAN AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE. I FIND IT KIND OF STRANGE THAT ALL OF THE SUDDEN WE HAVE ALL THESE POWER STEERING ISSUES ALL AT ONCE AND YET OTHER GM MODELS ARE BEING OFFERED LIFE TIME WARRANTIES ON SOME OF THESE SAME ISSUES. I HAVE OPENED A CASE WITH GM ABOUT THE FAILURE WHEN IT COMES TO TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL BECAUSE OF THE FACT THAT IT HAS YET TO BE RESOLVED AND GM HAS ALREADY RECOGNIZED THE ISSUE IN THE WARRANTY EXTENSION AND HAS AN OBLIGATION TO FIX IT. WE FIRST NOTICED THIS ISSUE SINCE THE MIDDLE OF SUMMER 2014. WE WILL SOON HAVE A CHILD TAKING DRIVING LESSONS WITH THIS VEHICLE AND WE ARE ALMOST AFRAID THAT WE WILL LOSE 100% POWER STEERING BECAUSE OF THESE ISSUES WHILE HE IS DRIVING AND HE WILL HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO WHICH IS A SCARY THOUGHT!

View Details

STEERING

11/21/2014 - NEDERLAND , TX
WHILE TRYING TO TURN ONTO A STREET, STEERING WAS VERY HARD TO TURN AND MADE IT DIFFICULT TO COMPLETE THE TURN. THIS HAPPENED SPORADICALLY FOR SEVERAL MONTHS UNTIL WE TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT FIXED. IT COST $2K TO FIX THE STEERING PUMP.

View Details

ENGINE

11/19/2014 - CLINTON , OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WENT INTO POWER SAFE MODE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS CLEANED AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DECIDED TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. SR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - ATKINS , AR
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE TRACKTION CONTROL, ENGINE SPEED REDUCE, STABILTRAK WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN TO 20 MPH INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER, SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF, THEN RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE CODES WERE RESET. THE FAILURE RECURRED, BUT THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,500. MF

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/17/2014 - QUINCY, IL
IF AUTO IS IN DRIVE AND STOPPED ON AN INCLINE,WHEN FOOT IS RELEASED FROM BRAKE,AUTO WILL ROLL DOWNHILL UNTIL YOU PUSH ON ACCELERATOR HARD ENOUGH TO STOP THE ROLL AND MOVE FORWARD.IF AUTO IS STOPPED ON HILL AND PUT IN PARK CAR WILL ROLL APPROX.1 FOOT BEFORE IT CATCHES. WE WERE LAUNCHING A CANOE AT A BOAT RAMP FACING DOWNHILL. AFTER PUTTING THE CAR IN REVERSE, I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND ALMOST ROLLED INTO THE WATER. I WAS ABLE TO PUSH ON THE ACCELERATOR TO OVERCOME THE MOMENTUM. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS WITHIN SPECS.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2014 - CASPER, WY
DRIVING DOWN A TWO LANE HIGHWAY. NEEDED TO PASS CAR IN FRONT OF US DOING 40MPH IN A 60. SIGNALED OVER INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC LANE, PASSED OVER, SPED UP, AND SIGNALED TO TRANSFER BACK INTO ORIGINAL LANE. DURING TRANSFER, POWER STEERING STOPPED, FORCING ME TO PULL HARDER THAN NORMAL TO MOVE THE VEHICLE OVER. ONCE THE MANEUVER WAS ALMOST COMPLETE, POWER STEERING RETURNED, CAUSING ME TO OVER CORRECT RIGHT, THEN NEEDING TO CORRECT BACK LEFT. THE QUICK MANEUVER CAUSED MY PASSENGER TO HIT THEIR HEAD ON THEIR WINDOW. FROM THAT MOMENT ON, POWER STEERING ONLY WORKS WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS BEING DEPRESSED. WHEN YOU ARE IDLE, COASTING, ETC., POWER STEERING IS NOT PRESENT AND REQUIRES EXCESSIVE FORCE TO STEER CAR. CALLED DEALERSHIP TODAY TO GET IT LOOKED AT. I ASSUME IT MIGHT BE RELATED TO SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT #14329, BUT NOT SURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/9/2014 - FLORENCE, NJ
HEATER AND A/C WASN'T WORKING CORRECTLY AS HOT AND COLD AIR WEREN'T CONSISTENTLY BLOWING THROUGH THE VENTS. DEALER STATED THE PROBLEM WITH THE HEATER AND A/C IS DUE TO A BAD TEMPERATURE ACTUATOR WHICH WILL COST ABOUT $350 PLUS TAX. THEY REPLACED THE MODE DOOR ACTUATOR SYSTEM IN DEC 2013 BECAUSE NO AIR WAS BLOWING THROUGH THE DEFROST VENTS, WHICH COST $415. ELECTRONICS KEEP FAILING AND ARE EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR/REPLACE.

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2014 - FLORENCE, NJ
HARD TO STEER AT LOW SPEEDS; THUMPING SOUND. ON NOV 8, 2014 , I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO BURLINGTON CHEVROLET, HOWEVER THEY STATED IT WASN'T THE POWER STEERING PUMP. THEY SAID IT WAS THE STEERING GEAR RACK WHICH WILL COST ME ABOUT $1,600 PLUS TAX (ALSO INCLUDES FLUSHING THE LINE AND WHEEL ALIGNMENT). THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I'VE READ SIMILAR COMMON PROBLEMS. THIS HAS TO BE RELATED TO THE RECENT POWER STEERING PUMP ISSUE LETTER THAT GM RECENTLY MAILED (14329). I'M FRUSTRATED!

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2014 - TERREBONNE , OR
JULY 2014 MY TRAVERSE HAD AROUND 67,000 MILES ON IT, AND IT HAD STARTED OVERHEATING.WE TOOK IT TO A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND HAD THE ISSUE TAKEN CARE OF.WE HAD ALSO ASKED THEM TO ADDRESS THE RECALLS THAT WE HAD RECEIVED NOTICE ON.ONE ISSUE WAS FIXED, AND ON THE INVOICE THEY HAD MADE NOTE THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT US WHEN THE OTHER RECALL PARTS WERE IN. FOR 2 MONTHS, NO PHONE CALL FROM THEM.WE HAD RECEIVED NO CALL THAT THE PARTS WERE IN.THEN THE END OF SEPTEMBER WHILE DRIVING BACK FROM THE COAST, I HEARD A NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE A CAP BEING CLICKED BY A TEEN. BLAMED MY NIECE, BUT AFTER READING THE LEGAL DOCUMENTS ON THE LAWSUIT, IT HAD TO HAVE BEEN THE SAME THING. THE NEXT ISSUE THAT WOULD BE WHAT I CONSIDER THE LAST STRAW WITH THIS VEHICLE.IN THE NEXT DAY OR SO, IT BECAME HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS.WE CHECKED STEERING FLUID, AND IT WAS LOW BUT NO WHERE NEAR EMPTY.WE ADDED ADDITIONAL FLUID AND THOUGHT THAT WAS THE FIX.THE STEERING ISSUE CONTINUED TO WORSEN.DRIVING INTO WORK I NEEDED TO TURN OFF THE MAIN HWY ONTO A ST., DURING THE MORNING RUSH HOUR.I WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN. IT TOOK ALL I COULD DO TO TURN. WAS VERY SCARY, AND I WAS THANKFUL THAT OUR CHILDREN WERE NOT IN THE CAR.WHEN I ARRIVED TO WORK, I WAS UNABLE TO PULL INTO THE PARKING LOT OF THE OFFICE. I ENDED UP HAVING TO PARK ON THE ST DUE TO BEING UNABLE TO EFFECTIVELY TURN.WE TOOK THE TRAVERSE TO A DIFFERENT CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT THAT THE PUMP, RACK AND PINION, STRUT AND CV BOOT WERE FAILING. FOUND THIS TO BE VERY ODD, MOST OFTEN A CV BOOT WEARS OUT ON A VEHICLE WITH HIGHER MILES THAN THE 70,000MILES.COST TO REPAIR IS AT $2500.00, DUE TO CHEVROLET FOR THE NEGLECT. NOW WE ARE LOOKING FOR A DIFFERENT VEHICLE AND THEY ONLY WANT TO OFFER 14,000 TRADE IN?A $40,000 VEHICLE WORTH NEAR 1/4 OF WHAT WE HAVE PAID FOR IT IN ONLY 4 YEARS.IT IS NOW WORTH NOTHING, BUT I'M UPSIDE DOWN ON AN LOAN!

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/7/2014 - TERREBONNE , OR
JULY 2014 MY TRAVERSE HAD AROUND 67,000 MILES ON IT, AND IT HAD STARTED OVERHEATING.WE TOOK IT TO A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND HAD THE ISSUE TAKEN CARE OF.WE HAD ALSO ASKED THEM TO ADDRESS THE RECALLS THAT WE HAD RECEIVED NOTICE ON.ONE ISSUE WAS FIXED, AND ON THE INVOICE THEY HAD MADE NOTE THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT US WHEN THE OTHER RECALL PARTS WERE IN. FOR 2 MONTHS, NO PHONE CALL FROM THEM.WE HAD RECEIVED NO CALL THAT THE PARTS WERE IN.THEN THE END OF SEPTEMBER WHILE DRIVING BACK FROM THE COAST, I HEARD A NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE A CAP BEING CLICKED BY A TEEN. BLAMED MY NIECE, BUT AFTER READING THE LEGAL DOCUMENTS ON THE LAWSUIT, IT HAD TO HAVE BEEN THE SAME THING. THE NEXT ISSUE THAT WOULD BE WHAT I CONSIDER THE LAST STRAW WITH THIS VEHICLE.IN THE NEXT DAY OR SO, IT BECAME HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS.WE CHECKED STEERING FLUID, AND IT WAS LOW BUT NO WHERE NEAR EMPTY.WE ADDED ADDITIONAL FLUID AND THOUGHT THAT WAS THE FIX.THE STEERING ISSUE CONTINUED TO WORSEN.DRIVING INTO WORK I NEEDED TO TURN OFF THE MAIN HWY ONTO A ST., DURING THE MORNING RUSH HOUR.I WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN. IT TOOK ALL I COULD DO TO TURN. WAS VERY SCARY, AND I WAS THANKFUL THAT OUR CHILDREN WERE NOT IN THE CAR.WHEN I ARRIVED TO WORK, I WAS UNABLE TO PULL INTO THE PARKING LOT OF THE OFFICE. I ENDED UP HAVING TO PARK ON THE ST DUE TO BEING UNABLE TO EFFECTIVELY TURN.WE TOOK THE TRAVERSE TO A DIFFERENT CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT THAT THE PUMP, RACK AND PINION, STRUT AND CV BOOT WERE FAILING. FOUND THIS TO BE VERY ODD, MOST OFTEN A CV BOOT WEARS OUT ON A VEHICLE WITH HIGHER MILES THAN THE 70,000MILES.COST TO REPAIR IS AT $2500.00, DUE TO CHEVROLET FOR THE NEGLECT. NOW WE ARE LOOKING FOR A DIFFERENT VEHICLE AND THEY ONLY WANT TO OFFER 14,000 TRADE IN?A $40,000 VEHICLE WORTH NEAR 1/4 OF WHAT WE HAVE PAID FOR IT IN ONLY 4 YEARS.IT IS NOW WORTH NOTHING, BUT I'M UPSIDE DOWN ON AN LOAN!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds