Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 548 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (5) Power Train (56) Steering (306) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (35) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (17) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (43) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (5) Suspension (8) Visibility (7)
Engine (124) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (14) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/8/2018 - WEST SAINT PAUL, MN
WE HAD A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COME ON AND WHEN TESTED WE RECEIVED SEVERAL DIFFERENT CODES. THE VEHICLE DID NOT ACCELERATE AND RAN ROUGH. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED US THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAD STRETCHED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE WITH SEVERAL DIFFERENT GM CARS INCLUDING THE ACADIA AND ENCLAVE. GM PROVIDES A SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT FOR SEVERAL MAKES AND MODELS FOR THIS ISSUE UNDER "SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT #11340C", BUT NOT THE 2010 TRAVERSE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2018 - COLEMAN, WI
TIMING CHAINS STRETCHED. REVIEWED ONLINE COMPLAINTS AND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THIS VEHICLE. CHEVY HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD GO OFF SOMETIMES. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN I WAS TOLD THAT MY STRUT WAS ALSO LEAKING. $3000 LATER I HAVE NEW TIMING CHAINS AND BREAKS, AND STILL NEED TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $1000 FOR THE STRUTS. I DRIVE MAINLY HIGHWAY TO AND FROM WORK. NO REASON TIMING CHAIN SHOULD HAVE JUST STRETCHED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2018 - CUMMING, GA
2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TIMING CHAIN. THE CONSUMER STATED THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DECLINED TO OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2018 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
I HAVE HAD THE POWER TRAIN REPAIRED TWICE, ONCE WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, AND THEN AT COST. I HAVE PAID MORE THAN $2K ON THE REPAIR AND YET THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON AND A CHECK OF THE ERROR CODES REVEALS THE SAME PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAS FAILED EMISSIONS TESTING AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEM. I'VE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE WITH THE SAME ISSUES. THERE'S DEFINITELY A DEFECT WITHIN THIS MODEL YEAR'S ENGINE SYSTEM INVOLVING THE POWER TRAIN. I AM REQUESTING AN INVESTIGATION AND POSSIBLE RECALL. I CAN'T PUT OUT MORE MONEY TO FIX A MAINTENANCE PROBLEM THAT WILL NEVER BE FIXED. THE CAR SHAKES AS IF IT'S IDLE WHEN DRIVING AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BLINKS OFF AND ON PROFUSELY. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE IT FEARING SOMETHING TERRIBLE WILL HAPPEN. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO WALDORF CHEVROLET. THEY ARE NOT COOPERATIVE WITH PROVIDING SERVICE DETAILS, ONE BECAUSE THEY CLAIM TO HAVE A NEW SYSTEM. AND THEY ARE NOT HELPFUL WITH UNDERSTANDING WHY THE POWER TRAIN CONTINUES TO BE AN ISSUE AFTER THEY "REPAIRED" IT. I DO HAVE A COPY OF THE REPAIR DOCUMENTS IT NEEDED. ALSO, ONE SET OF SEAT BELTS IN THE SECOND ROW HAVE FALLEN APART ON ITS OWN (MEANING THERE WERE BEING USED AS DESIGNED AND THE FASTENER JUST CRUMBLED)

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2018 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
I HAVE HAD THE POWER TRAIN REPAIRED TWICE, ONCE WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, AND THEN AT COST. I HAVE PAID MORE THAN $2K ON THE REPAIR AND YET THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON AND A CHECK OF THE ERROR CODES REVEALS THE SAME PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAS FAILED EMISSIONS TESTING AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEM. I'VE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE WITH THE SAME ISSUES. THERE'S DEFINITELY A DEFECT WITHIN THIS MODEL YEAR'S ENGINE SYSTEM INVOLVING THE POWER TRAIN. I AM REQUESTING AN INVESTIGATION AND POSSIBLE RECALL. I CAN'T PUT OUT MORE MONEY TO FIX A MAINTENANCE PROBLEM THAT WILL NEVER BE FIXED. THE CAR SHAKES AS IF IT'S IDLE WHEN DRIVING AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BLINKS OFF AND ON PROFUSELY. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE IT FEARING SOMETHING TERRIBLE WILL HAPPEN. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO WALDORF CHEVROLET. THEY ARE NOT COOPERATIVE WITH PROVIDING SERVICE DETAILS, ONE BECAUSE THEY CLAIM TO HAVE A NEW SYSTEM. AND THEY ARE NOT HELPFUL WITH UNDERSTANDING WHY THE POWER TRAIN CONTINUES TO BE AN ISSUE AFTER THEY "REPAIRED" IT. I DO HAVE A COPY OF THE REPAIR DOCUMENTS IT NEEDED. ALSO, ONE SET OF SEAT BELTS IN THE SECOND ROW HAVE FALLEN APART ON ITS OWN (MEANING THERE WERE BEING USED AS DESIGNED AND THE FASTENER JUST CRUMBLED)

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/18/2018 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
I HAVE HAD THE POWER TRAIN REPAIRED TWICE, ONCE WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, AND THEN AT COST. I HAVE PAID MORE THAN $2K ON THE REPAIR AND YET THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON AND A CHECK OF THE ERROR CODES REVEALS THE SAME PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAS FAILED EMISSIONS TESTING AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEM. I'VE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE WITH THE SAME ISSUES. THERE'S DEFINITELY A DEFECT WITHIN THIS MODEL YEAR'S ENGINE SYSTEM INVOLVING THE POWER TRAIN. I AM REQUESTING AN INVESTIGATION AND POSSIBLE RECALL. I CAN'T PUT OUT MORE MONEY TO FIX A MAINTENANCE PROBLEM THAT WILL NEVER BE FIXED. THE CAR SHAKES AS IF IT'S IDLE WHEN DRIVING AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BLINKS OFF AND ON PROFUSELY. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE IT FEARING SOMETHING TERRIBLE WILL HAPPEN. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO WALDORF CHEVROLET. THEY ARE NOT COOPERATIVE WITH PROVIDING SERVICE DETAILS, ONE BECAUSE THEY CLAIM TO HAVE A NEW SYSTEM. AND THEY ARE NOT HELPFUL WITH UNDERSTANDING WHY THE POWER TRAIN CONTINUES TO BE AN ISSUE AFTER THEY "REPAIRED" IT. I DO HAVE A COPY OF THE REPAIR DOCUMENTS IT NEEDED. ALSO, ONE SET OF SEAT BELTS IN THE SECOND ROW HAVE FALLEN APART ON ITS OWN (MEANING THERE WERE BEING USED AS DESIGNED AND THE FASTENER JUST CRUMBLED)

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2018 - MINNETONKA, MN
OUR 2010 TRAVERSE WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN WITH ONLY 63,400 MILES. THIS IS A MAJOR REPAIR COST- CHEVY DEALER ESTIMATE OF $4364! THIS IS A DOCUMENTED AND ADMITTED DEFECT BY GENERAL MOTORS FOR THE 2009 MODEL YEAR TRAVERSE. OUR VEHICLE IS AN EARLY 2010 MODEL YEAR VEHICLE (BUILT SEP 3, 2009 AND PUT INTO SERVICE JAN 4, 2010). GM IS AWARE OF THIS WIDE SPREAD ISSUE AND HAS NOT ACCEPTED RESPONSIBILITY FOR REPAIRS. ADDITIONALLY, WE HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO USE THE REMOTE START (DURING WINTER IN MN!) BECAUSE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DISABLES THIS FEATURE.

View Details

STEERING

5/7/2018 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
2010 CHEVY TRAVERSE LOST POWER STEERING WHILE BEING DRIVEN BY SON. INITIAL FAILURE OCCURRED AT STREET SPEEDS. THE CAR COULD BE STEERED WITHOUT POWER BUT IT WAS DIFFICULT AT LOW SPEEDS. DEALER WAS INFORMED OF SOUNDS WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD LESS THAN 100,000 MILES BUT NOTHING WAS DONE. THE CAR CURRENTLY HAS 133,000 MILES (2-3 YEARS AFTER SOUNDS REPORTED TO DEALER).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/25/2018 - CUTLER BAY, FL
THE AC IS HISSING AND SMOKE IS COMING OUT OF THE VENTS I CAN+T BELIEVE THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL AS I SEE THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH THESE VEHICLES!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/6/2018 - GRAND FORKS, ND
IN 2014, I HAD THE TIMING CHAIN ISSUES. GM COVERED ALL BUT $1,000 OF THE REPAIR. NOW AGAIN, 4 YEARS LATER, AND 40,000 MILES ON THE TIMING CHAIN THAT WAS REPLACED, I'M HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. DEALER SAYS TIMING CHAIN NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I AM OVER THE 5 YEAR, 100,000 MILE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY, SO THEY TELL ME IT WON'T BE COVERED AND IT WILL ALL BY AT MY OWN EXPENSE. THIS IS AN ENGINEERING FLAW, AND WE THE CONSUMERS ARE EXPECTED TO FOOT THE BILL. IT'S NOT FAIR, AND NEEDS TO EXPAND THEIR TIMING CHAIN WARRANTY FROM TO THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH THE EXTENDED SERVICE 11340-C. OR DO A COMPLETE RECALL!!! HOW THERE HASN'T BEEN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT YET IS BEYOND ME....

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds