Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 390 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (5) Power Train (24) Steering (256) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (28) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine (49) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/30/2016 - ROSCOE, IL
I AM WRITING YOU THIS LETTER TO FILE AN OFFICIAL COMPLAINT AGAINST GENERAL MOTORS REGARDING MY 2010 CHEVY TRAVERSE. ON AUGUST 6TH 2015, WHILE DRIVING MY CAR 55MPH, THE ENGINE SEIZED CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND POWER BREAKS. AS YOU CAN IMAGINE, THIS PUT MY FAMILY IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION. OUR LICENSED MECHANIC TOLD US THE REASON THE ENGINE SEIZED IS A +SPUN ROD BARRING.+ WE WERE TOLD THAT A SPUN ROD BARRING IS A VERY UNCOMMON MECHANICAL ISSUE AND EXTREMELY UNCOMMON IN A CAR THAT IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD WITH ONLY 71K MILES ON IT. I CALLED GENERAL MOTORS WHILE THE CAR WAS BEING REPAIRED TO DISCUSS THE PROBLEM. THEY WERE QUITE RUDE AND REFUSED TO DISCUSS THE ISSUE BECAUSE I DID NOT TAKE MY CAR TO A CERTIFIED GM REPAIR SHOP. THEREFORE, I DECIDED TO SEND GM A LETTER EXPLAINING THE SITUATION. ATTACHED IS A COPY OF THE LETTER, MAINTENANCE RECORDS, AND PHOTOS OF THE SPUN ROD BARRING I SENT TO GM. GM CUSTOMER SERVICE CALLED ME ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND VERBALLY TOLD ME THAT THEY WOULD NOT REIMBURSE ME OR EVEN LOOK INTO THE ISSUE BECAUSE +I DID NOT TAKE MY CAR TO A CERTIFIED GM REPAIR SHOP FOR THE REPAIR.+ I ASKED CUSTOMER SERVICE MULTIPLE TIMES TO SEND ME THIS INFORMATION IN WRITING AND THEY REFUSED. TO REFUSE STANDARD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND AVOID TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR A POORLY ENGINEERED AND MANUFACTURED ENGINE SIMPLY BECAUSE I DID NOT TAKE MY CAR TO A CERTIFIED GM REPAIR SHOP IS INEXCUSABLE. I HOPE THAT YOU CAN ASSIST ME IN RECEIVING REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPLACING THE ENGINE IN MY CAR AND REQUIRING GM TO RECALL THE ENGINE. IF YOU NEED ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I HAVE MORE DOCUMENTS THAN THE WEBSITE ALLOWS ME TO SUBMIT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2016 - INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN
MY TRAVERSE JUST PULLED A P0008 AND P0017 ENGINE CODE. AFTER BRINGING IT TO THE MECHANIC, I HAD AN OIL FLUSH AND INDUCTION SYSTEM CLEANING. THE FOLLOWING DAY THE P0008 CODE WHEN OFF AGAIN. THIS IS SPECIFIC FOR THE TIMING CHAIN AND CYLINDER HEADS. APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL AND WARRANTY EXTENSION FOR 08-09 CHEVY TRAVERSES HOWEVER THAT HAS NOT TRANSFERRED OVER TO MY PARTICULAR MODEL YEAR. MY VEHICLE IS 1 YEAR OUT OF WARRANTY WITH ONLY 63,000 MILES ON IT. MY REPAIRS ARE TO BE AN ESTIMATED $4,000 - $6,300 BUT AM BEING OFFERED A 50/50 SPLIT THAT I FEEL IS STILL UNACCEPTABLE ON A VEHICLE WITH ONLY 63,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/12/2016 - INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN
MY TRAVERSE JUST PULLED A P0008 AND P0017 ENGINE CODE. AFTER BRINGING IT TO THE MECHANIC, I HAD AN OIL FLUSH AND INDUCTION SYSTEM CLEANING. THE FOLLOWING DAY THE P0008 CODE WHEN OFF AGAIN. THIS IS SPECIFIC FOR THE TIMING CHAIN AND CYLINDER HEADS. APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL AND WARRANTY EXTENSION FOR 08-09 CHEVY TRAVERSES HOWEVER THAT HAS NOT TRANSFERRED OVER TO MY PARTICULAR MODEL YEAR. MY VEHICLE IS 1 YEAR OUT OF WARRANTY WITH ONLY 63,000 MILES ON IT. MY REPAIRS ARE TO BE AN ESTIMATED $4,000 - $6,300 BUT AM BEING OFFERED A 50/50 SPLIT THAT I FEEL IS STILL UNACCEPTABLE ON A VEHICLE WITH ONLY 63,000 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

1/12/2016 - LINCOLNTON, NC
AT SLOW SPEEDS IT BECOMES HARD TO STEER , AND IT IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2016 - LOONG BEACH, MS
I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO THE GM DEALERSHIP FOR AN UNRELATED PROBLEM AND THE TECHNICIAN "DISCOVERED" A FAULTY/LEAKING STEERING GEAR BOX....TOTALLY REPLACED AT A COST OF $1386. NOW, FOLLOWING ONLINE RESEARCH, I REALIZE THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND GM WOULD APPEAR TO BE CIRCUMVENTING REPORTING AND A RECALL BY HAVING INDIVIDUALS "PAY FOR THE FIX".....I WANT TO DOCUMENT THIS COMPLAINT AND MY PERSONAL ENCUMBERANCE OF THE REPAIR COSTS....THE DISCUSSION ONLINE POINTS TO A COMMON AND DANGEROUS PROBLEM THAT WE HAD NOT "YET" EXPERIENCED, BUT ACCORDING TO THE TECHNICIAN, MAY HAVE HAD A DANGEROUS ENCOUNTER AT ANY TIME!

View Details

ENGINE

12/24/2015 - FLORENCE, NJ
ENGINE WAS RUNNING ROUGH; VEHICLE WAS SLUGGISH. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. DEALERSHIP, BURLINGTON CHEVROLET, RAN A DIAGNOSTIC AND THERE WERE SOME FAILED CODES (P0011 AND P008), ALL RELATED TO THE CAMSHAFT AND TIMING CHAINS. TO REPAIR, IT WOULD COST ABOUT $2,700 SINCE I WAS SIX MONTHS OVER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. THEY CONTACTED GM AND THEY STATED THAT IT WOULD COST ME $681 PLUS TAX. I AGREED TO HAVE THE REPAIRS COMPLETED WHICH ALSO INCLUDED REPLACING THE WATERPUMP WHICH WAS LEAKING. I HAVE READ ONLINE THAT TIMING CHAIN PROBLEMS ON HAVE OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY ON 2007-2010 CHEVY TRAVERSE, SATURN OUTLOOK, GMC ACADIA, AND BUICK ENCLAVE. ALL OF THESE SUV+S HAVE THE 3.6 LITER V6 ENGINE WITH DUAL OVERHEAD CAMS. WHAT IS HAPPENING ON THESE VEHICLES IS THAT THE TIMING CHAINS ARE STRETCHING WHICH LEADS TO CORRELATION ERRORS WITH THE CAM SENSORS AND ACTUATORS. AFTER 2010, GENERAL MOTORS HAS SEEMED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH UPDATED CHAINS AND ECM CALIBRATIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/24/2015 - FLORENCE, NJ
ENGINE WAS RUNNING ROUGH; VEHICLE WAS SLUGGISH. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. DEALERSHIP, BURLINGTON CHEVROLET, RAN A DIAGNOSTIC AND THERE WERE SOME FAILED CODES (P0011 AND P008), ALL RELATED TO THE CAMSHAFT AND TIMING CHAINS. TO REPAIR, IT WOULD COST ABOUT $2,700 SINCE I WAS SIX MONTHS OVER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. THEY CONTACTED GM AND THEY STATED THAT IT WOULD COST ME $681 PLUS TAX. I AGREED TO HAVE THE REPAIRS COMPLETED WHICH ALSO INCLUDED REPLACING THE WATERPUMP WHICH WAS LEAKING. I HAVE READ ONLINE THAT TIMING CHAIN PROBLEMS ON HAVE OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY ON 2007-2010 CHEVY TRAVERSE, SATURN OUTLOOK, GMC ACADIA, AND BUICK ENCLAVE. ALL OF THESE SUV+S HAVE THE 3.6 LITER V6 ENGINE WITH DUAL OVERHEAD CAMS. WHAT IS HAPPENING ON THESE VEHICLES IS THAT THE TIMING CHAINS ARE STRETCHING WHICH LEADS TO CORRELATION ERRORS WITH THE CAM SENSORS AND ACTUATORS. AFTER 2010, GENERAL MOTORS HAS SEEMED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH UPDATED CHAINS AND ECM CALIBRATIONS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2015 - BONAIRE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE INSPECTED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V118000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,999.

View Details

ENGINE

12/14/2015 - RUSKIN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK AND THE POWER STEERING PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DETAILS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,827.

View Details

STEERING

12/14/2015 - RUSKIN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK AND THE POWER STEERING PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DETAILS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,827.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds