Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 413 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (5) Power Train (31) Steering (261) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (29) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (59) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/15/2016 - WORTHINGTON, OH
JUNE 2016, APPROX. 114,000 MI - FELT A LURCH IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC; FLASHED "SERVICE STABILITRAK," "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL," "BACKUP ALERTS = OFF". THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC SPED UP, I REALIZED I ONLY HAD ONE GEAR AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 60MPH. A SERIOUS PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE! SEVERAL HOURS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON, BUT THE CAR DROVE NORMALLY -- STRAIGHT TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TO NEED $2400 IN TRANSMISSION REPAIR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING FAULT CODES: P182E & C0561. THEY WILL REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION MODE SHIFT SENSOR AND THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. THE MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED US THAT WE WILL EVENTUALLY NEED A $700 REPAIR FOR THE CONTROL ARMS IN THE REAR SUSPENSION -- GE HAS CORRECTED A KNOWN FAULT IN THE PARTS. ALL THIS IS ON TOP OF A $3000 REPAIR DONE IN APRIL 2015 AT 92,500 MI. FOR KNOWN STEERING DEFECTS. IN THAT CASE, AS THE TRAVERSE WARMED UP, THE POWER STEERING GOT HARD TO TURN. GM REPAIRED PART OF THE PROBLEM AT NO COST, REPLACING POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR HOUSING. ANOTHER MECHANIC COMPLETED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY THAT WAS ALSO PART OF THE PROBLEM. THESE ARE BOTH SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS AND REPAIRS NEEDED IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER BEFORE NEEDING MORE THAN ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/15/2016 - WORTHINGTON, OH
JUNE 2016, APPROX. 114,000 MI - FELT A LURCH IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC; FLASHED "SERVICE STABILITRAK," "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL," "BACKUP ALERTS = OFF". THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC SPED UP, I REALIZED I ONLY HAD ONE GEAR AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 60MPH. A SERIOUS PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE! SEVERAL HOURS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON, BUT THE CAR DROVE NORMALLY -- STRAIGHT TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TO NEED $2400 IN TRANSMISSION REPAIR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING FAULT CODES: P182E & C0561. THEY WILL REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION MODE SHIFT SENSOR AND THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. THE MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED US THAT WE WILL EVENTUALLY NEED A $700 REPAIR FOR THE CONTROL ARMS IN THE REAR SUSPENSION -- GE HAS CORRECTED A KNOWN FAULT IN THE PARTS. ALL THIS IS ON TOP OF A $3000 REPAIR DONE IN APRIL 2015 AT 92,500 MI. FOR KNOWN STEERING DEFECTS. IN THAT CASE, AS THE TRAVERSE WARMED UP, THE POWER STEERING GOT HARD TO TURN. GM REPAIRED PART OF THE PROBLEM AT NO COST, REPLACING POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR HOUSING. ANOTHER MECHANIC COMPLETED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY THAT WAS ALSO PART OF THE PROBLEM. THESE ARE BOTH SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS AND REPAIRS NEEDED IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER BEFORE NEEDING MORE THAN ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2016 - WORTHINGTON, OH
JUNE 2016, APPROX. 114,000 MI - FELT A LURCH IN STOP & GO TRAFFIC; FLASHED "SERVICE STABILITRAK," "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL," "BACKUP ALERTS = OFF". THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN TRAFFIC SPED UP, I REALIZED I ONLY HAD ONE GEAR AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 60MPH. A SERIOUS PROBLEM ON THE INTERSTATE! SEVERAL HOURS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON, BUT THE CAR DROVE NORMALLY -- STRAIGHT TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TO NEED $2400 IN TRANSMISSION REPAIR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING FAULT CODES: P182E & C0561. THEY WILL REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION MODE SHIFT SENSOR AND THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. THE MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED US THAT WE WILL EVENTUALLY NEED A $700 REPAIR FOR THE CONTROL ARMS IN THE REAR SUSPENSION -- GE HAS CORRECTED A KNOWN FAULT IN THE PARTS. ALL THIS IS ON TOP OF A $3000 REPAIR DONE IN APRIL 2015 AT 92,500 MI. FOR KNOWN STEERING DEFECTS. IN THAT CASE, AS THE TRAVERSE WARMED UP, THE POWER STEERING GOT HARD TO TURN. GM REPAIRED PART OF THE PROBLEM AT NO COST, REPLACING POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR HOUSING. ANOTHER MECHANIC COMPLETED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY THAT WAS ALSO PART OF THE PROBLEM. THESE ARE BOTH SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS AND REPAIRS NEEDED IN A VEHICLE THAT WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER BEFORE NEEDING MORE THAN ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2016 - ALAMO, TX
WITHOUT ANY WARNING THE SHIFTING GEAR STOP WORKING WHEN PLACED ON PARK, THE TRUCK MOVES FORWARD OR BACKWARDS DEPENDING ON WHERE I PARK IT, THE PERSON WASHING MY TRUCK WAS LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO STOP IT WHEN HE NOTICED IT WAS MOVING BACKWARDS WHEN PARKED UPHILL, IT COULD HAVE BEEN A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT POSSIBLY FATAL!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2016 - CORTLANDT MANOR, NY
THE TIMING CHAIN HAS STRETCHED AND THE DEALER SAYS IT WILL TAKE 19 HOURS TO CHANGE IT. AUTO MFG WENT TO TIMING CHAINS FROM RUBBER BELTS, SO THEY DON'T HAVE TO CHANGE IT. THE WARRANTY IS FOR 5 YRS OR 100,000 MILES. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THE WARRANTY FOR THIS EXPENSIVE JOB SHOULD BE EXTENDED. ONCE THE CHAIN BRAKES, THE CAR IS DONE. THE CAR MAKES NOISE AND DOESN'T ACCELERATE PROPERLY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. FIRST NOTICED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON ABOUT 6 MONTHS OR SO AGO. IT WASN'T UNTIL WE BROKE DOWN IN CANADA THAT THE DEALER THERE SAID IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN WHEN THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2016 - CORTLANDT MANOR, NY
THE TIMING CHAIN HAS STRETCHED AND THE DEALER SAYS IT WILL TAKE 19 HOURS TO CHANGE IT. AUTO MFG WENT TO TIMING CHAINS FROM RUBBER BELTS, SO THEY DON'T HAVE TO CHANGE IT. THE WARRANTY IS FOR 5 YRS OR 100,000 MILES. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THE WARRANTY FOR THIS EXPENSIVE JOB SHOULD BE EXTENDED. ONCE THE CHAIN BRAKES, THE CAR IS DONE. THE CAR MAKES NOISE AND DOESN'T ACCELERATE PROPERLY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. FIRST NOTICED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON ABOUT 6 MONTHS OR SO AGO. IT WASN'T UNTIL WE BROKE DOWN IN CANADA THAT THE DEALER THERE SAID IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN WHEN THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY.

View Details

STEERING

5/6/2016 - ANCHORAGE, AK
MY VEHICLE IS JUST OVER 60,000 MILES. IT NEEDS A NEW POWER STEERING PUMP (RECALLED) AND NOW A NEW STEERING RACK. THE VEHICLE IS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN IN PARKING LOTS AND ON THE ROADS. I THOUGHT IT JUST NEEDED A POWER STEERING FLUSH AND SO THAT WAS COMPLETED AT 50,000 MILES. THAT WAS AFTER I HAD REPAIRED A 700 ENGINE COOLANT HOSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/5/2016 - BESSEMER, AL
MY TRANSMISSION HAS GONE OUT IN MY SUV. WHEN RESEARCHING ABOUT TRAVERSE TRANSMISSIONS I HAVE FOUND THAT EVERY YEAR MODEL THAT HAS BEEN MADE HAS PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION WHEN THEY REACH 80,000+ MILES. CHEVY HAS A RECALL AND UPDATED WARRANTY FOR 2009 MODELS BUT NOT OTHER MODELS. I THINK A MAJOR RECALL NEEDS TO DONE ON THE TRAVERSE DUE TO TRANSMISSION ISSUES. IF YOU GO TO WWW.CHEVYTRAVERSEFORUM.COM OR EVEN JUST GOOGLE CHEVROLET TRAVERSE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS HUNDREDS OF ANGRY CUSTOMERS COMMENT ABOUT THE PROBLEMS THEY HAVE WITH THE TRAVERSE'S TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2016 - BLUE EARTH, MN
AT 84000 MILES THE EMISSIONS LIGHT CAME ON YET NOTHING WAS A RED FLAG WHILE DRIVING. NO NOISES OR ANYTHING SEEMED DIFFERENT. HAD DIAGNOSTICS COMPLETED AND TIMING CHAIN WAS STRETCHED AND NEEDED REPLACED. CODES P0008, P0009, P0017 APPEARED. COST $2500. OUR WARRANTY WAS UP AT 83000 MILES. SEEMS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM YET THE DEALERSHIP NEVER MENTIONED ANY OF THIS DURING THE SALE. GM SHOULD HAVE A RECALL ON THIS!!

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2016 - PUTNAM VALLEY, NY
APR.2015: VEHICLE CONSTANTLY STALLED, ENGINE LIGHT ON AT LESS THAN 60K. OCT. 2015: HAD TO REPLACE THE STARTER TWICE AND REPAIR THE FLY WHEEL. REPAIR COSTS=$2,000. ENGINE LIGHT STILL ON. TIMING CHAIN PROBLEMS, ADDITIONAL $2600 EST. COSTS. VEHICLE NEEDS INSPECTION AND WILL NOT PASS WITH CODES P0018-0007 STORED. NOT FAIR THAT WE SHOULD HAVE TO INCURE THESE COSTS. GM SHOULD COVER THIS UNDER THEIR "SPECIAL POLICY" FOR KNOWN ISSUES WITH THIS. CURRENT VEHICLE MILEAGE 80K. CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ENGINE COULD FAIL AT ANY TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds