Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 457 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (5) Power Train (38) Steering (280) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (31) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility (7)
Engine (81) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (8) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/3/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
TIMING CHAIN IS OUT OF SYNC. MECHANIC STATES THAT ERROR CODES ARE CAUSING THE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE THAT ARE BASED AROUND SKIPPING/SLIPPING TIMING CHAIN. STATES THAT TIMING CHAIN MUST BE REPAIRED. IF TIMING CHAIN FAILS TO WORK CORRECTLY, ENGINE COULD SEIZE CAUSE THE VEHICLE FAIL UNEXPECTEDLY.

View Details

ENGINE

2/27/2017 - MONTARA, CA
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DIVING AT CITY SPEEDS, TOOK IT TO STEWART CHEVROLET AND THE SAID IT WAS THE P0008 AND P0017 TIMING CHAIN AND CRANK CAMSHAFT. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THAT THIS IS OCCURRING . 1ST WAS AT 60,929K AND SECOND WAS AT 81,781K THEY WANT BETWEEN $3,000 TO $9,000 TO REPAIR AND NO GUARANTEE THAT IT WON'T OCCUR AT NEXT 20K, GM ARE NOT STANDING BY THERE PRODUCT NOR IS STEWARD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2017 - CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR MOTOR LIGHT AND OIL CHANGE. I WAS ADVISED THAT MY TIMING CHAIN WAS SOME WEAR AND NEEDS CHANGING. I WAS TOLD BY A MECHANIC THAT THESE CARS HAVE THIS PROBLEM ALL THE TIME AND A RECALL SHOULD HAVE BEEN ISSUED ON THEM. IT WAS FOR THE 2009, BUT A LOT OF THE 2010 HAD THE SAME CHAIN AND ISSUE AS THE 2009. OF COURSE THE DEALER IS NOT GONG TO AGREE TO ANYTHING. THEY ARE TELLING ME ITS 2800, JUST TO CHANGE THE BELT AS PRECAUTION. THIS IS PRICE GOUGING WHEN THEY KNOW IT'S AN ISSUE. I NEED HELP...

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2017 - MONTEREY, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 169,539.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2017 - MONTEREY, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE MAKING A TURN AND WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED AND INDICATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 169,325.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - KENSINGTON, MD
SEVERAL MALFUNCTION INDICATOR WARNING LIGHTS AND MESSAGES CONTINUE TO APPEAR ON THE DRIVER CONSOLE UNDER CERTAIN DRIVING CONDITIONS. THEY WARN "SERVICE STABILITRAK" ; "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL" ; AND, "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED" THESE MALFUNCTION ALERT ARE ACCOMPANIED BY A SEVERE DECELERATION OF THE VEHICLE AND NO RESPONSE OR VERY MODEST RESPONSE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS DEPRESSED. THIS ISSUE HAS PRESENTED ITSELF FOUR (4) SEPARATE TIMES IN 2016 AND 2017 WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ON HIGHWAYS (3 TIMES AT SPEEDS OF 60 MPH) AND ALWAYS WHEN THE TEMPERATURE HAS BEEN NEAR OR BELOW FREEZING (32 DEGREES). GM HAS NOTIFIED ME OF THIS ISSUE IMPACTING CARS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE ON BOARD COMPUTER (OBC) CLEARS AFTER THE 3RD RESTART (ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP) AND PROOF OF THE ERROR VIA THE OBC IS WIPED OUT (ONLY LEAVING ME WITH VIDEO AND PICTURES, WHICH GMC WILL NOT HONOR IN ITS REPAIR PROTOCOL). AS STATED, THIS REOCCURRING ISSUE IS BEING EXPERIENCED AT HIGH SPEEDS ON BUSY HIGHWAYS AND THE CAR WILL QUICKLY THROTTLE DOWN TO SPEEDS OF 30-40 MPH -- WHICH IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IN A HIGHWAY ENVIRONMENT (LIKE THE 495 BELTWAY IN WASHINGTON, DC). I TRULY FEAR FOR MY SAFETY IN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND GMC IS COMPLACENT IN HAVING ME PROVE THROUGH THE OBC THAT THIS IS HAPPENING, AND THEN HAVING A DEALERSHIP RECREATE THE ISSUE. THERE A HUNDREDS OF REFERENCES TO THIS ISSUE AS I SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANSWERS LONG BEFORE GMC REACHED OUT TO ME. GMC IS PLAYING GAMES WITH CONSUMERS AND ADVISING THAT THIS ISSUE DOWS NOT POSE TO SAFETY HAZARD. MY EXPERIENCES IN THIS VEHICLE ARE PROOF THAT THEIR CLAIMS ARE FALSE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE --- CONTACT ME --- GM'S PROTOCOL IS GETTING IN THE WAY OF ADDRESSING DANGEROUS VEHICLE ISSUES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/15/2017 - KENSINGTON, MD
SEVERAL MALFUNCTION INDICATOR WARNING LIGHTS AND MESSAGES CONTINUE TO APPEAR ON THE DRIVER CONSOLE UNDER CERTAIN DRIVING CONDITIONS. THEY WARN "SERVICE STABILITRAK" ; "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL" ; AND, "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED" THESE MALFUNCTION ALERT ARE ACCOMPANIED BY A SEVERE DECELERATION OF THE VEHICLE AND NO RESPONSE OR VERY MODEST RESPONSE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS DEPRESSED. THIS ISSUE HAS PRESENTED ITSELF FOUR (4) SEPARATE TIMES IN 2016 AND 2017 WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ON HIGHWAYS (3 TIMES AT SPEEDS OF 60 MPH) AND ALWAYS WHEN THE TEMPERATURE HAS BEEN NEAR OR BELOW FREEZING (32 DEGREES). GM HAS NOTIFIED ME OF THIS ISSUE IMPACTING CARS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE ON BOARD COMPUTER (OBC) CLEARS AFTER THE 3RD RESTART (ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP) AND PROOF OF THE ERROR VIA THE OBC IS WIPED OUT (ONLY LEAVING ME WITH VIDEO AND PICTURES, WHICH GMC WILL NOT HONOR IN ITS REPAIR PROTOCOL). AS STATED, THIS REOCCURRING ISSUE IS BEING EXPERIENCED AT HIGH SPEEDS ON BUSY HIGHWAYS AND THE CAR WILL QUICKLY THROTTLE DOWN TO SPEEDS OF 30-40 MPH -- WHICH IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IN A HIGHWAY ENVIRONMENT (LIKE THE 495 BELTWAY IN WASHINGTON, DC). I TRULY FEAR FOR MY SAFETY IN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND GMC IS COMPLACENT IN HAVING ME PROVE THROUGH THE OBC THAT THIS IS HAPPENING, AND THEN HAVING A DEALERSHIP RECREATE THE ISSUE. THERE A HUNDREDS OF REFERENCES TO THIS ISSUE AS I SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANSWERS LONG BEFORE GMC REACHED OUT TO ME. GMC IS PLAYING GAMES WITH CONSUMERS AND ADVISING THAT THIS ISSUE DOWS NOT POSE TO SAFETY HAZARD. MY EXPERIENCES IN THIS VEHICLE ARE PROOF THAT THEIR CLAIMS ARE FALSE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE --- CONTACT ME --- GM'S PROTOCOL IS GETTING IN THE WAY OF ADDRESSING DANGEROUS VEHICLE ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2017 - KENSINGTON, MD
SEVERAL MALFUNCTION INDICATOR WARNING LIGHTS AND MESSAGES CONTINUE TO APPEAR ON THE DRIVER CONSOLE UNDER CERTAIN DRIVING CONDITIONS. THEY WARN "SERVICE STABILITRAK" ; "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL" ; AND, "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED" THESE MALFUNCTION ALERT ARE ACCOMPANIED BY A SEVERE DECELERATION OF THE VEHICLE AND NO RESPONSE OR VERY MODEST RESPONSE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS DEPRESSED. THIS ISSUE HAS PRESENTED ITSELF FOUR (4) SEPARATE TIMES IN 2016 AND 2017 WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ON HIGHWAYS (3 TIMES AT SPEEDS OF 60 MPH) AND ALWAYS WHEN THE TEMPERATURE HAS BEEN NEAR OR BELOW FREEZING (32 DEGREES). GM HAS NOTIFIED ME OF THIS ISSUE IMPACTING CARS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE ON BOARD COMPUTER (OBC) CLEARS AFTER THE 3RD RESTART (ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP) AND PROOF OF THE ERROR VIA THE OBC IS WIPED OUT (ONLY LEAVING ME WITH VIDEO AND PICTURES, WHICH GMC WILL NOT HONOR IN ITS REPAIR PROTOCOL). AS STATED, THIS REOCCURRING ISSUE IS BEING EXPERIENCED AT HIGH SPEEDS ON BUSY HIGHWAYS AND THE CAR WILL QUICKLY THROTTLE DOWN TO SPEEDS OF 30-40 MPH -- WHICH IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IN A HIGHWAY ENVIRONMENT (LIKE THE 495 BELTWAY IN WASHINGTON, DC). I TRULY FEAR FOR MY SAFETY IN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND GMC IS COMPLACENT IN HAVING ME PROVE THROUGH THE OBC THAT THIS IS HAPPENING, AND THEN HAVING A DEALERSHIP RECREATE THE ISSUE. THERE A HUNDREDS OF REFERENCES TO THIS ISSUE AS I SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANSWERS LONG BEFORE GMC REACHED OUT TO ME. GMC IS PLAYING GAMES WITH CONSUMERS AND ADVISING THAT THIS ISSUE DOWS NOT POSE TO SAFETY HAZARD. MY EXPERIENCES IN THIS VEHICLE ARE PROOF THAT THEIR CLAIMS ARE FALSE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE --- CONTACT ME --- GM'S PROTOCOL IS GETTING IN THE WAY OF ADDRESSING DANGEROUS VEHICLE ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2017 - SAINT PAUL, MN
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON. WHEN BROUGHT TO THE DEALER I WAS TOLD THAT THE CODE WAS INDICATING THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS STRETCHED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 80,000 MILES AND HAS HAD EXCELLENT MAINTENANCE. THIS PROBLEM ALSO OCCURRED WITH 2009 TRAVERSES AND GM EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THOSE MODELS TO 120,000MILES/10 YEARS AND PAID FOR THE REPAIR. WHEN CALLING GM ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM IN THE 2010, WE WERE TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY WOULD DO. THE DEALER TOLD US IT WOULD COST US 3,200 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED ON VARIOUS SITES BY THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE. WE WERE TOLD IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED IT COULD CAUSE EXTREME ENGINE DAMAGE WHEN IT BREAKS. GM SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS DEFECT BEFORE SOMEONE HAS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT AS A RESULT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2017 - PARKER, CO
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT AROUND 82,000 MILES. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE TELLING US THE TIMING CHAIN IS STRETCHED AND NEEDS REPLACED. $2,200.00 TO REPAIR. I'VE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND THIS VERY ISSUE WAS FIXED UNDER WARRANTY FOR THE 2007-2009 MODEL YEARS. FOR SOME REASON GM IS NOT WARRANTING BEYOND THAT. WHILE RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE I FOUND INSTANCES WHERE THE CHAIN CATASTROPHICALLY FAILED CAUSING THE DRIVE SYSTEM TO LOCK UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds