Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 286 complaints filed for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (4) Power Train (11) Steering (219) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (10) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/28/2014 - WOODBURY, MN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE IS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. KW

View Details

STEERING

10/22/2014 - HILLSBORO, OR
THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO UNDER STEER INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING THROUGH A MOUNTAIN PASS DURING A FRIDAY EVENING. WHILE DRIVING THROUGH CURVES THE CAR HAD TO BE SLOWED CONSIDERABLY BELOW THE SPEED LIMIT TO NEGOTIATE THE TURNS. ONCE NEAR OUR DESTINATION APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES AFTER FIRST NOTICING THE PROBLEM, FOUND TURNING THE VEHICLE AT LOWER SPEEDS (IN PARKING LOT) NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE AND IMPROBABLE AFTER NARROWLY MISSING A DITCH INSTEAD OF A DRIVEWAY OF THE HOTEL. THE FOLLOWING MORNING MADE APPT. WITH GM DEALER TO EVALUATE, WHILE EN ROUTE (APPROX. 4 MILES) THE STEERING BECAME MORE AND MORE DIFFICULT TO TURN, WHEN WE APPROACHED THE DEALERSHIP, THE STEERING WHEEL NEEDED TO BE TURNED SEVERAL TIMES UNDER EXTREME DURESS (AS IF THERE WAS HARDLY ANY MOVEMENT OF THE STEERING RACK ITSELF) ONLY TO SLIGHTLY TURN THE VEHICLE ENOUGH TO GET IN THE DRIVEWAY AND INTO THE PARKING LOT. ONCE THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO LOOK AT THE VEHICLE, WE WERE INFORMED THAT THE POWER STEERING UNIT HAD FAILED (NOT UNDER WARRANTY) AND THAT BECAUSE IT FAILED IT DID NOT LUBRICATE THE STEERING RACK PROPERLY THEREFORE RUINING AND RENDERING THE STEERING SYSTEM INOPERABLE. THE REPAIR HAS BEEN QUOTED AT $2600 WITH PARTS AND 12 1/2 HOURS OF LABOR. THE STEERING SYSTEM IS AN ESSENTIAL COMPONENT TO ANY VEHICLE, THEREFORE WE ARE GREATLY CONCERNED FOR OUR SAFETY AND OTHERS DUE TO THE NATURE OF THIS FAILURE CONSIDERING THE VULNERABILITY EXHIBITED BY THE STEERING RACK IN THE EVENT OF A POWER STEERING UNIT FAILURE. I AM ABSOLUTELY BEFUDDLED THAT A VEHICLE THAT IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD, WITH LESS THAN 70,000 MILES CAN HAVE SUCH A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. HAD I NOT HAD THE STRENGTH NEEDED TO FIGHT THE STEERING THE VEHICLE COULD HAVE EASILY FAILED TO MAKE A TURN AND CERTAINLY HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - SHERMAN, TX
DASH LAMP BACKLIGHTING GOES DIM INTERMITTENTLY. DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE. NO REPAIR PERFORMED. ALSO COMPLAINED ABOUT A ONE-TIME INCIDENT WHERE, WHEN ENTERING A DARK GARAGE FROM SUNLIGHT, HEADLIGHTS DID NOT COME ON. NO ACTION TAKEN.

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - PORT WASHINGTON, OH
I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN 2012 AND THE STEERING COLUMN HAS ALWAYS MADE A WEIRD NOISE. IN SEPTEMBER OF 2014 WHILE DRIVING WITH MY 1 AND 2 YEAR OLD DAUGHTERS IN THE VEHICLE THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ALTOGETHER. I GOT THE POWER STEERING PUMP REPLACED THE FOLLOWING DAY. HOWEVER, THIS WAS JUST A SHORT, TEMPORARY FIX (ABOUT A WEEK). THE STEERING COLUMN MAKES EVEN A LOUDER AND GREATER NOISE BUT THE POWER STEERING COMES AND GOES. IT IS VERY STIFF ALL OF THE TIME. MAKES DRIVING A REAL CHORE, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU LIVE WAY OUT OF TIME ON CURVY BACK ROADS. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE AN ACCIDENT OCCURS BECAUSE THE STEERING WILL BE FINE FOR A MINUTE THEN YOU GO TO TURN AND IT VANISHES AND YOU HAVE TO PULL ON THE STEERING WHEEL TO GET IT TO TURN. THIS IS NOT SAFE FOR MYSELF, FAMILY, OR OTHERS ON THE ROAD. I SEE MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. I DO NOT LIKE THE FACT THAT I HAVE TO WORRY EVERY TIME I GET BEHIND THE WHEEL BY MYSELF OR WITH MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR IF I AM GOING TO MAKE IT SOMEWHERE SAFELY. PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/12/2014 - COPPELL, TX
WHILE AT A STOP SIGN OUR 2010 TRAVERSE SHUT OFF. IT POWERED DOWN EVERYTHING, IT WOULD START UP AGAIN BUT WOULD SHUT DOWN SEVERAL TIMES AGAIN. MY SON WAS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT AND NOTICED WHEN HE PRESSED DOWN ON A CERTAIN SPOT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR THE CAR SHUT OFF. WE HAVE OUR CAR AT THE CHEVROLET PLACE NOW AND THEY WERE VERY SKEPTICAL UNTIL MY SON PLACED HIS FOOT ON THE SPOT AND THE CAR SHUT DOWN RIGHT IN FRONT OF THEM. THEY WILL BE LOOKING AT THE CAR MONDAY 10/13/14 TO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. THIS CAR IN NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY, I WOULD THINK THIS IS CHEVROLET PROBLEM WITH THE TRAVERSE. (?)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2014 - COPPELL, TX
WHILE AT A STOP SIGN OUR 2010 TRAVERSE SHUT OFF. IT POWERED DOWN EVERYTHING, IT WOULD START UP AGAIN BUT WOULD SHUT DOWN SEVERAL TIMES AGAIN. MY SON WAS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT AND NOTICED WHEN HE PRESSED DOWN ON A CERTAIN SPOT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR THE CAR SHUT OFF. WE HAVE OUR CAR AT THE CHEVROLET PLACE NOW AND THEY WERE VERY SKEPTICAL UNTIL MY SON PLACED HIS FOOT ON THE SPOT AND THE CAR SHUT DOWN RIGHT IN FRONT OF THEM. THEY WILL BE LOOKING AT THE CAR MONDAY 10/13/14 TO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. THIS CAR IN NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY, I WOULD THINK THIS IS CHEVROLET PROBLEM WITH THE TRAVERSE. (?)

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

10/10/2014 - MAHOPAC, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIR CONDITIONER AND POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE POWER WINDOW AND DRIVER SIDE SEAT.

View Details

SEATS

10/9/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIR CONDITIONER AND POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE POWER WINDOW AND DRIVER SIDE SEAT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

10/9/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
2010 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIR CONDITIONER AND POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE POWER WINDOW AND DRIVER SIDE SEAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds