Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2010 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 56 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/16/2015 - MCDONOUGH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE TRYING TO AVOID STRIKING A DOG AT 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER AND THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED CERVICAL STRAINS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,076.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/16/2015 - MCDONOUGH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE TRYING TO AVOID STRIKING A DOG AT 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER AND THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED CERVICAL STRAINS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,076.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/15/2015 - MCDONOUGH, GA
I WAS COMING INTO A TURN AND A DOG RAN IN FRONT OF THE CAR VERY FAST AND I JERKED AND HIT THE CURB AS I HIT THE CURB THE CAR WENT ON TOP OF IT THAN BACK ONTO THE STREET I TRIED TO HIT THE BRAKES NUMEROUS OF TIMES BUT THEY WENT STIFF AND ALL STEERING WENT AWAY IT WAS LOCKED I LOST ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE CAR HIT ANOTHER CAR, DAMAGING IT AND MY INSURANCE TOTALED OUT THE AVENGER. NOW WE ARE WITHOUT A VEHICLE DUE TO THIS. I WENT TO THE HOSPITAL WITH MY PASSENGER WHO WAS INJURED AS WELL, DOCTOR DIAGNOSED ME WITH A CERVICAL STRAIN. SINCE THIS INCIDENT I AM STILL HAVING HEADACHES. MY MOTHER IS THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND STILL IS SHAKEN UP ABOUT THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/15/2015 - MCDONOUGH, GA
I WAS COMING INTO A TURN AND A DOG RAN IN FRONT OF THE CAR VERY FAST AND I JERKED AND HIT THE CURB AS I HIT THE CURB THE CAR WENT ON TOP OF IT THAN BACK ONTO THE STREET I TRIED TO HIT THE BRAKES NUMEROUS OF TIMES BUT THEY WENT STIFF AND ALL STEERING WENT AWAY IT WAS LOCKED I LOST ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE CAR HIT ANOTHER CAR, DAMAGING IT AND MY INSURANCE TOTALED OUT THE AVENGER. NOW WE ARE WITHOUT A VEHICLE DUE TO THIS. I WENT TO THE HOSPITAL WITH MY PASSENGER WHO WAS INJURED AS WELL, DOCTOR DIAGNOSED ME WITH A CERVICAL STRAIN. SINCE THIS INCIDENT I AM STILL HAVING HEADACHES. MY MOTHER IS THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND STILL IS SHAKEN UP ABOUT THIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/15/2015 - MCDONOUGH, GA
I WAS COMING INTO A TURN AND A DOG RAN IN FRONT OF THE CAR VERY FAST AND I JERKED AND HIT THE CURB AS I HIT THE CURB THE CAR WENT ON TOP OF IT THAN BACK ONTO THE STREET I TRIED TO HIT THE BRAKES NUMEROUS OF TIMES BUT THEY WENT STIFF AND ALL STEERING WENT AWAY IT WAS LOCKED I LOST ALL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE CAR HIT ANOTHER CAR, DAMAGING IT AND MY INSURANCE TOTALED OUT THE AVENGER. NOW WE ARE WITHOUT A VEHICLE DUE TO THIS. I WENT TO THE HOSPITAL WITH MY PASSENGER WHO WAS INJURED AS WELL, DOCTOR DIAGNOSED ME WITH A CERVICAL STRAIN. SINCE THIS INCIDENT I AM STILL HAVING HEADACHES. MY MOTHER IS THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND STILL IS SHAKEN UP ABOUT THIS.

View Details

STEERING

2/25/2015 - ADDISON, IL
ON MONDAY FEBRUARY 23,2014 I TURNED MY CAR ON AND AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES IT MADE A LOUD NOISE. I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT IT WAS SO I DECIDED TO PARK MY CAR IN MY DRIVEWAY. WHEN I PUT THE GEAR INTO DRIVE I FELT MY STEERING WHEEL STIFF, AND I SAW POWER STEERING FLUID STAINS ON THE GROUND. MY CAR IS LEAKING POWER STEERING FLUID AND I DON'T KNOW WHY. WOULD CHRYSLER COVER THESE COSTS? I HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN BEFORE AS MY POWER STEERING HOSE BROKE A FEW MONTHS AGO. I TOOK IT TO A DODGE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THAT AND THEY WOULD CHARGE ME $200.00 JUST TO LOOK AT IT. I DECIDED TO TAKE MY CAR TO MY MECHANIC HE WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THE HOSE FOR ME, BUT THIS PROBLEM ISN'T SOLVED YET AND NOW I'M SCARED IT MIGHT KEEP HAPPENING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - REPUBLIC, MO
MORE THEN (30) TIMES INTERMITTENTLY ELECTRICAL ISSUES OCCUR CAUSING FLASHING (NUMBERS/DECK/FUSE/BLANK) ODOMETER, POWER FOR RADIO/TIME GOES OUT, SECURITY SYSTEM DOES NOT SHUT OFF OR WILL NOT UNLOCK THE CAR, THE CAR STALLS WHILE DRIVING, THE WINDOWS WONT WORK, AND STARTING THE CAR CAN TAKE SEVERAL CRANKS. MORE IMPORTANTLY AS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE, ME AND MY DAUGHTER WERE STUCK INSIDE MY CAR FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF BECAUSE THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE WOULD NOT ALLOW ANY OF THE DOORS TO UNLOCK. THE 2008-2010 DODGE AVENGER IS KNOWN FOR ELECTRICAL ISSUES AND ELECTRICAL FIRES. DODGE IS NOT COVERING THESE ELECTRICAL ISSUES UNDER WARRANTY. I DID EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO UNLOCK THE DOORS SUCH AS THE DOOR PANEL BUTTON, TURNING ON AND OFF THE CAR, SWITCHING GEARS, DRIVING THROUGH THE PARKING LOT TO TRIGGER THE AUTO SPEED LOCK, GIVING THE KEY TO SOMEONE THROUGH A SMALL GAP IN THE WINDOW TO HAVE THEM USE THE KEY MANUALLY, PRESSED THE UNLOCK ON THE KEY REMOTE, NONE OF THIS WORKED TO UNLOCK THE CAR. I WAS EVEN ON THE PHONE WITH THE DODGE DEALERSHIP WHILE THIS OCCURRED AND THEY COULD NOT TELL ME HOW TO GET OUT. WE JUST HAD TO WAIT OUT THE ELECTRICAL "FIT" THE CAR HAS. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN IMPOSSIBLE TO DIAGNOSE BECAUSE IT IS INTERMITTENT, HOWEVER THE CAR WILL BE AT THE DEALERSHIP THIS COMING TUESDAY AT MY EXPENSE. IT IS A HUGE RISK TO DRIVE THIS CAR DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY OF AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. I DON'T WANT MY DAUGHTER, (STILL IN A CAR SEAT) MYSELF, OR MY HUSBAND TO BURN TO DEATH STUCK IN THIS CAR DUE TO THE LACK OF RESPONSIBILITY FROM DODGE OR MANUFACTURER BECAUSE ITS HARD TO DIAGNOSE. THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED AS THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE SPECIFICALLY ELECTRICAL WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/30/2015 - REPUBLIC, MO
MORE THEN (30) TIMES INTERMITTENTLY ELECTRICAL ISSUES OCCUR CAUSING FLASHING (NUMBERS/DECK/FUSE/BLANK) ODOMETER, POWER FOR RADIO/TIME GOES OUT, SECURITY SYSTEM DOES NOT SHUT OFF OR WILL NOT UNLOCK THE CAR, THE CAR STALLS WHILE DRIVING, THE WINDOWS WONT WORK, AND STARTING THE CAR CAN TAKE SEVERAL CRANKS. MORE IMPORTANTLY AS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE, ME AND MY DAUGHTER WERE STUCK INSIDE MY CAR FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF BECAUSE THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE WOULD NOT ALLOW ANY OF THE DOORS TO UNLOCK. THE 2008-2010 DODGE AVENGER IS KNOWN FOR ELECTRICAL ISSUES AND ELECTRICAL FIRES. DODGE IS NOT COVERING THESE ELECTRICAL ISSUES UNDER WARRANTY. I DID EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO UNLOCK THE DOORS SUCH AS THE DOOR PANEL BUTTON, TURNING ON AND OFF THE CAR, SWITCHING GEARS, DRIVING THROUGH THE PARKING LOT TO TRIGGER THE AUTO SPEED LOCK, GIVING THE KEY TO SOMEONE THROUGH A SMALL GAP IN THE WINDOW TO HAVE THEM USE THE KEY MANUALLY, PRESSED THE UNLOCK ON THE KEY REMOTE, NONE OF THIS WORKED TO UNLOCK THE CAR. I WAS EVEN ON THE PHONE WITH THE DODGE DEALERSHIP WHILE THIS OCCURRED AND THEY COULD NOT TELL ME HOW TO GET OUT. WE JUST HAD TO WAIT OUT THE ELECTRICAL "FIT" THE CAR HAS. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN IMPOSSIBLE TO DIAGNOSE BECAUSE IT IS INTERMITTENT, HOWEVER THE CAR WILL BE AT THE DEALERSHIP THIS COMING TUESDAY AT MY EXPENSE. IT IS A HUGE RISK TO DRIVE THIS CAR DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY OF AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. I DON'T WANT MY DAUGHTER, (STILL IN A CAR SEAT) MYSELF, OR MY HUSBAND TO BURN TO DEATH STUCK IN THIS CAR DUE TO THE LACK OF RESPONSIBILITY FROM DODGE OR MANUFACTURER BECAUSE ITS HARD TO DIAGNOSE. THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED AS THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE SPECIFICALLY ELECTRICAL WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/28/2015 - NEW CASTLE, DE
2010 DODGE AVENGER. RENTAL VEHICLE FROM ENTERPRISE-RENT-A-CAR WAS INVOLVED IN CAR ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/5/2014 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
WHILE DRIVING MY 2010 DODGE AVENGER, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY WARNING LIGHT WILL FLASH ON AND THEN GO OFF, WHEN IT IS ON THE CAR DROPS SPEED QUICKLY AND WILL NOT EXCELLERATE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME NUMEROUS TIMES OVER THE LAST MONTH. IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON MAJOR HIGHWAYS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND HAS ALMOST HAD ME GET HIT BY OTHER VEHICLES AS MY CAR DROPS SPEED WITH NO WARNING. THE LIGHT NEVER STAYS ON LONG ENOUGH TO PULL ANY CODES FROM IT. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND THERE IS NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY'S BEING FAULTY THAT DODGE IS PUTTING IN 2008 - 2010 AVENGERS. I HAVE NOTIFIED DODGE OF MY ISSUE AND THEY BASICALLY TOLD ME THEY WERE SORRY FOR MY ISSUE AND THAT WAS IT. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE, AS SOMEONE CAN END BEING HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN THEIR CAR STALLS LIKE THIS WITH NO WARNING. THIS PART IS FAULTY AS PEOPLE HAVE HAD THEM REPLACED AND NOT EVEN 6 MONTHS LATER THEY HAVE HAD TO HAVE THEM REPLACED AGAIN, AS THE ONLY REPLACEMENT PART AVAILABLE IS FROM DODGE, WHICH SHOWS THE PARTS ARE FAULTY. ONCE THE CAR COMPLETELY STALLS OUT, IT LOSES POWER STEERING AND BRAKING CAPABILITIES WHICH IS GOING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND GET SOMEONE KILLED. PLEASE RECALL THIS PART ON THE CARS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR KILLED, I DO NOT WANT IT TO BE ME OR ONE OF MY CHILDREN RIDING IN MY CAR THAT ENDS UP GETTING KILLED FROM AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT BECAUSE DODGE WAS NOT MADE TO RECALL THESE FAULTY PARTS ON THEIR AVENGERS. I PLAN ON PURSUING THIS ISSUE UNTIL THERE IS SOME SORT OF RESOLUTION FOR CUSTOMERS THAT HAVE THESE MODEL CARS FROM DODGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds