Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 224 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (13) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (89) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (34) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (25) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Power Train (16) Steering (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/18/2014 - COLUMBIA, MD
HEADLIGHTS TURN OFF UNEXPECTEDLY WHILE DRIVING. SERVICE TESTED HEADLIGHT SYSTEM AND DID NOT EXPERIENCE ANY ABNORMALITIES. PERFORMED DIAGNOSTIC SCAN AND FOUND STORED LOW BEAM AND HIGH BEAM "CONTROL CIRCUIT LOW". CLEARED STORED TROUBLE CODES AND REPLACED HEADLIGHT SWITCH AS A LIKELY CAUSE OF SYMPTOM DESCRIBED. HEADLIGHT TURNED OFF AGAIN UNEXPECTEDLY WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/8/2014 - NEWARK, NY
BRAKES WERE CHECKED BY DEALER AND SAID TO BE FINE. AFTER A FEW MILES AT ROAD SPEED, I STOPPED AND SMELLED HOT BRAKES. REAR DRIVER'S WAS SMOKING. LUBE ON GUIDES WAS BOILING AND ROTORS WERE BLUE. DEALER CLAIMS THERE IS NO PROBLEM. CLAIMS IT IS OUR ROUGH WINTERS HERE IN CENTRAL NY. BUT THEY HAD JUST CHECKED THEM AND NO SALT OR WINTER IN JULY. I HAVE RUINED 4 SETS OF REAR BRAKES AND ROTORS SINCE THEN. JUST REPLACED THE FRONT FOR THE FIRST TIME AT 70,000 MILES. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE SYSTEM THAT IS APPLYING THE REAR BRAKES WHEN NOT NEEDED. SOMETIMES I FIND THE RIGHT SIDE SMOKING AND SOMETIMES THE LEFT. WE HAVE DONE EVERYTHING ACCORDING TO SPEC. FILED THE GUIDES, LUBED THE GUIDES TO BE SURE EVERYTHING IS FREE. NOTHING HELPS. IT IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE ALL I HAVE IS THE FRONT BRAKES TO STOP IN AN EMERGENCY. YOUR DEALER CLAIMS THIS IS NORMAL TO ONLY GET 14000 MILES ON A SET OF REAR BRAKES. THEY DID REPLACE ONE CALIPER BUT IT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. THANKS

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2014 - LYMAN, ME
I WAS PULLING OUT OF A SIDE STREET ONTO A MAIN ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME WITHIN THE PAST MONTH THAT THIS HAPPENED. ABOUT A WEEK AFTER I HAD THE SECOND IGNITION FAILURE I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE (L25) FROM CHRYSLER TELLING ME THAT THEY HAD A PROBLEM WITH THEIR FREQUENCY OPERATED BUTTON IGNITION KEY (FOBIK) THAT CAUSES THE ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING. WHEN I CALLED THE CHRYSLER GROUP RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER (1-800-853-1403) THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PARTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND, EVEN THOUGH THE VEHICLE HAD SHUT DOWN TWICE, THEY DIDN'T CARE AND WOULDN'T PROVIDE A LOANER/RENTAL VEHICLE UNTIL THE REPAIR WAS MADE. THIS IS A SIMILAR SITUATION THAT GM DEALT WITH RECENTLY AND DID PROVIDE TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - LYMAN, ME
I WAS PULLING OUT OF A SIDE STREET ONTO A MAIN ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME WITHIN THE PAST MONTH THAT THIS HAPPENED. ABOUT A WEEK AFTER I HAD THE SECOND IGNITION FAILURE I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE (L25) FROM CHRYSLER TELLING ME THAT THEY HAD A PROBLEM WITH THEIR FREQUENCY OPERATED BUTTON IGNITION KEY (FOBIK) THAT CAUSES THE ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING. WHEN I CALLED THE CHRYSLER GROUP RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER (1-800-853-1403) THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PARTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND, EVEN THOUGH THE VEHICLE HAD SHUT DOWN TWICE, THEY DIDN'T CARE AND WOULDN'T PROVIDE A LOANER/RENTAL VEHICLE UNTIL THE REPAIR WAS MADE. THIS IS A SIMILAR SITUATION THAT GM DEALT WITH RECENTLY AND DID PROVIDE TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/7/2014 - LYMAN, ME
I WAS PULLING OUT OF A SIDE STREET ONTO A MAIN ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME WITHIN THE PAST MONTH THAT THIS HAPPENED. ABOUT A WEEK AFTER I HAD THE SECOND IGNITION FAILURE I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE (L25) FROM CHRYSLER TELLING ME THAT THEY HAD A PROBLEM WITH THEIR FREQUENCY OPERATED BUTTON IGNITION KEY (FOBIK) THAT CAUSES THE ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING. WHEN I CALLED THE CHRYSLER GROUP RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER (1-800-853-1403) THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PARTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND, EVEN THOUGH THE VEHICLE HAD SHUT DOWN TWICE, THEY DIDN'T CARE AND WOULDN'T PROVIDE A LOANER/RENTAL VEHICLE UNTIL THE REPAIR WAS MADE. THIS IS A SIMILAR SITUATION THAT GM DEALT WITH RECENTLY AND DID PROVIDE TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

10/2/2014 - ASHFLAT, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED TO THE OFF POSITION, THE ENGINE REMAINED ACTIVATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN ORDER FOR THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF, THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE DISCONNECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,933.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2014 - ASHFLAT, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED TO THE OFF POSITION, THE ENGINE REMAINED ACTIVATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN ORDER FOR THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF, THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE DISCONNECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,933.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/25/2014 - VERONA, WI
JUST HAD 2010 VAN THAT WAS PURCHASED NEW IN FOR A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE. WAS TOLD THAT WE NEED TO REPLACE REAR BRAKE PADS, ROTORS AND CALIPERS. 61,000 MILES. THIS WILL BE THE 3RD SET OF PADS AND ROTORS ON THE REAR. BASED ON THE TYPE OF DRIVING WE DO THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING. INTERESTINGLY ENOUGH AROUND 15,000 MILES CHRYSLER REPLACED THE FRONT ROTORS AND PADS BECAUSE OF A KNOWN ISSUE. IF I REMEMBER CORRECTLY IT WAS BECAUSE OF A CALIPER STICKING ON THE FRONT. THESE PADS, ROTORS AND CALIPERS HAVE NOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED OR SERVICED IN OVER 45,OO0 MILES BASED ON ALL THE FEEDBACK ONLINE AND A CONVERSATION WITH AN ASE CERTIFIED MECHANIC IT IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: CALIPER

9/23/2014 - SHAFER, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE REVERSING AT APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND A GRINDING NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE REAR BRAKE PADS, ROTORS, AND CALIPERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FRONT BRAKES WERE PREVIOUSLY REPLACED APPROXIMATELY TEN MONTHS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

9/23/2014 - SHAFER, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE REVERSING AT APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND A GRINDING NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE REAR BRAKE PADS, ROTORS, AND CALIPERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FRONT BRAKES WERE PREVIOUSLY REPLACED APPROXIMATELY TEN MONTHS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds