Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (78) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (30) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (20) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Power Train (16) Steering (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/18/2014 - BLYTHEWOOD, SC
THIS IS MY FORTH COMPLAINT SINCE PURCHASING THE VAN. WHO HAS TO DUE BEFORE NHTSA DOES ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. I HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING TO DODGE SINCE I FIRST BOUGHT THE VAN. IT WILL SHUT OFF RIDING DOWN THE RODE. THE DEALERSHIP SAID TO JUST WIGGLE THE WEB (THE VAN DOES NOT HAVE A STANDARD KEY) WHEN THE VAN SHUTS OFF. THE DEALERSHIP SAID SOMETIMES THE CONNECTIONS ARE BROKEN BETWEEN THE WEB AND VAN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/9/2014 - WEBESTER, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE ELECTRONIC THRODDLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE DID NOT ACCELLERATE PAST 20 MPH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND DID NOT OFFER A REMEDY. THE ELECTRONIC THRODDLE CONTROL WAS RESET. THE FAILURE DID NOT RETURN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,116 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 26,121.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2014 - TROY, MI
I LIVE IN TROY MICHIGAN AND ON A TRIP TO GO PICK UP MY TEENAGE DAUGHTER DRIVING.ON M-59 MY CAR STARTED EXPELLING COOLANT IN THE FORM.OF STEAM FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. I IMMEDIATE STOPPED AT THE CLOSEST AUTOMOTIVE STORE.LESS.THAN A MILE FROM WHERE IT STARTED THE INCIDENT. IT WAS DISCOVERED BY THE MECHANIC AT BELL TIRE THAT THE STEEL INTERCOOLER LINES THAT RUN TO THE INTERIOR HEATER HAD RUPTURED. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AS STEEL TUBE SHOULD NOT FAIL UNLESS SOME MANUFACTURE ISSUE WAS OVERLOOKED. AS A SENIOR SYSTEMS ENGINEER MEAN TIME BEFORE FAILURE ON A COMPONENT LIKE THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED AT THE LOW MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE. I FOLLOWED UP TO FIND.OUT COST TO REPAIR AND THE SALES REP ALSO LET ME KNOW THAT A SECOND GRAND CARAVAN 2008 MODEL HAD JUST COME.IN WITH THE SAME FAILURE. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY CHRYSLER FAILURE TO ENGINEER THIS CORRECTLY AND I WOULD.LILE TO SEE THIS RESOLVED BEFORE GREATER DAMAGE IS DONE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - TROY, MI
I LIVE IN TROY MICHIGAN AND ON A TRIP TO GO PICK UP MY TEENAGE DAUGHTER DRIVING.ON M-59 MY CAR STARTED EXPELLING COOLANT IN THE FORM.OF STEAM FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. I IMMEDIATE STOPPED AT THE CLOSEST AUTOMOTIVE STORE.LESS.THAN A MILE FROM WHERE IT STARTED THE INCIDENT. IT WAS DISCOVERED BY THE MECHANIC AT BELL TIRE THAT THE STEEL INTERCOOLER LINES THAT RUN TO THE INTERIOR HEATER HAD RUPTURED. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AS STEEL TUBE SHOULD NOT FAIL UNLESS SOME MANUFACTURE ISSUE WAS OVERLOOKED. AS A SENIOR SYSTEMS ENGINEER MEAN TIME BEFORE FAILURE ON A COMPONENT LIKE THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED AT THE LOW MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE. I FOLLOWED UP TO FIND.OUT COST TO REPAIR AND THE SALES REP ALSO LET ME KNOW THAT A SECOND GRAND CARAVAN 2008 MODEL HAD JUST COME.IN WITH THE SAME FAILURE. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY CHRYSLER FAILURE TO ENGINEER THIS CORRECTLY AND I WOULD.LILE TO SEE THIS RESOLVED BEFORE GREATER DAMAGE IS DONE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - TROY, MI
I LIVE IN TROY MICHIGAN AND ON A TRIP TO GO PICK UP MY TEENAGE DAUGHTER DRIVING.ON M-59 MY CAR STARTED EXPELLING COOLANT IN THE FORM.OF STEAM FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. I IMMEDIATE STOPPED AT THE CLOSEST AUTOMOTIVE STORE.LESS.THAN A MILE FROM WHERE IT STARTED THE INCIDENT. IT WAS DISCOVERED BY THE MECHANIC AT BELL TIRE THAT THE STEEL INTERCOOLER LINES THAT RUN TO THE INTERIOR HEATER HAD RUPTURED. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AS STEEL TUBE SHOULD NOT FAIL UNLESS SOME MANUFACTURE ISSUE WAS OVERLOOKED. AS A SENIOR SYSTEMS ENGINEER MEAN TIME BEFORE FAILURE ON A COMPONENT LIKE THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED AT THE LOW MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE. I FOLLOWED UP TO FIND.OUT COST TO REPAIR AND THE SALES REP ALSO LET ME KNOW THAT A SECOND GRAND CARAVAN 2008 MODEL HAD JUST COME.IN WITH THE SAME FAILURE. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY CHRYSLER FAILURE TO ENGINEER THIS CORRECTLY AND I WOULD.LILE TO SEE THIS RESOLVED BEFORE GREATER DAMAGE IS DONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/3/2014 - GRANITE CITY, IL
WINDOW VENT AND LOCK SWITCH STARTED SMOKING AND START A FIRE ON DRIVER SIDE DOOR DOOR PANEL IS ALSO MELTED DODGE REFUSING TO FIX UNDER THE RECALL FOR THE VENT SWITCH

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - CHARLES CITY, IA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V139000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000. JCC

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/26/2014 - WHITEHALL, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO TURN OFF WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V139000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY PERFORMED THE RECALL REPAIRS BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/26/2014 - WHITEHALL, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO TURN OFF WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V139000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY PERFORMED THE RECALL REPAIRS BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/24/2014 - MONTESANO, WA
MY PARENTS BOUGHT A 2010 DODGE CARAVAN NEW, AND WE WERE ON A FAMILY ROAD TRIP IN CALIFORNIA THIS MONTH. MILEAGE WAS ONLY AT 3500 (M/L) WHEN WE LEFT WASHINGTON. IT HAD JUST BEEN SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP BEFORE WE LEFT. USED CRUISE CONTROL ON I-5 SOUTH THROUGH WASHINGTON, OREGON, AND CALIFORNIA. THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS FUSSY AND INCONSISTENT, BUT FUNCTIONAL MORE OR LESS. AFTER ARRIVING AT FAMILY MEMBER'S HOUSE IN CA., NEVER USED CRUISE CONTROL WHILE DRIVING BECAUSE OF WINDY ROADS. ON TUESDAY, JUNE 17TH, 2014 (DURING OUR TRIP) , I WAS HEADING EAST ON HWY. 12, WEST OF LODI, CA. THERE WAS A LONG MERGE LANE, AND I WAS ACCELERATING IN TO TRAFFIC. I WAS NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL. AS I PULLED ON TO THE HIGHWAY, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WENT OUT FROM UNDER MY FOOT AND STUCK TO THE FLOOR. I PUT BOTH FEET ON THE BRAKE, AND THE ENGINE WAS ROARING, RED-LINED. I REMEMBERED HEARING ON THE NEWS TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, WHICH I DID. THE BRAKES WORKED, AND I PULLED OVER ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. THE MOTOR WAS STILL REVVING, SO I THEN TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES OF CONVERSATION WITH FAMILY (AND PRAYERS OF THANKS!!!), WE CONTINUED ON OUR WAY. ON THURSDAY, JUNE 19TH, I TOOK THE VAN TO A DODGE DEALER IN FOLSOM, CA. TO HAVE THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED. MILEAGE WAS AT 4308 IN FOLSOM, SO VEHICLE WAS BASICALLY NEW, BUT OFF WARRANTY. THE ONLY THING THEY FOUND WAS A TRANSMISSION CODE FOR OVERHEATING 6 STARTS AGO. THEY SAID EVERYTHING CHECKED OUT FINE. I HAVE CHECKED A FEW WEBSITES, AND WE ARE NOT THE FIRST PEOPLE TO EXPERIENCE THIS ACCELERATOR PROBLEM. I AM SO THANKFUL THAT MY 80 YEAR OLD MOM WAS NOT DRIVING THE VEHICLE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, OR THERE COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC RESULTS. I REALLY HOPE CHRYSLER TAKES THIS SERIOUSLY AND FINDS A SOLUTION FOR THIS, BEFORE PEOPLE DIE FROM THIS KIND OF INCIDENT.SCARY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds