Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE JOURNEY - 2010 DODGE JOURNEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 243 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE JOURNEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE JOURNEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (6)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (90) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (47) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (39) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (38)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/28/2014 - GRAIN VALLEY, MO
SINCE JANUARY 2014 I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN MULTIPLE TIMES TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR INTERMITTENT STARTING ISSUES.IT ALSO HAS A SLOW CRANK OCCASIONALLY THIS IS MORE RANDOM THEN IT NOT STARTING. WHEN I TRY TO START IT IT JUST CLICKS. IF I WAIT A FEW MINUTES THEN TRY TO START IT AGAIN EVENTUALLY IT WILL START. THIS CAR HAS LEFT ME STRANDED MANY TIMES AND LATE FOR WORK/APPOINTMENTS. THE DEALERSHIP HAS REPLACED THE TIPM FUSE BOX, STARTER, BATTERY AND ALL KEY FOBS AND IT STILL WILL NOT START RANDOMLY. I HAVE NOTICED THAT MOST OF THE TIME WHEN IT WILL NOT START IT IS BECAUSE THE CAR IS HOT(AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF TIME) OR SIMPLY JUST SITTING OUT IN THE SUNLIGHT. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP HOOKS IT UP THE THEIR MACHINE IT DOES NOT THROW AN ERROR CODE. SO THEY KEEP TELLING ME "THEY ARE SCRATCHING THEIR HEADS THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG AND DO NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX IT" THIS IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE ANSWER TO ME AFTER LOOKING ON THIS WEBSITE THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO FIGURE IT OUT AND PUT OUT A RECALL FOR IT. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLERS CUSTOMER SUPPORT MULTIPLE TIMES I HAVE HAD A CASE OPEN FOR 4 WEEKS I HAVE NEVER HEARD FROM MY CASE MANAGER JUST SOMEONE CALLING ON HER BEHALF. I CAN'T SEEM TO GET ANYWHERE WITH DODGE. I AM TAKING IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP EVERY MONDAY FOR THE LAST 5 WEEKS. THEY KEEP IT FOR 3 OR 4 DAYS THEN SEND IT HOME WITH NO RESULTS.. I AM NOT TAKING IT BACK FROM THIS TIME WITHOUT BETTER RESULTS. THIS CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD IT SHOULD BE A RELIABLE CAR. I SHOULDN'T BE AFRAID TO TAKE IT SOMEWHERE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/28/2014 - GRAIN VALLEY, MO
SINCE JANUARY 2014 I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN MULTIPLE TIMES TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR INTERMITTENT STARTING ISSUES.IT ALSO HAS A SLOW CRANK OCCASIONALLY THIS IS MORE RANDOM THEN IT NOT STARTING. WHEN I TRY TO START IT IT JUST CLICKS. IF I WAIT A FEW MINUTES THEN TRY TO START IT AGAIN EVENTUALLY IT WILL START. THIS CAR HAS LEFT ME STRANDED MANY TIMES AND LATE FOR WORK/APPOINTMENTS. THE DEALERSHIP HAS REPLACED THE TIPM FUSE BOX, STARTER, BATTERY AND ALL KEY FOBS AND IT STILL WILL NOT START RANDOMLY. I HAVE NOTICED THAT MOST OF THE TIME WHEN IT WILL NOT START IT IS BECAUSE THE CAR IS HOT(AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF TIME) OR SIMPLY JUST SITTING OUT IN THE SUNLIGHT. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP HOOKS IT UP THE THEIR MACHINE IT DOES NOT THROW AN ERROR CODE. SO THEY KEEP TELLING ME "THEY ARE SCRATCHING THEIR HEADS THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG AND DO NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX IT" THIS IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE ANSWER TO ME AFTER LOOKING ON THIS WEBSITE THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO FIGURE IT OUT AND PUT OUT A RECALL FOR IT. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLERS CUSTOMER SUPPORT MULTIPLE TIMES I HAVE HAD A CASE OPEN FOR 4 WEEKS I HAVE NEVER HEARD FROM MY CASE MANAGER JUST SOMEONE CALLING ON HER BEHALF. I CAN'T SEEM TO GET ANYWHERE WITH DODGE. I AM TAKING IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP EVERY MONDAY FOR THE LAST 5 WEEKS. THEY KEEP IT FOR 3 OR 4 DAYS THEN SEND IT HOME WITH NO RESULTS.. I AM NOT TAKING IT BACK FROM THIS TIME WITHOUT BETTER RESULTS. THIS CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD IT SHOULD BE A RELIABLE CAR. I SHOULDN'T BE AFRAID TO TAKE IT SOMEWHERE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - BEVERLY HILLS, FL
2010 DODGE JOURNEY WHICH WE PURCHASED NOV. 2013 , MAIN ONE BEING THE ALARM AND HORN GO OFF RANDOMLY, DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT.....ETC. HAD THE TPIM REPLACED 4 WEEKS AGO WHICH TOOK 2 WEEKS TO DIAGNOSE AND GET THE PART, THIS PAST SUNDAY ALARM GOES OFF AND WON'T STOP, SO IN LOOKING FOR THE FUSES TO REMOVE AND STOP THE ALARM I FOUND THEM IN THE TPIM, BASICALLY IT IS A FUSE BOX THAT CONTROLS THE WHOLE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. SO BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN TODAY, AGAIN REPLACED THE TPIM. ONE BLOCK FROM HOME AND HORN STARTS GOING OFF AGAIN. CHRYSLER IS AWARE THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM ON SEVERAL CHRYSLER VEHICLES MAINLY ONES PURCHASED IN 4 STATES. I EVEN FOUND A SITE FOR A CLASS ACTION SUIT. FORTUNATELY WE PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND HAVE ONLY PAID A SMALL DEDUCTIBLE OTHER THAN THE TIME AND FRUSTRATION. SO BACK TO THE DEALER TOMORROW. I AM SERIOUSLY CONCERNED BECAUSE IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS IT CAN EFFECT AIRBAGS, LIGHTS, WINDOWS AND A WHOLE LOT MORE. GOOD LUCK! WE WERE TOLD TODAY THAT ONE CUSTOMER HAD 3 DIFFERENT TPIM'S REPLACED SO FAR. THEY ARE NOT NEW, CANNOT GET A NEW ONE ONLY REFURBISHED!!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2014 - CORDOVA, SC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT END OF HER VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE TWICE AND THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. SS

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - FLINT, MI
GETTINY ON RAMP TO EXPRESWAY. HEARD S TAPPING. ENGINE LIGHT DIDN'T COME ON TIL I EWAS FOING ROUND 70. NOW I HEARD TAPPING EVERY TIME I PUT MY FOOT ON GAS PETAL. TOOK TO MECHANIC HE SAID MY ENGINE IS TAPPING. COULD FIX BUT TAPPING (TICKING) WOULD COME BACK AGAIN. A DEFECT IN ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2014 - JAMESTOWN, NY
THREE TO FOUR DAYS PER WEEK THE CAR WILL NOT START. TURN THE KEY AND YOU GET NOTHING BUT A CLICK. I HAVE ONLY OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR 2 MONTHS AND IT HAS DONE IT SINCE THE VERY BEGINNING. HAVE HAD THE DEALERSHIP AND A PRIVATE MECHANIC LOOK IT OVER AND THEY HAVE FOUND NOTHING. IT SOUNDS VERY SIMILAR TO THE ISSUE BEING CORRECTED BY RECALL NOW. ALTHOUGH THIS VEHICLE, SO FAR, HAS NOT STALLED WHILE DRIVING THANK GOD. AM NOT HAPPY THAT MY "NEW TO ME" CAR IS SO UNRELIABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
TRIED TO START MY VEHICLE AND IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL. CHECKED THE BATTERY BUT THE BATTERY WAS FINE. HAD THE CAR TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP BUT IT THEN STARTED FINE AND AFTER AN INSPECTION, THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED TWICE WHERE I WAS STRANDED WITH THE CAR RANDOMLY NOT STARTING. I HAVE HAD TO WAIT A PERIOD OF TIME FOR IT TO START. I CALLED DODGE CORPORATE (CHRYSLER) BUT THEY DID NOT SEEM TO HAVE ANY ANSWERS OR BE CONCERNED. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE AT THIS POINT AS I WOULD HATE TO BE STRANDED SOMEWHERE WITH MY CAR NOT STARTING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - MADISON, AL
SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE WON'T START. IT IS IN THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN TODAY. THIS IS THE 4TH TIME IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS. DODGE CAN'T FIGURE IT OUT. THEY HAVE BEEN TRYING BUT TO NO AVAIL. WE HAVE FIGURED OUT IF YOU WIGGLE THE GEAR SHIFT THE CAR WILL START AFTER A LITTLE WHILE. HOPEFULLY DODGE WILL CHECK THE SENSORS IN THE GEAR SHIFT DURING THIS VISIT. IT IS GETTING OLD HAVING TO KEEP TAKING THE CAR BACK IN THE SHOP. DODGE HAS BEEN GREAT WITH WORKING WITH US BUT WE STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - MADISON, AL
SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE WON'T START. IT IS IN THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN TODAY. THIS IS THE 4TH TIME IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS. DODGE CAN'T FIGURE IT OUT. THEY HAVE BEEN TRYING BUT TO NO AVAIL. WE HAVE FIGURED OUT IF YOU WIGGLE THE GEAR SHIFT THE CAR WILL START AFTER A LITTLE WHILE. HOPEFULLY DODGE WILL CHECK THE SENSORS IN THE GEAR SHIFT DURING THIS VISIT. IT IS GETTING OLD HAVING TO KEEP TAKING THE CAR BACK IN THE SHOP. DODGE HAS BEEN GREAT WITH WORKING WITH US BUT WE STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: DISC: ROTOR

9/16/2014 - CEDAR HILL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE LOSS POWER AND STALLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES AND ROTORS REQUIRED REPLACEMENT APPROXIMATELY EVERY TWO MONTHS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED THREE TIMES OR MORE PER WEEK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds