Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE JOURNEY - 2010 DODGE JOURNEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 346 complaints filed for the 2010 DODGE JOURNEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 DODGE JOURNEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (38) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (159) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (21) Structure (5) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (61) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (57) Tires (9) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2015 - SOLON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2015 - STOCKTON, CA
I WAS DRIVING AT THE SPEED LIMIT ON INTERSTATE 5, (CALIFORNIA) WHEN A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME SWERVED PARTIALLY INTO MY LANE. IN ORDER TO AVOID HITTING SAID VEHICLE, I SWERVED TO THE RIGHT SLIGHTLY, AT THAT TIME I BELIEVE ENGINE DIED, AS I HAD NO CONTROL OVER SAID VEHICLE I COULD NOT STEER OR MANEUVER MY VEHICLE AT ALL. THUS IT WAS CONTINUING ON THE PATH OF THE SWERVE AND HIT THE WALL ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I AT NO TIME HAD ANY CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, THE CAR STARTED SPINNING FROM THE IMPACT OF THE WALL AND SENT ME ACROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC AND I WAS HIT BY 2 CARS. THE ONLY AIRBAG THAT DEPLOYED WAS THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. (THERE WAS NO PASSENGER IN THAT POSITION.) I WAS IN THE DRIVER SEAT, AND MY SON (WAS 9 YEARS OF AGE AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT) WAS SITTING DIRECTLY BEHIND ME. WHEN THE CAR STOPPED, I WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION, IT WAS LOCKED IN PLACE. ORIGINALLY, I BELIEVED THAT THERE WERE NO MAJOR INJURIES, ONLY BUMPS, BRUISES AND THE LIKE. HOWEVER IN THE MONTHS SINCE THE INCIDENT, IT HAS COME TO LIGHT THAT I HAVE TORN MUSCLES IN 1, MAYBE BOTH ELBOWS. I AM CURRENTLY UNDER A DOCTORS CARE, AND WILL BE REQUIRING SURGERY TO RECONSTRUCT THE MUSCLES AND TENDONS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/17/2015 - STOCKTON, CA
I WAS DRIVING AT THE SPEED LIMIT ON INTERSTATE 5, (CALIFORNIA) WHEN A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME SWERVED PARTIALLY INTO MY LANE. IN ORDER TO AVOID HITTING SAID VEHICLE, I SWERVED TO THE RIGHT SLIGHTLY, AT THAT TIME I BELIEVE ENGINE DIED, AS I HAD NO CONTROL OVER SAID VEHICLE I COULD NOT STEER OR MANEUVER MY VEHICLE AT ALL. THUS IT WAS CONTINUING ON THE PATH OF THE SWERVE AND HIT THE WALL ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I AT NO TIME HAD ANY CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, THE CAR STARTED SPINNING FROM THE IMPACT OF THE WALL AND SENT ME ACROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC AND I WAS HIT BY 2 CARS. THE ONLY AIRBAG THAT DEPLOYED WAS THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. (THERE WAS NO PASSENGER IN THAT POSITION.) I WAS IN THE DRIVER SEAT, AND MY SON (WAS 9 YEARS OF AGE AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT) WAS SITTING DIRECTLY BEHIND ME. WHEN THE CAR STOPPED, I WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION, IT WAS LOCKED IN PLACE. ORIGINALLY, I BELIEVED THAT THERE WERE NO MAJOR INJURIES, ONLY BUMPS, BRUISES AND THE LIKE. HOWEVER IN THE MONTHS SINCE THE INCIDENT, IT HAS COME TO LIGHT THAT I HAVE TORN MUSCLES IN 1, MAYBE BOTH ELBOWS. I AM CURRENTLY UNDER A DOCTORS CARE, AND WILL BE REQUIRING SURGERY TO RECONSTRUCT THE MUSCLES AND TENDONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/17/2015 - STOCKTON, CA
I WAS DRIVING AT THE SPEED LIMIT ON INTERSTATE 5, (CALIFORNIA) WHEN A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME SWERVED PARTIALLY INTO MY LANE. IN ORDER TO AVOID HITTING SAID VEHICLE, I SWERVED TO THE RIGHT SLIGHTLY, AT THAT TIME I BELIEVE ENGINE DIED, AS I HAD NO CONTROL OVER SAID VEHICLE I COULD NOT STEER OR MANEUVER MY VEHICLE AT ALL. THUS IT WAS CONTINUING ON THE PATH OF THE SWERVE AND HIT THE WALL ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I AT NO TIME HAD ANY CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, THE CAR STARTED SPINNING FROM THE IMPACT OF THE WALL AND SENT ME ACROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC AND I WAS HIT BY 2 CARS. THE ONLY AIRBAG THAT DEPLOYED WAS THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. (THERE WAS NO PASSENGER IN THAT POSITION.) I WAS IN THE DRIVER SEAT, AND MY SON (WAS 9 YEARS OF AGE AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT) WAS SITTING DIRECTLY BEHIND ME. WHEN THE CAR STOPPED, I WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION, IT WAS LOCKED IN PLACE. ORIGINALLY, I BELIEVED THAT THERE WERE NO MAJOR INJURIES, ONLY BUMPS, BRUISES AND THE LIKE. HOWEVER IN THE MONTHS SINCE THE INCIDENT, IT HAS COME TO LIGHT THAT I HAVE TORN MUSCLES IN 1, MAYBE BOTH ELBOWS. I AM CURRENTLY UNDER A DOCTORS CARE, AND WILL BE REQUIRING SURGERY TO RECONSTRUCT THE MUSCLES AND TENDONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2015 - HEBRON, OH
MY WIFE DROVE TO OUR GRANDSON'S BASEBALL GAME WHICH IS 1/2 MILE FROM OUR HOME. WHEN SHE PARKED THE VEHICLE AND TURNED IT OFF THE WINDOWS STARTED GOING UP/DOWN BY THEIR SELF AND THE HAZARD LIGHTS CAME ON. SHE TURNED THE KEY ON AND OFF A FEW TIMES TO TRY TO GET THE PROBLEM FIX. SHE THEN JUST LET IT SET AND IT STOP IN ABOUT 5 MINUTES. A WOMAN AT THE BALL FIELD SEEN WHAT MY JOURNEY WAS DOING AND STATED THE SHE WAS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH HERS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2015 - SPRINGDALE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL CLICKING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V373000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS PUT ON A TWO WEEK WAIT LIST FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE WARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2015 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE HORN SOUNDED INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

6/15/2015 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE JOURNEY. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE HORN SOUNDED INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/15/2015 - VALPARAISO, NE
CAME OFF HIGHWAY, STOPPED AT POST OFFICE, SMELLED LIKE SOMETHING BURNING. LEFT POST OFFICE 2 MINUTES LATER, NO SMELL. DROVE 1/2 MILE HOME, PARKED IN GARAGE, WALKED AROUND CAR TO GET OUT OF GARAGE, FELT EXTREME HEAT FROM REAR PASSENGER WHEEL. BRAKE DISC WAS GLOWING RED. PULLED CAR OUT OF GARAGE, TOWED TO PERFORMANCE DODGE (WHERE PURCHASED BRAND NEW) BRAKE CALIPER HAD LOCKED UP. HAD ALL REPLACED. THIS IS THE SAME CAR I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT NOT STARTING, BRIGHT LIGHTS COMING ON BY THEMSELVES. I HAVE HAD IT TOWED, WAITED FOR AN HOUR FOR IT START, PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY IN TEARS BECAUSE THE "STROBE LIGHT EFFECT" WHEN THE BRIGHT LIGHTS(HIGH BEAMS) ACT UP. I HAVE HAD THE STEERING ANGLE SENSOR REPLACED IN AUG 2012, RECALL L25 TRIM RING-IGNITION KEY CYLINDER DONE, I PAID TO HAVE THE WIRELESS IGNITION NODE MODULE REPLACED ON JANUARY 6, 2015 AT PERFORMANCE DODGE DEALERSHIP IN LINCOLN NEBRASKA (THOUGHT WOULD FIX STARTING ISSUE-DID NOT HELP) PAID TO HAVE REAR BRAKES REPLACED, PAID FOR RENTAL VEHICLE. I HAVE COMPLAINED TO DODGE CORP. I HAVE COMPLAINED TO PERFORMANCE DODGE DEALERSHIP. NOW I GET THE RECALL FOR THE WIN MODULE AND WILL HAVE TO FIGHT TO BE REIMBURSED. I HAVE THE ORIGINAL PAPERS AND INVOICE FROM PERFORMANCE DODGE. ANY CHANCE OF BEING REIMBURSED FOR A PIECE OF JUNK CAR, RENTAL CARS AND THE LIKE?????

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/15/2015 - VALPARAISO, NE
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 5:30 AM WITH HEADLIGHTS ON. BRIGHT LIGHTS (HIGH BEAMS) CAME ON BY THEMSELVES. WOULD NOT TURN OFF. THEN WOULD FLICKER OFF AND ON. HEAD LIGHTS STAY ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES SINCE, PERFORMANCE DODGE (DEALERSHIP WHERE PURCHASED BRAND NEW) SAID THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF THAT. CHECKED FOR CODES, FOUND NONE. BRIGHT BEAMS HAVE COME ON IN DAYLIGHT WITH NO HEADLIGHTS ON. THIS IS THE SAME CAR I COMPLAINED ABOUT NOT STARTING. STILL HAVE THAT ISSUE, LAST TIME WAS IN FEB 2015. PERFORMANCE DODGE ( WHERE I PURCHASED CAR BRAND NEW) TOLD ME TO CALL A TOW TRUCK FOR A JUMP START. I TOLD THEM THIS WAS THE SAME PROBLEM OVER AND OVER AND THEY WERE AWARE OF IT, IT WASN'T A POWER ISSUE. THIS LAST TIME IN FEB. 2015, THE TOW DRIVER SAID THAT IT WASN'T A POWER ISSUE. HE HAD HIS PARTNER TURN THE IGNITION WHILE HE BARELY TOUCHED A WIRE BUNDLE UNDER THE HOOD. CAR STARTED RIGHT UP. DODGE STILL SAID NO CODES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds