Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1268 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (39)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (47) Vehicle Speed Control (514)
Electrical System (140) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (448) Structure (35) Visibility (58)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (288) Seats (4) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (430) Fuel System Gasoline (55) Service Brakes (9) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 216
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2015 - TROY, NY
I HEARD ALERT CHIME, LOOKED AT INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. TRACTION CONTROL, WRENCH, BATTERY, ABS, AIRBAG, AND BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ALL ON.SPEEDOMETER, TACHOMETER, AND TEMP GAUGE WERE ALL READING ZERO, FUEL GAUGE APPEARED TO BE WORKING. RADIO VOLUME SPEED COMPENSATION STOPPED WORKING, A/C COMPRESSOR SHUT DOWN, FAN STAYED RUNNING. DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER WAS READING ____MILES TO E, FUEL LEVEL LOW. AFTER A FEW MORE MINUTES, THE TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING, AND NEW MESSAGE ALTERNATED ON THE DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR FAULT. THEN IT JUST AS SUDDENLY, WENT BACK TO NORMAL. NOW THE SAME THING REPEATS REPEATS ON AND OFF ALMOST EVERY 5 MINUTES OF DRIVING OR SO. WHEN I RESEARCHED THIS ON INTERNET I FIND THIS PROBLEM IS SO COMMON THERE IS A COMPANY ADVERTISING MAIL ORDER REPAIRS FOR $199.00 PROBLEM IS COLD SOLDER JOINTS ON INSTRUMENT CLUSTER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/8/2015 - VERONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SEEMED TO STALL. THE 'WRENCH' LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING BUT ONLY MOVING AT IDLE SPEED. PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR DID NOTHING, THE ENGINE KEPT STAYED AT IDLE. I PULLED OVER AND THEN TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE CAR RESTARTED AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS OFF. I ACCELERATED UP TO STREET SPEED (30-35 MPH) AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN, THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. I AGAIN PULLED OVER, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, AND THEN RESTARTED THE CAR. THIS TIME THE WRENCH LIGHT WENT OFF BUT THE 'CHECK ENGINE' LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR WHERE I NEEDED TO GO BY KEEPING IT UNDER 30 MPH. I DID MAKE IT TO A AUTO-PARTS STORE AND THEY WERE ABLE TO HOOK UP A DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE TO GIVE ME THE P2111 TROUBLE CODE, THROTTLE BODY STUCK OPEN. WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF AND I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE UP TO 55 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY WITH NO ISSUES AND LATER WAS ON THE INTERSTATE AT 65-70 MPH. NOTHING MORE HAPPENED OVER THE NEXT WEEK BUT ON MY WAY TO WORK THIS MORNING, 6/8, THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED 5 TIMES ON MY WAY TO WORK. THE CAR WOULD JUST SUDDENLY LOSE POWER AND THE ENGINE WOULD ONLY RUN AT IDLE SPEED. THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON EACH TIME. I WOULD PULL OVER AND STOP, AS TURNING OFF THE CAR WHILE COASTING AND THEN RESTARTING DID NOT SEEM TO 'RESET' THE CAR. WHEN IT RESTARTED, THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS GONE BUT IT CAME BACK ON AND THE CAR STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. AFTER THE THIRD TIME, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED TWICE MORE AFTER THAT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2015 - VERONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SEEMED TO STALL. THE 'WRENCH' LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING BUT ONLY MOVING AT IDLE SPEED. PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR DID NOTHING, THE ENGINE KEPT STAYED AT IDLE. I PULLED OVER AND THEN TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE CAR RESTARTED AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS OFF. I ACCELERATED UP TO STREET SPEED (30-35 MPH) AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN, THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. I AGAIN PULLED OVER, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, AND THEN RESTARTED THE CAR. THIS TIME THE WRENCH LIGHT WENT OFF BUT THE 'CHECK ENGINE' LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR WHERE I NEEDED TO GO BY KEEPING IT UNDER 30 MPH. I DID MAKE IT TO A AUTO-PARTS STORE AND THEY WERE ABLE TO HOOK UP A DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE TO GIVE ME THE P2111 TROUBLE CODE, THROTTLE BODY STUCK OPEN. WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF AND I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE UP TO 55 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY WITH NO ISSUES AND LATER WAS ON THE INTERSTATE AT 65-70 MPH. NOTHING MORE HAPPENED OVER THE NEXT WEEK BUT ON MY WAY TO WORK THIS MORNING, 6/8, THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED 5 TIMES ON MY WAY TO WORK. THE CAR WOULD JUST SUDDENLY LOSE POWER AND THE ENGINE WOULD ONLY RUN AT IDLE SPEED. THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON EACH TIME. I WOULD PULL OVER AND STOP, AS TURNING OFF THE CAR WHILE COASTING AND THEN RESTARTING DID NOT SEEM TO 'RESET' THE CAR. WHEN IT RESTARTED, THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS GONE BUT IT CAME BACK ON AND THE CAR STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. AFTER THE THIRD TIME, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND IT HAPPENED TWICE MORE AFTER THAT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2015 - JOHNS ISLAND, SC
THE INDICATOR SHOWED UPON STARTING THE CAR, A RED WARNING LIGHT "ENGINE CHECK". I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME LESS THAN A MILE IN AT A SLOW SPEED, NO ACCELERATION WAS POSSIBLE. THE NEXT MORNING MY HUSBAND FOLLOWED ME TO THE NEAREST LOCAL CAR REPAIR SHOP WHICH IS 12 MILES FROM MY HOME. AGAIN, NO ACCELERATION WAS POSSIBLE. THE CAR REQUIRED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY BE REPLACED. THERE IS A FIELD SERVICE ACTION ON THIS MODEL. THE PREVIOUS YEAR THE CAR HAD BEEN TAKEN TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP, WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, FOR A VOLUNTARY SAFETY DEFECT CHECK FOR THIS SAME ISSUE. APPARENTLY THE TEMPORARY FIX, REPROGRAMMING THE CONTROL, THAT WAS PERFORMED ON MY VEHICLE THE PREVIOUS YEAR WAS NOT SATISFACTORY TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS IS A DANGER TO OPERATING VEHICLES, SINCE THERE IS NO WARNING UNTIL THE SERVICE GOES OUT IN THE PERFORMANCE OF THIS PART. FORTUNATELY I WAS NEAR MY HOME AT THE TIME OF THE OCCURRENCE AND WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET TO A CAR REPAIR SHOP DOWN A RURAL ROAD FOR REPAIRS. I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR ON A CITY STREET OR HIGHWAY. BASICALLY THE CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOWED IN FOR REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2015 - RIDLEY PARK, PA
DRIVER SIDE DOOR FAILS TO LOCK OR UNLOCK WITH KEY FOB AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR ALSO FAILS TO LOCK WITH THE AUTOMATIC SAFETY FEATURE THAT LOCKS DOORS WHEN DRIVING THIS IS A CONSTANT PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/16/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
I WAS DRIVING ON THE ROAD AND MY GAS PEDAL WENT SOFT. I COULD NOT GET ANY SPEED AND I HAD TO PULL OVER IN ORDER TO AVOID FROM BEING HIT IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC.NOW MY CAR IS IN THE SHOP WHICH COST MONEY.

View Details

STEERING

4/30/2015 - WALKER, MI
FORD ISSUED A RECALL FOR MY 2010 ESCAPE (NHTSA RECALL: 14V-284) FOR POWER STEERING ISSUES WHICH I RESPONDED TO AND A LOCAL DEALERSHIP HAD IT IN FOR SERVICE. NOW I AM STARTING TO EXPERIENCE THE ISSUES THAT WERE CITED IN THE RECALL INCLUDING LOSS OF POWER STEERING LEADING ME TO BELIEVE THAT THE RECALL DID NOT CORRECT THE SITUATION AT ALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/29/2015 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
FOR THE FIRST TIME THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING, I WAS TURNING LEFT ONTO MY MOTHER'S STREET, GOING APPROXIMATELY 20/25 MPH. THERE WAS NO WARNING, THE VEHICLE JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CAR OFF, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, AND RESTART THE CAR WITHOUT A PROBLEM. IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT 4 WEEKS LATER AND AGAIN, I WAS GOING SLOW AS I WAS IN MY PARKING GARAGE AT WORK, APPROXIMATELY 15/20 MPH WHEN MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT ANY WARNING SIGNS. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, RESTARTED AND STARTED DRIVING AGAIN. AS I WAS APPROACHING ANOTHER LEVEL IN THE PARKING GARAGE, THE SAME THING HAPPENED-THE CAR SHUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN PARK AND START DRIVING. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AS CARS HAVE ALMOST REAR ENDED ME AND I DRIVE WITH MY 2 YOUNG SONS IN THE CAR. PREVIOUS TO THESE INCIDENCES I TOOK MY CAR TO FORD FOR RECALLS REGARDING THE THROTTLE BODY, WHICH CAN APPARENTLY CAUSE THIS PROBLEM TO OCCUR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/27/2015 - CALIFORNIA, CA
TOOK MY CAR TO HARROLD FORD ON HOWE AVENUE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR HAS BEEN WORKED ON AND PICKED UP THE CAR AND DIDN'T GET FAR AND THE CAR STALLED. RE-STARTED THE CAR AND BARELY MADE IT BACK HOME AND CALLED HARROLD FORD AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND THEY TOLD ME TO BRING THE CAR BACK AND WE HAD IT TOWED TO THEIR FACILITY AGAIN AND RECEIVED A CALL IN THE AFTERNOON AND WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR IS READY TO BE PICKED UP AND WE DRIVE OVER THERE AND THE CAR STALLED AFTER A COUPLE OF BLOCKS AND HAD IT TOWED TO THEIR FACILITY AGAIN AND THE NEXT DAY WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM HARROLD FORD AND TOLD US THAT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO FOR US AND TO PICK UP MY CAR. " YOUR CAR IS A SALVAGED TITLE" WE TOOK THE CAR HOME VIA TOW TRUCK AND WE HAD A MECHANIC TAKE A LOOK AT THE THROTTLE BODY AND HE SAID THAT IT WAS NEVER REPLACED! I FEEL THAT THE COUPLE OF TIMES THAT WE DROVE THAT CAR PUT ME AND MY GRANDCHILDREN IN A GREAT DANGER AND I THANK GOD THAT WE DIDN'T GET INTO AN ACCIDENT AND THE CAR ONLY DROVE 2 BLOCKS AND I TOLD HARROLD FORD THAT WE BROUGHT MY CAR FOR RECALL PARTS AND NOW MY CAR IS NOT EVEN DRIVEABLE. TOTALLY DEAD!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2015 - CALIFORNIA, CA
TOOK MY CAR TO HARROLD FORD ON HOWE AVENUE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR HAS BEEN WORKED ON AND PICKED UP THE CAR AND DIDN'T GET FAR AND THE CAR STALLED. RE-STARTED THE CAR AND BARELY MADE IT BACK HOME AND CALLED HARROLD FORD AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND THEY TOLD ME TO BRING THE CAR BACK AND WE HAD IT TOWED TO THEIR FACILITY AGAIN AND RECEIVED A CALL IN THE AFTERNOON AND WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR IS READY TO BE PICKED UP AND WE DRIVE OVER THERE AND THE CAR STALLED AFTER A COUPLE OF BLOCKS AND HAD IT TOWED TO THEIR FACILITY AGAIN AND THE NEXT DAY WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM HARROLD FORD AND TOLD US THAT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO FOR US AND TO PICK UP MY CAR. " YOUR CAR IS A SALVAGED TITLE" WE TOOK THE CAR HOME VIA TOW TRUCK AND WE HAD A MECHANIC TAKE A LOOK AT THE THROTTLE BODY AND HE SAID THAT IT WAS NEVER REPLACED! I FEEL THAT THE COUPLE OF TIMES THAT WE DROVE THAT CAR PUT ME AND MY GRANDCHILDREN IN A GREAT DANGER AND I THANK GOD THAT WE DIDN'T GET INTO AN ACCIDENT AND THE CAR ONLY DROVE 2 BLOCKS AND I TOLD HARROLD FORD THAT WE BROUGHT MY CAR FOR RECALL PARTS AND NOW MY CAR IS NOT EVEN DRIVEABLE. TOTALLY DEAD!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 216
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds