Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1380 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (45)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (535)
Electrical System (158) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (470) Structure (45) Visibility (64)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (299) Seats (6) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (451) Fuel System Gasoline (58) Service Brakes (11) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 232
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2016 - PLANO, TX
THE IGNITION SWITCH ON MY VEHICLE NO LONGER WORKS AND HAS TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS A RECALL FOR THE 2009 FORD ESCAPE BUT NOT THE 2010 AND FORD IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO PAY BETWEEN $500 AND $600 TO FIX SOMETHING THEY KNOW IF BROKEN. THE ADVISOR EVEN TOLD ME THAT FORD IS AWARE IT IS THE EXACT SAME PARTS IN THE 2009 AND 2010 THAT IS BROKEN BUT FORD WILL NOT ISSUE A RECALL UNTIL ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE ISSUE. WHAT KIND OF CRAP IS THAT. SO I NOW HAVE A VEHICLE I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS ON BECAUSE I PURCHASED IT PREOWNED AND CANNOT DRIVE IT BECAUSE FORD HAS DEFECTIVE PARTS IN THE VEHICLE AND REFUSES TO OWN UP TO IT UNTIL ENOUGH PEOPLE COME FORWARD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT IT. I SPOKE WITH AN ADVISOR AT THE FIVE STAR FORD IN PLANO, TEXAS.

View Details

STEERING

8/16/2016 - PLANO, TX
THE IGNITION SWITCH ON MY VEHICLE NO LONGER WORKS AND HAS TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS A RECALL FOR THE 2009 FORD ESCAPE BUT NOT THE 2010 AND FORD IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO PAY BETWEEN $500 AND $600 TO FIX SOMETHING THEY KNOW IF BROKEN. THE ADVISOR EVEN TOLD ME THAT FORD IS AWARE IT IS THE EXACT SAME PARTS IN THE 2009 AND 2010 THAT IS BROKEN BUT FORD WILL NOT ISSUE A RECALL UNTIL ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE ISSUE. WHAT KIND OF CRAP IS THAT. SO I NOW HAVE A VEHICLE I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS ON BECAUSE I PURCHASED IT PREOWNED AND CANNOT DRIVE IT BECAUSE FORD HAS DEFECTIVE PARTS IN THE VEHICLE AND REFUSES TO OWN UP TO IT UNTIL ENOUGH PEOPLE COME FORWARD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT IT. I SPOKE WITH AN ADVISOR AT THE FIVE STAR FORD IN PLANO, TEXAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2016 - NORTH PORT, FL
VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND YELLOW WRENCH LIGHT ILLUMINATED. I'M TOLD THIS IS A ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY MALFUNCTION DUE TO INTERNAL CONTAMINATION ON THE INTERNAL MOTOR CONTACTS. VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AT TIME. FORD SENT ME TWO LETTERS ON THIS SUBJECT BUT REFUSES TO FIX IT UNLESS THEY CAN SEE CODE. CODE IS ERASED WHEN ENGINE SHUT OFF ACCORDING TO FORD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2016 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
WHEN WE USE THE MAX A/C IT RECIRCULATES AND YOU CAN SMELL VERY HEAVY GAS. WHEN YOU TURN IT TO REGULAR A/C THE SMELL GOES AWAY. IT IS HORRIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2016 - EAST NORRITON, PA
MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE HAS A MISFIRE BETWEEN THE STEERING OR IGNITION COLUMN AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, THE CAR RIDES VERY ROUGH AND HAS LOST POWER STEERING DURING DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, BROUGHT INTO FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID NO RECALL FOR THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR, I READ THENHTSA REPORTS AND READ ALL THE FACTS THAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR IT SAID IT IS THE CONTROL MODULE AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MODULE.. BUT DEALERSHIP SAID NO RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/27/2016 - EAST NORRITON, PA
MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE HAS A MISFIRE BETWEEN THE STEERING OR IGNITION COLUMN AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, THE CAR RIDES VERY ROUGH AND HAS LOST POWER STEERING DURING DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, BROUGHT INTO FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID NO RECALL FOR THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR, I READ THENHTSA REPORTS AND READ ALL THE FACTS THAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR IT SAID IT IS THE CONTROL MODULE AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MODULE.. BUT DEALERSHIP SAID NO RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

7/27/2016 - EAST NORRITON, PA
MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE HAS A MISFIRE BETWEEN THE STEERING OR IGNITION COLUMN AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, THE CAR RIDES VERY ROUGH AND HAS LOST POWER STEERING DURING DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, BROUGHT INTO FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID NO RECALL FOR THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR, I READ THENHTSA REPORTS AND READ ALL THE FACTS THAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR IT SAID IT IS THE CONTROL MODULE AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MODULE.. BUT DEALERSHIP SAID NO RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

7/27/2016 - TAYLOR, MI
TAKATA RECALL

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2016 - THORNTON, CO
A RECALL WAS ISSUED IN 2014 FOR THE POWER STEERING. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE "FIXED" THE RECALL IN OCT OF 2014. TODAY THE POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR. HE WAS ALSO MAKING A TURN IN A BUSY INTERSECTION. HAD I BEEN DRIVING, I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR WITH MANUAL STEERING AND MAY HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE PUT LESS THAN 20K MILES ON THE CAR SINCE THE "FIX" BUT I AM OUTSIDE THE 2 YEAR OR 12,000 MILE WARRANTY PERIOD FOR THE RECALL. IT TAKES MY ABOUT 30 SECONDS TO FIND OTHERS ON FORUMS THAT THIS EXACT SAME THING HAS HAPPENED TO. I DON'T THINK A SOFTWARE FIX (WHICH IS WHAT WAS DONE) WAS THE APPROPRIATE FIX FOR A DETERMINED FAULTY PART, THE TORQUE SENSOR. FORD NEEDS TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND RECALL THE PART AND NOT TAKE THE EASY WAY OUT AND DO A SOFTWARE UPDATE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/25/2016 - HEAVENER, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED INTO LIMP HOME MODE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT MANUALLY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 232
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds