Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1250 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (45) Vehicle Speed Control (511)
Electrical System (138) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (441) Structure (33) Visibility (54)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (287) Seats (4) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (424) Fuel System Gasoline (54) Service Brakes (7) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 213
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/25/2015 - LAKEWOOD, CO
THE REAR LIFT GATE WINDOW GLASS EXPLODED AS I WAS CLOSING THE LIFT GATE. ACCORDING TO YOUR WEBSITE, THIS DEFECT HAS ALREADY BEEN INVESTIGATED AND CLOSED: DATE INVESTIGATION OPENED: APR 27, 2011; DATE INVESTIGATION CLOSED: AUG 18, 2011; NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE11016; COMPONENT(S): STRUCTURE , VISIBILITY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2015 - DEARBORN, MI
REAR GLASS EXPLODED FOR NO REASON.

View Details

STEERING

2/15/2015 - YPSILANTI, MI
WAS DRIVING, AND TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T ALLOW RPM TO GO ABOVE 500 AND CONTINUED TO DROP TO 0 AND SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2015 - YPSILANTI, MI
WAS DRIVING, AND TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T ALLOW RPM TO GO ABOVE 500 AND CONTINUED TO DROP TO 0 AND SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/11/2015 - LEBANON, CT
THE REAR WINDOW OF THE CAR SUDDENLY EXPLODED. I CLOSED THE TAILGATE, AND A MOMENT LATER, THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED WITHOUT PROVOCATION. MORE OF THE SHATTERED GLASS WENT INTO THE CAR THAN WENT OUTSIDE IT. IT DID NOT INJURE ME, FORTUNATELY, BUT HUNDREDS OF SHARDS OF GLASS WENT EVERYWHERE. THE MOST RIDICULOUS THING WAS THAT THERE WAS NO SEEMING CAUSE. NOTHING WAS TOUCHING THE WINDOW. THE TEMPERATURE WAS CHILLY BUT MODERATE (40'S). THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT ANYTHING WAS AMISS; THE WINDOW JUST EXPLODED. LOOKING ONLINE, IT SEEMS THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED IN 2010 AND SOME 2011 FORD ESCAPES, AND THERE WAS EVEN AN INCONCLUSIVE INVESTIGATION IN 2011 BY THE NTSB. BUT AT THIS POINT, THERE IS NO RECALL ON THE WINDOW.

View Details

STEERING

2/7/2015 - BASEHOR , KS
I WAS DRIVING DOWN I-70 WEST BOUND AND MY CAR STARTED TO CHANGE LANES WITHOUT MY CONTROL. ALSO SINCE I HAD THE FORD'S RECALL NUMBER 14S05 SERVICE MY GAS MILLAGE HAS ALSO DROPPED BY 3-5 MILES PER GALLON. BEFORE THE RECALL SERVICE I HAD NO ISSUES WITH MY CAR. I HAVE NOTICED MY CAR STEERING IS OVER COMPENSATING PROVIDING A CARNIVAL TYPE RIDE. (CAR SICKNESS TO THOSE WHO RIDE WITH ME AND SOMETIMES MYSELF ALSO.) ASKED THE FORD MOTOR CAR COMPANY ABOUT RESTORING BACK TO THE ORGINAL SETTING AND THEY SAID NO. MY CAR IS NO LONGER SAFE TO USE SINCE I HAD THE 14S05 RECALL SERVICE DONE.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - PARMA, OH
I DRIVE A 2010 FORD ESCAPE AND RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE (#14S05) FOR THE POWER STEERING SENSOR. I TOOK IT TO LIBERTY FORD IN PARMA HEIGHTS IN OCTOBER 2014 TO HAVE THIS FIXED. IN LATE JANUARY 2015 I AGAIN RECEIVED THE SAME SIGNAL ON MY DASHBOARD THAT I DID PRIOR TO THE RECALL. MY STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO STEER. I BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND THIS WOULD COST ME ALMOST 1200.00. THE DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THIS REALLY DOESN'T HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH THE RECALL AND IS DUE TO NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR ON THE VEHICLE. ANOTHER CUSTOMER GOING THROUGH THE SAME THING ADVISED ME THAT HIS MECHANIC ADVISED HIM THAT THIS IS A KNOWN FORD DEFECT. THEY ARE PASSING THESE COSTS ONTO ME - THIS IS SO UNFAIR. I HAVE NO RECOURSE BUT TO PAY THIS AMOUNT SINCE IT IS MY ONLY VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - WEST LIBERTY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE CENTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,502.

View Details

STEERING

1/30/2015 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
POWER STEERING FAILED. THERE WAS A RECALL IN JULY 2014 ON THIS. DEALERSHIP THEN RESET THE SOFTWARE FOR THE TOTQUE SENSOR. THE RECALL STATES THAT EITHER A SOFTWARE UPDATE IS NEEDED, THE TORQUE SENSOR REPLACED, OR THE STEERING COLUMN REPLACED. AT THE TIME I HAD NO ISSUES. 6 MONTHS LATER MY POWER STEERING FAILED. I AM NOW TOLD I NEED TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. THE RECALL STATES IF A SOFTWARE RESET WAS DONE THAT ANY FURTHER ISSUES WOULD NOT BE COVERED. THE COST FOR THIS IS ROUGHLY $1,500 WHEREAS A SOFTWARE RESET ONLY COSTS FORD MOTOR COMPANY ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF LABOR. I FEEL THE SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS A "BAND-AID" TO A MUCH LARGER PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND THE PROBLEM IS BEING PASSED ONTO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/21/2015 - REDMOND , WA
WHEN DRIVING PRIMARILY AT LOW OR DECLINING SPEEDS AS IN ANTICIPATION OF A STOP LIGHT OR TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY, WHEN I SLOW DOWN AND THEN SLIGHTLY ACCELERATE (EITHER INTO THE DRIVEWAY OR IF THE LIGHT CHANGES BEFORE I HAVE FULLY STOPPED), I NOTICE A STALL OR PAUSE IN ACCELERATION. THIS HAS HAPPENED A NUMBER OF TIMES BUT I ONLY RECENTLY REALIZED THE CONSISTENT SCENARIO. I HAD POSSIBLY THE SAME SYMPTOM AT HIGHER SPEED WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, NOTICING THE SPEED WOULD SEEM TO FLUCTUATE ODDLY WHILE IN RAPID AND QUICK SUCCESSION LIKE IT WAS TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO ACCELERATE OR DECELERATE. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THIS IS A SIGN OF A FAILING THROTTLE BODY PER A FORD RECALL. AFTER READING ABOUT THIS FAILURE, I AM CONVINCED IT IS SO. MY DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THEY CAN ONLY DIAGNOSE A TOTAL FAILURE OF THIS PART--WHICH SEEMS TO ME LIKE MY LIFE IS AT RISK TO BEING HIT FROM BEHIND OR FROM THE SIDE IF THE CAR STALLS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I AM BECOMING AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR. IF THE PART IS BAD ARE WE JUST GOING TO SACRIFICE A FEW PEOPLE'S LIVES BEFORE HOLDING A CONGRESSIONAL INVESTIGATION?? HOW MANY IS ENOUGH?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 213
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds