Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1392 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (45)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (81) Vehicle Speed Control (539)
Electrical System (160) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (473) Structure (45) Visibility (64)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (301) Seats (6) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (452) Fuel System Gasoline (58) Service Brakes (11) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 233
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/21/2016 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE SERVICE VEHICLE SOON WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TEN SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/21/2016 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE SERVICE VEHICLE SOON WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TEN SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/20/2016 - SHALIMAR, FL
CAP LESS FUEL SYSTEM INDICATES FAILURE ON WARNING SYSTEM. AFTER CONTINUING TO DRIVE ENGINE WARNING ELUMINATES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2016 - GALENA PARK, TX
ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ENGINE STARTS TO REV UP WHEN I AM WAITING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT OR DRIVING. IT SCARES ME THAT I PUSH ON THE BRAKE MORE AS I AM WAITING FOR TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE OR WHEN I AM DRIVING I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL BECAUSE AM AFRAID OF GOING FASTER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/14/2016 - GALENA PARK, TX
ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ENGINE STARTS TO REV UP WHEN I AM WAITING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT OR DRIVING. IT SCARES ME THAT I PUSH ON THE BRAKE MORE AS I AM WAITING FOR TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE OR WHEN I AM DRIVING I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL BECAUSE AM AFRAID OF GOING FASTER.

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2016 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
WHEN I WAS TAKEN A LEFT TURN, IN THE MIDDLE OF THAT TURN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT ALL MOST CAUSE A ACCIDENT. FORD HAD A RECALL ON A SOFTWARE UPGRADE LAST YEAR AN, BECAUSE I HAD THIS DONE THEY WILL NOT COVER ANY OF THE COST FOR REPAIRS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2016 - ROWLETT, TX
GAS PEDAL BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE WITHOUT WARNING. BRAKES WORK BUT SHAKE CAR WHEN I TRY AND SLOW DOWN. CAR SEEMS OK AFTER TURNING ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON. I BOUGHT THIS 2010 ESCAPE PRE-OWNED IN 2013 AND THIS HAPPENED THE DAY WE GOT IT. DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY AND IT HAS BEEN FINE UNTIL ABOUT A WEEK AGO WHEN SAME ISSUE HAS HAPPENED TWICE IN A WEEK. DEALERSHIP IS REPLACING THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY ONCE AGAIN FOR FREE. IT CONCERNS ME THAT THIS IS HAVING TO BE REPLACED A SECOND TIME. IF A MANUFACTURER IS AWARE OF A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE LIKE THIS AND THEY REPLACE THE PART, I'M EXPECTING WHATEVER WAS INHERENTLY WRONG WITH THE PART CAUSING IT TO FAIL TO BE FIXED. NOW I'M WONDERING HOW LONG UNTIL IT HAS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN OR IF IT WILL GO OUT DURING HIGH TRAFFIC ON THE HIGHWAY PUTTING MY WIFE IN HARMS WAY WITHOUT ANY WAY TO CONTROL THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/8/2016 - RICE LAKE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE WRENCH ICON INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN HOME AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/7/2016 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
THIS CAN HAPPEN ANY TIME THE ENGINE IS STOP, WHILE PARK AT HOME,SHOPPING ANY WHERE THE ENGINE IS STOP . TO START THE KEY IN INSERTED TO STEERING COLUMN OPENING AND IT WILL NOT ENGAGE PROPERLY AT TIMES IT TAKES TO MOVE BACK AND FORT THE KEY WHILE INSERTED AND IT WILL START, THIS IS HAPPENING MORE OFTEN NOW. TOOK THE ESCAPE TO GRAND PRAIRIE FORD TEXAS AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE STEERING COLUMN LOCK MODULE NEED TO BE REPLACE PLUS AN ALIGNMENT TOTAL FOR $787.65 UNDERSTAND THAT THE 2009 ESCAPE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM BUT FORD HAS ISSUED A RECALL ON IT BUT NOT THE 2010, THIS IS RATHER ABSURD SINCE THE KNOW THE PROBLEM. NOW I HAVE THE CHOICE TO REPAIR OR DRIVE UNTIL THE KEY NO LONGER WORKS, WHAT A CHOICE, I'M A WIDOWER , RETIRED AND LIVE ON SS, THANKS FORD.

View Details

STEERING

9/7/2016 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
THIS CAN HAPPEN ANY TIME THE ENGINE IS STOP, WHILE PARK AT HOME,SHOPPING ANY WHERE THE ENGINE IS STOP . TO START THE KEY IN INSERTED TO STEERING COLUMN OPENING AND IT WILL NOT ENGAGE PROPERLY AT TIMES IT TAKES TO MOVE BACK AND FORT THE KEY WHILE INSERTED AND IT WILL START, THIS IS HAPPENING MORE OFTEN NOW. TOOK THE ESCAPE TO GRAND PRAIRIE FORD TEXAS AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE STEERING COLUMN LOCK MODULE NEED TO BE REPLACE PLUS AN ALIGNMENT TOTAL FOR $787.65 UNDERSTAND THAT THE 2009 ESCAPE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM BUT FORD HAS ISSUED A RECALL ON IT BUT NOT THE 2010, THIS IS RATHER ABSURD SINCE THE KNOW THE PROBLEM. NOW I HAVE THE CHOICE TO REPAIR OR DRIVE UNTIL THE KEY NO LONGER WORKS, WHAT A CHOICE, I'M A WIDOWER , RETIRED AND LIVE ON SS, THANKS FORD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 233
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds