Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1442 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (46)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (101) Vehicle Speed Control (543)
Electrical System (161) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (477) Structure (48) Visibility (64)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel Propulsion System (316) Seats (6) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine (454) Fuel System Gasoline (59) Service Brakes (13) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 239
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/16/2017 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO BROUGHT TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN AND HOUSING WERE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,060.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - JONESBORO, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AFTER THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT DETECTED A FUEL ODOR IN AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. WHEN FILLING THE FUEL TANK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V777000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,350. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2017 - WEST MILFORD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION REGARDING THE FUEL LEAK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A PUDDLE OF FUEL COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. EARLIER THAT DAY, THE CONTACT FILLED THE VEHICLE WITH FUEL. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE RECALL WAS RELATED TO FUEL LEAKING FROM A DIFFERENT PART OF THE VEHICLE AND THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY TO REMEDY THE FUEL LEAK. THE RECALL INFORMATION WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/10/2017 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK AND THERE WAS NO STEERING ABILITY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE STEERING SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR THE SAME FAILURE TWO YEARS AGO WITH A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AGAIN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/4/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
TAKATA RECALL AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE, THE "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE THEN STALLED AND JERKED AFTER CRANKING THE ENGINE AND STALLED OUT WHILE STILL. AFTER DIAGNOSING THE ISSUE, IT WAS CITED THE CAR HAS A "GROSS VACUUM LEAK" INDICATING THAT THE "EASY FUEL" GAS FLAP IS NOT SHUTTING PROPERLY. THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE FOR MOST FORD ESCAPE OWNERS AND EVEN OTHER FORD OWNERS THAT HAVE THE "EASY FUEL" SYSTEM. THE SUGGESTED SOLUTION BY MOST DEALERS AND TECHNICIANS IS TO EVENTUALLY REPLACE THE FUEL FILL PUMP, HOWEVER THE REPAIR SEEMS TO BE PRETTY COSTLY FOR AN ISSUE IMPACTING OWNERS BASED ON A FAULTY "EASY FUEL" SYSTEM.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2017 - STOCKTON, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND MY STEERING WHEEL FROZE, I WAS NOT ABLE TO MOVE IT. IT WAS THE SCARIEST THING. THERE WAS AN IMMEDIATE DING IN MY CAR AND IT SAID POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT, OR SIMILAR. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO WORK (THANK GOODNESS) AND CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIP, I CALLED MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND HAD IT TOWED TO THEM BECAUSE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS SO HARD TO TURN, I WAS AFRAID I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. I DO NOT KNOW IF THEY WILL HONOR RECALLS FROM READING NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH RESPONSES I HAVE READ, THEY ARE NO LONGER HONORING THEM. I AM A 2ND OWNER OF THE CAR AND DID NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. THIS SHOULD BE AN ONGOING RECALL, THIS WAS VERY SCARY AND IF MY KIDS WERE IN THE CAR... THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE... WITHOUT WARNING IT GOES OUT? THIS COULD HAVE ENDED A LOT WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

1/27/2017 - CLARKSVILLE, MI
A FEW WEEKS AGO I BEGAN NOTICING THAT MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD VIBRATE (REALLY MORE OF A JERKING BACK AND FORTH MOTION) WHILE THE CAR WAS IDLING. SOON IT WAS DOING IT EVERY TIME THE CAR SLOWED OR STOPPED. NOW I CAN FEEL THE JERKING OF THE WHEEL EVEN WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO A FIRESTONE FOR SERVICE WHO TOLD ME THAT THIS WAS PART OF A FORD RECALL (14-S05) AND THAT I NEEDED TO TAKE IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP. THE FORD DEALERSHIP IS TELLING ME THAT THE RECALL IS CLOSED AND THAT I NEED TO PAY $1000 FOR A NEW STEERING COLUMN. I CALLED FORD WHO SAID THAT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AS THE POWER STEERING CAN COMPLETELY GO OUT (WHICH THEY KNOW). MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD ISSUES GETTING FORD TO HONOR THE RECALL AND FIX THEIR STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

STEERING

1/23/2017 - COLORADO SPRING, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO INDEPENDENTLY VEER TO THE RIGHT. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO SHAKE WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORCH SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,456.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

1/19/2017 - LOS ANGLES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK COMING FROM THE ROOF RACK, WHICH CAUSED RUST. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROOF RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/17/2017 - ESCONDIDO, CA
HAD TO HAVE THROTTLE BODY REPLACE FOR SECOND TIME FIRST TIME IN DECEMBER 1 2015 SAME ISSUE ACCURED JANUARY 13 2017 FIRST TIME PAID NOTHING BUT THAT WAS AFTER ME HAVING TO INFORM THEM OF THE 13N03 CUSTOMERS SATISFACTION FROM FORD. THIS TIME HAD TO PAY 100 DOLLARS AS THEY CALL IT DEDUCTIBLE THIS CAR IS A 2010 HAS LESS THAN 60,000 MILE ON ITS THIRD THROTTLE BODY . WELL MY COMPLAINT IS IF ITS THE SAME ISSUE TWICE WHY AM I HAVING TO PAY FOR IT AT ALL . BOTH TIMES THIS HAPPEND WAS LIGHT CITY TRAFFIC AND BOTH TIMES WHEN MY WIFE WAS ON THE WAY TO PICK UP OUR CHILDREN FROM SCHOOL AND WHILE TRAVELING UNDER 40 MPH I WANT MY FAMILY SAFE GOD FORBID IT HAPPEN ON FREEWAY FAR FROM HOME PLEASE PLEASE RESOLVE BOTH ISSUES THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 239
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds