Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1362 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (74) Vehicle Speed Control (532)
Electrical System (154) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (469) Structure (44) Visibility (63)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (295) Seats (5) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (448) Fuel System Gasoline (58) Service Brakes (11) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 229
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/22/2016 - WEST END, NC
SUV STALLS, NO ACCELERATION. LIGHT LOOKING LIKE A WRENCH COMES ON WHEN CAR STALLS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2016 - UNCASVILLE, CT
CAR STARTED STALLING ON A BUSY INTERSTATE AND WAS BROUGHT TO THE NEXT EXIT BY DRIVING ON THE SHOULDER AND REPEATEDLY RESTARTING THE ENGINE. THE LOCAL FIRESTONE GARAGE SEEMS TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM BY REPLACING THE THROTTLE BODY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2016 - BOLIVAR, MO
DRIVING AND VEHICLE "GULPED" AND SLOWED TO LESS THAN 10 MILES PER HOUR. DUE TO TRAFFIC WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND GET OFF ROADWAY. CALLED TOW TRUCK...$45.00 AND HAD TOWED TO CLOSE MECHANIC AND THEY FOUND THAT THE "THROTTLE BODY WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY". VEHICLE HAS 84,872 MILES ON IT. THEY REPLACED THROTTLE BODY AND CLEARED CODES...$346.92. THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM AND THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM A FORD DEALERSHIP. REPAIRS WERE MADE AT ADVANCED AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR, 114 E AUSTIN, BOLIVAR, MO 65613 AND COMPLETED ON 5/9/2016

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/7/2016 - MERCED, CA
FOR ABOUT A MONTH, WHEN I WOULD FIRST BEGIN TO LEAVE MY RESIDENCE, THE FORD ESCAPE WOULD SURGE FORWARD MAYBE 5 TO 10 FEET WHILE ALREADY IN MOTION ON THE STREET. THEN THE ESCAPE STALLED COMPLETELY WHEN I SLOWED DOWN TO MAKE A TURN... THANK GOD I DID NOT TURN IN FRONT OF SOME ON-COMING VEHICLES. THE ESCAPE HAS ALSO FELT LIKE IT WANTED TO STALL SEVERAL OTHER TIMES WHILE DRIVING AROUND TOWN BEFORE IT FINALLY DID JUST BEFORE THAT TURN I ALREADY MENTIONED. FORD HAS NOT OFFERED TO BUY THIS VEHICLE BACK (OUTSIDE OF A TRADE-IN FOR A NEW PURCHASE) BUT I SURE WISH TO GOD THEY WOULD. I HAD THE VEHICLE LOOKED AT BY FORD & THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY FOR THE THIRD/3RD TIME! IT IS UNDER A 150,000 MILE RECALL FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM. OUR VEHICLE HAS JUST OVER 70,000 MILES & WE HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED 3 TIMES! WE BOUGHT THE ESCAPE BRAND NEW... NEARLY $40,000 WITH ALL THE BELLS & WHISTLES... I THINK WE AVERAGE ABOUT 8,000 MILES BEFORE EACH MAJOR PROBLEM... INSANE.... DISGUSTING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - LUGOFF, SC
THE FUEL CANISTER ON THE 2010 FORD ESCAPE WILL BACKUP AND CAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON AND RELEASE GAS FUMES AND COULD BE A POTENTIAL CALLS FOR A FIRE AND WHEN IT DOES THIS IT WILL RELEASE STRONG GAS SMELL. THIS WILL BE THE 2ND ONE ON THIS VEHICLE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - SATSUMA, FL
CAR DIED 3 DIFFERENT TIMES WHILE IN TRAFFIC ON A 4 LANE HIGHWAY. IT'S WILL START RUNNING RUFF AND THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON THE DASH. STOP THE CAR, PUT IT PARK AND SHUT IT OFF FOR A COUPLE OF SECONDS, THEN CRANK IT BACK UP, THE WRENCH LIGHT IS OFF AND IT IS RUNNING FINE. THE LAST TIME IT DID IT, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK CAR TO TIRE KINDLE SO THEY COULD READ THE CODE AS THE FORD DEALER WAS CLOSED. CODE WAS THROTTLE CONTROL SENSOR WAS STUCK WIDE OPEN. THIS SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED ABOUT 10,000 BACK WITH MY WIFE. THE CAR HAD ABOUT 45,000 MILES. SHE TOOK IT.TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AS THERE HAVE BEEN THIS PROBLEM BEFORE. THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE RESOLVED AS IT IS LIFE THREATENING BY DOING THIS HEAVY TRAFFIC SITUATIONS.

View Details

STEERING

4/22/2016 - EAST JORDAN, MI
POWER STEERING SUDDENLY WENT OUT WHILE MY WIFE AND HER CLIENT WERE PARKING AT A RETAIL STORE. POWER STEERING HAS NOT RETURNED SINCE. MY WIFE WAS ABLE TO PARK THE VEHICLE SAFELY BUT NOT ABLE TO STEER IT TO MOVE THE VEHICLE ANYWHERE AFTER THAT (I HAD TO WRESTLE WITH THE STEERING TO MOVE THE VEHICLE TO A REPAIR FACILITY). THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED THIS AS A TORQUE SENSOR FAILURE. RECALL 14S05 SERVICE WAS PERFORMED IN 2014 IN AS MUCH AS THE SOFTWARE FOR THE SYSTEM WAS UPDATED -NO PARTS WERE REPLACED. FORD HAS STATED THAT THE TORQUE SENSORS IN THE AFFECTED VEHICLES ARE KNOWN TO BE FAULTY YET, WHEN A UNIT FAILS (LIKE MINE) AFTER THE SOFTWARE HAS BEEN UPDATED, THEY REFUSE TO FIX IT. MY VEHICLE HAS JUST OVER 83,000 MILES WHICH IS WELL BELOW THE REASONABLE LIFE EXPECTANCY FOR A TORQUE SENSOR. FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND RECALL DEPARTMENTS HAVE REFUSED ANY FURTHER REMEDIATION.

View Details

STEERING

4/19/2016 - DETROIT LAKES, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER AND SHOOK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V4280000 (STEERING), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED NO FAILURES BEFORE THE RECALL. SINCE THE SOFTWARE UPDATE, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH THE STEERING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

4/19/2016 - DETROIT LAKES, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER AND SHOOK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V4280000 (STEERING), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED NO FAILURES BEFORE THE RECALL. SINCE THE SOFTWARE UPDATE, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH THE STEERING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2016 - PONCA CITY, OK
LOST POWER STEERING SUDDENLY WHEN TURNING CORNER

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 229
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds