Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1255 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (42)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (46) Vehicle Speed Control (511)
Electrical System (138) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (443) Structure (34) Visibility (54)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (286) Seats (4) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (424) Fuel System Gasoline (55) Service Brakes (7) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 213
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2015 - YPSILANTI , MI
THE VEHICLE BEGAN HAVING DIFFICULTY SHIFTING INTO 2ND AND 3RD GEARS IN NOVEMBER 2014. APPARENTLY, THERE WAS A LEAK ON THE DRIVER-SIDE AXLE SHAFT THAT CAUSED TRANSMISSION FLUID LEVELS TO DROP. INITIALLY, WE PERCEIVED THIS ISSUE TO BE RELATED TO COLD WEATHER, BUT THE LEAK WAS DISCOVERED WHEN WE FINALLY TOOK IT TO A DEALERSHIP TO DISCOVER THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM IN MARCH 2015. A SEAL ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WAS LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID, RESULTING IN A REPAIR BILL OF $471. WHILE CHECKING ONLINE TO SEE IF THIS WAS AN APPROPRIATE COST FOR THE REPAIR, I DISCOVERED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM IN BOTH 2010 FORD ESCAPE MODELS AND FORD FUSION MODELS. THE INDIVIDUAL WE SPOKE TO AT THE DEALERSHIP WHEN PICKING UP THE VEHICLE INFORMED US THAT THEY WERE WELL AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AS WELL. HE INSTRUCTED US TO SAVE THE RECEIPTS IN THE EVENT OF A FUTURE RECALL. FORD HAD ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS PROBLEM WITH THE AXLE SEAL, SO THE COMPANY IS WELL AWARE OF THIS ISSUE ALSO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/27/2015 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP , MI
MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE HAS BEEN STALLING!!! I HAVE ALREADY GOT THE THROTTLE BODY UPDATE LAST WEEK! THAT IS NOT THE FIX. I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH MY CAR (THE TRANSMISSION WAS BAD- RECALLED, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP ON ME DRIVING THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH WITH MY KID- RECALLED, THE THROTTLE BODY- FIXED LAST WEEK IN THE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION UPDATE/RECALL) AND YET IT IS STILL STALLING. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND JUST AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. THIS 5 YEAR OLD CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT A DEATH TRAP FOR ME AND MY TODDLER. NO ONE CAN TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE STALLING. I AM TAKING IT IN YET AGAIN IN HOPES SOMEONE CAN TELL ME WHY MY 5 YEAR OLD CAR IS SHUTTING DOWN ON ME. IT SHAKES REALLY HARD LIKE IT'S GOING TO EXPLODE AND THEN SMELLS LIKE GAS BEFORE IT SHUTS OFF. I HAVE BEEN BEYOND FRUSTRATED WITH THIS 2010 ESCAPE AND CAN'T GET RID OF IT BECAUSE EVERYONE KNOWS ALL OF MY ISSUES WITH IT. IF MY DAUGHTER AND I DIE WHILE IN THE CAR.....IT WILL MOST LIKELY BE FORDS FAULT WITH AS MANY PROBLEMS I HAVE HAD. PLEASE PLEASE RECALL WHATEVER IS CAUSING THESE CARS TO SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. HTTP://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/FORD-NEWS-AND-RECALLS?PAGE=2 (NHTSA SAID IT HAS RECORDED 1,500 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE PROBLEM, WITH THREE CRASHES AND ONE INJURY SO FAR. BESIDES STALLING, NHTSA SIAD THE AFFECTED VEHICLES MAY ALSO SURGE UNEXPECTEDLY AS THE RPMS INCREASE TO PREVENT STALLING DURING LIMP MODE. AN EARLIER THROTTLE PROBLEM IN THE FORD ESCAPE HAS BEEN FIXED, FORD SAID. IT IS NOT THOUGHT TO BE RELATED TO THE STALLING PROBLEM.) PLEASE READ THAT LAST LINE!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/23/2015 - ISSAQUAH, WA
WHEN CLOSING THE REAR HATCH ON MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE, THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED LEAVING GLASS SHARDS THROUGHOUT MY DRIVEWAY AND OUT INTO THE STREET. THERE WAS NOTHING BLOCKING THE CLOSURE AND NORMAL FORCE WAS USED TO CLOSE THE HATCH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/23/2015 - ISSAQUAH, WA
WHEN CLOSING THE REAR HATCH ON MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE, THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED LEAVING GLASS SHARDS THROUGHOUT MY DRIVEWAY AND OUT INTO THE STREET. THERE WAS NOTHING BLOCKING THE CLOSURE AND NORMAL FORCE WAS USED TO CLOSE THE HATCH.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/13/2015 - DEARBORN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE PARKING AND ATTEMPTING TO CLOSE THE HATCH DOOR, THE GLASS SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER MOTOR AND THE GLASS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,297.

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2015 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE RIGHT AND THE STABILIZATION FEATURE CAUSED THE FRONT AND REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRES TO DEFLATE. THE CONTACT APPLIED FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A GUARDRAIL AND FLIP OVER MORE THAN TWICE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, MOUTH, AND THE RIGHT EAR LOBE WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION MONTHS AFTER THE CRASH FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) HOWEVER THE FAILURE OCCURRED BEFORE THE RECALL REPAIR WAS ABLE TO BE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,428.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/25/2015 - LAKEWOOD, CO
THE REAR LIFT GATE WINDOW GLASS EXPLODED AS I WAS CLOSING THE LIFT GATE. ACCORDING TO YOUR WEBSITE, THIS DEFECT HAS ALREADY BEEN INVESTIGATED AND CLOSED: DATE INVESTIGATION OPENED: APR 27, 2011; DATE INVESTIGATION CLOSED: AUG 18, 2011; NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE11016; COMPONENT(S): STRUCTURE , VISIBILITY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2015 - DEARBORN, MI
REAR GLASS EXPLODED FOR NO REASON.

View Details

STEERING

2/15/2015 - YPSILANTI, MI
WAS DRIVING, AND TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T ALLOW RPM TO GO ABOVE 500 AND CONTINUED TO DROP TO 0 AND SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2015 - YPSILANTI, MI
WAS DRIVING, AND TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T ALLOW RPM TO GO ABOVE 500 AND CONTINUED TO DROP TO 0 AND SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 213
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds