Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1229 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (39)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (32) Vehicle Speed Control (509)
Electrical System (137) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (439) Structure (31) Visibility (52)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (285) Seats (4) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine (422) Fuel System Gasoline (54) Service Brakes (7) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 210
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/16/2014 - DEMOTTE, IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: (14S05). THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 55MPH, THE POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED AND THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED ONCE, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALERSHIP AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,342.RW

View Details

STEERING

12/16/2014 - DEMOTTE, IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH,THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN.THE POWER CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS. SA

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
2010 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER STATED PERIODICALLY, HE HAD DIFFICULTY INSERTING THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/10/2014 - KYLE, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A SERVICE ROAD AND WAS ENTERING THE FREEWAY WHEN THE TRANSMISSION STARTED SLIPPING. THIS CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO START JERKING. THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME ALMOST RAN OVER ME AS I WAS LOOSING SPEED DUE TO THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPING. I MANAGED TO PULL OVER AND AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES THE TRANSMISSION STARTED WORKING AGAIN AND I WAS ABLE TO PICK UP SPEED AND CONTINUE DRIVING. THIS INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED MY BRAKING AND STEERING TO BE ERRATIC. THIS HAPPENED 3 TIMES ON DEC 9, 2014. THIS IS UNSAFE AS IT NEARLY CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC GOING SOUTH ON INTERSTATE 35 OUT OF AUSTIN. BY MY ESTIMATION THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN NO FEWER THAN 5 TO 6 VEHICLES INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT HAD I NOT MANAGED TO PULL OVER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2014 - KYLE, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A SERVICE ROAD AND WAS ENTERING THE FREEWAY WHEN THE TRANSMISSION STARTED SLIPPING. THIS CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO START JERKING. THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME ALMOST RAN OVER ME AS I WAS LOOSING SPEED DUE TO THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPING. I MANAGED TO PULL OVER AND AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES THE TRANSMISSION STARTED WORKING AGAIN AND I WAS ABLE TO PICK UP SPEED AND CONTINUE DRIVING. THIS INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED MY BRAKING AND STEERING TO BE ERRATIC. THIS HAPPENED 3 TIMES ON DEC 9, 2014. THIS IS UNSAFE AS IT NEARLY CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC GOING SOUTH ON INTERSTATE 35 OUT OF AUSTIN. BY MY ESTIMATION THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN NO FEWER THAN 5 TO 6 VEHICLES INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT HAD I NOT MANAGED TO PULL OVER.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2014 - KYLE, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A SERVICE ROAD AND WAS ENTERING THE FREEWAY WHEN THE TRANSMISSION STARTED SLIPPING. THIS CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO START JERKING. THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME ALMOST RAN OVER ME AS I WAS LOOSING SPEED DUE TO THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPING. I MANAGED TO PULL OVER AND AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES THE TRANSMISSION STARTED WORKING AGAIN AND I WAS ABLE TO PICK UP SPEED AND CONTINUE DRIVING. THIS INCIDENT ALSO CAUSED MY BRAKING AND STEERING TO BE ERRATIC. THIS HAPPENED 3 TIMES ON DEC 9, 2014. THIS IS UNSAFE AS IT NEARLY CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC GOING SOUTH ON INTERSTATE 35 OUT OF AUSTIN. BY MY ESTIMATION THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN NO FEWER THAN 5 TO 6 VEHICLES INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT HAD I NOT MANAGED TO PULL OVER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/30/2014 - HIXSON, TN
TRANSMISSION STARTED JERKING ,THEN IT WOULD NOT MOVE NO GEAR WORKED

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/29/2014 - MOHEGAN LAKE, NY
INITIALLY, "WRENCH" ICON ON INSTRUMENT PANEL TURNED ON AND THEN TURNED OFF. VEHICLE BROUGHT TO DEALER AND NO ISSUES FOUND AFTER COMPUTER DIAGNOSTICS. SUBSEQUENTLY WITHIN A WEEK, VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND 50 MPH ON HIGHWAY AND RPM GAUGE WAS FLUCTUATING ERRATICALLY. VEHICLE BROUGHT INTO DEALER AND TROUBLE CODE P2112 FOUND. AFTER DISCUSSION WITH DEALER, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL'S THROTTLE BODY/MOTOR ASSEMBLY AND THAT FORD WOULD ONLY REPLACE PART WHEN CODE WAS PRESENT. DEALER REPLACED PART AND WAS VERY ACCOMMODATING AND TROUBLE SEEMS TO HAVE GONE AWAY. THIS COMPLAINT IS BEING WRITTEN TO IDENTIFY THE ISSUE FOR OTHERS AND TO RECOMMEND THAT NHTSA REQUIRE FORD TO RECALL ALL MODELS IMPACTED AND REPLACE THIS PART REGARDLESS OF WHETHER CODE IS PRESENT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2014 - ANACORTES, WA
MY DAUGHTER AND I WERE DRIVING HOME TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN WITHOUT ANY WARNING THE CAR TOTALLY LOST POWER AND I HAD TO COAST INTO A DRIVEWAY. HAD MY DAUGHTER BEEN DRIVING BY HERSELF SHE WOULD NOT KNOW HOW TO REMAIN CALM AND GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. FORTUNATELY I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR A LONG TIME AND KNEW WHAT TO DO. ONCE I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON IT RAN FINE. I THOUGHT IT WAS AN ISOLATED INCIDENCE AND THOUGHT MAYBE WE HAD JUNK IN THE FUEL. THE NEXT TIME I DROVE THE VEHICLE WE WERE DOING 60 MPH WHEN IT SHUT DOWN AGAIN AND THIS TIME I WAS ON THE FREEWAY NEXT TO A SEMI IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND HAD TO TURN MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON AND COAST TO THE SHOULDER. I HAD TO CUT OFF VEHICLES IN THE RIGHT LANE TO GET SAFELY TO THE SHOULDER. ONCE AGAIN I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON AGAIN AND WENT HOME. MY HUSBAND DID RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT THERE WERE LOTS OF COMPLAINTS WITH IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS AND WHEN THEY WENT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP WERE TOLD THEY KNEW NOTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. THE OTHER PEOPLE FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY THAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. WE WENT TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND ASKED ABOUT IT AND THEY PLAYED DUMP AND SAID THEY HADN'T HEARD ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND WERE ACTUALLY RUDE TO US. I LOCATED A THROTTLE BODY IN STOCK AT A FORD DEALERSHIP 3 HOURS AWAY. WE PICKED THE PART UP AND MY HUSBAND INSTALLED IT. IT TOOK APPROXIMATELY 1 HOUR TO REPLACE AND COST $207.22. I HAVE NOT HAD A PROBLEM SINCE. IT IS CRIMINAL TO ALLOW THIS TO GO UNFIXED. IT POSSES A TERRIBLE RISK TO DRIVERS. THE THROTTLE BODY IS NOT JUST ON THE 2009-2013 FORD ESCAPE IT IS ALSO ON : 2010-2012 FORD FUSION, 2011-2013 LINCOLN MKZ, 2010-2011 MERCURY MILAN, AND 2009-2011 MERCURY MARINER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - ANACORTES, WA
MY DAUGHTER AND I WERE DRIVING HOME TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN WITHOUT ANY WARNING THE CAR TOTALLY LOST POWER AND I HAD TO COAST INTO A DRIVEWAY. HAD MY DAUGHTER BEEN DRIVING BY HERSELF SHE WOULD NOT KNOW HOW TO REMAIN CALM AND GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. FORTUNATELY I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR A LONG TIME AND KNEW WHAT TO DO. ONCE I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON IT RAN FINE. I THOUGHT IT WAS AN ISOLATED INCIDENCE AND THOUGHT MAYBE WE HAD JUNK IN THE FUEL. THE NEXT TIME I DROVE THE VEHICLE WE WERE DOING 60 MPH WHEN IT SHUT DOWN AGAIN AND THIS TIME I WAS ON THE FREEWAY NEXT TO A SEMI IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND HAD TO TURN MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON AND COAST TO THE SHOULDER. I HAD TO CUT OFF VEHICLES IN THE RIGHT LANE TO GET SAFELY TO THE SHOULDER. ONCE AGAIN I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON AGAIN AND WENT HOME. MY HUSBAND DID RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT THERE WERE LOTS OF COMPLAINTS WITH IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS AND WHEN THEY WENT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP WERE TOLD THEY KNEW NOTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. THE OTHER PEOPLE FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY THAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. WE WENT TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND ASKED ABOUT IT AND THEY PLAYED DUMP AND SAID THEY HADN'T HEARD ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND WERE ACTUALLY RUDE TO US. I LOCATED A THROTTLE BODY IN STOCK AT A FORD DEALERSHIP 3 HOURS AWAY. WE PICKED THE PART UP AND MY HUSBAND INSTALLED IT. IT TOOK APPROXIMATELY 1 HOUR TO REPLACE AND COST $207.22. I HAVE NOT HAD A PROBLEM SINCE. IT IS CRIMINAL TO ALLOW THIS TO GO UNFIXED. IT POSSES A TERRIBLE RISK TO DRIVERS. THE THROTTLE BODY IS NOT JUST ON THE 2009-2013 FORD ESCAPE IT IS ALSO ON : 2010-2012 FORD FUSION, 2011-2013 LINCOLN MKZ, 2010-2011 MERCURY MILAN, AND 2009-2011 MERCURY MARINER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 210
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds