Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1243 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (41) Vehicle Speed Control (510)
Electrical System (138) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (441) Structure (32) Visibility (53)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (287) Seats (4) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine (423) Fuel System Gasoline (54) Service Brakes (7) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 212
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/30/2015 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
POWER STEERING FAILED. THERE WAS A RECALL IN JULY 2014 ON THIS. DEALERSHIP THEN RESET THE SOFTWARE FOR THE TOTQUE SENSOR. THE RECALL STATES THAT EITHER A SOFTWARE UPDATE IS NEEDED, THE TORQUE SENSOR REPLACED, OR THE STEERING COLUMN REPLACED. AT THE TIME I HAD NO ISSUES. 6 MONTHS LATER MY POWER STEERING FAILED. I AM NOW TOLD I NEED TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. THE RECALL STATES IF A SOFTWARE RESET WAS DONE THAT ANY FURTHER ISSUES WOULD NOT BE COVERED. THE COST FOR THIS IS ROUGHLY $1,500 WHEREAS A SOFTWARE RESET ONLY COSTS FORD MOTOR COMPANY ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF LABOR. I FEEL THE SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS A "BAND-AID" TO A MUCH LARGER PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND THE PROBLEM IS BEING PASSED ONTO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/21/2015 - REDMOND , WA
WHEN DRIVING PRIMARILY AT LOW OR DECLINING SPEEDS AS IN ANTICIPATION OF A STOP LIGHT OR TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY, WHEN I SLOW DOWN AND THEN SLIGHTLY ACCELERATE (EITHER INTO THE DRIVEWAY OR IF THE LIGHT CHANGES BEFORE I HAVE FULLY STOPPED), I NOTICE A STALL OR PAUSE IN ACCELERATION. THIS HAS HAPPENED A NUMBER OF TIMES BUT I ONLY RECENTLY REALIZED THE CONSISTENT SCENARIO. I HAD POSSIBLY THE SAME SYMPTOM AT HIGHER SPEED WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, NOTICING THE SPEED WOULD SEEM TO FLUCTUATE ODDLY WHILE IN RAPID AND QUICK SUCCESSION LIKE IT WAS TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO ACCELERATE OR DECELERATE. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THIS IS A SIGN OF A FAILING THROTTLE BODY PER A FORD RECALL. AFTER READING ABOUT THIS FAILURE, I AM CONVINCED IT IS SO. MY DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THEY CAN ONLY DIAGNOSE A TOTAL FAILURE OF THIS PART--WHICH SEEMS TO ME LIKE MY LIFE IS AT RISK TO BEING HIT FROM BEHIND OR FROM THE SIDE IF THE CAR STALLS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I AM BECOMING AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR. IF THE PART IS BAD ARE WE JUST GOING TO SACRIFICE A FEW PEOPLE'S LIVES BEFORE HOLDING A CONGRESSIONAL INVESTIGATION?? HOW MANY IS ENOUGH?

View Details

STEERING

1/20/2015 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, A TICKING NOISE CAME FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/16/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXCESSIVE FORCE ON THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO MAKE A TURN. ADDITIONALLY, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

1/16/2015 - WEST VALLEY CITY, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,323.

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2015 - DERBY, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 3 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/12/2015 - LATHRUP VILLAGE, MI
ON JANUARY 6, 2015, I STARTED THE CAR TO MOVE IT OUT OF THE GARAGE. I COULD BARELY STEER THE CAR; IT WAS VERY HARD TO MANUEVER. A POWER STEERING FAULT MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE IN OCTOBER 2014 FOR THE POWER STEERING RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP, THE RECALLED ITEM WAS TAKEN CARE OF AND THE VEHICLE WAS IN COMPLIANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2015 - DEPOT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT 15 MPH ON A HILL, THE VEHICLE HESITATED BEFORE SHIFTING INTO DRIVE. TWO MONTHS LATER, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) AND HAD BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2015 - DEPOT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT 15 MPH ON A HILL, THE VEHICLE HESITATED BEFORE SHIFTING INTO DRIVE. TWO MONTHS LATER, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) AND HAD BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/3/2015 - SPARTANBURG , SC
MY CAR CUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING & WHEN I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT. THE CAR CAME TO A SUDDEN STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION (COMPLETELY LOSING ALL POWER) A LARGE SUV SWERVED TO PREVENT FROM HITTING ME. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE CAR TO THE VIC BAILEY FORD, THEY KEPT MY CAR ON & OFF FOR 5 DAYS. CHARGING ME $98 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST (THAT THEY STATED REVEALED NOTHING ABOUT THE PROBLEM) & THEN THEY TURNED AROUND & CHARGED ME #130 FOR A NEW BATTERY, THE CAR CONTINUED TO CUT OFF ON ME. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR ANOTHER 3 DAYS. FINALLY THEY CALLED ME & TOLD ME TO COME PICK UP THE CAR. THE SERVICE DEPT. STATED THAT THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG W/ THE CAR, BUT THEY KNEW SOMETHING WAS WRONG W/ IT. THEY TOLD ME TO WAIT TIL THE PROBLEM GOT WORST. THEY SENT ME HOME W/ A CAR THAT CUTS OFF CONSTANTLY, THEY DON'T CARE THAT I NEED TO DRIVE A DEPENDABLE CAR. I'M AN EDUCATOR/STATE EMPLOYEE THAT DOESN-++T HAVE ALL THIS MONEY TO KEEP PUTTING MY CAR INTO THE SHOP & MISSING DAYS FROM WORK. THEY DON-++T CARE THAT I HAVE A YOUNG SON WHO RIDES IN THAT CAR W/ ME TO SCHOOL. THEY DON'T CARE THAT BY DRIVING THAT CAR MY LIFE & MY SON LIFE IS (WAS) PUT IN DANGER. ALL THEY SAW WAS A BLACK SINGLE MOTHER THAT THEY THOUGHT THEY COULD TELL ANYTHING TO. I HAVE SPOKEN WITH THE SERVICE MGR. (NO HELP) FORD REP (NO HELP) THE CUSTOMER SERVICE MGR. (NO HELP). IT IS AWFUL, THAT IN 2015 AN AMERICA WOMAN IS TREATED W/ SUCH DISRESPECT & PUSHED TO THE SIDE. FORD MADE THIS CAR, THEY SALE THIS CAR, SO THEY SHOULD BE ABLE TO FIX THE CAR. FORD SHOULD MAKE RELIABLE CARS FOR THE CONSUMER. WHO IS SUPPOSE TO HELP WHEN THE BIG VIC BAILEY FORD, VIC BAILEY HONDA, VIC BAILEY FORD REPAIR SHOP, FORD MOTOR COMPANY, & FORD SERVICE ALL DO NOTHING TO FIX THIS ISSUE? BY PUTTING THIS INFORMATION OUT TO THE PUBLIC I HOPE TO MAKE OTHERS AWARE OF THE TREATMENT THAT I HAVE RECEIVED & MAKE SURE THIS DOESN-++T HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 212
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds