Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1335 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (43)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (62) Vehicle Speed Control (530)
Electrical System (149) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (466) Structure (43) Visibility (60)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (289) Seats (5) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (445) Fuel System Gasoline (58) Service Brakes (11) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 225
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/27/2016 - JANESVILLE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ORDER TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND FEEL SAFE, THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN HOME VIA BACK ROADS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SWITCH IN THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE POWER STEERING MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,200.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2016 - GOLD CANYON, AZ
INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING FAILURE. THIS FAILURE HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR. THE POWER STEERING FAILED AT LOW AND MODERATE SPEEDS, ON CITY STREETS, WITHOUT WARNING. THIS ISSUE IS VERY DANGEROUS AND COULD EASILY CASE AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE CONTACTED CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HAVE BEEN REFERRED TO A LOCAL DEALER TO INVESTIGATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO FORD DEALERSHIP TO HAVE RECALL 14S05C PERFORMED (SEPT 2015). AT THAT TIME THERE WERE NO DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODES SHOWING IN THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE. IN JAN 2016 ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK BACK AND FORTH AND A CHIME SOUNDED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN GEAR AND STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. NO LIGHT WAS LEFT TURNED ON ON THE DASHBOARD. I READ THE SERVICE CODES FROM THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE AND CODE B2278 WAS PRESENT. UPON RETURNING TO THE DEALERSHIP I WAS INFORMED THAT FORD IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR REPLACING THE FAILING PART (THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER THE RECALL IF THE CODE WAS PRESENT WHEN I FIRST BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN).

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/10/2016 - NORTHFIELD, OH
UPON VEHICLE INSPECTION WITH CERTIFIED AUTO DEALER- THE VEHICLE HAS EXTREME CORROSION IN UNDER BODY PART - CONTROL ARMS - DANGEROUS SEPARATION. PER REVIEWING THE NHTSA RECORDS SEVERAL FORD VEHICLES HAVE BEEN REPAIRED IN APPROVED REGIONS DUE TO ACCIDENTS CAUSING DEATHS DUE TO SEPARATION OF CONTROL ARMS CORROSION. THE RECALL SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO ALL VEHICLES IN THE COLD WEATHER REGIONS AFFECTED FOR SAFETY!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/9/2016 - BRICK, NJ
ONE DAY CLOSED THE REAR HATCH GLASS AND THE HINGE HOLDING THE GLASS IN PLACE FELL APART DUE TO CORROSION. NOW THE WINDOW IS BARELY HANGING ON ONLY WITH THE HELP OF THE LATCH LOCKING IT IN PLACE. NOT A SUFFICIENT AMOUNT OF ANTI-CORROSIVE USED ON THE METAL TO PROTECT IT. NOW HAVE TO DRIVE AROUND WITH IT BARELY HANGING ON UNTIL THE REPLACES PARTS I ORDERED COME IN BECAUSE THEY COULD ONLY BE FOUND ON THE INTERNET. ALSO TOO THE WEATHERSTRIPPING AROUND THE WINDOW IS NOT PLUSH ENOUGH I THINK TO PROTECT THE INSIDE FROM WATER DAMAGE WHICH ALSO LEAD TO THE WHOLE LIFTGATE FAILING TO OPEN ANYMORE. I FEEL FORD SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE POOR CRAFTSMANSHIP THEY DID WHEN FIRST BUILDING THE CAR. AND I KNOW I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM BUT I'M SURE OTHERS FAIL TO REPORT IT TO THE PROPER AGENCY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/6/2016 - NORTH ROYALTON, OH
FROM THE TIME WE FIRST BOUGHT THE ESCAPE (NEW) THE BATTERY LIGHT HAS CAME ON AT RANDOM TIMES. WE HAVE TAKEN IN AND DEALER SAID THERE IS NOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. WHEN WE DRIVE THE CAR AND HAVE THE HEAT OR AIR ON IT WILL RANDOMLY TURN OFF AND THEN A MINUTE LATER COME BACK ON FULL BLAST. I ALSO HAVE RUST UNDER WHEEL WELLS THAT FORD SAID THEY WOULD NOT COVER BECAUSE IT DID NOT PREFERATE THE BODY BUT IS CLEARLY CREEPING UP THE UOUSIDE OF THE REAR QUARTER PANEL AS WELL. I HAVE SEEN THIS ON MANY OF THE SAME YEAR ESCAPES. WHEN I PUSHED FOR RESULTS THEY OPENED AN INVESTIGATION THEN CAME BACK AND SAID THEY WOULD SPLIT THE COST WITH ME WHICH I BELIEVE SHOULD BE FULLY COVERED SINCE IT WAS STILL UNDER THE 5 YEAR UNLIMITED MILEAGE BODY COVERAGE. ALSO, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE LAST WEEK AND IT RANDOMLY STALLED ON HER CAUSING HER TO PULL OFF THE ROAD. SAFETY IS BECOMING A CONCERN. NOT PLEASED WITH RESULTS GIVEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/6/2016 - NORTH ROYALTON, OH
FROM THE TIME WE FIRST BOUGHT THE ESCAPE (NEW) THE BATTERY LIGHT HAS CAME ON AT RANDOM TIMES. WE HAVE TAKEN IN AND DEALER SAID THERE IS NOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. WHEN WE DRIVE THE CAR AND HAVE THE HEAT OR AIR ON IT WILL RANDOMLY TURN OFF AND THEN A MINUTE LATER COME BACK ON FULL BLAST. I ALSO HAVE RUST UNDER WHEEL WELLS THAT FORD SAID THEY WOULD NOT COVER BECAUSE IT DID NOT PREFERATE THE BODY BUT IS CLEARLY CREEPING UP THE UOUSIDE OF THE REAR QUARTER PANEL AS WELL. I HAVE SEEN THIS ON MANY OF THE SAME YEAR ESCAPES. WHEN I PUSHED FOR RESULTS THEY OPENED AN INVESTIGATION THEN CAME BACK AND SAID THEY WOULD SPLIT THE COST WITH ME WHICH I BELIEVE SHOULD BE FULLY COVERED SINCE IT WAS STILL UNDER THE 5 YEAR UNLIMITED MILEAGE BODY COVERAGE. ALSO, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE LAST WEEK AND IT RANDOMLY STALLED ON HER CAUSING HER TO PULL OFF THE ROAD. SAFETY IS BECOMING A CONCERN. NOT PLEASED WITH RESULTS GIVEN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

1/5/2016 - VANCOVER, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE LIFTGATE DOOR WAS CLOSED, THE REAR WINDOW SUDDENLY SHATTERED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,500.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2016 - VISTA, CA
I WAS MAKING A LONG DISTANCE ROAD TRIP AND BEGAN TO NOTICE SUBTLE VIBRATIONS IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VIBRATIONS BEGAN TO INCREASE IN INTENSITY OVER TIME, MOST NOTICEABLY WHEN THE CAR WAS AT IDLE. AT ONE POINT THE VIBRATIONS WERE VERY INTENSE DURING IDLE. AFTER A REST STOP I TURNED THE CAR ON AND TRIED TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL BUT HAD MUCH DIFFICULTY. THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSIST WAS NOT FUNCTIONING. I HAD PREVIOUSLY BROUGHT MY ESCAPE TO A FORD DEALERSHIP FOR RECALL #14S05 WHERE THEY UPDATED THE PSCM TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE I WAS EXPERIENCING NOW. THE TORQUE SENSOR HAS FAILED CAUSING THE EPAS TO SHUT OFF EVEN AFTER MY CAR WAS SUPPOSEDLY FIXED A YEAR PRIOR. FORD HAS FAILED TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE FULLY AND THE WORK DONE TO CORRECT RECALL #14S05 IS INSUFFICIENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/1/2016 - CORNER BROOK, NEWFOUNDLAND,, ME
WHILE ACCELERATING, CLUNKING NOISES HEARD IN THE TRANSMISSION. WHEN AT 80 KILOMETERS AN HOUR, SPEED WAS SUDDENLY REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 30 KPH.. CAUSING A SUDDEN DECELERATION ALMOST CAUSED ME TO BE REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. ACCORDING TO FORD, THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM IN THE VEHICLE.. IT COST ME OVER $1000. TO REPLACE THE PCM.. THIS IS A DIRECT SAFETY ISSUE.. I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED BECAUSE OF A FAULTY PART. THE MECHANIC AT THE FORD DEALER INFORMED ME THE PROBLEM EXISTS BECAUSE THE PCM IS PLACED IN THE MAIN ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND IN A COLD AND DAMP ENVIRONMENT, FAILS REGULARLY. THEY REPLACE THESE PCM'S WEEKLY.. SO IT IS NOT JUST A PROBLEM FOR ME, IT IS A MONEY MAKER FOR FORD. THIS NEEDS TO BE CLASSIFIED AS A RECALL ISSUE AND REPAIRED..

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 225
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds