Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1412 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (45)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (91) Vehicle Speed Control (542)
Electrical System (161) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (477) Structure (46) Visibility (64)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel Propulsion System (304) Seats (6) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (453) Fuel System Gasoline (58) Service Brakes (11) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 236
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/26/2016 - CORONA, CA
STEERING COLUMN NOT WORKING STATIONARY OR IN MOTION

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/19/2016 - RUSSELLVILLE, MO
WHILE SHUTTING MY REAR HATCH AFTER REMOVING MY RECYCLING, THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED. THERE WAS NO CONTACT TO THE WINDOW AND IT HADN'T BEEN OPENED. THERE'S NO EXPLANATION AS TO WHY THE WINDOW WOULD JUST EXPLODE ON ITS OWN.

View Details

STEERING

11/17/2016 - STAND FORK, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO BECOME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" WARNING MESSAGE DISPLAYED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2016 - ASHLAND, VA
2010 FORD ESCAPE WAS STATIONARY WHEN AN ERROR MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD INDICATING "POWER STEERING FAULT." THE WHEEL WOULD TURN BUT ONLY WITH GREAT EFFORT. MY MECHANIC INDICATED THE POWER STEERING MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND IS COVERED BY A FORD RECALL. FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED THAT, WHILE SUBJECT TO THE FORD RECALL, THE DEALER "UPDATED THE SOFTWARE" AND FORD WOULD NOT REPAIR THE FAULTY POWER STEERING MODULE. POWER STEERING MODULES SHOULD NOT FAIL. IF THEY ARE PRONE TO FAILURE THEY SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
FORD ESCAPE POWER ASSIST STEERING RECALL JUST PURCHASED VEHICLE OCT 14 2016. NOV 7,2016 THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WENT OUT WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN AT 10MPH. FOUND OUT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS, TOOK TO DEALERSHIP & THEY TOLD ME NO RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE WAS FOUND. DEALERSHIP WANTS $700 TO FIX. CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SUPPORT & WAS INFORMED THAT A SYSTEM UPDATE WAS DONE IN AUG 2014 FOR THE RECALL. ON 2ND CALL TO FORD CUST SPT, A "INVESTIGATION" WAS OPENED & SENT TO DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THEM TRY TO WORK WITH IT. AFTER NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS, BOTH THE DEALERSHIP & FORD CUST SUPPORT WERE BOTH PUTTING IT OFF ON THE OTHER TO WORK WITH THE ISSUE. I FEEL THAT THIS RECALL SHOULD BE AN ONGOING RECALL IF THEY ARE ONLY GOING TO DO THE SYSTEM UPDATE & NOT REPLACE THE STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR ON THE FIRST OCCURRENCE, OR THAT THE STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR SHOULD JUST BE REPLACED INSTEAD OF A SYSTEM UPDATE AT NO COST TO THE VEHICLE OWNER. THERE ARE TOO MANY COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE READ IN THE LAST 48HRS OF THIS HAPPENING OVER & OVER AGAIN TO PEOPLE WHO'VE HAD ONLY THE SYSTEM UPDATE. I'M CURRENTLY WAITING ON A PHONE CALL FROM THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THIS SITUATION TAKEN CARE OF, ON THEIR PART. I WILL NOT STOP VOICING MYSELF, ON BEHALF OF OTHERS WHO'VE HAD THIS SAME ISSUE HAPPEN TO THEM, MORE THAN ONCE!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2016 - GILBERT, MN
THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IN MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE STARTED "FLARING" BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEARS "FLARING" IS A TERM USED BY FORD TO DESCRIBE WHEN THE TRANSMISSION DELAYS SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS AND THE ENGINE REVS UNTIL IT FINALLY SHIFTS. . THIS HAS NOT REALLY BEEN A SAFETY ISSUE UNTIL TWO WEEKS AGO. IT STARTED "FLARING" OCCASIONALLY BETWEEN 1ST AND 2ND GEARS ALSO. THIS IS A CONCERN BECAUSE I'M NOT UP TO SPEED WHEN THIS HAPPENS BETWEEN 1ST AND 2ND. WITH TRAFFIC BEING HEAVY AT TIMES, I'M CONCERNED THAT SOMEONE COULD REAREND ME WHEN THIS HAPPENS. THE DEARER ALONG WITH THE FORD REPRESENTATIVE HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEARS SO I DOUBT THEY WILL RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM EITHER. I'M FURTHER CONCERNED THAT IT COULD START HAPPENING WITH 1ST GEAR AND I COULD START TO ENTER A HIGHWAY AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE WHEN INTENDED AND THEN SUDDENLY ACCELERATE WHEN IT WASN'T SAFE TO DO SO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/31/2016 - CARROLLTON, VA
LIKE MILLIONS OF OTHER FORD ESCAPE OWNERS, I HAVE A BIG PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE BODY ON MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED V6. FIRST I COMPLETELY LOST ALL PROPULSION/ACELARATION WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX. 35MPH. COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED ENGINE OFF. TURNED ENGINE ON AND VOILA! RUNS JUST FINE. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, AT 75MPH FULL LOSS OF PROPLUSION ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED ENGINE OFF. TURNED ENGINE ON AND VOILA! RUNS JUST FINE, UNTIL ABOUT 5MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN IT HAPPED AGAIN. THEN ABOUT ANOTHER 3WKS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON A BACKROAD IN NC AT ABOUT 60MPH. THIS TRIP IT HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND FINALLY ONCE I GOT PARKED AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON (JUST TO CHECK), THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WHEN I LEFT MY LOCATION, PRAYING I'D MAKE IT HOME, NO ENGINE LIGHT, BUT NOW THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. STOPPED FOR GAS (I HAD TOO, I WAS TRAVELING THROUGH THE COUNTRY) AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, NO ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH LIGHT INDICATOR. THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED AGAIN ON TWO MORE OCCASIONS YET NEITHER PROBLEM INDICATOR LIGHT HAS ILLUMINATED. I'VE HAD THE TRUCK "COMPUTER SCANNED" WITH NO ERROR/PROBLEM CODES SHOWING UP. I'VE CALLED 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS, WHO TOLD ME "FLAT OUT" ...NO PROBLEM LIGHTS/CODE...NO FIX UNDER THE "CUSTOMER SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY. YOU'LL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. MILLIONS OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE SO CALLED "DUSTOMER SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY" YET THE STIPULATIONS IT MAKES IT VIRTUALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO OBTAIN THE NECESSARY REPAIRS OF A KNOWN DEFECTIVE PART/SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. IF BY CHANCE THE INDICATOR LIGHTS DO SHOW UP, THEY WON'T EVEN ACCEPT A PICTURE, SHOWING MILEAGE OR SOMETHING TO VERIFY IT'S THAT VEHICLE OR TAKE A DOCUMENT FROM ANOTHER RELIABLE SOURCE (I.E., ADVANCE AUTO, ETC.) WE NEED A RECALL! PLEASE HELP!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/31/2016 - CARROLLTON, VA
LIKE MILLIONS OF OTHER FORD ESCAPE OWNERS, I HAVE A BIG PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE BODY ON MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED V6. FIRST I COMPLETELY LOST ALL PROPULSION/ACELARATION WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX. 35MPH. COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED ENGINE OFF. TURNED ENGINE ON AND VOILA! RUNS JUST FINE. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, AT 75MPH FULL LOSS OF PROPLUSION ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED ENGINE OFF. TURNED ENGINE ON AND VOILA! RUNS JUST FINE, UNTIL ABOUT 5MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN IT HAPPED AGAIN. THEN ABOUT ANOTHER 3WKS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON A BACKROAD IN NC AT ABOUT 60MPH. THIS TRIP IT HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND FINALLY ONCE I GOT PARKED AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON (JUST TO CHECK), THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WHEN I LEFT MY LOCATION, PRAYING I'D MAKE IT HOME, NO ENGINE LIGHT, BUT NOW THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. STOPPED FOR GAS (I HAD TOO, I WAS TRAVELING THROUGH THE COUNTRY) AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, NO ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH LIGHT INDICATOR. THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED AGAIN ON TWO MORE OCCASIONS YET NEITHER PROBLEM INDICATOR LIGHT HAS ILLUMINATED. I'VE HAD THE TRUCK "COMPUTER SCANNED" WITH NO ERROR/PROBLEM CODES SHOWING UP. I'VE CALLED 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS, WHO TOLD ME "FLAT OUT" ...NO PROBLEM LIGHTS/CODE...NO FIX UNDER THE "CUSTOMER SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY. YOU'LL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. MILLIONS OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE SO CALLED "DUSTOMER SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY" YET THE STIPULATIONS IT MAKES IT VIRTUALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO OBTAIN THE NECESSARY REPAIRS OF A KNOWN DEFECTIVE PART/SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. IF BY CHANCE THE INDICATOR LIGHTS DO SHOW UP, THEY WON'T EVEN ACCEPT A PICTURE, SHOWING MILEAGE OR SOMETHING TO VERIFY IT'S THAT VEHICLE OR TAKE A DOCUMENT FROM ANOTHER RELIABLE SOURCE (I.E., ADVANCE AUTO, ETC.) WE NEED A RECALL! PLEASE HELP!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/31/2016 - CARROLLTON, VA
LIKE MILLIONS OF OTHER FORD ESCAPE OWNERS, I HAVE A BIG PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE BODY ON MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED V6. FIRST I COMPLETELY LOST ALL PROPULSION/ACELARATION WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX. 35MPH. COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED ENGINE OFF. TURNED ENGINE ON AND VOILA! RUNS JUST FINE. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, AT 75MPH FULL LOSS OF PROPLUSION ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED ENGINE OFF. TURNED ENGINE ON AND VOILA! RUNS JUST FINE, UNTIL ABOUT 5MILES DOWN THE ROAD WHEN IT HAPPED AGAIN. THEN ABOUT ANOTHER 3WKS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON A BACKROAD IN NC AT ABOUT 60MPH. THIS TRIP IT HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND FINALLY ONCE I GOT PARKED AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON (JUST TO CHECK), THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WHEN I LEFT MY LOCATION, PRAYING I'D MAKE IT HOME, NO ENGINE LIGHT, BUT NOW THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. STOPPED FOR GAS (I HAD TOO, I WAS TRAVELING THROUGH THE COUNTRY) AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, NO ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH LIGHT INDICATOR. THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED AGAIN ON TWO MORE OCCASIONS YET NEITHER PROBLEM INDICATOR LIGHT HAS ILLUMINATED. I'VE HAD THE TRUCK "COMPUTER SCANNED" WITH NO ERROR/PROBLEM CODES SHOWING UP. I'VE CALLED 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS, WHO TOLD ME "FLAT OUT" ...NO PROBLEM LIGHTS/CODE...NO FIX UNDER THE "CUSTOMER SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY. YOU'LL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. MILLIONS OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE SO CALLED "DUSTOMER SERVICE EXTENDED WARRANTY" YET THE STIPULATIONS IT MAKES IT VIRTUALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO OBTAIN THE NECESSARY REPAIRS OF A KNOWN DEFECTIVE PART/SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. IF BY CHANCE THE INDICATOR LIGHTS DO SHOW UP, THEY WON'T EVEN ACCEPT A PICTURE, SHOWING MILEAGE OR SOMETHING TO VERIFY IT'S THAT VEHICLE OR TAKE A DOCUMENT FROM ANOTHER RELIABLE SOURCE (I.E., ADVANCE AUTO, ETC.) WE NEED A RECALL! PLEASE HELP!

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2016 - CROSWELL, MI
STEERING WHEEL SHAKE VEHICLE IS PARKED RUNNING AT IDLE AND THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES BACK AND FORTH WITH OUT TOUCHING IT. THIS SHAKE ALSO OCCURS WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 236
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds