Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1194 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (37)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (499)
Electrical System (133) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (426) Structure (30) Visibility (49)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (280) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (412) Fuel System Gasoline (51) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 203
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/31/2014 - YARDLEY, PA
ENGINE STALLED AT 70 MPH WITHOUT WARNING ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. STILL HAD POWER STEERING. NEEDED TO CROSS THREE LANES OF TRAFFIC WITHOUT ENGINE POWER. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. ATTEMPTED TO RESTART ENGINE APPROXIMATELY 10 TIMES. EACH TIME ENGINE WOULD START, IDLE FOR SEVERAL SECONDS, AND THEN CUT OFF. EVENTUALLY WAS ABLE TO START ENGINE, PUT ENGINE INTO NEUTRAL AND REVVED ENGINE TO MODERATE RPM SPEED. SEEMED TO RESET ISSUE AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE AWAY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/26/2014 - CABOT, AR
ME AND MY SON WERE OUT I WAS DRIVING AROUND 35- 40 MPH AND MY CAR STARTED TO FEEL STRANGE OUT OF THE BLUE MY WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT I LOSE ALL POWER I AM HITTING GAS PETAL NOTHING HAPPENS. JUST STOPS ON BUSY STREET . I WAS TERRIFIED FOR OUR SAFETY. I TURN OFF CAR WAIT A FEW MINS AND START AGAIN IT HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN A 3 MILE RADIUS. ITS PARKED AND NOT RISKING MY LIFE OR SOMEBODY ELSE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2014 - CABOT, AR
ME AND MY SON WERE OUT I WAS DRIVING AROUND 35- 40 MPH AND MY CAR STARTED TO FEEL STRANGE OUT OF THE BLUE MY WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT I LOSE ALL POWER I AM HITTING GAS PETAL NOTHING HAPPENS. JUST STOPS ON BUSY STREET . I WAS TERRIFIED FOR OUR SAFETY. I TURN OFF CAR WAIT A FEW MINS AND START AGAIN IT HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN A 3 MILE RADIUS. ITS PARKED AND NOT RISKING MY LIFE OR SOMEBODY ELSE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/2014 - CABOT, AR
ME AND MY SON WERE OUT I WAS DRIVING AROUND 35- 40 MPH AND MY CAR STARTED TO FEEL STRANGE OUT OF THE BLUE MY WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT I LOSE ALL POWER I AM HITTING GAS PETAL NOTHING HAPPENS. JUST STOPS ON BUSY STREET . I WAS TERRIFIED FOR OUR SAFETY. I TURN OFF CAR WAIT A FEW MINS AND START AGAIN IT HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN A 3 MILE RADIUS. ITS PARKED AND NOT RISKING MY LIFE OR SOMEBODY ELSE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/23/2014 - MONTICELLO, KY
WAS DRIVING ALONG AT 55 MPH WHEN OUT OF THE BLUE THE ENGINE SPUTTERED AND CAR SHOOK. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I HAD NO ACCELERATION FROM THE GAS PEDAL, THE CAR WAS HARD TO STEER AND ALMOST NO BRAKES. WHEN I FINALLY STOPPED THE CAR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS STILL ON ALONG WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL/POWER TRAIN WRENCH LIGHT AND THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM LIGHT BLINKING. I RESTARTED THE CAR NUMEROUS TIMES ONLY TO MOVE ABOUT A 10TH OF A MILE AND IT HAPPEN AGAIN. I HAVE HAD THE CAR ONLY FOR 2 DAYS NOW. I READ ONLINE A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THIS PROBLEM. FORD NEED TO BE MADE AWARE OF THIS AND OFFER A FIX.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2014 - MONTICELLO, KY
WAS DRIVING ALONG AT 55 MPH WHEN OUT OF THE BLUE THE ENGINE SPUTTERED AND CAR SHOOK. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I HAD NO ACCELERATION FROM THE GAS PEDAL, THE CAR WAS HARD TO STEER AND ALMOST NO BRAKES. WHEN I FINALLY STOPPED THE CAR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS STILL ON ALONG WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL/POWER TRAIN WRENCH LIGHT AND THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM LIGHT BLINKING. I RESTARTED THE CAR NUMEROUS TIMES ONLY TO MOVE ABOUT A 10TH OF A MILE AND IT HAPPEN AGAIN. I HAVE HAD THE CAR ONLY FOR 2 DAYS NOW. I READ ONLINE A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THIS PROBLEM. FORD NEED TO BE MADE AWARE OF THIS AND OFFER A FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/19/2014 - ELMWOOD PARK, NJ
DURING A PARTLY SUNNY, LOWS 80'S DEGREE DAY MY BACK WINDOW EXPLODED WHILE NO ONE WAS TOUCHING IT. THE GLASS WAS EVERYWHERE THROUGHOUT MY CAR AND I CUT SEVERAL CUTS WHILE CLEANING IT UP.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2014 - CUMBERLAND, RI
FIRST INCIDENT: I WAS DRIVING ALONG RTE 95 HEADING TOWARDS THE TAPANZEE BRIDGE GOING 65 MPH WHEN SUDDENLY THE POWER STEERING WENT AND IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER. I IMMEDIATELY TRIED TO SAFELY EXIT THE HIGHWAY TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. IT WAS EXTREMELY HARD TO STEER, BUT THANKFULLY I FOUND A FAIRLY SAFE PLACE TO STOP AND TURN THE CAR OFF. I WAITED ABOUT 5 MINUTES TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT TO DO. THEN I STARTED THE CAR AND THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. SECOND INCIDENT: MY WIFE WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK ON APRIL 11TH, 2013 WHEN SHE STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. WHEN SHE BEGAN TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN ONTO A BUSY STREET, THE POWER STEERING WENT AGAIN. LUCKILY SHE MADE IT HOME SAFELY AND INFORMED ME OF WHAT HAPPENED. I TURNED THE CAR ON AND TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE. THE POWER STEERING WAS BACK ON. THERE WERE AT LEAST TWO MORE TIMES WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OFF AND AFTER AWHILE CAME BACK ON. WE HAD A NEW POWER STEERING COLUMN ASSEMBLY PUT IN OUR FORD ESCAPE ON JUNE 6TH, 2013. LUCKILY WE HAD A FORD PREMIUM CARE WARRANTY PLAN AND THIS PROBLEM WAS COVERED, BUT HAD TO PAY $100 DEDUCTIBLE. RECENTLY FORD HAS ANNOUNCED A SAFETY RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY ON FORD ESCAPES MANUFACTURED IN CERTAIN PARTS OF THE COUNTRY. MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT PART OF THAT SAFETY RECALL, YET I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY POWER STEERING. WHAT WOULD I HAVE HAD TO PAY TO REPLACE THIS POWER STEERING IF I HADN'T HAD A WARRANTY PLAN? I WANT FORD TO REIMBURSE MY $100 DEDUCTIBLE, BUT THEY SAY SINCE MY VIN NUMBER AT THIS TIME WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL THEY WON'T REIMBURSE ME. WHAT KIND OF CUSTOMER RELATIONS IN THIS WITH A BIG COMPANY LIKE FORD WHO WANTS TO SELL CARS IN GOOD FAITH. IT IS LUCKY FOR THEM THAT MY FAMILY OR SOMEONE ELSE WAS NOT INJURED WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT IN MY FORD ESCAPE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2014 - NORWALK, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AS THE WRENCH WARNING ICON ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSE OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

8/14/2014 - FLATWOODS, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH MICHELIN CROSS TERRAIN TIRES (NA), SIZE P225/65/R17 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES DEVELOPED CRACKS ALONG THE TREAD. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED NOR WERE THE TIRES REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,022.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 203
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds