Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1126 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (31)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (479)
Electrical System (121) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (406) Structure (23) Visibility (46)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel Propulsion System (269) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (384) Fuel System Gasoline (48) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 191
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/17/2014 - PALM CITY, FL
2010 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE THROTTLE BODY ISSUES. THE CONSUMER SHE RECEIVED A LETTER REGARDING THE THROTTLE BODY, BUT DIDN'T THINK IT SOUNDED TOO SERIOUS. THE LETTER STATED ENGINE POWER AND VEHICLE SPEED WOULD BE REDUCED. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE HAD THE MISFORTUNE OF EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM ON MARCH 16, 2014. THE SPEED WAS NOT JUST REDUCED, BUT THE GAS PEDAL WAS INOPERABLE AND THE VEHICLE JUST COASTED TO A STOP, AS IF SHE HAD RUN OUT OF GAS. ALL THE WHILE, THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, ALTHOUGH NOT SMOOTHLY AND ALL THE LIGHTS WERE IN WORKING ORDER. MINUTES LATER, THE WRENCH LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/17/2014 - PALM CITY, FL
2010 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE THROTTLE BODY ISSUES. THE CONSUMER SHE RECEIVED A LETTER REGARDING THE THROTTLE BODY, BUT DIDN'T THINK IT SOUNDED TOO SERIOUS. THE LETTER STATED ENGINE POWER AND VEHICLE SPEED WOULD BE REDUCED. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE HAD THE MISFORTUNE OF EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM ON MARCH 16, 2014. THE SPEED WAS NOT JUST REDUCED, BUT THE GAS PEDAL WAS INOPERABLE AND THE VEHICLE JUST COASTED TO A STOP, AS IF SHE HAD RUN OUT OF GAS. ALL THE WHILE, THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, ALTHOUGH NOT SMOOTHLY AND ALL THE LIGHTS WERE IN WORKING ORDER. MINUTES LATER, THE WRENCH LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/15/2014 - KEENE, NH
ON 3/22/14 I PURCHASED A USED 2010 FORD ESCAPE AT ROUNTREE FORD IN SWANZEY NH. ON 3/23/14 I PARKED THE VEHICLE, LET MY DOGS OUT OF THE BACK CARGO AREA, WHEN I CLOSED THE TAILGATE THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED INTO A MILLION PIECES FOR NO APPARENT REASON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/14/2014 - 606-273-1221, KY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT NO PARTICULAR SPEED THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INTO FOURTH GEAR INDEPENDENTLY. THIS FAILURE HAS OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY OVER A PERIOD OF A YEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. RG

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON I-66 AT ABOUT 60 MPH AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. LUCKILY I WAS JUST APPROACHING AN EXIT IN A RURAL AREA AND WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE RAMP, WHICH SLOPED DOWNWARD AHEAD OF ME. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT AT A VERY LOW RPM AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE TO THE GAS PEDAL. THE WRENCH SYMBOL CAME ONTO THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. I HAD THE CAR TOWED ABOUT 40 MILES TO MY USUAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. AFTER INVESTIGATION, I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS A THROTTLE BODY PROBLEM. THEY INSTALLED A NEW THROTTLE BODY AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOT RETURNED FOR SEVEN MONTHS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/4/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON I-66 AT ABOUT 60 MPH AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. LUCKILY I WAS JUST APPROACHING AN EXIT IN A RURAL AREA AND WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE RAMP, WHICH SLOPED DOWNWARD AHEAD OF ME. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT AT A VERY LOW RPM AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE TO THE GAS PEDAL. THE WRENCH SYMBOL CAME ONTO THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. I HAD THE CAR TOWED ABOUT 40 MILES TO MY USUAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. AFTER INVESTIGATION, I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS A THROTTLE BODY PROBLEM. THEY INSTALLED A NEW THROTTLE BODY AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOT RETURNED FOR SEVEN MONTHS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - DUNNELLON, FL
ON DEC.31 AT APPROXATELY 2 P.M. I WAS DRIVING SOUTH ON CITRUS AVE. I WAS GOING 55 MPH AND MY VEHICLE STARTED LOSING SPEED. I MOVED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR IT RAN AS NORMAL. PRIOR TO THAT, ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS UPON STARTING FROM A STOP I HAD NOTICED FASTER ACCELERATION THAN THE AMOUNT OF PRESSURE I WAS APPLYING TO THE GAS PEDAL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
TRAVELLING ON FREEWAY IN FORT WORTH AND CAR WENT INTO "LIMP MODE". WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO BE ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE "WRENCH" LIGHT IMMEDIATELY CAME ON AS WELL AS THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT. I TURNED THE CAR OFF, THEN AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS, WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AND PROCEED APPROX. 4 MORE MILES BEFORE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. AT THIS POINT I CONTACTED THE DEALER WHO I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM AND THEY SENT A TOW TRUCK OUT THE NEXT MORNING.

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2014 - DEMING, NM
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE GRADUALLY DECELERATED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A GROWLING NOISE AND THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,104. RK

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/30/2014 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
WHILE DRIVING APPROX 45-60 MPH WRENCH ICON AND ENGINE ICON LIGHTS CAME ON VEHICLE STOPPED ACCELERATING EVERYTHING ELSE WORKED AND ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING, GAS PEDAL DID NOT ACCELERATE OR RAISE RPM'S. PULLED TO SIDE OF ROAD PUT IN PARK AND TURNED ENGINE OFF, VEHICLE STARTED WITH HESITATION WRENCH LIGHT DID NOT APPEAR, ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON THOUGH VEHICLE WAS DRIVABLE AGAIN. PROBLEM HAPPEND REPETITIVELY THE REST OF THE 45 MIN DRIVE HOME WITH WRENCH LIGHT APPEARING AND ACCELERATION CEASING HAD TO PULL OVER AND RESTART NUMEROUS TIMES. ENGINE ICON REMAINS LIT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 191
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds