Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2010 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1191 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (36)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (497)
Electrical System (133) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (424) Structure (30) Visibility (49)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (280) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (410) Fuel System Gasoline (51) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 203
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/19/2014 - ELMWOOD PARK, NJ
DURING A PARTLY SUNNY, LOWS 80'S DEGREE DAY MY BACK WINDOW EXPLODED WHILE NO ONE WAS TOUCHING IT. THE GLASS WAS EVERYWHERE THROUGHOUT MY CAR AND I CUT SEVERAL CUTS WHILE CLEANING IT UP.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2014 - CUMBERLAND, RI
FIRST INCIDENT: I WAS DRIVING ALONG RTE 95 HEADING TOWARDS THE TAPANZEE BRIDGE GOING 65 MPH WHEN SUDDENLY THE POWER STEERING WENT AND IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER. I IMMEDIATELY TRIED TO SAFELY EXIT THE HIGHWAY TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. IT WAS EXTREMELY HARD TO STEER, BUT THANKFULLY I FOUND A FAIRLY SAFE PLACE TO STOP AND TURN THE CAR OFF. I WAITED ABOUT 5 MINUTES TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT TO DO. THEN I STARTED THE CAR AND THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. SECOND INCIDENT: MY WIFE WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK ON APRIL 11TH, 2013 WHEN SHE STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. WHEN SHE BEGAN TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN ONTO A BUSY STREET, THE POWER STEERING WENT AGAIN. LUCKILY SHE MADE IT HOME SAFELY AND INFORMED ME OF WHAT HAPPENED. I TURNED THE CAR ON AND TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE. THE POWER STEERING WAS BACK ON. THERE WERE AT LEAST TWO MORE TIMES WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OFF AND AFTER AWHILE CAME BACK ON. WE HAD A NEW POWER STEERING COLUMN ASSEMBLY PUT IN OUR FORD ESCAPE ON JUNE 6TH, 2013. LUCKILY WE HAD A FORD PREMIUM CARE WARRANTY PLAN AND THIS PROBLEM WAS COVERED, BUT HAD TO PAY $100 DEDUCTIBLE. RECENTLY FORD HAS ANNOUNCED A SAFETY RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY ON FORD ESCAPES MANUFACTURED IN CERTAIN PARTS OF THE COUNTRY. MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT PART OF THAT SAFETY RECALL, YET I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY POWER STEERING. WHAT WOULD I HAVE HAD TO PAY TO REPLACE THIS POWER STEERING IF I HADN'T HAD A WARRANTY PLAN? I WANT FORD TO REIMBURSE MY $100 DEDUCTIBLE, BUT THEY SAY SINCE MY VIN NUMBER AT THIS TIME WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL THEY WON'T REIMBURSE ME. WHAT KIND OF CUSTOMER RELATIONS IN THIS WITH A BIG COMPANY LIKE FORD WHO WANTS TO SELL CARS IN GOOD FAITH. IT IS LUCKY FOR THEM THAT MY FAMILY OR SOMEONE ELSE WAS NOT INJURED WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT IN MY FORD ESCAPE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2014 - NORWALK, OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 40MPH, THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE LOSS POWER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WENCH LIGHT ON HIS CONTROL PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN INTO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,00 LNC

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2014 - NORWALK, OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 40MPH, THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE LOSS POWER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WENCH LIGHT ON HIS CONTROL PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN INTO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,00 LNC

View Details

TIRES

8/14/2014 - FLATWOODS, KY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE EQUIPPED WITH MICHELIN CROSS TERRAIN TIRES, TIRE SIZE P225/65/R17 AND DOT NUMBER B93TPYMX2410. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES DEVELOPED CRACKS ALONG THE THREAD. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED NOR WERE THE TIRES REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,022. PAM

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/9/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A CVS PHARMACY, ABOUT TO PUT MY CAT IN PARK WHEN IT SURGED FORWARD AND INTO THE DOORS OF THE STORE. I WAS NOT INJURED BUT MORTIFIED THAT I COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE. WHEN I RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO FIVE STAR FORD IN PLANO, TX. TODAY, I HAD MY STATE INSPECTION YESTERDAY AND ASKED IF THEY COULD PULL UP THE TROUBLE CODES ON MY COMPUTER. THE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE SHOP'S COMPUTER COULDN'T BUT HE HAD HIS OWN CODE READER THAT WOULD SHOW THE COMPLETE RECORD. HE DID AND TOLD ME IT WAS ERASED AND THERE WAS NOTHING ON IT. FIVE STAR FORD IN PLANO IS THE ONLY PLACE MY CAR HAS BEEN TO THAT COULD POSSIBLY DO THIS SINCE THE ACCIDENT. I ASKED THEM AT THAT TIME IF I COULD GET A TRANSCRIPT FROM THE COMPUTER BUT THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T DO IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A CVS PHARMACY, ABOUT TO PUT MY CAT IN PARK WHEN IT SURGED FORWARD AND INTO THE DOORS OF THE STORE. I WAS NOT INJURED BUT MORTIFIED THAT I COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE. WHEN I RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO FIVE STAR FORD IN PLANO, TX. TODAY, I HAD MY STATE INSPECTION YESTERDAY AND ASKED IF THEY COULD PULL UP THE TROUBLE CODES ON MY COMPUTER. THE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE SHOP'S COMPUTER COULDN'T BUT HE HAD HIS OWN CODE READER THAT WOULD SHOW THE COMPLETE RECORD. HE DID AND TOLD ME IT WAS ERASED AND THERE WAS NOTHING ON IT. FIVE STAR FORD IN PLANO IS THE ONLY PLACE MY CAR HAS BEEN TO THAT COULD POSSIBLY DO THIS SINCE THE ACCIDENT. I ASKED THEM AT THAT TIME IF I COULD GET A TRANSCRIPT FROM THE COMPUTER BUT THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T DO IT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2014 - LATHROP, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WRENCH WARNING ICON ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD DEACTIVATE WHEN THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/4/2014 - SUFFIELD, CT
WHILE TRAVELING ABOUT 65 MPH DOWN THE HIGHWAY MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE'S ENGINE STOPPED COMPLETELY. A WARNING LIGHT (THE WRENCH ON THE FORD MODELS) CAME ON AS A I COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT ON THE HIGHWAY. STEERING GAVE OUT A BIT TOO. CAR STARTED RIGHT BACK UP AFTER I FOUND A SAFE LOCATION TO STOP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/4/2014 - SUFFIELD, CT
WHILE TRAVELING ABOUT 65 MPH DOWN THE HIGHWAY MY 2010 FORD ESCAPE'S ENGINE STOPPED COMPLETELY. A WARNING LIGHT (THE WRENCH ON THE FORD MODELS) CAME ON AS A I COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT ON THE HIGHWAY. STEERING GAVE OUT A BIT TOO. CAR STARTED RIGHT BACK UP AFTER I FOUND A SAFE LOCATION TO STOP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 203
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds