Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2010 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 532 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (62) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (115) Exterior Lighting (23) Seat Belts (5) Structure (51) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seats (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (96)
Engine (57) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (28) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (79)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/13/2017 - WALKER, MI
ON JANUARY 7, 2017, THE TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE IN THE EVENING WAS AROUND 10 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. I GOT INTO MY 2010 FORD F150M, STARTED IT ALLOWING THE ENGINE TO WARM THEN BEGAN DRIVING. THE SNOW WAS FALLING AND THEREFORE MY REAR WINDOW HAD A LIGHT AMOUNT OF SNOW ON IT AND WAS HARD TO SEE OUT OF. I TURNED ON MY REAR DEFROST FOR MY POWER SLIDING WINDOW, AND APPROXIMATELY TWO MINUTES LATER I HEARD A LOUD NOISE. I NOTICED A FEW MINUTES LATER MY LEFT REAR WINDOW PANEL WAS NOT DEFROSTING. I PARKED MY VEHICLE OVERNIGHT IN MY GARAGE AND IN THE MORNING REALIZED THE LEFT REAR WINDOW PANEL HAD BROKEN. UPON LOOKING AT IT FURTHER I FOUND THAT THERE WAS NO IMPACT FROM ANY OBJECT, AND THE GLASS FRAGMENTS WERE BEING HELD TOGETHER BY THE TINT. I BEGAN RESEARCHING FOR A PRICE TO GET MY WINDOW FIXED AND DISCOVERED HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE WINDOW EXPLODING WHEN USING THE DEFROST. THERE HAD BEEN NO DAMAGE TO THE WINDOW PRIOR TO THIS EVENING AND THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO THE WINDOW WHEN IT OCCURRED. THE WINDOW DEFROSTER WAS BEING OPERATED AS I HAVE IN MULTIPLE VEHICLES. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS, I FOUND IT WAS A VERY COMMON ISSUE. ON 1/11/17, I CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND FILED A COMPLAINT AND WAS TOLD TO BEING MY VEHICLE INTO A FORD SERVICE FACILITY FOR POTENTIAL GOODWILL ASSISTANCE. I WAS TOLD BY THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY REPRESENTATIVE THAT HAD HAD HEARD OF THIS GLASS BREAKAGE BEFORE HOWEVER FORD HAS NO RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE FOR THIS REPAIR. ON 1/11/17, AT THE FORD SERVICE FACILITY THE VEHICLE WAS LOOKED AT, TOLD THAT THE REPLACEMENT WOULD BE AROUND $1000 AND THEY WOULD CONTACT FORD. ON 1/12/17, THE SERVICE FACILITY INDICATED THE FORD REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVE WAS CONTACTED AND NO ASSISTANCE WILL BE PROVIDED. I AGAIN CONTACT THE FORD, BUT WAS TOLD THE REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVE MADE THE DECISION AND NOTHING MORE WOULD BE DONE. ON 1/13/17, I PAID $585 TO HAVE THE GLASS REPAIRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN APPLYING SYNC UPDATE CAUSED SEVERAL FAILURE CODES TO TRANSMISSION MODULE AND TRANSMISSION SERVO. SYNC MODULE NO LONGER WORKS AFTER APPLYING SOFTWARE UPDATE AND MUST BE REPLACED. ALL TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE CODES WERE CLEARED. I BELIEVE THE SYNC MODULE UPDATE CAUSED FAILURE CODES AND DESTROYED SYNC MODULE. FORD DEALERSHIP CANNOT EXPLAIN

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN APPLYING SYNC UPDATE CAUSED SEVERAL FAILURE CODES TO TRANSMISSION MODULE AND TRANSMISSION SERVO. SYNC MODULE NO LONGER WORKS AFTER APPLYING SOFTWARE UPDATE AND MUST BE REPLACED. ALL TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE CODES WERE CLEARED. I BELIEVE THE SYNC MODULE UPDATE CAUSED FAILURE CODES AND DESTROYED SYNC MODULE. FORD DEALERSHIP CANNOT EXPLAIN

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/5/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN APPLYING SYNC UPDATE CAUSED SEVERAL FAILURE CODES TO TRANSMISSION MODULE AND TRANSMISSION SERVO. SYNC MODULE NO LONGER WORKS AFTER APPLYING SOFTWARE UPDATE AND MUST BE REPLACED. ALL TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE CODES WERE CLEARED. I BELIEVE THE SYNC MODULE UPDATE CAUSED FAILURE CODES AND DESTROYED SYNC MODULE. FORD DEALERSHIP CANNOT EXPLAIN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/3/2017 - MIAMI, FL
REOCCURRING ISSUE WITH TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKAGE. MY 2010 FORD F-150 XLT SUPERCREW ENGINE 4.6 L AT 89K MILES WITH ALL ITS MAINTENANCE DONE LIKE CLOCKWORK AND DRIVEN LIKE A BABY REQUIRED ITS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SEALS REPLACED (TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKAGE AROUND THE TRANSMISSION BULKHEAD CONNECTOR SLEEVE) 01/02/17. THE DEALER SAID THAT THE CURRENT REPAIR IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AS THE TRUCK IS PASSED ITS 60K POWER TRAIN WARRANTY THAT PREVIOUS REPAIR COMPLETED BACK ON FEB 2015 (COMPLETED UNDER WARRANTY AS THE TRUCK HAD 57K MILES AT THE TIME). EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE TO DO THE SAME THING AS BACK IN FEB 2015 WHERE THEY HAVE TO BRING THE TRANSMISSION DOWN AND RE-SEAL IT IN ADDITION TO THE NEW REPAIR OF THE TRANSMISSION BULKHEAD CONNECTOR SLEEVE. I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY FORD AND ITS TECHS WHOM ARE AWARE OF THE TSB 14-0069 (ATTACHED) *A KNOWN ISSUE PRIOR TO 2014* DID NOT "REPLACE REPAIR" THIS PART BACK ON FEB 2015 SO THAT THE CUSTOMER WOULD NOT FIND HIMSELF IN THIS SITUATION WITH A $721.04 REPAIR BILL. I'M HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED AND DISSATISFIED WITH THE PURCHASE OF MY TRUCK I HAVE NEVER OWNED ANY VEHICLE THAT WITHIN 6 YEARS OR LESS THE TRANSMISSION AND DRIVE SHAFT HAD TO BE REPAIRED SO OFTEN (THIS F150 IS NOT USED COMMERCIALLY AND ITS WELL CARED FOR MAINTAINED). MY FAMILY AND I HAVE OWNED FORD'S AND HONDA'S IN THE PAST AND NEVER HAS ANYONE IN MY FAMILY AND I HAD TO REPLACE OR REPAIR SO OFTEN A TRANSMISSION. THIS IS NOT THE 1ST ISSUE I HAVE HAD WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION OF MY TRUCK I HAD TAKEN IT IN TO DORAL LINCOLN WHILE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AS IT WAS JERKING ON GEAR CHANGES THEY LUBRICATED THE TRANSMISSION AND DRAFT SHAFT ADDITIONALLY I HAD THE DRIVE SHAFT COUPLER/BOOT REPLACED AT SAWGRASS FORD AS WELL IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY THIS REPAIR COST ME $185.90 ON 09/17/2016.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/3/2017 - SPRING, TX
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A CITY STREET, THE VEHICLE WAS SUDDENLY UNABLE TO STOP BECAUSE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS PUSHED ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR WITH COMPLETE BRAKE LOSS, AND THE BRAKE FLUID WARNING LAMP SUDDENLY ILLUMINATED. THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WAS ABLE TO STOP ME AND ALLOW ME TO SAFELY PULL OVER. NO FLUID LEAKAGE WAS DISCOVERED UPON INITIAL LOOK BUT THE RESERVOIR WAS EMPTY. THE SOLUTION INVOLVED LOCATING THE MISSING BRAKE FLUID WHICH HAD LEAKED FROM THE MASTER CYLINDER INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER, RESULTING IN THE BRAKE LOSS. UPON REPLACING THE DEFECTIVE MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER, THE BRAKES ARE OKAY NOW. THIS PROBLEM IS IDENTICAL TO THE SUMMARY IDENTIFIED UNDER INVESTIGATION PE-16-003 (SEE ATTACHED).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/3/2017 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
NOTICED A FLUID LEAK WHEN VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN DRIVEWAY. DISCOVERED IT WAS RED TRANSMISSION FLUID COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE TRANSMISSION. THE ELECTRICAL PLUG TO THE TRANSMISSION IS WET. THE TRUCK IS BABIED AND VERY LIGHTLY USED WITH ONLY 19,311 MILES ON IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/22/2016 - MACOMB, IL
I WAS PARKED IN MY TRUCK, WARMING IT UP ON A ~10 DEGREE MORNING. THE BACK GLASS HAD A LAYER OF ICE AND I TURNED ON THE REAR DEFROST. A FEW MINUTES LATER, WHILE STILL PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY, I HEARD A LOUD POP. THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK GLASS WAS SHATTERED. IT IS A POWER SLIDING, TINTED BACK GLASS IN THREE SECTIONS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/17/2016 - HOMER GLEN, IL
WHILE USING THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER, I HEARD A LOUD THUD. I LOOKED BACK AND SAW A SHATTERED REAR PASSENGER WINDOW. ALSO NOTICED SMOKE FROM LOWER CORNER. I WAS REVERSING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED. OUTSIDE TEMP WAS 20¦F.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/17/2016 - HOMER GLEN, IL
WHILE USING THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER, I HEARD A LOUD THUD. I LOOKED BACK AND SAW A SHATTERED REAR PASSENGER WINDOW. ALSO NOTICED SMOKE FROM LOWER CORNER. I WAS REVERSING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED. OUTSIDE TEMP WAS 20¦F.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds