Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2010 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (47) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (92) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (4) Structure (35) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (8) Suspension (10) Visibility (55)
Engine (25) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (13) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (46)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/26/2015 - TEWKSBURY, MA
AFTER TURNING ON REAR DEFROSTER ON A 15 DEGREE DAY I HEARD SOME ELECTRICAL SNAPPING AND POPPING SOUNDS. I TURNED OFF THE REAR DEFROSTER FOR A FEW MINUTES THEN BACK ON AGAIN. NOT LONG AFTER THAT I HEARD A VERY LOUD BANG WHICH WAS MY RIGHT SIDE REAR WINDOW SHATTERING. IT STAYED IN PLACE BUT WAS COMPLETELY SPIDER WEBBED WITH A FEW SMALL MISSING PIECES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - TEWKSBURY, MA
AFTER TURNING ON REAR DEFROSTER ON A 15 DEGREE DAY I HEARD SOME ELECTRICAL SNAPPING AND POPPING SOUNDS. I TURNED OFF THE REAR DEFROSTER FOR A FEW MINUTES THEN BACK ON AGAIN. NOT LONG AFTER THAT I HEARD A VERY LOUD BANG WHICH WAS MY RIGHT SIDE REAR WINDOW SHATTERING. IT STAYED IN PLACE BUT WAS COMPLETELY SPIDER WEBBED WITH A FEW SMALL MISSING PIECES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/26/2015 - TWO RIVERS, WI
THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE SLIDING REAR WINDOW SHATTERED APPROXIMATELY 2 MINUTES AFTER TURNING ON THE REAR DEFROSTER.

View Details

SEATS

1/24/2015 - FAIRVIEW PARK, OH
DRIVER HEATED SEAT FUNCTION WAS ON WHILE DRIVING, SUDDENLY THERE WAS A VERY HOT SPOT FELT UNDER DRIVER'S LEFT LEG, THEN HEATED SEAT FUNCTION THEN WENT OFF. FURTHER ATTEMPTS TO OPERATE THE HEATED SEAT FUNCTION RESULTED IN A TEMPORARY ILLUMINATION OF THE DRIVER HEATED SEAT INDICATOR, FOLLOWED BY AN EXTINGUISHING OF SAME INDICATOR AFTER ABOUT 1 SECOND. THE VEHICLE IN QUESTION IS NO LONGER ELIGIBLE FOR COVERAGE UNDER THE 3/36,000 BUMPER TO BUMPER PORTION OF THE FORD 2010 NEW VEHICLE LIMITED WARRANTY; THEREFORE, THE VEHICLE OWNER ELECTED TO PERFORM HIS OWN INVESTIGATION INTO THE PROBLEM. THE OWNER DISMANTLED THE DRIVER SEAT AND FOUND BURNT COMPONENTS IN THE VICINITY OF A FAILED WIRE THAT WAS PART OF THE SEAT HEATER SUBSYSTEM, ALL OF THIS UNDER THE SEAT COVER IN AN AREA THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN UNDERNEATH THE LEFT LEG OF THE DRIVER. THE FAILURE WAS IDENTIFIED AS A BURNT/CHARRED WIRE THAT OPENED THE CIRCUIT OF THE HEATED SEAT FUNCTION. PHOTOS OF THE DISMANTLED SEAT SHOWING THE BURNT/CHARRED COMPONENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT: HTTP://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F38/2010-DRIVER-BUCKET-SEAT-HEAT-REPAIR-286693/. OTHER POSTINGS AT WWW.F150FORUM.COM SUGGEST THAT THIS PROBLEM IS NOT NECESSARILY AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE OWNER SUBSEQUENTLY AFFECTED HIS OWN REPAIR TO THE HEATED SEAT SUBSYSTEM, RETURNING THE SUBSYSTEM TO FULL FUNCTIONALITY. THE VEHICLE OWNER IS CONCERNED THAT AN AS-ASSEMBLED-BY-THE-MANUFACTURER SUBSYSTEM FAILURE OF THIS TYPE HAS THE POTENTIAL TO INDUCE A CONDITION OF THERMAL RUNAWAY WHICH COULD POTENTIALLY LEAD TO A VEHICLE FIRE. THE VEHICLE OWNER HAS YET TO INFORM THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY OF THIS INCIDENT AT THE TIME OF THIS WRITING ON 24-JAN-2015.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/22/2015 - FIREBAUGH, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F 150. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AS IF THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING RAPIDLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. DJR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2015 - FIREBAUGH, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F 150. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AS IF THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING RAPIDLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. DJR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/17/2015 - POMPANO BEACH, FL
I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT ON THE WAY TO WORK THIS MORNING. IT WAS 55 DEG OUT, AND I HAD THE REAR DEFROSTER ON BECAUSE THERE WAS CONDENSATION ON THE BACK WINDOW. I HEARD A LOUD POP LIKE A ROCK HAD HIT THE CAR AND LOOKED BACK TO SEE SMOKE AND MY PASSENGER SIDE REAR WINDOW PANEL SHATTERED. WHEN I LOOKED CLOSER, THE PLASTIC TRIM ON THE CORNER OF THE WINDOW WAS MELTED, AND I COULD SEE BURN MARKS ON THE CORNER OF THE GLASS. IT TURNS OUT IT'S A VERY COMMON PROBLEM FOR THE 2010 MODEL YEAR F-150. I SEARCHED "FORD F-150 REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER BURNING" IN GOOGLE, AND THE TOP RESULT WAS THIS: HTTP://WWW.GLASSBYTES.COM/2013/12/SEVERAL-FORD-F-150-OWNERS-REPORT-SHATTERING-BACK-LITES-TO-NHTSA/ THE DESCRIPTION OF WHAT HAPPENED IS NEARLY IDENTICAL TO MINE, OVER AND OVER AGAIN. THERE ARE 51 INSTANCES OF THIS OCCURRING REFERENCED IN THE COMMENTS SECTION OF THIS ARTICLE ALONE! PHOTOS OF MY INCIDENT ARE AVAILABLE IF NEEDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/16/2015 - ASHLAND, VA
I TURNED ON THE REAR DEFROSTER TO CLEAR MY BACK WINDOW OF FROST AND DROVE TO WORK. 5 MIN LATER, AS I PARKED IN THE PARKING LOT, I HEARD A LOUD NOISE. THE BACK GLASS SHATTERED ON THE INSIDE. SMALL PIECES OF GLASS ARE FALLING INTO THE VEHICLE. FORD WILL NOT COVER THE REPLACEMENT. FORD IS NOT DENYING THAT IT HAPPENS. THEY JUST ARE NOT ADMITTING THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP ACTUALLY TOLD ME THAT, ôWHEN THE TEMPERATURE GETS COLD OUTSIDE AND THEN THE DEFROSTER IS TURNED ON, IT CAN CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE GLASS.ö WOW! I THOUGHT THAT IS WHAT THE DEFROSTER WAS FOR??!!??!!!! THEY HAD NO RESPONSE WHEN I BROUGHT THAT TO THEIR ATTENTION. THEY TOLD ME TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. I DID, BUT THEY SAID SINCE THERE IS NO RECALL AT THIS TIME, THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO HELP.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/13/2015 - EAST BETHEL, MN
THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE WAS APPROXIMATELY -10 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. I WENT TO WARM UP MY TRUCK AND TURNED ON THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER. WHEN I RETURNED TO MY VEHICLE TO DRIVE TO WORK I FOUND THAT MY REAR WINDOW ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD SHATTERED. I INSPECTED THE WINDOW FOR SIGNS OF VANDALISM BUT BESIDES THE SPIDERING OF THE TEMPERED GLASS THERE WAS NO SIGN OF ANY IMPACT. AFTER AN EXTREMELY SHORT GOOGLE SEARCH I FOUND THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST COMMON PROBLEMS WITH WITH THE 2010 F-150. THE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ARE SO ABUNDANT IT'S BECOME COMICAL. WHICH IS NOT A GOOD THING FORD... YOU SHOULDN'T BE CONTENT WITH YOUR PRODUCT BEING A PUNCHLINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2015 - EAST BETHEL, MN
THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE WAS APPROXIMATELY -10 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. I WENT TO WARM UP MY TRUCK AND TURNED ON THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER. WHEN I RETURNED TO MY VEHICLE TO DRIVE TO WORK I FOUND THAT MY REAR WINDOW ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD SHATTERED. I INSPECTED THE WINDOW FOR SIGNS OF VANDALISM BUT BESIDES THE SPIDERING OF THE TEMPERED GLASS THERE WAS NO SIGN OF ANY IMPACT. AFTER AN EXTREMELY SHORT GOOGLE SEARCH I FOUND THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST COMMON PROBLEMS WITH WITH THE 2010 F-150. THE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ARE SO ABUNDANT IT'S BECOME COMICAL. WHICH IS NOT A GOOD THING FORD... YOU SHOULDN'T BE CONTENT WITH YOUR PRODUCT BEING A PUNCHLINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds