Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2010 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 319 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (44) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (75) Exterior Lighting (20) Seat Belts (4) Structure (32) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (6) Suspension (10) Visibility (49)
Engine (23) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (13) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (34)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2014 - GREENVILLE, TX
JUST AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE THE TRUCK WAS DRIVEN OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND AT THE FIRST PRESS OF THE BRAKES THE VEHICLE WAS NOT STOPPING. AFTER BEARING DOWN ON THE PEDAL WITH FULL FORCE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP. BRAKE WARNING APPEARED IN THE DIGITAL MESSAGE CENTER AND THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON. I PUMPED THE BRAKES AND A VERY TIGHT PEDAL INDICATED THE VACUUM ASSIST HAD FAILED. I ALSO COULD HEAR A HISSING SOUND AT THE PRESS OF THE PEDAL. I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND PULLED THE VACUUM LINE OFF THE BOOSTER AND THE DISTINCT VACUUM POP WAS PRESENT. I BEGAN REMOVING THE BOOSTER, I THEN REALIZED BRAKE FLUID HAD LEAKED OUT OF THE REAR OF THE MASTER CYLINDER AND INTO THE BOOSTER. I BELIEVE THE CORROSIVE PROPERTIES OF THE BRAKE FLUID RUPTURED THE DIAPHRAGM INSIDE THE BOOSTER. THERE WAS ABOUT 5 OZ. OF FLUID INSIDE THE BOOSTER. I ORDERED AND REPLACED THE BOOSTER AND THE MASTER CYLINDER. THIS IS TOO NEW OF A VEHICLE FOR A BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE. SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE KILLED IF THIS ISSUE IS NOT CORRECTED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/14/2014 - GREENVILLE , TX
WHILE DRIVING FOR THE FIRST TIME ON THE DAY OF THE INCIDENT I HAD TRAVELED ABOUT 3 MILES WHEN I HEARD A TONE AND SAW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COME ON. I IMMEDIATELY APPLIED THE BRAKES AS I WAS APPROACHING A RED LIGHT AND AS THE TRUCK SLOWED I SAW A LOW OIL PRESSURE WARNING COME UP ON THE DIGITAL MESSAGE CENTER AND THE ENGINE STALLED. I LOST BRAKE PRESSURE AND NEARLY RAN THE RED LIGHT. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED THE TRUCK. I DROVE TO THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY (SOUTHWEST FORD OF GREENVILLE, TX) THEY TROUBLESHOT THE PROBLEM DOWN TO A FAULTY FUEL PURGE VALVE. THIS CAUSED A SECONDARY ISSUE DUE TO AN EXCESS VACUUM BUILD UP IN THE TANK. THE TANK WAS DEFORMED DESTROYING THE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL QTY SENDING UNIT. THE REPAIR COST WAS ABOUT 1200 DOLLARS. THE DEALERSHIP WAS EXCELLENT AT GIVING ME THE DETAILED INFORMATION, AND THEY PAID FOR MY RENTAL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/10/2014 - HORACE, ND
VEHICLE WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER A HEAVY RAIN NOTICED WATER LEAKING FROM INTERIOR ROOF. MY WINDOWS FOGGED UP IMPAIRING MY VISION FROM THE EXCESSIVE MOISTURE INSIDE THE VEHICLE. ALSO MY VEHICLE SMELLS MUSTY AND MOLDY CAUSING HEALTH CONCERNS TO MYSELF AND OTHER PASSENGERS. I TURNED ON THE LIGHT IN THE EVENING AND COULD SEE LIGHT SHINING THROUGH BETWEEN THE GASKET OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND THE METAL OF THE CAB. I WENT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT SO THEY COULD LOOK AT IT WHEN I ALREADY KNOW WHAT THE ISSUE IS. I ASKED THE SHOP PERSON IF HE COULD TAKE A QUICK LOOK AT IT SO HE COULD SEE WHAT I WAS SEEING AND HE TOLD ME IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND THE GASKET NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I WAS ASSURED BY THE FORD DEALER THAT I NEED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THEM TO LOOK AT IT AND THAT FORD WILL NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE FOR THE LEAK OR THE WATER DAMAGE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/9/2014 - MEDFORD, OR
WATER LEAKS THROUGH THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT LENS DURING HARD RAIN OR AUTO CAR WASH. ENOUGH WATER COMES IN TO SOAK THE BACK SEAT AND THE FLOOR. THEN THERE IS SO MUCH MOISTURE INSIDE THE CAB THAT THE DEFROSTER CAN NOT CLEAR THE WINDOWS NOR INSIDE THE WINDSHIELD. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY PROBLEM AS THE DRIVER'S VISION IS VERY EFFECTED. CALLED LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE ARE NOT A PROBLEM - PROBABLY JUST A PINCHED GASKET FROM CHANGING A LIGHT BULB. BUT THAT IS NOT THE FACTS. PLEASE CHECK OUT THE MANY ONLINE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2014 - HAYWARD, CA
MY FORD F150 XLT WAS PARTED IN MY DRIVE WAY, LAST DRIVEN AT 9.00AM ON 8/29/2014. THE VEHICLE WAS ENGAGED IN PARK, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND KEY FULLY WITH DRAWN. AT AROUND 5.00PM VEHICLE TOOK OFF ITSELF WITH OUT DRIVER WENT DOWN THE STREET AND HIT ANOTHER PARKED VEHICLE CAUSING BIG DAMAGES TO THAT VEHICLE AND AS WELL TO FORD 150 THAT I OWN. I HAVE SEVERAL EVIDENCE OF PEOPLE AROUND MY STREET WATCHING THIS HAPPENING. MY PURPOSE OF THIS COMPLAIN IS: 1. TO FIND OUT WHETHER THERE IS RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE, AND FORD HASN'T INFORMED THE CUSTOMERS 2. THE DEALERSHIP SAN LEANDRO FORD IN CA 94577 DIDN'T RESPOND MY COMPLIANT- MY REQUEST WAS TO FIND IF THERE IS RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. 3. MY BIG CONCERN IS FOR PUBLIC SAFETY, WHETHER THIS VEHICLE HAS FACTORY AND HAS TENDENCY TAKE OFF WHEN FULLY PARKED AND DISENGAGED. I BELIEVE WE WERE JUST LUCKY IT DIDN'T HIT CHILDREN PLAYING ON THE STREET OR DIDN'T RUN IN TO SOME ONE'S HOUSE. 4. I REALLY BEG YOUR ORGANIZATION TO QUICKLY INVESTIGATE, BECAUSE THIS DEFECT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS AND DEATHS 5. WE HAVE SEVERAL PICTURES AND VIDEOS FOR EVIDENCE, TAKEN BY PEOPLE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/31/2014 - HAYWARD, CA
MY FORD F150 XLT WAS PARTED IN MY DRIVE WAY, LAST DRIVEN AT 9.00AM ON 8/29/2014. THE VEHICLE WAS ENGAGED IN PARK, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND KEY FULLY WITH DRAWN. AT AROUND 5.00PM VEHICLE TOOK OFF ITSELF WITH OUT DRIVER WENT DOWN THE STREET AND HIT ANOTHER PARKED VEHICLE CAUSING BIG DAMAGES TO THAT VEHICLE AND AS WELL TO FORD 150 THAT I OWN. I HAVE SEVERAL EVIDENCE OF PEOPLE AROUND MY STREET WATCHING THIS HAPPENING. MY PURPOSE OF THIS COMPLAIN IS: 1. TO FIND OUT WHETHER THERE IS RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE, AND FORD HASN'T INFORMED THE CUSTOMERS 2. THE DEALERSHIP SAN LEANDRO FORD IN CA 94577 DIDN'T RESPOND MY COMPLIANT- MY REQUEST WAS TO FIND IF THERE IS RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. 3. MY BIG CONCERN IS FOR PUBLIC SAFETY, WHETHER THIS VEHICLE HAS FACTORY AND HAS TENDENCY TAKE OFF WHEN FULLY PARKED AND DISENGAGED. I BELIEVE WE WERE JUST LUCKY IT DIDN'T HIT CHILDREN PLAYING ON THE STREET OR DIDN'T RUN IN TO SOME ONE'S HOUSE. 4. I REALLY BEG YOUR ORGANIZATION TO QUICKLY INVESTIGATE, BECAUSE THIS DEFECT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS AND DEATHS 5. WE HAVE SEVERAL PICTURES AND VIDEOS FOR EVIDENCE, TAKEN BY PEOPLE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2014 - HAYWARD, CA
MY FORD F150 XLT WAS PARTED IN MY DRIVE WAY, LAST DRIVEN AT 9.00AM ON 8/29/2014. THE VEHICLE WAS ENGAGED IN PARK, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND KEY FULLY WITH DRAWN. AT AROUND 5.00PM VEHICLE TOOK OFF ITSELF WITH OUT DRIVER WENT DOWN THE STREET AND HIT ANOTHER PARKED VEHICLE CAUSING BIG DAMAGES TO THAT VEHICLE AND AS WELL TO FORD 150 THAT I OWN. I HAVE SEVERAL EVIDENCE OF PEOPLE AROUND MY STREET WATCHING THIS HAPPENING. MY PURPOSE OF THIS COMPLAIN IS: 1. TO FIND OUT WHETHER THERE IS RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE, AND FORD HASN'T INFORMED THE CUSTOMERS 2. THE DEALERSHIP SAN LEANDRO FORD IN CA 94577 DIDN'T RESPOND MY COMPLIANT- MY REQUEST WAS TO FIND IF THERE IS RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. 3. MY BIG CONCERN IS FOR PUBLIC SAFETY, WHETHER THIS VEHICLE HAS FACTORY AND HAS TENDENCY TAKE OFF WHEN FULLY PARKED AND DISENGAGED. I BELIEVE WE WERE JUST LUCKY IT DIDN'T HIT CHILDREN PLAYING ON THE STREET OR DIDN'T RUN IN TO SOME ONE'S HOUSE. 4. I REALLY BEG YOUR ORGANIZATION TO QUICKLY INVESTIGATE, BECAUSE THIS DEFECT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS AND DEATHS 5. WE HAVE SEVERAL PICTURES AND VIDEOS FOR EVIDENCE, TAKEN BY PEOPLE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/29/2014 - FORT LEE, NJ
I OBSERVED AT LEAST 6 AREAS ON THE ROOF OF MY TRUCK WHERE THE PAINT IS PEELING AWAY FROM THE BODY. THERE IS OBVIOUS RUST UNDER ALL THE SPOTS. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED A MUSTY SMELL IN MY CAR. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO BODY SHOP AT THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY STATED THAT SINCE THERE WAS NO PERFORATION IN THE SHEET METAL, IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. I POINTED TO THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN THAT IF IT WERE ONE SPOT I COULD SEE THAT AS POSSIBLY SOMETHING MAY HAVE CHIPPED THE PAINT AND CAUSED THE PROBLEM BUT FOR IT TO HAPPEN IN AT LEAST 6 AREAS SPREAD OUT AROUND THE ROOF THAT IT WAS A DEFECT IN MATERIAL OR WORKMANSHIP AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. THE TECHNICIAN SAID I SHOULD CONTACT FORD DIRECTLY BUT THEY WOULD PROBABLY DENY THE CLAIM. BASED ON WHAT I FOUND ONLINE WHICH INCLUDES AT LEAST 7 NHTSA DOCUMENTED COMPLAINTS AS WELL AS OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT PAINT PROBLEMS WITH FORD VEHICLES IT WOULD APPEAR THAT FORD HAS A PROBLEM AT THEIR FACTORIES THAT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. I PLAN TO GO BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP NOW THAT I KNOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM WITH THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT AND LEAKS AROUND IT, AS WELL AS CONTACTING FORD HEADQUARTERS FOR RESOLUTION.

View Details

TIRES

8/25/2014 - RED BLUFF, CA
TWO DISCOVERY A/T HAD TIRE SEPARATION, ONE WHILE DRIVING AND ONE WAS DISCOVERED AS VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE FAILURES OCCURRED OR DISCOVERED WITHIN A THREE WEEK PERIOD. BOTH TIRES REMAINED INTACT AND NO CRASH OCCURRED. ONE TIRE WAS PARTIALLY REBATED BY LOCAL DEALER BUT HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING YET ON SECOND TIRE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/22/2014 - CINCINNATI , OH
PARKED TRUCK IN A LOT. LEFT THE TRUCK AND WAS FINE AT THE TIME. I HAVE HEARD OF THE REAR WINDOWS SHATTERING BEFORE SO I'M ALWAYS LOOKING AT IT. GET BACK TO THE TRUCK AND THE WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. CHECKED SECURITY FOOTAGE AT THE LOT AND COULD NOT SEE ANYONE THROW OR HIT IT WITH ANYTHING. NOT NEAR A MAIN ROAD EITHER. REAR DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WITH DEFROSTER (BROKEN SIDE), MOTORIZED CENTER WINDOW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds