Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2010 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 325 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (45) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (77) Exterior Lighting (21) Seat Belts (4) Structure (32) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (7) Suspension (10) Visibility (49)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (13) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (34)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH , FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F150. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT REMOVED HIS FOOT OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR TO APPLY THE BRAKES BUT THE BRAKES HESITATED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE POWER STEERING ALSO FAILED WITH CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO SEIZE. THE VEHICLE STALLED BUT THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT IMMEDIATELY. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000. MF

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - EAGAN, MN
WHILE LEAVING HOUSE, I TURNED ON THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER. ABOUT 5 BLOCKS FROM HOME, I HEARD A LOUD POP, LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SAW THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF REAR WINDOW COMPLETED SHATTERED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
USED REAR DEFROST (APPROXIMATELY 63 DEGREES OUTSIDE) DROVE APPROXIMATELY 5 MILES AND PASSENGER REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. WAS SITTING AT A COMPLETE STOP AT A LIGHT. SOUNDED LIKE A GUN-SHOT. RESEARCHED THE ISSUE TO FIND MANY OTHER 2010 F150 OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM WHO WERE TOLD IT WAS A SHORT IN THE REAR DEFROST ELECTRICAL. FORD WILL NOT COVER REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2014 - SPRING LAKE, NC
USED REAR DEFROST (APPROXIMATELY 63 DEGREES OUTSIDE) DROVE APPROXIMATELY 5 MILES AND PASSENGER REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. WAS SITTING AT A COMPLETE STOP AT A LIGHT. SOUNDED LIKE A GUN-SHOT. RESEARCHED THE ISSUE TO FIND MANY OTHER 2010 F150 OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM WHO WERE TOLD IT WAS A SHORT IN THE REAR DEFROST ELECTRICAL. FORD WILL NOT COVER REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - MARYSVILLE, WA
MY SEAT HEATER STOPPED WORKING SEVERAL MONTHS AGO, I WENT TO REPLACE IT TODAY AND FOUND THAT THE HEAT ELEMENT HAD MELTED AND TURNED BLACK THE SEAT CUSHION IN THE AREA OF WHERE IT MELTED, I DON'T BELIEVE THAT THERE WAS ACTUAL FIRE BUT HAD THE POWER NOT SHUT OFF I AM SURE THAT THE SEAT WOULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - MARYSVILLE, WA
MY SEAT HEATER STOPPED WORKING SEVERAL MONTHS AGO, I WENT TO REPLACE IT TODAY AND FOUND THAT THE HEAT ELEMENT HAD MELTED AND TURNED BLACK THE SEAT CUSHION IN THE AREA OF WHERE IT MELTED, I DON'T BELIEVE THAT THERE WAS ACTUAL FIRE BUT HAD THE POWER NOT SHUT OFF I AM SURE THAT THE SEAT WOULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE.

View Details

SEATS

9/16/2014 - MARYSVILLE, WA
MY SEAT HEATER STOPPED WORKING SEVERAL MONTHS AGO, I WENT TO REPLACE IT TODAY AND FOUND THAT THE HEAT ELEMENT HAD MELTED AND TURNED BLACK THE SEAT CUSHION IN THE AREA OF WHERE IT MELTED, I DON'T BELIEVE THAT THERE WAS ACTUAL FIRE BUT HAD THE POWER NOT SHUT OFF I AM SURE THAT THE SEAT WOULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - PEORIA, AZ
I WAS TRAVELING WEST ON I10 IN ARIZONA WHEN MY TRUCK DECIDED TO DOWN SHIFT/LIMP MODE AT 75 MPH. THE RESULT WAS A NICE LONG SLIDE UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO SHIFT THE TRANSMISSION INTO NEUTRAL. OF COURSE THE CRUISE CONTROL STILL THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO SPEED THE TRUCK UP AND CONTINUED ACCELERATING UNTIL I TURNED IT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE EMERGENCY LANE AND SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO REPORT IT AND THEY ASKED ME TO START IT AGAIN. IT STARTED FINE AND DID NOT SHOW ANY ERRORS ON THE DISPLAY. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT HOME THOUGH AT A REDUCED SPEED AND NOT USING THE CRUISE CONTROL. I FIND THAT FORD WOULD SUPPLY A VEHICLE WITH A LIMP MODE THAT WOULD SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO 2ND GEAR LIMP MODE AT ANY SPEED AND NOT SHUT OFF THE CRUISE AT THE SAME TIME. SEEMS TO ME THE VEHICLE SHOULD DISENGAGE THE CRUISE AND SLOW THE VEHICLE WHEN AT SPEED AND NOT THE UNEXPECTED DOWN SHIFT THAT SEEMS TO RESULT FROM ANY TRANSMISSION ISSUES. IF I HAD BEEN TOWING MY CAR TRAILER OR TRAVEL TRAILER THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. BE NICE TO FIND OUT WHAT FORD SAYS WHEN I FINALLY GET MY TRUCK BACK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/15/2014 - SUMTER, SC
THE 3RD BRAKE LIGHT DOESN'T SEAL PROPERLY, ALLOWING WATER TO LEAK THROUGH DURING RAIN & CAR WASH. TOOK THE TRUCK TO FORD ONCE ABOUT A YEAR AGO AND THEY CAULKED AND RESEATED THE LIGHT, BUT IT STARTED AGAIN. WE TOOK THE RAPTOR BACK TO FORD DEALER AND THEY WANTED TO CHARGE US $215 TO PUT IN A NEW LIGHT. #1. MANUFACTURER/FORD DEFECT & #2. AFTERMARKET AND OEM ARE CHEAPER ONLINE. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE, THAT ISN'T BEING PROPERLY ADDRESSED. HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/3RD-BRAKE-LIGHT-ISSUES-3350/.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2014 - GREENVILLE, TX
JUST AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE THE TRUCK WAS DRIVEN OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND AT THE FIRST PRESS OF THE BRAKES THE VEHICLE WAS NOT STOPPING. AFTER BEARING DOWN ON THE PEDAL WITH FULL FORCE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP. BRAKE WARNING APPEARED IN THE DIGITAL MESSAGE CENTER AND THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON. I PUMPED THE BRAKES AND A VERY TIGHT PEDAL INDICATED THE VACUUM ASSIST HAD FAILED. I ALSO COULD HEAR A HISSING SOUND AT THE PRESS OF THE PEDAL. I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND PULLED THE VACUUM LINE OFF THE BOOSTER AND THE DISTINCT VACUUM POP WAS PRESENT. I BEGAN REMOVING THE BOOSTER, I THEN REALIZED BRAKE FLUID HAD LEAKED OUT OF THE REAR OF THE MASTER CYLINDER AND INTO THE BOOSTER. I BELIEVE THE CORROSIVE PROPERTIES OF THE BRAKE FLUID RUPTURED THE DIAPHRAGM INSIDE THE BOOSTER. THERE WAS ABOUT 5 OZ. OF FLUID INSIDE THE BOOSTER. I ORDERED AND REPLACED THE BOOSTER AND THE MASTER CYLINDER. THIS IS TOO NEW OF A VEHICLE FOR A BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE. SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE KILLED IF THIS ISSUE IS NOT CORRECTED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds