Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2010 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 506 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (57) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (113) Exterior Lighting (23) Seat Belts (5) Structure (48) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seats (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (92)
Engine (51) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (25) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (73)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/12/2016 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL FAILED AND BECAME STUCK TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORCEFULLY AND IMMEDIATELY DECELERATED. THE MECHANIC AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE. THE DEALER CLEANED THE THROTTLE BODY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. A DIAGNOSTIC WAS PERFORMED, WHICH LOCATED A FAILURE CODE AT THE THROTTLE BODY POSITION SENSOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2016 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL FAILED AND BECAME STUCK TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORCEFULLY AND IMMEDIATELY DECELERATED. THE MECHANIC AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE. THE DEALER CLEANED THE THROTTLE BODY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. A DIAGNOSTIC WAS PERFORMED, WHICH LOCATED A FAILURE CODE AT THE THROTTLE BODY POSITION SENSOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/2/2016 - EVANSVILLE, IN
MY SON WAS DRIVING THE TRUCK WITH MY OLDER SON ALSO IN THE CAB. MY SON THAT WAS DRIVING NOTICED THAT THE TRUCK WAS LOSING SPEED AND THAT NOTHING WAS HAPPENING WHEN HE PUSHED ON THE ACCELERATOR. HE PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK AND SMOKE BEGAN FILLING THE CAB. THEY GOT OUT OF THE TRUCK IN A HURRY AND RAN. THE TRUCK EXPLODED 3 SECONDS LATER AND BURNED COMPLETELY. WE ARE NOT CERTAIN WHAT CAUSED THE FIRE, BUT IT APPEARS TO BE THE FUELING SYSTEM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/1/2016 - ABILENE, TX
2010 FORD F150 WITH 83,000 MILES TRAVELING 70 MPH WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON. HEARD A LOUD THUMP THEN TRANSMISSION LOCKED UP SKIDDING 100 FEET IN UNCONTROLLED FASHION. PLACED TRANSMISION SHIFTER TO NEUTRAL IMMEDIATELY WHEN RPMS WERE RACING. TRUCK TRIED TO GO LEFT BUT GAINED CONTROL WITH STEERING WHEEL. TOOK TRUCK BY TOW TRUCK TO TRANSMISSION SHOP AND THEY FOUND TRANSMISSION HAD SHIFTED FROM 6TH GEAR TO 1ST GEAR CAUSING THE PROBLEM. TRANSMISSION WAS INTACT. CALLED FORD DEALER I BOUGHT FROM THEY SAID THEY WOULD RESEARCH SOUNDED LIKE THEY WERE NOT INTERESTED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT TO SAY THE LEAST AND I NOTED 3 OTHER SIMILAR EXPERIENCES UNDER CAR COMPLAINTS.COM FOR THIS YEAR YET NO RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM BUT HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR 2011 AND 2012 MODELS. NHTSA SHOULD TAKE NOTE AND MAKE MANDATORY RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2016 - WILIMINGTON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UNCONTROLLABLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FLAPPER CENTER INTAKE MANIFOLD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2016 - SPRING, TX
THE INSIDE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE IS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION. PASSENGERS ARE FORCED TO PUSH THE HANDLE BACK INTO THE CLOSED POSITION WHEN RIDING. THIS PROBLEM IS IN FACT LISTED AS A RECALL ITEM FOR THE SAME MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR OF MY VEHICLE. I CONTACTED FORD AND WAS INFORMED THAT MY VEHICLE VIN NUMBER/ FACTORY WAS NOT INCLUDED. ACCORDING TO THE RECALL(NHTSA CAMPAIGN #:11V049000), THIS DEFECT COULD CAUSE THE DOOR TO FLY OPEN IN AN ACCIDENT. ALTHOUGH FORD DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THIS PROBLEM EXIST WITH MY VEHICLE IN PARTICULAR OR PERHAPS THE PLANT WHERE IT WAS MANUFACTURED; THIS DOES NOT CHANGE THE REALITY THAT IT HAPPENED. I WAS INSTRUCTED TO TAKE IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE AT MY OWN COST. MY VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN A PASSENGER OPENED THE DOOR; ONLY TO FIND THAT THE HANDLE WOULD NOT GO BACK TO CLOSED POSITION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/23/2016 - HUBERT, NC
THE INTERIOR DRIVER'S DOOR HANDLE WILL NOT GO BACK INTO POSITION AFTER OPENING THUS CAUSING THE DOOR TO FLING OPEN IF DRIVER DOES NOT PUSH THE HANDLE BACK INTO POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY YESTERDAY WHEN I NOTICED THE HANDLE DID NOT GO BACK. THEN YESTERDAY LEAVING THE PARKING LOT, MAKING A RIGHT TURN MY DOOR FLUNG OPEN BECAUSE I DIDN'T ENSURE THE HANDLE WAS STOWED. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ITEM UNDER FORD #11S15 BUT THE VIN DOES NOT PULL UP THIS RECALL. PLEASE CONTACT ME IF YOU NEED PICS BECAUSE THE TRUCK IS AT THE DEALERSHIP RIGHT NOW WHERE THEY TOLD ME IT DOES NOT FALL UNDER THIS RECALL WHEN CLEARLY IT IS THE EXACT SAME SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/21/2016 - PACIFIC CITY, OR
I WAS PULLING ONTO AN UNDIVIDED TWO LANE HWY. AND WAS ACCELERATING UP TO SPEED. THE VEHICLE, WITHOUT ANY TYPE OF WARNING, APPLIED THE BRAKES BY ITSELF CAUSING IT TO VEER HARD LEFT AND PULLING THE TRUCK INTO THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC LANE. THE INDICATOR LIGHT FOR TRACTION CONTROL FLASHED ON AND OFF IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND YOU COULD HEAR THE ABS DEPLOYING. LUCKY THERE WAS NO ONE BEHIND ME OR COMING TOWARDS ME. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND QUITE FRIGHTENING FOR MY FAMILY. WE LIVE IN A RURAL COMMUNITY AND THE DEALERSHIP IS OVER 50 MILES AWAY IN ONE DIRECTION. CONCERNED ABOUT SAFELY BEING ABLE TO GET IT IN FOR DIAGNOSTICS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/21/2016 - PACIFIC CITY, OR
I WAS PULLING ONTO AN UNDIVIDED TWO LANE HWY. AND WAS ACCELERATING UP TO SPEED. THE VEHICLE, WITHOUT ANY TYPE OF WARNING, APPLIED THE BRAKES BY ITSELF CAUSING IT TO VEER HARD LEFT AND PULLING THE TRUCK INTO THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC LANE. THE INDICATOR LIGHT FOR TRACTION CONTROL FLASHED ON AND OFF IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND YOU COULD HEAR THE ABS DEPLOYING. LUCKY THERE WAS NO ONE BEHIND ME OR COMING TOWARDS ME. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND QUITE FRIGHTENING FOR MY FAMILY. WE LIVE IN A RURAL COMMUNITY AND THE DEALERSHIP IS OVER 50 MILES AWAY IN ONE DIRECTION. CONCERNED ABOUT SAFELY BEING ABLE TO GET IT IN FOR DIAGNOSTICS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2016 - PACIFIC CITY, OR
I WAS PULLING ONTO AN UNDIVIDED TWO LANE HWY. AND WAS ACCELERATING UP TO SPEED. THE VEHICLE, WITHOUT ANY TYPE OF WARNING, APPLIED THE BRAKES BY ITSELF CAUSING IT TO VEER HARD LEFT AND PULLING THE TRUCK INTO THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC LANE. THE INDICATOR LIGHT FOR TRACTION CONTROL FLASHED ON AND OFF IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND YOU COULD HEAR THE ABS DEPLOYING. LUCKY THERE WAS NO ONE BEHIND ME OR COMING TOWARDS ME. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND QUITE FRIGHTENING FOR MY FAMILY. WE LIVE IN A RURAL COMMUNITY AND THE DEALERSHIP IS OVER 50 MILES AWAY IN ONE DIRECTION. CONCERNED ABOUT SAFELY BEING ABLE TO GET IT IN FOR DIAGNOSTICS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds