Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2010 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 282 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (41) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (67) Exterior Lighting (15) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (5) Suspension (9) Visibility (40)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (31)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2014 - MALVERN, OH
HAVE BEEN HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES INCLUDING FAILING BACKUP CAMERA AT NIGHT AND TAIL LIGHTS NOT WORKING (DANGEROUS AT NIGHT) AS WELL AS FUSES BLOWING. DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE BUT DEALER STATES THERE IS CORROSION IN THE FUSE PANEL BECAUSE WATER ENTERED THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE SEVERAL INSTANCES WHERE FORD IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE WHERE WATER IS ENTERING THE VEHICLE ON THE DOT.GOV AND OTHER WEBSITES. THEY ARE REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS, FORD KNOWS THERE IS AN ISSUE AND THERE IS NO REASON FOR THEM DO GET AWAY WITH ISSUES THAT MAY CAUSE FATAL CAR ACCIDENTS INCLUDING TAIL LIGHTS GOING OUT WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2014 - MALVERN, OH
HAVE BEEN HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES INCLUDING FAILING BACKUP CAMERA AT NIGHT AND TAIL LIGHTS NOT WORKING (DANGEROUS AT NIGHT) AS WELL AS FUSES BLOWING. DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE BUT DEALER STATES THERE IS CORROSION IN THE FUSE PANEL BECAUSE WATER ENTERED THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE SEVERAL INSTANCES WHERE FORD IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE WHERE WATER IS ENTERING THE VEHICLE ON THE DOT.GOV AND OTHER WEBSITES. THEY ARE REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS, FORD KNOWS THERE IS AN ISSUE AND THERE IS NO REASON FOR THEM DO GET AWAY WITH ISSUES THAT MAY CAUSE FATAL CAR ACCIDENTS INCLUDING TAIL LIGHTS GOING OUT WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2014 - READING, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F150. THE CONTACTED STATED THAT WHEN COMING TO A STOP THE OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALERSHIP AND THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURE WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THIS FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 61,000 MILES. SR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2014 - LIVONIA, MI
ON 3-12-14 I LEFT WORK AND HEADED HOME, APPROXIMENTLY 5 MINUTES AFTER LEAVING, I HEAR A VERY LOUD BANG TOWARD THE REAR OF MY TRUCK, SIMILAR TO A GUNSHOT. WHEN I GOT HOME, 10 MINUTES LATER TO INSPECT, I NOTICED THAT THE ENTIRE BACK PASSENGER SECTION OF MY WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. I ASSUMED SOMETHING MUST HAVE HIT MY TRUCK, BUT I DIDNT UNDERSTAND HOW THAT WOULD HAPPEN SEEING AS I WAS MOVING FORWARD. IF SOMETHING WOULD HAVE FLOWN UP FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE, IT WOULD HAVE HIT THE BACK OF MY TRUCK WHICH HIGHLY UNLIKELY. ONE WEEK LATER I HAD THE WINDOW REPLACED AND THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED ME THAT THIS WAS THE 37TH REAR WINDOW HE HAS REPLACED SINCE DECEMBER OF 2013 AND THAT IT IS A ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT IS CAUSING THE WINDOWS TO LITTERALY EXPLODE. AFTER RECEIVING THIS INFORMATION I DID SOME REASEARCH ONLINE AND CAME ACROSS F150FORUM.COM WHERE I LEARNED THAT THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING OVER AND OVER AGAIN GOING BACK TO AS FAR AS 2011. I CONTACTED FORD AND FILED A COMPLAINT ( CASE# 4161127-C1J5T0). I ALSO CONTACTED "CRYSTAL' FROM FORD'S SOCIAL MEDIA DEPT WHO HAS BEEN MONTITORING THE FORUMN. SHE WAS REQUESTING VIN NUMBERS OF VEHICLES THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. SHE ULTIMATELY TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING SHE CAN DO BECAUSE I HAD ALREADY HAD A CASE NUMBER WITH FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD TO PAY $500 TO COVER THE REPLACEMENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/7/2014 - LIVONIA, MI
ON 3-12-14 I LEFT WORK AND HEADED HOME, APPROXIMENTLY 5 MINUTES AFTER LEAVING, I HEAR A VERY LOUD BANG TOWARD THE REAR OF MY TRUCK, SIMILAR TO A GUNSHOT. WHEN I GOT HOME, 10 MINUTES LATER TO INSPECT, I NOTICED THAT THE ENTIRE BACK PASSENGER SECTION OF MY WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. I ASSUMED SOMETHING MUST HAVE HIT MY TRUCK, BUT I DIDNT UNDERSTAND HOW THAT WOULD HAPPEN SEEING AS I WAS MOVING FORWARD. IF SOMETHING WOULD HAVE FLOWN UP FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE, IT WOULD HAVE HIT THE BACK OF MY TRUCK WHICH HIGHLY UNLIKELY. ONE WEEK LATER I HAD THE WINDOW REPLACED AND THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED ME THAT THIS WAS THE 37TH REAR WINDOW HE HAS REPLACED SINCE DECEMBER OF 2013 AND THAT IT IS A ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT IS CAUSING THE WINDOWS TO LITTERALY EXPLODE. AFTER RECEIVING THIS INFORMATION I DID SOME REASEARCH ONLINE AND CAME ACROSS F150FORUM.COM WHERE I LEARNED THAT THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING OVER AND OVER AGAIN GOING BACK TO AS FAR AS 2011. I CONTACTED FORD AND FILED A COMPLAINT ( CASE# 4161127-C1J5T0). I ALSO CONTACTED "CRYSTAL' FROM FORD'S SOCIAL MEDIA DEPT WHO HAS BEEN MONTITORING THE FORUMN. SHE WAS REQUESTING VIN NUMBERS OF VEHICLES THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. SHE ULTIMATELY TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING SHE CAN DO BECAUSE I HAD ALREADY HAD A CASE NUMBER WITH FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAVE HAD TO PAY $500 TO COVER THE REPLACEMENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/5/2014 - ABINGDON, MD
DRIVING MY 2010 FORD FX4 WHEN I HEARD A POP FROM THE REAR. THE BACK RIGHT REAR WINDOW GLASS HAD "SPIDER-WEBBED" AND SLIGHTLY SHATTER WITH GLASS FALLING FROM IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/3/2014 - SHEBOYGAN, WI
APPROX 8:30 AM TEMP NEAR 20 DEGREES F. LIGHT SNOW FALLING . I TURNED MY HEATED REAR WINDOW AND MIRRORS ON . AFTER 5 MINUTES OF HEATING I SMELLED BURNING ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS AND THEN A LOUD "POP" NOISE FROM THE REAR OF THE CAB. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE THREE PIECE SLIDER WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED BUT IN PLACE. I CALLED MY LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT GLASS BREAKAGE WASN'T COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTIES ESPECIALLY AT ALMOST 90,000 MILES. I DID PURCHASE THE PLATINUM EXTENDED WARRANTY THROUGH FORD WHEN NEW . AFTER PAYING FOR THE ENTIRE WINDOW AND INSTALL MYSELF... THE LOCAL GLASS COMPANY INSTALLER STATED THAT THIS WAS SOMEWHAT COMMON WITH THESE TRUCKS AND THEY HAVE REPLACED A FEW. I NOW DON'T USE THE HEATED WINDOWS/MIRRORS IN FEAR OF AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR BILL .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ
I WAS DRIVING HOME 3/29/2014. IT WAS LATE AFTERNOON, RAINING AND ABOUT 45-¦F. I HAD MY REAR DEFROSTER ON FOR ABOUT 10 MINS WHEN THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED. IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT SO THE FIRST THING I DID WAS TEST MY BRAKES TO MAKE SURE I COULD STOP, THEN SCANNED THE DASH AND NO WEIRD LIGHTS. IT WAS WHEN I LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW SECONDS LATER THAT I SAW MY PASSENGER SIDE REAR WINDOW (SLIDING REAR WINDOW WITH 3 SECTIONS) WAS SHATTERED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/24/2014 - SANDUSKY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE WINDOW BECAME SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED ONCE BEFORE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2014 - CAPE CORAL, FL
NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION. AFTER COMING HOME FROM A WEEK OF BUSINESS TRAVEL, MY NEIGHBOR CAME OVER TO INFORM ME THAT MY 2010 F150 FX4 WITH THE 5.4 V8 AND 6 SPEED TRANSMISSION WAS LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE DRIVEWAY. AFTER CHECKING UNDER THE TRUCK I LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD FOR THE TRANSMISSION OIL DIP STICK SO I COULD CHECK THE FLUID LEVEL. TO MY SURPRISE, THERE IS NO TRANSMISSION OIL DIP STICK. AFTER LOOKING THRU THE OWNER-++S MANUAL, IT STATES THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS A SEALED TRANSMISSION AND DOESN'T NEED ANY OIL EXCEPT IF THERE IS A PROBLEM. WELL OBVIOUSLY IF THERE IS A LEAK, THERE IS A PROBLEM AND THERE IS NO WAY TO ADD FLUID TO PREVENT AN FAILURE ISSUE. I THEN CONTACT A DEALER NEAR MY GEORGIA HOME AND TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A TRANSMISSION BULKHEAD CONNECTOR SEAL LEAK AND IT WOULD COST $600.00 TO REPAIR. THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS. AFTER LOOKING THRU THE INTERNET, I FOUND THE FORD TSB 11-3-25. FROM MY SEARCH, THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE REPORTING THIS ISSUE. SINCE THE TRANSMISSION COULD LEAK UNTIL IT DOESN'T HAVE ENOUGH FLUID TO MAKE IT WORK PROPERLY, THUS CAUSING DRIVABILITY ISSUES. I WOULD THINK THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE AND BE A RECALL, NOT JUST A TSB. THEREFORE, I'M WRITING YOU THIS EMAIL TO ADVISE YOU OF THIS ISSUE INCASE YOU ARE NOT AWARE OF IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds