Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2010 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (25) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (3) Suspension (12) Visibility (5)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (4) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/25/2015 - LA GRANDE, OR
THE DOORS, RANDOMLY, DO NOT UNLOCK. EVERY DOOR HAS HAD THIS ISSUE...RANDOMLY. THE WEATHER IS NOT THE ISSUE, THIS HAS HAPPENED IN ALL TYPES OF WEATHER. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS , VIA GOOGLE, AND I AM NOT THE FIRST TO REPORT THIS. WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN A RECALL FIX? THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK DOOR HAS NOT UNLOCKED FOR THREE WEEKS. TODAY THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO CLIMB OVER TO EXIT THROUGH THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR...NOT SAFE. I CALLED THE DEALER, NO SURPRISE, THEY HAD HEARD OF THIS ISSUE. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, I EXPECT TO BE CHARGED, BETWEEN $400 & $1200 TO FIX A MANUFACTURES DEFECT...SO VERY WRONG! NOR WILL I BE PAYING FOR IT! AGAIN, WHAT GOOD DOES IT DO TO REPORT THIS THOUSANDS OF TIMES, WHEN THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR AT LEAST 15 YEARS, AT A COST TO THE CONSUMERS?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - LA GRANDE, OR
THE DOORS, RANDOMLY, DO NOT UNLOCK. EVERY DOOR HAS HAD THIS ISSUE...RANDOMLY. THE WEATHER IS NOT THE ISSUE, THIS HAS HAPPENED IN ALL TYPES OF WEATHER. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS , VIA GOOGLE, AND I AM NOT THE FIRST TO REPORT THIS. WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN A RECALL FIX? THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK DOOR HAS NOT UNLOCKED FOR THREE WEEKS. TODAY THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO CLIMB OVER TO EXIT THROUGH THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR...NOT SAFE. I CALLED THE DEALER, NO SURPRISE, THEY HAD HEARD OF THIS ISSUE. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, I EXPECT TO BE CHARGED, BETWEEN $400 & $1200 TO FIX A MANUFACTURES DEFECT...SO VERY WRONG! NOR WILL I BE PAYING FOR IT! AGAIN, WHAT GOOD DOES IT DO TO REPORT THIS THOUSANDS OF TIMES, WHEN THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR AT LEAST 15 YEARS, AT A COST TO THE CONSUMERS?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2015 - MAPLE HEIGHTS, OH
WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR IT JERKS WHEN I DRIVE A CERTAIN MPH.. I WAS ON THE FREE WAY AND IT FELT LIKE I WASN'T GOING TO BE ABLE TO STOP OR DIDN'T NO IF MY CAR WOULD STOP... MY POWER STEERING IS NOT WORKING WHEN I TURN A CORNER IT MAKES A GRINDING NOISE AND WHEN I FOUND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WHICH WAS MY POWER STEERING PUMP I GOT IT FIXED AN NOW THE POWER STEERING LEAKES OUT AN STILL MAKES THE NOISE.. I FEEL REALLY UNSAFE IN MY CAR AN AM AFRAID TO DRIVE WITH MY SON IN IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/22/2015 - MAPLE HEIGHTS, OH
WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR IT JERKS WHEN I DRIVE A CERTAIN MPH.. I WAS ON THE FREE WAY AND IT FELT LIKE I WASN'T GOING TO BE ABLE TO STOP OR DIDN'T NO IF MY CAR WOULD STOP... MY POWER STEERING IS NOT WORKING WHEN I TURN A CORNER IT MAKES A GRINDING NOISE AND WHEN I FOUND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WHICH WAS MY POWER STEERING PUMP I GOT IT FIXED AN NOW THE POWER STEERING LEAKES OUT AN STILL MAKES THE NOISE.. I FEEL REALLY UNSAFE IN MY CAR AN AM AFRAID TO DRIVE WITH MY SON IN IT.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2015 - MAPLE HEIGHTS, OH
WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR IT JERKS WHEN I DRIVE A CERTAIN MPH.. I WAS ON THE FREE WAY AND IT FELT LIKE I WASN'T GOING TO BE ABLE TO STOP OR DIDN'T NO IF MY CAR WOULD STOP... MY POWER STEERING IS NOT WORKING WHEN I TURN A CORNER IT MAKES A GRINDING NOISE AND WHEN I FOUND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WHICH WAS MY POWER STEERING PUMP I GOT IT FIXED AN NOW THE POWER STEERING LEAKES OUT AN STILL MAKES THE NOISE.. I FEEL REALLY UNSAFE IN MY CAR AN AM AFRAID TO DRIVE WITH MY SON IN IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2015 - SAINT CLOUD , FL
WHEN DRIVING THIS CAR AND THE SPEED REACHES ABOUT 40 MPH THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR REDUCES SPEED AND YOU CAN PUSH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY DOWN AND IT WILL GO NO FASTER THAN 30 MPH. THE ONLY FIX IS TO HIT THE TRACTION CONTROL SWITCH ON THE DASH AND THIS TURNS THE TRACTION OFF AND ALLOWS YOU NOT TO GET KILLED. I TOOK IT TO THE SHOP TO SEE IF ANY TROUBLE CODES WOULD POP UP AND THE SCAN SAID THE CAR WAS FINE NO ISSUES. WHEN YOU DRIVE THE CAR IT TELLS A WHOLE DIFFERENT STORY .IT WILL NOT BE LONG UNTIL SOME ONE GETS TO AN INTERSECTION AND A TRUCK IS BARRING DOWN ON THEM AND THE CAR WILL NOT SAFELY ACCELERATE TO GET YOU OUT OF DANGER. I HAVE FOUND NOTHING THAT WILL FIX THIS PROBLEM SO I WILL TRY TO SELL IT BACK TO A DEALERSHIP. SAD THING IS WE STILL OWE $5000. ON IT BUT DON'T FEEL SAFE IN IT. NEW CAR TIME, SKIPPING FORDS THIS TIME UNTIL THEY TAKE SOME ACCOUNTABILITY AND TRY TO FIX THIS ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2015 - SAINT CLOUD , FL
WHEN DRIVING THIS CAR AND THE SPEED REACHES ABOUT 40 MPH THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR REDUCES SPEED AND YOU CAN PUSH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY DOWN AND IT WILL GO NO FASTER THAN 30 MPH. THE ONLY FIX IS TO HIT THE TRACTION CONTROL SWITCH ON THE DASH AND THIS TURNS THE TRACTION OFF AND ALLOWS YOU NOT TO GET KILLED. I TOOK IT TO THE SHOP TO SEE IF ANY TROUBLE CODES WOULD POP UP AND THE SCAN SAID THE CAR WAS FINE NO ISSUES. WHEN YOU DRIVE THE CAR IT TELLS A WHOLE DIFFERENT STORY .IT WILL NOT BE LONG UNTIL SOME ONE GETS TO AN INTERSECTION AND A TRUCK IS BARRING DOWN ON THEM AND THE CAR WILL NOT SAFELY ACCELERATE TO GET YOU OUT OF DANGER. I HAVE FOUND NOTHING THAT WILL FIX THIS PROBLEM SO I WILL TRY TO SELL IT BACK TO A DEALERSHIP. SAD THING IS WE STILL OWE $5000. ON IT BUT DON'T FEEL SAFE IN IT. NEW CAR TIME, SKIPPING FORDS THIS TIME UNTIL THEY TAKE SOME ACCOUNTABILITY AND TRY TO FIX THIS ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2015 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR THE 120K SERVICE. THE SERVICE WAS COMPLETED. A WEEK LATER I TOOK THE CAR BACK AND ASKED THEM THE CHECK A YELLOW CRUSTING UNDER THE DASHBOARD IN THE FRONT PASSENGER FOOTWELL. THEY DID AND SAID THEY DID NOT KNOW WHAT IT WAS OR WHAT WOULD CAUSE IT. A WEEK LATER WE NOTICED A SMELL IN THE CABIN. THE CAR WAS NOW 3 YEARS OLD AND WE HAD HAD A SIMILAR SMELL 18 MONTHS PRIOR THAT COST US $1800 TO REPLACE THE AC CORE. SURELY THIS COULD NOT BE ANOTHER AC CORE PROBLEM. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THEM AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG...EVEN THE SMELL HAD GONE. I TOOK THE CAR AND ON THE WAY HOME I NOTICED THE CAR WAS BEGINNING TO OVERHEAT...FORD WAS ALREADY CLOSED. I PULLED OVER AND CHECKED THE RADIATOR. I TOPPED IT UP AND IT TOOK A GALLON OF WATER. I WATCHED THE LEVEL FOR A FEW MINUTES AND IT DIDN'T MOVE. I DROVE HOME OK AND RECHECKED THE RADIATOR...SAME LEVEL. IT DROVE THE FOLLOWING DAY OK TOO. THEN IN THE EVENING I NOTICED IT WAS GETTING HOT AGAIN. THIS TIME I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY DOING 70MPH AND IT SUDDENLY CUT THE POWER ON THE ENGINE. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE LANE AND HAD TO DODGE TRAFFIC TO COAST TO A HALT ON THE SHOULDER WITH THE ENGINE AT IDLE SPEED AND NO POWER. THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE AND MY FOOT WAS FLOORED, BUT THE ENGINE PRODUCED NO POWER WHATSOEVER...DIDNT EVEN REV HIGH. WHEN I CHECKED THE RADIATOR AGAIN IT WAS VERY LOW AND TOOK ANOTHER GALLON OF WATER. I MANAGED TO DRIVE HOME AGAIN BUT NEITHER THE AC NOR THE HEATER WOULD WORK. WE ALSO NOTICED THE CARPET IN THE PASSENGER FOOTWELL WAS NOW WET AND THE SMELL WAS BACK WITH A VENGANCE. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO FORD AND THEY TOLD ME THE HEATER CORE WAS THE PROBLEM AND HAD CUT THE POWER TO THE ENGING BECAUSE THE CAR WAS OVERHEATING AND TO PREVENT FURTHER DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. IT COST ME ANOTHER $1800 FOR THE HEATER CORE AND THE CARPET TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2015 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR ITS 60K SERVICE AT APPROX 62K. ALL WAS OK. ABOUT 2 DAYS LATER I NOTICED A FUNNY SMELL IN THE CABIN. I PUT IT DOWN TO WHATEVER CHEMICALS THEY USED ON THE 60K SERVICE. ABOUT 3 DAYS LATER THE SMELL WAS GETTING WORSE, BUT ALSO THE AC WASN'T COOLING LIKE IT USED TO AND MY THEN 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER PASSED OUT IN THE CAR BECAUSE OF THE SMELL. I TOOK IT TO FORD AS THE INCIDENT HAPPEND STRIAGHT AFTER THE SERVICE AND THEY SAID NOTHING THEY DID WOULD HAVE CAUSED IT, BUT IT LOOKED LIKE THE AC CORE AND THE SMELL WAS PAG OIL. I TOOK THE CAR TO ANOTHER GARAGE AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NO FREON IN THE AC SYSTEM. THEY RECHARGED THE SYSTEM AFTER CHECKING FOR LEAKS AND NOT FINDING ANY. A WEEK LATER (TWO WEEKS AFTER THE INITIAL SERVICE) THE AC WAS NOT COOLING AGAIN. IT MUST HAVE BEEN SOMETHING FORD DID...AGAIN THERE WAS NO FREON IN THE SYSTEM. THEY GAVE ME THE SAME STORY AND THAT IT WOULD COST ME $1800 TO GET IT FIXED...WHY SHOULD I PAY $1800 ON A CAR THAT'S 18 MONTHS OLD? WELL, BECAUSE I NEEDED THE AC IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SUMMER AND ITS THE ONLY CAR I HAVE. I COMPLAINED TO FORD DIRECTLY ASKED THEM TO PAY HALF THE COST AND THEY SAID I WAS "NOT USING THE AC CORRECTLY" AND AS SUCH WOULD NOT PAY FOR ANYTHING. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO FORD AND THEY SHOWED ME THE "CORRECT WAY TO USE THE AC"...THE SAME WAY I USE THE AC.

View Details

WHEELS

1/19/2015 - TUPELO, MS
I USE TO OWN A 2000 FORD FOCUS AND THE SAMETHING HAPPENED WITH IT..IT WILL CRANK GOOD FOR AWHILE AND THE IT WILL GET HARDER TO CRANK.NOW I OWN A 2010 SAME CAR. AND THE IGNITION DONE GOT HARD TO CRANK..SO I'M THINKING ITS THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR THE AIR BAG DONE SLIPPED..COULD YOU PLEASE ME RESOLVE THUS MATTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds