Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2010 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 167 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (28) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (3) Suspension (12) Visibility (5)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/14/2015 - CASTRO VALLEY, CA
WE OWN A 2010 FORD FOCUS. WHILE MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING HOME FROM HER COLLEGE TOWN AT 75MPH, THE CARE SUDDENLY LOST POWER. LUCKILY THEY WERE ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AT THAT POINT MULTIPLE DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON. THEY STARTED THE CAR AGAIN AND IT IMMEDIATLY DIED. WE HAD IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. BY THE TIME THE REPAIR SHOP HAD A CHANCE TO LOOK AT THE CAR, IT STARTED UP WITHOUT INCIDENT AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. AFTER INCONCLUSIVE DIAGNOSTICS BY THE REPAIR SHOP AND MY RESEARCH ON THIS WEBSITE, WE HAD TO ASSUME IT WAS SIMILAR TO TOO MANY OTHER IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR TO AND FROM COLLEGE, EACH ONE WAY TRIP BEING ABOUT 180 MILES. THIS IS NOT SOMETHING WE COULD "HOPE" WOULD NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. IT SOUNDED LIKE THERE HAVE BEEN TOO MANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS TO NOT HAVE IT REPAIRED. WE HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE THROTTLE BODY AT OUR OWN EXPENSE TO THE TUNE OF ABOUT $800. WE WILL NEVER SPEND ANOTHER DIME ON A FORD PRODUCT. WE BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW SO OUR DAUGHTER WOULD HAVE A SAFE CAR. I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY. I FAIL TO UNDERSTAND HOW A PROBLEM LIKE THIS, WHICH SOUNDS MUCH TO COMMON, CAN BE IGNORED. FORD SHOULD BE FORCED TO ISSUE A RECALL, AS WELL AS REIMBURSE ALL THE CAR OWNERS THAT HAVE PAID OUT OF THEIR OWN POCKETS TO HAVE THIS FIXED. WE ARE GRATEFUL THAT OUR DAUGHTER WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY, BUT IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME UNTIL THIS FACTORY DEFECT CAUSES A ONE OR MORE FATALITIES. WE HAVE LOST ALL CONFIDENCE IN THE FORD MOTO COMPANY FOR NOT STEPPING UP MUCH, MUCH EARLIER TO CORRECT THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/4/2015 - WICHITA, KS
WE OWN A 2010 FORD FOCUS AND FOR THE PAST 6 WEEKS WE HAVE STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR LOSING POWER WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR DOES NOT SHUT OFF BUT ALL ABILITY TO ACCELERATE IS GONE. ONCE WE STOP THE CAR, TURN IT OFF AND RESTART IT, THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE IS RESTORED. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST SIX WEEKS. IT IS ESPECIALLY DANGEROUS WHEN IT HAPPENS ON A FOUR LANE ROAD WHEN THERE IS NO CHANCE TO COAST OVER TO THE SIDE AND YOU HAVE TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF FAST MOVING TRAFFIC, TURN OFF THE VEHICLE AND RESTART IT. IT ALSO HAPPENED WHEN TURNING ONTO A BUSY FOUR LANE ROAD FROM A SHOPPING CENTER. WE WERE TURNING LEFT ACROSS TRAFFIC WITH PLENTY OF ROOM AND TIME TO MAKE THE TURN UNTIL WE LOST ACCELERATION, PUTTING US IN HARMS WAY WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC. FORTUNATELY THE ONCOMING DRIVERS WERE PAYING ATTENTION AND STOPPED WHILE WE WERE STOPPED, TURNING OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTARTING TO REGAIN ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. IN RESEARCHING ONLINE AND TALKING TO THE LOCAL FORD MECHANIC, IT LOOKS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE FORD FOCUS. THE PROBLEM CENTERS AROUND THE THROTTLE BODY AND SENSORS, CAUSING A DISENGAGEMENT WITH THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. SO FAR WE HAVE BEEN FORTUNATE AND HAVE NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT BUT I CAN NO LONGER PUT MY FAMILY IN THIS VEHICLE UNTIL IT IS REPAIRED. IT IS JUST TOO UNSAFE WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2015 - MARBLEHEAD, MA
IN ORDER TO START MY DAUGHTER'S USED 2010 FOCUS THE KEY NEEDS TO BE TURNED TO THE IDIOT LIGHTS AND WAIT UNTIL THE NEEDLES MOVE ON THE TEMP AND FUEL GUAGES AND THE CHIME COMES ON THEN CRANK IT AND IT USUALLY STARTS FIRST TRY BUT IT CAN TAKE 3 TRIES AT THIS PROCEDURE. IT CAN BE SCARY. THE 2010 MANUAL ON PAGE 175 SAYS TURN IT 3/4 (IDIOT LIGHTS) AND WAIT THEN CRANK BUT THE 2008 MANUAL SAID THAT TOO ON PAGE 150 BUT IT WASN'T EVER NECESSARY. 3 FORD DEALERS SAY THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE PROBLEM BEFORE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2015 - MARBLEHEAD, MA
IN ORDER TO START MY DAUGHTER'S USED 2010 FOCUS THE KEY NEEDS TO BE TURNED TO THE IDIOT LIGHTS AND WAIT UNTIL THE NEEDLES MOVE ON THE TEMP AND FUEL GUAGES AND THE CHIME COMES ON THEN CRANK IT AND IT USUALLY STARTS FIRST TRY BUT IT CAN TAKE 3 TRIES AT THIS PROCEDURE. IT CAN BE SCARY. THE 2010 MANUAL ON PAGE 175 SAYS TURN IT 3/4 (IDIOT LIGHTS) AND WAIT THEN CRANK BUT THE 2008 MANUAL SAID THAT TOO ON PAGE 150 BUT IT WASN'T EVER NECESSARY. 3 FORD DEALERS SAY THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE PROBLEM BEFORE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/2/2015 - WOOLCOTT, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS FAILED TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE LATCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2015 - CROSSVILLE , TN
I FILLED OUT A COMPLAINT BOUT IT BACK IN OCT. BUT DUE TO THE CAR ACCIDENT I COULDN'T SPEAK ABOUT THE WREAK DUE TO THE LAWYERS. I STILL HAVE THE INVESTIGATORS INFO WITH ME AND ALSO THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER DANIEL J HILLMAN SAFETY DEFECTS INVESTIGATOR YOUR CONFIRMATION NUMBER (ODI NUMBER) IS: 10655198

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/16/2015 - MANNINGTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL FOUR DOOR LOCKS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE MECHANISM FOR THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS REPLACED, BUT NOW THE THREE OTHER DOORS FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MECHANISM INSIDE THE DOORS NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2015 - MANNINGTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL FOUR DOOR LOCKS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE MECHANISM FOR THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS REPLACED, BUT NOW THE THREE OTHER DOORS FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MECHANISM INSIDE THE DOORS NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/14/2015 - HOPKINS, MN
WHILE DRIVING LATE AT NIGHT 12:30 A.M.FROM WORK ON MN HWY 169 N I WAS EXITING ONTO MN HWY 62 W, SLOWING DOWN TO 20 MILES HR. CAR SLOWS DOWN TO 5 MILES PER HR., WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON. CAR STALLS RPMS WON'T GO BEYOND 2. CAR SPUTTERS & WILL NOT GO FORWARD. PULLED OVER IN A SAFE PLACE BY EXIT RAMP. TURNED OFF CAR & RESTARTED CAR IS FINE. LOOKED UP ON-LINE AND SAW SIMILAR COMPLAINTS INVOLVING THE THROTTLE BODY MALFUNCTION. CALLED MY FORD DEALERSHIP. THEY HAD HEARD OF THIS COMPLIANT. THEY REPAIRED THE PROBLEM FOR $837.19. ON 03/24/15. I BELIEVE FORD MOTOR COMPANY OWES US A RECALL. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC. THE INCIDENT COULD A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. I HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/14/2015 - HOPKINS, MN
WHILE DRIVING LATE AT NIGHT 12:30 A.M.FROM WORK ON MN HWY 169 N I WAS EXITING ONTO MN HWY 62 W, SLOWING DOWN TO 20 MILES HR. CAR SLOWS DOWN TO 5 MILES PER HR., WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON. CAR STALLS RPMS WON'T GO BEYOND 2. CAR SPUTTERS & WILL NOT GO FORWARD. PULLED OVER IN A SAFE PLACE BY EXIT RAMP. TURNED OFF CAR & RESTARTED CAR IS FINE. LOOKED UP ON-LINE AND SAW SIMILAR COMPLAINTS INVOLVING THE THROTTLE BODY MALFUNCTION. CALLED MY FORD DEALERSHIP. THEY HAD HEARD OF THIS COMPLIANT. THEY REPAIRED THE PROBLEM FOR $837.19. ON 03/24/15. I BELIEVE FORD MOTOR COMPANY OWES US A RECALL. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC. THE INCIDENT COULD A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. I HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds