Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2010 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 140 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (23) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (3) Suspension (12) Visibility (5)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (4) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - HOLTWOOD , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE AND WRENCH WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART TO RESUME NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/1/2014 - HOLTWOOD , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE AND WRENCH WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART TO RESUME NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/19/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
I PURCHASED THIS 2010 FORD FOCUS SEL BRAND NEW ON 12/31/09. SOMETIME IN 2012 (I ESTIMATE AROUND 12/13/12), I PURCHASED A NEW SET OF TIRES (APPROXIMATELY $600) AS I NOTICED THE CAR SLIDING AT STOPS AND SKIPPING ON ACCELERATION. I HAD THE CAR IN A FORD DEALERSHIP (JIM KEIM FORD, HILLIARD, OH) AND WAS SHOWN THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR AND HOW THE TIRES WERE WEARING UNEVENLY, WEARING ON THE INSIDE. INTO THE NEXT YEAR, I AGAIN STARTED NOTICING THE UNUSUAL WEAR PATTERN AND HAD TO PURCHASE ANOTHER SET OF TIRES ON 6/27/14 AT 56,000 MILES, $625. ON 6/24/14 I ALSO HAD TO HAVE THE SWAY BAR LINKS REPLACED, $271. I CANNOT FIND THE RECEIPT FOR THE FIRST TIRE PURCHASE, BUT BOB SUMEREL TIRES (614)237-6325 WOULD HAVE PURCHASE RECORD OF BOTH TIRE SETS. MY CAR ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES ON IT NOW AND FOR IT TO BE ON ITS THIRD SET OF TIRES DEFINITELY SAYS EXCESSIVE TIRE WEAR. THIS IS ALSO VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING WITH THESE TIRES WEARING AND IS A CONSTANT WORRY WITH ALL THE CHECKING I DO TO MAKE SURE THE TIRES ARE OK TO DRIVE ON. I WOULD LIKE THIS MONEY REFUNDED (APPROXIMATELY $1500). I HAVE RECEIPTS FOR THE SECOND SET OF TIRES AND THE SWAY BAR LINKS IF YOU NEED TO SEE THEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/19/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
I PURCHASED THIS 2010 FORD FOCUS SEL BRAND NEW ON 12/31/09. SOMETIME IN 2012 (I ESTIMATE AROUND 12/13/12), I PURCHASED A NEW SET OF TIRES (APPROXIMATELY $600) AS I NOTICED THE CAR SLIDING AT STOPS AND SKIPPING ON ACCELERATION. I HAD THE CAR IN A FORD DEALERSHIP (JIM KEIM FORD, HILLIARD, OH) AND WAS SHOWN THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR AND HOW THE TIRES WERE WEARING UNEVENLY, WEARING ON THE INSIDE. INTO THE NEXT YEAR, I AGAIN STARTED NOTICING THE UNUSUAL WEAR PATTERN AND HAD TO PURCHASE ANOTHER SET OF TIRES ON 6/27/14 AT 56,000 MILES, $625. ON 6/24/14 I ALSO HAD TO HAVE THE SWAY BAR LINKS REPLACED, $271. I CANNOT FIND THE RECEIPT FOR THE FIRST TIRE PURCHASE, BUT BOB SUMEREL TIRES (614)237-6325 WOULD HAVE PURCHASE RECORD OF BOTH TIRE SETS. MY CAR ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES ON IT NOW AND FOR IT TO BE ON ITS THIRD SET OF TIRES DEFINITELY SAYS EXCESSIVE TIRE WEAR. THIS IS ALSO VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING WITH THESE TIRES WEARING AND IS A CONSTANT WORRY WITH ALL THE CHECKING I DO TO MAKE SURE THE TIRES ARE OK TO DRIVE ON. I WOULD LIKE THIS MONEY REFUNDED (APPROXIMATELY $1500). I HAVE RECEIPTS FOR THE SECOND SET OF TIRES AND THE SWAY BAR LINKS IF YOU NEED TO SEE THEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/17/2014 - ROMEO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS S. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD DECELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/16/2014 - GLADE SPRING, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING ROUGH. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER AND THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - COOS BAY, OR
WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH ENGINE SHUT OFF AND AFTER STOPPING AND ATTEMPTING TO RESTART THE ENGINE WOULD ONLY SPUTTER. AFTER A FEW MINUTES IT DID RESTART AND AS WE WERE 120 MILES FROM HOME THIS EVENT REOCCURRED A DOZEN OR MORE TIMES WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATING AFTER 7 INSTANCES OF STALLING. THE REPAIR SHOP WE TOOK IT TO FOUND THAT THE THROTTLE BODY WAS DEFECTIVE AND MADE THE REPAIR. AS SOME DEAL WAS APPARENTLY MADE BETWEEN THE MANUFACTURER OF THE VEHICLE AND THE GOVERNMENT AGENCY RESPONSIBLE FOR ASSURING MY SAFETY IN ORDER TO MAXIMIZE COMPANY PROFITS AT MY EXPENSE I AM NONE THE LESS MAKING A REPORT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - COOS BAY, OR
WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH ENGINE SHUT OFF AND AFTER STOPPING AND ATTEMPTING TO RESTART THE ENGINE WOULD ONLY SPUTTER. AFTER A FEW MINUTES IT DID RESTART AND AS WE WERE 120 MILES FROM HOME THIS EVENT REOCCURRED A DOZEN OR MORE TIMES WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATING AFTER 7 INSTANCES OF STALLING. THE REPAIR SHOP WE TOOK IT TO FOUND THAT THE THROTTLE BODY WAS DEFECTIVE AND MADE THE REPAIR. AS SOME DEAL WAS APPARENTLY MADE BETWEEN THE MANUFACTURER OF THE VEHICLE AND THE GOVERNMENT AGENCY RESPONSIBLE FOR ASSURING MY SAFETY IN ORDER TO MAXIMIZE COMPANY PROFITS AT MY EXPENSE I AM NONE THE LESS MAKING A REPORT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/25/2014 - BRIDGEPORT, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED ON ITS OWN AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING AND MAINTENANCE WRENCH INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,800.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/22/2014 - LYNNWOOD, WA
SIMILAR TO MAN OF THE COMPLAINTS ON THIS VEHICLE; IT ENDED UP BEING THE THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. MY MOTHER-IN-LAW WAS DRIVING AND IT SUDDENLY WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. A CAR ALMOST REAR-ENDED HER. SHE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. SHE NOTICED THAT THE "WRENCH" LIGHT WAS ON. SHE STARTED IT UP AND "LIMPED" TO THE FORD DEALER. ABOUT $700 LATER, THE THROTTLE BODY WAS CHANGED. THERE IS ONLY 30,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND SHE BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. SHE IS QUITE UPSET ABOUT HAVING TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR, AND I DON'T BLAME HER. THIS SHOULD BE PART OF THE POWER TRAIN, OR UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERAGE THAT WAS APPLIED TO SOME OF THE OTHER FORD AND MERCURY VEHICLES THAT HAD THE SAME THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. HOW MANY INCIDENTS OR COMPLAINTS DOES IT NEED TO TAKE TO HAVE FORD APPLY THE SAME COVERAGE TO THE FOCUS? DO THEY HAVE TO WAIT TILL PEOPLE GET BADLY HURT? THIS IS RIDICULOUS. PLEASE TAKE CARE OF IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds