Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2010 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 146 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (23) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (3) Suspension (12) Visibility (5)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (4) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/16/2014 - MILROY, PA
THE BACK DOOR LOCKS WILL NOT UNLOCK; I HAVE TRIED TO CHANGE THE "CHILD PROOF LOCK" TO BE DISENGAGED, BUT HOW DO YOU GET THE DOOR OPEN TO EVEN CHANGE IT IF THE DOOR WON'T UNLOCK. THIS HAPPENS ON AND OFF; NOT ALL THE TIME; SOMETIMES THE DOOR WILL OPEN; SOMETIMES THEY WON'T. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IF YOU NEEDED TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE IN AN EMERGENCY. WAS THERE A RECALL ON THESE DOORS? THANK YOU.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

12/12/2014 - DREXEL , MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH THE REAR AND FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE DOORS FAILED TO OPEN. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/12/2014 - DREXEL , MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH THE REAR AND FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE DOORS FAILED TO OPEN. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2014 - GRAND HAVEN, MI
THE DASHBOARD DISPLAY INCORRECTLY STATES THAT THE DRIVERS DOOR IS OPEN WHEN IT ISN'T. THIS CAUSES THE DASHBOARD DISPLAY TO "LOCK" AND I CAN NO LONGER SEE THE ODOMETER OR THE MILEAGE. FURTHERMORE THE INTERIOR LIGHTS CONTINUOUSLY STAY ON EVEN WHEN TRAVELING DOWN THE ROAD (THIS RESULTS IN A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE INTERIOR LIGHTS MAKE IT DIFFICULT TO SEE THE ROAD AT NIGHT). ALSO, THE INCORRECT OPEN DOOR CONDITION DOES NOT ALLOW ME TO LOCK ANY OF THE DOORS (ANOTHER SAFETY DEFECT), AS SOON AS I LOCK THE DOOR THEY ALL AUTOMATICALLY UNLOCK! OBVIOUSLY FORD HAS OVERSTATED THE INCORRECT OPEN DOOR CONDITION WHICH THEREBY CAUSES UNDUE SAFETY ISSUES THAT CAN NOT BE CORRECTED BY THE DRIVER/OPERATOR. I UNDERSTAND THE VALUE OF HAVING A DASHBOARD DISPLAY MONITOR FOR A OPEN DOOR CONDITION, HOWEVER THIS SHOULD NOT FURTHER CAUSE SAFETY ISSUES THAT PREVENT THE IMMEDIATE OPERATION OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
MY 2010 FORD FOCUS WILL FREQUENTLY EXPERIENCE A VERY ROUGH IDLE, AND WILL ALMOST STALL WHILE STATIONARY. THIS HAPPENS ALMOST IMMEDIATELY AFTER SLOWING DOWN. MY LOCAL FORD DEALER SEEMS TO BE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, THEY SAID THEY CAN REPLACE MY THROTTLE BODY WITH AN "UPDATED VERSION THAT DOESN'T STICK". IF THIS IS A SYSTEMATIC SAFETY PROBLEM, A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/15/2014 - CROSSVILLE, TN
I WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION. THE SEAT AIR BAG WENT OFF AS WELL AS THE SIDE CURTAIN ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. THE ONLY THING I HAVE TO COMPLAIN ABOUT IS WHEN THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED ON THE STEERING WHEEL IT BROKE IN THE MIDDLE. NOW I HAVE A V SHAPE CUT (HAD TO GET 16 STITCHES). I DON'T BELIEVE IT SHOULD HAVE BROKEN THE WAY IT DID. NOW I HAVE A SCAR ON MY FOREHEAD. I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2014 - FRESNO, CA
I STARTED FEELING A VIBRATION WHEN STOPPED AND WHEN DRIVING, ABOUT 1 MONTH BEFORE I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER. THE VIBRATIONS STARTED GETTING WORSE AS TIME WENT BY. THE SERVICE TECH AT LITHIA FORD FRESNO, CA IMMEDIATELY SAID THAT IT WAS A MOTOR MOUNT. FORTUNATELY FOR ME IT WAS STILL UNDER THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY AND NOT THE TIME ONE. STILL I HAD TO BUY 2 FRONT TIRES WHICH COST $270.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - HOLTWOOD , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE AND WRENCH WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART TO RESUME NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/1/2014 - HOLTWOOD , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE AND WRENCH WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART TO RESUME NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/19/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
I PURCHASED THIS 2010 FORD FOCUS SEL BRAND NEW ON 12/31/09. SOMETIME IN 2012 (I ESTIMATE AROUND 12/13/12), I PURCHASED A NEW SET OF TIRES (APPROXIMATELY $600) AS I NOTICED THE CAR SLIDING AT STOPS AND SKIPPING ON ACCELERATION. I HAD THE CAR IN A FORD DEALERSHIP (JIM KEIM FORD, HILLIARD, OH) AND WAS SHOWN THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR AND HOW THE TIRES WERE WEARING UNEVENLY, WEARING ON THE INSIDE. INTO THE NEXT YEAR, I AGAIN STARTED NOTICING THE UNUSUAL WEAR PATTERN AND HAD TO PURCHASE ANOTHER SET OF TIRES ON 6/27/14 AT 56,000 MILES, $625. ON 6/24/14 I ALSO HAD TO HAVE THE SWAY BAR LINKS REPLACED, $271. I CANNOT FIND THE RECEIPT FOR THE FIRST TIRE PURCHASE, BUT BOB SUMEREL TIRES (614)237-6325 WOULD HAVE PURCHASE RECORD OF BOTH TIRE SETS. MY CAR ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES ON IT NOW AND FOR IT TO BE ON ITS THIRD SET OF TIRES DEFINITELY SAYS EXCESSIVE TIRE WEAR. THIS IS ALSO VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING WITH THESE TIRES WEARING AND IS A CONSTANT WORRY WITH ALL THE CHECKING I DO TO MAKE SURE THE TIRES ARE OK TO DRIVE ON. I WOULD LIKE THIS MONEY REFUNDED (APPROXIMATELY $1500). I HAVE RECEIPTS FOR THE SECOND SET OF TIRES AND THE SWAY BAR LINKS IF YOU NEED TO SEE THEM. THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds