Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2010 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 493 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (118) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (63) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (9) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (40) Structure (23) Visibility (14)
Engine (90) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (54) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (5) Wheels (12)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2017 - MADISON, NJ
I WAS UNABLE TO OPEN THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR, EVEN AFTER UNLOCKING THE DOOR. THIS COULD BE AN EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH, SHOULD EMERGENCY RESPONDERS NEED TO GAIN IMMEDIATE ACCESS TO THE CAR AND A PASSENGER WAS UNRESPONSIVE. THE POWER DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR FAILED, WHICH CAUSES THE DOOR LOCK TO STAY ENGAGED EVEN AFTER UNLOCKING THE CAR USING THE REMOTE FOB AND USING THE POWER LOCK BUTTON ON THE DOOR. THE ONLY WAY TO UNLOCK THE DOOR IS TO MANUALLY FLIP THE INTERIOR DOOR LOCK SWITCH. THIS IS THE SECOND POWER DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR TO FAIL, AND MY CAR HAS LESS THAN 93,000 MILES ON IT. THE POWER DOOR LOCKS SHOULD LAST THE LIFE OF THE CAR, AND DOORS THAT STAY LOCKED ARE AN EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD. HONDA CHARGES $298, PER ACTUATOR, MAKING COMPLETE REPAIR CLOSE TO $1,200. MY GUESS IS MOST PEOPLE WOULD CHOOSE TO LIVE WITH THE ISSUE RATHER THAN PAY THE HIGH REPAIR COST, BUT THEY DON'T THINK ABOUT WHAT COULD HAPPEN IF THEY ARE UNRESPONSIVE, THE CAR IS IN FLAMES, AND THE DOORS WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. I SPOKE WITH HONDA CORPORATE ABOUT THE ISSUE, AND THEY PROVIDED NO RESPONSE. THEY JUST SAID "WE DOCUMENT YOUR CALL." VERY FRUSTRATING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2017 - UPLAND, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE COMING TO A STOP OR APPLYING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AFTER A COMPLETE STOP, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND STALLED. THE BATTERY AND OIL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RESEARCHED THE FAILURE ONLINE AND FOUND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V004000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 106,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2017 - UPLAND, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE COMING TO A STOP OR APPLYING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AFTER A COMPLETE STOP, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND STALLED. THE BATTERY AND OIL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RESEARCHED THE FAILURE ONLINE AND FOUND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V004000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 106,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/10/2017 - ARLINGTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (VANDERGRIFF HONDA LOCATED AT 1104 W INTERSTATE 20, ARLINGTON, TX 76017; (817) 533-4266) WHO STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY AND WOULD LET THE CONTACT KNOW WHEN THE PARTS BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2017 - LEXINGTON, NC
WHEN THIS PROBLEM FIRST HAPPENED THE CAR HAS A GRINDING NOISE AT COLD START CAR IS SITTING STILL, VEHICLE IS NOW PRODUCING GRINDING NOISE AT START AND AT TAKE OFF, AT VARIOUS INTERVALS. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND ADVISED BY A MECHANIC THIS IS CALLED THE VTC ACUATOR AND SEEMS TO BE COMMON IN 2008 TO 2011 HONDA ACCORD'S.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2017 - SILVER SPRING, MD
ENGINE MAKES A RATTLING SOUND ON COLD START, THEN DISAPPEARS. THIS ISSUE BEGAN AFTER MY PREVIOUS OIL CHANGE, PERFORMED BY HONDA. ON FURTHER INVESTIGATION THE SOUND IS THE CAUSED BY THE VTC ACTUATOR. THE HONDA TECHNICIAN CONFIRMED THAT DIAGNOSTIC, HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP STATES THAT MY VEHICLE ISN'T COVERED UNDER THE SERVICE BULLETIN A09-010 MARCH 17, 2016 01607 VERSION 4, TO INCLUDE 2008-2012 ACCORD ALL TRIMS AND VIN RANGES. I WAS INFORMED THAT ALTHOUGH MY VEHICLE MEETS THOSE SPECIFICATIONS, MY VIN IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY CLAIM INFORMATION, EVEN THOUGH MIN IS A PZEV 15-150K MILES POWER TRAIN VEHICLE. I REPORTED THE ISSUE AT 144,000 MILES AND IF I WANTED IT REPAIRED IT WOULD COST NEARLY $1900 PARTS AND LABOR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2017 - AVON LAKE, OH
ACCORD V6 WITH VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM). AT EXACTLY 65,000 MILES, IN EXPRESSWAY RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, IMMEDIATE CATASTROPHIC POWER LOSS AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. TOW TO HONDA DEALER. DEALER RECEIPT SHOWS CODE P3400 FOUND AND DEALER REPLACED REAR OIL PRESSURE SENSOR. CAR OWNER SUGGESTS THAT AN OIL CHANGE MIGHT BE IN ORDER DUE TO EVENT. ONCE HOME, OWNER FINDS OIL OVERFILLED. THIS VEHICLE IS PART OF CLASS ACTION ENGINE MISFIRE SETTLEMENT. DEALER DID NOT REPORT ANY OTHER ERROR CODES, THAT IS, THOSE THAT ARE COVERED UNDER THE SETTLEMENT. AMERICAN HONDA HAS DECLINED THE OWNER'S REQUEST TO HAVE THE ENGINE PERFORMANCE REVIEWED WITH THE VEHICLE OWNER AND AN AMERICAN HONDA REGIONAL SERVICE MANAGER PRESENT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION WITH EARLY REPLACEMENT OF SPARK PLUGS IN 2010 HONDA ACCORD V6. ALL SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED AROUND 65K MILES DUE TO AN "COMPUTER ISSUE" ACCORDING TO MY LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP. I WAS INFORMED AT THE TIME THAT THE WARRANTY HAD BEEN EXTENDED TO COVER THE COMPUTER ISSUE NOT AN OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE. WAS ALSO INFORMED THE ISSUE WAS FIXED. THE OIL IS NOW CHANGED EVERY 3K MILES (WHICH DIFFERS FROM RECOMMENDATIONS FROM HONDA TO CHANGE THE OIL ACCORDING TO THE MAINTENANCE MINDER VARYING BETWEEN 4K AND 5K MILES) AND HAVING TO ADD .5 TO A FULL QUART OF OIL EVERY THOUSAND MILES. THERE HAVE BEEN NO OIL STAINS WHERE I PARK ON A REGULAR BASIS, LEADING TO BELIEVE IT IS NOT LEAKING BUT BURNING OR BEING CONSUMED. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON MULTIPLE TIMES AND USUALLY PULLS THE CODE THAT A CYLINDER IS MISFIRING. THE OIL LIGHT NEVER COMES ON EVEN WHEN THE OIL BARLEY READS ON THE DIP STICK. THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR OVER 2 YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2017 - SAN RAMON, CA
CAR STALLED IN MIDDLE OF ROAD WITH ENGINE LIGHT ON. UPON CHECKING MECHANIC FOUND THAT THERE WAS HARDLY ANY OIL LEFT. LOW OIL LIGHT DIDN'T LIGHT UP AS IT SHOULD. THIS WAS VERY STRANGE AS I MAINTAIN MY VEHICLE REAL WELL WITH REGULAR OIL CHANGES ETC. UPON RESEARCHING ONLINE IT SEEMS HONDA CARS CONSUMING OIL IS TOP ISSUE REPORTED BY CONSUMERS, CHECK THIS FORUM... HTTP://WWW.HONDAPROBLEMS.COM/TRENDS/EXCESSIVE-OIL-CONSUMPTION/ THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AND HONDA AGREED TO FIX ISSUE VIA SOFTWARE UPGRADE, PLEASE REFER TO TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB #11-033) IN JULY OF 2011 THAT ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, ONLY CERTAIN V6 MODELS WERE COVERED AND V4 ETC. WERE NOT COVERED APART FROM OTHER MODELS. THERE IS NO DOUBT IN MY MIND, I BEING AN ENGINEER, THAT THIS IS SAME ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO EXPAND IT INVESTIGATION TO AND RECALL/FIX IT. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND WE ARE BLESSED THAT OUR VEHICLE DIDN'T STALL ON FREEWAY, EVEN THOUGH IT STALLED ON SURFACE STREET DURING COMMUTE HOURS AND WE WERE LUCKY TO BE NOT HIT. I REQUEST NHTSA TO REVIEW THIS ISSUE IMMEDIATELY IN INTEREST OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND TAKE APPROPRIATE ACTION. I HAVE ALSO NOTIFIED HONDA USA OF THIS ISSUE. AWAITING A RESPONSE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2017 - TIVERTON, RI
BURNS EXCESSIVE OIL. ENGINE SHUDDERED. FLASHED PCM CHANGED PLUGS, OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. SAID FIXED. IT IS NOT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds