Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA INSIGHT - 2010 HONDA INSIGHT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 36 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (3) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/26/2014 - KINGWOOD, TX
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING PLACE AT A NEIGHBORHOOD GROCERY STORE, I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND THE CAR ACCELERATED WITH A HUGE LUNGE INTO THE CAR FACING ME. IF THE OTHER VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN A LARGE VAN I WOULD HAVE NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE CAR BECAUSE AT THAT POINT I LOST COMPLETE CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. JUST THINKING OF WHAT 'MIGHT HAVE BEEN' IS TERRIFYING! IN SEARCHING THE INTERNET I FOUND AT LEAST FOUR OF THESE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION ACCOUNTS..... SAME CAR, SAME YEAR, SAME MODEL. NO RECALL YET BUT THERE SHOULD BE. DAMAGE IS EXPECTED TO BE AROUND $5K.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/26/2014 - KINGWOOD, TX
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING PLACE AT A NEIGHBORHOOD GROCERY STORE, I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND THE CAR ACCELERATED WITH A HUGE LUNGE INTO THE CAR FACING ME. IF THE OTHER VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN A LARGE VAN I WOULD HAVE NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE CAR BECAUSE AT THAT POINT I LOST COMPLETE CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. JUST THINKING OF WHAT 'MIGHT HAVE BEEN' IS TERRIFYING! IN SEARCHING THE INTERNET I FOUND AT LEAST FOUR OF THESE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION ACCOUNTS..... SAME CAR, SAME YEAR, SAME MODEL. NO RECALL YET BUT THERE SHOULD BE. DAMAGE IS EXPECTED TO BE AROUND $5K.

View Details

STEERING

3/28/2014 - GLENDALE, CA
A BOLT THAT ATTACHES THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE STEERING COLUMN WAS FOUND TO BE LOOSE DURING A VEHICLE REPAIR. (I BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR REPAIR TO A HONDA DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT BECAUSE THE STEERING DIDN'T FEEL RIGHT AND MADE UNUSUAL SOUNDS DURING VEHICLE OPERATION.) DESPITE MY HAVING AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE VEHICLE (AND THE MALFUNCTION BEING A CLEAR SAFETY ISSUE), HONDA REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR PERFORMED BY A HONDA DEALERSHIP. "VALERIE," AN EMPLOYEE OF THE HONDA SERVICE CONTRACT DEPARTMENT (SHE WOULDN'T GIVE HER LAST NAME), SAID THE STEERING ISSUE WAS CONSIDERED AN "ADJUSTMENT" AND THEREFORE NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT, FOR ITS PART, SAID THE BOLT WAS AT RISK OF BECOMING LOOSER AND IMPAIRING STEERING OF THE VEHICLE IF THE REPAIR WERE NOT MADE.

View Details

SEATS

2/22/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NJ
I BOUGHT HONDA INSIGHT 2010 LX MODEL BACK IN JAN 2011. CAR SEATS ARE VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND CAUSES PAIN IN THE BACK. I HAVE BEEN HAVING ON SCALE 1 TO 10 LEVEL, AROUND 1, PAIN IN MY LOWER BACK BODY. I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST HONDA CAR SEAT CONDITIONS AND LIKE SOME ACTION TO BE TAKEN.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2013 - CARROLLTON, TX
WHILE BRAKING HARD TO AVOID IMPACTING VEHICLE STOPPED ON HIGHWAY SEAT BELTS LOCKED UP AND NOW WILL NOT RELEASE. HONDA DIAGNOSTIC INCORRECTLY STATES SRS SYSTEM WAS TRIGGERED BY IMPACT - CAR SUSTAINED NO DAMAGE. RECOMMENDATION IS TO REPLACE FRONT SEAT BELTS AT $345.62 EACH AND SRS CONTROL UNIT AT $680.42, PLUS LABOR. AMERICAN HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE STATES THAT THE SEAT BELT SYSTEM PERFORMED AS IT SHOULD. IT IS LOGICAL FOR PASSIVE RESTRAINTS, LIKE AIR BAGS, TO WORK ONLY ONCE, BUT ILLOGICAL FOR SEAT BELTS TO FAIL AFTER ONE USE. APPARENTLY HONDA CONSIDERS SEAT BELTS THAT WORKS ONCE A SUCCESS. IN FACT THIS ACTIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILED AFTER ONE USE, LEAVING HONDA DRIVERS UNABLE TO OBEY THE LAW AND BUCKLE UP WHILE DRIVING BEFORE THEY PAY $1500+ FOR AVOIDING A COLLISION!

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

9/26/2013 - MONTGOMERY, OH
I AM DRIVING THIS HONDA INSIGHT FROM LAST 2 YEARS AND LATELY I FOUND THAT WHEN I DRIVE ON HIGHWAY AT THE SPEED MORE THAN 60 AND OPEN THE REAR WINDOW PANES THE CAR MAKES LOT OF NOISE AND SHAKES. WHEN I REACHED OUT TO HONDA DEALER PER THE DEALER THAT IS BUFFETS ONLY, I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THE EVALUATION DONE BY THE SERVICE MANAGER AT THE DEALERSHIP, AND HONDA ALWAYS SENDING ME TO DEALER FOR THE REVIEW.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/13/2013 - SHERRILLS FORD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, HE BECAME INVOLVED IN A CRASH AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BRUISE SPINAL CORD, MULTIPLE FRACTURES IN THE VERTEBRAE, BROKEN RIBS, COLLAR BONE FRACTURE LACERATIONS, AND A STOMACH PUNCTURE IN THE LARGE INTESTINE. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED BROKEN RIBS, A COLLAR BONE FRACTURE, A FRACTURED VERTEBRAE, PARALYSIS ON RIGHT SIDE AND A FRACTURED JAW. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/26/2013 - PALMYRA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH TAIL LIGHTS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE DRIVER'S SIDE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED BUT NOT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/18/2013 - VAIL, AZ
THE CAR WAS TRAVELING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED (<10 MPH) IN A PARKING LOT WITH THE DRIVER ATTEMPTING TO MANEUVER THE CAR INTO A PARKING SPACE. THE DRIVER WAS APPLYING NO PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL; THE CAR WAS IN DECELERATION. WHEN THE DRIVER STEPPED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP, THE ENGINE ACCELERATED AND THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY. AS A RESULT, THE CAR WENT OVER THE PARKING BARRIER INTO THE BASE OF A PARKING LIGHT CAUSING SIGNIFICANT FRONT END DAMAGE TO THE CAR ($6,000). THE DRIVER HAS EXPERIENCED A FEW OTHER SITUATIONS WHERE THE CAR ACTED IN A SIMILAR MANNER. WE BELIEVE THIS UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION ISSUE POSES A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. WE ARE WORKING WITH THE LOCAL HONDA SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO ISOLATE AND FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/18/2013 - VAIL, AZ
THE CAR WAS TRAVELING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED (<10 MPH) IN A PARKING LOT WITH THE DRIVER ATTEMPTING TO MANEUVER THE CAR INTO A PARKING SPACE. THE DRIVER WAS APPLYING NO PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL; THE CAR WAS IN DECELERATION. WHEN THE DRIVER STEPPED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP, THE ENGINE ACCELERATED AND THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY. AS A RESULT, THE CAR WENT OVER THE PARKING BARRIER INTO THE BASE OF A PARKING LIGHT CAUSING SIGNIFICANT FRONT END DAMAGE TO THE CAR ($6,000). THE DRIVER HAS EXPERIENCED A FEW OTHER SITUATIONS WHERE THE CAR ACTED IN A SIMILAR MANNER. WE BELIEVE THIS UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION ISSUE POSES A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. WE ARE WORKING WITH THE LOCAL HONDA SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO ISOLATE AND FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds