Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA INSIGHT - 2010 HONDA INSIGHT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 39 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (4)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/8/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS IN A VERY MINOR ACCIDENT ON 12/6/14 AT APPROXIMATELY 6:00 PM IN AUSTIN, TX (ON LOOP 1 NEAR FM 2222). I REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY BECAUSE I WAS NOT GOING FAST ENOUGH (I GUESS). HOWEVER, THE COMPUTER INDICATED THE AIR BAGS WERE DISABLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WAS LOCKED MAKING IT INOPERABLE. ALTHOUGH THE CAR WAS DRIVEABLE, THE INOPERABLE AIRBAGS AND SEAT BELT MADE THE CAR EXTREMELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE. BEING THAT IT WAS SATURDAY EVENING, I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE IT. I AM VERY UPSET THAT HONDA PUT ME IN THIS SITUATION. ACCORDING TO OTHER HONDA OWNERS WHO HAVE HAD MINOR FRONT END COLLISIONS, THIS IS THE STANDARD CAR RESPONSE. THIS NEEDS TO BE RECTIFIED. IT IS NOT ONLY A RACKET THAT FORCES HONDA OWNERS TO TAKE THEIR CARS TO THE DEALERSHIP, IT ALSO JEOPARDIZES OUR SAFETY.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/8/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS IN A VERY MINOR ACCIDENT ON 12/6/14 AT APPROXIMATELY 6:00 PM IN AUSTIN, TX (ON LOOP 1 NEAR FM 2222). I REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY BECAUSE I WAS NOT GOING FAST ENOUGH (I GUESS). HOWEVER, THE COMPUTER INDICATED THE AIR BAGS WERE DISABLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WAS LOCKED MAKING IT INOPERABLE. ALTHOUGH THE CAR WAS DRIVEABLE, THE INOPERABLE AIRBAGS AND SEAT BELT MADE THE CAR EXTREMELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE. BEING THAT IT WAS SATURDAY EVENING, I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE IT. I AM VERY UPSET THAT HONDA PUT ME IN THIS SITUATION. ACCORDING TO OTHER HONDA OWNERS WHO HAVE HAD MINOR FRONT END COLLISIONS, THIS IS THE STANDARD CAR RESPONSE. THIS NEEDS TO BE RECTIFIED. IT IS NOT ONLY A RACKET THAT FORCES HONDA OWNERS TO TAKE THEIR CARS TO THE DEALERSHIP, IT ALSO JEOPARDIZES OUR SAFETY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TAIL LIGHTS

11/21/2014 - FOSTER CITY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT BURNED OUT WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TAIL LIGHT WAS IN THE PROCESS OF FAILING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE REAR TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/4/2014 - BRADENTON, FL
VEHICLE PURCHASED 07/12/2010 WITH 520MI ON ODOMETER ON 3 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS A WHEEL SENSOR FOR THE TPMS HAS FAILED. THE FIRST TWO WERE REPLACED UNDER VEHICLE WARRANTY, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HENDRICK HONDA OF BRADENTON FLORIDA ( THE ONLY SHOP TO DO ANY WORK ON THIS VEHICLE!) ON 09/04/2014 I TOOK IT IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THE TPMS ERROR THAT I'M SO GETTING USED TO...THE SERVICE ADVISER STATED IT WOULD COST OVER $200 DOLLAR TO REPLACE (NOT IN THE BUDGET THIS WEEK). HE WOULD NOT TELL ME WHICH WHEEL HAD THE BAD SENSOR ( I JUST WANTED TO KNOW IF IT WAS A NEW FAIL OR AN OLD ONE) SHOP WOULD NOT GIVE ME THAT INFORMATION!!!! I ASKED FOR THE TPMS SYSTEM TO BE DISABLED AND WAS TOLD THAT IT CANNOT BE....IT IS FEDERALLY MANDATED SYSTEM...NOW ONE WOULD THINK THE WHEEL SENSORS ARE PART OF THE MANDATED SYSTEM RIGHT? NO, THEY ARE NOT SAID THE SERVICE ADVISER ...A FEDERALLY MANDATED SYSTEM WOULD BY DESCRIPTION BE EQUAL TO THE SUM OF ALL OF IT'S PARTS CORRECT??? NO EVEN THIS BEING THE THIRD FAILURE IN 4 YEARS THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE A MAJOR PART OF THE VEHICLES SAFETY SYSTEM WITH A PATTERN OF FAILING. SO NOW THEY CROSS ROTATED THE TIRES, AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHICH IS THE BAD WHEEL....SAFETY FIRST

View Details

WHEELS

9/4/2014 - BRADENTON, FL
VEHICLE PURCHASED 07/12/2010 WITH 520MI ON ODOMETER ON 3 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS A WHEEL SENSOR FOR THE TPMS HAS FAILED. THE FIRST TWO WERE REPLACED UNDER VEHICLE WARRANTY, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HENDRICK HONDA OF BRADENTON FLORIDA ( THE ONLY SHOP TO DO ANY WORK ON THIS VEHICLE!) ON 09/04/2014 I TOOK IT IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THE TPMS ERROR THAT I'M SO GETTING USED TO...THE SERVICE ADVISER STATED IT WOULD COST OVER $200 DOLLAR TO REPLACE (NOT IN THE BUDGET THIS WEEK). HE WOULD NOT TELL ME WHICH WHEEL HAD THE BAD SENSOR ( I JUST WANTED TO KNOW IF IT WAS A NEW FAIL OR AN OLD ONE) SHOP WOULD NOT GIVE ME THAT INFORMATION!!!! I ASKED FOR THE TPMS SYSTEM TO BE DISABLED AND WAS TOLD THAT IT CANNOT BE....IT IS FEDERALLY MANDATED SYSTEM...NOW ONE WOULD THINK THE WHEEL SENSORS ARE PART OF THE MANDATED SYSTEM RIGHT? NO, THEY ARE NOT SAID THE SERVICE ADVISER ...A FEDERALLY MANDATED SYSTEM WOULD BY DESCRIPTION BE EQUAL TO THE SUM OF ALL OF IT'S PARTS CORRECT??? NO EVEN THIS BEING THE THIRD FAILURE IN 4 YEARS THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE A MAJOR PART OF THE VEHICLES SAFETY SYSTEM WITH A PATTERN OF FAILING. SO NOW THEY CROSS ROTATED THE TIRES, AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHICH IS THE BAD WHEEL....SAFETY FIRST

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/26/2014 - KINGWOOD, TX
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING PLACE AT A NEIGHBORHOOD GROCERY STORE, I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND THE CAR ACCELERATED WITH A HUGE LUNGE INTO THE CAR FACING ME. IF THE OTHER VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN A LARGE VAN I WOULD HAVE NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE CAR BECAUSE AT THAT POINT I LOST COMPLETE CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. JUST THINKING OF WHAT 'MIGHT HAVE BEEN' IS TERRIFYING! IN SEARCHING THE INTERNET I FOUND AT LEAST FOUR OF THESE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION ACCOUNTS..... SAME CAR, SAME YEAR, SAME MODEL. NO RECALL YET BUT THERE SHOULD BE. DAMAGE IS EXPECTED TO BE AROUND $5K.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/26/2014 - KINGWOOD, TX
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING PLACE AT A NEIGHBORHOOD GROCERY STORE, I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE AND THE CAR ACCELERATED WITH A HUGE LUNGE INTO THE CAR FACING ME. IF THE OTHER VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN A LARGE VAN I WOULD HAVE NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE CAR BECAUSE AT THAT POINT I LOST COMPLETE CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. JUST THINKING OF WHAT 'MIGHT HAVE BEEN' IS TERRIFYING! IN SEARCHING THE INTERNET I FOUND AT LEAST FOUR OF THESE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION ACCOUNTS..... SAME CAR, SAME YEAR, SAME MODEL. NO RECALL YET BUT THERE SHOULD BE. DAMAGE IS EXPECTED TO BE AROUND $5K.

View Details

STEERING

3/28/2014 - GLENDALE, CA
A BOLT THAT ATTACHES THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE STEERING COLUMN WAS FOUND TO BE LOOSE DURING A VEHICLE REPAIR. (I BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR REPAIR TO A HONDA DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT BECAUSE THE STEERING DIDN'T FEEL RIGHT AND MADE UNUSUAL SOUNDS DURING VEHICLE OPERATION.) DESPITE MY HAVING AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE VEHICLE (AND THE MALFUNCTION BEING A CLEAR SAFETY ISSUE), HONDA REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR PERFORMED BY A HONDA DEALERSHIP. "[XXX]," AN EMPLOYEE OF THE HONDA SERVICE CONTRACT DEPARTMENT (SHE WOULDN'T GIVE HER LAST NAME), SAID THE STEERING ISSUE WAS CONSIDERED AN "ADJUSTMENT" AND THEREFORE NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT, FOR ITS PART, SAID THE BOLT WAS AT RISK OF BECOMING LOOSER AND IMPAIRING STEERING OF THE VEHICLE IF THE REPAIR WERE NOT MADE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SEATS

2/22/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NJ
I BOUGHT HONDA INSIGHT 2010 LX MODEL BACK IN JAN 2011. CAR SEATS ARE VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND CAUSES PAIN IN THE BACK. I HAVE BEEN HAVING ON SCALE 1 TO 10 LEVEL, AROUND 1, PAIN IN MY LOWER BACK BODY. I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST HONDA CAR SEAT CONDITIONS AND LIKE SOME ACTION TO BE TAKEN.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2013 - CARROLLTON, TX
WHILE BRAKING HARD TO AVOID IMPACTING VEHICLE STOPPED ON HIGHWAY SEAT BELTS LOCKED UP AND NOW WILL NOT RELEASE. HONDA DIAGNOSTIC INCORRECTLY STATES SRS SYSTEM WAS TRIGGERED BY IMPACT - CAR SUSTAINED NO DAMAGE. RECOMMENDATION IS TO REPLACE FRONT SEAT BELTS AT $345.62 EACH AND SRS CONTROL UNIT AT $680.42, PLUS LABOR. AMERICAN HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE STATES THAT THE SEAT BELT SYSTEM PERFORMED AS IT SHOULD. IT IS LOGICAL FOR PASSIVE RESTRAINTS, LIKE AIR BAGS, TO WORK ONLY ONCE, BUT ILLOGICAL FOR SEAT BELTS TO FAIL AFTER ONE USE. APPARENTLY HONDA CONSIDERS SEAT BELTS THAT WORKS ONCE A SUCCESS. IN FACT THIS ACTIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILED AFTER ONE USE, LEAVING HONDA DRIVERS UNABLE TO OBEY THE LAW AND BUCKLE UP WHILE DRIVING BEFORE THEY PAY $1500+ FOR AVOIDING A COLLISION!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds