Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA INSIGHT - 2010 HONDA INSIGHT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 50 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Steering (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/24/2016 - BELLFLOWER, CA
WINDOW DOOR MOLDINGS MADE AOUT OF RUBBER ARE BRITLE AND DESINTEGRATING MAKING THE WINDOW LOOSE THEREFORE MAKING THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE NOISY. APPARENTLY THE QUALITY OF THIS RUBBER ARE VERY CHEAP IT DOES NOT LAST MORE THAN THREE YEARS. BY THE WAY IT CUT ONE OF MY FINGERS WHEN I WAS CLEANING THE WINDOW. I TOLD A HONDA DEALER SERVICE ADVISOR ABOUT THIS, AND SHE KINDLY TOLD ME THAT SHE DOESNT KNOW WHY ALL HONDAS DO THESE.....WELL, 'IT'S BECAUSE HONDA IS USING CHEAP MATERIALS," I TOLD HER. IF YOU ARE GOING THROUGH THE SAME SITUATION AS ME, PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

2/24/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HATCHBACK FAILED TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC COMPUTER BOX FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/4/2016 - WESTERVILLE, OH
WHEN I STOP OR TAKE OFF MY CAR EXCELERATES ON ITS OWN. OR IT JERKS. I AM AFRAID IT WILL HIT SOMEONE OR MAKE ME GO OUT INTO THE TRAFFIC. ALSO MY AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I PUT A LARGE OBJECT IN THE SEAT NOT A PERSON.

View Details

ENGINE

2/4/2016 - WESTERVILLE, OH
WHEN I STOP OR TAKE OFF MY CAR EXCELERATES ON ITS OWN. OR IT JERKS. I AM AFRAID IT WILL HIT SOMEONE OR MAKE ME GO OUT INTO THE TRAFFIC. ALSO MY AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I PUT A LARGE OBJECT IN THE SEAT NOT A PERSON.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/4/2016 - WESTERVILLE, OH
WHEN I STOP OR TAKE OFF MY CAR EXCELERATES ON ITS OWN. OR IT JERKS. I AM AFRAID IT WILL HIT SOMEONE OR MAKE ME GO OUT INTO THE TRAFFIC. ALSO MY AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I PUT A LARGE OBJECT IN THE SEAT NOT A PERSON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/23/2015 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
TWO TAIL LIGHTS ASSEMBLES FAILED. ENTIRE UNIT AT $400+ PER UNIT AT DEALER PLUS LABOR. PURCHASED REPLACEMENT UNITS ON INTERNET FOR $225. INDIVIDUAL LED'S NOT REPLACEABLE.OWNER REPLACED UNITS. ADVISED BY OTHER MOTEREST AT STOP LIGHT IN CITY.

View Details

STEERING

10/23/2015 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
TWO TAIL LIGHTS ASSEMBLES FAILED. ENTIRE UNIT AT $400+ PER UNIT AT DEALER PLUS LABOR. PURCHASED REPLACEMENT UNITS ON INTERNET FOR $225. INDIVIDUAL LED'S NOT REPLACEABLE.OWNER REPLACED UNITS. ADVISED BY OTHER MOTEREST AT STOP LIGHT IN CITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/15/2015 - CARTHAGE, NC
APPROACHING STOP SIGN AT LOW RATE OF SPEED-I APPLIED BRAKES AND INSTEAD OF STOPPING CAR REVED UP AND WENT FORWARD INTO PATH OF ONCOMING CAR. OTHER PERSON RECEIVED MINOR INJURIES,I RECEIVED BRUISES AND SORENESS (2 OF MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED) MY CAR IS A TOTAL LOSS,COMPLETE FRONT BUMPER OFF,FRAME BENT,HOOD BENT

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/6/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
2010 HONDA INSIGHT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ACCELERATION ISSUES. CONSUMER SENT ADDITIONAL CORRESPONDENCE. THE CONSUMER STATED AS HE WAS BRAKING, HE EXPERIENCED AN ACCELERATION SURGE. HE COULD FEEL THE BRAKES WORKING, BUT THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP TRYING TO OVER POWER THE BRAKES. IN DESPERATION, HE PUSHED THE SHIFTER INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR A MOMENT, THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. THE DEALER UPGRADED THE SOFTWARE. HOWEVER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME, AS THE CONSUMER WAS DRIVING. THE DEALER TRIED TO ALLEVIATE THE PROBLEM BY UPDATING THE SOFTWARE. HOWEVER, THE CONSUMER CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE PROBLEM ON AN INTERMITTENT BASIS. THE CONSUMER NOTICED ON ONE OCCASION, THE BATTERY IMA CHARGE/ASSIST GAUGE WENT HIGHER INTO THE BLUE. ALSO, THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD BECOME STIFF. UPDATED 11/04/15.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN BRAKING, THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT THE SPEED LIMIT ON SECONDARY ROADS ~40 MPH NO TRAFFIC AND THE ROADS WERE CLEAR OF ICE AND SNOW AND THE ENGINE WAS WARM, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATOR FOR COLD ENGINE HAD EXTINGUISHED. I APPROACHED A RED STREET LIGHT I PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL LIGHTLY, THERE WERE NO CARS IN FRONT OF ME (FOOT CLEARLY NOT ON THE GAS PEDAL) I EXPECTED THE CAR COME TO A LEISURELY STOP BY COASTING WITH LITTLE BRAKING HELP. THE BRAKE PEDAL FELT STIFF, RESISTED THE PRESSING OF THE FOOT. THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP AND I ALSO NOTED THE BATTERY IMA CHARGE/ASSIST GAUGE WENT HIGHER INTO THE BLUE (IMA ASSIST). I APPLIED MORE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL THE ENGINE ACCELERATED MORE AND ASSIST GAUGE INCREASED FURTHER INTO THE BLUE AREA. I REPEAT: THE BRAKE PEDAL FEELS HARD LIKE PUTTING YOUR FOOT ON A ROCK, NO GIVE. I NOW KNOW THIS IS THE FIRST SIGN THERE IS GOING TO BE A BRAKING ISSUE. IT HAPPENED EVERY TIME THE PROBLEM OCCURS! BUT THE PROBLEM DID NOT OCCUR EVERY TIME I STOPPED ON THIS TRIP. WHEN I BRAKE AND THE CAR AND THE CAR GOES INTO AUTO-STOP MODE THERE IS NO ISSUE. WHEN THE UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION OCCURS I CAN SHIFT THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE (D) AND INTO NEUTRAL (N) THE ENGINE WILL MOMENTARILY RACE, EXCEEDING 5000 RPM, ALMOST RED LINING, AND THEN RETURN TO A NORMAL IDLE. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED THOUGHT THE TRIP WITH THE CAR BEING SHUT OFF AND PARKED FOR A SHORT TIME (2 OCCURRENCES) RESTARTED AND DRIVEN AGAIN. ONLY WHEN THE CAR WAS LEFT FOR HOURS INCLUDING OVERNIGHT DID THE PROBLEM GO AWAY, MY GUESS IS 19 HOURS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds