Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA INSIGHT - 2010 HONDA INSIGHT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 45 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA INSIGHT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (1) Visibility (4)
Engine (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/6/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
2010 HONDA INSIGHT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ACCELERATION ISSUES. CONSUMER SENT ADDITIONAL CORRESPONDENCE. THE CONSUMER STATED AS HE WAS BRAKING, HE EXPERIENCED AN ACCELERATION SURGE. HE COULD FEEL THE BRAKES WORKING, BUT THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP TRYING TO OVER POWER THE BRAKES. IN DESPERATION, HE PUSHED THE SHIFTER INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR A MOMENT, THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. THE DEALER UPGRADED THE SOFTWARE. HOWEVER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME, AS THE CONSUMER WAS DRIVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN BRAKING, THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT THE SPEED LIMIT ON SECONDARY ROADS ~40 MPH NO TRAFFIC AND THE ROADS WERE CLEAR OF ICE AND SNOW AND THE ENGINE WAS WARM, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATOR FOR COLD ENGINE HAD EXTINGUISHED. I APPROACHED A RED STREET LIGHT I PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL LIGHTLY, THERE WERE NO CARS IN FRONT OF ME (FOOT CLEARLY NOT ON THE GAS PEDAL) I EXPECTED THE CAR COME TO A LEISURELY STOP BY COASTING WITH LITTLE BRAKING HELP. THE BRAKE PEDAL FELT STIFF, RESISTED THE PRESSING OF THE FOOT. THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP AND I ALSO NOTED THE BATTERY IMA CHARGE/ASSIST GAUGE WENT HIGHER INTO THE BLUE (IMA ASSIST). I APPLIED MORE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL THE ENGINE ACCELERATED MORE AND ASSIST GAUGE INCREASED FURTHER INTO THE BLUE AREA. I REPEAT: THE BRAKE PEDAL FEELS HARD LIKE PUTTING YOUR FOOT ON A ROCK, NO GIVE. I NOW KNOW THIS IS THE FIRST SIGN THERE IS GOING TO BE A BRAKING ISSUE. IT HAPPENED EVERY TIME THE PROBLEM OCCURS! BUT THE PROBLEM DID NOT OCCUR EVERY TIME I STOPPED ON THIS TRIP. WHEN I BRAKE AND THE CAR AND THE CAR GOES INTO AUTO-STOP MODE THERE IS NO ISSUE. WHEN THE UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION OCCURS I CAN SHIFT THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE (D) AND INTO NEUTRAL (N) THE ENGINE WILL MOMENTARILY RACE, EXCEEDING 5000 RPM, ALMOST RED LINING, AND THEN RETURN TO A NORMAL IDLE. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED THOUGHT THE TRIP WITH THE CAR BEING SHUT OFF AND PARKED FOR A SHORT TIME (2 OCCURRENCES) RESTARTED AND DRIVEN AGAIN. ONLY WHEN THE CAR WAS LEFT FOR HOURS INCLUDING OVERNIGHT DID THE PROBLEM GO AWAY, MY GUESS IS 19 HOURS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN BRAKING, THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT THE SPEED LIMIT ON SECONDARY ROADS ~40 MPH NO TRAFFIC AND THE ROADS WERE CLEAR OF ICE AND SNOW AND THE ENGINE WAS WARM, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATOR FOR COLD ENGINE HAD EXTINGUISHED. I APPROACHED A RED STREET LIGHT I PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL LIGHTLY, THERE WERE NO CARS IN FRONT OF ME (FOOT CLEARLY NOT ON THE GAS PEDAL) I EXPECTED THE CAR COME TO A LEISURELY STOP BY COASTING WITH LITTLE BRAKING HELP. THE BRAKE PEDAL FELT STIFF, RESISTED THE PRESSING OF THE FOOT. THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP AND I ALSO NOTED THE BATTERY IMA CHARGE/ASSIST GAUGE WENT HIGHER INTO THE BLUE (IMA ASSIST). I APPLIED MORE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL THE ENGINE ACCELERATED MORE AND ASSIST GAUGE INCREASED FURTHER INTO THE BLUE AREA. I REPEAT: THE BRAKE PEDAL FEELS HARD LIKE PUTTING YOUR FOOT ON A ROCK, NO GIVE. I NOW KNOW THIS IS THE FIRST SIGN THERE IS GOING TO BE A BRAKING ISSUE. IT HAPPENED EVERY TIME THE PROBLEM OCCURS! BUT THE PROBLEM DID NOT OCCUR EVERY TIME I STOPPED ON THIS TRIP. WHEN I BRAKE AND THE CAR AND THE CAR GOES INTO AUTO-STOP MODE THERE IS NO ISSUE. WHEN THE UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION OCCURS I CAN SHIFT THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE (D) AND INTO NEUTRAL (N) THE ENGINE WILL MOMENTARILY RACE, EXCEEDING 5000 RPM, ALMOST RED LINING, AND THEN RETURN TO A NORMAL IDLE. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED THOUGHT THE TRIP WITH THE CAR BEING SHUT OFF AND PARKED FOR A SHORT TIME (2 OCCURRENCES) RESTARTED AND DRIVEN AGAIN. ONLY WHEN THE CAR WAS LEFT FOR HOURS INCLUDING OVERNIGHT DID THE PROBLEM GO AWAY, MY GUESS IS 19 HOURS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN BRAKING. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT I EXPERIENCED AN ACCELERATION SURGE WHILE BRAKING. THIS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES ON THIS TRIP. ALMOST EVERY TIME WHEN I WAS COMING TO A STOP AND I APPLIED THE BRAKES THE ENGINE WOULD INCREASE RPMS. THIS GAVE ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO ANALYZE WHAT WAS GOING ON WITH THE CAR. THE REVVING OF THE ENGINE WAS DIRECTLY AFFECTED BY BRAKING. SIMPLY REMOVING MY FOOT FROM THE GAS PEDAL AND COASTING DID NOT RESULT IN THE ENGINE SURGING. WHEN I SHIFTED OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO NEUTRAL, THE ENGINE WOULD MOMENTARILY EXCEEDED 5000 RPM ALMOST RED LINING AND THEN RETURN TO A NORMAL IDLE. I STOPPED THE CAR, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND OPENED THE HOOD LOOKING FOR ICE ON LINKAGES, FOULED AIR FILTER OR ANYTHING UNUSUAL. THERE WAS NOTHING THAT LOOKED OUT OF THE ORDINARY. I THEN PROCEEDED TO DRIVE THE CAR HOME EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE WITH EVERY BRAKING ACTION. THE NEXT MORNING THE CAR ACTED NORMALLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME, CT
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN BRAKING. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT I EXPERIENCED AN ACCELERATION SURGE WHILE BRAKING. THIS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES ON THIS TRIP. ALMOST EVERY TIME WHEN I WAS COMING TO A STOP AND I APPLIED THE BRAKES THE ENGINE WOULD INCREASE RPMS. THIS GAVE ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO ANALYZE WHAT WAS GOING ON WITH THE CAR. THE REVVING OF THE ENGINE WAS DIRECTLY AFFECTED BY BRAKING. SIMPLY REMOVING MY FOOT FROM THE GAS PEDAL AND COASTING DID NOT RESULT IN THE ENGINE SURGING. WHEN I SHIFTED OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO NEUTRAL, THE ENGINE WOULD MOMENTARILY EXCEEDED 5000 RPM ALMOST RED LINING AND THEN RETURN TO A NORMAL IDLE. I STOPPED THE CAR, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND OPENED THE HOOD LOOKING FOR ICE ON LINKAGES, FOULED AIR FILTER OR ANYTHING UNUSUAL. THERE WAS NOTHING THAT LOOKED OUT OF THE ORDINARY. I THEN PROCEEDED TO DRIVE THE CAR HOME EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE WITH EVERY BRAKING ACTION. THE NEXT MORNING THE CAR ACTED NORMALLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME , CT
I WAS DRIVING ON AN ROAD WITH NO TRAFFIC AND CAME UPON A RED LIGHT. AS I APPLIED THE BRAKES, I EXPERIENCED AN ACCELERATION SURGE WHILE BRAKING. I COULD FEEL THE BRAKES WORKING BUT THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP AND WAS TRYING TO OVERPOWER THE BRAKES. IN DESPERATION I PUSHED THE SHIFTER INTO NEUTRAL (N). THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR A MOMENT THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. THEN I WAS ABLE TO PROCEED AND THE INSIGHT ACTED NORMAL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2015 - EAST LYME , CT
I WAS DRIVING ON AN ROAD WITH NO TRAFFIC AND CAME UPON A RED LIGHT. AS I APPLIED THE BRAKES, I EXPERIENCED AN ACCELERATION SURGE WHILE BRAKING. I COULD FEEL THE BRAKES WORKING BUT THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP AND WAS TRYING TO OVERPOWER THE BRAKES. IN DESPERATION I PUSHED THE SHIFTER INTO NEUTRAL (N). THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV FOR A MOMENT THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. THEN I WAS ABLE TO PROCEED AND THE INSIGHT ACTED NORMAL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/13/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
INITIALLY WAS NOTIFIED THAT PART OF THE DRIVERS SIDE TAIL LIGHT WAS OUT. NIGHT TIME TAIL LIGHTS CONSIST OF 9 LED LIGHTS IN AN L SHAPE. AT THAT TIME 3 OF THE 9 BULBS HAD FAILED. TRIED TO PURCHASE REPLACEMENT BULB AND WAS INFORMED THE ENTIRE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED AND WASN'T COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. DEALERSHIP SAID THEY WOULD REAEARCH AND CONTACT ME. NEVER HEARD BACK. ON 2/8/2015 WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT AND ANOTHER CAR PULL UP BESIDE ME AT A LIGHT AND INFORMED ME I HAD NO WORKING TAIL LIGHTS. THERE WAS NO INDICATION ON THE DASH THAT ALL OF THE LIGHTS HAD FAILED AND THAT NO ONE COULD SEE MY CAR FROM BEHIND. RESEARCH ONLINE INDICATES THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT AND THAT NUMEROUS 2010 INSIGHTS EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE. IT APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT IN THE LED BULBS THAT CAUSES THEM TO FAIL IN GROUPS OF 3 UNTIL NONE ARE WORKING. TOTAL COST TO REPLACE WHAT HONDA CONSIDERS "BULBS" IS $422 EACH.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/13/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
INITIALLY WAS NOTIFIED THAT PART OF THE DRIVERS SIDE TAIL LIGHT WAS OUT. NIGHT TIME TAIL LIGHTS CONSIST OF 9 LED LIGHTS IN AN L SHAPE. AT THAT TIME 3 OF THE 9 BULBS HAD FAILED. TRIED TO PURCHASE REPLACEMENT BULB AND WAS INFORMED THE ENTIRE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED AND WASN'T COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. DEALERSHIP SAID THEY WOULD REAEARCH AND CONTACT ME. NEVER HEARD BACK. ON 2/8/2015 WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT AND ANOTHER CAR PULL UP BESIDE ME AT A LIGHT AND INFORMED ME I HAD NO WORKING TAIL LIGHTS. THERE WAS NO INDICATION ON THE DASH THAT ALL OF THE LIGHTS HAD FAILED AND THAT NO ONE COULD SEE MY CAR FROM BEHIND. RESEARCH ONLINE INDICATES THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT AND THAT NUMEROUS 2010 INSIGHTS EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE. IT APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT IN THE LED BULBS THAT CAUSES THEM TO FAIL IN GROUPS OF 3 UNTIL NONE ARE WORKING. TOTAL COST TO REPLACE WHAT HONDA CONSIDERS "BULBS" IS $422 EACH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2015 - ALAMEDA, CA
MOULDING SEAL AROUND REAR TRIANGLE (NON-OPENING) WINDOWS DETACHED ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE OF CAR CREATING AN UNSEALED WINDOW AND CAUSING RUBBER 'STRIPS' TO FLAP WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED OVER 35MPH. SOON AFTER, THE ENTIRE RUBBER SEAL ON PASSENGER SIDE DOOR DETACHED ALLOWING MOISTURE AND OTHER ELEMENTS TO ENTER THE VEHICLE. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT MOULDING IS NOT COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURERS NOR EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT WAS PURCHASED AND THAT REPAIRS WOULD COST A MINIMUM OF $800. I CALLED HONDA AMERICA TO FILE A COMPLAINT AND WAS TOLD THEY DO NOT MAINTAIN A DATABASE OF DEFECTS. I HAVE OWNED HONDAS IN THE PAST AND HAVE NEVER FOUND THEM TO BE SO SHODDILY CONSTRUCTED. I OWN A 1968 VEHICLE THAT STILL HAS ALL MOULDING IN TACT. UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds