Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2010 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 178 complaints filed for the 2010 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (3) Structure (33) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (28) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (23) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/26/2018 - WINDSOR, CT
SLIDING DOOR FELL OFF TRACK WHEN OPENING, CORD IS BROKEN AND BROKE MY WINDOW

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

8/28/2018 - VANCOUVER, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING, THE DRIVER'S SIDE SLIDING DOOR DETACHED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/21/2018 - SKOKIE, IL
WITHIN THE LAST 12 MONTHS MULTIPLE TIMES I HAVE EXPERIENCED SUDDEN UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION OF THE ENGINE WHILE BRAKING. WHEN IT HAPPENED, I WAS ON A CITY STREET AND WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR BY HARD BRAKING TO AVOID A COLLISION WITH THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I THEN TOOK THE CAR OUT OF GEAR (SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL) AND THE ENGINE ACCELERATION STOPPED. THIS HAPPENED TODAY (8/21/18) AND MULTIPLE TIMES (AT LEAST FIVE) IN THE PAST YEAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/2/2018 - CHESWICK, PA
BOTH SLIDING DOORS COMING OFF TRACKS. ONE COMPLETELY FELL OFF AND WAS DAMAGED. THIS COULD CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY TO A PERSON OR CHILD. I NOTICED MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS HERE AND ONLINE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/7/2018 - NEW BERLIN, WI
BROKEN FRONT STRUT COIL SPRING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY I HEARD A LOUD METALLIC SOUND WHEN GOING OVER A BUMP OR ROUGH ROAD CONDITIONS. I THEN NOTICED THE NOISE WHILE DRIVING ON LOCAL ROADS AS SLOW AS 25 MPH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/24/2018 - BRENTWOOD, NY
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A LOCAL STREET, A CAR STOPPED SHORT IN FRONT OF ME, I HIT THE CAR WITH MY FRONT LEFT END, THE DRIVER AIR BAG DEPLOYED, POPPED AND THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED. I SUSTAINED BURN INJURIES TO MY LEFT FOREARM WITH PERMANENT SCARRING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/24/2018 - BRENTWOOD, NY
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A LOCAL STREET, A CAR STOPPED SHORT IN FRONT OF ME, I HIT THE CAR WITH MY FRONT LEFT END, THE DRIVER AIR BAG DEPLOYED, POPPED AND THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED. I SUSTAINED BURN INJURIES TO MY LEFT FOREARM WITH PERMANENT SCARRING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2018 - CROZET, VA
HELLO, I HAVE A 2010 HONDA ODYSSEY. 2-3 MONTHS AGO MY WIFE HAD TO PULL OUR VAN OVER THE ROAD BECAUSE OF A SIGNIFICANT SHAKING (VIBRATION) OF THE WHOLE VEHICLE. SHE GOT PRETTY SCARED AND GAVE ME A CALL. THEN, WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THAT WE HAD PURCHASED. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT SPARK PLUGS HAD OIL LEAKED THROUGH THE ENGINE. THEY REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS AND THE ISSUE OF SIGNIFICANT SHAKING WAS RESOLVED. SINCE THEN, I HAVE BEEN CHECKING THE OIL LEVEL AND EACH WEEK I AM ADDING A QUARTER OF OIL. THEN, I HAVE GONE THROUGH SOME SEARCH AND FOUND THAT 2008-2013 ODYSSEY MODELS ARE POWERED BY A SIX-CYLINDER ENGINE WITH A VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM) SYSTEM. THE SYSTEM IS DESIGNED IN A WAY THAT ALLOWS OIL TO LEAK INTO THE ENGINE+S COMBUSTION CHAMBER, LEADING TO PREMATURE SPARK PLUG DEGRADATION, REDUCED FUEL ECONOMY, AND EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. AS A RESULT, MANY ODYSSEY OWNERS REPORT HAVING TO REPLACE THEIR SPARK PLUGS FREQUENTLY AND REFILL THE MOTOR WITH OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. THIS IS WHAT I AM EXACTLY HAVING. I HAVE CALLED HONDA CUSTOMER CARE AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT YOUR VAN IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY ANYMORE AS IT IS 8 YEARS 7 MONTHS OLD AND IF IT WAS LESS THAN 8 YEARS, IT WAS GOING TO BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. MY CONCERN IS EXCESSIVE OIL LEAKAGE ON A LONG TRIP CAN CAUSE SIGNIFICANT ENGINE HEATING AND/OR SIGNIFICANT SHAKING OF WHOLE VEHICLE MAY REPEAT WHEN I AM ON AN INTERSTATE AND MY WHOLE FAMILY CAN FACE AN SERIOUS ACCIDENT ISSUE. I APPRECIATE YOUR HELPS IN GETTING HONDA TO FIX MY ENGINE AS THIS FIX IS QUITE EXPENSIVE FOR MY BUDGET. THANK YOU VERY MUCH AND BEST REGARDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/16/2018 - SPRING, TX
RIGHT (PASSENGER) SLIDING CARGO DOOR FELL OFF TRACK AND GOUGED THE SIDE PANEL OF THE VAN. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY IN DRIVEWAY. NOTICED IN WEEK PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT THAT THERE WAS A GRINDING SOUND WHEN OPENING DOOR, AND IT WOULD SOMETIME CATCH AND RE-OPEN WHEN CLOSING AS THOUGH IT HIT AN OBSTACLE. DEALER MENTIONED MAYBE SOME SAND OR GRIT IN ASSEMBLY. IN DRIVEWAY, WE OPENED DOOR THEN WALKED AWAY TO THROW SOMETHING IN TRASH HEARD A NOISE AND CAME BACK TO FIND THE DOOR HAD FALLEN OFF AND WAS HANGING FROM THE CABLE USED BY THE POWER OPEN/CLOSE MECHANISM. SIGNIFICANTLY DAMAGED CAR FURTHER TRYING TO GET IT TO CLOSE ENOUGH TO TO TAKE TO REPAIR SHOP AND PREVENT DAMAGE FROM IMPENDING RAIN AT TIME OF INCIDENT. WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO FIGHT THE POWER MECHANISM AND TO TURN THE HEAVY DOOR THE CORRECT WAY TO GET ALL THE PIECES IN THEIR CORRECT RAILS AND POSITION, NEVER DID GET ENTIRELY CLOSED. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP. DEALER ADVISED TO TAKE TO BODY SHOP. BODY SHOP SENT ME BACK TO DEALER WHO WOULD NOT TAKE VEHICLE FOR SEVERAL DAYS BUT THEN ENDED UP FIXING THE DOOR THE SAME DAY FOR ABOUT $575. THE BODY DAMAGE HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2018 - SHAVANO PARK, TX
CONFIGURED WITH 1 CHAIR BEHIND DRIVER AND ALL OTHER REAR SEATS REMOVED OR FOLDED DOWN. PAYLOAD CONSISTED OF MYSELF (DRIVER), SPOUSE, 4 GREAT DANE DOGS (550 LBS.), DOG FOOD AND GROCERIES. NO CELLPHONES ACCESSIBLE OR IN USE AND ALL VEHICULAR ENTERTAINMENT FUNCTIONS SWITCHED OFF. ABOUT 4:00 PM THURSDAY MARCH 1, 2018 WEATHER CLEAR, DRY AND AIR TEMPERATURE IN THE LOW 70S EXITED COSTCO (IH10W) PARKING LOT, PROCEEDED OVER IH10W ON BRIDGE TOWARD THE INTERSECTION WITH VANCE-JACKSON RD. AT APPROX. 35 MPH. ENCOUNTERED LINE OF STOPPED VEHICLES BACKED UP FROM THE TRAFFIC LIGHT. USUAL AND NORMAL FORCE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL DID NOT PRODUCE THE EXPECTED SLOWING. EMPLOYING MAXIMUM PANIC FORCE ON BRAKE PEDAL FINALLY BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO A STOP SHORT OF COLLISION. IMMEDIATELY SHIFTED INTO +PARK+ WHERE UPON THE UNLOADED ENGINE RACED TO HIGH RPM. SWITCHED IGNITION TO +OFF+ WITHOUT REMOVING KEY. DID NOT OBSERVE TACHOMETER DURING THE FOREGOING EXCITEMENT BUT ENGINE SOUND WAS LOUD AND HIGH PITCHED. CHECKED FLOOR AREA FOR OBJECTS OR OBSTRUCTION AND FOUND IT CLEAR. DRIVERS LEFT FOOT BEING FIRMLY PLANTED ON THE FLOOR, ONLY THE RIGHT FOOT HAD ACCESS TO BRAKE OR ACCELERATOR. RESTARTED ENGINE AND PROCEEDED HOME NORMALLY BUT WITH GREAT TREPIDATION AND CAUTION. SUBSEQUENT EXPERIMENT IN A SAFE AREA REVEALED THAT THE ENGINE CAN INDEED BE SHUT DOWN, WHILE IN MOTION, FROM ANY TRANSMISSION SELECTION WITHOUT GOING TO +PARK+ ALTHOUGH WITH CONSEQUENT LOSS OF POWER ASSISTED BRAKING AND STEERING. THIS KNOWLEDGE DOES PROVIDE SOME GUIDANCE FOR ANY FUTURE RUN-AWAY EPISODES. MY SPOUSE WILL BE STRONGLY DISCOURAGED FROM DRIVING THIS VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE. PERHAPS UNRELATED TO THIS INCIDENT (EXCEPTING THE POSSIBLE COMMONALITY OF ENGINE MANAGEMENT COMPUTER), THIS VAN HAS TWICE EXPERIENCED BATTERY DEPLETION DUE TO PARASITIC DRAIN WHEN PARKED OVERNIGHT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds