Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 187 complaints filed for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Power Train (85) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/1/2018 - WELLMAN, IA
DRIVING SANTA FE AT 55MPH AND IT SLOWED TO A STOP. TRANSMISION WAS OUT OF GEAR AND WOULD NOT RE-ENGAGE. CAN NOT DRIVE VEHICLE NOW AS IT WILL NOT GO INTO GEAR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: STARTER ASSEMBLY

10/24/2018 - DENISON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STARTER FAILED PERIODICALLY. THE STARTER WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT RESEARCHED THE FAILURE AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS TOO MUCH PAINT ON THE NEGATIVE CONNECTOR TO THE ENGINE FROM BOTH THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC RESOLVED THE FAILURE BY SANDING DOWN THE AREA BY THE CONNECTOR TO METAL ON METAL. THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/16/2018 - SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ
IN 2013 THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR DOOR ACTUATOR MECHANISM WAS REPLACED (WARRANTY). IN OCTOBER 2018, THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE DOOR ACTUATOR MECHANISM WAS REPLACED, AND THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR DOOR ACTUATOR MECHANISM WAS REPLACED. COULD NOT OPEN DOOR FROM THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2018 - BATESVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO PRIDE HYUNDAI AUTO SALES & SERVICE INC (680 HWY 6 W, BATESVILLE, MS 38606, 662-563-5464) FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND REPAIRS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V261000 (POWER TRAIN) IN 2011, BUT IT FAILED TO PROVIDE A PERMANENT REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2018 - TIVERTON, RI
TRANSMISSION HARD SHIFTS DOWN WHEN TRYING TO MERGE ONTO HIGHWAY CAUSING LOSS OF POWER. I FEEL LIKE I'M GOING TO GET KILLED BY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THIS HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. CONSTANT SLIPPAGE BETWEEN GEARS WHILE MOVING, CAUSING LOUD HARD BANGING NOISES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/23/2018 - FINDLAY, OH
THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL NOT LOCK WHEN SHUTTING THE DOOR THERE FOR YOU CAN NOT OPEN THE DRIVERS DOOR WITH THE OUTSIDE HANDLE. YOU NEED TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE INSIDE AND LOCK THE DOOR BEFORE YOU SHUT IT OR IT WILL NOT STAY SHUT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2018 - LIBERTY, MO
ON 6/17/2018 @ APPROXIMATELY 5:00PM WHILE DRIVING MY SANTA FE, I BEGAN TO HAVE SURGING POWER. I ATTEMPTED TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL BUT COULD NOT. I WOULD SLOW DOWN ONLY TO SPEED RIGHT BACK UP AS IF I HAD PUSHED THE RESUME BUTTON, I HAD NOT. I ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL HOWEVER MY GEER SHIFTER WAS LOCKED INTO DRIVE & I COULDN+T GET THE SHIFTER OUT OF DRIVE. AT TIMES THE CAR WOULD START TO SLOW DOWN AFTER PU MPING THE BREAKS ONLY TO HAVE A SURGE OF POWER AGAIN. AS I WAS DRIVING, I CAME UP TO A SHARP CURVE & WASN+T ABLE TO SLOW DOWN THEREFORE I ENDED UP ROLLING THE SUV & FURTHER SLAMMING TO A LARGE HILL. I WAS INJURED IN THIS ACCIDENT DUE TO ROLLING MY CAR! THIS HAPPENED BC I BELIEVE THE CRUISE CONTROL GOT STUCK & LOCKED UP MY TRANSMISSION!!! I ALSO COULDN+T TURN THE KEY OFF SINCE THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2018 - LIBERTY, MO
ON 6/17/2018 @ APPROXIMATELY 5:00PM WHILE DRIVING MY SANTA FE, I BEGAN TO HAVE SURGING POWER. I ATTEMPTED TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL BUT COULD NOT. I WOULD SLOW DOWN ONLY TO SPEED RIGHT BACK UP AS IF I HAD PUSHED THE RESUME BUTTON, I HAD NOT. I ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL HOWEVER MY GEER SHIFTER WAS LOCKED INTO DRIVE & I COULDN+T GET THE SHIFTER OUT OF DRIVE. AT TIMES THE CAR WOULD START TO SLOW DOWN AFTER PU MPING THE BREAKS ONLY TO HAVE A SURGE OF POWER AGAIN. AS I WAS DRIVING, I CAME UP TO A SHARP CURVE & WASN+T ABLE TO SLOW DOWN THEREFORE I ENDED UP ROLLING THE SUV & FURTHER SLAMMING TO A LARGE HILL. I WAS INJURED IN THIS ACCIDENT DUE TO ROLLING MY CAR! THIS HAPPENED BC I BELIEVE THE CRUISE CONTROL GOT STUCK & LOCKED UP MY TRANSMISSION!!! I ALSO COULDN+T TURN THE KEY OFF SINCE THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/9/2018 - WIXOM, MI
VEHICLE HESITATES AND HAS NO FORWARD MOTION FOR PERHAPS 2-3 SECONDS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING AFTER SLOWING DOWN AND THEN ACCELARATING, THEN BACKING OFF AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST A DOZEN TIMES OVER THE YEARS I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. THE RISK IS THAT YOU CAN NOT MOVE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC. CITY DRIVING, ON AND OFF THE THROTTLE MOST OF THE TIME DURING A SLOW SPEED LEFT TURN. TRANSMISSION APPEARS TO GO INTO NATURAL BECAUSE IT DOES NOT KNOW WHAT GEAR TO GO INTO, SUSPECT IT IS A SOFTWARE ISSUE/ DRIVING STYLE AS WIFE DOES NOT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM . LOCAL DEALER WAS PROVIDED INFORMATION ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. ISSUE STILL EXISTS. COMMENTS ON INVOICES: 100371 / 101673 / HYCS414425

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/28/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
CAR RANDOMLY STALLS AND SLOWS DOWN TO A CRAWL UNDER ACCELERATION. SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS WHEN GOING UPHILL, MERGING INTO TRAFFIC. SOMETIMES IT'S JUST NORMAL DRIVING. IT IS VERY UNPREDICTABLE AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. IT HAS HAPPENED OFF AND ON FOR THE LAST 2-3 YEARS. DEALER IS CLUELESS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds