Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 551 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (3) Power Train (134) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (164)
Electrical System (80) Exterior Lighting (121) Service Brakes (22) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (88) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (135) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Steering (61) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/26/2016 - GOLDEN VALLEY, MN
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE (15V-793) FROM FORD IN JANUARY 2016 ABOUT THE CANISTER PURGE VALVE, VAPOR CANISTER, GAS TANK, AND POWER CONTROL MODULE ON MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY DID AN ELECTRONIC TEST AND SAID IT WAS OK. ONE MONTH LATER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CODE SAID THE PROBLEM WAS THE PRIOR RECALLED CANISTER PURGE VALVE. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DID THEIR ELECTRONIC TEST AGAIN AND SAID IT WAS THE GAS TANK FILL TUBE VALVE. FOUR DAYS LATER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND THE CODES AGAIN SAID IT WAS THE CANISTER PURGE VALVE. THIS TIME THE DEALER DID AS I ASKED THEM AND MECHANICALLY CHECKED THE VALVE, AND DISCOVERED THAT IT AND THE VAPOR CANISTER HAD FAILED. HOWEVER FORD WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR. IS THIS ALLOWED? I WILL MAIL A LETTER WITH MORE DETAIL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/19/2016 - MONTEREY, MA
MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN PREMIER IS HAVING THE SAME LIGHTING PROBLEMS THAT I HAVE BEEN READING ABOUT. THE TAIL LIGHT LED'S ARE GOING OUT ONE BY ONE. MY SON THE POLICE OFFICER JUST POINTED THIS OUT TO ME. HE NOTICED THIS AFTER FOLLOWING ME HOME THE OTHER NIGHT. I AM READING THAT THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR. IT IS THE LEFT TAIL LIGHT NOW, BUT I GUESS THE RIGHT WILL EVENTUALLY GO TOO. I ALSO HAD TO HAVE BOTH OF THE FRONT HEAD LIGHTS REPAIRED. MY LOCAL MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO DO THIS FOR ME AT A FAIRLY REASONABLE COST. AFTER I HAD TO HAVE THE EXPENSIVE LAMP BULBS REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES. A RECALL ON THE REAR LIGHTS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2016 - HOPKINS, MI
"SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" LIGHTS APPEARED WHILE DRIVING AND NOTHING SEEMED TO BE WRONG AT THAT TIME AND THEN TURNED BACK OFF. TURNED CAR OFF AND PARKED FOR OVER AN HOUR. STARTED THE CAR THE LIGHTS FLASHED BACK ON AND THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER A RECALL EVEN THOUGH THE 2011 MERCURY MILAN IS COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. CALLED FORD AND THEY SAID THE ONLY WAY TO EVEN HAVE THIS COVERED IS TO PAY A FEE FOR THE CAR TO BE DIAGNOSED UNDER THE RECALL AND HAVE IT SENT IN TO THE SPECIAL SERVICE SUPPORT CENTER. THEY MAY NOT COVER THE ISSUE, EVEN THOUGH ALL THE OTHER RELATED VEHICLES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS SAME ISSUE. I AM STILL PAYING ON MY CAR AND SHOULD NOT HAVE TO FORK OVER $2000 FOR THIS TO BE REPAIRED WHEN OTHERS DON'T HAVE TO PAY A DIME FOR THE SAME EXACT THING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/7/2016 - E. NORTHPORT, NY
AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY ETHER WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON INTERNET ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. CAR HAS ONLY 15,522 MILES . HAD CAR IN FOR RECALL 15S34. TOLD THEM ABOUT AIR BAG LIGHT AND AT THAT TIME LIGHT WAS ON. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS OUT OF SAFETY EQUIPMENT WARRANTY. CONTACTED FORD THEY TOLD ME MY COMPLIANT WAS NOTED AND THAT I NEED NOT CONTACT NHTSA BECAUSE THEY WILL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/28/2016 - NASHVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 MILAN ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN IT SUDDENLY LOST POWER, I WAS ABLE TO COAST OFF THE ROAD. AFTER TRYING FOR APPROXIMATELY 45 MIN I WAS ABLE TO START IT AND DRIVE IT HOME. ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER IT DID THE SAME THING AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE. BOTH TIMES I NARROWLY AVOIDED BEING REARENDED.

View Details

STEERING

3/23/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
"SERVICE POWER STEERING" APPEARED ON DASHBOARD WHILE DRIVING. I HAD NOTICED THE CAR SEEMED TO BE PULLING TO THE RIGHT BUT POWER STEERING WAS WORKING. I THEN PARKED FOR AWHILE AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR THE WARNING STATED "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" WITH ALSO A WARNING STATING "SERVICE ADVANCEDTRAC". NOW WHEN I TRIED TO DRIVE, THE POWER STEERING WAS COMPLETELY OUT. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT HOME BUT IT IS NOT A CONDITION TO DRIVE WITH ON A REGULAR BASIS. I LOOKED ON THE INTERNET AND SAW THIS MODEL MILAN 2010 WAS SUBJECT TO RECALL FOR POWER STEERING FAILURE: FORD RECALLS NEARLY 423,000 VEHICLES FOR POWER STEERING PROBLEM. ASSOCIATED PRESS "IN OCTOBER, THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION BEGAN INVESTIGATING COMPLAINTS OF POWER-STEERING FAILURES ON THREE FORD MOTOR CO. MIDSIZE CAR MODELS. THE PROBE COVERED 938,000 FORD FUSION AND LINCOLN MKZ CARS FROM THE 2010 THROUGH 2012 MODEL YEARS, AS WELL AS THE 2010 AND 2011 MERCURY MILAN. ACCORDING TO A CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT FILED IN JUNE ABOUT THE MATTER, THE PROBLEM COULD AFFECT MORE FORD MODELS, INCLUDING THE COMPACT FOCUS." HTTP://WWW.LATIMES.COM/BUSINESS/LA-FI-FORD-RECALL-20150527-STORY.HTML BUT WHEN I CALLED FORD AND GAVE MY VIN THEY SAID MY MODEL WASN'T COVERED. BUT AGAIN AFTER A WEB SEARCH I SAW NUMEROUS CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM ON THIS 2010 MILAN MODEL: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/MERCURY/MILAN/2010/STEERING/STEERING.SHTML HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2010/MERCURY/MILAN/STEERING/PROBLEM.ASPX SO IF THE VERY SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED ON MY MODEL THAT OCCURRED ON OTHER MODELS THAT WERE COVERED, I THINK THIS MODEL YEAR OF THE MILAN SHOULD ALSO BE COVERED. I THINK IT IS NOTABLE IN THE LA TIMES ARTICLE IT SAID OTHER MODELS MAY BE EFFECTED. SO EVEN THOUGH THE 2010 MILAN WASN'T COVERED PREVIOUSLY, COMMON SENSE WILL PREVAIL AND IT WILL BE COVERED.

View Details

STEERING

2/12/2016 - GLASSCO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE SERVICE POWER STEERING AND THE SERVICE ADVANCETRAC WARNING LIGHTS BECAME ILLUMINATED. THEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

2/12/2016 - GLASSCO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE SERVICE POWER STEERING AND THE SERVICE ADVANCETRAC WARNING LIGHTS BECAME ILLUMINATED. THEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/11/2016 - LAKE GENEVA, WI
WHEN MY HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE BRAKE LIGHTS ARE CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED. I READ THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2010'S. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2016 - LAKELAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THROTTLE BODY CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,089.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds