Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 626 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (3) Power Train (136) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (168)
Electrical System (85) Exterior Lighting (125) Service Brakes (27) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (92) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (144) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Steering (104) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

6/20/2017 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING AND TRACTION CONTROL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER (JORGENSON FORD, 8333 MICHIGAN AVENUE, DETROIT, MI 48210) WAS CONTACTED AND AN APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 144,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2017 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING AND TRACTION CONTROL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER (JORGENSON FORD, 8333 MICHIGAN AVENUE, DETROIT, MI 48210) WAS CONTACTED AND AN APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 144,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/13/2017 - PALM HARBOR, FL
"TAKATA RECALL" - 16V-384 I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER NOTICE IN JULY OF 2016 AND CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIP RIGHT AWAY. THEY DID NOT HAVE THE PART. I HAVE INQUIRED TWICE SINCE AND JUST CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN WHO SAID THEY DID NOT HAVE THE PART AND TO CALL THE FORD HELPLINE. I JUST GOT OFF THE FORD HELPLINE AND THEY SAID THE PART IS STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND I WILL BE NOTIFIED BY LETTER WHEN THE PART IS AVAILABLE. I DID EXPRESS TO FORD THAT I WAS WORRIED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY PASSENGERS AND WAS NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS. THE PERSON ON THE FORD HELPLINE WHO IDENTIFIED HIMSELF AS "EDDIE" SAID THAT FORD HAD DECIDED THAT THERE WAS NO DANGER AND THEY HAD NOT HAD ANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE AIRBAG MALFUNCTIONING SO THE CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE ACCORDING TO FORD. I INQUIRED AS TO WHY ONLY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG WAS RECALLED AND NOT THE DRIVER AIRBAG OR THE SIDE AIRBAGS. HE SAID THOSE OTHERS MAY BE FROM A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER. I THINK THAT THIS HAS TAKEN TOO LONG AND I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CAR. WHAT IS BEING DONE BY THE GOVERNMENT TO MAKE TAKATA CORRECT THIS PROBLEM???

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/13/2017 - PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY
THIS IS THE 2ND TIME I AM HAVING ISSUES WITH THE THROTTLE BODY. I BROUGHT THE CAR IN, IN 2015 FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. I'M DRIVING ALONG AND THE CAR STARTS HESITATING THEN STARTS BUCKING LIKE CRAZY AND CONKS OUT. I START THE CAR BACK UP AND IT DRIVES FINE UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT DOES IT AGAIN. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND ALMOST RECENTLY GOT ME IN AN ACCIDENT. I WAS IN THE LEFT HAND TURNING LANE OF A VERY BUSY ROAD CROSSING OVER 2 LANES & STARTED TO PROCEED AS THE CAR STARTED HESITATING, SLOWED DOWN AND CONKED OUT. I ALMOST GOT HIT BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I CALLED FORD TODAY TO FIND OUT IF IT WAS STILL A COVERED ITEM AND WAS TOLD IT WAS UNDER THE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM FOR A ONE TIME FIX, WHICH I ALREADY HAD. SO NOW IT'S MY RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR OF A DEFECTIVE PART?? THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL. THE COMPLAINTS ARE STILL ROLLING IN ON THE MILAN'S AND SEVERAL OTHER FORD VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2017 - HALETHORPE, MD
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK FROM A TRIP AND MY CAR STALLED OUT MULTIPLE TIMES. I WOULD BE GOING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND IT WOULD JUST CUT OUT. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET INTO THE SERVICE LANE AND RESTART THE CAR WITH NO PROBLEM, BUT THEN IT WOULD HAPPEN AGAIN. AFTER 7 TIMES OF THIS HAPPENING IN ABOUT AN HOUR, I EVENTUALLY PULLED OVER AND WAITED FOR A TOW. I DID MY RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH MERCURY CARS IN MY MODEL YEAR DUE TO FAULTY THROTTLE BODY ISSUES. BECAUSE THE PROBLEM WAS SO WIDESPREAD, FORD ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT WOULD COVER A THROTTLE BODY REPAIR FOR 10 YEARS OR 150,000 MILES, WHICHEVER CAME FIRST. BASED ON THIS INFORMATION, IT SEEMED LIKE MY CAR WOULD BE COVERED. HOWEVER, AFTER TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY CLAIMED THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED BECAUSE MY VIN DOESN'T MATCH THE LISTS AND ESTIMATED THE REPAIR AT $500-$700. THIS IS COMPLETELY CRAZY TO ME BECAUSE IT OBVIOUSLY HAPPENS TO CARS LIKE MINE AND HAS BEEN FIXED BY THE COMPANY AT NO COST. I BELIEVE I SHOULD ALSO RECEIVE THAT BENEFIT. I TALKED TO THE COMPANY AND HAVE LODGED A FORMAL COMPLAINT, AND I WILL ALSO BE SENDING A LETTER BECAUSE THIS IS JUST NOT ACCEPTABLE. STALLING ON A HIGHWAY GOING 70+ IS DANGEROUS AND I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN KILLED HAD I BEEN HIT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/22/2017 - NATRONA HEIGHTS, PA
WHILE MY VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, EVERY TIME THAT I HIT A LARGE BUMP OR HAVE TO ENGAGE THE ABS SYSTEM BY HAVING TO STOP VERY QUICKLY, THE BRAKE PEDAL GOES SO SOFT THAT EVEN TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT AFTER GOING AT LOW RATES OF SPEED, I HAVE TO PUSH IT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR SO THAT I CAN COME TO A FULL STOP. THE PROBLEM EVENTUALLY CORRECTS ITSELF, BUT IT TAKES AT LEAST A FEW HOURS AND SOMETIMES UP TO A DAY OR MORE. THIS CAN HAPPEN IN ALL ANY DRIVING CONDITION (CITY STREET, HIGHWAY, DRIVEWAY, ETC...), AND AT ANY SPEED (AS LOW AS 5 MPH). I RECENTLY READ THAT 2007-2009 MODELS WERE BEING INVESTIGATED FOR THE EXACT SAME REASON, AND WANTED TO MAKE SURE THAT THE 2010 MODEL WAS ADDED TO THE LIST BECAUSE I FEEL VERY UN-SAFE DRIVING MY CAR SOMETIMES, AND THE ABS SYSTEM IS SUCH A VITAL COMPONENT TO A SAFE DRIVE. ALSO, AFTER READING THE NEXT PAGE, THE MOST RECENT INSTANCE HAPPENED JUST YESTERDAY (5/21/17), BUT THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN JANUARY OF 2011. MY MECHANIC HAS NEVER BEEN ABLE TO EXPERIENCE IT, SO HE DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO FIX IT, BUT FROM WHAT I'VE READ, THE HYDRAULIC BRAKE CONTROLLER IS THE FAULTY PART. CAN YOU PLEASE PUT A RE-CALL OUT ON THIS??

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2017 - PORT ST LUCIE, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V384000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT KNOW WHEN THE PARTS WOULD ARRIVE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

5/17/2017 - GREEN VALLEY, AZ
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY STOPS AND THE CAR BECOMES EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO DRIVE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS. IT HAS ALSO OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES PREVIOUSLY, BUT IT SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORSE. VERY DANGEROUS!

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/15/2017 - SANFORD, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V384000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN JUNE OF 2016. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE RECALL REMEDY WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE PROVIDED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/1/2017 - FORT WAYNE, IN
TAKATA RECALL -- WE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN JULY 2016 FOR THE AIRBAG IN OUR CAR. I JUST TALKED TO 2 FORD DEALERSHIPS AND THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND NO ONE KNOWS WHEN THIS WILL BE FIXED. THIS SEEMS LIKE AN UNREASONABLE DELAY TO FIX THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds