Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 403 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (157)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (69) Power Train (121) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (124) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/17/2014 - MCMURRAY, PA, PA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED FROM THE DEALER. AFTER ONLY TWO DAYS, I WAS TOLD MY BRAKE LIGHT IS OUT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, THE DEALER REPLACED THE RIGHT TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY. 9/17/14, THE BRAKE LIGHTS APPEAR TO WORK,UNTIL THE HEAD LIGHTS COME ON OR ARE TURNED ON. THE LEFT REAR BRAKE LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON AND THE RIGHT LIGHT STAYS ILLUMINATED, AS IF THE BRAKES ARE BEING APPLIED, WHEN THE HEAD LIGHTS ARE IN USE. I AM TOLD BY THE DEALER THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT ASSEMBLY AGAIN NEEDS REPLACED, BUT WILL COST $400.00. OBVIOUS DEFECT OR MALFUNCTION IN THE SAFETY FEATURE (BRAKE LIGHTS).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/17/2014 - FOREST CITY, NC
I PURCHASED THE CAR NEW IN AUGUST 2010. IN JUNE 2012 I NOTICED A PROBLEM WITH THE LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS WERE OFF, THE BRAKE LIGHTS WORKED PROPERLY WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. HOWEVER, WITH THE HEADLIGHTS ON, INSTEAD OF THE LEFT TAIL LIGHT BEING ON, THE BRIGHTER BRAKE LIGHT WAS ON ALL THE TIME. THIS COULD LEAD THE DRIVER BEHIND ME TO THINK I AM APPLYING MY BRAKES WHEN I AM NOT. THE REAR LAMPS ON THIS CAR ARE LED, NOT REGULAR BULBS. THE ONLY FIX IS TO REPLACED THE ENTIRE SEALED ASSEMBLY; THE CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, SO THE DEALER REPLACED THE LAMP ASSEMBLY AT NO CHARGE. NOW, 2 YEARS LATER, I AM HAVING A SIMILAR PROBLEM WITH THE LAMP ASSEMBLY THAT WAS REPLACED. SINCE THE CAR IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, FORD WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I WOULD HAVE TO PURCHASE THE LAMP ASSEMBLY (WHICH MY RESEARCH SHOWS IS A DEALER-ONLY PART) FOR OVER $400. AND PRESUMABLY, WHEN IT FAILS AGAIN AFTER 2 YEARS, I GET TO SPEND ANOTHER $400 FOR ANOTHER ONE. SINCE MILANS ARE NO LONGER BEING MADE, WHAT WILL WE DO YEARS DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THIS PART IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE FROM ANYONE AT ANY PRICE? JUNK THE CAR BECAUSE THE REAR LIGHTS DON'T WORK PROPERLY? I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS, AND MANY MILAN OWNERS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE, AND IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THESE ASSEMBLIES ARE DEFECTIVE. I FEEL THAT FORD SHOULD REDESIGN THESE TO BE RELIABLE (OR ALTERNATIVELY, DESIGN A REPLACEMENT THAT USES STANDARD BULBS INSTEAD OF LEDS), THEN ISSUE A RECALL AND REPLACE THEM AT NO CHARGE FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/12/2014 - CONVERSE, TX
NOTICED LEFT OUTER TAILLIGHT FLICKERING IN JULY 2014. LIGHT FINALLY WENT OUT. ENTIRE ASSEMBLY WAS CHANGED ON 9/1914. ON 9/9/14 NOTICED TH WE SAME FLICKERING. LIGHT HAS NOT GONE OUT YET BUT IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME. DEALER WANTS $114 JUST TO LOOK AT IT. THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS WITH THIS MODEL. NEEDS RECALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/10/2014 - NAZARETH, PA
A FEW TIMES, PEOPLE DRIVING BEHIND ME HAVE BEEPED AT ME AND I DIDN'T KNOW WHY OTHER THAN MAYBE THEY WERE UPSET I WASN'T DRIVING FAST ENOUGH. THEN ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO, A POLICE OFFICER PULLED ME OVER TO WARN ME MY TAIL LIGHT WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND TO GET IT FIXED. THE OUTER(QUARTER PANEL) LED TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY IS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND THIS COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT FROM BEHIND. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO NAZARETH FORD, WHICH STATED THAT THE LED LIGHTS ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST MUCH MORE THAN FOUR YEARS, BUT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - BELLEVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND THE THROTTLE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY ONCE IT WAS SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/30/2014 - SELINSGROVE, PA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A MAIN ROAD AT 25MPH AND THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. THE LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON AND THE DASH READ AUTOMATIC POWER STEERING FAILURE I COULD HAVE BEEN ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY GOING 65 AND CRASHED AND OR KILLED. I AM REPORTING THIS AS IT SHOULD BE RECALLED!!!! I ONLY HAD THIS CAR 11 MONTHS! I CAN FIX IT BUT AM NOW TOO AFRAID THAT SOMETHING ELSE WILL HAPPEN. I NEED TO KNOW HOW TO FILE A LAWSUIT AS THIS HAD TAKEN A TOLD ON MY WELL BEING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/29/2014 - SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY
MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN HAS TWO LIGHTING ISSUES NOT CAUSED BY CUSTOM LIGHTS OR BAD WIRING. THE FIRST IS MY DRIVERS SIDE TAIL LIGHT IS FULLY ILLUMINATED LIKE IM PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL WHEN I AM NOT. I TURN MY LIGHTS OM AND IT EITHER FLICKERS OR STAYS ON OR BOTH. I HAVE READ AT LEAST A FEW HUNDRED OTHERS COMPLAINING OF SOMETHING SIMILAR OR WORSE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE IT AND I CAN SHOW YOU A PICTURE IF NEEDED. NOW, THE SECOND IS....MOISTURE GETS INTO MY PLATE LIGHT COVERS CAUSING ONE LIGHT TO SHORT AND THE OTHER TO FLICKER. THIS MAY BE A PROBLEM WITH ALL LICENSE PLATE LIGHT COVERS. I HAVE NOTICED ON THE 2010 FORD FUSION/FOCUS AND THE MERCURY MILAN MODELS THERE IS ALMOST ALWAYS ONE PLATE LIGHT OUT. TAKE NOTE THAT MY LENSE COVER ISNT CRACKED OR COMPROMISED IN ANY VISIBLE WAY. THOSE ARE THE TWO LIGHTING IISSUES I HAVE. ON SOME REPORTS READ I HAVE SEEN THAT FORD KNOWS BUT REFUSES TO REPAIR IT AND MANY OEM FACTORY LIGHTS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. IT IS A PROBLEM IN THE CIRCUT BOARD FOR THE L.E.D LIGHTS. PLEASE I URGE YOU TO INVESTIGATE THIS KNOWN ISSUE SO NOBODY GETS IINJURED OR KILLED BY FAULTY TAIL LIGHTS. THANK YOU

View Details

ENGINE

8/29/2014 - HENDERSON, KY
ELECTRIC THROTTLE BODY ISSUES

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/29/2014 - HENDERSON, KY
ELECTRIC THROTTLE BODY ISSUES

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/28/2014 - WARSAW, IN
SOON AFTER PURCHASE ONE OF THE TAIL LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF WITH THE CAR. THEN THE OTHER TAIL LIGHTS WOULD SLOWLY GO OUT IN ROWS UNTIL ALMOST DARK. BOTH TAIL LIGHTS ARE INVOLVED AND IT IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. THE DEALER FINALLY SAID THERE IS A SHORT IN BOTH TAIL LIGHTS AND THE PARTS ALONE ARE $915.00 NOT COUNTING THE INSTALLATION COSTS. THESE SHOULD BE ROBUST LED TAIL LIGHTS. THERE IS OBVIOUSLY SOME ISSUE WITH THE LIGHTS THEMSELVES OR THE WIRING DUE TO THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS WHEN RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM ONLINE. THESE IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE WHEN PEOPLE CAN BE DRIVING THEIR CAR AND THE TAIL LIGHTS JUST SLOWLY GO OUT OR DO NOT COME ON AT ALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds