Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 604 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (3) Power Train (136) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (168)
Electrical System (84) Exterior Lighting (125) Service Brakes (26) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (91) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (142) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Steering (94) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/6/2017 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
ON 2/1/17, STEERING WENT OUT. ALMOST HIT CO-WORKER'S PARKED CAR. NO WARNING MESSAGE OR SIGNAL OF ANY KIND. DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT HAPPENED. TURNED CAR OFF AND THEN BACK ON. OPERATED WITHOUT INCIDENT. ON 2/3/17, STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. THIS TIME, "SERVICE POWER STEERING" MESSAGE DISPLAYED FOLLOWED BY "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAK SYSTEM". TURNED CAR OFF AND BACK ON. OPERATED WELL ENOUGH TO DRIVE TO LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP, WHERE I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW RACK AND PINION ($2,800). LOOKED ONLINE TO DISCOVER THAT THIS IS A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE BY FORD AS THEY RECALLED THE 2011 AND 2012 MILANS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. MY 2010 HAS THE SAME COMPONENTS! THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FILED AGAINST FORD IN 2015 FOR THIS VERY SAME COMPLAINT. BOTH NHTSA AND FORD NEED TO STEP UP AND RECOGNIZE THE 2010 HAS THE SAME SAFETY HAZARD AND ITS OWNERS SHOULD RECEIVE THE BENEFIT OF THE SAME RECALL (#15V340000) THAT WAS ISSUED FOR THE 2011 AND 2012 MODELS.

View Details

STEERING

2/3/2017 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE REVERSING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE "POWER STEERING" AND "SERVICE ADVANCE TRACKING SYSTEM SOON" WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, WHILE REVERSING OUT OF A PARKING LOT AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED TO THE LEFT. THE CONTACT HAD TO SHIFT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO AVOID ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2017 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
ENGINE GOES TO 4000 AT HIGHWAY SPEED AND TRANSMISSION SLIPS WHILE DRIVING AT 70 ON INTERSTATE. WON'T SHIFT UNLESS THROTTLE IS BACKED WAY OFF. AT LOW SPEED ON 2-1 DOWNSHIFT, IT BANGS INTO GEAR JERKING YOU OUT OF THE SEAT AND CAUSING POSSIBLE LOSS OF CONTROL. ONLY DOES IT ON SLIGHT INCLINES. I PURCHASED NEW 11/3/2009 CAR ONLY HAS 24,818 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN SERVICED ONLY AT FORD DEALERS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/19/2017 - MILTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND A WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2017 - MILTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND A WRENCH SYMBOL ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/10/2017 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET THE POWER STEERING ON MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN WENT OUT. IT STARTED WITH A WARNING ON THE DISPLAY "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" FOLLOWED BY "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" ALONG WITH THE WARNING BELLS. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. TURNED THE CAR OFF AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES. TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND IMMEDIATELY RECEIVED THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" FOLLOWED BY "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" ALONG WITH THE WARNING BELLS. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND FOUND THAT THE COST OF REPAIR IS ABOUT 2K. I AM VERY UPSET THAT THERE WAS IS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ITEM BUT ONLY FOR THE 2011 MILAN THAT USED IDENTICAL PARTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2017 - ROANOKE, VA
WITH SOME SNOW AND ICE ON ROAD ON 1/8/17 IN ROANOKE, VA, CAR BRAKES WENT ALMOST ALL THE WAY TO FLOOR AND THEN REAR WHEEL STARTED LOCKING UP INTERMITTENTLY. THIS OCCURRED AS BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AND STARTING DOWN RESIDENTIAL STREET. I GOT OUT OF CAR AND HAD SON DRIVE BACK INTO DRIVEWAY. I WITNESSED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR WHEEL LOCKED DOWN FOR ABOUT 30 FT. BEFORE THE WHEEL STARTED ROLLING AGAIN. WAS GOING VERY SLOW AT TIME SO NO ACCIDENT. STRUGGLED JUST TO GET CAR BACK IN DRIVEWAY. WILL TAKE CAR TO DEALER WHEN WEATHER CLEARS.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2017 - LIVERPOOL, NY
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE ADVANTAGETRAC AND SERVICE POWER STEERING WARNING MESSAGES APPEARED IN THE INFORMATION CENTER. I DROVE TO MY DESTINATION AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. A HALF HOUR LATER I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE TO SEE IF THE ERROR CODES WERE RESET. AT THIS TIME THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" WARNING CAME ON AND THERE WAS NO ASSISTED POWER STEERING MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL EXTREMELY HARD TO TURN. I HAD THE VEHICLE DROPPED AT THE DEALERS WHERE I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE 2010 MERCURY MILAN FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I WAS FURTHER INFORMED BY THE DEALER THAT THE 2010 MERCURY MILAN WAS NOT INCLUDED EVEN THOUGH BOTH MODEL YEARS HAD THE SAME POWER STEERING COMPONENTS AND SYSTEMS. THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING ON A VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING IS A SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS ISSUE. FORD'S RECALL NEEDS TO BE EXTENDED TO COVER THE 2010 MERCURY MILAN MODEL YEAR ALSO.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2016 - BROOMALL, PA
ABS ENGAGED AND THEN BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR. BRAKES HAVE BEEN SOFT EVER SINCE. DEALER REPLACED HCU BUT PROBLEM PERSISTS. DEALER CLAIMS BRAKES ARE RESPONDING CORRECTLY. THEY ARE NOT.

View Details

STEERING

12/21/2016 - DAVIS, CA
APPROXIMATELY 3 MONTHS AGO I GOT INTO MY CAR TO GO TO WORK. I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON THE CITY SIDE STREETS TO GET TO THE HIGHWAY THAT I TRAVEL TO WORK. THE TROUBLE LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON INDICATING POOR STEERING AND THE VEHICLE DID SEEM TO BE STEERING INCORRECTLY. I RETURNED HOME AND DROVE MY WIFE'S VEHICLE TO WORK. NEXT DAY I WENT OUT TO CHECK TO SEE IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM. I STARTED UP MY VEHICLE AND TRIED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE OUT OF MY PARKING PLACE. THE POWER STEERING WON'T WORK AT ALL. NOW I DO NOT HAVE A VEHICLE TO GET TO WORK. THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL ON THE 2011, 2012 MERCURY MILAN FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN ONE FOR THE 2010????

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds