Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 353 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (51) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (149)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (38) Power Train (112) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (116) Fuel Propulsion System (77) Service Brakes (7) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/22/2014 - BUNNLEVEL, NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE DRIVER DROVE THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT HOME. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHILE THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000. LI

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/17/2014 - ONALASKA, WI
LED TAIL LIGHTS WILL FLICKER OR NOT WORK AT ALL - IN DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH I FOUND OUT IT IS A PRETTY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE - FORD WILL OFFER NO HELP WITH THIS KNOWN SAFETY DEFECT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/14/2014 - JERSEY CITY, NJ
I WAS ASKED TO PULL OVER BY A FRIEND WHO TOLD ME THE BRAKE LIGHTS WEREN'T ACTIVATING ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. CENTER AND LEFT SIDE WERE OPERATIONAL. WHEN I TURN OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, THE BRAKE LIGHTS ARE OPERATIONAL. AN OBVIOUS SYSTEM FAILURE WITHIN THE SEALED LIGHT. CANNOT REPLACE THIS LED LIGHT, THE ENTIRE TAIL LAMP UNIT MUST BE REMOVED. CHECKED WITH VARIOUS PARTS AND DEALERSHIP ($400+) SEEMS EXCESSIVE FOR A TAIL LIGHT THAT COSTS $2-3 IN AN ORDINARY TAIL LIGHT SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/2/2014 - SEBRING, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR BEGINS TO LOOSE POWER. THEN THE CAR LOOSES THE ABILITY TO CONTROL IT AND APPEARS TO NOT HAVE ANY GAS GOING TO IT. THE WRENCH ON THE DASH BOARD APPEARS AND THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. THE CAR APPEARS TO NOT BE GETTING ANY GAS. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND STOPPED THE CAR. AFTER IT SITS FOR A FEW MINUTES IT WILL START AGAIN. SOMETIMES IT STARTS UP AND DOESN'T HAPPEN FOR AWHILE. OTHER TIMES IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN IN A FEW MINUTES. IT CAN HAPPEN AT ANY SPEED OR AT ANYTIME. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS IF IT HAPPENED ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/1/2014 - MILTON , DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 MERCURY MILAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR TAIL LIGHT FAILED AND REMAINED ILLUMINATED AFTER THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE LED ASSEMBLY CIRCUIT BOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 24,500.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/28/2014 - PLAISTOW, NH
PURCHASED THIS MILAN IN 2011 WITH 22K MILES. IMMEDIATELY NOTICED ISSUES WITH THE 6-SPEED 6F35 AUTOMATIC CAUSING THE CAR TO STOP ACCELERATING UNDER LOAD, LEAVING ME DEAD IN THE WATER WHEN MERGING IN TRAFFIC. I WAS NOT INFORMED THAT FORD ALREADY KNEW OF ISSUES AND I WAS IN AND OUT OF THE DEALER WITH NOTHING DONE, UNTIL THE TRANY HAD MORE DAMAGE. IT WAS REPAIRED BUT NEVER PROPERLY STRESS TESTED, BY EITHER OF TWO DEALERSHIPS I WENT TO. ACCORDING TO THE TSB IF THE TRANY EXHIBITED CERTAIN GRADES OF FAILURE, IT REQUIRED REPROGRAMMING AND THEN VALVE BODY REPLACEMENT, FOLLOWED BY A STRESS TEST TO VERIFY THERE WAS NOT ANY MORE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE. THE MOST I GOT AFTER THE VALVE BODY WAS CHANGED WAS A SUGGESTION THAT I CHANGE MY TRANY FLUID THAT HAD ALREADY BEEN CHANGED BY FORD 20K MILES EARLIER. I THEN STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH THE REAR TAIL LIGHTS (BRAKE/PARKING), WITH ONES FLICKERING INTERMITTENTLY IN THE COLD AND THEN DIEING COMPLETELY, OR GOING FULL INTENSITY AND NEVER SWITCHING BACK TO JUST PARKING LIGHT MODE. HAD TO REPLACE BOTH AT HIGH COST, FORD LISTS $400 EACH, BASICALLY FOR THE EQUIVALENT OF A $2 BULB. I AM AN EE, SPECIALIZING IN MANUFACTURING, AND AFTER TAKING ONE OF THE FAILING ONES APART FOUND IT IS WAS PROBABLY RELATED TO POOR PART CHOICE OR DESIGN. THERE WAS NOTHING DAMAGED DUE TO WATER OR IMPACT. I WOULD DUMP THIS VEHICLE, HOWEVER I STILL HAVE PAYMENTS AND ETHICALLY I CAN NOT SELL IT ON THE OPEN MARKET WORRYING SOMEBODY ELSE MAY HAVE A DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH IT DUE TO THE QUESTIONABLE TRANSMISSION. IF THE TRANSMISSION HAD ANY TYPE OVER STRESS THAT REQUIRED THE LEVEL IF TESTING MENTIONED IN THE TSB, WHICH IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO DO IN VEHICLE, THE WHOLE TRANY SHOULD HAVE BEEN PULLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/28/2014 - PLAISTOW, NH
PURCHASED THIS MILAN IN 2011 WITH 22K MILES. IMMEDIATELY NOTICED ISSUES WITH THE 6-SPEED 6F35 AUTOMATIC CAUSING THE CAR TO STOP ACCELERATING UNDER LOAD, LEAVING ME DEAD IN THE WATER WHEN MERGING IN TRAFFIC. I WAS NOT INFORMED THAT FORD ALREADY KNEW OF ISSUES AND I WAS IN AND OUT OF THE DEALER WITH NOTHING DONE, UNTIL THE TRANY HAD MORE DAMAGE. IT WAS REPAIRED BUT NEVER PROPERLY STRESS TESTED, BY EITHER OF TWO DEALERSHIPS I WENT TO. ACCORDING TO THE TSB IF THE TRANY EXHIBITED CERTAIN GRADES OF FAILURE, IT REQUIRED REPROGRAMMING AND THEN VALVE BODY REPLACEMENT, FOLLOWED BY A STRESS TEST TO VERIFY THERE WAS NOT ANY MORE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE. THE MOST I GOT AFTER THE VALVE BODY WAS CHANGED WAS A SUGGESTION THAT I CHANGE MY TRANY FLUID THAT HAD ALREADY BEEN CHANGED BY FORD 20K MILES EARLIER. I THEN STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH THE REAR TAIL LIGHTS (BRAKE/PARKING), WITH ONES FLICKERING INTERMITTENTLY IN THE COLD AND THEN DIEING COMPLETELY, OR GOING FULL INTENSITY AND NEVER SWITCHING BACK TO JUST PARKING LIGHT MODE. HAD TO REPLACE BOTH AT HIGH COST, FORD LISTS $400 EACH, BASICALLY FOR THE EQUIVALENT OF A $2 BULB. I AM AN EE, SPECIALIZING IN MANUFACTURING, AND AFTER TAKING ONE OF THE FAILING ONES APART FOUND IT IS WAS PROBABLY RELATED TO POOR PART CHOICE OR DESIGN. THERE WAS NOTHING DAMAGED DUE TO WATER OR IMPACT. I WOULD DUMP THIS VEHICLE, HOWEVER I STILL HAVE PAYMENTS AND ETHICALLY I CAN NOT SELL IT ON THE OPEN MARKET WORRYING SOMEBODY ELSE MAY HAVE A DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH IT DUE TO THE QUESTIONABLE TRANSMISSION. IF THE TRANSMISSION HAD ANY TYPE OVER STRESS THAT REQUIRED THE LEVEL IF TESTING MENTIONED IN THE TSB, WHICH IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO DO IN VEHICLE, THE WHOLE TRANY SHOULD HAVE BEEN PULLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2014 - TEXAS CITY, TX
I FELT A BIG JOLT AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF MY NEIGHBORHOOD. IT FELT LIKE I HIT SOMETHING. MY SON EVEN GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND LOOKED UNDERNEATH. THEN THE NEXT DAY, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A GROCERY PARKING LOT, IT WAS REVVING UP BUT WOULDN'T GO, LIKE IT WASN'T IN GEAR. I STOPPED, PUT IT IN PARK FOR A MINUTE, THEN BACK TO DRIVE. IT STARTED GOING BUT HAPPENED AGAIN AT THE NEXT INTERSECTION. THIRD DAY, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEY SAID IT NEEDED A COMPUTER UPDATE. LUCKILY, I DO HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY, SO THERE WAS NO CHARGE. THAT WAS TWO DAYS AGO, AND IT SEEMS TO BE OKAY FOR NOW, BUT I'M SO AFRAID TO DRIVE IT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, AND I'M HESITANT NOW EVERY TIME I HAVE TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC WHEN LEAVING THE STORE OR MY NEIGHBORHOOD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/27/2014 - MADISON , WI
TRAILING DRIVER NOTICED ISSUES WITH LEFT TAILLIGHT FLICKERING INTERMITTENTLY....A VISIT TO FORUMS INDICATE A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH COSTLY REPAIR AND FORD NOT WANTING TO TAKE OWNERSHIP OF THE PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/21/2014 - BAYTOWN, TX
IF HEADLIGHTS OR PARKING LIGHTS ARE ON, LEFT AND RIGHT STOP LIGHTS DO NOT CHANGE BRIGHTNESS WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED. THE BRAKE LIGHT IN THE REAR WINDSHIELD DOES COME ON AS IT SHOULD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds