Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MILAN - 2010 MERCURY MILAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 562 complaints filed for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 MERCURY MILAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 MERCURY MILAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (3) Power Train (134) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (164)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (123) Service Brakes (23) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (89) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (137) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Steering (67) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/22/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
THIS IS THE 2ND $400 REAR TAIL LIGHT I'VE PUT ON THIS CAR. IT HAS LED LAMPS AND THE WHOLE LIGHT HAS TO BE REPLACED. WORKS FINE WITHOUT HEADLAMPS ON AND NOT WHEN THEY ARE OFF. THIS CAN RESULT IN GETTING REAR ENDED!!!!! FORD SHOULD STEP UP AND RECALL THIS. HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON INTERNET. AND A 9.5 OUT OF 10 ON NHTSA. REPLACING A $2 BULB WITH A $400 LED IS DUMB.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/19/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
MY DRIVER DOOR INSIDE HANDLE IS INOPERATIVE. I HAVE TO OPEN DOOR FROM OUTSIDE HANDLE. THIS MEANS EITHER SOMEONE HAS TO OPEN DOOR FOR ME FROM OUTSIDE, OR I ROLL DOWN MY WINDOWS TO PULL ON THE HANDLE. THE LOCK / UNLOCK ELECTRONIC BUTTON WORKS, AS WELL AS THE MANUAL LOCK/UNLOCK HANDLE ON THE DRIVER'S DOOR. HOWEVER, THIS ONLY ALLOWS LOCKING LATCH (ON THE SIDE OF THE DOOR, SEE PICTURE) TO BE ABLE TO RELEASE. SO WHAT HAPPENS IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT AND THE WINDOW IS BROKEN OR I AM IN A PANIC TO GET OUT? I CAN'T GET OUT OF THE CAR BY MYSELF. FURTHERMORE, I HAVE TO HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON FOR THE OUTSIDE DOOR TO BE ABLE TO UNLATCH THE LOCK (SOMEONE IS TRYING TO GET ME OUT, AND I AM DAZED AND CAN'T OPEN MYSELF, NOR UNDERSTAND TO HIT UNLOCK TO ALLOW RESCUER TO HELP). I WANTED TO BRING TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM FOR EVALUATION. I WAS INFORMED SINCE MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN HAS 80,600 MILES, IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY, AND SINCE THERE IS NO SAFETY RECALL ON FILE, I MUST PAY $100 TECHNICIAN INSPECTION FEE. THEN THERE WOULD BE THE CHARGE FOR FIXING IT.

View Details

STEERING

7/13/2016 - PLYMOUTH, MI
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT FROM A CITY STREET IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TURN THE POWER STEERING ON MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN WENT OUT. IT STARTED WITH A WARNING ON THE DISPLAY "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" FOLLOWED BY "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" ALONG WITH THE WARNING BELLS. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN BUT MADE IT SAFELY INTO A PARKING SPOT. TURNED THE CAR OFF AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES. TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND IMMEDIATELY RECEIVED THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" FOLLOWED BY "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" ALONG WITH THE WARNING BELLS. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THE POWER STEERING GEAR HAD TO BE REPLACED AS IT HAD FAILED. SPOKE TO THE DEALER AS THERE WAS IS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ITEM BUT ONLY FOR CERTAIN 2011 MILAN. THE COST WAS OVER $1700 TO REPLACE.

View Details

STEERING

7/10/2016 - SCHERTZ, TX
THERE IS A POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE THAT LOCKS THE CAR UP AND DISABLES ANY DRIVING ABILITIES. I NOTICED THERE ARE RECALLS FOR THIS PROBLEM FOR THE 2011 MODEL OF THE MERCURY MILAN AND THE FORD FUSION WHICH IS THE SAME VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/5/2016 - MERCEDES, TX
ON JULY 1ST I WAS MAKING DRIVING ON THE FRONTAGE ROAD IN MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY PASSENGER TIRE BLEW OUT SO I PULLED OVER TO CHECK WHAT HAPPENED AND WHEN I CAME BACK TO THE CAR "SERVICE POWER STEERING" AND "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" WERE LIT UP ON MY DASH BOARD. WE CHANGED THE TIRE TO THE SPARE BUT WHEN WE WERE READY TO DRIVE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO MOVE SIDE TO SIDE. LUCKILY A FAMILY MEMBER LIVED NEAR BY SO WE WERE ABLE TO TAKE THE CAR THERE BUT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS STILL HARD. THE NEXT DAY WE WENT TO GO GET A NEW TIRE TO REPLACE THE SPARE THINKING MAYBE IT WAS THE SPARE THAT CAUSED THE SERVICE MESSAGES TO APPEAR ON THE DASHBOARD BUT EVEN WITH THE TIRE CHANGE THE STEERING WHEEL IS STILL NOT ABLE TO ALLOW ANY SORT OF TURNING MOTION UNLESS THERE IS AN EXTREMELY STRONG EFFORT TO TURN IT. I'M AWARE THAT THIS EXACT INCIDENT ALSO HAPPENED TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER. I'M ALSO AWARE HOW THERE'S A RECALL ON THE 2011 BUT NOT ON THE 2010. A RECALL NEEDS TO BE GIVEN FOR THIS YEAR ALSO BECAUSE I'VE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING AND ADVANCE TRAC. IT'S NOT RIGHT FOR US TO HAVE TO COUGH UP 1000 TO FIX SOMETHING THAT IS A DEFECT IN THE CAR. I STILL OWE ON THIS CAR AND DON'T PLAN TO JUST HAVE IT SITTING THERE WITH NO USE TO IT AND THROWING MONEY DOWN THE DRAIN. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THESE INCIDENTS OF POWER STEERING AND ADVANCE TRAC ON THE 2010 MERCURY MILAN SO WE TOO CAN GET THE RECALL THAT WE NEED!

View Details

STEERING

7/5/2016 - MERCEDES, TX
ON JULY 1ST I WAS MAKING DRIVING ON THE FRONTAGE ROAD IN MY 2010 MERCURY MILAN AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY PASSENGER TIRE BLEW OUT SO I PULLED OVER TO CHECK WHAT HAPPENED AND WHEN I CAME BACK TO THE CAR "SERVICE POWER STEERING" AND "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC" WERE LIT UP ON MY DASH BOARD. WE CHANGED THE TIRE TO THE SPARE BUT WHEN WE WERE READY TO DRIVE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO MOVE SIDE TO SIDE. LUCKILY A FAMILY MEMBER LIVED NEAR BY SO WE WERE ABLE TO TAKE THE CAR THERE BUT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS STILL HARD. THE NEXT DAY WE WENT TO GO GET A NEW TIRE TO REPLACE THE SPARE THINKING MAYBE IT WAS THE SPARE THAT CAUSED THE SERVICE MESSAGES TO APPEAR ON THE DASHBOARD BUT EVEN WITH THE TIRE CHANGE THE STEERING WHEEL IS STILL NOT ABLE TO ALLOW ANY SORT OF TURNING MOTION UNLESS THERE IS AN EXTREMELY STRONG EFFORT TO TURN IT. I'M AWARE THAT THIS EXACT INCIDENT ALSO HAPPENED TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER. I'M ALSO AWARE HOW THERE'S A RECALL ON THE 2011 BUT NOT ON THE 2010. A RECALL NEEDS TO BE GIVEN FOR THIS YEAR ALSO BECAUSE I'VE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING AND ADVANCE TRAC. IT'S NOT RIGHT FOR US TO HAVE TO COUGH UP 1000 TO FIX SOMETHING THAT IS A DEFECT IN THE CAR. I STILL OWE ON THIS CAR AND DON'T PLAN TO JUST HAVE IT SITTING THERE WITH NO USE TO IT AND THROWING MONEY DOWN THE DRAIN. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THESE INCIDENTS OF POWER STEERING AND ADVANCE TRAC ON THE 2010 MERCURY MILAN SO WE TOO CAN GET THE RECALL THAT WE NEED!

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
STALLS (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES. THE VEHICLE KEEPS MOVING, BUT AT DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEEDS. AFTER SITTING FOR SOME TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH SYMBOL GOES AWAY. AFTERWARDS DRIVING BACK TO STALLING (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
STALLS (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES. THE VEHICLE KEEPS MOVING, BUT AT DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEEDS. AFTER SITTING FOR SOME TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH SYMBOL GOES AWAY. AFTERWARDS DRIVING BACK TO STALLING (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
STALLS (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES. THE VEHICLE KEEPS MOVING, BUT AT DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEEDS. AFTER SITTING FOR SOME TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH SYMBOL GOES AWAY. AFTERWARDS DRIVING BACK TO STALLING (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
STALLS (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES. THE VEHICLE KEEPS MOVING, BUT AT DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEEDS. AFTER SITTING FOR SOME TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR WRENCH SYMBOL GOES AWAY. AFTERWARDS DRIVING BACK TO STALLING (APPROX 10 MPH) THEN SUDDEN SURGES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds