Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN 370Z - 2010 NISSAN 370Z Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 29 complaints filed for the 2010 NISSAN 370Z

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 NISSAN 370Z. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 NISSAN 370Z, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (2) Power Train (7) Seats (1) Steering (20)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2014 - FORT MYERS, FL
CLUTCH LOST ALL PRESSURE AND I WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT COMING OFF THE INTERSTATE. LEFT ME STRANDED FOR HOURS ON MY WAY TO NORTH CAROLINA FROM FL. APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE 370Z AND LONGER TRIPS. I WAS JUST TRAVELING WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON AT ABOUT 70MPH AND THE CLUTCH PEDAL FELL TO THE FLOOR WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN WHILE EXITING THE INTERSTATE I-75N. THIS NEEDS TO BE RECALLED! I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT. I WILL NOT BUY OR RECOMMEND ANOTHER NISSAN UNTIL THIS GETS REPLACED FOR FREE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2014 - ARLINGTON, VA
CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER FAILED. I WAS ON A HIGHWAY AND WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE CAR INTO A DIFFERENT GEAR. I BARELY MADE IT OFF THE HIGHWAY WHERE I WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE CLUTCH JUST COMPLETELY LOST PRESSURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE CONCENTRIC SLAVE/MASTER CYLINDER. CAUSES THE CLUTCH PEDAL TO SINK DOWN AND NOT COME BACK UP. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN CLUTCH RANDOMLY ENGAGES BECAUSE OF THIS. ENTHUSIASTS HAVE DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM IS DUE TO PLASTIC COMPONENTS USED IN THE CYLINDERS. THERE IS ALREADY A AFTERMARKET SLAVE CYLINDER THAT FIXES THIS PROBLEM BY USING METAL COMPONENTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/24/2014 - MONROE, CT
LARGE AMOUNTS OF CONDENSATION IN HEADLIGHT CAUSED HID HEADLIGHT TO FAIL. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM IN NISSAN VEHICLES. HID HEADLIGHTS SHOULD NOT FAIL DUE TO MOISTURE INTRUDING INTO THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY. MOISTURE IN THE ASSEMBLY WILL EVENTUALLY IMPACT THE ENTIRE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM OF THE VEHICLE. THE BULB HAS FAILED.DROPS OF WATER FORM IN THE HEAD LIGHT ASSEMBLY. HEADLIGHTS SHOULD NOT FAIL DUE TO MOISTURE INTRUSION CAUSED BY A DEFECT. IT IS A LAW IN MOST STATES THAT LIGHTS SHOULD BE ON DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2014 - ISABELA , PR
DRIVING BACK HOME AFTER WORK (30 MIN DRIVE) CITY, CLUTCH BECAME SOFT AND DELAY ITS WAY BACK TO NORMAL POSITION SHIFTING TO 3RD GEAR. DRIVING CONDITIONS WHERE 50MPH, 23MPG AT 7PM.

View Details

STEERING

2/24/2014 - MT KISCO, NY
MY CAR WAS PARKED AT WORK AND I WENT TO START IT WHEN I WAS LEAVING TO GO HOME AND IT FAILED TO START FOR TWO DAYS, CALLED NISSAN THEY COULD NOT TELL ME WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT. THEY WOULD NOT EVEN HAD A TOW TRUCK COME AND TOW THE CAR. I HAD TO HAVE CAR TOWED THRU MY INSURANCE COMPANY TO NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE STEERING WHEEL LOCK. $1,300 LATER. I WAS STRANDED AT WORK LATE AT NIGHT. THE INTERNET SEARCHES SHOW THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THE 370Z OWNERS SINCE 2009. I FEEL NISSAN SHOULD HAVE A MANDATORY RECALL FOR A PART THAT IS LIKELY TO FAIL AT ANY TIME AND LEAVE THE DRIVER STRANDED. I AM TERRIFIED TO TURN MY CAR OFF NOT A GOOD FEELING. PLEASE HELP! AND WOULD APPRECIATE BEING COMPENSATED FOR SOMETHING THAT IS NOT MY FAULT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/20/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS, THE CLUTCH PEDAL WOULD NOT COME UP FROM THE FLOOR AFTER COMING TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN. AFTER LETTING THE CAR SIT FOR APPROX. 90 MINUTES, THE CLUTCH PEDAL OPERATION APPEARED TO RETURN TO NORMAL. I WENT ONLINE TO RESEARCH THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND THIS... PER NISSAN: SUBJECT: SB 370Z COUPE AND ROADSTER; CLUTCH PEDAL DOES NOT RETURN TO REST POSITION SUMMARY OF NTB13026: IF YOU CONFIRM: THE CLUTCH PEDAL ON AN APPLIED VEHICLE DOES NOT RETURN TO ITS NORMAL (RESTED) POSITION AFTER BEING DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR OR THE CUSTOMER STATES THE CLUTCH PEDAL ON AN APPLIED VEHICLE DOES NOT RETURN TO ITS NORMAL (RESTED) POSITION AFTER BEING DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR THERE ARE NO LEAKS IN THE CLUTCH HYDRAULIC SYST. ACTION: CHANGE THE CLUTCH HYDRAULIC SYSTEM FLUID WITH GT-R R35 SPECIAL BRAKE FLUID (SEE PARTS INFORMATION). - REFER TO SERVICE PROCEDURE FOR BLEEDING PROCEDURE. SEE THIS BULLETIN FOR FURTHER DETAIL. I TOOK THE CAR TO A LOCAL NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND THEY WERE ABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEIR SOLUTION WAS TO REPLACE THE CLUTCH FLUID WITHE THE GTR R35 SPECIAL BRAKE FLUID AS DESCRIBED IN THE SERVICE BULLETIN. HOWEVER, I'VE READ MULTIPLE REPORTS THAT THIS "FIX" ONLY HOLDS UP TEMPORARILY AND, THAT EVENTUALLY THE CSC (CONCENTRIC SLAVE CYLINDER) AND/OR THE CMC (CLUTCH MASTER CYLINDER) FAIL. MANY, MANY 370Z OWNERS HAVE HAD TO HAVE BOTH THE CSC & CMC REPLACED. THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP WHERE I TOOK MY CAR SAID THEY WOULD REPLACE THOSE PARTS BUT, ONLY IF I EXPERIENCE THE CLUTCH PEDAL FAILURE AGAIN. MY FEELING IS THAT THEY SHOULD'VE REPLACED THESE PARTS WHEN THEY REPLACED THE FLUID SINCE THEY'RE AWARE THAT MERELY CHANGING THE FLUID IS NOT REALLY FIXING THE PROBLEM SINCE THE CSC & CMC SO OFTEN FAIL EVEN AFTER THE FLUIDS HAVE BEEN CHANGED.

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2014 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
STOPPED THE VEHICLE AT A GAS STATION TO REFUEL. UPON COMPLETION OF REFUELING, DEPRESSED THE BRAKE AND PRESSED THE STARTER BUTTON (NORMAL STARTING PROCEDURE). THE STARTER INDICATOR WOULD NOT CHANGE FROM "LOCK", THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT CRANK, AND NO ACCESSORIES WOULD ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS SUBSEQUENTLY TOWED TO A LOCAL NISSAN DEALER. AFTER EVALUATION, DEALER STATED THE "STEERING LOCK" UNIT HAD FAILED. AFTER AN INTERNET SEARCH, THIS APPEARS TO BE PART 48700-JF00D. THE NISSAN DEALER REPRESENTATIVE STATED THIS ISSUE IS COVERED UNDER A TSB, BUT I CANNOT CONFIRM AT THIS TIME. THE DEALER STATED THE PART WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE FOR AT LEAST TWO WEEKS, AND NISSAN WILL NOT OFFER A COURTESY VEHICLE. INTERNET SEARCHES SHOW THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM FOR 370Z OWNERS SINCE 2009, AND THE STEERING LOCK WAS REMOVED IN 2012 MODELS FORWARD. I FEEL NISSAN SHOULD HAVE DONE A MANDATORY RECALL FOR A PART THAT IS LIKELY TO FAIL AT ANY TIME AND LEAVE THE DRIVER STRANDED.

View Details

STEERING

2/10/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT LOCK AFTER TURNING ENGINE OFF. LATER, IT WOULD NOT START. CALLED DEALER. ASKED IF WHEEL WOULD TURN. TOLD THEM IT WOULD. THEY IMMEDIATELY SUGGESTED IT WAS A STEERING WHEEL LOCK FAILURE. LATER CONFIRMED AT DEALERSHIP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/23/2014 - SHERMAN, TX
THERE IS A RECURRING ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE WHERE IF DRIVING LONG DISTANCES SUDDENLY THE CLUTCH WOULD GO TO THE FLOOR AND EVENTUALLY LOSE ALL RESISTANCE AND MAKE THE CAR UNDRIVABLE. I DISCOVERED THIS SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AT 20000 MILES. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE PLACE I PURCHASED FROM AND BECAUSE IT WAS INTERMITTENT THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE ISSUE. THE NEXT TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS TOLD TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER. THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AND I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AT THE DEALER. BY THE TIME I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IT WAS AGAIN NOT HAPPENING SO THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM. SATURDAY THE 18TH OF JAN. IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND I WAS ABLE TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER WHILE IT WAS HAPPENING. THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM WAS THE SLAVE CYLINDER LEAKING BUT BECAUSE NOW I AM OVER THE WARRANTY NISSAN WILL NOT COVER THE ISSUE. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND SEEN SEVERAL PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE INTERMITTENT ISSUE WITH THE CLUTCH THAT GOES TO THE FLOOR WITH VERY LOW MILES ON THE CAR. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO BE THAT THE PART THAT BREAKS IS PLASTIC AND NISSAN HASN'T REDESIGNED IT SINCE THE 350Z MODELS THAT ALSO EXPERIENCE THE SAME ISSUE. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE LOOK INTO THIS?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds