Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2301 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (63) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (131) Power Train (69) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (60)
Electrical System (130) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seat Belts (12) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (270)
Electronic Stability Control (37) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (28) Visibility (14)
Engine (89) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (261) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 276
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/27/2018 - FLORENCE, SC
THE TRACTION LIGHT, THE ABS LIGHT AND THE BRAKE LIGHT APPEAR ON THE DASH. I HAVE ALREADY PAID THE MECHANIC APPROXIMATLY $1,500 FOR REPAIRS AND NOW I AM TOLD I NEED THE ABS BRAKE BOOSTER WHICH COSTS AN ADDITIONAL $2,546.26. THIS PART HAS BEEN RECALLED ON OTHER 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS MODELS, BUT NOT MINE. I CANNOT AFFORD THIS FIX, SO I AM DRIVING MY CAR AS IT IS. BRAKE PEDAL ACTS DIFFERENTLY EACH TIME I USE THE BRAKES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/27/2018 - LAND O LAKES, FL
I'VE COUNTED AT LEAST 30 BRAKE BOOSTER/ACTUATOR COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE YEAR TO DATE FOR THE SAME ISSUE ON THIS MODEL YEAR CAR. OUR ISSUE IS THE SAME AS EVERYONE ELSE. JUST UNDER 150K MILES, BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS CAME ON MY DAUGHTER'S CAR (WE ARE ORIGINAL OWNERS) AS SHE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK. NON RESPONSIVE BRAKES, ONLY REAR BRAKES ENGAGE IF YOU PUSH THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR OF THE CAR. TOOK TO DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED DTC C1391, ACCUMULATOR LEAK MALFUNCTION. OUR CAR WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ORIGINAL WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT (MANUFACTURE DATE OF 1/2010), SO PRICE QUOTED WAS $4814.66. OUR DAUGHTER CANNOT AFFORD, SO WE CALLED TOYOTA WARRANTY WHO OFFERED US $2007 AS A MEASURE OF GOOD WILL, BUT NO MORE. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, BEYOND RIDICULOUS THAT SOME CARS WITH THE SAME DEFECT HAD THE WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM AVAILABLE WHICH PAID FOR THE ENTIRE REPAIR, YET MOST OTHERS LIKE US WERE DENIED THE FIX AND ARE FACING ASTRONOMICAL REPAIR BILLS THAT MANY CANNOT AFFORD, NOR ANTICIPATE ON A CAR SUCH AS A TOYOTA. THE BRAKES FAILED WHILE MY 22 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING - THAT COULD HAVE GONE SO VERY WRONG.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/27/2018 - MORRO BAY, CA
I WAS ON THE FREEWAY IN TRAFFIC, GOING 60 MPH. THERE WAS ROAD CONSTRUCTION COMING UP AHEAD. I DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND NOTHING HAPPENED. THE CAR DIDN+T SLOW DOWN AT ALL AND I CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED WHEN THE +VOLUNTARY SAFETY RECALL+ BY TOYOTA WAS SUPPOSED TO ADDRESS THIS, BUT I RECEIVED NO NOTIFICATION, NOR DID THOUSAND OAKS TOYOTA, WHERE I HAD THE CAR SERVICED, COMMUNICATE ABOUT IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/27/2018 - MORRO BAY, CA
I WAS ON THE FREEWAY IN TRAFFIC, GOING 60 MPH. THERE WAS ROAD CONSTRUCTION COMING UP AHEAD. I DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND NOTHING HAPPENED. THE CAR DIDN+T SLOW DOWN AT ALL AND I CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED WHEN THE +VOLUNTARY SAFETY RECALL+ BY TOYOTA WAS SUPPOSED TO ADDRESS THIS, BUT I RECEIVED NO NOTIFICATION, NOR DID THOUSAND OAKS TOYOTA, WHERE I HAD THE CAR SERVICED, COMMUNICATE ABOUT IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/27/2018 - MORRO BAY, CA
I WAS ON THE FREEWAY IN TRAFFIC, GOING 60 MPH. THERE WAS ROAD CONSTRUCTION COMING UP AHEAD. I DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND NOTHING HAPPENED. THE CAR DIDN+T SLOW DOWN AT ALL AND I CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED WHEN THE +VOLUNTARY SAFETY RECALL+ BY TOYOTA WAS SUPPOSED TO ADDRESS THIS, BUT I RECEIVED NO NOTIFICATION, NOR DID THOUSAND OAKS TOYOTA, WHERE I HAD THE CAR SERVICED, COMMUNICATE ABOUT IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/26/2018 - GILROY, CA
I KEEP HAVING TO REPLACE THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS IN MY 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHAT IS GOING ON? MY COMMUTE TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY IS 3 HOURS AND WITH DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME I AM USUALLY GOING TO WORK IN THE DARK OR COMING HOME IN THE DARK. MY LIGHTS WENT OUT ON MY WAY HOME IN THE DARK ONCE AND I HAD TO USE MY HIGH BEAMS TO GET HOME SAFE. I AM SURE THIS WAS BLINDING TO ONCOMING TRAFFIC AS INDICATED WITH ALL THE FLASHING OF HIGH BEAMS I GOT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2018 - MILPITAS, CA
THE VEHICLE WAS IN A PARKING LOT. UPON STARTING THE CAR, THE DASH DISPLAYED "CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM" AND THE VEHICLE COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 25 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2018 - MILPITAS, CA
THE VEHICLE WAS IN A PARKING LOT. UPON STARTING THE CAR, THE DASH DISPLAYED "CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM" AND THE VEHICLE COULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 25 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2018 - SANTA MONICA, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON A BUMPY SURFACE THE BRAKES SLIP WHEN APPLIED. STOPPING ABILITY IS REDUCED. THIS HAPPENS ON A REGULAR BASIS, ON SURFACE STREETS AND HIGHWAYS. I HAVE NOTICED IT WHILE STOPPING IN A STRAIGHT LINE, BUT IT MAY ALSO HAPPEN WHILE STOPPING ON A CURVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE, THE PEDAL BECAME LOOSE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED MOVING AND THE ANTI-SKID, BRAKE, AND ABS WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CAVENDER TOYOTA (5730 NORTHWEST LOOP 410, SAN ANTONIO, TX 78238, (210) 681-6601) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER BOOSTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE REPAIR FEES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS; THEREFORE, NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 276
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds