Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2149 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (112) Power Train (60) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (53)
Electrical System (112) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seat Belts (11) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (265)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (25) Visibility (12)
Engine (56) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (192) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 257
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2017 - MILILANI, HI
THE BRAKE ACTUATOR FAILED ON OUR 2010 PRIUS III MANUFACTURED IN OCTOBER 2010. TOYOTA IS COVERING PROBLEMS WITH THIS SAME BRAKE ACTUATOR FOR 2010 PRIUS MANUFACTURED BETWEEN MARCH 2009 AND EARLY OCTOBER 2009. MY VIN DID NOT FALL INTO THAT DATE RANGE EVEN THOUGH MINE WAS MANUFACTURED IN OCTOBER 2009, SO THE BRAKE DEFECT SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO BEYOND THE EARLY OCTOBER 2009 MANUFACTURED DATE. THE SYMPTOMS TO THIS PROBLEM WERE THE BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, NO REGENERATIVE BRAKING AND THE BRAKING DISTANCE INCREASED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2017 - SYOSSET, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE BRAKED PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SEVERAL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V235000 (SERVICE BRAKES). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2017 - SYOSSET, NY
THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP ASSEMBLY FAILED, WHICH LEFT ME WITH NO BRAKES AND IN A LIFE-THREATENING SITUATION. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AND I NARROWLY AVOIDED A BAD ACCIDENT ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
SPEEDOMETER AND GAS METER ELECTRONIC DISPLAY NO LONGER WORKS. IT STOPPED ONCE IT WAS IN MOTION AND HAS NOT TURNED BACK ON. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND IT IS NOT A FUSE. ENTIRE DIGITAL DISPLAY PANEL WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE UP UNTIL THE 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS MODELS. CAR WAS REVIEWED AT RED MCCOMBS TOYOTA, SAN ANTONIO TX I10-W.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2017 - OCEANSIDE, CA
ON PICKING UP MY PRIUS AFTER ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS 3 QUARTS LOW IN ENGINE OIL. I WAS STUNNED AS I HAD HAD NO WARNING OF LOW OIL PRESSURE OR LOSS OF PERFORMANCE. THE DEALER IS CONDUCTING AN "OIL CONSUMPTION TEST" TO MEASURE HOW MUCH OIL WILL BE CONSUMED IN 1200 MILES. THE ESTIMATED REPAIR COST WAS $2000, BUT MY HUSBAND WHO IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT ENGINES DOESN'T BELIEVE THE SUGGESTED REPAIR WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE ONLY RECENTLY BECOME AWARE THAT THIS IS A PREVALENT PROBLEM WITH LATE MODEL TOYOTAS, NOT JUST PRIUS. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT AND THE SERVICE TECH WE SPOKE WITH WERE CAGEY WHEN ASKED HOW FREQUENTLY THEY HAVE SEEN THIS PROBLEM. I BELIEVE TOYOTA IS VERY AWARE OF THE ISSUE, BUT ARE WILLFULLY NOT ADDRESSING A REMEDY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/29/2017 - LANSING, MI
I KEEP REPLACING THE LOW BEAMS. THEY DO NOT LAST LONGER THAN 3 MONTHS BEFORE THEY BURN OUT AGAIN. I'M BUYING HIGH END REPLACEMENT BULBS THAT SHOULD BE LASTING YEARS. I'VE NOTICED THAT THEY BURN OUT FOLLOWING MY CAR PAUSING WHEN I APPLY THE GAS FROM A STOP BUT IT ONLY WILL GO15-20 MILES AN HOUR THEN THE CAR WILL SURGES FORWARD AND DRIVES NORMAL. HELP THERE IS SOMETHING NOT DESIGNED CORRECTLY! PLEASE HAVE TOYOTA FIX THIS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/29/2017 - WILMETTE, IL
EARLIER I REPORTED THAT BOTH HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT SIMULTANEOUSLY. MY MECHANIC REPLACED BOTH HEADLIGHTS AND THEY NOW WORK. 37 MONTHS AGO THE SAME THING HAPPENED. IT SEEMS HIGHLY UNLIKELY THAT THIS IS JUST A COINCIDENCE. FORTUNATELY THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS CLOSE TO HOME BUT THIS TIME I WAS NOT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/28/2017 - TIMONIUM, MD
HEADLIGHTS FAIL FREQUENTLY. THIS HAPPENED OVER A PERIOD OF 18 MONTHS. IT BEGAN WITH A FRONT DRIVER-SIDE HEADLIGHT NOT WORKING, THEN BOTH HEADLIGHTS NOT WORKING - EACH WAS REPLACED WHEN NOTICED THEY WERE NOT WORKING. THE MOST RECENT TIME, 5 MONTHS AFTER THE LAST REPLACEMENT, I NOTICED ONE HEADLIGHT WAS OUT AGAIN, THEN, WHILE IN PARK, WITH THE CAR STILL ON, I TURNED THE LIGHTS OFF THEN ON AGAIN, AND AFTER THAT BOTH HEADLIGHTS AND ONE DAYTIME RUNNING WILL NOT WORK. NEEDLESS TO SAY THIS IS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2017 - KALAMA, WA
MY 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS IV HAS 98,731 MILES ON IT. THE ENGINE AND POWER TRAIN MALFUNCTIONED DURING A COLD START SO I HAD TO TAKE IT INTO THE TOYOTA DEALER. IT HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP ON A FLAT-BED TOW TRUCK BECAUSE THE CAR TRANSAXLE/TRANSMISSION WAS LOCKED IN THE DRIVE POSITION, WOULD NOT GO INTO NEUTRAL, AND THE CAR ENGINE WOULD NOT START REV ABOVE AN IDLE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO START IT THE ENGINE ACTED LIKE IT WAS MISFIRING VERY BADLY AND RATTLED VERY BADLY. IT SOUNDED LIKE THE ENGINE WAS NOT GETTING ANY OIL CIRCULATION SO I DIDN+T ATTEMPT ANY MORE COLD STARTS. I COULD NOT GET THE ENGINE INTO NEUTRAL OR ANY OTHER GEAR SO I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN THE CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP I WENT THROUGH MY RECORDS AND FOUND A LETTER TITLED +WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM NOTIFICATION - ZF3+ THAT I HAD RECEIVED SEVERAL YEARS PREVIOUS. THE DOCUMENT EXTENDED MY PRIMARY COVERAGE UNTIL 31 MARCH 2017 DUE TO A POTENTIAL FAULTY EXHAUST GAS RECIRCULATION (EGR) VALVE. +A FAULTY EGR VALVE WOULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO ROUGH IDLE/RATTLE FROM THE TRANSAXLE AT A COLD START DUE TO A STICKING EGR VALVE. IF THIS OCCURS, THE VEHICLE MAY ILLUMINATE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SET DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE DTC P0401. IF THE CONDITION IS VERIFIED THE VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE APPLICABLE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN UNDER THE TERMS OF THIS WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM.+ THE SYMPTOMS MY CAR EXPERIENCE DURING COLD STARTS BEGIN AROUND 92,000 MILES BUT NO +CHECK ENGINE LIGHT+ OR +DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE+ EVER ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. AFTER 92,000 MILES IT ONLY HAPPENED OCCASIONALLY, AND ALWAYS DURING COLD STARTS. NORMALLY AFTER A FEW SECONDS OF IDLING THE RATTLING WOULD GO AWAY AND THE ENGINE AND DRIVETRAIN WOULD PERFORM AS IT SHOULD. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR A SERVICE AND TOLD THE DEALERSHIP WHAT WAS HAPPENING, BUT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE ANY PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/27/2017 - SEVERNA PARK, MD
MY LOW BEAM HI-INTENSITY LIGHTS CONTINUE TO BURN OUT EVERY SIX MONTHS OR SO. A SINGLE HEADLAMP DOES NOT OFFER SUFFICIENT ILLUMINATION OF THE ROADWAY AND I FEEL UNSAFE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE LAST TIME IT BURNED OUT I WAS TRAVELING DOWN AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 257
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds