Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2136 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (107) Power Train (59) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (53)
Electrical System (111) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seat Belts (11) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (265)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (25) Visibility (12)
Engine (55) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (188) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 255
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/15/2017 - ANGOLA, NY
I GOT IN MY PRIUS ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND TURNED THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH ON, AND NEITHEROF MY LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED. I THOUGHT IT SEEMED ODD THAT BOTH LIGHTS WENT OUT AT THE SAME TIME. I PURCHASED THE MOST EXPENSIVE BULBS AT MY LOCAL AUTO PARTS STORE AND REPLACE THE BULBS. THEY WORKED GREAT UNTIL ABOUT AN HOUR AGO. I STARTED MY CAR AND WHEN I TURNED THE HEAD LIGHTS ON, BOTH OF THEM CAME ON FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND AND THEN IMMEDIATELY WENT OUT. I HAD TO DRIVE HOME WITH MY BRIGHT LIGHTS ON.I STARTED READING PRIUS FORUMS AND CAME TO REALIZE THAT HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PRIUS MODEL AND YEAR WERE HAVING THE SAME EXACT SYMPTOMS IN THIER CARS. THERE'S OBVIOUSLY AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE 2010 PRIUS. IT'S TIME TO ISSUE A RECALL. NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO BY ANOTHER SET OF BULBS WHICH WILL COST ME ANOTHER $60. PLEASE HELP US. IT'S UNFAIR THAT 100'S OF US HAVE TO SUFFER FROM SUCH A FLAW. THANKS

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2017 - ELLIJAY, GA
EXCESSIVE USE OF OIL BEGAN AT 80,000 MILES. DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR MY MODEL AND IF I KEPT AN EYE ON IT AND KEPT OIL IN IT EVERYTHING WOULD BE OK. I DO NOT GET A WARNING LIGHT. ONE TIME I HAD TO PUT OVER 3 QUARTS INTO IT--NO WARNING. I NOW CHECK IT EVERY 800 MILES AND MUST PUT A QUART OF OIL IN ABOUT EVERY 1000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/5/2017 - THRALL, TX
THE CONTACTS OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT DECELERATE NORMALLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,514.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2017 - SAVANNAH, GA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AFTER HAVING MY OIL CHANGED AT THE DEALERSHIP AT 100K MILES, I LEFT ON A CROSS-COUNTRY TRIP. DURING THE TRIP, THE LOW OIL PRESSURE SIGNAL FLASHED ON MY DASHBOARD. UPON PULLING OVER AND CHECKING THE OIL, I FOUND THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE AT ALL. I ADDED 4 QUARTS CHECKING THE LEVEL IN INCREMENTS WITH THE DIPSTICK, AND CONTINUED. I HAD TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL QUART OF OIL TO THE ENGINE OVER THE FOLLOWING WEEK, UNTIL RETURNING HOME. UPON RETURNING, THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ISSUE AND INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED NEW PISTONS AND RINGS. THEY DID NOT INFORM ME THAT THIS IS A RECURRING ISSUE WITH MY GENERATION OF PRIUS AND WERE QUITE FIRM THAT IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. THERE IS NOT REASON THAT A TOYOTA WITH 100,000 MILE ON IT SHOULD RANDOMLY START BURNING EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL WITHIN A FEW THOUSAND MILES OF AN OIL AND FILTER CHANGE. ALL OF THE MAINTENANCE IS PERFORMED AT THE DEALERSHIP AT THE SPECIFIED INTERVALS, AND I WOULD EXPECT THAT TOYOTA WOULD STAND BEHIND A TOYOTA THAT IS MAINTAINED PER TOYOTA SPECIFICATIONS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/3/2017 - GILLETT, PA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/2/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN HER BRAKES TOTALLY FAILED. SHE APPLIED BRAKE PRESSURE AS HARD AS SHE COULD, BUT IT HAD NOT EFFECT. FORTUNATELY, SINCE SHE WAS IN THE LEFT LANE OF THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, SHE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP IN THE LEFT HAND SHOULDER. SEVERAL RED LIGHTS LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD, INCLUDING THE BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO WORLD TOYOTA DEALERSHIP IN ATLANTA. THEY SAID THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER FAILED. I PAID THEM TO FIX IT. SEE ATTACHED WORK ORDER FROM WORLD TOYOTA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/28/2016 - RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED SEVERAL TIMES AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND VIBRATION. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/26/2016 - COLLEGE POINT, NY
I APPLIED BRAKE ON A RED LIGHT WHICH IS AS USUAL FOR ME AND I NOTICED CAR DIDN'T SLOW DOWN AND KEPT MOVING PAST THE RED LIGHT. IT HAS HAPPENED BEFORE AND THE IT HAPPENS ON UNEVEN AND EVEN ON MINOR POTHOLES. THE BRAKES ON THE SMALL BUMPS AND MINOR UNEVEN ROADS COMPLETELY LOOSE TRACTION OF THE TIRES AND CAR EVEN FASTER WITH THE BRAKES ON WHEN TRYING TO STOP OVER MINOR UNEVEN ROADS. MECHANIC SAID IT'S OVERSENSITIVE ANTI LOCKING BRAKES THAT CUT OFF THE BRAKE POWER EVEN WHEN IT DETECTS MINOR DISTURBANCE IN THE SENSORS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2016 - SHELBY TWP, MI
I HAVE A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHEN TRYING TO SLOW DOWN, ANY TIME A BUMP IS HIT, (OR A POTHOLE) THE BRAKING POWER SIGNIFICANT DECREASES . THIS GREATLY INCREASES THE STOPPING DISTANCE AND IS VERY SCARY IN TRAFFIC AND IN WINTER DRIVING. IS THIS A PROBLEM? I CALLED TOYOTA EARLIER FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS IS NORMAL AND THIS OCCURS BECAUSE ONLY ONE TIRE IS HITTING THE POTHOLE OR BUMP+ IT IS VERY SCARY AND I HAVE TO LEAVE A LOT OF SPACE AHEAD OF MY CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/22/2016 - DALLAS, TX
AFTER PROVIDING NOTICE OF NHTSA RECALL NO. 16V-487 TOYOTA SUBSEQUENTLY REFUSED TO REPLACE THE RETENTION BRACKETS ON THE CURTAIN SHIELD AIR BAG INFLATORS SUBJECTE TO SAID RECALL. THE RECALL IS CLEAR THAT THE RETENTION BRACKETS SHOULD BE PROVIDED AT NO CHARGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 255
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds