Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2151 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (52) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (112) Power Train (60) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (53)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seat Belts (11) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (265)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (25) Visibility (12)
Engine (56) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (193) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 257
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/9/2017 - SURFSIDE BEACH, SC
ABS ACTUATOR WITH MASTER CYLINDER ASSEMBLY HAS INTERNAL LEAK. ASSEMBLY DOESN'T HOLD PRESSURE AND ACTUATOR MOTOR CONTINIOUSLY WORKING IN ORDER TO CREATE THE PRESSURE. DUE TO THIS PROBLEM BRAKES ARE NOT OPERATE AS PROPERLY. IT TAKES MORE STRENGTH TO PUT ON THE PEDAL TO STOP VEHICLE. I ALSO NOTICED THAT DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING NOT ALL WHEELS WERE INVOLVED EQUALLY. DUE TO THIS PROBLEM BRAKING DISTANCE SIGNIFICANTLY INCREASED. I HAVE 3 INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ERROR LIGHTS TURNED ON DUE TO THIS PROBLEM: "BRAKE", LIGHT WITH VEHICLE ON SLEEPY ROAD, AND LIGHT WITH "!" SIGN. I FOUND THAT THERE ALREADY WAS RECALL FOR SAME 2010 YEAR TOYOTA PRIUS UNDER TMS-NTC-13178 OF JULY 23, 2013, TOYOTA RECALL NAME D0H, BUT MY VEHICLE IS NOT COVERED. I KINDLY ASK YOU TO INVESTIGATE IF MY CAR ELIGIBLE TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS RECALL CAMPAIGN, SINCE SEEMSTHAT THIS CAR WERE ASSEMBLED WITH SAME UNRELIABLE PARTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/28/2017 - CAPTAIN COOK, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2017 - VAN NUYS, CA
A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON FOR EPS AND 30 SECONDS LATER IT STALLED AND WOULD NOT STEER OR MOVE. I WAS DRIVING AT 6PM ON A FRIDAY IN MAJOR TRAFFIC

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/24/2017 - VAN NUYS, CA
A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON FOR EPS AND 30 SECONDS LATER IT STALLED AND WOULD NOT STEER OR MOVE. I WAS DRIVING AT 6PM ON A FRIDAY IN MAJOR TRAFFIC

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2017 - MILILANI, HI
THE BRAKE ACTUATOR FAILED ON OUR 2010 PRIUS III MANUFACTURED IN OCTOBER 2010. TOYOTA IS COVERING PROBLEMS WITH THIS SAME BRAKE ACTUATOR FOR 2010 PRIUS MANUFACTURED BETWEEN MARCH 2009 AND EARLY OCTOBER 2009. MY VIN DID NOT FALL INTO THAT DATE RANGE EVEN THOUGH MINE WAS MANUFACTURED IN OCTOBER 2009, SO THE BRAKE DEFECT SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO BEYOND THE EARLY OCTOBER 2009 MANUFACTURED DATE. THE SYMPTOMS TO THIS PROBLEM WERE THE BRAKE, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, NO REGENERATIVE BRAKING AND THE BRAKING DISTANCE INCREASED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2017 - SYOSSET, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE BRAKED PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SEVERAL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V235000 (SERVICE BRAKES). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2017 - SYOSSET, NY
THE BRAKE BOOSTER PUMP ASSEMBLY FAILED, WHICH LEFT ME WITH NO BRAKES AND IN A LIFE-THREATENING SITUATION. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AND I NARROWLY AVOIDED A BAD ACCIDENT ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
SPEEDOMETER AND GAS METER ELECTRONIC DISPLAY NO LONGER WORKS. IT STOPPED ONCE IT WAS IN MOTION AND HAS NOT TURNED BACK ON. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND IT IS NOT A FUSE. ENTIRE DIGITAL DISPLAY PANEL WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE UP UNTIL THE 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS MODELS. CAR WAS REVIEWED AT RED MCCOMBS TOYOTA, SAN ANTONIO TX I10-W.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2017 - OCEANSIDE, CA
ON PICKING UP MY PRIUS AFTER ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS 3 QUARTS LOW IN ENGINE OIL. I WAS STUNNED AS I HAD HAD NO WARNING OF LOW OIL PRESSURE OR LOSS OF PERFORMANCE. THE DEALER IS CONDUCTING AN "OIL CONSUMPTION TEST" TO MEASURE HOW MUCH OIL WILL BE CONSUMED IN 1200 MILES. THE ESTIMATED REPAIR COST WAS $2000, BUT MY HUSBAND WHO IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT ENGINES DOESN'T BELIEVE THE SUGGESTED REPAIR WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE ONLY RECENTLY BECOME AWARE THAT THIS IS A PREVALENT PROBLEM WITH LATE MODEL TOYOTAS, NOT JUST PRIUS. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT AND THE SERVICE TECH WE SPOKE WITH WERE CAGEY WHEN ASKED HOW FREQUENTLY THEY HAVE SEEN THIS PROBLEM. I BELIEVE TOYOTA IS VERY AWARE OF THE ISSUE, BUT ARE WILLFULLY NOT ADDRESSING A REMEDY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/29/2017 - LANSING, MI
I KEEP REPLACING THE LOW BEAMS. THEY DO NOT LAST LONGER THAN 3 MONTHS BEFORE THEY BURN OUT AGAIN. I'M BUYING HIGH END REPLACEMENT BULBS THAT SHOULD BE LASTING YEARS. I'VE NOTICED THAT THEY BURN OUT FOLLOWING MY CAR PAUSING WHEN I APPLY THE GAS FROM A STOP BUT IT ONLY WILL GO15-20 MILES AN HOUR THEN THE CAR WILL SURGES FORWARD AND DRIVES NORMAL. HELP THERE IS SOMETHING NOT DESIGNED CORRECTLY! PLEASE HAVE TOYOTA FIX THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 257
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds