Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2203 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (210) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 264
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/28/2017 - ROME, NY
THE LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS GENERALLY MUST BE REPLACED EVERY 4 TO 6 MONTHS; OCCASIONALLY ONE LOW-BEAM WILL LAST A YEAR, BUT MAY GO OUT AND COME BACK ON INTERMITTENTLY, WITHOUT WARNING. THIS IS NOT ONLY A SAFETY CONCERN, BUT I HAVE RECEIVED REPEATED VEHICLE DEFECT TICKETS THAT MUST CONSTANTLY BE ADDRESSED BY VISITING A REPAIR SHOP TO DEMONSTRATE THAT I FIXED THE BULB MYSELF. THE SHOP MUST SIGN THE PAPERWORK TO ATTEST THE DEFECTIVE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN FIXED BEFORE I CAN MAIL THE FORM TO ABSOLVE THE TICKET. THIS PROCESS IS TIME-CONSUMING AND HAPPENS FOR ONE HEADLIGHT, THE SIX WEEKS LATER, TO THE OTHER HEADLIGHT. PRESENTLY, I JUST REPLACED THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW-BEAM TWO WEEKS AGO. THREE DAYS AGO, THE DRIVER SIDE LOW-BEAM WENT OUT. I BOUGHT A NEW BULB BUT THE LOW-BEAM STILL DIDN'T WORK. I RETURNED THAT BULB FOR ANOTHER NEW BULB WHICH DIDN'T SEEM TO WORK EITHER. MY HUSBAND THOUGHT TO TEST THE BULB ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AND DISCOVERED THAT BOTH THE NEW BULB AND THE CURRENT BULB THAT WE THOUGHT WAS BLOWN BOTH WORK!! NOW, WE ARE WONDERING HOW MANY BULBS WE REPLACED THAT WERE ACTUALLY WORKING!!! MY HUSBAND ALSO CHECKED THE FUSES, WHICH ARE FINE. IT SEEMS THERE MUST BE A CONNECTION ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE RESOLVED. I HAVE SOME OF THE INVOICES AND DEFECT TICKETS BUT THEY AREN'T WITH ME AT THE MOMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO RED MACOMBS TOYOTA (13526 INTERSTATE 10 FRONTAGE RD, SAN ANTONIO, TX 78249) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER TO VERIFY THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2017 - LUBBOCK, TX
I HAVE A RECALL NOTICE WITH A DATE OF JUNE 28, 2016. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH GENE MESSER TOYOTA IN LUBBOCK, TX ON SEPTEMBER 9, 2017. I SHOWED THE RECALL NOTICE TO THE GUY AT THE SERVICE STATION AND WAS TOLD TO WAIT FOR A SECOND LETTER SAYING THAT PARTS ARE AVAILABLE. THE GUY DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO ORDER THE PARTS. I WAS REJECTED RIGHT AWAY. I DON'T THINK ANOTHER LETTER IS SUPPOSE TO COME BECAUSE OF THE TIMELINE, BUT THAT WAS WHAT I WAS TOLD TO DO.

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2017 - MORGAN HILL, CA
WATER LEAKING FROM ENGINE COWEL GETTING INTO IGNITION COILS WHICH IS CAUSING ENGINE TO SHUDDER AND STOP SOMETIMES TOO. SEEMS TO BE A KNOWN TOYOTA ISSUE YET NOT BEING RECTIFIED BY MANUFACTURER. SEALS SEEM TO ALLOW WATER TO GET INTO THE IGNITION COILS HENCE THE ISSUE. VEHICLE IS STATIONARY WHEN FIRST OBSERVED THEN SHUDDERING AND MISFIRING OCCURRING AS VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN ALSO LEADING TO LOSS OF POWER AS ITS BEING DRIVEN WHICH IS QUITE DANGEROUS ON HIGHWAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/6/2017 - MORGAN HILL, CA
WATER LEAKING FROM ENGINE COWEL GETTING INTO IGNITION COILS WHICH IS CAUSING ENGINE TO SHUDDER AND STOP SOMETIMES TOO. SEEMS TO BE A KNOWN TOYOTA ISSUE YET NOT BEING RECTIFIED BY MANUFACTURER. SEALS SEEM TO ALLOW WATER TO GET INTO THE IGNITION COILS HENCE THE ISSUE. VEHICLE IS STATIONARY WHEN FIRST OBSERVED THEN SHUDDERING AND MISFIRING OCCURRING AS VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN ALSO LEADING TO LOSS OF POWER AS ITS BEING DRIVEN WHICH IS QUITE DANGEROUS ON HIGHWAYS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2017 - MORGAN HILL, CA
WATER LEAKING FROM ENGINE COWEL GETTING INTO IGNITION COILS WHICH IS CAUSING ENGINE TO SHUDDER AND STOP SOMETIMES TOO. SEEMS TO BE A KNOWN TOYOTA ISSUE YET NOT BEING RECTIFIED BY MANUFACTURER. SEALS SEEM TO ALLOW WATER TO GET INTO THE IGNITION COILS HENCE THE ISSUE. VEHICLE IS STATIONARY WHEN FIRST OBSERVED THEN SHUDDERING AND MISFIRING OCCURRING AS VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN ALSO LEADING TO LOSS OF POWER AS ITS BEING DRIVEN WHICH IS QUITE DANGEROUS ON HIGHWAYS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2017 - LARGO, FL
I DRIVE A TOYOTA PRIUS 2010, I WAS DRIVING WHEN MY BRAKE, ABS, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON AT ONCE. WHEN I TRIED TO APPLY THE BRAKE IT WOULD TAKE A LOT OF FORCE FOR MY CAR TO STOP. I WENT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP TO GET IT CHECKED OUT AND THEY SAID PART NUMBER C1391 HAS TO BE REPLACED. TECH FOUND ABNORMAL LEAK IN ACCUMULATOR. THE ACCUMULATOR PUMP ASSEMBLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. WHICH WOULD COST ME 2,000 DOLLARS PARTS AND LABOR. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THEY MIGHT FIND OUT THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER MIGHT HAVE TO BE REPLACED AS WELL IF DAMAGED. WHICH WOULD BE 3,300 DOLLARS. SO WORST CASE SCENARIO IT WOULD BE OVER 5,000 WITH TAX TO FIX MY CAR. I NOTICED OTHER 2010 PRIUS MODELS WERE RECALLED FOR THE EXACT ISSUE BUT ONLY CERTAIN VIN NUMBERS. MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T INCLUDED. I FEEL LIKE IT SHOULD BE IF MANY OTHER PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE WITH THIS CAR. I CAN'T AFFORD OVER 2,000 IN REPAIRS LET ALONE 5,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/28/2017 - EL SOBRANTE, CA
HYBRID BATTERY COMPLETE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. OWNED THE CARS 7 YEARS SINCE NEW.

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2017 - EL SOBRANTE, CA
MY 2010 PRIUS WITH 167,000 HAS BEGUN BURNING ENGINE OIL AT A RATE OF ABOUT 1 QUART PER THOUSAND MILES. 9 WEEKS AFTER MY LAST OIL CHANGE AND THE ENGINE WAS DOWN 3 QUARTS OF OIL. MPG HAS GONE DOWN SLIGHTLY DURING THIS TIME AND NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR LOW OIL PRESSURE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/22/2017 - PLYMOUTH, MI
BRAKE SLIPPING WHEN OVER THE MANHOLE AND LOST CONTROL EVEN NOT WET SURFACE. I INTENTIONALLY DROVE OVER SAME SPOT 4 TIMES ON 8/20/2017 AND EXACTLY SAME CONDITIONS HAPPEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 264
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds