Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 545 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (112) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (76) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (81) Seat Belts (9) Structure (10) Visibility (6)
Engine (65) Fuel System Diesel (152) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - HAMILTON, NY
WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, ABOUT 30 MINUTES INTO A 40 MINUTE DRIVE, DRIVING ABOUT 30 MPH, IN 16 DEGREE F WEATHER, MY VEHICLE, A DIESEL WITH A 6 SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION SUDDENLY STALLED. I WAS ABLE TO ENGAGE THE CLUTCH, GO TO A LOWER GEAR, RELEASE THE CLUTCH AND RE-START THE ENGINE. WITH THE ENGINE BUCKING AND HESITATING, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THE NEXT MORNING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. I HAD IT TOWED TO A VW REPAIR SHOP WHERE THEY FOUND A COMPLETELY BLOCKED INTERCOOLER, FULL OF ICE. DOING SOME RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT VW HAS A TSB TO CORRECT INTERCOOLER ICING, WHICH INVOLVES REPLACING THE ORIGINAL FACTORY UNIT WITH A NEW INTERCOOLER DESIGN. AS I LOOKED ON VW FORUMS, I FOUND THAT MANY DRIVERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR UNPREDICTABLE FAILURE DUE TO INTERCOOLER ICING. WHEN I REQUESTED VW CORRECT THIS DESIGN FLAW AT THEIR EXPENSE, THEY REFUSED, CLAIMING THE VEHICLE IS OFF WARRANTY. I WOULD LIKE NHTSA TO LOOK INTO THIS, AS I FEEL VW NEEDS TO EITHER MAKE A SAFETY RECALL, OR CORRECT THE PROBLEM ON ANY CAR ON WHICH IT OCCURS. THIS PROBLEM STRIKES ME AS SIMILAR TO THE RECENT GM IGNITION KEY FAILURE ISSUE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2015 - HAMILTON, NY
WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, ABOUT 30 MINUTES INTO A 40 MINUTE DRIVE, DRIVING ABOUT 30 MPH, IN 16 DEGREE F WEATHER, MY VEHICLE, A DIESEL WITH A 6 SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION SUDDENLY STALLED. I WAS ABLE TO ENGAGE THE CLUTCH, GO TO A LOWER GEAR, RELEASE THE CLUTCH AND RE-START THE ENGINE. WITH THE ENGINE BUCKING AND HESITATING, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THE NEXT MORNING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. I HAD IT TOWED TO A VW REPAIR SHOP WHERE THEY FOUND A COMPLETELY BLOCKED INTERCOOLER, FULL OF ICE. DOING SOME RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT VW HAS A TSB TO CORRECT INTERCOOLER ICING, WHICH INVOLVES REPLACING THE ORIGINAL FACTORY UNIT WITH A NEW INTERCOOLER DESIGN. AS I LOOKED ON VW FORUMS, I FOUND THAT MANY DRIVERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR UNPREDICTABLE FAILURE DUE TO INTERCOOLER ICING. WHEN I REQUESTED VW CORRECT THIS DESIGN FLAW AT THEIR EXPENSE, THEY REFUSED, CLAIMING THE VEHICLE IS OFF WARRANTY. I WOULD LIKE NHTSA TO LOOK INTO THIS, AS I FEEL VW NEEDS TO EITHER MAKE A SAFETY RECALL, OR CORRECT THE PROBLEM ON ANY CAR ON WHICH IT OCCURS. THIS PROBLEM STRIKES ME AS SIMILAR TO THE RECENT GM IGNITION KEY FAILURE ISSUE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2015 - SOUTHPORT , FL
CAR RADIO SUDDENLY SHUTOFF WHILE DRIVING AND WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON.TOUCH SCREEN DOES NOT RESPOND. CHECKED FUSES ON ENGINE COMPONENT AND LEFT SIDE PANEL, AND NO FUSES ARE BLOWN. NOW THE PASSENGER HEADLIGHT AND DRIVER'S SIDE TAILLIGHT ARE ALSO OUT, BUT REPLACED WITH NEW ONES THEY STILL DO NOT COME ON. VERY CONCERNED THAT THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES WILL DRAIN THE BATTERY AND THAT THERE IS NO APPARENT CAUSE FOR THIS INCIDENT.I DO NOT SEEING A NEW RADIO AS BEING THE SOLUTION, I REFER TO THIS DISCUSSION HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T36009_DS552583 WITH VERY SIMILAR ISSUES TO MINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - SOUTHPORT , FL
CAR RADIO SUDDENLY SHUTOFF WHILE DRIVING AND WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON.TOUCH SCREEN DOES NOT RESPOND. CHECKED FUSES ON ENGINE COMPONENT AND LEFT SIDE PANEL, AND NO FUSES ARE BLOWN. NOW THE PASSENGER HEADLIGHT AND DRIVER'S SIDE TAILLIGHT ARE ALSO OUT, BUT REPLACED WITH NEW ONES THEY STILL DO NOT COME ON. VERY CONCERNED THAT THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES WILL DRAIN THE BATTERY AND THAT THERE IS NO APPARENT CAUSE FOR THIS INCIDENT.I DO NOT SEEING A NEW RADIO AS BEING THE SOLUTION, I REFER TO THIS DISCUSSION HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T36009_DS552583 WITH VERY SIMILAR ISSUES TO MINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE RADIO QUIT WORKING MAKING THE BLUETOOTH HANDS FREE NOT OPERABLE? SAFETY ISSUE AS I NEED THE BLUE FOR TALKING WHILE DRIVING FOR WORK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE RADIO QUIT WORKING MAKING THE BLUETOOTH HANDS FREE NOT OPERABLE? SAFETY ISSUE AS I NEED THE BLUE FOR TALKING WHILE DRIVING FOR WORK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/18/2015 - KINGSPORT, TN
RADIO SIMPLY STOPPED WORKING. THE RADIO HAD BLUETOOTH HANDS FREE OPERATION FEATURE. SO, MY FAMILY CAN NO LONGER OPERATE THE CAR SAFELY MAKING OR RECEIVING PHONE CALLS. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED WITH A MULTITUDE OF 2010 VERSIONS OF THIS CAR. THE PROBLEM IS INTERNAL TO THE RADIO MADE BY DELPHI, SO IT MAY CROSS OVER TO OTHER AUTOMOBILE MFG MODELS. THIS IS A VERY PREMATURE TIME FOR RADIO FAILURES AFTER 3 YEARS IN SERVICE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/13/2015 - RIPLEY, OH
WENT TO START AND LOUD CLUNK NOISE & ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER. SEVERAL PIECES IF ICE WERE FOUND IN TURBO INTERCOOLER AREA. IN SHOP NOW. KNOWN DESIGN DEFICIENCY THAT VW NEVER INFORMED US ABOUT. $1800 TO IMPLEMENT TECH BULLETIN WITH NO REIMBURSEMENT FROM VW, THAT IS IF ENGINE IS NOT RUINED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2015 - RIPLEY, OH
WENT TO START AND LOUD CLUNK NOISE & ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER. SEVERAL PIECES IF ICE WERE FOUND IN TURBO INTERCOOLER AREA. IN SHOP NOW. KNOWN DESIGN DEFICIENCY THAT VW NEVER INFORMED US ABOUT. $1800 TO IMPLEMENT TECH BULLETIN WITH NO REIMBURSEMENT FROM VW, THAT IS IF ENGINE IS NOT RUINED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - NEWPORT, NC
MY HUSBAND BROUGHT MY CAR IN FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE TO THE VW DEALER IN FEB 2014 INCLUDING A TIMING BELT CHANGE. HE ALSO DISCUSSED A "HARD START- NO START" ISSUE I WAS HAVING. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SAID TO MAKE SURE THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT GOES OUT BEFORE TRYING TO START (I'VE BEEN CAREFULLY WATCHING WITH EACH START SINCE THAT TIME AND THERE IS NO RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE STARTING ISSUE). TODAY (5 MARCH 2014), I HAD A REPEAT OF THE SAME PROBLEM I'VE HAD 3 TIMES THIS WINTER: CAR STARTS FINE IN THE AM EVEN DURING BELOW ZERO TEMPERATURES, I DRIVE TO WORK AND LET IT SIT FOR 3-8 HOURS. CAR WILL NOT START, REGARDLESS OF AIR TEMP. IT TAKES 4-8 ATTEMPTS TO START THE CAR INCLUDING "PUMPING THE FUEL" PEDAL. I BELIEVE THIS IS A KNOWN AS A "HARD START- NO START" INTERCOOLER ISSUE AND IS ADDRESSED IN THE FOLLOWING VW TECHNICAL BULLETIN -- HTTPS://DRIVE.GOOGLE.COM/FILE/D/0B162-SX2NN5LUZBIDG9HCVR6NUU/EDIT?USP=SHARING

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds