Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 667 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (13) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (6) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (170) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (90) Structure (14) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (99) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (92) Fuel System Diesel (165) Seats (2) Tires (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/2/2016 - SAN RAFAEL, CA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY MY CAR SHIFTED ITSELF INTO NEUTRAL. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND MY WIFE AND TWO CHILDREN HAD TO CROSS MULTIPLE LANES OF TRAFFIC AND WERE STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY. BROUGHT TO VW AND THEY REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR, WHICH MAKES NO SENSE. THEY SENT MY FAMILY BACK OUT WITH CAR ONLY TO HAVE THE SAME INCIDENT RECUR, THEY THEN TOWED BACK THE VEHICLE AND REPLACED WIRING HARNESS ON AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. THIS IS THE EXACT ISSUE DESCRIBED IN RECALL 09V333000, BUT VW HAS STATED THAT THIS PARTICULAR VIN IS NOT COVERED. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS ISSUE AND A FORMAL INQUIRY SHOULD BE ESTABLISHED TO DETERMINE IF ADDITIONAL VINS SHOULD BE COVERED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/1/2016 - COSTA MESA, CA
WHILE EXCELERATING FROM A RED LIGHT MY CAR WENT INTO "LIMP MODE" AND LOST MOST OF ITS POWER. I COULD NOT DRIVE FASTER THAN 40 MPH OR 2400 RPM. I CONTACTED VW DEALER AND THEY INSTRUCTED ME TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN WHICH WAS ONLY 8 MILES FROM MY HOUSE. ENROUTE TO DEALERSHIP MY CAR LOST ALL POWER AND SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I COULD NOT START THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS FOUND THAT MY HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP HAD FAILED WHICH CAUSED MY TURBO TO ALSO FAIL. THE FUEL IN THE TANK WAS NOT CONTAMINATED, THIS WAS JUST A FAILURE OF THE SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2016 - COSTA MESA, CA
WHILE EXCELERATING FROM A RED LIGHT MY CAR WENT INTO "LIMP MODE" AND LOST MOST OF ITS POWER. I COULD NOT DRIVE FASTER THAN 40 MPH OR 2400 RPM. I CONTACTED VW DEALER AND THEY INSTRUCTED ME TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IN WHICH WAS ONLY 8 MILES FROM MY HOUSE. ENROUTE TO DEALERSHIP MY CAR LOST ALL POWER AND SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I COULD NOT START THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS FOUND THAT MY HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP HAD FAILED WHICH CAUSED MY TURBO TO ALSO FAIL. THE FUEL IN THE TANK WAS NOT CONTAMINATED, THIS WAS JUST A FAILURE OF THE SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2016 - EVANS, GA
I HAD BEEN DRIVING MY CAR FOR ONE HOUR. I MADE A QUICK STOP AT MY HOUSE TO PICK SOMETHING UP. I PULLED BACK INTO THE STREET AND STARTED TO DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD WHEN MY ENGINE SHUT DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I HAD TO PUSH MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS BY MYSELF AND A TOW TRUCK WERE UNABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AND IT HAD TO BE TOWED. AFTER EXTENSIVE TROUBLESHOOTING, THE DEALER DETERMINED MY ENGINE CONTROL MODULE HAD FAILED AND HAD SHUT ALL POWER TO MY FUEL INJECTORS. LUCKILY, I WAS NOT TRAVELING VERY FAST AT THE TIME NOR WAS THERE ANY SURROUNDING TRAFFIC. THIS COST ~$2000 TO REPAIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/30/2016 - EVANS, GA
DURING A TRIP, THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND AIRBAG SERVICE MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED WHEN I RESTARTED MY CAR AFTER FILLING UP THE GAS TANK. WHEN I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER, THEY FOUND THE CODE FOR FAULTY N9S - AIRBAG EXCEEDED. AS I UNDERSTOOD IT, I HAD NO AIRBAG PROTECTION DURING THE TIME IT TOOK TO GET THIS FIXED. VW CORPORATE REFUSED TO PAY FOR ANY OF THIS REPAIR, WHICH COST ME $913.58 TO REPLACE THE AIRBAG IN THE STEERING COLUMN. VW CLAIMED THAT MY CAR VIN WAS NOT PART OF ANY PREVIOUSLY ANNOUNCED AIRBAG SAFETY RECALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/28/2016 - TAYLORS, SC
MY RADIO IN THIS CAR SUDDENLY WENT BLACK. ALL DOOR LOCKS WORK WHEN THEY WANT TOO. I HAVE TWO SMALL CHILDREN AND THE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS DO NOT WORK. BLUETOOTH IS NO LONGER WORKING SINCE IT IS TIED INTO THE RADIO. IN MY CITY OF GREENVILLE, SC IS IT ILLEGAL TO TALK ON PHONE WHEN DRIVING. THESE ARE MAJOR SAFETY CONCERNS SINCE IT RELATES TO MY WIFE AND TWO SMALL CHILDREN. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A BIG PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR JETTA FROM ALL THE COMPLAINTS ONLINE. I WILL NEVER AGAIN BUY A VOLKSWAGEN IF THEY AS A COMPANY DO NOT SEE THE URGENCY ON THIS ISSUE. WHAT'S IT GONNA TAKE SOMEONE LOSING THEIR LIFE BECAUSE OF A ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THEY ARE CLEARLY AWARE OF?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/23/2016 - JUPITER, FL
I AM UNABLE TO OPEN THE GAS FILLER FLAP TO FILL MY GAS TANK WITH GAS. THE FILLER FLAP USUALLY OPENS USING THE CENTRAL LOCKING SYSTEM IN CAR OR THE KEY POD. NEITHER ACTIVATES THE FILLER FLAP NOW. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHICH VOLKSWAGEN DOES NOT HAVE A SOLUTION FOR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2016 - WARWICK, RI
CAR LOST ACCELERATION GETTING ON HIGHWAY FROM ON RAMP AND THEN DIED IN THE LANE OF TRAFFIC. SPEEDCRAFT DEALER SAID THE ENGINE HYDROLOCKED AND THAT THE RECOMMENDED FIX WAS AN UPDATED INTERCOOLER AND THAT THIS WAS A KNOWN ISSUE. THERE WAS A TSB THAT WAS ISSUED REGARDING THIS ISSUE. UPDATED 02/05/16

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2016 - KEARNY, NJ
CAR IN SHOP FOR APPROXIMATELY 11 DAYS. ALTHOUGH CAR OUT OF WARRANTY, FIXED WITH AUTHORIZATION FROM VW OF AMERICA AS A "WARRANTY" REPAIR AT NO CHARGE TO ME. BAD FUEL NOT AN ISSUE (TESTED). HPFP AND ALL MAJOR FUEL SYSTEMS/LINES CLEANED OR REPLACED. HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2016 - KEARNY, NJ
CAR IN SHOP FOR APPROXIMATELY 11 DAYS. ALTHOUGH CAR OUT OF WARRANTY, FIXED WITH AUTHORIZATION FROM VW OF AMERICA AS A "WARRANTY" REPAIR AT NO CHARGE TO ME. BAD FUEL NOT AN ISSUE (TESTED). HPFP AND ALL MAJOR FUEL SYSTEMS/LINES CLEANED OR REPLACED. HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds