Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 462 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (7)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (68) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (72) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (64) Seat Belts (9) Structure (8) Visibility (6)
Engine (49) Fuel System Diesel (146) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (69) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - SEMINOLE, FL
HEARD A POP AND THE DISPLAY SCREEN WENT DARK. THE RADIO AND OTHER SYSTEMS (NAVIGATION, AUXILLARY, ETC) NO LONGER FUNCTION. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS THAT HAVE BEEN POSTED TO VW SITES. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I WAS TRAVELING IN RURAL ALABAMA AND MY ENGINE FAILED; I PULLED OVER AND IT WOULD NOT CRANK. IT IS CURRENTLY N THE SHOP. FUEL PUMP FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - BAY SHORE , NY
DRIVING ALONG WHEN A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON( EPC) WHICH IS ELECTRONIC POWER CONTROL. ON MY WAY TO THE DEALER NOW.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2014 - BAY SHORE , NY
DRIVING ALONG WHEN A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON( EPC) WHICH IS ELECTRONIC POWER CONTROL. ON MY WAY TO THE DEALER NOW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/27/2014 - LA, CA
WHILE ON THE FREEWAY THE CAR LOST ALL POWER AND DIED. THE CODES INDICATE THAT IT IS THE FUEL PUMP. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE ON THE TDI ENGINES. 000135 - FUEL RAIL/SYSTEM PRESSURE P0087 - 000 - TOO LOW FREEZE FRAME: FAULT STATUS: 01100000 FAULT PRIORITY: 2 FAULT FREQUENCY: 1 MILEAGE: 140659 KM TIME INDICATION: 0 DATE: 2118.14.04 TIME: 01:27:53 FREEZE FRAME: RPM: 2208 /MIN INJ. QUANTITY: 21.7 MG/STR (NO UNITS): 5.0 PRESSURE: 1400.0 BAR PRESSURE: 1112.0 BAR TEMPERATURE: 52.2-¦C TANK CONT.: 24.4 L

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - QUEEN CREEK, AZ
2010 VW JETTA 2.0TFSI WOLFSBURG EDITION - RCD-510 TOUCH SCREEN RADIO DIED LOUD AUDIBLE "POP" NOISE THEN NO OPERATION. ALL FUSES ARE FINE. FOUND A BLOG ONLINE THAT SHOWS MANY OTHER CONSUMERS WITH SAME YEAR AND MODEL HAVE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, YET VWOA REFUSES TO CONSIDER A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. PLEASE MAKE SURE THEY THEY ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM AND COMPENSATE CONSUMERS WITH FREE REPAIRS OR REIMBURSEMENT. THANK YOU. BLOG WITH OTHER KNOW PROBLEMS HERE: HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T36009_DS552583

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - SPRING, TX
RADIO/NAV UNIT POPPED AND DIED WHILE THE CAR AND RADIO WERE BEING OPERATED. THIS EXACT ISSUE HAS BEEN COMMUNICATED ON MANY ONLINE DISCUSSIONS. WITHOUT BLUETOOTH CONNECTIVITY FOR PHONES, THIS IS A DRIVING SAFETY CONCERN. I WILL LIKELY RESOLVE THE ISSUE WITH AN AFTERMARKET UNIT DUE TO THE HIGH COST OF AN OEM/DEALER REPLACEMENT. IF THIS IS A KNOWN AND REOCCURRING ISSUE WITH THESE UNITS, VW SHOULD ACTIVELY RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
2010 JETTA TDI. DRIVING ON ROAD AT ABOUT 35 MPH WHEN CAR SUDDENLY STALLED. GLOW PLUG LIGHT FLASHES, "SERVICE ENGINE NOW" ON DISPLAY. TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT AND SPEED WAS ENOUGH TO COAST TO SAFE LOCATION. CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER REPLACED SOME RELAY PART BUT.... THE VERY NEXT DAY SAME THING. CAR DIED WHILE DRIVING. SAME SYMPTOMS AS ABOVE. AGAIN NO WARNING PRIOR TO STALLING. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER HAD CAR FOR A FEW DAYS BUT COULD NOT FIND OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. CHECKED GROUND CONNECTIONS AS ADVISED FROM VWOA TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE. RETURNED CAR TO ME WITH A 'LET'S WAIT AND SEE' ATTITUDE. THIRD TIME, ABOUT 1500 MILES LATER, SAME THING. THIS TIME ON HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT ABOUT 45 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. CAR TOWED TO DIFFERENT DEALER. AT THE MOMENT THEY CAN'T DIAGNOSE OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. MY OPINION IS SOME FAULT IS TELLING COMPUTER TO KILL ENGINE. AS A SAFETY ISSUE, I WOULD THINK ENGINE SHOULD REMAIN RUNNING SO THAT I CAN SAFELY DRIVE OFF THE ROAD AND OUT OF TRAFFIC AND HARMS WAY. IF THIS ASSUMPTION IS CORRECT, THEN THERE HAS TO BE A LIMITED NUMBER OF REASONS WHY ENGINE SHOULD STALL, INSTEAD OF GOING INTO 'LIMP MODE.' MY RESEARCH FOUND REFERENCE TO PE10034, BUT CAN'T FIND ARTICLE. THREE TIMES CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING. ALL 3 TIMES ON ROAD. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN, AND LOCAL DEALERS SEEM HESITANT TO REQUEST HELP FROM VWOA TA. DEALER 1 DID CONTACT VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT AND GUIDED FAULT FINDING DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING. DEALER 2 STILL HAS NO CLUE. NO MANDATES ON LOCAL VW DEALERS, BY VWOA, TO KEEP AND SHARE SERVICE RECORDS BEYOND WARRANTY PERIOD, ON NATIONAL DATABASE, SO OTHER DEALERS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT FIRST DEALER DID. KEEPING ALL DEALER SERVICE RECORDS ON NATIONAL DB WILL HELP SPOT ISSUES SOONER. DEALER 2 WILL HOPEFULLY ASK VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT BEYOND WHAT DEALER 1 DID. IS THERE AN ESCALATION FOR THIS? WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS?

View Details

ENGINE

7/23/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
2010 JETTA TDI. DRIVING ON ROAD AT ABOUT 35 MPH WHEN CAR SUDDENLY STALLED. GLOW PLUG LIGHT FLASHES, "SERVICE ENGINE NOW" ON DISPLAY. TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT AND SPEED WAS ENOUGH TO COAST TO SAFE LOCATION. CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER REPLACED SOME RELAY PART BUT.... THE VERY NEXT DAY SAME THING. CAR DIED WHILE DRIVING. SAME SYMPTOMS AS ABOVE. AGAIN NO WARNING PRIOR TO STALLING. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER HAD CAR FOR A FEW DAYS BUT COULD NOT FIND OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. CHECKED GROUND CONNECTIONS AS ADVISED FROM VWOA TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE. RETURNED CAR TO ME WITH A 'LET'S WAIT AND SEE' ATTITUDE. THIRD TIME, ABOUT 1500 MILES LATER, SAME THING. THIS TIME ON HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT ABOUT 45 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. CAR TOWED TO DIFFERENT DEALER. AT THE MOMENT THEY CAN'T DIAGNOSE OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. MY OPINION IS SOME FAULT IS TELLING COMPUTER TO KILL ENGINE. AS A SAFETY ISSUE, I WOULD THINK ENGINE SHOULD REMAIN RUNNING SO THAT I CAN SAFELY DRIVE OFF THE ROAD AND OUT OF TRAFFIC AND HARMS WAY. IF THIS ASSUMPTION IS CORRECT, THEN THERE HAS TO BE A LIMITED NUMBER OF REASONS WHY ENGINE SHOULD STALL, INSTEAD OF GOING INTO 'LIMP MODE.' MY RESEARCH FOUND REFERENCE TO PE10034, BUT CAN'T FIND ARTICLE. THREE TIMES CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING. ALL 3 TIMES ON ROAD. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN, AND LOCAL DEALERS SEEM HESITANT TO REQUEST HELP FROM VWOA TA. DEALER 1 DID CONTACT VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT AND GUIDED FAULT FINDING DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING. DEALER 2 STILL HAS NO CLUE. NO MANDATES ON LOCAL VW DEALERS, BY VWOA, TO KEEP AND SHARE SERVICE RECORDS BEYOND WARRANTY PERIOD, ON NATIONAL DATABASE, SO OTHER DEALERS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT FIRST DEALER DID. KEEPING ALL DEALER SERVICE RECORDS ON NATIONAL DB WILL HELP SPOT ISSUES SOONER. DEALER 2 WILL HOPEFULLY ASK VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT BEYOND WHAT DEALER 1 DID. IS THERE AN ESCALATION FOR THIS? WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS?

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2014 - FREMONT, CA
AT APPROXIMATELY 1:30PM ON JULY 14, 2014 MY MOM WAS DRIVING SOUTH BOUND ON HIGHWAY 99. SHE SLOWED DOWN DUE TO HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION AND TO MERGE ONTO HIGHWAY 58 EAST WHEN SHE WAS STRUCK FROM BEHIND BY A PICK UP TRUCK. SHE THEN STRUCK THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER. THE AIRBAGS IN THE VEHICLE DID NOT DEPLOY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds