Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 570 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (11) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (123) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (79) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (83) Seat Belts (9) Structure (11) Visibility (6)
Engine (71) Fuel System Diesel (157) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (71) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2015 - GARDEN GROVE, CA
MIDDLE OF SNOW IN TEXAS (LOTS OF ROAD SALTS), I WAS STOPPING AT A GAS STATION TO REFUEL. AFTER REFUELING, THE RADIO (DELPHI PREMIUM 8) DID NOT TURN ON... TOUCHSCREEN WAS BLANK, NONE OF THE LIGHTS TURNED ON. BLUETOOTH LIGHT AT THE CONTROL BUTTONS ABOVE WORKED AND MY PHONE CONNECTED. HOWEVER, HANDS FREE CALLING IS NON-FUNCTIONAL SINCE THE BLUETOOTH REQUIRES THE RADIO FOR THE MICROPHONE AND SPEAKERS. WHILE I CAN SURVIVE WITHOUT MUSIC, NOT HAVING HANDS FREE IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AS I TAKE SEVERAL PHONE CALLS WHILE DRIVING. NOW THAT I AM IN THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, HANDS FREE IS A LEGAL REQUIREMENT. I SPENT EXTRA MONEY TO HAVE THE BETTER STEREO SYSTEM WITH INTEGRATED BLUETOOTH AND NOW I AM TOLD I WILL HAVE TO SPEND UPWARDS OF $1000 TO REPLACE WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A POORLY BUILT SYSTEM WHICH DELPHI AND VW SHOULD RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
RCD-510 RADIO STOPPED WORKING AND IS CONFIRMED "DEAD" BY THE DEALER. NO WARNING, NO REASON AND NO FIX AVAILABLE. BLUETOOTH NO LONGER WORKS BECAUSE IT USES THE RADIO TO POWER CAR SPEAKERS, SO CANNOT DO "HANDS FREE" COMMUNICATION. VW SAYS IT IS NOT RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. I HAVE NEVER HAD A RADIO FAIL -- I HAVE UNDER 60,000 MILES ON THE CAR!

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SPRINGS: COIL SPRINGS

4/9/2015 - GRAFFTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE COIL SPRING DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2015 - GUILFORD, CT
I HAVE A 2010 VOLKSWAGON JETTA SPORTWAGON. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH REAR DOOR LOCKS. THE FIRST STOPPED WORKING SHORTLY AFTER THE CAR WAS OFF WARRANTY, BUT I MADE A FUSS AT THE DEALER AND HE REPLACED IT FOR FREE. THE DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR I JUST HAD TO REPLACE--WHICH I HAD TO PAY $500 TO FIX. THIS IS NOT JUST A SECURITY ISSUE BUT A REAL SAFETY ISSUE AS WELL.--MY BROTHER'S SON IS AUTISTIC, AND HE ABSOLUTELY CAN NOT RIDE IN MY CAR IF THE REAR DOORS CANNOT BE SAFELY LOCKED. THE DEALER WAS NOT FORTHCOMING ABOUT WHETHER DOOR LOCK FAILURE IS A COMMON PROBLEM ON VOLKSWAGONS--AND I HAD TROUBLE SEARCHING COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEBSITE--SO I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A MORE WIDESPREAD ISSUE OR NOT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
TRANSMISSION ABRUPTLY SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL. THE SELECTOR LEVER POSITION INDICATOR FLASHED WITHIN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TURNED OFF BEFORE IT WOULD SHIFT INTO ANOTHER GEAR AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 VW JETTA TDI IN A PARKING LOT, SLOWING DOWN AT LESS THAN 5 MPH TO STOP. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. NO WARNING OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON AT ALL. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK TO RESTART IT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, THE ENGINE SEEMS TO BE SPUTTERING AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 VW JETTA TDI IN A PARKING LOT, SLOWING DOWN AT LESS THAN 5 MPH TO STOP. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. NO WARNING OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON AT ALL. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK TO RESTART IT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, THE ENGINE SEEMS TO BE SPUTTERING AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2015 - TIGARD, OR
MY BLUE-TOOTH/RADIO JUST STOPPED WORKING, BLACK SCREEN. I WAS ALSO HAVING BATTERY PROBLEMS AROUND THAT TIME, CAR BATTERY WOULD BE DEAD AT RANDOM TIMES. IT SEEMS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH 2010 VW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/25/2015 - VAN NUYS, CA
FLEW TO DALLAS TO PURCHASE THIS CAR 2/27/15. DROVE IT HOME 1500 MILES TO LOS ANGELES OVER 2 DAYS. GOT TO EL PASO ON 3/1/15 & GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT TRAVELING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED (15MPH OR LESS) GOING DOWNHILL. MY PARTICULAR ISSUE COMES IN THE WAY OF HOW THE TRANSMISSION BEHAVES GOING DOWNHILL AT HIGH OR SLOW SPEEDS. WHEN THE CARS ECU (ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) SENSES THE CAR GOING DOWNHILL, AND YOU TRANSITION FROM THE THROTTLE PEDAL TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CAR BEHAVES AS IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTING & STAYING IN GEAR. NOW YOU MAY THINK THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM, BUT....SINCE THESE TRANSMISSIONS TECHNICALLY ARE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS WITH AN AUTOMATIC CLUTCH...IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION CAR & WANTED TO STOP QUICKLY AS I DID TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR, YOU WOULD PUSH THE CLUTCH IN TO DISENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION FROM THE ENGINE...& THUS CAUSE THE CAR TO LOSE IT'S LOCOMOTIVE FORCE. WELL, THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT THIS CAR DID DURING THE ACCIDENT. THE AUTOMATIC CLUTCH DID NOT DISENGAGE FROM THE ENGINE WHEN SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP, AND, THUS PROVIDED THE MASSIVE LOW END TORQUE THE DIESEL ENGINE PROVIDES EVEN AT VERY LOW ENGINE SPEEDS. SO, THAT WHEN I SAW THE CAR STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME, I RESPONDED WITH HITTING THE BRAKES, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF, AND EVEN SWERVED TO THE LEFT IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID HITTING THE BACK OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. I COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE IN TIME TO AVOID HITTING THE OTHER CAR. MY BACKGROUND: I'M A 32 YR PRO-AUTOMOTIVE TECH WHO NOT ONLY WORKS ON, DIAGNOSES & REPAIRS ALL SORTS OF VEHICLES USING COMPUTER CONTROLS...BUT, I USED TO TEACH IT AS WELL. SO, AFTER DRIVING THIS CAR NOW FOR SEVERAL WEEKS, &...HAVING RESEARCHED THIS CAR & MULTIPLE OTHER DSG OWNERS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE WAY THESE TRANSMISSIONS SHIFT...I CAN SAY FOR SURE, VW'S THAT USE THESE DSG TRANSMISSIONS IS/ARE A MAJOR ISSUE WHEN IT COMES TO PUBLIC SAFETY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - VAN NUYS, CA
FLEW TO DALLAS TO PURCHASE THIS CAR 2/27/15. DROVE IT HOME 1500 MILES TO LOS ANGELES OVER 2 DAYS. GOT TO EL PASO ON 3/1/15 & GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT TRAVELING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED (15MPH OR LESS) GOING DOWNHILL. MY PARTICULAR ISSUE COMES IN THE WAY OF HOW THE TRANSMISSION BEHAVES GOING DOWNHILL AT HIGH OR SLOW SPEEDS. WHEN THE CARS ECU (ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) SENSES THE CAR GOING DOWNHILL, AND YOU TRANSITION FROM THE THROTTLE PEDAL TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CAR BEHAVES AS IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTING & STAYING IN GEAR. NOW YOU MAY THINK THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM, BUT....SINCE THESE TRANSMISSIONS TECHNICALLY ARE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS WITH AN AUTOMATIC CLUTCH...IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION CAR & WANTED TO STOP QUICKLY AS I DID TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR, YOU WOULD PUSH THE CLUTCH IN TO DISENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION FROM THE ENGINE...& THUS CAUSE THE CAR TO LOSE IT'S LOCOMOTIVE FORCE. WELL, THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT THIS CAR DID DURING THE ACCIDENT. THE AUTOMATIC CLUTCH DID NOT DISENGAGE FROM THE ENGINE WHEN SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP, AND, THUS PROVIDED THE MASSIVE LOW END TORQUE THE DIESEL ENGINE PROVIDES EVEN AT VERY LOW ENGINE SPEEDS. SO, THAT WHEN I SAW THE CAR STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME, I RESPONDED WITH HITTING THE BRAKES, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF, AND EVEN SWERVED TO THE LEFT IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID HITTING THE BACK OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. I COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE IN TIME TO AVOID HITTING THE OTHER CAR. MY BACKGROUND: I'M A 32 YR PRO-AUTOMOTIVE TECH WHO NOT ONLY WORKS ON, DIAGNOSES & REPAIRS ALL SORTS OF VEHICLES USING COMPUTER CONTROLS...BUT, I USED TO TEACH IT AS WELL. SO, AFTER DRIVING THIS CAR NOW FOR SEVERAL WEEKS, &...HAVING RESEARCHED THIS CAR & MULTIPLE OTHER DSG OWNERS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE WAY THESE TRANSMISSIONS SHIFT...I CAN SAY FOR SURE, VW'S THAT USE THESE DSG TRANSMISSIONS IS/ARE A MAJOR ISSUE WHEN IT COMES TO PUBLIC SAFETY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds