Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 507 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (89) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (74) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (75) Seat Belts (9) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (57) Fuel System Diesel (148) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
VEHICLE WILL STALL GOING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE OR FROM PARK TO DRIVE. ALSO FROM WHILE ACCELERATING THERE IS SPUTTERING THAT I NEED TO RELEASE THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN APPLY AGAIN TO KEEP IT FROM STALLING

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
VEHICLE WILL STALL GOING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE OR FROM PARK TO DRIVE. ALSO FROM WHILE ACCELERATING THERE IS SPUTTERING THAT I NEED TO RELEASE THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN APPLY AGAIN TO KEEP IT FROM STALLING

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CA
WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH ON HIGHWAY 95 IN NEEDLES CALIFORNIA THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT CAME ON AND BEGAN TO FLASH. CRUISE CONTROL DISABLED AND THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECREASE. NO POWER COULD BE FELT WHEN PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE ENGINE RPM BEGAN TO FALL. VEHICLE WAS PLACED INTO NEUTRAL AND COASTED TO SIDE OF THE ROAD. AFTER COMPLETE SHUTDOWN THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART, UNABLE TO DRIVE. HAD VEHICLE TOWED BY AAA TO THE NEAREST VW DEALER IN HENDERSON NEVADA AND PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE (HPFP). FUEL PUMP WAS DAMAGED AND METAL DEBRIS FROM THE PUMP WAS SENT INTO THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM AND RETURNED TO THE FUEL TANK. ALL FUEL RELATED PARTS WILL REQUIRE REPLACEMENT AND/OR CLEANING TO REMOVE DEBRIS. THE VEHICLE REQUIRED PARTS THAT TOOK APPROX 3 DAYS TO OBTAIN AND ADDITIONAL DAYS TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - NORTH SMITHFIELD, RI
THE TOUCHSCREEN RADIO (MODEL RCD-510, MANUFACTURED BY DELPHI AND UTILIZED IN VARIOUS 2010-2011 MODEL VWS) HAD FAILED COMPLETELY. IT IS ACTING AS IF NO POWER IS GOING TO THE UNIT. ALL FUSES WERE CHECKED AND THEY ARE FUNCTIONAL. ALL BLUETOOTH AND HANDS-FREE CAPABILITIES, WHICH WERE BUILT INTO THE STEREO SYSTEM, NO LONGER FUNCTION. ANY USE OF A PHONE WHILE DRIVING REQUIRES THE USE OF HANDS, WHICH IS ILLEGAL IN MANY STATES THROUGHOUT THE US. OTHERWISE, PULLING OFF OF THE ROAD TO PLACE/RECEIVE PHONE CALLS PUTS THE DRIVER AT INCREASED RISK OF BEING STRUCK.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

9/25/2014 - NORTH SMITHFIELD, RI
THE TOUCHSCREEN RADIO (MODEL RCD-510, MANUFACTURED BY DELPHI AND UTILIZED IN VARIOUS 2010-2011 MODEL VWS) HAD FAILED COMPLETELY. IT IS ACTING AS IF NO POWER IS GOING TO THE UNIT. ALL FUSES WERE CHECKED AND THEY ARE FUNCTIONAL. ALL BLUETOOTH AND HANDS-FREE CAPABILITIES, WHICH WERE BUILT INTO THE STEREO SYSTEM, NO LONGER FUNCTION. ANY USE OF A PHONE WHILE DRIVING REQUIRES THE USE OF HANDS, WHICH IS ILLEGAL IN MANY STATES THROUGHOUT THE US. OTHERWISE, PULLING OFF OF THE ROAD TO PLACE/RECEIVE PHONE CALLS PUTS THE DRIVER AT INCREASED RISK OF BEING STRUCK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - PITTSFIELD, ME
WAS SLOWING TO MAKE LEFT HAND TURN, HEARD A POP AND THE RADIO WENT DEAD. FUSE IS FINE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2014 - SOUTH POINT, OH
ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK I WAS CRUISING DOWN AT THE INTERSTATE WITH THE CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL. EVERYTHING WAS FINE THE FIRST 45 MINUTES OF DRIVING THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY GLOWPLUG LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND STARTED FLASHING MEANING ENGINE MALFUNCTION. MY VEHICLE STARTED LOSING SPEED ALL OF A SUDDEN ON THE INTERSTATE WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY CAUSED A CRASH. LUCKILY I PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE JUST STALLED OUT ON ME. NOW VOLKSWAGEN IS SAYING THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP SENT METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM AND IT ALL NEEDS REPLACED AND THEY WILL CHARGE ME 8000 DOLLARS. I CANNOT BE BLAMED FOR THE FAILURE OF A FUEL PUMP ON A CAR WITH 40000 MILES.I NEVER ALLOW THE TANK TO GO BELOW 1/4 OF A TANK. THERE HAVE MULTIPLE REPORTS OF PEOPLES HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP GOING OUT AND SENDING METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND COULD GET SOMEONE VERY HURT OR COULD POSSIBLY RESULT IN DEATH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - SOUTH POINT, OH
ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK I WAS CRUISING DOWN AT THE INTERSTATE WITH THE CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL. EVERYTHING WAS FINE THE FIRST 45 MINUTES OF DRIVING THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY GLOWPLUG LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND STARTED FLASHING MEANING ENGINE MALFUNCTION. MY VEHICLE STARTED LOSING SPEED ALL OF A SUDDEN ON THE INTERSTATE WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY CAUSED A CRASH. LUCKILY I PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE JUST STALLED OUT ON ME. NOW VOLKSWAGEN IS SAYING THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP SENT METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM AND IT ALL NEEDS REPLACED AND THEY WILL CHARGE ME 8000 DOLLARS. I CANNOT BE BLAMED FOR THE FAILURE OF A FUEL PUMP ON A CAR WITH 40000 MILES.I NEVER ALLOW THE TANK TO GO BELOW 1/4 OF A TANK. THERE HAVE MULTIPLE REPORTS OF PEOPLES HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP GOING OUT AND SENDING METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND COULD GET SOMEONE VERY HURT OR COULD POSSIBLY RESULT IN DEATH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - CRESTWOOD, KY
WHILE DRIVING THE 2010 JETTA SPORTWAGEN TDI THE GLO-PLUG LIGHT CAME ON WITH A CHECK ENGINE NOW WARNING. DEALERSHIP WAS CALLED AND THEY SAID BRING IT IN FOR INSPECTION. TWO MILES LATER THE CAR QUIT RUNNING WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. CAR WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP WHO CALLED AND SAID THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP - HPFP - HAD EXPERIENCED A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE AND METAL WAS PRESENT IN THE FUEL SYSTEM. A DAY LATER VW AGREED TO REPAIR THE CAR EVEN THOUGH WELL OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD. EARLY IN THE LIFE OF THE CAR, THE FUEL PUMP LOCATED UNDER THE PARKING BRAKE HANDLE FAILED. AFTER THE FIRST FUEL PUMP FAILURE A FUEL INJECTOR FAILED, FOLLOWED BY 2 MORE FUEL INJECTOR FAILURES. THE HPFP FAILURE WAS THE FINAL FAILURE IN THE FUEL SYSTEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND THEN PLACING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. AS I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PULL AWAY, THE CAR STARTED SPUTTERING LIKE IT WANTED TO STALL OUT. IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO DEALER FOR SCAN AND NO CODES FOUND. CAR HAS DONE THIS SINCE AND NO CODES AGAIN. LAST INCIDENCE WAS LAST WEEK AND AS I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR, THE CAR SPUTTERED SO I LEFT OFF THE GAS. UPON PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL AGAIN, CAR SHUT OFF AND THE BATTERY LIGHT ON THE CAR CAME ON. PLACED CAR IN PARK AND IT STARTED WITH NO INCIDENT FROM THERE. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN NO CODES SO THEY WILL NOT REPAIR. I AM SCARED THIS CAR WILL SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC LEAVING ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. STILL WAITING ON A DECISION FROM VWOA REGARDING THE SAFETY AND DRIVEABILITY OF THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds