Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 689 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (14) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (6) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (178) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Steering (6) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (102) Power Train (94) Structure (15) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (94) Fuel System Diesel (166) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (6) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/14/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE SHIFTING THE VEHICLE BETWEEN THE PARK, REVERSE, AND DRIVE POSITIONS, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,793.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE SHIFTING THE VEHICLE BETWEEN THE PARK, REVERSE, AND DRIVE POSITIONS, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,793.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/30/2016 - SUDBURY, MA
THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR HAS FAILED. IT'S ABOUT A $1,000 TO FIX AND IS A COMPONENT IN A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA TDI. I'VE HEARD THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
MY CAR STALLED WHILE DRIVING IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP ASSOCIATED WITH MY CAR MAKE AND MODEL. I WAS THEN INFORMED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE A MISFUEL GUARD INSTALLED. I NEVER RECEIVED ACTUAL NOTICE THAT I WAS TO INSTALL A MISFUEL GUARD UNTIL THE DAY MY CAR STALLED AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP RAN A FUEL TEST WHICH REVEALED THAT THERE WAS NO IMPROPER FUEL IN MY CAR, THUS, EVEN IF THE MISFUEL GUARD HAD BEEN INSTALLED, MY FUEL PUMP WOULD HAVE STILL FAILED. I HAVE CONTACTED VOLKSWAGEN AS WELL AND THEY ALSO INFORMED ME THAT BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE THE MISFUEL GUARD INSTALLED, I WAS UNABLE TO BE COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY, EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS NO IMPROPER FUEL LOCATED IN MY CAR. I AM EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED THAT EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS NO USER ERROR, I AM BEING STUCK WITH THE BILL ($5,000) DUE TO VOLKSWAGEN'S DEFECTIVE PART.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/22/2016 - DES MOINES, IA
STARTED THE CAR AND THE STEREO JUST STAYED BLACK AND WILL NO LONGER TURN ON. FUSES ARE IN WORKING CONDITION. THE BATTERY IS NOW SLOWLY DYING BECAUSE THE RADIO IS STILL DRAWING POWER. HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND VOLKSWAGEN HAS DONE NOTHING.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/3/2016 - WAYLAND, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. AFTER CONNECTING THE SEAT BELT, THE FASTENER DETACHED FROM THE SEAT FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. TWO WEEKS LATER, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE FASTENER DETACHED FROM THE SEAT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2016 - PANAMA CITY, FL
2010 VOLKSWAGEN 2.0 TURBO DSG FAULT. THE VEHICLE HAS BEGUN EXHIBITING DANGEROUS RANDOM/UNINTENTIONAL SHIFTING INTO MUCH LOWER GEARS, OR POSSIBLY EVEN NEUTRAL AT VARIOUS SPEEDS UNDER LIGHT OR NO THROTTLE INPUT ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS THUS FAR. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 25MPH, AND THE DSG TRANSAXLE DOWNSHIFTED/SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL FOR NO APPARENT REASON, ENGINE REVVING TO 4-5 THOUSAND RPM. THIS HAPPENED ROUGHLY FOUR TIMES BEFORE IT RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED WAS YESTERDAY AFTERNOON, ON THE HIGHWAY WITH SPEED CONTROL SET AT 58MPH. VEHICLE SHIFTED ALL BY ITSELF WITHOUT REASON, AGAIN REVVING TO 4-5 THOUSAND. THIS TIME IT HAPPENED TWICE BEFORE RETURNING TO NORMAL OPERATION. ADDITIONALLY, ONE MORNING I ACCELERATED FROM A STOP WITH COLD ENGINE/TRANSAXLE IN DRIVE, AND THE TRANSAXLE WOULD NOT UPSHIFT FROM LOW GEAR FOR ABOUT 3-4 SECONDS. NOT SURE IF THIS IS RELATED, BUT I SUSPECT IT MAY BE. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, THE ABS/ESP LIGHT FLASHED AND REMAINED ON, AND I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER EXPLAINING THE PROBLEM, AND THEY SAID MY REAR WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WAS FAILING. THIS IS THE ONLY INDICATOR OF ANY FAULT THAT I CAN TELL. WHEN THE CAR EXHIBITS THIS FAULT, I DO NOT NOTICE ANY FLASHING GEAR INDICATORS OR ANYTHING OF THE SORT, EVERYTHING SEEMS NORMAL, EXCEPT THE ENGINE REVS HIGH ALL BY ITSELF. I DO NOT HAVE ANY PHOTOS OR VIDEO EVIDENCE OF THE FAULT AS OF YET AS IT'S VERY UNPREDICTABLE AND INTERMITTENT, BUT I WILL ATTEMPT TO CAPTURE THE PROBLEM IF I CAN IN THE FUTURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/24/2016 - HOCKESSIN, DE
I DROVE TO WORK LISTENING TO THE RADIO. UPON RETURNING TO MY CAR AFTER WORK TO MAKE MY COMMUTE HOME THE RADIO WOULD NOT TURN ON. I HAVE REVIEWED VARIOUS ONLINE FORUMS AND DISCOVERED THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE REVISION OF THIS RADIO FOR THE 2010 MODEL YEAR. THIS MODEL HAS INTEGRATED HANDS FREE BLUETOOTH WHICH ALSO DOES NOT WORK AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR HANDS FREE CALLING REQUIRED IN MY STATE. ALSO, THIS WILL CAUSE A DRAIN ON THE BATTERY WHICH COULD RESULT IN NOT BEING ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE AFTER SITTING TOO LONG.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2016 - SHELBINA, MO
CAR KEPT STALLING AFTER TAKE OFF WHEN YOU ACCELERATED. WHEN TAKING IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP IT WOULD NOT START AND HAD TO BE TOWED THERE. WHEN THEY GOT IT THEY DISCOVERED ALL BUT 1 QUART OF THE OIL IN THE ENGINE WAS GONE. THEY DETERMINED THAT THIS MALFUNCTION DAMAGED THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. HAVE THE OIL CHANGED EVERY 3-5000 MILES AND IT WASN'T DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR ANOTHER 1000 MILES OR SO. THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHY THIS HAPPENED AND VOLKSWAGEN WON'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. ALL OF THIS TOOK PLACE IN THE CITY. WE WERE TO AFRAID TO TAKE IT OUT ON THE HIGHWAY. CAR HAS 109000 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN A LEMON FROM DAY 1. THIS WAS JUST THE ICING THAT TOPPED THE CAKE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/23/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WAS DEFECTIVE AND CAUSED ELECTRICAL FAILURES IN SEVERAL AREAS. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE LOW AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS AND THE TURN SIGNALS FAILED. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVER SIDE BRAKE, TAIL LIGHT, AND DAY TIME RUNNING LIGHTS FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds