Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 503 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (87) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (74) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Seat Belts (9) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (56) Fuel System Diesel (148) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - SOUTH POINT, OH
ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK I WAS CRUISING DOWN AT THE INTERSTATE WITH THE CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL. EVERYTHING WAS FINE THE FIRST 45 MINUTES OF DRIVING THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY GLOWPLUG LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND STARTED FLASHING MEANING ENGINE MALFUNCTION. MY VEHICLE STARTED LOSING SPEED ALL OF A SUDDEN ON THE INTERSTATE WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY CAUSED A CRASH. LUCKILY I PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE JUST STALLED OUT ON ME. NOW VOLKSWAGEN IS SAYING THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP SENT METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM AND IT ALL NEEDS REPLACED AND THEY WILL CHARGE ME 8000 DOLLARS. I CANNOT BE BLAMED FOR THE FAILURE OF A FUEL PUMP ON A CAR WITH 40000 MILES.I NEVER ALLOW THE TANK TO GO BELOW 1/4 OF A TANK. THERE HAVE MULTIPLE REPORTS OF PEOPLES HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP GOING OUT AND SENDING METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND COULD GET SOMEONE VERY HURT OR COULD POSSIBLY RESULT IN DEATH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2014 - SOUTH POINT, OH
ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK I WAS CRUISING DOWN AT THE INTERSTATE WITH THE CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL. EVERYTHING WAS FINE THE FIRST 45 MINUTES OF DRIVING THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY GLOWPLUG LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND STARTED FLASHING MEANING ENGINE MALFUNCTION. MY VEHICLE STARTED LOSING SPEED ALL OF A SUDDEN ON THE INTERSTATE WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY CAUSED A CRASH. LUCKILY I PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE JUST STALLED OUT ON ME. NOW VOLKSWAGEN IS SAYING THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP SENT METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM AND IT ALL NEEDS REPLACED AND THEY WILL CHARGE ME 8000 DOLLARS. I CANNOT BE BLAMED FOR THE FAILURE OF A FUEL PUMP ON A CAR WITH 40000 MILES.I NEVER ALLOW THE TANK TO GO BELOW 1/4 OF A TANK. THERE HAVE MULTIPLE REPORTS OF PEOPLES HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP GOING OUT AND SENDING METAL SHARDS INTO THE FUEL SYSTEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND COULD GET SOMEONE VERY HURT OR COULD POSSIBLY RESULT IN DEATH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - CRESTWOOD, KY
WHILE DRIVING THE 2010 JETTA SPORTWAGEN TDI THE GLO-PLUG LIGHT CAME ON WITH A CHECK ENGINE NOW WARNING. DEALERSHIP WAS CALLED AND THEY SAID BRING IT IN FOR INSPECTION. TWO MILES LATER THE CAR QUIT RUNNING WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. CAR WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP WHO CALLED AND SAID THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP - HPFP - HAD EXPERIENCED A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE AND METAL WAS PRESENT IN THE FUEL SYSTEM. A DAY LATER VW AGREED TO REPAIR THE CAR EVEN THOUGH WELL OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD. EARLY IN THE LIFE OF THE CAR, THE FUEL PUMP LOCATED UNDER THE PARKING BRAKE HANDLE FAILED. AFTER THE FIRST FUEL PUMP FAILURE A FUEL INJECTOR FAILED, FOLLOWED BY 2 MORE FUEL INJECTOR FAILURES. THE HPFP FAILURE WAS THE FINAL FAILURE IN THE FUEL SYSTEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND THEN PLACING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. AS I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PULL AWAY, THE CAR STARTED SPUTTERING LIKE IT WANTED TO STALL OUT. IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO DEALER FOR SCAN AND NO CODES FOUND. CAR HAS DONE THIS SINCE AND NO CODES AGAIN. LAST INCIDENCE WAS LAST WEEK AND AS I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR, THE CAR SPUTTERED SO I LEFT OFF THE GAS. UPON PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL AGAIN, CAR SHUT OFF AND THE BATTERY LIGHT ON THE CAR CAME ON. PLACED CAR IN PARK AND IT STARTED WITH NO INCIDENT FROM THERE. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN NO CODES SO THEY WILL NOT REPAIR. I AM SCARED THIS CAR WILL SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC LEAVING ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. STILL WAITING ON A DECISION FROM VWOA REGARDING THE SAFETY AND DRIVEABILITY OF THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND THEN PLACING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. AS I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO PULL AWAY, THE CAR STARTED SPUTTERING LIKE IT WANTED TO STALL OUT. IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO DEALER FOR SCAN AND NO CODES FOUND. CAR HAS DONE THIS SINCE AND NO CODES AGAIN. LAST INCIDENCE WAS LAST WEEK AND AS I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR, THE CAR SPUTTERED SO I LEFT OFF THE GAS. UPON PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL AGAIN, CAR SHUT OFF AND THE BATTERY LIGHT ON THE CAR CAME ON. PLACED CAR IN PARK AND IT STARTED WITH NO INCIDENT FROM THERE. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN NO CODES SO THEY WILL NOT REPAIR. I AM SCARED THIS CAR WILL SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC LEAVING ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. STILL WAITING ON A DECISION FROM VWOA REGARDING THE SAFETY AND DRIVEABILITY OF THE CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/15/2014 - FLEMINGTON , NJ
PERSISTENT PROBLEM WITH DRIVER'S SIDE REAR DOOR LOCK - CANNOT ALWAYSLOCK/UNLOCK DOOR WITH FOB. ALSO SOMETIMES ALL DOORS WOULD LOCK WHEN YOU EXITED THE CAR, OTHER TIMES IT WOULD NOT. SOMETIMES THE FOB WOULD UNLOCK ALL DOORS OTHER TIMES ONLY THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. A CHILD WAS SECURED IN THE BACK IN A CAR SEAT AND THE FOB SOULD NOT UNLOCK THE DOOR SO I COULD GET THE CHILD OUT - HAD TO USE THE DOOR ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CAR. DEALER REPLACED THE DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM ON THE REAR DOOR. SAME PROBLEM RE-DEVELOPED ON DRIVER SIDE FRONT DOOR AT 70,000 MILES - AGAIN DEALER REPLACED DOOR LOCK MECHANISM ON THAT DOOR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/15/2014 - WHITEHALL, MI
WHILE TRAVELING ON I-96 WEST TRAVELING AT 70MPH THE SUNROOF WHICH WAS CLOSED AT THE TIME SUDDENLY EXPLODED SENDING SHARDS OF GLASS EVERYWHERE. IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN WENT OFF IN THE VEHICLE. I WAS VERY FORTUNATE THAT THE SUNROOF CURTAIN WAS CLOSED AT THE TIME WHICH CONTAINED MOST OF THE GLASS SHARDS. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO. THERE WAS NOBODY ELSE ON THE HIGHWAY AROUND ME SO THERE IS NO POSSIBILITY THAT THIS WAS A STONE OR OBJECT FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE WAS 92 DEGREES F AND I HAD THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW OPEN APPROXIMATELY 50%. THIS WAS A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE THAT I WAS LUCKY TO WALK AWAY FROM WITHOUT PHYSICAL INJURY. HOWEVER, I WILL NOT DRIVE THIS CAR AGAIN WITHOUT AN EXPLANATION! VERY DANGEROUS CAR!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2014 - BARNWELL, SC
RADIO MADE A POP SOUND AND TURN OFF. HAS NOT POWER UP AGAIN. ALL FUSES ARE GOOD AND POWER TO RADIO IS GOOD. RADIO HAS A FLAW ACCORDING TO ALL THE COMPLAINTS BY VOLKSWAGEN OWNERS ONLINE. COULD BE A FIRE HAZARD. VW IS NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT THIS IF THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/9/2014 - WAKE FOREST, NC
TOUCH SCREEN RADIO ON MY 2010 VW JETTA TDI STOPPED WORKING A FEW WEEKS AGO. AT THE SAME TIME THE A/C BEGAN TO FAIL. THIS WEEK AFTER RESEARCHING WHY THE RADIO STOPPED WORKING CAME ACROSS MANY THREADS DISCUSSING SIMILAR ISSUE AND THE TERM "PARISITIC DRAIN". THIS PROBLEM CAUSES THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED. WOKE UP THIS MORNING AND I GOT IN THE CAR AND THE BATTERY IS DRAINED. WILL TRY THE DEALERSHIP ONCE IT OPENS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/9/2014 - WAKE FOREST, NC
TOUCH SCREEN RADIO ON MY 2010 VW JETTA TDI STOPPED WORKING A FEW WEEKS AGO. AT THE SAME TIME THE A/C BEGAN TO FAIL. THIS WEEK AFTER RESEARCHING WHY THE RADIO STOPPED WORKING CAME ACROSS MANY THREADS DISCUSSING SIMILAR ISSUE AND THE TERM "PARISITIC DRAIN". THIS PROBLEM CAUSES THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED. WOKE UP THIS MORNING AND I GOT IN THE CAR AND THE BATTERY IS DRAINED. WILL TRY THE DEALERSHIP ONCE IT OPENS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds