Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 487 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (7)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (81) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (73) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (70) Seat Belts (9) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (52) Fuel System Diesel (147) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (69) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
THE RADIO UNIT STOPPED WORKING AFTER 4YRS OF USE, THE SAFETY CONCERN IS THE LOST OF BLUETOOTH AND THE ABILITY TO CONDUCT HANDS FREE CELLPHONE CALLS / OPERATIONS THE BROKEN RADIO DRAINS THE BATTERY CAUSING FAMILY TO BE STRANDED AT NIGHT UNTIL THE TOW TRUCK TO ARRIVE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HICKSVILLE, OH
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND THE RADIO WENT OFF, BLACK SCREEN. HAS NOT CAME BACK ON, FUSE IS GOOD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/28/2014 - HICKSVILLE, OH
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND THE RADIO WENT OFF, BLACK SCREEN. HAS NOT CAME BACK ON, FUSE IS GOOD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/27/2014 - AUBURN , IN
WHEN I APPROACHED A RED LIGHT I PUSHED THE CLUTCH IN AND STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. I WAS IN THE TURN LANE AND THERE WAS AN OPENING AS I STARTED MOVING FEET FROM CLUTCH TO FUEL PEDAL. THE CAR LURCH AND CAME TO A STOP. THE CAR HAD DIED WHILE I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO GET IN THE TURN LANE. I HAVE CALLED THE VW DEALER AND THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON WHY THE CAR DID AND IS STILL DOING THIS. I DON'T FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR ME OR FOR MY FAMILY, I AM A FIREFIGHTER AND I REALLY TRULY BELIEVE THAT THE CAR IS GOING CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR KILL US. THE CAR HAS SHUT OFF ON ITS OWN OVER TWENTY TIMES IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS. IT DOESN'T HAPPEN EVERY TIME THAT THE CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED, SOME DAYS IT DOESN'T DO IT AT ALL. OTHER DAYS IT IS EVERY TIME OR EVERY OTHER STOP. WHEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAYS SPEEDS THE JETTA LURCHES LIKE IT IS OUT OF FUEL EVEN THOU IT HAS A FULL TANK. ALL OF THE CARS MAINTANCE IS UP TO DATE PER THE DEALER.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - AUBURN , IN
WHEN I APPROACHED A RED LIGHT I PUSHED THE CLUTCH IN AND STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. I WAS IN THE TURN LANE AND THERE WAS AN OPENING AS I STARTED MOVING FEET FROM CLUTCH TO FUEL PEDAL. THE CAR LURCH AND CAME TO A STOP. THE CAR HAD DIED WHILE I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO GET IN THE TURN LANE. I HAVE CALLED THE VW DEALER AND THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON WHY THE CAR DID AND IS STILL DOING THIS. I DON'T FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR ME OR FOR MY FAMILY, I AM A FIREFIGHTER AND I REALLY TRULY BELIEVE THAT THE CAR IS GOING CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR KILL US. THE CAR HAS SHUT OFF ON ITS OWN OVER TWENTY TIMES IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS. IT DOESN'T HAPPEN EVERY TIME THAT THE CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED, SOME DAYS IT DOESN'T DO IT AT ALL. OTHER DAYS IT IS EVERY TIME OR EVERY OTHER STOP. WHEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAYS SPEEDS THE JETTA LURCHES LIKE IT IS OUT OF FUEL EVEN THOU IT HAS A FULL TANK. ALL OF THE CARS MAINTANCE IS UP TO DATE PER THE DEALER.

View Details

ENGINE

8/27/2014 - AUBURN , IN
WHEN I APPROACHED A RED LIGHT I PUSHED THE CLUTCH IN AND STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. I WAS IN THE TURN LANE AND THERE WAS AN OPENING AS I STARTED MOVING FEET FROM CLUTCH TO FUEL PEDAL. THE CAR LURCH AND CAME TO A STOP. THE CAR HAD DIED WHILE I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO GET IN THE TURN LANE. I HAVE CALLED THE VW DEALER AND THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON WHY THE CAR DID AND IS STILL DOING THIS. I DON'T FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR ME OR FOR MY FAMILY, I AM A FIREFIGHTER AND I REALLY TRULY BELIEVE THAT THE CAR IS GOING CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR KILL US. THE CAR HAS SHUT OFF ON ITS OWN OVER TWENTY TIMES IN THE LAST FEW MONTHS. IT DOESN'T HAPPEN EVERY TIME THAT THE CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED, SOME DAYS IT DOESN'T DO IT AT ALL. OTHER DAYS IT IS EVERY TIME OR EVERY OTHER STOP. WHEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAYS SPEEDS THE JETTA LURCHES LIKE IT IS OUT OF FUEL EVEN THOU IT HAS A FULL TANK. ALL OF THE CARS MAINTANCE IS UP TO DATE PER THE DEALER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA
TRAVELING SOUTH ON HWY 101, 55 MILES NORTH OF SAN LOUIS OBISPO, CA AT AN APPROXIMATE SPEED OF 65 MPH,THE ENGINE LOST POWER, AND THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP. THE ENGINE COULD NOT BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO PERRY VOLKSWAGEN IN SAN LOUIS OBISPO, CA. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AS A FAILURE OF THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP SENDING SLIVERS OF METAL THROUGHOUT THE FUEL SYSTEM. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT THIS WAS NOT AN UNCOMMON ISSUE WITH THE TURBO DIESEL MODEL AND THAT THEY CURRENTLY HAVE TWO VEHICLES IN THEIR SHOP WITH THE SAME ISSUE. WE HAVE ALWAYS FUELED THE VEHICLE WITH LOWER SULFER DIESEL FUEL IN CALIFORNIA AND HAVE NEVER FUELED THE VEHICLE WITH GASOLINE. VW PREVIOUSLY HAD A RECALL TO INSTALL A "DEVICE" TO PREVENT FUELING WITH GAS NOZZLES FROM THE SERVICE STATION PUMPS. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE INDICATED THAT VW KNOWS OF THE PROBLEM AND WILL FIX THE VEHICLE AT NO CHARGE. WE ALSO HAVE A 2009 VW JETTA TDI THAT EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM IN JUNE 2014, WHICH WAS REPAIRED AT COMMONWEALTH VW IN SANTA ANA, CA. I AM REPORTING THAT INCIDENT IN A SEPARATE REPORT. IT IS MY POSITION THAT VW SHOULD BE RECALLING ALL OF THESE VEHICLES TO FIX THE PROBLEM BEFORE IT HAPPENS RATHER THAN FIXING ONE AT A TIME AFTER IT HAPPENS; EXPONSING CONSUMERS TO POTENTIAL FATAL ACCIDENTS ON HIGHWAYS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE JETTA TDI SPORTSWAGON 2010'S HATCHBACK LOCKING MECHANISM DOES NOT STAY LOCKED. AFTER CLOSING THE HATCH, THE LATCH ENGAGES INTO CLOSED POSITION. BUT ON SLIGHT PUSH, THE LATCH DISENGAGES INTO OPEN POSITION. ON A ROAD BUMP, THE LATCH OPENS, LIFTING THE HATCHBACK IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/25/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHEN SHIFTING GEAR, WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE CLUTCH MAKES CLICK NOISE THEN SLIPS TO NEUTRAL. THEN THE PRNDS LIGHTS STARTS FLASHING, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COME ON. THE ONLY WAY TO REENGAGE THE GEAR IS BY TURNING THE IGNITION KEY OFF AND ON, RESTARTING THE ENGINE. THEN THE GEARS START WORKING AGAIN. BUT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL STAY LIT, AND EVENTUALLY TURNS OFF BY ITSELF AFTER A FEW DAYS OF DRIVING. IT SEEMS THAT WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS PRESSED VERY HARD, THE CLUTCH SLIP OCCURS LESS OFTEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2014 - MARLTON, NJ
VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH AN RCD 510 2DIN TOUCHSCREEN RADIO (DELPHI PREMIUM - 8). HANDS FREE OPERATION COMES THROUGH THIS SYSTEM. ON THE MORNING OF 8/14/14 I STARTED MY CAR AND THE RADIO SYSTEM WAS DEAD. TOTALLY DEAD, AS IF THERE IS NO POWER GETTING TO IT WHATSOEVER. I CHECKED ALL FUSES (ENGINE COMPARTMENT, INTERIOR OF CAR AND THE 15 AMP FUSE LOCATED IN REAR OF THE RADIO) AND ALL WERE FINE. IT MAY BE A COINCIDENCE, BUT MY LEFT HEADLIGHT HAS BURNED OUT TWICE IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS, MOST RECENTLY IN EARLY AUGUST 2014. IN ADDITION, MY SIRIUS ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION ENDED ON THE EXACT DAY OF THE RADIO DYING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds