Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 588 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (11) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (137) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (80) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (83) Seat Belts (9) Structure (11) Visibility (6)
Engine (72) Fuel System Diesel (161) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
RADIO WENT COMPLETELY DEAD. SCREEN IS BLANK AND NO RESPONSE. BLUETOOTH AND OTHER FEATURES CONNECTED TO THE RADIO DO WORK. PREVIOUS TIME IN THE CAR THE RADIO WAS WORKING FINE. NOW RADIO IS DEAD AND REST OF CAR SEAMS FINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
RADIO WENT COMPLETELY DEAD. SCREEN IS BLANK AND NO RESPONSE. BLUETOOTH AND OTHER FEATURES CONNECTED TO THE RADIO DO WORK. PREVIOUS TIME IN THE CAR THE RADIO WAS WORKING FINE. NOW RADIO IS DEAD AND REST OF CAR SEAMS FINE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, SC
VW TDI ENGINE: A POORLY DESIGNED DIESEL ENGINE PARTICULATE FILTER (PF). VW IS IRRESPONSIBLE IN DESIGNING, SELLING AND SUPPORTING REPAIRS TO THIS ITEM. COST FOR 100K SCHEDULED MAINT. FOR TIMING BELT AND OTHER PM WORK @ $3,127, PF IS EXPECTED TO FAIL BETWEEN 90K AND 130K MILES AND IS ON RECORD TO BE A PM REPLACEMENT PART IN THE SERVICE MANUALS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED COMING ON AT 90K MILES. MY MECHANIC RESET LIGHT TWICE. I EVENTUALLY TOOK IT TO VW AND GAVE THEM A COPY OF THE SERVICE BULLETIN, PROVIDED BY MECHANIC.VW INSISTED IT WAS BOTH EXHAUST PRESSURE SENSORS AT $607 THIS WAS WRONG, LIGHT ON IN 4 DAYS. COST TO REPLACE THE PF IS $6.2K. AT 100K MILES THIS CAR HAS COST ME $9,863 FOR VW SCHLD. MAINT.. REPAIRS THAT VW RECOMMENDS TO BE DONE TO THIS CAR. VW CUSTOMER RELATIONS SAID NOTHING THEY CAN DO AND SUGGESTED I GO TO NHTSA. 1. VW ADVERTISED TDI ENGINE AS THE CLEANEST EMISSIONS IN THE WORLD! 2, WE EXPECTED PAY-OFF THROUGH EXCELLENT GAS MILEAGE AND LOW COST OWNERSHIP. AT 100K MILES A DEISEL SHOULD JUST BE BREAKING IN. RESULTS OF VW SELLING THE VEHICLE AND NOT SUPPORTING ITS CUSTOMERS: A. VW HAS STUCK ME WITH A CAR I CAN NOT SELL OR TAKE A DUMP ON RESALE. WHO WANTS TO BUY A CAR WITH A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON? B. I KEEP CARS AND KEEP THEM MAINTAINED SO I GET HIGH MILEAGE OUT OF THEM. EVEN IF I DID THE PF REPAIR AT $6K I WOULD BE LOOKING TO DO IT AGAIN AT 200K MILES. THERE IS NO VALUE TO COST OF OWNERSHIP OF THIS CAR!! C. I COULD GO TO MY MECHANIC AND RESET THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SELL THIS CAR NEAR RESALE. UNFORTUNATELY THE VIN NO. IS ON RECORD WITH THIS ISSUE. NOR DO I HAVE THE CONSCIENCE TO DO THAT. VW IS AN IRRESPONSIBLE CAR MANUFACTURER!!!!. HOW CAN YOU SELL A CAR THAT REQUIRES HIS MUCH SCHEDULED REPAIR WORK??? VW YOU HAVE SCREWED ME AND YOUR CUSTOMERS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2015 - PEMBROKE PINES, FM
I HAD THE AC COMPRESSOR REPLACED, VW OFFERED TO REPLACE PART FOR FREE AND I PAID FOR LABOR AT GUNTHER VW IN FT. LAUDERDALE IN 2013. NOW IN 2015, THE AC IS NOT COOLING AGAIN AND I TAKE MY VW FOR THE 100K MILE SERVICE. I ASK GUNTHER TO CHECK ON THE AC SYSTEM AND THE AC FAILED A PERFORMANCE TEST. AC COMPRESSOR, RADIATOR AND COOLING FAN NEEDS TO BE REPLACE AT A COST OF $1300! REDICULOUS! THE QUALITY OF THIS CAR AND ITS COMPONENTS IS AWEFUL! IVE NEVER HEARD OF AN AC SYSTEM NEEDING TO BE REPLACED LESS THAN 5 YEARS OF MANUFACTURING DATE OF CAR , ON TOP OF AN AC COMPRESSOR REPLACEMENT UNDER 75K MILES. I WOULD LIKE VW TO COVER THE COST OF THE PARTS NEEDED TO RUN MY AC AT OPTINUM CONDITION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2015 - DELRAN, NJ
RADIO SUDDENLY QUIT. I SEE FROM THE INTERNET THAT THIS HAPPENS A LOT WITH JETTAS. I HAVE NEVER HAD A FACTORY RADIO JUST STOP WORKING IN ANY OTHER CAR I HAVE OWNED. THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2015 - MATTAPOISETT, MA
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY, CARS RADIO JUST DIES COMPLETELY STOPS. QUICKLY MOVED OVER NOT KNOWING WHAT WAS WRONG. WORRIED SOMETHING COULD HAPPEN TO CAR ITSELF. GOT HOME CHECKED FUSES WHICH WERE FINE.TURNED CAR BACK ON, VEHICLE DASH IS DISPLAYING SEVERAL INDICATORS. NOT SURE IF CAR IS EVEN SAFE TO DRIVE.VOLKSWAGEN DIDN'T ACKNOWLEDGE ISSUE EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2015 - ARLINGTON, VA
VW RADIO DEFECT. RADIO WILL POP AND GO DEAD, CAUSING A 25 MILIAMP DRAIN ON BATTERY UNTIL REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/12/2015 - FREELAND, MD
RADIO STOPPED WORKING IN VW JETTA TDI 2010 - I GOT INTO MY VEHICLE AND STARTED THE ENGINE - AFTER FINDING THAT THE RADIO DID NOT START UP, I PUSHED THE POWER BUTTON BUT WITH NO SUCCESS. I CHECKED THE FUSE AND IT SEEMS FINE, THEN I LOOKED UP THIS ISSUE ONLINE AND FOUND A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME EXACT YEAR AND MODEL (TDI). AS A RESULT, I AM UNABLE TO USE BLUETOOTH FOR HANDS FREE PHONE CONVERSATION WHICH PRESENTS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/6/2015 - BERKELEY, CA
THE CAR STARTED TO MAKE A STRANGE SOUND AND SHORTLY AFTER LOST ALMOST ALL POWER THEN STALLED OUT. THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT WAS FLASHING WHICH INDICATES A SIGNIFICANT PROBLEM. IT RESTARTED BUT STILL HAD NO POWER. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE IT STALLED AGAIN AND NOW WOULD NOT RESTART. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY MECHANIC WHERE THEY FOUND THAT THE HPFP HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP HAD FAILED. WHEN IT FAILED IT SELF DESTRUCTED PUTTING METAL SHAVINGS THROUGHOUT THE FUEL SYSTEM. VW'S RECOMMENDED REPAIR IS TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM AT A COST OF OVER $8000. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED AND HAS NEVER BEEN MISFUELED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/5/2015 - SAN MARCOS, CA
I TURNED MY CAR ON AND THE RADIO WAS DEAD. THE RADIO IS ALSO THE BLUETOOTH DEVICE AND IS NOW UNSAFE FOR ME TO USE MY PHONE WHILE IN THE CAR. I HAVE READ THAT MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds