Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 555 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (117) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (77) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (82) Seat Belts (9) Structure (10) Visibility (6)
Engine (68) Fuel System Diesel (154) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 76
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/18/2015 - SILVER SPRING , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE SHIFT LEVER INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND BACK INTO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS AND IGNITER COIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/18/2015 - SILVER SPRING , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE SHIFT LEVER INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND BACK INTO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS AND IGNITER COIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/14/2015 - OREM, UT
VEHICLE LOST POWER AND WENT INTO LIMP MODE, DASH SAID SERVICE ENGINE. CAR DIED A FEW MINUTES LATER AS I TRIED TO LIMP IT TO THE DEALER AND IT WOULD NOT RESTART. I HAD TO TOW THE VEHICLE AT MY OWN EXPENSE BUT VOLKSWAGEN DID PAY FOR A COMPLETELY NEW FUEL SYSTEM. CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WAS A FAILURE OF THE DIESEL HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF CASES OF THIS SAME PROBLEM DOCUMENTED HERE: HTTP://FORUMS.TDICLUB.COM/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=299854 VOLKSWAGEN NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTED FOR A DEFECT IN THEIR COMMON RAIL DIESEL CARS IF THERE ARE THIS MANY PROBLEMS.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

2/13/2015 - NAVARRE, FL
I WENT TO DRIVE TO WORK AND TURNED ON MY CAR. NO RADIO. NOTHING. NO POWER TO IT. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. NO BLUETOOTH FOR SAFE AND HANDS FREE DRIVING, NOTHING. CAN'T GET IT FIXED FOR LESS THAN $1000. NOTHING TO EXPLAIN WHAT CAUSES IT. NO BLOWN FUSES NO ANYTHING. NO EXPLANATION WHATSOEVER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/13/2015 - NAVARRE, FL
I WENT TO DRIVE TO WORK AND TURNED ON MY CAR. NO RADIO. NOTHING. NO POWER TO IT. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. NO BLUETOOTH FOR SAFE AND HANDS FREE DRIVING, NOTHING. CAN'T GET IT FIXED FOR LESS THAN $1000. NOTHING TO EXPLAIN WHAT CAUSES IT. NO BLOWN FUSES NO ANYTHING. NO EXPLANATION WHATSOEVER

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2015 - NAVARRE, FL
I WENT TO DRIVE TO WORK AND TURNED ON MY CAR. NO RADIO. NOTHING. NO POWER TO IT. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. NO BLUETOOTH FOR SAFE AND HANDS FREE DRIVING, NOTHING. CAN'T GET IT FIXED FOR LESS THAN $1000. NOTHING TO EXPLAIN WHAT CAUSES IT. NO BLOWN FUSES NO ANYTHING. NO EXPLANATION WHATSOEVER

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2015 - FRANKLIN, NC
WE WERE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT WELL PAVED ROAD, NO POTHOLES OR DEBRIS, THE WEATHER IS CLEAR AND SUNNY WHEN OUR SUNROOF EXPLODED OUTWARD. FEDEX DRIVER FOLLOWING BEHIND US STATED THAT NOTHING HIT US, BUT SAW THE SUNROOF EXPLODE OUTWARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/7/2015 - IGNACIO, CO
WENT TO START THE VEHICLE AND THE RADIO/SATELLITE/BLU TOOTH PHONE SYSTEM QUIT SUDDENLY. SYSTEM WENT DARK. DEALER SAID IT WAS A BAD SYSTEM. REMOVED SYSTEM FOR REPAIR AND FOUND THAT IT HAD A BAD IC CHIP THAT IS DESTROYED. FORTUNATELY NO FIRE RESULTED FROM THE LOSS OF THE CHIP ON THE SYSTEM CIRCUIT BOARD. BOARD IS NOT REPAIRABLE DUE TO THE CHIP BEING BAKED ONTO THE BOARD AND NOT SOLDERED. BOARD IS NOT REPLACEABLE DUE TO NO PARTS AVAILABILITY FROM DELPHI OR VW. VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS RADIO AND VW HAS IGNORED THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE DEFECTIVE SYSTEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/29/2015 - GOODFIELD, IL
MY HUSBAND LEFT FOR WORK AND GOT ABOUT 1/4 MILE FROM THE HOUSE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE ABOVE 30 MILES PER HOUR. THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT WAS FLASHING ALONG WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT. MY HUSBAND WENT ABOUT A MILE TOTAL BEFORE RETURNING HOME. HE LET THE CAR SIT FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND TRIED TO START THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN OVER AND THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT WAS FLASHING BUT NOT THE ENGINE LIGHT (THIS TIME). AFTER SEVERAL MORE ATTEMPT TO START THE CAR IT STARTED BACK UP. HE DECIDE TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE WE PURCHASED IT, TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALER SHIP IS 30 MILES FROM OUR HOUSE. HE MADE IT ABOUT 20 MILES AND THE CAR DIED WHILE MAKING A TURN AT A STOP LIGHT. THE LIGHT TURNED RED, AS MY HUSBAND WAS STILL TRYING TO START THE CAR. IT WAS STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. I WAS FOLLOWING MY HUSBAND IN ANOTHER CAR AND HAD TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WITH MY HAZARDS ON SO CARS WOULD NOT HIT US AND GO AROUND. AFTER SEVERAL TRIES OF STARTING THE CAR HE WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED JUST LONG ENOUGH TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR DIED AGAIN. AT THIS POINT WE HAD TO PUSH THE CAR TO A PARKING SPOT (DOWN A DEAD END ROAD) AND CALL A TOW TRUCK. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE CAR DEALER SHIP THAT WE PURCHASED THE CAR. IT HAS BEEN AT THE CAR DEALERSHIP OVER A WEEK WITH WITH NO NEWS OTHER THAN THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP IS BAD AND SHRAPNEL HAS GOTTEN INTO THE ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/28/2015 - KALAMAZOO, MI
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD LISTENING TO MUSIC, HEARD A LOUD POP (LIKE A STATIC ELECTRICAL POP) AND THEN THE ENTIRE RADIO SYSTEM WENT DEAD INCLUDING BLUETOOTH FOR MY PHONE. RADIO WILL NO LONGER TURN ON. I HAVE SEEN A LARGE NUMBER OF SIMILAR CASES (POP AND THEN DEAD RADIO).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 76
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds