Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 408 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (7)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (65) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (49) Seat Belts (7) Structure (8) Visibility (6)
Engine (43) Fuel System Diesel (142) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (69) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/9/2014 - RIDGEFIELD, CT
MULTIPLE LIGHT OUT WARNING SIGNAL, APPARENTLY THE FUSE BOX MELTED. THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/30/2014 - SHIPPENSBURG, PA
AFTER FAILING INSPECTION LAST WEEK FOR THE SECOND TIME IN TWO YEARS, I PRECEDED TO CHANGE THE REAR BRAKES (WHICH WERE THE REASON FOR THE INSPECTION FAILURE). THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR BRAKE PAD WAS WORE COMPLETELY TO THE METAL. THE PASSENGER'S SIDE LOOKED AS THOUGH IT HAD COME DIRECTLY OUT OF THE BOX, NO WEAR AT ALL. THE PARKING BRAKE WAS NOT HUNG UP, WHEELS SPUN FREELY AFTER REPLACING BOTH SIDES. THIS WAS THE SAME CASE WHEN THE VEHICLE FAILED INSPECTION TWO YEARS, APPROXIMATELY 40,000 MILES, AGO. AFTER READING MANY OTHER JETTA OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED SIMILAR ISSUES WITH THE REAR BRAKES FAILING PREMATURELY, I DECIDED TO SUBMIT THIS ISSUE TO NHTSA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY ON 12/15/13 AND AS I ACCELERATED, I LOST POWER AND "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" CAME ON. CAR FELL TO 50MPH AND I EXITED HIGHWAY IMMEDIATELY, STOPPED THE CAR, RE-STARTED AND THE CAR AND LIGHT WAS STILL ON. SHOWED ERROR CODE G450 AND THE "EXHAUST PRESSURE SENSOR 1" WAS REPLACED BY DEALER IN JANUARY 2014. GLOW PLUG LIGHT ALSO CAME ON INTERMITTENTLY AT THAT TIME. TWO MONTHS LATER (FEBRUARY, 2014), "GLOW PLUG LIGHT" CAME ON AGAIN INTERMITTENTLY. TURNED OFF CAR AND STARTED IT AGAIN AND LIGHT WENT OUT. DEALER SAYS P0237 CODE MEANS INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF "BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR" AND "SENSOR HARNESS". VW ADVISES THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE DUE TO UNPREDICTABLE PERFORMANCE OF TURBOCHARGER ON ENGINE PERFORMANCE DUE TO FAILURE OF THIS SENSOR. THE LOSS OF POWER HAS BEEN DOCUMENTED WIDELY FOR THIS ENGINE (PUMP, CARBONIZED INTAKE, OTHER?), BUT VW HAS ACCEPTED NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE PROBLEM. CAR IS 4 YEARS OLD WITH 48,900 MILES. REPAIRS ARE APPROACHING $1000 AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY ON 12/15/13 AND AS I ACCELERATED, I LOST POWER AND "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" CAME ON. CAR FELL TO 50MPH AND I EXITED HIGHWAY IMMEDIATELY, STOPPED THE CAR, RE-STARTED AND THE CAR AND LIGHT WAS STILL ON. SHOWED ERROR CODE G450 AND THE "EXHAUST PRESSURE SENSOR 1" WAS REPLACED BY DEALER IN JANUARY 2014. GLOW PLUG LIGHT ALSO CAME ON INTERMITTENTLY AT THAT TIME. TWO MONTHS LATER (FEBRUARY, 2014), "GLOW PLUG LIGHT" CAME ON AGAIN INTERMITTENTLY. TURNED OFF CAR AND STARTED IT AGAIN AND LIGHT WENT OUT. DEALER SAYS P0237 CODE MEANS INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF "BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR" AND "SENSOR HARNESS". VW ADVISES THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE DUE TO UNPREDICTABLE PERFORMANCE OF TURBOCHARGER ON ENGINE PERFORMANCE DUE TO FAILURE OF THIS SENSOR. THE LOSS OF POWER HAS BEEN DOCUMENTED WIDELY FOR THIS ENGINE (PUMP, CARBONIZED INTAKE, OTHER?), BUT VW HAS ACCEPTED NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE PROBLEM. CAR IS 4 YEARS OLD WITH 48,900 MILES. REPAIRS ARE APPROACHING $1000 AT THIS TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY ON 12/15/13 AND AS I ACCELERATED, I LOST POWER AND "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" CAME ON. CAR FELL TO 50MPH AND I EXITED HIGHWAY IMMEDIATELY, STOPPED THE CAR, RE-STARTED AND THE CAR AND LIGHT WAS STILL ON. SHOWED ERROR CODE G450 AND THE "EXHAUST PRESSURE SENSOR 1" WAS REPLACED BY DEALER IN JANUARY 2014. GLOW PLUG LIGHT ALSO CAME ON INTERMITTENTLY AT THAT TIME. TWO MONTHS LATER (FEBRUARY, 2014), "GLOW PLUG LIGHT" CAME ON AGAIN INTERMITTENTLY. TURNED OFF CAR AND STARTED IT AGAIN AND LIGHT WENT OUT. DEALER SAYS P0237 CODE MEANS INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF "BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR" AND "SENSOR HARNESS". VW ADVISES THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE DUE TO UNPREDICTABLE PERFORMANCE OF TURBOCHARGER ON ENGINE PERFORMANCE DUE TO FAILURE OF THIS SENSOR. THE LOSS OF POWER HAS BEEN DOCUMENTED WIDELY FOR THIS ENGINE (PUMP, CARBONIZED INTAKE, OTHER?), BUT VW HAS ACCEPTED NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE PROBLEM. CAR IS 4 YEARS OLD WITH 48,900 MILES. REPAIRS ARE APPROACHING $1000 AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
CAME TO A STOP AT A LIGHT AND THE CAR WAS FINE AT FIRST. THEN, ALL OF A SUDDEN THE RPMS STARTED BOUNCING AROUND AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. IT WOULDN'T TURN ON FOR ABOUT A MINUTE AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE OFF. THE INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN ON AT LEAST 3 OCCASIONS. NAME-BRAND DIESEL HAS ALWAYS BEEN USED, FULL MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN FOLLOWED INCLUDING FUEL FILTER REPLACEMENT AND DSG TRANSMISSION SERVICE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/27/2014 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING HOME TO PANAMA CITY BEACH FL VIA THE FLORIDA TURNPIKE CAR THE ENGINE REVVED UP, I HAD NO POWER AND THE ESP LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE I PUT IT IN PARK. I COULD NOT PUT THE CAR BACK IN GEAR. I THEN TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES. I CRANKED THE CAR BACK UP AND THE LIGHT WAS NOT ON. PUT THE CAR IN GEAR AND PROCEEDED ON TRIP. AFTER ARRIVING AT MY DESTINATION, I HAD THREE MORE INSTANCES OF THE SAME ACTION. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL DEALER TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO BRING THE CAR IN. THIS HAS BEEN A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE, ESPECIALLY DURING HIGHWAY TRAVEL (WHICH IS MOSTLY WHERE THIS CAR IS DRIVEN). LOSING POWER AT 70 MPH IN CONGESTED TRAFFIC WOULD NO DOUBT RESULT IN MULTIPLE INJURIES, PROPERTY DAMAGE AND MOST LIKELY DEATHS. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED ON A GLOBAL LEVEL WITH VOLKSWAGEN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/27/2014 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING HOME TO PANAMA CITY BEACH FL VIA THE FLORIDA TURNPIKE CAR THE ENGINE REVVED UP, I HAD NO POWER AND THE ESP LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE I PUT IT IN PARK. I COULD NOT PUT THE CAR BACK IN GEAR. I THEN TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES. I CRANKED THE CAR BACK UP AND THE LIGHT WAS NOT ON. PUT THE CAR IN GEAR AND PROCEEDED ON TRIP. AFTER ARRIVING AT MY DESTINATION, I HAD THREE MORE INSTANCES OF THE SAME ACTION. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL DEALER TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO BRING THE CAR IN. THIS HAS BEEN A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE, ESPECIALLY DURING HIGHWAY TRAVEL (WHICH IS MOSTLY WHERE THIS CAR IS DRIVEN). LOSING POWER AT 70 MPH IN CONGESTED TRAFFIC WOULD NO DOUBT RESULT IN MULTIPLE INJURIES, PROPERTY DAMAGE AND MOST LIKELY DEATHS. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED ON A GLOBAL LEVEL WITH VOLKSWAGEN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/27/2014 - NORFOLK, VA
VEHICLE STALED OUT WITH COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER, WOULD NOT RESTART. HAD CAR TOWED TO VW DEALER, AND IT TOOK 8 DAYS FOR THEM TO FIX. THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND CONTAMINATED THE WHOLE SYSTEM. IT WAS COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY BUT I WAS LUCKY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY. IF THE 2010 JETTA WASN'T UNDER WARRANTY IT WOULD HAVE COST $4660.22 TO FIX IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - NORFOLK, VA
VEHICLE STALED OUT WITH COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER, WOULD NOT RESTART. HAD CAR TOWED TO VW DEALER, AND IT TOOK 8 DAYS FOR THEM TO FIX. THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND CONTAMINATED THE WHOLE SYSTEM. IT WAS COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY BUT I WAS LUCKY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY. IF THE 2010 JETTA WASN'T UNDER WARRANTY IT WOULD HAVE COST $4660.22 TO FIX IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds