Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 528 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (103) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (76) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (78) Seat Belts (9) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (62) Fuel System Diesel (150) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/17/2014 - PLEASANT SHADE, TN
I STARTED THE MORNING OF 12/17/2014 JUST AS I DO EVERY MORNING: WENT OUT TO MY CAR, TURNED THE KEY OVER TO WARM THE GLOW PLUGS, AND STARTED IT UP. AS I PROCEEDED TO PULL OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, I DID NOT NOTICE ANYTHING UNUSUAL. ABOUT 50 FEET DOWN THE ROAD ON A SLIGHT GRADE, MY CAR JUST CUT OFF. THERE WERE NO WARNINGS WHATSOEVER. THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT FLASHED, ALONG WITH A "SERVICE ENGINE" INDICATOR. SINCE I WAS ON A SLIGHT GRADE, I WAS ABLE TO ROLL BACKWARDS AND, WITH STRUGGLE, TURN THE WHEEL AND BACK INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THIS WAS A SAFETY ISSUE PRIMARILY BECAUSE AT ANY MOMENT SOMEONE COULD HAVE NOT REALIZED I WAS STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND SLAMMED INTO ME. I WAS HONESTLY FRIGHTENED FOR MY SAFETY AND WELL-BEING. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/16/2014 - TYLER, TX
TRANSMISSION HARD SHIFT. VW IS AWARE OF PROBLEMS WITH VALVE BODY IN ALL THIS TRANSMISSIONS BUT ONLY EXTENDED SOME VEHICLE WARRANTIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/14/2014 - DEBARY, FL
RIGHT REAR DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OR INSIDE. NOW THE LEFT FRONT DOOR WONT OPEN OR CLOSE FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE AND DEALER INDICATES THE DOOR LOCKS HAVE FAILED AND WILL NEED REPLACED AT $475/DOOR. THE RIGHT FRONT DOOR HAS NOW STARTED TO NOT OPEN SPORADICALLY. THIS HAS TO BE A MANUFACTURER DEFECT WHEN 3 OF THE 4 DOOR HANDLES/LOCKING MECHANISMS HAVE NOW FAILED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN YOU CANNOT ENTER OR EXIT OUT OF 3 DOORS OF A CAR DUE TO FAULTY LOCKING MECHANISMS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2014 - CORTEZ, CO
I WAS DRIVING MY VW JETTA TDI ON A LOCAL SURFACE STREET IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHEN MY CAR DIED WITH NO WARNING AND INITIALLY WOULD NOT RESTART. FORTUNATELY I HAD ENOUGH MOMENTUM TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID BEING IN AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AND RESUME AFTER A FEW MOMENTS. THIS HAS HAPPENED ONCE MORE AND IS DISCONCERTING. I ALWAYS PURCHASE FUEL FROM NAME-BRAND AND HIGH-VOLUME GAS STATIONS. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE RELATED TO NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA11003.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2014 - CORTEZ, CO
I WAS DRIVING MY VW JETTA TDI ON A LOCAL SURFACE STREET IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHEN MY CAR DIED WITH NO WARNING AND INITIALLY WOULD NOT RESTART. FORTUNATELY I HAD ENOUGH MOMENTUM TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID BEING IN AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AND RESUME AFTER A FEW MOMENTS. THIS HAS HAPPENED ONCE MORE AND IS DISCONCERTING. I ALWAYS PURCHASE FUEL FROM NAME-BRAND AND HIGH-VOLUME GAS STATIONS. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE RELATED TO NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA11003.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2014 - KENMORE, WA
THE ENGINE SPONTANEOUSLY STOPPED RUNNING WHILE DRIVING. I WAS ENTERING AN INTERSECTION, TURNING LEFT, AND PUT IN THE CLUTCH TO DOWN-SHIFT (MANUAL TRANSMISSION) AND THE ENGINE STOPPED AS SOON AS THE CLUTCH PEDAL WENT DOWN, AS IF I HAD TURNED OFF THE KEY. THE ENGINE STARTER WOULD NOT RE-ENGAGE UNTIL I FIGURED OUT I HAD TO TURN THE IGNITION ALL THE WAY OFF THEN BACK TO THE START POSITION TO ENGAGE THE STARTER. THE ENGINE RE-STARTED NORMALLY AT THAT POINT AND RAN FINE FOR THE REST OF THAT TRIP. THE ENGINE HAS DONE THE SAME THING ABOUT SIX OR EIGHT TIMES SINCE THEN, THE MOST RECENT TIME BEING ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO. THIS CAN MAKE IT QUITE INTERESTING, TURNING AT AN INTERSECTION WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND HAVING TO TAKE A HAND OFF THE STEERING WHEEL TO DO THE COMPLICATED RE-START - IF THE DRIVER WERE TO PANIC A RE-START WOULD NOT HAPPEN. SOMETIMES THE ENGINE ALSO RUNS VERY ROUGH, ESPECIALLY AT IDLE, AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE THE CAR - THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WHEN TURNING ONTO A STREET OR HIGHWAY AND NEEDING TO GET UP TO SPEED TO NOT GET HIT WHILE MERGING WITH TRAFFIC. THE ENGINE ALSO IDLES ROUGH PERIODICALLY BUT THAT HAS NOT BEEN A SAFETY CONCERN ALTHOUGH IT MIGHT BE RELATED TO THE OTHER PROBLEMS. THESE PROBLEMS HAPPEN AT ALL ENGINE AND AIR TEMPERATURES - HOT OR COLD, AND EVEN WHEN THE ENGINE IS FULLY WARMED UP. MULTIPLE DEALERS AND THIRD-PARTY REPAIR SHOPS HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO FIND THE CAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM; NO ERROR CODES ARE SHOWN BY THE ENGINE CONTROL COMPUTER AND IT HAPPENS INFREQUENTLY ENOUGH THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM THEMSELVES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2014 - COVENTRY, RI
I HAVE A 2010 JETTA WOLFSBURG 2.0 TURBO. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH IT AND THE DEALER CAN'T SEEM TO HELP ME. THE DOORS WON'T LOCK OR UNLOCK CONSISTANTLY WITH THE KEY FOB. WHEN I LOCK IT, THE HORN BEEPS TO LET ME KNOW THE ALARM IS ON, BUT THE DOORS DON'T LOCK! NOT EVEN MANUALLY. IF I OPEN THE DOOR, THE ALARM SOUNDS, BUT THE DOORS WON'T LOCK! THE TOUCHSCREEN RADIO MADE A POPPING SOUND ABOUT 5 DAYS AGO AND WENT COMPLETELY BLACK. THE RADIO IS HOOKED UP TO THE CAR'S BLUE TOOTH SO THAT IS NOT WORKING EITHER. NO HANDS FREE TALKING FOR ME! I ALSO PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO HAVE A LIFETIME SUBSCRIPTION TO SIRIUS SATALITE RADIO FOR THAT CAR. THAT SUCKS! THE BLINKERS DON'T WORK PROPERLY. IF I PUT MY LEFT BLINKER ON, THE RIGHT ONE GOES ON AND VICE VERSA. MY EXPENSIVE KEY, BROKE OFF IN THE IGNITION RANDOMLY. THE CAR STALLS WHILE IDLING. THE GAS PEDAL GETS STUCK IN THE "UP" POSITION CAUSING ME TO LOSE ACCELERATION ON THE HIGHWAY AND BARELY BE ABLE TO MOVE. MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY GOING ON AND OFF FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT IS ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER. THE CAR IS ONLY 4 YRS OLD! THESE ARE SAFETY ISSUES THAT IT SEEMS LOTS OF VW OWNERS ARE HAVING. HAVING NO LOCKING DOORS, OR DOORS THAT WON'T UNLOCK, NO ALARM, NO RADIO/BLUETOOTH, FAULTY BLINKERS, AND A STICKY GAS PEDAL ARE ALL DANGEROUS! I LEFT MY CAR AT THE DEALER FOR A WHOLE DAY AND THEY SAID "HMMMM......IT'S A MYSTERY" UM....WHAT! FROM WHAT I CAN SEE, I SHOULD BE EXPECTING MY CAR BATTERY TO DIE ANY DAY NOW DUE TO THE RADIO. LEMON!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/6/2014 - COVENTRY, RI
I HAVE A 2010 JETTA WOLFSBURG 2.0 TURBO. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH IT AND THE DEALER CAN'T SEEM TO HELP ME. THE DOORS WON'T LOCK OR UNLOCK CONSISTANTLY WITH THE KEY FOB. WHEN I LOCK IT, THE HORN BEEPS TO LET ME KNOW THE ALARM IS ON, BUT THE DOORS DON'T LOCK! NOT EVEN MANUALLY. IF I OPEN THE DOOR, THE ALARM SOUNDS, BUT THE DOORS WON'T LOCK! THE TOUCHSCREEN RADIO MADE A POPPING SOUND ABOUT 5 DAYS AGO AND WENT COMPLETELY BLACK. THE RADIO IS HOOKED UP TO THE CAR'S BLUE TOOTH SO THAT IS NOT WORKING EITHER. NO HANDS FREE TALKING FOR ME! I ALSO PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO HAVE A LIFETIME SUBSCRIPTION TO SIRIUS SATALITE RADIO FOR THAT CAR. THAT SUCKS! THE BLINKERS DON'T WORK PROPERLY. IF I PUT MY LEFT BLINKER ON, THE RIGHT ONE GOES ON AND VICE VERSA. MY EXPENSIVE KEY, BROKE OFF IN THE IGNITION RANDOMLY. THE CAR STALLS WHILE IDLING. THE GAS PEDAL GETS STUCK IN THE "UP" POSITION CAUSING ME TO LOSE ACCELERATION ON THE HIGHWAY AND BARELY BE ABLE TO MOVE. MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY GOING ON AND OFF FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT IS ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER. THE CAR IS ONLY 4 YRS OLD! THESE ARE SAFETY ISSUES THAT IT SEEMS LOTS OF VW OWNERS ARE HAVING. HAVING NO LOCKING DOORS, OR DOORS THAT WON'T UNLOCK, NO ALARM, NO RADIO/BLUETOOTH, FAULTY BLINKERS, AND A STICKY GAS PEDAL ARE ALL DANGEROUS! I LEFT MY CAR AT THE DEALER FOR A WHOLE DAY AND THEY SAID "HMMMM......IT'S A MYSTERY" UM....WHAT! FROM WHAT I CAN SEE, I SHOULD BE EXPECTING MY CAR BATTERY TO DIE ANY DAY NOW DUE TO THE RADIO. LEMON!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/6/2014 - COVENTRY, RI
I HAVE A 2010 JETTA WOLFSBURG 2.0 TURBO. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH IT AND THE DEALER CAN'T SEEM TO HELP ME. THE DOORS WON'T LOCK OR UNLOCK CONSISTANTLY WITH THE KEY FOB. WHEN I LOCK IT, THE HORN BEEPS TO LET ME KNOW THE ALARM IS ON, BUT THE DOORS DON'T LOCK! NOT EVEN MANUALLY. IF I OPEN THE DOOR, THE ALARM SOUNDS, BUT THE DOORS WON'T LOCK! THE TOUCHSCREEN RADIO MADE A POPPING SOUND ABOUT 5 DAYS AGO AND WENT COMPLETELY BLACK. THE RADIO IS HOOKED UP TO THE CAR'S BLUE TOOTH SO THAT IS NOT WORKING EITHER. NO HANDS FREE TALKING FOR ME! I ALSO PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO HAVE A LIFETIME SUBSCRIPTION TO SIRIUS SATALITE RADIO FOR THAT CAR. THAT SUCKS! THE BLINKERS DON'T WORK PROPERLY. IF I PUT MY LEFT BLINKER ON, THE RIGHT ONE GOES ON AND VICE VERSA. MY EXPENSIVE KEY, BROKE OFF IN THE IGNITION RANDOMLY. THE CAR STALLS WHILE IDLING. THE GAS PEDAL GETS STUCK IN THE "UP" POSITION CAUSING ME TO LOSE ACCELERATION ON THE HIGHWAY AND BARELY BE ABLE TO MOVE. MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY GOING ON AND OFF FOR NO APPARENT REASON. IT IS ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER. THE CAR IS ONLY 4 YRS OLD! THESE ARE SAFETY ISSUES THAT IT SEEMS LOTS OF VW OWNERS ARE HAVING. HAVING NO LOCKING DOORS, OR DOORS THAT WON'T UNLOCK, NO ALARM, NO RADIO/BLUETOOTH, FAULTY BLINKERS, AND A STICKY GAS PEDAL ARE ALL DANGEROUS! I LEFT MY CAR AT THE DEALER FOR A WHOLE DAY AND THEY SAID "HMMMM......IT'S A MYSTERY" UM....WHAT! FROM WHAT I CAN SEE, I SHOULD BE EXPECTING MY CAR BATTERY TO DIE ANY DAY NOW DUE TO THE RADIO. LEMON!

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2014 - NORTH PLATTE, NE
VEHICLE LOST POWER IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, 50 MPH SPEED ZONE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, LOSS OF TURBO BOOST WITH RESULTANT LACK OF ABILITY TO MAINTAIN SPEED. INTERNET SEARCH SUGGESTS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM INVOLVING ICING AND WATER INGESTION THROUGH THE INTERCOOLER IN COLD WEATHER OPERATIONS. APPARENTLY MAY RESULT IN ENGINE DESTRUCTION. THE SAFETY RAMIFICATIONS ARE OBVIOUS AND IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING VOLKSWAGEN HAS BEEN RELUCTANT TO HONOR POWERTRAIN WARRANTY COVERAGE. MY DEALER QUOTED $1100 TO REPAIR WITH A RETRO-FIT KIT. TO PROTECT THE OWNER'S INVESTMENT AND TO RECTIFY AN OBVIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, I FEEL A RECALL IS IN ORDER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds