Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 702 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (17) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (6) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (185) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Steering (6) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (103) Power Train (96) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (96) Fuel System Diesel (166) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/7/2017 - RALEIGH, NC
WATER INFILTRATION: THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION SUIT WON AGAINST VW FOR WATER INFILTRATION FOR MODEL YEARS THROUGH 2009, WHICH FILED BEFORE THIS VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED. MINE IS A 2010, BUT MANUFACTURED IN 2009. I NOW HAVE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, BUT HAVEN'T FOUND ANY EVIDENCE A NEW CLASS ACTION SUIT WAS BROUGHT OR THAT THE COMPANY HAS VOLUNTARILY RECALLED THE VEHICLES FOR CORRECTION. THIS PROBLEM HAS RESULTED IN MY CAR TAKING IN ENOUGH WATER TO CREATE A 2" DEEP PUDDLE WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER PUT THEIR LEGS. WHILE I THOUGHT I HAD EXTRACTED ALL WATER AND DRIED OUT THE CAR, I RETURNED 3 WEEKS LATER TO FIND THE INTERIOR COMPLETELY COVERED WITH MOLD/MILDEW, WHICH CREATES A HEALTH HAZARD FOR MOST, AND PARTICULARLY ME SINCE I HAVE ALLERGIES TO SOME MOLDS. THE VEHICLE IS NOW PRETTY MUCH A TOTAL LOSS, AND IS VALUED AT $8000 - WHICH A RETIREE SUCH AS MYSELF CANNOT AFFORD TO LOSE. MY AUTO INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER THIS LOSS. THE COURT CASE IS: JOHN DEWEY, JACQUELINE DELGUERCIO, ET AL V. VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC. ET AL. CASE NOS. 07-CV-2249-FSH-PS AND 07-CV-2361-FSH-PS (CONSOLIDATED)) THE FINAL DECISION WAS IN 2014, JOHN DEWEY, JACQUELINE DELGUERCIO, ET AL V. VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC. ET AL. CASE NOS. 07-CV-2249-FSH-PS AND 07-CV-2361-FSH-PS (CONSOLIDATED)).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/2/2017 - SUFFOLK, VA
WHILE RECENTLY DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE GEAR INDICATOR IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BEGAN TO FLASH AND THEN DISAPPEARED, NO LONGER REVEALING WHAT GEAR THE CAR WAS IN WHILE IN FORWARD MOTION, AND CAR BEGAN TO LOSE MOMENTUM WHILE DRIVING AND BEGAN SOUNDING ANF MOVING AS THOUGH THE CAR WAS PLACED IN NEUTRAL. UPON STOPPING THE CAR AND AGAIN ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE FORWARD, THE CAR ENGINE REVVED AS THOUGH IN NEUTRAL. HAD CAR TOWED TO DEALER WHERE THEY DROVE IT AND MENTIONED THE WIRING HARNESS LEAKING OIL/FLUID. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR AT THE DEALER 4 TIMES WITHIN A 6 MONTH PERIOD (MAY-NOV 2016) FOR PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE, AS I KEEP THIS CAR IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND HAVE IT CHECKED THROUGHOUT THE YEAR TO PREVENT ISSUES FROM OCCURRRING. DURING ALL THESE TIMES I HAD NO ISSUES UNTIL NOW, AS AGAIN, I WORK VERY HARD TO MAINTAIN THIS VEHICLE. I AHEV SINCE DONE MUCH RESEARCH ON THIS MATTER AND HAVE HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO SPEAK WITH OTHER VW OWNERS WHO HAVE EXPRESSED HAVING VERY SIMILIAR ISSUES WHICH FALLS IN LINE WITH THE ISSUED RECALL ANNOUNCED AUGUST 20. 2009. I HAVE RECORDS OF ALL SERVICE I HAVE HAD DONE FOR THIS AUTOMOBILE SINCE IT''S PURCHASE. I CAN EITHER MAIL OR FAX THE INFORMATION TO YOU FOR REVIEW. THANK YOU!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - NEW MARKET, MD
OUT OF THE BLUE THE PREMIUM 8 TOUCH SCREEN RADIO STOPPED WORKING, NO WARNING OR INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS, PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. I HAD A MECHANIC CHECK THE RADIO FUSES AND NOTHING WAS BLOWN OR NEEDED REPAIR. EVERYTHING WAS NORMAL. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES ON VW FORUMS. EVEN THOUGH THIS A MAJOR INCONVENIENCE IT IS STILL COMPONENT, MUCH LIKE WINDSHIELD WIPERS THAT OU JUST EXPECT TO WORK. TIME IN THE VW FORUMS. THIS NEEDS TO BE PLACED/FIXED. I NEVER HAVE HAD A RADIO FAIL IN ANY PREVIOUS CAR. I AM REALLY REGRETING MY PURCHASE OF THIS SUB-PAR, POORLY ENGINERED VEHICAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - NEW MARKET, MD
I AM UNABLE TO CARRY REAR PASSENGERS (ADULTS OR KIDS) AS THE REAR DOOR DO NOT OPERATE CONSISTENTLY.I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. DEALER WANTS A LARGE AMOUNT OF MONEY TO REPLACE TWO REAR WIRING HARNESS AS WELL AS THE ELECTRONIC DOOR ACTUATORS. THIS SEEMS TO BE IMPROPER LACK IN THE WIRING HARNESS TO THE REAR DOORS. I HAVE NEVER HAD SO MANY ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH A VEHICLE IS SHORT A PERIOD OF TIME. THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE ADDRESS SO THAT NOBODY IS INJURED FORM A DOOR THAT WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OR INSIDE, INCONSTANTLY. I WILL HOLD BOTH NHTSA AS WELL AS VW IF A TRAGIC EVENT DOES UNFORTUNATELY DOES OCCUR. THIS ITEM HAS BEEN POSTED NUMEROUS TIME IN VE FORMUS. MY JETTA TDI HAS 156K MILES, AND IT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE TO WEATHER OR TIME OF DAY. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM THAT DOES NOT EVER GO AWAY. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MAJOR SAFETY CONSERN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/19/2016 - WINDSOR, CT
THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN IN THE IGNITION SWITCH, AND I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE CAR OFF. THE CAR WAS STOPPED AND IN PARK. I HAD TO BRING THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY ONLY OPTION TO FIX THE PROBLEM WAS TO REPLACE THE IGNITION COMPONENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/19/2016 - WINDSOR, CT
THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN IN THE IGNITION SWITCH, AND I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE CAR OFF. THE CAR WAS STOPPED AND IN PARK. I HAD TO BRING THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY ONLY OPTION TO FIX THE PROBLEM WAS TO REPLACE THE IGNITION COMPONENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/8/2016 - NEW MARKET, MD
REAR ELECTRIC DOORS WILL UNLOCK CONSISTENTLY. DEALER RAN DIAGNOSTIC WHICH POINTS TO A FAULTY WIRING HARNESS. THIS SEEMS LIKE A PRODUCTION ISSUES AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED. END RESULT REAR DOORS CAN NOT BE OPENED UNLESS YOU USE THE INSIDE DOOR LEVER. FIRST RESPONDERS OR GOOD SAMARITANS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PULL PEOPLE FROM THE REAR PASSENGER AREA. THIS HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY VW FORUMS CITE SIMILAR PROBLEMS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/15/2016 - YUCAIPA, CA
WHILE ON A CITY STREET AT STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT MY VW JETTA TDI MADE A FUNNY NOISE AND SHOOK. THEN IT ACTED LIKE IT WANTED TO STALL, THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT CAME ON. THE STOP LIGHT CHANGED AND I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A PARKING LOT. WHEN I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPOT BEFORE I COULD TAKE THE CARE OUT OF GEAR, IT STALLED. I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO START AGAIN. I WAS TOLD BY VW OF SAN BERNARDINO THAT THIS WAS A KNOW ISSUE WITH THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. THE RECALL UPDATE WAS PREFORMED BACK IN 2014 TO PREVENT THE INCORRECT FUEL FROM BEING PLACED INTO THE VEHICLE. I AM A LONG TIME DIESEL OWNER AND HAVE NEVER PLACED THE INCORRECT FUEL INTO THE CAR. I BELIEVE THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE DESIGN OR MATERIAL RELATED TO THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
MY WIFE+S 2010 JETTA 2.0T TSI EXPERIENCED AN ENGINE STALL AND COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH ON A STRAIGHT SECTION OF CITY STREET. THIS WAS A ROUTINE TRIP UNDER CLEAR WEATHER CONDITIONS. WITH NO TRAFFIC BEHIND HER, SHE SAFELY COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AFTER WAITING 5-10 MINUTES SHE WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE AND, WITH NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS APPEARING, DRIVE APPROXIMATELY FOUR MILES HOME. THE FOLLOWING MORNING, UPON STARTING THE ENGINE, MULTIPLE CYLINDER MISFIRES BEGAN OCCURRING AND THE ENGINE WAS IMMEDIATELY SHUTOFF AND THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THAT THE STALL WAS DUE TO THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER FAILING, WHICH ALLOWED THE TIMING CHAIN TO SKIP SIX TEETH ON THE CAMSHAFT AND THE VALVES TO CONTACT THE PISTONS RESULTING IN THE ENGINE SELF-DESTRUCTING. THEY RECOMMENDED A NEARLY COMPLETE ENGINE REPLACEMENT AT A COST OF OVER $8,000. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED BRAND NEW IN 2009 AND HAS BEEN MAINTAINED IMPECCABLY AS SPECIFIED BY VW. SPEAKING WITH THE DEALERSHIP ENGINE TECHNICIAN, WE LEARNED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER IS A KNOWN DEFECTIVE PART BY VW AND THAT IN 2011-2012, WAS REVISED SEVERAL TIMES IN AN ATTEMPT TO MITIGATE THE FAILURES. A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN WAS ISSUED BY VW TO DEALERSHIPS AND SERVICE DEPARTMENTS EXPLAINING THE ISSUE BUT NO NOTICES OR RECALLS WERE SENT TO CUSTOMERS INFORMING THEM OF THIS POTENTIALLY DEADLY COMPONENT FAILURE. I HAVE READ, BUT NOT INDEPENDENTLY VERIFIED, THAT VW HAS ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS SPECIFIC COMPONENT IN EUROPE. SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2016, AND OWING TO THE SIGNIFICANT SAFETY HAZARD, AS MANY AS THREE CLASS-ACTION LAWSUITS HAVE BEEN FILED AGAINST VOLKSWAGEN FOR THIS SPECIFIC COMPONENT FAILURE. WE ARE THANKFUL NO ONE WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED WHEN THE CAR STALLED DURING OPERATION, BUT NOW WE ARE FACING OVER $8,000 IN REPAIRS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/23/2016 - OLEAN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE ABOUT WHAT PART NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE GASKET, SEALANT, THE OIL SEPARATOR, THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER, THE TIMING CHAIN, THE TIMING CHAIN CASE COVER, THE TIMING RAIL TENSIONER AND MULTIPLE OTHER UNKNOWN PARTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. THE VIN WAS AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds