Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 457 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (7)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (65) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (72) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (62) Seat Belts (9) Structure (8) Visibility (6)
Engine (48) Fuel System Diesel (146) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (69) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - SPRING, TX
RADIO/NAV UNIT POPPED AND DIED WHILE THE CAR AND RADIO WERE BEING OPERATED. THIS EXACT ISSUE HAS BEEN COMMUNICATED ON MANY ONLINE DISCUSSIONS. WITHOUT BLUETOOTH CONNECTIVITY FOR PHONES, THIS IS A DRIVING SAFETY CONCERN. I WILL LIKELY RESOLVE THE ISSUE WITH AN AFTERMARKET UNIT DUE TO THE HIGH COST OF AN OEM/DEALER REPLACEMENT. IF THIS IS A KNOWN AND REOCCURRING ISSUE WITH THESE UNITS, VW SHOULD ACTIVELY RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/23/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
2010 JETTA TDI. DRIVING ON ROAD AT ABOUT 35 MPH WHEN CAR SUDDENLY STALLED. GLOW PLUG LIGHT FLASHES, "SERVICE ENGINE NOW" ON DISPLAY. TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT AND SPEED WAS ENOUGH TO COAST TO SAFE LOCATION. CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER REPLACED SOME RELAY PART BUT.... THE VERY NEXT DAY SAME THING. CAR DIED WHILE DRIVING. SAME SYMPTOMS AS ABOVE. AGAIN NO WARNING PRIOR TO STALLING. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER HAD CAR FOR A FEW DAYS BUT COULD NOT FIND OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. CHECKED GROUND CONNECTIONS AS ADVISED FROM VWOA TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE. RETURNED CAR TO ME WITH A 'LET'S WAIT AND SEE' ATTITUDE. THIRD TIME, ABOUT 1500 MILES LATER, SAME THING. THIS TIME ON HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT ABOUT 45 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. CAR TOWED TO DIFFERENT DEALER. AT THE MOMENT THEY CAN'T DIAGNOSE OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. MY OPINION IS SOME FAULT IS TELLING COMPUTER TO KILL ENGINE. AS A SAFETY ISSUE, I WOULD THINK ENGINE SHOULD REMAIN RUNNING SO THAT I CAN SAFELY DRIVE OFF THE ROAD AND OUT OF TRAFFIC AND HARMS WAY. IF THIS ASSUMPTION IS CORRECT, THEN THERE HAS TO BE A LIMITED NUMBER OF REASONS WHY ENGINE SHOULD STALL, INSTEAD OF GOING INTO 'LIMP MODE.' MY RESEARCH FOUND REFERENCE TO PE10034, BUT CAN'T FIND ARTICLE. THREE TIMES CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING. ALL 3 TIMES ON ROAD. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN, AND LOCAL DEALERS SEEM HESITANT TO REQUEST HELP FROM VWOA TA. DEALER 1 DID CONTACT VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT AND GUIDED FAULT FINDING DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING. DEALER 2 STILL HAS NO CLUE. NO MANDATES ON LOCAL VW DEALERS, BY VWOA, TO KEEP AND SHARE SERVICE RECORDS BEYOND WARRANTY PERIOD, ON NATIONAL DATABASE, SO OTHER DEALERS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT FIRST DEALER DID. KEEPING ALL DEALER SERVICE RECORDS ON NATIONAL DB WILL HELP SPOT ISSUES SOONER. DEALER 2 WILL HOPEFULLY ASK VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT BEYOND WHAT DEALER 1 DID. IS THERE AN ESCALATION FOR THIS? WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
2010 JETTA TDI. DRIVING ON ROAD AT ABOUT 35 MPH WHEN CAR SUDDENLY STALLED. GLOW PLUG LIGHT FLASHES, "SERVICE ENGINE NOW" ON DISPLAY. TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT AND SPEED WAS ENOUGH TO COAST TO SAFE LOCATION. CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER REPLACED SOME RELAY PART BUT.... THE VERY NEXT DAY SAME THING. CAR DIED WHILE DRIVING. SAME SYMPTOMS AS ABOVE. AGAIN NO WARNING PRIOR TO STALLING. TOWED TO DEALER. DEALER HAD CAR FOR A FEW DAYS BUT COULD NOT FIND OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. CHECKED GROUND CONNECTIONS AS ADVISED FROM VWOA TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE. RETURNED CAR TO ME WITH A 'LET'S WAIT AND SEE' ATTITUDE. THIRD TIME, ABOUT 1500 MILES LATER, SAME THING. THIS TIME ON HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT ABOUT 45 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. CAR TOWED TO DIFFERENT DEALER. AT THE MOMENT THEY CAN'T DIAGNOSE OR REPRODUCE PROBLEM. MY OPINION IS SOME FAULT IS TELLING COMPUTER TO KILL ENGINE. AS A SAFETY ISSUE, I WOULD THINK ENGINE SHOULD REMAIN RUNNING SO THAT I CAN SAFELY DRIVE OFF THE ROAD AND OUT OF TRAFFIC AND HARMS WAY. IF THIS ASSUMPTION IS CORRECT, THEN THERE HAS TO BE A LIMITED NUMBER OF REASONS WHY ENGINE SHOULD STALL, INSTEAD OF GOING INTO 'LIMP MODE.' MY RESEARCH FOUND REFERENCE TO PE10034, BUT CAN'T FIND ARTICLE. THREE TIMES CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING. ALL 3 TIMES ON ROAD. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN, AND LOCAL DEALERS SEEM HESITANT TO REQUEST HELP FROM VWOA TA. DEALER 1 DID CONTACT VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT AND GUIDED FAULT FINDING DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING. DEALER 2 STILL HAS NO CLUE. NO MANDATES ON LOCAL VW DEALERS, BY VWOA, TO KEEP AND SHARE SERVICE RECORDS BEYOND WARRANTY PERIOD, ON NATIONAL DATABASE, SO OTHER DEALERS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT FIRST DEALER DID. KEEPING ALL DEALER SERVICE RECORDS ON NATIONAL DB WILL HELP SPOT ISSUES SOONER. DEALER 2 WILL HOPEFULLY ASK VWOA TA FOR SUPPORT BEYOND WHAT DEALER 1 DID. IS THERE AN ESCALATION FOR THIS? WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS?

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2014 - FREMONT, CA
AT APPROXIMATELY 1:30PM ON JULY 14, 2014 MY MOM WAS DRIVING SOUTH BOUND ON HIGHWAY 99. SHE SLOWED DOWN DUE TO HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION AND TO MERGE ONTO HIGHWAY 58 EAST WHEN SHE WAS STRUCK FROM BEHIND BY A PICK UP TRUCK. SHE THEN STRUCK THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER. THE AIRBAGS IN THE VEHICLE DID NOT DEPLOY

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
THE RCD-510 PREMIUM 8 RADIO WITH BLUE TOOTH CELL PHONE CONNECTIVITY FAILED IN MY 2010 JSW TDI AT ABOUT 3 1/2 YEARS AND 56K MILES--WORKED FINE ONE DAY AND BLACK SCREEN-OF-DEATH WITH NO FUNCTION AT ALL THE NEXT. FUSES INTACT AND CURRENT BEING DELIVERED TO THE UNIT. IT'S CLEAR FROM THE NUMBER OF RESPONSES HERE HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T36009_DS552583 THAT THIS IS A SYSTEMATIC ISSUE WITH RADIO UNITS MANUFACTURED BY DELPHI IN THE 2010 YEAR MODEL VWS. FOR ME AT LEAST, LOSS OF BLUE TOOTH FUNCTION IS A SAFETY ISSUE--I FREQUENTLY NEED TO MAKE OR TAKE PHONE CALLS WHILE DRIVING, AND FOR MUCH OF MY APPROX. 10-MILE COMMUTE TO AND FROM WORK THERE IS NO SAFE SHOULDER ON THE ROAD WHERE I COULD PULL OVER AND USE THE PHONE. MY DECISION TO PURCHASE THE VEHICLE WAS MADE IN PART BASED ON THE BLUE TOOTH FEATURE, WHICH MY OLD CAR DIDN'T HAVE. MY STATE (WASHINGTON) HAS A LAW EXPLICITLY FORBIDDING USE OF CELL PHONES WHILE DRIVING UNLESS USING A HANDS-FREE DEVICE. SO THIS ISN'T JUST A PATTERN OF FAILURE IN A "LUXURY FEATURE" AS VWOA HAS ATTEMPTED TO FRAME IT--THIS ISSUE DIRECTLY AFFECTS SAFETY FOR DRIVERS AND OTHERS AROUND US. I HAD PREVIOUSLY COMPLAINED OF INTERMITTENT RADIO ISSUES (I.E.: APPARENTLY SPONTANEOUS LOSS OF PRESET STATIONS, ETC.) WITH THIS VEHICLE WHILE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT "THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNNABLE TO REPLICATE THE ISSUE." I HAVE CONTACTED BOTH THE LOCAL DEALER FROM WHICH I PURCHASED THE CAR AND VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA CUSTOMER CARE ABOUT THIS ISSUE, BUT NEITHER OFFERED ANY SOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - WALDORF, MD
THE RADIO WAS WORKING FINE ON MY DRIVE HOME FROM WORK. I WAS AT HOME FOR ABOUT 1 HOUR AND GOT BACK IN CAR TO RUN ERRANDS AND AT THAT POINT THE RADIO NEVER TURNED ON. MY PHONE STILL CONNECTED TO RADIO, BUT NO SOUND WAS COMING AND THE SCREEN WAS DARK/BLANK. MY PHONE INDICATED THE BLUETOOTH WAS CONNECTED. I COULD NOT GET IT BACK ON. I REPLACED THE FUSES TO MAKE SURE, BUT IT DID NOT WORK.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/15/2014 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
RADIO, CD CHANGER, BLUETOOTH INOPERABLE. THE SCREEN HAS BECOME BLACK. THERE IS AN OCCASIONAL ELECTRICAL THUMP SOUND COMING THROUGH THE SPEAKERS. CONCERNED THERE IS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT OF SOME KIND. HAVE READ OF MANY OTHER SIMILAR INSTANCES WITH THE SAME MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR CAR AS MINE. HELP!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
HANDSFREE BLUETOOTH FUNCTIONALITY HAS CUT OFF. RADIO WENT DEAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - AVON, OH
DRIVING TO WORK IN MY 2010 VM JETTA WHICH I PURCHASED USED 3 MONTHS AGO. I HEARD A LOUD POP THAT SEEMED TO COME FROM MY RIGHT SIDE SPEAKER AND THE ENTIRE RADIO WENT DEAD! NO POWER, NO SOUND, NO NOTHING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2014 - AVON, OH
DRIVING TO WORK IN MY 2010 VM JETTA WHICH I PURCHASED USED 3 MONTHS AGO. I HEARD A LOUD POP THAT SEEMED TO COME FROM MY RIGHT SIDE SPEAKER AND THE ENTIRE RADIO WENT DEAD! NO POWER, NO SOUND, NO NOTHING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds