Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 705 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (17) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (6) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (186) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Steering (6) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (104) Power Train (96) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (98) Fuel System Diesel (166) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - LADERA RANCH, CA
DIESEL FUEL FILTER IS CLOGGING UP AND WAS TOLD THAT IT REQUIRED REPLACEMENT AT A COST OF $7,000.00.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - LADERA RANCH, CA
DIESEL FUEL FILTER IS CLOGGING UP AND WAS TOLD THAT IT REQUIRED REPLACEMENT AT A COST OF $7,000.00.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
AS WITH MOST OTHER 2010 VW JETTA OWNERS, MY RADIO HAS GONE OUT NOT ONCE BUT NOW TWICE. THERE IS AN ELECTRILCAL PROBLEM ON THE DRIVERS SIDE OF HTE CAR BECAUSE NOT ONLY DOES THIS HAPPEN BUT MY HEAD LIGHTS, RUNNING LIGHTS BURN OUT AT A MIND BLOWING RATE. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR MANY REASONS, MOST BEING THE FACT THAT MY HANDSFREE BLUETOOTH IS NOT FUNCTIONING NOW AND I DRIVE FOR MY JOB! THIS IS THE SECOND RADIO I WILL HAVE HAD TO REPLACE. RIDICULOUS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/19/2017 - CAMARILLO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL LEAK FROM THE MOTOR ASSOCIATED WITH THE ENGINE, THE DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAMS SHORTED SEVERAL TIMES, AND THE SKID WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE TRACTION WAS POOR AND THE SUSPENSION AND STEERING WERE LOOSE WHILE BRAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V913000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2017 - CAMARILLO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL LEAK FROM THE MOTOR ASSOCIATED WITH THE ENGINE, THE DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAMS SHORTED SEVERAL TIMES, AND THE SKID WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE TRACTION WAS POOR AND THE SUSPENSION AND STEERING WERE LOOSE WHILE BRAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V913000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/19/2017 - CAMARILLO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL LEAK FROM THE MOTOR ASSOCIATED WITH THE ENGINE, THE DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAMS SHORTED SEVERAL TIMES, AND THE SKID WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE TRACTION WAS POOR AND THE SUSPENSION AND STEERING WERE LOOSE WHILE BRAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V913000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/7/2017 - RALEIGH, NC
WATER INFILTRATION: THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION SUIT WON AGAINST VW FOR WATER INFILTRATION FOR MODEL YEARS THROUGH 2009, WHICH FILED BEFORE THIS VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED. MINE IS A 2010, BUT MANUFACTURED IN 2009. I NOW HAVE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, BUT HAVEN'T FOUND ANY EVIDENCE A NEW CLASS ACTION SUIT WAS BROUGHT OR THAT THE COMPANY HAS VOLUNTARILY RECALLED THE VEHICLES FOR CORRECTION. THIS PROBLEM HAS RESULTED IN MY CAR TAKING IN ENOUGH WATER TO CREATE A 2" DEEP PUDDLE WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER PUT THEIR LEGS. WHILE I THOUGHT I HAD EXTRACTED ALL WATER AND DRIED OUT THE CAR, I RETURNED 3 WEEKS LATER TO FIND THE INTERIOR COMPLETELY COVERED WITH MOLD/MILDEW, WHICH CREATES A HEALTH HAZARD FOR MOST, AND PARTICULARLY ME SINCE I HAVE ALLERGIES TO SOME MOLDS. THE VEHICLE IS NOW PRETTY MUCH A TOTAL LOSS, AND IS VALUED AT $8000 - WHICH A RETIREE SUCH AS MYSELF CANNOT AFFORD TO LOSE. MY AUTO INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER THIS LOSS. THE COURT CASE IS: JOHN DEWEY, JACQUELINE DELGUERCIO, ET AL V. VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC. ET AL. CASE NOS. 07-CV-2249-FSH-PS AND 07-CV-2361-FSH-PS (CONSOLIDATED)) THE FINAL DECISION WAS IN 2014, JOHN DEWEY, JACQUELINE DELGUERCIO, ET AL V. VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC. ET AL. CASE NOS. 07-CV-2249-FSH-PS AND 07-CV-2361-FSH-PS (CONSOLIDATED)).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/2/2017 - SUFFOLK, VA
WHILE RECENTLY DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE GEAR INDICATOR IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BEGAN TO FLASH AND THEN DISAPPEARED, NO LONGER REVEALING WHAT GEAR THE CAR WAS IN WHILE IN FORWARD MOTION, AND CAR BEGAN TO LOSE MOMENTUM WHILE DRIVING AND BEGAN SOUNDING ANF MOVING AS THOUGH THE CAR WAS PLACED IN NEUTRAL. UPON STOPPING THE CAR AND AGAIN ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE FORWARD, THE CAR ENGINE REVVED AS THOUGH IN NEUTRAL. HAD CAR TOWED TO DEALER WHERE THEY DROVE IT AND MENTIONED THE WIRING HARNESS LEAKING OIL/FLUID. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR AT THE DEALER 4 TIMES WITHIN A 6 MONTH PERIOD (MAY-NOV 2016) FOR PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE, AS I KEEP THIS CAR IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND HAVE IT CHECKED THROUGHOUT THE YEAR TO PREVENT ISSUES FROM OCCURRRING. DURING ALL THESE TIMES I HAD NO ISSUES UNTIL NOW, AS AGAIN, I WORK VERY HARD TO MAINTAIN THIS VEHICLE. I AHEV SINCE DONE MUCH RESEARCH ON THIS MATTER AND HAVE HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO SPEAK WITH OTHER VW OWNERS WHO HAVE EXPRESSED HAVING VERY SIMILIAR ISSUES WHICH FALLS IN LINE WITH THE ISSUED RECALL ANNOUNCED AUGUST 20. 2009. I HAVE RECORDS OF ALL SERVICE I HAVE HAD DONE FOR THIS AUTOMOBILE SINCE IT''S PURCHASE. I CAN EITHER MAIL OR FAX THE INFORMATION TO YOU FOR REVIEW. THANK YOU!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - NEW MARKET, MD
OUT OF THE BLUE THE PREMIUM 8 TOUCH SCREEN RADIO STOPPED WORKING, NO WARNING OR INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS, PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. I HAD A MECHANIC CHECK THE RADIO FUSES AND NOTHING WAS BLOWN OR NEEDED REPAIR. EVERYTHING WAS NORMAL. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES ON VW FORUMS. EVEN THOUGH THIS A MAJOR INCONVENIENCE IT IS STILL COMPONENT, MUCH LIKE WINDSHIELD WIPERS THAT OU JUST EXPECT TO WORK. TIME IN THE VW FORUMS. THIS NEEDS TO BE PLACED/FIXED. I NEVER HAVE HAD A RADIO FAIL IN ANY PREVIOUS CAR. I AM REALLY REGRETING MY PURCHASE OF THIS SUB-PAR, POORLY ENGINERED VEHICAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - NEW MARKET, MD
I AM UNABLE TO CARRY REAR PASSENGERS (ADULTS OR KIDS) AS THE REAR DOOR DO NOT OPERATE CONSISTENTLY.I CONSIDER THIS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. DEALER WANTS A LARGE AMOUNT OF MONEY TO REPLACE TWO REAR WIRING HARNESS AS WELL AS THE ELECTRONIC DOOR ACTUATORS. THIS SEEMS TO BE IMPROPER LACK IN THE WIRING HARNESS TO THE REAR DOORS. I HAVE NEVER HAD SO MANY ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH A VEHICLE IS SHORT A PERIOD OF TIME. THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE ADDRESS SO THAT NOBODY IS INJURED FORM A DOOR THAT WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OR INSIDE, INCONSTANTLY. I WILL HOLD BOTH NHTSA AS WELL AS VW IF A TRAGIC EVENT DOES UNFORTUNATELY DOES OCCUR. THIS ITEM HAS BEEN POSTED NUMEROUS TIME IN VE FORMUS. MY JETTA TDI HAS 156K MILES, AND IT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE TO WEATHER OR TIME OF DAY. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM THAT DOES NOT EVER GO AWAY. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MAJOR SAFETY CONSERN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds