Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 519 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (99) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (75) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (77) Seat Belts (9) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (58) Fuel System Diesel (149) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - FORT KNOX, KY
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 JETTA SPORTWAGEN TDI ON A TWO LANE STATE ROAD AT 45MPH. THE CAR WAS FUELED TWO DAYS PRIOR WITH DIESEL (I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND HAVE NEVER MISFUELED) PURCHASED AT THE FORT KNOX ARMY AIR FORCE EXCHANGE SERVICES STATION. THE CAR'S GLOW PLUG CAUTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND AN AUDIBLE CHIME SOUNDED AS THE RPM DROPPED TO BETWEEN 1000-1400 AND AN IMMEDIATE DECELERATION OCCURRED IN TRAFFIC. THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN APPROXIMATELY 100 METERS LATER. I HAD TO PUSH THE VEHICLE TO A GAS STATION IN ORDER TO CLEAR THE ROADWAY. VEHICLE WAS TOWED VIA FLATBED TO VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP FOR TROUBLESHOOTING. THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN INFORMED ME THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND SENT METALLIC SHAVINGS/MATERIAL THROUGH MY FUEL SYSTEM AND THAT THE REPAIRS WILL BE VERY COSTLY. RESEARCHING FURTHER REGARDING THE MATERIEL FAILURE REVEALED THAT THERE IS A SYSTEMIC PROBLEM WITH HPFP FAILURES IN MODEL YEAR 2009-2010 VOLKSWAGEN GOLF AND JETTA TDI VEHICLES. AT THIS TIME, I DO NOT KNOW IF THIS COSTLY REPAIR IS GOING TO BE COVERED BY VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA UNDER WARRANTY FOR A FAULTY PUMP. THE FAILURE DID NOT OCCUR DUE TO ANY FAULT OF MY OWN AND I AM THANKFUL THAT IT DID NOT HAPPEN WITH PASSENGERS AT HIGHER SPEED IN MORE TRAFFIC DUE TO THE IMMEDIATE LOSS OF POWER TO MY DRIVETRAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - COLCHESTER, CT
SAFETY ISSUE - STEREO IS NO LONGER FUNCTIONING TAKING WITH IT HANDS FREE BLUETOOTH CAPABILITIES FOR MAKING PHONE CALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - ENCINO, CA
DRIVING UP TO PARK MY 2010 VW JETTA WAGEN TDI CURBSIDE IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE, I HEARD A LOUD "POP" EMIT FROM SOMEWHERE NEAR THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE TOUCH-SCREEN RADIO IN MY VEHICLE WENT COMPLETELY BLACK. THE RADIO SUPPLIES THE VEHICLE'S BLUE-TOOTH CAPABILITY TO ALLOW DRIVERS TO COMMUNICATE EMERGENCIES, AND THOSE CALLS MUST BE DONE HANDS-FREE (I.E. OVER BLUE TOOTH OR SIMILAR SYSTEM), AS REQUIRED BY LAW IN CALIFORNIA. SINCE THIS INCIDENT THE RADIO (AND SPEAKER SYSTEM) IN THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN NON-FUNCTIONAL. I ASKED MY LOCAL VW DEALER IF THERE WERE ANY OUTSTANDING RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE. THEY INFORMED ME THERE WERE NONE, BUT THE RADIO SPONTANEOUSLY DYING, PARTICULARLY IN THIS MODEL YEAR, HAS BEEN A COMMON COMPLAINT OF VW OWNERS. THIS IS MADE CLEAR BY THE MANY, MANY POSTINGS ON VARIOUS WEB BOARDS. FACTORY INSTALLED DEFECTS IN RADIOS THAT PREVENT DRIVERS FROM COMMUNICATING EMERGENCY NEEDS WHILE ON THE ROAD, AND ALSO PREVENT DRIVERS FROM RECEIVING EMERGENCY NOTIFICATIONS OVER PUBLIC BROADCAST CHANNELS WHILE DRIVING IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN THAT MUST BE ADDRESSED AND REMEDIED BY THE MANUFACTURER IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - WESTERVILLE, OH
RADIO IS DEAD INCLUDING BLUETOOTH AND HANDS FREE DRIVING. ALL FUSES ARE OKAY, FUSE BOX WAS REPLACED UNDER THE RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - SHERWOOD, OR
I WAS DRIVING AS USUAL AND MY STEREO WENT OUT. I KNOW A LOT OF TDI OWNERS WITH THE RADIO 1K0 035 180 AC HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE TOO. THE SHEER NUMBER OF PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE FAULTY TOUCH SCREEN STEREO MAKES THIS MORE THAN JUST A COINCIDENCE. THIS IS MORE THAN JUST AN AM/FM RADIO PROBLEM WE LOSE CELLULAR CAPABILITIES THAT WERE FACTORY INSTALLED. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN MORE THAN IT IS JUST A "LUXURY" ITEM THAT VW INSTALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/9/2014 - WESLEY CHAPEL, FL
A KEY FEATURE OF THIS VEHICLE IS THE CAPABILITY FOR HANDS FREE USE OF ON-BOARD COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEMS WHICH IS MANDATORY IN SEVERAL STATES FOR INCREASED SAFETY WHILE DRIVING. THIS CAPABILITY IS CONTROLLED THROUGH THE FACTORY INSTALLED RADIO SYSTEM AND BLUE TOOTH TECHNOLOGY. WHEN THE OEM RADIO FAILS THE HANDS FREE SAFE COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEM FAILS. THIS CAN RESULT IN A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. THE RADIO INSTALLED IN THIS VEHICLE FAILED WITH A PRONOUNCED POP INDICATING AN ELECTRICAL FAULT AND WILL NOT OPERATE. THE RADIO IS WIRED THROUGH OTHER CONNECTIONS IN THE WIRING HARNESS TO THE VEHICLE INFORMATION SYSTEM ABOVE THE STEERING WHEEL WHICH INCLUDES OPERATION DATA INCLUDING MILES PER HOUR AMONG OTHERS. SINCE THIS IS AN APPARENT ELECTRICAL DEFECT AND IS TIED TO OTHER VEHICLE OPERATION SYSTEM INFORMATION IT BECOMES A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. OTHER OWNERS HAVE REPORTED THAT THEIR VEHICLES OF THIS MAKE AND MODEL HAVE EXPERIENCED RELATED PROBLEMS INCLUDING FAILURE TO START AND ENGINE TURNING OFF INTERMITTENTLY. VOLKSWAGEN DOES NOT CONSIDER THIS FAULT A SAFETY CONCERN. THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE RECALLED TO CORRECT THIS DEFICIENCY AT NO CHARGE TOT HE CUSTOMER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - ORISKANY FALLS, NY
THE SOUND SYSTEM INCLUDING CD PLAYER, RADIO, BLUE TOOTH HANDS FREE SYSTEM, AND AUX STOPPED WORKING SUDDENLY. THIS CAR WAS LESS THAN 5 YEARS OLD AND THIS SHOULD BE COVERED BY VOLKSWAGEN! THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE I PURCHASED THIS CAR MODEL BECAUSE IT HAD BLUETOOTH. THE LESS EXPENSIVE MODEL DID NOT. NOW I AM NOT ABLE TO CARRY ON A HANDS FREE CONVERSATION ON MY CELL PHONE. VOLKSWAGEN NEEDS TO STEP UP AND HAVE A RECALL OR COVER THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2014 - REDONDO BEACH, CA
AT APPROXIMATELY 50K MILES WE WHERE INSTRUCTED BY THE DEALER TO CHANGE THE BATTERY. WE FOLLOWED INSTRUCTIONS AND CONSEQUENTLY LESS THEN 1K MILES LATER THERE WAS A LARGE SPARK WITH THE SMELL OF ELECTRICAL FIRE CAUSING THE RADIO TO FLAME OUT AND GO DARK. WE WHERE QUOTED $785 DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE RADIO ON A FOUR YEAR OLD CAR. POSSIBLE ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION COULD LEAD TO OTHER PROBLEMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/25/2014 - REDONDO BEACH, CA
BOTH EXHAUST PRESSURE SENSORS MALFUNCTIONED CAUSING VEHICLE INDICATOR LAMP TO ILLUMINATE AND FAILD EMISSIONS TEST. QUOTED $595.00 FOR REPAIR WORK, AFTER REPAIRS VEHICLE STILL WILL NOT PASS EMISSIONS TEST

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2014 - REDONDO BEACH, CA
BOTH EXHAUST PRESSURE SENSORS MALFUNCTIONED CAUSING VEHICLE INDICATOR LAMP TO ILLUMINATE AND FAILD EMISSIONS TEST. QUOTED $595.00 FOR REPAIR WORK, AFTER REPAIRS VEHICLE STILL WILL NOT PASS EMISSIONS TEST

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds