Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 675 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (14) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (23)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (6) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (173) Exterior Lighting (13) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Steering (6) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (100) Power Train (91) Structure (15) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (93) Fuel System Diesel (166) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/16/2016 - MADISON, WI
RADIO FAILURE: RADIO WAS WORKING REGULARLY AND STOPPED WORKING UPON TURNING ON THE CAR. DISPLAY IS BLACK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/7/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS DRIVING ON SCOTT STREET, WHEN ANOTHER DRIVER RAN THE RED LIGHT ON THE INTERSECTION AND HIT MY CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE TOWARDS THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR, AND THE AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I INFORMED VW, THEY DID A DIAGNOSTIC TEXT ON MY CAR AND THEIR FINDINGS WAS THAT THE AIRBAG DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. I DIDN'T TAKE IT ANY FURTHER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/7/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS DRIVING ON SCOTT STREET, WHEN ANOTHER DRIVER RAN THE RED LIGHT ON THE INTERSECTION AND HIT MY CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE TOWARDS THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR, AND THE AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I INFORMED VW, THEY DID A DIAGNOSTIC TEXT ON MY CAR AND THEIR FINDINGS WAS THAT THE AIRBAG DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. I DIDN'T TAKE IT ANY FURTHER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2016 - HENRIETTA, NY
ATTEMPTED TO START MY CAR ON A COLD DAY WITH LOW FUEL. THE ENGINE WAS JUMPY AND DIDN'T START. I WAITED AND ATTEMPTED AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED, DROVE 500 FEET TO THE GAS STATION, FILLED WITH DIESEL. THE LIGHT THEN CAME ON AFTER I STARTED IT AGAIN. I CHECKED THE CODE, P2015. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO DORSCHEL VW IN HENRIETTA, NY. THEY CONFIRMED THE CODE SAID THE INTAKE MANIFOLD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. SAYING THE FLAP IS DAMAGED AND THEN SWITCHING TO SAY THE RUNNER IS DAMAGED. MOST OF THE TSI ENGINES HAVE HAD THEIR WARRANTY EXTENDED, BUT NOT FOR MY TDI. THERE ARE LOTS OF OTHERS COMPLAINING OF THIS CODE POPPING UP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/31/2016 - LAGRANGE, GA
I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN MAY 2015 DUE TO THE AWESOME FUEL ECCONOMY PAIRED WITH SUPPOSED GREAT RELIABILITY.THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT AROUND OCTOBER 2015. I WAS HEADED TO WORK AND THE ENGINE STARTED SKIPPING JUST FOR A SHORT TIME. I DROVE TO WORK WITHOUT ANY MORE ISSUES. WHEN I WAS LEAVING WORK, THE ENGINE STARTED RUNNING REAL ROUGH SO I PULLED OVER AND I HEARD A SQUEALING/RATTLING NOISE FROM AN AREA AROUND THE TIMING COVER. THE ENGINE STALLED. I STARTED IT BACK UP AND AFTER MAYBE 10 SECONDS IT STALLED AGAIN AND WOULDN'T START BACK UP. I TOWED THE CAR TO A VW SPECIALIST SHOP AND THEY DIAGNOSED THE ISSUE AS A FAILED HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP AND REQUIRING REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A VW DEALERSHIP AND THEY'RE DIAGNOSTIC WAS THE SAME. THEY SENT OUT A FUEL SAMPLE AND IT FAILED FOR LUBRICITY. I EXPECTED VW TO COVER THIS SINCE THIS WAS A KNOWN VW ISSUE. THE CAR SAT AT A DEALERSHIP FOR OVER A MONTH BEFORE HAVING TO TOW IT BACK HOME. THE REPAIR WILL COST AROUND $5,600. I WOULD FIX IT MYSELF BUT THE PARTS ALONE CAN BE $3,000 TO $4000. I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN MAY 2015, SO ONLY GOT TO DRIVE IT FOR FIVE MONTHS. I HAVE LOST ALL FAITH IN THE RELIABILITY AS WELL AS THE CONFIDENCE THAT VW WILL FIX ANY ISSUES THAT ARE DUE TO FAULTY PARTS. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL CASES WITH FAULTY HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMPS FROM 2009 TO PRESENT. THERE WAS AN INVESTIGATION BEFORE. HTTP://WWW-ODI.NHTSA.DOT.GOV/ACMS/CS/JAXRS/DOWNLOAD/DOC/UCM475595/INCR-EA11003-61863.PDF

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/18/2016 - SANTA ROSA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP AND THE FUEL INJECTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V621000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2016 - MILL VALLEY, CA
DEAD RADIO AND BATTERY HAS PARASITIC DRAIN MY RADIO DIED. THE SCREEN WENT BLACK WHILE DRIVING AND IT HAS NOT RECOVERED. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD BATTERY DRAINAGE PROBLEMS. ONE OF THE FUSES, #42 I BELIEVE, HAS BLOWN AND I HAVE TRIED TO REPLACE IT, BUT IT BLOWS AGAIN AS SOON AS THE CAR IS TURNED ON. THERE ARE A NUMBER OF ONLINE FORUMS DOCUMENTING THIS AND SIMILAR RADIO PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE. HERE IS ONE: HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T36009_DS552583 HERE IS ANOTHER: HTTP://DEVFORUMS2.TDICLUB.COM/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=389797&HIGHLIGHT=2010+JETTA+DEAD+RADIO

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2016 - MILL VALLEY, CA
DEAD RADIO AND BATTERY HAS PARASITIC DRAIN MY RADIO DIED. THE SCREEN WENT BLACK WHILE DRIVING AND IT HAS NOT RECOVERED. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD BATTERY DRAINAGE PROBLEMS. ONE OF THE FUSES, #42 I BELIEVE, HAS BLOWN AND I HAVE TRIED TO REPLACE IT, BUT IT BLOWS AGAIN AS SOON AS THE CAR IS TURNED ON. THERE ARE A NUMBER OF ONLINE FORUMS DOCUMENTING THIS AND SIMILAR RADIO PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE. HERE IS ONE: HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T36009_DS552583 HERE IS ANOTHER: HTTP://DEVFORUMS2.TDICLUB.COM/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=389797&HIGHLIGHT=2010+JETTA+DEAD+RADIO

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2016 - O'FALLON, MO
FIRST NOTICED THE REAR PASSENGER BACKUP LIGHT NOT WORKING. 1 STOP AND A FEW MINUTES LATER THE PASSENGER HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. AFTER RETURNING HOME 15 MINUTES LATER THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SIDE EXCEPT THE TAILLIGHT WAS OUT. AFTER SEARCHING ON THE INTERNET FUSE F16 HAS A KNOWN ISSUE OF MELTING BOTH THE FUSE AND THE FUSE BOX. SURE ENOUGH AFTER REMOVING AND INSPECTING, THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE FUSE HAS BEGUN TO MELT AND THE FEMALE FUSE TERMINALS AND PLASTIC FUSE BOX AROUND THE CONNECTION HAVE ALL STARTED TO MELT. TURNING THE FUSE AROUND HAS GOTTEN THE LIGHTS WORKING AGAIN FOR TONIGHT, BUT WILL LIKELY NEED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE FUSE BOX AS A PERMANENT FIX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/8/2016 - O'FALLON, MO
FIRST NOTICED THE REAR PASSENGER BACKUP LIGHT NOT WORKING. 1 STOP AND A FEW MINUTES LATER THE PASSENGER HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. AFTER RETURNING HOME 15 MINUTES LATER THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SIDE EXCEPT THE TAILLIGHT WAS OUT. AFTER SEARCHING ON THE INTERNET FUSE F16 HAS A KNOWN ISSUE OF MELTING BOTH THE FUSE AND THE FUSE BOX. SURE ENOUGH AFTER REMOVING AND INSPECTING, THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE FUSE HAS BEGUN TO MELT AND THE FEMALE FUSE TERMINALS AND PLASTIC FUSE BOX AROUND THE CONNECTION HAVE ALL STARTED TO MELT. TURNING THE FUSE AROUND HAS GOTTEN THE LIGHTS WORKING AGAIN FOR TONIGHT, BUT WILL LIKELY NEED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE FUSE BOX AS A PERMANENT FIX.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds