Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 565 complaints filed for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (10) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (8)
Communications (4) Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (120) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (78) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (84) Seat Belts (9) Structure (11) Visibility (6)
Engine (71) Fuel System Diesel (156) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Fuel System Gasoline (33)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 VW JETTA TDI IN A PARKING LOT, SLOWING DOWN AT LESS THAN 5 MPH TO STOP. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. NO WARNING OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON AT ALL. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK TO RESTART IT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, THE ENGINE SEEMS TO BE SPUTTERING AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 VW JETTA TDI IN A PARKING LOT, SLOWING DOWN AT LESS THAN 5 MPH TO STOP. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. NO WARNING OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON AT ALL. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK TO RESTART IT. SINCE THIS INCIDENT, THE ENGINE SEEMS TO BE SPUTTERING AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2015 - TIGARD, OR
MY BLUE-TOOTH/RADIO JUST STOPPED WORKING, BLACK SCREEN. I WAS ALSO HAVING BATTERY PROBLEMS AROUND THAT TIME, CAR BATTERY WOULD BE DEAD AT RANDOM TIMES. IT SEEMS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH 2010 VW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - VAN NUYS, CA
FLEW TO DALLAS TO PURCHASE THIS CAR 2/27/15. DROVE IT HOME 1500 MILES TO LOS ANGELES OVER 2 DAYS. GOT TO EL PASO ON 3/1/15 & GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT TRAVELING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED (15MPH OR LESS) GOING DOWNHILL. MY PARTICULAR ISSUE COMES IN THE WAY OF HOW THE TRANSMISSION BEHAVES GOING DOWNHILL AT HIGH OR SLOW SPEEDS. WHEN THE CARS ECU (ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) SENSES THE CAR GOING DOWNHILL, AND YOU TRANSITION FROM THE THROTTLE PEDAL TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CAR BEHAVES AS IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTING & STAYING IN GEAR. NOW YOU MAY THINK THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM, BUT....SINCE THESE TRANSMISSIONS TECHNICALLY ARE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS WITH AN AUTOMATIC CLUTCH...IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION CAR & WANTED TO STOP QUICKLY AS I DID TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR, YOU WOULD PUSH THE CLUTCH IN TO DISENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION FROM THE ENGINE...& THUS CAUSE THE CAR TO LOSE IT'S LOCOMOTIVE FORCE. WELL, THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT THIS CAR DID DURING THE ACCIDENT. THE AUTOMATIC CLUTCH DID NOT DISENGAGE FROM THE ENGINE WHEN SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP, AND, THUS PROVIDED THE MASSIVE LOW END TORQUE THE DIESEL ENGINE PROVIDES EVEN AT VERY LOW ENGINE SPEEDS. SO, THAT WHEN I SAW THE CAR STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME, I RESPONDED WITH HITTING THE BRAKES, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF, AND EVEN SWERVED TO THE LEFT IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID HITTING THE BACK OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. I COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE IN TIME TO AVOID HITTING THE OTHER CAR. MY BACKGROUND: I'M A 32 YR PRO-AUTOMOTIVE TECH WHO NOT ONLY WORKS ON, DIAGNOSES & REPAIRS ALL SORTS OF VEHICLES USING COMPUTER CONTROLS...BUT, I USED TO TEACH IT AS WELL. SO, AFTER DRIVING THIS CAR NOW FOR SEVERAL WEEKS, &...HAVING RESEARCHED THIS CAR & MULTIPLE OTHER DSG OWNERS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE WAY THESE TRANSMISSIONS SHIFT...I CAN SAY FOR SURE, VW'S THAT USE THESE DSG TRANSMISSIONS IS/ARE A MAJOR ISSUE WHEN IT COMES TO PUBLIC SAFETY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/25/2015 - VAN NUYS, CA
FLEW TO DALLAS TO PURCHASE THIS CAR 2/27/15. DROVE IT HOME 1500 MILES TO LOS ANGELES OVER 2 DAYS. GOT TO EL PASO ON 3/1/15 & GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT TRAVELING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED (15MPH OR LESS) GOING DOWNHILL. MY PARTICULAR ISSUE COMES IN THE WAY OF HOW THE TRANSMISSION BEHAVES GOING DOWNHILL AT HIGH OR SLOW SPEEDS. WHEN THE CARS ECU (ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) SENSES THE CAR GOING DOWNHILL, AND YOU TRANSITION FROM THE THROTTLE PEDAL TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CAR BEHAVES AS IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTING & STAYING IN GEAR. NOW YOU MAY THINK THAT'S NOT A PROBLEM, BUT....SINCE THESE TRANSMISSIONS TECHNICALLY ARE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS WITH AN AUTOMATIC CLUTCH...IF YOU WERE DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION CAR & WANTED TO STOP QUICKLY AS I DID TO AVOID HITTING ANOTHER CAR, YOU WOULD PUSH THE CLUTCH IN TO DISENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION FROM THE ENGINE...& THUS CAUSE THE CAR TO LOSE IT'S LOCOMOTIVE FORCE. WELL, THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT THIS CAR DID DURING THE ACCIDENT. THE AUTOMATIC CLUTCH DID NOT DISENGAGE FROM THE ENGINE WHEN SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP, AND, THUS PROVIDED THE MASSIVE LOW END TORQUE THE DIESEL ENGINE PROVIDES EVEN AT VERY LOW ENGINE SPEEDS. SO, THAT WHEN I SAW THE CAR STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME, I RESPONDED WITH HITTING THE BRAKES, TURNING THE IGNITION OFF, AND EVEN SWERVED TO THE LEFT IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID HITTING THE BACK OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. I COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE IN TIME TO AVOID HITTING THE OTHER CAR. MY BACKGROUND: I'M A 32 YR PRO-AUTOMOTIVE TECH WHO NOT ONLY WORKS ON, DIAGNOSES & REPAIRS ALL SORTS OF VEHICLES USING COMPUTER CONTROLS...BUT, I USED TO TEACH IT AS WELL. SO, AFTER DRIVING THIS CAR NOW FOR SEVERAL WEEKS, &...HAVING RESEARCHED THIS CAR & MULTIPLE OTHER DSG OWNERS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE WAY THESE TRANSMISSIONS SHIFT...I CAN SAY FOR SURE, VW'S THAT USE THESE DSG TRANSMISSIONS IS/ARE A MAJOR ISSUE WHEN IT COMES TO PUBLIC SAFETY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2015 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT PREVIOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,208.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2015 - PASADENA, MD
THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN AN ELECTRICAL NIGHT MARE. STARTED OFF AROUND SEPTEMBER OF LAST YEAR WITH AN INTERMITTENT MISFIRE. DEALER REPLACED INTAKE ASSEMBLY. A MONTH LATER RANDOM CYLINDER MISFIRES. IT COMES AND GOES WITH MIL LIGHT COMING ON. BEEN IN TO DEALER A COUPLE TIMES FOR THIS ISSUE AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THEY KEEP WANTING MORE MONEY TO DIAGNOSE. IN JANUARY THE BATTERY KEPT DYING. IF IT SAT OVER NIGHT THE BATTERY WOULD BE DEAD. 1 YEAR OLD BATTERY. HAD CHARGING SYSTEM CHECKED AT AUTOZONE AND EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. THIS MORNING MY WIFE WENT TO DRIVE CAR AND THE RADIO WOULD NOT POWER UP. SO I STARTED SEARCHING THE WEB JUST LIKE EVERY OTHER TIME WE HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS CAR. TURNS OUT HUNDREDS OF 2010 MODELS HAVE HAD SAME ISSUE AND SEEMS TO LEAD ON TO MORE ELECTRICAL ISSUES DOWN THE ROAD. I HAVE HAD 15 YEAR OLD VEHICLES WITH ALMOST 300K MILES AND SAME FACTORY RADIO IN IT WORKING FINE. I JUST TRADED OFF A 2001 EXPLORER WITH 200K MILES THAT RAN BETTER THAN THIS 5 YR OLD JETTA. VOA GAVE ME A CLAIM NUMBER AND WANT ME TO TAKE IT TO A DEALER WHICH IS RIDICULOUS BECAUSE I WILL BE CHARGED DIAGNOSTICS AND WILL NOT BE COVERED AS IT IS A LUXURY ITEM. WHAT ABOUT ALL THE OTHER ELECTRICAL ISSUES THEY HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO RESOLVE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2015 - MIDDLETOWN, CT
SUNROOF DRAINS COME APART ALLOWING WATER TO ENTER AUTOMOBILE. WET INTERIOR ALLOWS MOLD TO GROW INSIDE CAR CAUSING A POSSIBLE HEALTH HAZARD. WINDOWS STEAM UP BLOCKING VIEW OUT OF CAR CAUSING DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS. WATER DRIPS ONTO ELECTRICAL CONNECTORS AND MOISTURE PRESENT IN CAR CAUSES CORRODING OF ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS INCREASING THE POSSIBILITY OF AN ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION AND HAZARDOUS DRIVING CONDITION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/16/2015 - SANDY CREEK , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER COIL SPRING FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT PERFORMED THE REPAIRS ON THE VEHICLE BY HIMSELF. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THE FRONT PASSENGER COIL SPRING. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/10/2015 - COLUMBIA, MD
WHILE DRIVING, GLOW PLUG INDICATOR FLASHED RAPIDLY, INDICATING ENGINE MALFUNCTION. CAR EXPERIENCED A REDUCTION IN POWER. AFTER PARKING IN PARKING LOT, CAR STARTED UP AND APPEARED INITIALLY OK, BUT THEN EXPERIENCED TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE AFTER DRIVING <300 FEET. CAR WAS TOWED TO MECHANIC. MECHANIC INDICATES THAT METAL FRAGMENTS/FLAKES WERE FOUND DISTRIBUTED THROUGHOUT FUEL SYSTEM/ENGINE, CONSISTENT WITH FAILURE OF HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. MECHANIC STATED THAT THIS CONDITION WAS CONSISTENT WITH PICTURES/DESCRIPTION FOUND IN TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN 23 14 03.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds