Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I US - 2011 BMW 535I US Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW

There are 26 complaints filed for the 2011 BMW 535I US

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 BMW 535I US. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 BMW 535I US, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Wheels (3)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

12/2/2013 - ALHAMBRA, CA
BUBBLE IN SIDEWALL OF RIGHT FRONT TIRE. TIRE REPLACED LESS THAN 2 MONTHS AGO. MINIMAL DRIVING, COMBINATION HIGHWAY/ROADS.

View Details

TIRES

7/18/2013 - DALLAS, TX
THREE GOODYEAR EXCELLENCE 245/40R19XL RUN-FLAT TIRES HAVE FAILED WITH SIDEWALL BUBBLES ON MY 2011 BMW 535I. THE FIRST WAS ON 8-31-11 AT 7,317 MILES. THE SECOND ON 1-15-13 AT 20,158 MILES AND THE MOST RECENT ON 7-16-13 AT 23,433 MILES. THE FACTORY ORIGINAL RIGHT-FRONT TIRE AND ITS REPLACEMENT TIRE BOTH FAILED. THE THIRD FAILURE (ON 7-16-13) WAS ON THE LEFT FRONT. THIS IS MY WIFE'S CAR AND IT IS DRIVEN VERY CONSERVATIVELY. NO WRECKS, NO HITTING CURBS, ETC. NEVER IN MY LIFE HAVE I HAD THIS TYPE OF TIRE FAILURE. THESE RUN-FLAT TIRES ARE TRULY DEFECTIVE. IN EACH CASE, I HAD TO PAY FOR A NEW REPLACEMENT TIRE. OLD TIRES ARE NOT AVAILABLE UNLESS I COULD RECLAIM THE LATEST TIRE AT MY LOCAL TIRE SHOP BEFORE THEY DISCARDED IT. COMPLAINED TO GOODYEAR THE LAST TIME AND THEY AGREED TO PAY PART OF THE COST OF THE REPLACEMENT TIRE. THESE NEED TO BE TAKEN OFF THE ROAD BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

TIRES

4/14/2013 - EL PASO, TX
I HAVE A 2011 BMW 535I IS PURCHASE NOV 2010 FROM BMW MILITARY SALES, THREE WEEKS AFTER RECEIVING CAR, MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE FORM A BUBBLE AND WAS REPLACED BY BMW OF LANDSTUHL, I SHIPPED THE CAR TO THE US MAY 2011. JUNE 2011 MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE FORM A BUBBLE; TOOK CAR TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD TIRE WAS NOT COVER IN WARRANTY; BOTH NEW TIRE, AUG 2011 FRONT LEFT TIRE FORM BLISTER; TOOK BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD I NEED TO CONTACT GOODYEAR; I EMAIL THE MANUFACTURE NO RESPONSE; APRIL 2013 I HAD CURBSIDE REAR TIRE TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT EL PASO HAD ROUGH ROADS AND THAT THE BLISTERS FORM FROM WEAR AND TEAR; SO I REPLACE ALL FOUR RUN FLAT TIRES AND NO MORE BUBBLES FORMING ON TIRES. NOT COUNTING THE TIRE REPLACE BY BMW LANDSTUHL I HAVE REPLACED 3 TIRES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY: PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/29/2013 - SANTA MONICA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE DRIVE TRAIN WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD CALL HER AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,945 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,000. UPDATED 4/1/13 THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE DRIVETRAIN, ENGINE MALFUNCTION, AND LOW BATTERY LIGHTS ALL ILLUMINATED. THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED. ON THE SECOND OCCURRENCE, THE DRIVETRAIN LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE PUT ITSELF IN NEUTRAL AND REDUCED SPEED. THE CONSUMER PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE CONSUMER REPEATEDLY ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT, WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. REPLACED HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP, AGAIN. UPDATED 04/09/2013

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

1/29/2013 - SANTA MONICA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE DRIVE TRAIN WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD CALL HER AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,945 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,000. UPDATED 4/1/13 THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE DRIVETRAIN, ENGINE MALFUNCTION, AND LOW BATTERY LIGHTS ALL ILLUMINATED. THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED. ON THE SECOND OCCURRENCE, THE DRIVETRAIN LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE PUT ITSELF IN NEUTRAL AND REDUCED SPEED. THE CONSUMER PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE CONSUMER REPEATEDLY ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT, WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. REPLACED HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP, AGAIN. UPDATED 04/09/2013

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/29/2013 - SANTA MONICA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE DRIVE TRAIN WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD CALL HER AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,945 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,000. UPDATED 4/1/13 THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE DRIVETRAIN, ENGINE MALFUNCTION, AND LOW BATTERY LIGHTS ALL ILLUMINATED. THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED. ON THE SECOND OCCURRENCE, THE DRIVETRAIN LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE PUT ITSELF IN NEUTRAL AND REDUCED SPEED. THE CONSUMER PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE CONSUMER REPEATEDLY ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT, WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. REPLACED HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP, AGAIN. UPDATED 04/09/2013

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2012 - BEVERLY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE REMOTE CONTROL KEY FAILED, WHICH CAUSED A DISCHARGE IN THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER THEN REPLACED THE REMOTE KEY HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED APPROXIMATELY TWO MONTHS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE WHERE THE REMOTE KEY BATTERY WAS RECHARGED SEVERAL TIMES, AS WELL AS REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT REMAINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE ISSUE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 3,100 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 18,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/21/2012 - PAMPANO BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE IDLED SPORADICALLY WHEN FIRST STARTED. THE CONTACT HAD TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FIVE TIMES HOWEVER, THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ENGINE WOULD REV EXCESSIVELY AND ATTEMPT TO SURGE FORWARD. THE FAILURE WOULD LAST FOR APPROXIMATELY 30 SECONDS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE WAS A NORMAL OPERATION AND WOULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

TIRES

7/25/2012 - DADE CITY, FL
I HAVE A 2011 BMW 535I WITH 16,300 MILES WHICH DEVELOPED A BUBBLE ON THE OUTSIDE SIDEWALL OF THE 19" GOODYEAR EXCELLENCE RUN FLAT TIRE. THERE WAS NO POTHOLE IMPACT OR OTHER INCIDENT THAT I AM AWARE OF. THE REPLACEMENT COST AT THE BMW DEALER WAS OVER $500. I HAVE SINCE LEARNED THAT THERE ARE MANY INSTANCES OF PROBLEMS WITH THESE TIRES. WHY HAVEN'T THEY BEEN RECALLED?

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2012 - RIVERSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, LIQUID SPILLED ON THE ENGINE COMPUTER THAT WAS LOCATED IN THE TRUNK AND CAUSED THE COMPUTER TO SHORT CIRCUIT. THE VEHICLE DECELERATED FROM 70 MPH TO 3 MPH ALMOST INSTANTLY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE COMPUTER WAS REPLACED, BUT THE COMPUTER WAS LEFT UNPROTECTED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 15,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds