Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 535I US - 2011 BMW 535I US Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW

There are 35 complaints filed for the 2011 BMW 535I US

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 BMW 535I US. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 BMW 535I US, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Tires (18) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/8/2018 - IRVING, TX
MY BMW HAS ABOUT 75K MILES ON IT. I WAS DRIVING IT ONE DAY AFTER WORK AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY. CAR DID NOT SHUT DOWN OR ANYTHING BUT LOSS OF POWER, IT'S LIKE MY VEHICLE WENT INTO NEUTRAL GEAR, I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THE CAR WILL NOT MOVE. THIS ALMOST RESULTED IN A FATAL CRASH. 'DRIVETRAN MALFUNCTION' CAME ON THE DASHBOARD. THIS IS VERY WEIRD FOR A CAR THAT ONLY HAS 75K MILES ON IT. I HAVEN'T HAD ANY ISSUES PRIOR TO THIS, CAR COMPLETELY STALLED WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT, I THANK GOD I WAS IN THE PROCESS OF EXITING OFF THE HIGHWAY, OTHER WISE I WOULD'VE HAD A VERY FATAL CRASH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
CAR SHOWS ERROR OF DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION AND THE CAR STARTS TO SHAKE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/4/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
THERE ARE WIRES ON THE ENGINE THAT ARE CRACKING AND WAS TOLD BY THE BMW DEALER THAT THIS CAN CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/15/2017 - SEATTLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I US. WHILE DRIVING OVER 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE. THE CONTACT REMOVED HIS FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO BRING THE SPEED DOWN TO 30 MPH, BUT THE SHAKING BECAME AGGRESSIVE. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE SHAKING CONTINUED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT HE HEARD A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE WHEELS, BUT COULD NOT DETERMINE IF IT WAS THE FRONT OR REAR WHEELS. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL AND INFORMED THE CONTACT TO CALL NHTSA TO FILE A COMPLAINT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,712.

View Details

WHEELS

8/15/2017 - SEATTLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW 535I US. WHILE DRIVING OVER 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE. THE CONTACT REMOVED HIS FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO BRING THE SPEED DOWN TO 30 MPH, BUT THE SHAKING BECAME AGGRESSIVE. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE SHAKING CONTINUED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT HE HEARD A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE WHEELS, BUT COULD NOT DETERMINE IF IT WAS THE FRONT OR REAR WHEELS. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL AND INFORMED THE CONTACT TO CALL NHTSA TO FILE A COMPLAINT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,712.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/14/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I PURCHASED THIS CAR 2 MONTHS AGO. TODAY MY WIFE WHEN OUT WITH MY 14 AND 4 YEARS OLD DAUGHTERS AND THE CAR LOST POWER AND SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING AT AROUND 60 MPH IN THE HIGHWAY. THANKFULLY THEY ARE OK. BUT THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. IT STARTS BUT DIES WITHIN SECONDS NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM IS BUT I FOUND THAT LOTS OF PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/1/2017 - OAK LAWN, IL
DRIVE TRAIN MALFUNCTION & CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. SCANNED CODE CAME BACK AS P0087 WHICH TRANSLATE TO "LOW FUEL RAIL PRESSURE". ZEIGLER BMW OF 11030 W 159TH ST, ORLAND PARK, IL 60467 STATES REMEDY IS UNAVAILABLE HOWEVER THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME $167.00 TO DIAGNOSE IT. TOLD ME TO WAIT FOR LETTER STATING REMEDY IS READY. $60K CAR I CANT DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/26/2017 - JUPITER, FL
GAS SMELL IN INTERIOR OF VEHICLE, SERVICE NOTED THAT THERE IS GAS LEAK. THERE IS A KNOWN RECALL BUT WHEN WE CALL BMW AND THEY SAY THEY ARE PREPARED TO DO NOTHING AT THIS TIME AND WE NEED TO WAIT. WE HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR OVER 9 MONTHS NOW.

View Details

ENGINE

12/18/2016 - LONGWOOD, FL
CONTACTED THE LOCAL BMW DEALERSHIP REGARDING THE "FAULTY VANOS BOLTS" THEY TOLD ME THAT MY CAR IS NOT AFFECTED BY THE FAULTY BOLTS WEEK LATER CAR BROKE DOWN DUE DEFECTIVE VANOS BOLT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2015 - SUNNYVALE, CA
STARTED ENGINE, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 6 TIMES BEFORE IN THE LAST 2 YEARS. EACH TIME IT WAS RELATED TO FUEL CAP/O2 SENSOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds