Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X6 - 2011 BMW X6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 19 complaints filed for the 2011 BMW X6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 BMW X6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 BMW X6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Steering (1) Traction Control System (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (10) Power Train (7) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/12/2018 - RENO, NV
AFTER IDLING ON A CAR WASH FOR AT LEAST 5 MINUTES, THE CAR START TO SMOKE. I HAVE TALKED TO 3 MORE OWNERS OF MY SERIES AND THEY ARE GOING THROUGH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS A BMW DEFECT AND NOW AM USING EXCESSIVE OIL TOO.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: TURBO-CHARGER

7/3/2018 - DACULA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW X6. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST FORWARD MOMENTUM WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BMW OF ALBANY (801 E OGLETHORPE BLVD, ALBANY, GA 31705, (229) 883-2040) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO NEEDED TO BE SERVICED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/3/2018 - DACULA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW X6. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST FORWARD MOMENTUM WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BMW OF ALBANY (801 E OGLETHORPE BLVD, ALBANY, GA 31705, (229) 883-2040) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO NEEDED TO BE SERVICED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/1/2018 - DOUGLASSVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW X6. WHILE MAKING A TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIBRATE AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL LOST TRACTION. THE VIBRATION STOPPED WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ABOVE 5 MPH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

6/1/2018 - DOUGLASSVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW X6. WHILE MAKING A TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIBRATE AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL LOST TRACTION. THE VIBRATION STOPPED WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ABOVE 5 MPH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/26/2018 - WOONSOCKET, RI
AFTER THE CAR IS BEEN DRIVEN UNDER A SNOW STORM , WHEN THE SNOW IS NOT CLEAR HAVE TO DRIVE TO WRK 1 HOUR AWAY , THE NEXT DAY ONCE ALL SNOW IS CLEAR THE CAR TENDS TO SHAKE VERY BAD , EVERY TIME THE SAME WHEN U HIT 30MPH SHAKES VIOLENTLY LIKE THE CAR IS GONNA BREAK APART. BUT ONCE U TAKE IT INSIDE THE CARWSSH AND WASH IT TENDS TO GO AWAY? I DON'T UNDERSTAND IT? IT'S NOT THE SNOW ON THE TIRES CUZ I CLEAR ALL THAT BEFORE , I LEAVE THE HOUSE THE NEXT DAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/26/2018 - WOONSOCKET, RI
AFTER THE CAR IS BEEN DRIVEN UNDER A SNOW STORM , WHEN THE SNOW IS NOT CLEAR HAVE TO DRIVE TO WRK 1 HOUR AWAY , THE NEXT DAY ONCE ALL SNOW IS CLEAR THE CAR TENDS TO SHAKE VERY BAD , EVERY TIME THE SAME WHEN U HIT 30MPH SHAKES VIOLENTLY LIKE THE CAR IS GONNA BREAK APART. BUT ONCE U TAKE IT INSIDE THE CARWSSH AND WASH IT TENDS TO GO AWAY? I DON'T UNDERSTAND IT? IT'S NOT THE SNOW ON THE TIRES CUZ I CLEAR ALL THAT BEFORE , I LEAVE THE HOUSE THE NEXT DAY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2017 - WYNADANCH, NY
TURBO COOLANT RECALL. THE TURBO COOLANT PUMP IS NOT WORKING WHICH CAUSE THE CAR TO OVER HEAT NOW CURRENTLY LEAKING FROM THE HOSES. THE CAR IS CURRENTLY PARKED AND IF I START TO DRIVE IT, IT STARTS TO OVERHEAT AND SMOKE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/30/2017 - COLLEGE POINT, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 BMW X6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN AS WELL AS A U-TURN, THE VEHICLE SHAKES, AND MOVES UP AND DOWN. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED AT BMW OF MANHATTAN LOCATED AT 555 W 57TH ST, NEW YORK, NY 10019 UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V311000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO BMW OF MANHATTAN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A FAILED TRANSFER CASE THAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/6/2016 - HINESVILLE, GA
TAKATA RECALL I HAVE CONTACTED MY BMW CENTER IN SAVANNAH ABOUT THIS RECALL AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD TAKE UP TO MORE THEN YEAR FOR THE PARTS, THIS HAS BEEN ABOUT 9 MONTHS AGO AND IM YET TO BE CONTACTED. I TRULY DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN MY VEHICLES!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds