Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2011 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 577 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (7) Power Train (155) Steering (38) Unknown Or Other (55)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (60)
Electrical System (74) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (6) Suspension (2) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (58) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Service Brakes (50) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (177) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/10/2018 - SCHUYLKILL HAVEN, PA
ON OCTOBER 19,2018 MY IN LAWS WERE TRAVELING NORTH ON ROUTE 61 IN PENNSYLVANIA. THEY CAN TO A RED LIGHT AND RAN INTO THE BACK OF A MINIVAN AND THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THEN WE DONT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED, BUT THE CAR ACCELERATED AND WENT THE LENGTH OF A FOOTBALL FIELD AND THEY HIT A POLE AND MY MOTHER IN LAW DIED INSTANTLY AND MY FATHER IN LAW DIED AT 5:10 AM.MY CONCERN IS WHY ISN'T IT AN INDUSTRY STANDARD THAT ONCE THE AIRBAGS ARE DEPLOYED THE THROTTLE DOESN'T SHUT DOWN. IF THE THROTTLE WOULD HAVE NOT WORKED THEY WAY STILL BE ALIVE.IF YOU CANT HELP ME COULD YOU SEND ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/10/2018 - SCHUYLKILL HAVEN, PA
ON OCTOBER 19,2018 MY IN LAWS WERE TRAVELING NORTH ON ROUTE 61 IN PENNSYLVANIA. THEY CAN TO A RED LIGHT AND RAN INTO THE BACK OF A MINIVAN AND THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THEN WE DONT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED, BUT THE CAR ACCELERATED AND WENT THE LENGTH OF A FOOTBALL FIELD AND THEY HIT A POLE AND MY MOTHER IN LAW DIED INSTANTLY AND MY FATHER IN LAW DIED AT 5:10 AM.MY CONCERN IS WHY ISN'T IT AN INDUSTRY STANDARD THAT ONCE THE AIRBAGS ARE DEPLOYED THE THROTTLE DOESN'T SHUT DOWN. IF THE THROTTLE WOULD HAVE NOT WORKED THEY WAY STILL BE ALIVE.IF YOU CANT HELP ME COULD YOU SEND ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION.

View Details

ENGINE

11/4/2018 - SAINT PETERS, MO
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE TOTALLY LOOSES POWER AND THE ENTIRE CAR IS SHUT OFF AND COMES TO A STOP. LOTS OF ELECTRICAL MESSAGES SHOW UP, AND SOMETIMES THE KEY CANNOT COME OUT OF IGNITION. AFTER AN HOUR, SOMETIMES IT WILL RESTART. I HAVE HAD IT TOWED THREE TIMES TO THE DEALER. AT FIRST THEY THOUGHT IT WAS THE NEGATIVE BATTERY CABLE, BUT ITS STILL HAS THE PROBLEM. STARTING TO NOT BE ABLE TO TRUST THIS CAR AS ITS A HAZARD TO DRIVE NOT KNOWING WHEN IT WILL CUT OUT AND JUST STOP WITH NO POWER TO EVEN HAVE WINDOWS ROLL UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/4/2018 - SAINT PETERS, MO
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE TOTALLY LOOSES POWER AND THE ENTIRE CAR IS SHUT OFF AND COMES TO A STOP. LOTS OF ELECTRICAL MESSAGES SHOW UP, AND SOMETIMES THE KEY CANNOT COME OUT OF IGNITION. AFTER AN HOUR, SOMETIMES IT WILL RESTART. I HAVE HAD IT TOWED THREE TIMES TO THE DEALER. AT FIRST THEY THOUGHT IT WAS THE NEGATIVE BATTERY CABLE, BUT ITS STILL HAS THE PROBLEM. STARTING TO NOT BE ABLE TO TRUST THIS CAR AS ITS A HAZARD TO DRIVE NOT KNOWING WHEN IT WILL CUT OUT AND JUST STOP WITH NO POWER TO EVEN HAVE WINDOWS ROLL UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2018 - SAINT PETERS, MO
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE TOTALLY LOOSES POWER AND THE ENTIRE CAR IS SHUT OFF AND COMES TO A STOP. LOTS OF ELECTRICAL MESSAGES SHOW UP, AND SOMETIMES THE KEY CANNOT COME OUT OF IGNITION. AFTER AN HOUR, SOMETIMES IT WILL RESTART. I HAVE HAD IT TOWED THREE TIMES TO THE DEALER. AT FIRST THEY THOUGHT IT WAS THE NEGATIVE BATTERY CABLE, BUT ITS STILL HAS THE PROBLEM. STARTING TO NOT BE ABLE TO TRUST THIS CAR AS ITS A HAZARD TO DRIVE NOT KNOWING WHEN IT WILL CUT OUT AND JUST STOP WITH NO POWER TO EVEN HAVE WINDOWS ROLL UP.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2018 - ORLEANS, IN
LOOSING ANTIFREEZE, CONSTANTLY OVERHEATING AND MAY HAVE BLOWN HEAD GASKET IN MOTION AND SITTING STILL. I AM VERY DISSATISFIED WITH THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR! IT HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT TROUBLE AND VERY COSTLY BUYING ANTIFREEZE ONCE A WEEK AT $20.00 A JUG FOR HALF AND HALF. I HOPE AND PRAY THAT THIS ENGINE WILL BE RECALLED!!!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/20/2018 - GENEVA, OH
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A CITY STREET IT BEGAN TO RAIN SO I TURNED ON MY WIPERS AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE PASSENGER STOPPED IN THE STRAIGHT UP POSITION WHICH CAUSED THE DRIVERS SIDE TO GET CAUGHT UP IN IT. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF MY WIPERS AS THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS STILL ATTEMPTING TO MOVE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS CAUGHT UP AND HAD TO PULL OVER BECAUSE I HAD ZERO VISIBILITY. I GOT THE WIPERS UNTANGLED BUT THE PASSENGER SIDE NO LONGER WORKS. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND WITH THE RESEARCH I'VE DONE IT SEEMS TO BE A BIG ISSUE FOR HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF OTHERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2018 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
ROLLED DOWN MY DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, IT MADE A CLICKING NOISE AND WHEN I TRIED TO ROLL IT UP, THE WINDOW FELL INTO THE DOOR. THE WINDOW WOULDN'T ROLL BACK UP AND MADE MORE CLICKING NOISES WHEN I TRIED TO ROLL IT UP

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/14/2018 - MASSILLON, OH
IN MAY OF THIS YEAR, AS I TRIED TO BACK OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, MY CAR WOULD NOT MOVE IN REVERSE. THE CAR WAS RATTLING, THE RPMS WERE GOING UP, BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT GO IN GEAR. MY FAMILY PUSHED MY CAR OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY IN NEUTRAL AND I DROVE IT 2 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. DURING THAT 2 MINUTE DRIVE, THE CAR CONTINUALLY SLIPPED GEARS. FAST FORWARD TO HAVING THE CRUZE TOWED TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP (AFTER NOT HAVING HEARD FROM CHEVROLET AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS CONTACTING THEM) AND I FIND OUT THE TRANSMISSION IS COMPLETELY BROKE. THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY, AND OF COURSE CHEVROLET LENT NO ASSISTANCE, SO I PAID $3,674 TO HAVE A REMANUFACTURED TRANSMISSION PUT IN WITH A 500,000 MILE WARRANTY. THE TRANSMISSION IN THE CRUZE NEVER ACTED COMPLETELY RIGHT (A COMMON COMPLAINT AMONG MANY CRUZE OWNERS)- NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY WHEN GOING UP HILLS, JERKING WHEN SHIFTING ON FLAT PAVEMENT. IT'S MIND-BLOWING THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY REPORTED ISSUES OF TRANSMISSION FAILURES IN THIS MODEL, BUT CHEVROLET HAS YET TO MAKE ANY RECALLS. IT'S NOT ONLY A FINANCIAL ISSUE, IT'S A SAFETY CONCERN. I WILL NOT BE BUYING A CHEVY AGAIN, AS THEY WERE UNWILLING TO PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE WHEN THIS MAJOR COMPONENT FAILED. NOT EVEN 90K MILES, SEVEN YEARS OLD, THIS SHOULDN'T EVEN BE AN ISSUE YET.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/13/2018 - RAYMOND, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS INITIALLY STARTED, THE POWER BOOSTER FOR THE BRAKES FAILED TO OPERATE. THE POWER BOOSTER BEGAN TO WORK AFTER APPROXIMATELY ONE MINUTE. QUIRK CHEVROLET MANCHESTER (1250 S WILLOW ST, MANCHESTER, NH 03103, (603) 263-4530) STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER ASSIGNED A CASE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,600.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds