Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 152 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (18) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (34) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Engine (42) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE 2011 EQUINOX WILL JERK OR JUMP AS IF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEAR. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE STABILITY TRACK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF PERIODICALLY WHILE IN MOTION. WHEN THE CAR IS BEING TURNED OFF IT SHAKES AS IF THE MOTOR IS GOING TO FALL OUT. I HAVE TO TURN OFF THE AC BEFORE TURNING THE IGNITION SWITCH TO OFF POSITION TO DECREASE SOME OF THE SHAKING, YET IT DOES NOT PREVENT IT. FURTHERMORE WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX.. 30-35MPHS, THE CAR JUMPS TO 5TH GEAR WITHOUT ALLOWING TO ACCELERATE ANY FASTER IN THE MIST OF TRAFFIC.THE 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX SHAKES AND MAKES A WINING NOISE WHILE IDLING. IT DOES SO TO THE POINT WHERE THE HOOD IS SHAKING. THE CAR ONLY HAS 54000 MILES ON IT. ALSO I HAVE TO CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE SEATBELT WHILE DRIVING BECAUSE IT CUTS INTO MY NECK WHICH IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND A HUGE DISTRACTION. THIS CAR WILL NOW GO FORWARD IN DRIVE BUT IT WILL NOT REVERSE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE 2011 EQUINOX WILL JERK OR JUMP AS IF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEAR. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE STABILITY TRACK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF PERIODICALLY WHILE IN MOTION. WHEN THE CAR IS BEING TURNED OFF IT SHAKES AS IF THE MOTOR IS GOING TO FALL OUT. I HAVE TO TURN OFF THE AC BEFORE TURNING THE IGNITION SWITCH TO OFF POSITION TO DECREASE SOME OF THE SHAKING, YET IT DOES NOT PREVENT IT. FURTHERMORE WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX.. 30-35MPHS, THE CAR JUMPS TO 5TH GEAR WITHOUT ALLOWING TO ACCELERATE ANY FASTER IN THE MIST OF TRAFFIC.THE 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX SHAKES AND MAKES A WINING NOISE WHILE IDLING. IT DOES SO TO THE POINT WHERE THE HOOD IS SHAKING. THE CAR ONLY HAS 54000 MILES ON IT. ALSO I HAVE TO CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE SEATBELT WHILE DRIVING BECAUSE IT CUTS INTO MY NECK WHICH IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND A HUGE DISTRACTION. THIS CAR WILL NOW GO FORWARD IN DRIVE BUT IT WILL NOT REVERSE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/31/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE 2011 EQUINOX WILL JERK OR JUMP AS IF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEAR. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE STABILITY TRACK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF PERIODICALLY WHILE IN MOTION. WHEN THE CAR IS BEING TURNED OFF IT SHAKES AS IF THE MOTOR IS GOING TO FALL OUT. I HAVE TO TURN OFF THE AC BEFORE TURNING THE IGNITION SWITCH TO OFF POSITION TO DECREASE SOME OF THE SHAKING, YET IT DOES NOT PREVENT IT. FURTHERMORE WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX.. 30-35MPHS, THE CAR JUMPS TO 5TH GEAR WITHOUT ALLOWING TO ACCELERATE ANY FASTER IN THE MIST OF TRAFFIC.THE 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX SHAKES AND MAKES A WINING NOISE WHILE IDLING. IT DOES SO TO THE POINT WHERE THE HOOD IS SHAKING. THE CAR ONLY HAS 54000 MILES ON IT. ALSO I HAVE TO CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE SEATBELT WHILE DRIVING BECAUSE IT CUTS INTO MY NECK WHICH IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND A HUGE DISTRACTION. THIS CAR WILL NOW GO FORWARD IN DRIVE BUT IT WILL NOT REVERSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I JUST PURCHASE THE VEHICLE LESS THAN 90 DAYS. THEY STATE THE AIR BAG WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER, THE TECH STATES THE TSB PART IN THE PASSENGER SIDE IS OUT IN THE AIR BAG. I AM SURE THE DEALER KNEW OF THIS ISSUE WHEN THEY DID THE DIAGNOSTIC BEFORE THE CAR WAS SOLD TO ME. THEY WILL NOT FIX THE VEHICLE @ THEIR AND EXPENSE AND I AM OUT OF $541.00. I FEEL THAT THIS ISSUES NEEDS TO BE ADDRESS AND A RECALL DOWN DUE TO THE COMPLIANTS FOR AIR BAG ON FILE, AND MY MONEY IS REFUNDED BY THE MANUFACTURER .

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/29/2014 - CHARLESTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
THE SERVICE AIRBAGS LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON FOR ABOUT 10,000 MILES NOW- IT IS ON AND OFF.. WE FINALLY WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO THE DEALER - DEALER STATES THERE IS A TSB ABOUT IT BUT NO RECALL SO THEY WILL NOT FIX IT. WE HAVE STANDARD WARRANTY AND AN ADDITIONAL EXTENDED WARRANTY AND BOTH SAY AIRBAGS AND WIRING ARE NOT COVERED. MECHANIC AT DEALER STATES THAT ALL OF THEM HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE WIRING CONNECTOR AND IT IS A 10 MINUTE FIX, BUT WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY 350.03 TO FIX. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE MADE A RECALL AS EVERYONES' SAFETY IS AT RISK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/9/2014 - NOONAN, ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,500.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2014 - COLUMBIA, SC
COLUMBIA, SC-AT LEAST TWICE A MONTH MY IGNITION SWITCH WILL NOT TURN TO THE OFF POSITION SO THAT THE KEY CAN BE REMOVED. I HAVE TO TURN IT BACK TO ON (IT'S NOT NECESSARY TO RESTART THE CAR) AND THEN BACK TO OFF IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY. THIS BEGAN HAPPENING WITHIN A MONTH AFTER PURCHASING MY NEW 2011 EQUINOX. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER APRIL 19, 2011, AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM--"UNABLE TO DUPLICATE." THE PROBLEM CONTINUES, LAST OCCURRING 6/25/14. ALSO, DURING THAT SAME VISIT, I HAD REPORTED THAT THE A/C SMELLED LIKE MOLD WHEN I FIRST TURNED IT ON. 6/27/14, IT STILL SMELLS LIKE MOLD. AS WITH THE IGNITION, THE DEALER'S SERVICE DEPT. COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THE LATEST ISSUE STARTED AROUND 21,000 MILES. THE ENGINE, WHICH HAD ALWAYS RUN ROUGH (I ATTRIBUTED THIS TO THE 4-CYLINDER ENGINE) BEGAN SHUTTING DOWN WHEN I SLOWED OR STOPPED FOR TRAFFIC LIGHTS. I CALLED MY DEALER AND WAS ASKED WHERE I PURCHASED MY GAS AND TOLD TO GET SOME INJECTOR CLEANER! I THEN GOOGLED MY PROBLEM AND LEARNED THAT MANY OTHERS WERE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SITUATION WITH THEIR 2011 EQUINOXES. I THEN CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE FOR A PICKUP AND RODE IN THE WRECKER TO THE DEALER, WHERE I WAS GREETED WITH DISDAIN. I TOLD THE SERVICE ADVISOR TO GOOGLE "EQUINOX RECALL" AND READ THE POSTS, AND HE SAID THERE WAS NO RECALL (NOT YET, ANYWAY!) I TOLD HIM I KNEW THAT, BUT HE SHOULD LOOK AT THE MANY COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE. THE NEXT MORNING HE CALLED TO SAY THAT THEY HAD FOUND A PROBLEM, THE SOLENOID VALVE. HE WAS A LOT FRIENDLIER WHEN I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE, HIS MAIN CONCERN BEING THAT I GAVE THE SERVICE DEPT. A GOOD REVIEW! NO APOLOGY FOR TREATING ME LIKE I WAS CRAZY. I PREDICT THAT THE IGNITION AND ENGINE PROBLEMS WITH THE EQUINOX WILL BE GM'S NEXT RECALLS. MAYBE THEY NEED TO ADVISE THEIR SERVICE ADVISORS TO READ THE ONLINE POSTS REGARDING THEIR VEHICLES!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/22/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
TRYING TO PASS A TRUCK AT ABOUT 55 MPH I STEPPED ALL THE WAY DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR, ONLY TO SEE THE RPM'S RACE UP HIGH BUT NO ACCELERATION. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN SIX TIMES TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM, I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED GM SEVERAL TIMES WITH THIS COMPLAINT, ALL TO NO AVAIL. GM'S ANSWER IS "WE HAVE YOUR COMPLAINT DOCUMENTED". I HAVE NOT BOTHERED DOING ANYTHING SINCE SEPT 10, 2013, THINKING THAT MY PROBLEM MAY BE A FLUKE. THIS PAST WEEK I DROVE MY SON'S 2012 CHEVY EQUINOX (SAME CONFIGURATION - 4 CYL, 6 SPD TRANSMISSION) FROM HIS DUTY STATION, OVER 1,000 MILES TO HOME. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH HIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/16/2014 - MOBILE, AL
POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE BURNED OUT IN CAR AS WELL AS ELECTRIC BRAKE CONTROL MODULE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds