Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 343 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (65) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (40) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (7) Suspension (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (133) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2017 - DEWITT, VA
I WAS DRIVING HOME AFTER WORK. THE TRANSMISSION DIDN'T SHIFT WHEN IT SHOULD HAVE, THEN JERKED INTO GEAR, DID IT AGAIN THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY AND THEN HAD IT TOWED TO MY NEAREST CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2017 - LINDENHURST, IL
WAS DRIVING AT 25MPH WHEN SERVICE STABILE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON, WITHIN 5 SECONDS ENGINE POWERING DOWN LIGHT CAME ON, COULDN'T RESTART VEHICLE , VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO CHEVY DEALER WHERE DIAGNOSIS OF TIMING CHAIN SLIPPING OR BREAKING WAS DISCOVERED. AT FIRST DEALER WANTED $8800 FOR ENGINE ,THEN $6700, THEN SETTLED ON $5400. ORIGINAL ENGINE HAD 92,000 MILES WHEN THIS OCCURRED. ENGINE HAD REGULAR OIL CHANGES FROM OIL CHANGE SHOPS. MY CONCERN IS THAT IF I WAS DRIVING 60 MPH OR HIGHER AND ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ON A BUSY HIGHWAY THAT FAST WOULDN'T THAT POTENTIALLY BE A CAUSE OF A MAJOR MULTIPLE CAR COLLISION WITH SEVERE INJURIES OR EVEN FATALITIES? I THINK THE DEALERSHIP TRIED TO HELP AS MUCH AS THEY COULD BUT GM AS A WHOLE COULD HAVE DONE BETTER MONETARILY IN HELPING ME FOR A WELL DOCUMENTED PROBLEM. AND AS STATED , SHOULDN'T THIS BE A RECALL?

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/30/2017 - RIDGEFIELD, WA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WITH WIPERS ON. WIPERS SUDDENLY WHIPPED TO THE LEFT AND STOPPED. WIPER MOTOR RUNS BUT WIPERS DO NOT OPERATE. ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2017 - BENTON, IL
CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING, WOULD NOT RESTART. TIMING CHAIN BROKE CAUSING ENGINE DAMAGE. VEHICLE WAS AT DEALER IN NOV AND HAD TIMING CHAIN CHECKED. DEALER REPORTED THERE TO BE NO ISSUES WITH TIMING CHAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/10/2017 - DOLTON, IL
MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON SAYING AIRBAG MAINTENANCE. I WAS NOT INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - ST. LOUIS, MO
IT WAS 7 DEGREES OUTSIDE. I DROVE HOME FROM WORK 20 MILES. WHEN I TOOK MY EXIT, THE VEHICLE SOUNDED LIKE A DIESEL ENGINE (AND IT'S NOT A DIESEL). I MANAGED TO GET HOME AND THE VEHICLE DIED IN THE DRIVEWAY. HAD IT TOWED TO THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP. THE PCV VALVE HAD BECOME CLOGGED AND WAS HOLDING CONDENSATION. THE PCV VALVE THEN FROZE CAUSING THE REAR ENGINE SEAL TO BLOW AND MOST OF MY OIL WAS BLOWING OUT DOWN THE INTERSTATE. NO OIL WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD NO IDEA THERE WAS A PROBLEM UNTIL I EXITED THE HIGHWAY AND COULD HEAR HOW THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THIS WAS A "KNOWN PROBLEM" WITH GM, BUT NOT A RECALL. THEY EVEN GAVE ME A PROBLEM NUMBER FOR IT. THE VEHICLE WAS 5 1/2 YEARS OLD WITH 92,000 MILES. SINCE IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BECAUSE OF AGE, GM WOULD NOT COVER THE ENTIRE REPAIR, BUT DID PAY 1/2 OF IT. BUT IF THIS WAS A "KNOWN PROBLEM", THEN WHY WASN'T IT A RECALL. I CAN ONLY GET MY PORTION OF THE REPAIR COST BACK IF THIS BECOMES A RECALL. IF YOU CHECK ONLINE, THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MANY PEOPLE. I BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ITEM. ALSO, IF I HAD BEEN TOLD BY GM TO GET THE PCV VALVE CLEANED OUT, TRUST ME I WOULD HAVE. IF THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM, WHY AREN'T WE TOLD TO CLEAN OUT THE PCV VALVE. AND, ALL OF THE MAINTENANCE FOR THIS VEHICLE WAS DONE AT THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE VEHICLE DIDN'T DIE ON THE INTERSTATE AND CAUSE A CRASH, BUT IT WAS A MIRACLE THAT I GOT HOME WITH THAT VEHICLE. ALSO, IF THEY AREN'T GOING TO CORRECT THE ISSUE, THEN THIS VEHICLE SHOULD ONLY BE SOLD IN WARM CLIMATES WHERE THE PCV VALVE CAN'T FREEZE UP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2017 - SPARTA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND THE POWER REDUCE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH TIMING CHAINS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE BATCH OF OTHER VINS BEING RECALLED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 102,500.

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2017 - LANSING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE ABS INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AFTER SHIFTING THE VEHICLE INTO DRIVE, THE VEHICLE MADE A GRINDING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN AND ACTUATOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,400.

View Details

ENGINE

4/20/2017 - OAKTON, VA
THIS MORNING (04/20/2017), WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STALLED OUT EVERY TIME I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, OR WHEN I SLOWED DOWN TO TURN, THE ENGINE HAD A VERY ROUGH FEEL WITH LOTS OF VIBRATION AND THEN STALLED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/20/2017 - OAKTON, VA
THIS MORNING (04/20/2017), WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR STALLED OUT EVERY TIME I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, OR WHEN I SLOWED DOWN TO TURN, THE ENGINE HAD A VERY ROUGH FEEL WITH LOTS OF VIBRATION AND THEN STALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds