Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (19) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (34) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Engine (45) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/27/2014 - PS, CA
WHILE DRIVING THIS BEING WITH A MALFUNCTIONING TCMP I WAS COMING UP ON A LIGHT AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND THE BRAKES FAILED AND UPON IMPACT THE SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK BUT ACTUALLY LET ME MOVE RIGHT INTO THE STEERING WHEEL THUS CAUSING SERIOUS DAMAGE TO MY STERNUM AND ALSO BREAKING 2 RIBS AND MY HEAD CRACKED MY WINDSHIELD AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED OUT BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHO OF COURSE DID NOT PAY ANYTHING NEAR WHAT I DID GO FIGURE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/27/2014 - PS, CA
WHILE DRIVING THIS BEING WITH A MALFUNCTIONING TCMP I WAS COMING UP ON A LIGHT AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND THE BRAKES FAILED AND UPON IMPACT THE SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK BUT ACTUALLY LET ME MOVE RIGHT INTO THE STEERING WHEEL THUS CAUSING SERIOUS DAMAGE TO MY STERNUM AND ALSO BREAKING 2 RIBS AND MY HEAD CRACKED MY WINDSHIELD AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED OUT BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHO OF COURSE DID NOT PAY ANYTHING NEAR WHAT I DID GO FIGURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/27/2014 - PS, CA
WHILE DRIVING THIS BEING WITH A MALFUNCTIONING TCMP I WAS COMING UP ON A LIGHT AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND THE BRAKES FAILED AND UPON IMPACT THE SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK BUT ACTUALLY LET ME MOVE RIGHT INTO THE STEERING WHEEL THUS CAUSING SERIOUS DAMAGE TO MY STERNUM AND ALSO BREAKING 2 RIBS AND MY HEAD CRACKED MY WINDSHIELD AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED OUT BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHO OF COURSE DID NOT PAY ANYTHING NEAR WHAT I DID GO FIGURE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - BESSEMER CITY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND SHOOK. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE INTAKE CAM SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,724.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/15/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
SEPT.09,2014 WHILE DRIVING WITH MY 11 YEAR GRANDSON THE ENGINE TURNED OFF! WE FEAR FOR OUR LIFES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
SEPT.09,2014 WHILE DRIVING WITH MY 11 YEAR GRANDSON THE ENGINE TURNED OFF! WE FEAR FOR OUR LIFES.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
SEPT.09,2014 WHILE DRIVING WITH MY 11 YEAR GRANDSON THE ENGINE TURNED OFF! WE FEAR FOR OUR LIFES.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

9/8/2014 - ALPHARETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM DISPLAYED INCORRECT INFORMATION. THE MONITORING SYSTEM INDICATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW, BUT THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE AIR PRESSURE IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE WAS LOW. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITH BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/3/2014 - HAVETOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT OIL DISSIPATED RAPIDLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST NEEDED TO BE DONE AND WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE 2011 EQUINOX WILL JERK OR JUMP AS IF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEAR. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE STABILITY TRACK LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF PERIODICALLY WHILE IN MOTION. WHEN THE CAR IS BEING TURNED OFF IT SHAKES AS IF THE MOTOR IS GOING TO FALL OUT. I HAVE TO TURN OFF THE AC BEFORE TURNING THE IGNITION SWITCH TO OFF POSITION TO DECREASE SOME OF THE SHAKING, YET IT DOES NOT PREVENT IT. FURTHERMORE WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX.. 30-35MPHS, THE CAR JUMPS TO 5TH GEAR WITHOUT ALLOWING TO ACCELERATE ANY FASTER IN THE MIST OF TRAFFIC.THE 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX SHAKES AND MAKES A WINING NOISE WHILE IDLING. IT DOES SO TO THE POINT WHERE THE HOOD IS SHAKING. THE CAR ONLY HAS 54000 MILES ON IT. ALSO I HAVE TO CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE SEATBELT WHILE DRIVING BECAUSE IT CUTS INTO MY NECK WHICH IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND A HUGE DISTRACTION. THIS CAR WILL NOW GO FORWARD IN DRIVE BUT IT WILL NOT REVERSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds