Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 305 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (38) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (60) Steering (19) Visibility (4)
Engine (114) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (8) Structure (10) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Tires (3) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/18/2016 - BLACKWOOD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND DID NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROCKER ARM DETACHED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL AND NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 88,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2016 - CANTONMENT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE STABILITY CONTROL, TRACTION CONTROL, AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2016 - CANTONMENT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE STABILITY CONTROL, TRACTION CONTROL, AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2016 - BIG LAKE, MN
TAKATA RECALL MY HUSBAND AND I PURCHASED A VEHICLE FROM CORNERSTONE CHEVROLET IN MONTICELLO, MN IN MARCH OF 2015. IN AUGUST OF 2015, MY HUSBAND RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GM STATING THAT SOME OF THE 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH THE 2.4L ENGINE HAS AN ISSUE WITH EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. WE WERE INFORMED IN THE LETTER THAT WE WERE NOT TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN UNLESS WE BELIEVED THIS ISSUE WAS HAPPENING. ABOUT A 3 WEEKS AGO, OUR MECHANIC WHO PERFORMS OUR OIL CHANGES NOTIFIED US THAT OUR VEHICLE WAS USING EXCESSIVE OIL AND THAT WE SHOULD BRING IT INTO A GM CERTIFIED DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. ON FRIDAY, OCTOBER 28TH 2016, WE BROUGHT OUR VEHICLE TO CORNERSTONE CHEVROLET IN MONTICELLO, THEY INFORMED US THAT THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE WAS HAPPENING WITH THE VEHICLE AND THEY WERE GOING TO GET THE APPROVAL TO START WORKING ON IT. WE WERE CALLED LATER THAT DAY TO BE TOLD THAT THE GM REP NEEDED US TO BRING IN RECEIPTS OF OUR OIL CHANGES IN ORDER FOR US TO GET THIS ISSUE FIXED. WE OBTAINED OUR RECORDS AND BROUGHT THEM IN. THE GM REP THEN TOLD THE TECHS AT CORNERSTONE THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIX THE RECALL BECAUSE THEY ONLY ALLOW 7,500 MILES IN-BETWEEN OIL CHANGES AND THAT WE COULD FIND THIS IN OUR OWNER+S MANUAL. I READ THE OWNER+S MANUAL FROM COVER TO COVER AND FOUND NO INFORMATION REGARDING THIS POTENTIAL GUIDELINE. I NOTIFIED AND SENT PICTURES OF THE INFORMATION I DID FIND WITHIN THE OWNER+S MANUAL REGARDING THE OIL CHANGES AND THEY PASSED THIS ONTO THE GM REP. AS OF MONDAY, NOVEMBER 7TH, 2016 I AM BEING TOLD BY GM THAT BECAUSE WE ARE THE SECOND OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE AND NOT BECAUSE OF THE OIL CHANGE RECORDS. WE JUST WANT OUR VEHICLE FIXED BECAUSE WE DESERVE TO HAVE IT FIXED WHEN THIS IS A KNOWN GM ISSUE, NOT AN ISSUE OF LACK OF MAINTENANCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/2/2016 - CINCINNATTI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SHAFT WAS FAULTY. WHILE DRIVING HOME, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHUT OFF. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2016 - SHELBY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 36,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2016 - MISSISSAUGA, NY
DEAR SIR OR MADAM, AFTER LONG WAITING FOR THOSE ISSUES RESOLVE; I DECIDED TO CONTACT PROFESSIONAL. I PAID OVER 40K FOR THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE LOT OF PROBLEM. ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS BROKEN AND I PAID 1400 DOLLAR. HUGE PROBLEM WITH THESE CAR PLEASE CONTACT ME AS I WILL HIRED A LAWYER.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2016 - MISSISSAUGA, NY
DEAR SIR OR MADAM, AFTER LONG WAITING FOR THOSE ISSUES RESOLVE; I DECIDED TO CONTACT PROFESSIONAL. I PAID OVER 40K FOR THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE LOT OF PROBLEM. ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS BROKEN AND I PAID 1400 DOLLAR. HUGE PROBLEM WITH THESE CAR PLEASE CONTACT ME AS I WILL HIRED A LAWYER.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/28/2016 - MISSISSAUGA, NY
DEAR SIR OR MADAM, AFTER LONG WAITING FOR THOSE ISSUES RESOLVE; I DECIDED TO CONTACT PROFESSIONAL. I PAID OVER 40K FOR THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE LOT OF PROBLEM. ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS BROKEN AND I PAID 1400 DOLLAR. HUGE PROBLEM WITH THESE CAR PLEASE CONTACT ME AS I WILL HIRED A LAWYER.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2016 - BROCKPORT, NY
MY 2011 EQUINOX SUDDENLY LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING AND COULD NOT CONTROL THE VEHICLE IN TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, BUT WOULD TURN OVER. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO PUSH IT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND TOW IT HOME. I THEN HAD IT TOWED TO DEALERSHIP IN BROCKPORT NY (SPURR GM DEALERSHIP). IT TOOK 3 WEEKS TO DIAGNOSE AND REPAIR. THE ROOT CAUSE ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC WAS THAT THE ORIGINAL FACTORY TENSIONER TO THE TIMING CHAIN FAILED AND THE ENGINE WENT IMMEDIATELY OUT OF TIME - CAUSING IMMEDIATE FAILURE OF THE VEHICLE AND HENCE CONTROL ON THE ROAD. THE ENGINE NEEDED COSTLY REPAIRS OF $2600 WHICH IS FINE (MY FAMILIES LIFE IS WORTH WAY MORE) THE FACTORY ORIGINAL TENSIONERS EVIDENTLY FAIL REGULARLY BECAUSE THEY ARE HYDRAULIC AND THE INTAKE HOLES TO THE TENSIONER PLUG EASILY - CHEVY EVIDENTLY REPAIRS WITH AN IMPROVED PART THAT HAS A WIDER INTAKE PORT TO PREVENT CLOGGING. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS CONTROL OF THE CAR CAN BE LOST IMMEDIATELY, WITHOUT WARNING AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO CONTROL A CAR WITH SUCH A FAILURE CAUSING INJURY OR DEATH OF THE DRIVER OCCUPANTS OR ANYONE IN OTHER NEARBY LOCATIONS TO SUCH AN EVENT. CHEVY DOES NOT CONSIDER THE COMMON FAILURE A "SAFETY" PROBLEM RATHER A "MERE" MECHANICAL PROBLEM. IT IS WORTHY TO NOTE THE VEHICLE WAS OTHERWISE IN GOOD SHAPE, WELL MAINTAINED AND USED SYNTHETIC MOBIL-1 OIL - CHANGED 2 WEEKS PRIOR TO SUCH EVENT. THE DEALER REPAIRS NOTED NO OTHER MECHANICAL ISSUES TO THE VEHICLE RELATED TO POOR OR UNPERFORMED MAINTENANCE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds