Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 322 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (40) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (62) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (8) Structure (11) Visibility (5)
Engine (122) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - NORTHFIELD, NH
EXHAUST MANIFOLD DEVELOPS CHRONIC CRACK POSSIBLY DUE TO THERMAL STRESS GRADIENT NEAR A INJECTION PORT. ANOTHER CONTRIBUTING FACTOR THE MANIFOLD CRACKING MAY BE THAT THE ENGINE MOUNT, ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR TECHNICIANS, ARE PRONE TO QUICK DETERIORATION THAN WHAT THEY CONSIDER NORMAL. THE ENGINE FLOPS AROUND DURING TORQUE REACTIONS, PUTTING STRESS ON THE CONNECTED EXHAUST SYSTEM. BESIDES THE CRACKED MANIFOLD, TWO ENGINE MOUNTS WERE FOUND IN POOR CONDITION. THIS CRACK DOES NOT PRODUCE A SIGNIFICANT AUDIBLE EXHAUST LEAK SOUND AND THEREFORE GOES UNNOTICED. THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD IS ALSO HIDDEN FROM VIEW. THE CRACK IS WIDEST WHEN COLD, THEREFORE LETTING THE MOST TOXIC CARBON MONOXIDE CONCENTRATION ENTER THE VEHICLE, RESULTING IN CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING OF THE OCCUPANTS. THIS IS MY WIFE'S CAR. SHE HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING SEVERE HEADACHES AND HAD MADE A DOCTORS APPOINT. I SUSPECTED THAT OUR WOOD STOVE OR GAS RANGE MAY HAVE BEEN THE CULPRIT, AND INSTALLED A CO MONITOR IN THE KITCHEN. WE FIGURED IT WAS EITHER CO POISONING OR A TERMINAL BRAIN TUMOR. WE IDENTIFIED THE SYMPTOM BUT NOT THE CAUSE. WE THANK THE NHTSA FOR THEIR RECALL OF THE EQUINOX FUEL PUMP. IT WAS DURING THIS RECALL THAT THE GM TECHNICIAN IDENTIFIED THE CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD. SO THE FUEL PUMP RECALL ESSENTIALLY SAVED MY WIFE FROM ONGOING LOW LEVEL CO POISONING. REGARDS. MICHAEL WITZGALL 47 HAGGETT FARM ROAD NORTHFIELD, NH 03276 (603)-818-9083 (C) (603)-539-4538 ( WORK ) MIKE69440@METROCAST.NET

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2017 - BENTON, KY
TAKATA RECALL - LESS THAN 70000 MILES AND TRANSMISSION IS SLIPPING AND HAVING DIFFICULTY CHANGING GEARS WHEN DRIVING, JERKING DURING CHANGIN OF GEARS, WORSE WHEN A/C IS ON. CAN NOT USE CRUISE CONTROL AT ALL. CURRENT ONSTAR REPORTS AND DEALERSHIP REPORT FROM JUNE SHOWS THAT THERE WERE NO ISSUES

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/14/2017 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2014 WITH APPROX. 80,000 MILES ON IT BUT WAS TOLD BY THE SALES ASSOCIATE THAT THIS WAS A GREAT CAR AND A GREAT DEAL. THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. THE CAR HAS A TICKING NOISE AND SOUNDS LIKE A DIESEL BUT EVERYTIME I TOOK IT IN TO CHEVY THEY TOLD ME THIS IS THE WAY CHEVY CARS SOUND AND THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT. FINALLY MY ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON AND THE CAR WILL NO LONGER TURN ON SO I HAVE TO GET IT TOWED AND THEY TELL ME THE INTAKE CAM ACTUATOR SOLENOIDS WENT OUT SO THEY REPLACED IT. THEN I CONTINUE TO HEAR THE TICKING NOISE AND THE CAR STILL RUNS ROUGH AND LOUD BUT AGAIN THEY TELL ME NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. ONCE AGAIN THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND I HAVE TO GET TOWED BACK INTO TOWN OVER TWO HOURS AWAY FOR THEM TO TELL ME THE TRANMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I CONTACTED GM AND WAS TOLD THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU BUY A USED CAR. HOW RUDE! NOW I AM NO LONGER UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND MY CAR IS BACK AT CHEVY. THEY WANT ME TO PAY FOR 4 HOURS OF LABOR TO TAKE APART MY ENGINE SO THEY CAN TELL ME WHAT EXACTLY IS WRONG WITH MY CAR BUT DID MENTION A PROBLEM WITH THE TIMING CHAIN. ARE THEY CRAZY? THESE CARS ARE A COMPLETE JOKE. I CAN NOT BELIEVE THAT GM WOULD NOT RECALL THESE CARS WITH THE EXTENSIVE ISSUES THAT SO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING WITH THEM. I MEAN SERIOUSLY THEY SHOULD BACK UP THEIR PRODUCTS SO PEOPLE WILL CONTINUE TO BUY THEM. IF YOU ASK ME IM SURE THIS CAR HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE OIL CONSUMPTION WHICH WAS WHY I HEARD THE TICKING NOISE AND IS WHY THE CAR SOUNDED SO LOUD AND HEAVY LIKE A DIESEL. THEY NOT THESE CARS HAVE A MAJOR ENGINE ISSUE BUT DO NOTHING ABOUT IT. I STILL HAVE SEVERAL YEARS LEFT TO PAY OFF THIS CAR AND AM COMPLETELY UPSIDE DOWN. ALL I WANT IS FOR GM TO PAY OFF THIS CAR SO I CAN TAKE MY SERVICES ELSEWHERE. DROVE A HONDA WITH OVER 200,000 MILES BEFORE IT GAVE ME ANY TYPE OF PROBLEMS. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/14/2017 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2014 WITH APPROX. 80,000 MILES ON IT BUT WAS TOLD BY THE SALES ASSOCIATE THAT THIS WAS A GREAT CAR AND A GREAT DEAL. THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. THE CAR HAS A TICKING NOISE AND SOUNDS LIKE A DIESEL BUT EVERYTIME I TOOK IT IN TO CHEVY THEY TOLD ME THIS IS THE WAY CHEVY CARS SOUND AND THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT. FINALLY MY ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON AND THE CAR WILL NO LONGER TURN ON SO I HAVE TO GET IT TOWED AND THEY TELL ME THE INTAKE CAM ACTUATOR SOLENOIDS WENT OUT SO THEY REPLACED IT. THEN I CONTINUE TO HEAR THE TICKING NOISE AND THE CAR STILL RUNS ROUGH AND LOUD BUT AGAIN THEY TELL ME NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. ONCE AGAIN THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND I HAVE TO GET TOWED BACK INTO TOWN OVER TWO HOURS AWAY FOR THEM TO TELL ME THE TRANMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I CONTACTED GM AND WAS TOLD THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU BUY A USED CAR. HOW RUDE! NOW I AM NO LONGER UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND MY CAR IS BACK AT CHEVY. THEY WANT ME TO PAY FOR 4 HOURS OF LABOR TO TAKE APART MY ENGINE SO THEY CAN TELL ME WHAT EXACTLY IS WRONG WITH MY CAR BUT DID MENTION A PROBLEM WITH THE TIMING CHAIN. ARE THEY CRAZY? THESE CARS ARE A COMPLETE JOKE. I CAN NOT BELIEVE THAT GM WOULD NOT RECALL THESE CARS WITH THE EXTENSIVE ISSUES THAT SO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING WITH THEM. I MEAN SERIOUSLY THEY SHOULD BACK UP THEIR PRODUCTS SO PEOPLE WILL CONTINUE TO BUY THEM. IF YOU ASK ME IM SURE THIS CAR HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE OIL CONSUMPTION WHICH WAS WHY I HEARD THE TICKING NOISE AND IS WHY THE CAR SOUNDED SO LOUD AND HEAVY LIKE A DIESEL. THEY NOT THESE CARS HAVE A MAJOR ENGINE ISSUE BUT DO NOTHING ABOUT IT. I STILL HAVE SEVERAL YEARS LEFT TO PAY OFF THIS CAR AND AM COMPLETELY UPSIDE DOWN. ALL I WANT IS FOR GM TO PAY OFF THIS CAR SO I CAN TAKE MY SERVICES ELSEWHERE. DROVE A HONDA WITH OVER 200,000 MILES BEFORE IT GAVE ME ANY TYPE OF PROBLEMS. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2017 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
MY HEATER IS BLOWING COLD AIR IN FEBRUARY

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/6/2017 - SHELBY TWP, MI
INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WHERE I COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER CAR. THE FRONT END OF MY CAR WAS COMPLETED DAMAGED TO THE POINT WHERE THE CAR WAS TOTALED. THE PROBLEM WITH THIS ACCIDENT WAS THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF CAUSING INJURY TO MYSELF AND MY WIFE. I ESTIMATE THE SPEED AT COLLISION TO BE AROUND 30MPH. I WAS TRAVELING WEST BOUND AT ABOUT 630PM IN THE EVENING, ON A FOUR LANE CITY ROAD WITH A CENTER TURN LANE. I WAS IN MY LANE AND FAILED TO STOP BEFORE HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. MY WIFE SPOKE WITH THE REPAIR SHOP CLERK WHO INFORMED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH MANY EQUINOX'S UNDER THE SAME CONDITIONS. I BELIEVE THE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE GONE OFF AND THEREFORE I

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/6/2017 - SHELBY TWP, MI
INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WHERE I COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER CAR. THE FRONT END OF MY CAR WAS COMPLETED DAMAGED TO THE POINT WHERE THE CAR WAS TOTALED. THE PROBLEM WITH THIS ACCIDENT WAS THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF CAUSING INJURY TO MYSELF AND MY WIFE. I ESTIMATE THE SPEED AT COLLISION TO BE AROUND 30MPH. I WAS TRAVELING WEST BOUND AT ABOUT 630PM IN THE EVENING, ON A FOUR LANE CITY ROAD WITH A CENTER TURN LANE. I WAS IN MY LANE AND FAILED TO STOP BEFORE HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. MY WIFE SPOKE WITH THE REPAIR SHOP CLERK WHO INFORMED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH MANY EQUINOX'S UNDER THE SAME CONDITIONS. I BELIEVE THE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE GONE OFF AND THEREFORE I

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2017 - HINSDALE, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. ONCE THE KEY WAS SHIFTED TO THE OFF POSITION, IT BECAME JAMMED IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,850.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/25/2017 - GREENWOOD, IN
RETURNED TO HUBLER CHEVY FOR STRANGE NOISE AT A COLD START. ROUGH IDLE. ALREADY A BULLETIN FOR BALANCING CHAIN. BALANCE CHAIN REPLACED PER EXTENDED WARRANTY. RECEIVED A CALL THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDS REPLACED $198. NOT ON A BULLETIN. ALSO, NOW DOING ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST BECAUSE OIL WAS LOW AS WELL AS ENGINE COOLANT WAS LOW. AFTER DOING RESEARCH AT HOME, THOUSANDS OF 2.4L ENGINES FOR EQUINOX ARE HAVING TO PAY FOR BAD TIMING CHAIN WHEN THEY HAVE BALANCING CHAIN REPLACED. MOST OF THESE COMPLAINTS ARE COMING AT THE 30,000 MILE MARK ON THE ODOMETER. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT NHSTA SHOULD LOOK INTO WHY THE TIMING CHAIN ISSUE IS NOT ADDRESSED WHEN REPLACING THE BALANCING CHAIN? IF THE TIMING CHAIN STRETCHES OR BREAKS IT WILL BLOW UP THE ENGINE (SAFETY ISSUE). MY VEHICLE JUST TURNED 29,0000 MILES. NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS INVOLVE ALL THE NHSTA BULLETINS AND ULTIMATELY, THESE PEOPLE ARE RECEIVING NEW REPLACEMENT ENGINES. IF THIS IS THE CASE WHY WON'T GM ISSUE A RECALL AND REPLACE THESE ENGINES WITH THE NEW IMPROVED 2013-2014 2.4L ENGINES. MY TIME IS VALUABLE AND EACH REPAIR WILL COST ME A DAYS WORTH OF PAY. IF THESE PROBLEMS ARE NOW SHOWING UP. LET'S END GAMES AND REPLACE THE ENGINE NOW. THIS IS VERY WIDE SPREAD PROBLEM, GM NEEDS TO OWN IT AND REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE INSTEAD OF ALL THESE BAND AID FIXES.

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2017 - GREENWOOD, IN
RETURNED TO HUBLER CHEVY FOR STRANGE NOISE AT A COLD START. ROUGH IDLE. ALREADY A BULLETIN FOR BALANCING CHAIN. BALANCE CHAIN REPLACED PER EXTENDED WARRANTY. RECEIVED A CALL THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDS REPLACED $198. NOT ON A BULLETIN. ALSO, NOW DOING ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST BECAUSE OIL WAS LOW AS WELL AS ENGINE COOLANT WAS LOW. AFTER DOING RESEARCH AT HOME, THOUSANDS OF 2.4L ENGINES FOR EQUINOX ARE HAVING TO PAY FOR BAD TIMING CHAIN WHEN THEY HAVE BALANCING CHAIN REPLACED. MOST OF THESE COMPLAINTS ARE COMING AT THE 30,000 MILE MARK ON THE ODOMETER. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT NHSTA SHOULD LOOK INTO WHY THE TIMING CHAIN ISSUE IS NOT ADDRESSED WHEN REPLACING THE BALANCING CHAIN? IF THE TIMING CHAIN STRETCHES OR BREAKS IT WILL BLOW UP THE ENGINE (SAFETY ISSUE). MY VEHICLE JUST TURNED 29,0000 MILES. NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS INVOLVE ALL THE NHSTA BULLETINS AND ULTIMATELY, THESE PEOPLE ARE RECEIVING NEW REPLACEMENT ENGINES. IF THIS IS THE CASE WHY WON'T GM ISSUE A RECALL AND REPLACE THESE ENGINES WITH THE NEW IMPROVED 2013-2014 2.4L ENGINES. MY TIME IS VALUABLE AND EACH REPAIR WILL COST ME A DAYS WORTH OF PAY. IF THESE PROBLEMS ARE NOW SHOWING UP. LET'S END GAMES AND REPLACE THE ENGINE NOW. THIS IS VERY WIDE SPREAD PROBLEM, GM NEEDS TO OWN IT AND REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE INSTEAD OF ALL THESE BAND AID FIXES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds