Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 149 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (18) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (31) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Engine (41) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/15/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
THE SERVICE AIRBAGS LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON FOR ABOUT 10,000 MILES NOW- IT IS ON AND OFF.. WE FINALLY WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO THE DEALER - DEALER STATES THERE IS A TSB ABOUT IT BUT NO RECALL SO THEY WILL NOT FIX IT. WE HAVE STANDARD WARRANTY AND AN ADDITIONAL EXTENDED WARRANTY AND BOTH SAY AIRBAGS AND WIRING ARE NOT COVERED. MECHANIC AT DEALER STATES THAT ALL OF THEM HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE WIRING CONNECTOR AND IT IS A 10 MINUTE FIX, BUT WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY 350.03 TO FIX. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE MADE A RECALL AS EVERYONES' SAFETY IS AT RISK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/9/2014 - NOONAN, ND
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,500. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2014 - COLUMBIA, SC
COLUMBIA, SC-AT LEAST TWICE A MONTH MY IGNITION SWITCH WILL NOT TURN TO THE OFF POSITION SO THAT THE KEY CAN BE REMOVED. I HAVE TO TURN IT BACK TO ON (IT'S NOT NECESSARY TO RESTART THE CAR) AND THEN BACK TO OFF IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY. THIS BEGAN HAPPENING WITHIN A MONTH AFTER PURCHASING MY NEW 2011 EQUINOX. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER APRIL 19, 2011, AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM--"UNABLE TO DUPLICATE." THE PROBLEM CONTINUES, LAST OCCURRING 6/25/14. ALSO, DURING THAT SAME VISIT, I HAD REPORTED THAT THE A/C SMELLED LIKE MOLD WHEN I FIRST TURNED IT ON. 6/27/14, IT STILL SMELLS LIKE MOLD. AS WITH THE IGNITION, THE DEALER'S SERVICE DEPT. COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THE LATEST ISSUE STARTED AROUND 21,000 MILES. THE ENGINE, WHICH HAD ALWAYS RUN ROUGH (I ATTRIBUTED THIS TO THE 4-CYLINDER ENGINE) BEGAN SHUTTING DOWN WHEN I SLOWED OR STOPPED FOR TRAFFIC LIGHTS. I CALLED MY DEALER AND WAS ASKED WHERE I PURCHASED MY GAS AND TOLD TO GET SOME INJECTOR CLEANER! I THEN GOOGLED MY PROBLEM AND LEARNED THAT MANY OTHERS WERE EXPERIENCING THE SAME SITUATION WITH THEIR 2011 EQUINOXES. I THEN CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE FOR A PICKUP AND RODE IN THE WRECKER TO THE DEALER, WHERE I WAS GREETED WITH DISDAIN. I TOLD THE SERVICE ADVISOR TO GOOGLE "EQUINOX RECALL" AND READ THE POSTS, AND HE SAID THERE WAS NO RECALL (NOT YET, ANYWAY!) I TOLD HIM I KNEW THAT, BUT HE SHOULD LOOK AT THE MANY COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE. THE NEXT MORNING HE CALLED TO SAY THAT THEY HAD FOUND A PROBLEM, THE SOLENOID VALVE. HE WAS A LOT FRIENDLIER WHEN I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE, HIS MAIN CONCERN BEING THAT I GAVE THE SERVICE DEPT. A GOOD REVIEW! NO APOLOGY FOR TREATING ME LIKE I WAS CRAZY. I PREDICT THAT THE IGNITION AND ENGINE PROBLEMS WITH THE EQUINOX WILL BE GM'S NEXT RECALLS. MAYBE THEY NEED TO ADVISE THEIR SERVICE ADVISORS TO READ THE ONLINE POSTS REGARDING THEIR VEHICLES!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/22/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
TRYING TO PASS A TRUCK AT ABOUT 55 MPH I STEPPED ALL THE WAY DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR, ONLY TO SEE THE RPM'S RACE UP HIGH BUT NO ACCELERATION. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN SIX TIMES TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM, I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED GM SEVERAL TIMES WITH THIS COMPLAINT, ALL TO NO AVAIL. GM'S ANSWER IS "WE HAVE YOUR COMPLAINT DOCUMENTED". I HAVE NOT BOTHERED DOING ANYTHING SINCE SEPT 10, 2013, THINKING THAT MY PROBLEM MAY BE A FLUKE. THIS PAST WEEK I DROVE MY SON'S 2012 CHEVY EQUINOX (SAME CONFIGURATION - 4 CYL, 6 SPD TRANSMISSION) FROM HIS DUTY STATION, OVER 1,000 MILES TO HOME. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH HIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/16/2014 - MOBILE, AL
POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE BURNED OUT IN CAR AS WELL AS ELECTRIC BRAKE CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

STEERING

6/16/2014 - MOBILE, AL
POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE BURNED OUT IN CAR AS WELL AS ELECTRIC BRAKE CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/15/2014 - HANOVER, PA
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK, I NOTICED THAT MY SERVICE STABILITRAK AND ABS LIGHTS CAME ON. DURING THIS TIME, MY VEHICLE LOST POWER AND I BEGAN TO HEAR A SEVERE GRINDING NOISE IN MY LEFT FRONT WHEEL. AFTER GETTING TO WORK, THE VEHICLE SAT OVER NIGHT. WHEN I STARTED IT IN THE MORNING, I NOTICED THAT THE ABOVE MENTIONED LIGHTS HAD COME BACK ON AND THE GRINDING NOISE AND LOSS OF POWER HAD STARTED AGAIN. APPROXIMATELY A WEEK EARLIER, I WENT IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NO OIL ON THE DIPSTICK. THIS TRUCK IS ONLY 3.5 YRS OLD AND THERE IS NO SIGN OF OIL LEAKING OR BURNING. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON THAT THIS VEHICLE SHOULD BE FALLING APART AFTER 3.5 YRS. THE ABS/TRACTION CONTROL ISSUE IS A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
CHECK AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. CALLED DEALER FOR APT ( TOOK 10 DAYS TO GET APT!). DEALER QUOTED $781 FOR REPAIR. HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY - AIR BAGS NOT COVERED. IS SPECIAL ORDER PART, HAVE TO LEAVE CAR AT DEALER FOR 1 OR 2 DAYS FOR REPAIR. PROBLEM IS FAULTY CONTROL MODULE UNDER FRONT PASSENGER SEAT, AFFECTING ALL AIR BAGS. AT THE MOMENT, NONE OF THE AIRBAGS ARE OPERATIONAL. DEALER IS DEL GRANDE DEALER GROUP (CHEV) IN SAN JOSE, CA. HAVE LODGED COMPLAINT WITH THEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2014 - FLOWER MOUND, TX
LOSS OF POWER FOR A FEW SECONDS AFTER ACCELERATING,LETTING OFF OF GAS AND RE-ACCELERATING. LAG IN ENGINE/TRANSMISSION RESPONSE LEADS TO POTENTIAL ACCIDENTS! HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. 4 CYLYNDER

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2014 - AKRON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION AS THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds