Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (20) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (36) Steering (12) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (48) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/3/2014 - REDDING, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED SEVERAL TIMES AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART, BUT THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND WON'T GO OFF AND WON'T STOP DINGING. NO CRASHES, NO SUDDEN STOPS, 33,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED BY THE DEALERS EXPENSE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/26/2014 - CLEARFIELD, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE,WINDSHIELD STARTED TO FOG SWITCHED HEAT CONTROL TO DEFOG WINDSHIELD AND IT DID NOT SWITCH, AS VISIBILITY WAS REDUCED I WAS NEARLY INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT.THE DEFROST SYSTEM STILL DOES NOT WORK. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM ON 2010 MODELS. CONTACTED DEALER AND ESTIMATE WAS AT LEAST $400.00 TO REPLACE A $21.00 PART VEHICLE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED. THIS IS ANOTHER GM SAFETY ISSUE AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I WAS TURNING LEFT ON A GREEN LIGHT AT THE CORNER OF ARGYLE AND OAKLEAF SUNTRUST BANK WHEN THE CAR SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL AND I WAS STUCK IN ONEWAY OPPOSITE TRAFFIC UNTIL I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED IT AND THEN WAS A BLE TO GO INTO DRIVE, I WAS ALMOST IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH SEVERAL CARS. THEN I WAS TRAVELING NORTH ON HWY 295 AND I HAD IT IN CRUISE CONTROL AND I COULD NOT GET IT TO QUIT UNTIL I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE POWER TRAIN WAS SLIPPING AFTER I HAD TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED BUT LESS THAN A YEAR LATER IT STARTED DOING THE SAME THING AS BEFORE, SLIPPING, MAKING LOUD SCRATCHING NOISES.RUBBING NOISES AND IT SMELLED FUNNY LIKE IT WAS BURNING BUT THERE WAS NO FIRE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I WAS TURNING LEFT ON A GREEN LIGHT AT THE CORNER OF ARGYLE AND OAKLEAF SUNTRUST BANK WHEN THE CAR SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL AND I WAS STUCK IN ONEWAY OPPOSITE TRAFFIC UNTIL I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED IT AND THEN WAS A BLE TO GO INTO DRIVE, I WAS ALMOST IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH SEVERAL CARS. THEN I WAS TRAVELING NORTH ON HWY 295 AND I HAD IT IN CRUISE CONTROL AND I COULD NOT GET IT TO QUIT UNTIL I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE POWER TRAIN WAS SLIPPING AFTER I HAD TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED BUT LESS THAN A YEAR LATER IT STARTED DOING THE SAME THING AS BEFORE, SLIPPING, MAKING LOUD SCRATCHING NOISES.RUBBING NOISES AND IT SMELLED FUNNY LIKE IT WAS BURNING BUT THERE WAS NO FIRE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I WAS TURNING LEFT ON A GREEN LIGHT AT THE CORNER OF ARGYLE AND OAKLEAF SUNTRUST BANK WHEN THE CAR SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL AND I WAS STUCK IN ONEWAY OPPOSITE TRAFFIC UNTIL I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED IT AND THEN WAS A BLE TO GO INTO DRIVE, I WAS ALMOST IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH SEVERAL CARS. THEN I WAS TRAVELING NORTH ON HWY 295 AND I HAD IT IN CRUISE CONTROL AND I COULD NOT GET IT TO QUIT UNTIL I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE POWER TRAIN WAS SLIPPING AFTER I HAD TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED BUT LESS THAN A YEAR LATER IT STARTED DOING THE SAME THING AS BEFORE, SLIPPING, MAKING LOUD SCRATCHING NOISES.RUBBING NOISES AND IT SMELLED FUNNY LIKE IT WAS BURNING BUT THERE WAS NO FIRE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - CONCORD, NC
FIRST TIME OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE. THE END OF JUNE, 2014 BEGAN NOTICING THAT THE GPS WOULD NOT SAVE DESTINATIONS WHEN TRAVELING, WOULD HAVE TO REENTER ADDRESS ANYTIME THE IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF AND BACK ON. SHORTLY AFTER THIS, THE CLOCK STOPPED WORKING, WHEN THE TIME WAS CORRECTED, IF WOULD RESET AFTER IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF AND BACK ON TO THE INCORRECT TIME. THE BLUETOOTH ALSO BEGAN RANDOMLY DISCONNECTING AND WOULD NOT CONNECT ANYMORE. SEPT. 24TH, THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO DEALERSHIP WHERE PURCHASED TO SEE WHAT WAS WRONG. OWNER WAS TOLD THE ENTIRE NAVIGATION SYSTEM WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED, FOR QUOTED $1300. OWNER NOT SATISFIED, WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A DEFECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER, AND THAT THERE WAS BAD WIRING. OWNER FEELS THAT GM SHOULD COVER THE DEFECTIVE PART. IF BAD WIRING EXISTS, THIS COULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD. OWNER ALSO FOUND SERVICE BULLETIN PI-0285-D, WHICH WAS CONSISTENT WITH THE PROBLEMS THAT HAD BEEN OCCURRING. DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE OWNER DID NOT PURCHASE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY, GM WILL ONLY COVER A PERCENTAGE OF THE COST TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PART.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2014 - GERMANTOWN, MD
MY WIFE PURCHSED A 2011 CHEVY EQUANOK WITH A WINDOW STICKER STATING A FOUR CYCLINDER ENGINE. IT HAD 1800 MILES ON THE VEHICLE WHEN PURCHASED. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO HAVE THE OIL CHANGED AND FOUND IT HAS A SIX CYCLINDER ENGINE. HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE AND WHO SHOULD I SPEAK WIHT AT GM. I'M VERY CONCERNED BECAUSE OF THE TERRIBLE GAS MILAGE AND A SIX CYC ENGINE WAS NOT SHOWN ON THE PAPER WORK?

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2014 - GERMANTOWN, MD
MY WIFE PURCHSED A 2011 CHEVY EQUANOK WITH A WINDOW STICKER STATING A FOUR CYCLINDER ENGINE. IT HAD 1800 MILES ON THE VEHICLE WHEN PURCHASED. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO HAVE THE OIL CHANGED AND FOUND IT HAS A SIX CYCLINDER ENGINE. HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE AND WHO SHOULD I SPEAK WIHT AT GM. I'M VERY CONCERNED BECAUSE OF THE TERRIBLE GAS MILAGE AND A SIX CYC ENGINE WAS NOT SHOWN ON THE PAPER WORK?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/3/2014 - GERMANTOWN, MD
MY WIFE PURCHSED A 2011 CHEVY EQUANOK WITH A WINDOW STICKER STATING A FOUR CYCLINDER ENGINE. IT HAD 1800 MILES ON THE VEHICLE WHEN PURCHASED. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO HAVE THE OIL CHANGED AND FOUND IT HAS A SIX CYCLINDER ENGINE. HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE AND WHO SHOULD I SPEAK WIHT AT GM. I'M VERY CONCERNED BECAUSE OF THE TERRIBLE GAS MILAGE AND A SIX CYC ENGINE WAS NOT SHOWN ON THE PAPER WORK?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds