Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 315 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (60) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (8) Structure (10) Visibility (5)
Engine (119) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/18/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
NO AIR FLOW OUT OF DEFROSTER AND TOP VENTS ON DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AFTER 40,000 MILES ON CAR. UNABLE TO SEE CLEARLY OUT OF WINDSHIELD ON RAINY DAYS AND HEAVY FOG DAYS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2017 - LURAY, TN
MYCAR IS RUNNING BAD IT RATTLES I HAD IT PUT ON A TESTER IT SHOW ANYTHING WRONG BUT IT STILL RUNS ROUGH. WHEN IT IS IDLEING IS SOUND BAD

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2017 - BERKLEY, MI
IN 15 DEGREE WEATHER CAR RUNNING ROUGH, THEN WITHOUT NOTICE WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ON HIGHWAY CAR GOES TO 50% POWER AND BARELY AVOIDING GETTING REAR ENDED I WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER TO SIDE OF HIGHWAY WHERE ENGINE STALLED OUT. WAS ABLE TO START ENGINE AGAIN BUT 50% POWER INDICATION REMAINED CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO DEALER. TECH INDICATED THE PCV HAD CLOGGED CAUSING REAR SEAL TO FAIL AND THEN LOSS OF OIL CAUSED TIMING CHAIN TO LOOSEN AND THEN ENGINE FAILURE. $2728.38 LATER FOR TIMING CHAIN NEW SEALS AND ROD PLUS BOLTS. SPECIAL COVERAGE EXISTS FOR THIS EXACT FAILURE BUT WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN DOES NOT MATCH SO BULLETIN NO: 14882 DOES NOT APPLY CURRENTLY. I DO READ OTHERS WITH SAME COMPLAINT.. CAR ONLY HAS 67K AND HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH SENSORS AND ALREADY HAD TIMING CHAIN REPLACED AT 34K . SO APPROX 30K MORE AM I DO FOR ANOTHER MAJOR FAILURE? NOT SAFE TO DRIVE WHEN ON HIGHWAY AND CAR STALLS OUT WITHOUT WARNING AND REALLY PCV VALVE ISSUE CAUSES SEAL TO LEAK OUT OIL WHEN 90% OIL LIFE REMAINING ... NOT SAFE AND MINE AND OTHERS WITH EXCLUDED VINS NEED TO GET COVERED AND REFUNDED IN FULL FOR THE FAILURES RELATED TO THESE PCV VALVES AND EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2017 - LARAMIE, WY
I'VE NOT HAD ANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT MY 2011 CHEVY EQUINOX UNTIL FRIDAY WHEN IT JUST WOULDN'T START. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THE TIMING CHAIN SLIPPED OFF AND BENT VALVES AND NOW EXPECT ME TO BUY A BRAND NEW $9000.00 ENGINE. I LOOKED UP RECALLS AND THERE IS ONE FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE FOR MY MODEL OF VEHICLE BUT THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT'S VIN SPECIFIC AND MY VIN DOESN'T COUNT FOR THE RECALL. THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO TO SEE IF THE RECALL NEEDS TO EXPAND OUT AND INCLUDE MORE VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/11/2017 - WHITE LAKE, MI
THE 2011 2.4 L ENGINE EQUINOX IS UNDER RECALL, EXCEPT FOR MINE. I OWN A 2011 2.4 L ENGINE EQUINOX THAT HAS EVERY PROBLEM AS THE ONE THAT IS BEING RECALLED. GM IS TELLING ME THAT THERE ARE NO DEFECTIVE PARTS ON MY CAR, EVEN THOUGH MY CAR HAS BEEN STALLING WHILE DRIVING, WHILE TURNING, WHILE STOPPING. MY CAR HAS EVERYTHING WRONG WITH IT THAT IS LISTED ON THE RECALL. THE PVC SYSTEM, WATER IN THE AIR BOX. OUR MECHANIC TOOK OUT 1/2 CUP OF WATER OUT OF THE AIR BOX YESTERDAY. IN ADDITION, THE CAR CONSUMES MASS AMOUNTS OF OIL. THIS VEHICLE WILL GIVE YOU NO WARNING AND THEN JUST STALL OUT. LAST YEAR, MY CAR STALLED WHILE DRIVING AND THEN A REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT CAME ON. I ENDED UP HAVING TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY AT NOT EVEN 90,000 MILES. THIS CAR POSES A THREAT TO THE PERSON DRIVING AS WELL TO ANY OTHER CAR THAT MAY BE NEAR IT AS THERE IS NO WARNING GIVEN THAT STALLING MAY OCCUR. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COME EITHER. NO LOW OIL LIGHTS. NOTHING. I TOOK MY CAR IN YESTERDAY BECAUSE IT STALLED 7 TIMES ON MY ROUTE TO WORK. MY MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THE PROBLEMS WITH THE 2011 EQUINOXES. I HAVE BEEN TURNING AND JUST HAD MY CAR SHUT OFF, I HAVE PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL AND HAD NOTHING HAPPEN. I HAVE HAD MY CAR STALL OUT TO CHECK THE OIL AND FIND NO OIL ON THE DIPSTICK. I HAVE STOPPED FOR TRAFFIC AND MY CAR WILL JUST SHUT OFF. GM HAS TOLD US ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION THERE ARE NO RECALLS ON MY CAR. JUST OTHER 2011 2.4 L ENGINE EQUINOXES REPORTING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2017 - WHITE LAKE, MI
THE 2011 2.4 L ENGINE EQUINOX IS UNDER RECALL, EXCEPT FOR MINE. I OWN A 2011 2.4 L ENGINE EQUINOX THAT HAS EVERY PROBLEM AS THE ONE THAT IS BEING RECALLED. GM IS TELLING ME THAT THERE ARE NO DEFECTIVE PARTS ON MY CAR, EVEN THOUGH MY CAR HAS BEEN STALLING WHILE DRIVING, WHILE TURNING, WHILE STOPPING. MY CAR HAS EVERYTHING WRONG WITH IT THAT IS LISTED ON THE RECALL. THE PVC SYSTEM, WATER IN THE AIR BOX. OUR MECHANIC TOOK OUT 1/2 CUP OF WATER OUT OF THE AIR BOX YESTERDAY. IN ADDITION, THE CAR CONSUMES MASS AMOUNTS OF OIL. THIS VEHICLE WILL GIVE YOU NO WARNING AND THEN JUST STALL OUT. LAST YEAR, MY CAR STALLED WHILE DRIVING AND THEN A REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT CAME ON. I ENDED UP HAVING TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY AT NOT EVEN 90,000 MILES. THIS CAR POSES A THREAT TO THE PERSON DRIVING AS WELL TO ANY OTHER CAR THAT MAY BE NEAR IT AS THERE IS NO WARNING GIVEN THAT STALLING MAY OCCUR. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COME EITHER. NO LOW OIL LIGHTS. NOTHING. I TOOK MY CAR IN YESTERDAY BECAUSE IT STALLED 7 TIMES ON MY ROUTE TO WORK. MY MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THE PROBLEMS WITH THE 2011 EQUINOXES. I HAVE BEEN TURNING AND JUST HAD MY CAR SHUT OFF, I HAVE PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL AND HAD NOTHING HAPPEN. I HAVE HAD MY CAR STALL OUT TO CHECK THE OIL AND FIND NO OIL ON THE DIPSTICK. I HAVE STOPPED FOR TRAFFIC AND MY CAR WILL JUST SHUT OFF. GM HAS TOLD US ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION THERE ARE NO RECALLS ON MY CAR. JUST OTHER 2011 2.4 L ENGINE EQUINOXES REPORTING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2017 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON, CAR SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/26/2016 - NEW JOHNSONVILLE, TN
DRIVING WHILE IT WAS RAINING WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE GOING ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY WENT WAY PAST WHERE THEY NORMALLY STOP AND COULDNT SEE THE ROAD TRIED TURNING THEM OFF AND ON NOTHING HAPPENED HAD TO HANG MY HEAD OUT THE WINDOW TO FIND A PLACE TO PULL OVER TO SAFETY BECAUSE IT WAS AT NIGHT TIME AND COULDNT SEE IF ANYTHING WAS COMING OR IF I WAS GOING TO RUN OFF IN A DITCH AND HAD MY LITTLE GIRL IN THE BACK SEAT TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE BUT ONCE I GOT OUT LOOKED AT THEM WAS ABLE TO MOVE THEM BY HAND BACK INTO POSITION BUT STILL WOULDNT WORK YOU COULD HEAR THE MOTOR MOVING INSIDE BUT WIPERS WOULDNT AT ALL IM THANK FUL WHEN THIS HAPPENED I WASNT ON THE INTERSTATE AND WAS ONLY GOING LIKE 40 MPH WITH IT RAINING BUT WIPES NEVER GAVE A SIGN PREVIOUSLY ANYTHING WAS WRONG THEY HAVE ALWAYS WORKED FINE THERE WAS NO REASON FOR THIS VEHICLE TO DO THIS IM A CHEVY PERSON AND HAVE STOOD MY IT BUT THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY WITH IT POURING DOWN RAIN

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/22/2016 - MARIETTA, PA
I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND THE TRACTION/STABILIZER CONTROL TURNED ON WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT AND A MESSAGE STATED SLOWING DOWN. THEN THE TRUCK STAYED AT 20MPH, I WAS KINDA ON THE HIGHWAY AND ALMOST HIT SOMEONE. THE ENGINE SOUND GOOD. OTHER PEOPLE ONLINE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. WHY IS IT NOT A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

12/22/2016 - MARIETTA, PA
I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND THE TRACTION/STABILIZER CONTROL TURNED ON WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT AND A MESSAGE STATED SLOWING DOWN. THEN THE TRUCK STAYED AT 20MPH, I WAS KINDA ON THE HIGHWAY AND ALMOST HIT SOMEONE. THE ENGINE SOUND GOOD. OTHER PEOPLE ONLINE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. WHY IS IT NOT A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds