Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 360 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (67) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seats (7) Suspension (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (141) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/15/2017 - OTTAWA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, AN ABNORMAL NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO H & K CHEVY BUICK (200 S MAIN ST, CONTINENTAL, OH 45831) WHERE THE OIL WAS CHECKED. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR WAS LOSING OIL AND THE CHAINS AND PISTONS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED DUE TO A BRANDED TITLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2017 - OTTAWA, OH
DEALER LOOKED AT IT, IT USES OIL THEY SAY THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH STRETCHED TIMING CHAINS AND PISTON RINGS, WHICH COMPANY HAS ADMITTED THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH. BRANDED TITLE IS STOPPING THE FIXING OF PROBLEM. ONLY ISSUE TO MAKE TITLE BRANDED WAS BUMPER AND AC UNIT ISSUES(HAD TO DO WITH THE INSURANCE COMPANY IN THE STATE IT HAPPENED IN). THERE WASN'T ANY DAMAGE TO ENGINE / MOTOR. GM WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THERE PRODUCT LIKE THEY CLAIM. THEY ALREADY ISSUED THIS POLICY #15285, THEY SHOULD HONOR THE FIX!! - REGARDLESS! VEHICLE IS 2011 WITH ONLY 67,000 MILES. CALLED GM CUS. SUPPORT, AS TOLD BY DEALER,THEY COULDN'T HELP. REPORT # 8-3169085035

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/10/2017 - ROBBINSVILLE, NC
LATELY EVERY TIME I HAVE BEEN TURNING ON MY VEHICLE AND GOING IN DRIVE OR REVERSE IT STALLS ON ME AND I BOUGHT MY CAR THE END OF MAY 2017 AND ITS ONLY AUGUST 2017 FROM A CERTIFIED CHEVY DEALERSHIP.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/28/2017 - NASHVILLE, GA
OUR DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING HOME BETWEEN MEMPHIS, TN AND NASHVILLE, TN, DURING A THUNDERSTORM. HER WIPERS AT FULL BLAST, WENT TO THE LEFT AND STOPPED! ALL SHE COULD DO IS PULL OVER AND WAIT UNTIL, THE STORM PASSED. AS PARENTS, LAST THING YOU WANT TO HEAR IS YOUR 25 YEAR DAUGHTER IS SITTING ON THE SIDE OF I40 AT NIGHT UNABLE TO TRAVEL AND WE LIVE 8 HOURS AWAY! THE NEXT MORNING SHE CHECKED THE WIPERS, NOPE, NA-DA. SAID SHE CAN HEAR THE MOTOR HUMMING, BUT NOTHING IS WORKING. EVERYONE NEAR HER WANTS 350.00 + TO REPLACE IT.... THAT'S A LOT OF MONEY FOR A GRADUATE STUDENT! SEEMS TO BE A REOCCURRING PROBLEM GM, YOU NEED TO DO THE RIGHT THING!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/26/2017 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
JUNE 9, 2017 AT 10:00 PM I HIT A DEER ON SOUTH DAKOTA HWY 11 IN LINCOLN COUNTY. THE SPEED LIMIT WAS 65 MPH AND I WAS GOING 68 MPH WHEN I HIT THE DEER HEAD ON. I DROVE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. AFTER A FEW MINUTES MY WIFE AND I SMELLED BURNING ELECTRICAL WIRE. WE GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND STARTED TO WALK AWAY AND WITHIN 10 MINUTES THE WHOLE THING WENT UP IN FLAMES. THE CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF. IF WE WOULD HAVE WENT IN THE DITCH AND BEEN UNCONSCIOUS WE WOULD HAVE BURNT UP WITH THE VEHICLE. THERE IS NO REASON THAT VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE STARTED ON FIRE. GMC WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE WAS ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/26/2017 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
JUNE 9, 2017 AT 10:00 PM I HIT A DEER ON SOUTH DAKOTA HWY 11 IN LINCOLN COUNTY. THE SPEED LIMIT WAS 65 MPH AND I WAS GOING 68 MPH WHEN I HIT THE DEER HEAD ON. I DROVE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. AFTER A FEW MINUTES MY WIFE AND I SMELLED BURNING ELECTRICAL WIRE. WE GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND STARTED TO WALK AWAY AND WITHIN 10 MINUTES THE WHOLE THING WENT UP IN FLAMES. THE CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF. IF WE WOULD HAVE WENT IN THE DITCH AND BEEN UNCONSCIOUS WE WOULD HAVE BURNT UP WITH THE VEHICLE. THERE IS NO REASON THAT VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE STARTED ON FIRE. GMC WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE WAS ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2017 - MIDDLETOWN, DE
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR, THE POWER STEERING WOULD INTERMITTENTLY STOP WORKING, THIS WOULD HAPPEN DURING HIGHER SPEEDS ON HIGHWAYS AS WELL AS SLOWER SPEEDS IN NEIGHBORHOODS. THE POWER STEERING WOULD CEASE AND AN INDICATOR WOULD COME ON THE DASHBOARD TO SERVICE THE POWER STEERING. AFTER THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF AND SAT FOR A FEW MINUTES, THE POWER STEERING WOULD RESUME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/24/2017 - WENTZVILLE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING OR BEING DRIVEN AT A LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PLACE THE VEHICLE IN PARK IN ORDER FOR IT TO RESTART. WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE DEALER (JIM TRENARY CHEVROLET, 501 AUTO MALL DR, O'FALLON, MO 63368 (636) 946-6300) WHERE AN APPOINTMENT WAS MADE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,621.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2017 - COVINGTON, KY
LESS THAN 60,000 MILES AND IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND POWER WAS REDUCED. CAR IDLES VERY ROUGH, AND SOMEWHAT LOUD. I LIKEN IT TO A SCHOOL BUS. LUCKILY I WAS LESS THAN 5 MILES FROM HOME AND DID ARRIVE SAFELY. CAR WAS LOOKED AT BY TWO DIFFERENT MECHANIC SHOPS AND BOTH HAVE THE SAME DIAGNOSIS: TIMING BELT/CHAIN JUMPED AND NOW NEEDS A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2017 - EAST GRANBY, CT
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION. I SURPASS PARIMETERS FOR REPAIR. DEALER INSISTS THAT I KEEP GOING IN FOR TESTING WELL BEYOND WHAT CHEVY HAS SET AS THE STANDARD. CHEVY IS NOT PROVIDING RESULTS. VEHICLE IS STILL NOT FIXED. VEHICLE WHINES AND HAS LOSS OF POWER. FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I ,THANKFUL, WAS ON A QUIET RESIDENTIAL STREET. THE RECALL STATES OIL CONSUMPTION OF A QUART OR MORE AT 2000 MILES. I HAVE BEEN GOING IN EVERY 1000 MILES. I HAVE ATTACHED A COPY OF THE DEALER RECORD OF OIL LEVELS. I AM GOING ON THE 4000 MILE MARK WITH NO FIX BY CHEVY IN FUTURE. THEY DON'T WANT TO FIX.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds