Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 554 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (108) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (50) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (9) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (43) Fuel Propulsion System (38) Seats (8) Suspension (2) Visibility (7)
Engine (256) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (17) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (46)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/15/2019 - MORTON, IL
WHILE DRIVING, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE RODE. RESTARTED DROVE ANOTHER 2 MILES AND IT DIED AGAIN. GOT IT TO KEEP RUNNING ALTHOUGH IT TRIED TO DIE AND TOOK TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP. WITH ALL OF THE COMPLAINTS, CAN'T FIGURE OUT HOW CHEVY CAN CONTINUE TO ALLOW THIS TO HAPPEN. I ASSUME WHEN SOMEONE DIES BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, THEY MAY DO SOMETHING THEN.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2019 - RAPID CITY, SD
ENCOUNTERED AN ISSUE WHERE THE CAR WOULD RANDOMLY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF WITHOUT ANY TYPE OF LIGHT OR WARNING. THIS HAPPENED FOR THE FIRST TIME A WEEK BEFORE WE COULD GET IT TO THE SHOP, IN THAT WEEK IT HAPPENED 8 TIMES. ONE OF THESE TIMES WAS WHILE MOVING AND MY WIFE WERE NEARLY T-BONED ON A HIGHLY CONGESTED ROAD. MY WIFE BEGAN GETTING EXTREMELY ANXIOUS WHEN SHE HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR AND SCARED IT WOULD DIE ON THE INTERSTATE.THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP SAID THIS WAS BEING CAUSED BY HIGH OIL CONSUMPTION, THIS WAS NEWS TO US BECAUSE THE CAR HAD NOT NOTIFIED US OF THAT AT ALL (NO OIL OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS) AND WE WERE AT ABOUT 3K SINCE LAST OIL CHANGE WITH FULL SYNTHETIC (70K TOTAL MILES). THE DEALERSHIP THEN WENT ON TO SAY THAT THE PISTON RINGS AND PISTONS NEED TO BE REPLACED FOR $4,200. I GOOGLED +2011 CHEVY EQUINOX PISTON RINGS+ AND ONE OF THE FIRST RESULTS WAS +SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT 15285D+ FOR EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION CAUSED BY THE PISTONS AND RINGS. I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP WHY HE NEVER MENTIONED THIS AND HE SAID IT DIDN+T APPLY TO OUR VIN BUT HE DIDN+T KNOW WHY. AFTER A BACK AND FORTH OF +THAT MAKES NO SENSE, IT+S THE EXACT ISSUE+ AND +I DON+T KNOW IT+S ABOVE MY PAY GRADE+ HE EVENTUALLY SAID +BASED ON THE VIN YOUR CAR WASN+T BUILT WITH THE SAME PARTS+ WHICH I REALIZED AFTER CALLING THE GM CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE DIRECTLY WAS A LIE. GM TOLD ME THAT MY CAR WAS COVERED UNTIL NOVEMBER, 2018 (THIS HAPPENED JULY 19) BECAUSE GM DID THE SERVICE ADJUSTMENT OUT TO 7 YRS/120K MILES. GM TOLD ME SHE IS UP-CHANNELING OUR CASE TO SEE IF GM WILL PAY FOR SOME OF IT, STILL WAITING TO HEAR BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/10/2019 - SCOTTSVILLE, VA
THE TRANSMISSION JUST WENT OUT DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, COULD NOT MOVE IT, COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS IF ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. DRIVING AT REGULAR SPEED, JUST SOUNDED LIKE IT SHIFTED TO PARK, NO WARNING AT ALL. WAS FORCED TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION AT $5000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/2/2019 - STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT
MY HUSBAND, NEWBORN BABY AND I WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SLOWED AND THEN STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THIS OCCURED EVERY TIME MY HUSBAND USED THE BRAKES. LUCKILY WE MANAGED TO MAKE IT BACK HOME SAFELY. THE VEHICHLE CONSTANTLY NEEDS OIL AND THEN IT DIED FOR THE LAST TIME ABOUT A MONTH AGO AS WE PULLED INTO A FAMILY MEMBERS DRIVEWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2019 - STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT
MY HUSBAND, NEWBORN BABY AND I WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SLOWED AND THEN STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THIS OCCURED EVERY TIME MY HUSBAND USED THE BRAKES. LUCKILY WE MANAGED TO MAKE IT BACK HOME SAFELY. THE VEHICHLE CONSTANTLY NEEDS OIL AND THEN IT DIED FOR THE LAST TIME ABOUT A MONTH AGO AS WE PULLED INTO A FAMILY MEMBERS DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2019 - STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT
MY HUSBAND, NEWBORN BABY AND I WERE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SLOWED AND THEN STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THIS OCCURED EVERY TIME MY HUSBAND USED THE BRAKES. LUCKILY WE MANAGED TO MAKE IT BACK HOME SAFELY. THE VEHICHLE CONSTANTLY NEEDS OIL AND THEN IT DIED FOR THE LAST TIME ABOUT A MONTH AGO AS WE PULLED INTO A FAMILY MEMBERS DRIVEWAY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/1/2019 - MILWAUKEE, WI
MY WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN THE POURING RAIN. THEY WILL NOT WORK NOW. I WAS FORCED TO DRIVE 60 MILES WITHOUT THEM, IN THE RAIN. IT IS NOT THE FUSE, I CHECKED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2019 - MORA, MN
MY VEHICLE RAN COMPLETELY OUT OF OIL. THERE WAS NO INDICATOR LIGHT TO WARN ME THERE WAS LOW OIL. THERE WAS NEVER INDICATION OIL WAS LEAKING AS IT DID NOT APPEAR ON MY DRIVEWAY. I HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE MOTOR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2019 - GAUTIER, MS
I+VE HAD THIS TRUCK FOR A LITTLE OVER 2 YEARS AND WHEN I FIRST GOT IT THERE WAS NO TICKING NOISE THEN MADE A YEAR AGO I NOTICED THE TICKING NOISE. I TOOK IT TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR THE MODEL. IT BEGAN TO STALL SO I TOOK IT BACK AND WAS TOLD THAT THE O2 SENSOR WAS THE CAUSE . LATER ON THAT DAY THE TICKING BEGAN TO GET LOUDER AND THEN AS I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND RAISED THE HOOD OIL WAS SPRAYING EVERY WHERE. HAD IT TOWED TO THE SHOP FOR THEM TO TELL ME THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAD BEEN SLAPPING UP AGAINST THE VALVE COVER AND HAD CRACKED THE COVER SO THAT+S WHY THE OIL WAS SPRAYING EVERY WHERE. HE ALSO TOLD ME THAT THE ENGINE IN MY TRUCK WAS DEFECTIVE FROM THE START AND THAT CHEVY KNOWS ABOUT THIS . SO NOW I+M STUCK TRYING TO FIND A MOTOR FOR A TRUCK THAT I+M STILL PAYING NOTES ON AND CAN+T DRIVE. THE FACT THAT CHEVY KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEMS WITH THE TIMING CHAIN, THE CAM SENSOR AND THE OIL CONSUMPTION AND IS NOT HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THE DAMAGE TO OUR VEHICLES IS CRAZY. I COME FROM A CHEVY LOVING FAMILY AND IVE ALWAYS OWNED ONE AND BUT NOW I+M LOOKING FOR SOMETHING ELSE BECAUSE CHEVY DOESN+T STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS ANYMORE AND YES I ALWAYS CHANGE MY OIL ON TIME AND ALL OF MY MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN DONE ON TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2019 - KEARNEY, NE
I HAVE HAD ALL RECALLS DONE ON THIS CAR. HAVE HAD BASICALLY EVERYTHING BUT THE ENGINE REPLACED. IT RUNS LIKE IT IS A SEMI. STALLS AT STOP LIGHTS. HAS DIED TWICE WHILE DRIVING IT - AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN EVEN IN NEUTRAL. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE IT COULD STALL OUT WHEN GOING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. I KEEP THE OIL CHANGED REGULARLY. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE - I STILL OWE ON MY CAR LOAN ON THIS CAR. IN ALL THE 40 PLUS YEARS I HAVE DRIVEN CARS, I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS MUCH TROUBLE WITH A VEHICLE. I CAN UNDERSTAND HAVING TO DO SOMETHING EVERY ONCE IN AWHILE - LIKE TRANSMISSION, ETC. I HAVE SPENT OVER $3000 ON DIFFERENT "FIXES" THAT HAVN'T FIXED IT. I AM USUALLY A CHEVROLET PERSON, BUT I AM NOT GOING TO BUY A CHEVROLET AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds