Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 373 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (69) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seats (7) Suspension (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (149) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/11/2017 - CORYDON, IN
10-10-2017 - WHILE DRIVING HOME DURING A HEAVY RAINSTORM, WIPERS GOING FULL SPEED, WIPERS STOPPED WITH ONE WIPER GOING OFF THE LEFT SIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD, OTHER WIPER STOPPED IN MY DRIVING VIEW. ONCE I WAS ABLE TO GET PARKED, I LAID THE WIPER BLADES DOWN, TRIED THE GET THEM TO WORK BUT ONLY HEARD THE MOTOR RUN, WIPERS NOT MOVING. HAD THEM CHECKED OUT BY A MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED A NEW WIPER TRANSMISSION. THIS ONE HAD A WORN OUT PART THAT WOULD CONTINUE TO POP OUT OF SOCKET IF USED. I'VE READ OF OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS HAPPENING. GM NEEDS TO MAKE THIS A RECALL. IT'S VERY DANGEROUS WHEN IT HAPPENS. GM WIPER MOTOR AND TRANSMISSION IS ROUGHLY $150.00 AT THE DEALERSHIP PLUS THEIR LABOR COST. THIS SHOULD NOT WEAR OUT SO SOON ON A 2011 MODEL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - SPOTSYLVANIA, VA
MOTOR ON 2011 CHEVY EQUINOX BLEW UP. DEALER STATED THAT WHEN THEY PULLED THE OIL PAN THEY FOUND PISTON, ROD AND RINGS. QUOTED IT WOULD BE >$9,000 TO REPAIR FOR THE MOTOR, GASKETS AND CAT. CONVERTOR. ASKED IF THIS WOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. STATED IT WASN'T. I QUESTIONED ABOUT THE PISTONS BEING REPLACED LAST YEAR. HE STATED THAT IT WAS 1.5YR AND 27,000 MILES AGO. HE SAID THAT THERE WAS NO COVERAGE. I ASKED WHY WOULD THESE GO BAG WITH ONLY 27,000 MILES ON THE REPAIR ON ONLY 116,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. HE SAID DUE TO OIL. THE DEALER HAS COMPLETED ALL OIL CHANGES THE LAST 2-3 YEARS AS LEAST AFTER STARTING TO HAVE ALL THE ISSUES WITH OIL CONSUMPTION AND OTHER PROBLEMS. ALL OIL CHANGES HAVE BEEN COMPLETED BASED ON OIL USAGE PROMPTED BY CAR. IT SEEMS THAT THE ISSUE IS CAUSED BY THE OIL CONSUMPTION AND HAS JUST TAKEN TIME FOR THE RODS/CRANK TO GIVE WAY. CHEVY SHOULD ISSUE RECALL FOR REPLACEMENT OF WHOLE ENGINE NOT JUST THE PISTONS. IF PISTONS ARE FAULTY DUE TO LACK OF OIL THERE ARE MORE ISSUES UNDERLYING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/10/2017 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE WINDSHIELD PIPER CAME LOOSE AND SLAMMED AGAINST MY WINDOW

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - REDFORD, MI
ENGINE STALLED OUT WHILE DRIVING AND ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENT. TIMING CHAIN SLIPPED AND RUINED MY ENTIRE ENGINE, NO WARNINGS, NO SIGNALS OR NONE OF ANY KIND. READING ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM AND THERE SHOULD OF BEEN A RECALL ON THIS 2.4L ENGINE FROM GM A LONG TIME AGO! MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN MAINTAINED AND UP TO DATE SINCE CAR WAS FIRST DRIVEN OFF LOT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2017 - REDFORD, MI
STALLING OUT WHILE SITTING IN DRIVE AT RED LIGHT. GOT UP FOR WORK AND TURNED TRUCK ON, SOUNDED VERY ROUGH. PUT TRUCK IN REVERSE AND TOOK OFF AND WHEN STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT THE RPMS WOULD MOVE ON THEIR OWN, CAR STARTS BOUNCING, MOTOR IS RATTLING, AND SOMETIMES STALLS OUT. I HAVE TO PUT THE TRUCK IN NEUTRAL AT EVERY LIGHT FOR IT TO NOT ROCK BACK AND FOURTH. NEXT DAY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME OUT, READINGS INDICATED IT WAS THE THROTTLE SENSOR BODY AND THE SOLENOIDS. I REPLACED ALL OF THESE AND TRUCK IS STILL RUNNING THE SAME, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON. AFTER DOING RESEARCH I HAVE READ WELL OVER 50 OF THE SAME COMPLAINT OF THESE VEHICLES DOING THE SAME THING! WE NEED HELP!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/8/2017 - REDFORD, MI
STALLING OUT WHILE SITTING IN DRIVE AT RED LIGHT. GOT UP FOR WORK AND TURNED TRUCK ON, SOUNDED VERY ROUGH. PUT TRUCK IN REVERSE AND TOOK OFF AND WHEN STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT THE RPMS WOULD MOVE ON THEIR OWN, CAR STARTS BOUNCING, MOTOR IS RATTLING, AND SOMETIMES STALLS OUT. I HAVE TO PUT THE TRUCK IN NEUTRAL AT EVERY LIGHT FOR IT TO NOT ROCK BACK AND FOURTH. NEXT DAY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME OUT, READINGS INDICATED IT WAS THE THROTTLE SENSOR BODY AND THE SOLENOIDS. I REPLACED ALL OF THESE AND TRUCK IS STILL RUNNING THE SAME, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON. AFTER DOING RESEARCH I HAVE READ WELL OVER 50 OF THE SAME COMPLAINT OF THESE VEHICLES DOING THE SAME THING! WE NEED HELP!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2017 - REDFORD, MI
STALLING OUT WHILE SITTING IN DRIVE AT RED LIGHT. GOT UP FOR WORK AND TURNED TRUCK ON, SOUNDED VERY ROUGH. PUT TRUCK IN REVERSE AND TOOK OFF AND WHEN STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT THE RPMS WOULD MOVE ON THEIR OWN, CAR STARTS BOUNCING, MOTOR IS RATTLING, AND SOMETIMES STALLS OUT. I HAVE TO PUT THE TRUCK IN NEUTRAL AT EVERY LIGHT FOR IT TO NOT ROCK BACK AND FOURTH. NEXT DAY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME OUT, READINGS INDICATED IT WAS THE THROTTLE SENSOR BODY AND THE SOLENOIDS. I REPLACED ALL OF THESE AND TRUCK IS STILL RUNNING THE SAME, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON. AFTER DOING RESEARCH I HAVE READ WELL OVER 50 OF THE SAME COMPLAINT OF THESE VEHICLES DOING THE SAME THING! WE NEED HELP!

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2017 - WEST LINN, OR
MY 2011 EQUINOX HAS EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE PROBLEMS SINCE WE PURCHASED IT BEGINNING WITH THE OIL LIFE MONITORING SYSTEM, WHICH GM ACKNOWLEDGED, THROUGH A DANGEROUS FAILURE OF THE STABILITRAK SYSTEM IN 2014 WHILE IN MOTION ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS (POSTED TO NHSTA), RESULTING IN AN ENGINE REBUILD IN 2016, WHICH GM TOOK RESPONSIBILITY FOR. UNFORTUNATELY, THE INITIAL PROBLEMS OCCURRED BEYOND THE LEMON CAR LIMIT IN OUR STATE AND CONTINUE TODAY. IN SEPTEMBER 2017 I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO A CHEVY DEALER AFTER NOTICING SIGNIFICANT EXHAUST FUMES IN THE CABIN PARTICULARLY WHILE STATIONARY DURING START UP. IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A CRACKED MANIFOLD. THE MANIFOLD HAD ALREADY BEEN REPLACED IN JANUARY OF 2016 AS PART OF AN ENGINE REBUILD AT GM'S EXPENSE. THIS WOULD THEREFORE BE THE THIRD MANIFOLD IN THIS VEHICLE IN ONLY SIX YEARS. BOTH THE DEALER AND I FILED WITH GM CUSTOMER CARE TO REQUEST COVERAGE FOR THE MANIFOLD REPLACEMENT. I HAVE NOT YET HEARD BACK BUT REMAIN HOPEFUL THAT GM WILL ONCE AGAIN STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/3/2017 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOORBOARD BEFORE THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE ABS SYSTEM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. DALE EARNHARDT, JR. CHEVROLET LOCATED AT: 3127 W TENNESSEE ST, TALLAHASSEE, FL 32304, (850) 270-1463, WAS CONTACTED AND NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/2/2017 - SICKLERVILLE, NJ
REDUCED ENGINE POWER /STABILI TRAK LIGHT COMES ON WHEN MY VEHICLE IS IDLE OR STOPPED AT A LIGHT . IT SOMETIMES SHUTS OFF BUT CRANKS BACK UP WHILE IM SITTING AT A LIGHT. USUALLY WHEN ON DRIVING ON 95 THE LIGHT DOESNT COME ON EXCEPT FOR THIS MORNING THE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE I WAS ON 95 WHEN I WAS UNDER 60 MILES I HAD TO PULL OVER FOR A FEW MINUTES SO THE INDICATION LIGHT GOES OFF, MY CAR WILL EVENTUALLY LOOSE POWER IF THE LIGHT IS ON AND I TRY TO TRY IT .. IF THE LIGHT IS OFF I CAN DRIVE SO I HAVE TO TURN CAR OFF AND SIT FOR AWHILE BEFORE I CAN RESUME DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds