Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 169 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (22) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (36) Steering (13) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (52) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (2) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

12/16/2014 - MILLTOWN, NJ
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN SEPTEMBER 2014... GM RECALL 14271 AFTER MAKING NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS OVER THE LAST 3 MONTHS TO BOTH THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND CHEVROLET CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER THERE IS STILL NO PART AVAILABLE TO REMEDY THIS SAFETY ISSUE. THE ONLY RESPONSE IS THE "PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE" AND "WE HAVE NO IDEA WHEN THEY WILL BE IN "

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2014 - LEBANON, KY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW CAM SHAFT SENSOR. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,996. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

12/14/2014 - CHICAGO , IL
I TRIED TO PUT THE HEATER ON AND COLD AIR CAME OUT. I REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT AND STILL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THIS VEHICLE USES ABOUT 1 QUART OF OIL PER 1000 MILES. WITH NO WARNING FROM MANUFACTURER OR DEALER AND THE RECOMMENDED OIL CHANGE AT EVERY 4 TO 5 THOUSAND MILES, THE OIL LEVEL IS GONE BY THE TIME THE OIL CHANGE IS DUE. THIS REPEATED ACTION CAUSES THE CAM POSITION SENSOR TO SLUDGE UP AND BECOME FAULTY. THIS IN TURN CAUSES THE MOTOR TO STALL. THERE HAVE BEEN MANY COMPLAINTS OF THE ENGINE STALLING ON THE HIGHWAY. MINE HAS STALLED MANY TIMES IN CITY TRAFFIC. DUE TO MY DRIVING SKILLS I HAVE AVOIDED ANY ACCIDENTS. IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THERE ARE DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO THIS ISSUE. ALTHOUGH THE MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM SINCE 2007, IT HAS NOT EVEN GONE AS FAR AS INSTALLING A LOW OIL LEVEL SENSOR TO HELP PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2014 - TAMPA, FL
MY 2011 CHEVY EQUINOX STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WHEN STARTING THE ENGINE. I WOULD START THE CAR AND ALL MY EMERGENCY LIGHTS WOULD START FLASHING. EMERGENCY BLINKERS, AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT, STABILITY TRACK AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I WOULD START TO DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD JUST STALL OUT. IF I AM DRIVING BELOW 10 MILES AN HOUR, THE CAR WILL TURN OFF. I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AND MY CAR STALLED OUT IN THE ONCOMING LANES ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY CAR SERVICED FOR A WHILE BUT ALL THE CHEVY DEALERSHIPS ARE BOOKED SOLID AROUND ME. READING THE OTHER REVIEWS IT LOOKS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND FOR A CAR TO ONLY BE A COUPLE YEARS OLD, THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/5/2014 - TAMPA, FL
MY 2011 CHEVY EQUINOX STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WHEN STARTING THE ENGINE. I WOULD START THE CAR AND ALL MY EMERGENCY LIGHTS WOULD START FLASHING. EMERGENCY BLINKERS, AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT, STABILITY TRACK AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I WOULD START TO DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD JUST STALL OUT. IF I AM DRIVING BELOW 10 MILES AN HOUR, THE CAR WILL TURN OFF. I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AND MY CAR STALLED OUT IN THE ONCOMING LANES ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY CAR SERVICED FOR A WHILE BUT ALL THE CHEVY DEALERSHIPS ARE BOOKED SOLID AROUND ME. READING THE OTHER REVIEWS IT LOOKS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND FOR A CAR TO ONLY BE A COUPLE YEARS OLD, THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING.

View Details

STEERING

12/5/2014 - TAMPA, FL
MY 2011 CHEVY EQUINOX STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WHEN STARTING THE ENGINE. I WOULD START THE CAR AND ALL MY EMERGENCY LIGHTS WOULD START FLASHING. EMERGENCY BLINKERS, AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT, STABILITY TRACK AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I WOULD START TO DRIVE AND THE CAR WOULD JUST STALL OUT. IF I AM DRIVING BELOW 10 MILES AN HOUR, THE CAR WILL TURN OFF. I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AND MY CAR STALLED OUT IN THE ONCOMING LANES ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY CAR SERVICED FOR A WHILE BUT ALL THE CHEVY DEALERSHIPS ARE BOOKED SOLID AROUND ME. READING THE OTHER REVIEWS IT LOOKS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND FOR A CAR TO ONLY BE A COUPLE YEARS OLD, THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INTEGRATED TRAILER BRAKE CONTROL

12/1/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
ON OCTOBER 8,2014 JUDY DENESIA BEGAN TO DRIVE SUBJECT VEHICLE INTO OUR GARAGE SHE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN SURGE AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORWARD VERY RAPIDLY. WITHIN A VERY SHORT TIME SHE HAD TRAVELED FORWARD APPROXIMATELY 18 FEET AND CRASHED INTO THE SHELF, IT WAS OUSHED INTO THE GARAGE WALL DAMAGING THE SHELF NUMEROUS ITEMS ON THE SHELF AND THE WALL BEHIND IT. BEHIND THE SHELF IS A WALL BETWEEN OUR GARAGE AND OUR KITCHEN. CABINETS AND A COUNTER TOP , INCLUDING A BACK SPLASH IN OUR KITCHEN. UPDATED 12/01/14 UPDATED 12/15/14

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2014 - REDDING, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED SEVERAL TIMES AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART, BUT THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND WON'T GO OFF AND WON'T STOP DINGING. NO CRASHES, NO SUDDEN STOPS, 33,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED BY THE DEALERS EXPENSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds