Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 274 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (55) Steering (16) Visibility (3)
Engine (102) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (7) Structure (9) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Tires (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/24/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE ENGINE STOPPED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER'S MECHANIC WHERE IT PRODUCED INTAKE CAM ACTUATOR FAILURE CODE P011. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2016 - TULSA, OK
I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH MY BLOWER MOTOR EVER SINCE I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW - EVERY TIME I TAKE IT IN IT INTO A CERTIFIED CHEVY DEALERSHIP THE ISSUES IS NOT HAPPENING BY THE TIME I GET THERE THEY JUST TELL ME "WELL THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO IF THE ISSUE IS NOT HAPPENING" IT IS THE MIDDLE OF SUMMER AND NOT HAVING AIR FOR THE FIRST FEW MINUTES IS HORRIBLE, BY THE TIME I GET CLOSE TO THE DEALERSHIP IT STARTS WORKING AGAIN SO NOT ONLY AM I WASTING GAS TRYING TO GET TO THE DEALERSHIP BUT I'M HOT OR COLD WHILE TRYING TO DO IT... I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO FRUSTRATED WITH A VEHICLE AS I AM WITH THIS ONE... I LITERALLY HAVE TO HIT A DEEP POTHOLE FOR IT KICK IN WHICH MAKES ME THINK IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE BUT EVERY TIME I TRY TO GET THEM TO DO IT THEY JUST TELL BE WELL THERE WILL BE A FEE FOR DIAGNOSING IT EVEN THOUGH I HAVE BEEN TELLING THEN SINCE 2012 THAT THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN HAPPENING SPORADICALLY. EVEN TRIED TO CONTACT GM ABOUT IT AND THEY SAID WELL THERE ISN'T MUCH WE CAN DO WITHOUT THE ISSUE HAPPENING WHEN YOU GET THERE... THAT IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE AT MINIMUM THE BLOWER MOTOR SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED IF THEY DID NOT FIND ANY ISSUES IN THE WIRING BUT THEY REFUSE TO NARROW DOWN THE ISSUE. THE ISSUE NORMALLY HAPPENS WHEN I FIRST START THE CAR BUT I HAVE NOTICED IT SOMETIMES STRUGGLES WHILE DRIVING AS WELL... SO THE ISSUE IS JUST GETTING WORSE. ON TOP OF THAT - EVERY TIME I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY NEVER NOTED THAT I HAD COMPLAINED ABOUT THE ISSUE SINCE BACK IN 2012 AND FINALLY I MADE THEM ENTER IT INTO THE SYSTEM PRIOR TO MY MANUFACTURER WARRANTY EXPIRING SO I HAVE PAPER PROOF OF THE ISSUE HAPPENING BEFORE IT EXPIRED WHEN IT WOULD BE FULLY COVERED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/21/2016 - TULSA, OK
I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH MY BLOWER MOTOR EVER SINCE I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW - EVERY TIME I TAKE IT IN IT INTO A CERTIFIED CHEVY DEALERSHIP THE ISSUES IS NOT HAPPENING BY THE TIME I GET THERE THEY JUST TELL ME "WELL THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO IF THE ISSUE IS NOT HAPPENING" IT IS THE MIDDLE OF SUMMER AND NOT HAVING AIR FOR THE FIRST FEW MINUTES IS HORRIBLE, BY THE TIME I GET CLOSE TO THE DEALERSHIP IT STARTS WORKING AGAIN SO NOT ONLY AM I WASTING GAS TRYING TO GET TO THE DEALERSHIP BUT I'M HOT OR COLD WHILE TRYING TO DO IT... I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO FRUSTRATED WITH A VEHICLE AS I AM WITH THIS ONE... I LITERALLY HAVE TO HIT A DEEP POTHOLE FOR IT KICK IN WHICH MAKES ME THINK IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE BUT EVERY TIME I TRY TO GET THEM TO DO IT THEY JUST TELL BE WELL THERE WILL BE A FEE FOR DIAGNOSING IT EVEN THOUGH I HAVE BEEN TELLING THEN SINCE 2012 THAT THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN HAPPENING SPORADICALLY. EVEN TRIED TO CONTACT GM ABOUT IT AND THEY SAID WELL THERE ISN'T MUCH WE CAN DO WITHOUT THE ISSUE HAPPENING WHEN YOU GET THERE... THAT IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE AT MINIMUM THE BLOWER MOTOR SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED IF THEY DID NOT FIND ANY ISSUES IN THE WIRING BUT THEY REFUSE TO NARROW DOWN THE ISSUE. THE ISSUE NORMALLY HAPPENS WHEN I FIRST START THE CAR BUT I HAVE NOTICED IT SOMETIMES STRUGGLES WHILE DRIVING AS WELL... SO THE ISSUE IS JUST GETTING WORSE. ON TOP OF THAT - EVERY TIME I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY NEVER NOTED THAT I HAD COMPLAINED ABOUT THE ISSUE SINCE BACK IN 2012 AND FINALLY I MADE THEM ENTER IT INTO THE SYSTEM PRIOR TO MY MANUFACTURER WARRANTY EXPIRING SO I HAVE PAPER PROOF OF THE ISSUE HAPPENING BEFORE IT EXPIRED WHEN IT WOULD BE FULLY COVERED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/14/2016 - AURORA, IN
I BOUGHT MY 2011 EQUINOX NEW IN APRIL, 2011. THE 5 YEAR WARRANTY JUST EXPIRED APRIL, 2016. I JUST HAD TO HAVE A NEW A/C COMPRESSOR INSTALLED ($745) AND MY CAR ONLY HAS 26,300 MILES! OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT. I CONTACTED CHEVROLET AND OF COURSE THEY WON'T DO ANYTHING BECAUSE A CERTIFIED MECHANIC REPLACED THE COMPRESSOR AND I DIDN'T TAKE IT TO A CERTIFIED CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP. I HAVE LOST FAITH IN CHEVROLET.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2016 - LYNDHURST, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. IMMEDIATELY IN THE MESSAGE AREA TWO MESSAGE WERE DISPLAYED - "REDUCE ENGINE POWER" AND SERVICE STABITRACK SOON". IMMEDIATELY THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO OVER 3000 RPM AND 50 MPH. WITHIN A MILE THE ENGINE LOST ALL POWER (LUCKILY THIS WAS AS I WAS HITTING THE EXIT RAMP OFF THE HIGHWAY). AFTER WAITING FOR A FEW MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO FIRE IT UP BUT THE ERRORS RETURNED. I LIMPED THE VEHICLE HOME AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY LOCAL GARAGE. MY MECHANIC INDICATED THERE WERE 9 ERROR CODES WHEN HE LOOKED WITH HIS SCANNER RELATED TO FUEL PRESSURE, CAM SENSORS, AND MOTOR TIMING. FURTHERMORE, SINCE I WAS DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE, HE DRAINED THE OIL PAN AND SAW I WAS NEARLY 3 QUARTS LOW ON OIL. THIS IS PUZZLING AS (1) I JUST CHECKED THE OIL TWO WEEKS AGO AND, WHILE A BIT LOW, WAS IN OPERATING RANGE AND (2) THE LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT NEVER CAME ON. AFTER READING OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND OTHER SITES THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON OCCURRENCE. SO NOW I HAVE A VEHICLE WITH 63,000 MILES THAT MY MECHANIC SAYS HAS SIGNIFICANT ENGINE DAMAGE (TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS, CAM SENSORS, FUEL PUMP). THIS IS VERY DIFFICULT FOR ME TO BELIEVE SINCE THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHTS THAT CAME ON FOR LOW OIL AND AT THIS RELATIVELY LOW MILEAGE. MY ONLY ALTERNATIVES ARE TO PONY UP FOR THE PARTS (AND HOPE THE PISTONS/SEALS ARE UNDAMAGED) OR REPLACE THE MOTOR. I ALSO THINK ITS QUITE DANGEROUS FOR THE MOTOR TO JUST CUT OUT LIKE THIS WITHOUT MORE ADVANCE WARNING (I WAS LUCKY I WAS ALREADY GETTING OFF THE HIGHWAY). NEEDLESS TO SAY MY CONFIDENCE WITH GM IS PRETTY MUCH GONE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2016 - SYLVANIA, OH
VEHICLE STALLED WHEN ENGAGING DRIVE GEAR. CODE INDICATES ENGINE VARIABLE TIMING SOLENOID INTAKE TO BE REPLACES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2016 - SYLVANIA, OH
VEHICLE STALLED WHEN ENGAGING DRIVE GEAR. CODE INDICATES ENGINE VARIABLE TIMING SOLENOID INTAKE TO BE REPLACES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2016 - HAMLET, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY WITH AN 18 WHEELER BEHIND ME, THE VEHICLE STOPPED GOING FORWARD WHEN I PUSHED ON THE GAS. IT WAS STILL RUNNING BUT HAD NO POWER AND BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN TO NOTHING. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, BUT WAS ALMOST RUN OVER DUE TO THE SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER. I CUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, BUT IT WOULD ONLY MAKE A CLICKING SOUND. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP WE TOWED IT TO, THE TIMING CHAIN SLIPPED AND RUINED THE MOTOR. THIS IS A 2011 VEHICLE WITH ONLY 73000 MILES ON IT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED AND SINCE WE MADE OUR FINAL PAYMENT LAST MONTH, NONE OF IT IS UNDER WARRANTY. SURELY THIS IS NOT TYPICAL OF THIS VEHICLE AND THE CHEVROLET COMPANY CAN STAND BEHIND THIS REPAIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2016 - HAMLET, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY WITH AN 18 WHEELER BEHIND ME, THE VEHICLE STOPPED GOING FORWARD WHEN I PUSHED ON THE GAS. IT WAS STILL RUNNING BUT HAD NO POWER AND BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN TO NOTHING. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, BUT WAS ALMOST RUN OVER DUE TO THE SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER. I CUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, BUT IT WOULD ONLY MAKE A CLICKING SOUND. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP WE TOWED IT TO, THE TIMING CHAIN SLIPPED AND RUINED THE MOTOR. THIS IS A 2011 VEHICLE WITH ONLY 73000 MILES ON IT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED AND SINCE WE MADE OUR FINAL PAYMENT LAST MONTH, NONE OF IT IS UNDER WARRANTY. SURELY THIS IS NOT TYPICAL OF THIS VEHICLE AND THE CHEVROLET COMPANY CAN STAND BEHIND THIS REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2016 - SOUTH LYON, MI
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. 1QT PER 1,250 MILES. NEEDS MAJOR ENGINE REPAIRS AT LESS THAN 86,000 MILES. I'VE HEARD THAT IF ALLOWED TO CONTINUE THAT ENGINE CAN STALL WHILE DRIVING. THIS COULD BE A DANGEROUS CONDITION IF STALLING WHILE TRAVELLING AT MAXIMUM HIGHWAY SPEEDS. DRIVER COULD LOSE STEERING CONTROL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds