Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 294 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (58) Steering (18) Visibility (3)
Engine (108) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Tires (3) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/21/2016 - RICHMOND, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IT WOULD SHUT OFF DURING LOW SPEEDS. ISSUE HAPPENED 20+ TIME DURING ONE 15 MINUTE DRIVE. I WOULD NEED TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL TO START IT AGAIN, BUT ONCE I SLOWED DOWN IT WOULD SHUT OFF. THIS ALSO HAPPENED WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT, ONCE I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR TO BEGIN MOVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL OUT, POWERING OFF AND REQUIRING ME TO PLACE IN NEUTRAL TO START AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/21/2016 - RICHMOND, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IT WOULD SHUT OFF DURING LOW SPEEDS. ISSUE HAPPENED 20+ TIME DURING ONE 15 MINUTE DRIVE. I WOULD NEED TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL TO START IT AGAIN, BUT ONCE I SLOWED DOWN IT WOULD SHUT OFF. THIS ALSO HAPPENED WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT, ONCE I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR TO BEGIN MOVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL OUT, POWERING OFF AND REQUIRING ME TO PLACE IN NEUTRAL TO START AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/20/2016 - ELDRIDGE, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING IN RAINY CONDITIONS AT ANY SPEED, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED. THE WIPER LINKAGE WAS REPLACED AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2016 - WARREN, OH
CAR STALL MANY TIME IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION WHEN YOU PULL OUT FROM A LIGHT OR STOP SIGN DUE TO BAD INTAKE CAM SOLENOID. HAD TO RESTART CAR SEVERIAL TIME JUST TO GET CLEAR OF THE INTERSECTION. CAR MAY THEN RUN OK FOR WEEKS AND THEN DO IT AGAIN. GM STATED IT IS NOT PART OF THERE RECALL, EVEN THOU IT HAS THE SAME ISSUES AS THE CARS UNDER THE RECALL

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE ODOR OF FUEL AND OIL WERE PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTONS WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AND THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED AN OIL CONSUMPTION FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/14/2016 - WEST VALLEY, UT
TAKATA RECALL HIT ON DRIVER SIDE FRONT WHEEL AND DOOR BUMPER LITES BENT THE FRONT WHEEL IN TOO THE MOTOR. JUST STARTED TOO MOVE FORWARD. CITY STREET GOING STRATE.

View Details

WHEELS

9/11/2016 - LOUDONVILLE, OH
WAS ALERTED TO THE CONDITION OF MY TIRES WHILE ON AN EIGHT HOUR TRIP FROM HOME. DRY ROT ON TIRES WITH LESS THAN 40,000 MILES. TIRES ROTATED REGULARLY. MECHANIC SAID I WAS IN DIRE DANGER. HAD TO INSTALL 4 NEW TIRES, AN EXPENSE NOT EXPECTED ON MICHELIN TIRES, OF WHICH WAS A SELLING POINT ON MY CAR. HE SAID THEY WON'T EVEN CARRY THEM BECAUSE OF THE DRY ROT PROBLEMS THEY'VE BEEN SEEING. MY HUSBAND LOOKED ON YOUTUBE WHEN I CALLED TO GET HIS TAKE. SAID THERE WAS A STREAM OF STORIES AND VIDEOS FROM FOLKS JUST LIKE ME. THE LORD WAS WITH ME THAT DAY FOR SURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/7/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THE BOTTOM SEAM OF ALL FOUR DOORS HAVE BEGUN TO RUST. THE BACK TWO DOORS APPEAR TO BE WORSE THAN THE FRONT TWO. I, BY CHANCE, HAPPENED TO NOTICE THE RUST WHILE CLEANING OUT THE BACK SEAT AROUND MILEAGE 38,000 BUT IT LOOKS TO HAVE STARTED MUCH EARLIER BY THE AMOUNT ON THE BACK TWO DOORS. GM NEEDS TO REMEDY THIS SITUATION BEFORE THE DOORS RUST OUT. HOW DOES CANADA GET THE RECALL BUT NOT THE US, THIS MAKES NO SENSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/7/2016 - MODESTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/1/2016 - POOLER, GA
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS SHUT OFF WHILE THEY WERE ON. I HAD TO SLOW DOWN BECAUSE OF THIS BECAUSE IT WAS RAINING WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds