Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 434 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (84) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (40) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seats (7) Suspension (2) Visibility (6)
Engine (187) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (12) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2018 - GREENWOOD, DE
CAR STALLED OUT WHILE STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT. WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND DRIVE HOME. WAS SCHEDULED FOR AN OIL CHANGE THE NEXT DAY, WENT TO DRIVE THE CAR AND MADE IT THREE HOUSES DOWN BEFORE IT STALLED OUT WHILE DRIVING. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT START BACK UP. HAD IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP AND THEY SAID IT JUMPED TIME, AND THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE AND MADE A MESS OF THE ENGINE. ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. FAILED AT 73K MILES. BOUGHT THE CAR CERTIFIED USED AT 36K TWO YEARS AGO AND HAVE HAD IT SERVICED REGULARLY. DON'T HAVE MONEY FOR REPAIRS AND CHEVY DEALER WON'T FIX....

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2018 - GREENWOOD, DE
CAR STALLED OUT WHILE STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT. WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND DRIVE HOME. WAS SCHEDULED FOR AN OIL CHANGE THE NEXT DAY, WENT TO DRIVE THE CAR AND MADE IT THREE HOUSES DOWN BEFORE IT STALLED OUT WHILE DRIVING. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT START BACK UP. HAD IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP AND THEY SAID IT JUMPED TIME, AND THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE AND MADE A MESS OF THE ENGINE. ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. FAILED AT 73K MILES. BOUGHT THE CAR CERTIFIED USED AT 36K TWO YEARS AGO AND HAVE HAD IT SERVICED REGULARLY. DON'T HAVE MONEY FOR REPAIRS AND CHEVY DEALER WON'T FIX....

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2018 - MCRAE-HELENA, GA
THE CAM SHAFT POSITION SENSOR IS DEFECTIVE.THE VEHICLE SHUTS DOWN WHEN IDLE IS LOW.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2018 - WAUKON, IA
I CALLED IN THIS COMPLAINT. RECEIVED A NUMBER ODI11090436. ON 2/01/2018 AFTER DARK I WAS ON A 4-LANE GOING 60-65 MPH., MY CAR'S ACCELERATION SUDDENLY WENT DOWN AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING. I BRAKED, DROVE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PARKED. NO CHUGGING WHILE IN PARK. HAD TO BE TOWED TO A CHEVY DEALERSHIP IN CEDAR FALLS, IA. THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY. WHEN ASKED HOW OFTEN THIS PARTICULAR SHOP SEES THIS SPECIFIC BREAK-DOWN, THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID A COUPLE TIMES A MONTH. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT IF THEY ARE SEEING THIS MANY, THAT OTHER DEALERSHIPS WOULD BE SEEING THIS PATTERN REPEATED AS WELL. MY QUESTION IS WHY HASN'T THIS ISSUE BEEN FLAGGED TO GENERAL MOTORS? I WAS LUCKY THAT THERE WAS NO ONE CLOSE BEHIND ME ON THE HIGHWAY. IT WAS A SUDDEN EVENT, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND A COUPLE OF OTHER LIGHTS CAME ON, IT STARTLED ME AND IT TOOK A SECOND OR TWO TO BEGIN BRAKING. THIS WAS A COSTLY FIX AND NOT ONE I WOULD EXPECT TO HAVE TO REPAIR WITH 114,744 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2018 - WAUKON, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO COMMUNITY CHEVROLET BUICK (4521 UNIVERSITY AVE, CEDAR FALLS, IA 50613, (319) 277-5010) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE FAILED AND THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 84120242638. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,744.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/27/2018 - MARIETTA, PA
MY WIPERS STOPPED WORKING TODAY, WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO WORK, I PULLED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I ALMOST DIED BECAUSE THEY WAS NO SHOULDER LANE AT THE TIME. MY FRIEND CAME AND GUIDED ME ON BASE AT A LOCAL SHOP. I TALKED TO CHEVY THEY DID NOT CARE STATING THE RECALL WAS NOT FOR THIS YEAR. I THOUGHT THAT WAS STUPID BECAUSE IT WAS THE SAME PART. CHEVY HAD RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE, SAME MAKE, MODEL OF THE NEXT YEAR AND BEYOND.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/14/2018 - ROYAL OAK, MI
2011 EQUINOX 2LT FWD WITH LESS THAN 70,000 MILES NEEDS AN ENTIRE NEW TRANSMISSION. NO HARD DRIVING. NO TOWING. REGULAR USE TO AND FROM WORK. CITY AND HIGHWAY DRIVING ONLY. ONE MORNING SIMPLY REFUSED TO GO INTO DRIVE, EVEN THOUGH REVERSE WORKS FINE. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS. CANNOT BE AN ISOLATED INCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/11/2018 - PLATTE CITY, MO
JUST REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION AT 135,000. IN READING ONLINE, SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR/MAKE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2018 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
TIMING BELT FAILED WITHIN TWO YEARS OF THE FIRST TIME BEING FIXED. FIRST TIME WAS WHEN VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USED AT APPROX 123K, SECOND TIME IT HAS FAILED IS APPROX 179K. THERE IS AN ONGOING OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE HEARD THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE OIL ISSUE THAT WAS NOT PUBLICALLY ANNOUNCED AND I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT WHY IT WASNT IF IN FACT THIS IS AN ISSUE. TIMING BELT SHOULD NOT FAIL TWICE . TOOK VEHICLE IN TO SHOP AFTER VEHICLE BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND JUMPING WHILE STOPPED AT A LIGHT, IN DRIVE WITH THE BREAKS ON. WHEN I WENT TO DRIVE, VECHICLE WOULD DRIVE BUT HAD SEVERE LOSS IN POER AND WAS VIBRATING THE WHOLE TIME. UPON TAKING TO THE SHOP AND HAVING AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC TEST DONE, IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS INDEED STRETCHED OUT AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPAIRED AT A COST OF $2500. THIS REPAIR HAD BEEN MADE TWO YEARS PRIOR AS WELL , HAVING HAD TO REPLACE THE CHAINS AND SUCH DUE TO THIS RECURRING AND ONGOIGN OIL ISSUE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/9/2018 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
TIMING BELT FAILED WITHIN TWO YEARS OF THE FIRST TIME BEING FIXED. FIRST TIME WAS WHEN VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USED AT APPROX 123K, SECOND TIME IT HAS FAILED IS APPROX 179K. THERE IS AN ONGOING OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE HEARD THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE OIL ISSUE THAT WAS NOT PUBLICALLY ANNOUNCED AND I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT WHY IT WASNT IF IN FACT THIS IS AN ISSUE. TIMING BELT SHOULD NOT FAIL TWICE . TOOK VEHICLE IN TO SHOP AFTER VEHICLE BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND JUMPING WHILE STOPPED AT A LIGHT, IN DRIVE WITH THE BREAKS ON. WHEN I WENT TO DRIVE, VECHICLE WOULD DRIVE BUT HAD SEVERE LOSS IN POER AND WAS VIBRATING THE WHOLE TIME. UPON TAKING TO THE SHOP AND HAVING AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC TEST DONE, IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS INDEED STRETCHED OUT AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPAIRED AT A COST OF $2500. THIS REPAIR HAD BEEN MADE TWO YEARS PRIOR AS WELL , HAVING HAD TO REPLACE THE CHAINS AND SUCH DUE TO THIS RECURRING AND ONGOIGN OIL ISSUE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds