Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 194 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (41) Steering (14) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (62) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (4) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2015 - ONEIDA, NY
WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING, THE BACK HATCH WILL SUDDENLY UNHOOK. IT DOES NOT OPEN FULLY BUT UNLATCHES ENOUGH TO TELL THE CAR THAT IT IS OPEN. THIS ALSO HAPPENS WHILE I AM DRIVING, CAUSING ME TO PULL OVER TO SHUT IT AGAIN. THE BUTTON TO OPEN THE HATCH IS NOW NON-FUNCTIONAL (CAN'T OPEN THE HATCH AT ALL) BUT THE HATCH IS STILL POPING! I AM AFRAID THAT THE WHOLE WILL OPEN WHILE IN TRAFFIC AND CAUSE A CRASH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2015 - GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA, FL
THE CONSOLE DASHBOARD LIGHTS REMAIN ON AFTER THE KEY IS REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION! THIS HAS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES!

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2015 - SPARTA, NC
DISCOVERED VEHICLE USING AROUND 2 QUARTS OF OIL IN BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. IT WAS 200 MILES SHORT OF NEXT OIL CHANGE. ADDED THE OIL, DROVE APPROX. 500 MILES AND IT WAS 1/2 QT. SHORT. GM SAYS NORMAL TO USE 1 QUART IN BETWEEN. THIS IS CRAZY. WE HAVE BEGAN THE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST WITH PHOTOS DOCUMENTING. WHEN WE HAD THE OIL CHANGED AT A DEALER THE OIL WAS WAY OVERFILLED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/4/2015 - APPOMATTOX, VA
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT AT A CONVINENT STORE, COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE INFORMATION STATION FLASHED THE WARNING "STABILITRAC / POWER REDUCED". A STRANGE SOUND AND VIBRATION WAS COMING FROM THE CAR. I TURNED IT OFF BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE TRACTION CONTROL CREATED THE PROBLEM BECAUSE IT HAD STARTED TO SNOW. ONCE I RETURNED TO THE CAR, IT DROVE OKAY FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THEN BOOM THAT STRANGE SOUND AND THE STRONG IDLING VIBRATION CAME BACK. I WAS STILL ABLE TO DRIVE THE SUV BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST THE FIRST TRANSMISSION GEAR. SO A COUPLE DAYS LATER I WAS GOING TO TRY AND MAKE IT TO THE STORE BECAUSE ANOTHER SNOW STORM WAS COMING OUR TOWN'S WAY. AGAIN, STARTED OUT OKAY AND THEN BOOM THAT STRANGE SOUND AND THE STRONG IDLING VIBRATION CAME BACK. SO, INSTEAD OF TURNING AROUND TO GO HOME, I TOOK IT TO THE CAR DEALERSHIP WERE I BOUGHT IT FROM. AFTER RUNNING TESTS OR WHATEVER THEY DID, I DON'T KNOW BECAUSE I WASN'T BACK THERE; THEY TOLD ME IT'S THE THROTTLE BODY. THEY EVEN TOLD ME THEY JUST FINISHED PRICING ONE AND TOLD ME THE CRAZY HIGH AMOUNT TO FIX IT. I DON'T KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE BUT I DON'T HAVE THIS KIND OF MONEY TO PUT INTO FIXING THIS. SO YEAH, I WAS WITHOUT A VEHICLE BUT YET WITH A VEHICLE PAYMENT. ACCORDING TO THE MASSIVE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PART, IT HAS A VERY HIGH FAILURE RATE IN THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, CHEVY REFUSES TO COVER THIS PART AS PART OF THEIR POWER-TRAIN WARRANTY OR AT LEAST DO A RECALL ON IT. THE "POWER REDUCED" CONDITION CAUSED BY THIS PART FAILURE IS A VERY DANGEROUS THING TO HAVE HAPPEN TO YOU IF YOU ARE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION OR ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, AND IF SOMETHING IS NOT DONE, THERE WILL BE INJURIES OR FATALITIES BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/2/2015 - MAYSVILLE, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AS THE REDUCE SPEED WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNKNOWN BY THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/2/2015 - CALHOUN, GA
UPON LEAVING THE HOME DRIVEWAY, AS THE CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE, THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE INFORMATION STATION FLASHED THE WARNING "STABILITRAC / POWER REDUCED". THE CAR WAS STILL DRIVE-ABLE, BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST THE FIRST TRANSMISSION GEAR. AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK HOME, I RESTARTED IT, AND THE SAME WARNING WAS DISPLAYED IN THE INFORMATION STATION. THE VEHICLE ALSO BEGAN TO IDLE VERY ROUGHLY AND EMIT THICK BLACK SMOKE. ALL INDICATIONS FROM INTERNET SOURCES POINT TO A BAD THROTTLE BODY, WHICH WAS LATER CONFIRMED BY THE CAR DEALERSHIP. ACCORDING TO THE MASSIVE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PART, IT HAS A VERY HIGH FAILURE RATE IN THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, CHEVY REFUSES TO COVER THIS PART AS PART OF THEIR POWER-TRAIN WARRANTY. THE "POWER REDUCED" CONDITION CAUSED BY THIS PART FAILURE IS A VERY DANGEROUS THING TO HAVE HAPPEN TO YOU IF YOU ARE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION OR ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, AND IF SOMETHING IS NOT DONE, THERE WILL BE INJURIES OR FATALITIES BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2015 - CALHOUN, GA
UPON LEAVING THE HOME DRIVEWAY, AS THE CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE, THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE INFORMATION STATION FLASHED THE WARNING "STABILITRAC / POWER REDUCED". THE CAR WAS STILL DRIVE-ABLE, BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST THE FIRST TRANSMISSION GEAR. AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK HOME, I RESTARTED IT, AND THE SAME WARNING WAS DISPLAYED IN THE INFORMATION STATION. THE VEHICLE ALSO BEGAN TO IDLE VERY ROUGHLY AND EMIT THICK BLACK SMOKE. ALL INDICATIONS FROM INTERNET SOURCES POINT TO A BAD THROTTLE BODY, WHICH WAS LATER CONFIRMED BY THE CAR DEALERSHIP. ACCORDING TO THE MASSIVE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PART, IT HAS A VERY HIGH FAILURE RATE IN THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, CHEVY REFUSES TO COVER THIS PART AS PART OF THEIR POWER-TRAIN WARRANTY. THE "POWER REDUCED" CONDITION CAUSED BY THIS PART FAILURE IS A VERY DANGEROUS THING TO HAVE HAPPEN TO YOU IF YOU ARE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION OR ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, AND IF SOMETHING IS NOT DONE, THERE WILL BE INJURIES OR FATALITIES BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2015 - CALHOUN, GA
UPON LEAVING THE HOME DRIVEWAY, AS THE CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE, THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE INFORMATION STATION FLASHED THE WARNING "STABILITRAC / POWER REDUCED". THE CAR WAS STILL DRIVE-ABLE, BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST THE FIRST TRANSMISSION GEAR. AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK HOME, I RESTARTED IT, AND THE SAME WARNING WAS DISPLAYED IN THE INFORMATION STATION. THE VEHICLE ALSO BEGAN TO IDLE VERY ROUGHLY AND EMIT THICK BLACK SMOKE. ALL INDICATIONS FROM INTERNET SOURCES POINT TO A BAD THROTTLE BODY, WHICH WAS LATER CONFIRMED BY THE CAR DEALERSHIP. ACCORDING TO THE MASSIVE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PART, IT HAS A VERY HIGH FAILURE RATE IN THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, CHEVY REFUSES TO COVER THIS PART AS PART OF THEIR POWER-TRAIN WARRANTY. THE "POWER REDUCED" CONDITION CAUSED BY THIS PART FAILURE IS A VERY DANGEROUS THING TO HAVE HAPPEN TO YOU IF YOU ARE TURNING IN A BUSY INTERSECTION OR ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, AND IF SOMETHING IS NOT DONE, THERE WILL BE INJURIES OR FATALITIES BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/26/2015 - MCMURRAY, PA
WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 70 ON THE PENNSYLVANIA WEST VIRGINIA BORDER WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST ENGINE POWER. I WAS IN THE PASSING LANE AND THERE WERE LARGE TRUCKS BEHIND ME AND BESIDE ME. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAM ON AND DISPLAY WAS FLASHING "ENGINE POWER LIMITED" AND "SERVICE STABILITRAK". THERE WAS NO POWER FROM THE ENGINE. I QUICKLY BEGAN TO REDUCE SPEED AND HAD TO PUT MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON AND COAST TO A SAFE STOP. I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND IT FUNCTIONED NORMALLY UNTIL I GOT HOME (30 MILES). THE NEXT DAY IT DID THE SAME THING AND I TOOK IT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS I AM NOT COMFORTABLE THAT THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. DEALER SAID IT WAS A BAD THROTTLE BODY

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/24/2015 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
I WAS DRIVING IN THE SNOW AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH WHEN THE CAR DECELERATED TO APPROX 20 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON, THE SUV STARTED SHAKING AND THE REDUCED ENGINE PERFORMANCE POP UP WAS DISPLAYED. THE DEALER IS REPLACING THE THROTTLE SENSOR DUE TO A SHORT. LUCKILY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY AT THE TIME AS GOING FROM 65 TO 20 WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS. THIS LIMP HOME/FALLBACK MODE SEEMS SORT OF ILL CONCEIVED ESPECIALLY ON ROADS ABOVE 30 MPH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds