Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 285 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (57) Steering (18) Visibility (3)
Engine (105) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (7) Structure (9) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Tires (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

8/26/2016 - PITTSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX EQUIPPED WITH MICHELIN, TIRE LINE: LATITUDE TOUR, TIRE SIZE: 235 55R/18 TIRES. DOT# M33J007X2510. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES HAD EXPERIENCED TIRE SEPARATION. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE HAD EXPOSED FABRIC FROM THE SEPARATION. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE HOWEVER, IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THE TIRES WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2016 - EWA BEACH, HI
SERVICE AIRBAG HAS BEEN ON FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS; CURRENTLY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG "OFF" IS ILLUMINATED. I AM GOING TO ASSUME THAT MEANS THE PASSENGEER AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY DURING AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE BEEN READING ONLINE AND IT SEEMS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVROLET EQUINOX AND CHEVY NOR GENERAL MOTORS HAVE PUT A RECALL ON THE DEFECTIVE AIR BAGS. DTC INCORRECT B0081 (RIGHT SIS INSTALLED) AND B0074 (PASSENGER OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SENSOR CIRCUIT) SEEMS TO BE THE CAUSE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2016 - PONTIAC, MI
CHEVROLET RELEASED THIS CAR WITH A BAD ENGINE FROM THE BEGINNING. I LITERALLY HAVE TO CHANGE THE OIL ON MY CAR EVER SINGLE WEEK. " EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION " IS WHAT THEY SAY & ONLY HAS A WARRANTY UP TO 120K. WHEN MY CAR STARTED ACTING OUT, I WAS AT 126K. IT DRIVES VERY SLUGGISH AND HORRIBLE, LIKE MY ENGINE WILL GIVE OUT AT ANY MOMENT. SOMEONE REALLY NEEDS TO ISSUE A RECALL, BECAUSE THIS AFFECTS ALL ( OR CLOSE TO) 2010 - 2011 GMC TERRAIN & CHEVROLET EQUINOX & I JUST SO HAPPEN TO HAVE AN 11' EQUINOX. I DON'T WANT TO LOSE MY CAR OVER A CLASSIC CHEVROLET SCREW UP!!!

View Details

STEERING

8/10/2016 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FEATURE NEVER WORKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND NEEDED A CODE RESET, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2016 - EWA BEACH, HI
SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AFTER PASSENGER SEAT AND AIRBAG LIGHT TURNED OFF. THE SIDE 2 PASSENGER AIRBAG KEPT GOING ON AND OFF UNTIL FINALLY IT SHUT DOWN. HAVE NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT NOR HAS THE AIRBAGS HAD A PROBLEM BEFORE. SAFETY ISSUE HERE NEEDS FIXING. MULTIPLE THINGS STARTED HAPPENING AFTER I HIT 50K MILES. TIRES LOSING AIR, PASSENGER BAG NOT WORKING AND SOUND GOING OFF AND ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2016 - COTTAGE GROVE, MN
TIMING CHAIN FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2016 - ALLEN PARK, MI
VEHICLE ENGINE STALLED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AT 35 MPH RESULTING IN IMPAIRED STEERING ABILITY, AND LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL IN A ROAD CURVE. A CRASH WAS NARROWLY AVOIDED. NO WARNING LIGHT OR OPERATOR NOTIFICATION WAS PRESENT PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT. ODB SCAN CODES INDICATED A P0010 CODE +CAMSHAFT POSITION ACTUATOR SOLENOID VALVE+. VEHICLE STALLED WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON AT LEAST 5 OTHER OCCASIONS RETURNING VEHICLE TO DEALER FOR SERVICE. SERVICE HISTORY INDICATES THE INTAKE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN 2011 DUE TO IDENTICAL FAILURE MODE AND FAULT CODE, THE EXHAUST CAMSHAFT SOLENOID FAILED WITH CODE P0011 AND WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN 2015, AND THE INTAKE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID FAILED AGAIN IN 2016 AT 34,681 TOTAL VEHICLE MILES. VEHICLE HAS BEEN OPERATED IN NOMINAL CITY DRIVING CONDITIONS WITH CONSISTENT MAINTENANCE OF THE OIL AND OIL FILTER PER THE OEM OIL LIFE MONITOR. THE THIRD FAILURE OF THE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID WAS CHARGED AT CUSTOMER EXPENSE. REPEAT FAILURE OF THE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID ACTUATOR INDICATED AN UNMITIGATED PRODUCT DESIGN ISSUE RESULTING IN ENGINE STALLS WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND IMPAIRED STEERING CONTROL.

View Details

STEERING

8/4/2016 - ALLEN PARK, MI
VEHICLE ENGINE STALLED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AT 35 MPH RESULTING IN IMPAIRED STEERING ABILITY, AND LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL IN A ROAD CURVE. A CRASH WAS NARROWLY AVOIDED. NO WARNING LIGHT OR OPERATOR NOTIFICATION WAS PRESENT PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT. ODB SCAN CODES INDICATED A P0010 CODE +CAMSHAFT POSITION ACTUATOR SOLENOID VALVE+. VEHICLE STALLED WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON AT LEAST 5 OTHER OCCASIONS RETURNING VEHICLE TO DEALER FOR SERVICE. SERVICE HISTORY INDICATES THE INTAKE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN 2011 DUE TO IDENTICAL FAILURE MODE AND FAULT CODE, THE EXHAUST CAMSHAFT SOLENOID FAILED WITH CODE P0011 AND WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN 2015, AND THE INTAKE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID FAILED AGAIN IN 2016 AT 34,681 TOTAL VEHICLE MILES. VEHICLE HAS BEEN OPERATED IN NOMINAL CITY DRIVING CONDITIONS WITH CONSISTENT MAINTENANCE OF THE OIL AND OIL FILTER PER THE OEM OIL LIFE MONITOR. THE THIRD FAILURE OF THE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID WAS CHARGED AT CUSTOMER EXPENSE. REPEAT FAILURE OF THE CAMSHAFT SOLENOID ACTUATOR INDICATED AN UNMITIGATED PRODUCT DESIGN ISSUE RESULTING IN ENGINE STALLS WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND IMPAIRED STEERING CONTROL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2016 - EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO
MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SOMETIMES WHEN I START TO ACCELERATE MY CAR IT WILL JUST DIE (EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY IN TRAFFIC!!!). IT HAS HAPPENED 9+ TIMES ALREADY AND SOME OF THOSE TIMES THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS NO LONGER ON.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2016 - EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO
MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND SOMETIMES WHEN I START TO ACCELERATE MY CAR IT WILL JUST DIE (EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY IN TRAFFIC!!!). IT HAS HAPPENED 9+ TIMES ALREADY AND SOME OF THOSE TIMES THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS NO LONGER ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds