Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 388 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (73) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (43) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seats (7) Suspension (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (157) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
CATALYTIC CONVERTER IS BAD AND THERE IS KNOCKING IN THE FUEL SYSTEM

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/29/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
CATALYTIC CONVERTER IS BAD AND THERE IS KNOCKING IN THE FUEL SYSTEM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/21/2017 - AUGUSTA, GA
WHEN EXITING THE CAR ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, I WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE MOST RECENT TIME THAT MADE ME REALIZE THE SAFETY HAZARD AT HAND WAS MONDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2017. I PARKED AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF WHILE PUTTING MY COAT ON AND MY DAUGHTER BEGAN EXITING THE PASSENGER SIDE. AS I WENT TO TAKE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ROLL FORWARD. I PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BRAKES AND IT STOPPED. BECAUSE SHE WAS HOLDING ONTO THE DOOR, IT STARTLED MY DAUGHTER AND SHE WAS SHAKEN THINKING WE WERE GOING TO HIT THE VEHICLE IN FRONT PARKED OF US. I TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND OFF, MOVED THE CAR FROM PARK TO NEUTRAL FOR APPROXIMATELY 5 MINUTES BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/21/2017 - AUGUSTA, GA
WHILE DRIVING ON A BUSY MAIN THOROUGHFARE DURING A RAINSTORM MY WINDSHILED WIPERS SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING. I QUICKLY CUT ON MY HAZARDS AND PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. MY DAUGHTER AND I COULD HEAR A MOTOR HUM WHEN I TURNED THE WIPERS ON BUT THEY NEVER MOVED. WE WERE STRANDED TO AN HOUR UNTIL THE STORM PASSED AND I COULD SEE TO DRIVE AGAIN. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A FATAL ACCIDENT HAD I NOT BEEN ABLE TO PULL OVER SO QUICKLY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2017 - SCOTTSVILLE, KY
3 COMPLAINTS CONTAINED WITHIN - COMPLAINT #1 - I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH CAM SHAFT ACTUATORS AND EXHAUST ISSUES IN THIS VEHICLE. THIS HAS CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO STALL IN BUSY INTERSECTIONS AND TO ALSO GO INTO "LIMP" MODE ON THE INTERSTATE. GOING 70MPH AND THE ENGINE GOING INTO LIMP MODE IS DANGEROUS. THANKFULLY THERE WERE ALERT DRIVER AROUND ME THAT WERE ABLE TO HELP ME GET TO THE EMERGENCY LANES SAFELY. THERE WERE RECALLS FOR THIS VEHILCE FOR SOME OF THESE ISSUES - BUT CONVENIENTLY - MY VEHICLE WAS NOT RECALLED. THREE DIFFERENT GM/CHEVROLET DEALERSHIPS HAVE WORKED ON MY VEHICLE AND HAVE CONTACTED GM ON MY BEHALF - BUT GM HAS COVERED NO FIXES AND I HAVE BEEN OUT OVER $2000 ON THESE FIXES THAT WERE COVERED UNDER RECALLS - BUT NOT ON MY VEHICLE. 2ND COMPLAINT - I NOW HAVE FUEL PUMP ISSUES. AGAIN, A RECALL WAS ISSUED IN JULY 2016 FOR FUEL PUMP ISSUES. THE RECALL IS FOR THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND ENGINE AS MINE....BUT MY VEHICLE IS NOT COVERED UNDER RECALL.....EVEN MY VEHICLE WILL STALL OUT WHILE IDLING AT INTERSECTIONS AND AGAIN - SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE CHILDREN AND DO NOT FEEL SAFE WITH THIS HAPPENING. GM SEEMS TO NOT BE CONCERNED. 3RD ISSUE - TAKATA RECALL - MY AIR BAG ALERT LIGHT WILL COME ON - BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE - YET AGAIN - MY VEHICLE SEEMS TO NOT BE ON THE LIST. SAFETY ISSUE - YES. I HAVE HAD AN OPEN CASE NUMBER WITH GM CORPORATE FOR AT LEAST 3 YEARS - BUT SUGGESTIONS ALWAYS SEEM TO BE ON MY DIME....NOT THEIRS. AT THIS POINT - MY VEHICLE IS A "LEMON" IN MY EYES...AND IF ME OR MY FAMILY GET INJURED BECAUSE OF THESE ISSUES...WELL.....

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2017 - SCOTTSVILLE, KY
3 COMPLAINTS CONTAINED WITHIN - COMPLAINT #1 - I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH CAM SHAFT ACTUATORS AND EXHAUST ISSUES IN THIS VEHICLE. THIS HAS CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO STALL IN BUSY INTERSECTIONS AND TO ALSO GO INTO "LIMP" MODE ON THE INTERSTATE. GOING 70MPH AND THE ENGINE GOING INTO LIMP MODE IS DANGEROUS. THANKFULLY THERE WERE ALERT DRIVER AROUND ME THAT WERE ABLE TO HELP ME GET TO THE EMERGENCY LANES SAFELY. THERE WERE RECALLS FOR THIS VEHILCE FOR SOME OF THESE ISSUES - BUT CONVENIENTLY - MY VEHICLE WAS NOT RECALLED. THREE DIFFERENT GM/CHEVROLET DEALERSHIPS HAVE WORKED ON MY VEHICLE AND HAVE CONTACTED GM ON MY BEHALF - BUT GM HAS COVERED NO FIXES AND I HAVE BEEN OUT OVER $2000 ON THESE FIXES THAT WERE COVERED UNDER RECALLS - BUT NOT ON MY VEHICLE. 2ND COMPLAINT - I NOW HAVE FUEL PUMP ISSUES. AGAIN, A RECALL WAS ISSUED IN JULY 2016 FOR FUEL PUMP ISSUES. THE RECALL IS FOR THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND ENGINE AS MINE....BUT MY VEHICLE IS NOT COVERED UNDER RECALL.....EVEN MY VEHICLE WILL STALL OUT WHILE IDLING AT INTERSECTIONS AND AGAIN - SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE CHILDREN AND DO NOT FEEL SAFE WITH THIS HAPPENING. GM SEEMS TO NOT BE CONCERNED. 3RD ISSUE - TAKATA RECALL - MY AIR BAG ALERT LIGHT WILL COME ON - BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE - YET AGAIN - MY VEHICLE SEEMS TO NOT BE ON THE LIST. SAFETY ISSUE - YES. I HAVE HAD AN OPEN CASE NUMBER WITH GM CORPORATE FOR AT LEAST 3 YEARS - BUT SUGGESTIONS ALWAYS SEEM TO BE ON MY DIME....NOT THEIRS. AT THIS POINT - MY VEHICLE IS A "LEMON" IN MY EYES...AND IF ME OR MY FAMILY GET INJURED BECAUSE OF THESE ISSUES...WELL.....

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2017 - CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
CHEVROLET EQUINOX 2011 USES EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL. I HAVE TO ADD OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. I KEEP EXTRA OIL ON HAND ALWAYS. THE CAR MAKES RATTLING NOISE AT START UP AND JUST DOESN'T SOUND GOOD WHEN RUNNING. IT RUNS SLUGGISHLY. I WASN'T AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. I ONLY HAD TO ADD OIL BETWEEN CHANGES TO MY PREVIOUS CAR WHEN IT WAS LEAKING ON THE GROUND. I WENT TO HAVE OIL CHANGED AND THERE WAS NONE ON THE DIPSTICK. I HAD NO IDEA. WHEN I ADD OIL THE RATTLING SEEMS TO GO AWAY FOR A WHILE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO BUY ANOTHER CAR OR REPLACE THE MOTOR IF THE OIL CONSUMPTION CAUSES THE NEED FOR THAT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2017 - CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
CHEVROLET EQUINOX 2011 USES EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL. I HAVE TO ADD OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. I KEEP EXTRA OIL ON HAND ALWAYS. THE CAR MAKES RATTLING NOISE AT START UP AND JUST DOESN'T SOUND GOOD WHEN RUNNING. IT RUNS SLUGGISHLY. I WASN'T AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. I ONLY HAD TO ADD OIL BETWEEN CHANGES TO MY PREVIOUS CAR WHEN IT WAS LEAKING ON THE GROUND. I WENT TO HAVE OIL CHANGED AND THERE WAS NONE ON THE DIPSTICK. I HAD NO IDEA. WHEN I ADD OIL THE RATTLING SEEMS TO GO AWAY FOR A WHILE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO BUY ANOTHER CAR OR REPLACE THE MOTOR IF THE OIL CONSUMPTION CAUSES THE NEED FOR THAT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/18/2017 - CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
CHEVROLET EQUINOX 2011 USES EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF OIL. I HAVE TO ADD OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. I KEEP EXTRA OIL ON HAND ALWAYS. THE CAR MAKES RATTLING NOISE AT START UP AND JUST DOESN'T SOUND GOOD WHEN RUNNING. IT RUNS SLUGGISHLY. I WASN'T AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. I ONLY HAD TO ADD OIL BETWEEN CHANGES TO MY PREVIOUS CAR WHEN IT WAS LEAKING ON THE GROUND. I WENT TO HAVE OIL CHANGED AND THERE WAS NONE ON THE DIPSTICK. I HAD NO IDEA. WHEN I ADD OIL THE RATTLING SEEMS TO GO AWAY FOR A WHILE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO BUY ANOTHER CAR OR REPLACE THE MOTOR IF THE OIL CONSUMPTION CAUSES THE NEED FOR THAT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/15/2017 - COTTONWOOD, CA
ENGINE BALANCE CHAIN WEARS AND STRETCHES, WHEN THIS HAPPENS IT WOULD CAUSE THE CHAIN TO BREAK AND CAUSING FURTHER ENGINE DAMAGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds