Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 271 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (33) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (55) Steering (16) Visibility (3)
Engine (101) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seat Belts (7) Structure (9) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (6) Tires (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/19/2016 - LYNDHURST, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. IMMEDIATELY IN THE MESSAGE AREA TWO MESSAGE WERE DISPLAYED - "REDUCE ENGINE POWER" AND SERVICE STABITRACK SOON". IMMEDIATELY THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO OVER 3000 RPM AND 50 MPH. WITHIN A MILE THE ENGINE LOST ALL POWER (LUCKILY THIS WAS AS I WAS HITTING THE EXIT RAMP OFF THE HIGHWAY). AFTER WAITING FOR A FEW MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO FIRE IT UP BUT THE ERRORS RETURNED. I LIMPED THE VEHICLE HOME AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY LOCAL GARAGE. MY MECHANIC INDICATED THERE WERE 9 ERROR CODES WHEN HE LOOKED WITH HIS SCANNER RELATED TO FUEL PRESSURE, CAM SENSORS, AND MOTOR TIMING. FURTHERMORE, SINCE I WAS DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE, HE DRAINED THE OIL PAN AND SAW I WAS NEARLY 3 QUARTS LOW ON OIL. THIS IS PUZZLING AS (1) I JUST CHECKED THE OIL TWO WEEKS AGO AND, WHILE A BIT LOW, WAS IN OPERATING RANGE AND (2) THE LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT NEVER CAME ON. AFTER READING OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND OTHER SITES THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON OCCURRENCE. SO NOW I HAVE A VEHICLE WITH 63,000 MILES THAT MY MECHANIC SAYS HAS SIGNIFICANT ENGINE DAMAGE (TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS, CAM SENSORS, FUEL PUMP). THIS IS VERY DIFFICULT FOR ME TO BELIEVE SINCE THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHTS THAT CAME ON FOR LOW OIL AND AT THIS RELATIVELY LOW MILEAGE. MY ONLY ALTERNATIVES ARE TO PONY UP FOR THE PARTS (AND HOPE THE PISTONS/SEALS ARE UNDAMAGED) OR REPLACE THE MOTOR. I ALSO THINK ITS QUITE DANGEROUS FOR THE MOTOR TO JUST CUT OUT LIKE THIS WITHOUT MORE ADVANCE WARNING (I WAS LUCKY I WAS ALREADY GETTING OFF THE HIGHWAY). NEEDLESS TO SAY MY CONFIDENCE WITH GM IS PRETTY MUCH GONE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2016 - SYLVANIA, OH
VEHICLE STALLED WHEN ENGAGING DRIVE GEAR. CODE INDICATES ENGINE VARIABLE TIMING SOLENOID INTAKE TO BE REPLACES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2016 - SYLVANIA, OH
VEHICLE STALLED WHEN ENGAGING DRIVE GEAR. CODE INDICATES ENGINE VARIABLE TIMING SOLENOID INTAKE TO BE REPLACES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2016 - HAMLET, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY WITH AN 18 WHEELER BEHIND ME, THE VEHICLE STOPPED GOING FORWARD WHEN I PUSHED ON THE GAS. IT WAS STILL RUNNING BUT HAD NO POWER AND BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN TO NOTHING. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, BUT WAS ALMOST RUN OVER DUE TO THE SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER. I CUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, BUT IT WOULD ONLY MAKE A CLICKING SOUND. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP WE TOWED IT TO, THE TIMING CHAIN SLIPPED AND RUINED THE MOTOR. THIS IS A 2011 VEHICLE WITH ONLY 73000 MILES ON IT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED AND SINCE WE MADE OUR FINAL PAYMENT LAST MONTH, NONE OF IT IS UNDER WARRANTY. SURELY THIS IS NOT TYPICAL OF THIS VEHICLE AND THE CHEVROLET COMPANY CAN STAND BEHIND THIS REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2016 - HAMLET, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY WITH AN 18 WHEELER BEHIND ME, THE VEHICLE STOPPED GOING FORWARD WHEN I PUSHED ON THE GAS. IT WAS STILL RUNNING BUT HAD NO POWER AND BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN TO NOTHING. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, BUT WAS ALMOST RUN OVER DUE TO THE SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER. I CUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, BUT IT WOULD ONLY MAKE A CLICKING SOUND. ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP WE TOWED IT TO, THE TIMING CHAIN SLIPPED AND RUINED THE MOTOR. THIS IS A 2011 VEHICLE WITH ONLY 73000 MILES ON IT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED AND SINCE WE MADE OUR FINAL PAYMENT LAST MONTH, NONE OF IT IS UNDER WARRANTY. SURELY THIS IS NOT TYPICAL OF THIS VEHICLE AND THE CHEVROLET COMPANY CAN STAND BEHIND THIS REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2016 - SOUTH LYON, MI
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. 1QT PER 1,250 MILES. NEEDS MAJOR ENGINE REPAIRS AT LESS THAN 86,000 MILES. I'VE HEARD THAT IF ALLOWED TO CONTINUE THAT ENGINE CAN STALL WHILE DRIVING. THIS COULD BE A DANGEROUS CONDITION IF STALLING WHILE TRAVELLING AT MAXIMUM HIGHWAY SPEEDS. DRIVER COULD LOSE STEERING CONTROL.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2016 - GOULDSBORO, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, A LOUD BANGING NOISE WAS HEARD UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE WHEN THE GEARS WERE SHIFTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION, CATALYTIC CONVERTER, AND ENGINE CHAIN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2016 - GOULDSBORO, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, A LOUD BANGING NOISE WAS HEARD UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE WHEN THE GEARS WERE SHIFTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION, CATALYTIC CONVERTER, AND ENGINE CHAIN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2016 - COMMACK, NY
MY 2011 EQUINOX HAD A LOUD BANGING SOUND IN THE ENGINE. THE OIL WAS CHANGED AT 104K AND IS NOW AT 109K. CAR BROKE DOWN IN DRIVEWAY. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY COULD FIND A LEAK OR BURNING OF OIL. THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NOT ONE DROP OF OIL LEFT AND THE TIMING CHAIN AND GUIDES WERE RUINED. THE DEALERSHIP BLAMED JIFFY LUBE BY SAYING THEY DID NOT PUT SUFFICIENT OIL IN THE CAR; AND JIFFY LUBE BLAMED CHEVROLET STATING THEY KNOW THEY HAVE ENGINE ISSUES IN THIS MODEL (THE CARS "EAT" OIL) THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS WANT TO OPEN THE MOTOR UP FOR 2K TO SEE IF IT IS A DEFECT IN THE MODEL. I AM NOT WILLING TO PAY THIS. TWO YEARS AGO THEY HAD TO REBUILD THE CYLINDER HEAD BECAUSE OF A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT.

View Details

SEATS

4/17/2016 - LOWELL, IN
THE HEADRESTS ON THIS CAR PUSH MY HEAD SO FAR FORWARD THAT I HAVE TERRIBLE PAIN WHILE DRIVING. I ALSO CANNOT SEE WHERE I AM GOING DUE TO THE EXTREME ANGLE OF MY HEAD JUTTING FORWARD. NOT TOO SAFE--ANY REASONABLE PERSON CAN FIGURE THIS OUT. IN ADDITION, THE CAR IS BURNING EXCESSIVE OIL. ALSO, WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE AFTER SLOWING DOWN IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, IT BOGS. AGAIN, NOT VERY SAFE. THIS CAR IS A PIECE OF CRAP--NEVER AGAIN WILL I GET A CHEVROLET. THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds