Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 247 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (9) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (48) Steering (15) Visibility (3)
Engine (87) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seat Belts (6) Structure (8) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (5) Tires (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/5/2016 - TULSA, OK
THE MOTOR MOUNTS ON MY 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX ARE EITHER LOOSE OR ARE MISSING IN MY CAR. THE MOTOR SHAKES WHEN I COME TO A STOP AND WHEN I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND HIT MY BRAKES AGAIN THE SHAKING STOPS, AND MY CAR SOUNDS LIKE IT IS MISSING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/2/2016 - GOSHEN, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE 35R CLUTCH WAVE PLATE HAD FAILED CAUSING THE TRANSMISSION TO FAIL AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/26/2016 - WHITING, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ENGAGED AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SEE IN FRONT OF HER AND HAD TO ROLL THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW DOWN TO SEE THE ROAD. THE CONTACT EXITED THE HIGHWAY AND DROVE THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BALL POPPED OUT OF SOCKET ON THE WINDSHIELD MECHANISM. THE MECHANIC POPPED THE BALL BACK INTO THE SOCKET. THE WINDSHILED WIPERS WORKED AS DESIGNED; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT DID NOT USE THE WIPERS AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE DISPLAY ON THE DASH DISPLAYED THE WORDS "POWERING DOWN" AND THEN THE CAR PROCEEDS TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP. ALL WHILE I'M DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN TRAFFIC. THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP IN MCKINNEY, EL DORADO, ADVISED ME THAT THE ENGINE SIMPLY FELL APART AND BROKE. I JUST GOT A TUNE UP AND OIL CHANGE WITHIN THE PAST 60 DAYS...HOW CAN AN ENGINE JUST FALL APART WITH NO INDICATION, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO SMOKE, ETC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/18/2016 - ALEXANDER, AR
FRONT WINDOW DEFROSTER DOES NOT DEFROST OR DEFOG FRONT WINDSHIELD.WINDSHIELD FOGS IF THERE IS ANY MOISTURE

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2016 - DUNDEE, MI
FOR THE SECOND TIME SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE CAR NEW MAJOR ENGINE WORK WAS UNDERTAKEN. 1ST WAS A TIMING CHAIN WEAR ISSUE CAUSING ENGINE NOISE AT ABOUT 50K MILES. NEXT WAS A NEAR TOTAL ENGINE REBUILD DUE TO EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION WHERE RINGS, BEARINGS, PISTONS ETC AT GM WARRANTY COST. ALL EXCEPT FOR CAM ACTUATORS FOR WHICH I WAS CHARGED $391. I PICKED UP THE CAR AND ALL SEEMED FINE. WITHIN 100 MILES OF PICKING UP THE CAR THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND A P0420 ENGINE CODE WAS LOGGED. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER WHEN I IMMEDIATELY RETURNED IT TO SEE WHAT HAD BEEN DONE WRONG THAT I NEEDED A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTER, OXYGEN SENSORS AND NEW CAM ACTUATORS. (I JUST PAID $391 TO HAVE THEM REPLACED LESS THAN A WEEK AGO!!!) THE DEALER AND GM CUSTOMER SERVICE REFUSED TO ACCEPT THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILURE WAS DUE TO THE WARRANTY COVERED EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION OR POSSIBLY NOT FOLLOWING THE DETAILED BLOCK CLEANING, AND RINSING PROCEDURE DESCRIBED IN THE TSB FOR THE ENGINE REBUILD. I TOOK THE COMPLAINT TO GM CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CONTACTED THE DEALER AND THEY STATED I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW CONVERTER AND I REFUSED SERVICE SO I HAVE NO RECOURSE BUT CONTACT MY AFTERMARKET WARRANTY MY DEALER PUSHED ON ME WHO HAS ALREADY REFUSED TO PAY FOR ANY FAILURES BECAUSE GM IN THEIR OPINION HAS ADMITTED FAULT BY ACKNOWLEDGING THEY HAVE A KNOWN OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE. SO I HAVE NO IDEA IF THE ORIGINAL REPAIR WAS DONE CORRECTLY, DO I REALLY NEED CAM ACTUATORS OR WERE THEY NEVER REPLACED IN THE FIRST PLACE? I WOULD GET RID OF THE VEHICLE IF I WAS NOT SO UPSIDE DOWN DUE TO THE WASTED MONEY I LET THE DEALER PUSH ON THE EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT HAS BEEN PROVED WORTHLESS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/10/2016 - CAMERON PARK, CA
AFTER ONLY 5 YEARS OF USE, I BELIEVE THAT THE BLENDER DOOR HAS STUCK IN THE CLOSED POSITION AND THE FRONT AND DRIVER-PASSENGER SIDE WINDOWS HAVE FOGGED UP TO THE POINT THAT DRIVER CANNOT CONTINUE DRIVING. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SITUATION THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO PREVENT A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. VEHICLE WAS MOVING WHILE ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2016 - MENTOR ON THE LAKE, OH
WAS DRIVING THE CAR AT APPROXIMATELY 40MPH WHEN THE ENGINE SHOOK AND SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 30MPH AND THE RPMS SHOT UP TO 5,000. I JUST GOT THE VEHICLE BACK FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAD JUST REPLACED THE BALANCE SHAFT CHAIN AND TENSIONER & HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP TO HOPEFULLY REMEDY THE SAME PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED WITH APPRX 52K MILES. 11/27/15. I FIRST BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN ON 12/11/15 AND IT WAS RETURED AFTER 4 DAYS AND NOT BEING ABLE TO "RECREATE" THE PROBLEM. I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 1/4/2016 FOR THE SAME PROBLEM WHICH OCCURED ON NEW YEARS DAY. I JUST GOT THE CAR BACK AFTER REPAIRS ON 1/7/16 AND NOW TWO DAYS LATER THE PROBLEM HAS AGAIN OCCURED. THE LAST TIME IN THE SHOP THEY ALSO COULD NOT "DUPLICATE" THE ISSUE AFTER DRIVING APPRX 50 MILES, BUT I POINTED OUT THAT THE OIL WAS VERY DIRTY AND SMELLED LIKE GASOLINE WHICH THEY CHECKED AND CONFIRMED AND DID THE REPAIRS OF THE FUEL PUMP AND BALANCE CHAIN. THE ENGINE ISSUE IS STILL NOT RESOLVED AND I WILL BE RETURNING THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN ON MONDAY. I JUST GOT PLATES TODAY BECAUSE MY 30 DAY TAG JUST EXPIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2016 - KANKAKEE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, IT SHOOK AND THE CHECK ENGINE REDUCED POWER LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WOULD ONLY ACCELERATE TO APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/4/2016 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
I WAS IN CITY STREETS GOING 30 MPH AT MOST, 19 DEGREES IN MINNESOTA AND IT SHOWS REDUCED ENGINE POWER AND STABILTRACK OFF AS TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. THE ENGINE STARTS SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND I PULL OVER, RESTART IT AND IT GOES FOR A FEW BLOCKS AND THEN THE SAME WARNINGS COME ON (ENGINE LIGHT HAS GONE OFF AND ON INTERMITTENTLY FOR A FEW MONTHS WITH NO ISSUES.) AS MENTIONED, SPEED REDUCTION WAS STATED ON SCREEN AND I DRIVE SLOWLY AND WAS ONLY ABLE TO ACCELERATE SLOWLY. I JUST WENT THROUGH A CHEVROLET FORUM AND SEE THAT I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO'S HAD THESE SAME ISSUES AND LIGHTS AND WARNINGS POP UP ON THE SCREEN. LUCKILY I WAS NOT ON A HIGHWAY OR UNDER ANY OTHER SCARIER CONDITIONS AND WAS CLOSE TO HOME. MANY OTHERS HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO TRY AND REMEDY THIS ISSUE AND, PER THE FORUM, HAVE ONLY BEEN ABLE TO DO THAT AFTER AT LEAST HAVING THE WARRANTY TO PAY FOR IT. HERE'S THE LINK TO THE EXTENSIVE FORUM: HTTP://CHEVROLETFORUM.COM/FORUM/MALIBU-15/VERY-DANGEROUS-REDUCED-ENGINE-POWER-ISSUE-62499/PAGE27/ I DON'T WANT TO BE A/THE CASUALTY THAT MAKES THIS ISSUE MORE IMMEDIATE. FURTHERMORE, I DON'T WANT TO BE THE CAUSE OF INJURY TO ANY OTHERS BECAUSE OF THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds