Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2011 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seats (2) Steering (15) Tires (3)
Electrical System (16) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (7) Structure (7) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (6) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/5/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
I GRABBED THE DOOR HANDLE TO OPEN MY CHEVY 2011 HHR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR TO EXIT MY VEHICLE AND THE HANDLE COMPLETELY BROKE OFF!!! I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF THING HAPPEN BEFORE AND AM NOT SURE WHY A CAR MANUFACTURER WOULD BE ALLOWED TO MAKE ONE OF THE MOST INTEGRAL PARTS OF A VEHICLE OUT OF CHEAP MATERIAL. TO ADD INSULT TO INJURY, THE DEALERSHIP IS HINTING THAT I MAY HAVE TO BEAR THE RESPONSIBILITY OF PAYING SOMETHING TO FIX THIS ISSUE BY BRINGING THE CAR IN TO SEE IF THE ISSUE IS COVERED BY AN EXTENDED WARRANTY OR COVERED AT ALL. THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE A RECALL NO BRAINER, I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO COVER THE COST TO FIX THIS IN ANY WAY. ALSO TO MY SURPRISE, THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON COMPLAINT AMONGST CHEVY 2006-2011 HHR OWNERS WHERE THEY HAVE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIPS THAT IT WOULD COST THEM BETWEEN 300 & 400 DOLLARS TO "REPLACE THE ENTIRE DOOR PANEL" OR THEY HAVE BEEN TOLD BY GM THAT A "DIAGNOSTIC" HAS TO BE DONE THAT MIGHT COST THEM OUT OF POCKET MONEY. BOTH SCENARIOS ARE ABSOLUTELY INSANE. I AM NOT SURE WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN MADE A RECALL ISSUE, THEREBY FORCING GM TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AT NO COST TO THE CONSUMER???? IT IS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE AS WELL AS SAFETY ISSUE. IF SOMETHING HAPPENS AND I NEED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE QUICKLY, I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DO IT. ALSO, I LIVE IN CHICAGO AND AS EVERYONE KNOWS IT IS COMING UPON THE WINTER SEASON AND IF LAST YEAR WAS ANY INDICATION, WE COULD BE IN FOR ANOTHER BRUTAL WINTER WHERE BELOW ZERO TEMPERATURES HAVE A FREEZING EFFECT ON POWER WINDOWS, WHICH IS MY CURRENT METHOD OF EXITING THE VEHICLE. I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN MAR. OF 2014 AND THIS IS NOT SOMETHING I WOULD HAVE KNOWN TO EVEN CONSIDER TO THINK ABOUT BECAUSE I THOUGHT THIS IS THE KIND OF THING THAT YOUR AGENCY SHOULD BE ON TOP OF. PLEASE HELP!!!

View Details

STEERING

11/4/2014 - PORTER, TX
THE RADIO HAS BEEN GOING OUT WHEN I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. IT WOULDN'T DO IT WHEN I TOOK IT IN BUT THEN WE HAD THE RECALL OF THE IGNITION SWITCH. THAT WAS REPAIRED AND IT'S GOTTEN WORSE. THIS MORNING IT POPPED AND SIZE LED IN THE DASH AND THRU THE RADIO EVEN AFTER TURNING THE RADIO AND CAR OFF. IT DID START BACK UP BUT EVERY TIME I HIT A BUMP THE RADIO MAY GO OUT. I CALLED CHEV AND THEY CAN'T GET ME IN UNTIL 11/17. THIS IS MY ONLY VEHICLE. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THESE HHR ELECTRIC SYSTEMS. SOMEBODY NEEDS TO FIND THE PROBLEM AND FIX IT.

View Details

STEERING

10/31/2014 - LAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN AS THE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUSE WAS BLOWN AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,645.

View Details

TIRES

10/8/2014 - FREDERICK, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR EQUIPPED WITH PRIMEWELL PS830 TIRES (NA), SIZE 215/55/R16 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRES LOST AIR PRESSURE AND WERE OUT OF ROUND. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE AND ADDED AIR TO THE TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE TIRE AND VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,798.

View Details

TIRES

10/4/2014 - YUMA, AZ
TIRE SEPARATED FROM TUBE CAUSING SEVER DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. TIRE #DOT V6B2AA7(2510) D581 P215/55R16

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/10/2014 - ANTHEM, AZ
WHILE DRIVING ON DRY EVEN PAVEMENT THE ESC LIGHT/SYSTEM KICKED IN ON MY 2011 HHR CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE THROTTLE AND BRAKES. LUCKILY, NO OTHER CARS OR PEDESTRIANS WERE NEAR ME OR THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR WAS UNDRIVEABLE UNTIL THE IGNITION THIS TURNED COMPLETELY OFF AND ON AGAIN. I HAD IT CHECKED AND NO ERROR CODES WERE STORED ON THE ECM/BCM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM!! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED TO ME AND I MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY THE NEXT TIME!

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2014 - ANTHEM, AZ
WHILE DRIVING ON DRY EVEN PAVEMENT THE ESC LIGHT/SYSTEM KICKED IN ON MY 2011 HHR CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE THROTTLE AND BRAKES. LUCKILY, NO OTHER CARS OR PEDESTRIANS WERE NEAR ME OR THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR WAS UNDRIVEABLE UNTIL THE IGNITION THIS TURNED COMPLETELY OFF AND ON AGAIN. I HAD IT CHECKED AND NO ERROR CODES WERE STORED ON THE ECM/BCM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM!! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED TO ME AND I MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY THE NEXT TIME!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/10/2014 - ANTHEM, AZ
WHILE DRIVING ON DRY EVEN PAVEMENT THE ESC LIGHT/SYSTEM KICKED IN ON MY 2011 HHR CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE THROTTLE AND BRAKES. LUCKILY, NO OTHER CARS OR PEDESTRIANS WERE NEAR ME OR THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR WAS UNDRIVEABLE UNTIL THE IGNITION THIS TURNED COMPLETELY OFF AND ON AGAIN. I HAD IT CHECKED AND NO ERROR CODES WERE STORED ON THE ECM/BCM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM!! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED TO ME AND I MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY THE NEXT TIME!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/10/2014 - PRESCOTT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/10/2014 - PRESCOTT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds