Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2011 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seats (2) Structure (7) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine (10) Seat Belts (3) Steering (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2015 - DIAMONDHEAD , MS
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SWITCHING THE SHIFTER TO THE PARK POSITION, THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACKWARDS DOWN A SMALL INCLINE AND INTO THE STREET. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE REDUCED POWER WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/25/2015 - PENSACOLA, FL
POWER STEERING FAILED TO OPERATE WHILE PARKING. THIS HAPPENED WHILE TEACHING MY WIFE HOW TO DRIVE. SHE WAS PRACTICING 3 POINT PARKING. UPON TURNING THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT PRIOR TO BACKING UP IT FELT LIKE THE STEERING OF A 53 CHEVROLET, THEN AFTER BACKING INTO THE DRIVE WAY IT WOULD NOT COME BACK STRAIGHT. BEING A RETIRED MECHANIC I WAS VERY SURPRISED THAT A CAR WITH ONLY 17000 MILES WOULD HAVE SUCH A PROBLEM. BUT AFTER INVESTIGATING THE INTERNET, I FOUND THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SEEMS TO WORK OK THOUGH WITH NORMAL DRIVING, BUT WHAT WILL HAPPEN IN THE EVENT OF THE NECESSITY TO TURN SHARPLY ALL OF A SUDDEN, I HAVE NO IDEA AND I DON'T CARE TO FIND OUT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/20/2015 - ARLINGTON, TX
WHILE DRIVING A KM/H LIGHT CAME ON ON THE DASH... EVERYTHING CONVERTED TO KHP... I NOW HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO CLUE ON HOW FAST/SLOW IM DRIVING... GOT TO MY DESTINATION AND TOOK A LOOK AT MY OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE IF MAYBE THERE WAS A WAY TO SWITCH BACK TO MPH... AND GO FIGURE... FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO A T... AND IT DOESNT WORK... COULDNT PUT IN MY MILEAGE AT THE TOP OF THIS FORM BECAUSE IT ASKS FOR MPH AND SUDDENLY MY DASH IS ONLY PUTTING OUT KM/H

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/13/2015 - GILBERT, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AND BOTH REAR DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK WITH THE KEY FOB. THE POWER LOCKS MALFUNCTIONED AND HAD TO BE UNLOCKED MANUALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES, BUT COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/13/2015 - GILBERT, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AND BOTH REAR DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK WITH THE KEY FOB. THE POWER LOCKS MALFUNCTIONED AND HAD TO BE UNLOCKED MANUALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES, BUT COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHILE EXITING THE PARKING LOT, PULLING ONTO THE STREET, MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR SWUNG OPEN AND I NEARLY FELL OUT OF THE CAR HAD IT NOT BEEN FOR MY SEAT BELT.THE\AT WAS 3 MONTHS AGO. IT HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND PULLING OUT OF A STORE PARKING LOT ONTO THE MAIN ROAD, MY DOOR FLEW OPEN ON ME AGAIN, IT SCARED THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS OUT OF ME.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/27/2015 - OMAHA, NE
BEFORE I KNEW ABOUT THE RECALLS, I HAD AN ACCIDENT THAT REALLY SCARED ME. I WAS ON MY WAY TO PICK UP MY DAUGHTER FROM SCHOOL. ALL OF A SUDDEN, I STEERING WHEEL JERKED TO THE RIGHT AND LOCKED. I HIT A LIGHT POLE. THE IMPACT OF THE CRASH SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED THE AIRBAGS, BUT DID NOT. SEAT BELTS EXPLODED. THE COP SAID I SHOULDN'T BE WALKING AND TO GET THIS CHECKED OUT. SINCE THEN, I HAVE HAD TWO RECALL REPAIRS AND NOW NEED ANOTHER REPAIR. ON VETERANS DAY, 2014, I WAS GIVEN A CAR FROM THE VFW AND PROGRESSIVE AS A PART OF THEIR "KEYS TO PROGRESS PROGRAM. SINCE THEN, THE HHR HAS BEEN DRIVEN MAYBE 3 TIMES. NO ONE WANTS TO DRIVE IT, I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, BECAUSE ITS JUST SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY. MY KIDS WON'T DRIVE IT EITHER. IF YOU CAN HELP ME IN ANY WAY, I WOULD BE GRATEFUL. I AM HAVING TROUBLE MAKING THE PAYMENTS TOO, BECAUSE I AM GOING THROUGH A DIVORCE.

View Details

STEERING

1/27/2015 - OMAHA, NE
BEFORE I KNEW ABOUT THE RECALLS, I HAD AN ACCIDENT THAT REALLY SCARED ME. I WAS ON MY WAY TO PICK UP MY DAUGHTER FROM SCHOOL. ALL OF A SUDDEN, I STEERING WHEEL JERKED TO THE RIGHT AND LOCKED. I HIT A LIGHT POLE. THE IMPACT OF THE CRASH SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED THE AIRBAGS, BUT DID NOT. SEAT BELTS EXPLODED. THE COP SAID I SHOULDN'T BE WALKING AND TO GET THIS CHECKED OUT. SINCE THEN, I HAVE HAD TWO RECALL REPAIRS AND NOW NEED ANOTHER REPAIR. ON VETERANS DAY, 2014, I WAS GIVEN A CAR FROM THE VFW AND PROGRESSIVE AS A PART OF THEIR "KEYS TO PROGRESS PROGRAM. SINCE THEN, THE HHR HAS BEEN DRIVEN MAYBE 3 TIMES. NO ONE WANTS TO DRIVE IT, I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, BECAUSE ITS JUST SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY. MY KIDS WON'T DRIVE IT EITHER. IF YOU CAN HELP ME IN ANY WAY, I WOULD BE GRATEFUL. I AM HAVING TROUBLE MAKING THE PAYMENTS TOO, BECAUSE I AM GOING THROUGH A DIVORCE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2015 - HEMLOCK, MI
I WAS DRIVING 55MPH WHEN MY REDUCED POWER LIGHT CAME ON AND MY CAR WOULDN'T GO OVER 40 MPH WITH MY GAS PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THE NEXT DAY PULLED THE BATTERY CABLE AND LET IT RESET. DROVE FINE FOR 3 MILES AND THEN DID THE SAME THING. REDUCED POWER CAME ON AND WOULDN'T GO OVER 40MPH. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND YOUR CAR SUDDENLY SLOWS DOWN AND THERE ARE CARS BEHIND YOU AND YOU CAN'T GET OVER!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds