Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2011 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 106 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (17) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (13) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (16) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/14/2016 - YPSILANTI, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE REDUCE ENGINE POWER WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, IT RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,497.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/8/2015 - OSPREY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE FRACTURED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE AFTER ACCESSING THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/16/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT, AS A SAFTY CONCERN / HAZARD NOTICE, ASSOCIATED WITH MY 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW BY ME, AND HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS. THIS COMPLAINT CONCERNS THE MECHANICAL FAILURE OF THE VEHICLES DRIVERS SIDE, REAR DOOR LATCH. ON NOVEMBER 12, 2015, AFTER PICKING UP MY DOG FROM THE GROOMER, I PLACED HER INTO HER CARRIER, LOCATED BEHIND THE DRIVERS SEAT. I CLOSED THE DOOR, AND PROCEEDED TO DRIVE OUT OF THE PARKING LOT. AS I BEGAN TO PULL OUT, ONTO THE ROADWAY, I GLANCED AT MY OUTSIDE REARVIEW MIRROR, AND NOTICED THAT THE DOOR HAD PARTIALLY OPENED. I IMMEDIATELY STOPPED, THINKING THAT I HAD POSSIBLY NOT CLOSED THE DOOR SECURELY, OR THAT THERE WAS POSSIBLY SOMETHING IN THE WAY THAT PREVENTED THE DOOR FROM LATCHING CLOSED. EXITING THE VEHICLE, I LOOKED FOR ANYTHING THAT COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE WAY, BUT THERE WAS NOTHING. I ATTEMPTED TO FIRMLY "CLOSE" THE DOOR, HOWEVER, THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH CLOSED. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME WHILE MY WIFE HELD THE DOOR CLOSED WITH OUR DOG LEASH ATTACHED TO IT. AFTER RETURNING HOME, I WAS ABLE TO EXERCISE AND EXAMINE THE DOOR LATCH, AND CONCLUDED THAT IT IN FACT HAD "MECHANICALLY FAILED". THE DOOR LATCH WOULD HAVE TO BE REMOVED AND REPLACED. I CONTACTED BRAD'S COLLISION CENTER ( 22202 N. 19TH AVE., PHOENIX, AZ 85027 ), IN THE AFTERNOON, TO HAVE THE LATCH LOOKED AT, AND CONFIRM MY CONCLUSION THAT IT HAD FAILED. THE INSPECTOR AGREED ( COMMENTING THAT THIS FAILURE WAS "VERY RARE" ). AT THIS POINT, I MADE ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE LATCH REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT, TO BE DONE ON 11/13/15. THE DOOR LATCH WAS REPLACED. A COPY OF THE REPAIR ORDER IS INCLUDED. THE FAILED REAR DOOR LATCH WAS RETURNED TO ME, AND I WILL STORE IT, IN THE EVENT THAT THE NHTSA WOULD WANT IT / NEED IT, TO PERFORM A FAILURE ANALYSIS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/15/2015 - PITTSBORO, NC
WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 45 MILES PER HOUR , ALL OF A SUDDEN IN THE DIC A ESC ACTIVE STARTED FLASHING AND MY CAR START LOSING SPEED AND IT FELT LIKE THE TRACTION KICKED IN. I IMMEDIATELY LOOKED DOWN TO MAKE SURE IT HAD NOT JUMPED OUT OF GEAR. IT WAS IN THE CORRECT GEAR. THE ESC ACTIVE WENT AWAY AFTER ABOUT 45 SECONDS, AND ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD IT DID THE SAME THING AGAIN AND I HAD TO PUT ON MU EMERGENCY FLASHERS AND PULL OFF THE ROAD. BY THE TIME I GOT IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD , THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO LOCK UP AND IT ACT LIKE IT DID NOT WANT TO STOP WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES. BY THIS TIME THE SPEED HAD DROPPED TO ABOUT 15 MILES PER HOUR. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WHEN THIS HAPPEN WAS DRY , AND THE TIRES AND THE BRAKES ON MY CAR WAS IN GOOD WORKING CONDITION. ONCE IT WAS TOWED TO MY HOUSE I DROVE IT AROUND MY NEIGHBORHOOD ABOUT 5 TIMES AND NOTHING HAPPENED. I AM TOO SCARED TO DO IN HIGHWAY DRIVING OF THIS CAR, BECAUSE IF IT HAPPENS WHILE I AM ON THE INTERSTATE DRIVING I COULD POSSIBILITY BE IN A ACCIDENT IF THIS HAPPENS. I HAVE READ OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT THIS HAPPENING , BUT HAVE NOT GOT ANY REASONS TO WHY THIS IS HAPPENING. THE CAR HAS ROUGHLY 87570 MILES ON IT. I WILL BE CONTACTING THE CHEVROLET PEOPLE TOMORROW, BEFORE I TAKE IT TO A REPAIR SHOP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/14/2015 - HOWELL, MI
IN COLDER TEMPERATURES MY CAR SPUTTERS WHEN ACCELERATING AND RPMS JUMP QUICKLY FROM 2 TO 3 AND THEN BACK DOWN. IN ADDITION, THE RADIO MAY TURN OFF, ALL DASH GAUGES (FUEL, SPEED, RPMS) GO TO 0, VARIOUS SERVICE LIGHTS COME ON (NOT ALWAYS THE SAME) AND THEN EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL. CAR WORKS FINE IN WARMER TEMPERATURES. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 2013 AND WHEN PLUGGED IN THERE WERE REPORTS IF 20 THINGS WRONG AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM AND SAID IT WOULD COST THOUSAND TO CHECK ALL OF THE ISSUES BEING REPORTED. I CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALTHOUGH THEY WERE VERY NICE THEY WEREN'T ABLE TO HELP DETERMINE WHAT THE ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE WAS. I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER SERVICE PLACE AND WHILE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE ULTIMATE PROBLEM THEY PUT DIELECTRIC GREASE ON ALL MY ELECTRONIC CONNECTIONS IN THE FUSE BOX UNDER THE HOOD AND IT WORKED FINE THE REST IF THE WINTER. THEY SAID IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I CAME IN WHEN I DID BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT IF I DROVE IT ANY LONGER I WOULD HAVE DESTROYED THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. IN 2014, I HAD THEM DO THE SAME "FIX". NOW IN 2015 IT HAS STARTED BACK UP AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/14/2015 - HOWELL, MI
IN COLDER TEMPERATURES MY CAR SPUTTERS WHEN ACCELERATING AND RPMS JUMP QUICKLY FROM 2 TO 3 AND THEN BACK DOWN. IN ADDITION, THE RADIO MAY TURN OFF, ALL DASH GAUGES (FUEL, SPEED, RPMS) GO TO 0, VARIOUS SERVICE LIGHTS COME ON (NOT ALWAYS THE SAME) AND THEN EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL. CAR WORKS FINE IN WARMER TEMPERATURES. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 2013 AND WHEN PLUGGED IN THERE WERE REPORTS IF 20 THINGS WRONG AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM AND SAID IT WOULD COST THOUSAND TO CHECK ALL OF THE ISSUES BEING REPORTED. I CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALTHOUGH THEY WERE VERY NICE THEY WEREN'T ABLE TO HELP DETERMINE WHAT THE ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE WAS. I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER SERVICE PLACE AND WHILE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE ULTIMATE PROBLEM THEY PUT DIELECTRIC GREASE ON ALL MY ELECTRONIC CONNECTIONS IN THE FUSE BOX UNDER THE HOOD AND IT WORKED FINE THE REST IF THE WINTER. THEY SAID IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I CAME IN WHEN I DID BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT IF I DROVE IT ANY LONGER I WOULD HAVE DESTROYED THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. IN 2014, I HAD THEM DO THE SAME "FIX". NOW IN 2015 IT HAS STARTED BACK UP AGAIN.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/13/2015 - JACKSON, TN
TAKATA RECALL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED FOR LONGER THAN TWO DAYS WITHOUT WARNING. THE SKID CONTROL WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS, INCLUDING THE BRAKE LIGHT. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SHAKING AND VIBRATING RANDOMLY IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2015 - JACKSON, TN
TAKATA RECALL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED FOR LONGER THAN TWO DAYS WITHOUT WARNING. THE SKID CONTROL WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS, INCLUDING THE BRAKE LIGHT. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SHAKING AND VIBRATING RANDOMLY IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/13/2015 - LITTLE ROCK, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP AND REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE DETAILS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 54,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/5/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 75,602.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds