Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2011 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (20) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (19) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (20) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/18/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A LOUD POPPING NOISE OCCURRED AND ALL THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE INTERIOR DOME LIGHT AND THE HEADLINER DETACHED FROM THE CEILING OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MONUMENT CHEVROLET (3940 PASADENA FWY, PASADENA, TX 77503) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT PROVIDED INFORMATION FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST, BUT WAS INFORMED TO CONTACT THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND LEFT A VOICEMAIL FOR A CALL BACK, BUT THERE HAD BEEN NO RESPONSE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2017 - APTALLA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BY DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE DID NOT SHUT OFF, BUT LOST POWER COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS INITIALLY TAKEN TO FROST AND FROST OF GADSDEN, ALABAMA WHERE THE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEVAN LOWES OF GADSDEN, ALABAMA WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER AND THE DRIVE CLUTCH WERE FAULTY THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. UPDATED 08/22/17

View Details

STEERING

6/16/2017 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN MY STREET SOUTH HARMONY ROAD IN BLOOMINGTON MY POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON I LOST CONTROL I WAS FORCED TO THE RIGHT INTO A DITCH OVER A DRIVEWAY BACK INTO THE DITCH AND I WOUND UP SIDEWAYS IN MY STREET SLAMMED INTO A TREE. I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 HHR AS I UNDERSTAND IT ALL THE HHR'S OF 2010 HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THEIR POWER STEERING I DID GO TO DEALERS I WAS TURNED AWAY AS TO LEAVE I CALLED UM OVER AND OVER AGAIN I WAS BLOWN OFF I WAS NOT BEING TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND AS A RESULT I AM NOW WITHOUT A CAR WE ARE ON DISABILITY UNABLE TO AFFORD ANOTHER CAR AND THEIR IDEA OF HELPING ME IS A $2,000 VOUCHER TOWARDS A NEW CAR THAT'S NOT ACCEPTABLE I HAVE A LETTER THAT STATES IT WAS THEIR FAULT NOT MINE THAT IT WAS A RESULT OF THE POWER STEERING AND I WANT MY CAR REPLACED AND THEY'RE REFUSING TO DO SO SO AS A RESULT NOW MY FAMILY HAS NO WAY TO GET AROUND TO GM'S FAULT I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD REPLACE MY CAR OR AT LEAST GIVE ME ABOUT YOUR WORTH AT LEAST $10,000 TO BE ABLE TO REPLACE MY VEHICLE BUT SO FAR AFTER THE VOUCHER NOBODY'S RETURNING MY CALLS THERE'S SOME MISSING CDR DATA OR CD RX I'M NOT EXACTLY SURE I'M CONFUSED INTO THE WHOLE THING THEY'RE NOT TELLING ME THE WHOLE STORY I BELIEVE THEY'RE HIDING INFORMATION FOR ME NOBODY IS RETURNING MY CALLS I'VE HAD TO CALL WRTV 6 NEWS OUT OF INDIANAPOLIS INDIANA THEY ARE DOING A STORY IT WILL BE AIRING IN JULY AND I'M TIRED OF GETTING THE RUNAROUND FROM GM AND NOW I'M NOT GETTING THE RUNAROUND BECAUSE NOBODY'S RETURNING MY CALLS THEIR KNOWING ME AND I THINK THAT IT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND THAT OTHER PEOPLE DRIVING THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THERE MIGHT BE SEVERE ACCIDENTS WITH THIS VEHICLE I WANT THEM TO REPLACE MY VEHICLE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/9/2017 - CORTLAND, NY
THE INTERIOR DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE OFF WHILE TRYING TO OPEN IT WHILE I WAS PARKED. I HAD TO PUT THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW DOWN TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE. IF I HAD TO GET OUT IN A EMERGENCY I WON'T BE ABLE TO GET OUT SAFELY AND BECOME TRAPPED BECAUSE IF THIS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/8/2017 - OCOTILLO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR OPENED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR WOULD NOT CLOSE WHEN PROMPTED. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVER'S DOOR EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE. AN UNKNOWN CHEVROLET DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2017 - ALMIRA, WA
TRANSMISSION FAILED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/7/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT, AS A SAFTY CONCERN / HAZARD NOTICE, ASSOCIATED WITH MY 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW BY ME, AND HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS. THIS COMPLAINT CONCERNS THE MECHANICAL FAILURE OF THE VEHICLES PASSENGER SIDE, FRONT DOOR LATCH. THIS IS THE SECOND DOOR LATCH FAILURE ( DIFFERENT DOOR ) WHICH HAS OCCURRED ON THE SAME VEHICLE, AND HAPPENED ON MARCH 31, 2017, DURING A STOP AT A SHOPPING CENTER. AGAIN, I ATTEMPTED TO FIRMLY "CLOSE" THE DOOR, HOWEVER, THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH CLOSED. MY HHR HAS NOW BEEN REPAIRED WITH A NEW LATCH ASSEMBLY. THE FAILED FRONT DOOR LATCH HAS BEEN RETURNED TO ME, AND I WILL STORE IT, IN THE EVENT THAT THE NHTSA WOULD WANT IT / NEED IT, TO PERFORM A FAILURE ANALYSIS. PLEASE REFER TO THE NHTSA ID NUMBER: 10790779 REPORT, FOR DETAILS ABOUT FAILURE # 1 ... WHICH WAS THE DRIVERS SIDE, REAR DOOR LATCH. IN CONCLUSION ... I FEEL THAT THE FAILURE OF THIS DOOR LATCH COULD HAVE POSSIBLY RESULTED IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH, IF IT HAD NOT BEEN NOTICED WHILE AT THE PARKING LOT. FURTHER INVESTIGATION OF MY FAILED FRONT AND REAR DOOR LATCHES SHOULD BE GIVEN SERIOUS CONSIDERATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/8/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
BACK DRIVERS DOOR WILL NOT LATCH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/24/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I PROBLEMS WITH THE FUSE FOR THE TRANSMISSION/ENGINE CONSOLE AND THE ENGINE CUT OFF. IGNITION ISSUES WHERE MY KEY GETS STUCK ALWAYS HAD TO PULL FUSE FOR LIGHTS AND DISCONNECT BATTERY CABLE. AIRBAG LIGHT ALWAYS STAYED ON. SENSORS IS OFF, AIR CONDITIONER DOES NOT WORK. HEATER AND AIR WORK WHENEVER IT WANTS TO. REPLACE EXHAUST SYSTEM

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I PROBLEMS WITH THE FUSE FOR THE TRANSMISSION/ENGINE CONSOLE AND THE ENGINE CUT OFF. IGNITION ISSUES WHERE MY KEY GETS STUCK ALWAYS HAD TO PULL FUSE FOR LIGHTS AND DISCONNECT BATTERY CABLE. AIRBAG LIGHT ALWAYS STAYED ON. SENSORS IS OFF, AIR CONDITIONER DOES NOT WORK. HEATER AND AIR WORK WHENEVER IT WANTS TO. REPLACE EXHAUST SYSTEM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds