Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2011 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (12) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

3/12/2015 - SPRINGFIELD , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERIOR DRIVER SIDE DOOR FAILED TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2015 - YPSILANTI, MI
DRIVING ALONG, 'LOW ENGINE POWER' LIGHT CAME ON (ALONG WITH OTHER ERRORS, SOMETHING ABOUT TRACTION, SOMETHING ESC, ENGINE CHUGGING; CAR SLOWS DOWN TO ABOUT 10 MPH AND WON'T ACCELERATE; AFTER TURNING CAR OFF, WAITING A FEW MINUTES, CAR STARTED AGAIN (BUT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON); THIS HAS ACTUALLY HAPPENED TO ME 3 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 WEEKS (I DON'T RECALL THE EXACT DATES) - I THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE FROM THE EXTREME COLD (CLOSE TO 0 OR BELOW) - BUT TODAY IT IS 31 DEGREES AND HAPPENED AGAIN. I'M GLAD I WASN'T ON THE EXPRESSWAY! FORTUNATELY IT HAPPENED AT MODERATE SPEED AND I WAS IN A PLACE I COULD SAFELY PULL OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.IT APPEARS THAT THIS IS HAPPENING WITH NUMEROUS VEHICLES FROM AROUND THAT YEAR.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2015 - NEWARK, OH
I WAS DRIVING A FREEWAY SPEEDS WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY WENT INTO LIMP HOME MODE. I RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING DASH INDICATIONS - SERVICE ESC, TRACTION OFF, REDUCED ENGINE POWER. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION WE FOUND A FAILED ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND WE HAD THE FOLLOWING TROUBLE CODES STORED IN THE COMPUTER: P2135 CHEVROLET - THROTTLE/PEDAL POSITION SENSOR/SWITCH 'A'/'B' VOLTAGE CORRELATION REPLACED THE ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND GAS PEDAL ASSEMBLY, AT THIS POINT THE CAR SEEMS FINE. I HAVE THE FAILED PART.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2015 - NEWARK, OH
I WAS DRIVING A FREEWAY SPEEDS WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY WENT INTO LIMP HOME MODE. I RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING DASH INDICATIONS - SERVICE ESC, TRACTION OFF, REDUCED ENGINE POWER. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION WE FOUND A FAILED ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND WE HAD THE FOLLOWING TROUBLE CODES STORED IN THE COMPUTER: P2135 CHEVROLET - THROTTLE/PEDAL POSITION SENSOR/SWITCH 'A'/'B' VOLTAGE CORRELATION REPLACED THE ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND GAS PEDAL ASSEMBLY, AT THIS POINT THE CAR SEEMS FINE. I HAVE THE FAILED PART.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/2/2015 - NEWARK, OH
I WAS DRIVING A FREEWAY SPEEDS WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY WENT INTO LIMP HOME MODE. I RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING DASH INDICATIONS - SERVICE ESC, TRACTION OFF, REDUCED ENGINE POWER. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION WE FOUND A FAILED ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND WE HAD THE FOLLOWING TROUBLE CODES STORED IN THE COMPUTER: P2135 CHEVROLET - THROTTLE/PEDAL POSITION SENSOR/SWITCH 'A'/'B' VOLTAGE CORRELATION REPLACED THE ACCELERATOR POSITION SENSOR AND GAS PEDAL ASSEMBLY, AT THIS POINT THE CAR SEEMS FINE. I HAVE THE FAILED PART.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2015 - DIAMONDHEAD , MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SWITCHING THE SHIFTER TO THE PARK POSITION, THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACKWARDS DOWN A SMALL INCLINE AND INTO THE STREET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE REDUCED POWER WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/25/2015 - PENSACOLA, FL
POWER STEERING FAILED TO OPERATE WHILE PARKING. THIS HAPPENED WHILE TEACHING MY WIFE HOW TO DRIVE. SHE WAS PRACTICING 3 POINT PARKING. UPON TURNING THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT PRIOR TO BACKING UP IT FELT LIKE THE STEERING OF A 53 CHEVROLET, THEN AFTER BACKING INTO THE DRIVE WAY IT WOULD NOT COME BACK STRAIGHT. BEING A RETIRED MECHANIC I WAS VERY SURPRISED THAT A CAR WITH ONLY 17000 MILES WOULD HAVE SUCH A PROBLEM. BUT AFTER INVESTIGATING THE INTERNET, I FOUND THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SEEMS TO WORK OK THOUGH WITH NORMAL DRIVING, BUT WHAT WILL HAPPEN IN THE EVENT OF THE NECESSITY TO TURN SHARPLY ALL OF A SUDDEN, I HAVE NO IDEA AND I DON'T CARE TO FIND OUT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/20/2015 - ARLINGTON, TX
WHILE DRIVING A KM/H LIGHT CAME ON ON THE DASH... EVERYTHING CONVERTED TO KHP... I NOW HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO CLUE ON HOW FAST/SLOW IM DRIVING... GOT TO MY DESTINATION AND TOOK A LOOK AT MY OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE IF MAYBE THERE WAS A WAY TO SWITCH BACK TO MPH... AND GO FIGURE... FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO A T... AND IT DOESNT WORK... COULDNT PUT IN MY MILEAGE AT THE TOP OF THIS FORM BECAUSE IT ASKS FOR MPH AND SUDDENLY MY DASH IS ONLY PUTTING OUT KM/H

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/13/2015 - GILBERT, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AND BOTH REAR DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK WITH THE KEY FOB. THE POWER LOCKS MALFUNCTIONED AND HAD TO BE UNLOCKED MANUALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES, BUT COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds