Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2011 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 88 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (15) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

6/19/2015 - LAWRENCEVILLE , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT NOTICED A LEAK OF HOT AIR/LIQUID UNDER THE DASHBOARD COMING FROM THE FRONT AND REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS BURNED FROM THE HOT WATER LEAKAGE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL SWOOSH NOISE WHEN MAKING TURNS, WHICH CREATED A HOT MIST INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2015 - LAWRENCEVILLE , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT NOTICED A LEAK OF HOT AIR/LIQUID UNDER THE DASHBOARD COMING FROM THE FRONT AND REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS BURNED FROM THE HOT WATER LEAKAGE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL SWOOSH NOISE WHEN MAKING TURNS, WHICH CREATED A HOT MIST INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2015 - FOLKSTON, GA
THE ABOVE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN FOR REPAIRS 6-7TIMES FOR INTERMIT ANTI-THEFT LIGHT COMING ON WHILE DRIVING AND A RECALL FOR ANTI-THEFT/AIR BAG MALFUNCTIONS. INTERMITTINGLY THE CAR WILL ALSO NOT RECOGNIZE THE KEY(S) AND WILL NOT START. MY CONCERN FOR SAFETY IS WHEN THE CAR BEGINS TO DING WHILE I'M DRIVING AND THEN THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT COMES ON IT WILL ALSO DECIDE TO STALL BECAUSE IT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THE KEY AND THINKS IT'S BEING STOLEN. (IT HAS NOT DONE THAT YET, BUT IT IS A FEAR). I HAD THE CHEVY 2014 ANTI-THEFT/AIRBAG RECALL AUG 2014. IN DEC 2014 MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON WITH A WARNING TO REPAIR. IN JAN 2015 THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT CAME ON 2 TIMES. WALKER JONES CHEVY OF WAYCROSS, GA DETECTED NO CODE FOR AIR BAG. THE ANTI-THEFT CODE REVEALED UNRECOGNIZED KEY BUT NO CODE TO REPAIR (JAN.2015) THE LIGHT HAS COME ON 5 TIMES AND NOT STARTED ON ONE OCCASION, SINCE THE RECALL REPAIR. I AM TOLD BY MECHANICS THAT THE LIGHT MUST BE ON FOR THEM TO RETRIEVE A REPAIR CODE. HOWEVER, WHEN THE CAR IS SHUT OFF THE LIGHT GOES OFF. THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT PROBLEM CAN WAIT MONTHS BEFORE SURFACING AGAIN. I BELIEVE IT COULD BE DANGEROUS TO DRIVE BECAUSE OF PAST CASES OF OTHER SIMILAR CARS WITH ANTI-THEFT/AIRBAG ISSUES. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVY CORPORATION BUT SINCE I DID NOT PURCHASE A BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY AND NO REPAIR CODES COME UP TO SHOW HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM ITS NOT THEIR RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/17/2015 - FOLKSTON, GA
THE ABOVE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN FOR REPAIRS 6-7TIMES FOR INTERMIT ANTI-THEFT LIGHT COMING ON WHILE DRIVING AND A RECALL FOR ANTI-THEFT/AIR BAG MALFUNCTIONS. INTERMITTINGLY THE CAR WILL ALSO NOT RECOGNIZE THE KEY(S) AND WILL NOT START. MY CONCERN FOR SAFETY IS WHEN THE CAR BEGINS TO DING WHILE I'M DRIVING AND THEN THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT COMES ON IT WILL ALSO DECIDE TO STALL BECAUSE IT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THE KEY AND THINKS IT'S BEING STOLEN. (IT HAS NOT DONE THAT YET, BUT IT IS A FEAR). I HAD THE CHEVY 2014 ANTI-THEFT/AIRBAG RECALL AUG 2014. IN DEC 2014 MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON WITH A WARNING TO REPAIR. IN JAN 2015 THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT CAME ON 2 TIMES. WALKER JONES CHEVY OF WAYCROSS, GA DETECTED NO CODE FOR AIR BAG. THE ANTI-THEFT CODE REVEALED UNRECOGNIZED KEY BUT NO CODE TO REPAIR (JAN.2015) THE LIGHT HAS COME ON 5 TIMES AND NOT STARTED ON ONE OCCASION, SINCE THE RECALL REPAIR. I AM TOLD BY MECHANICS THAT THE LIGHT MUST BE ON FOR THEM TO RETRIEVE A REPAIR CODE. HOWEVER, WHEN THE CAR IS SHUT OFF THE LIGHT GOES OFF. THE ANTI-THEFT LIGHT PROBLEM CAN WAIT MONTHS BEFORE SURFACING AGAIN. I BELIEVE IT COULD BE DANGEROUS TO DRIVE BECAUSE OF PAST CASES OF OTHER SIMILAR CARS WITH ANTI-THEFT/AIRBAG ISSUES. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVY CORPORATION BUT SINCE I DID NOT PURCHASE A BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY AND NO REPAIR CODES COME UP TO SHOW HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM ITS NOT THEIR RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2015 - NILES, MI
2011 CHEVROLET HHR. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED ON JANUARY 8, 2013, AS HE BACKED OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, HE HIT A POT HOLE IN THE ALLEY AND THE IGNITION SWITCH TURNED OFF. HE HIS SOME HEDGES AND A SNOW BANK AND PUT A DENT IN THE REAR BUMPER. THE CONSUMER STATED THE NEXT DAY, HIS BACK, LEGS AND FEET WERE NUMB.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/8/2015 - WATERLOO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR SWUNG OPEN INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DOOR LATCHES WERE DAMAGED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/26/2015 - CONCORD, GA
I WILL BE GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE HEAD LIGHTS AND DASH LIGHTS WILL GO OUT BEEN IN THE SHOP 10 TIMES TOTAL STILL CANT FIX

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - ANAHEIM, CA
DRIVERS INSIDE DOOR HANDLE SNAPPED OFF. HAVE TO OPEN WINDOW TO OPEN DOOR. CALLED GM THEY TOLD ME THIS PROBLEM WASN'T ON A RECALL. THIS WAS ALSO NOT COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. I HAVE TO PURCHASE A HANDLE AND HAVE IT INSTALLED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE TO GET OUT OF THE CAR DURING AN EMERGENCY, WHAT IF MY ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTS DOWN, HOW CAN I ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW, I'LL HAVE TO CLIMB OVER THE PASSENGER SEAT TO GET OUT AND THAT COULD BE TO LATE. THEY NEED A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2015 - ETTERS, PA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, ALL FUEL INJECTORS NEEDED REPLACED. 15,000 LATER THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDED REPAIRED (SEPARATE COMPLAINT)

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2015 - ETTERS, PA
NEVER RECEIVED ANY WARNINGS THAT ALL OF THE ENGINE CYLINDERS WERE CRACKED WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE TEMPERATURE GOING INTO COOLING MODE ONE TIME. TOOK IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK IT OUT WHILE IT WAS THERE. ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDED REPAIRED AT 50,547 MILES. ALL CYLINDER SLEEVES CRACKED, REPLACED HEAD GASKET, HEAD INTAKE AND ALL SEALS, GASKETS AND O-RINGS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds