Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 164 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (6) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (11) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (30) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (30) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/22/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, MY POWER ENGINE WARNING CAME ON AND THE SAME AS WARNING LIGHTS FOR ESC AND TRACTION WARNING. I JUST RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR INTO THE DEALER FOR FIXING THE RECENT RECALL PROBLEM AND I WONDER IF IT MADE MY CAR WORSE?? WILL BE STOPPING BY MONDAY MORNING...IF I MAKE IT HOME OK AFTER I'VE HAD TO STOP AND PULL OVER TWICE TO FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/22/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, MY POWER ENGINE WARNING CAME ON AND THE SAME AS WARNING LIGHTS FOR ESC AND TRACTION WARNING. I JUST RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR INTO THE DEALER FOR FIXING THE RECENT RECALL PROBLEM AND I WONDER IF IT MADE MY CAR WORSE?? WILL BE STOPPING BY MONDAY MORNING...IF I MAKE IT HOME OK AFTER I'VE HAD TO STOP AND PULL OVER TWICE TO FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, MY POWER ENGINE WARNING CAME ON AND THE SAME AS WARNING LIGHTS FOR ESC AND TRACTION WARNING. I JUST RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR INTO THE DEALER FOR FIXING THE RECENT RECALL PROBLEM AND I WONDER IF IT MADE MY CAR WORSE?? WILL BE STOPPING BY MONDAY MORNING...IF I MAKE IT HOME OK AFTER I'VE HAD TO STOP AND PULL OVER TWICE TO FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/17/2014 - ROBBINSONVILLE, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE ESC SENSOR, TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR AND THE WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED FOR ENGINE REDUCED POWER SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE FAILURE MAINLY HAPPENED IN A COLD CLIMATE AND ALSO INCLIMATE WEATHER. THE CONTACT WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) RECEIVED THE RECALL REPAIR AND THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND DRASTICALLY REDUCED SPEED TO 10 MPH WHICH MADE OPERATING THE VEHICLE EXTREMELY DIFFICULT. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO PARK IT DUE TO THE DRASTIC REDUCTION IN SPEED. THE AUTHRIZED DEALER WAS NOTIFIED THAT THE FAILURE HAPPENED AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR AND THE CONTACT WAS TOLD TO GET THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AFTER THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED. THE RECALL DID NOT REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. DYD

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2014 - DALLAS, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH THE POWER ENGINE REDUCED SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED SUDDENLY REDUCED TO APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH. AFTER PULLING OVER AND TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON THE VEHICLE EVENTUALLY OPERATED AS NORMAL. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND WOULD ONLY OCCUR WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE IN COLDER WEATHER CONDITIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000. JFT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/14/2014 - RONKONKOMA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT HAD TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IN ORDER FOR IT TO RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,700.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/13/2014 - MARQUETTE, MI
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU CONSUMER IS REQUESTING REIMBURSEMENT FOR BRAKE REPLACEMENT..

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/10/2014 - OGDENSBURG, NY
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. THE CONSUMER ATTEMPTED TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN BY APPLY THE BRAKE, BUT TO NO AVAIL. AS THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATED WITH RPM'S REACHING 7.5 WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT ON. SHE ATTEMPTED TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN BY DRIVING ALONG SIDE OF A CORNFIELD IN THE GRASS WHICH WAS ALSO UNSUCCESSFUL/ IT WAS AT THAT POINT SHE SHIFTED THE GEAR INTO PARK, WHICH JOLTED HER SIDEWAYS. THE VEHICLE THEN SKIDDED UNTIL SHE STOPPED ON AN INCLINE IN AN AREA NEAR THE CORNFIELD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/2/2014 - HARRISBURG , PA
SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I STARTED MY CAR ITS BEEN TWO DAYS NOW AND IT HASNT GONE AWAY IVE NEVER HIT ANYTHING NOR HAVE I BEEN HIT BY ANYONE...

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN SUDDENLY THE WARNING "SERVICE AIR BAG" POPPED UP ON MY DASHBOARD MESSAGE SCREEN. I WAS NOT IN AN ACCIDENT NOR DID I HIT ANYTHING. WITH THE RECENT RECALLS, I AM VERY CONCERNED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds