Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (1) Power Train (34) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (48) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (38) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (6) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/25/2015 - MACCLENNY, FL
SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED VEH THE POWER STEERING STARTED TO NOT WORK. AT FIRST IT RARELY HAPPEND. I WOULD JUST RESTART THE VEHICLE AND THE STEERING WOULD WORK AGAIN. NOW IT ALMOST NEVER WORKS. MY VEH WAS NOT APART OF THE RECAL. AND THE MY WARRANTY RAN OUT BEFORE THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT TELL WHAT WAS WRONG. BY THE TIME THEY REALIZED IT WAS THE THE SAME PROBLEM THAT HAD BEEN RECALLED IN THE OTHER VEHICLES MY WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED. I AM STILL UNABLE TO PAY TO GET IT FIXED. SO I AM NOW DRIVING WITH 2 SMALL CHILDREN AND NO POWER STEERING. IS THERE SOMEONE I CAN REPORT THIS TO IN HOPES OF GETTING MY VEHICLE ADDED TO THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

1/24/2015 - SCHENECTADY, NY
CANNOT PASS INSPECTION! SHORT CIRCUIT FAULT - CAMSHAFT POSITION ACTUATOR SOLENOID FAULT. OPEN OR SHORT CIRCUIT DETECTION CONDITION IN THE SOLENOID. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND DEFECT WITH CHEVY MALIBU AND OTHER MODELS AND MY VIN HAS NOT HAD ONE RECALL ISSUED ON IT - THOUGH THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ALREADY ON OTHER MALIBU 2011 MODELS. NEED TO HAVE DATELINE NBC OR AN ATTORNEY INVESTIGATE VIN FRAUD FOR NOT HAVING MY VIN # ASSIGNED THESE RECALLS FOR WHICH THE MANUFACTURER WOULD PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO THESE KNOWN SAFETY DEFECTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/24/2015 - SCHENECTADY, NY
CANNOT PASS INSPECTION! SHORT CIRCUIT FAULT - CAMSHAFT POSITION ACTUATOR SOLENOID FAULT. OPEN OR SHORT CIRCUIT DETECTION CONDITION IN THE SOLENOID. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND DEFECT WITH CHEVY MALIBU AND OTHER MODELS AND MY VIN HAS NOT HAD ONE RECALL ISSUED ON IT - THOUGH THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ALREADY ON OTHER MALIBU 2011 MODELS. NEED TO HAVE DATELINE NBC OR AN ATTORNEY INVESTIGATE VIN FRAUD FOR NOT HAVING MY VIN # ASSIGNED THESE RECALLS FOR WHICH THE MANUFACTURER WOULD PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO THESE KNOWN SAFETY DEFECTS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/24/2015 - SCHENECTADY, NY
CANNOT PASS INSPECTION! SHORT CIRCUIT FAULT - CAMSHAFT POSITION ACTUATOR SOLENOID FAULT. OPEN OR SHORT CIRCUIT DETECTION CONDITION IN THE SOLENOID. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND DEFECT WITH CHEVY MALIBU AND OTHER MODELS AND MY VIN HAS NOT HAD ONE RECALL ISSUED ON IT - THOUGH THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ALREADY ON OTHER MALIBU 2011 MODELS. NEED TO HAVE DATELINE NBC OR AN ATTORNEY INVESTIGATE VIN FRAUD FOR NOT HAVING MY VIN # ASSIGNED THESE RECALLS FOR WHICH THE MANUFACTURER WOULD PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO THESE KNOWN SAFETY DEFECTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - MUSKEGO, WI
MY 2011 MALIBU WAS RECALLED FOR A BRAKE LIGHT ISSUE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT DEALERSHIP, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM DEVELOPED A "MALFUNCTION." DEALER STATES THAT THE SDM HAS FAILED. THE DEALER AND GM ARE TAKING NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ISSUE. THEIR POSITION IS THEY DID NOT CAUSE THE ISSUE AND IT IS JUST BAD TIMING. A FRIEND, WHO OWNS A 2010 MALIBU, JUST HAD THEIR CAR RECALLED FOR A RECALL REGARDING THE SDM. MORE TO THE POINT, WHAT INCENTIVE DOES A PERSON HAVE TO BRING A RECALLED VEHICLE IN, WHEN THE VEHICLE CAN BE RETURNED IN A FAR LESS SAFE CONDITION. I THINK THAT ANY REASONABLE PERSON WOULD BE DOUBTFUL THAT THIS IS THE APPROPRIATE RESPONSE TO THIS SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2015 - FORSYTH, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000. PAM

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/21/2015 - CLIO, MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO DECELERATED AND SHAKE CONTINUOUSLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PAM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2015 - FORT RILEY , KS
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS ENGAGED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE OVER 5 MPH AND IT STARTED TO JERK. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOST POWER INDICATOR, THE ABS AND TRACTION WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. PAM

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/19/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH. THERE WAS NO CRASH AND NOTHING WAS HIT. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED MY CAR OFF. I TURNED THE CAR ON A HALF HOUR LATER AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT AND MESSAGE WERE GONE. 90 MINUTES LATER THE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN AND HAS STAYED ON. I CALLED CHEVY, THE SAID THERE WAS NO RECALL, AND CONNECTED ME TO THE SERVICE DEPT OF A DEALERSHIP, WHO SAID THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME, BUT COULDN'T GIVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF THE COST TO FIX IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/19/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH. THERE WAS NO CRASH AND NOTHING WAS HIT. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED MY CAR OFF. I TURNED THE CAR ON A HALF HOUR LATER AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT AND MESSAGE WERE GONE. 90 MINUTES LATER THE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN AND HAS STAYED ON. I CALLED CHEVY, THE SAID THERE WAS NO RECALL, AND CONNECTED ME TO THE SERVICE DEPT OF A DEALERSHIP, WHO SAID THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME, BUT COULDN'T GIVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF THE COST TO FIX IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds