Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (1) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (26) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (6) Tires (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (24) Power Train (25) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/21/2014 - OREM, UT
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE IS A SAFETY RECALL FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V252000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER VEHICLE VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED WITH IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT SHE IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT THE TIME OF FAILURE 60,185. LNC

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/18/2014 - ESSEX, MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE HAD NOTICED THAT THE REAR DEFROST SYSTEM HAD MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE DEFROST INDICATOR WAS PROPERLY OPERATIVE,HOWEVER THERE WERE NOT ANY ACTION WHICH CAUSED THE REAR WINDOW UNABLE TO BE SEEN THROUGH. THIS PROBLEM RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE REAR DEFROST CONNECTER HAD CORROSION PRESENT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.GB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - ESSEX, MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE HAD NOTICED THAT THE REAR DEFROST SYSTEM HAD MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE DEFROST INDICATOR WAS PROPERLY OPERATIVE,HOWEVER THERE WERE NOT ANY ACTION WHICH CAUSED THE REAR WINDOW UNABLE TO BE SEEN THROUGH. THIS PROBLEM RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THEY INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE REAR DEFROST CONNECTER HAD CORROSION PRESENT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.GB

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2014 - MOODY, AL
AT RANDOM WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE RADIO WILL SWITCH TO AUX. YOU CAN TOUCH THE DASH ON THE SIDE OR AROUND THE RADIO AND IT WILL GO BACK TO RADIO. IT WILL ALSO SWITCH SOMETIMES WHEN YOU PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE, OR TURN ON WINDSHIELD WIPERS. YOU HAVE TO BUMP THE SIDE OF THE DASH OR THE AREA AROUND THE RADIO FOR IT TO SWITCH BACK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - MOODY, AL
AT RANDOM WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE RADIO WILL SWITCH TO AUX. YOU CAN TOUCH THE DASH ON THE SIDE OR AROUND THE RADIO AND IT WILL GO BACK TO RADIO. IT WILL ALSO SWITCH SOMETIMES WHEN YOU PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE, OR TURN ON WINDSHIELD WIPERS. YOU HAVE TO BUMP THE SIDE OF THE DASH OR THE AREA AROUND THE RADIO FOR IT TO SWITCH BACK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - BEDFORD, TX
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 60-65 MPH ITS VERY HARD TO HAVE STABILITY IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE 4 BRAND NEW TIRES. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN BALANCED AND ROTATED. I ALSO TOO VEHICLE TO BRAKE SPECIALIST WHO SAID EVERYTHING LOOKS OK TO THEM. ALSO WHILE DRIVING AT THIS SPEED THE VEHICLE ENGINE WILL START SHAKING AND THE VEH WILL DROP FROM 65 MPH TO 20MPH CAUSE THE SPEED CONTROL TO DROP AUTOMATICALLY. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN A ACCIDENT AND THE RIGHT SIGNAL LIGHT HAS A ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. 4 NEW TIRES AND EVERY 2 WEEKS THE AIR PRESSURE ON THEM IS LOW I THINK IT HAS SOMETHING TO SO WITH THE STABILITY OF E VEHICLE. THIS IS MY 2ND REVIEW ABOUT THIS CAR. I DON'T WANT HAVE A WRECK AND KILL ME AND MY CHILDREN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/7/2014 - BEDFORD, TX
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 60-65 MPH ITS VERY HARD TO HAVE STABILITY IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE 4 BRAND NEW TIRES. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN BALANCED AND ROTATED. I ALSO TOO VEHICLE TO BRAKE SPECIALIST WHO SAID EVERYTHING LOOKS OK TO THEM. ALSO WHILE DRIVING AT THIS SPEED THE VEHICLE ENGINE WILL START SHAKING AND THE VEH WILL DROP FROM 65 MPH TO 20MPH CAUSE THE SPEED CONTROL TO DROP AUTOMATICALLY. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN A ACCIDENT AND THE RIGHT SIGNAL LIGHT HAS A ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. 4 NEW TIRES AND EVERY 2 WEEKS THE AIR PRESSURE ON THEM IS LOW I THINK IT HAS SOMETHING TO SO WITH THE STABILITY OF E VEHICLE. THIS IS MY 2ND REVIEW ABOUT THIS CAR. I DON'T WANT HAVE A WRECK AND KILL ME AND MY CHILDREN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/30/2014 - CARTHAGE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE CONTACT DROVE OVER RUMBLE STRIPS AND CRASHED INTO THE GUARD RAIL. THE VEHICLE SPUN AROUND AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER GUARD RAIL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED A FRACTURED STERNUM, INJURIES TO THE LEFT SHOULDER BLADE AND RIGHT KNEE. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A WRIST INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DECLARED AS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 400.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2014 - CLINTON TWP, MI
I HAD MY 2011 MALIBU SERVICED AT MARTY FELDMAN CHEVROLET FOR ROTORS, BRAKE PADS AND ALL FLUIDS CHANGED BECAUSE OF MILEAGE IN JULY 2013.IN NOVEMBER 2013, I BEGAN HEARING THE SAME NOISES THAT LEAD ME TO HAVE MY ROTORS REPLACED ON THE DRIVER'S FRONT SIDE. I WENT TO SERRA CHEVROLET WHO STATED I NEED ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS. I EXPLAINED I HAD JUST HAD THAT WORK DONE. AFTER PROVING WITH MY PAPERWORK THAT I HAD THE WORK DONE, SERRA CHEVROLET STATED THEY COULD REPLACE THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS BECAUSE THE PARTS WERE STILL UNDER WARRANTY. MARTY FELDMAN CHEVROLET SALES MANAGER STATED I COULD BRING IT BACK THERE; HOWEVER, DUE TO CONVENIENCE I ALLOWED SERRA CHEVROLET COMPLETE THE REPAIR WORK. A WEEK LATER MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK THE CAR BACK SEVEN TIMES BEFORE THEY WERE ABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. IN THE MEANTIME; IN FEBRUARY THE NOISE FROM THE ROTORS RETURNED. BECAUSE I HAD TO DRIVE OVER 40+ MILES BACK AND FORTH (SEVEN TIMES) TO HAVE THE ENGINE LIGHT REPAIRED; I WAS TOLD MY ROTORS WERE NOT UNDER WARRANTY. AFTER CONTACTING GM CONSUMER COMPLAINT AND NOT SETTLING FOR A NO ANSWER; SERRA CHEVROLET STATED THEY GAVE ME NEW ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS. HOWEVER, IN APRIL, THE NOISE RETURNED AND NO-ONE IS WILLING TO ADDRESS MY PROBLEM OR CONCERN. I HAD MY ATTORNEY PREPARE AN OFFICIAL LETTER TO SEND TO SERRA AND MARTY FELDMAN CHEVROLET. NO COMMENTS AS OF YET. I AM PURSUING OTHER MEANS TO GET THE PROBLEM BEFORE THE PUBLIC AND TO GM HEADQUARTERS. I PAY MY CAR NOTE EACH MONTH AND I HAVE HAD CAR PROBLEMS SINCE JULY 2013.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/30/2014 - CLINTON TWP, MI
I HAD MY 2011 MALIBU SERVICED AT MARTY FELDMAN CHEVROLET FOR ROTORS, BRAKE PADS AND ALL FLUIDS CHANGED BECAUSE OF MILEAGE IN JULY 2013.IN NOVEMBER 2013, I BEGAN HEARING THE SAME NOISES THAT LEAD ME TO HAVE MY ROTORS REPLACED ON THE DRIVER'S FRONT SIDE. I WENT TO SERRA CHEVROLET WHO STATED I NEED ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS. I EXPLAINED I HAD JUST HAD THAT WORK DONE. AFTER PROVING WITH MY PAPERWORK THAT I HAD THE WORK DONE, SERRA CHEVROLET STATED THEY COULD REPLACE THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS BECAUSE THE PARTS WERE STILL UNDER WARRANTY. MARTY FELDMAN CHEVROLET SALES MANAGER STATED I COULD BRING IT BACK THERE; HOWEVER, DUE TO CONVENIENCE I ALLOWED SERRA CHEVROLET COMPLETE THE REPAIR WORK. A WEEK LATER MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK THE CAR BACK SEVEN TIMES BEFORE THEY WERE ABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. IN THE MEANTIME; IN FEBRUARY THE NOISE FROM THE ROTORS RETURNED. BECAUSE I HAD TO DRIVE OVER 40+ MILES BACK AND FORTH (SEVEN TIMES) TO HAVE THE ENGINE LIGHT REPAIRED; I WAS TOLD MY ROTORS WERE NOT UNDER WARRANTY. AFTER CONTACTING GM CONSUMER COMPLAINT AND NOT SETTLING FOR A NO ANSWER; SERRA CHEVROLET STATED THEY GAVE ME NEW ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS. HOWEVER, IN APRIL, THE NOISE RETURNED AND NO-ONE IS WILLING TO ADDRESS MY PROBLEM OR CONCERN. I HAD MY ATTORNEY PREPARE AN OFFICIAL LETTER TO SEND TO SERRA AND MARTY FELDMAN CHEVROLET. NO COMMENTS AS OF YET. I AM PURSUING OTHER MEANS TO GET THE PROBLEM BEFORE THE PUBLIC AND TO GM HEADQUARTERS. I PAY MY CAR NOTE EACH MONTH AND I HAVE HAD CAR PROBLEMS SINCE JULY 2013.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds