Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment (1) Power Train (51) Steering (48) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (91) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (24) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electronic Stability Control (76) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (10) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine (80) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (9) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2016 - ST. CHARLES., IL
THE OTHER DAY MY 2011 CHEVY MALIBU STARTED TO VIOLENTLY SHAKE COMING OUT OF A PARKING LOT AND THEN AGAIN WHILE DRIVING ON A TWO LANE ROAD. THIS ISSUE WAS FRIGHTENING BECAUSE I COULDN+T PROPERLY STOP THE CAR AND ALMOST GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT. THE DISPLAY INDICATED REDUCED ENGINE POWER/TRACTION/SERVICE ESC AND THE OBD2 CODES INDICATED P2135 (THROTTLE/PEDAL POSITION SENSOR/SW A/B VOLTAGE CORRELATION). THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. I HOPE THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN AGAIN BECAUSE THE NEXT TIME I MAY NOT BE SO LUCKY IN GETTING OUT OF THIS PREDICAMENT UNSCATHED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/1/2016 - GRAND BLANC, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD SQUEALING NOISE COMING FROM THE EXTERIOR BODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT REPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/28/2016 - OSCEOLA, IN
CAR LOST POWER AT 65 MPH THAN REDUCED POWER AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON TURN CAR OFF AFTER TRYING TO COAST TO TA STOP WITH CARS AND TRUCKS FLYING BY HONKING THERE HORN AND FLICKING ME OFF AND I WAS HELPLESS THE CARS MOTOR WAS SHUT OFF BECAUSE OF THE POWER REDUCE AND ESC THAN THE TRACTION CONTROL CAN ON TOO ALL NEED TO BE SERVICED FINE BUT THAN IT DID IT ALL AGAIN AFTER I GOT EVERYTHING FIXED AND THEN THE THROTTLE BODY HAD TO REPLACED AGAIN AND PEDDLE SENSOR AND TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR AND STILL DOES IT THE CAR IS TRYING TO KILL ME AND THE NEW MECHANIC I TOOK IT TO SAID HE SEES THIS A LOT AND ITS SOMETIMES HARD TO FIX BECAUSE IT COMES BACK AND THAN I READ ONLINE THE SAME THING I THOUGHT HE WAS TRYING TO GET MORE MONEY OUT OF ME WHY WONT CHEVROLET HELP GM HELP GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND MAKE THESE CAR PLACES FIX THIS STUFF BEFOR A LOT OF PEOPLE GET KILLED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/28/2016 - OSCEOLA, IN
CAR LOST POWER AT 65 MPH THAN REDUCED POWER AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON TURN CAR OFF AFTER TRYING TO COAST TO TA STOP WITH CARS AND TRUCKS FLYING BY HONKING THERE HORN AND FLICKING ME OFF AND I WAS HELPLESS THE CARS MOTOR WAS SHUT OFF BECAUSE OF THE POWER REDUCE AND ESC THAN THE TRACTION CONTROL CAN ON TOO ALL NEED TO BE SERVICED FINE BUT THAN IT DID IT ALL AGAIN AFTER I GOT EVERYTHING FIXED AND THEN THE THROTTLE BODY HAD TO REPLACED AGAIN AND PEDDLE SENSOR AND TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR AND STILL DOES IT THE CAR IS TRYING TO KILL ME AND THE NEW MECHANIC I TOOK IT TO SAID HE SEES THIS A LOT AND ITS SOMETIMES HARD TO FIX BECAUSE IT COMES BACK AND THAN I READ ONLINE THE SAME THING I THOUGHT HE WAS TRYING TO GET MORE MONEY OUT OF ME WHY WONT CHEVROLET HELP GM HELP GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND MAKE THESE CAR PLACES FIX THIS STUFF BEFOR A LOT OF PEOPLE GET KILLED

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/28/2016 - OSCEOLA, IN
CAR LOST POWER AT 65 MPH THAN REDUCED POWER AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON TURN CAR OFF AFTER TRYING TO COAST TO TA STOP WITH CARS AND TRUCKS FLYING BY HONKING THERE HORN AND FLICKING ME OFF AND I WAS HELPLESS THE CARS MOTOR WAS SHUT OFF BECAUSE OF THE POWER REDUCE AND ESC THAN THE TRACTION CONTROL CAN ON TOO ALL NEED TO BE SERVICED FINE BUT THAN IT DID IT ALL AGAIN AFTER I GOT EVERYTHING FIXED AND THEN THE THROTTLE BODY HAD TO REPLACED AGAIN AND PEDDLE SENSOR AND TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR AND STILL DOES IT THE CAR IS TRYING TO KILL ME AND THE NEW MECHANIC I TOOK IT TO SAID HE SEES THIS A LOT AND ITS SOMETIMES HARD TO FIX BECAUSE IT COMES BACK AND THAN I READ ONLINE THE SAME THING I THOUGHT HE WAS TRYING TO GET MORE MONEY OUT OF ME WHY WONT CHEVROLET HELP GM HELP GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND MAKE THESE CAR PLACES FIX THIS STUFF BEFOR A LOT OF PEOPLE GET KILLED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/28/2016 - NEW BALTIMORE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHEN THE IGNITON KEY WAS TURNED, A LOUD CLICKING NOSE EMITTED AND THE ENGINE FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE POWER DOOR LOCKS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE RPM GAUGE AND SPEEDOMETER FLUCTUATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/22/2016 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
30 MINUTE DRIVE TO WORK, IN RAIN AT APPROXIMATELY 32 DEGREES, VEHICLE WAS RUNNING GOOD UNTIL I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPOT AND AN ERROR MESSAGE APPEARED (REDUCED ENGINE POWER). I LATER LEFT AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. I THEN RECEIVED AN ERROR MESSAGE (SERVICE ESC) AND LATER AGAIN RECEIVED THE (REDUCED ENGINE POWER) WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. IT WAS SNOWING DURING THIS TIME. I WAS UNABLE TO FULLY ACCELERATE BUT IT FELT AS THOUGH THE ACCELERATION WAS NOT RUNNING WELL. I RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND DISCOVERED MANY PEOPLE/ CHEVY MALIBU OWNERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH NO RESOLUTION; EVEN AFTER TAKING TO DEALER ON MANY OCCASIONS. GM NEEDS TO RECOGNIZE THIS ISSUE AND DISCOVER A RESOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2016 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
30 MINUTE DRIVE TO WORK, IN RAIN AT APPROXIMATELY 32 DEGREES, VEHICLE WAS RUNNING GOOD UNTIL I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPOT AND AN ERROR MESSAGE APPEARED (REDUCED ENGINE POWER). I LATER LEFT AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. I THEN RECEIVED AN ERROR MESSAGE (SERVICE ESC) AND LATER AGAIN RECEIVED THE (REDUCED ENGINE POWER) WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. IT WAS SNOWING DURING THIS TIME. I WAS UNABLE TO FULLY ACCELERATE BUT IT FELT AS THOUGH THE ACCELERATION WAS NOT RUNNING WELL. I RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND DISCOVERED MANY PEOPLE/ CHEVY MALIBU OWNERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH NO RESOLUTION; EVEN AFTER TAKING TO DEALER ON MANY OCCASIONS. GM NEEDS TO RECOGNIZE THIS ISSUE AND DISCOVER A RESOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2016 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
30 MINUTE DRIVE TO WORK, IN RAIN AT APPROXIMATELY 32 DEGREES, VEHICLE WAS RUNNING GOOD UNTIL I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPOT AND AN ERROR MESSAGE APPEARED (REDUCED ENGINE POWER). I LATER LEFT AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. I THEN RECEIVED AN ERROR MESSAGE (SERVICE ESC) AND LATER AGAIN RECEIVED THE (REDUCED ENGINE POWER) WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. IT WAS SNOWING DURING THIS TIME. I WAS UNABLE TO FULLY ACCELERATE BUT IT FELT AS THOUGH THE ACCELERATION WAS NOT RUNNING WELL. I RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND DISCOVERED MANY PEOPLE/ CHEVY MALIBU OWNERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH NO RESOLUTION; EVEN AFTER TAKING TO DEALER ON MANY OCCASIONS. GM NEEDS TO RECOGNIZE THIS ISSUE AND DISCOVER A RESOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2016 - JACKSON, MI
MY 2011 MALIBU WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY THROUGH A SENSOR CODE FOR MULTIPLE PROBLEMS THE FIRST STATING REDUCED ENGJNE POWER, THEN SERVICE ES, SERVICE TRACTION, SERVICE AIRBAGS ETC... PROBABLY 8 CODES. AT WHICH POINT ON THE HIGHWAY I COULD NO LONGER ACCELERATE ABOVE 40MPH CREATING A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR ME. THE CAR WAS JERKING AND SHAKING AND THE RPM WAS REVING UP BETWEEN 500 AND 1500 EVEN AFTER I STOPPED. I TURNED THE CAR OFF FEARING DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE AND CALLED MYHUSBAND. HE ASKED ME TURN IT ON AGAIN SO I DID AND ALTHOUGH IT WAS NOW IDLING NORMALLY THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ON. HE SUGGESTED I CONTINUE MY COMMUTE. I PULLED BACK ON TO THE HIGHWAY AND EXPERIENCED THIS SAME DANGEROUS PROBLEM 7 YIMES BETWEEN JACKSON MI AND LANSING MI. WE TOOK IT IN TO A REPAIRSHOPAND THEY ASSESSEDWHAT THEY COULD STATING THAT IT APPEARED TO BE A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE BUT THEY WOULD HAVE TO TAKE IT APART TO LOOK AT IT. THE MECHANIC ALSO STATEDTHAT MANY OF THE CHEVY MADE VEHICLES HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM AND HE WAS VERY SURPRISED THAT THEREHAD NOT YET BEEN A RECALL ON THE PART.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds