Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 233 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment (1) Power Train (38) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (56) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electronic Stability Control (45) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (7) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Engine (55) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (13) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - JERSEY CITY, NJ
I STARTED A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU WITH 64,000 MILES ON A THURSDAY EVENING AFTER WORK. IT HAD BEEN PARKED FOR 12 HOURS. THERE WAS A WARNING MESSAGE STATING REDUCED POWER WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON AND THEN ANOTHER MESSAGE FLASHED STATING SERVICE TRACTION. THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. I COULD NOT GO OVER 10 MILES PER HOUR. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THE THROTTLE BODY (POSITION SENSOR) WAS DETERMINED TO BE BAD. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND SAW THAT THERE HAVE BEEN COUNTLESS ISSUES WITH THIS THROTTLE BODY SENSOR ACCORDING TO MANY OTHER CHEVROLET CUSTOMERS, BUT CHEVROLET SAID THERE WAS NOT A RECALL ON IT, YET. THIS IS THE 3RD ISSUE IN 6 MONTHS I'VE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE WHICH HAS NEVER BEEN IN A CRASH. ONE ISSUE A COUPLE MONTHS AGO WAS A BAD WATER PUMP AND THE OTHER ISSUE FROM THE LAST 6 MONTHS WAS A BRAKE LIGHT MALFUNCTION. THIS CAR IS 4 YEARS OLD AND HAS 64,000 MILES ON IT. THE CAR COST OVER 30K AND HAS BEEN MAINLY USED FOR EASY HIGHWAY DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

3/1/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON MY WAY TO WORK, I NOTICED THE ENGINE LIGHT ON. CAR GOT ME TO WORK FINE. CHECKED GAS CAP JUST TO BE SURE THAT WASN'T THE PROBLEM. OFF WORK ENGINE LIGHT STILL ON, BUT CAR RUNNING FINE. DID SOME RUNNING FOR ABOUT AN HOUR. GOT IN THE CAR TO GO HOME THE LIGHT WASNT ON, SO IM THINKING MAYBE A SENOR BAD. DRIVING HOME WHICH WAS ABOUT A 30 MINTUE DRIVE. ABOUT HALF MILE FROM MY EXIT ON THE HIGHWAY AND ENGINE LIGHT POPS ON, ESC LIGHT POPS ON, REDUCED ENGINE SPEED FOLLOWS. THANKFULLY I MAD IT HOME. PRESSRD ON STAR FOR AN ON DEMAND DIAGNOSTIC CHECK AND ITS MY THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEM. ITS AN 2011 MALIBU, NEXT MONTH MAKES A YEAR THAT IVE HAD IT. ALSO THE THIRD TIME ITS GOING TO THE SHOP. FIRST TIME WAS THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT, THE U JOINT DISLOCATED LOST ALL POWER TO STEER, THANK GOD IT HAPPENED IN MY PARKING LOT AT HOME FRESH OFF THE HIGHYWAY. CHEVY ONLY PAID HALF AND AFTER A MONTH BATTLE WITH THEM, KICKER WAS IT WAS A RECALL FOR THAT BUT MY VIN NUMBER WASNT INCLUDED. SECOND TIME WAS FOR LEAKING TRANSMISSION. SO DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY AND PAST FED UP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/1/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON MY WAY TO WORK, I NOTICED THE ENGINE LIGHT ON. CAR GOT ME TO WORK FINE. CHECKED GAS CAP JUST TO BE SURE THAT WASN'T THE PROBLEM. OFF WORK ENGINE LIGHT STILL ON, BUT CAR RUNNING FINE. DID SOME RUNNING FOR ABOUT AN HOUR. GOT IN THE CAR TO GO HOME THE LIGHT WASNT ON, SO IM THINKING MAYBE A SENOR BAD. DRIVING HOME WHICH WAS ABOUT A 30 MINTUE DRIVE. ABOUT HALF MILE FROM MY EXIT ON THE HIGHWAY AND ENGINE LIGHT POPS ON, ESC LIGHT POPS ON, REDUCED ENGINE SPEED FOLLOWS. THANKFULLY I MAD IT HOME. PRESSRD ON STAR FOR AN ON DEMAND DIAGNOSTIC CHECK AND ITS MY THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEM. ITS AN 2011 MALIBU, NEXT MONTH MAKES A YEAR THAT IVE HAD IT. ALSO THE THIRD TIME ITS GOING TO THE SHOP. FIRST TIME WAS THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT, THE U JOINT DISLOCATED LOST ALL POWER TO STEER, THANK GOD IT HAPPENED IN MY PARKING LOT AT HOME FRESH OFF THE HIGHYWAY. CHEVY ONLY PAID HALF AND AFTER A MONTH BATTLE WITH THEM, KICKER WAS IT WAS A RECALL FOR THAT BUT MY VIN NUMBER WASNT INCLUDED. SECOND TIME WAS FOR LEAKING TRANSMISSION. SO DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY AND PAST FED UP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/1/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON MY WAY TO WORK, I NOTICED THE ENGINE LIGHT ON. CAR GOT ME TO WORK FINE. CHECKED GAS CAP JUST TO BE SURE THAT WASN'T THE PROBLEM. OFF WORK ENGINE LIGHT STILL ON, BUT CAR RUNNING FINE. DID SOME RUNNING FOR ABOUT AN HOUR. GOT IN THE CAR TO GO HOME THE LIGHT WASNT ON, SO IM THINKING MAYBE A SENOR BAD. DRIVING HOME WHICH WAS ABOUT A 30 MINTUE DRIVE. ABOUT HALF MILE FROM MY EXIT ON THE HIGHWAY AND ENGINE LIGHT POPS ON, ESC LIGHT POPS ON, REDUCED ENGINE SPEED FOLLOWS. THANKFULLY I MAD IT HOME. PRESSRD ON STAR FOR AN ON DEMAND DIAGNOSTIC CHECK AND ITS MY THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEM. ITS AN 2011 MALIBU, NEXT MONTH MAKES A YEAR THAT IVE HAD IT. ALSO THE THIRD TIME ITS GOING TO THE SHOP. FIRST TIME WAS THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT, THE U JOINT DISLOCATED LOST ALL POWER TO STEER, THANK GOD IT HAPPENED IN MY PARKING LOT AT HOME FRESH OFF THE HIGHYWAY. CHEVY ONLY PAID HALF AND AFTER A MONTH BATTLE WITH THEM, KICKER WAS IT WAS A RECALL FOR THAT BUT MY VIN NUMBER WASNT INCLUDED. SECOND TIME WAS FOR LEAKING TRANSMISSION. SO DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY AND PAST FED UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/26/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL), THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE LOW ENGINE, THE POWER TRACTION AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY AND THE PEDAL SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2015 - NORTH KINGSTOWN, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED DECREASED AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/24/2015 - PAINTER, VA
STARTED THE CAR UP. ESC AND REDUCE POWER WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. TODAY 2/24/2015 MAKES THE 4TH TIME IT HAS DONE THAT. TODAY AS I WAS RIDING ALONG IT DONE IT. CAR STALLS AND JUMPS. ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. ONLY HAD THE CAR A YEAR STARTING AT 65000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/23/2015 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LAMP AND THE ESC WARNING LAMPS ILLUMINATED EACH TIME THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WITHIN WEEKS OF THE RECALL REPAIR, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE FURTHER DIAGNOSED. THE RECALL REMEDY DID NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,903.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/23/2015 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LAMP AND THE ESC WARNING LAMPS ILLUMINATED EACH TIME THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WITHIN WEEKS OF THE RECALL REPAIR, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE FURTHER DIAGNOSED. THE RECALL REMEDY DID NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,903.

View Details

STEERING

2/23/2015 - ST. LOUIS , MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, IT RESUMED TO NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,700.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds