Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 156 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (6) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (11) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (28) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (29) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON ENTERING THE VEHICLE HE HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND SMOKE STARTED TO EMIT FROM THE VENTS. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE WIRES WERE BURN AND DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AS A PRECAUTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. ML

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/7/2014 - VINCENT, AL
I WENT TO GET AIR IN TIRE. GOT BACK IN MY CAR AND STARTED IT UP. IT STARTED SHAKING REAL BAD AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON , CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AND A THING ABOUT LOSS OF POWER. I WAS ONLY 5 MINUTES FROM HOME SO I WENT BACK HOME. IT WOULDN'T GET OVER 25 MILES AN HOUR. I CALLED EDWARD CHEVROLET IN BIRMINGHAM,AL. THEY TOLD ME TO GET CAR TO THEM BUT NOT DRIVE IT. THEY CALLED ME BACK AND SAID IT WASN'T UNDER WARRANTY. I DON'T EVEN HAVE 100,000 ON IT. I READ ON LINE OTHER PEOPLE HAD THIS PROBLEM BUT THEY SAY IT'S NOT ON RECALL. WHY? HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE OR CHILDREN? I DIDN'T READ OF ANY DEATHS JUST ALMOST. I CAN'T BELIEVE PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE TO GET SOMETHING DONE. I WAS LUCKY AND NOT FAR FROM HOME. IT COULD HAVE STOPPED ON ME IN MIDDLE OF ROAD. I'VE NEVER GOT ANY RECALL NOTICES. I TOLD THE LADY AT EDWARDS CHEV. THE SAME THING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/6/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
I WAS DRIVING AND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME JUST TO LOOK AT MY CAR. I HAVE NEVER BEEN IN ANY AUTO ACCIDENT FOR THIS TO EVEN HAPPEN. THIS MUST BE A DEFECTIVE AIR BAG> PLEASE CHECK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/6/2014 - COATESVILLE, PA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE HEADLIGHT FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLIGHT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. PAM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2014 - LITTLE ROCK , AR
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, BURNING FUMES EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE AND SMOKE STATED COMING OUT FROM THE BUMPER. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE BATTERY CABLE HAD CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE SERVICE TRACTION WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,909.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE SERVICE TRACTION WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE STALLED. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,909.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2014 - LETTSWORTH, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/25/2014 - LETTSWORTH, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V438000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,356.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds