Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 406 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment (1) Power Train (54) Steering (57) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (98) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (26) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (50)
Electronic Stability Control (91) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (11) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (91) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (11) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2016 - MUSKEGON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AFTER THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR FAILURE. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, TX
POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAPPENED IN A CURVED PART OF THE HIGHWAY AT ~45 MPH. WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE DRIVE HOME WHICH WAS ~2 MILES. RESTARTED THE CAR AT HOME AND EVERYTHING WORKED FINE UNTIL 5 DAYS LATER - SAME PROBLEM. SERVICE ESC AND POWER STEERING ILLUMINATED ON DASH.

View Details

STEERING

5/25/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, TX
POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAPPENED IN A CURVED PART OF THE HIGHWAY AT ~45 MPH. WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE DRIVE HOME WHICH WAS ~2 MILES. RESTARTED THE CAR AT HOME AND EVERYTHING WORKED FINE UNTIL 5 DAYS LATER - SAME PROBLEM. SERVICE ESC AND POWER STEERING ILLUMINATED ON DASH.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/20/2016 - MONROE, LA
HAVE EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTIES WITH REDUCED ENGINE SPEED, CHECK EMS,AND OTHER RELATED CONDITIONS SINCE 2014. THE CAR WOULD IMMEDIATELY SLOW DOWN, NOT PICK UP SPEED, AND ALARM WOULD BEGIN SOUNDING. EACH OCCASION, I TOOK INTO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS SOMETHING DIFFERENT ON EACH OCCASION CAUSING OCCURRENCE. ON OTHER OCCASIONS, DEALERSHIP WOULD SAY THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE ISSUE. I HAD ONE REPAIR MADE. THE CAR DROVE FINE FOR A WHILE TO LATER START AGAIN. I WAS INFORMED IT WAS A SENSOR. ON LAST OCCURRENCE, I HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED. THE CAR IS ONCE AGAIN EXPERIENCING A SLUGGISH CONDITION WHEN DRIVING. THE DEALERSHIP ONCE AGAIN STATED THEY COULD NOT REPLCIATE ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2016 - TOMBALL, TX
MY 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU IS CRANKING, BUT NOT STARTING. I HAD A IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP, WHO RAN A TEST ON THE FUEL SYSTEM, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. I RESEARCHED IT AND FOUND THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM CAN STOP YOUR VEHICLE FROM STARTING. IT SEEMS THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED AFTER I WAS SITTING IN MY CAR DURING LUNCH LISTENING TO THE RADIO FOR AN HOUR. I TURNED THE KEY TWICE TO RESET THE RADIO AFTER IT TIMED OUT. AS I LEFT WORK TO GO HOME IT WOULDN'T START. I FOUND OUT THAT IF YOU RESET THE SYSTEM, IT WILL START AFTER 10-15 MINS. AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT AT THE REPAIR SHOP, IT STARTED. HERE I AM A WEEK LATER AND ITS DOING IT AGAIN, BUT NOW I'M GETTING A SIGNAL WITH A LOCKED CAR SYMBOL ON THE DASH. IT SEEMS THAT THAT ANTI-SYSTEM IS LOCKED AGAIN. I CANNOT FIND OUT HOW TO RESET IT. I WAS NOT IN THE VEHICLE PLAYING THE RADIO AT ALL THAT DAY. HOWEVER, THIS ISSUE HAPPENED TO ME A YEAR AFTER I GOT THE CAR TOO AFTER WASHING THE CAR AND LISTENING TO THE RADIO. I FORGOT ABOUT THAT INCIDENT UNTIL NOW. I AM SEEING OVER 250 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE WERE SOME CARS RECALLED, BUT MINE DOES NOT HAVE ONE ASSOCIATED WITH IT. IT GM RECALLED IT ON SOME, THEY SHOULD RECALL IT ON ALL, IT'S THE SAME ISSUE. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THEY PLAN TO DO THIS, BECAUSE I'M SEEING AND HEARING THEY ARE NO FIXES AT THE REPAIR SHOP. THEY TRY TO FIX IT WITH EXPENSIVE OPTIONS, BUT THE ISSUE COMES BACK. I READ THAT SOME PEOPLE CAR STALLED WHEN THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED. I DON'T WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO ME AND MY FAMILY. THANK GOODNESS MINE WAS PARKED EACH TIME.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/18/2016 - TOMBALL, TX
MY 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU IS CRANKING, BUT NOT STARTING. I HAD A IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP, WHO RAN A TEST ON THE FUEL SYSTEM, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. I RESEARCHED IT AND FOUND THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM CAN STOP YOUR VEHICLE FROM STARTING. IT SEEMS THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED AFTER I WAS SITTING IN MY CAR DURING LUNCH LISTENING TO THE RADIO FOR AN HOUR. I TURNED THE KEY TWICE TO RESET THE RADIO AFTER IT TIMED OUT. AS I LEFT WORK TO GO HOME IT WOULDN'T START. I FOUND OUT THAT IF YOU RESET THE SYSTEM, IT WILL START AFTER 10-15 MINS. AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT AT THE REPAIR SHOP, IT STARTED. HERE I AM A WEEK LATER AND ITS DOING IT AGAIN, BUT NOW I'M GETTING A SIGNAL WITH A LOCKED CAR SYMBOL ON THE DASH. IT SEEMS THAT THAT ANTI-SYSTEM IS LOCKED AGAIN. I CANNOT FIND OUT HOW TO RESET IT. I WAS NOT IN THE VEHICLE PLAYING THE RADIO AT ALL THAT DAY. HOWEVER, THIS ISSUE HAPPENED TO ME A YEAR AFTER I GOT THE CAR TOO AFTER WASHING THE CAR AND LISTENING TO THE RADIO. I FORGOT ABOUT THAT INCIDENT UNTIL NOW. I AM SEEING OVER 250 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE WERE SOME CARS RECALLED, BUT MINE DOES NOT HAVE ONE ASSOCIATED WITH IT. IT GM RECALLED IT ON SOME, THEY SHOULD RECALL IT ON ALL, IT'S THE SAME ISSUE. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THEY PLAN TO DO THIS, BECAUSE I'M SEEING AND HEARING THEY ARE NO FIXES AT THE REPAIR SHOP. THEY TRY TO FIX IT WITH EXPENSIVE OPTIONS, BUT THE ISSUE COMES BACK. I READ THAT SOME PEOPLE CAR STALLED WHEN THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED. I DON'T WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO ME AND MY FAMILY. THANK GOODNESS MINE WAS PARKED EACH TIME.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/12/2016 - GLENDALE, WI
MAY 11, 2016 DAY 1 WHILE DRIVING CAR BEGAN TO REDUCE SPEED ON IT'S OWN. MAY 12, 2016 DAY 2 UPON STARTING CAR THE ESC SERVICE LIGHT IS ON, IT READS THE "ESC IS OFF" CAR WAS STATIONARY.

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2016 - HOMER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE AREA WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT WAS WELDED HAD FRACTURED. AS A RESULT, THE SEAT FAILED TO REMAIN IN POSITION. IN ADDITION, WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL STEERED TO THE LEFT IN EXCESS AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE ESC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/11/2016 - HOMER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE AREA WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT WAS WELDED HAD FRACTURED. AS A RESULT, THE SEAT FAILED TO REMAIN IN POSITION. IN ADDITION, WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL STEERED TO THE LEFT IN EXCESS AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE ESC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2016 - SOMERSET, WI
I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING ISSUES WITH MY 2011 CHEVY MALIBU. I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN SUDDENLY THE MOTOR STARTED VIOLENTLY SHAKING AND THE DASHBOARD INFORMATION DISPLAY WOULD FLASH, "ENGINE POWER REDUCED, SERVICE ESC, SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, AIR BAG LIGHTS AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON". THIS WAS AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE, IT CAN SOMETIMES GO WEEKS/MONTHS WITHOUT ISSUES, BUT THEN OUT OF NOWHERE IT WILL START HAPPENING AGAIN. SOMETIMES SHUTTING THE CAR OFF, WAITING A FEW MOMENTS, AND RESTARTING WOULD USUALLY GET IT RUNNING CORRECTLY AGAIN. HOWEVER, OTHER TIMES IT WILL REMAIN FOR SEVERAL DAYS. THE ISSUE HAS BEEN BECOMING MORE FREQUENT AND STAYING LONGER AS TIME GOES ON. WHEN I STARTED SEEING THE ISSUE I LOOKED UP ONLINE TO SEE IF OTHER PEOPLE WERE SEEING SIMILAR ISSUES AND FOUND HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, MODEL CAR HAVING THE SAME EXACT ISSUE. I HAVE SEEN ISSUES STARTED AT 50K MILES AND UP, BUT MINE STARTED DOING THIS AT APPROXIMATELY 72K MILES. THIS ISSUE HAS ALMOST CAUSED ME TO GET IN SEVERAL ACCIDENTS, AND I BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED AS THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM. HERE ARE SOME OF THE WEBSITES AT WHICH I FOUND PEOPLE SHARING THEIR STORIES OF THE SAME EXACT ISSUE. HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/CHEVROLET/MALIBU/2011/ENGINE/SERVICE_ESC_TRACTION_REDUCED_ENGINE_POWER_LIGHTS_ON.SHTML HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-C22347_DS630666 HTTP://CHEVROLETFORUM.COM/FORUM/MALIBU-15/VERY-DANGEROUS-REDUCED-ENGINE-POWER-ISSUE-62499/ HTTP://WWW.CHEVYMALIBUFORUM.COM/FORUMS/6-PROBLEMS-SERVICE-ISSUES-TROUBLESHOOTING-GENERATION-7/7240-SERVICE-ESC.HTML I HAVE INCLUDED A COUPLE OF IMAGES OF A COUPLE OF THE DASH MESSAGES PLEASE HELP THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT OCCURRED 05/07/2016 BUT HAS BEEN HAPPENING INTERMITTENTLY FOR A YEAR OR TWO, IT STARTED AT 72542 MILES BUT MOST RECENT HAPPENED AT APPROXIMATELY 92K THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds