Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 511 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment (1) Power Train (76) Steering (76) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (117) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (29) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (61)
Electronic Stability Control (108) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seats (17) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (109) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (14) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/29/2017 - HAMERSVILLE, OH
POWER STEERING IS NOT WORKING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/29/2017 - PRUE, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMP FAILED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE WITH THE HIGH BEAMS ACTIVATED. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE HARNESS TO THE LOW BEAMS WAS BURNED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME THE HARNESS BURNED, AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE HARNESS WAS REPLACED ONE TIME ALSO. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (JIM GLOVER CHEVROLET IN TULSA, OKLAHOMA) THE FIRST TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED, AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

11/29/2017 - PRUE, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMP FAILED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE WITH THE HIGH BEAMS ACTIVATED. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE HARNESS TO THE LOW BEAMS WAS BURNED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME THE HARNESS BURNED, AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE HARNESS WAS REPLACED ONE TIME ALSO. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (JIM GLOVER CHEVROLET IN TULSA, OKLAHOMA) THE FIRST TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED, AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2017 - DALLAS, GA
+TAKATA RECALL+ THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN I PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION THE LIGHT BECAME DIM. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY, I HEARN A CHIME AND THE DASH SHOWS +POWER STEERING+ AND +SERVICE ESC+. THE CAR WOULD NOT CRANK; ONLY FLICKER N THE DASH AND LOOSE POWER.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/27/2017 - DALLAS, GA
+TAKATA RECALL+ THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN I PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION THE LIGHT BECAME DIM. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY, I HEARN A CHIME AND THE DASH SHOWS +POWER STEERING+ AND +SERVICE ESC+. THE CAR WOULD NOT CRANK; ONLY FLICKER N THE DASH AND LOOSE POWER.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2017 - HAMBURG, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A MANUFACTURER RECALL REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V269000 (SEAT BELTS). THE PART WAS REPLACED, BUT THE SEAT BELT FRACTURED FROM THE BASE CONNECTION. THE BUCKLE LOCKED IN PLACE, BUT THE PART WAS FRACTURED; THEREFORE, THE SEAT BELT WAS NOT SECURE ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. THE DEALER (WEST HERR CHEVROLET OF HAMBURG, 5025 SOUTHWESTERN BLVD, HAMBURG, NY 14075, (716) 217-4129) WAS CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
I AM REPORTING THIS INCIDENT ALTHOUGH IT IS A LITTLE OVER 3 YEARS OLD, I WAS NOT AWARE OF THIS WEBSITE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BECAUSE I FEEL IT IS RELATED TO THE COMPLAINT I RECENTLY SUBMITTED, COMPLAINT NUMBER: 11045010, PLUS CHEVROLET NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE. ON OCTOBER 6TH, 2014 AT ABOUT 2PM I AM GETTING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AS I AM ABOUT TO MERGE WITH TRAFFIC AND START TO ACCELERATION I FEEL A SURGE AND THAN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. WHEN I AM ABLE TO I PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND CONTACT THE SHOP WHERE I TAKE MY CAR TO BE SERVICED AND SET UP AN APPOINTMENT TO BRING MY CAR IN THE NEXT MORNING. BRACH'S AUTO RUNS A ENGINE DIAGNOSTICS TEST AND THE CODES ARE P0700 AND P2714. THE MANAGER ASKS IF MY CAR IS STILL UNDER ANY WARRANTY AND IT WAS STILL UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY SO HE SUGGESTS I CONTACT CHEVROLET. I FIRST CONTACT WEBB CHEVY OAK LAWN WHO WAS NOT ABLE TO GIVE ME AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 2 WEEKS AWAY SO I CONTACTED THE CHEVROLET CUSTOMER CARE AND SPOKE WITH A REP WHO HELPED ME TO SET UP AN APPOINTMENT WITH KINGDOM CHEVROLET AND TO RECEIVE A GM RENTAL. I WAS NOT ALLOWED TO USE THE LICENSED SHOP WHERE I HAVE MY CAR SERVICED AND THEY REFUSED TO PAY THE ENGINE DIAGNOSTICS FEE I HAD ALREADY HAD COMPLETED. KINGDOM CHEVROLET CAME UP WITH THE SAME DIAGNOSTIC CODES AS BRACH'S AUTO AND SUGGESTED A THROTTLE BODY SERVICE AND FUEL INJECTION SERVICE FOR RUNNING ISSUES. AFTER THE WORK WAS COMPLETED I TOOK IT BACK TO BRACH'S AUTO TO HAVE THEM CHECK IT OUT AND IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I DO THE THROTTLE BODY SERVICE WHICH I HAD COMPLETED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/14/2017 - CLAYTON, NJ
FRONT PASSENGER DOOR CANNOT BE OPENED FROM OUTSIDE OR INSIDE. HAD TO CLIMB OVER SEAT TO GET OUT OF THE BACK DOOR. CAR WAS IN A PARKING LOT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/13/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLAMPS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLAMPS WERE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/9/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
ON NOVEMBER 1, 2017, WHILE DRIVING HOME ON THE EXPRESSWAY I HEAR THIS LOUD REVVING NOISE, I TURN MY RADIO OFF AND REALIZE IT IS MY CAR MAKING THE NOISE AND THAN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. WHEN I WAS ABLE TO I PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND TURNED MY CAR OFF IN HOPES OF THE ERROR CLEARING OUT. AFTER A FEW MINUTES I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON ONLY TO FIND THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS STILL ON, WHEN IT WAS SAVE TO DO SO, I PULLED BACK INTO TRAFFIC WITH MY HAZARD LIGHTS AS I COULD NOT GO OVER 20 TO 30 MPH WITHOUT THE RPM GOING UP. I MADE IT HOME, TRIED TO BACK INTO MY GARAGE ONLY TO FIND THAT MY CAR WILL NOT GO IN REVERSE. I PUT THE CAR BACK IN DRIVE, PULLED AROUND TO THE FRONT OF THE HOUSE AND PARKED THE CAR. SINCE IT WAS AFTER MIDNIGHT, I CALLED CHEVROLET THE NEXT DAY AND THE ONLY THING THEY COULD HELP ME WITH WAS TO GET IN TOUCH WITH A DEALERSHIP TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO TAKE THE CAR IN FOR DIAGNOSTICS AS MY CAR WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS MODEL YEAR ALTHOUGH THERE IS A RECALL FOR MODELS 2007 THRU 2009 FOR THE SAME ISSUES. MY SERVICE ADVISER CALLED ME LATER THAT DAY TO TELL ME IT WAS DUE TO TRANSMISSION FAILURE, THEY FOUND METAL IN THE TRANSMISSION AND HIS ADVICE WAS TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. MY DIAGNOSTIC CODE WAS P0776( PRESSURE SOLENOID 2 STUCK OFF), MY BILL $3946 FOR CAR THAT HAS 84000 MILES ON IT. A CAR THAT I AM STILL PAYING A CAR NOTE ON. WHEN I PURCHASED IT 4 YEARS AGO IT HAD JUST UNDER 30000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE DONE EVERYTHING TO MAINTAIN MY CAR BECAUSE MY BIGGEST FEAR IS BEING STUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, ESPECIALLY SINCE I AM A WOMAN WORKING 2ND SHIFT. I DO NOT HAVE MY REPAIR INVOICE YET AS I HAVE NOT PICKED MY CAR UP YET, ITS NOT SO EASY TO COME UP WITH NEARLY $4000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds