Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 532 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment (1) Power Train (76) Steering (83) Unknown Or Other (31)
Electrical System (119) Exterior Lighting (15) Seat Belts (31) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Electronic Stability Control (117) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (20) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (111) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (17) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (14) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/30/2018 - HIGGINSVILLE, MO
STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN STOPPED AT IDLE AND SHAKES SLIGHTLY WHEN DRIVING, AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE THE POWER STEERING SOME TIMES DOES NOT WORK AND SERVICE ESC MESSAGE APPEARS. I CAN TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTART IT AND EVERYTHING WORKS BUT WHEEL STILL SHAKES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/29/2018 - DOVER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE; HOWEVER, THE BRAKE LIGHT WOULD REMAIN ILLUMINATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT BEING DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO APPLE CHEVROLET (1200 LOUCKS RD, YORK, PA) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRICAL BRAKE LIGHT WIRING WAS FAULTY AND CORROSION WAS PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED IN OCTOBER 2014 PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING), BUT THE FAILURE RECENTLY RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/29/2018 - DOVER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE; HOWEVER, THE BRAKE LIGHT WOULD REMAIN ILLUMINATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT BEING DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO APPLE CHEVROLET (1200 LOUCKS RD, YORK, PA) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRICAL BRAKE LIGHT WIRING WAS FAULTY AND CORROSION WAS PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED IN OCTOBER 2014 PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING), BUT THE FAILURE RECENTLY RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/26/2018 - LOMA LINDA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE THE CONTACT'S STEPDAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 15-20 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CROSSROADS CHEVROLET CADILLAC OF JOPLIN (4630 E 32ND ST, JOPLIN, MO 64804, (417) 626-6620) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THERE WERE NO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14E044000 (STEERING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,000.

View Details

SEATS

1/24/2018 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE DRIVER'S SEAT FRAME IS BROKEN, CAUSING A SHARP LEAN TO THE RIGHT. IT APPEARS THAT THE FRAME NEEDS TO BE RE-WELDED. A QUICK GOOGLE SEARCH FOUND A GOOD NUMBER OF THE SAME ISSUE. THE PICTURES ONLINE LOOK EXACTLY LIKE MY PROBLEM. (THE ATTACHED PIC IS ONE I FOUND WITH THE SAME PROBLEM, BUT NOT MY ACTUAL SEAT)

View Details

STEERING

1/23/2018 - BOWIE, MD
AT RANDOM TIMES MY CHEVY MALIBU 2011 W/ FLEX FUEL STEERING WHEEL BECOMES HARD TO CONTROL. THE SERVICE ESC AND POWER STEERING LIGHTS BEGIN TO FLASH. WHEN I PULL OVER (BECOMES THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY A LOT) I TURN MY CAR OFF AND BACK ON. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY GO AWAY. MY CAR MILEAGE IS ONLY AT 107,500. I+VE READ ABOUT RECALLS AND TESTED MY VIN FOR IT. UNFORTUNATELY, I DO NOT SEE THAT MY CAR WAS ONE THAT WAS RECALLED FOR THE 2008-2013 CAR RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM. I DON+T HAVE EXTRA FUNDS TO BUY A NEW CAR OR GET THIS ONE FIXED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT I HOPE THEY CAN FIND A SOLUTION FOR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/23/2018 - BOWIE, MD
AT RANDOM TIMES MY CHEVY MALIBU 2011 W/ FLEX FUEL STEERING WHEEL BECOMES HARD TO CONTROL. THE SERVICE ESC AND POWER STEERING LIGHTS BEGIN TO FLASH. WHEN I PULL OVER (BECOMES THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY A LOT) I TURN MY CAR OFF AND BACK ON. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY GO AWAY. MY CAR MILEAGE IS ONLY AT 107,500. I+VE READ ABOUT RECALLS AND TESTED MY VIN FOR IT. UNFORTUNATELY, I DO NOT SEE THAT MY CAR WAS ONE THAT WAS RECALLED FOR THE 2008-2013 CAR RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM. I DON+T HAVE EXTRA FUNDS TO BUY A NEW CAR OR GET THIS ONE FIXED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT I HOPE THEY CAN FIND A SOLUTION FOR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/22/2018 - CLINTON, TN
VERY DANGEROUS REDUCED ENGINE POWER WILL OCCUR AT ANY TIME. I COULD BE DRIVING 70 MPH AND IT WILL DROP TO 5MPH. SOMEONE COULD BE KILLED!! I HAD THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL POSITION SENSOR REPLACED BEC THAT'S THE CODE THAT WAS BEING TRANSMITTED AND IT WORKED FINE FOR 3 DAYS. NOW SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN AS I'M DRIVING MY 3 YOUNG CHILDREN HOME ON THE HIGHWAY. CAR WILL DROP SPEED AND VIOLENTLY SHAKE AND NOT GO OVER 10MPH.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/20/2018 - MASSILLON, OH
MY SON WAS DRIVING HIS VEHICLE AND THE COMPUTER ASSISTED POWER STEERING WENT OUT. FIXED AT DOUG CHEVROLET 1-12-2018. NOW (AFTER THE WARRANTY REPAIR OF A STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR) WHEN DRIVING FOUR DAYS LATER HE LOST POWER, VEHICLE FLASHED SERVICE TRACTION AND REDUCED POWER AND SLOWED IMMEDIATELY FROM 45 TO 5 MPH AND HE WAS ABLE TO LIMP IT HOME. THE LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING WAS IMMEDIATE AND DRASTIC AND CARS BEHIND HIM WERE ABLE TO SLOW DOWN BUT IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A SEVERE ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/20/2018 - MASSILLON, OH
MY SON WAS DRIVING HIS VEHICLE AND THE COMPUTER ASSISTED POWER STEERING WENT OUT. FIXED AT DOUG CHEVROLET 1-12-2018. NOW (AFTER THE WARRANTY REPAIR OF A STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR) WHEN DRIVING FOUR DAYS LATER HE LOST POWER, VEHICLE FLASHED SERVICE TRACTION AND REDUCED POWER AND SLOWED IMMEDIATELY FROM 45 TO 5 MPH AND HE WAS ABLE TO LIMP IT HOME. THE LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING WAS IMMEDIATE AND DRASTIC AND CARS BEHIND HIM WERE ABLE TO SLOW DOWN BUT IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A SEVERE ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds