Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 409 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment (1) Power Train (56) Steering (57) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (98) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (27) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (51)
Electronic Stability Control (91) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (11) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (91) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (11) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/22/2016 - RICHMOND, VA
PURCHASED CAR 09/2015 HALEY BUICK GMC TRUCKS IN RICHMOND VIRGINIA WITH 75K MILES. IT WAS A PREVIOUS RENTAL CAR. WAS GIVEN CLEAN CARFAX AND MAINTENANCE RECORD THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN MAINTAINED PER MANUFACTURES SCHEDULE. IT HAS AN ENCLOSED TRANSMISSION AND CANNOT CHECK TRANSMISSION FLUID IT HAS TO BE MAINTAINED. A YEAR AFTER THE PURCHASE AND ADDING ONLY 8K MILES THIS CAR HAS A COMPLETELY BLOWN TRANSMISSION IN WILL COST $4,888 TO HAVE A NEW TRANSMISSION ORDERED. MY ISSUE IS THERE IS NO RECALLS ON THE 35R PLATE WHICH IS THE CAUSE OF RUINING THE TRANSMISSION ON MANY FORM SITES FOR THIS YEAR OF CHEVROLET MALIBU. THEN THERE ARE A LARGE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS AND ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL ON FORMS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/14/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECREASE IN SPEED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 72,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/14/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECREASE IN SPEED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 72,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/2/2016 - WEST WARWICK, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT LOOSENED. THE CONTACT HAD TO READJUST THE SEAT BELT TO MAKE IT TIGHT. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO REPAIRED THE VEHICLE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V269000 (SEAT BELTS); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,140.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2016 - MUSKEGON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AFTER THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SIMILAR FAILURE. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/25/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, TX
POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAPPENED IN A CURVED PART OF THE HIGHWAY AT ~45 MPH. WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE DRIVE HOME WHICH WAS ~2 MILES. RESTARTED THE CAR AT HOME AND EVERYTHING WORKED FINE UNTIL 5 DAYS LATER - SAME PROBLEM. SERVICE ESC AND POWER STEERING ILLUMINATED ON DASH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, TX
POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAPPENED IN A CURVED PART OF THE HIGHWAY AT ~45 MPH. WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE DRIVE HOME WHICH WAS ~2 MILES. RESTARTED THE CAR AT HOME AND EVERYTHING WORKED FINE UNTIL 5 DAYS LATER - SAME PROBLEM. SERVICE ESC AND POWER STEERING ILLUMINATED ON DASH.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/20/2016 - MONROE, LA
HAVE EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTIES WITH REDUCED ENGINE SPEED, CHECK EMS,AND OTHER RELATED CONDITIONS SINCE 2014. THE CAR WOULD IMMEDIATELY SLOW DOWN, NOT PICK UP SPEED, AND ALARM WOULD BEGIN SOUNDING. EACH OCCASION, I TOOK INTO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS SOMETHING DIFFERENT ON EACH OCCASION CAUSING OCCURRENCE. ON OTHER OCCASIONS, DEALERSHIP WOULD SAY THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE ISSUE. I HAD ONE REPAIR MADE. THE CAR DROVE FINE FOR A WHILE TO LATER START AGAIN. I WAS INFORMED IT WAS A SENSOR. ON LAST OCCURRENCE, I HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED. THE CAR IS ONCE AGAIN EXPERIENCING A SLUGGISH CONDITION WHEN DRIVING. THE DEALERSHIP ONCE AGAIN STATED THEY COULD NOT REPLCIATE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/18/2016 - TOMBALL, TX
MY 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU IS CRANKING, BUT NOT STARTING. I HAD A IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP, WHO RAN A TEST ON THE FUEL SYSTEM, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. I RESEARCHED IT AND FOUND THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM CAN STOP YOUR VEHICLE FROM STARTING. IT SEEMS THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED AFTER I WAS SITTING IN MY CAR DURING LUNCH LISTENING TO THE RADIO FOR AN HOUR. I TURNED THE KEY TWICE TO RESET THE RADIO AFTER IT TIMED OUT. AS I LEFT WORK TO GO HOME IT WOULDN'T START. I FOUND OUT THAT IF YOU RESET THE SYSTEM, IT WILL START AFTER 10-15 MINS. AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT AT THE REPAIR SHOP, IT STARTED. HERE I AM A WEEK LATER AND ITS DOING IT AGAIN, BUT NOW I'M GETTING A SIGNAL WITH A LOCKED CAR SYMBOL ON THE DASH. IT SEEMS THAT THAT ANTI-SYSTEM IS LOCKED AGAIN. I CANNOT FIND OUT HOW TO RESET IT. I WAS NOT IN THE VEHICLE PLAYING THE RADIO AT ALL THAT DAY. HOWEVER, THIS ISSUE HAPPENED TO ME A YEAR AFTER I GOT THE CAR TOO AFTER WASHING THE CAR AND LISTENING TO THE RADIO. I FORGOT ABOUT THAT INCIDENT UNTIL NOW. I AM SEEING OVER 250 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE WERE SOME CARS RECALLED, BUT MINE DOES NOT HAVE ONE ASSOCIATED WITH IT. IT GM RECALLED IT ON SOME, THEY SHOULD RECALL IT ON ALL, IT'S THE SAME ISSUE. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THEY PLAN TO DO THIS, BECAUSE I'M SEEING AND HEARING THEY ARE NO FIXES AT THE REPAIR SHOP. THEY TRY TO FIX IT WITH EXPENSIVE OPTIONS, BUT THE ISSUE COMES BACK. I READ THAT SOME PEOPLE CAR STALLED WHEN THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED. I DON'T WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO ME AND MY FAMILY. THANK GOODNESS MINE WAS PARKED EACH TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2016 - TOMBALL, TX
MY 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU IS CRANKING, BUT NOT STARTING. I HAD A IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP, WHO RAN A TEST ON THE FUEL SYSTEM, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. I RESEARCHED IT AND FOUND THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM CAN STOP YOUR VEHICLE FROM STARTING. IT SEEMS THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED AFTER I WAS SITTING IN MY CAR DURING LUNCH LISTENING TO THE RADIO FOR AN HOUR. I TURNED THE KEY TWICE TO RESET THE RADIO AFTER IT TIMED OUT. AS I LEFT WORK TO GO HOME IT WOULDN'T START. I FOUND OUT THAT IF YOU RESET THE SYSTEM, IT WILL START AFTER 10-15 MINS. AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT AT THE REPAIR SHOP, IT STARTED. HERE I AM A WEEK LATER AND ITS DOING IT AGAIN, BUT NOW I'M GETTING A SIGNAL WITH A LOCKED CAR SYMBOL ON THE DASH. IT SEEMS THAT THAT ANTI-SYSTEM IS LOCKED AGAIN. I CANNOT FIND OUT HOW TO RESET IT. I WAS NOT IN THE VEHICLE PLAYING THE RADIO AT ALL THAT DAY. HOWEVER, THIS ISSUE HAPPENED TO ME A YEAR AFTER I GOT THE CAR TOO AFTER WASHING THE CAR AND LISTENING TO THE RADIO. I FORGOT ABOUT THAT INCIDENT UNTIL NOW. I AM SEEING OVER 250 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE WERE SOME CARS RECALLED, BUT MINE DOES NOT HAVE ONE ASSOCIATED WITH IT. IT GM RECALLED IT ON SOME, THEY SHOULD RECALL IT ON ALL, IT'S THE SAME ISSUE. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THEY PLAN TO DO THIS, BECAUSE I'M SEEING AND HEARING THEY ARE NO FIXES AT THE REPAIR SHOP. THEY TRY TO FIX IT WITH EXPENSIVE OPTIONS, BUT THE ISSUE COMES BACK. I READ THAT SOME PEOPLE CAR STALLED WHEN THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM LOCKED. I DON'T WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO ME AND MY FAMILY. THANK GOODNESS MINE WAS PARKED EACH TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds