Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 467 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (52) Equipment (1) Power Train (68) Steering (65) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (108) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (27) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Electronic Stability Control (101) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (14) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (101) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (12) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/22/2017 - CLEARWATER, MN
A KNOWN CHEVROLET ISSUE ON THEIR 2.4 L ENGINE CAUSED FAILURE IN MY AUTOMOBILE WHILE TRAVELLING 70 MPH ON I94 IN MINNESOTA. IF THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE LOCKED UP WE MAY HAVE DIED. THIS ISSUE IS KNOWN TO GM AND HAS BEEN ADDRESSED IN OTHER VEHICLES BUT THE MALIBU THEY LEFT OUT. GM WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THIS. THE TIMING CHAIN, OR CHAIN TENSIONER, OR CHAIN GUIDES FAILED CAUSING THE CHAIN TO BREAK AND LOSE POWER WHILE TRAVELLING DOWN THE ROAD. EVERY GM MECHANIC I HAVE TALKED TO AFTER THIS HAPPENED HAS SAID THAT THESE VEHICLES REQUIRE AN OIL CHANGE EVERY 3000 MILES BUT GM STATES DIFFERENTLY. THEY SAY IF YOU FOLLOW GM STANDARDS THIS WILL HAPPEN ALMOST EVERY TIME. VEHICLE HAD UNDER 100,000 MILES ON ON WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND COULD HAVE CAUSED MASS CASUALTY. AGAIN THIS ISSUE IS KNOWN ON GM VEHICLES AND THEY REFUSE TO ADDRESS IT UNTIL MORE PEOPLE WITH A MALIBU COME FORWARD. THIS NEED TO BE RESOLVED AS THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE TRAVELLING DOWN THE ROADS IN MN. I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE ABLE TO CONTROL IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/20/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
REACTOR GEAR BROKE, BLOWING INTO ALL PARTS OF THE TRANSMISSION. BROKE WITH NO WARNING WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET, WASN'T ABLE TO SPEED UP OR MOVE OUT OF FIRST GEAR. ALSO WAS NOT ABLE TO REVERSE. RESULTED IN A NEED FOR A TOTAL NEW TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
REACTOR GEAR BROKE, BLOWING INTO ALL PARTS OF THE TRANSMISSION. BROKE WITH NO WARNING WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET, WASN'T ABLE TO SPEED UP OR MOVE OUT OF FIRST GEAR. ALSO WAS NOT ABLE TO REVERSE. RESULTED IN A NEED FOR A TOTAL NEW TRANSMISSION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/3/2017 - FALL RIVER, MA
CHECK LIGHT WITH EVAPORATIVE LEAK AT LESS THAN 5 YEARS AND APPROX 97800 MILES. DEALER REPLACED HEAVILY CORRODED FUEL PUMP MODULE, AND A WEEK LATER THE FUEL TANK ITSELF, ALSO DUE TO HEAVY CORROSION. DEALER PROVIDED DISCOUNTS AND FREE LOANER, I HAVE NO COMPLAINT WITH DEALER. MY COMPLAINT IS WITH CHEVROLET FOR NOT PROPERLY DESIGNING THESE PARTS WHICH WERE HEAVILY CORRODED IN LESS THAN 5 YEARS. I AM OUT A SUBSTANTIAL SUM, ABOUT $1600, AND HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INSTANCE. A FUEL OR VAPOR LEAK IS CERTAINLY DANGEROUS AND I ASSUME IS NOT IN COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL EMISSIONS REGS. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET AND THEY WILL NOT EVEN RESPOND TO EMAIL. I WAS HOPING FOR SOME COMPENSATION AS I AM A LONGTIME/MULTI CHEVY OWNER. WHILE NOT AN IMMEDIATE SAFETY ISSUE, IT SEEMS A FUEL LEAK IS POSSIBLE WITH THIS PROBLEM, AND I WANTED TO LOG A COMPLAINT SO NHTSA CAN DETERMINE IF A MANUFACTURING/DESIGN DEFECT EXISTS. I DON'T BELIEVE I HAVE THE ONLY MALIBU WITH THIS PROBLEM. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/2/2017 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
THE HEADLIGHT BULBS HAVE BEEN REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES AND CONTINUE TO BLOW OUT INTERMITTENTLY WITHIN A FEW MONTHS OF REPLACEMENT. THERE IS NO ISSUE WITH THE FACTORY INSTALLED HIGH BEAM LAMPS ONLY THE LOW BEAM LAMPS ARE BLOWING OUT AFTER REPLACEMENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2017 - GRANVILLE, IL
THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT HAS BROKEN. IT IS THE RIGHT SIDE AND IT IS SITTING LOWER THAN THE LEFT SIDE. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN ANY VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED. THE OTHER ISSUE IS INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS WITH THE SHIFTING OF THE TRANSMISSION. IT IS VERY WORRISOME. WHEN YOU ARE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN/LIGHT OR ANYTHING AND YOU GO TO TAKE OFF IT FEELS LIKE CAR SHUTS DOWN BRIEFLY AND THEN IT KICKS IN. THE PROBLEM CAN NEVER SEEM TO BE REPLICATED AT A DEALERSHIP IMAGINE THAT.

View Details

SEATS

3/2/2017 - GRANVILLE, IL
THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT HAS BROKEN. IT IS THE RIGHT SIDE AND IT IS SITTING LOWER THAN THE LEFT SIDE. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN ANY VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED. THE OTHER ISSUE IS INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS WITH THE SHIFTING OF THE TRANSMISSION. IT IS VERY WORRISOME. WHEN YOU ARE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN/LIGHT OR ANYTHING AND YOU GO TO TAKE OFF IT FEELS LIKE CAR SHUTS DOWN BRIEFLY AND THEN IT KICKS IN. THE PROBLEM CAN NEVER SEEM TO BE REPLICATED AT A DEALERSHIP IMAGINE THAT.

View Details

SEATS

2/28/2017 - EAST HAVEN, CT
I DID HAVE A RECALL ON THE FRONT SEAT BELTS, NOT SURE IF THE SEATS WERE REMOVED. SINCE THEN THE DRIVERS SEAT FELT AS IF IT WAS CLOSER TO THE CENTER CONSOLE AND LEANING MORE TO THE RIGHT NOT TO MENTION A TOOL (BATTERY POWERED ANGLE DRIVER) WAS FOUND IN THE BACK LEFT SEAT LATER AND RETURNED TO MCDERMOTT. MY SEAT IS LEANING MORE AND MORE AS TIME PASSES AND I WENT TO THE REAR SEAT TO LOOK AT THE DRIVERS SEAT AND THE RIGHT SIDE MOUNTED TO THE FLOOR RAIL IS LIFTING UP? I THE SPOKE WITH CHEVROLET DIRECT ONLINE AND WAS TOLD IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. CAN YOU IMAGINE IF I WAS TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT AND ME THE SEAT WITH MY SEAT BELT ON WENT THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND MY SEAT IS ALSO DAMAGED FROM THE MOVEMENT, LEATHER SEAT. THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2017 - BISMARCK, ND
TIMING CHAIN FAILURE IN THE 4 CYL. ECHO TECH ENGINE. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD US THEY HAVE MANY VEHICLES WITH THIS SAME ENGINE COME IN BUT THE MALIBU HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED EVEN THOUGH IT'S THE SAME ENGINE AS THE TRAVERSE RECALLS. NOT REPLACING THE TIMING CHAIN AND PULLEYS WILL RESULT IN ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/19/2017 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
VEHICLE WITHOUT ANY WARNING REDUCED POWER TO JUST IDLE WHILE AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND SEVERAL ERROR MESSAGES WERE DISPLAYED INCLUDING "REDUCED POWER." I DROVE THROUGH THE INTERSECTION AT ONLY 2 MPH AND THEN PULLED OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I SHUT THE CAR OFF FOUR (4) TIMES AND THEN THE ENGINE RAN NORMALLY. I DROVE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED PROBLEM TO AN INTERMITTENT ELECTRICAL CONNECTION AT THE TPS CONNECTOR FOR THE ECM. TSB # PIP5019 (DOC ID#2834731) IDENTIFIES REPAIR PROCEDURE TO REPLACE PINS/CONTACTS FOR THE TPS CONNECTOR. EVIDENCE IDENTIFIES A LATENT MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT CAN CAUSE THE CAR TO SUDDENLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY REDUCE ENGINE POWER PLACING THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS AT GREAT RISK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds