Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 488 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment (1) Power Train (72) Steering (68) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (115) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (27) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (61)
Electronic Stability Control (104) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seats (16) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (107) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (13) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 76
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/13/2017 - CASSOPOLIS, MI
WHEN DRIVING WITHOUT WARNING MY VEHICLE WILL SAY SYSTEM SHUT DOWN AND THEN ENGINE POWER REDUCED AND THE IT WILL SHAKE VIGOROUSLY AND TURN OFF. THIS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF A SNOW STORM AND I WAS ALMOST HIT BY A SEMI. I HAD TO SWERVE OFF THE ROAD DOWN INTO A DITCH. IN THE WINTER IT HAPPENS ALMOST EVERYDAY. NOT IN WINTER MONTHS IT HAPPENS AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT WAS ON 7/11/17. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF POSTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIND OUT WHAT THE ISSUE IS EVEN AFTER THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS BEING SPENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2017 - PARMA, OH
LAST 3 YRS MY ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT COMES ON. LAST AUG 2016 HAD THE CAR IF FOR THIS REPLACED A BRAKE SENSOR PROBLEM CAME BACK 3 WEEKS LATER. WENT FOR 2 MORE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. COULD NOT FIND ISSUE. MAY 2017 PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. IN ADDITION, WHEN THIS SERVICE ESC COMES ON MY BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT WORK. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I AM BRING THE CAR IN AGAIN FOR ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE. THE LIGHT COMES ON DURING THE WARM MONTHS, EITHER DURING THE ACTUAL BRAKING OR WHEN I AM IN A STOP POSITION HOLDING DOWN THE BRAKE. GM CUSTOMER CARE HAS BE OF NO HELP THUS FAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2017 - PARMA, OH
LAST 3 YRS MY ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT COMES ON. LAST AUG 2016 HAD THE CAR IF FOR THIS REPLACED A BRAKE SENSOR PROBLEM CAME BACK 3 WEEKS LATER. WENT FOR 2 MORE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. COULD NOT FIND ISSUE. MAY 2017 PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. IN ADDITION, WHEN THIS SERVICE ESC COMES ON MY BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT WORK. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I AM BRING THE CAR IN AGAIN FOR ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE. THE LIGHT COMES ON DURING THE WARM MONTHS, EITHER DURING THE ACTUAL BRAKING OR WHEN I AM IN A STOP POSITION HOLDING DOWN THE BRAKE. GM CUSTOMER CARE HAS BE OF NO HELP THUS FAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/11/2017 - PARMA, OH
LAST 3 YRS MY ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT COMES ON. LAST AUG 2016 HAD THE CAR IF FOR THIS REPLACED A BRAKE SENSOR PROBLEM CAME BACK 3 WEEKS LATER. WENT FOR 2 MORE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. COULD NOT FIND ISSUE. MAY 2017 PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. IN ADDITION, WHEN THIS SERVICE ESC COMES ON MY BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT WORK. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I AM BRING THE CAR IN AGAIN FOR ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE. THE LIGHT COMES ON DURING THE WARM MONTHS, EITHER DURING THE ACTUAL BRAKING OR WHEN I AM IN A STOP POSITION HOLDING DOWN THE BRAKE. GM CUSTOMER CARE HAS BE OF NO HELP THUS FAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/3/2017 - REISTERSTOWN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS SCANNED FOR A CODE BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE CODE. THE CONTACT CALLED HERITAGE CHEVROLET BUICK OWINGS MILLS DEALER LOCATED AT 11234 REISTERSTOWN RD, OWINGS MILLS, MD 21117 AND AN APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AT THE CONTACTS EXPENSE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY VIOLENTLY ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS AGGRESSIVELY DEPRESSED WHICH DECREASED SLIGHTLY THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE BUT DID NOT COMPLETELY STOP THE VEHICLE. A CHIME SOUNDED BUT IT WAS UNKNOWN IF A WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE WENT OVER THE CURB AND CRASHED INTO A BUILDING. THERE WAS FRONT END DAMAGE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE MANUFACTURER CALLED THE CONTACT AND INFORMED HER TO NOT BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC TESTING BUT TO TAKE PHOTOS AND SEND THEM TO AN E-MAIL ADDRESS PROVIDED BY THE REPRESENTATIVE. THE CASE NUMBER FOR THE CONVERSATION WITH THE MANUFACTURER REPRESENTATIVE WAS 8-3068861818. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V252000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL), 14E44000 (STEERING), AND 15V269000 (SEAT BELTS) WERE RELATED TO THE FAILURES EXPERIENCED. THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER BEING DRIVEN DUE TO THE CONTACT BEING CONCERNED FOR HER SAFETY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 106,807.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/27/2017 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED, CAR "SQUEALED", CAR STARTED SHAKING, AND TRANSMISSION GAVE OUT. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST FIRST GEAR. IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, HAD TO COAST OFF THE HIGHWAY TO SAFETY. NO PRIOR NOTIFICATION (LIGHTS, WARNINGS, NOISES) THAT THERE WAS A TRANSMISSION ISSUE. CAR JUST RECENTLY EXCEEDED THE 100000 MILE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. WAS NOTIFIED IT WAS THE WAKE PLATE THAT FAILED. CONSIDERING ALL OF THE OTHER CHEVY OWNERS HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE, I THINK CHEVY SHOULD AT THE VERY LEAST ACKNOWLEDGE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2017 - MANSFIELD, OH
ENGINE POWER REDUCED AND THE VEHICLE SOUNDS LIKE IT IS GOING TO EXPLODE. IT REDUCES THE SPEED TO 5 MPH. YOU CAN TURN THE CAR OFF SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURN THE CAR BACK ON AND IT RUNS FINE. IT DOES THIS DAILY. I HAVE REPLACED SEVERAL SENSORS AND IT HAS NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM. I HAVE ALSO REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY TWICE AND THAT DID NOT FIX IT EITHER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2017 - MANSFIELD, OH
ENGINE POWER REDUCED AND THE VEHICLE SOUNDS LIKE IT IS GOING TO EXPLODE. IT REDUCES THE SPEED TO 5 MPH. YOU CAN TURN THE CAR OFF SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURN THE CAR BACK ON AND IT RUNS FINE. IT DOES THIS DAILY. I HAVE REPLACED SEVERAL SENSORS AND IT HAS NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM. I HAVE ALSO REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY TWICE AND THAT DID NOT FIX IT EITHER.

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2017 - EAGAN, MN
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE STARTED TO LOSE POWER GOING UP A HILL AND THEN LOST ALL POWER AS WE WERE ABLE TO MAKE IT OFF TO AN EXIT RAMP. HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO AN AUTO REPAIR SHOP SINCE WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE DRIVING HOME. AUTO MECHANIC SAID THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE AND THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. LUCKILY THERE WASN'T MUCH TRAFFIC OTHERWISE IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE. NO OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR IN 6 YEARS AND ONLY 66,000 MILES. HAVE HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING ON OTHER MALIBUS. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS FOR THIS TO HAPPEN ON A NEW CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2017 - LACRESCENT, MN
MY WIFE WAS IN AN ACCIDENT WHERE THE OTHER VEHICAL RAN A RED LIGHT AND COLIDED WITH HER IN THE DRIVER FRONT AND HEAD ON TYPE. THE VEHICALS SIDE AIR BAGS AND THE DRIVER OR PASSANGER AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED.THIS IS IN A POLICE REPORT AND I HAVE PICTURES OF THE CAR.THE TWO CARS COLIDED AT A INTERSECTION IN THE MIDDLE OF LACROSSE WIS AND THE OTHER VEHICAL WENT OVER MY CARS HOOD AND OVER TURNED. THE OTHER DRIVER WAS EXTRACTED FROM HIS VEHICAL WITH THE JAWS OF LIFE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 76
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds