Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (27) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2014 - QUEENSTOWN , MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH OVER THE BRIDGE THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE FAILURE THE "SERVICE AIR BAG" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON HIS INSTRUMENTAL PANEL. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SWIFT THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND SAFELY COAST THE VEHICLE DOWN THE BRIDGE. AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPT THE VEHICLE WAS SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED AN HOUR LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. 2 WEEKS AFTER THE INITIAL FAILURE THE FAILURE REOCCURED. THE CONTACT HAD PULLED OUT OF A GASOLINE STATION WHEN SUDDENLY THE VEHICLE STALLED LEAVING THE CONTACT STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER STATED A SHORT CIRCUIT IN THE HARD WIRING CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 171,000. AZ

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/17/2014 - NEWBERRY, SC
ON AUGUST 6,, 2014 I HAD TAKEN MY 3 KIDS TO THE LAKE @ DREHER ISLAND STATE PARK. UPON GETTING READY TO LEAVE I PUT ON BREAKS TO SEE WHAT MY SON ASKED ME.FOR NO REASON THE CAR STARTED MOVING FORWARD & I COULDN'T GET IT TO STOP GET THE WHEELS TO TURN AS IT WAS VERY HARD & PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BREAKS & IT KEPT GOING TILL IT WENT IN THE DITCH ON A CONCRETE TERRACOTTA CAUSING IT TO BEND A PIECE OF WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME THE A FRAME & UNDER THE FRONT END! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & TOLD IT WASN'T POSSIBLE. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I COULD PARK MY CAR & THE ENGINE WOULD ACT IS IF IT WAS TRYING TO GO W/O ME MASHING THE GAS OR ANYTHING THEN IDLED DOWN REPEATEDLY ACTED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO SHUT OFF! I'VE EVEN HAD 2 BUY 2 NEW BATTERIES, FIXING TO BUY ANOTHER! THEY SAID A CONNECTION WAS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED & CELLS KILLED. ON THE INTERSTATE 2 DAYS AGO I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, FOR NO REASON IT STARTED LOSING SPEED THEN WOULD START CATCHING BACK UP ON IT'S OWN & I TURNED IT OFF! THE MOTOR MADE A SCREECHING NOISE! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON! EVEN MY TAIL LIGHTS WOULDN'T COME ON LAST NIGHT UNTIL I MASHED THE BREAKS A FEW TIMES, CUT OFF THE LIGHTS, & RESTARTED THE CAR! MY MAJOR ISSUE IS NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE INCIDENT & I HAD NO PART OF BEING @ FAULT & CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT HAPPENED! IT STILL IDLES WRONG & THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON @ TIMES W/O ME TOUCHING IT! I'M BEGINNING TO WORRY ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CHILDREN AS WELL AS MYSELF, BUT ESPECIALLY MY KIDS! WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE HELP ME AS THIS CAN'T BE NORMAL! SO FAR THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON, POWER STEERING LIGHT, AIR PRESSURE LIGHT, & @ ONE POINT A RED LIGHT CAME ON & WENT OFF BEFORE I COULD SEE WHAT IT WAS! IF YOU COULD DO ANYTHING@ ALL TO HELP & ASSIST ME I WOULD BE TRULY GRATEFUL! ALL I'M TOLD IS PARTS AREN'T IN TO FIX SOME KIND OF RECALL, BUT WHAT I DON'T KNOW! THANKS & GOD BLESS!

View Details

ENGINE

8/17/2014 - NEWBERRY, SC
ON AUGUST 6,, 2014 I HAD TAKEN MY 3 KIDS TO THE LAKE @ DREHER ISLAND STATE PARK. UPON GETTING READY TO LEAVE I PUT ON BREAKS TO SEE WHAT MY SON ASKED ME.FOR NO REASON THE CAR STARTED MOVING FORWARD & I COULDN'T GET IT TO STOP GET THE WHEELS TO TURN AS IT WAS VERY HARD & PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BREAKS & IT KEPT GOING TILL IT WENT IN THE DITCH ON A CONCRETE TERRACOTTA CAUSING IT TO BEND A PIECE OF WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME THE A FRAME & UNDER THE FRONT END! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & TOLD IT WASN'T POSSIBLE. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I COULD PARK MY CAR & THE ENGINE WOULD ACT IS IF IT WAS TRYING TO GO W/O ME MASHING THE GAS OR ANYTHING THEN IDLED DOWN REPEATEDLY ACTED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO SHUT OFF! I'VE EVEN HAD 2 BUY 2 NEW BATTERIES, FIXING TO BUY ANOTHER! THEY SAID A CONNECTION WAS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED & CELLS KILLED. ON THE INTERSTATE 2 DAYS AGO I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, FOR NO REASON IT STARTED LOSING SPEED THEN WOULD START CATCHING BACK UP ON IT'S OWN & I TURNED IT OFF! THE MOTOR MADE A SCREECHING NOISE! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON! EVEN MY TAIL LIGHTS WOULDN'T COME ON LAST NIGHT UNTIL I MASHED THE BREAKS A FEW TIMES, CUT OFF THE LIGHTS, & RESTARTED THE CAR! MY MAJOR ISSUE IS NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE INCIDENT & I HAD NO PART OF BEING @ FAULT & CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT HAPPENED! IT STILL IDLES WRONG & THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON @ TIMES W/O ME TOUCHING IT! I'M BEGINNING TO WORRY ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CHILDREN AS WELL AS MYSELF, BUT ESPECIALLY MY KIDS! WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE HELP ME AS THIS CAN'T BE NORMAL! SO FAR THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON, POWER STEERING LIGHT, AIR PRESSURE LIGHT, & @ ONE POINT A RED LIGHT CAME ON & WENT OFF BEFORE I COULD SEE WHAT IT WAS! IF YOU COULD DO ANYTHING@ ALL TO HELP & ASSIST ME I WOULD BE TRULY GRATEFUL! ALL I'M TOLD IS PARTS AREN'T IN TO FIX SOME KIND OF RECALL, BUT WHAT I DON'T KNOW! THANKS & GOD BLESS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/17/2014 - NEWBERRY, SC
ON AUGUST 6,, 2014 I HAD TAKEN MY 3 KIDS TO THE LAKE @ DREHER ISLAND STATE PARK. UPON GETTING READY TO LEAVE I PUT ON BREAKS TO SEE WHAT MY SON ASKED ME.FOR NO REASON THE CAR STARTED MOVING FORWARD & I COULDN'T GET IT TO STOP GET THE WHEELS TO TURN AS IT WAS VERY HARD & PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BREAKS & IT KEPT GOING TILL IT WENT IN THE DITCH ON A CONCRETE TERRACOTTA CAUSING IT TO BEND A PIECE OF WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME THE A FRAME & UNDER THE FRONT END! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & TOLD IT WASN'T POSSIBLE. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I COULD PARK MY CAR & THE ENGINE WOULD ACT IS IF IT WAS TRYING TO GO W/O ME MASHING THE GAS OR ANYTHING THEN IDLED DOWN REPEATEDLY ACTED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO SHUT OFF! I'VE EVEN HAD 2 BUY 2 NEW BATTERIES, FIXING TO BUY ANOTHER! THEY SAID A CONNECTION WAS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED & CELLS KILLED. ON THE INTERSTATE 2 DAYS AGO I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, FOR NO REASON IT STARTED LOSING SPEED THEN WOULD START CATCHING BACK UP ON IT'S OWN & I TURNED IT OFF! THE MOTOR MADE A SCREECHING NOISE! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON! EVEN MY TAIL LIGHTS WOULDN'T COME ON LAST NIGHT UNTIL I MASHED THE BREAKS A FEW TIMES, CUT OFF THE LIGHTS, & RESTARTED THE CAR! MY MAJOR ISSUE IS NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE INCIDENT & I HAD NO PART OF BEING @ FAULT & CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT HAPPENED! IT STILL IDLES WRONG & THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON @ TIMES W/O ME TOUCHING IT! I'M BEGINNING TO WORRY ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CHILDREN AS WELL AS MYSELF, BUT ESPECIALLY MY KIDS! WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE HELP ME AS THIS CAN'T BE NORMAL! SO FAR THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON, POWER STEERING LIGHT, AIR PRESSURE LIGHT, & @ ONE POINT A RED LIGHT CAME ON & WENT OFF BEFORE I COULD SEE WHAT IT WAS! IF YOU COULD DO ANYTHING@ ALL TO HELP & ASSIST ME I WOULD BE TRULY GRATEFUL! ALL I'M TOLD IS PARTS AREN'T IN TO FIX SOME KIND OF RECALL, BUT WHAT I DON'T KNOW! THANKS & GOD BLESS!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/11/2014 - EULESS, TX
DRIVING ON BRIDGE AT 55 MPH...FELT LIKE I HAD A TIRE BLOW, CAR SOMEWHAT LOST POWER, THEN HEARD CHIME FROM DASHBOARD MESSAGE CENTER. TWO MESSAGES APPEARED ON MESSAGE CENTER.."POWER STEERING" AND "ESC SERVICE". NOTICED I HAD NO POWER STEERING...MADE IT TO WORK.....NOT ONLY DID POWER STEERING GO OUT, BUT I COULD BARELY TURN CORNERS AND HAD AN EXTREMELY ROUGH TIME TURNING THE WHEELS TO PARK. IT WAS AS THOUGH I DIDN'T EVEN HAVE RACK AND PINION STEERING...THE STEERING WAS DIFFICULT LIKE WHEN YOUR CAR DIES. I WENT OUT TO THE CAR AN HOUR LATER, STARTED IT, AND ALL MESSAGES/WARNING WERE GONE AND I HAD POWER STEERING BACK. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID TO SCHEDULE APPT SO THEY COULD RESERVE A LOANER VEHICLE DUE TO RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2014 - PLANT CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL ) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/4/2014 - IRVINGTON , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE REDUCED SPEED AND AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2014 - HUDSON, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE DID NOT SHIFT IN THE 45-55MPH RANGE, ( I'M GUESSING 5TH GEAR AS I DO NOT KNOW HOW MANY GEARS IT HAS ) THEN AGAIN THE SAME ISSUE AT 25 MPH. REPEATED MULTIPLE TIMES THROUGH THE DRIVE HOME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V252000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL ) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT DID NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/24/2014 - GIRARD, PA
CURRENTLY THERE IS A SAFETY RECALL NUMBER 13036 ON MY VEHICLE. I WAS DIRECTED BY GM TO TAKE MY VEHICLE TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP AND HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST RAN ON THE VEHICLE FOR POTENTIAL PROBLEMS WITH THE WIRING HARNESS. WHEN THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS DONE THERE WERE NO ISSUES FOUND IN REGARDS TO CODES BEING DISPLAYED. THIS TEST WAS NOT THE TEST THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE DONE ACCORDING TO A GM REPRESENTATIVE SINCE THEY HAVE NO INFORMATION ON THE RECALL ITSELF, OTHER THEN WHAT WAS LISTED IN THE RECALL LETTER. WHEN I EXPRESSED MY CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY ISSUES SINCE I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THEM ALL ALONG I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL PARTS WERE AVAILABLE. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SAFE TO DRIVE, REGARDLESS OF THE POTENTIAL FOR AN INCREASED RISK OF A CRASH DUE TO THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE RECALL. I ALSO DIID NOT RECEIVE ANY INFORMATION IN REGARDS TO THE TEST THAT WAS PREFORMED ON MY VEHICLE BY THE DEALERSHIP, WHICH I WAS TOLD BY THE GM REPRESENTATIVE WAS ALSO INCORRECT. II WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD BY A GM REPRESENTATIVE THAT THE PARTS WERE ALSO AVAILABLE REGARDLESS OF WHAT THE LETTER STATED AND THAT I SHOULD DISREGARD THAT PORTION OF THE LETTER. THIS WAS ALSO DETERMINED TO BE FALSE AS THE PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL MID AUGUST ACCORDING TO A GM REP AT A LATER DATE. AS OF YET THERE HAS BEEN NO RESOLUTION TO THE ISSUES I HAVE EXPERIENCED WHILE DRIVING AND PARKED. THESE ISSUES INCLUDE THE INCREASED TRAVEL NEEDED TO STOP THE VEHICLE AS WELL AS THE ECS BEING DISPLAYED AS NOT FUNCTIONING WHILE PARKED AND DRIVING. ALTHOUGH MY WIFE AND I BOTH HAVE EXPRESSED OUR CONCERNS WITH THE VEHICLES SAFETY AND ITS CURRENT ISSUES GM HAS FAILED TO PROVIDE ANY RESOLUTION TO THE PROBLEMS OR THE ISSUE WITH THE RECALL, WHEN THEY COULD SIMPLY AUTHORIZE A RENTAL OR SERVICE LOANER ROM THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds