Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (19) Power Train (21) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/17/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE REDUCE POWER MODE ILLUMINATED AND THE ACCELERATION DECREASED TO 20 MPH INDEPENDENTLY. THIS FAILURE HAS OCCURRED EVERY TWENTY TWO MILES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. RG

View Details

STEERING

4/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
WHEN DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND YOU MAKE A RIGHT THERE IS A NOTICE SOUNDS LIKE COMING FROM RIGHT WHEEL AND RUBBING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL. WHEN PARKING AND TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES THE RUBBING SOUND. TOOK THE TO THE DEALERSHIP ON A TUESDAY GOT OIL CHANGED AND WAS TOLD WARRANTY WAS OVER AND NEED BRAKES AND FUEL AND THROTTLE BODY SERVICE. WENT BACK TO SAME DEALERSHIP ON THURSDAY CHARGED $85. TO TELL ME THAT STEERING GEAR AND RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR A PRICE OF OVER $800. I DECLINED SERVICE SINCE NOT EQUIPPED FOR A BILL LIKE THAT SINCE THE CAR IS SO NEW. I BROUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW DECEMBER OF 2010. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE AND SOMETHING OF THIS MAGNITUDE SHOULD NEED REPLACING IN 3 YEARS. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER MALIBU OWNERS SO THIS IS CLEARLY A DEFECT WITH THE MANUFACTURING OF THE VEHICLE. PLEASE RECALL!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2014 - MESQUITE, TX
I HAD JUST GOT THE VEHICLE 2 YEARS AGO AND I HAVE HAD A CONTINUOUS PROBLEM WITH THE CARS AIR BAG SENSORS. I HAD TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERS AFTER ONLY HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR 3 WEEKS SO THEY CAN FIX THE PROBLEM THE 1ST TIME THEY HAD TO ME THAT THIS WAS A REGULAR PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND YEAR. AFTER ABOUT ANOTHER 10000 MILES LATER THE LIGHT WAS ON AND OFF AGAIN AND DID NOT WANT TO FIX THIS AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/16/2014 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
WIPER SYSTEM FAILED DURING RAIN STORM. NEITHER WIPER BLADE MOVED. PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS WIPER TRANSMISSION FAILURE. PART COST $135 FROM THE CHEVROLET DEALER PLUS $150 LABOR TO INSTALL. COMPLETE FAILURE OF THE WIPER SYSTEM WITHOUT ANY WARNING SUCH AS SLIPPAGE SHOULD NOT BE POSSIBLE. I WAS VERY LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO SEE ENOUGH TO KEEP THE CAR STRAIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY AND EVENTUALLY BE ABLE TO CHANGE LANES AND PULL OVER.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - KING GEORGE, VA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSED THE DEFECT. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEFECT REOCCURRED A 2ND TIME AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE DEFECT COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED OR DIAGNOSED. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. JFT

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2014 - SOUTHERLAND, VA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR LIGHTS HAD ILLUMINATED AND THE WARNING "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" WAS DISPLAYED. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS REDUCED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 40 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY POSITION SENSOR IS FAULTY. THE SENSOR WAS REPLACED AND THE DEFECT WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED.THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. JFT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2014 - FREDERICK, MD
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON INTERSTATE 270 AT AROUND 50 TO 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE TRANSMISSION DOWN SHIFTED UPON BREAKING WITH A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE. WHEN I WENT TO REACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE WAS UNRESPONSIVE AS THOUGH IT WAS STUCK IN A HIGHER GEAR AND WOULD NOT DOWN SHIFT TO ACCELLERATE. THIS PROBLEM HAS REOCCURRED FREQUENTLY SO NOW WHEN I DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY, I SET THE CRUISE CONTROL TO MAKE SUDDEN ACCELERATION AND DECELLERATION UNNECCESSARY BUT THE CAR STILL CLUNKS OUT OF GEAR UPON EXITING THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2014 - CASTLETON, NY
I HAVE A 2011 MALIBU 4DR SDN LT, THAT HAS A RATTLE IN THE STEERING COLUMN AND IT ALSO SEEMS TO BE REPRODUCING THE SAME NOISE WHEN DRIVING AT LOWER SPEEDS IN PARKING LOTS AND IN CITY TRAFFIC AT SPEEDS UNDER 30 MPH ON COURSE ROADS/PAVEMENT. TOOK TO DEALER AND THEY FIXED PER NOTICE #PI0372. THAT NOTICE ADVISED THE DEALER TO PUT TWO ADDITIONAL WAVE WASHERS TO THE BRAKE PEDAL CONNECTOR PIN WHERE IT CONNECTS TO THE POWER BOOSTER PUSHROD. GUESS WHAT, I PICKED-UP MY CAR AFTER 6PM & EVERYONE IN SERVICE HAD GONE HOME..THE NOISE STILL EXISTS. OBVIOUSLY IF THE REPAIR TECH HAD TAKEN IT OUT FOR A TEST DRIVE AND LISTENED HE COULD HAVE HEARD AND FELT THAT THE NOISE WAS STILL VERY PREVALENT. NOW I MUST TAKE SOME MORE TIME OFF FROM WORK AND RETURN TO THE DEALER AND GO THRU THIS ALL OVER AGAIN.HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD ANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE STEERING RATTLING AND OR FEELING LOOSE ON THEIR MALIBU 2011 ??

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
THE ELECTRONIC STEERING WENT OUT....THE CAR WAS PULLING TO THE LEFT...RAINING...BARELY MADE IT OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT AN ACCIDENT....TOOK TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER REPLACED THE MOTOR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/2/2014 - SOUTH BEND, IN
I PURCHASED MY 2011 MALIBU IN APRIL 2012. INITIALLY, I WAS EXPERIENCING POWER SURGES UPON BREAKING. I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND MY CAR WOULD SURGE FORWARD BEFORE STOPPING. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED A SENSOR. I'M STILL EXPERIENCING THE SURGES OCCASIONALLY. THE NEXT TIME I TOOK IT IN BECAUSE I WAS GETTING A LOT OF NOISE AND VIBRATION WHEN DRIVING ON A ROUGH A SURFACE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN. IT WAS FINE FOR A YEAR, NOW THAT PROBLEM IS RETURNING. DURING THE WINTER 2013, MY REAR DEFROST STOPPED WORKING. I TOOK IT IN AND WAS TOLD THAT THE REAR FUSE BLOCK WAS MELTED AND IT WILL COST $535 TO HAVE IT REPLACED. AND ANOTHER $230 TO HAVE THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT REPLACED---- IT DOESN'T CONNECT SECURELY WITHOUT FIDDLING WITH IT. I THINK THERE SHOULD BE RECALLS ISSUED ON ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS BECAUSE I HAVE READ BLOGS AND OTHERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES, AND THEY ARE ALL RELATED TO THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds