Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (27) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2014 - ATTLEBORO, MA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. KW

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/27/2014 - STATESBORO, GA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) THE CONTACT STATED SHE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP TWICE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THERE WAS ANOTHER RECALL LETTER SENT OUT AND WAS TOLD AGAIN THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WHILE VISITING THE DEALERSHIP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. BT

View Details

TIRES

8/27/2014 - EAST HAMPTON, NY
FIRESTONE FR710 TIRES. CRACKS WERE NOTED IN THE SIDEWALLS. THE TREAD APPEARS TO BE SEPARATING AROUND THE ENTIRE CIRCUMFERENCE OF THE 2 TIRES ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. THE TIRES ARE DATE CODED 4210 AND HAVE APPROXIMATELY 17000 MILES ON THEM. THE TIRES HAVE BEEN WELL CARED FOR AND ROTATED EVERY 6000 MILES. PHOTOS ARE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2014 - EAST HAMPTON, NY
CRACKS NOTED IN TIRE SIDEWALLS. TREAD APPEARS TO BE SEPARATING. TIRES ARE FIRESTONE FR710 WITH A DATE CODE OF 4210. MILEAGE ON TIRES IS APPROX 17000 MI. PHOTOS ARE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2014 - QUEENSTOWN , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH OVER A BRIDGE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE FAILURE, THE SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND SAFELY COAST OFF THE BRIDGE. AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS, THE VEHICLE WAS SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. TWO WEEKS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS A SHORT CIRCUIT IN THE HARD WIRING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 171,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/17/2014 - NEWBERRY, SC
ON AUGUST 6,, 2014 I HAD TAKEN MY 3 KIDS TO THE LAKE @ DREHER ISLAND STATE PARK. UPON GETTING READY TO LEAVE I PUT ON BREAKS TO SEE WHAT MY SON ASKED ME.FOR NO REASON THE CAR STARTED MOVING FORWARD & I COULDN'T GET IT TO STOP GET THE WHEELS TO TURN AS IT WAS VERY HARD & PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BREAKS & IT KEPT GOING TILL IT WENT IN THE DITCH ON A CONCRETE TERRACOTTA CAUSING IT TO BEND A PIECE OF WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME THE A FRAME & UNDER THE FRONT END! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & TOLD IT WASN'T POSSIBLE. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I COULD PARK MY CAR & THE ENGINE WOULD ACT IS IF IT WAS TRYING TO GO W/O ME MASHING THE GAS OR ANYTHING THEN IDLED DOWN REPEATEDLY ACTED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO SHUT OFF! I'VE EVEN HAD 2 BUY 2 NEW BATTERIES, FIXING TO BUY ANOTHER! THEY SAID A CONNECTION WAS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED & CELLS KILLED. ON THE INTERSTATE 2 DAYS AGO I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, FOR NO REASON IT STARTED LOSING SPEED THEN WOULD START CATCHING BACK UP ON IT'S OWN & I TURNED IT OFF! THE MOTOR MADE A SCREECHING NOISE! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON! EVEN MY TAIL LIGHTS WOULDN'T COME ON LAST NIGHT UNTIL I MASHED THE BREAKS A FEW TIMES, CUT OFF THE LIGHTS, & RESTARTED THE CAR! MY MAJOR ISSUE IS NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE INCIDENT & I HAD NO PART OF BEING @ FAULT & CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT HAPPENED! IT STILL IDLES WRONG & THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON @ TIMES W/O ME TOUCHING IT! I'M BEGINNING TO WORRY ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CHILDREN AS WELL AS MYSELF, BUT ESPECIALLY MY KIDS! WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE HELP ME AS THIS CAN'T BE NORMAL! SO FAR THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON, POWER STEERING LIGHT, AIR PRESSURE LIGHT, & @ ONE POINT A RED LIGHT CAME ON & WENT OFF BEFORE I COULD SEE WHAT IT WAS! IF YOU COULD DO ANYTHING@ ALL TO HELP & ASSIST ME I WOULD BE TRULY GRATEFUL! ALL I'M TOLD IS PARTS AREN'T IN TO FIX SOME KIND OF RECALL, BUT WHAT I DON'T KNOW! THANKS & GOD BLESS!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/17/2014 - NEWBERRY, SC
ON AUGUST 6,, 2014 I HAD TAKEN MY 3 KIDS TO THE LAKE @ DREHER ISLAND STATE PARK. UPON GETTING READY TO LEAVE I PUT ON BREAKS TO SEE WHAT MY SON ASKED ME.FOR NO REASON THE CAR STARTED MOVING FORWARD & I COULDN'T GET IT TO STOP GET THE WHEELS TO TURN AS IT WAS VERY HARD & PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BREAKS & IT KEPT GOING TILL IT WENT IN THE DITCH ON A CONCRETE TERRACOTTA CAUSING IT TO BEND A PIECE OF WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME THE A FRAME & UNDER THE FRONT END! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & TOLD IT WASN'T POSSIBLE. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I COULD PARK MY CAR & THE ENGINE WOULD ACT IS IF IT WAS TRYING TO GO W/O ME MASHING THE GAS OR ANYTHING THEN IDLED DOWN REPEATEDLY ACTED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO SHUT OFF! I'VE EVEN HAD 2 BUY 2 NEW BATTERIES, FIXING TO BUY ANOTHER! THEY SAID A CONNECTION WAS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED & CELLS KILLED. ON THE INTERSTATE 2 DAYS AGO I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, FOR NO REASON IT STARTED LOSING SPEED THEN WOULD START CATCHING BACK UP ON IT'S OWN & I TURNED IT OFF! THE MOTOR MADE A SCREECHING NOISE! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON! EVEN MY TAIL LIGHTS WOULDN'T COME ON LAST NIGHT UNTIL I MASHED THE BREAKS A FEW TIMES, CUT OFF THE LIGHTS, & RESTARTED THE CAR! MY MAJOR ISSUE IS NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE INCIDENT & I HAD NO PART OF BEING @ FAULT & CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT HAPPENED! IT STILL IDLES WRONG & THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON @ TIMES W/O ME TOUCHING IT! I'M BEGINNING TO WORRY ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CHILDREN AS WELL AS MYSELF, BUT ESPECIALLY MY KIDS! WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE HELP ME AS THIS CAN'T BE NORMAL! SO FAR THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON, POWER STEERING LIGHT, AIR PRESSURE LIGHT, & @ ONE POINT A RED LIGHT CAME ON & WENT OFF BEFORE I COULD SEE WHAT IT WAS! IF YOU COULD DO ANYTHING@ ALL TO HELP & ASSIST ME I WOULD BE TRULY GRATEFUL! ALL I'M TOLD IS PARTS AREN'T IN TO FIX SOME KIND OF RECALL, BUT WHAT I DON'T KNOW! THANKS & GOD BLESS!

View Details

ENGINE

8/17/2014 - NEWBERRY, SC
ON AUGUST 6,, 2014 I HAD TAKEN MY 3 KIDS TO THE LAKE @ DREHER ISLAND STATE PARK. UPON GETTING READY TO LEAVE I PUT ON BREAKS TO SEE WHAT MY SON ASKED ME.FOR NO REASON THE CAR STARTED MOVING FORWARD & I COULDN'T GET IT TO STOP GET THE WHEELS TO TURN AS IT WAS VERY HARD & PUSHED THE EMERGENCY BREAKS & IT KEPT GOING TILL IT WENT IN THE DITCH ON A CONCRETE TERRACOTTA CAUSING IT TO BEND A PIECE OF WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME THE A FRAME & UNDER THE FRONT END! I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & TOLD IT WASN'T POSSIBLE. BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I COULD PARK MY CAR & THE ENGINE WOULD ACT IS IF IT WAS TRYING TO GO W/O ME MASHING THE GAS OR ANYTHING THEN IDLED DOWN REPEATEDLY ACTED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO SHUT OFF! I'VE EVEN HAD 2 BUY 2 NEW BATTERIES, FIXING TO BUY ANOTHER! THEY SAID A CONNECTION WAS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO BE DRAINED & CELLS KILLED. ON THE INTERSTATE 2 DAYS AGO I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, FOR NO REASON IT STARTED LOSING SPEED THEN WOULD START CATCHING BACK UP ON IT'S OWN & I TURNED IT OFF! THE MOTOR MADE A SCREECHING NOISE! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON! EVEN MY TAIL LIGHTS WOULDN'T COME ON LAST NIGHT UNTIL I MASHED THE BREAKS A FEW TIMES, CUT OFF THE LIGHTS, & RESTARTED THE CAR! MY MAJOR ISSUE IS NOW I'M GOING TO HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE INCIDENT & I HAD NO PART OF BEING @ FAULT & CAN'T EXPLAIN WHAT HAPPENED! IT STILL IDLES WRONG & THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON @ TIMES W/O ME TOUCHING IT! I'M BEGINNING TO WORRY ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY CHILDREN AS WELL AS MYSELF, BUT ESPECIALLY MY KIDS! WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE HELP ME AS THIS CAN'T BE NORMAL! SO FAR THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON, POWER STEERING LIGHT, AIR PRESSURE LIGHT, & @ ONE POINT A RED LIGHT CAME ON & WENT OFF BEFORE I COULD SEE WHAT IT WAS! IF YOU COULD DO ANYTHING@ ALL TO HELP & ASSIST ME I WOULD BE TRULY GRATEFUL! ALL I'M TOLD IS PARTS AREN'T IN TO FIX SOME KIND OF RECALL, BUT WHAT I DON'T KNOW! THANKS & GOD BLESS!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/11/2014 - EULESS, TX
DRIVING ON BRIDGE AT 55 MPH...FELT LIKE I HAD A TIRE BLOW, CAR SOMEWHAT LOST POWER, THEN HEARD CHIME FROM DASHBOARD MESSAGE CENTER. TWO MESSAGES APPEARED ON MESSAGE CENTER.."POWER STEERING" AND "ESC SERVICE". NOTICED I HAD NO POWER STEERING...MADE IT TO WORK.....NOT ONLY DID POWER STEERING GO OUT, BUT I COULD BARELY TURN CORNERS AND HAD AN EXTREMELY ROUGH TIME TURNING THE WHEELS TO PARK. IT WAS AS THOUGH I DIDN'T EVEN HAVE RACK AND PINION STEERING...THE STEERING WAS DIFFICULT LIKE WHEN YOUR CAR DIES. I WENT OUT TO THE CAR AN HOUR LATER, STARTED IT, AND ALL MESSAGES/WARNING WERE GONE AND I HAD POWER STEERING BACK. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID TO SCHEDULE APPT SO THEY COULD RESERVE A LOANER VEHICLE DUE TO RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2014 - PLANT CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V252000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC , VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL ) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds