Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 266 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment (1) Power Train (41) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (56) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (7) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Engine (63) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (13) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2015 - HAMILTON, OH
2011 MALIBU. I HAVE MULTIPLE INSTANCES OF THE SERVICE ESC, SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL & ENGINE POWER REDUCED MESSAGES APPEARING. IT HAPPENS AT VARIOUS TIMES. THE CAR WILL START SPUTTERING AND JERKING THEN THE DIFFERENT CODES START FLASHING ON THE CONSOLE. THE CAR REDUCES SPEED AND WILL NOT GO OVER 20 MPH. IT'S HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES ON SIDE STREETS AND HIGHWAY GOING SPEEDS IN EXCESS OF 65 MPH AND WHEN TAKING MY DAUGHTER TO SCHOOL. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT'S GOING TO HAPPEN AN D IS BECOMING EXTREMELY IRRITATING AND AN INCONVENIENCE. ON THE FIRST INCIDENT, I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHICH THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. LESS THAN TWO MONTHS WENT BY AND THE PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. WENT BACK TO THE DEALER IN APRIL, 2015 AND IN MAY 2015 IN WHICH THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG AND THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. AS OF 5/24/15 THE PROBLEM IS STILL NOT FIXED. OUT OF 265 COMPLAINTS ON HERE, I FIND THAT 103 OF THEM IS THIS EXACT PROBLEM THEREFORE THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE MANUFACTURING OF THIS VEHICLE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND GM NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE DIES OR IS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2015 - ST. LOUIS, MO
AUTO IS EQUIPPED WITH THE 4 CYL 6 SPEED AUTO TRANS. THE TRANSMISSION WILL SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL WHEN ROUNDING A CORNER . ALSO THE TRANSMISSION WILL FLY INTO NEUTRAL WHEN SHIFTING THE TRANSMISSION FROM LOW TO DRIVE . I HAVE BEEN CLOSE TO BEING REAR-SEVERAL TIMES WHEN I PULLED OUT ON THE HIGHWAY AND MOVED THE SHIFT FROM LOW GEAR TO DRIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION GOES INTO NEUTRAL AND STAYS IN NEUTRAL. SEVERAL TIMES I HAVE HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD TO KEEP FROM GETTING REAR ENDED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE STAYS IN NEUTRAL. DEALERS HAVE NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM AND APPARENTLY THIS PROBLEM IS WIDESPREAD IN THESE 6 SPEED AUTO TRANS FOR THE YEAR 2011.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/11/2015 - HEBRON , IN
AC / HEAT WAS WORKING FINE THEN ALL THE SUDDEN IT QUIT WORKING WITHOUT WARNING. NO NOISE, NO INDICATION WHAT SO EVER IT WAS BAD. I TOOK IT IN AND THE RELAY WAS BAD SO IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. NOW 7 MONTHS LATER, ALL THE SUDDEN WENT OUT AGAIN. HARD TO BELIEVE THAT THIS HAPPENED AGAIN. THERE HAS TO BE A REASON IT KEEPS FAILING. THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE PART TO BE REPLACING SO OFTEN,CAN'T DEFROST OR DEFOG WINDOWS WHEN NEEDEDD.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/10/2015 - POSTVILLE, IA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE I SUDDENLY FELT A LIGHT JERKING SENSATION. THE SERVICE ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS IMMEDIATELY CAME ON. THE VEHICLE JERKED TO A STOP. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN RESTARTED THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ARE GONE. I'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST TWO MONTHS AND HAVE HAD IT IN THE SHOP. THE CERTIFIED CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP CHANGED THE FRONT WHEEL BEARING. THE CAR DID WELL FOR A LITTLE OVER A WEEK. NOW THE PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO FOUND CODES FOR A FUEL INJECTION FAILURE BUT WERE NOT ABLE TO "DUPLICATE" THE CODES SO NO REPAIR WAS PERFORMED ON THAT. THE SERVICE ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL PROBLEM IS DANGEROUS. IF I DIDN'T HAVE TO GO TO WORK I WOULDN'T DRIVE THE CAR. IT'S A SAFETY HAZARD AS I AM A LONG DISTANCE COMMUTER. I HAVE HAD ALL SERVICE AND RECALLS COMPLETED SINCE PURCHASING THE CAR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO. DANGEROUS!! I'M HOPEFUL THAT OUR GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS WILL FORCE GM TO ISSUE A RECALL TO REMEDY THE ISSUE BEFORE PEOPLE LOSE THEIR LIVES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2015 - POSTVILLE, IA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE I SUDDENLY FELT A LIGHT JERKING SENSATION. THE SERVICE ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS IMMEDIATELY CAME ON. THE VEHICLE JERKED TO A STOP. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN RESTARTED THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ARE GONE. I'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST TWO MONTHS AND HAVE HAD IT IN THE SHOP. THE CERTIFIED CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP CHANGED THE FRONT WHEEL BEARING. THE CAR DID WELL FOR A LITTLE OVER A WEEK. NOW THE PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO FOUND CODES FOR A FUEL INJECTION FAILURE BUT WERE NOT ABLE TO "DUPLICATE" THE CODES SO NO REPAIR WAS PERFORMED ON THAT. THE SERVICE ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL PROBLEM IS DANGEROUS. IF I DIDN'T HAVE TO GO TO WORK I WOULDN'T DRIVE THE CAR. IT'S A SAFETY HAZARD AS I AM A LONG DISTANCE COMMUTER. I HAVE HAD ALL SERVICE AND RECALLS COMPLETED SINCE PURCHASING THE CAR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO. DANGEROUS!! I'M HOPEFUL THAT OUR GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS WILL FORCE GM TO ISSUE A RECALL TO REMEDY THE ISSUE BEFORE PEOPLE LOSE THEIR LIVES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/10/2015 - POSTVILLE, IA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE I SUDDENLY FELT A LIGHT JERKING SENSATION. THE SERVICE ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS IMMEDIATELY CAME ON. THE VEHICLE JERKED TO A STOP. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN RESTARTED THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ARE GONE. I'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST TWO MONTHS AND HAVE HAD IT IN THE SHOP. THE CERTIFIED CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP CHANGED THE FRONT WHEEL BEARING. THE CAR DID WELL FOR A LITTLE OVER A WEEK. NOW THE PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO FOUND CODES FOR A FUEL INJECTION FAILURE BUT WERE NOT ABLE TO "DUPLICATE" THE CODES SO NO REPAIR WAS PERFORMED ON THAT. THE SERVICE ESC AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL PROBLEM IS DANGEROUS. IF I DIDN'T HAVE TO GO TO WORK I WOULDN'T DRIVE THE CAR. IT'S A SAFETY HAZARD AS I AM A LONG DISTANCE COMMUTER. I HAVE HAD ALL SERVICE AND RECALLS COMPLETED SINCE PURCHASING THE CAR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO. DANGEROUS!! I'M HOPEFUL THAT OUR GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS WILL FORCE GM TO ISSUE A RECALL TO REMEDY THE ISSUE BEFORE PEOPLE LOSE THEIR LIVES.

View Details

STEERING

5/8/2015 - ARNOLD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH AND CHANGING GEARS, THE VEHICLE JERKED WITHOUT WARNING. ALSO, WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT, IT MADE NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2015 - ARNOLD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH AND CHANGING GEARS, THE VEHICLE JERKED WITHOUT WARNING. ALSO, WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT, IT MADE NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/29/2015 - ROSWELL, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG ON/OFF INDICATOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE PRESSURE SENSOR FOR THE SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2015 - HILLSBORO, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE UNKNOWN SENSORS WERE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. HOWEVER, A YEAR LATER, THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING OVER A RAILROAD WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED AFTER TWENTY MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds