Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 418 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Equipment (1) Power Train (56) Steering (58) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (101) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (27) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (51)
Electronic Stability Control (93) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (11) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (92) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (11) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - DRAKE, ND
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FELL OUT ONTO THE FLOOR OF THE VEHICLE AND DID NOT DEPLOY CORRECTLY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 57,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/21/2016 - HARVEY, LA
MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP CAME ON WHILE I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE. VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUTOFF, AND NOTHING WAS WORKING. I HAD TO MANUALLY OPEN MY DOOR TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE. I POPPED MY HOOD TO CHECK WHETHER OR NOT MY BATTERY CABLES HAD BECOME LOOSE, BUT EVERYTHING WAS OK. AFTER RETURNING TO THE DRIVER'S SEAT, THE CAR STARTED WITH EASE. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME MY CAR HAD COMPLETELY SHUTOFF WHILE DRIVING IT. IN NOVEMBER 2015, AS I ENTERED AN ONRAMP, IT CUT OFF. THIS ALMOST GAVE ME A HEART ATTACK. I TOOK MY CAR TO AUTO ZONE FOR A FREE CHECK, THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. TODAY (7/20/2016), I WENT TO AUTO ZONE AND THEY RAN A DIFFERENT TEST, GAVE ME A PRINTOUT THAT INDICATED THE ECM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER (BOHN GMC), WHERE IT IS PRESENTLY. WHEN MY VEHICLE COMPLETELY TURNED OFF IN TRAFFIC, I AND MY PASSENGER, COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I CONSIDER THIS TO BE A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL, IT STATES THAT IF THE LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS OWN, 'DIAGNOSIS AND SERVICE MIGHT BE REQUIRED'. NO WHERE DOES IT INDICATE THAT THE VEHICLE COULD TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2016 - BURTON, MI
BATTERY LIGHT COMING ON. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSE BAD ALTERNATOR. INSTALLED NEW ALTERNATOR. TWO WEEKS PASSED, ALL DASHBOARD LIGHTS COME ON, LOST POWER STEERING, WHILE DRIVING. CAR TOWED IN. DEALERSHIP FOUND FUSIBLE LINK BURNT ON ALTERNATOR, WHICH CAUSED FIRST ALTERNATOR TO GO BAD. $25.00 PART.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2016 - WAUKESHA, WI
CAR TURNS ITSELF OFF WHEN IT FEELS LIKE IT. PUT IN PARK TO RESTART AND WILL NOT EVEN TURN OVER. MAY LAST AS LONG AS 5MIN. TO 40 MIN. THEN READY TO CALL TOW TRUCK, TRY ONCE MORE...STARTS RIGHT UP. HAPPENS MORE AND MORE THE LAST WEEK. HAVE HAD COMPLAIN TO CUSTOMER SERVICE, HAD VOUCHER TO PUT ON COMPUTER TO CHECK THAT. WAS TOLD CAR WORKING FINE. HAPPENED 5 TIMES ON TRIP, TURNED OFF GOING AROUND A CORNER, AT A STOP SIGN 3 TIMES, AND IN GARAGE, WOULD NOT TURN OVER. IT LOCKS ITSELF IN PARK. LAST TIME MY HUSBAND JUST PUT IT INTO NEUTRAL AS ROLLING DOWN A HILL, AND NOT PARK AND IT STARTED UP. THE WORSE TIME WAS AT A STOP SIGN IN 90 DEGREE WEATHER AND IT TURNED ITSELF OFF, PUT IN PARK TO START, AND NO TURNING THE OVER AT ALL. LOCKED IN PARK WITH NO WAY TO GET IT OUT OF PARK. LOTS OF ANGRY DRIVERS BEHIND ME. HAVE NO PICTURES, AND HAVE BEEN KEEPING IN TOUCH WITH DEALERSHIP WITH THE ON-GOING PROBLEM. I THINK IT IS THE IGNITION OR SENSOR SOMEWHERE TO THE SHIFT LEVER. SO AFRAID IT WILL STALL ON THE HIGHWAY DOING THE SPEED LIMIT. ALL THIS STARTED AROUND 30,000 MILES TO DATE OF 43,000 MILES, ONLY GETTING WORSE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2016 - GLASGOW, KY
MY SERVICE ESC, SERVICE TRACTION, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON. TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY COULDN'T DUPRIVATE THE ISSUE. $240. PROBLEM CAME BK THE NEXT DAY. TOOK MY CAR BK TO SHOP WITH LIGHT ON AND THEY SAID I NEEDED AN ENGINE FLUSH. 180.00. PROBLEM STILL CAME BACK.TOOK MY CAR TO ANOTHER SHOP, BC I FELT I WAS GETTING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AFTER BEING CHARGED 180.00 JUST FOR DIAGNOSTIC. THIS SHOP CHANGED SPARK PLUGS AND CHECKED WIRES. 100.00. PROBLEM CAME BACK. GOT IN TOUCH W GM. NO RECALL. NO ASSISTANCE UNTIL I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO DEALERSHIP. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR 4 DAYS AND FINALLY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW MOTOR! IT'S A 2011, WITH 110K MILES AND I NEED A NEW MOTOR?? THAT IT WOULD BE 4000.00 I LEFT WITH MY CAR, BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY JUST LAYING AROUND IN HOPES THAT IT MIGHT FIX THE PROBLEM. DRIVING A CAR THAT SCARES ME BC THE LIGHTS ARE CONSTANTLY FLASHING AT ME ALL OF THE TIME NOW, CAR SPUTTERING OUT WHILE AT LOW SPEEDS OR IDLE, CO ENGINE FLASHING, AND MY CAR ACTING LIKE IT'S GONNA DIE ANY MINUTE! NOT TO MENTION THE GAS IT'S CONSUMING ON TOP OF THE ALMOST 700 I'M ALREADY OUT. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND QUITE DISHEARTENING TO BUT A CAR FROM CHEVROLET, IT ONLY BE 5 YRS OLD AND HAVE THIS MANY ISSUES WITH NO RESOLVE. SEEING ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE, SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET HURT. PLEASE HELP

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/14/2016 - GLASGOW, KY
MY SERVICE ESC, SERVICE TRACTION, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON. TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY COULDN'T DUPRIVATE THE ISSUE. $240. PROBLEM CAME BK THE NEXT DAY. TOOK MY CAR BK TO SHOP WITH LIGHT ON AND THEY SAID I NEEDED AN ENGINE FLUSH. 180.00. PROBLEM STILL CAME BACK.TOOK MY CAR TO ANOTHER SHOP, BC I FELT I WAS GETTING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AFTER BEING CHARGED 180.00 JUST FOR DIAGNOSTIC. THIS SHOP CHANGED SPARK PLUGS AND CHECKED WIRES. 100.00. PROBLEM CAME BACK. GOT IN TOUCH W GM. NO RECALL. NO ASSISTANCE UNTIL I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO DEALERSHIP. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR 4 DAYS AND FINALLY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW MOTOR! IT'S A 2011, WITH 110K MILES AND I NEED A NEW MOTOR?? THAT IT WOULD BE 4000.00 I LEFT WITH MY CAR, BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY JUST LAYING AROUND IN HOPES THAT IT MIGHT FIX THE PROBLEM. DRIVING A CAR THAT SCARES ME BC THE LIGHTS ARE CONSTANTLY FLASHING AT ME ALL OF THE TIME NOW, CAR SPUTTERING OUT WHILE AT LOW SPEEDS OR IDLE, CO ENGINE FLASHING, AND MY CAR ACTING LIKE IT'S GONNA DIE ANY MINUTE! NOT TO MENTION THE GAS IT'S CONSUMING ON TOP OF THE ALMOST 700 I'M ALREADY OUT. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND QUITE DISHEARTENING TO BUT A CAR FROM CHEVROLET, IT ONLY BE 5 YRS OLD AND HAVE THIS MANY ISSUES WITH NO RESOLVE. SEEING ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE, SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET HURT. PLEASE HELP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/14/2016 - GLASGOW, KY
MY SERVICE ESC, SERVICE TRACTION, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON. TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY COULDN'T DUPRIVATE THE ISSUE. $240. PROBLEM CAME BK THE NEXT DAY. TOOK MY CAR BK TO SHOP WITH LIGHT ON AND THEY SAID I NEEDED AN ENGINE FLUSH. 180.00. PROBLEM STILL CAME BACK.TOOK MY CAR TO ANOTHER SHOP, BC I FELT I WAS GETTING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AFTER BEING CHARGED 180.00 JUST FOR DIAGNOSTIC. THIS SHOP CHANGED SPARK PLUGS AND CHECKED WIRES. 100.00. PROBLEM CAME BACK. GOT IN TOUCH W GM. NO RECALL. NO ASSISTANCE UNTIL I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO DEALERSHIP. THEY KEPT MY CAR FOR 4 DAYS AND FINALLY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW MOTOR! IT'S A 2011, WITH 110K MILES AND I NEED A NEW MOTOR?? THAT IT WOULD BE 4000.00 I LEFT WITH MY CAR, BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY JUST LAYING AROUND IN HOPES THAT IT MIGHT FIX THE PROBLEM. DRIVING A CAR THAT SCARES ME BC THE LIGHTS ARE CONSTANTLY FLASHING AT ME ALL OF THE TIME NOW, CAR SPUTTERING OUT WHILE AT LOW SPEEDS OR IDLE, CO ENGINE FLASHING, AND MY CAR ACTING LIKE IT'S GONNA DIE ANY MINUTE! NOT TO MENTION THE GAS IT'S CONSUMING ON TOP OF THE ALMOST 700 I'M ALREADY OUT. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND QUITE DISHEARTENING TO BUT A CAR FROM CHEVROLET, IT ONLY BE 5 YRS OLD AND HAVE THIS MANY ISSUES WITH NO RESOLVE. SEEING ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE, SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET HURT. PLEASE HELP

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2016 - LICKING, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/5/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2016 - OXFORD, MS
MY CAR HAS BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS ALL YEAR. I CALLED AND SPOKE WITH SOMEONE WHO IN RETURN WAS SUPPOSE TO CALL CANNON MOTORS IN OXFORD,MS TO HAVE THE FRONT HEAD LIGHT ON THE DRIVER SIDE FIXED BECAUSE IT WAS ON RECALL. MY FATHER HAS REPLACED IT 3 TIMES AND IT KEEPS GOING OUT SO THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO CANNON TODAY AND NOW ITS A DIFFERENT STORY. THEY WAS TALKING ABOUT CHARGING 75.00 THEN THEY CHANGED IT TO 500.00 TO FIX A HEADLIGHT. I KNOW THE IS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM GOING ON WITH MY CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds