Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 422 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment (1) Power Train (58) Steering (59) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (101) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (27) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (51)
Electronic Stability Control (94) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (11) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (92) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (11) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/15/2016 - 329 E MEINECKE AVE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED FRACTURED BONES ON HER FACE AND THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED MINOR CONTUSIONS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING AXLE AND TIRES WERE DEFECTIVE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2016 - 329 E MEINECKE AVE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED FRACTURED BONES ON HER FACE AND THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED MINOR CONTUSIONS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING AXLE AND TIRES WERE DEFECTIVE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

WHEELS

8/15/2016 - 329 E MEINECKE AVE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED FRACTURED BONES ON HER FACE AND THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED MINOR CONTUSIONS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING AXLE AND TIRES WERE DEFECTIVE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/4/2016 - WINDHAM, OH
WAS DRIVING AND I COULD GET ANY POWER. WOULD NOT GET UP TO 20 MILES AN HOUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2016 - TACOMA, WA
I PURCHASED MY PRE OWNED 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU VEHICLE 3 YEARS AGO AND AFTER 80000 MILES MY TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY COLLAPSED. I HAVE TAKEN GOOD CARE OF MY CAR AND STILL OWE $8000.00 ON MY LOAN. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ONLINE FROM PEOPLE IN MY SAME SITUATION WITH THE 2011 MALIBU. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY GM HASN'T ISSUED A RECALL FOR THE TRANSMISSIONS. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE. I WAS EXITING THE FREEWAY WITJ BOTH OF MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR, WHEN MY TRANSMISSION GAVE OUT. IT WILL NOT GO IN REVERSE OR GO OVER 20 MPH. I FEEL THAT THERE SHOULD BE SOME LEVEL OF ACCOUNTABILITY FROM GM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2016 - MERIDIAN, MS
TAKATA RECALL...I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL/TRACTION CONTROL FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS HAD IT REPAIRED ONCE AND NOW ITS DOING THE SAME THING ALSO MY HEAD LIGHT ON THE PASSAGE SIDE KEEP GOING OUT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/25/2016 - MERIDIAN, MS
TAKATA RECALL...I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL/TRACTION CONTROL FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS HAD IT REPAIRED ONCE AND NOW ITS DOING THE SAME THING ALSO MY HEAD LIGHT ON THE PASSAGE SIDE KEEP GOING OUT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/25/2016 - MERIDIAN, MS
TAKATA RECALL...I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL/TRACTION CONTROL FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS HAD IT REPAIRED ONCE AND NOW ITS DOING THE SAME THING ALSO MY HEAD LIGHT ON THE PASSAGE SIDE KEEP GOING OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - DRAKE, ND
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FELL OUT ONTO THE FLOOR OF THE VEHICLE AND DID NOT DEPLOY CORRECTLY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 57,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/21/2016 - HARVEY, LA
MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP CAME ON WHILE I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE. VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUTOFF, AND NOTHING WAS WORKING. I HAD TO MANUALLY OPEN MY DOOR TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE. I POPPED MY HOOD TO CHECK WHETHER OR NOT MY BATTERY CABLES HAD BECOME LOOSE, BUT EVERYTHING WAS OK. AFTER RETURNING TO THE DRIVER'S SEAT, THE CAR STARTED WITH EASE. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME MY CAR HAD COMPLETELY SHUTOFF WHILE DRIVING IT. IN NOVEMBER 2015, AS I ENTERED AN ONRAMP, IT CUT OFF. THIS ALMOST GAVE ME A HEART ATTACK. I TOOK MY CAR TO AUTO ZONE FOR A FREE CHECK, THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING. TODAY (7/20/2016), I WENT TO AUTO ZONE AND THEY RAN A DIFFERENT TEST, GAVE ME A PRINTOUT THAT INDICATED THE ECM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER (BOHN GMC), WHERE IT IS PRESENTLY. WHEN MY VEHICLE COMPLETELY TURNED OFF IN TRAFFIC, I AND MY PASSENGER, COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I CONSIDER THIS TO BE A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL, IT STATES THAT IF THE LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS OWN, 'DIAGNOSIS AND SERVICE MIGHT BE REQUIRED'. NO WHERE DOES IT INDICATE THAT THE VEHICLE COULD TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds