Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 571 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment (1) Power Train (82) Steering (97) Unknown Or Other (33)
Electrical System (124) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (32) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Electronic Stability Control (126) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seats (20) Suspension (7) Visibility (6)
Engine (117) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (18) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (14) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/6/2018 - SALISBURY, MD
I HAVE A 2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU WITH 91963 THAT HASNT MOVED SINCE APRIL 26 2018. THERE IS A KNOWN DEFECT IN THE 3-5-R WAVE PLATE IN CHEVY MALIBUS FROM 2009-10 THAT THEY FIX IN 2012 BUT DID NOTHING FOR 2011. MULITPLE REPAIR SHOPS HAVE TOLD ME THEY HAVE SEEN ALOT OF 2011 MALIBUS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. GM WILL NOT AKNOWLEDGE THIS DEFECT. I NEED HELP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/5/2018 - SALISBURY, MD
I BOUGHT MY CAR LAST OCTOBER WITH 88505 MILES AND MONTH AFTER MY SPEAKER WENT OUT AND IN NOVEMBER AND DECEMBER MY CAR DIED ON ME THREE TIMES AND MY GRANDMOTHER HAD TO FORCE THE DEALERSHIP THAT THE WARRANTY ALLOWED ME TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND IN MARCH MY CAR WOULD JUMP WHEN I SHIFT TO REVERSE. THEN I TOLD IT TO A AUTO SHOP THEY CHECK THE TRANSMISSION FLUID . FINALLY ON APRIL 26 +MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OR GO IN REVERSE . I HAD IT TOWED TO MY DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY CHARGED ME $108 TO DIAGNOSE IT AND TOLD ME MY 3-5-R WAVE PLATE WAS DONE AND I NEED TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. MY GRANDMOTHER DID HER RESEARCH MD COULD THAT BETWEEN 2009-2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU TRANSMISSION HAD A DEFECT IN THE TRANSMISSION WITH THE 35R WAVE PLATE AND THEY HAD MADE THE CHANGE THE 2012 MODELS BUT NEVER DID ANYTHING WITH THE 2010 MODELS AND I DID RESEARCH TO AN SAW THAT SOME CARS COULD HAVE PARTS FROM OLDER MODELS AND BE IN NEWER CARS. I WENT TO A TRANSMISSION PLACE AND THEY TOLD ME TO GO TO THE CONSUMER PROTECTION AGENCY WITH THE STATES ATTORNEY. DEPENDING ON MY VIN I COULD FIND OUT IF MY 2011 CAR WAS MADE WITH 2010 PARTS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/3/2018 - CHENANGO BRIDGE, NY
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR SURGED FORWARD AND THE DRIVER COULD NOT STOP THE CAR.. BRAKES DIDN'T WORK; STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN DRIVER TRIED TO MAKE A TURN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/3/2018 - CHENANGO BRIDGE, NY
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR SURGED FORWARD AND THE DRIVER COULD NOT STOP THE CAR.. BRAKES DIDN'T WORK; STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN DRIVER TRIED TO MAKE A TURN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/3/2018 - CHENANGO BRIDGE, NY
WHILE DRIVING, THE CAR SURGED FORWARD AND THE DRIVER COULD NOT STOP THE CAR.. BRAKES DIDN'T WORK; STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN DRIVER TRIED TO MAKE A TURN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/24/2018 - HUNTSVILLE, AL
I HAVE REPLACED THE HEADLIGHT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE 5 TIMES. I ALWAYS REPLACE BOTH WHEN I TAKE THE CAR APART. I HAVE PURCHASED BULBS FROM THE DEALER, ASK PARTS STORES TO ORDER LONG LIFE BULBS. THIS LAST REPLACEMENT HAS LASTED 4 WEEKS. ALL CONNECTIONS, WIRES ARE GOOD, REPLACED RELAYS, CONNECTIONS LOOK GOOD. OWNED A SHOP OVER 20 YEARS. PLEASE, NEED HELP. STUPID DESIGN REQUIRES A COUPLE OF HOURS WORK TO REPLACE THE HEADLAMP!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2018 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
DRIVING DOWN CITY STREET, ENGINE SPEED INCREASED AND VEHICLE SLOWED TO STOP. WOULD NOT GO FORWARD OR REVERSE. AS TRAFFIC BACKED UP BEHIND ME, SHUT VEHICLE OFF FOR ABOUT A MINUTE AND RESTARTED. VEHICLE THEN MOVED ENOUGH TO GET OFF ROADWAY THEN STOPPED MOVING AGAIN. TOWED TO CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP, THEY DIAGNOSED WITH MAJOR INTERNAL TRANSMISSION FAILURE, TRANSMISSION NEEDS REPLACED. VEHICLE HAS JUST OVER 90,000 MILES, COST TO REPAIR, ABOUT $4200

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2018 - SKOKIE, IL
DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AT 55 MILES PER HR CAR LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP ON THE HIGHWAY. THIS HAPPENED TWICE 8 MONTHS APART. FIRST TIME CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND THEY REPLACED A REAR FUSE BOX THINKING THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. APPARENTLY IT WASN+T BECAUSE IT HAPPENED AGAIN THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR TWO WEEKS AND COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM AND RETURNED THE CAR TO US. WE TRIED TO ESCALATE THIS ISSUE GM HEADQUARTERS WHO REFUSE TO HELP US.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/6/2018 - COLUMBIA CITY, IN
UPON DRIVING THE POWER STEERING LOCKED UP AND LIGHTS FLASHED WITH A DING. THE ESC LIGHT IS ON AND THE DASH IS PROMPTING "POWER STEERING" AND "SERVICE ESC" THIS HAS MADE DRIVING AND TURNING DIFFICULT. CAR IS NOW PARKED UNTIL IT CAN GO TO A REPAIR SHOP. AFTER THE FIRST INCIDENT I WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTART WHICH ALLOWED ME TO DRIVE WITHOUT AN ISSUE. THE NEXT DAY IT PROGRESSED TO EVERYTIME I START THE CAR AND ATTEMPT TO TURN THE POWER STEERING LOCKS UP AND THE WARNINGS FLASH.

View Details

STEERING

5/6/2018 - COLUMBIA CITY, IN
UPON DRIVING THE POWER STEERING LOCKED UP AND LIGHTS FLASHED WITH A DING. THE ESC LIGHT IS ON AND THE DASH IS PROMPTING "POWER STEERING" AND "SERVICE ESC" THIS HAS MADE DRIVING AND TURNING DIFFICULT. CAR IS NOW PARKED UNTIL IT CAN GO TO A REPAIR SHOP. AFTER THE FIRST INCIDENT I WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTART WHICH ALLOWED ME TO DRIVE WITHOUT AN ISSUE. THE NEXT DAY IT PROGRESSED TO EVERYTIME I START THE CAR AND ATTEMPT TO TURN THE POWER STEERING LOCKS UP AND THE WARNINGS FLASH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds