Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 37 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (9) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/9/2014 - GARDEN CITY, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A VIBRATION COMING FROM THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE DRUM DETERIORATED AND THE BRAKE SPRING WAS FRACTURED. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE FRONT ROTORS, THE FRONT PADS, THE REAR DRUMS, THE REAR BRAKE SHOES AND THE SPRING KIT. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE RPMS INCREASED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO OVERDRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/9/2014 - GARDEN CITY, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A VIBRATION COMING FROM THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE DRUM DETERIORATED AND THE BRAKE SPRING WAS FRACTURED. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE FRONT ROTORS, THE FRONT PADS, THE REAR DRUMS, THE REAR BRAKE SHOES AND THE SPRING KIT. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE RPMS INCREASED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO OVERDRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/17/2014 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
MY PROBLEM STARTED AROUND OCTOBER 25, 2014, A WEEK BEFORE I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP.. THE BACK BRAKES STARTED TO CHATTER WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES. IT WAS COMING FROM THE BACK BRAKES NOT THE FRONT.. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THE INSPECTION SHOWED THE LR WHEEL CYLINDER LEAKING HEAVILY AND CONTAMINATION SHOES. RR ALSO SEEPING. NEC TO REPLACE REAR WHEEL CYLINDERS AND BLEED SYSTEM. REPLACED REAR SHOES AND CLEANED AFFECTED AREAS. RESURFACED DRUMS AND REASSEMBLED. I PAID $514.74 FOR THIS, AND WITH A REWARD CARD, I GOT $15.00 OFF, BRINGING THE TOTAL TO $499.74. I TALKED TO THE SERVICE MGR. FROM HAMILTON CHEVROLET ON 11/7/14, AND HE SAID HE WOULD SEE IF HE COULD GET ME A REFUND FOR HALF OF THE CHARGE, AND SHOULD GET THE CHECK FROM GM IN ABOUT TWO WKS. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A GM PROBLEM, AND WITH ONLY 35, 574 MILES ON MY TRUCK THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. I AM A 73 YR. OLD RETIRE, AND HAVING TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR REALLY SET ME BACK. I HAVE OWNED MANY GM VEHICLES, AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS. I TAKE CARE OF MY VEHICLES, AND MAKE SURE THEY ARE SERVICED REGULARLY. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF YOU COULD LOOK INTO THIS, AND GET BACK TO ME. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2014 - DYSART, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,814.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2014 - STOUGHTON, WI
SERVICE AIR BAG

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2014 - HERCULES, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN AND COMING TO A STOP CAUSING IT TO COLLIDE WITH THE BRICK BUILDING I DO NOT WHAT THE TRUCK SPEEDED UP TO BUT BOTH OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF AND I MISSED A LITTLE 5 YEAR OLD GIRL BY ABOUT 2 INCHES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/9/2014 - HERCULES, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN AND COMING TO A STOP CAUSING IT TO COLLIDE WITH THE BRICK BUILDING I DO NOT WHAT THE TRUCK SPEEDED UP TO BUT BOTH OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF AND I MISSED A LITTLE 5 YEAR OLD GIRL BY ABOUT 2 INCHES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2014 - HERCULES, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN AND COMING TO A STOP CAUSING IT TO COLLIDE WITH THE BRICK BUILDING I DO NOT WHAT THE TRUCK SPEEDED UP TO BUT BOTH OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF AND I MISSED A LITTLE 5 YEAR OLD GIRL BY ABOUT 2 INCHES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/30/2014 - NORCO, CA
I HAD CLOSED ONE OF MY DOORS ON THE DRIVER SIDE WITH PRETTY STRONG FORCE (SLAM), AND THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS DEPLOYED ON BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES. THE SEATBELT PRE-TENSIONERS ALSO LOCKED UP. THE AIRBAG NEARLY MISSED STRIKING MY PASSENGER WHO WAS SEATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT WHEN IT OCCURRED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2014 - MERRILLVILLE, IN
THE AUTOMATIC BELT TENSIONER PULLEY IS IN THE PROCESS OF GOING OUT. THE PULLEY ITSELF IS SLOWLY SUFFERING FROM A HIGH PITCHED WHINING NOISE WHICH IS CAUSED BY BEARING FAILURE. WITH THE CURRENT MILEAGE THE PART IN QUESTION SHOULDN'T BY ANY MEANS BE FAILING, THE TENSIONER WORKS FINE BUT THE PULLEY WOBBLES A BIT TOO MUCH. IF THE PULLEY CONTINUES TO WOBBLE MORE AND FINALLY RESULTS IN CATASTROPHIC FAILURE IT CAN SHRED THE SERPENTINE BELT WHICH WILL RENDER THE VEHICLE USELESS OR EVEN BECOME A DANGER TO ANY AND ALL OCCUPANTS IN THE VEHICLE ESPECIALLY IF IT FAILS ON THE HIGHWAY. IF THE BELT GOES OUT IT CAN BEND OTHER PULLEYS OR SHEAR OFF PULLEYS, BOLTS, OR EVEN BEND THE HARMONIC BALANCER (ENGINE VIBRATION DAMPENER) WHICH WOULD RESULT IN A BLOWN OR SEIZED UP ENGINE. I'LL ALSO ADD THAT THE BELT COULD CAUSE A FIRE IF IT GETS WEDGE BETWEEN OTHER SPINNING PULLEYS AT THE TIME OF THE PULLEY'S BEARINGS OVERHEATING AND THE PULLEY EITHER BREAKING OFF OR CAUSING THE BELT TO SHRED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds