Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 31 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (7) Wheels (2)
Engine (1) Power Train (8) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/12/2014 - MERRILLVILLE, IN
THE AUTOMATIC BELT TENSIONER PULLEY IS IN THE PROCESS OF GOING OUT. THE PULLEY ITSELF IS SLOWLY SUFFERING FROM A HIGH PITCHED WHINING NOISE WHICH IS CAUSED BY BEARING FAILURE. WITH THE CURRENT MILEAGE THE PART IN QUESTION SHOULDN'T BY ANY MEANS BE FAILING, THE TENSIONER WORKS FINE BUT THE PULLEY WOBBLES A BIT TOO MUCH. IF THE PULLEY CONTINUES TO WOBBLE MORE AND FINALLY RESULTS IN CATASTROPHIC FAILURE IT CAN SHRED THE SERPENTINE BELT WHICH WILL RENDER THE VEHICLE USELESS OR EVEN BECOME A DANGER TO ANY AND ALL OCCUPANTS IN THE VEHICLE ESPECIALLY IF IT FAILS ON THE HIGHWAY. IF THE BELT GOES OUT IT CAN BEND OTHER PULLEYS OR SHEAR OFF PULLEYS, BOLTS, OR EVEN BEND THE HARMONIC BALANCER (ENGINE VIBRATION DAMPENER) WHICH WOULD RESULT IN A BLOWN OR SEIZED UP ENGINE. I'LL ALSO ADD THAT THE BELT COULD CAUSE A FIRE IF IT GETS WEDGE BETWEEN OTHER SPINNING PULLEYS AT THE TIME OF THE PULLEY'S BEARINGS OVERHEATING AND THE PULLEY EITHER BREAKING OFF OR CAUSING THE BELT TO SHRED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/24/2014 - NEW RICHMOND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, FUEL LEAKED CONTINUOUSLY ONTO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THEN TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A CRACK IN THE FEEDER FUEL LINE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER FUEL WAS DISPENSED INTO THE FUEL TANK TO THE FULL CAPACITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/6/2013 - HOUSTON, TX
THE TRUCK I PURCHASED HAS A MAX TOWING PACKAGE THAT IS SUPPOSED TO SAFELY TOW 10,600# IN CREW CAB CONFIGURATION. I HAVE A 28' PACE DAYTONA TRAILER THAT WEIGHS UNDER 8,000# AS I TOW IT. AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE TRUCK HAS A VERY SEVERE SWAY ISSUE. IT IS FRIGHTENING TO DRIVE AS THE TRAILER STARTS SHIFTING THE REAR OF THE TRUCK BACK AND FORTH. I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT WITH THE TRUCK AS YET, BUT I FEEL THE SITUATION IS VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE IN MICHIGAN TO ASK FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS ISSUE. THEY SAY THEY HAVE NO INFORMATION THAT CAN HELP SOLVE MY PROBLEM. I WAS INSTRUCTED TO BRING THE TRUCK AND TRAILER TO LONE STAR CHEVROLET IN HOUSTON WHERE I PURCHASED THE TRUCK. SEVERAL VISITS THERE AND TALKING TO SEVERAL SERVICE PEOPLE HAS YIELDED NO HELP. I WAS TOLD THAT THE TRUCK CAN'T PULL A TRAILER OF THAT PHYSICAL SIZE. ODDLY ENOUGH, THE 2012 MODEL TRUCK ADVERTISES A NEW SWAY CONTROL FEATURE. THIS 2013 BROCHURE EVER DEPICTS A SCENE OF THE TRAILER SWAYING AS MINE DOES, WITH A BOX TYPE TRAILER IN THE ADD. SINCE CHEVROLET CLAIMS IT HAS NO HISTORY OF THIS BEING AN ISSUE, I FELT THAT I SHOULD NOTIFY SOMEONE OF THIS UNSAFE SITUATION WITH THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THANKS FOR ALLOWING ME TO SHARE MY PROBLEM WITH SOMEONE WHO MIGHT RESEARCH THIS ISSUE AND TRY TO PREVENT A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/6/2013 - HOUSTON, TX
THE TRUCK I PURCHASED HAS A MAX TOWING PACKAGE THAT IS SUPPOSED TO SAFELY TOW 10,600# IN CREW CAB CONFIGURATION. I HAVE A 28' PACE DAYTONA TRAILER THAT WEIGHS UNDER 8,000# AS I TOW IT. AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE TRUCK HAS A VERY SEVERE SWAY ISSUE. IT IS FRIGHTENING TO DRIVE AS THE TRAILER STARTS SHIFTING THE REAR OF THE TRUCK BACK AND FORTH. I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT WITH THE TRUCK AS YET, BUT I FEEL THE SITUATION IS VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE IN MICHIGAN TO ASK FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS ISSUE. THEY SAY THEY HAVE NO INFORMATION THAT CAN HELP SOLVE MY PROBLEM. I WAS INSTRUCTED TO BRING THE TRUCK AND TRAILER TO LONE STAR CHEVROLET IN HOUSTON WHERE I PURCHASED THE TRUCK. SEVERAL VISITS THERE AND TALKING TO SEVERAL SERVICE PEOPLE HAS YIELDED NO HELP. I WAS TOLD THAT THE TRUCK CAN'T PULL A TRAILER OF THAT PHYSICAL SIZE. ODDLY ENOUGH, THE 2012 MODEL TRUCK ADVERTISES A NEW SWAY CONTROL FEATURE. THIS 2013 BROCHURE EVER DEPICTS A SCENE OF THE TRAILER SWAYING AS MINE DOES, WITH A BOX TYPE TRAILER IN THE ADD. SINCE CHEVROLET CLAIMS IT HAS NO HISTORY OF THIS BEING AN ISSUE, I FELT THAT I SHOULD NOTIFY SOMEONE OF THIS UNSAFE SITUATION WITH THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THANKS FOR ALLOWING ME TO SHARE MY PROBLEM WITH SOMEONE WHO MIGHT RESEARCH THIS ISSUE AND TRY TO PREVENT A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2013 - LILLINGTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN HE PUT THE VEHICLE IN GEAR IT MADE A VERY LOUD CLANGING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND WAS TOLD THAT WAS NORMAL SINCE ALL OF THE NEW GM VEHICLES MADE THAT NOISE. THE FAILURE RECURRED REPEATEDLY BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE OVER TIME. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FRAME AND SUSPENSION HAD EXTENSIVE RUST ON IT. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE RUST WAS NOT A PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF BOTH FAILURES BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/24/2013 - LILLINGTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN HE PUT THE VEHICLE IN GEAR IT MADE A VERY LOUD CLANGING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND WAS TOLD THAT WAS NORMAL SINCE ALL OF THE NEW GM VEHICLES MADE THAT NOISE. THE FAILURE RECURRED REPEATEDLY BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE OVER TIME. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FRAME AND SUSPENSION HAD EXTENSIVE RUST ON IT. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE RUST WAS NOT A PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF BOTH FAILURES BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/11/2012 - MCCORDSVILLE, IN
STEERING COLUMN BROKE IN PASSENGER SIDE IMPACT. FULL LOSS OF CONTROL OF VEHICLE. CAN SPIN STEERING WHEEL IN COMPLETE CIRCLE.

View Details

WHEELS

8/28/2012 - TUSCALOOSA, AL
THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT TO MY VEHICLE I PURCHASED A NEW VEHICLE FROM A COMPANY AND I HAVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS OUT OF THE VEHICLE SINCE I MADE THE PURCHASE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE TIRES, THEN REPLACED ONE OF THE RIMS BUT THE PROBLEM STILL EXIST THEY ALSO DID A FRONT END ALIGNMENT, THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED THAT HE HAD NO IDEA WHAT TO NEXT TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM, THERE IS A SHAKING OR VIBRATION IN THE VEHICLE WHEN IT IS DRIVEN. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL CONVERSATIONS WITH GM AND STILL THE MATTER HASN'T BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2012 - SPARTANBURG, SC
WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN ON A ROAD THAT HAS AN INCLINE, WHEN REMOVING MY FOOT FROM THE BRAKE TO THE GAS PEDAL, THE TRUCK ROLLS BACKWARDS AND WILL NOT STOP AT ALL UNLESS THE BRAKE IS RE-APPLIED OR THE GAS PEDAL CAN BE PUSHED BEFORE THE VEHICLE ROLLS TOO FAR BACK. TALKED TO DEALER AND HAD VEHICLE IN TO BE CHECKED AND THEY STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS DESIGNED THAT WAY TO ELIMINATE STRESS ON THE TRANSMISSION AND IT WAS MEANT TO FREE ROLL FOR A SHORT DISTANCE. THIS IS AN UNSAFE CONDITION AS VEHICLE COULD ROLL BACKWARDS INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE, PERSON, OR OBJECT. ON A VERY STEEP INCLINE, THE VEHICLE KEPT ON ROLLING BACKWARD FOR SEVERAL FEET AND UNLESS I PUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE OR GAS IT WILL CONTINUING TO ROLL BACKWARDS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/5/2012 - SPARTANBURG, SC
SPEED CONTROL (CRUISE) DOES NOT HOLD. WHILE GOING DOWN AN INCLINE FROM THE MOUNTAINS, CRUISE CONTROL WAS SET FOR 65 MPH, AND THE VEHICLE INCREASED SPEED TO 85+ MPG BEFORE APPLYING BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND TOOK VEHICLE TO BE CHECKED IN REGARDS TO THIS INCIDENT, AND THEY STATED THAT DUE TO THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, NEW EMISSION STANDARDS THAT TRANSMISSION WAS MADE NOT TO HOLD SO AS NOT TO INCREASE CARBON FOOTPRINT. THIS CAUSES A VERY UNSAFE CONDITION WHEN DRIVING WHEN THE CRUISE CONTROL IS ENGAGED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds