Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Power Train (9) Steering (1) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Unknown Or Other (21) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/19/2016 - LEWISTON, ID
MY TRACTION STABILITY LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY CHARGED ME $100.00 TO DIAGNOSE IT AND TAPE A SENSOR. A WEEK LATER IT CAME ON AGAIN, I LOOKED THIS ISSUE UP ON THE INTERNET AND EVERYBODY IS HAVING THESE PROBLEMS. WHY IS THIS NOT A SAFETY RECALL? I HAVE LESS THAN 46,000 MILES ON MY VEHICLE, I SHOULD NOT BE HAVING THIS ISSUE. GM BETTER DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/16/2016 - ARCADIA, FL
CRACK IN THE DASH ON THE RIGHT HAND SIDE OVER THE AIR BAG.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/12/2016 - WELLINGTON, FL
CRACKING DASH. HAS BEEN REPLACED TWO TIMES NOW. CRACKS HAVE OCCURRED IN THE SAME PLACES BOTH TIMES AND SIMILAR TO THE THOUSANDS OF PHOTOS ONLINE WHEN SEARCHING FOR GM CRACKED DASH OR A SIMILAR VARIANT. CRACKS EXPOSE MECHANICAL PARTS UNDER THE DASH AND ARE BRITTLE BUT VERY SHARP WHEN SEPARATED FROM THE DASH. DATE ENTERED WAS TODAY BUT INSTANCES STARTED IN 2011 AND THEN APPROX 1 YEAR AFTER THE FIRST REPLACEMENT. LAST REPLACEMENT TOOK PLACE IN MARCH OF 2016.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/11/2016 - MADISON, MS
CRACKING PLASTIC DASH ON UPPER LEFT CORNER OF PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. SEEMS THOUSANDS OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/11/2016 - MADISON, MS
CRACKING PLASTIC DASH ON UPPER LEFT CORNER OF PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. SEEMS THOUSANDS OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2016 - HARRODSBURG, KY
ONE MORNING, MY DAUGHTER AND I WAS GETTING IN THE TRUCK SO I COULD DROP HER OFF AT SCHOOL. WE GOT ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD AND STARTED HEARING A RATTLE. ONCE WE MADE IT TO A STOP SIGN, I LOOKED AROUND IN THE TRUCK AND FOUND THE PROBLEM. THERE ARE 2 CRACKS GOING DOWN THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE GAUGE CLUSTER ON THE DASH. AS WELL AS ANOTHER CRACK ON THE LEFT BACK CORNER OF THE AIRBAG ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DASH. I'M VERY PARTICULAR ABOUT MY TRUCK. I KEEP IT VERY CLEAN. I'VE NEVER PLACED ANYTHING ON THE DASH/WINDOW AREA TO CAUSE THE CRACKS. THAT MORNING IT WAS COLD OUT, PROBABLY AROUND 30 DEGREES. IT WAS VERY DISCOURAGING THAT WHEN I CALLED TO ASK ABOUT THE REPLACEMENT, (DURING THAT TIME, I STILL HAD MY WARRANTY FROM WHERE I HAD BOUGHT THE VEHICLE) I WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED, AND WOULD NEED TO BE PAID OUT OF POCKET. I WAS RAISED AS A CHEVY MAN, I BELIEVE THEY MAKE AMAZING VEHICLES. FOR THIS NOT TO ALREADY HAVE BEEN AN ISSUE TO HAD FIXED DUE TO THE LARGE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE IS OUTRAGEOUS. IT IS OBVIOUSLY A SAFETY ISSUE. SINCE THE ENTIRE CENTER DASH IS WEAK FROM BEING CRACKED ON EACH SIDE, I FEEL IT COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE THE AIRBAG TO FAIL IN THE FRONT OR EVEN WORSE IS INJURE WHO IS SITTING IN THE MIDDLE SEAT IN THE BACK. (DAUGHTER SITS IN THAT SPOT DUE TO AGE.) PLEASE, DO SOMETHING TO FIX THIS ISSUE. IT'S CLEAR THAT IT'S A PROBLEM AND IT COULD POTENTIALLY SAVE A LIFE BY BEING PROACTIVE ABOUT THE SITUATION. CHEVY HAS ALWAYS BEEN DEPENDABLE, DON'T LET YOUR LOYAL CUSTOMERS DOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/8/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
I OWN A 2011 CHECK SILVERADO I CLEAN MY TRUCK REGULARLY AN TAKE GOOD CARE OF IT I HAVE LESS THEN 50,000 MILES ON IT. I FOUND A CRACK IN MY DASH RUNNING FROM THE CORNER OF MY PASSAGE AIRBAG. I FEEL THAT IT'S A BIG SAFETY HAZARD CONSIDERING IF SOMEONE CRASHES INTO ME AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS JAGGED CHUNKS OF DASH COULD POSSIBLY IMPALE MYSELF OR MY PREGNANT WIFE. I DID SOME RESEARCH AN SEEN THAT THOUSANDS OF CHEVY MODELS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE BECAUSE OF MANUFACTORER NEGLIGENCE AN I FEEL THAT THIS IS ENOUGH OF A SAFETY HAZARD TO WHERE SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/8/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
I OWN A 2011 CHECK SILVERADO I CLEAN MY TRUCK REGULARLY AN TAKE GOOD CARE OF IT I HAVE LESS THEN 50,000 MILES ON IT. I FOUND A CRACK IN MY DASH RUNNING FROM THE CORNER OF MY PASSAGE AIRBAG. I FEEL THAT IT'S A BIG SAFETY HAZARD CONSIDERING IF SOMEONE CRASHES INTO ME AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS JAGGED CHUNKS OF DASH COULD POSSIBLY IMPALE MYSELF OR MY PREGNANT WIFE. I DID SOME RESEARCH AN SEEN THAT THOUSANDS OF CHEVY MODELS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE BECAUSE OF MANUFACTORER NEGLIGENCE AN I FEEL THAT THIS IS ENOUGH OF A SAFETY HAZARD TO WHERE SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS.

View Details

WHEELS: RIM

5/6/2016 - EAGLE RIVER, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE AIR PRESSURE WAS DEPLETING IN ALL FOUR TIRES. THE CONTACT PLACED AIR IN THE TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE RIM WAS CAUSING THE TIRES TO DEFLATE DUE TO CORROSION. THE WHEELS WERE REPLACED. THE WHEELS WERE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2016 - CARY, NC
CRACKED PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD. PICTURE SHOWS THE CRACK JUST BEGINNING FROM THE AIRBAG AREA TO GOING TOWARDS THE VENT. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE IN GM VEHICLES, MY TRUCK IS A 2011 MODEL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds