Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 176 complaints filed for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (76) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (9) Power Train (12) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (53) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/15/2017 - SUN CITY, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PARADISE CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 27360 YNEZ RD, TEMECULA, CA 92591 951-699-2699) THREE TIMES. THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AND TOLD THE CONTACT TO LEAVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED THREE TIMES AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD CALL THE CONTACT WHEN THE PART ARRIVED IN AUGUST. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2017 - HITCHCOCK, TX
I BOUGHT MY 2011 SILVERADO WITH ONLY 36,000 MILES ON IT, BEFORE IT EVER REACHED 40,000 THE DASH CRACKED IN THE CORNER OF THE PASSENGER AIRBAG, AND NOW ABOVE THE ODOMETER. I'M CONCERNED FOR THE SAFETY OF MYSELF AND MY FAMILY IF THE AIRBAG WAS TO GO OFF AND SEND SHARDS OF SHARP PLASTIC THOUGH THE VEHICLE. I WOULD APPRECIATE GM RECALLING AND FIXING THE ISSUE THAT THEY ARE ALREADY AWARE OF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/14/2017 - HITCHCOCK, TX
I BOUGHT MY 2011 SILVERADO WITH ONLY 36,000 MILES ON IT, BEFORE IT EVER REACHED 40,000 THE DASH CRACKED IN THE CORNER OF THE PASSENGER AIRBAG, AND NOW ABOVE THE ODOMETER. I'M CONCERNED FOR THE SAFETY OF MYSELF AND MY FAMILY IF THE AIRBAG WAS TO GO OFF AND SEND SHARDS OF SHARP PLASTIC THOUGH THE VEHICLE. I WOULD APPRECIATE GM RECALLING AND FIXING THE ISSUE THAT THEY ARE ALREADY AWARE OF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/8/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
CRACK ON DASH AT THE AIRBAG , IT JUST CRACKED FOR NO REASON . ITS RIGHT AT THE AIRBAG , AFRAID THAT IF AIRBAG GOES OFF THE BROKE PIECE WILL FLY OUT AND HIT SOMEONE. OR THE AIRBAG WILL GET A HOLE IN IT . IT WAS STATIONARY.

View Details

STEERING

8/7/2017 - CONCORD, VA
I HAVE A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 LT., VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN TRIED TO START THE ENGINE, THE IGNITION KEY WOULD NOT MOVE IN START POSITION, ALL PANEL LIGHTS CAME ON FINE. HAD TOWED TO DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED STEERING COLUMN WAS BAD CAUSING THE IGNITION TO NOT TURN. STEERING COLUMN AND IGNITION HAD TO BE REPLACED. IT WAS REPAIRED. ISSUE LEFT ME STRANDED. DEALER SAID NO RECALL. WITH STEERING BEING A MAJOR SAFETY ITEM, I WAS SURPRISED THERE HAD NOT BEEN A RECALL. NEVER HAD ANY OTHER PROBLEMS AND BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/3/2017 - PLAQUEMINE, LA
THE DASH IS CRACKING NEAR THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND NEAR THE AIR BAG. I USE A SUNSCREEN, BUT THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE. THIS IS TOO EXPENSIVE AND WELL TAKEN CARE OF A VEHICLE. I WORRIES ME THAT THERE MAY BE SOME SAFETY ISSUES WITH A CRACKED PLASTIC DASH IN CASE OF ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. A DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (BACON AUTO COUNTRY INC., LOCATED AT 1033 N JACKSON ST JACKSONVILLE, TX 75766) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE RECALL REMEDY PARTS WERE ON BACKORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/28/2017 - MARLTON, NJ
ELKINS CHEVROLET OF MARLTON, NJ REFUSES TO COVER SERVICE FOR AN ITEM THAT WAS RECALLED. THE DEALERSHIP CLAIMS TO HAVE ALREADY RECALLED THE VEHICLE AND MITIGATED THE ISSUE BY INSTALLING A STYROFOAM TUBE AROUND THE PART IN QUESTION. HOWEVER, IF THE TUBE WAS INSTALLED IT FAILED AND THE TRANSMISSION MAY BE AFFECTED. I AM CURRENTLY LEFT TO COVER THE COST OF THIS WHILE THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE ISSUE DESPITE THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/14/2017 - FULLERTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED PREMIER CHEVROLET OF BUENA PARK (6195 AUTO CENTER DR, BUENA PARK, CA 90621, (714) 868-4044) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds