Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 337 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (8) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (21)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (107) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (240) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (21) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (36) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2015 - PEYTON, CO
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE BELT STARTED WHINING AND MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL AS ALL OTHER DASH ELECTRICAL AND THE ELECTRICAL SHUT DOWN. NO POWER TO CAR. SHOP HAS CONFIRMED A BAD ALTERNATOR. THIS IS AN AWD CHARGER-THERE WAS NOT AN OPTION FOR A 2011 AWD IN THE DROP DOWNS ABOVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

2/24/2015 - KANSAS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FOUR DAYS LATER, WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/18/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
CAR COMPLETELY LOST POWER WHILE APPROACHING RED LIGHT A RED LIGHT. FIRST RADIO STOP WORKING, TURNED COMPLETELY OFF, WOULD'NT COME ON. THEN LOST CONTROL AND ALL POWER TO VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
CAR COMPLETELY LOST POWER WHILE APPROACHING RED LIGHT A RED LIGHT. FIRST RADIO STOP WORKING, TURNED COMPLETELY OFF, WOULD'NT COME ON. THEN LOST CONTROL AND ALL POWER TO VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2015 - TALKING ROCK, GA
BOUGHT 2011 CHARGER IN JULY, 2014. ON OCTOBER 22ND, I NOTICED A FUNNY SMELL, BUT COULD NOT LOCATE. ON OCTOBER 24, MY CAR STARTED MAKING A WHINING SOUND THAT GOT LOUDER OVER NEXT 3 MILES. I PULLED OVER TO A PARKING LOT, NOTICE SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER HOOD. I LIFT HOOD AND SEE OIL LEAKING OUT OF TIMING CHAIN COVER ONTO ALTERNATOR. MY CAR SHUT OFF, WON'T START, AND BATTERY SAVER MODE LIGHT FLASHING, GAUGES ACTING WEIRD, AND LIGHTS DIMMING. AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES, I STARTED CAR TO GET HOME WITH IT, DROVE MAYBE 2 MILES AND CAR STARTED TO MELT DOWN INCLUDING WIPERS COMING ON, RADIO ON AND OFF, DOOR BUZZERS COMING ON, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHT ON AND OFF, LIGHTS FLASHING, AIR BAG WARNINGS, ETC. THIS CONTINUED FOR NEXT COUPLE MILES UNTIL A COMPLETE SHUT DOWN RIGHT AT THE RAILROAD TRACKS! I BARELY GOT OUT OF LANE. AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES, I GOT CAR TO START AND MADE IT OVER THE TRACKS TO A PARKING LOT. MY HUSBAND CAME, CALLED DODGE DEALERSHIP, THEY SENT TOW TRUCK THAT TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP. SERVICE MANAGER CALLED US 5 DAYS LATER, SAID IT WAS ALTERNATOR AND THEY WOULD FIX FOR $850. MY HUSBAND SAID NO, WE'RE NOT PAYING BECAUSE OF RECALL ISSUED ON OCTOBER 8TH, THAT THEY NEEDED TO REPAIR FOR FREE WITH BETTER QUALITY PARTS, AND THAT I NEEDED A RENTAL UNTIL MY CAR WAS FIXED, OR THEY COULD BY MY CAR BACK BECAUSE WE DON'T FEEL SAFE IN IT. SERVICE MANAGER DENIED RECALL, SAID IT WAS MEDIA HYPE, AND THAT HE WOULD HAVE SALES MANAGER CALL US. WE DID NOT HEAR BACK FROM DODGE SERVICE DEPARTMENT UNTIL FEBRUARY 10, 2015, WHEN THEY INFORMED RENTAL COMPANY THEY WERE NOT PAYING BILL FOR MY RENTAL FOR LAST 4 MONTHS, EVEN THOUGH MY CAR STILL NOT FIXED AND IN SAME PARKING SPACE AT DEALERSHIP IT'S BEEN IN SINCE OCT. 24. I CALLED AND MADE REPORT TO CHRYSLER CORP. AND NOW IS A CASE UNDER SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS, WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE SETTLED IN 2 BUSINESS DAYS. STILL WAITING! SHAMEFUL!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/15/2015 - TALKING ROCK, GA
BOUGHT 2011 CHARGER IN JULY, 2014. ON OCTOBER 22ND, I NOTICED A FUNNY SMELL, BUT COULD NOT LOCATE. ON OCTOBER 24, MY CAR STARTED MAKING A WHINING SOUND THAT GOT LOUDER OVER NEXT 3 MILES. I PULLED OVER TO A PARKING LOT, NOTICE SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER HOOD. I LIFT HOOD AND SEE OIL LEAKING OUT OF TIMING CHAIN COVER ONTO ALTERNATOR. MY CAR SHUT OFF, WON'T START, AND BATTERY SAVER MODE LIGHT FLASHING, GAUGES ACTING WEIRD, AND LIGHTS DIMMING. AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES, I STARTED CAR TO GET HOME WITH IT, DROVE MAYBE 2 MILES AND CAR STARTED TO MELT DOWN INCLUDING WIPERS COMING ON, RADIO ON AND OFF, DOOR BUZZERS COMING ON, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHT ON AND OFF, LIGHTS FLASHING, AIR BAG WARNINGS, ETC. THIS CONTINUED FOR NEXT COUPLE MILES UNTIL A COMPLETE SHUT DOWN RIGHT AT THE RAILROAD TRACKS! I BARELY GOT OUT OF LANE. AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES, I GOT CAR TO START AND MADE IT OVER THE TRACKS TO A PARKING LOT. MY HUSBAND CAME, CALLED DODGE DEALERSHIP, THEY SENT TOW TRUCK THAT TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP. SERVICE MANAGER CALLED US 5 DAYS LATER, SAID IT WAS ALTERNATOR AND THEY WOULD FIX FOR $850. MY HUSBAND SAID NO, WE'RE NOT PAYING BECAUSE OF RECALL ISSUED ON OCTOBER 8TH, THAT THEY NEEDED TO REPAIR FOR FREE WITH BETTER QUALITY PARTS, AND THAT I NEEDED A RENTAL UNTIL MY CAR WAS FIXED, OR THEY COULD BY MY CAR BACK BECAUSE WE DON'T FEEL SAFE IN IT. SERVICE MANAGER DENIED RECALL, SAID IT WAS MEDIA HYPE, AND THAT HE WOULD HAVE SALES MANAGER CALL US. WE DID NOT HEAR BACK FROM DODGE SERVICE DEPARTMENT UNTIL FEBRUARY 10, 2015, WHEN THEY INFORMED RENTAL COMPANY THEY WERE NOT PAYING BILL FOR MY RENTAL FOR LAST 4 MONTHS, EVEN THOUGH MY CAR STILL NOT FIXED AND IN SAME PARKING SPACE AT DEALERSHIP IT'S BEEN IN SINCE OCT. 24. I CALLED AND MADE REPORT TO CHRYSLER CORP. AND NOW IS A CASE UNDER SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS, WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE SETTLED IN 2 BUSINESS DAYS. STILL WAITING! SHAMEFUL!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/12/2015 - BELLMAWR, NJ
LAST YEAR THESE VEHICLES WERE RECALLED FOR THE LIGHTS IMPROPERLY SHUTTING OFF FOR THE LIGHTING ASSEMBLY....MY HEADLIGHT IS STILL GOING OUT AND ON..OUT AND ON......EVEN THOUGH THE RECALL WAS COMPLETE. I HAVE REPLACED THE HEADLIGHT SEVERAL TIMES AND IT IS NOT THE HEADLIGHT....THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE HEADLIGHT UNIT ITSELF....ONE MINUTE THE LIGHT WORKS AND WITHIN SECONDS IT SHUTS OFF ...IT IS DANGEROUS...NOT TO MENTION THE HORN DOESN T WORK.....THIS IS SO DANGEROUS! I CANT EVEN USE MY HORN IN AN EMERGENCY...SOMEONE ALMOST HIT ME AND I TRIED TO USE MY HORN, WITH MY KIDS IN THE CAR AND WE ALMOST GOT HURT PRETTY BAD. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ..THESE CARS ARE JUNK...I WILL NEVER BUY A DODGE CHARGER AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2015 - SEAL BEACH, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2015 - PINEBROOK, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND RESTARTED AFTER RECHARGING THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/5/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG WAS SPLITTING FROM THE SEAM IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE AIR BAGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds