Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 238 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (6) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (96) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (154) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine (21) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2014 - VISALIA, CA
MY BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME UP ON SCREEN THEN MY ABS & TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS CAME ON SO I TOOK MY CAR TO DEALER AND THEY CHECKED IT OUT AND SAID ALL SYSTEMS WERE FINE AS I DROVE MY CAR HOME THE BATTERY SAVER MODE, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN AND I BEGAN SMELLING A BURNT SMELL FROM ENGINE SO I OPENED UP THE HOOD AND MY ALTERNATOR WAS SMOKING AND LOOKED FRIED ALL ELECTRICAL WAS DOWN NOTHING WORKS NOW NO POWER TO CAR AT ALL, NEEDLESS TO SAY CAR IS BEING TOWED BACK TO DEALER NOW AND HOPEFULLY THEY WILL FIX IT THIS TIME AND NOT PUT MY FAMILY AT RISK OF BEING BURNED OR HARMED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - FOUNTAIN , CO
WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO WORK MY RADIO WENT OUT AND ABS LIGHTS AND WHAT NOT STARTED FLASHING. MY CAR DIED AND I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I COULD SMELL SOMETHING BURNING THAT SMELLED ELECTRICAL. I POPPED OPEN THE HOOD AND SEEN THE ALTERNATOR SMOKING. I JUST TOOK MY CAR IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE THE DAY PRIOR. I'M SURE IF THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG THEY COULD OF TOLD ME. DODGE DOESN'T SUPPORT THEIR EQUIPMENT. I'M SURE I AM NOT THE FIRST PERSON THIS HAS HAPPEN TO. THEY NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED FOR THEIR ALTERNATORS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
WAS DRIVING CAR WHEN RADIO SHUT OFF, ABS BRAKE WARNING CAME ON AND CAR LOST STEERING AND BRAKE POWER. GOT CAR HOME AND IT STOPPED RUNNING. TRIED TO JUMP AND DRIVE TO DEALER BUT COULD NOT KEEP ENGINE RUNNING, POWER WORKED OFF AND ON. TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE ON HIGHWAY WITH POSSIBLE LOSS OF CONTROL. $800 TO REPLACE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
WAS DRIVING CAR WHEN RADIO SHUT OFF, ABS BRAKE WARNING CAME ON AND CAR LOST STEERING AND BRAKE POWER. GOT CAR HOME AND IT STOPPED RUNNING. TRIED TO JUMP AND DRIVE TO DEALER BUT COULD NOT KEEP ENGINE RUNNING, POWER WORKED OFF AND ON. TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE ON HIGHWAY WITH POSSIBLE LOSS OF CONTROL. $800 TO REPLACE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - BEL AIR, MD
THE BATTERY SAVER LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE LIGHT ALSO CAME ON AND THE ABS LIGHT ONLY WHILE TURNING THE WHEEL. STOPPED AND SHUT OFF THE CAR. IT SMELLED LIKE A ELECTRICAL BURNING COMING THREW THE VENTS WENT OUT TO OPENED THE HOOD AND SAW ALOT OF SMOKE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. LOOKS LIKE IT WAS ON FIRE!! GOT BACK INTO THE CAR AND HAD NOT POWER TO ANYTHING. BATTERY WAS DEAD. COULD NOT GET INTO THE TRUCK TO CHECK AND DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. HAD TO JUMP THE BATTERY TO OPEN THE TRUCK TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. GOT A ALTERNATOR FROM THE DEALER, THE ONLY PLACE I COULD GET IT, THE AUTO PARTS STORES DO NOT STOCK THEM. I GUESS ITS TOO EXPENSIVE!!! IT COST ME 570.00 FOR THE ALTERNATOR AND I PUT IT ON MY SELF. CHARGED THE BATTERY AND STARTED THE CAR ALL GOOD, NO PROBLEMS.. I WAS LUCKY THE THE CAR DID NOT BURN UP...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
DRIVING AT 25 MPH, WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON FOR DIFFERENT FUNCTIONS. ODD SOUND COMING FROM MOTOR. THE INFORMATION MESSAGE ALERT LIT UP. CHECKED IT, AND THE MESSAGE ALERT WAS "BATTERY SAVER MODE". ODD SMELL (ELECTRICAL) COMING FROM THE ENGINE. PARKED, CLOSED WINDOWS, SHUT THE CAR OFF. WENT TO RESTART CAR AND IT WOULDN'T START. HAD A FRIEND TRY TO JUMP WITH CABLES, AND IT DIDN'T WORK. CALLED FOR TOW TRUCK TO COME AND TAKE TO DEALER. I HAVE A BUMPER TO BUMPER LIFETIME WARRANTY. DEALER CAN'T "LOOK" AT IT UNTIL TOMORROW. IT HAS BEEN ALMOST 2 HOURS WAIT FOR TOW TRUCK,(PROMISED TO BE HERE AN HOUR AGO.)

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
DRIVING AT 25 MPH, WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON FOR DIFFERENT FUNCTIONS. ODD SOUND COMING FROM MOTOR. THE INFORMATION MESSAGE ALERT LIT UP. CHECKED IT, AND THE MESSAGE ALERT WAS "BATTERY SAVER MODE". ODD SMELL (ELECTRICAL) COMING FROM THE ENGINE. PARKED, CLOSED WINDOWS, SHUT THE CAR OFF. WENT TO RESTART CAR AND IT WOULDN'T START. HAD A FRIEND TRY TO JUMP WITH CABLES, AND IT DIDN'T WORK. CALLED FOR TOW TRUCK TO COME AND TAKE TO DEALER. I HAVE A BUMPER TO BUMPER LIFETIME WARRANTY. DEALER CAN'T "LOOK" AT IT UNTIL TOMORROW. IT HAS BEEN ALMOST 2 HOURS WAIT FOR TOW TRUCK,(PROMISED TO BE HERE AN HOUR AGO.)

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
DRIVING AT 25 MPH, WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON FOR DIFFERENT FUNCTIONS. ODD SOUND COMING FROM MOTOR. THE INFORMATION MESSAGE ALERT LIT UP. CHECKED IT, AND THE MESSAGE ALERT WAS "BATTERY SAVER MODE". ODD SMELL (ELECTRICAL) COMING FROM THE ENGINE. PARKED, CLOSED WINDOWS, SHUT THE CAR OFF. WENT TO RESTART CAR AND IT WOULDN'T START. HAD A FRIEND TRY TO JUMP WITH CABLES, AND IT DIDN'T WORK. CALLED FOR TOW TRUCK TO COME AND TAKE TO DEALER. I HAVE A BUMPER TO BUMPER LIFETIME WARRANTY. DEALER CAN'T "LOOK" AT IT UNTIL TOMORROW. IT HAS BEEN ALMOST 2 HOURS WAIT FOR TOW TRUCK,(PROMISED TO BE HERE AN HOUR AGO.)

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/16/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
AT 10 P.M. 9/15. I WAS DRIVING TO THE STORE. INFORMATION MESSAGE POPPED UP ON DISPLAY. BATTERY SAVER MODE. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE. THERE WAS ALSO A WHINING NOISE HEARD FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE ABS BRAKE LIGHT AND ELECTRONIC SKID CONTROL LIGHTS WERE ALSO ON. I WAS ALREADY NEAR THE STORE. I PULLED INTO THE PARKING LOT AND PARKED THE CAR. I OPENED THE HOOD AND COULD SEE SMOKE AND SMELL SMOKE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR TO GET MY WINDOWS UP BUT IT WAS DEAD. I COULDN'T START IT EVEN WITH JUMPER CABLES TO GET IT BACK HOME. I HAD TO CALL FOR A TOW. I FINALLY MADE IT HOME A 1:00 AM AFTER WAITING FOR TOW. I COULDN'T IMAGINE THE LACK OF CONTROL HAD THIS HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY OR DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I NEED TO PURCHASE AN ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY TODAY. NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO THE BILL. SOUNDS LIKE BAD DESIGNED PARTS. HOPEFULLY SOMETHING BECOMES OF THE INVESTIGATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
AT 10 P.M. 9/15. I WAS DRIVING TO THE STORE. INFORMATION MESSAGE POPPED UP ON DISPLAY. BATTERY SAVER MODE. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE. THERE WAS ALSO A WHINING NOISE HEARD FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE ABS BRAKE LIGHT AND ELECTRONIC SKID CONTROL LIGHTS WERE ALSO ON. I WAS ALREADY NEAR THE STORE. I PULLED INTO THE PARKING LOT AND PARKED THE CAR. I OPENED THE HOOD AND COULD SEE SMOKE AND SMELL SMOKE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR TO GET MY WINDOWS UP BUT IT WAS DEAD. I COULDN'T START IT EVEN WITH JUMPER CABLES TO GET IT BACK HOME. I HAD TO CALL FOR A TOW. I FINALLY MADE IT HOME A 1:00 AM AFTER WAITING FOR TOW. I COULDN'T IMAGINE THE LACK OF CONTROL HAD THIS HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY OR DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I NEED TO PURCHASE AN ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY TODAY. NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO THE BILL. SOUNDS LIKE BAD DESIGNED PARTS. HOPEFULLY SOMETHING BECOMES OF THE INVESTIGATION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds