Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 359 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Power Train (9) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (20)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (112) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (258) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (21) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (37) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/20/2015 - GULLIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE PROGRESSED TO WHERE BOTH FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHTS AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AFTER BEING SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,200.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GULLIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE PROGRESSED TO WHERE BOTH FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHTS AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AFTER BEING SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GULLIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE PROGRESSED TO WHERE BOTH FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHTS AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AFTER BEING SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2015 - MOBILE, AL
MY VEHICLE WAS PARKED UNDER MY CARPORT FOR APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MINUTES. I CAME OUT GOT IN THE CAR AND SEEN SMOKE COMING FROM THE PASSENGER VISOR. I PULLED THE VISOR DOWN AND IT BURST INTO FLAMES. I JUMPED OUT OF THE VEHICLE RAN BACK IN THE HOUSE CALLED 911 AND STARTED APPLYING WATER BUT THE FLAMES KEPT COMING BACK. THEN FINALLY AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS I PUT THE FIRE OUT. THEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME LOOKED AT THE SITUATION AND LEFT AFTER THEY SEEN EVERYTHING WAS SECURED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/3/2015 - PELHAM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2015 - EVERETT, MA
RECIEVED MESSAGE ON CONSOLE WHY DRIVING "BATTERY SAVER MODE" DROVE 1 MILE AND PULLED INTO GAS STATION. WHILE PARKED AND CAR RUNNING RADIO, ABS, STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEMS ALL WENT OFFLINE. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND SMELLED ELECTRICAL BURNING. OPENED HOOD AND BURNING SMELL WAS STRONGER. I RETURNED TO THE CAR AND ALL ELECTRICAL POWER WAS COMPLETELY DRAINED. TOWED TO DODGE DEALERSHIP AFTER CALLING CHRYSLER RECALL HOTLINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2015 - EVERETT, MA
RECIEVED MESSAGE ON CONSOLE WHY DRIVING "BATTERY SAVER MODE" DROVE 1 MILE AND PULLED INTO GAS STATION. WHILE PARKED AND CAR RUNNING RADIO, ABS, STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEMS ALL WENT OFFLINE. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND SMELLED ELECTRICAL BURNING. OPENED HOOD AND BURNING SMELL WAS STRONGER. I RETURNED TO THE CAR AND ALL ELECTRICAL POWER WAS COMPLETELY DRAINED. TOWED TO DODGE DEALERSHIP AFTER CALLING CHRYSLER RECALL HOTLINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2015 - EVERETT, MA
RECIEVED MESSAGE ON CONSOLE WHY DRIVING "BATTERY SAVER MODE" DROVE 1 MILE AND PULLED INTO GAS STATION. WHILE PARKED AND CAR RUNNING RADIO, ABS, STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEMS ALL WENT OFFLINE. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND SMELLED ELECTRICAL BURNING. OPENED HOOD AND BURNING SMELL WAS STRONGER. I RETURNED TO THE CAR AND ALL ELECTRICAL POWER WAS COMPLETELY DRAINED. TOWED TO DODGE DEALERSHIP AFTER CALLING CHRYSLER RECALL HOTLINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2015 - SCRANTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE ALTERNATOR ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, THE BATTERY SAFE MODE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) BUT THE CONTACT WAS ADDED TO A WAITING LIST AND INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - PEARLAND, TX
I NOTICED A STRONG GAS SMELL IN AND AROUND THE CAR SEVERAL WEEKS AGO AFTER FILLING UP BUT I DID NOT OVERFILL OR SPILL GAS ANYWHERE. AFTER HAVING A MECHANIC DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE HE FOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP UNDER THE REAR SEAT ON THE RIGHT SIDE WAS LEAKING AND HAD FUEL POOLING UP AT THE TOP. AS FIRST STEP HE REPLACED THE O-RING SEAL ON THE FUEL UP. AFTER REPLACING THE SEAL THERE WAS NO LEAK INITIALLY BUT IT OCCURRED AGAIN AFTER THE NEXT FILL UP. SO IT SEEMS THE LEAK ONLY OCCURS WHEN THE GAS TANK IS FULL. SINCE THE SEAL WAS ALREADY REPLACED BUT THE LEAK IS STILL THERE I TOOK IT TO THE DODGE DEALER WHO WILL HAVE TO DIAGNOSE IT FURTHER BUT THEY TOLD ME THAT IT IS MOST LIKELY THE GAS TANK THAT IS LEAKING AND THEY HAVE SEEN MANY PROBLEMS LIKE THIS ALREADY AND I AM NOT THE FIRST ONE. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THAT DODGE HAS UPDATED THE FUEL TANK RECENTLY SO OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A FLAW WITH THE OLD DESIGN WHICH IS PROBABLY WHY I AM HAVING PROBLEMS. NOT ONLY IS THIS A COSTLY REPAIR WHICH IS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS BUT IT POSES DANGER SINCE FUEL IS LEAKING UNDER THE SEAT AND COULD POTENTIALLY IGNITE AND SET THE WHOLE CAR ON FIRE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds