Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 467 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (314) Exterior Lighting (124) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (31) Service Brakes (28) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (48) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/17/2016 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE ENGINE MALFUNCTIONED AND THERE WAS A TICKING NOISE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/17/2016 - JEFFERSON CITY, MO
DRIVING HOME FROM WORK 65MPH, ALL LIGHTS ON DASH WENT OUT, RADIO WENT DARK, A/C BLEW SUPER HOT AIR AND BLINDED ME AND ENGINE DIED AND WOULDN'T RESTART. I HAD TO CAREFULLY GET OFF ROAD ON THE HOTTEST DAY OF THE EAR TO FIND SMOKE COMING FROM 5.7L ENGINE. SMALL FIRE FROM ALTERNATOR! ALMOST HIT 5 CARS AND ALMOST GOT HIT BY 3. THIS IS THE SAME ALTERNATOR FROM THE PREVIOUS P60 RECALL, BUT ISN'T COVERED BECAUSE RECALL ONLY AFFECTS 3.6L ENGINES. WHY WOULD THE RECALL COVER ONE BUT NOT THE OTHER?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2016 - JEFFERSON CITY, MO
DRIVING HOME FROM WORK 65MPH, ALL LIGHTS ON DASH WENT OUT, RADIO WENT DARK, A/C BLEW SUPER HOT AIR AND BLINDED ME AND ENGINE DIED AND WOULDN'T RESTART. I HAD TO CAREFULLY GET OFF ROAD ON THE HOTTEST DAY OF THE EAR TO FIND SMOKE COMING FROM 5.7L ENGINE. SMALL FIRE FROM ALTERNATOR! ALMOST HIT 5 CARS AND ALMOST GOT HIT BY 3. THIS IS THE SAME ALTERNATOR FROM THE PREVIOUS P60 RECALL, BUT ISN'T COVERED BECAUSE RECALL ONLY AFFECTS 3.6L ENGINES. WHY WOULD THE RECALL COVER ONE BUT NOT THE OTHER?

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/15/2016 - NACOGDOCHES, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY ON THE DASHBOARD, IT COULD HAPPEN WHILE I'M DRIVING OR WHILE I'M STATIONARY. ONE DAY IS LIT THE NEXT DAY IS OFF, I'M AFRAID THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE WHAT IF I GET INVOLVED ON AN ACCIDENT AND THE AIRBAGS DONT FUNCTION PROPERLY? I HEARD ABOUT A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES WITH SIMILAR SYMPTOMS AS THE ONES I'M EXPERIENCING BUT DEALER REFUSES TO FIX IT UNLESS I PAY $600

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/31/2016 - WESTFIELD, IN
2 WEEKS AGO I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE FROM A USED CAR LOT. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME FILLING THE FUEL TANK ALL THE WAY. ONCE I LEFT THE GAS STATION I STARTED SMELLING GAS FUMES. ONCE THE CAR WAS PARKED I NOTICED IT LEAKING GAS UNDER THE PASSENGER SIDE IN FRONT OF THE BACK WHEEL. 3 DAYS LATER NOTICED IT WENT FROM HAVING A FULL TANK TO MISSING AN 1/8 OF A TANK. WHILE IT WAS SITTING AT WORK IT CONTINUOUSLY DRIPPED FUEL UNTIL I HAD A FLATBED PICK IT UP TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE LOT. PULLED THE BACK SEAT AND THE COVER FOR THE FUEL PUMP AND THERE WAS STANDING GAS AROUND THE FUEL PUMP. VERY BAD DESIGN TO HAVE THE FUEL PUMP AT AN ANGLE FOR IT TO LEAK THAT BAD IF A SEAL GOES BAD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/25/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
MY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON. SO I WENT TO PEP BOYS TO GET IT CHECKED OUT. THEY TOLD ME THAT I HAVE A LEAK ON MY LINE THAT GOES FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR TO THE BACK OF THE CAR. THEY SAID THEY NEEDED TO CHANGE OUT MY WHOLE LINE SINCE IT IS ONE PIECE. I ASKED WHY THIS HAS HAPPENED AND THE TECHNICIAN TOLD ME THAT THE LINE WAS RUBBING AGAINST THE FRAME OF MY CAR. SINCE IT HAS BEEN RUBBING AGAINST MY FRAME, IT CAUSED A FRICTION THAT ULTIMATELY CAUSED A TEAR ON MY LINE AND STARTED THE LEAK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/25/2016 - SCRANTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE LEAKED FUEL IN THE REAR PASSENGER WHEEL WELD, NEAR THE EXHAUST PIPE AND THE BATTERY LINE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED. THE O-RING AROUND THE FUEL TANK WAS REPLACED, BUT THE ISSUE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE SMELLED OF FUEL AND DRIPPED GASOLINE INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

5/19/2016 - ALLEN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A NOISE OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE BATTERY, ABS, AND STABILITY CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO A SAFE LOCATION. THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,600.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2016 - GULF BREEZE, FL
V8 MODEL, CAR WENT INTO BATTERY SAVE MODE AND SHORTLY AFTER THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING. CAR ALMOST DIED AND I WAS FORTUNATE TO MAKE IT TO A LOCAL DEALER. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS A BAD ALTERNATOR THAT WASN'T OUTPUTTING ENOUGH FOR THE CAR. CAR WAS IN MOTION AND IT WAS A COMBINATION OF STREET AND ROADWAY DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2016 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
44,000 MILES AND ALTERNATOR FAILED RESULTING IN 1000.00 EXPENSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds