Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 247 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (6) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (96) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (161) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine (23) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/29/2014 - RESEDA, CA
"BATTERY SAVE MODE" I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPEN MY CAR DIDN'T WANT TO START? I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR ABOUT 1YR 1/2. CHECKED BATTERY LEVELS THEY ARE FINE. THEN STARTED DROVE THE CAR FOR 2 DAYS THEN DIED WHEN I PARKED THE CAR AND TRIED TO DRIVE IT AGAIN. BUT WILL NOT TURN OVER.WHEN TRAVELING UNDER THE SPEED OF 30MPH THE CAR BECOMES VERY HARD TO STEER AND FEELS LIKE ITS GOING TO SHUT OFF. I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. I CAN'T DRIVE IT ANYWHERE TO GET A DIAGNOSIS ON IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - RESEDA, CA
"BATTERY SAVE MODE" I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPEN MY CAR DIDN'T WANT TO START? I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR ABOUT 1YR 1/2. CHECKED BATTERY LEVELS THEY ARE FINE. THEN STARTED DROVE THE CAR FOR 2 DAYS THEN DIED WHEN I PARKED THE CAR AND TRIED TO DRIVE IT AGAIN. BUT WILL NOT TURN OVER.WHEN TRAVELING UNDER THE SPEED OF 30MPH THE CAR BECOMES VERY HARD TO STEER AND FEELS LIKE ITS GOING TO SHUT OFF. I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. I CAN'T DRIVE IT ANYWHERE TO GET A DIAGNOSIS ON IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 DODGE CHARGER WHEN THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH OTHER LIGHTS. I ALSO NOTICED THE SMELL OF BURNING WIRES. I STOPPED MY VEHICLE AND POPPED THE HOOD. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS OFF IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD TWO MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND TELL ME THAT THE ALTERNATOR SEIZED. I CALLED DODGE TO SEE IF THEY HAD HEARD ABOUT THE ISSUE AND THEY SEEMED NOT TO CARE. I WAS TOLD THAT IF THERE IS A RECALL THEY WOULD SEND OUT A NOTICE. THIS IS A VERY BIG ISSUE IF THE ALTERNATOR WERE TO CATCH FIRE, CAR WAS IN TRAFFIC, OR EVEN AN ELECTRICAL SURGE TO THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - ALEXANDRIA , VA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THE WARING LIGHT BATTERY SAVER ILLUMINATED IN JUNE 2014. BATTERY SAVER MODE MEANS THE VEHICLE IS NOT CHARGING AND ITS OPERATING OFF THE BATTERY SYSTEM THAT WILL SOON LOSE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A DEAD CELL IN THE BATTERY AND IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RETURNED IMMEDIATELY AFTER LEAVING THE DEALER. THE CONTACT RETURNED TO THE DEALER AND WAS ADVISED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND THE CODE WILL CLEAR. THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT RETURNED TO A NEW DEALER AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE ALTERNATOR WAS DEAD. THE REPAIR FOR A NEW ALTERNATOR WAS PERFORMED. THE CONTACT RETURNED TO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VOLTAGE REGULATOR NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RETURNED. THE CONTACT STATED THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS BURNED OUT. THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RETURNED. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE A NEW PCM WOULD RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THE REPAIR IS SCHEDULED TO PERFORMED WHEN THE PARTS COMES IN. THE CONTACT WAS GIVEN A RENTAL UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE OF REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. JB

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - ALEXANDRIA , VA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THE WARING LIGHT BATTERY SAVER ILLUMINATED IN JUNE 2014. BATTERY SAVER MODE MEANS THE VEHICLE IS NOT CHARGING AND ITS OPERATING OFF THE BATTERY SYSTEM THAT WILL SOON LOSE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A DEAD CELL IN THE BATTERY AND IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RETURNED IMMEDIATELY AFTER LEAVING THE DEALER. THE CONTACT RETURNED TO THE DEALER AND WAS ADVISED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND THE CODE WILL CLEAR. THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT RETURNED TO A NEW DEALER AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE ALTERNATOR WAS DEAD. THE REPAIR FOR A NEW ALTERNATOR WAS PERFORMED. THE CONTACT RETURNED TO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VOLTAGE REGULATOR NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RETURNED. THE CONTACT STATED THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS BURNED OUT. THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RETURNED. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE A NEW PCM WOULD RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THE REPAIR IS SCHEDULED TO PERFORMED WHEN THE PARTS COMES IN. THE CONTACT WAS GIVEN A RENTAL UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE OF REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. JB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2014 - NEW GLOUCESTER, ME
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 50 MPH AND SAW THE ABS LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COME ON, THEN THE CAR SAID BATTERY SAVER MODE. AFTER THAT IT DIED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND NOTHING WOULD COME ON. I HAD NO HAZARDS LIGHTS THAT WOULD WORK. I WAS TOTALLY HELPLESS. I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE DUE TO THE EXTREME SMELL OF BURNING WIRES. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR THAT BURNT UP AND PUT THE CAR COMPLTLY OUT OF SERVICE. DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT SAID IT IS NOT WARRANTIED AND IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. I THINK BEING STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH NO WAY OF WARNING OTHER DRIVERS WITH SAFETY HAZARDS IS REALLY A SAFETY ISSUE. THANK GOD THAT IS WAS NOT NIGHT TIME AND THAT I WAS NOT ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - TAMPA, FL
I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND ALL OF THE ELECTRICAL PARTS INSIDE THE CAR STARTED FLICKERING AND EVENTUALLY CUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING. I ATTEMPTED TO USE THE BATTERY JUMPER KIT I HAVE AND IT WOULD ONLY WORK LONG ENOUGH TO GET THE CAR IN NEUTRAL TO GIVE IT A PUSH. NOW NO PART OF THE CAR WORKS UNLESS CONNECTED TO AN ALTERNATE SOURCE OF POWER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - LINWOOD, NC
WHILE DRIVING, THE ABS ALERT LIGHT FLASHED ON AND WE SMELLED AN ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR. A FEW MINUTES LATER THE RADIO CONSUL WENT BLANK. THERE WAS A MESSAGE THAT STATED "BATTERY SAVING MODE". THEN SEVERAL MINUTES LATER, SEVERAL ALERT LIGHTS BEGAN BLINKING ON/OFF. I COULD RUN THE WINDOW DOWN BUT THE AUTOMATIC ONE-TOUCH FEATURE STOPPED WORKING INITIALLY AND A FEW MINUTES LATER, I COULD NOT RUN THE WINDOW UP OR DOWN. THEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AS I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT. WE SMELLED THE ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR OFF AND ON DURING THIS ENTIRE TIME. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE ALTERNATOR HAD FAILED AND HAD DAMAGED THE BATTERY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - MANTECA, CA
DURING DRIVING, THE RADIO TURNED OFF, AND THE DASH LIGHTS LIT UP. SMOKE STARTED COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. CAR DIED ON THE ROAD. DEALER DIAGNOSED AS A FAILURE OF THE ALTERNATOR WHICH ALSO CAUSED THE BATTERY TO FAIL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - ORANGEBURG, SC
WAS DRIVING AND THE POWER SAVER MODE CAME ON THE CAR. SAW SMOKE, CHECKED THE ENGINE AND THE ALTERNATOR WAS SMOKING. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. THIS CAR IS 3 YEARS OLD WITH 60,000 MILES ON IT. THAT IS RIDICULOUS. THE CAR HAS NOT WENT THROUGH ANYTHING STENOS. WE ARE AT A LOST FOR WORDS AND THEN WHEN CALLED AND ASKED ABOUT IT THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE WITHOUT FURTHER INVESTIGATION. PLEASE INVESTIGATE, THERE ARE TOO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. THIS IS COSTING OVER 800 DOLLARS, THIS IS RIDICULOUS ON A LOW MILE LOW YEAR CAR, RIGHT AFTER THE WARRANTY GOES OUT. PLEASE INVESTIGATE AND DO SOMETHING, THANKS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds