Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 450 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Steering (30) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (308) Exterior Lighting (123) Seat Belts (3) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2016 - ARLINGTON, TX
MY ALTERNATOR HAS GONE OUT, AND IT IS BARLEY 5 YEARS OLD. THE RECALL IS FOR ALTERNATORS WITH A 160 AMP. THE 180 AMP IS DOING THE SAME THING, SO WHEN WILL THE RECALL TAKE PLACE FOR THIS ALTERNATOR. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR THIS BUT, STILL NO RECALL. THE SAME MANUFACTURE FOR THE 160 IS THE SAME FOR THE 180. PEOPLE ARE BEING STRANDED BOTH LITERALLY AND FINANCIALLY. I WAS DRIVING WHEN SMOKE STARTED COMING FROM MY CAR STOPPED AT O'REILLY'S AND WAS TOLD IT WAS MY ALTERNATOR. BATTERY SAFE MODE WAS READING ON THE DASH. I WAS DRIVING ON A CITY ST HEADING TO WORK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/20/2016 - HAMPTON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT AN ACCUMULATION OF FUEL LEAKED ONTO THE FUEL PUMP. THE MECHANIC PLACED AN O-RING ONTO THE FUEL PUMP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,718.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2016 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
VEHICLE RADIO KEEPS GOING BACK AND FORTH FROM RADIO TO AUXILIARY THIS HAPPENS WHETHER THE VEHICLE IS STOPPED OR IN MOTION. I ALSO GET A SYSTEMS UPGRADE WARNING WHEN I TRY TO SYNCHRONIZE THE CELL PHONE USING THE VEHICLE'S BLUE TOOTH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2016 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
MY VEHICLE AT 61K MILES EXPERIENCED THIS NEARLY CAUSING A MASSIVE ACCIDENT. I WAS DRIVING AT 55MPH WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO LOSS POWER, THE CAR DOWN SHIFTED FROM OD TO FIRST CAUSE ME TO SLIDE. I RECOVERED FORTUNATELY. TO THEN LOSS ALL POWER AND STEERING. THIS ALL OCCURRED WITH IN 30-35 SECS CHRYSLER GROUP LLC (CHRYSLER) IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2011-2014 CHRYSLER 300, DODGE CHARGER, CHALLENGER, AND DURANGO; AND 2012-2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE VEHICLES MANUFACTURED APRIL 22, 2010, TO JANUARY 2, 2014, AND EQUIPPED WITH A 3.6L ENGINE AND A 160 AMP ALTERNATOR. IN THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, THE ALTERNATOR MAY SUDDENLY FAIL. IF THE ALTERNATOR FAILS, THE VEHICLE MAY STALL WITHOUT WARNING, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. RECALL 14V634000 THIS IS VIN SPECIFIC TO 2011-2014 MY VEHICLE IS NOT IN THAT GROUP BUT HAS THE SAME ALTERNATOR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE AND THEN AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY SAVE MODE AND THE BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE ALTERNATOR ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED A SECOND OCCASION UNDER A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WEEK AFTER THE REPAIR, THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE THERMOSTAT WAS NOT PROPERLY CLOSED AND THAT A DIAGNOSIS NEEDED TO BE PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V046000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) BUT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/6/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE AND THEN AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY SAVE MODE AND THE BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE ALTERNATOR ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED A SECOND OCCASION UNDER A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WEEK AFTER THE REPAIR, THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE THERMOSTAT WAS NOT PROPERLY CLOSED AND THAT A DIAGNOSIS NEEDED TO BE PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V046000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) BUT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE AND THEN AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY SAVE MODE AND THE BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE ALTERNATOR ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED A SECOND OCCASION UNDER A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WEEK AFTER THE REPAIR, THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE THERMOSTAT WAS NOT PROPERLY CLOSED AND THAT A DIAGNOSIS NEEDED TO BE PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V046000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) BUT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/4/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
I PURCHASED A 2011 DODGER CHARGER 1WEEK AGO FROM TEXAN DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM IN HUMBLE TX. I TEST DRIVE THE CAR ON A HALF TANK OF GAS NO PROBLEM AT THE TIME UNTIL I DECIDED TO BUY THE CAR OFF A TRADE IN. DEAL WENT GREAT IM ON MY WAY BACK HOUSTON I NOTICE THE GAS TANK IS FULL KNOW 20 MIN INTO THE RIDE I START SMELLING GAS. SO I ROLL THE WINDOW DOWN GOT HOME LIFT UP THE BACK SEAT I NOTICE THE GAS SMELL HAS GOTTEN STRONGER NOW IAM LOOKING AT THE FUEL PUMP WITH GAS ON TOP ONE SPARK HOLE CAR COULD HAVE BLEW UP...THESE MECHANIC ARE A F..K.. JOKE WHAT EVER HAPPEN TO SAFERCARS ..

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

3/28/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE STARTED TO JERK VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2016 - WINNSBORO, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A FENCE AND TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NOSE INJURIES THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT TOWING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds