Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 560 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment (1) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (134) Seat Belts (4) Steering (32) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (362) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (31) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (54) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2017 - ST PETERS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE, THE BATTERY AND THE LOW POWER MODE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING ODOR COMING THROUGH THE VENTS FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO NAPLETON'S MID RIVERS CHRYSLER (4951 VETERANS MEMORIAL PKWY, ST PETERS, MO 63376, PHONE NUMBER: (636) 936-3669) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RECALL PART T36 FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V435000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED BY THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY WOULD NOT PAY THE FEE FOR THE PART AND WOULD REIMBURSE THE CONTACT WHEN THE PART BECAME AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,503. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2017 - DAYTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT DROVE HOME AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (EVANS ARENA CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM, 924 SHILOH SPRINGS RD, DAYTON, OH 45415) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY UNTIL MARCH OF 2018. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V435000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-992-1997 AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE ONLY IN MARCH OF 2018. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,500. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/18/2017 - DAYTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT DROVE HOME AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (EVANS ARENA CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM, 924 SHILOH SPRINGS RD, DAYTON, OH 45415) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY UNTIL MARCH OF 2018. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V435000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-992-1997 AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE ONLY IN MARCH OF 2018. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,500. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2017 - DAYTON, OH
RECALL ON ALTERNATOR ON 8/27/17 I WAS DRIVING ON THE ROAD AND MY CAR JUST STOP RUNNING. I RESTARTED IT AND THE BATTERY SAFE MODE APPEARED ON THE SCREEN. I MADE IT TO MY HOUSE AND MY CAR STOP WORKING ALL TOGETHER. I CALLED EVAN ARENA DODGE TO MAKE A SERVICE APT. THEY STATED THEY WERE BACKED UP AND GAVE ME A DATE 8/8/17 @ 10 AM. I CALLED THE RECALL 9/5/17 AGENT STATED PART WILL NOT BE IN UNTIL 2018. I STATED WHAT I'M I SUPPOSE TO DO WITHOUT A CAR, AGENT STATED THEY WILL APPROVE A RENTAL UNTIL THEN. I CALLED RECALL 9/6-9/8 TO GUARANTEE THAT MY CAR WILL GET THE PROPER CARE AND I WILL NOT BE OUT OF A CAR. CHRIS SERVICE AGENT AT EVAN ARENA DODGE STATES MY CAR PART IS ON RECALL AND THE PART WILL NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL 2018. I STATED I WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE PER RECALL. CHRIS SERVICE AGENT GAVE ME A BILL OF $99.99 I REFUSED TO SIGN AND PAY FOR IT BECAUSE IT WAS AN ALTERNATOR RECALL ISSUE AND NOT FAULT OF MY OWN. I STATED TO CHRIS SERVICE AGENT,+ WHAT ABOUT A RENTAL PER RECALL I WILL BE PROVIDED A RENTAL UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.+ CHRIS STATED I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY SENT OUT THEM LETTERS OUT BECAUSE EVERYONE HAS BEEN COMING UP HERE TO GET THEIR CAR FIXED. I STATED TO CHRIS SERVICE AGENT I'M A VICTIM OF THE RECALLED ALTERNATOR AND I HAVE BEEN WITHOUT A CAR FOR A WEEK AND A HALF. CHRIS LEFT DESK AND TOM SUPERVISOR CAME AND STATED PARTS WILL NOT BE IN UNTIL MARCH 2018. I STATED TO TOM THAT'S NOT MY PROBLEM, I NEED TO GET TO WORK I HAVE 2 JOBS AND NO TRANSPORTATION. I NEED A RENTAL, TOM STATED I WILL EMAIL MY DISTRICT MANAGER AND HE USUALLY GETS BACK TO ME QUICKLY FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE RENTAL, IF IT+S THE RECALL ALTERNATOR. I STATED WELL I HAVE AN APT AT 10 AM PUT IT ON THE DIAGNOSTIC AND YOU SHOULD BE CALLING ME IN AN HOUR. CHRIS SERVICE AGENT CALLED ME AT 12:30 AND STATED IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR AND I STATED WHAT ABOUT THE RENTAL?UNABLE TO COMPLETE MY COMPLAINT DUE TO LACK OF CHARACTER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/7/2017 - MEDFORD, NY
AT NIGHT OR WHEN HID HEADLIGHTS ARE ON FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES, ONE OF THE HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF, LEAVING ONLY ONE LIGHT ON. IF I STOP THE CAR AND TURN OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTART THE CAR BOTH LIGHTS WILL BE ON. ALSO IF I TURN OFF THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH FOR A MOMENT AND THEN BACK TO THE ON POSITION BOTH HEADLIGHTS COME BACK ON. AT FIRST I THOUGHT I HAD A BURNT OUT BULB AND I TOOK THE CAR TO FIRESTONE TO GET A REPLACEMENT BULB, BUT THEY SAID BOTH HEADLIGHTS WORK AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK IT TO A DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM STILL OCCURS. NEITHER FIRESTONE OR DODGE CHARGED ME ANYTHING FOR THE CHECK. THEY BOTH SAID "NO PROBLEM FOUND". NOW DODGE SENT ME A RECALL NOTICE FOR AN ALTERNATOR PROBLEM. I WONDER IF THIS IS RELATED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/7/2017 - MEDFORD, NY
AT NIGHT OR WHEN HID HEADLIGHTS ARE ON FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES, ONE OF THE HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF, LEAVING ONLY ONE LIGHT ON. IF I STOP THE CAR AND TURN OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTART THE CAR BOTH LIGHTS WILL BE ON. ALSO IF I TURN OFF THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH FOR A MOMENT AND THEN BACK TO THE ON POSITION BOTH HEADLIGHTS COME BACK ON. AT FIRST I THOUGHT I HAD A BURNT OUT BULB AND I TOOK THE CAR TO FIRESTONE TO GET A REPLACEMENT BULB, BUT THEY SAID BOTH HEADLIGHTS WORK AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK IT TO A DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM STILL OCCURS. NEITHER FIRESTONE OR DODGE CHARGED ME ANYTHING FOR THE CHECK. THEY BOTH SAID "NO PROBLEM FOUND". NOW DODGE SENT ME A RECALL NOTICE FOR AN ALTERNATOR PROBLEM. I WONDER IF THIS IS RELATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/6/2017 - DAYTON, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND IT SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS IN TRAFFIC ALL OF A SUDDEN. I STARTED MY CAR AND PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. MY CAR RADIO SHUT OFF IMMEDIATELY NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. THE BATTERY SIGN WAS ON MY DASH BOARD, I TURNED AROUND AND HEADED BACK HOME ONCE I GOT THERE MY CAR SHUT OFF AGAIN. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY SITTING AT MY HOUSE AS OF AUG. 27, 2017. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY SCHEDULED AN APT FOR SEPT 8TH. I HAD A FRIEND TEST MY BATTERY READ WAS 12 AMPS. I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE SEPT. 5, 2017. I RECEIVED THIS NOTICE IN THE PAST ABOUT THE ALTENATOR AND INFORMED THE DEALER BUT THEY STATED IT WAS LONGER VALID.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/6/2017 - BRANDON, MS
VEHICLE STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD DUE TO ALTERNATOR SUDDEN FAILURE. THERE IS A RECALL ON ALTERNATOR PART, BUT THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT HONOR THE RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/20/2017 - SCHILLER PARK, IL
ON THE MORNING OF 8/20 I DROVE 2 BLOCKS FROM MY HOUSE WHEN THE CHATTERY SAVE MODE TURNED ON ACCOMPANIED BY THE BATTERY LIGHT ON THE DASH SHORTLY AFTER THE CAR LOST POWER STEERING AND ALL ELECTRIC COMPONENTS SHUT OFF AND THEN THE CAR SHUTOFF AND WAS IMMOBILE AFTER THAT. I PUSHED THE CAR HOME AND THE CAR HASN'T TURNED OVER SINCE. I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND USED A BATTERY CHARGER TO RECHARGE SO I CAN PUT MY WINDOWS UP WHEN I RECONNECTED THE BATTERY I PUT THE CAR IN RUN KNOWING THE ALTERNATOR WAS BAD AND PENDING RECALL. AS THE WINDOWS HIT THE CLOSED POSITION BLACK SMOKE STARTED COMING OFF THE ALTERNATOR AND I PROMPTLY DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AGAIN COMPLETELY AFTER TURNING THE CAR INTO OFF POSITION AGAIN. THE ALTERNATOR CONTINUED TO SMOKE FOR 5 MINUTES AS I STARED AT IT WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHER IN HAND AND PHONE IN THE OTHER WITH 911 DIALED AND READY. AS THE CAR SAT IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER ALL THIS I NOTICED A FUEL SMELL THAT CAME FROM THE CAR THEN I NOTICED A FUEL LEAK. A CONSTANT DRIPPING OF 1OR 2 DROPS PER 5SECONDS. THE LEAK COMES FROM BELOW THE DOOR HINGES AREA OF THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR DOOR. I CANNOT FIND THE ORIGIN BUT THIS IS WHERE IT DRIPS FROM. I'VE READ THAT THIS IS ALSO A COMMON PROBLEM BUT DODGE OR ANY OTHER AFFILIATE HAS RECALLED ANY FUEL COMPONENTS AND PEOPLE THAT HAVE CHANGED THE FULL FUEL SYSTEM TANK HOSES PUMPS EVERYTHING STILL CONTINUE TO HAVE THIS ISSUE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FILLED WITH GAS TO MAX CAPACITY AND THE LEAK STOPS ONCE THE FUEL LEVEL REACHES 3/4 TANKS OR LESS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2017 - SCHILLER PARK, IL
ON THE MORNING OF 8/20 I DROVE 2 BLOCKS FROM MY HOUSE WHEN THE CHATTERY SAVE MODE TURNED ON ACCOMPANIED BY THE BATTERY LIGHT ON THE DASH SHORTLY AFTER THE CAR LOST POWER STEERING AND ALL ELECTRIC COMPONENTS SHUT OFF AND THEN THE CAR SHUTOFF AND WAS IMMOBILE AFTER THAT. I PUSHED THE CAR HOME AND THE CAR HASN'T TURNED OVER SINCE. I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND USED A BATTERY CHARGER TO RECHARGE SO I CAN PUT MY WINDOWS UP WHEN I RECONNECTED THE BATTERY I PUT THE CAR IN RUN KNOWING THE ALTERNATOR WAS BAD AND PENDING RECALL. AS THE WINDOWS HIT THE CLOSED POSITION BLACK SMOKE STARTED COMING OFF THE ALTERNATOR AND I PROMPTLY DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AGAIN COMPLETELY AFTER TURNING THE CAR INTO OFF POSITION AGAIN. THE ALTERNATOR CONTINUED TO SMOKE FOR 5 MINUTES AS I STARED AT IT WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHER IN HAND AND PHONE IN THE OTHER WITH 911 DIALED AND READY. AS THE CAR SAT IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER ALL THIS I NOTICED A FUEL SMELL THAT CAME FROM THE CAR THEN I NOTICED A FUEL LEAK. A CONSTANT DRIPPING OF 1OR 2 DROPS PER 5SECONDS. THE LEAK COMES FROM BELOW THE DOOR HINGES AREA OF THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR DOOR. I CANNOT FIND THE ORIGIN BUT THIS IS WHERE IT DRIPS FROM. I'VE READ THAT THIS IS ALSO A COMMON PROBLEM BUT DODGE OR ANY OTHER AFFILIATE HAS RECALLED ANY FUEL COMPONENTS AND PEOPLE THAT HAVE CHANGED THE FULL FUEL SYSTEM TANK HOSES PUMPS EVERYTHING STILL CONTINUE TO HAVE THIS ISSUE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FILLED WITH GAS TO MAX CAPACITY AND THE LEAK STOPS ONCE THE FUEL LEVEL REACHES 3/4 TANKS OR LESS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds