Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 123 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (71) Seat Belts (1) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (6) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/15/2014 - VERSAILLES, KY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE LOW BEAM HEAD LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED AND WOULD NOT OPERATE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE HEADLIGHT WIRE HARNESS HAD MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLIGHT SUB-HARNESS HAD OVERHEATED CAUSING THE DEFECT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V101000(LIGHTS). THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THAT THE SAME DEFECT LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,600. JFT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - VERSAILLES, KY
WIRING HARNESS OF HEADLIGHT OVERHEATED AND CAUSED HARNESS TO MELT. I HAVE NO HEADLIGHTS. TOOK CAR TO BOB ALLEN IN FRANKFORT AND THEY INFORMED THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BUT MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT THEY WILL DO. YET THIS IS A SAFTY HAZARD AND IT SHOULD BE FIXED AT NO COST SINCE THEY ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE WITH OTHER CARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - DAVIS, IL
I HAVE REPLACED THE DRIVER SIDE HEADLAMP 2 TIMES NOW FOUND THE CONNECTOR CHARRED AND BRITTLE. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN JANUARY 2014 AND SAW LAMP REPLACEMENT DONE BY THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT IT FROM IN THE CARFAX SO 3 TIMES THIS BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED SINCE JANUARY. THIS IS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD AND CHRYSLER NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM. I HAPPEN TO WORK FOR CHRYSLER AND AM AN ELECTRICIAN AND KNOW THE POTENTIAL OF THE PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS A LOOSE CONNECTION WHICH CAUSE EXCESSIVE HEAT. I PUT DIELECTRIC GREASE ON THE CONNECTOR TO HELP WITH THE CONDITION. TIME WILL ONLY TELL IF THIS HELPS. I ALSO HAVE GOTTEN A BATTERY SAVER MESSAGE WHICH LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THE ALTERNATOR IS ABOUT TO GO NOT TO HAPPY!!.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/20/2014 - LAKE PLACID , FL
THE FOLLOWING ARE ISSUES I'M HAVING WITH MY VEHICHLE: 1. THE HEALIGHTS HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE THE LIGHT SOCKET BEING MELTED. I RESEARCHED THE MATTER AND IT APPEARS THAT THE 2011 CHARGERS 3.6L HAVE A PROBLEM WHERE THE WIRE HARNESS MELTS FOR THE LOW BEAM LIGHTS. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THIS WAS A FIRE HAZARD. 2. THE ALTERNATOR WENT BAD AT 64,000 MILES IN WHICH IT COMPLETELY KILLED MY BATTERY. NOW I HAVE REPLACED THE HEADLIGHTS, BATTERY, AND ALTERNATOR. WHAT IS CHRYSLER WAITING ON TO RECALL THESE ISSUES? APPARENTLY THIS YEAR MAKE AND MODEL HAS ELETRICAL ISSUES. DO WE NEED TO WAIT UNTIL SEVERAL CONSUMERS HAVE ACCIDENTS OR MAYBE DIE BEFORE SOMEONE DOES SOMETHING ABOUT VEHICLES AND THEIR RECALLS? OTHER MANUFACTURERS LIKE TOYOTA, GMC HAVE HAD MANY ACCIDENTS AND DEATHS AND NOW AFTER ALMOST A DECADE THEY ARE RECALLING THE VEHICLES. I HAVE 2 SMALL KIDS THAT COMMUTE TO SCHOOL IN MY VEHICLES DAILY. THESE ISSUES NEED TO BE RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE HEADLIGHT CONTINUOUSLY FAILED. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BULB MULTIPLE TIMES BUT THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WIRING HARNESS WAS MELTED INTO THE BULB FIXTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) OR 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR INSPECTED FOR DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/19/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE HEADLIGHT CONTINUOUSLY FAILED. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BULB MULTIPLE TIMES BUT THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WIRING HARNESS WAS MELTED INTO THE BULB FIXTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) OR 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR INSPECTED FOR DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/18/2014 - LUBBOCK, TX
PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT STARTED FLICKERING WAS DRIVING IN BAD FOG COULD NOT USE HIGH BEAMS THE MORE WE DROVE THE WORSE THE FLICKERING BECAME. ALL OF A SUDDEN IT SEEMED LIKE WE LOST ALL HEADLIGHTS WE WERE ABLE TO PULL OVER GOT OUT TO CHECK LIGHTS AND THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WAS OUT. WE FINALLY MADE IT HOME. THE NEXT DAY WENT TO CHECK THE LIGHTS AND FOUND THE LOW BEAM WIRING HARNESS MELTED. I STARTED LOOKING ONLINE AND CAME TO FIND NUMEROUS WEB SITES WITH PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AND CHRYSLER HAS ONLY RECALLED THE POLICE ISSUE VEHICLES. TO ME CHRYSLER KNOWS THERE IS AN ISSUE BUT DO NOT WANT TO FIX IT. I HAVE PAID OVER $200 TO GET IT FIXED. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER NUMEROUS TIMES AND HAVE GOTTEN NO WHERE WITH THEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/18/2014 - BUFORD, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE WIRING HARNESS HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHT BULB CONTINUOUSLY OVERHEATED AND CAUSED THE WIRING HARNESS TO BECOME MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THE FAILURE AND NOTIFIED HER THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/18/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHT BULB CONTINUOUSLY OVERHEATED AND CAUSED THE WIRING HARNESS TO BECOME MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THE FAILURE AND NOTIFIED HER THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EXTERIOR LIGHTING , SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds