Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 363 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Power Train (9) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (19)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (112) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (261) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (22) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (37) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
STARTED MY VEHICLE AND AS I DROVE AWAY FROM PARKED, WARNING MESSAGE (BATTERY SAVING MODE). ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER 2 MILES, CAR BEGAN TO SMELL OF "ELECTRICAL BURNING". WHEN CAR STOPPED, ALL POWER LOST. OPENED HOOD AND ALTERNATOR WAS SMOKING. HAD CAR TOWED TO DODGE, AND AM TOLD NO RECALL ON MY VIN (5.7L ENGINE), EVEN THOUGH THIS IS THE EXACT PROBLEM THAT THE 3.6L ENGINES HAVE AND ARE RECALLED. I AM SEEKING FULL REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE COST OF THIS $786!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/27/2015 - APO , AE
ALTERNATOR FAILURE IN A 4 YEAR OLD CAR. WOW. DRIVING DOWN THE AUTOBAHN AT 130KPH, AND YOUR CAR SHUTS OFF, NOT COOL. SHOULD HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH BEFORE I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL HAD A LOUD METAL ON METAL SCRAPING NOISE, BOTH WITH BRAKING AND WITHOUT BRAKING, IN BOTH DRIVE AND IN REVERSE POSITIONS. THE NOISE ONLY LASTED FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO MILES AND COULD NOT BE REPLICATED, WHEN I ARRIVED AT THE TIRE PLACE. THEY DID REPLACE SOME BRAKE HARDWARE ON THAT SIDE, SAYING THAT IT WAS A THIN METAL PIECE BEHIND THE BRAKE PAD WAS BENT. BUT NOW, TWO WEEKS LATER THE WHEEL WAS MAKING THE SAME NOISE BUT NOT AS LOUDLY AND IT ALSO WENT AWAY ON ITS OWN AFTER DRIVING A FEW MILES. IN ADDITION MY DRIVERS FRONT TIRE IS TERRIBLY OUT OF ALIGNMENT AND WORE THE OUTER EDGE OF THE TIRE NEARLY BALD. I DO NOT KNOW IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE BRAKE HARDWARE OR NOT, I HAVE NOT FULLY INVESTIGATED IT YET. WHEN THE TIRE SHOP DID AN ALIGNMENT ON MY CAR THEY WERE UNABLE TO CORRECT MY ALIGNMENT PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT HAD TO DO WITH THE WAY THAT THE MOTOR WAS SITTING IN MY CAR. MY CAR IS AN ALL-WHEEL-DRIVE AND IT WAS INTO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP FOR THE TIMING CHAIN GUIDE RECALL A YEAR AGO. MY TIRES AT THAT POINT TIME WE'RE ONLY TWO YEARS OLD NOW THEY ARE ONLY THREE YEARS OLD. THE UNEVEN WEAR ON THE TIRE HAS BEEN WITHIN THE LAST YEAR. AT THE RECALL REPAIR MY CAR HAD 33,000 MILES ON IT AND CURRENTLY MY CAR HAS 43,000 MILES ON IT. I HAD NEW TIRES PUT ON AT 18,000 MILES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL HAD A LOUD METAL ON METAL SCRAPING NOISE, BOTH WITH BRAKING AND WITHOUT BRAKING, IN BOTH DRIVE AND IN REVERSE POSITIONS. THE NOISE ONLY LASTED FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO MILES AND COULD NOT BE REPLICATED, WHEN I ARRIVED AT THE TIRE PLACE. THEY DID REPLACE SOME BRAKE HARDWARE ON THAT SIDE, SAYING THAT IT WAS A THIN METAL PIECE BEHIND THE BRAKE PAD WAS BENT. BUT NOW, TWO WEEKS LATER THE WHEEL WAS MAKING THE SAME NOISE BUT NOT AS LOUDLY AND IT ALSO WENT AWAY ON ITS OWN AFTER DRIVING A FEW MILES. IN ADDITION MY DRIVERS FRONT TIRE IS TERRIBLY OUT OF ALIGNMENT AND WORE THE OUTER EDGE OF THE TIRE NEARLY BALD. I DO NOT KNOW IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE BRAKE HARDWARE OR NOT, I HAVE NOT FULLY INVESTIGATED IT YET. WHEN THE TIRE SHOP DID AN ALIGNMENT ON MY CAR THEY WERE UNABLE TO CORRECT MY ALIGNMENT PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT HAD TO DO WITH THE WAY THAT THE MOTOR WAS SITTING IN MY CAR. MY CAR IS AN ALL-WHEEL-DRIVE AND IT WAS INTO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP FOR THE TIMING CHAIN GUIDE RECALL A YEAR AGO. MY TIRES AT THAT POINT TIME WE'RE ONLY TWO YEARS OLD NOW THEY ARE ONLY THREE YEARS OLD. THE UNEVEN WEAR ON THE TIRE HAS BEEN WITHIN THE LAST YEAR. AT THE RECALL REPAIR MY CAR HAD 33,000 MILES ON IT AND CURRENTLY MY CAR HAS 43,000 MILES ON IT. I HAD NEW TIRES PUT ON AT 18,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2015 - PANAMA CITY , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS AT THE DEALER OVER THREE MONTHS; HOWEVER, THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE RELATED TO THE RECALL, BUT THE SPECIFICS OF THE FAILURE WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GULLIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE PROGRESSED TO WHERE BOTH FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHTS AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AFTER BEING SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,200.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/20/2015 - GULLIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE PROGRESSED TO WHERE BOTH FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHTS AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AFTER BEING SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,200.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GULLIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE PROGRESSED TO WHERE BOTH FRONT PASSENGER HEADLIGHTS AND HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V042000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, EXTERIOR LIGHTING, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AFTER BEING SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V197000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2015 - MOBILE, AL
MY VEHICLE WAS PARKED UNDER MY CARPORT FOR APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MINUTES. I CAME OUT GOT IN THE CAR AND SEEN SMOKE COMING FROM THE PASSENGER VISOR. I PULLED THE VISOR DOWN AND IT BURST INTO FLAMES. I JUMPED OUT OF THE VEHICLE RAN BACK IN THE HOUSE CALLED 911 AND STARTED APPLYING WATER BUT THE FLAMES KEPT COMING BACK. THEN FINALLY AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS I PUT THE FIRE OUT. THEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME LOOKED AT THE SITUATION AND LEFT AFTER THEY SEEN EVERYTHING WAS SECURED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/3/2015 - PELHAM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds