Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 498 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (328) Exterior Lighting (125) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (41) Service Brakes (28) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/21/2016 - SILVER SPRING, MD
AS I APPROACHED MY CAR THERE WAS A HEAVY ODOR OF FUEL. THE NEXT MORNING UNDER THE BACK RIGHT TIRE THERE WAS A PUDDLE OF FUEL. I REMOVED THE BACK SEAT AND UNDER THE COVER THERE WAS A PUDDLE OF FUEL ON TOP OF THE PLASTIC OF THE GAS TANK. DODGE HAS BEEN CLEARLY MADE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE AND SINCE CHANGED THE DESIGN OF THE GAS TANK. FOR ME TO REPLACE IT WOULD COST ME OVER $2,000. THIS SHOULD BE REPLACED BY DODGE ASAP. THIS PUTS MY FAMILY AND I IN GRAVE DANGER BEING THAT OF THE ELECTRICAL WIRE THAT RUN ALONG SIDE THE UNIT. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I FILL MY TANK AND IT IS A CONTINUAL DRIP. I CONTACTED DODGE AND THEY SAID THEY "KNOW" NOTHING OF SUCH ISSUES. ALL IT WILL TAKE A ONE DROPPED CIGARETTE TO CLOSE TO THE CAR AND THINGS WILL BE BAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL ODOR IN THE VEHICLE AND A FUEL LEAK. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL FILLER TUBE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PART BEING ON NATIONAL BACK ORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 123,115.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - NORFOLK, VA
YESTERDAY CAR WAS FINE, NO ISSUES. THIS MORNING, I STARTED MY CAR AND THE TOUCHSCREEN WOULD NOT TURN ON, THE RADIO WILL NOT WORK, BUT THE AC WAS SET TO FULL BLAST, WHICH I DID NOT DO. I COULD NOT TURN THE AC DOWN OR OFF. I TRIED TURNING THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON, BUT THE ISSUE WAS STILL THERE. I ALSO TRIED DRIVING IT A LITTLE, PARKING IT BACK IN MY DRIVEWAY, AND TURNING IT OFF AND BACK ON. 5 HOURS LATER I TRIED IT ALL AGAIN, NO RADIO, THE AC IS STILL BLOWING FULL BLAST AND THE TOUCHSCREEN IS STILL BLACK AND NOT OPERABLE, AND NOW THE EVIC IS SUDDENLY SPEAKING IN GERMAN AND THE EVIC STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS WILL NOT WORK. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR ANYWHERE SINCE I AM NOT SURE WHAT ELSE IS NOT OPERATING PROPERLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
CAR DIED AT INTERSECTION WITH ALMOST NO WARNING. LOST ALL POWER WITH IN 1 MIN OF STALL. ALTERNATOR IS FRIED. CAME TO A STOP AND WITHIN 30 SECONDS A BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID "BATTERY SAVER MODE". BELLS STARTED TO DING AND THE WIPERS TURNED ON. TRIED TO PULL OVER AND CAR STALLED IN MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. TURNED HAZARDS ON AND 1 MINUTE LATER THERE WAS NO POWER AT ALL. WHEN WE TRIED TO JUMP THE CAR IN ORDER TO CLOSE THE WINDOWS AND SUNROOF, THE CONNECTORS STARTED TO SMOKE WHERE THE JUMPERS WERE CONNECTED. FOR A HIGH PERFORMANCE CAR THERE IS NO ALTERNATOR WARNING OR GAUGE TO DETERMINE IF IT IS STARTING TO FAIL. THAT ONLY SHOWS THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND THEY DO NOT WANT CUSTOMERS TO SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING. CAR WAS RUNNING PERFECTLY FINE UNTIL THAT POINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

9/2/2016 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A NEW ALTERNATOR. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,841.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/1/2016 - CLEARFIELD, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BATTERY. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, AN ABNORMAL ODOR ENTERED THE INTERIOR. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ALTERNATOR ASSEMBLY WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE EXTINGUISHED ON ITS OWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC FOR FURTHER INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), WHICH ADDRESSES THE 160 AMP. THE CONTACT HAD AN 180 AMP AND EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/1/2016 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK, A STRONG FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE INNER AND OUTER PART OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS FUEL LEAKING UNDERNEATH THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE ABOUT WHAT PART NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2016 - MIAMI, FL
WHEN LEAVING MY HOUSE ONE DAY MY RADIO CUT OFF WITHIN 1 MINUTE OF THE CAR BEING STARTED. I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND THEN TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND ALL SOUND WENT OUT AGAIN WITHIN 1 MINUTE. I RODE MY WHOLE TRIP WITH NO SOUND. UPON ARRIVING TO MY DESTINATION I NOTICED MY CAR WAS IN BATTERY SAVER MODE (A MODE THAT I HAVE NEVER SEEN). MY BATTERY HAS BEEN BAD BEFORE AND I NEVER RECEIVED THIS MESSAGE. WITHIN A WEEK MY CAR WOULD NOT EVEN START AND HAD NO ELECTRICAL POWER. I ATTEMPTED TO DO RESEARCH ON THE BATTERY SAVER MODE AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS ISSUE WITH MY CHARGER IS ACTUALLY A COMMON ISSUE AND WAS A RECALL FOR THE V6 CHARGERS BUT NOT THE V8S. THE ISSUE IS THE ALTERNATOR AND I AM TRULY UPSET THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT CREATED A RECALL TO FIX THIS ISSUE. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL HONDA'S AND TOYOTA'S AND NEVER HAD AN ALTERNATOR ISSUE. THIS IS PATHETIC AND GOES TO SHOW HOW DODGE/CHRYSLER VALUES THEIR CUSTOMERS. I CAN HONESTLY SAY THAT THIS WILL PROBABLY BE MY LAST DODGE VEHICLE IF THE MANUFACTURER DOES NOT SOLVE THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/29/2016 - EL PASO, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" FOR THE PAST YEAR OR SO I HAVE BEEN ATTEMPTING TO GET THIS ISSUE RESOLVE WITH MY DEALER ONLY TO HAVE THEM TELL ME THAT PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. THIS IS CAUSING ME AND MY FAMILY STRESS AND A HARDSHIP SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE. THE DEALER ONLY TELLS ME NOT TO WORRY SINCE THERE HAVE BEEN NO INCIDENTS RESULTING IN INJURY OR DEATH REGARDING THIS ISSUE. MY QUESTION TO THEM IS WHY THEN ARE ALL THIS PARTS BEING RECALLED. I FEEL THAT THE PASSENGER AS WELL AS THE DRIVER ARE BEING PLACE IN HARMS WAY. I HAVE BEEN TOLD TIME AGAIN AND AGAIN THAT MAYBE PARTS WILL BE AVAILABLE AND THEN AGAIN NOT IN LATE DECEMBER. IS THIS NOT GAMBLING WITH ONE SAFETY?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2016 - GRANDVIEW, WA
WE HAVE A GAS SMELL FOR SOME TIME ,AND WE TOOK IT TO DEALER SHIP AND THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING , THIS HAPPENED WHEN WE HAVE A FULL THANK, SO THIS MORNING I DID IT AND WE CAN SEE THE GAS LEAK FROM THE TANK AND WE ARE SCARE THAT THIS MAY CATCH ON FIRE,.I READ THAT THERE IS 6 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING. AND THEY TRIED TO FIX IT ,.AND COST LIKE 2000 ,. PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT THEY DO SOMETHING BEFORE SOMETHING HAPPEND,.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds