Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 214 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (134) Exterior Lighting (95) Seat Belts (1) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2014 - SURPRISE, AZ
ON 8/30/2014 THE 2011 DODGE CHARGER WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 65-75 MPH WHEN THE CARS RADIO TURNED ITSELF OFF, SHORTLY AFTER THE RADIO TURNED OFF THE ABS, TCS AND BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASH. ONCE THESE LIGHTS CAME ON I 2011 DODGE CHARGER THE VEHICLE AND STARTED TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, IT WAS AN UPHILL SECTION AND THE ENGINE HAS A LOSS OF POWER. I PUT THE 2011 DODGE CHARGER IN PARK AND TURNED THE 2011 DODGE CHARGER TURNED ITSELF OFF AT WHICH POINT NO ELECTRONICS NOT EVEN THE HAZARDS WOULD WORK. THIS WAS ON THE FREEWAY THAT THE VEHICLE DIED IN THE EARLY MORNING. I OPENED THE HOOD TO CHECK ALL THE FUSES AND THE COMPARTMENT HAD A BURNT ELECTRICAL SMELL TO IT. ALL THE FUSES ON THE 2011 DODGE CHARGER WERE IN WORKING ORDER SO THERE WAS NO WAY TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE WITHOUT THE PROPER TOOLS. THE DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED THAT THE ALTERNATOR HAD SHORTED OUT AND MAY HAVE CAUSED MORE DAMAGE THAN IS KNOW AT THIS TIME. THEY ARE STILL CURRENTLY WORKING ON THE CAR. THE BATTERY IS EXPECTED TO BE DAMAGED ALSO AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

8/30/2014 - VALLEJO, CA
ON 8/24 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 30 MPH WHEN MY CAR STARTED CUTTING OUT. THE RADIO WENT OFF, MY ENIGNE DIED AND MY STEERING LOCKED. I ALMOST HIT A PEDESTRIAN AND WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN A FEW CARS BUT I WAS ABLE TO AVOID IT. I STOPPED AND WAS ABLE TO START MY CAR TO GET IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAD IT TOWED HOME, NEXT DAY I HAD IT TOWED TO MOMENTUM DODGE BECAUSE I LOOKED ONLINE AND HAD 3 RECALLS, DOOR HANDLES, HEADLIGHTS AND I DONT KNOW THE 3RD ONE. I WAS HOPING IT WAS THE PROBLEM. IT WAS NOT. I THEN HAD MY CAR TOWED TO ANOTHER SHOP WHO VERIFIED MY ALTERNATOR IS OUT. AS OF NOW THE ONLY PLACE I CAN THE FIND THE ALTERNATOR IS, OF COURSE, THE DODGE DEALER WHICH I CANNOT AFFORD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/30/2014 - VALLEJO, CA
ON 8/24 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 30 MPH WHEN MY CAR STARTED CUTTING OUT. THE RADIO WENT OFF, MY ENIGNE DIED AND MY STEERING LOCKED. I ALMOST HIT A PEDESTRIAN AND WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN A FEW CARS BUT I WAS ABLE TO AVOID IT. I STOPPED AND WAS ABLE TO START MY CAR TO GET IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAD IT TOWED HOME, NEXT DAY I HAD IT TOWED TO MOMENTUM DODGE BECAUSE I LOOKED ONLINE AND HAD 3 RECALLS, DOOR HANDLES, HEADLIGHTS AND I DONT KNOW THE 3RD ONE. I WAS HOPING IT WAS THE PROBLEM. IT WAS NOT. I THEN HAD MY CAR TOWED TO ANOTHER SHOP WHO VERIFIED MY ALTERNATOR IS OUT. AS OF NOW THE ONLY PLACE I CAN THE FIND THE ALTERNATOR IS, OF COURSE, THE DODGE DEALER WHICH I CANNOT AFFORD.

View Details

STEERING

8/30/2014 - VALLEJO, CA
ON 8/24 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 30 MPH WHEN MY CAR STARTED CUTTING OUT. THE RADIO WENT OFF, MY ENIGNE DIED AND MY STEERING LOCKED. I ALMOST HIT A PEDESTRIAN AND WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN A FEW CARS BUT I WAS ABLE TO AVOID IT. I STOPPED AND WAS ABLE TO START MY CAR TO GET IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAD IT TOWED HOME, NEXT DAY I HAD IT TOWED TO MOMENTUM DODGE BECAUSE I LOOKED ONLINE AND HAD 3 RECALLS, DOOR HANDLES, HEADLIGHTS AND I DONT KNOW THE 3RD ONE. I WAS HOPING IT WAS THE PROBLEM. IT WAS NOT. I THEN HAD MY CAR TOWED TO ANOTHER SHOP WHO VERIFIED MY ALTERNATOR IS OUT. AS OF NOW THE ONLY PLACE I CAN THE FIND THE ALTERNATOR IS, OF COURSE, THE DODGE DEALER WHICH I CANNOT AFFORD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - AZLE, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT APPROX. 50 MPH, THE "BATTER SAVER" MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH DISPLAY FOLLOWED BY MULTIPLE SYSTEMS SHUTTING DOWN ALONG WITH MULTIPLE FAULT LIGHTS INCLUDING BRAKES, ABS, BAT. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING AND THERE WAS MINIMAL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. STEERING & BRAKING WERE ALMOST NON EXISTENT. AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY, THERE WAS A STRONG ELECTRICAL SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, THE SMELL WAS COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. NO ELECTRICAL POWER WAS AVAILABLE TO LOCK/UNLOCK DOORS, TURN ON HAZARD LIGHTS, OR PLACE THE CAR IN NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO PULL THE VEHICLE ON TO A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

ENGINE

8/27/2014 - AZLE, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT APPROX. 50 MPH, THE "BATTER SAVER" MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH DISPLAY FOLLOWED BY MULTIPLE SYSTEMS SHUTTING DOWN ALONG WITH MULTIPLE FAULT LIGHTS INCLUDING BRAKES, ABS, BAT. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING AND THERE WAS MINIMAL CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. STEERING & BRAKING WERE ALMOST NON EXISTENT. AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY, THERE WAS A STRONG ELECTRICAL SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, THE SMELL WAS COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. NO ELECTRICAL POWER WAS AVAILABLE TO LOCK/UNLOCK DOORS, TURN ON HAZARD LIGHTS, OR PLACE THE CAR IN NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO PULL THE VEHICLE ON TO A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/27/2014 - WICHITA, KS
WHILE DRIVING THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME ON, AFTER THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THEN POWER TO THE RADIO WAS CUT OUT AND THE AC FAN SPEED STARTED JUMPING SPORADICALLY UNTIL SHUTTING DOWN AS WELL. THEN THE SPEEDOMETER FELL TO 0 EVEN THOUGH I WAS TRAVELLING AT A CONSTANT RATE. ONCE STOPPED IN A PARKING LOT THE CAR WENT COMPLETELY DEAD AND I WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND ALSO A WHINING NOISE COULD BE HEARD FROM INSIDE THE CABIN PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE ALTERNATOR DID HAVE TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - WICHITA, KS
WHILE DRIVING THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME ON, AFTER THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THEN POWER TO THE RADIO WAS CUT OUT AND THE AC FAN SPEED STARTED JUMPING SPORADICALLY UNTIL SHUTTING DOWN AS WELL. THEN THE SPEEDOMETER FELL TO 0 EVEN THOUGH I WAS TRAVELLING AT A CONSTANT RATE. ONCE STOPPED IN A PARKING LOT THE CAR WENT COMPLETELY DEAD AND I WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND ALSO A WHINING NOISE COULD BE HEARD FROM INSIDE THE CABIN PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE ALTERNATOR DID HAVE TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/27/2014 - WICHITA, KS
WHILE DRIVING THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME ON, AFTER THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THEN POWER TO THE RADIO WAS CUT OUT AND THE AC FAN SPEED STARTED JUMPING SPORADICALLY UNTIL SHUTTING DOWN AS WELL. THEN THE SPEEDOMETER FELL TO 0 EVEN THOUGH I WAS TRAVELLING AT A CONSTANT RATE. ONCE STOPPED IN A PARKING LOT THE CAR WENT COMPLETELY DEAD AND I WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND ALSO A WHINING NOISE COULD BE HEARD FROM INSIDE THE CABIN PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE ALTERNATOR DID HAVE TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - LIBERTY TOWNSHIP, OH
WHEN I STARTED THE CAR THERE WAS A SMALL WHINING COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND A SLIGHT ELECTRICAL SMELL COMING FROM THE ENGINE. I STARTED DRIVING IT TO WORK AND THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME ON. SLOWLY THE RADIO SHUT OFF, THE AIR CONDITIONING SWITCHED TO BLOWING OUT HEAT AND WOULDN'T SHUT OFF, THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, AND THE CAR STALLED. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY CALLED ME THIS MORNING AND LET ME KNOW THAT THE ALTERNATOR WOULD NEED REPLACED AND THAT IT WOULD COST APPROXIMATELY $855. IT WILL COST MORE IF THEY DETERMINE THAT THE BATTERY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds