Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 513 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (338) Exterior Lighting (127) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Service Brakes (28) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/22/2016 - HURRICANE, WV
(RE: 2011 DODGE CHARGER, 3.6L. ENGINE, 180AMP ALTERNATOR.) DODGE HAD A RECALL ON THE 3.6 L, 160 AMP. ALTERNATOR. MY CAR HAD THE EVERY SAME PROBLEM (11/20/2016) WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, CALLED DODGE AND WAS TOLD OUR CAR WAS NOT IN THE RECALL BUT IF THEY RECALLED LATER THEY WOULD REIMBURSE. WE BELIEVE THE 180 AMP ALTERNATOR SHOULD ALSO BE RECALLED, THE CAR SHUTS DOWN COMPLETELY AND WE WERE VERY LUCKY IT HAPPENED AT A LOW SPEED, COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IF GOING HIGH SPEED BECAUSE THERE IS NO WARNING , AND STEERING, BRAKES, EVERYTHING IS GONE. THE TOW DRIVER HAD TO REMOVE THE CONSOLE TO GET IT IN N TO MOVE. THE BILL FOR THE REPAIR IS OVER A $1000.00, DODGE SHOULD PAY ALL OR AT LEAST SOME OF THESE BILLS FOR T HEIR CUSTOMERS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

11/17/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
ALTERNATOR FAILED WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE WITH A CHILD AS PASSENGER, APPROXIMATELY 4 MINUTES AND 1 MILE FROM HOME, RESULTING IN A FIRE IMMEDIATELY AFTER PULLING OVER. FIRE OCCURRED AFTER VEHICLE STOPPED. DODGE REFUSING TO ACKNOWLEDGE ANY ISSUES WITH ALTERNATOR DESPITE RECALL ON SAME EQUIPMENT FOR V6 ENGINES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/2/2016 - WOODLANDS, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/24/2016 - LONDON, KY
EVERY TIME I FILL UP A STRONG ODOR OF GAS IS OBSERVED INSIDE THE CABIN OF THE CAR AND AREA AROUND THE CAR UNTIL IT GET'S DOWN TO ABOUT 1/2 TANK OF FUEL. I'VE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AND COSTING US CONSUMERS LIKE $1,000.00 TO $1,800.00.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2016 - SCHOFIELD BARRACKS, HI
MY VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A WHINING NOISE AND I STARTED SMELLING SOMETHING BURNING, THE BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME ON AND THE ABS AND I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND POPPED THE HOOD AND MY ALTERNATOR IS FRIED LESS THAN 60,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND IT WON'T START OR I CAN'T JUMP IT. I WAS SITTING IN A PARKING LOT AND MY CAR IS STILL IN THAT PARKING LOT RIGHT NOW

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/20/2016 - MINNETONKA, MN
BLIND SPOT DETECTION UNAVAILABLE- I PURCHASED A DODGE MOPAR 11 CHARGER THAT HAS A SAFETY FEATURE CALLED BLIND SPOT DETECTION. THE BLIND SPOT INDICATORS ARE LOCATED ON THE DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS SIDE VIEW MIRRORS. WHEN A CAR APPROACHES EITHER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, A LITTLE ORANGE TRIANGLE LIGHTS UP TO LET THE DRIVER KNOW THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE IS IN ITS BLIND SPOT. IN JUNE OF 2016, I STARTED MY CAR AND AND I GOT THE "BLIND SPOT DETECTION UNAVAILABLE" ERROR ON MY HUD. IN ADDITION, BOTH TRIANGLES ON THE SIDE VIEW MIRRORS WERE ON. AFTER CONDUCTING SOME RESEARCH ONLINE, I FOUND A WAY TO TURN OFF THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION SYSTEM THROUGH THE CARS SETTINGS. HOWEVER, THE ISSUE STILL PERSISTS AND WHEN THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION IS TURNED ON, THE TRIANGLES LIGHT UP AND THE SYSTEM SAYS ITS NOT AVAILABLE. THIS FEATURE WAS NOT INCLUSIVE TO JUST DODGE CHARGERS, BUT ALSO OTHER CHRYSLER VEHICLES WITH THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION SYSTEM. THERE ARE SEVERAL THREADS AND VIDEOS ONLINE OF DISGRUNTLED OWNERS OF CHRYSLER VEHICLES THAT HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. I HAVE LEARNED FROM TALKING TO THE DEALER, THAT MY CAR (DODGE MOPAR 11 WHICH HAS 36K MILES ON IT) HAS TWO SENSORS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE BUMPER OF THE VEHICLE THAT COST $1,100 A PIECE EXCLUDING INSTALLATION OF THE NEW SENSORS. IN ESSENCE, THIS IS A "LATENT" SAFETY DEFECT OF POOR DESIGN AND COULD POTENTIALLY LEAD TO THE LOSS OF LIFE. IF I HAD KNOWN THAT THIS SAFETY FEATURE WAS INTRINSICALLY DEFECTIVE, I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS DEFECT IN THEIR BLIND SPOT DETECTION EQUIPPED VEHICLES AND ISSUE A RECALL THAT RESOLVES THE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/20/2016 - MINNETONKA, MN
BLIND SPOT DETECTION UNAVAILABLE- I PURCHASED A DODGE MOPAR 11 CHARGER THAT HAS A SAFETY FEATURE CALLED BLIND SPOT DETECTION. THE BLIND SPOT INDICATORS ARE LOCATED ON THE DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS SIDE VIEW MIRRORS. WHEN A CAR APPROACHES EITHER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, A LITTLE ORANGE TRIANGLE LIGHTS UP TO LET THE DRIVER KNOW THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE IS IN ITS BLIND SPOT. IN JUNE OF 2016, I STARTED MY CAR AND AND I GOT THE "BLIND SPOT DETECTION UNAVAILABLE" ERROR ON MY HUD. IN ADDITION, BOTH TRIANGLES ON THE SIDE VIEW MIRRORS WERE ON. AFTER CONDUCTING SOME RESEARCH ONLINE, I FOUND A WAY TO TURN OFF THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION SYSTEM THROUGH THE CARS SETTINGS. HOWEVER, THE ISSUE STILL PERSISTS AND WHEN THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION IS TURNED ON, THE TRIANGLES LIGHT UP AND THE SYSTEM SAYS ITS NOT AVAILABLE. THIS FEATURE WAS NOT INCLUSIVE TO JUST DODGE CHARGERS, BUT ALSO OTHER CHRYSLER VEHICLES WITH THE BLIND SPOT DETECTION SYSTEM. THERE ARE SEVERAL THREADS AND VIDEOS ONLINE OF DISGRUNTLED OWNERS OF CHRYSLER VEHICLES THAT HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. I HAVE LEARNED FROM TALKING TO THE DEALER, THAT MY CAR (DODGE MOPAR 11 WHICH HAS 36K MILES ON IT) HAS TWO SENSORS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE BUMPER OF THE VEHICLE THAT COST $1,100 A PIECE EXCLUDING INSTALLATION OF THE NEW SENSORS. IN ESSENCE, THIS IS A "LATENT" SAFETY DEFECT OF POOR DESIGN AND COULD POTENTIALLY LEAD TO THE LOSS OF LIFE. IF I HAD KNOWN THAT THIS SAFETY FEATURE WAS INTRINSICALLY DEFECTIVE, I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS DEFECT IN THEIR BLIND SPOT DETECTION EQUIPPED VEHICLES AND ISSUE A RECALL THAT RESOLVES THE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2016 - BREWTON, AL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RANDOM ELECTRICAL FAILURE WITH THE VEHICLE. THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS RANDOMLY SHORTED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MORE THAN THREE TIMES, BUT THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE BULBS WERE REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING), BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN OF WHEN THE MANUFACTURER WOULD SUPPLY THE PARTS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2016 - ANTIOCH, TN
MY DODGE CHARGER LAST NIGHT WOULD NOT START. I GOT IT JUMPED AND IT STARTED, I LEFT THE CABLES HOOKED UP FOR A WHILE THEN UNHOOKED THEM. AFTER UNHOOKING THE CABLES THE CAR STILL WOULD RUN BUT LIGHTS STARTED POPPING UP ON THE DASH, I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE WIPER BLADES CAME ON, RADIO TURNED OFF, BATTERY POWER SAVER CAME ON AND ALL THE ABS LIGHTS CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ETC CAME ON AND THE CAR JUST CUT OFF. I DID A LITTLE RESEARCH AND COMES TO FIND OUT THAT IS THE ALTERNATOR AND THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE IN THE 2011 TO 2014 DODGE CHARGERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 77
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds