Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 277 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (7) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (17)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (99) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (188) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/24/2014 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
VEHICLE STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET. ALL ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT APPEARED TO FAIL. UPON INSPECTING THE HOOD, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM WHERE THE ALTERNATOR APPEARS TO BE. APPEARS TO BE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - ADDIS, LA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE BATTERY POWER SAVER WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE RADIO SHUT OFF. ALSO THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS CAME ON INDEPENDENTLY, THE HEADLIGHT SHUT OFF, THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD FLASHED ON AND OFF, AND THE BRAKES HESITATED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. FM

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/18/2014 - NEW BOSTON , IL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY 61 ON MAY 13,2014 I NOTICED MY WARNING LIGHTS COMING ON AND THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I HAD NO WHERE TO PULL OVER SO APPROX., 10 MILES LATER THE BATTERY SAFE MODE CAME ON AND THEN I STARTED SMELLING SOMETHING BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND CALLED TO HAVE SOMEONE TAKE MY CAR BACK TO TOWN. I THEN NEEDED TO REPLACE THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR BEFORE THE CAR WOULD RUN AGAIN. THEN ON 7/8/2014 THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM PROCEEDED TO HAPPEN AGAIN AD THIS TIME I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MEINEKE WHERE THEY ENDED UP HAVING TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY AGAIN AT ANOTHER COST OF $1,148.66 ON TOP OF THE FIRST $803.16 THAT I HAD PUT INTO THE CAR A MONTH EARLIER. THIS CAR GOT SO HOT AND YOU COULD TELL THERE WAS OBVIOUSLY AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEM BUT ALL ANYONE WOULD SAY IS THAT ITS STARTING AT THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/18/2014 - NEW BOSTON , IL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY 61 ON MAY 13,2014 I NOTICED MY WARNING LIGHTS COMING ON AND THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I HAD NO WHERE TO PULL OVER SO APPROX., 10 MILES LATER THE BATTERY SAFE MODE CAME ON AND THEN I STARTED SMELLING SOMETHING BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND CALLED TO HAVE SOMEONE TAKE MY CAR BACK TO TOWN. I THEN NEEDED TO REPLACE THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR BEFORE THE CAR WOULD RUN AGAIN. THEN ON 7/8/2014 THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM PROCEEDED TO HAPPEN AGAIN AD THIS TIME I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MEINEKE WHERE THEY ENDED UP HAVING TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY AGAIN AT ANOTHER COST OF $1,148.66 ON TOP OF THE FIRST $803.16 THAT I HAD PUT INTO THE CAR A MONTH EARLIER. THIS CAR GOT SO HOT AND YOU COULD TELL THERE WAS OBVIOUSLY AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEM BUT ALL ANYONE WOULD SAY IS THAT ITS STARTING AT THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2014 - NEW BOSTON , IL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY 61 ON MAY 13,2014 I NOTICED MY WARNING LIGHTS COMING ON AND THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I HAD NO WHERE TO PULL OVER SO APPROX., 10 MILES LATER THE BATTERY SAFE MODE CAME ON AND THEN I STARTED SMELLING SOMETHING BURNING. I PULLED OVER AND CALLED TO HAVE SOMEONE TAKE MY CAR BACK TO TOWN. I THEN NEEDED TO REPLACE THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR BEFORE THE CAR WOULD RUN AGAIN. THEN ON 7/8/2014 THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM PROCEEDED TO HAPPEN AGAIN AD THIS TIME I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MEINEKE WHERE THEY ENDED UP HAVING TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY AGAIN AT ANOTHER COST OF $1,148.66 ON TOP OF THE FIRST $803.16 THAT I HAD PUT INTO THE CAR A MONTH EARLIER. THIS CAR GOT SO HOT AND YOU COULD TELL THERE WAS OBVIOUSLY AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEM BUT ALL ANYONE WOULD SAY IS THAT ITS STARTING AT THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
DRIVING AT NIGHT, ALL OF SUDDEN, SMELT A BURNING SMELL COMING THROUGH THE A/C. NEXT MORNING, WHEN I STARTED MY CAR, THE BATTERY SAVER LIGHT CAME ON. DROVE TO WORK AND PARKED. WHEN I CAME BACK ON LUNCH BREAK, THE POWER SAVER LIGHT, ABS LIGHT, SEAT BELT LIGHT, AND TRACTION LIGHT CAME ON DASH BOARD, AND CAR SHUT DOWN. HAD TO GET TOWED TO DODGE DEALERSHIP. BAD ALTERNATOR. COST TO REPLACE $804.00. DODGE CONSUMER ASSISTANCE STATED THAT DODGE WOULD NOT COVER THE COST OF THE ALTERNATOR OF MY 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THIS IS APPARENTLY A MANUFACTURER DEFAULT. NEVER BUYING ANOTHER DODGE AGAIN. THIS IS MY 6TH TIME HAVING THIS CAR IN THE SHOP, AFTER OWNING IT FOR 2.7 YEARS. WHEN THE HEAD LIGHT WENT OUT, DODGE STATED THEY WOULDN'T REPLACE IT, SO HAD TO PAY OVER $500.00 OUT OF POCKET FOR REPLACEMENT. THEN GOT A RECALL, AND DODGE ONLY REIMBURSED HALF OF MY OUT OF POCKET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A MAIN STREET MY CAR STALLED AND I SMELLED SMOKE, MY DOORS AUTOMATICALLY LOCKED AND I HAD SMELLED SMOKE, I FREAKED OUT AND TOOK MY KEYLESS ROMOTE BATTERY OUT AND PUT PUT BACK IN ANY MY DOORS UNLOCKED, SO I GOT MYSELF AND KIDS OUT ASAP, I HAD TO CALL A TOW TRUCK AND THEY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, THERE THEY DIAGNOSED THAT IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR, I HAD TO BUY ONE WHICH WAS $500 OR A LITTLE MORE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A MAIN STREET MY CAR STALLED AND I SMELLED SMOKE, MY DOORS AUTOMATICALLY LOCKED AND I HAD SMELLED SMOKE, I FREAKED OUT AND TOOK MY KEYLESS ROMOTE BATTERY OUT AND PUT PUT BACK IN ANY MY DOORS UNLOCKED, SO I GOT MYSELF AND KIDS OUT ASAP, I HAD TO CALL A TOW TRUCK AND THEY TOWED MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, THERE THEY DIAGNOSED THAT IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR, I HAD TO BUY ONE WHICH WAS $500 OR A LITTLE MORE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - MOUNT LAUREL , NJ
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE BATTERY SAVER WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V634000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000. SS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - GROTON, CT
ON TUESDAY (10/7/14)NIGHT I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND THE RADIO STOP WORKING AND THEN I GOT THE MESSAGE OF BATTERY SAVE MODE, NEXT DAY CAR BROKE DOWN IT DIDNT WANNA START GOOD THING I WAS NOT DRIVING SO, NOW IM STUCK WITH A $750 DOLLAR BILL THANKS DODGE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds