Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 426 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Power Train (9) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Seat Belts (3) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (297) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Service Brakes (26) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (43) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/25/2016 - LAFAYETTE, LA
2011 DODGE CHARGER / 82,000 MILES: LEAKING FUEL PUMP/COMPONENT ON PASSENGER SIDE. AFTER A ROUTINE FILL UP AN EXTREMELY STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE WAS PRESENT INSIDE OF THE CAR AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. POOL OF GASOLINE PRESENT NEAR REAR TIRE WHEN VEHICLE IS PARKED. REMOVAL OF BACKSEAT REVEALED A LARGE PUDDLE OF GASOLINE ON TOP OF THE GAS TANK. FUEL PUMP O-RING WAS REPLACED BUT TO MY DISAPPOINTMENT PROBLEM PERSISTS. CONTACTED DODGE ABOUT ISSUE BUT THEY SAID THERE WERE CURRENTLY NO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH FUEL PUMP EQUIPMENT AND COULD NOT POINT ME TOWARDS A CULPRIT. EVEN AT LESS THAN HALF A TANK THE SMELL IS OVERBEARING CAUSING HEADACHES MAKING THE CAR A LITERAL PAIN TO DRIVE. THERE IS A BATTERY CABLE RUNNING IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE POOL OF GAS AND THE GAS DRIPS BELOW AROUND HOT EXHAUST. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE THIS WAY DUE TO THE RISK OF FIRE OR EXPLOSION. THIS IS A STATIC COMPONENT AND I FEEL THAT IT SHOULD NOT SIMPLY WEAR OUT. THERE IS ANOTHER ISSUE HERE THAT IS CAUSING THIS TO HAPPEN. NEXT ITEMS TO CHECK WILL BE FUEL PUMP AND TANK ITSELF. EVEN IF ISSUE IS RESOLVED I FEAR THAT THE SMELL WILL REMAIN FOR SOME TIME. REALLY UNFORTUNATE FOR A VEHICLE THAT IS STILL BEING PAID FOR. I HOPE THIS GETS ADDRESSED SOON AS THE FUEL PUMP OR FUEL TANK ARE NOT CHEAP FIXES. THERE SEEMS TO BE QUITE A FEW OF IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS ON HERE AS WELL AS OTHER FORUMS. LOGGING A COMPLAINT NOW IN CASE A FIRE OCCURS THAT DESTROYS THE CAR, PROPERTY OR INJURY. ITS ENCOURAGING TO SEE OTHER HAVE REPORTED THE SAME FAILURE BUT I CANNOT LOCATE ANY RECALL INFORMATION.

View Details

STEERING

1/6/2016 - SHERRILL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE HEADLAMPS AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AND THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

1/6/2016 - SHERRILL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE HEADLAMPS AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AND THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/5/2016 - HOCKLEY, TX
2011 DODGE CHARGER / 50,733 MILES: WHEN ADDING 5 OR MORE GALLONS OF FUEL INTO THE TANK, THERE'S A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE COMING FROM THE CAR AND GAS IS LEAKING BY THE BACK TIRE. LIFTING THE SEAT, THERE'S A PUDDLE OF GAS. LOGGING A COMPLAINT NOW IN CASE A FIRE OCCURS THAT DESTROYS THE CAR, PROPERTY OR INJURY. ITS ENCOURAGING TO SEE OTHER HAVE REPORTED THE SAME FAILURE BUT I CANNOT LOCATE ANY RECALL INFORMATION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/31/2015 - CHOCOWINITY, NC
FILLED UP WITH GAS AND HAD A STRONG SMELL IN CAR AFTER CHECKING I FOUND OUT THAT THE GAS TANK WAS LEAKING AROUND THE FUEL PUMP SEAL HAD IT REPLACED AND STILL LEAKS IF YOU FILL ABOVE 3/4 TANK THIS IS A FIRE HAZARD DUE TO GAS LEAKING ON THE GROUND IF SOMEONE DROPPED A CIG. ON THE GROUND WHERE THE GAS IS IT COULD EXPLODE AND THE FUMES INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT CANT BE GOOD FOR YOUR HEALTH,I FEEL LIKE THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT CHRYSLER SHOULD HAVE TO FIX .I JUST PURCHASED THE CAR 11/23/2015

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/29/2015 - GARDENA, CA
MY DODGE CHARGER HAS ABOUT A 43,000 MILES AND I NOTICED A GASOLINE ODOR IN MY CAR, SO I STOPPED TO LOOK TO SEE IF GAS WAS LEAKING FOR MY CAR AND IT WAS LEAKING GAS COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. I HAD MY CARE TOWED TO MY NEAR BY MECHANIC SHOP AND THEY FOUND THAT THE LEAK WAS COMING FROM MY FUEL PUMP. I CALLED DODGE TO REPORT THE ISSUE AND THEY SAID, ITS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THIS IS UNSAFE TO HAVE GAS LEAKING FROM A CAR AND ESPECIALLY WITH JUST 43,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2015 - BAINBRIDGE, GA
HELLO I READ ON A LOT OF 2011 CHARGERS OF THE SMELL OF GAS WHEN U FILL UP THE CAR THE INSIDE OF THE CAR STILL SMELL STRONG LIKE IT'S LEAKING SOMEWHERE IT SAYS IT'S A DEFECTED GAS TANK.I HAVE THAT ISSUE GOING ON NOW AND WAS WONDERING WHY THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS SITUATION SINCE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS? THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION SINCE MY KIDS ARE IN THE CAR INHALING THESE FUMES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/9/2015 - MELBOURNE, FL
LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT FAILURE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/8/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
AS I TURNED OFF A MAIN STREET TOWARDS A RESIDENTIAL AREA, I GOT A LOW BATTERY INDICATOR ON MY DASH AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY RADIO TURNED OFF BY ITSELF AND MY CAR BEGAN TO MAKE A WINDING TYPE NOISE AND THEN MY TRACTION INDICATOR AND OTHER INDICATORS LIT UP ON MY DASHBOARD. THE CAR STALLED AND BEGAN TO SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD. I COULD NOT TURN THE CAR ON, CLOSE THE WINDOWS OR OPEN THE TRUCK OR EVEN GET IT IN A GEAR THAT I COULD PUSH THE CAR, IT WAS COMPLETELY LOCKED UP AND POSED A REAL DANGER ESPECIALLY IF I HAD BEEN ON THE FREEWAY! I HAD THE CAR TOWED AND WAS ADVISED THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED REPLACEMENT. I NOTICED OTHER COMPLAINTS WITH ALMOST IDENTICAL ISSUES AS WHAT I EXPERIENCED WITH MY CAR. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY MY VEHICLE IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST BUT IT NEEDS TO BE. MY CAR BARELY HAS 50,000 MILES AND IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2015 - BATON ROUGE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, ALL THE VEHICLE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds