Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 489 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (323) Exterior Lighting (125) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (38) Service Brakes (28) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2016 - GRANDVIEW, WA
WE HAVE A GAS SMELL FOR SOME TIME ,AND WE TOOK IT TO DEALER SHIP AND THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING , THIS HAPPENED WHEN WE HAVE A FULL THANK, SO THIS MORNING I DID IT AND WE CAN SEE THE GAS LEAK FROM THE TANK AND WE ARE SCARE THAT THIS MAY CATCH ON FIRE,.I READ THAT THERE IS 6 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING. AND THEY TRIED TO FIX IT ,.AND COST LIKE 2000 ,. PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT THEY DO SOMETHING BEFORE SOMETHING HAPPEND,.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2016 - MAXWELL, TX
STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE WHENEVER GAS TANK IS FULL. WILL MAKE DRIVER LIGHT HEADED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2016 - DAMASCUS, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON A TWO LANE STREET AND MY CAR SUDDENLY DIED WHILE I WAS DRIVING 30 MPH. SMOKE WAS COMING FROM MY HOOD MOST LIKELY FROM A SMALL FIRE. THE ALTERNATOR DIED ON ME AND MY CAR DIED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I ALMOST GOT IN AN ACCIDENT BUT I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR WITH NO POWER LUCKILY. THE ALTERNATOR ALSO KILLED MY FUSES AND DESTROYED THE BATTER SO ALL OF THAT WAS REPACED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
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

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/19/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
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

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/19/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
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

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2016 - CLERMONT, FL
AS I WAS DRIVING I SMELLED A BURNING ODOR AND ALSO NOTICED MY VEHICLE GOING INTO A BATTERY PROTECT MODE...RADIO, AIR CONDITIONER SHUT OFF. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND SMOKE WAS COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR. I ENTERED MY VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE HAD NO POWER AT ALL TO START IT TO MOVE IT OR GET IT OUT OF GEAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/14/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I FILLED MY CAR UP, 20 MINUTES LATER, THE CAR REEKED OF GAS. I GOT OUT AND LOOKED UNDER THE VEHICLE, AND THERE'S GAS LEAKING FOR THE PASSENGER SIDE BY THE BACK TIRE. I LOOKED ONLINE, AND THERE ARE COMPLAINT'S DATING BACK TO 2012. INCLUDING ONES ON THIS SITE. I'M HOPING DODGE ISSUES A RECALL SOON. BECAUSE I'M CONCERNED ABOUT MY FAMILY'S SAFETY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/7/2016 - SMYRNA, GA
I HAVE A 2011 DODGE CHARGER RT. THE ALTERNATOR FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AS I WAS DRIVING. I LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR BECAUSE THE POWER STEERING WAS GONE. THERE WAS NO POWER IN THE CAR. THERE WAS A SMALL ELECTRICAL FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. ALL OF THESE THINGS ARE COVERED UNDER RECALL P60/NHTSA 14V-634 FOR 2011 THROUGH 2014 MODEL YEAR DODGE DURANGO, CHRYSLER 300, DODGE CHALLENGER, DODGE CHARGER AND 2012 THROUGH 2014 MODEL YEAR JEEP«GRAND CHEROKEE VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH A 3.6L ENGINE AND A 160 AMP ALTERNATOR. THE SAME BEHAVIOR EXISTS IN MY VEHICLE, WHICH HAS A 5.7-LITER ENGINE. I BELIEVE THIS IS AN OVERSIGHT BY THE MANUFACTURER. IF YOU PERFORM A GOOGLE SEARCH YOU WILL FIND THAT MANY PEOPLE WITH THE +HEMI+ MODEL CHARGER FOR THAT YEAR RANGE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
ALTERNATOR DIED OUT OF NO WHERE AT 56K MILES AND THEY DON'T WANT TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY STREET AND ALL THE LIGHTS WENT OFF AND POWER STEERING WENT OUT , THEN POWER AND ROLLED INTO A PARKING LOT. ALMOST GOT KILLED DRIVING AND CAR WENT CRAZY WITH ALL LIGHTS AND NOW IS DEAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds