Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 520 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (127) Seat Belts (4) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (339) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Seats (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (52) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2017 - LEESBURG, GA
WHEN THE CAR IS FILLED WITH GAS, IT EMITS A STRONG ODOR OF GAS AND LEAKS UNDER THE REAR PASSAGE SIDE OF CAR APPROX. 16 INCHES IN FRONT OF REAR TIRE. AS THE TANK GETS LOWER OF FUEL, THE SMELL IS NOT AS STRONG AND LEAK DISAPPEARS. THIS OCCURS WHEN THE CAR IS PARKED. IF THE CAR IS DRIVEN WITH A FULL FUEL TANK, THERE IS A STRONG GAS ODOR INSIDE THE CABIN. THIS SMELL LESSENS AS THE FUEL TANK EMPTIES. I HAVE TAKEN VIDEO OF THE EXTERIOR FUEL LEAK APPROX.17 HOURS AFTER FILL UP THAT SHOW A STEADY FUEL DRIP EVERY 12-15 SECONDS.

View Details

SEATS

12/20/2016 - ANTIOCH, CA
DRIVER SEAT BELT RETRACTOR IS STUCK AND CAN NOT PULL OUT TO BUCKLE. SEAT RELINE DOES NOT COME BACK UP IT WILL TIL BACK BUT MUST PULL HARD TO BRING UPRIGHT

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/20/2016 - ANTIOCH, CA
DRIVER SEAT BELT RETRACTOR IS STUCK AND CAN NOT PULL OUT TO BUCKLE. SEAT RELINE DOES NOT COME BACK UP IT WILL TIL BACK BUT MUST PULL HARD TO BRING UPRIGHT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/15/2016 - ST LOUIS, MO
ON JULY 11TH 2016 I FILLED UP MY GAS TANK IMMEDIATELY AFTERWARDS WHILE DRIVING I NOTICED AN OVERWHELMING SMELL OF GASOLINE. 5 DAYS LATER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE CODE DETECTED A SMALL EVAP SYSTEM LEAK. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT SPORADICALLY ILLUMINATES AND THEN TURNS OFF ON ITS OWN. THE SMELL OF GASOLINE GOES AWAY WHEN THE TANK IS HALF FULL. WHEN THE TANK IS FULL, GASOLINE DRIPS DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF THE PASSENGER REAR TIRE. UPON RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET I DISCOVERED ON CARCOMPLAINTS.COM THAT OVER 40 PEOPLE HAVE COMPLAINED OF THIS SAME ISSUE. THE FUEL PUMP CONTINUES TO PUMP GAS ONCE THE CAR IS TURNED OFF. THE GAS TANK LEAKS WHEN THE TANK IS OVER HALF WAY FULL. ACCORDING TO OTHER COMPLAINTS ON CARCOMPLAINTS.COM CHRYSLER AND DODGE HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED OF THIS SAME PROBLEM MULTIPLE TIMES. DODGE AND CHRYSLER REFUSE ANY KNOWLEDGE OF THIS ISSUE EVEN THOUGH THEY REDESIGNED THE FUEL SYSTEM AFTER THE 2011 AND ALSO RECALLED THE HEMI MODEL FOR THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER/DODGE HAS YET TO RECALL THE FUEL SYSTEM ON MY V6 MODEL. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY CAR. CAN AN INVESTIGATION BE OPENED ON THIS ISSUE SINCE THERE IS 50 COMPLAINTS ONLINE THAT DATE ALL THE WAY BACK TO 2012? A GAS TANK SHOULDN'T NOT "WEAR-OUT" AND LEAK AFTER 5 YEARS.... DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE OR BECOME SEVERELY INJURED FOR SOMETHING TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS ISSUE? MANY PEOPLE COMPLAINED OF ALTERNATOR ISSUES, IT TOOK A FIRE TO OCCUR FOR CHRYSLER TO FINALLY RECALL THE ALTERNATOR ON THE DODGE CHARGERS. IT SEEMS THAT CHRYSLER DODGE IS JUST WAITING FOR A CATASTROPHIC EVENT TO OCCUR BEFORE THEY DECIDE TO RECALL THIS ISSUE...THATS WHAT IT TOOK FOR CHRYSLER TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE ALTERNATOR, EVEN THOUGH THERE WERE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS RECORDED!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/13/2016 - AUGUSTA, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS LOW VOLTAGE ON THE BATTERY, WHICH KEPT BEING DRAINED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BY THE CONTACT, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. ALSO, THE LATCHES FAILED TO FUNCTION ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOORS. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH LATCHES. IN ADDITION, THE SERVICE STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL, SERVICE ENGINE, AIR BAG, AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS), 16V043000 (STRUCTURE), 15V467000 (AIR BAGS AND SEAT BELTS), 14V643000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING), 13V118000 (AIR BAGS), AND 12V497000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

12/13/2016 - AUGUSTA, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS LOW VOLTAGE ON THE BATTERY, WHICH KEPT BEING DRAINED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BY THE CONTACT, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. ALSO, THE LATCHES FAILED TO FUNCTION ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOORS. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH LATCHES. IN ADDITION, THE SERVICE STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL, SERVICE ENGINE, AIR BAG, AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS), 16V043000 (STRUCTURE), 15V467000 (AIR BAGS AND SEAT BELTS), 14V643000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING), 13V118000 (AIR BAGS), AND 12V497000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/13/2016 - AUGUSTA, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS LOW VOLTAGE ON THE BATTERY, WHICH KEPT BEING DRAINED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BY THE CONTACT, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. ALSO, THE LATCHES FAILED TO FUNCTION ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOORS. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH LATCHES. IN ADDITION, THE SERVICE STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL, SERVICE ENGINE, AIR BAG, AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS), 16V043000 (STRUCTURE), 15V467000 (AIR BAGS AND SEAT BELTS), 14V643000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING), 13V118000 (AIR BAGS), AND 12V497000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/13/2016 - AUGUSTA, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS LOW VOLTAGE ON THE BATTERY, WHICH KEPT BEING DRAINED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BY THE CONTACT, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. ALSO, THE LATCHES FAILED TO FUNCTION ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOORS. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH LATCHES. IN ADDITION, THE SERVICE STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL, SERVICE ENGINE, AIR BAG, AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS), 16V043000 (STRUCTURE), 15V467000 (AIR BAGS AND SEAT BELTS), 14V643000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING), 13V118000 (AIR BAGS), AND 12V497000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKES, AIR). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/13/2016 - AURORA, CO
I REPLACED THE STRUTS IN JULY AND NOW THE CONTROL ARMS IN DECEMBER. THE SHOP I WORK WITH STATED DODGE HAS A DESIGN FLAW WITH THESE COMPONENTS AND A RECALL SHOULD BE IN PLACE. I REACHED OUT TO DODGE AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE ISSUED RECALLS FOR THIS WITH OTHER VEHICLES, BUT NOT THE CHARGER. I HAVE PAID OVER $1200 DOLLARS TO REPLACE PARTS THAT I AM TOLD SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/12/2016 - BOSTON, KY
FOR SEVERAL MONTHS WHEN FILLING GAS TANK UP I WOULD SMELL A STRONG GAS ODOR IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR. AFTER THE GAS LEVEL WOULD START TO GO DOWN THE ODER WOULD GO AWAY. WELL, THE LAST FEW DAYS THE ODOR GOT REALLY STRONG AND IT DIDN'T MATTER HOW MUCH GAS WAS IN THE TANK, IT MADE ME AND MY FAMILY REALLY NAUSEOUS, AND AFTER A FEW DAYS OF THIS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR STARTED SPUTTERING LIKE IT WANTED TO STAUL OUT. WELL FINALLY AFTER ABOUT A WEEK OF THIS THE ODOR GOT SO STRONG THAT IT MADE ME VERY FATIGUED AND SICK, YOU CAN SMELL THE GAS IN MY CLOTHES AND MY EYES STARTED TO BURN. MY CARS ENGINE IS CLUMPING LIKE THE ENGINE IS ABOUT TO GO OUT SO I PARKED IT AT HOME AND SHUT IT OFF. I'LL HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. I'M SURE IT'S GONNA BE JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE'S CAR WITH THE TUBE LEADING FROM GAS TANK REFULE DOOR TO TANK. HOW THIS HASN'T BEEN RECALLED IS BEYOND ME BECAUSE IT'S AFFECTING THOUSANDS OF VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds