Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 531 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (130) Seat Belts (4) Steering (32) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (346) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Seats (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (30) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (52) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

3/22/2017 - LOVELAND, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT WENT OUT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS MELTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,224.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

3/22/2017 - LOVELAND, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT WENT OUT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS MELTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,224.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2017 - CALGARY, AL
WHEN I WAS DRIVING. BATTERY SAVER MODE CAME ON AND THE RADIO TURNED OFF. I STARTED GETTING SERVICE LIGHTS AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. ABLE TO GET IT HOME AS I WAS ONLY A BLOCK AWAY WHEN THIS STARTED. I TURNED OFF AND ON THE CAR. THE CAR STUDDERED TO START AND THE A TON OF ERROR LIGHTS CAME ON LIKE ABS, BREAK, ENGINE, SERVICE LIGHTS. THE CAR STUDDERED AND THE STEARING WHEEL AND BREAK WAS LOCKED. TUNED OUT IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR THAT DIED AND THANK GOD I WAS CLOSE TO HOME AND NOT GOING FAST ELSE I COULD HAVE BEEN IN A REALLY BAD ACCIDENT AS EVERYTHING AROUND MY HOUSE IS A HIGHWAY. THE 3.5L ENGINE WAS RECALLED BUT AFTER LOOKING AT ALL THE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE 5.7L HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. THIS ALSO NEEDS TO BE RECALLED ASAP BEFORE SOMEONE DIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2017 - NAPERVILLE, IL
RECEIVED A INDICATOR MESSAGES STATING "BATTERY SAVE MODE" WHILE DRIVING. ONCE WE MADE IT TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO STRUGGLE A BIT. I DROVE IT HOME. THANK GOD I DID BECAUSE IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP, IT LOST POWER. IT APPEARS FROM RESEARCHING THE SYMPTOMS, THE ALTERNATOR IS NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO EFFICIENTLY POWER THE VEHICLE. I'M GLAD I WAS NOT ON THE ROAD DRIVING WHEN IT SHUT OFF.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/21/2017 - BELMONT, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE LOW BEAM HEADLAMPS WENT OUT WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIGHTS WORKED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BALLAST NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V101000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING) BECAUSE THE HEADLIGHTS WERE HIGH INTENSITY DISCHARGE LIGHTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/9/2017 - WICHITA, KS
I NOTICED THERE IS A RECALL ON EXTERIOR HEADLIGHTS ON 2011 DODGE CHARGERS, MANUFACTURED BETWEEN MAY 2010 AND NOVEMBER 2011 MY CHARGER R/T MAX WAS MANUFACTURED IN THAT TIME. BUT THIS RECALL IS NOT NOTED TO MY VIN #, I LOOKED INTO IT THE RECALL IS ON EXTERIOR HEADLIGHTS IS ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE CHARGERS MANUFACTURED IN THE TIME NOTED ABOVE, THAT IS EXACTLY THE PROBLEM IN MY VEHICLE MANUFACTURED IN THE SAME TIME FRAME. WHEN I START MY CAR THE LIGHTS TURNS ON, BUT AFTER I BEGIN DRIVING THEY TURN OFF ON THE RIGHT SIDE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
ON FREEWAY WHEN LIGHTS ON DASH ALL STARTED FLASHING. AS PULLING OVER, I LOST POWER STEERING IN MY CAR AND ALL ELECTRONICS. AS SOON AS I PUT IT IN PARK MY CAR SHUT OFF. LOOK UP THE P60 RECALL ON 160AMP ALTENATOR ON CHARGERS. I HAVE THE 180AMP THAT DID THE EXACT SAME THING BUT IS NOT COVERED UNDER RECALL. THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED AS IT CAN BE A MAJOR HAZARD TO ME OR OTHERS. ALL WITH NOT ONE INDICATION MY ALTENATOR WAS GOING OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/6/2017 - CARLSBAD, CA
TAKATA RECALL ON PASSENGER SIDE AIRBACK HAS BEEN OPEN FOR ALMOST A YEAR NOW, VIN LOOKUP SHOWS SINCE MAY 2016. NO PARTS AND NO REMEDY AVAILABLE, HAVE CONTACTED LOCAL DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE PAST YEAR. I AM UNABLE TO SAFELY CARRY A PASSENGER IN THIS SEAT WHILE THE DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT REMAINS UNREPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2017 - NORTHRIDGE, CA
P60 / NHTSA 14V-634 IS A RECALL THAT IS CURRENTLY NOT AVAILABLE TO VEHICLE DUE TO MY ALTERNATOR HAVING 180 AMPS. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THE 180 AMP ALTERNATORS AS WELL AS IT FALLS UNDER THE SAME RECALL REASONS OF THE P60 / NHTSA 14V-634. I WAS DRIVING HOME ON THE FREEWAY AND SUDDENLY THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD STARTED LIGHTING UP. I FELT A LITTLE UNEASY ABOUT WHY ALL THESE LIGHTS STARTED LIGHTING UP, SO I EXITED. AS I EXITED, THE WHEEL BEGAN TO LOCK UP, AND BEFORE I KNEW IT, THE CAR HAD COMPLETELY DIED. I WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I HAD NO DETECTION OF THE ALTERNATOR FAILING AT ALL AND WHILE THE CAR WAS SITTING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, I STARTED TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING. I GOT OUT OF THE CAR, AND CALLED TRIPLE A FOR A TOW. I WAS RELIEVED WHEN I SAW P60 / NHTSA 14V-634 ONLINE FOR A RECALL OF MY MAKE AND MODEL, BUT WHEN I GOT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY HAD ADVISED ME THAT I HAD NO RECALLS FOR ANY ALTERNATORS. THAT IS WHEN I FOUND OUT BY CALLING THE FCA GROUP RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER THAT MY ALTERNATOR HAS 180 AMPS AND THE RECALL WAS ONLY FOR 160 AMP DODGE CHARGERS. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THE 180 AMPS. LUCKILY, MY FAMILY WAS NOT IN THE CAR WITH ME WHILE THE ALTERNATOR FAILED. BEING STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND SMELLING SOMETHING BURNING IN THE CAR WOULD BE TERRIFYING FOR THEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/27/2017 - GRANBURY, TX
TAKATA RECALL. MY PASSENGER AIRBAG RATTLES LIKE THERE ARE PARTS LOOSE INSIDE OF IT. CHRYSLER JUST KEEP SAYING THAT THE PARTS AREN'T AVAILABLE AND THAT I MUST UNDERSTAND THAT IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO MANUFACTURE PARTS AND DISTRIBUTE THEM EVERYWHERE. WITH ALL OF THE RATTLING INSIDE THIS AIRBAG DEVICE I'M FAIRLY SURE IF I HAVE AN ACCIDENT MY PASSENGER WON'T SURVIVE. IN REGARDS TO THE ELECTRICAL OFTEN WHEN I TURN MY VEHICLE OFF LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD RADIO AND CLIMATE CONTROL PANEL STAY ON EVEN IF THE DOORS OPEN. THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN ALL THE TIME AND THESE ARE NOT LIGHTS OR FEATURES THAT SHOULD BE ON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF SUCH AS THE AIR CONDITIONER LIGHT. THE PROBLEM BEGAN SOMEWHERE AROUND THE END OF 2013 BEGINNING OF 2014 THERE HAVE EVEN BEEN A FEW TIMES WHEN WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ALL OF THE INTERIOR LIGHTS INCLUDING THE DASHBOARD GO OUT. I'VE REPORTED IT TO TWO DIFFERENT DEALERS AND SHOWN PHOTOS TO THE DEALER WHEN REPORTING THE PROBLEM, THEY DON'T SEEM TO KNOW HOW TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND OR HAVE TOLD ME THERE IS NO PROBLEM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds