Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 544 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (132) Seat Belts (4) Steering (32) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (351) Fuel Propulsion System (48) Seats (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (32) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (30) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (52) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2017 - MACON, GA
VIN 2B3CL5CT3BH552129 RIDING DOWN I-75 IN GEORGIA AND MY CAR STALED AND THE COMPLETE ENGINE SHOUT DOWN WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE ALERNATOR WERE FIRE HOT. ROADSIDE TRIED TO JUMP START MY CAR BUT THERE WERE NO POWER. MY CAR HAD TO BE TOWED HOME. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2017 - CARTERET, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAIN THOUROUGHFARE, THE ENGINE STALLED.( THERE WAS NO WARNING THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM, NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON.) THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THEN ALL ELEC POWER WENT OUT. LEAVING THE CAR WITHOUT LIGHTS/FLASHERS. UPON INVESTIGATION, THE ALTERNATOR FAILED, SHORTING OUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND KILLING/DESTROYING THE BATTERY. THE ALTERNATOR SHOULDN'T DO THIS. I FOUND THAT DODGE HAD A RECALL ( P-60) ON THEIR V-6 MODELS FOR THIS VERY SAME ISSUE. MY CAR IS A V-8. I WAS LUCKY I WASN'T DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY OR AT NIGHT AS THE CAR HAD NO WAY IOF INDICATING DISTRESS TO OTHER DRIVERS AND THE HEADLIGHTS DIDN'T WORK. THERE IS A CLEAR DEFECT IN THE ALTERNATORS OF THESE CARS, ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/11/2017 - CARTERET, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAIN THOUROUGHFARE, THE ENGINE STALLED.( THERE WAS NO WARNING THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM, NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON.) THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THEN ALL ELEC POWER WENT OUT. LEAVING THE CAR WITHOUT LIGHTS/FLASHERS. UPON INVESTIGATION, THE ALTERNATOR FAILED, SHORTING OUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND KILLING/DESTROYING THE BATTERY. THE ALTERNATOR SHOULDN'T DO THIS. I FOUND THAT DODGE HAD A RECALL ( P-60) ON THEIR V-6 MODELS FOR THIS VERY SAME ISSUE. MY CAR IS A V-8. I WAS LUCKY I WASN'T DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY OR AT NIGHT AS THE CAR HAD NO WAY IOF INDICATING DISTRESS TO OTHER DRIVERS AND THE HEADLIGHTS DIDN'T WORK. THERE IS A CLEAR DEFECT IN THE ALTERNATORS OF THESE CARS, ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/6/2017 - RACELAND, LA
"TAKATA RECALL" VEHICLE ALTERNATOR BURNED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN AT THE TIME WHEN THE BATTERY LIGHT AND THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON BOTH IN RED NOT THE NORMAL ORANGE, ALSO THE TRACTION LIGHT STARTED COMING OFF AND ON AT TIMES FOR THE PAST MONTH WHEN DRIVING AS NORMAL TO PLACES AROUND MY AREA. WHEN SHE MADE IT HOME SHE NOTICED THAT ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS CAME ON THEN WENT OFF AND SHE SMELLED SMOKE AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND RAISED THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT BURNT ELECTRICAL SMELL WITH SMOKE COMING FROM THE SIDE OF THE MOTOR WHERE THE ALTERNATOR IS, SO WHEN I GOT HOME I NOTICED THE ALTERNATOR HAD BLACK BURN SCARS AROUND THE COIL AREAS AND WITH A FLASHLIGHT NOTICED SOME OF THE COILS INSIDE WERE MELTED DOWN FROM THE BURNING

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/3/2017 - OFALLON, MO
PURCHASED A 2011 DODGE CHARGER 2 MONTHS AGO FOR MY TEENAGE SON. WHEN FILLING UP GAS TANK MORE THAN 3/4 FULL GAS LEAKS WHILE CAR IN PARK FROM AREA ABOUT 1.5 FEET IN FRONT OF REAR PASSENGER WHEEL. CABIN SMELLS OF GAS ODOR. CALLED DEALER THAT I PURCHASED CAR FROM...NO HELP. TONS OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING THIS PROBLEM. EXTREMELY CONCERNED FOR SON TO DRIVE DODGE. PLEASE STAND BEHIND YOUR CARS. LET'S RECALL THIS AND KEEP PEOPLE SAFE BEFORE A LIFE IS LOST. ONE LIFE IS TOO MANY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/28/2017 - OXNARD, CA
IF I FILL UP MY TANK OF GAS IT STARTS LEAKING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. FUMES CAN BE SMELLED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND OUTSIDE AS WELL. ITS VERY PENETRATING. WHEN ITS HOT OUTSIDE IF THE CAR REMAINS CLOSE WHEN U ARR INSIDE THE FUMES BEGIN TO GIVR YOU A SORE THROAT AND SHORT OF BREATH. VERY DANGEROUS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2017 - HARRISON, AR
GET IN CAR TO GO TO WAL-MART ONE SATURDAY MORNING THE LOW BATTERY LIGHT COMES ON AND GET A MESSAGE THAT CAR WAS GOING TO BATTERY SAVING MODE. DROVE TO STORE GOT MY ITEMS GOT BACK INTO CAR AND ALL ELECTRONICS JUST STARTED SHUTTING OFF THEN CAR STARTED TO IDLE AND CUT OUT MADE A U SHAPE IN PARKING LOT AS WAS AFRAID TO GET ON THE ROAD FOR FEAR OF IT QUITTING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY. TURN CAR OFF WOULDN'T START BACKUP YOU COULD SMELL SOMETHING HOT UNDER THE HOOD. THE ALTERNATOR WAS SO HOT BURNT HAND. HAD TO CALL TOW TRUCK TO TAKE TO DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX. I WAS LUCKY THIS HAPPENED IN A PARKING LOT AND NOT ON A ROAD COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE COST OF REPAIR WAS $1, 187.75 PLUS IT TOOK 2 WEEKS FOR REPAIR. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT OR CAUGHT MY CAR ON FIRE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2017 - PLAINFIELD, IL
WHEN TANK IS FILLED, A STRONG FUEL ODOR OCCURRED INSIDE CAR, ALONG WITH A PUDDLE DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF RIGHT REAR TIRE. DEALERSHIP FIRST "FIXED" SECONDARY FUEL PUMP BUT PROBLEM RECURRED AT NEXT FILL UP. SUBSEQUENTLY THE PRIMARY FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED. IT IS EXTREMELY FORTUNATE THIS DID NOT RESULT IN A FIRE OR DEATH WITH MY KIDS RIDING IN THIS CAR ON A DAILY BASIS. DODGE KNOWS ABOUT ISSUE AS TONS OF COMPLAINTS CAN BE FOUND ON LINE. HTTP://WWW.ABOUTAUTOMOBILE.COM/COMPLAINT/2011/DODGE/CHARGER/FUEL+SYSTEM

View Details

TIRES

5/3/2017 - KENILWORTH, NJ
TIRES ARE DRY ROT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

4/20/2017 - HOLSTEIN, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR CAUGHT ON FIRE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds