Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2011 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (86) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (98) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (9) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/29/2014 - WAYNE, OK
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. THE HEADLIGHT WOULD SHUT OFF WITH OUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE MULTIPLE TIMES.THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:14V101000, HOWEVER, THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.GB

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2014 - LAS CRUCES, NM
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HE DROVE AT 35MPH SMOKE EMITTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT THE ALTERNATOR WAS SMOKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT HOME. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,400. LI

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT MY CAR BEGAN TO SMOKE FROM THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE HOOD, MY AIR CONDITION, RADIO AND WINDOWS STOP WORKING AND MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN A MESSAGE CAME ON SAYING BATTERY SAVER MODE. IT IS SO UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS THAT BUY THESE CARS, TRUSTING THAT WE HAVE NOT BOUGHT A LEMON. IN MY OPINION ANYTHING THAT DODGE SELLS IS A LEMON EVEN IT IS BOUGHT NEW. AND I THINK IT IS OUTRAGEOUS THAT AND ALTERNATOR IS 500 DOLLARS, FOR WHAT TO PUT ANOTHER PIECE OF JUNK IN THE CAR. MY CAR IS ONLY 2 1/2 YEARS OLD AND IT IS OBSURD TO HAVE TO REPLACE AN ALTERNATOR THIS SOON. THE WHOLE CAR NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!!!!! DODGE CAN NOT EVEN GIVE ME A CAR!!!! YOU CAN BELIEVE THOUGH JUST AS SOON AS I GET IT RUNNING I AM TURNING IT IN TO WHOMEVER WANTS IT!!!!! AND WHOMEVER CONTROLS THE CAR MAKERS SHOULD NOT ALLOW DODGE TO MAKE EVEN A BICYCLE!!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2014 - PEORIA, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH THE SUDDENLY THE ABS, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE CONTACTS INSTRUMENTAL PANEL. SHORTLY AFTER THE INITIAL FAILURE THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATED AND THEN STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED. THE DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THE ALTERNATOR WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000. AZ

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - SALEM, MO
MY FAMILY HAD FINISHED A 1 HOUR LONG DRIVE ON A VERY HOT DAY (100 DEG). WE STOPPED AT ONE PLACE AND WERE LEAVING. WE WERE DRIVING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT APPROX. 20 MPH WHEN THE CAR STARTED MAKING A NOISE. ABS LIGHT CAME ON, BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, AND CAR WENT INTO BATTERY SAVING MODE. MY KIDS AND I SMELLED AN ELECTRICAL AND SMOKE SMELL. WE STOPPED CAR IMMEDIATELY AND OPENED HOOD. SMOKE WAS POURING OUT OF THE ALTERNATOR. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND IT CONTINUED TO SMOKE FOR A FEW MINUTES. IF THE CAR WAS LEFT RUNNING IM SURE IT WOULD HAVE CAUGHT ON FIRE COMPLETELY. CAR LEFT MY FAMILY AND I STRANDED...IM NOT VERY HAPPY WITH DODGE. CAR ONLY HAS 48000 MILES. DODGE DOES NOT WANT TO COVER COST AND IM FINDING OUT THEIR HAVE BEEN MANY COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM. IT IS A DANGEROUS AND OBVIOUSLY A COMMON PROBLEM THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - ATLANTA , GA
ALTERNATOR IS BAD BURNT OUT MY BATTERY. CAR WILL NOT START EVEN AFTER SEVERAL JUMP STARTS. BAD ALTERNATOR CAR ONLY HAS APPROX 120,000 MILES

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/27/2014 - ROUND ROCK, TX
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK ON 7/21/14 AT APPROXIMATELY 6:50 AM CST, I OBSERVED A MESSAGE ON MY CAR'S DISPLAY THAT STATED" BATTERY SAVER MODE". I DROVE THE CAR DIRECTLY TO THE DODGE/CHRYSLER DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT SINCE I HAD RECENTLY EXPERIENCED A DEAD BATTERY WITHIN THE PAST 60 DAYS AND HAD THE BATTERY REPLACED AT AUTOZONE WITH A NEW BATTERY. I INFORMED THE DEALER OF THE MESSAGE, AND THE DEALER PERFORMED A BATTERY & ALTERNATOR CHECK. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WERE OK. THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THE BATTERY WAS "CHARGED" AS A COURTESY. ON 7/24/2014 I AGAIN RECEIVED THE "BATTERY SAVER MODE" MESSAGE. NO OTHER ELECTRICAL ISSUES WERE OBSERVED ON THIS DATE. ON 7/27/2014 I ATTEMPTED TO START MY CAR AFTER FILLING WITH GASOLINE. IT INITIALLY DID NOT START, BUT STARTED ONCE I SHUTOFF ALL ELECTRICAL ACCESSORIES, SUCH AS RADIO AND PARKING LIGHTS. THE MESSAGE "BATTERY SAVER MODE" WAS OBSERVED ONCE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/26/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
3/9/13 - VEHICLE IN FOR OIL CHANGE. BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE DISPLAYED ON DASH 2 MILES DOWN THE ROAD. PULLED OVER TO CHECK OWNER'S MANUAL WHICH STATES IMMEDIATE VEHICLE SERVICE REQUIRED. TO AIRPARK DODGE DEALERSHIP APPROX 7 MILES DOWN THE ROAD AND POWER STEERING FAILURE AND THEN ENGINE STALLS WHILE MAKING LEFT TURN THROUGH INTERSECTION. HAD BOTH MY CHILDREN AGES 2 AND 5 IN THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME AND THANKFULLY NO ON COMING TRAFFIC DURING THE TURN. 3/12/13 - ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY REPLACED AT AIRPARK DODGE. 4/23/13 (35,690 MILES) - VEHICLE BACK TO AIRPARK DODGE FOR ANOTHER BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE. SOURCE COULD NOT BE FOUND, NO REPAIRS MADE. 7/25/14 (47,900 MILES) - BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE, NO DASH LIGHTS, NO A/C, NO POWER STEERING, NO HEADLIGHTS WHILE DOING 30 MPH. VEHICLE TO AIRPARK DODGE AGAIN ON 7/29/14.

View Details

STEERING

7/26/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
3/9/13 - VEHICLE IN FOR OIL CHANGE. BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE DISPLAYED ON DASH 2 MILES DOWN THE ROAD. PULLED OVER TO CHECK OWNER'S MANUAL WHICH STATES IMMEDIATE VEHICLE SERVICE REQUIRED. TO AIRPARK DODGE DEALERSHIP APPROX 7 MILES DOWN THE ROAD AND POWER STEERING FAILURE AND THEN ENGINE STALLS WHILE MAKING LEFT TURN THROUGH INTERSECTION. HAD BOTH MY CHILDREN AGES 2 AND 5 IN THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME AND THANKFULLY NO ON COMING TRAFFIC DURING THE TURN. 3/12/13 - ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY REPLACED AT AIRPARK DODGE. 4/23/13 (35,690 MILES) - VEHICLE BACK TO AIRPARK DODGE FOR ANOTHER BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE. SOURCE COULD NOT BE FOUND, NO REPAIRS MADE. 7/25/14 (47,900 MILES) - BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE, NO DASH LIGHTS, NO A/C, NO POWER STEERING, NO HEADLIGHTS WHILE DOING 30 MPH. VEHICLE TO AIRPARK DODGE AGAIN ON 7/29/14.

View Details

ENGINE

7/26/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
3/9/13 - VEHICLE IN FOR OIL CHANGE. BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE DISPLAYED ON DASH 2 MILES DOWN THE ROAD. PULLED OVER TO CHECK OWNER'S MANUAL WHICH STATES IMMEDIATE VEHICLE SERVICE REQUIRED. TO AIRPARK DODGE DEALERSHIP APPROX 7 MILES DOWN THE ROAD AND POWER STEERING FAILURE AND THEN ENGINE STALLS WHILE MAKING LEFT TURN THROUGH INTERSECTION. HAD BOTH MY CHILDREN AGES 2 AND 5 IN THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME AND THANKFULLY NO ON COMING TRAFFIC DURING THE TURN. 3/12/13 - ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY REPLACED AT AIRPARK DODGE. 4/23/13 (35,690 MILES) - VEHICLE BACK TO AIRPARK DODGE FOR ANOTHER BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE. SOURCE COULD NOT BE FOUND, NO REPAIRS MADE. 7/25/14 (47,900 MILES) - BATTERY SAVER MODE MESSAGE, NO DASH LIGHTS, NO A/C, NO POWER STEERING, NO HEADLIGHTS WHILE DOING 30 MPH. VEHICLE TO AIRPARK DODGE AGAIN ON 7/29/14.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds