Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 355 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (1) Power Train (27) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (233) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (69) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (16) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/2/2018 - LAKEVILLE, MN
MY VAN HAS HAD ELECTRICAL TYPE ISSUES SINCE WE PURCHASED IT, BUT IN THE LAST COUPLE YEARS THEY HAVE IMAGNIFIED. EVERY ISSUE STARTS WITH THE CAR SMOKING AND SOME SORT OF LIGHT COMING ON (ENGINE, BATTERY ETC..) MANY TIMES I TAKE IT IN AND THE DASH LIGHT IS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED OR THEY CAN NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT AND RESET THE ELECTRICAL PANEL. I HAVE REPLACED THE BATTERY NUMEROUS TIMES, ALTERNATOR THREE TIMES (LAST TIME IT WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AND THE TIME BEFORE IT WAS COMPLETELY MELTED). TRANSMISSION LINES AND COOLANT LINES. THE LAST TIME MY HEADLIGHTS WERE REPLACED THE WIRES WERE CHARRED AND FRAYED. LAST NIGHT MY SON WAS PULLED OVER BY THE POLICE BECAUSE THE OFFICER NOTICED THE CAR WAS SMOKING. HE POPPED THE HOOD TO LET THE SMOKE CLEAR (MY SON SAID THE SMOKE HAD A COPERY TASTE). AFTER IT CLEARED THE VAN STARTED AND DROVE FINE. THIS IS AFTER HAVING THE ALTERNATOR REPLACED (FOR THE THIRD TIME) JUST LAST WEEK. THE TECHNICIANS AT THE SHOP HAVE NEVER SEEN THESE KINDS OF PROBLEMS BEFORE AND THE GUY AT INTERSTATE BATTERY SAID HE HAS NEVER SEEN A CAR DEPLETE A BATTERY LIKE MINE DOES. WITH ALL THESE ISSUE BEING ASSOCIATED WITH THE WORDS MELTING, CHARRING, SMOKING, IT REALLY CONCERNS ME THAT ONE DAY MY VAN IS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE OR BLOW UP AND THIS IS NOT NORMAL FOR ANY VEHICLE, BUT ESPECIALLY ONE THAT HAS BEEN TAKEN CARE OF AND MAINTAINED. I HAVE FRIENDS WITH THE SAME VAN AND SIMILAR MILEAGE (155,000) AND THEY HAVE NOT HAD ANY OF THESE ISSUES. I CONTACTED DODGE WHO REFERRED ME TO THE NHTSA AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. PLEASE HELP!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/2/2018 - LAKEVILLE, MN
MY VAN HAS HAD ELECTRICAL TYPE ISSUES SINCE WE PURCHASED IT, BUT IN THE LAST COUPLE YEARS THEY HAVE IMAGNIFIED. EVERY ISSUE STARTS WITH THE CAR SMOKING AND SOME SORT OF LIGHT COMING ON (ENGINE, BATTERY ETC..) MANY TIMES I TAKE IT IN AND THE DASH LIGHT IS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED OR THEY CAN NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT AND RESET THE ELECTRICAL PANEL. I HAVE REPLACED THE BATTERY NUMEROUS TIMES, ALTERNATOR THREE TIMES (LAST TIME IT WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AND THE TIME BEFORE IT WAS COMPLETELY MELTED). TRANSMISSION LINES AND COOLANT LINES. THE LAST TIME MY HEADLIGHTS WERE REPLACED THE WIRES WERE CHARRED AND FRAYED. LAST NIGHT MY SON WAS PULLED OVER BY THE POLICE BECAUSE THE OFFICER NOTICED THE CAR WAS SMOKING. HE POPPED THE HOOD TO LET THE SMOKE CLEAR (MY SON SAID THE SMOKE HAD A COPERY TASTE). AFTER IT CLEARED THE VAN STARTED AND DROVE FINE. THIS IS AFTER HAVING THE ALTERNATOR REPLACED (FOR THE THIRD TIME) JUST LAST WEEK. THE TECHNICIANS AT THE SHOP HAVE NEVER SEEN THESE KINDS OF PROBLEMS BEFORE AND THE GUY AT INTERSTATE BATTERY SAID HE HAS NEVER SEEN A CAR DEPLETE A BATTERY LIKE MINE DOES. WITH ALL THESE ISSUE BEING ASSOCIATED WITH THE WORDS MELTING, CHARRING, SMOKING, IT REALLY CONCERNS ME THAT ONE DAY MY VAN IS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE OR BLOW UP AND THIS IS NOT NORMAL FOR ANY VEHICLE, BUT ESPECIALLY ONE THAT HAS BEEN TAKEN CARE OF AND MAINTAINED. I HAVE FRIENDS WITH THE SAME VAN AND SIMILAR MILEAGE (155,000) AND THEY HAVE NOT HAD ANY OF THESE ISSUES. I CONTACTED DODGE WHO REFERRED ME TO THE NHTSA AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. PLEASE HELP!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2018 - LAKEVILLE, MN
MY VAN HAS HAD ELECTRICAL TYPE ISSUES SINCE WE PURCHASED IT, BUT IN THE LAST COUPLE YEARS THEY HAVE IMAGNIFIED. EVERY ISSUE STARTS WITH THE CAR SMOKING AND SOME SORT OF LIGHT COMING ON (ENGINE, BATTERY ETC..) MANY TIMES I TAKE IT IN AND THE DASH LIGHT IS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED OR THEY CAN NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT AND RESET THE ELECTRICAL PANEL. I HAVE REPLACED THE BATTERY NUMEROUS TIMES, ALTERNATOR THREE TIMES (LAST TIME IT WAS COMPLETELY BURNT OUT AND THE TIME BEFORE IT WAS COMPLETELY MELTED). TRANSMISSION LINES AND COOLANT LINES. THE LAST TIME MY HEADLIGHTS WERE REPLACED THE WIRES WERE CHARRED AND FRAYED. LAST NIGHT MY SON WAS PULLED OVER BY THE POLICE BECAUSE THE OFFICER NOTICED THE CAR WAS SMOKING. HE POPPED THE HOOD TO LET THE SMOKE CLEAR (MY SON SAID THE SMOKE HAD A COPERY TASTE). AFTER IT CLEARED THE VAN STARTED AND DROVE FINE. THIS IS AFTER HAVING THE ALTERNATOR REPLACED (FOR THE THIRD TIME) JUST LAST WEEK. THE TECHNICIANS AT THE SHOP HAVE NEVER SEEN THESE KINDS OF PROBLEMS BEFORE AND THE GUY AT INTERSTATE BATTERY SAID HE HAS NEVER SEEN A CAR DEPLETE A BATTERY LIKE MINE DOES. WITH ALL THESE ISSUE BEING ASSOCIATED WITH THE WORDS MELTING, CHARRING, SMOKING, IT REALLY CONCERNS ME THAT ONE DAY MY VAN IS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE OR BLOW UP AND THIS IS NOT NORMAL FOR ANY VEHICLE, BUT ESPECIALLY ONE THAT HAS BEEN TAKEN CARE OF AND MAINTAINED. I HAVE FRIENDS WITH THE SAME VAN AND SIMILAR MILEAGE (155,000) AND THEY HAVE NOT HAD ANY OF THESE ISSUES. I CONTACTED DODGE WHO REFERRED ME TO THE NHTSA AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. PLEASE HELP!!!

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

5/22/2018 - SAYRE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPMS) INDICATOR SPONTANEOUSLY ILLUMINATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE IF THERE WAS A FAILURE WITH THE TIRES SINCE THE TPMS INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FERRARIO CHRYSLER TOWANDA (168 GOLDEN MILE RD, TOWANDA, PA 18848, (570) 485-0072) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CODES NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 33719903. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/30/2018 - PATASKALA, OH
MY 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN HAS STALLED OUT ON US 3 TIMES ON THE FREEWAY WITH NO WARNING. AFTER WAITING GOT ABOUT 40MIN. TO AN HOUR IT STARTS RIGHT UP LIKE THERE'S NO PROBLEM. RECENTLY THE VAN STALLED OUT WHILE I WAS TOWING MY SMALL CAMPER. WHEN I TAKE IT TO GET CHECKED OUT NO PROBLEM CAN EVER BE FOUND. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS. THIS OTHER ARTICLE I RECENTLY READ AT WWW.CHRYSLERPROBLEMS.COM/TRENDS/TIPM/ ACTUALLY SAYS 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN HAS THIS ISSUE MOSTLY THAN OTHER YEARS. THIS IS VERY UNSAFE. I HAVE READ MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ONLINE OF MANY MANY PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AND THIS IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE. THE PART IS VERY EXPENSIVE FOR US TO FIX WHEN THE COMPANY KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. THANKS,

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/29/2018 - BALDWINSVILLE, NY
2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN R/T 79900 MILES INTERMITTENT FAILURE TO START. INTERMITTENT STALLING AFTER STARTING. STALLED ON STREET AFTER LEAVING DRIVEWAY. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT INDICATED ON DASH. JUST BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM A DEALER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2018 - BALDWINSVILLE, NY
2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN R/T 79900 MILES INTERMITTENT FAILURE TO START. INTERMITTENT STALLING AFTER STARTING. STALLED ON STREET AFTER LEAVING DRIVEWAY. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT INDICATED ON DASH. JUST BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM A DEALER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2018 - MISSISSAUGA, AZ
PASSENGER SIDE BLOWS ALWAYS BLOW HOT AIR EVEN WHEN THE SETTING IS ON COLD AIR. DRIVER SIDE WORKS OK BUT THE SAME TIME PASSENGER SIDE HAVING PROBLEM. IT BLOWS HOT AIR IRESPECTIVE OF THE SETTING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/14/2018 - RIO RANCHO, NM
TIPM IS BAD ON VEHICLE, CONFIRMED BY RICK KEFFER DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM DEALERSHIP IN YULEE, FL TWO YEARS AGO. VEHICLE STALLED ON HIGHWAY AND THEN LATER WOULD NOT START. PURCHASED A BYPASS CABLE IN ORDER TO KEEP USING THE VEHICLE AND WHILE DRIVING WE GET INDICATOR LIGHTS FLASHING ON DASHBOARD SUCH AS BRAKE ON WHEN IT'S NOT, SEATBELT LIGHT ON WHEN SEATBELTS ARE BUCKLED, LIGHTS FLASHING OR STAYING ON WHEN TURNED OFF. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE !!! I HAVE THREE KIDS, AGES 13, 12, AND 10 AND THIS IS OUR PRIMARY FAMILY VEHICLE. THE TIPM HAS ALREADY BEEN RECALLED FOR OTHER MAKE AND MODELS WITH CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP FOR 2011-2014 BUT NOT THE GRAND CARAVANS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2018 - RIO RANCHO, NM
VEHICLE DIED SUDDENLY ON THE ROAD ON APRIL 13, 2018 DUE TO ALTERNATOR FAILING. O'REILLY AUTO PARTS CONFIRMED THAT THE DIODES FAILED ON ALTERNATOR. EXISTING RECALL ON THE DURANGOS, CHRYSLER, AND JEEPS BUT NOT GRAND CARAVAN FOR THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM WITH ALTERNATORS. BURNING SMELL UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE COMING FROM THE ALTERNATOR AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds