Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 232 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (17) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (155) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2016 - ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
I HAVE HAD MY VAN SINCE 2013, AND HAVE HAD REPEATED PROBLEMS WITH IT NOT STARTING. I ATTEMPT OVER AND OVER TO START THE CAR USING THE KEY, BUT IT RECEIVES NO POWER. EVENTUALLY IT WILL START, BUT THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING. I WAS TOLD MY A MECHANIC IT IS THE TIPM THAT IS MALFUNCTIONING. I HAVE ALSO NOTED ANOTHER ISSUE THAT WHEN I TURN OFF THE VAN AND REMOVE THE KEY, THERE IS STILL A MOTOR OF SOME SORT RUNNING, IT SOUNDS LIKE A LOW KEY HUM COMING FROM THE CONSOLE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT BOTH OF THESE ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2016 - CLEVELAND, OH
SEVERAL TIMES THIS WINTER MY WIFE HAS WENT TO START OUR VEHICLE AND IT WOULD NOT START. THIS HAS RESULTED IN MISSED TIME AT WORK AND KIDS MISSING SCHOOL AS WELL AS 1 OCCURRENCE OF BEING STRAINED WHILE OUT SHOPPING. IT SEEMS TO EFFECT IT MOSTLY WHEN REALLY COLD OUTSIDE 30 OR BELOW. WE HAVE ALSO HAD SEVERE ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES. I HAVE HAD ALL FOUR BRAKES REPLACED TWICE AND BOTH FRONT ROTORS AS WELL AS CALIPERS REPLACED. THE PROBLEM IS THAT AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF DRIVING (20-30 MINS) THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BRAKE DRAGS CAUSING A VERY STRONG METALLIC SMELL TO ENTER THROUGH THE AIR VENTS INSIDE THE VAN. MY WORRY IS THAT ONE DAY IT WILL CATCH ON FIRE AND MY VEHICLE WILL BE LOST IN THE FIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/4/2016 - CLEVELAND, OH
SEVERAL TIMES THIS WINTER MY WIFE HAS WENT TO START OUR VEHICLE AND IT WOULD NOT START. THIS HAS RESULTED IN MISSED TIME AT WORK AND KIDS MISSING SCHOOL AS WELL AS 1 OCCURRENCE OF BEING STRAINED WHILE OUT SHOPPING. IT SEEMS TO EFFECT IT MOSTLY WHEN REALLY COLD OUTSIDE 30 OR BELOW. WE HAVE ALSO HAD SEVERE ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES. I HAVE HAD ALL FOUR BRAKES REPLACED TWICE AND BOTH FRONT ROTORS AS WELL AS CALIPERS REPLACED. THE PROBLEM IS THAT AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF DRIVING (20-30 MINS) THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BRAKE DRAGS CAUSING A VERY STRONG METALLIC SMELL TO ENTER THROUGH THE AIR VENTS INSIDE THE VAN. MY WORRY IS THAT ONE DAY IT WILL CATCH ON FIRE AND MY VEHICLE WILL BE LOST IN THE FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2016 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR IN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,499. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/29/2016 - OCEANSIDE, CA
MY 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, WHICH I BOUGHT USED AT 33,000MI AND IT HAD UNDER 47,000MI WHEN THE ISSUE STARTED HAPPENING, FAILED TO START AFTER THE FIRST FEW ATTEMPTS. IT WOULD EVENTUALLY START AFTER 5-10 ATTEMPTS. I NOTICED IT WOULD USUALLY HAVE THAT ISSUE WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN STARTED WITHIN A FEW HOURS. ONCE IT STARTED, IT RAN FINE AND IF TURNED OFF WOULD START BACK UP FINE. DEALERSHIP INITIALLY DIAGNOSED THE COOLANT TEMP SENSOR BUT DID NOT FIX THE SITUATION. THEY CALLED CHRYSLER FOR ANY INPUTS ON WHAT THE ISSUE COULD BE AND WERE TOLD IT MOST LIKELY IS THE TIPM. THE FOLLOWING IS WHAT THEY WROTE ON MY WORK ORDER: "USING POWER PROBE FOUND VOLTAGE FROM FUEL PUMP TO LOW TO MAINTAIN PROPER FUEL PRESSURE. USING POWER PROBE ADDED VOLTAGE THROUGH M37 FUSE AND FOUND VEHICLE TO OPERATE AS INTENDED." THE REPAIR TOTALED TO $1,000. THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE $300+ REPAIR FOR THE TEMP. COOLANT SENSOR THAT DID NOT FIX THE ISSUE. THIS IS ABSURD TO BELIEVE THE TIPM IS RECALLED ON THE JEEP AND DURANGO BUT NOT THE CARAVAN WHEN IT CLEARLY IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUES IN MANY FORUMS ACROSS MANY WEBSITES. I CALLED CHRYSLER AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO SINCE MY VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THAT SPECIFIC PART IS NOT RECALLED. IT IS CLEAR CHRYSLER WILL NOT ATTEMPT TO FIX THE SITUATION UNTIL TOLD TO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2016 - PEORIA, IL
WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WILL SHUT OFF AT RANDOM TIMES. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE LAST 2 MONTHS. WE RECENTLY TOOK THE VEHICLE IN, BUT, THE PROBLEM DID NOT OCCUR WHILE THE REPAIR SHOP HAD IT, SO, THEY DID NOT REPLACE ANYTHING. THERE ARE NO SPECIFIC CIRCUMSTANCES THAT WILL CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGH SPEED ON THE INTERSTATE. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE 2008-2010 MODEL YEAR GRAND CARAVANS THAT HAVE SUFFERED THE SAME PROBLEM. THE RECALL ADDRESSES THE IGNITION SWITCH ON THOSE VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - SAN LORENZO, PR
CAR SHUTS OFF SUDDENLY UP (STALL WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY), LOST ALL POWER, BRAKE AND STEERING WHEEL ARE AFFECTED MAKE IMPOSSIBLE TO DRIVE SAFELY THE VEHICLE. THIS CAUSES PROBLEMS TO SAFELY PUT YOU OUT OFF THE ROAD. ALSO, WE HAVE PROBLEMS TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE IN THE MORNINGS, AND CONSUMES UP TO THE DEATH A NEW BATTERY CAR IN MONTHS (LESS THAN A YEAR). AS PER THE DODGE DEALER THIS PROBLEMS IS CAUSED DUE A FAULTY TIPM AND A BAD FUEL GAS PUMP. REPLACE BOTH WILL COST AROUND $2,000 USD. LOOKING OVER THE WEB THIS SECURITY THREAT IT IS A COMMON ISSUE FOR DODGE GRAND CARAVAN 2011-2012. GRAND CHEROKEE AND DURANGO FOR THE SAME YEARS HAVE RECALLS FOR THIS SITUATION, BUT NOT THE GRAND CARAVAN. THIS IS A SECURITY ISSUE DOCUMENTED FOR THE CHEROKEE AND THE DURANGO THAT SHOULD APPLY TO THE GRAND CARAVAN AS IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM. I HOPE THAT YOUR AGENCY WILL BE ABLE TO INTERVENE WITH THIS SERIOUS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - SAN LORENZO, PR
CAR SHUTS OFF SUDDENLY UP (STALL WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY), LOST ALL POWER, BRAKE AND STEERING WHEEL ARE AFFECTED MAKE IMPOSSIBLE TO DRIVE SAFELY THE VEHICLE. THIS CAUSES PROBLEMS TO SAFELY PUT YOU OUT OFF THE ROAD. ALSO, WE HAVE PROBLEMS TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE IN THE MORNINGS, AND CONSUMES UP TO THE DEATH A NEW BATTERY CAR IN MONTHS (LESS THAN A YEAR). AS PER THE DODGE DEALER THIS PROBLEMS IS CAUSED DUE A FAULTY TIPM AND A BAD FUEL GAS PUMP. REPLACE BOTH WILL COST AROUND $2,000 USD. LOOKING OVER THE WEB THIS SECURITY THREAT IT IS A COMMON ISSUE FOR DODGE GRAND CARAVAN 2011-2012. GRAND CHEROKEE AND DURANGO FOR THE SAME YEARS HAVE RECALLS FOR THIS SITUATION, BUT NOT THE GRAND CARAVAN. THIS IS A SECURITY ISSUE DOCUMENTED FOR THE CHEROKEE AND THE DURANGO THAT SHOULD APPLY TO THE GRAND CARAVAN AS IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM. I HOPE THAT YOUR AGENCY WILL BE ABLE TO INTERVENE WITH THIS SERIOUS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2016 - BRIGANTINE, NJ
FOR OVER A YEAR HAVE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE RECALL P25/ NHTSA 14V-234 REMEDIATED AT LOCAL DEALER SPOT DODGE IN PLEASENTVILLE NJ. EACH TIME THERE IS AN EXCUSE AND THE PROMISE OF A CALL WHEN THE RECALL CAN BE COMPLETED. TO DATE HAVE NEVER RECEIVED A CALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
DON'T BUY DODGE GRAND CARAVAN 2011 TO 2015 THEY HAVE MAJOR PROBLEM WITH ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION ENGINE 3.6L MAKING TICKING SOUND FIX IT ON WARRANTY AND AFTER 40,000 MILES I HAVE SAME PROBLEM TICKING FROM ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION IN TRAFIC JERKING ENGINE HAD RECALL ON HEADS STILL HAS PROBLEMS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds