Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Structure (12) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - LANSING, MI
THE 2011 DODGE CARAVAN HAS A DEFECTIVE REAR VIEW CAMERA SCREEN - THE SCREEN CANNOT BE SEEN - WHEN THERE BRIGHT SUN....WHICH CAUSES A PROBLEM WHEN TRYING TO BACK UP...YOU CAN'T SEE WHATS BEHIND YOU...IT WILL CAUSE ACCIDENTS AND INJURIES... THE SCREEN IS TILTED WRONG...AND NEEDS A COVER... SEVERAL ATTEMPS TO BRIGHTEN THE SCREEN HAVE FAILED....

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
I HAVE A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN WITH ABOUT 52,000 MILES ON IT. ON DAY THE RADIO JUST WENT OFF AND THEN TURNED BACK ON. IT DID THIS MULTIPLE TIMES BEFORE WE SENT IT IN TO THE SHOP. THEN ONE DAY IT IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD TURN OVER BUT WOULD NOT FIRE UNTIL I TRIED IT 6 TO 10 TIMES AND THEN IT WOULD START. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER FOR A MISFIRE IN CYLINDER #2 ( RECALL ON LEFT HEAD) BUT IT STARTED ALL THE TIME FOR THEM, UNTIL I WENT TO LEAVE, AND THEN NO START. THE TECH WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE IT AND SAID WE WOULD TROUBLE SHOOT IT. A WEEK LATER THEY CALLED AND SAID IT IS MORE THEN LIKELY THE TIPM CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND THE PART IS BACKORDER NATIONALLY AND WOULD COST ME $1037 PLUS TAX FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR. IF IT IS BACK ORDERED THEN THERE IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I HOPE THEY ISSUE A RECALL SOON SO I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
I HAVE A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN WITH ABOUT 52,000 MILES ON IT. ON DAY THE RADIO JUST WENT OFF AND THEN TURNED BACK ON. IT DID THIS MULTIPLE TIMES BEFORE WE SENT IT IN TO THE SHOP. THEN ONE DAY IT IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD TURN OVER BUT WOULD NOT FIRE UNTIL I TRIED IT 6 TO 10 TIMES AND THEN IT WOULD START. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER FOR A MISFIRE IN CYLINDER #2 ( RECALL ON LEFT HEAD) BUT IT STARTED ALL THE TIME FOR THEM, UNTIL I WENT TO LEAVE, AND THEN NO START. THE TECH WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE IT AND SAID WE WOULD TROUBLE SHOOT IT. A WEEK LATER THEY CALLED AND SAID IT IS MORE THEN LIKELY THE TIPM CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND THE PART IS BACKORDER NATIONALLY AND WOULD COST ME $1037 PLUS TAX FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR. IF IT IS BACK ORDERED THEN THERE IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I HOPE THEY ISSUE A RECALL SOON SO I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/16/2014 - SPENCERPORT, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATIONS FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V315000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT THE RECALLS HAD EXCEEDED THE REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. PAM

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/27/2014 - TEMPERANCE , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEEL CABLE ATTACHED TO THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT FRACTURED. AS A RESULT, THE SEAT BELT COULD NOT FUNCTION AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/12/2014 - ITHACA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HATCH BACK DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ENGAGING THE KEY LESS ENTRY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATELY MILEAGE AT TIME OF FAILURE WAS 53,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

6/12/2014 - ITHACA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HATCH BACK DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ENGAGING THE KEY LESS ENTRY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATELY MILEAGE AT TIME OF FAILURE WAS 53,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/3/2014 - LITTLE ROCK, AR
I WOULD OCCASIONALLY SMELL SMOKE WHILE DRIVING THE FIRST FEW TIMES IT HAPPENED I PULLED OVER BUT NOTICED NO OBVIOUS SMOKE COMING FROM ANYWHERE, THIS WAS NEVER A CONSISTENT ONGOING PROBLEM MEANING I DON'T SMELL IT DAILY. SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING AT MAYBE 40 MPH IF I GIVE IT A LITTLE MORE GAS TO SPEED UP A LITTLE IT WOULD SPEED UP MORE THAN I THOUGHT IT SHOULD. WHEN UNPLUGGING THE USB CORD INTO THE BOARD FOR MUSIC I CAN HEAR A LOUD NOISE THAT TYPICALLY IS ASSOCIATED WITH ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. MOST RECENTLY MY A/C HAS BEGAN COMING ON AUTOMATICALLY, THIS BEGAN LAST WEEK AND HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 5 TIMES SO FAR. SINCE THE A/C ISSUE I GOT ONLINE TO GOGGLE AD SEARCH FOR POSSIBLE RECALLS. I PLACED A CALL WITH A LOCAL DODGE DEALER TO EXPLAIN THE ISSUES I'M HAVING AND ASK ABOUT A RECALL, I WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD RETURN MY CALL BUT HAS NOT. THIS VAN HAS A RAMP INSTALLED IN IT AND IS USED TO TRANSPORT MY DAUGHTER WHO HAS SPECIAL NEEDS. I NEED THIS RESOLVED ASAP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2014 - LITTLE ROCK, AR
I WOULD OCCASIONALLY SMELL SMOKE WHILE DRIVING THE FIRST FEW TIMES IT HAPPENED I PULLED OVER BUT NOTICED NO OBVIOUS SMOKE COMING FROM ANYWHERE, THIS WAS NEVER A CONSISTENT ONGOING PROBLEM MEANING I DON'T SMELL IT DAILY. SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING AT MAYBE 40 MPH IF I GIVE IT A LITTLE MORE GAS TO SPEED UP A LITTLE IT WOULD SPEED UP MORE THAN I THOUGHT IT SHOULD. WHEN UNPLUGGING THE USB CORD INTO THE BOARD FOR MUSIC I CAN HEAR A LOUD NOISE THAT TYPICALLY IS ASSOCIATED WITH ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. MOST RECENTLY MY A/C HAS BEGAN COMING ON AUTOMATICALLY, THIS BEGAN LAST WEEK AND HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 5 TIMES SO FAR. SINCE THE A/C ISSUE I GOT ONLINE TO GOGGLE AD SEARCH FOR POSSIBLE RECALLS. I PLACED A CALL WITH A LOCAL DODGE DEALER TO EXPLAIN THE ISSUES I'M HAVING AND ASK ABOUT A RECALL, I WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD RETURN MY CALL BUT HAS NOT. THIS VAN HAS A RAMP INSTALLED IN IT AND IS USED TO TRANSPORT MY DAUGHTER WHO HAS SPECIAL NEEDS. I NEED THIS RESOLVED ASAP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/2/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN TRYING TO STOP OR SLOW DOWN, STEERING WHEEL VIBRATES SO MUCH IT FEELS LIKE I WON'T BE ABLE TO HOLD ONTO IT. MY SON REPLACED THE ROTOR AND PADS ON FRONT BRAKES AS THEY SEEMED WORN. THEN IN APRIL 2014 WE TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER BECAUSE BRAKES WERE GRINDING. THEY REPLACED ROTOR AND PADS AND THINGS SEEMED OK UNTIL MAY, WHEN BRAKES STARTED SQUEALING AND STEERING WHEEL VIBRATING AGAIN WHILE BRAKING.. TOOK CAR BACK TO DEALER ON MAY 21, AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK BRAKES, ROTATE TIRES, AND CHANGE OIL. THEY SAID BRAKES WERE IN THE "GREEN". STILL HAVING VIBRATION OF STEERING WHEEL WHILE BRAKING, SO I ASKED TO BRING IT IN FOR ANOTHER CHECK, AND NOW THEY SAY THE NEW ROTORS, (ABOUT 2 MONTHS OLD) SHOW SIGNS OF SIGNIFICANT WEAR. THEY ASKED ME IF I DROVE WITH BOTH FEET, AND I DO NOT. THEY VERIFIED MY COMPLAINT OF VIBRATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL, AND ASKED ME TO BRING THE CAR BACK IN ON THIS COMING FRIDAY. THE BRAKES SHOULD NOT BE WEARING OUT THIS QUICKLY...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds