Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 246 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (19) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (168) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2016 - LOS FRESNOS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED APPROXIMATELY FIVE TO TEN TIMES INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED, THE BATTERY BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2016 - WINTER SPRINGS, FL
DODGE DEALERSHIP FINALLY DIAGNOSED MY FAULTY TIPM IN MY 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW AND STARTED HAVING STARTING ISSUES WHILE PARKED AT ABOUT 15K MILES ALL THE WAY UP TO PRESENT MILEAGE OF 70K MILES. ORIGINALLY WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED IN THE IGNITION I WOULD GET NOTHING, JUST A VERY QUICK HALF TURN OF THE MOTOR (NO TRUE CRANKING). THIS STRANGE ELECTRICAL SHORT WOULD SELF RESOLVE AFTER 15 MINUTES AND THEN CARAVAN WOULD STARTUP. THIS ISSUE PROGRESSIVELY BECAME MORE FREQUENT AS THE MILES WERE ADDED RACKED UP ON THE VEHICLE. NOW AT 70K MILES THE CARAVAN WILL ONLY CRANK BUT NOT START UP. WHEN IT DOES START IT WILL STUTTER AND THEN STALL OUT. EVENTUALLY I WILL BE ABLE TO GET IT TO START BUT IT WILL FEEL HESITANT AT TIMES WHILE DRIVING IT. THIS HARD START HAS BEEN OCCURRING ALMOST TIME I TRY TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE NOW. THE DEALERSHIP WAS FINALLY ABLE TO REPLICATE IT NOW AT 70K MILES (BECAUSE IT IS A GUARANTEED TO OCCUR) AS OPPOSED TO WHEN IT WAS VERY INTERMITTENT AND UNPREDICTABLE. OF COURSE NOW THAT I'M OUT OF WARRANTY IT WILL COST ME $1400 FOR A NEW TIPM OR THE OTHER OPTION PROPOSED IS TO CUT MY ELECTRICAL WIRING AND SOLDER A STANDALONE RELAY TO BYPASS THE INTERNAL RELAY INSIDE THE FAULTY TIPM AT A RATE OF $500. AS EVIDENCED BY INTERNET RESEARCH, THIS ISSUE IS RAMPANT ACROSS THE CHRYSLER/DODGE PRODUCT LINE AND I'M SURPRISED THAT THIS IS NOT A VOLUNTARY RECALL ALREADY. I SEE THAT IT IS IN LITIGATION AT THE MOMENT AS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/9/2016 - NEW HAVEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT FIND A FAILURE CODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2016 - MILTON, FL
THE VAN SIMPLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. I WAS ON A 6 LANE HIGHWAY GOING 40 MPH AND THE ENGINE SHUTDOWN. ALL ELECTRICAL INCLUDING THE DASH QUIT WORKING. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR. SEVERAL MILES DOWN THE ROAD IT HAPPENED AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2016 - GLENWOOD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A LOUD SOUND. THE CONTACT LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE OWNER REPLACED THE BATTERY, BUT AN ABNORMAL NOISE RECURRED A FEW DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND PROVIDED NO REPAIR SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2016 - GLENWOOD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A LOUD SOUND. THE CONTACT LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT THE BATTERY EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE OWNER REPLACED THE BATTERY, BUT AN ABNORMAL NOISE RECURRED A FEW DAYS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND PROVIDED NO REPAIR SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2016 - LEVITTOWN, PA
VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING ON THE TURNPIKE. STARTED AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. DAYS LATER WOULDN'T START IN DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2016 - LORAIN, OH
MALFUNCTIONING TIPM WITH RANDOM OPENING OF WINDOWS AND SLIDING DOOR, INABILITY TO START ENGINE. THIS MODEL SHOULD BE INCLUDED WITH OTHER CHRYSLER MODELS UNDER RECALL. THE INTERNET IS FULL OF ANECDOTAL EVIDENCE THE MOST CONCERNING IS LOSS OF POWER/STALLING WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I'M THE LATEST VICTIM AND UNHAPPY WITH NHSTA RESPONSE TO COMPLAINTS. CAR STATIONARY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/2/2016 - VANCE, AL
THE VAN TRIES TO START BUT IT NEVER TURNS OVER. I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT AROUND 70 MPH AND THE VAN STALLS OUT. I WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CALLED A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER. DEALER STATED THAT I NEED A TIPM MODULE AND IT WAS GOING TO COST $1500. THIS IS THE SAME MODULE THAT WAS ISSUED A RECALL ON TWO OTHER DODGE VEHICLES. THIS IS THE SAME MODULE!! THIS NEEDS TO BE ISSUED A RECALL AS WELL. I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY THOUGHT THAT PUTTING THE SAME MODULE IN A RECALLED VEHICLE THE SAME PROBLEM WOULDN'T ARISE. THIS IS BS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
THE CAR HAS BEEN SHUTTING OFF WHILE MY WIFE IS DRIVING WITH MY KIDS IN THE CAR. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE NOW FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. I JUST GOT MY CAR BACK YESTERDAY 6/28/16 AFTER THE DEALERSHIP HAD BEEN WORKING ON IT FOR A MONTH AND HALF. WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING TODAY 6/29/16 THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. IT HAPPENS SUDDENLY WITHOUT ANY WARNING SO THERE IS NO WAY FOR HER TO PULL OVER, SHE HAS TO REMOVE THE IGNITION KEY RIGHT WHERE SHE IS AT AND THEN TURN THE CAR BACK ON. THIS IS VERY CONCERNING BECAUSE IT CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT SINCE THERE IS NO WAY OF TELLING WHEN THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF. I HAVE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE WITH SAME PROBLEM. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THIS VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds