Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Structure (12) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/13/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE REPEATEDLY AND IT FAILED TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES; HOWEVER, SHE WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FAILURE COULD POSSIBLY BE CONTRIBUTED TO THE FUEL PUMP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000. RK

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/5/2014 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. ONCE STARTED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AND WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE WAS FAULTY AND CAUSED THE FUEL PUMP TO MALFUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BECAUSE THE NECESSARY PART WAS ON BACK ORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. ONCE STARTED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AND WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE WAS FAULTY AND CAUSED THE FUEL PUMP TO MALFUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BECAUSE THE NECESSARY PART WAS ON BACK ORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/4/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
AFTER ARRIVING HOME FROM A 5 MILE TRIP, AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES OF DRIVING, PULLED IN DRIVEWAY, TURNED OFF VEHICLE, SAW SMOKE COMING FROM BUTTON ON AC UNIT WHICH CONTROLS THE SPEED OF AIRFLOW FOR THE AC. THE SMOKE INCREASED, SMELLED OF CHEMICALS AND WAS CLEARLY AN ELECTRICAL FIRE BURNING THROUGH AC KNOB. FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED. DASH REMOVED. FIRE WAS RECREATED BY FIREMAN TWICE. AC FUSES WERE DISCONNECTED FROM BATTERY BY FIREMAN. VAN WAS TOWED BY AAA TO DODGE DEALERSHIP FOR FURTHER INSPECTION/REPAIR. RENTAL CAR WAS PROVIDED BY DODGE AND COVERED FOR 5 DAYS. TODAY IS THE 5TH DAY AND DODGE IS STILL WORKING ON CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
AFTER ARRIVING HOME FROM A 5 MILE TRIP, AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES OF DRIVING, PULLED IN DRIVEWAY, TURNED OFF VEHICLE, SAW SMOKE COMING FROM BUTTON ON AC UNIT WHICH CONTROLS THE SPEED OF AIRFLOW FOR THE AC. THE SMOKE INCREASED, SMELLED OF CHEMICALS AND WAS CLEARLY AN ELECTRICAL FIRE BURNING THROUGH AC KNOB. FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED. DASH REMOVED. FIRE WAS RECREATED BY FIREMAN TWICE. AC FUSES WERE DISCONNECTED FROM BATTERY BY FIREMAN. VAN WAS TOWED BY AAA TO DODGE DEALERSHIP FOR FURTHER INSPECTION/REPAIR. RENTAL CAR WAS PROVIDED BY DODGE AND COVERED FOR 5 DAYS. TODAY IS THE 5TH DAY AND DODGE IS STILL WORKING ON CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - MASON, MI
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH. CHARGING LIGHT CAME ON. TESTED AT PARTS STORE AND PROBLEM IDENTIFIED AS ALTERNATOR. ONLY AFTERMARKET AVAILABLE WAS A MOPAR AND COST $400. FELL THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW AS THE CAR IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD WITH 60K MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2014 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
IN MY 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, WHILE TURNING THE KEY TO THE ON POSITION TO START THE CAR THE KEY GETS STUCK IN THE STARTING/ON POSITION MAKING THE CAR NOT TURN OVER BUT MAKE NOISE AS IF IM TRYING TO START THE CAR, WHILE ITS ALREADY STARTED & IT'S NOT. I PHYSICALLY HAVE TO TURN THE KEY BACK TO THE OFF POSITION BECAUSE IT WON'T SNAP BACK BY ITSELF. & KEEP TRYING AGAIN UNTIL IT WILL FINALLY START. ALSO WHILE DRIVING THE CAR, IT WILL SHUT OFF WITH NO WARNING CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING, LEAVING ME TO FORCE THE CAR TO A SAFE ZONE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TRY TO TURN THE CAR ON. WHILE GOOGLEING THIS PROBLEM I SEE THERES A PROBLEM WITH THE WIND MODULAR/DETENT RING/IGNITON SWITCH BEING RECALLED IN 2008-2010 MODELS. I TOOK IT TO DODGE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT EXPLAINED THE PROBLEM AND THEY RAN A DIAGNOSIS, AND THEY CLEANED OUT THE IGNITION SWITCH AND UPDATED THE SYSTEM,AND TOLD ME TO REMOVE MY CAR KEY FROM MY KEY CHAIN AND THEN TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR. EVERYDAY SINCE THEN THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORST. AND NATURALLY I'M OUTSIDE OF MY 36,000 LIMITED WARRANTY BY 2 MONTHS BY DATE AND 10 MILES OVER. (P.S) THIS SEEMS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM THAT I SEEN IN THE NEWS THAT GM ORIGINALLY KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM SINCE 2001 AND MY CAR IS A 2011 AND HERE IT IS 2014 WITH OVER 31 CRASHES AND 13 DEATHS OVER FAULTY IGNITION SWITCHES AND GM STILL CONTINUES TO PUT NOT ONLY MY FAMILY LIVES AT RISK BUT MANY OTHERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - LANSING, MI
THE 2011 DODGE CARAVAN HAS A DEFECTIVE REAR VIEW CAMERA SCREEN - THE SCREEN CANNOT BE SEEN - WHEN THERE BRIGHT SUN....WHICH CAUSES A PROBLEM WHEN TRYING TO BACK UP...YOU CAN'T SEE WHATS BEHIND YOU...IT WILL CAUSE ACCIDENTS AND INJURIES... THE SCREEN IS TILTED WRONG...AND NEEDS A COVER... SEVERAL ATTEMPS TO BRIGHTEN THE SCREEN HAVE FAILED....

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
I HAVE A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN WITH ABOUT 52,000 MILES ON IT. ON DAY THE RADIO JUST WENT OFF AND THEN TURNED BACK ON. IT DID THIS MULTIPLE TIMES BEFORE WE SENT IT IN TO THE SHOP. THEN ONE DAY IT IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD TURN OVER BUT WOULD NOT FIRE UNTIL I TRIED IT 6 TO 10 TIMES AND THEN IT WOULD START. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER FOR A MISFIRE IN CYLINDER #2 ( RECALL ON LEFT HEAD) BUT IT STARTED ALL THE TIME FOR THEM, UNTIL I WENT TO LEAVE, AND THEN NO START. THE TECH WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE IT AND SAID WE WOULD TROUBLE SHOOT IT. A WEEK LATER THEY CALLED AND SAID IT IS MORE THEN LIKELY THE TIPM CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND THE PART IS BACKORDER NATIONALLY AND WOULD COST ME $1037 PLUS TAX FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR. IF IT IS BACK ORDERED THEN THERE IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I HOPE THEY ISSUE A RECALL SOON SO I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - HUMBLE, TX
I HAVE A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN WITH ABOUT 52,000 MILES ON IT. ON DAY THE RADIO JUST WENT OFF AND THEN TURNED BACK ON. IT DID THIS MULTIPLE TIMES BEFORE WE SENT IT IN TO THE SHOP. THEN ONE DAY IT IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD TURN OVER BUT WOULD NOT FIRE UNTIL I TRIED IT 6 TO 10 TIMES AND THEN IT WOULD START. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER FOR A MISFIRE IN CYLINDER #2 ( RECALL ON LEFT HEAD) BUT IT STARTED ALL THE TIME FOR THEM, UNTIL I WENT TO LEAVE, AND THEN NO START. THE TECH WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE IT AND SAID WE WOULD TROUBLE SHOOT IT. A WEEK LATER THEY CALLED AND SAID IT IS MORE THEN LIKELY THE TIPM CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND THE PART IS BACKORDER NATIONALLY AND WOULD COST ME $1037 PLUS TAX FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR. IF IT IS BACK ORDERED THEN THERE IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT. I HOPE THEY ISSUE A RECALL SOON SO I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds