Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 83 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Structure (13) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2014 - COVINGTON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO START. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) FAILED INTERMITTENTLY, BUT THE SPECIFICS OF THE FAILURE WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED 10 MINUTES LATER. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE MALFUNCTIONED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2014 - YPSILANTI, MI
ON THANKSGIVING MORNING 2014, ME AND MY FAMILY WENT OUT TO GO TO VISIT FAMILY FOR THANKSGIVING DINNER, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD CRANK AND CRANK, BUT NEVER COME CLOSE TO TURNING OVER. THE GAS TANK WAS FULL, THE BATTERY WAS FINE, BUT CLEARLY IT WASN'T GETTING GAS. WE OBVIOUSLY COULDN'T GO ANYWHERE. AFTER USING OUR OTHER VEHICLE, WE MANAGED TO MAKE IT TO DINNER (THOUGH OBVIOUSLY LATE). THE NEXT DAY, I HAD THE CAR TOWED IN, AND SEVERAL DAYS LATER WHEN THE DEALERSHIP FINALLY HAD THE TIME TO ANALYZE WHAT WAS WRONG, I WAS NOTIFIED OF THE TIPM PROBLEM. SO FAR, IT'S BEEN NEARLY A WEEK AND THERE IS STILL NO FURTHER NEWS ON WHEN WE CAN GET IT FIXED. I'VE BEEN TOLD THERE ARE ONLY 300 TIPM'S IN THE COUNTRY AND THAT THEY ARE UNSURE WHEN THEY CAN GET THE PART. THUS FAR, I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY MY EXTENDED WARRANTY, AND THAT THE PART IS "APPROXIMATELY" $700 AND LABOR WOULD BE "ABOUT" $200, SO I DON'T YET KNOW WHAT IT'LL COST. I DO KNOW THAT IT WILL COST ME $50 FOR THE WARRANTY DEDUCTIBLE. WHILE THAT IS NOT A LARGE AMOUNT, THE MORE TROUBLING ISSUE IS THAT I'M NOW PAYING FOR THE LOAN AND INSURANCE ON A VEHICLE THAT I CANNOT USE FOR REASONS THAT WERE ENTIRELY OUT OF MY CONTROL AND FOR A PERIOD OF TIME THAT IS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/3/2014 - HIGH RIDGE, MO
ABOUT A YEAR AGO THE VEHICLE STARTED SPORADICALLY NOT COMING ON. BATTERY WAS REPLACED, THAT WAS NOT THE ISSUE, ALTERNATOR WAS TESTED, THAT WAS NOT THE ISSUEàABOUT 3-4 MONTHS AGO THE PROBLEM GOT MUCH WORSE AND WOULD SOMETIMES TAKE 2-5 ATTEMPTS BEFORE THE CAR WOULD START. SOMETIMES IT WOULD START THEN IMMEDIATELY STALL. LAST WEEK IT JUST STOPPED RUNNING; WOULD NOT TURN ON AT ALL. TURNS OUT IT IS THE TIPM THAT HAS GONE BAD NOT ALLOWING THE FUEL RELAY TO WORK PROPERLY. THE PART IS AROUND $1200 TO REPLACE, IF YOU CAN EVEN FIND ONE. CHRYSLER/DODGE HAS RECALLED THIS IN VARIOUS OTHER VEHICLES BUT STILL REFUSES TO RECALL IT IN THE 2011-2012 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WE HAVE FRIENDS WHO ALSO HAVE A 2011 GRAND CARAVAN AND WERE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS BEFORE US. THEIR DEALER REPLACE ALL SORTS OF OTHER PARTS ON THE CAR BEFORE THEY TOOK IT TO A SHOP THAT TOLD THEM IT WAS THE TIPM; THE DODGE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY DOUBTED THAT WAS THE ISSUE BUT IF IT WAS THEY WOULD REPLACE IT FOR THEM AT NO COST. GUESS WHAT? IT TURNS OUT THAT WAS THE ISSUE AND NOW IT HAS BEEN REPLACED AND THEY HAVE NOT HAD AN ISSUE SINCE. I HAVE SINCE, AFTER MUCH RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET, MADE A BYPASS FOR THE VEHICLE; WHICH WILL WORK TEMPORARILY BUT IT WILL NOT BE A PERMANENT FIX. I WANT THEM TO FIX MY VEHICLE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - WAKE FOREST, NC
VEHICLE WILL NOT START AND WILL STOP WHILE DRIVING. THREE DIFFERENT BATTERIES HAVE BEEN DRAINED TO THE POINT OF GOING BAD. DODGE SERVICE CENTER HAS IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM AS A FAULTY TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - SEALE, AL
BASES ON WHAT I FOUND WITH MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND ONLINE MY VAN A A FAULTY TIPM. DODGE CURRENTLY HAS A RECALL OUT FOR OTHER VEHICLE WITH A BAD TIPM BUT CLAIMS MY VAN IN NOT AFFECTED BY IT. MY VAN HAS HARD STARTS OR IT WILL START THE STALL. IT TAKES ABOUT 8-10 TIMES BEFORE IT WILL START AND STAY RUNNING. ALSO MY FUEL PUMP WILL STAY RUNNING EVEN AFTER I TAKE THE KEY OUT. IF I DO NOT REMOVE THE FUEL PUMP FUSE THE PUMP WILL UNTIL THE BATTERY DIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - SEALE, AL
BASES ON WHAT I FOUND WITH MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND ONLINE MY VAN A A FAULTY TIPM. DODGE CURRENTLY HAS A RECALL OUT FOR OTHER VEHICLE WITH A BAD TIPM BUT CLAIMS MY VAN IN NOT AFFECTED BY IT. MY VAN HAS HARD STARTS OR IT WILL START THE STALL. IT TAKES ABOUT 8-10 TIMES BEFORE IT WILL START AND STAY RUNNING. ALSO MY FUEL PUMP WILL STAY RUNNING EVEN AFTER I TAKE THE KEY OUT. IF I DO NOT REMOVE THE FUEL PUMP FUSE THE PUMP WILL UNTIL THE BATTERY DIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - OWENSBORO, KY
AFTER BEING TOLD BY THE DEALER OUR VAN WOULDN'T START DUE TO THE ALTERNATOR, WE DECIDED TO HAVE THE ALTERNATOR LOOKED AT. THE OTHER MECHANIC FOUND NOTHING TO BE WRONG WITH THE ALTERNATOR. THE DEALER ALSO SAID WE NEEDED OUR FUEL PUMP REPLACED. WE HAVE HAD OTHER VEHICLES THAT NEEDED FUEL PUMPS REPLACED AND WHEN THE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT WE WERE NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT AT ALL. MY HUSBAND WAS AT AN APPOINTMENT AND AFTER TURNING OFF VAN HE HEARD SOMETHING RUNNING. THE SOUND WAS TRACKED TO THE FUEL PUMP. SO THE DEALER WASTED OUR TIME AND MONEY ALL THE TIME TRYING TO HAVE US REPLACE PARTS THAT WOULD NOT HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. AFTER CALLING AND TRYING TO GET A FUEL PUMP REGULATOR WE DISCOVERED THE FUEL PUMP REGULATOR IS BUILT INTO THE TIPM. WE HAVE A FAULTY TIPM. I WISH DODGE WOULD GET OFF THEIR BUTT AND ISSUE A RECALL ALREADY. THE ONLY WAY A CAN SHUT THE FUEL PUMP OFF IS TO UNHOOK THE BATTERY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - OWENSBORO, KY
AFTER BEING TOLD BY THE DEALER OUR VAN WOULDN'T START DUE TO THE ALTERNATOR, WE DECIDED TO HAVE THE ALTERNATOR LOOKED AT. THE OTHER MECHANIC FOUND NOTHING TO BE WRONG WITH THE ALTERNATOR. THE DEALER ALSO SAID WE NEEDED OUR FUEL PUMP REPLACED. WE HAVE HAD OTHER VEHICLES THAT NEEDED FUEL PUMPS REPLACED AND WHEN THE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT WE WERE NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT AT ALL. MY HUSBAND WAS AT AN APPOINTMENT AND AFTER TURNING OFF VAN HE HEARD SOMETHING RUNNING. THE SOUND WAS TRACKED TO THE FUEL PUMP. SO THE DEALER WASTED OUR TIME AND MONEY ALL THE TIME TRYING TO HAVE US REPLACE PARTS THAT WOULD NOT HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. AFTER CALLING AND TRYING TO GET A FUEL PUMP REGULATOR WE DISCOVERED THE FUEL PUMP REGULATOR IS BUILT INTO THE TIPM. WE HAVE A FAULTY TIPM. I WISH DODGE WOULD GET OFF THEIR BUTT AND ISSUE A RECALL ALREADY. THE ONLY WAY A CAN SHUT THE FUEL PUMP OFF IS TO UNHOOK THE BATTERY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/14/2014 - RICHMOND, KY
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND MY CAR JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHICH IS VERY DIFFICULT BECAUSE THE POWER STEERING DOESN'T WORK ONCE IT DIES. I HAD JUST LEFT MY HOUSE, HADN'T DROVE 1/2 MILE. I ALSO TOOK MY VEHICLE THIS MORNING TO HAVE THE BATTERY, ALTERNATOR AND STARTER CHECKED BECAUSE IT HAS A TENDENCY TO NOT WANT TO START. IT WILL JUST MAKE THE NOISE LIKE IT'S TURNING OVER AND TAKE ABOUT 5-6 TRIES BEFORE IT WILL TURN OVER. PLEASE INCLUDE 2011 MODELS IN YOUR IGNITION RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT FROM THERE VEHICLE DYING WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. I GOT LUCKY I WAS STILL IN MY SUB DIVISION AND NOT ON THE MAIN ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds