Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 347 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (1) Power Train (27) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (227) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (69) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (16) Tires (6) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/29/2018 - CANFIELS, OH
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND WAS TAKEN TO HAASZ AUTOMALL OF RAVENNA (4886 OH-59, RAVENNA, OH 44266, 330-296-2866) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED A MORE EXTENSIVE TEST, BUT THE CONTACT DECLINED TO PAY THE HIGH COST FOR THE TEST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 75,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/23/2018 - CHICAGO, IL
MY VAN SEEMED TO HAVE A MIND OF ITS OWN. STARTING SOMETIMES THEN MORE AND MORE OFTEN NOT STARTING! I WENT TO 4 DIFFERENT MECHANICS AND WAS REPEATEDLY TOLD THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG. EVENTUALLY, I WAS BRINGING MY VAN INTO A DEALERSHIP TO FIX A RECALL AND WHILE THERE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY VANS TIPM IS THE PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED! THIS WOULDN'T BE A PROBLEM WITH ME IF MY EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERED IT, IT DOESN'T! THIS TIPM DEAL COST $1480.00 DOLLARS! I CAN'T AFFORD ANYWHERE NEAR$1480.00 DOLLARS AND NOW IT'S IN THE SHOP NOT STARTING AT ALL! WHAT CAN I DO? HOW IS THIS NOT RECALLED WITH SO MANY CASES? IS THERE REALLY NO ONE WHO CAN HELP?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2018 - LEBANON, OR
TIPM FAILING. WE BEGAN HAVING ISSUES WITH WHAT WAS THOUGHT TO BE FUEL PUMP AND HAVE HAD THE CAR IN THE SHOP TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP WITHOUT RESOLUTION. I WAS RECENTLY DRIVING AND HAD THE CAR SHUT OFF ON A 55MPH ZONE OF A HIGHWAY WITH 3 KIDS PLUS MYSELF AND HUSBAND IN THE CAR FOR 45 MINUTES BLOCKING A LANE OF TRAFFIC WHILE WAITING TO BE TOWED. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR STRAND US IN VARIOUS LOCATIONS 5 TIMES SINCE WE BOUGHT THE CAR 08/17. WE HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING THAT IT LOOKS TO BE THE TIPM THAT IS MALFUNCTIONING AND CAUSING THE FUEL PUMP TO RUN RANDOMLY, SOMETIMES CONTINUOUSLY FOR HOURS DRAINING THE BATTERY, OR STOP RUNNING CAUSING THE CAR TO DIE DUE TO LACK OF FUEL WHILE HAVING ALL HEADLIGHTS, WIPES AND INTERIOR LIGHTS FUNCTIONING. THE TIPM HAS CAUSED ME TO BLOCK LANES OF TRAFFIC ON HIGHWAYS, BUSINESS DRIVEWAYS AND BE STUCK IN PARKING LOTS 60+ MILES FROM MY HOME DUE TO THE FUEL PUMP NOT SHUTTING OFF WHEN THE CAR IS TURNED OFF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/21/2018 - LEBANON, OR
TIPM FAILING. WE BEGAN HAVING ISSUES WITH WHAT WAS THOUGHT TO BE FUEL PUMP AND HAVE HAD THE CAR IN THE SHOP TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP WITHOUT RESOLUTION. I WAS RECENTLY DRIVING AND HAD THE CAR SHUT OFF ON A 55MPH ZONE OF A HIGHWAY WITH 3 KIDS PLUS MYSELF AND HUSBAND IN THE CAR FOR 45 MINUTES BLOCKING A LANE OF TRAFFIC WHILE WAITING TO BE TOWED. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR STRAND US IN VARIOUS LOCATIONS 5 TIMES SINCE WE BOUGHT THE CAR 08/17. WE HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING THAT IT LOOKS TO BE THE TIPM THAT IS MALFUNCTIONING AND CAUSING THE FUEL PUMP TO RUN RANDOMLY, SOMETIMES CONTINUOUSLY FOR HOURS DRAINING THE BATTERY, OR STOP RUNNING CAUSING THE CAR TO DIE DUE TO LACK OF FUEL WHILE HAVING ALL HEADLIGHTS, WIPES AND INTERIOR LIGHTS FUNCTIONING. THE TIPM HAS CAUSED ME TO BLOCK LANES OF TRAFFIC ON HIGHWAYS, BUSINESS DRIVEWAYS AND BE STUCK IN PARKING LOTS 60+ MILES FROM MY HOME DUE TO THE FUEL PUMP NOT SHUTTING OFF WHEN THE CAR IS TURNED OFF.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/21/2018 - LOCHLOOSA, FL
2011 DODGE CARAVAN PURCHASED 3/2017. MOTOR HAD A SLIGHT KNOCKING SOUND TOOK IT BACK TO DEALER THEY SENT ME TO THEIR MECHANIC. I WAS ASSURED THAT IT WAS FINE. THEN BRAKES WENT REALLY LOW AND DID NOT STOP RIGHT. TOLD IT WAS A MASTER CYLINDER.INSTALLED THAT THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN SO WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A BAD MASTER CYLINDER. INSTALLED ANOTHER ONE. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AFTER A FEW DAYS.????? THEN I WAS TOLD WE NEEDED A BRAKE BOOSTER. INSTALLED THAT AND IT DID SEEM LIKE THAT WAS IT FIXED, THEN THE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND BRAKE PEDAL WENT LOW. NOW IT HAS A VERY HORRIBLE SOUND AND THE TRANY AT TIMES DOES NOT WANT TO SHIFT AND THE RPM'S GO UP AND I HAVE TO PULL OVER AND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TURN IT BACK ON AND IT WILL SHIFT.???? ELECTRONICAL.??? I HAVE READ COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA AND I FEEL LIKE DODGE SHOULD REPAIR THE BRAKES AND THE TRANY PROBLEM. FROM WHAT I CAN READ IT IS A DEFECTIVE PART OF THE PROGRAMMING. THE HORRIBLE NOSIE WHEN YOU PULL OFF, I DONT KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT SOUNDS BAD.. I CALLED DODGE DEALERSHIP RIGHT AFTER I BOUGHT THE VAN AND THEY WERE VERY RUDE AND SAID THERE WERE NOT ANY RECALLS FOR THIS 2011 VAN AND I SEE THAT THERE IS AND SOME SAYS COMPLETE. WELL IF THEY ARE COMPLETE SEEMS TO ME LIKE IT NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN BECAUSE IT IS DOING WHAT I SEE THAT PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I OWE NEARLY 14,000 ON THIS VAN. . DOGE/CHRYSLER SHOULD MAKE IT GOOD. THE COMPLETE ON THE RECALLS LIKE I SAID IS NOT COMPLETE. PLEASE HELP ME IF YOU CAN. I DONT HAVE MUCH FAITH AFTER THE PERSON AT THE DODGE DEALERSHIP WAS SO RUDE TO ME, BUT MAYBE YOU ALL THERE CAN HELP ME GET IT REPAIRED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.THE WINDOWS SOMETIMES DONT WANT TO COME DOWN AND YALL HAVE SOMETHING ABOUT IT MIGHT CATCH ON FIRE.THE KEYBOB WILL NOT OPEN THE SIDE DOORS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2018 - LOCHLOOSA, FL
2011 DODGE CARAVAN PURCHASED 3/2017. MOTOR HAD A SLIGHT KNOCKING SOUND TOOK IT BACK TO DEALER THEY SENT ME TO THEIR MECHANIC. I WAS ASSURED THAT IT WAS FINE. THEN BRAKES WENT REALLY LOW AND DID NOT STOP RIGHT. TOLD IT WAS A MASTER CYLINDER.INSTALLED THAT THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN SO WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A BAD MASTER CYLINDER. INSTALLED ANOTHER ONE. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AFTER A FEW DAYS.????? THEN I WAS TOLD WE NEEDED A BRAKE BOOSTER. INSTALLED THAT AND IT DID SEEM LIKE THAT WAS IT FIXED, THEN THE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND BRAKE PEDAL WENT LOW. NOW IT HAS A VERY HORRIBLE SOUND AND THE TRANY AT TIMES DOES NOT WANT TO SHIFT AND THE RPM'S GO UP AND I HAVE TO PULL OVER AND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TURN IT BACK ON AND IT WILL SHIFT.???? ELECTRONICAL.??? I HAVE READ COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA AND I FEEL LIKE DODGE SHOULD REPAIR THE BRAKES AND THE TRANY PROBLEM. FROM WHAT I CAN READ IT IS A DEFECTIVE PART OF THE PROGRAMMING. THE HORRIBLE NOSIE WHEN YOU PULL OFF, I DONT KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT SOUNDS BAD.. I CALLED DODGE DEALERSHIP RIGHT AFTER I BOUGHT THE VAN AND THEY WERE VERY RUDE AND SAID THERE WERE NOT ANY RECALLS FOR THIS 2011 VAN AND I SEE THAT THERE IS AND SOME SAYS COMPLETE. WELL IF THEY ARE COMPLETE SEEMS TO ME LIKE IT NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN BECAUSE IT IS DOING WHAT I SEE THAT PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I OWE NEARLY 14,000 ON THIS VAN. . DOGE/CHRYSLER SHOULD MAKE IT GOOD. THE COMPLETE ON THE RECALLS LIKE I SAID IS NOT COMPLETE. PLEASE HELP ME IF YOU CAN. I DONT HAVE MUCH FAITH AFTER THE PERSON AT THE DODGE DEALERSHIP WAS SO RUDE TO ME, BUT MAYBE YOU ALL THERE CAN HELP ME GET IT REPAIRED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.THE WINDOWS SOMETIMES DONT WANT TO COME DOWN AND YALL HAVE SOMETHING ABOUT IT MIGHT CATCH ON FIRE.THE KEYBOB WILL NOT OPEN THE SIDE DOORS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2018 - LOCHLOOSA, FL
2011 DODGE CARAVAN PURCHASED 3/2017. MOTOR HAD A SLIGHT KNOCKING SOUND TOOK IT BACK TO DEALER THEY SENT ME TO THEIR MECHANIC. I WAS ASSURED THAT IT WAS FINE. THEN BRAKES WENT REALLY LOW AND DID NOT STOP RIGHT. TOLD IT WAS A MASTER CYLINDER.INSTALLED THAT THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN SO WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A BAD MASTER CYLINDER. INSTALLED ANOTHER ONE. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AFTER A FEW DAYS.????? THEN I WAS TOLD WE NEEDED A BRAKE BOOSTER. INSTALLED THAT AND IT DID SEEM LIKE THAT WAS IT FIXED, THEN THE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AND BRAKE PEDAL WENT LOW. NOW IT HAS A VERY HORRIBLE SOUND AND THE TRANY AT TIMES DOES NOT WANT TO SHIFT AND THE RPM'S GO UP AND I HAVE TO PULL OVER AND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND TURN IT BACK ON AND IT WILL SHIFT.???? ELECTRONICAL.??? I HAVE READ COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA AND I FEEL LIKE DODGE SHOULD REPAIR THE BRAKES AND THE TRANY PROBLEM. FROM WHAT I CAN READ IT IS A DEFECTIVE PART OF THE PROGRAMMING. THE HORRIBLE NOSIE WHEN YOU PULL OFF, I DONT KNOW WHAT IT IS BUT SOUNDS BAD.. I CALLED DODGE DEALERSHIP RIGHT AFTER I BOUGHT THE VAN AND THEY WERE VERY RUDE AND SAID THERE WERE NOT ANY RECALLS FOR THIS 2011 VAN AND I SEE THAT THERE IS AND SOME SAYS COMPLETE. WELL IF THEY ARE COMPLETE SEEMS TO ME LIKE IT NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN BECAUSE IT IS DOING WHAT I SEE THAT PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I OWE NEARLY 14,000 ON THIS VAN. . DOGE/CHRYSLER SHOULD MAKE IT GOOD. THE COMPLETE ON THE RECALLS LIKE I SAID IS NOT COMPLETE. PLEASE HELP ME IF YOU CAN. I DONT HAVE MUCH FAITH AFTER THE PERSON AT THE DODGE DEALERSHIP WAS SO RUDE TO ME, BUT MAYBE YOU ALL THERE CAN HELP ME GET IT REPAIRED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.THE WINDOWS SOMETIMES DONT WANT TO COME DOWN AND YALL HAVE SOMETHING ABOUT IT MIGHT CATCH ON FIRE.THE KEYBOB WILL NOT OPEN THE SIDE DOORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/15/2018 - CAMAS, WA
FAULTY FUEL PUMP RELAY IN TIPM CAUSING VEHICLE TO STALL OR NOT START AT ALL MECHANICE SAYS NEED NEW TIPM STALLED ON FREEWAY LUCKY TO DODGE TRAFFIC GET TO SIDE OF ROAD AND HAVE VEHICLE TOWED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2018 - ADDIS, LA
TRYING TO GET NEW KEY FOB PROGRAMMED IS UNSUCCESSFUL DUE TO PROBLEM WITH THE WIN MODULE. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR DODGE CARAVANS OR ANY VEHICLE WITH THE FOBIK SYSTEM MANUFACTURER BETWEEN 2008 AND 2016. LOCKSMITH SUGGEST THAT A NEW WIN MODULE BE INSTALLED WITH NEW KEY FOBS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2018 - TOLONO, IL
I STARTED HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH MY 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN LAST YEAR AROUND 107K MILES. STARTED WITH NEEDING A NEW ALTERNATOR & BATTERY, VAN WOULDN'T START. TWO MONTHS LATER, THE VAN ISN'T STARTING AGAIN AND THE MECHANIC RECOMMENDED TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP WHICH I DID. IT WAS STILL NOT STARTING AND THEY FOUND THAT THE TIPM WENT OUT AND I FULLY BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE LACK OF RECALLS FOR THE GRAND CARAVANS WHEN THE SAME YEAR OF DURGANOS AND JEEPS ARE BEING RECALLED FOR THE SAME THING!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds