Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (74) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (1) Structure (14) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/19/2015 - NEW BERN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND THE VEHICLE JUST SHUT DOWN, THE POWERING STEERING WENT OUT AND THE ENGINE STALLED WHICH WE LATER FOUND OUT WAS DUE TO THE FAULTY TIPM. WE HAD ALSO BEEN HAVING A FEW ISSUES WITH THE FUEL PUMP.....THE FUEL PUMP WAS NOT SHUTTING OFF AND ALL LEAD TO PROBLEMS WITH BEING ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO EVEN GET VEHICLE STARTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND THE VEHICLE JUST SHUT DOWN, THE POWERING STEERING WENT OUT AND THE ENGINE STALLED WHICH WE LATER FOUND OUT WAS DUE TO THE FAULTY TIPM. WE HAD ALSO BEEN HAVING A FEW ISSUES WITH THE FUEL PUMP.....THE FUEL PUMP WAS NOT SHUTTING OFF AND ALL LEAD TO PROBLEMS WITH BEING ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO EVEN GET VEHICLE STARTED.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND THE VEHICLE JUST SHUT DOWN, THE POWERING STEERING WENT OUT AND THE ENGINE STALLED WHICH WE LATER FOUND OUT WAS DUE TO THE FAULTY TIPM. WE HAD ALSO BEEN HAVING A FEW ISSUES WITH THE FUEL PUMP.....THE FUEL PUMP WAS NOT SHUTTING OFF AND ALL LEAD TO PROBLEMS WITH BEING ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO EVEN GET VEHICLE STARTED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/1/2015 - DUMFRIES, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH THE THIRD ROW REAR DRIVER'S SIDE PASSENGER ATTEMPTED TO ADJUST THE SEAT BELT. THE SEAT BELT BEGAN TO RETRACT AND FAILED TO UNBUCKLE. THE SEAT BELT HAD TO BE FRACTURED IN ORDER TO RELEASE THE PASSENGER. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED MINOR BRUISES ON THE ABDOMEN THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND SENT A SPECIAL INVESTIGATOR TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/30/2015 - ROCHESTER, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DISCONNECTED THE REAR WINDOW SWITCH AS A TEMPORARY REMEDY DUE TO THE PART NOT BEING AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2015 - ORVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2015 - AMBRIDGE , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/21/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
DRIVING HOME ON THE HIGHWAY MY 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN CREW DIED. TRAVELLING 60 MPH ON A SLIGHT INCLINE. ALL POWER SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. DASH LIGHTS/ACCEL./POWER STEERING ALL DIED. I STRUGGLED TO PULL TO THE SHOULDER AND TRIED TO RESTART 10 TIMES. IT WOULD TRY TO CRANK AND SOUND LIKE IT WAS STARTING, BUT THEN NEVER WOULD STAY RUNNING. CALLED A RELATIVE FOR A RIDE HOME, THINKING I WOULD NEED TO HAVE THE VAN TOWED TO THE SHOP. AFTER WAITING ABOUT 15 MIN. FOR MY RIDE I DECIDED ONE LAST TIME TO TRY TO START IT. IT FIRED RIGHT UP. I KEPT IT RUNNING; MY RIDE FOLLOWED ME HOME THE 5 MILES TO ENSURE NO MORE SHUT DOWNS. TOOK IT TO OUR DODGE DEALER AND HAD TO LEAVE IT. 2 DAYS LATER FINALLY GOT SOMEONE TO REPORT THE PROBLEM. THEY HAD TROUBLE GETTING THE VAN TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE TO START. ACCORDING TO THE TECHNICIAN, IT NEEDED A NEW TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE, AT A COST OF $900. I PURCHASED THIS VAN AS THE THIRD OWNER MAY 2015 WITH JUST 40,900 MILES. SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THE VAN MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STARTED ON THEIR OWN AND WOULDN'T STOP NO MATTER WHAT SETTING YOU TURNED THE WIPER CONTROL TO. THAT WAS THE ONLY OTHER TIME WE'VE HAD THIS VAN IN THE SHOP OTHER THAN OIL CHANGES. WE PAID $179.00 TO FIX THE 'WIPER MECHANISM'. LOOKING BACK, I SEE THAT PROBLEM WAS SURELY RELATED TO THE FAILING "TIPM" THE TECHNICIAN EVEN STATED THAT THIS WAS CERTAINLY A RELATED ISSUE. THE VAN HAS SAT IN THE GARAGE UNABLE TO START THE LAST 40 DAYS. NOW THAT I'VE RESEARCHED DODGE AND THEIR HISTORY OF FAULTY TIPM'S, I AM HESITANT TO EVEN HAVE IT REPAIRED-BUT I NEED MY VAN. I CAN'T SELL IT TO ANYONE IN THIS CONDITION. IT'S MY DAILY DRIVER, AND HAS WAY TOO LOW MILEAGE TO GET RID OF IT. WE HAVE BEEN STUCK SHARING A VEHICLE. I'M READING ABOUT NUMEROUS OTHERS HAVING THIS SAME PROBLEM. DODGE, PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING AND RECALL THE TIPM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - GREENFIELD, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V234000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds