Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Structure (13) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - WAKE FOREST, NC
VEHICLE WILL NOT START AND WILL STOP WHILE DRIVING. THREE DIFFERENT BATTERIES HAVE BEEN DRAINED TO THE POINT OF GOING BAD. DODGE SERVICE CENTER HAS IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM AS A FAULTY TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - SEALE, AL
BASES ON WHAT I FOUND WITH MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND ONLINE MY VAN A A FAULTY TIPM. DODGE CURRENTLY HAS A RECALL OUT FOR OTHER VEHICLE WITH A BAD TIPM BUT CLAIMS MY VAN IN NOT AFFECTED BY IT. MY VAN HAS HARD STARTS OR IT WILL START THE STALL. IT TAKES ABOUT 8-10 TIMES BEFORE IT WILL START AND STAY RUNNING. ALSO MY FUEL PUMP WILL STAY RUNNING EVEN AFTER I TAKE THE KEY OUT. IF I DO NOT REMOVE THE FUEL PUMP FUSE THE PUMP WILL UNTIL THE BATTERY DIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - SEALE, AL
BASES ON WHAT I FOUND WITH MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND ONLINE MY VAN A A FAULTY TIPM. DODGE CURRENTLY HAS A RECALL OUT FOR OTHER VEHICLE WITH A BAD TIPM BUT CLAIMS MY VAN IN NOT AFFECTED BY IT. MY VAN HAS HARD STARTS OR IT WILL START THE STALL. IT TAKES ABOUT 8-10 TIMES BEFORE IT WILL START AND STAY RUNNING. ALSO MY FUEL PUMP WILL STAY RUNNING EVEN AFTER I TAKE THE KEY OUT. IF I DO NOT REMOVE THE FUEL PUMP FUSE THE PUMP WILL UNTIL THE BATTERY DIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - OWENSBORO, KY
AFTER BEING TOLD BY THE DEALER OUR VAN WOULDN'T START DUE TO THE ALTERNATOR, WE DECIDED TO HAVE THE ALTERNATOR LOOKED AT. THE OTHER MECHANIC FOUND NOTHING TO BE WRONG WITH THE ALTERNATOR. THE DEALER ALSO SAID WE NEEDED OUR FUEL PUMP REPLACED. WE HAVE HAD OTHER VEHICLES THAT NEEDED FUEL PUMPS REPLACED AND WHEN THE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT WE WERE NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT AT ALL. MY HUSBAND WAS AT AN APPOINTMENT AND AFTER TURNING OFF VAN HE HEARD SOMETHING RUNNING. THE SOUND WAS TRACKED TO THE FUEL PUMP. SO THE DEALER WASTED OUR TIME AND MONEY ALL THE TIME TRYING TO HAVE US REPLACE PARTS THAT WOULD NOT HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. AFTER CALLING AND TRYING TO GET A FUEL PUMP REGULATOR WE DISCOVERED THE FUEL PUMP REGULATOR IS BUILT INTO THE TIPM. WE HAVE A FAULTY TIPM. I WISH DODGE WOULD GET OFF THEIR BUTT AND ISSUE A RECALL ALREADY. THE ONLY WAY A CAN SHUT THE FUEL PUMP OFF IS TO UNHOOK THE BATTERY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - OWENSBORO, KY
AFTER BEING TOLD BY THE DEALER OUR VAN WOULDN'T START DUE TO THE ALTERNATOR, WE DECIDED TO HAVE THE ALTERNATOR LOOKED AT. THE OTHER MECHANIC FOUND NOTHING TO BE WRONG WITH THE ALTERNATOR. THE DEALER ALSO SAID WE NEEDED OUR FUEL PUMP REPLACED. WE HAVE HAD OTHER VEHICLES THAT NEEDED FUEL PUMPS REPLACED AND WHEN THE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT WE WERE NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT AT ALL. MY HUSBAND WAS AT AN APPOINTMENT AND AFTER TURNING OFF VAN HE HEARD SOMETHING RUNNING. THE SOUND WAS TRACKED TO THE FUEL PUMP. SO THE DEALER WASTED OUR TIME AND MONEY ALL THE TIME TRYING TO HAVE US REPLACE PARTS THAT WOULD NOT HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. AFTER CALLING AND TRYING TO GET A FUEL PUMP REGULATOR WE DISCOVERED THE FUEL PUMP REGULATOR IS BUILT INTO THE TIPM. WE HAVE A FAULTY TIPM. I WISH DODGE WOULD GET OFF THEIR BUTT AND ISSUE A RECALL ALREADY. THE ONLY WAY A CAN SHUT THE FUEL PUMP OFF IS TO UNHOOK THE BATTERY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/14/2014 - RICHMOND, KY
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND MY CAR JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHICH IS VERY DIFFICULT BECAUSE THE POWER STEERING DOESN'T WORK ONCE IT DIES. I HAD JUST LEFT MY HOUSE, HADN'T DROVE 1/2 MILE. I ALSO TOOK MY VEHICLE THIS MORNING TO HAVE THE BATTERY, ALTERNATOR AND STARTER CHECKED BECAUSE IT HAS A TENDENCY TO NOT WANT TO START. IT WILL JUST MAKE THE NOISE LIKE IT'S TURNING OVER AND TAKE ABOUT 5-6 TRIES BEFORE IT WILL TURN OVER. PLEASE INCLUDE 2011 MODELS IN YOUR IGNITION RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT FROM THERE VEHICLE DYING WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. I GOT LUCKY I WAS STILL IN MY SUB DIVISION AND NOT ON THE MAIN ROAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2014 - N. MIAMI BEACH , FL
THE CAR CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING, A WEEK BEFORE I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER COMPLAINING ABOUT THE CAR NO STARTING INTERMITTENT. THE DEALER RETURN THE CAR SAYING NO PROBLEM FOUND. AFTER THIS HAPPENS CUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING, I TOOK THE CAR AGAIN TO THE DEALER, THIS TIME THE DEALER REPLACE THE "TIPM" P/N 68244893AA, I WAS CHARGED $890.10, THE DEALER MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT THIS IS WELL KNOWN PROBLEM, FOR THE SAFETY OF OTHER PLEASE FORCE CHRYSLER TO RECALL THIS "TIPM" AS THEY DID TO THE SUV'S

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/10/2014 - RICHMOND, KY
MY VAN WILL TRY TO START BUT IT JUST KEEPS TRYING TO TURN OVER. I HAVE TO MANUALLY TURN THE KEY BACK OFF AND WAIT, IT USUALLY TAKES ABOUT 3 TIMES FOR IT TO ACTUALLY START. IT MAKES THE CLICKING NOISE LIKE ITS A STARTER OR BATTERY BUT BOTH HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND ARE FINE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/8/2014 - OWENSBORO, KY
VAN TRIES TO START BUT JUST CAN'T TURN OVER. IT STALLED WHILE TRYING TO PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY FIRST TOLD ME IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR. WHEN I TRIED TO LEAVE THE VAN WOULDN'T START. THEY TRIED TO JUMP START IT AND IT WOULDN'T WORK. THEY ASKED ME TO LEAVE IT OVER NIGHT. THE NEXT DAY I RECEIVE A CALL FROM THE DEALER. THEY TELL ME NOT ONLY IN MY ALTERNATOR BAD BUT SO IS MY FUEL PUMP. I TELL THEM WE WILL COME GET IT TO MOVE IT OUT SIDE. 4 HOURS LATER I GET IN THE VAN TURN THE KEY AND IT STARTS. I DRIVE THE VAN HOME AND IT STARTS THE NEXT MORNING BUT NOT AT LUNCH. THIS VAN HAS LEFT ME AND MY FAMILY STRANDED SO MANY TIMES I COULD CRY. I AM JUST HOPING FOR A REPAIR I CAN AFFORD OR A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/3/2014 - OSBURN, ID
MY VAN'S AIR CONDITIONING WASN'T WORKING SO I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER...WHEN THEY GAVE IT BACK I HAD COLD AIR IN THE FRONT BUT NOT IN THE BACK, I TOOK IT BACK AGAIN, THEY FIXED THE AIR FOR THE FRONT BUT THEN THE FAN WASN'T WORKING AT ALL IN THE BACK VENTS, I TOOK IT BACK A 3 RD TIME FINALLY IT SEEMED FIXED, SINCE THEN I HAVE LOST CONTROL OF USING THE BUTTONS ON MY STEERING WHEEL, CRUISE CONTROL ONLY WORKS WHEN IT WANTS TO, AND MY VEHICLE WILL TURN OVER BUT HAS A HARD TIME STARTING, THEY HAVE CHANGED OUT THE STARTER MESSED WITH MY WIRING AND CHANGED OUT MY BATTERY, IT STILL ISN'T FIXED. NOW MY VENTS IN THE BACKSEATS ARE NOT BLOWING AIR AGAIN, THEY REPLACED THE STARTER, THE BATTERY AND STILL I AM HAVING ALL THESE PROBLEMS. COULD THIS HAVE TO DO WITH A RECALL THAT HASN'T BEEN DONE ON MY VEHICLE? ALSO I BOUGHT THE VAN NEW AND HAVE HAD A FEW PAINT JOBS TO FIX THE RUBBING OF THE SIDE DOORS THAT CAUSE MY PAINT TO RUB OFF ABOVE THE WHEEL WELLS, I FINALLY GAVE UP ON HAVING IT FIXED BUT I KNOW THIS IS AN ERROR ON CHRYSLER'S SIDE AS I CAN SHOW YOU ATLEAST TWO MORE GRAND CARAVAN'S SAME YEAR WITH THE SAME RUBBED OFF PAINT BECAUSE OF SIDE DOORS. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN BUYING MY FIRST BRAND NEW CARAVAN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds