Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 256 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (19) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (174) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (40) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (28) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/23/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
MY 2011 CARAVAN HAS 68K MILES ON IT. FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS, IT WILL INTERMITTENTLY HAVE PROBLEMS STARTING. EVERYTHING SEEMS FINE UNTIL YOU TURN IT TO CRANK AND THEN IT JUST MAKES A CLICK NOISE. IT WILL DO THIS ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO 20 TIMES UNTIL IT FINALLY CRANKS. IT WILL BE FINE FOR DAYS AND THEN SUDDENLY... NO START. I'VE LEFT IT AT MY MECHANIC FOR ONE WEEK LAST MONTH AND ONE WEEK THIS MONTH. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY, BUT NO AVAIL. THEY HAVE SEEN IT IN ACTION (ACTUALLY CAME TO ME BECAUSE THEY ARE TOTALLY STUMPED TOO), BUT CANNOT REPLICATE IT. SO I'M OUT $800 IN CAR RENTAL FEES AND NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHY THE THING IS ACTING LIKE IT IS. I'M WORRIED I'M GOING TO BE STRANDED WITH A HAND FULL OF KIDS AND A CAR THAT WON'T START. I DON'T LIKE FEELING LIKE I CAN'T TRUST MY CAR. DODGE HAS BEEN UNHELPFUL AS WELL, ALTHOUGH I'M GIVING THE DEALERSHIP A SHOT AT THIS PROBLEM AGAIN AND TAKING IT THERE. ANOTHER WEEK OF RENTAL CAR FEES - YAY! FROM READING ONLINE AND A QUICK YOUTUBE SEARCH, IT APPEARS I'M NOT ALONE WITH THIS PROBLEM. I JUST WANT IT FIXED, WHATEVER THE PROBLEM IS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
MY 2011 CARAVAN HAS 68K MILES ON IT. FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS, IT WILL INTERMITTENTLY HAVE PROBLEMS STARTING. EVERYTHING SEEMS FINE UNTIL YOU TURN IT TO CRANK AND THEN IT JUST MAKES A CLICK NOISE. IT WILL DO THIS ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO 20 TIMES UNTIL IT FINALLY CRANKS. IT WILL BE FINE FOR DAYS AND THEN SUDDENLY... NO START. I'VE LEFT IT AT MY MECHANIC FOR ONE WEEK LAST MONTH AND ONE WEEK THIS MONTH. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY, BUT NO AVAIL. THEY HAVE SEEN IT IN ACTION (ACTUALLY CAME TO ME BECAUSE THEY ARE TOTALLY STUMPED TOO), BUT CANNOT REPLICATE IT. SO I'M OUT $800 IN CAR RENTAL FEES AND NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHY THE THING IS ACTING LIKE IT IS. I'M WORRIED I'M GOING TO BE STRANDED WITH A HAND FULL OF KIDS AND A CAR THAT WON'T START. I DON'T LIKE FEELING LIKE I CAN'T TRUST MY CAR. DODGE HAS BEEN UNHELPFUL AS WELL, ALTHOUGH I'M GIVING THE DEALERSHIP A SHOT AT THIS PROBLEM AGAIN AND TAKING IT THERE. ANOTHER WEEK OF RENTAL CAR FEES - YAY! FROM READING ONLINE AND A QUICK YOUTUBE SEARCH, IT APPEARS I'M NOT ALONE WITH THIS PROBLEM. I JUST WANT IT FIXED, WHATEVER THE PROBLEM IS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
MY 2011 CARAVAN HAS 68K MILES ON IT. FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS, IT WILL INTERMITTENTLY HAVE PROBLEMS STARTING. EVERYTHING SEEMS FINE UNTIL YOU TURN IT TO CRANK AND THEN IT JUST MAKES A CLICK NOISE. IT WILL DO THIS ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO 20 TIMES UNTIL IT FINALLY CRANKS. IT WILL BE FINE FOR DAYS AND THEN SUDDENLY... NO START. I'VE LEFT IT AT MY MECHANIC FOR ONE WEEK LAST MONTH AND ONE WEEK THIS MONTH. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY, BUT NO AVAIL. THEY HAVE SEEN IT IN ACTION (ACTUALLY CAME TO ME BECAUSE THEY ARE TOTALLY STUMPED TOO), BUT CANNOT REPLICATE IT. SO I'M OUT $800 IN CAR RENTAL FEES AND NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHY THE THING IS ACTING LIKE IT IS. I'M WORRIED I'M GOING TO BE STRANDED WITH A HAND FULL OF KIDS AND A CAR THAT WON'T START. I DON'T LIKE FEELING LIKE I CAN'T TRUST MY CAR. DODGE HAS BEEN UNHELPFUL AS WELL, ALTHOUGH I'M GIVING THE DEALERSHIP A SHOT AT THIS PROBLEM AGAIN AND TAKING IT THERE. ANOTHER WEEK OF RENTAL CAR FEES - YAY! FROM READING ONLINE AND A QUICK YOUTUBE SEARCH, IT APPEARS I'M NOT ALONE WITH THIS PROBLEM. I JUST WANT IT FIXED, WHATEVER THE PROBLEM IS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/21/2016 - ANNANDALE, VA
CAR (2011 GRAND CARAVAN) WOULD CRANK BUT NOT START. I HAD IT TOWED TO SAFFORD DODGE IN SPRINGFIELD, VIRGINIA. THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A BAD FUEL PUMP. I PAID $950 FOR A TOW AND A NEW FUEL PUMP. AS SOON AS I DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME, IT WAS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING (CRANK BUT NOT START). EVENTUALLY, IT STARTED BUT, LATER IN THE DAY, IT WOULD NOT START AT ALL. I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND MADE ARRANGEMENTS FOR IT TO BE TOWED IN AGAIN. EVENTUALLY, THE SERVICE GUY CALLS BACK AND SAYS THEY ARE HAVING TROUBLE PINPOINTING THE PROBLEM. BEFORE THIS POINT I HAD RESEARCHED THE PROBLEM AND DISCOVERED THE MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH THE TIPM MODULE. THE NEXT MORNING HE CALLS MY WIFE AND TELLS HER THAT WE NEED A NEW TIPM MODULE AND IT'S GOING TO COST $1200 TO REPLACE IT. SHE TOLD HIM THAT WE WOULD PAY FOR THE TIPM MODULE PROVIDED THEY DEDUCTED THE COST OF THE NEW FUEL PUMP WHICH WE BELIEVE WAS REPLACED IN ERROR. SERVICE GUY WAS ADAMANT THAT FUEL PUMP WAS BAD AND THAT IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. HE SAID THEY HAD ISOLATED THE PUMP AND CONFIRMED THAT IT HAD POWER COMING TO IT BEFORE DIAGNOSING THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS MAY BE TRUE BUT I HAVE ZERO FAITH THAT THIS GUY WAS TELLING ME THE TRUTH. I HAVE READ SEVERAL REPORTS ON THE INTERNET WHERE PEOPLE HAD THEIR FUEL PUMP REPLACED IN ERROR. I EVENTUALLY WENT TO THE SERVICE MANAGER. HE WAS ALSO INSISTENT THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE TIPM MODULE. I ALSO ASKED HIM IF THEY HAD REPLACED MULTIPLE TIPM MODULES AND HE ACTED AS IF THIS WAS A VERY RARE REPAIR; HOWEVER, WHEN HE INSINUATED THAT MY FUEL PUMP AND TIPM HAD FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY, HE ACTED AS IF HE HAD SEEN THIS SEVERAL TIMES?! MY CENTRAL CONCERN IS THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL REPORTS OF THE TIPM MODULE FAILING ABRUPTLY AT HIGHWAY SPEED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2016 - ANNANDALE, VA
CAR (2011 GRAND CARAVAN) WOULD CRANK BUT NOT START. I HAD IT TOWED TO SAFFORD DODGE IN SPRINGFIELD, VIRGINIA. THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A BAD FUEL PUMP. I PAID $950 FOR A TOW AND A NEW FUEL PUMP. AS SOON AS I DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME, IT WAS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING (CRANK BUT NOT START). EVENTUALLY, IT STARTED BUT, LATER IN THE DAY, IT WOULD NOT START AT ALL. I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND MADE ARRANGEMENTS FOR IT TO BE TOWED IN AGAIN. EVENTUALLY, THE SERVICE GUY CALLS BACK AND SAYS THEY ARE HAVING TROUBLE PINPOINTING THE PROBLEM. BEFORE THIS POINT I HAD RESEARCHED THE PROBLEM AND DISCOVERED THE MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH THE TIPM MODULE. THE NEXT MORNING HE CALLS MY WIFE AND TELLS HER THAT WE NEED A NEW TIPM MODULE AND IT'S GOING TO COST $1200 TO REPLACE IT. SHE TOLD HIM THAT WE WOULD PAY FOR THE TIPM MODULE PROVIDED THEY DEDUCTED THE COST OF THE NEW FUEL PUMP WHICH WE BELIEVE WAS REPLACED IN ERROR. SERVICE GUY WAS ADAMANT THAT FUEL PUMP WAS BAD AND THAT IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. HE SAID THEY HAD ISOLATED THE PUMP AND CONFIRMED THAT IT HAD POWER COMING TO IT BEFORE DIAGNOSING THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS MAY BE TRUE BUT I HAVE ZERO FAITH THAT THIS GUY WAS TELLING ME THE TRUTH. I HAVE READ SEVERAL REPORTS ON THE INTERNET WHERE PEOPLE HAD THEIR FUEL PUMP REPLACED IN ERROR. I EVENTUALLY WENT TO THE SERVICE MANAGER. HE WAS ALSO INSISTENT THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE TIPM MODULE. I ALSO ASKED HIM IF THEY HAD REPLACED MULTIPLE TIPM MODULES AND HE ACTED AS IF THIS WAS A VERY RARE REPAIR; HOWEVER, WHEN HE INSINUATED THAT MY FUEL PUMP AND TIPM HAD FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY, HE ACTED AS IF HE HAD SEEN THIS SEVERAL TIMES?! MY CENTRAL CONCERN IS THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL REPORTS OF THE TIPM MODULE FAILING ABRUPTLY AT HIGHWAY SPEED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/20/2016 - ANTRIM, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE ENGINE, THE FUEL SYSTEM FAILED TO ENGAGE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED A FAILURE CODE FOR THE FUEL PUMP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V530000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2016 - MADISON, AL
I HAVE TWO SMALL CHILDREN, AND AM CONCERNED ABOUT THIS ISSUE. MY ENGINE WILL NOT TURN OVER, IT "TICS..TIC..TIC..", UNTIL I HAVE ATTEMPTED MULTIPLE TIMES. THIS PROBLEM IS ERRATIC..2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, HAVE BEEN TOLD IT NEEDS A TIPM DUE TO A "SERVICE BULLETIN" THE DEALERSHIP HAD. I DO NOT HAVE THE $1150 TO FIX THIS! I AM AFRAID TO BE STRANDED SOMEWHERE, AND AFTER LOOKING INTO THIS APPARENTLY COMMON ISSUE, I SEE THAT IT COULD LEAD TO JUST RANDOM STALLS WHICH IS SCARY. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO FIX IT. MY WARRANTY HAS PROVEN USELESS IN THAT DOES NOT COVER THIS . I SOMETIMES HAVE TO ATTEMPT UPWARDS OF 10 TIMES TO FINALLY GET THE ENGINE TO COMPLETELY TURN OVER. IT ALSO SEEMS TO RUN ROUGH SOMETIMES, PARTICULARLY WHEN UP A HILL, ETC. I CAN NOT TRUST THIS VEHICLE TO BE DEPENDABLE AND SINCE IT IS NOT THAT OLD, AND IT APPEARS AS IF THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM, I BELIEVE THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS IF THE VEHICLE WERE TO STALL. DATED OF INCIDENT ON THIS FORM IS THE MOST RECENT, BUT NOT THE ONLY TIME IT HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

9/14/2016 - WHITTIER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE STARTED TO WIGGLE BACK AND FORTH. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE SUSPENSION FRACTURED INTO TWO PIECES. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE TIRES TO WOBBLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR SUSPENSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DOCUMENTED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,400.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
VEHICLE BEGAN HAVING ISSUES STARTING, INTERMITTENTLY AT FIRST, ABOUT 3-4 WEEKS AGO. 4 DAYS AGO, VEHICLES BATTERY WAS DEAD, WOULDN'T START FOR SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. STALLED TWICE WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH CONTINUED TO NOT START, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, STARTER, WIRING ALL CHECKED OUT OKAY WITH LOCAL REPAIR SHOP. THE FUEL PUMP RELAY IN THE TPIM (TOTAL INTEGRATED POWER MODULE) WAS BAD, REQUIRED WHOLE TPIM TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - PFLUGERVILLE, TX
VEHICLE BEGAN HAVING ISSUES STARTING, INTERMITTENTLY AT FIRST, ABOUT 3-4 WEEKS AGO. 4 DAYS AGO, VEHICLES BATTERY WAS DEAD, WOULDN'T START FOR SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. STALLED TWICE WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH CONTINUED TO NOT START, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, STARTER, WIRING ALL CHECKED OUT OKAY WITH LOCAL REPAIR SHOP. THE FUEL PUMP RELAY IN THE TPIM (TOTAL INTEGRATED POWER MODULE) WAS BAD, REQUIRED WHOLE TPIM TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds