Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (9) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS TRAVELLING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY AND HAD TO SLOW DOWN TO 50-55 MPH FOR A MERGING VEHICLE. WHEN I CHANGED LANES AND ACCELERATED, THE ENGINE REVVED UP TO 4000 RPM AND STUCK THERE, AND I WAS GOING OVER 80 VERY QUICKLY. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND THE VAN CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PUT THE VAN IN NEUTRAL AND BRAKED, AND WAS ABLE TO GET OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND STOP AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I STARTED THE VAN BACK UP AND THE ENGINE WENT RIGHT BACK TO 4000 RPM - EXACTLY WHERE IT WAS BEFORE. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND THEN REPEATED THE PROCESS ANOTHER 3 TIMES - STRAIGHT BACK TO 4000 RPM. I VERIFIED THAT THE ACCELERATOR WAS NOT STUCK ON ANYTHING. SINCE THE VAN HAS THE AUTO-MANUAL TRANSMISSION WHERE I CAN SHIFT MANUALLY, I STARTED THE VAN, AND IMMEDIATELY PUT IT IN DRIVE AND SHIFTED MANUALLY, AND THE ENGINE KICKED A FEW TIMES AND THEN BEGAN TO RUN NORMALLY. RAN NORMALLY ALL THE WAY HOME. CALLED A FEW DEALERS, NONE OF WHICH SEEMED TOO CONCERNED AND COULDN'T GET MY VAN IN FOR OVER A WEEK. WHEN I FINALLY GOT A DEALER TO LOOK AT IT, THEY PERFORMED A RECALL FOR THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE AND SAID EVERYTHING WAS WORKING FINE. THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE RECALL ABOUT THIS ISSUE, AND NONE OF THE SERVICE DEPTS I CALLED HAD HEARD OF IT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2014 - SPOKANE, WA
WE WERE PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT WHEN THE MOTOR STARTED MAKING A GRINDING SOUND. WE DROVE IT STRAIGHT HOME AND THE NEXT MORNING TOOK IT TO A LOCAL SHOP TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT. THEY STATED THE SCREWS THAT WERE HOLDING THE ENGINE TO THE MOUNT HAD BEEN SHEARED OFF ON ONE SIDE AND THE ENGINE HAD FALLEN ONTO THE FRONT AXEL. THE SCREWS ON THE OTHER SIDE WERE COMPLETELY STRIPPED AND WERE ALSO IN THE PROCESS OF BEING SHEARED IN HALF. THE MECHANIC STATED HE FELT THIS WAS DUE TO THE ENGINE MOUNT SCREWS NOT BEING PROPERLY TIGHTENED AT THE FACTORY. WE TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY STATED THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE HOW THIS HAD HAPPENED BECAUSE THE SCREWS WERE SHEARED OFF BUT THEY WOULD NOT CLAIM ANY FAULT. THEY ALSO STATED IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER OUR WARRANTY BECAUSE IT'S NOT PART OF THE POWER-TRAIN. THE VEHICLE IS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD AND TO HAVE THE MOTOR FALL OUT DURING DRIVING DOES NOT SEEM LIKE STANDARD WEAR AND TEAR. THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY KIND OF ACCIDENT OR COLLISION AND HAS HAD ALL THE APPROPRIATE PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE AS OUTLINED BY DODGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/4/2014 - MALONE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE DROVE OVER A SHEET OF ICE CAUSING THE DRIVER TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE ROLLED ONTO THE PASSENGER SIDE AND CONTINUED SLIDING UNTIL IT WENT INTO A DITCH. NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/23/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE WAS REPROGRAMMED; HOWEVER, THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT INTO AUTOMATIC AND IT LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,248 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

1/9/2014 - SHAWANO, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO ACTIVATE THE HEAT IN THE VEHICLE BUT IT ONLY EMITTED COOL AIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/23/2013 - FREEVILLE, NY
2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE BRAKE PADS AND ROTOR PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED PREMATURELY. THE RIGHT REAR BRAKE PADS BECAME METAL-TO-METAL WITH THE BRAKE ROTOR. THE CONSUMERS MECHANIC STATED THE BRAKE PADS WERE FROZEN ON THE CALIPER SLIDES, AND THE REAR BRAKES WERE THE SAME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2013 - ELKHORN, NE
EXCESSIVE NOISE AND STEERING WHEEL VIBRATION DURING NORMAL BRAKE APPLICATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

11/6/2013 - OREGON CITY, OR
2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOOR ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE AUTOMATIC DOORS WOULD CONTINUALLY CLOSE AFTER PARTIALLY OPENING. THE DOOR WOULD JUST RANDOMLY CLOSE, CAUSING INJURIES TO THE PASSENGERS. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ISSUE.

View Details

WHEELS

10/3/2013 - ORLANDO, FL
CONTINUED ISSUES REGARDING VEHICLE PERFORMANCE INCLUDING FRONT TIRES, TRANSMISSION, WINDOW SWITCH, SLIDING PASS. DOORS. FINANCED A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN ON JAN 25 2013, VIN # [XXX]. UPON DELIVERY I HAD ISSUES WITH CAR AND RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP THE NEX DAY. ISSUES INCLUDED HARD SHIFTING, CAR VEERING OFF THE ROAD AND SOME NOISES AND NO MANUALS OR PAPERWORK FOR WARRANTY. NUMEROUS REPAIRS WERE MADE ON CAR THROUGHOUT PAST 6 MONTHS SOME OF WHICH MADE ON CAR, SOME OF WHICH CAUSED OTHER ISSUES TO COME UP WITH REPAIRS INCLUDING FAILURE TO PROPERLY REPAIR THE CAR, BRAKE ISSUES, ALIGNMENT AND STEERING WHEEL, FRONT TIRES, SLIDING DOOR SCRAPING, TRANSMISSION ISSUES AND MORE. NUMEROUS UNSUCCESSFUL REPAIRS AND OTHER PROBLEMS NOT ADDRESSED OR UNWILLING. FRONT TIRES/ REAR NEVER MATCHED AND WERE SUPPOSE TO BE REPLACE PER SALES AND NEVER HAPPEN CAUSING TREADS TO SHOW AND STILL DOES, TRANSMISSION JERKS AND HESITATES, DOORS RIP PAINT OFF SIDE OF CAR AND SCRAPE. OTHER ISSUES INCLUDE PASSENGER DOOR WINDOW SWITCH AND PICKUP. ** 2 CHRYSLER CASES CREATED AGAINST DEALER TO FIX ISSUES. CASE # [XXX] CASE # [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

10/3/2013 - ORLANDO, FL
CONTINUED ISSUES REGARDING VEHICLE PERFORMANCE INCLUDING FRONT TIRES, TRANSMISSION, WINDOW SWITCH, SLIDING PASS. DOORS. FINANCED A 2011 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN ON JAN 25 2013, VIN # [XXX]. UPON DELIVERY I HAD ISSUES WITH CAR AND RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP THE NEX DAY. ISSUES INCLUDED HARD SHIFTING, CAR VEERING OFF THE ROAD AND SOME NOISES AND NO MANUALS OR PAPERWORK FOR WARRANTY. NUMEROUS REPAIRS WERE MADE ON CAR THROUGHOUT PAST 6 MONTHS SOME OF WHICH MADE ON CAR, SOME OF WHICH CAUSED OTHER ISSUES TO COME UP WITH REPAIRS INCLUDING FAILURE TO PROPERLY REPAIR THE CAR, BRAKE ISSUES, ALIGNMENT AND STEERING WHEEL, FRONT TIRES, SLIDING DOOR SCRAPING, TRANSMISSION ISSUES AND MORE. NUMEROUS UNSUCCESSFUL REPAIRS AND OTHER PROBLEMS NOT ADDRESSED OR UNWILLING. FRONT TIRES/ REAR NEVER MATCHED AND WERE SUPPOSE TO BE REPLACE PER SALES AND NEVER HAPPEN CAUSING TREADS TO SHOW AND STILL DOES, TRANSMISSION JERKS AND HESITATES, DOORS RIP PAINT OFF SIDE OF CAR AND SCRAPE. OTHER ISSUES INCLUDE PASSENGER DOOR WINDOW SWITCH AND PICKUP. ** 2 CHRYSLER CASES CREATED AGAINST DEALER TO FIX ISSUES. CASE # [XXX] CASE # [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds