Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2011 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 207 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (17) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (26) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (10) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (16) Power Train (107) Structure (8) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (12) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/12/2015 - PANAMA CITY, FL
HEADLIGHTS, BOTH LOW BEAM AND HIGH BEAM WENT OUT AND WILL NOT COME BACK ON. BULBS REPLACED, STILL WILL NOT COME ON. TRANSMISSION HAS BEGUN TO SHIFT ERRATICALLY ALTHOUGH VEHICLE IS AT A CONSTANT SPEED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/12/2015 - PANAMA CITY, FL
HEADLIGHTS, BOTH LOW BEAM AND HIGH BEAM WENT OUT AND WILL NOT COME BACK ON. BULBS REPLACED, STILL WILL NOT COME ON. TRANSMISSION HAS BEGUN TO SHIFT ERRATICALLY ALTHOUGH VEHICLE IS AT A CONSTANT SPEED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2015 - STEPHENS CITY, VA
I WAS DRIVING ALONG AT POSTED HIGHWAY SPEEDS WHEN MY ENGINE SUDDENLY FAILED AND LOST ALL POWER. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ABLE TO DRIFT TO THE SIDE OF INTERSTATE WITHOUT INCIDENT WHERE I CALLED A TOWING COMPANY TO BE PICKED UP. MY TRUCK HAS 130,000 MILES ON IT BUT HAS NEVER SHOWN ANY SIGN OF A PROBLEM. THE TRUCK WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AT 5000 MILE INTERVALS. MAJORITY OF MILEAGE WERE HIGHWAY MILES BETWEEN 70 - 75 MPH. NORMALLY, I WOULD CHALK THIS UP TO HIGH MILEAGE. HOWEVER, DURING THE SEARCH FOR ANY PROBLEMS WITH A 5.7 L HEMI ENGINE, I NOTICED THE FOLLOWING RECALL AND WAS CURIOS AS TO WHY MY RAM 1500 WAS NOT INCLUDED: THIS RECALL COVERS A SPECIFIC BUILD PERIOD. THE VEHICLES INVOLVED ARE 2009û2012 DODGE CHALLENGERS (LC), DODGE CHARGERS (LD) AND CHRYSLER 300S (LX) EQUIPPED WITH A 5.7L HEMI ENGINE (SALES CODE EZD OR EZH, WHICH ARE THE MDS ENGINES) AND REAR AXLE RATIOS OF 3.06, 3.73 OR 3.92 (SALES CODE DMP, DME OR DMH). THE BUILD PERIOD IS FROM AUGUST 4, 2008, THROUGH JULY 10, 2012 (MDH 080406 THROUGH 071008). THE RECALL IS TITLED CUSTOMER SATISFACTION NOTIFICATION P01 ENGINE TIMING CHAIN AND CHAIN GUIDE AND IS DATED FEBRUARY 2014. SINCE THE ENGINES ARE NEARLY IDENTICAL, THERE IS NO REASON THAT MY TRUCK SHOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL. THE TIMING CHAIN FAILURE IN MY 2011 RAM 1500 SLT 4X4 CREWCAB CAUSED CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE TO THE ENTIRE ENGINE TO THE POINT WHERE IT NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS TRUCK WAS PURCHASED NEW AND WAS EXPECTED TO LAST MUCH LONGER THAN IT DID. I AM VERY LUCKY TO HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GET SAFELY OFF THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT BEING INVOLVED IN A MAJOR ACCIDENT WITH ONE OF THE MANY TRACTOR AND TRAILERS OR WASHINGTON DC COMMUTERS. THERE IS NO SUFFICIENT REASON FOR THE METAL TIMING CHAIN FAILURE OTHER THAN A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT ALREADY ACKNOWLEDGED IN OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME ENGINE BY THE CHRYSLER CORPORATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
NEARLY A YEAR AGO, I RECEIVED NOTICE FROM RAM OF A RECALL ON A REAR AXLE PINION NUT. THEY SAID THAT THE NUT COULD LOOSEN DUE TO UNDERSIZED PINION SHAFT SPLINES, POSSIBLY CAUSING THE REAR AXLE TO SEIZE OR CAUSE THE DRIVE SHAFT TO SEPARATE, POSSIBLY CAUSING A CRASH WITHOUT WARNING. WHEN I CALLED A LOCAL DEALER IN REGARDS TO THE RECALL NOTICE, THEY SAID THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE THE REQUIRED PART TO REMEDY THE RECALL AND THAT THEY MAY RECEIVE THE PART IN SEPTEMBER OF 2014. I WAITED UNTIL OCTOBER TO CALL AND SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT AND THEY STILL DIDN'T HAVE IT. NOW IN MAY 2015, I'VE RECEIVED BETWEEN 4-5 MORE NOTICES SINCE THE FIRST AND I TRIED TO GET THE PART FIXED OR REPLACED AND THE DEALER STILL DOESN'T HAVE THE PART TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I ASK YOU THEN NHTSA, WHAT THE HELL IS THE POINT IN HAVING CAR MANUFACTURERS SEND NOTICES LIKE THESE OUT TELLING CONSUMERS TO GET THE PROBLEMS FIXED IN A TIMELY MANNER WHEN THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE?! WHAT IS YOUR FIX TO FIX THE CAR MANUFACTURERS AND LOOK OUT FOR CONSUMERS AND THE PUBLIC SAFETY?!

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2015 - STANSBURY PARK, UT
WHILE DRIVING AT FREEWAY SPEEDS MY TRUCK COMPLETLY SHUT OFF, I LOST POWER TO EVERYTHING, INCLUDING POWER STEERING. I HAD PREVIOUS HAD MY TRUCK INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR PROBLEMS WITH MY FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AND LEARNED IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE) WHICH CHRYSLER IS AWARE OF AND HAS RECALLS FOR SOME VEHICLES IN CERTIN STATES. THE SYMTOMS MY TRUCK IS HAVING IS THE SAME LISTED IN MANY OF THE COMPLAINTS, IE. VEHICLES RANDOMLY SHUTTING OFF, FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AND DRAINING THE BATTERIES, AIR BAGS RANDOMLY DEPLOYING. AFTER RESEARCHING MULTIPLE FOURMS AND WEBSITE I FOUND ITS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AMONG CHRYSLER VEHICLES. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR KILLED DUE TO FAULTY PARTS AND EQUIPMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2015 - STANSBURY PARK, UT
WHILE DRIVING AT FREEWAY SPEEDS MY TRUCK COMPLETLY SHUT OFF, I LOST POWER TO EVERYTHING, INCLUDING POWER STEERING. I HAD PREVIOUS HAD MY TRUCK INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR PROBLEMS WITH MY FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AND LEARNED IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE) WHICH CHRYSLER IS AWARE OF AND HAS RECALLS FOR SOME VEHICLES IN CERTIN STATES. THE SYMTOMS MY TRUCK IS HAVING IS THE SAME LISTED IN MANY OF THE COMPLAINTS, IE. VEHICLES RANDOMLY SHUTTING OFF, FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AND DRAINING THE BATTERIES, AIR BAGS RANDOMLY DEPLOYING. AFTER RESEARCHING MULTIPLE FOURMS AND WEBSITE I FOUND ITS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AMONG CHRYSLER VEHICLES. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR KILLED DUE TO FAULTY PARTS AND EQUIPMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2015 - STANSBURY PARK, UT
WHILE DRIVING AT FREEWAY SPEEDS MY TRUCK COMPLETLY SHUT OFF, I LOST POWER TO EVERYTHING, INCLUDING POWER STEERING. I HAD PREVIOUS HAD MY TRUCK INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR PROBLEMS WITH MY FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AND LEARNED IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE) WHICH CHRYSLER IS AWARE OF AND HAS RECALLS FOR SOME VEHICLES IN CERTIN STATES. THE SYMTOMS MY TRUCK IS HAVING IS THE SAME LISTED IN MANY OF THE COMPLAINTS, IE. VEHICLES RANDOMLY SHUTTING OFF, FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AND DRAINING THE BATTERIES, AIR BAGS RANDOMLY DEPLOYING. AFTER RESEARCHING MULTIPLE FOURMS AND WEBSITE I FOUND ITS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AMONG CHRYSLER VEHICLES. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR KILLED DUE TO FAULTY PARTS AND EQUIPMENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/3/2015 - DAVENPORT, IA
SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT ON

View Details

STEERING

5/1/2015 - LOS LUNAS, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE REVERSING, THE POWER STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 211,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DIFFERENTIAL UNIT

4/29/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE LOCKED AND THE RIM CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT IMMEDIATELY EXITED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE WAS ALSO ON FIRE. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE WITH WATER. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds