Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2011 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 189 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (15) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (24) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (8) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (12) Power Train (103) Structure (8) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (11) Seats (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

5/15/2014 - CORAOPOLIS, PA
I HAVE HAD 2 BLOW OUTS (INSTANTANEOUS TIRE DEFLATIONS) IN THE LAST 30 DAYS. ACCORDING TO THE DEALER AND CONFIRMED ON THE INTERNET, THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT ON THIS VEHICLE CAUSED BY DEFECTIVE TIRE PRESSURE SENSORS/VALVE STEMS (TPMS) CORRODING CAUSING A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE WHERE THE VALVE STEM IS LOST AND THE TIRE DEFLATES. BOTH OCCURRENCES WERE WHEN I WAS TRAVELING AT HIGH SPEED ON A FREEWAY. LUCKILY THERE WAS LITTLE TRAFFIC AND I WAS ABLE TO GAIN CONTROL AND PULL ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. ON INSPECTION OF THE TIRE THE VALVE STEM WAS MISSING WITH A HOLE INTO THE TIRE. UNFORTUNATELY DESPITE THE DEALER BEING AWARE OF THE PROBLEM IT IS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND COSTS $140 TO REPAIR. AS ABOVE, THIS IS THE 2ND EXACT FAILURE ON THE SAME VEHICLE. IT APPEARS I AM EXPECTED TO PAY OVER $500 TO GET THEM ALL CHANGED. IN THE MEANTIME I AM NOT ALLOWING MY WIFE OR FAMILY TO TRAVEL IN WHAT I NOW CONSIDER A DANGEROUS TRUCK.

View Details

WHEELS

5/15/2014 - CORAOPOLIS, PA
I HAVE HAD 2 BLOW OUTS (INSTANTANEOUS TIRE DEFLATIONS) IN THE LAST 30 DAYS. ACCORDING TO THE DEALER AND CONFIRMED ON THE INTERNET, THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT ON THIS VEHICLE CAUSED BY DEFECTIVE TIRE PRESSURE SENSORS/VALVE STEMS (TPMS) CORRODING CAUSING A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE WHERE THE VALVE STEM IS LOST AND THE TIRE DEFLATES. BOTH OCCURRENCES WERE WHEN I WAS TRAVELING AT HIGH SPEED ON A FREEWAY. LUCKILY THERE WAS LITTLE TRAFFIC AND I WAS ABLE TO GAIN CONTROL AND PULL ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. ON INSPECTION OF THE TIRE THE VALVE STEM WAS MISSING WITH A HOLE INTO THE TIRE. UNFORTUNATELY DESPITE THE DEALER BEING AWARE OF THE PROBLEM IT IS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND COSTS $140 TO REPAIR. AS ABOVE, THIS IS THE 2ND EXACT FAILURE ON THE SAME VEHICLE. IT APPEARS I AM EXPECTED TO PAY OVER $500 TO GET THEM ALL CHANGED. IN THE MEANTIME I AM NOT ALLOWING MY WIFE OR FAMILY TO TRAVEL IN WHAT I NOW CONSIDER A DANGEROUS TRUCK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/26/2014 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE WIRELESS IGNITION MODULE HAS BECOME DEFECTIVE. IT WILL NO LONGER HOLD THE KEY FOB IN PLACE ONCE THE VEHICLE IS STARTED. THE KEY SIMPLY FALLS OUT BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUES RUNNING. THE VEHICLE WILL ALSO TURN OFF WHILE STILL IN GEAR NOW. ADDITIONALLY, SOMETIMES THE MODULE WILL NOT TURN, OR WILL NOT TURN COMPLETELY, WHEN THE KEY IS INSERTED AND YOU ATTEMPT TO START THE VEHICLE. SOMETIMES IT WON'T TURN COMPLETELY TO THE OFF POSITION ONCE THE VEHICLE IS STARTED. CHRYSLER SAFETY RECALL K08 ISSUED IN AUGUST 2010 ADDRESSES THESE ISSUES IN THE 2010 RAM TRUCKS BUT FOR SOME REASON IT DOES NOT COVER THE 2011 MODELS. DODGE HAS TOLD ME IT IS MY PROBLEM TO FIX AND NOT THEIR DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2014 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND LOSE POWER. AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF, THE FUEL PUMP REMAINED RUNNING AND CAUSED POWER TO DRAIN FROM THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE DEFECTS WERE ALL DUE TO A FAULTY TPM (TOTALLY POWER MODULE) AND THE MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2014 - CAVE CREEK, AZ
REAR AXLE PINION NUT N08/NHTSA ON 2/22/2014 AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM REFUSED TO REPAIR THIS DEFECT, EVEN AFTER I HAD SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT FOR REPAIR. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN AT 0720 ON 2/22/2014 AND WAS TOLD BY A [XXX] THAT THIS WAS USUALLY NOT AN ISSUE FOR RAM TRUCKS, THAT THEY WERE SHORT-STAFFED AND THAT THEY COULD NOT GET TO THE VEHICLE UNTIL NEXT WEEK, THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO REPAIR THE RECALL ISSUE. IT APPEARED THEY DID NOT WANT TO COMPLETE THE RECALL REPAIR, BECAUSE THEY WOULD NOT MAKE ANY MONEY OFF OF THE REPAIR AS IT WAS A RECALL. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. I WILL NOW NEED TO BE GIVEN DIRECTION AS TO WHERE TO TAKE THE VEHICLE FOR REPAIR. I TOOK IT TO: AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/29/2014 - KILLEEN, TX
I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE, MOVING VERY SLOW (BECAUSE OF OUR OUTSIDE CATS) WITH VERY SLIGHT PRESSURE ON ACCELERATOR, JUST ENOUGH TO START TO MOVE THE TRUCK BACKWARDS DOWN THE INCLINE OUT OF MY GARAGE. IMMEDIATELY, THE ENGINE REVVED AND STARTED RACING. THE TRUCK PICKED UP SPEED DRAMATICALLY AND I SLAMMED MY RIGHT FOOT DOWN ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, NOT SURE WHAT WAS HAPPENING. THE BRAKES HOWLED AND VIBRATED, TOTALLY FAILING TO STOP THE TRUCK. I LIFTED MY FOOT AND THEN REAPPLIED BOTH FEET TO THE BRAKE WITHOUT THINKING. BRAKE WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND TRUCK SLOWED VERY LITTLE, ENGINE STILL REVVING. I THEN PULLED THE HANDLE TO THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND APPLIED IT TO STOP THE TRUCK. THE ENGINE WAS STILL SPEEDING UP AND I PUT IT IN PARK, IMMEDIATELY TURNING THE KEY TO KILL THE TRUCK. I DIDN'T THINK TO LOOK AT THE RPMS, BUT THEY HAD TO BE HIGH. I GOT OUT AND CHECKED TO SEE IF ANYTHING WAS INTERFERING WITH THE GAS PEDAL. NOTHING WAS, MY MAT THAT I'VE HAD IN IT FOR 2 YEARS LAYS FAR TO THE LEFT OF IT. THE GAS AND BRAKE PEDAL SEEMED TO BE IN NORMAL POSITION. I AM TAKING THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER WORK TODAY TO SEE WHAT CAN BE DONE. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY ISSUE INVOLVED HERE AND THE RANDOMNESS OF THIS. IT WAS LIKE THE TRUCK HAD A MIND OF ITS OWN AND JUST TRIED TO TAKE OFF. AFTER READING EVERYTHING ONLINE ABOUT THIS HAPPENING TO SO MANY OTHER PEOPLE, I'M NOT SURE I CAN CONTINUE TO DRIVE THIS TRUCK. I BOUGHT IT NEW WITH 19 MILES ON IT. SOMETHING IS VERY WRONG WITH THE DODGE TRUCKS CONSIDERING THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2014 - YAKIMA, WA
I RECEIVED MY FIRST RECALL NOTICE ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO AND MY SECOND ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO. I HAVE APPROACHED THE DEALERSHIP ,PREVIOUSLY MIKE OLSEN DODGE AND CURRENTLY YAKIMA DODGE, AND HAVE BEEN PUT ON A WAITING LIST. THEY STATE THAT THEY ONLY GET PARTS TO FIX 1 VEHICLE AT A TIME THAT THEN HAS TO BE VERIFIED BEFORE THEY CAN FIX ANOTHER ONE. THE RECALL NOTICE STATES THAT THE REAR AXLE CAN DISENGAGE AND LEAD TO AN UNCONTROLLABLE ACCIDENT. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THAT THERE HAS BEEN SUCH INCIDENT CLOSE TO TOWN BUT WITH NO INJURIES. THE NOTICES ARE IDENTIFIED AS SAFETY RECALL N08/NHTSA 13V-038. THIS IS MY ONLY TRANSPORTATION AND I AM CONCERNED FOR MY FAMILY SAFETY WHEN I DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/3/2014 - HOPKINSVILLE , KY
PURCHASED NEW, IN NOV 2010. WHEN FILLING UP THE NOZZLE CLICKS AND SPRAYS FUEL BACK ON YOU AND DOWN THE SIDE OF THE TRUCK APPX LOSS OF .5 GALLONS PER FILL UP. EVEN IF IT MISSES YOU YOUR HAND WILL BE COVERED IN GAS AND CAUSES CRACKS IN YOUR FINGERS NOW THAT ITS WINTER. I CANNOT IMAGE IT IS GOOD FOR THE PAINT EITHER.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/1/2014 - LOCUST GROVE, GA
WATER LEAKS THROUGH THE REAR WINDOW SEALS. SPOKE TO MANY DODGE RAM OWNERS AND THEY HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. DODGE HAVE BEEN REPAIRING THE SEALS FOR FREE IF YOUR VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY BUT CHARGING $174.00 IF YOUR WARRANTY HAVE EXPIRED. WHEN I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE IN TO GET THE LEAK FIXED THE SERVICE PERSONNEL TOLD ME THAT THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE WITH THESE TRUCKS AND THERE WAS FOUR MORE TRUCKS IN THAT DAY FOR THIS ISSUE. [XXX] WAS THE SERVICE PERSON AT LANDMARK DODGE IN MORROW GEORGIA. DODGE CORPORATION IS NOT WILLING TO REFUND MY MONEY OR HELP ME. LANDMARK DODGE SERVICE#678-251-2270. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/30/2013 - DELAWARE , OH
MY RIGHT REAR TURN SIGNAL AND MY BRAKE LIGHT STOPPED WORKING . I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS FOUND TO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE TIPM OR A FANCY FUSE BOX . MY COMPLAINT IS THAT CHRYSLER IS AT FAULT FOR THIS DEFECT WHICH CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE LACK OF LIGHT SIGNALS. THEY NEED TO IDENTIFY AN IMMEDIATE AND A ROBUST FIX TO AVOID ACCIDENTS. I NEVER HAD AN ISSUE LIKE THIS IN MY OTHER VEHICLES AND THE IMPLEMENTATION OF LIGHT SIGNALS HAS BEEN AROUND FOR OVER 50 YEARS . ANY INVESTIGATION AND FOLLOW UP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds