Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2011 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 189 complaints filed for the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (15) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (24) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (8) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (12) Power Train (103) Structure (8) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (11) Seats (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2013 - SAGLE, ID
IN APRIL OF THIS YEAR I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE #N08 FROM CHRYSLER GROUP LLC, REGARDING THE REAR AXLE PINION NUT. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED MY DODGE DEALER WHO INFORMED ME THAT THE PART(S) WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND TO CHECK BACK IN A FEW WEEKS. I HAVE CHECKED FOR THE LAST 5 MONTHS AND TO DATE THE PART(S) ARE STILL NOT AVAILABLE. WHY? IT'S MY SAFETY AND OF MY FAMILY TO GET THIS REPAIRED ASAP, WHAT ABOUT OTHER VEHICLES ON THE ROAD THAT ARE EFFECTED OR MIGHT BE INVOLVED IN A CRASH OF ONE THAT DOES HAVE THIS PROBLEM? THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE, WHY HASN'T YOUR ORGANIZATION TAKING STEPS TO CORRECT THIS SITUATION? YOU ARE SUPPOSE TO STAY ON TOP OF THIS, WHAT PART OF SAFETY DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2013 - BLACKWOOD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V038000 (POWER TRAIN) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR INSPECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2013 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V038000 (POWER TRAIN) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. IN ADDITION, THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT IF THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED, THEN THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE DRIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2013 - RHINEBECK, NY
AFTER A COUPLE REPAIRS ON SAME PROBLEM, I WAS DRIVING TO GO SHOPPING WHEN ETC BOLT LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I WAS LETTING OFF GAS TO SLOW DOWN SO I COULD TRY SHUTTING TRUCK OFF TO RESET COMPUTER SO I COULD GET IT TO DEALER. WHEN I LET OFF GAS THE TRUCK WAS ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN SO I HELD BRAKE DOWN AND LET UP ON BRAKE TO INCH FORWARD TO GET ALL THE WAY OFF ROAD WHEN IT ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN LIKE IT WAS FLOORED. I STOPPED AND PUT IT IN PARK. IN PARK THE ENGINE WAS RACING AT 3000 RPM. THIS IS A DANGEROUS FAULTY SYSTEM.I HAD TAKEN IT TO DEALER AND THEY RESET IT SAYING WHEN THEY CALLED FACTORY THEY WERE TOLD TO RESET IT. IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN MAY BE WIRE HARNESS. I HAVE TAKEN TIME TO FILE THESE COMPLAINTS AS I FEEL THIS IS A DEADLY ISSUE. THESE TRUCKS HAVE CHILDREN RIDING IN THEM AND IN OTHER CARS THAT MAY COLLIDE WITH THEM. PLEASE RESEARCH THE WIRELESS DRIVE ON THE DODGE RAM 2011.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/15/2013 - RHINEBECK, NY
AFTER A COUPLE REPAIRS ON SAME PROBLEM, I WAS DRIVING TO GO SHOPPING WHEN ETC BOLT LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I WAS LETTING OFF GAS TO SLOW DOWN SO I COULD TRY SHUTTING TRUCK OFF TO RESET COMPUTER SO I COULD GET IT TO DEALER. WHEN I LET OFF GAS THE TRUCK WAS ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN SO I HELD BRAKE DOWN AND LET UP ON BRAKE TO INCH FORWARD TO GET ALL THE WAY OFF ROAD WHEN IT ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN LIKE IT WAS FLOORED. I STOPPED AND PUT IT IN PARK. IN PARK THE ENGINE WAS RACING AT 3000 RPM. THIS IS A DANGEROUS FAULTY SYSTEM.I HAD TAKEN IT TO DEALER AND THEY RESET IT SAYING WHEN THEY CALLED FACTORY THEY WERE TOLD TO RESET IT. IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN MAY BE WIRE HARNESS. I HAVE TAKEN TIME TO FILE THESE COMPLAINTS AS I FEEL THIS IS A DEADLY ISSUE. THESE TRUCKS HAVE CHILDREN RIDING IN THEM AND IN OTHER CARS THAT MAY COLLIDE WITH THEM. PLEASE RESEARCH THE WIRELESS DRIVE ON THE DODGE RAM 2011.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2013 - RHINEBECK, NY
AFTER HAVING THE GAS PEDAL REPLACED A FEW MONTHS LATER, NOW 4/11/2013 THE ETC BOLT LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AT CITY SPEEDS AS I SLOWED FOR TRAFFIC , WHEN I LET OFF THE BRAKE THE TRUCK SPEED UP VERY FAST WITHOUT EVER USING CRUISE CONTROL OR TOUCHING THE GAS. I ALMOST RAN A RED LIGHT, HAD TO SMASH THE BRAKE DOWN HOLDING STEERING WHEEL TIGHT TO STOP THE TRUCK AFTER TURNING KEY OFF. I THEN RESTARTED IT I PUT IT IN DRIVE. WHEN I LET OFF BRAKE THE TRUCK TOOK OFF LIKE HECK, ALMOST LIKE IT WAS FLOORED ON ITS OWN. THE CAR DEALER CALLED THE FOR ADVICE ON THIS ONGOING PROBLEM. THEY THEN REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. I DO NOT BELIEVE IT IS THE DEALERS FAULT, I BELIEVE IT IS A DEFECT IN THE WIRELESS DRIVE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY BUILDER AND RECALLED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/15/2013 - RHINEBECK, NY
AFTER HAVING THE GAS PEDAL REPLACED A FEW MONTHS LATER, NOW 4/11/2013 THE ETC BOLT LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AT CITY SPEEDS AS I SLOWED FOR TRAFFIC , WHEN I LET OFF THE BRAKE THE TRUCK SPEED UP VERY FAST WITHOUT EVER USING CRUISE CONTROL OR TOUCHING THE GAS. I ALMOST RAN A RED LIGHT, HAD TO SMASH THE BRAKE DOWN HOLDING STEERING WHEEL TIGHT TO STOP THE TRUCK AFTER TURNING KEY OFF. I THEN RESTARTED IT I PUT IT IN DRIVE. WHEN I LET OFF BRAKE THE TRUCK TOOK OFF LIKE HECK, ALMOST LIKE IT WAS FLOORED ON ITS OWN. THE CAR DEALER CALLED THE FOR ADVICE ON THIS ONGOING PROBLEM. THEY THEN REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. I DO NOT BELIEVE IT IS THE DEALERS FAULT, I BELIEVE IT IS A DEFECT IN THE WIRELESS DRIVE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY BUILDER AND RECALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2013 - RHINEBECK , NY
I HAVE HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS BEFORE THIS WITH ENGINE AND ETC BOLT LIGHT ON DASH, CAUSING THE TRUCK TO GO IN LIMP MODE. I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND THAT THE TRUCK HAD TO BE RESET. ON SEPT 21/2012 THE ETC BOLT LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN CITY DRIVING CONDITIONS. WHEN I SLOWED DOWN FOR TRAFFIC USING THE BRAKE I LET OFF THE BRAKE AND BEFORE I COULD DO ANYTHING THE TRUCK RACED OFF ON ITS OWN ALMOST CAUSING A ACCIDENT WITHOUT EVER TOUCHING THE GAS, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT ON. I TURNED OFF KEY AND DANGEROUSLY COASTED TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. I TURNED OFF THE TRUCK AND RE STARTED THE TRUCK. AT THIS POINT I HAD ONLY ENGINE LIGHT SO I TOOK IT TO DEALER. THEY REPLACED GAS PEDAL AND RESET IT. THE TRUCK ALWAYS SCARED ME AFTER THIS. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A GREAT DANGER WITH THE NEW WIRELESS DRIVE SYSTEM.THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT BUY THE BUILDER OF THIS TRUCK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/15/2013 - RHINEBECK , NY
I HAVE HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS BEFORE THIS WITH ENGINE AND ETC BOLT LIGHT ON DASH, CAUSING THE TRUCK TO GO IN LIMP MODE. I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND THAT THE TRUCK HAD TO BE RESET. ON SEPT 21/2012 THE ETC BOLT LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN CITY DRIVING CONDITIONS. WHEN I SLOWED DOWN FOR TRAFFIC USING THE BRAKE I LET OFF THE BRAKE AND BEFORE I COULD DO ANYTHING THE TRUCK RACED OFF ON ITS OWN ALMOST CAUSING A ACCIDENT WITHOUT EVER TOUCHING THE GAS, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT ON. I TURNED OFF KEY AND DANGEROUSLY COASTED TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. I TURNED OFF THE TRUCK AND RE STARTED THE TRUCK. AT THIS POINT I HAD ONLY ENGINE LIGHT SO I TOOK IT TO DEALER. THEY REPLACED GAS PEDAL AND RESET IT. THE TRUCK ALWAYS SCARED ME AFTER THIS. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A GREAT DANGER WITH THE NEW WIRELESS DRIVE SYSTEM.THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT BUY THE BUILDER OF THIS TRUCK.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2013 - ALEXANDRIA, LA
AFTER PASSING A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY, MY TRUCK SHUT DOWN.THE ENGINE CUT OFF ,DASH LIGHTS AND PARK LIGHT STARTED TO FLICKER ERRATICALLY AND THE HEADLIGHTS WENT OFF. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IN ORDER TO STOP THE LIGHTS FROM FLICKERING I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY (THEY FLICKERED WITH THE SWITCH IN THE OFF POSITION). AS THE LIGHTS FLICKERED I COULD HEAR RELAYS CLICKING UNDER THE HOOD AND DASH. AFTER WAITING A WHILE I RECONNECTED THE BATTERY AND ALL SYSTEMS CAME BACK ON AND I WAS ABLE TO START THE TRUCK AND DRIVE IT HOME. THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CHECK IT OUT UNTIL WED THE 18. ALL SYSTEMS SEEM TO BE NORMAL. I HAVE TO GO TO WORK . I' M DRIVING IT 60 MILES ROUND TRIP EVERYDAY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds