Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 555 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (52) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (205) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (218)
Engine (183) Fuel Propulsion System (129) Seats (4) Suspension (1) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
1ST TIME I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE WANTED TO SURGE FORWARD SEVERAL TIMES, WHEN LIGHT TURNED GREEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND IT HESITATED. THIS WOULD HAPPEN EVERY NOW AND AGAIN, NOT A CONTINUOUS ISSUE. IN DEC 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN THIS TIME WITH THE VEHICLE STALLING, PUT IN PARK AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP BUT HESITATED WHEN ACCELERATING, DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES WITHIN A 5 MILE SPAN. PARKED, DID MY 8 HOUR WORK DAY CAME OUT, STARTED RIGHT UP AND NO ISSUES DRIVING HOME. LATER THAT NIGHT MY HUSBAND DROVE IT AND IT STALLED ON HIM 3 TIMES WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON. CODE P144A CAME UP, TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THE CODE THROWN SHOULD NOT CAUSE STALLING ISSUES. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING BATTLE, SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE RUNNING GREAT, SOMETIMES I DON'T KNOW IF I'LL MAKE IT TO MY DESTINATION. THIS HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS; IN CITY, INTERSTATE, OR AT A COMPLETE STOP. I ONLY HAVE 72000 IN MILEAGE AND MY VEHICLE IS WELL KEPT, WHAT IS GOING ON?!?

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
1ST TIME I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE WANTED TO SURGE FORWARD SEVERAL TIMES, WHEN LIGHT TURNED GREEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND IT HESITATED. THIS WOULD HAPPEN EVERY NOW AND AGAIN, NOT A CONTINUOUS ISSUE. IN DEC 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN THIS TIME WITH THE VEHICLE STALLING, PUT IN PARK AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP BUT HESITATED WHEN ACCELERATING, DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES WITHIN A 5 MILE SPAN. PARKED, DID MY 8 HOUR WORK DAY CAME OUT, STARTED RIGHT UP AND NO ISSUES DRIVING HOME. LATER THAT NIGHT MY HUSBAND DROVE IT AND IT STALLED ON HIM 3 TIMES WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON. CODE P144A CAME UP, TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THE CODE THROWN SHOULD NOT CAUSE STALLING ISSUES. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING BATTLE, SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE RUNNING GREAT, SOMETIMES I DON'T KNOW IF I'LL MAKE IT TO MY DESTINATION. THIS HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS; IN CITY, INTERSTATE, OR AT A COMPLETE STOP. I ONLY HAVE 72000 IN MILEAGE AND MY VEHICLE IS WELL KEPT, WHAT IS GOING ON?!?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/7/2015 - PANORAMA CITY, CA
THE ESCAPE LEAKS GASOLINE THROUGHOUT THE GAS PUMP ONLY WHEN IT'S TURNED ON.AND THE BACK DOOR DOESN'T OPEN, IT'S LOCKED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/4/2015 - FRIENDSWOOD, TX
THE ENGINE HAS STALLED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. SEVERAL OF THE INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED WHEN MAKING A TURN, EITHER RIGHT OR LEFT, AT A LOW SPEED WITH NO PRESSURE BEING APPLIED TO EITHER THE GAS OR BRAKE PEDAL. THE MOST RECENT EVENTS HAVE BEEN WHEN TURNING ONTO A STREET WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I MAKE THE TURN AND PRESS ON THE GAS ONLY TO FIND THAT THE ENGINE HAS STALLED. I HAVE TO STOP AND RESTART THE VEHICLE. THIS MAKES FOR A DANGEROUS SITUATION AS YOU END UP WITH LITTLE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. IT HAS ALSO STALLED IN PARKING LOTS WHEN COASTING AT A LOW SPEED WAITING ON ANOTHER CAR. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED IN MAY OF 2014 AND HAD TO TAKE IT TO A LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP THE VERY NEXT MONTH (JUNE 2014). THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ASSEMBLY AND ALSO REPROGRAMMED THE PCM PER THE 13N01 RECALL. WITHIN TWO MONTHS, THE ISSUE WAS BACK, THIS IS JANUARY OF 2015, AND THE ISSUE HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I HAVE READ THAT IT COULD BE A TYPE OF RELAY SWITCH LOCATED IN THE UNDER-THE-HOOD FUSE BOX. IF FORD DOESN'T FIX THIS ISSUE, THERE WILL EVENTUALLY BE WRECKS AND POSSIBLE FATALITIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2014 - ASTORIA, NY
CAR WAS PARKED AND CLOSED REAR LIFT GATE AND REAR WINDOW EXPLODED ON ME.

View Details

SEATS

12/27/2014 - GOODYEAR, AZ
I JUST GOT OFF THE FREEWAY ON RAMP AND SLOWED FOR TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC JUST STARTED TO GO SO, I JUST TOOK MY FOOT OF THE BRAKE AND SLOWLY PROCEEDED TO MOVE, WHEN OUT OF NOWHERE I WAS THROWN FORWARD AND OUT OF MY SEAT. THE VIOLENT IMPACT PUSHED MY VEHICLE INTO A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME, THAT IMPACT CAUSED ME TO FLY BACKWARDS AND MY DRIVER'S SEAT BROKE. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE AIRBAGS DIDN'T GO OFF AND MY SEAT BROKE CAUSING INJURY. THE SEAT SHOULD HAVE NEVER BROKE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2014 - GOODYEAR, AZ
I JUST GOT OFF THE FREEWAY ON RAMP AND SLOWED FOR TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC JUST STARTED TO GO SO, I JUST TOOK MY FOOT OF THE BRAKE AND SLOWLY PROCEEDED TO MOVE, WHEN OUT OF NOWHERE I WAS THROWN FORWARD AND OUT OF MY SEAT. THE VIOLENT IMPACT PUSHED MY VEHICLE INTO A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME, THAT IMPACT CAUSED ME TO FLY BACKWARDS AND MY DRIVER'S SEAT BROKE. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE AIRBAGS DIDN'T GO OFF AND MY SEAT BROKE CAUSING INJURY. THE SEAT SHOULD HAVE NEVER BROKE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/24/2014 - GOLDEN, CO
THE LIGHTS, INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR, WENT OUT WHILE WE WERE DRIVING. IT HAS HAPPENED FOUR MORE TIMES SINCE THEN. IT IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY IN RECENT MONTHS. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/9/2014 - STERLING, MI
MY FIANCE WAS DRIVING MY ESCAPE AND HAD AN ACCIDENT SHE REARENDED A TRUCK AND NONE OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF AND THE MOTOR WAS PUSHED ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE FIREWALL.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT A FIRE HAD ERUPTED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds