Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 559 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (52) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (205) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (220)
Engine (184) Fuel Propulsion System (129) Seats (4) Suspension (1) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/22/2015 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
WHILE TRAVELING FROM VIRGINIA TO MICHIGAN ON PENNSYLVANIA TURNPIKE AT A SPEED OF 75 MPH MY CRUISE CONTROL SWITCHED OFF AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. I THOUGHT MAYBE IT WAS BECAUSE I HIT A BUMP IN THE ROAD SO I TRIED TO ENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL AGAIN, IT STAYED ON FOR A FEW MINUTES THEN DISENGAGED AGAIN. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED, ON A PREVIOUS TRIP IT DID THE SAME THING. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALER, THEY COULDN'T DETERMINE THE CAUSE. OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING ISN'T RIGHT, I'VE SEEN ONE OTHER COMPLAINT ABOUT THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2015 - FT PIERCE, FL
TRUCK JUMPS AND JERKS AT INITIAL ACCELERATION. PROBLEM DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. WHEN IT DOES, WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON AND SOMETIMES CHECK ENGINE COMES ON. IF I STOP, TURN VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTART IT, THE WRENCH LIGHT GOES OFF. PROBLEM DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. ONE TIME I DID HAVE SERIOUS SLOW DOWN MODE HAPPEN. I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 50 MPH, LIGHTS CAME ON AND TRUCK SLOWED WAY DOWN. JERKING AND JUMPING AT START UP IS NOT SAFE I THINK. PROBLEM SOUNDS LIKE FORD CSP 13N03 TO ME. I AM CALLING DEALER TODAY FOR APPT. THANK YOU

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/5/2015 - WAUSAU, WI
REAR WINDOW SHATTERED WHILE PARKED AND REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER WORKING

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/5/2015 - WAUSAU, WI
REAR WINDOW SHATTERED WHILE PARKED AND REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER WORKING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/5/2015 - WAUSAU, WI
REAR WINDOW SHATTERED WHILE PARKED AND REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER WORKING

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2015 - PORT ST. LUCIE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING WITH THE VEHICLE ON CRUISE CONTROL AT 75 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
1ST TIME I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE WANTED TO SURGE FORWARD SEVERAL TIMES, WHEN LIGHT TURNED GREEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND IT HESITATED. THIS WOULD HAPPEN EVERY NOW AND AGAIN, NOT A CONTINUOUS ISSUE. IN DEC 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN THIS TIME WITH THE VEHICLE STALLING, PUT IN PARK AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP BUT HESITATED WHEN ACCELERATING, DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES WITHIN A 5 MILE SPAN. PARKED, DID MY 8 HOUR WORK DAY CAME OUT, STARTED RIGHT UP AND NO ISSUES DRIVING HOME. LATER THAT NIGHT MY HUSBAND DROVE IT AND IT STALLED ON HIM 3 TIMES WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON. CODE P144A CAME UP, TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THE CODE THROWN SHOULD NOT CAUSE STALLING ISSUES. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING BATTLE, SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE RUNNING GREAT, SOMETIMES I DON'T KNOW IF I'LL MAKE IT TO MY DESTINATION. THIS HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS; IN CITY, INTERSTATE, OR AT A COMPLETE STOP. I ONLY HAVE 72000 IN MILEAGE AND MY VEHICLE IS WELL KEPT, WHAT IS GOING ON?!?

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
1ST TIME I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE WANTED TO SURGE FORWARD SEVERAL TIMES, WHEN LIGHT TURNED GREEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND IT HESITATED. THIS WOULD HAPPEN EVERY NOW AND AGAIN, NOT A CONTINUOUS ISSUE. IN DEC 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN THIS TIME WITH THE VEHICLE STALLING, PUT IN PARK AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP BUT HESITATED WHEN ACCELERATING, DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES WITHIN A 5 MILE SPAN. PARKED, DID MY 8 HOUR WORK DAY CAME OUT, STARTED RIGHT UP AND NO ISSUES DRIVING HOME. LATER THAT NIGHT MY HUSBAND DROVE IT AND IT STALLED ON HIM 3 TIMES WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON. CODE P144A CAME UP, TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THE CODE THROWN SHOULD NOT CAUSE STALLING ISSUES. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING BATTLE, SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE RUNNING GREAT, SOMETIMES I DON'T KNOW IF I'LL MAKE IT TO MY DESTINATION. THIS HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS; IN CITY, INTERSTATE, OR AT A COMPLETE STOP. I ONLY HAVE 72000 IN MILEAGE AND MY VEHICLE IS WELL KEPT, WHAT IS GOING ON?!?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/7/2015 - PANORAMA CITY, CA
THE ESCAPE LEAKS GASOLINE THROUGHOUT THE GAS PUMP ONLY WHEN IT'S TURNED ON.AND THE BACK DOOR DOESN'T OPEN, IT'S LOCKED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/4/2015 - FRIENDSWOOD, TX
THE ENGINE HAS STALLED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. SEVERAL OF THE INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED WHEN MAKING A TURN, EITHER RIGHT OR LEFT, AT A LOW SPEED WITH NO PRESSURE BEING APPLIED TO EITHER THE GAS OR BRAKE PEDAL. THE MOST RECENT EVENTS HAVE BEEN WHEN TURNING ONTO A STREET WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I MAKE THE TURN AND PRESS ON THE GAS ONLY TO FIND THAT THE ENGINE HAS STALLED. I HAVE TO STOP AND RESTART THE VEHICLE. THIS MAKES FOR A DANGEROUS SITUATION AS YOU END UP WITH LITTLE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. IT HAS ALSO STALLED IN PARKING LOTS WHEN COASTING AT A LOW SPEED WAITING ON ANOTHER CAR. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED IN MAY OF 2014 AND HAD TO TAKE IT TO A LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP THE VERY NEXT MONTH (JUNE 2014). THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ASSEMBLY AND ALSO REPROGRAMMED THE PCM PER THE 13N01 RECALL. WITHIN TWO MONTHS, THE ISSUE WAS BACK, THIS IS JANUARY OF 2015, AND THE ISSUE HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE. I HAVE READ THAT IT COULD BE A TYPE OF RELAY SWITCH LOCATED IN THE UNDER-THE-HOOD FUSE BOX. IF FORD DOESN'T FIX THIS ISSUE, THERE WILL EVENTUALLY BE WRECKS AND POSSIBLE FATALITIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds