Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 636 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (63) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (226) Steering (38) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (229)
Engine (205) Fuel Propulsion System (133) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/19/2016 - OXFORD, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOOSE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/2/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
TAKATA RECALL STOPPED AT STOP SIGN TRIED TO MOVE FORWARD WOULD ONLY MOVE AT A TINY CRAWL RED WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON MADE IT HOME STILL ONLY BARELY MOVING. TURNED MOTOR OFF RESTARTED EVERYTHING SEEMED TO BE BACK TO NORMAL. NOW I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE IN VERY MUCH TRAFFIC. IF THIS HAPPENS ON BUSY HIGHWAY COULD BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT TO DO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/26/2016 - BATON ROUGE, LA
MY 2011 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED VIN NUMBER 1FMCU9EG8BKB21664 WHILE DRIVING LOSES ALL ACCELERATION WHICH REQUIRES ME TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TURN IT OFF AND RESTART THE CAR SO IT WILL RUN NORMAL AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED 6 TIMES TO ME WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. AFTER GETTING THE CODES RUN IT CAME BACK WITH P2111 - THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEM - STUCK OPEN. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ONLINE AND TO BE HONEST IT IS A VERY SCARY EXPERIENCE WHEN IT HAPPENS BECAUSE IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE WHILE DRIVING, I AM LUCKY IT DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEED ON A SIDE STREET, POWER STEERING QUIT WORKING AND ERROR "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" CAME UP. POWER STEERING COMPLETELY INOPERABLE. WITH MUCH DIFFICULTY VEHICLE DRIVEN TO FORD DEALERSHIP. COULD NOT BE DRIVEN BY PERSON WITHOUT EXTREME STRENGTH. UNSAFE FOR ANYONE TO DRIVE! ADVISED THAT NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL AND COST TO REPAIR ALMOST $1200.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/4/2016 - BOLTON, MA
WHILE MERGING ONTO THE INTERSTATE THE THE CAR SUDDENLY BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AT FULL THROTTLE. TEMP ~30 DEG, ROAD - DRY PAVEMENT ODOMETER: 110367.0 MILES. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED IN SEPTEMBER 2015 BY THE FORD DEALER, AS WELL AS A NEW EXHAUST SYSTEM AT THE SAME TIME. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DAY BEFORE. INCIDENT: I DO NOT KNOW MY ACTUAL SPEED AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT BECAUSE I WAS MERGING ON TO THE INTERSTATE. IT WAS A LONG RAMP, I AM PRETTY SURE I WAS GOING AT LEAST 45MPH. I WAS ACCELERATING TO MERGE ON. ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ENGINE STARTED TO RACE AND THE CAR PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE EVEN FASTER. I IMMEDIATELY PUSHED ON MY BRAKES WHICH HELPED TO KEEP ME FROM HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RACE AS I WAS DEPRESSING THE BRAKE. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND STEERED MY WAY TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I PUT THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL AND ONCE I STOPPED I PUT THE CAR INTO PARK. I PROCEEDED TO TRY TO START THE CAR, BUT THE ENGINE RACED LIKE IT WAS AT FULL THROTTLE. I IMMEDIATELY SHUT IT OFF. I TRIED TWO MORE TIMES WITH THE SAME RESULT. I CALLED MY HUSBAND+S MECHANIC WHOSE BUSINESS WAS CLOSE BY TO ASK HIS OPINION ABOUT WHAT TO DO NEXT. WITH HIM LISTENING ON THE PHONE, I STARTED THE ENGINE, BUT THIS TIME IS STARTED UP CORRECTLY. MAYBE A TOTAL OF 10 MINUTES HAD PASSED FROM THE FIRST INSTANCE OF ME HAVING TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THIS LAST TRY WHEN IT STARTED CORRECTLY. I DROVE THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC+S BUSINESS ABOUT 5 MILES AWAY. I WANTED HIM TO CHECK THE CODE FOR WHY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AND IF THAT WAS A FACTOR FOR THE THROTTLE ISSUE. THE CODE FOR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT READ: CODE#: P0456 - (EVAP) SYSTEM LEAK DETECTED ( VERY SMALL LEAK). WE ALSO CHECKED THE FLOOR MATS, BUT THERE WAS NO ISSUE WITH THEM. [THE MATS DID COME WITH THE CAR AT TIME OF PURCHASE FROM THE DEALER] PURCHASED:11/30/2010

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/25/2016 - FLOSSMOOR, IL
MY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT HAS REPEATING CAME ON AND OFF AS WELL AS UPON PRESSING THE ACCELERATION A FEELING OF NOISE IS NOTICEABLE. THIS HAS CAUSED ME TO BE VERY CONCERN WITH THE SAFETY OF DRIVING ON 30+ MINUTE COMMUTES DAILY. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO THE SHOP WITH NOTHING DETECTABLE YET THE NOISE AND LIGHT PERSIST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2016 - DELTONA, FL
POWER TRAIN , I WAS DRIVING ON I-4 AND DRIVING WITH THE TRAFFIC AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR JUST STARTS TO JERK AND CUTS OFF, NEEDLESS TO SAY I GOT OFF ON SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND TURNED CAR OFF. I WAS SCARED BECAUSE I LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND I THOUGHT I WAS DEAD. I HAD TO SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES BECAUSE I WAS SCARED TO THINK I COULD HAVE DIED TODAY. RESEARCHING IT REALLY ANGERS ME BECAUSE THIS COULD AND CAN BE PREVENTED. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE TO GET A RECALL. AS FOR THE CAR IT STARTED BACK UP AND GOT ME HOME. I CANNOT SAY I AM SAFE IN MY OWN CAR. THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP PLEASE CALL A RECALL BEFORE MYSELF OR ANYONE OF THE OTHERS GETS KILLED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/16/2016 - EFFINGHAM, IL
THE BACK GLASS EXPLODED SPONTANEOUSLY. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS WITH IN A FEW FEET. WE FOUND GLASS FRAGMENTS IN THE BACK SEAT, CARGO AREA, ALL OVER THE DRIVE WAY, AND IN A SEMI-CIRCLE SEVERAL FEET AROUND THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. IT WAS JUST PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY AND HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN OR ENTERED SINCE THE NIGHT BEFORE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2016 - PUYALLLUP, WA
I HAD OIL LEAKAGE IN JAN 2015 AND TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID ITS PTO SIDE COVER GASKET LEAKING. CAR HAD ONLY 48117 MILES. HAD EXTENDED WARRANTY. THEY FIXED IT. NOW AGAIN IN A YEAR I TOOK CAR FOR REGULAR OIL CHANGE AND THEY DISCOVER OTHER LEAK. I DON'T SEE OIL ON THE GARAGE FLOOR THOUGH. THIS TIME IT'S TIMING COVER GASKET. DON'T HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY ANY MORE. THEY SAID IT WILL COST $1340 PLUS TAX. I TOOK IT FOR SECOND OPINION AND THEY SAID NO LEAKAGE ON TIMING COVER GASKET BUT SAME LEAK WHAT I HAD IT LAST YEAR. THEY WORDED DIFFERENTLY. THEY CALL IT TRANSFER CASE COVER LEAKING. CAR HAS ONLY 66300 MILES. NOT UNDERSTANDING WHY CAR CAN HAVE LEAKAGE PROBLEM IN SUCH LOW MILEAGE. FORD NEED TO LOOK INTO THESE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/7/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
OUR FORD STALLS THEN JERKS/JUMPS WHEN ACCELERATING AT TIMES. IT'S STARTING TO HAPPEN MORE OFTEN. IT MAINLY HAPPENS AFTER TURNING ON AND DRIVING IT FOR THE FIRST TIME DURING THAT DAY ALTHOUGH THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHERE IT WILL STILL DO IT EVEN AFTER IT HAS BEEN RUNNING THROUGHOUT THE DAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds