Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 535 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (50) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (200) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (214)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (17)
Engine (178) Fuel Propulsion System (126) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/15/2014 - WOODBURY, MN
CAR LOST POWER SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 65 MPH. I PULLED OVER TO RIGHT LANE IN HEAVY RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I COASTED AT REDUCED AND SLOWING SPEED TO THE NEXT AN EXIT RAMP, WHICH WAS ANOTHER FREEWAY. SEVERAL CARS WERE HONKING AND PASSING ME ON THE EXIT RAMP. I PULLED OVER AND DROVE ON SHOULDER FOR ANOTHER MILE UNTIL I CAME TO A SLIGHT HILL. I STOPPED ON THE NARROW SHOULDER BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING, BUT AT LOW RPM. THE WRENCH ICON SHOWED ON THE DASHBOARD. I TURNED ENGINE OFF AND WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES. IT HAD FULL POWER WHEN I RESTARTED, GIVING ME ROOM TO DRIVE TO NEXT EXIT LESS THAN A BLOCK AWAY, BUT LOST POWER AGAIN MINUTES LATER. I EXITED ON TO CENTURY AVE, DODGING ONCOMING CARS COMING AT FULL SPEED. I PULLED TO A SERVICE STATION RIGHT OFF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
DRIVING ON FREEWAY APPROX 65 MPH, NO WARNING, ENGINE COMPLETELY STOPS. THANKFULLY ABLE TO DRIFT OVER TO SHOULDER OF EXIT LANE AND RESTARTED WITH NO DETECTABLE ISSUES. ASKED MECHANICS TO RUN ALTERNATOR DIAGNOSTICS - AS THEY SAID THE ALTERNATOR WAS THE ONLY THING THAT WOULD MAKE AN ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OFF. TESTED OK. PARKED FOR WEEKEND. SAME THING HAPPENED ON MONDAY MORNING. SEARCHED FOR PROBLEM ONLINE, FOUND THROTTLE BODY COMMENTS. CALLED LOCAL DEALER - SERVICE ADVISER TOLD ME IT WAS COVERED UNDER RECALL, BUT APPOINTMENT SETTER TOLD ME IT WASN'T. WE'LL SEE WHEN I GET THERE TOMORROW. VERY TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE - I'M LUCKY I TRAVEL AT VERY EARLY TRAFFIC TIMES. I DON'T THINK I WILL EVER FEEL SAFE IN THE VEHICLE AFTER READING SO MANY SIMILAR STORIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/30/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
DRIVING ON FREEWAY APPROX 65 MPH, NO WARNING, ENGINE COMPLETELY STOPS. THANKFULLY ABLE TO DRIFT OVER TO SHOULDER OF EXIT LANE AND RESTARTED WITH NO DETECTABLE ISSUES. ASKED MECHANICS TO RUN ALTERNATOR DIAGNOSTICS - AS THEY SAID THE ALTERNATOR WAS THE ONLY THING THAT WOULD MAKE AN ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OFF. TESTED OK. PARKED FOR WEEKEND. SAME THING HAPPENED ON MONDAY MORNING. SEARCHED FOR PROBLEM ONLINE, FOUND THROTTLE BODY COMMENTS. CALLED LOCAL DEALER - SERVICE ADVISER TOLD ME IT WAS COVERED UNDER RECALL, BUT APPOINTMENT SETTER TOLD ME IT WASN'T. WE'LL SEE WHEN I GET THERE TOMORROW. VERY TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE - I'M LUCKY I TRAVEL AT VERY EARLY TRAFFIC TIMES. I DON'T THINK I WILL EVER FEEL SAFE IN THE VEHICLE AFTER READING SO MANY SIMILAR STORIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2014 - CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI
ENTERED LEFT TURN LANE TO APPROACH OFF RAMP, TRUCK STALLED. APPX 40MPH. TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, DROVE HOME. HAD NOTICED JUMPING RESPONSE FROM IDLE TO REVERSE TO DRIVE, PARTICULARLY UPON FIRST IGNITION OF DAY, FOR ABOUT A WEEK. HAVE CONTACTED DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR OF NOTED THROTTLE BODY ISSUE, WHICH IS SCHEDULED FOR 1 WEEK FROM TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI
ENTERED LEFT TURN LANE TO APPROACH OFF RAMP, TRUCK STALLED. APPX 40MPH. TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, DROVE HOME. HAD NOTICED JUMPING RESPONSE FROM IDLE TO REVERSE TO DRIVE, PARTICULARLY UPON FIRST IGNITION OF DAY, FOR ABOUT A WEEK. HAVE CONTACTED DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR OF NOTED THROTTLE BODY ISSUE, WHICH IS SCHEDULED FOR 1 WEEK FROM TODAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/25/2014 - WELLSBORO, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 71 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON, I NOTICED A SLOWING DOWN FEELING, THE CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT WENT OFF, THE WRENCH LIGHT ILLUMINATED. I PULLED TO THE BERM. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. ACCORDING TO THE MANUAL IT WAS THE THROTTLE. IT TOOK 2 TRIES TO RESTART CAR, THE WRENCH LIGHT WENT OFF. A FORD DEALERSHIP WAS 5 MIN. FROM INCIDENT. ACCORDING TO INVOICE, THEY PERFORMED THROTTLE BODY UPDATE. I WAS TOLD IF THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, IT MIGHT NEED A THROTTLE BODY. I ASKED IF THEY COULD PERFORM THE WORK, THEY STATED WITHOUT THE LIGHT BEING ON, THEY COULDN'T DO THE WORK UNDER THE WARRANTY. MEANWHILE I WAS OVER 200 MILES FROM HOME, AND NEEDED TO GET HOME. IT FELT SO UNSAFE FOR 5HOURS OF DRIVING. THE CAR HAS SURGES OF POWER, DOWNSHIFTS WITH JOLTS, AND CLUNKING SOUNDS WHEN IT DOES SHIFT. THIS IS HOW IT DROVE FROM THE BEGINNING, I BEGAN TO THINK IT WAS NORMAL SO NEVER REPORTED IT. ALSO, SINCE THE WORK WAS DONE I NOTICED THE RPMS AT IDLING ARE HIGH, I CAN PULL INTO THE GARAGE WITHOUT PUTTING MY FOOT ON THE GAS THE RPMS ARE AT 2 AT 30 MILES AN HOUR, SAME AS AT 70 MILES AN HOUR. I'M CONTACTING FORD ABOUT THE RULES OF THE WARRANTY AND HOW UNSAFE IT FEELS TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. HOW MANY ACCIDENTS, DEATHS WILL IT TAKE TO GET THE REAL WORK DONE, NOT A PATCH UP JOB.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/23/2014 - TECUMSE, MI
I WAS DRIVING ALONG THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH, WHEN I FELT A 'CLUNK'. THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND THE 'WRENCH' LIGHT LIT UP. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. I THEN TURNED THE ENGINE OFF, WAITED A COUPLE MINUTES AND THEN RE-STARTED THE ENGINE. THE 'WRENCH' LIGHT DID NOT RETURN. I DO NOT FEEL IT IS SAFE TO DRIVE UNTIL THIS ISSUES IS RESOLVED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds