Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 544 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (52) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (204) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (217)
Engine (178) Fuel Propulsion System (127) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/22/2014 - PAHRUMP, NV
I WAS CROSSING A HIGHWAY AND WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS I HAD NO POWER! JUST A FEW WEEKS BEFORE IT WAS AT FORD FOR A TORQUE AND STEERING RECALL. WHEN I CALLED FORD TO INFORM THEM WHAT HAPPENED THEY SAID I WILL HAVE TO PAY $130 FOR THEM TO DIAGNOSE IT! I'M NOT HAPPY WITH FORDS RESPONSE. THIS IS A REAL DANGER AND THEY NEED TO TAKE IT SERIOUS!

View Details

TIRES

11/14/2014 - PA, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE EQUIPPED WITH MICHELIN CROSS TERRAIN TIRES, TIRE LINE F4290R AND TIRES SIZE P225/65/R17. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRES HAD DRIED ROTTED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW AT ALL TIME. THE TIRES WERE TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP. THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE ON BOTH THE TIRE AND THE VEHICLE WAS 30,000. PAM

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/10/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
I HAVE A 2011 FORD ESCAPE WITH AROUND 18000 MILES. THE LIFT GATE GLASS EXPLODED WHEN I SHUT THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MOVING. GLASS FOR SPREAD INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/7/2014 - HIGH POINT, NC
WHEN DRIVING THE STEERING WHEEL SEEMS HARD TO CONTROL. THE SUV SEEMS TO SPUTTER AS I PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, AND THE ENGINE (MOTOR) SEEMS TO MISS WHEN ACCELERATION IS BETWEEN 20 AND 40 MPH. NEXT, WHEN ACCELERATING PAST 60 THE ENGINE MISSING OR (CUTTING OUT SYMPTOM) OCCURS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/7/2014 - HIGH POINT, NC
WHEN DRIVING THE STEERING WHEEL SEEMS HARD TO CONTROL. THE SUV SEEMS TO SPUTTER AS I PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, AND THE ENGINE (MOTOR) SEEMS TO MISS WHEN ACCELERATION IS BETWEEN 20 AND 40 MPH. NEXT, WHEN ACCELERATING PAST 60 THE ENGINE MISSING OR (CUTTING OUT SYMPTOM) OCCURS.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2014 - HIGH POINT, NC
WHEN DRIVING THE STEERING WHEEL SEEMS HARD TO CONTROL. THE SUV SEEMS TO SPUTTER AS I PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, AND THE ENGINE (MOTOR) SEEMS TO MISS WHEN ACCELERATION IS BETWEEN 20 AND 40 MPH. NEXT, WHEN ACCELERATING PAST 60 THE ENGINE MISSING OR (CUTTING OUT SYMPTOM) OCCURS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

11/5/2014 - LEWISVILLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/4/2014 - LEWISVILL, TX
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - LURAY, VA
WHILE DRIVING ALONG MY FORD ESCAPE SUDDENLY REFUSED TO ACCELERATE, I WAS HOLDING THE GAS TO THE FLOOR AND IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. IT WAS IDLING STRANGELY AND SURGING. A WRENCH SYMBOL APPEARED IN THE SCREEN ON THE DASH. I WAS ON A HILL AND WAS UNABLE TO PULL OF THE ROAD. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I WAITED A FEW MOMENTS AND RESTARTED THE ESCAPE, IT WENT AND THEN CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ONCE AGAIN. I WILL BE TAKING THIS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE FIXED. BUT I AM VERY CONCERNED, UPON RESEARCHING THE ISSUE I FOUND MANY MORE COMPLAINTS ONLINE. WHY HASN'T THIS ISSUE BEEN RECALLED? IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ESCAPE CUTS OFF AT THE WRONG TIME AND GETS SOMEONE KILLED. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE IT BECOME AN EPIDEMIC LIKE THE CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/31/2014 - LURAY, VA
WHILE DRIVING ALONG MY FORD ESCAPE SUDDENLY REFUSED TO ACCELERATE, I WAS HOLDING THE GAS TO THE FLOOR AND IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. IT WAS IDLING STRANGELY AND SURGING. A WRENCH SYMBOL APPEARED IN THE SCREEN ON THE DASH. I WAS ON A HILL AND WAS UNABLE TO PULL OF THE ROAD. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I WAITED A FEW MOMENTS AND RESTARTED THE ESCAPE, IT WENT AND THEN CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ONCE AGAIN. I WILL BE TAKING THIS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE FIXED. BUT I AM VERY CONCERNED, UPON RESEARCHING THE ISSUE I FOUND MANY MORE COMPLAINTS ONLINE. WHY HASN'T THIS ISSUE BEEN RECALLED? IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ESCAPE CUTS OFF AT THE WRONG TIME AND GETS SOMEONE KILLED. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE IT BECOME AN EPIDEMIC LIKE THE CHEVY COBALT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds