Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 709 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (3) Power Train (234) Steering (63) Unknown Or Other (23)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (23) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electrical System (72) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (145) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (221) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/16/2017 - PALM DESERT, CA
DRIVING AND POWER STEERING DID NOT WORK. IT WAS VERY HARD TO STEER CAR TO STOP. WHEN I TURNED OF IGNITION AND RESTART VEHICLE THE POWER ASSIST WORKS FOR A WHILE. THERE WAS A RECALL ON APPROX 1.3 MILLION VEHICLES. MY VIN # IS NOT INCLUDED......?? DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2017 - MORRISON, CO
THIS VEHICLE HAS EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING. CONSOLE DISPLAYS "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT". DEALER DIAGNOSED A FAULTY STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR (DTC B2278). DEALER ALSO CONFIRMED THAT THE PART NUMBER OF THE FAULTY TORQUE SENSOR IS (CL8Z-3F818-A). THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE THE EXACT SAME AS FORD RECALL 14S05 AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN 14V284000. THIS ESCAPE IS EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS RECALL 14S05 AND THE VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED WITHIN THE DATES SPECIFIED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER, THE VIN DOES NOT CURRENTLY INCLUDE THIS VEHICLE IN THE RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2017 - PALM DESERT, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE RESTARTED TO OPERATE NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH NEEDING A NEW POWER STEERING TORQUE SENSOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2017 - HINESVILLE, GA
AT FIRST MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THEN MY FORD ESCAPE STARTED BUT IT ONLY CREEPED DOWN THE STREET IT BARELY WANTED TO GO ANYWHERE WHEN I GOT TO THE LIGHT IT WOULDN'T MOVE AT ALL SO I BACKED IT UP THEN SLOWLY DROVE IT ACROSS THE STREET OUT THE WAY OF TRAFFIC & WHEN I SHUT IT OFF IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP THE CRANKSHAFT & TIMING CHAIN WENT OUT ON IT. IT ONLY HAS 65,800 MILES ON IT AND I ONLY HAD IT 8 MONTHS. I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THAT PART BECAUSE THE MILEAGE IS NOT THAT HIGH FOR IT TO GO OUT ALREADY. IT'S GOING TO COST A LOT TO GET REPAIRED. I NEED TO FIND OUT ABOUT THE CRANKSHAFT WILL BE ABLE TO GET REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

STEERING

1/23/2017 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
WE PURCHASED A USED 2011 FORD ESCAPE ON JAN 17,2017. AFTER LEAVING THE DEALERSHIP AND DRIVING HOME, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY. WE TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTARTED IT. THE POWER STEERING WAS FUNCTIONING AGAIN. AS WE TURNED THE CORNER ON MY STREET, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN, CAUSING THE VEHICLE MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING TO GO STRAIGHT TOWARD A LIGHT POLE ON THE CORNER. WE STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND WE WERE ABLE TO FORCE THE STEERING MANUALLY TO TURN INTO OUR DRIVEWAY. I CONTACTED THE NON-FORD DEALER TO ADVISE THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED WITHIN 30 MINUTES OF LEAVING THEIR DEALERSHIP. REPAIRS HAVE NOT BEEN MADE YET. FORD SAYS THAT MY VIN IS NOT UNDER THE RECALL, DESPITE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM THAT THE RECALL STATES. I RESEARCHED OUR VEHICLE AND CONTACTED FORD TO FILE A COMPLAINT. THERE WAS A RECALL ISSUED ON MAY, 2014. HERE IS THE RECALL: RECALL NUMBER 14V284000 RECALL DATE 05/29/2014 COMPONENT STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM SUMMARY FORD MOTOR COMPANY (FORD) IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2008-2011 FORD ESCAPE AND MERCURY MARINER VEHICLES MANUFACTURED AUGUST 18, 2006, THROUGH SEPTEMBER 11, 2010. THE AFFECTED VEHICLES HAVE A STEERING TORQUE SENSOR THAT MAY NOT BE ABLE TO PROPERLY DETECT DRIVER STEERING INPUT. AS A RESULT, THE SYSTEM COULD REMOVE THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING (EPS) ASSIST. CONSEQUENCE IF POWER STEERING ASSIST IS LOST, GREATER DRIVER EFFORT WOULD BE REQUIRED TO STEER THE VEHICLE AT LOW SPEEDS, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. FORD'S NUMBER FOR THIS RECALL IS 14S05 ATTACHED IS THE CODING FROM THE DEALERSHIP

View Details

STEERING

1/20/2017 - EUGENE, OR
ELECTRIC POWER ASSISTED STEERING SYSTEM FAILED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, IT FAILED AS I WAS TURNING A CORNER. NO POWER STEERING AVAILABLE. HAD IT TOWED TO THE KENDALL FORD IN EUGENE OR. THEY THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE UNIT, THIS UNIT HAS PREVIOUSLY FAILED 3 TIMES ON OTHER VEHICLE OF MY TYPE. THE TOTAL REPAIR COST IS $1,400.00 MY CAR ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES ON IT, I THINK FORD NEEDS TO STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT, ESPECIALLY WHEN THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM (3TIMES) ON CARS LIKE MINE,

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2017 - ITHACA, NY
ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, MY VEHICLE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. THE LIGHTS FLICKERED OFF, THE BREAKS WORKED AT APPROX. 30% AFTER THE CAR SHUT OFF AND I HAD MINIMAL STEERING CAPABILITIES AND NO ACCELERATION CAPABILITY. THE CAR HAS ALSO REPEATEDLY BEEN FOUND WITH A DEAD BATTERY (AROUND 10 TIMES NOW) WHEN IT HAS A BRAND NEW BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR, AND NOTHING WITHIN THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN LEFT ON TO DRAIN THE POWER.

View Details

STEERING

1/20/2017 - ITHACA, NY
ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, MY VEHICLE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. THE LIGHTS FLICKERED OFF, THE BREAKS WORKED AT APPROX. 30% AFTER THE CAR SHUT OFF AND I HAD MINIMAL STEERING CAPABILITIES AND NO ACCELERATION CAPABILITY. THE CAR HAS ALSO REPEATEDLY BEEN FOUND WITH A DEAD BATTERY (AROUND 10 TIMES NOW) WHEN IT HAS A BRAND NEW BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR, AND NOTHING WITHIN THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN LEFT ON TO DRAIN THE POWER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2017 - CHEEKCOWAGA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ODOR OF FUEL IN THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ALSO HAD A PUDDLE OF FUEL UNDER THE FUEL TANK. IN THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V777000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO BE OPERATED AND IT WOULD NEED AN IMMEDIATE INTERIM REPAIR. THE TECHNICIAN ALSO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE INTERIM REPAIR WOULD BE AT THE COST TO THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

1/17/2017 - HAPPY VALLEY, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING OPERATED AT A MODERATE SPEED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE WAS REMEDIED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT DUE TO THE ELAPSED TIME PERIOD BETWEEN THE FAILURE AND THE INITIAL REPAIR, THE COST WOULD BE AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 133,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds