Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 515 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (47) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (195) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (210)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (16)
Engine (171) Fuel Propulsion System (125) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/25/2014 - FORT COLLINS, CO
THE TRANSMISSION LOCKED UP IN THE CENTER LANE OF HWY 50 LEADING INTO SACRAMENTO CA. THE FORD CAME TO A STOP IN HIGH SPEED TRAFFIC AND WE WERE NEARLY HIT FROM BEHIND. WE WERE STRANDED THERE FOR ABOUT A HALF AN HOUR WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK TO ARRIVE. THE FORD HAD TO BE DRAGGED UP ONTO THE CAR HAULER. THE WHEELS WOULD NOT ROLL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/18/2014 - BARTLETT, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND CRASHED INTO A GARAGE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

8/11/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY GOING APPROX. 70 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING LOST ALL ACCELERATION. I HAD TO MANEUVER ACROSS 4 LANES OF TRAFFIC TO GET ON THE SHOULDER. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND WAS PREPARING TO CALL A TOW TRUCK WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AGAIN AND HAD LIMITED ACCELERATION. I WAS ABLE TO "LIMP" THE CAR HOME AND TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2014 - LITTLE ELM, TX
SIGNS OF ISSUE DURING THE OCCURRENCE: -CAR STOP RUNNING -THROTTLE ALARM SHOWED UP -TRANSMISSION ALARM SHOWED UP -THE ISSUE HAPPENS APPROX. 3 TO 4 TIMES A MONTH YOU WILL NEED TO STOP AND TURN OFF YOUR ENGINE FOR A WHILE BEFORE YOU CAN START DRIVING THE CAR AGAIN, THE THROTTLE ALARM WILL GO AWAY BUT THE TRANSMISSION STAYS SOMETIME APPROXIMATELY AFTER 12 HOURS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
DRIVING DOWN ROAD AND JUST QUIT RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
DRIVING DOWN ROAD AND JUST QUIT RUNNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
DRIVING DOWN ROAD AND JUST QUIT RUNNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AT 65 MPH, ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ENGINE CUTS OUT AND I HAVE NO POWER. THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT IN THE DASH CAME ON. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TURNED THE KEY OFF AND RESTARTED THE CAR. IT DROVE FINE THE NEXT 3 MILES TO MY HOME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - GLEN ALLEN, VA
VEHICLE CONTINUED TO JUMP, THEN CONTINUED TO HAVE PROBLEMS. THROTTLE BODY WAS THE CAUSE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2014 - WILSON, NC
THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED TWO TIMES WITHIN ABOUT 30 MINUTES TIME, SO I DROVE IMMEDIATELY HOME, PARKED THE CAR, AND CALLED MY DEALER, WHO SPECULATED THAT THE TROUBLE WAS DUE TO THE "THROTTLE BODY." THE FIRST TIME, I WAS IDLING AT A RED LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN AND I TRIED TO ACCELERATE, I HAD NO ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE JUST SAT THERE, WITH NO INDICATION OF ANY POWER TO BE HAD TO THE THROTTLE. I TURNED ON MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS, PUT THE CAR IN "PARK," TURNED OFF THE IGNITION, TURNED IT BACK ON, PUT THE CAR IN "DRIVE," AND THE CAR BEGAN TO DRIVE NORMALLY. SEVERAL MINUTES LATER, AFTER PARKING THE CAR, CONDUCTING AN ERRAND, AND THEN RE-STARTING THE CAR AND BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY, THE THROTTLE DID THE SAME THING IN THE MIDDLE OF A STREET: TRIED TO ACCELERATE IN "DRIVE" AND GOT NOTHING UNTIL SHUTTING OFF THE IGNITION AND RE-STARTING. PREVIOUSLY, OVER THE COURSE OF THE PAST SIX MONTHS, I EXPERIENCED WHAT SEEMS TO BE A SIMILAR, THOUGH OPPOSITE, PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE. OCCASIONALLY WHILE DRIVING, I WOULD HEAR AND FEEL WHAT SEEMED TO ME TO BE A SMALL SURGE OF POWER WHILE ACCELERATING ON SURFACE ROADS. I ASSUMED AT THAT TIME THAT IT WAS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM AND MENTIONED IT TO THE DEALER WHEN I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND NORMAL SERVICING. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CHECKED THE TRANSMISSION AND FOUND NO PROBLEM WITH IT. I BELIEVE NOW, AFTER READING ABOUT THE THROTTLE PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL ON NCCONSUMER.ORG, THAT THOSE INCIDENTS WERE LIKELY DUE TO THE THROTTLE BODY MALFUNCTIONING AS WELL. I EXPERIENCED APPROXIMATELY 10-12 OF THESE POWER SURGE INCIDENTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds