Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 641 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (64) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (228) Steering (40) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (229)
Engine (206) Fuel Propulsion System (133) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/18/2016 - FRUITLAND, MD
LAST YEAR IT BEGAN WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED THE POWER STEERING WOULD NOT WORK. YOU COULD SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART IT AND IT WOULD WORK. AS TIME WENT BY IT HAPPENED MORE FREQUENTLY AND I CALLED THE FORD DEALER ABOUT A RECALL SOMEONE HAD TOLD ME ABOUT AND WAS TOLD THAT OUR ESCAPE WAS NOT INCLUDED AND THAT I SHOULD FILE A COMPLAINT WITH YOU. I DID THAT LAST YEAR AND HAVE GOTTEN NO RESPONSE. IT HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. IT HAS BEEN SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED SO MANY TIMES THAT IT KILLED THE BATTERY. IT STILL HAD VOLTS BUT NO LONGER HAD ENOUGH COLD CRANKING AMPS TO START THE ENGINE. NOW IT HAS HAPPENED A COUPLE OF TIMES WHILE I WAS DRIVING. WHEN IT STOPS IT ALMOST SNATCHES THE STEERING WHEEL OUT OF YOUR HANDS. THERE IS NEVER ANY WARNING AND NO WARNING LIGHTS COME ON. SOMETIMES WHEN IT IS QUIET IN THE CAR I CAN HEAR A CLICK COME FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND IT EITHER QUITS WORKING OR IF IT WAS NOT WORKING IT START BACK. THREE DAYS AGO IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A TURN AT AN INTERSECTION THAT HAS TWO TURN LANES AND I ALMOST HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. IF IT HAD HAPPENED WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING SHE PROBABLY WOULD HAVE HIT THEM. THERE IS A GOOD POSSIBILITY OF THIS AS IT IS HER VEHICLE. I AM DRIVING IT THIS WEEK BECAUSE I AM A LITTLE UNCOMFORTABLE WITH HER DRIVING IT. I LIVE IN MARYLAND AND WORK ALL WEEK IN NEW JERSEY. I HOPE IT DOES NOT HAPPEN WHILE I AM ON THE NJ TURNPIKE AS PEOPLE ON THERE LIKE TO STAY CLOSE AND GOES FAST. I REALLY HAVE NO CHOICE BECAUSE WE HAVE TO BE ABLE TO GO TO WORK AND CANNOT AFFORD TO HAVE IT FIXED. MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL POSSIBILITIES THAT GO FROM SOFTWARE PROGRAMING, SENSOR REPLACEMENT OR STEERING COLUMN REPLACEMENT. IT IS OBVIOUS FROM THE SYMPTOMS THAT IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL BUT HAS NOT BEEN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2016 - TULSA, OK
VEHICLE ENGINE SUDDENLY AND RANDOMLY CUTS OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING, IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY, OR SOON AFTER STARTING TO DRIVE, IN MOTION LEAVING A PARKING LOT. THE ACCELERATOR BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE AND THE CAR SPUTTERS TO A STOP. WHEN YOU TRY TO RESTART THE CAR IT TURNS ON AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/10/2016 - TULSA, OK
VEHICLE ENGINE SUDDENLY AND RANDOMLY CUTS OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING, IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY, OR SOON AFTER STARTING TO DRIVE, IN MOTION LEAVING A PARKING LOT. THE ACCELERATOR BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE AND THE CAR SPUTTERS TO A STOP. WHEN YOU TRY TO RESTART THE CAR IT TURNS ON AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED.

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2016 - BEN WHEELER, TX
POWER STEERING ASSIST RANDOMLY MALFUNCTIONS CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING AT BOTH LOW SPEED AND HIGH SPEED BOTH GOING STRAIGHT OR TURNING. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. FORD HAS A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE, HOWEVER MY VEHICLE IS NOT LISTED UNDER THE RECALL DESPITE BEING MANUFACTURED AT THE SPECIFIC PLANT THEY IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM WITH. THE RECALL DATE STARTED ONE MONTH AFTER MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED. FORD IS VERY MUCH AWARE OF THE MECHANICAL FAILURE AND REFUSES TO COVER THE COST OF REPAIRS FOR THEIR MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT THEY HAVE BEEN AWARE OF SINCE 2009. THE RECALL NUMBER IS 14S05.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/3/2016 - BROOKSHIRE, TX
WHILE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING AT 70 MPH THAN ALL OF A SUDDEN LOSES POWER. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO AUTONATION FORD KATY AND WAS TOLD THEIR IS A RECALL FOR ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY. ASKED PROPERTY TO REPAIR TOLD THEY COULD NOT DO SO UNLESS VEHICLE SHOWED ISSUE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I THINK THIS IS AN UNSAFE PRACTICE AND SHOULD BE REPAIRED ASAP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/3/2016 - BROOKSHIRE, TX
TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED 70 MPH VEHICLE LOSES ALL POWER. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO AUTONATION FORD KATY TEXAS WAS TOLD THERE WAS A ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY RECALL. ASKED DEALERSHIP TO FIX AND WAS TOLD THEY COULD NOT UNLESS VEHICLE REPLICATED ISSUE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I FEEL THE ISSUE NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE DO TO FUTURE SAFETY ISSUES

View Details

STEERING

4/19/2016 - OXFORD, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOOSE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/2/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
TAKATA RECALL STOPPED AT STOP SIGN TRIED TO MOVE FORWARD WOULD ONLY MOVE AT A TINY CRAWL RED WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON MADE IT HOME STILL ONLY BARELY MOVING. TURNED MOTOR OFF RESTARTED EVERYTHING SEEMED TO BE BACK TO NORMAL. NOW I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE IN VERY MUCH TRAFFIC. IF THIS HAPPENS ON BUSY HIGHWAY COULD BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT TO DO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/26/2016 - BATON ROUGE, LA
MY 2011 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED VIN NUMBER 1FMCU9EG8BKB21664 WHILE DRIVING LOSES ALL ACCELERATION WHICH REQUIRES ME TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TURN IT OFF AND RESTART THE CAR SO IT WILL RUN NORMAL AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED 6 TIMES TO ME WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. AFTER GETTING THE CODES RUN IT CAME BACK WITH P2111 - THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEM - STUCK OPEN. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ONLINE AND TO BE HONEST IT IS A VERY SCARY EXPERIENCE WHEN IT HAPPENS BECAUSE IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE WHILE DRIVING, I AM LUCKY IT DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEED ON A SIDE STREET, POWER STEERING QUIT WORKING AND ERROR "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" CAME UP. POWER STEERING COMPLETELY INOPERABLE. WITH MUCH DIFFICULTY VEHICLE DRIVEN TO FORD DEALERSHIP. COULD NOT BE DRIVEN BY PERSON WITHOUT EXTREME STRENGTH. UNSAFE FOR ANYONE TO DRIVE! ADVISED THAT NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL AND COST TO REPAIR ALMOST $1200.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds