Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 778 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (3) Power Train (239) Steering (75) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (242)
Electrical System (76) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (3) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (180) Service Brakes (6) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine (230) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
IN JULY 2016 I WAS EXPERIENCING A FUEL ODOR IN THE ESCAPE. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC ON JULY 20, 2016 AND HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL PUMP GASKET. TOTAL COST FOR THOSE REPAIRS WA $643.44 (I HAVE THE RECEIPT). AM I ELIGIBLE FOR A REIMBURSEMENT?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2017 - PARKSLEY, VA
(FDM) FUEL DELIVERY MODULE RECALL, I HAVE NOT BEEN NOTIFIED THAT MY VEHICLE MAY HAVE THIS ISSUE, FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND NOTIFY CONSUMERS ASAP, PLEASE ASSIST IN WHAT ACTION I MAY NEED TO TAKE ON THIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/27/2017 - COLUMBIA, MD
THIS IS REGARDING NHTSA RECALL NUMBER 16V777. IT HAS BEEN OVER A YEAR SINCE THIS DEFECT WAS POSTED AND I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY NOTIFICATION FROM FORD TO COME IN AND HAVE THE FUEL DELIVERY MODULE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

10/26/2017 - MEDWAY, MA
I AM HAVING THE SAME STEERING ISSUES AS DESCRIBED IN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS BY OTHER 2011 FORD ESCAPE OWNERS. THE POWER STEERING SEEMS TO QUIT AND LOCK-UP MAKING IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2011 FORD ESCAPES, SO MUCH SO THAT FORD HAS ISSUED A FACTORY RECALL FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL YEAR ESCAPES. MY VEHICLE (ALSO A 2011 FORD ESCAPE) DISPLAYS ALL THE EXACT SAME SYMPTOMS, YET ACCORDING TO FORD, MY VEHICLE DOESN'T QUALIFY FOR THE RECALL. WHY DOES ONE MODEL NOT QUALIFY WHEN OTHER MODELS WITH THE SAME ISSUES ARE RECALLED? SEEMINGLY, I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON HAVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/25/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE REAR GLASS SHATTERED WHILE SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY. THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF SOMETHING HITTING THE WINDSHIELD. IT APPEARS TO HAVE SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED. GLASS WAS STREWN TOWARD THE OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE TO IT'S DRIVERS SIDE. THIS WAS PROBABLY DUE TO THE RIGHT REAR HINGE THAT WAS EXTENDED AND PROTRUDING OUTSIDE OF THE WINDOW AREA. THIS MOTION PROBABLY CAUSED THE GLASS TO BE HURLED OUT AND TO THE LEFT OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

10/19/2017 - MORRISVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (MCCAFFERTY FORD, LANGHORNE, PA, 877-692-8282) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 69,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/7/2017 - LAKE WORTH, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY CRUISING AT 80MPH WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING. THE CAR WAS STILL RUNNING BUT EVEN WHEN I WOULD PUT THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR IT WOULD NOT GIVE IT ANY ACCELERATION. A SMALL WRENCH SIGN POPPED UP ON THE DASH AND I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE L. WHEN THE CAR WAS IN IDLE THE ENGINE WAS VERY SHAKY AND RPMS WERE GOING UP AND DOWN SO I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. I SAT FOR ROUGHLY 5MINUTES AND THEN TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IT STARTED NO ISSUES. PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE GAS PEDAL WAS WORKING AGAIN NO ISSUES SO CONTINUED TO DINNER. ON THE WAY HOME TOOK 95 BUT WAS GOING 55-65 TAKING CAUTION IN CASE THE CAR STOPS WORKING AGAIN. TO NO SURPRISE IT DID SO I PULLED OVER SAT FOR 2 MINUTES AND RESTARTED WITH NO ISSUES AND FINISHED DRIVING HOME.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/5/2017 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
2011 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DEFECTIVE FUEL SYSTEM. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PARTS NECESSARY TO COMPLETE THE RECALL WERE UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 10/05/2017

View Details

STEERING

10/2/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST IS DEFECTIVE SO THAT WHEN I TURN THE WHEEL, THE CAR RUMBLES. THE ISSUE WAS DIAGNOSED BY A TRUSTED MECHANIC. THE DEFECT COULD RESULT IN REDUCED PRECISION IN STEERING THE CAR. THE STEERING MALFUNCTIONS AT LOW SPEEDS BELOW 40 MPH WHEN I AM TRYING TO PARK MY CAR OR TURN RIGHT ON A ROAD. THE ENTIRE CAR RUMBLES AND THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2017 - FRIENDSWOOD, TX
WHEN DRIVING MY 2011 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED, THE OPEN DOOR WARNING LIGHT, THE TPMS LIGHT, AND THE PARKING BRAKE LIGHT WILL COME ON. IN CONJUNCTION WITH THIS, THE A/C WILL BLOW WARM, THE TURN SIGNAL INDICATORS WON'T WORK, AND THE LIFT GATE WILL LOCK. IF I HIT THE TOP OF THE DASHBOARD, IT ALL RESETS. I TOOK IT TO THE AUTONATION FORD ON THE GULF FREEWAY IN HOUSTON. THEY SAID TO REPLACE THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AT A COST OF $1000. I HAVE VIEWED MULTIPLE VIDEOS ON YOUTUBE AND READ MANY POSTS ON THIS VERY SAME ISSUE. IN EVERY CASE, THE VEHICLE OWNER SAID THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER REPLACEMENT FAILED TO CORRECT THE ISSUE. WHAT WAS FOUND TO BE TRUE IN MANY OF THEM WAS THE DISCOVERY OF COLD SOLDER JOINTS ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER CIRCUIT BOARD. ONCE THIS WAS CORRECTED, THE VEHICLE RAN NORMALLY WITH A FULLY FUNCTIONAL INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. THE CONCLUSION TO BE DRAWN HERE IS THAT IT IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED BY FORD. AS TO IT BEING A SAFETY ISSUE, SEVERAL OF THE POSTS STATED THAT THE ENTIRE CLUSTER FAILED SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF. I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED THIS YET BUT FEAR, IF LEFT UNCORRECTED, THAT IT COULD LEAD TO THAT. THE KEY POINT IS THAT THIS IS HAPPENING ON HUNDREDS, IF NOT THOUSANDS, OF FORD VEHICLES INCLUDING NOT ONLY MY ESCAPE, BUT EXPLORERS, EXPEDITIONS, AND F150S. FORD SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS GLARING DEFECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds