Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 715 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (3) Power Train (234) Steering (64) Unknown Or Other (23)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (23) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electrical System (72) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (149) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (222) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/23/2017 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V777000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/14/2017 - CHARLOTTE, MI
SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 16S41 / NHTSA RECALL 16V-777. RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE 3 MONTHS AGO (FAULTY FUEL DELIVERY MODULE IN THE FUEL SUPPLY PORT THAT MAY DEVELOP A CRACK/LEAK) AND NOTICE THAT FMC IS WORKING ON A REMEDY TO FIX THE PROBLEM. HAVE YET TO RECEIVE FOLLOW UP NOTIFICATION TO HAVE REPAIR PARTS INSTALLED. TOLD BY FORD DEALERSHIP THAT THERE IS NO REMEDY YET BY FMC. ALTHOUGH MY VEHICLE DOES NOT APPEAR TO SHOW SIGNS OF FUEL LEAKAGE AT THIS POINT, I REMAIN CONCERNED THAT A LEAK MAY OCCUR AND GO UNDETECTED BEFORE A POTENTIAL TRAGEDY OCCURS.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
WHEN DRIVING IN A LOW SPEED IN A CITY STREET, ALL OF A SUDDEN THE STEERING WHEEL WON'T STEER IT FELT SO HARD THAT I HAD TO STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO PREVENT TO GET INTO ACCIDENT. I CHECKED ONLINE IF THERE'S ISSUE OR RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. THERE'S A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BUT WHEN THEY TYPE THE VIN # IT'S NOT INCLUDED AND DEALERSHIP SAID IT WILL COST $2,000 TO FIX IT.NOT SURE WHY THIS IS NOT INCLUDED FOR RECALL...

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2017 - TODD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE PARKED, THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THEY CLEANED THE VAPOR VALVE, BUT THE ODOR WAS STILL PRESENT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V777000 (FUEL SYSTEM,GASOLINE); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 82,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2017 - HINESVILLE, GA
"ENGINE RECALL" I HAVE A 2011 FORD ESCAPE & AFTER 7 MONTHS OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE I WAS TOLD THAT I NEED A NEW ENGINE. I WAS HEADED HOME FROM WORK ON I95 THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE NEXT MORNING I GOT UP TO GO TO WORK AND THE ESCAPE WOULD NOT CRANK UP AT ALL IT DID NOT MOVE. FROM THE TIME I HAD THIS VEHICLE IT WOULD NOT START ON SOME DAYS SO IT WAS NO GOOD WHEN I BOUGHT IT. IT ONLY HAS 65000 MILES ON IT. THE CAMSHAFT & CRANKSHAFT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THAT PART OF THIS VEHICLE. I DROVE IT FOR 7 MONTHS & THERE WAS DAYS IT DIDN'T WANT TO START. I WASTED MY HARD EARNED CASH ON THIS PIECE OF JUNK AND NOW I DONT HAVE A CAR TO RIDE TO WORK. FORD NEED TO RECALL THIS ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/22/2017 - GREENWOOD, IN
I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, AND MY CAR SUDDENLY LOST ANY ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. WE MANAGED TO MANEUVER TO THE SHOULDER, STOP THE CAR, RESTART IT AND EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE. THIS HAD HAPPENED 1+ YEARS PREVIOUSLY, AND WE DISCOVERED FORD HAD ISSUED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE THROTTLE BODY. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THE THROTTLE BODY WAS FOUND TO BE FAULTY, AND IT WAS REPLACED UNDER THAT WARRANTY. HOWEVER, NOW IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN, ONLY THIS TIME I PAID TO HAVE THE SAME THROTTLE BODY REPLACED AS IT IS NO LONGER COVERED UNDER A WARRANTY. I AM WORRIED THAT THIS WILL KEEP HAPPENING, IE. RANDOMLY I WILL NO LONGER HAVE THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGH SPEED AND POTENTIAL IN HIGH TRAFFIC. ITS TERRIFYING TO LOSE THAT KIND OF CONTROL. I BELIEVE A PREVIOUS INVESTIGATION HAD BEEN OPENED FOR THIS ISSUE, THUS THE EXTENDED WARRANTY PROGRAM. BUT CLEARLY FORD HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE IF IT CAN CONTINUE TO HAPPEN.

View Details

STEERING

2/16/2017 - PALM DESERT, CA
DRIVING AND POWER STEERING DID NOT WORK. IT WAS VERY HARD TO STEER CAR TO STOP. WHEN I TURNED OF IGNITION AND RESTART VEHICLE THE POWER ASSIST WORKS FOR A WHILE. THERE WAS A RECALL ON APPROX 1.3 MILLION VEHICLES. MY VIN # IS NOT INCLUDED......?? DOESN'T MAKE SENSE.

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2017 - MORRISON, CO
THIS VEHICLE HAS EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING. CONSOLE DISPLAYS "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT". DEALER DIAGNOSED A FAULTY STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR (DTC B2278). DEALER ALSO CONFIRMED THAT THE PART NUMBER OF THE FAULTY TORQUE SENSOR IS (CL8Z-3F818-A). THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE THE EXACT SAME AS FORD RECALL 14S05 AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN 14V284000. THIS ESCAPE IS EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS RECALL 14S05 AND THE VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED WITHIN THE DATES SPECIFIED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER, THE VIN DOES NOT CURRENTLY INCLUDE THIS VEHICLE IN THE RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2017 - PALM DESERT, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE RESTARTED TO OPERATE NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH NEEDING A NEW POWER STEERING TORQUE SENSOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2017 - HINESVILLE, GA
AT FIRST MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THEN MY FORD ESCAPE STARTED BUT IT ONLY CREEPED DOWN THE STREET IT BARELY WANTED TO GO ANYWHERE WHEN I GOT TO THE LIGHT IT WOULDN'T MOVE AT ALL SO I BACKED IT UP THEN SLOWLY DROVE IT ACROSS THE STREET OUT THE WAY OF TRAFFIC & WHEN I SHUT IT OFF IT WOULD NOT START BACK UP THE CRANKSHAFT & TIMING CHAIN WENT OUT ON IT. IT ONLY HAS 65,800 MILES ON IT AND I ONLY HAD IT 8 MONTHS. I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THAT PART BECAUSE THE MILEAGE IS NOT THAT HIGH FOR IT TO GO OUT ALREADY. IT'S GOING TO COST A LOT TO GET REPAIRED. I NEED TO FIND OUT ABOUT THE CRANKSHAFT WILL BE ABLE TO GET REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds