Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 538 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (51) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (203) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (215)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (17)
Engine (178) Fuel Propulsion System (126) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/31/2014 - LURAY, VA
WHILE DRIVING ALONG MY FORD ESCAPE SUDDENLY REFUSED TO ACCELERATE, I WAS HOLDING THE GAS TO THE FLOOR AND IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. IT WAS IDLING STRANGELY AND SURGING. A WRENCH SYMBOL APPEARED IN THE SCREEN ON THE DASH. I WAS ON A HILL AND WAS UNABLE TO PULL OF THE ROAD. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I WAITED A FEW MOMENTS AND RESTARTED THE ESCAPE, IT WENT AND THEN CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ONCE AGAIN. I WILL BE TAKING THIS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE FIXED. BUT I AM VERY CONCERNED, UPON RESEARCHING THE ISSUE I FOUND MANY MORE COMPLAINTS ONLINE. WHY HASN'T THIS ISSUE BEEN RECALLED? IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ESCAPE CUTS OFF AT THE WRONG TIME AND GETS SOMEONE KILLED. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE IT BECOME AN EPIDEMIC LIKE THE CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - LURAY, VA
WHILE DRIVING ALONG MY FORD ESCAPE SUDDENLY REFUSED TO ACCELERATE, I WAS HOLDING THE GAS TO THE FLOOR AND IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. IT WAS IDLING STRANGELY AND SURGING. A WRENCH SYMBOL APPEARED IN THE SCREEN ON THE DASH. I WAS ON A HILL AND WAS UNABLE TO PULL OF THE ROAD. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I WAITED A FEW MOMENTS AND RESTARTED THE ESCAPE, IT WENT AND THEN CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ONCE AGAIN. I WILL BE TAKING THIS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE FIXED. BUT I AM VERY CONCERNED, UPON RESEARCHING THE ISSUE I FOUND MANY MORE COMPLAINTS ONLINE. WHY HASN'T THIS ISSUE BEEN RECALLED? IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ESCAPE CUTS OFF AT THE WRONG TIME AND GETS SOMEONE KILLED. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE IT BECOME AN EPIDEMIC LIKE THE CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/31/2014 - LURAY, VA
WHILE DRIVING ALONG MY FORD ESCAPE SUDDENLY REFUSED TO ACCELERATE, I WAS HOLDING THE GAS TO THE FLOOR AND IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. IT WAS IDLING STRANGELY AND SURGING. A WRENCH SYMBOL APPEARED IN THE SCREEN ON THE DASH. I WAS ON A HILL AND WAS UNABLE TO PULL OF THE ROAD. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I WAITED A FEW MOMENTS AND RESTARTED THE ESCAPE, IT WENT AND THEN CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ONCE AGAIN. I WILL BE TAKING THIS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE FIXED. BUT I AM VERY CONCERNED, UPON RESEARCHING THE ISSUE I FOUND MANY MORE COMPLAINTS ONLINE. WHY HASN'T THIS ISSUE BEEN RECALLED? IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ESCAPE CUTS OFF AT THE WRONG TIME AND GETS SOMEONE KILLED. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE IT BECOME AN EPIDEMIC LIKE THE CHEVY COBALT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2014 - CATHEDRAL CITY, CA
TRANSMISSION SLIPS AFTER COLD START.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/25/2014 - FORT WORTH, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, I HEARD A SOUND SIMILAR TO THE CAR'S AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTING. I LOOKED DOWN AND SAW THAT I HAD NO ACCELERATION AS I PUSHED ON THE GAS PEDAL. I STOPPED AT A SAFE LOCATION AND SAT WITH THE CAR IDLING FOR ABOUT A MINUTE. DURING THIS TIME I NOTICED THE RPMS HUNTING AT IDLE SPEED. I TURNED THE CAR OFF. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE ENGINE TURNED OVER A FEW MORE TIMES THAN USUAL BEFORE IT FINALLY CAUGHT. AFTER THAT, I HAD NO OTHER PROBLEMS FOR THE TWO MORE HOURS I DROVE IT. THIS PROBLEM APPEARS TO BE WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY GIVING EITHER A FALSE SIGNAL OR TEMPORARILY LOSING SIGNAL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/15/2014 - WOODBURY, MN
CAR LOST POWER SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 65 MPH. I PULLED OVER TO RIGHT LANE IN HEAVY RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I COASTED AT REDUCED AND SLOWING SPEED TO THE NEXT AN EXIT RAMP, WHICH WAS ANOTHER FREEWAY. SEVERAL CARS WERE HONKING AND PASSING ME ON THE EXIT RAMP. I PULLED OVER AND DROVE ON SHOULDER FOR ANOTHER MILE UNTIL I CAME TO A SLIGHT HILL. I STOPPED ON THE NARROW SHOULDER BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING, BUT AT LOW RPM. THE WRENCH ICON SHOWED ON THE DASHBOARD. I TURNED ENGINE OFF AND WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES. IT HAD FULL POWER WHEN I RESTARTED, GIVING ME ROOM TO DRIVE TO NEXT EXIT LESS THAN A BLOCK AWAY, BUT LOST POWER AGAIN MINUTES LATER. I EXITED ON TO CENTURY AVE, DODGING ONCOMING CARS COMING AT FULL SPEED. I PULLED TO A SERVICE STATION RIGHT OFF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2014 - SEATTLE, WA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR LOST IT THROTTLE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT I HAD NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I PULLED THE CAR OVER. TURNED IT OFF, THEN BACK ON AND THE CAR APPEARED TO SHOW NO ISSUES. ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER THE ISSUE APPEARED AGAIN. SAME SOLUTION. FROM MY RESEARCH THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND COULD VERY MUCH ENDANGER ANYONE IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
DRIVING ON FREEWAY APPROX 65 MPH, NO WARNING, ENGINE COMPLETELY STOPS. THANKFULLY ABLE TO DRIFT OVER TO SHOULDER OF EXIT LANE AND RESTARTED WITH NO DETECTABLE ISSUES. ASKED MECHANICS TO RUN ALTERNATOR DIAGNOSTICS - AS THEY SAID THE ALTERNATOR WAS THE ONLY THING THAT WOULD MAKE AN ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OFF. TESTED OK. PARKED FOR WEEKEND. SAME THING HAPPENED ON MONDAY MORNING. SEARCHED FOR PROBLEM ONLINE, FOUND THROTTLE BODY COMMENTS. CALLED LOCAL DEALER - SERVICE ADVISER TOLD ME IT WAS COVERED UNDER RECALL, BUT APPOINTMENT SETTER TOLD ME IT WASN'T. WE'LL SEE WHEN I GET THERE TOMORROW. VERY TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE - I'M LUCKY I TRAVEL AT VERY EARLY TRAFFIC TIMES. I DON'T THINK I WILL EVER FEEL SAFE IN THE VEHICLE AFTER READING SO MANY SIMILAR STORIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 90
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds