Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 734 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (3) Power Train (236) Steering (68) Unknown Or Other (23)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (241)
Electrical System (75) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (152) Service Brakes (6) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (226) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/16/2017 - CHANTILLY, VA
THE THROTTLE BODY OF MY FORD ESCAPE 2011 SEEMS TO BE MALFUNCTIONING, SINCE IT HAS A DRIVE BY WIRE SYSTEM, I WANT TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE DEFECTS FORD CARS HAVE BEEN HAVING SURROUNDING ITS THROTTLE FUNCTIONALITY. WHENEVER I AM ACCELERATING FROM A STOP LIGHT OR ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR JUMPS FORWARD AND STARTS TO SHAKE, AND THEN SIMPLY DOES NOT ACCELERATE. IT HAPPENS SPORADICALLY, AND AFTER AN INSPECTION FROM A MECHANIC, IT'S SHOWING THAT THE THROTTLE BODY IS MALFUNCTIONING, AND THE CODES SHOWING THAT IT IS SIMULTANEOUSLY OPEN AND CLOSED. IT IS AN ISSUE THAT FORD VEHICLES UP TO 2012 SEEMED TO HAVE BEEN GETTING. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE SINCE 50,000 MILES ON THE CAR OF 2 YEARS AGO, AND IT'S BEEN HAPPENING SPORADICALLY, MAYBE ONCE A MONTH, OR ONCE EVERY 10 MINUTES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2017 - WALKERSVILLE, MD
I WAS DRIVING 50 MPH AND THE CAR STALLED WITH NOT WARNING. THE "WRENCH LIGHT" OR THROTTLE BODY/POWERTRAIN LIGHT CAME ON. I COASTED TO A PERSON'S DRIVEWAY AS THERE WAS NO SHOULDER TO PULL OFF TO. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND TURNED IT BACK ON. ALL LIGHTS TURNED OFF AND CAR RAN FINE. MECHANICS CAN'T FIND PROBLEM OR ERROR CODE AND I'M SCARED TO DRIVE MY NEW VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/14/2017 - HASTINGS ON HUDSON, NY
WE HAVE EXPERIENCED SIMULTANEOUS DEPRESSION OF THE VEHICLE BRAKES AND ACCELERATOR PEDALS RESULTING IN THE CAR LURCHING FORWARD OR BACKWARDS UNCONTROLLABLY DEPENDING ON WHETHER TRAVELING FROM STATIONARY IN REVERSE OR GOING FORWARD. MOST RECENTLY, THIS DEFECT HAS RESULTED IN A TOTAL RIGHT -OFF OF OUR VEHICLE WHEN THE CAR REVERSED INTO A BRICK WALL AS WE WERE BACKING UP SLOWLY FROM A COMPLETE STANDSTILL. LUCKILY, NO INJURY WAS SUSTAINED TO PASSENGERS OR OTHER BY STANDERS BUT IT MOST CERTAINLY COULD HAVE RESULTED IN THE DEATH OF A PASSER BY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2017 - SPRINGFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE METAL FRAGMENTS IN THE FLUID IN THE TRANSFER CASE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSFER CASE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: CAS12279241. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - WALDO, WI
STARTED CAR UP IN DRIVEWAY AND ENGINE REVIVED (RPM'S WENT WAY UP) JUST FOR A FEW SECONDS. DROVE TO DESTINATION PULLED INTO PARKING STALL AS I APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE ENGINE REVIVED UP AGAIN AND I WAS UNABLE TO STOP, EVEN WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD OVER THE PARKING BLOCK. THE VEHICLE THEN STOPPED JUST SHORT OF HITTING A TREE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/8/2017 - STREAMWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V777000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE LOCAL DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PARTS WOULD BE AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER OF 2017. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2017 - MINNETONKA, MN
LOSING POWER AND RPM INTERMITTANTLY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT RESETS AFTER ENGINE IS SHUT OFF - THROTTLE BODY ISSUE, BUT THE VIN IS NOT UNDER THE CURRENT RECALL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2017 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING WENT OUT, THEN ALL POWER TO DASH WENT OUT, PULLED OVER AND COULDN'T ROLL UP THE WINDOWS, NO POWER AT ALL, LET IT SIT FOR A MINUTE AND WAS THEN ABLE TO ROLL UP THE WINDOWS.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2017 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING WENT OUT, THEN ALL POWER TO DASH WENT OUT, PULLED OVER AND COULDN'T ROLL UP THE WINDOWS, NO POWER AT ALL, LET IT SIT FOR A MINUTE AND WAS THEN ABLE TO ROLL UP THE WINDOWS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/28/2017 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING WENT OUT, THEN ALL POWER TO DASH WENT OUT, PULLED OVER AND COULDN'T ROLL UP THE WINDOWS, NO POWER AT ALL, LET IT SIT FOR A MINUTE AND WAS THEN ABLE TO ROLL UP THE WINDOWS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds