Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 626 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (63) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (225) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (227)
Engine (205) Fuel Propulsion System (132) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/6/2016 - DESHLER, OH
OCCUPANT CONTROL MODULE IN PASSENGER SEAT IS FAULTY. I AM TOLD THAT THE PASSENGER AIRBAG OR ALL AIRBAGS MAY OR MAY NOT INFLATE IN A COLLISION. THERE ARE NO KNOWN RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE. THERE WAS NO KNOWN DAMAGE OR INCIDENT THAT CAUSED THIS SYSTEM TO FAIL. IT OCCURRED SLOWLY OVER SEVERAL MONTHS AND EVENTUALLY QUIT COMPLETELY. THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYED ON PERMANENTLY AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS OF THE CAR'S IGNITION BEING ON OR THE CAR ENGINE RUNNING. THE INVOICE FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC IS ATTACHED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/3/2016 - WALESKA, GA
STALLING OUT IN TRAFFIC SPEEDING UP FOR NO REASON.ALL SYMPTOMS POINT TO THROTTLE BODY EXACTLY WHAT THEY DESCRIBED TO ME AT MY LOCAL DEALER! BUT TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT FIX IT UNTIL IT SETS A CODE !!!!!!!!!!! IN THE MEAN TIME I AM AFRAID I WILL GET HURT BECAUSE IT HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC . I AM REALLY CONCERENED FOR MY SAFETY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2016 - WALESKA, GA
STALLING OUT IN TRAFFIC SPEEDING UP FOR NO REASON.ALL SYMPTOMS POINT TO THROTTLE BODY EXACTLY WHAT THEY DESCRIBED TO ME AT MY LOCAL DEALER! BUT TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT FIX IT UNTIL IT SETS A CODE !!!!!!!!!!! IN THE MEAN TIME I AM AFRAID I WILL GET HURT BECAUSE IT HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC . I AM REALLY CONCERENED FOR MY SAFETY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2016 - SUMMERFIELD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT WAS WALKING TO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE TO PUT LUGGAGE IN THE TRUNK AND NOTICED THE VEHICLE WAS ROLLING TOWARDS HER. THE CONTACT DOVE TO THE GROUND ON THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE TO AVOID BEING HIT. THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACK AND STRUCK THE POLE TO THE BUILDING. THERE WERE NO OCCUPANTS IN THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE OWNER RECEIVED INJURIES TO HER KNEE AND BACK WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TOWED OR TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2016 - KENNEWICK, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN MORE THAN ONCE. THE FAILURE WAS RANDOMLY PROGRESSING. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE DEALER OF THE FAILURE AND THEY INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO REMEDY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/11/2016 - ELDERSBURG, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 78,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/31/2015 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE THE POWER STEERING WILL NOT ENGAGE. AFTER ONE OR MORE TRIES IT WILL FINALLY ENGAGE. ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION THE STEERING DISENGAGED WHILE BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND HAD TO BE STOPPED AND RESTARTED AS ABOVE. MY LOCAL GARAGE FOUND ERROR CODE B1342 AND CONFIRMED BY A FORD DEALER. THE CODE MEAN THE STEERING COLUMN MUST BE REPLACED. THE DEALER SAID THE VEHICLE IN NOT COVERED BY THE RECAĺL 14S05. I SPOKE TO FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND A CASE # WAS OPENED. WHEN I CALLED TO INQUIRE KEVIN SAID A CASE SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN OPENED AND AN INTERNAL INQUIRY WOULD BE STARTED. FORD OBVIOUSLY DOESN'T WANT COMPLAINTS RECORDED. THIS IS A FORD MISTAKE AND A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED AT THEIR EXPENSE. FORD EXECUTIVES ARE UNACCOUNTABLE AND APPARENTLY ONLY WORRIED ABOUT THE BOTTOM LINE AND THEIR BONUSES. THEY TRIED TO MEET THEIR SAFETY OBLIGATION BY UPDATING SOFTWARE IN SOME VEHICLES THAT WARNS STEERING IS ABOUT TO FAIL. THAT IS UNETHICAL AND NO HELP WHEN GOING 70 MPH ON A THREE OR FOUR LANE HIGHWAY. THIS REMINDS ME OF THE PINTO FIASCO.

View Details

STEERING

12/28/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER STEERING. DROVE HOME ON LOCAL CITY STREETS WITH DIFFICULTY. THE NEXT DAY THE POWER STEERING WAS AVAILABLE AFTER STARTING THE CAR. CHECKED ON INTERNET AND FOUND THAT FORD HAS HAD A PROBLEM FOR YEARS WITH THE MODEL VEHICLE. WENT TO THE FORD DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRENTY. CALLED FORD SERVICE REP AND WAS TOLD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND THAT BECAUSE OF THE LOW MILEAGE, THEY MAY REPAIR IT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2015 - SENECA, SC
VEHICLE STALLS, LUNGES, AND SURGES WITH LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING. THIS ISSUE IS WELL DOCUMENTED ON 2011 FORD ESCAPES WITH COUNTLESS SIMILAR EXPERIENCES POSTED ONLINE. PROBLEM HAPPENS UNPREDICTABILITY SO WHEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY WERE AWARE OF THE ISSUE BUT WOULD NOT REPLACE THE CULPRIT PART, THE THROTTLE BODY, WITHOUT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT LIT OR THE VEHICLE REPRODUCING THE PROBLEM IN THE LIMITED TIME THEY HAD THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2015 - YORK, PA
VEHICLE WAS PARKED FOR 4 DAYS IN DRIVEWAY. VEHICLE ENGINE COMPARTMENT BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES UNEXPECTEDLY. CAUSE UNKNOWN. A 2014 RECALL RELATED TO THROTTLE BODY IS SUSPICIOUS. RECALL WAS ADDRESSED UNDER CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 13N03.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds