Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 549 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (52) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (205) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (218)
Engine (181) Fuel Propulsion System (127) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/9/2014 - STERLING, MI
MY FIANCE WAS DRIVING MY ESCAPE AND HAD AN ACCIDENT SHE REARENDED A TRUCK AND NONE OF THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF AND THE MOTOR WAS PUSHED ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE FIREWALL.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTICED THAT A FIRE HAD ERUPTED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/5/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
DROVE A LITTLE OVER 2 MILES , EVERYTHING WAS FINE .CAME TO A STOP AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I STARTED TO PULL OUT AND I NOLONGER HAD ANY POWER STEERING AND THERE WAS NOW A LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ADVISING OF N TRACTION OFF. I WENT HOME AND WAITED TILL MORNING AND DROVE TO MY REGULAR MECHAANIC .THEY CHECKED IT OUT AND TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR TO FORD BECAUSE THIS WAS A RECALL AND SHOULD BE COVERED BY FORD. THE FORD DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NOT COVERED BECAUSE I HAD BROUGHT MY CAR IN FOR THAT RECALL LAST YEAR WHEN THEEY SENT ME THE NOTICE AND MY STEERING COLUM AND ELECTRICAL WAS OK AT THAT TIME. SO ONE YEAR LATER AND $1100. LATER THIS PART BREAKS AND FORD DOES NOT THINK IT IS RESPONSABLE BECAUSE IT WASNT BROKE WHEN THEY LOOKED AT IT A YEAR AGO. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN TRAGIC IF I HAD BEEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY OR IF SOMEONE HAD PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME AS IT WAS VERY DIFICULT TO TURN THE WHEEL TO AVOID ANYTHING.I FRRL THAT THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THE POWER STEERING IN THIS ESCAPE AND FORD KNOWS ABOUT IT AND IS NOT STANDING BEHIND IT RECALL/. THE DEALER SAID THIS WAS HIS THIRD SUCH PROBLEM IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS AND FORD WILL NOT TAKE CARE OF THEM I DID CONTACT FORD MOTOR CORPORATE ABOUT THIS BILL AND THEY TOLD ME THE PROGRAM WAS CLOSED BECAUSE MY CAR HAD BEEN INSPECTED AND DID NOT NEED THIS WORK DONE AT THAT TIME

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2014 - PLANO, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A REGULAR STREET IN MY AREA AT THE RATE OF 35. THE SPEED LIMIT IS 40, SO I DECIDED TO INCREASE MY SPEED TO THAT OF THE SPEED LIMIT. WHEN I PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE, IT APPEARED THAT THE ENGINE WAS JUST SPINNING, BUT NOT ACCELERATING, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN, IT JUST LUNGED FORWARD, NOT ONCE, BUT TWICE. THIS WAS QUITE FRIGHTENING AS I HAD NO ADVANCED WARNING THIS WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. AFTER THAT INCIDENT, IT APPEARED TO BE DRIVING NORMAL, UNTIL IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT A WEEK LATER. I AM AFRAID WHENEVER I GET BEHIND THE WHEEL NOW, BUT IT IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I OWN AND I USE IT TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK, SO I AM PROCEEDING WITH EXTREME CAUTION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2014 - PLANO, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A REGULAR STREET IN MY AREA AT THE RATE OF 35. THE SPEED LIMIT IS 40, SO I DECIDED TO INCREASE MY SPEED TO THAT OF THE SPEED LIMIT. WHEN I PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE, IT APPEARED THAT THE ENGINE WAS JUST SPINNING, BUT NOT ACCELERATING, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN, IT JUST LUNGED FORWARD, NOT ONCE, BUT TWICE. THIS WAS QUITE FRIGHTENING AS I HAD NO ADVANCED WARNING THIS WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. AFTER THAT INCIDENT, IT APPEARED TO BE DRIVING NORMAL, UNTIL IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT A WEEK LATER. I AM AFRAID WHENEVER I GET BEHIND THE WHEEL NOW, BUT IT IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I OWN AND I USE IT TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK, SO I AM PROCEEDING WITH EXTREME CAUTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2014 - PLANO, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A REGULAR STREET IN MY AREA AT THE RATE OF 35. THE SPEED LIMIT IS 40, SO I DECIDED TO INCREASE MY SPEED TO THAT OF THE SPEED LIMIT. WHEN I PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE, IT APPEARED THAT THE ENGINE WAS JUST SPINNING, BUT NOT ACCELERATING, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN, IT JUST LUNGED FORWARD, NOT ONCE, BUT TWICE. THIS WAS QUITE FRIGHTENING AS I HAD NO ADVANCED WARNING THIS WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. AFTER THAT INCIDENT, IT APPEARED TO BE DRIVING NORMAL, UNTIL IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT A WEEK LATER. I AM AFRAID WHENEVER I GET BEHIND THE WHEEL NOW, BUT IT IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I OWN AND I USE IT TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK, SO I AM PROCEEDING WITH EXTREME CAUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2014 - BOSTON, MA
LIKE MANY OTHER REPORTS I HAVE READ THE VEHICLE CEASED TO RESPOND ON 11/24/2014. THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING (ROUGH), THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON I WAS UNABLE TO GET ANY POWER WHEN PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL. TURNED IT OFF AND RESTARTED (SLUGGISH) BUT THEN LIKE NOTHING HAPPENED MADE IT TO MY DESTINATION. HAPPENED AGAIN 11/30/2014 THIS TIME I WAS TRAVELLING AT 35MPH. PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED AND THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT A MILE FURTHER DOWN THE ROAD. THIS TIME AFTER SHUTTING IT OFF AND RESTARTING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. WHY IS THIS NOT A RECALL ISSUE? ALL OTHER POST HAVE MENTIONED THROTTLE BODY. ITS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE IF I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY OR IN HEAVY TRAFFIC IT COULD OF ENDED IN A SERIOUS OR FATAL SITUATION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/22/2014 - PAHRUMP, NV
I WAS CROSSING A HIGHWAY AND WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS I HAD NO POWER! JUST A FEW WEEKS BEFORE IT WAS AT FORD FOR A TORQUE AND STEERING RECALL. WHEN I CALLED FORD TO INFORM THEM WHAT HAPPENED THEY SAID I WILL HAVE TO PAY $130 FOR THEM TO DIAGNOSE IT! I'M NOT HAPPY WITH FORDS RESPONSE. THIS IS A REAL DANGER AND THEY NEED TO TAKE IT SERIOUS!

View Details

TIRES

11/14/2014 - PA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE EQUIPPED WITH MICHELIN CROSS TERRAIN F4290R TIRES, SIZE P225/65/R17 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRES WERE DRY ROTTED. ALSO, THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW AT ALL TIMES. THE TIRES WERE TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE AND TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/10/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
I HAVE A 2011 FORD ESCAPE WITH AROUND 18000 MILES. THE LIFT GATE GLASS EXPLODED WHEN I SHUT THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MOVING. GLASS FOR SPREAD INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds