Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 569 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (54) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (208) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (220)
Engine (187) Fuel Propulsion System (129) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - MARYVILLE, IN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING OVER 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE FAILURE AND AN UNKNOWN ERROR MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000. DJR

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/20/2015 - GORHAM, ME
WENT TO THE DEALER, ROWE WESTBROOK, TO GET AN OIL CHANGE AND THEY TOLD ME MY MAINE STATE INSPECTION WAS DUE. THE INSPECTION FAILED DUE TO CORRISION ON THE LEFT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM BUSHING. THERE IS A RECALL ON EARLIER ESCAPE MODELS, BUT MY 2011 MODEL WAS NOT COVERED. IT COST ME AROUND 600 DOLLARS TO REPAIR. IF EARLIER MODELS HAD THIS PROBLEM WHY ARE CONSUMERS PAYING FOR THE SAME REPAIR ON NEWER MODELS?

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2015 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND CHECK FUEL INLET ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THE WATER PUMP FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2015 - SAINT LEONARD, MD
SINCE JANUARY, VEHICLE WOULD RANDOMLY STALL WITH NO WARNING. FIRST ALERTED WHEN PRESSING ON THE GAS AND VEHICLE KEPT SLOWING DOWN THEN ENGINE, BATTERY, OIL LIGHTS LIT UP. I PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTARTED. NOTICED WHEN IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY SINCE, THAT THE RPM DROP QUICKLY BELOW 1. HAS BEEN IN FORD SERVICES DEPARTMENT 3 TIMES WITHIN THE PAST 2-3 WEEKS. THEY CHANGED FILTER, CLEANED CARBON BUILD-UP. SECOND TIME AT FORD, THEY CHANGED THE THROTTLE BODY. THE LAST TIME STALL OCCURRED WAS ON DC BELTWAY DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC IN FAST MOVING TRAFFIC - PANIC EXPERIENCE! IT WAS TOWED TO FORD, KEPT 4 DAYS - DROVE AROUND CLAIMED COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. THEY WANT ME TO TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK. I AM IN FEAR CAUSING AN ACCIDENT, INJURING MYSELF, PASSENGERS INCLUDING MY GRANDCHILDREN, AND OTHER DRIVERS WITH THEIR PASSENGERS. THIS VEHICLE IS WONDER AS FAR AS COMFORT AND GAS MILEAGE BUT IS A RISK TO SAFETY. NOT WORTH KEEPING AND SHOULD BE LABEL A LEMON IF THEY CAN'T FIX.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/18/2015 - INDEPENENCE, LA
SLOWING DOWN IN MY FORD ESCAPE THE TRANSMISSION INTERMEDIATELY DOWN SHIFTS SO HARD THAT IT SHAKES MY CAR AND MAKES A LOUD NOISE. HAVE BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES AND ARE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE INTERMEDIATE PROBLEM. FIRST TIME THEY RESET SOME SORT OF CHIP IN THE TRANSMISSION AND IT HELPED FOR ONLY A SHORT WHILE. IT DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME AND IS INTERMEDIATE, THE DEALERSHIP DOES NOT DRIVE IT LONG ENOUGH TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/16/2015 - BETHEL PARK, PA
THE REAR TAILGATE WINDOW EXPLODED WHILE CAR WAS PARKED IN THE GARAGE WITH THE GARAGE DOOR CLOSED. HAPPENED SUNDAY AT 6:45 PM WITH AN OUTDOOR TEMPERATURE OF 45 DEGREES FERINHEIGHT. CAR HAD BEEN IN THE GARAGE ALL WEEKEND, SINCE FRIDAY EARLY AFTERNOON. NO OUTSIDE INFLUENCE CAUSED THE BREAKAGE TO HAPPEN. GLASS FILLED THE BACK OF THE CAR AND THE ENTIRE BACK OF THE GARAGE. FALLS RIGHT IN LINE WITH NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE11016.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - BETHEL PARK, PA
THE REAR TAILGATE WINDOW EXPLODED WHILE CAR WAS PARKED IN THE GARAGE WITH THE GARAGE DOOR CLOSED. HAPPENED SUNDAY AT 6:45 PM WITH AN OUTDOOR TEMPERATURE OF 45 DEGREES FERINHEIGHT. CAR HAD BEEN IN THE GARAGE ALL WEEKEND, SINCE FRIDAY EARLY AFTERNOON. NO OUTSIDE INFLUENCE CAUSED THE BREAKAGE TO HAPPEN. GLASS FILLED THE BACK OF THE CAR AND THE ENTIRE BACK OF THE GARAGE. FALLS RIGHT IN LINE WITH NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE11016.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - FORT WORTH, TX
VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN GARAGE. THE REAR HATCH WINDOW EXPLODED INTO HUNDRED'S OF PIECES. LOW TEMPERATURE LAST NIGHT 50 DEGREES, 60 DEGREES AT TIME OF INCIDENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

3/12/2015 - LAKE ZURICH, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2015 - DAYTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING AT 11 PM ON A COUNTRY ROAD, WHEN MY VEHICLE JUST STOPPED, I COASTED AROUND A CORNER AND PUT ON MY FLASHERS. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF NO WHERE AND IT WAS VERY DARK. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED TO THIS VEHICLE. I CONTACTED FORD ROAD SIDE EMERGENCY SERVICE AND THEY INFORMED MY VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY FOR TOWING AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE WRECKER. I HAD JUST GOT THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE SHOP FROM THE FORD DEALER FOR THE SAME PROBLEM, WHICH THEY HAD FOR OVER TWO WEEKS BECAUSE THEY SAID THEY WERE WAITING ON A PART BECAUSE THEY SAID IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP AND NO ONE HAD ONE SO THEY HAD TO ORDER IT. I GOT THE CAR OUT THAT DAY ABOUT 11AM, WHICH I HAD TO PAY $176.00, PLUS OVER $30.. FOR A RENTAL FOR 5 DAYS, THAT'S ALL THEY WOULD COVER. I HAD TO SAT IN THE DARK AND RAIN FOR TWO HOURS WAITING ON A WRECKER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I AM 67 YEARS OLD AND THANK GOODNESS MY SISTER IN LAW WAS WITH ME, BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. THE WRECKER TOWED MY VEHICLE TO FORD AND I AM WAITING ON THEM TO OPEN SO I CAN CALL THEM SO THEY CAN TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds