Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 659 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (230) Steering (45) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (66) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (233)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (136) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Engine (210) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2016 - DAVIE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. IN ADDITION, THE FUEL FILL INLET WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2016 - DAVIE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. IN ADDITION, THE FUEL FILL INLET WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/19/2016 - LADSON, SC
WHILE DRIVING, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. ACTUALLY THE FIRST LIGHT TO COME ON WAS THE POWER TRAIN INDICATOR. WHILE PRESSING ACCELERATOR, THE SPEED CONTINUED TO DECREASE. I WAS IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC AND IT REALLY SCARED ME. I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND WAS UNABLE TO TAKE IT TO AN AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR SHOP BECAUSE IT WAS LATE IN THE EVENING. THE NEXT MORNING I DROVE SLOWLY TO TREADQUARTERS AUTO SERVICE CENTER AND AFTER DESCRIBING THE SYMPTOMS WAS TOLD THEY NEEDED TO DO A COMPUTER SCAN AND THEN WAS TOLD I NEEDED A THROTTLE BODY IMMEDIATELY. IF NOT INSTALLED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, I MAY END UP STRANDED SOMEWHERE. I WAS ALSO TOLD FORD KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM WITH THIS PART AND HAVE YET TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. IS THIS TRUE? HAVE I JUST PAID AN EXORBITANT AMOUNT OF MONEY TO REPLACE A PART THAT FORD KNOWS IS PROBLEMATIC?? I HAVE SEVERAL FORD VEHICLES AND AM A LOYAL CUSTOMER BUT I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER IF THIS COMPANY KNOWINGLY PUT ME IN DANGER.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2016 - WOODINVILLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH AND COMING TO A STOP, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,112.

View Details

STEERING

7/12/2016 - ROCKFORD, MI
POWER STEERING STARTED GOING OUT AT THE BEGINNING OF JUNE 2016. IF I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TURN IT BACK ON, IT WILL WORK. BUT, NOT ALWAYS. IT TENDS TO GO OUT WHEN TURNING CORNERS, BUT JUST THIS WEEK, IT WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY. THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS BY FORD EVEN THOUGH I HAVE SEEN THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME CAR AND THE SAME PROBLEM!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/11/2016 - KNOX, PA
3 TIMES SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING. 1ST TIME ON 6/17/16 ON INTERSTATE AT 70MPH: NO RESPONSE FROM GAS PEDAL, TACHOMETER DROPPED TO 0, WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SIDE OF ROAD. MAINTAINED PWR STEERING/BRAKES. SHUT OFF ENGINE, RESTARTED/WORKED FINE, WRENCH LIGHT OFF. MILEAGE ABOUT 64,920. 2ND & 3RD TIME SAME HAPPENED DRIVING ON COUNTRY ROADS (ON 6/22/16 MILEAGE ABOUT 64,993 AND ON 7/7/16 MILEAGE ABOUT 65,330). WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DECELERATING, LIGHT AND THROTTLE RESET UPON SHUTTING OF AND RESTARTING CAR. FORD SAYS THEY WILL NOT REPAIR UNLESS CODE IS PRESENT, CODE ERASES WHEN CAR IS SHUT OFF AND WILL NOT DRIVE UNTIL CAR IS SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED. THESE INCIDENTS FIT DESCRIPTION OF FORD "FIELD SERVICE ACTION" FOR ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY EXTENDED COVERAGE. V DANGEROUS! THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED MY 20 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. SUDDEN DECELERATION IN INTERSTATE TRAFFIC ON I-80 IN WESTERN PA COULD'VE HAD DEADLY RESULT!

View Details

TIRES

7/7/2016 - WPAFB, OH
PURCHASED AND HAD MOUNTED (4) GOODYEAR ASSURANCE TRIPLETRED TIRES ON OR ABOUT 15APR2015 BY FORD DEALER. 90,000 MILE MAINTENANCE, INCLUDING ROUTINE TIRE ROTATION WAS COMPLETED BY SAME DEALER ON 24JUN2016. NO DAMAGE OR DEFECTS WERE NOTED BY THE DEALER AT THAT TIME. ON 02JUL2016, WHILE DRIVING ON THE THE INTERSTATE AT APPROXIMATELY 65MPH, I NOTICED THE LOW AIR PRESSURE LIGHT COME ON AND SLOWED MY SPEED TO 60 MPH. WITHIN A FEW MILES, I HEARD A THUMPING NOISE OF A FLAT TIRE AND PULLED OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER AND AWAITED ROAD ASSISTANCE FROM AAA. AAA INSPECTED THE TIRE AND SAW NO DAMAGE OTHER THAN THE SIDEWALLS HAD BLOWN, AND SUSPECTED A DEFECTIVE TIRE. I TOOK THE DEFECTIVE TIRE TO THE FORD DEALER ON 05JUL2016 WHO ALSO INSPECTED AND FOUND NO DAMAGE. THE DEALER KEPT THE DEFECTIVE TIRE AND I AM AWAITING FURTHER INSTRUCTION FROM THE DEALER WHO HAS FILED A REPORT WITH GOODYEAR. THESE TIRES HAD APPROXIMATELY 20,000 MILES WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE AND FEAR CONTINUING TO DRIVE ON THE THREE REMAINING GOODYEAR ASSURANCE TRIPLETRED TIRES.

View Details

WHEELS

7/7/2016 - WPAFB, OH
PURCHASED AND HAD MOUNTED (4) GOODYEAR ASSURANCE TRIPLETRED ON OR ABOUT 15APR2015 BY FORD DEALER. 90,000 MILE MAINTENANCE, INCLUDING ROUTINE TIRE ROTATION, WAS COMPLETED BY SAME DEALER 24JUN2016. NO DAMAGE OR DEFECTS WERE NOTED BY DEALER AT THAT TIME. ON 02JUL2016, WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, I NOTICED THE LOW AIR PRESSURE LIGHT COME ON AND SLOWED MY SPEED TO 60 MPH. WITHIN A FEW MILES, I HEARD A THUMPING NOISE OF A FLAT TIRE AND PULLED OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER AND AWAITED ROAD ASSISTANCE FROM AAA. AAA INSPECTED THE TIRE AND SAW NO DAMAGE OTHER THAN THE SIDEWALLS HAD BLOWN, SUSPECTED TO BE DEFECTIVE. I TOOK THE DEFECTIVE TIRE TO THE FORD DEALER ON 05JUL2016 WHO ALSO INSPECTED THE TIRE AND FOUND NO DAMAGE. THE DEALER KEPT THE DEFECTIVE TIRE AND I AM AWAITING FURTHER INSTRUCTION FROM THE DEALER WHO HAS FILED A REPORT WITH GOODYEAR. THESE GOODYEAR TIRES HAD APPROXIMATELY 20,000 MILES WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE AND FEAR CONTINUING TO DRIVE ON THE THREE REMAINING GOODYEAR ASSURANCE TRIPLETRED TIRES.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2016 - LANSING, MI
THE POWER STEERING RANDOMLY GOES OUT. SOMETIMES IMMEDIATELY UPON TURNING THE VEHICLE ON, OTHER TIMES WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGH WAY, SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING SLOW, OR TURNING. IT IS COMPLETELY RANDOM. THE QUICK/TEMPORARY FIX IS TO TURN THE VEHICLE BACK OFF AND ON AGAIN AND IT GOES AWAY FOR A WHILE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO FORD AND THEY HAVE TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN WHICH COMES TO A TOTAL OF AROUND $1500. THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEMS OTHER VEHICLES HAD THAT WERE A PART OF THE RECALL. MY YEAR IS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL BUT FOR SOME REASON MY VIN IS NOT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2016 - CUMMING, GA
SEVERAL TIMES WHEN DRIVING THE CAR AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED (55+) THE SMELL OF GAS FUMES ARE VERY STRONG INSIDE THE CAR. THIS IS ESPICALLY TRUE WHEN THE A/C/ IS ON HIGH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds