Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 647 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (65) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (230) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (231)
Engine (208) Fuel Propulsion System (133) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/10/2016 - GEORGETOWN, KY
I JUST FILED A COMPLAINT ABOUT MY 2011 FORD ESCAPE WITH THE COMPLAINT NUMBER BEING 10873640. I ENTERED THE WRONG VIN NUMBER SO I AM PUTTING IT IN THIS MESSAGE. THE RIGHT VIN NUMBER IS AS FOLLOWS: [XXX] THE OTHER VIN NUMBER WAS FOR MY DAUGHTERS DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. SORRY FOR THE MIX-UP. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2016 - GEORGETOWN, KY
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET AND MY VEHICLE STARTED TO IDLE FUNNY, LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STOP RUNNING AND IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL, I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE STREET. WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OR DO ANYTHING ALMOST LIKE IT WAS DISCONNECTED. THE ENGINE LIGHT ALSO CAME ON AT THIS TIME. MY FIANCEE' CAME TO WHERE I WAS AT AND HE SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND THEN STARTED IT BACK UP AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF AND THE VEHICLE WAS BACK TO RUNNING AGAIN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE THROTTLE BODY BEING BAD AND THAT FORD AND FORD GARAGES WHERE REFUSING TO FIX THE PROBLEM WITH ALL THE VEHICLES DOING THIS AND I THINK THAT IS SO WRONG ON MANY LEVELS DUE TO FORD BEING A TOP MANUFACTURER OF VEHICLES THEY SHOULD STAND BY THE VEHICLES AND FIX ANY PROBLEMS THAT OCCUR WITH THE VEHICLES. I DON'T HAVE ANY WARRANTY AND I AM ON LIMITED INCOME AND CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY A BIG TOW BILL OR PLAY FOR A MAJOR REPAIR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/10/2016 - GEORGETOWN, KY
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET AND MY VEHICLE STARTED TO IDLE FUNNY, LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STOP RUNNING AND IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL, I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE STREET. WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OR DO ANYTHING ALMOST LIKE IT WAS DISCONNECTED. THE ENGINE LIGHT ALSO CAME ON AT THIS TIME. MY FIANCEE' CAME TO WHERE I WAS AT AND HE SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND THEN STARTED IT BACK UP AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF AND THE VEHICLE WAS BACK TO RUNNING AGAIN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE THROTTLE BODY BEING BAD AND THAT FORD AND FORD GARAGES WHERE REFUSING TO FIX THE PROBLEM WITH ALL THE VEHICLES DOING THIS AND I THINK THAT IS SO WRONG ON MANY LEVELS DUE TO FORD BEING A TOP MANUFACTURER OF VEHICLES THEY SHOULD STAND BY THE VEHICLES AND FIX ANY PROBLEMS THAT OCCUR WITH THE VEHICLES. I DON'T HAVE ANY WARRANTY AND I AM ON LIMITED INCOME AND CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY A BIG TOW BILL OR PLAY FOR A MAJOR REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2016 - PLANTATION, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND DECELERATED. THE SERVICE ENGINE NOW WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED IN NOVEMBER OF 2015 PER A MANUFACTURER RECALL FOR THE SAME FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE A SECOND TIME FOR THE SAME FAILURE. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/2/2016 - WENTZVILLE, MO
I CONTINUE TO HAVE ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY (ETB), UP TO AND INCLUDING THE COMPLETE SHUTDOWN OF THE SYSTEM. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE AND HAVE ABIDED BY ALL SERVICE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR THIS MAKE/MODEL. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE ETB RUNS OUT AT 100K (VEHICLE CURRENTLY AT 75K). THERE ARE TIMES THE VEHICLE SHIFTS SO VIOLENTLY THAT ONE WOULD BELIEVE THEY'VE BEEN REAR-ENDED. WHEN I TAKE MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALERSHIP (5 TIMES, 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS), I'M TOLD THEY RE-PROGRAM THE SYSTEM AND TO GIVE IT ANOTHER 500 TO 1000 MILES FOR THE SYSTEM TO RELEARN MY DRIVING HABITS. THE "REBOOT" LASTS BETWEEN 800 TO 1500 MILES ON AVERAGE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE ETB CAN'T BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY AT THIS POINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/2/2016 - WENTZVILLE, MO
I CONTINUE TO HAVE ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY (ETB), UP TO AND INCLUDING THE COMPLETE SHUTDOWN OF THE SYSTEM. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE AND HAVE ABIDED BY ALL SERVICE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR THIS MAKE/MODEL. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE ETB RUNS OUT AT 100K (VEHICLE CURRENTLY AT 75K). THERE ARE TIMES THE VEHICLE SHIFTS SO VIOLENTLY THAT ONE WOULD BELIEVE THEY'VE BEEN REAR-ENDED. WHEN I TAKE MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALERSHIP (5 TIMES, 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS), I'M TOLD THEY RE-PROGRAM THE SYSTEM AND TO GIVE IT ANOTHER 500 TO 1000 MILES FOR THE SYSTEM TO RELEARN MY DRIVING HABITS. THE "REBOOT" LASTS BETWEEN 800 TO 1500 MILES ON AVERAGE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE ETB CAN'T BE REPLACED IN ITS ENTIRETY AT THIS POINT.

View Details

STEERING

5/25/2016 - FRUITLAND, MD
I FILED A COMPLAINT THE OTHER DAY BUT IT HAS GOTTEN SO MUCH WORSE THAT I HAD TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PSCM WAS BAD. ALMOST $1300. IT WILL HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL I HAVE THE MONEY FOR IT. THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM AS RECALL #14S05 BUT IT DOES NOT REACH OUR MANUFACTURER DATE. IT IS TIME FOR THEM TO STEP UP AND EXTEND THE RECALL TO COVER ALL OF THE DATES BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED WHEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF A TURN LIKE HAPPENED TO ME THE OTHER DAY. I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN IN THE INSIDE TURNING LANE WHEN IT STOPPED WORKING. NOT ONLY DID I LOSE POWER STEERING BUT IT SNATCHED THE WHEEL OUT OF MY HAND. I ALMOST HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME BEFORE I GOT CONTROL OF IT. IF MY WIFE HAD BEEN DRIVING, AND IT IS HER VEHICLE, SHE WOULD HAVE HIT THE CAR NEXT TO HER. I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THAT WE ARE THE ONLY ONES COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS. THEY NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS BECAUSE IT IS GOING TO PUT A FINANCIAL HARDSHIP ON US TO GET IT FIXED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/24/2016 - MIAMISBURG, OH
I HAVE A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. I WAS DRIVING ON A 2 WAY STREET AND THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING OUT OF NOWHERE AND I COULD NOT ACCELERATE. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE BEFORE GETTING REAR ENDED. WHAT IS FRUSTRATING ABOUT THIS IS FORD HAD A RECALL A COUPLE YEARS AGO FOR MY MAKE AND MODEL FOR A BAD THROTTLE .. SAME EXACT ISSUE I HAD WHERE I WAS DRIVING AND COULDNT ACCELERATE. INSTEAD OF REPLACING THE THROTTLE THEY GAVE 1.6 MILLION CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM WARRANTIES.. SO BASICALLY YOU HAD TO HAVE AN ISSUE BEFORE IT WOULD BE REPLACED. I CALLED FORD CORP 5/23/16 AND BECAUSE MY VIN# WASNT ONE IN THE RECALL THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR MY $400 BILL. IT IS THE SAME EXACT ISSUE AS THE RECALL BUT SINCE MY VIN# IS DIFFERENT THEY WONT PAY. HOW DOES THAT MAKE ANY SENSE. LUCKILY I DIDNT GET INTO AN ACCIDENT . I FIND IT INCOMPREHENSIBLE THAT FORD RECALLS THE THROTTLE BODY IN THEIR CARS AND WILL NOT DO THE RIGHT THING AND PAY FOR MINE. I DRIVE THE HIGHWAY EVERYDAY TO WORK AND I CANT EVEN IMAGINE IF IT FAILED ON THE HIGHWAY. ALL BECAUSE I DONT HAVE THE RIGHT VIN#.. MAYBE THEY NEED TO CONSIDER EXPANDING THEIR VIN#'S. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND THE FACT THEY DONT CARE MAKES ME RETHINK MY NEXT CAR PURCHASE. WE HAVE 2 FORD'S NOW AND I DONT SEE A 3RD IN MY FUTURE.

View Details

STEERING

5/18/2016 - FRUITLAND, MD
LAST YEAR IT BEGAN WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED THE POWER STEERING WOULD NOT WORK. YOU COULD SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART IT AND IT WOULD WORK. AS TIME WENT BY IT HAPPENED MORE FREQUENTLY AND I CALLED THE FORD DEALER ABOUT A RECALL SOMEONE HAD TOLD ME ABOUT AND WAS TOLD THAT OUR ESCAPE WAS NOT INCLUDED AND THAT I SHOULD FILE A COMPLAINT WITH YOU. I DID THAT LAST YEAR AND HAVE GOTTEN NO RESPONSE. IT HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. IT HAS BEEN SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED SO MANY TIMES THAT IT KILLED THE BATTERY. IT STILL HAD VOLTS BUT NO LONGER HAD ENOUGH COLD CRANKING AMPS TO START THE ENGINE. NOW IT HAS HAPPENED A COUPLE OF TIMES WHILE I WAS DRIVING. WHEN IT STOPS IT ALMOST SNATCHES THE STEERING WHEEL OUT OF YOUR HANDS. THERE IS NEVER ANY WARNING AND NO WARNING LIGHTS COME ON. SOMETIMES WHEN IT IS QUIET IN THE CAR I CAN HEAR A CLICK COME FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND IT EITHER QUITS WORKING OR IF IT WAS NOT WORKING IT START BACK. THREE DAYS AGO IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A TURN AT AN INTERSECTION THAT HAS TWO TURN LANES AND I ALMOST HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. IF IT HAD HAPPENED WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING SHE PROBABLY WOULD HAVE HIT THEM. THERE IS A GOOD POSSIBILITY OF THIS AS IT IS HER VEHICLE. I AM DRIVING IT THIS WEEK BECAUSE I AM A LITTLE UNCOMFORTABLE WITH HER DRIVING IT. I LIVE IN MARYLAND AND WORK ALL WEEK IN NEW JERSEY. I HOPE IT DOES NOT HAPPEN WHILE I AM ON THE NJ TURNPIKE AS PEOPLE ON THERE LIKE TO STAY CLOSE AND GOES FAST. I REALLY HAVE NO CHOICE BECAUSE WE HAVE TO BE ABLE TO GO TO WORK AND CANNOT AFFORD TO HAVE IT FIXED. MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL POSSIBILITIES THAT GO FROM SOFTWARE PROGRAMING, SENSOR REPLACEMENT OR STEERING COLUMN REPLACEMENT. IT IS OBVIOUS FROM THE SYMPTOMS THAT IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL BUT HAS NOT BEEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/10/2016 - TULSA, OK
VEHICLE ENGINE SUDDENLY AND RANDOMLY CUTS OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING, IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY, OR SOON AFTER STARTING TO DRIVE, IN MOTION LEAVING A PARKING LOT. THE ACCELERATOR BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE AND THE CAR SPUTTERS TO A STOP. WHEN YOU TRY TO RESTART THE CAR IT TURNS ON AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds