Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 676 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Power Train (231) Steering (49) Unknown Or Other (22)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (236)
Electrical System (66) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (138) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (216) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/22/2016 - IRVINE, CA
2011 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE POWER FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. CONSUMER STATES VEHICLE HAD A DEFECTIVE FUEL PUMP DRIVER MODULE AND SEEKS REIMBURSEMENT FOR REPAIRS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/20/2016 - AMHERST, NY
VEHICLE WOULD ENGAGE IN JERKY MOTION AND REDUCED POWER WHEN ACCELERATING TO HIGHWAY SPEED FOLLOWED BY "THROTTLE FAULT LIGHT" ON INSTRUMENT PANEL. MORE JERKY MOTION DURING DOWNSHIFT/DECELERATION. ODB2 CODE P2119

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/14/2016 - GOLDEN, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. AFTER COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE AND THE VEHICLE JOLTED FORWARD VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND A DEALER, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2016 - NORTHFIELD, MN
VEHICLE WAS PARKED. OWNER OPENED THE REAR WINDOW. ON LATCH RELEASE (AND WINDOW UPSWING) THE LEFT SIDE OF THE WINDOW SHOT OUT AND FELL FROM THE CAR -- WINDOW WAS BEING HELD ONTO THE CAR ONLY BY THE GLASS LIFT SUPPORTS. THE WINDOW LIFTGATE HINGES HAD DETERIORATED/BROKEN APART FROM THE ANCHOR BOLT ON THE WINDOW. APPROXIMATELY 3-5 MONTHS PREVIOUSLY, OWNER NOTICED THAT A WHITE SUBSTANCE HAD STAINED THE REAR WINDOW JUST BELOW BOTH LIFTGATE HINGES.

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - DET, MI
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR I SLOWED DOWN TO MAKE A TURN AND THE ENGINE SUDDENLY STOPPED.NO WARNING, SHAKING OR DECREASE IN SPEED. IT JUST STOPPED I TRIED RESTARTING BUT IT WOULDNT START UNTIL 10MINS LATER. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WITH NO PROBLEMS OR LIGHTS ON THE DASH BUT AFTER I LEFT (THEY COULDN'T SEE THE CAR UNTIL 4 DAYS LATER) LEAVING THE LOT THE ENGINE SEEMED TO STALL OFF AND ON FOR THE 5 MILE TRIP SO I WOULD PUT IT IN NEUTRAL WHEN I WOULD COME TO A LIGHT AND COAST TO A STOP, THEN RESTART. THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND LATER THE ENGINE LIGHT. ALSO THE RPM 'S ON THE DASH WOULD GO UP TO 4-5 BUT MY ENGINE SPEED WOULD BE 40 MPH THIS SCARED ME SO BAD, I PARKED THE CAR UNTIL THE APPOINTMENT AT THE DEARLERSHIP WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY DID A DIAGNOSTIC BUT KNOW CODES CAME UP. THEY DID FIX THE THROTTLE

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
LOST POWER STEERING ASSIST WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE AT APPROX. 35MPH. IT WAS ALL I COULD DO JUST TO GET IT BACK HOME. I COULDN'T EVEN TURN IT TO GET INTO MY GARAGE! I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND THAT A RECALL HAD BEEN ISSUED FOR VEHICLE YEARS 2008-2011. I CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL SINCE IT WAS MANUFACTURED ON MAY 26 2011. MY PROBLEM IS: I'M HAVING THE IDENTICAL PROBLEM AND WHO'S TO SAY THAT THESE PARTS WEREN'T MANUFACTURED AT THE SAME TIME THE DEFECTIVE ONES WERE?

View Details

ENGINE

8/22/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,425.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/17/2016 - BINGHAMTON, NY
2TIMES VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER, STEERING AND BRAKES. ADVISED IT IS DUE TO NEEDING A NEW THROTTLE BODY. BOTH TIMES THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2016 - BERWYN, IL
"TAKATA RECALL" A LIGHT POPPED ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A LOCAL CITY STREET A LIGHT THAT LOOKS LIKE A WRENCH AND IT IS CAUSING ME HESITATION WHILE DRIVING WON'T PICK UP SPEED OR GIVE ANY GAS.

View Details

STEERING

8/12/2016 - EL CERRITO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO A MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds