Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 524 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (48) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (198) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (213)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (16)
Engine (172) Fuel Propulsion System (125) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - FAIRVIEW, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN JERKING WITHOUT WARNING BETWEEN SWITCHING GEARS. THE PROBLEM RECURRED TEN TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000. CS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2014 - OLYMPIA, WA
WHILE DRIVING WE WERE ALERTED TO A PROBLEM BY A PASSING CAR. AFTER STOPPING THE MOTORHOME I WALKED BACK TO THE ESCAPE AND SAW SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE CAR. AFTER ALLOWING THE CAR TO COOL WE PROCEEDED ON TO OUR DESTINATION AND CONTACTED THE LOCAL FORD DEALER. WE WERE PROVIDED WITH AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE NEXT MORNING. AT THAT APPOINTMENT WE WERE TOLD THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS TOTALLY DESTROYED. WHILE NO FIRE WAS PRESENT THE POTENTIAL FOR A CATASTROPHIC FIRE INVOLVING BOTH THE CAR AND THE MOTORHOME ALONG SIDE A BUSY FREEWAY WAS A POSSIBILITY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2014 - CLEVELAND, OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH THE SERVICE SENSOR LIGHT HAD DISPLAYED AS THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. AFTER RESTARTING THE ENGINE THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS NORMAL BEFORE THE SERVICE SENSOR LIGHT REAPPEARED ALONG WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AS THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AGAIN AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000 . JFT

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/4/2014 - WILLISTON, ND
DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AT 85 MILES PER HOUR. VEHICLE STALLS AND RPMS OR MPH WON'T MOVE. PULL OVER PUT IN PARK, VEHICLE SHAKES REAL BAD AND WRENCH COMES ON. TURN OFF AND RESTART, WRENCH DROPS OFF. 50 MILES DOWN THE ROAD SAME INSTANCE, EXCEPT AFTER RESTARTING WRENCH DROPS AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. BRING TO DEALERSHIP. THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEM STUCK OPEN AND THEY SAY POSSIBLE RECALL. WEEK LATER GOING 65 DOWN HIGHWAY AND SAME INSTANCE HAPPENS. TAKE IT TO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY WE HAVE THROTTLE BODY RECALL, THEY RECALIBRATE THE RECALL. NOW VEHICLE DOESN'T ALWAYS SWITCH RPMS WHEN IT'S SUPPOSED TO. IT'LL JERK BEFORE SHIFTING AND THEN WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES BACK ON. BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL AND POSSIBLE NEW THROTTLE BODY DOWN THE ROAD. SPENT ALMOST 1000 DOLLARS ON RECALL IN LAST COUPLE MONTHS AND NOW THEY TELLING US THE RECALL WAS JUST A RECALIBRATION AND BUT MIGHT NEED A NEW THROTTLE BODY?? WHAT WAS THE RECALL FOR. FRUSTRATED WITH FORD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - WILLISTON, ND
DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AT 85 MILES PER HOUR. VEHICLE STALLS AND RPMS OR MPH WON'T MOVE. PULL OVER PUT IN PARK, VEHICLE SHAKES REAL BAD AND WRENCH COMES ON. TURN OFF AND RESTART, WRENCH DROPS OFF. 50 MILES DOWN THE ROAD SAME INSTANCE, EXCEPT AFTER RESTARTING WRENCH DROPS AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. BRING TO DEALERSHIP. THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEM STUCK OPEN AND THEY SAY POSSIBLE RECALL. WEEK LATER GOING 65 DOWN HIGHWAY AND SAME INSTANCE HAPPENS. TAKE IT TO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY WE HAVE THROTTLE BODY RECALL, THEY RECALIBRATE THE RECALL. NOW VEHICLE DOESN'T ALWAYS SWITCH RPMS WHEN IT'S SUPPOSED TO. IT'LL JERK BEFORE SHIFTING AND THEN WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES BACK ON. BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL AND POSSIBLE NEW THROTTLE BODY DOWN THE ROAD. SPENT ALMOST 1000 DOLLARS ON RECALL IN LAST COUPLE MONTHS AND NOW THEY TELLING US THE RECALL WAS JUST A RECALIBRATION AND BUT MIGHT NEED A NEW THROTTLE BODY?? WHAT WAS THE RECALL FOR. FRUSTRATED WITH FORD.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2014 - WILLISTON, ND
DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AT 85 MILES PER HOUR. VEHICLE STALLS AND RPMS OR MPH WON'T MOVE. PULL OVER PUT IN PARK, VEHICLE SHAKES REAL BAD AND WRENCH COMES ON. TURN OFF AND RESTART, WRENCH DROPS OFF. 50 MILES DOWN THE ROAD SAME INSTANCE, EXCEPT AFTER RESTARTING WRENCH DROPS AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. BRING TO DEALERSHIP. THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEM STUCK OPEN AND THEY SAY POSSIBLE RECALL. WEEK LATER GOING 65 DOWN HIGHWAY AND SAME INSTANCE HAPPENS. TAKE IT TO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY WE HAVE THROTTLE BODY RECALL, THEY RECALIBRATE THE RECALL. NOW VEHICLE DOESN'T ALWAYS SWITCH RPMS WHEN IT'S SUPPOSED TO. IT'LL JERK BEFORE SHIFTING AND THEN WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES BACK ON. BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL AND POSSIBLE NEW THROTTLE BODY DOWN THE ROAD. SPENT ALMOST 1000 DOLLARS ON RECALL IN LAST COUPLE MONTHS AND NOW THEY TELLING US THE RECALL WAS JUST A RECALIBRATION AND BUT MIGHT NEED A NEW THROTTLE BODY?? WHAT WAS THE RECALL FOR. FRUSTRATED WITH FORD.

View Details

STEERING

9/2/2014 - ARBYRD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS REQUIRED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING).THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

9/2/2014 - ARBYRD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT THE RESULTS WERE UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2014 - EDINBORO, PA
AT 11 PM I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH AND I THOUGHT MY CAR HAD SHUT OFF BECAUSE I NOTICED I DIDN'T HAVE ANY POWER. I TURNED DOWN THE RADIO TO HEAR FOR THE ENGINE BUT HEARD NOTHING. I HAD ENOUGH SPEED TO COAST TO A SAFE LIGHTED AREA TO INVESTIGATE WHAT WAS HAPPENING, COME TO FIND OUT THAT MY CAR WAS RUNNING BUT NO THROTTLE TO MAKE IT MOVE. A WARNING SYMBOL SHOWED UP AND IT WAS A LIGHTED WRENCH BUT I HAD NO IDEA WHAT THAT WAS UNTIL I DUG OUT MY OWNERS MANUAL THE NEXT DAY. I TURNED THE KEY OFF, RESTARTED THE ESCAPE AND MOVED ON MY WAY. I TRAVELED APPROX. 2 MORE MILES AT A SLOWER SPEED AND I LOST SPEED WITH THE WRENCH LIGHT APPEARING AS WELL AS THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT TURNING ON. I WAS APPROACHING A STOP SIGN WHEN THIS OCCURRED. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT THE ADDITIONAL 1/2 MILES TO MY HOME. DOING RESEARCH I SEE THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON THAT IS HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE USED IN JUNE WITH 32,365 MILES, THIS IS THE LAST THING I EXPECTED TO HAPPEN WITH A NEWER VEHICLE. PLEASE ADVISE IF THIS IS CONSIDERED A RECALL. THANK YOU!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/28/2014 - KREBS, OK
HAD NO PROBLEMS UNTIL NOW! PARKED CAR AT MY OFFICE AND 2 HOURS LATER WANTING TO LEAVE AND DID NOT MAKE IT OUT OF THE PARKING LOT. THE GAS PEDAL WOULD NOT GET POWER; BUT ALL OTHER COMPONENTS APPEARED WORKING FINE. TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RE-STARTED; WITHIN SECONDS SAME THING HAPPEN. I WAS READY TO GO ON A 3 HOUR TRIP IN MORNING ON A BUSY INTERSTATE AND NOW I AM AFRAID TO GO SINCE I DO NOT WANT TO GET RUN OVER (HAVE TO GO THROUGH MUCH INTERSTATE CONSTRUCTION. THIS POWERTRAIN FAILURE IS NOT SAFE AND CREATES HAZARDOUS CONDITIONS ON THE ROAD FOR EVERYONE. EVEN WITH 50 MILES PER HOUR IN A CONSTRUCTION ZONE; IT IS VERY DANGEROUS LOOSING THE POWERTRAIN IN A ONE LAND-BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC WITH HEAVY TRUCKS BEHIND YOU. PICTURE YOURSELF IN THIS SITUATION. I AM CERTAINLY AFRAID TO GO ON MY BUSINESS TRIP IN THE MORNING. LIKE GUESS PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE FIRST BEFORE FORD IS TAKING SOME RECALL ACTION! MY CAR IS REGULAR MAINTAINED; THIS WAS NOT EXPECTED AT ALL! I WILL NOT BUY A FORD AGAIN!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds