Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 511 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (47) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (194) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (209)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (16)
Engine (169) Fuel Propulsion System (125) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
DRIVING DOWN ROAD AND JUST QUIT RUNNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
DRIVING DOWN ROAD AND JUST QUIT RUNNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
DRIVING DOWN ROAD AND JUST QUIT RUNNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AT 65 MPH, ALL OF A SUDDEN THE ENGINE CUTS OUT AND I HAVE NO POWER. THE WRENCH WARNING LIGHT IN THE DASH CAME ON. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TURNED THE KEY OFF AND RESTARTED THE CAR. IT DROVE FINE THE NEXT 3 MILES TO MY HOME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - GLEN ALLEN, VA
VEHICLE CONTINUED TO JUMP, THEN CONTINUED TO HAVE PROBLEMS. THROTTLE BODY WAS THE CAUSE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2014 - WILSON, NC
THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED TWO TIMES WITHIN ABOUT 30 MINUTES TIME, SO I DROVE IMMEDIATELY HOME, PARKED THE CAR, AND CALLED MY DEALER, WHO SPECULATED THAT THE TROUBLE WAS DUE TO THE "THROTTLE BODY." THE FIRST TIME, I WAS IDLING AT A RED LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN AND I TRIED TO ACCELERATE, I HAD NO ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE JUST SAT THERE, WITH NO INDICATION OF ANY POWER TO BE HAD TO THE THROTTLE. I TURNED ON MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS, PUT THE CAR IN "PARK," TURNED OFF THE IGNITION, TURNED IT BACK ON, PUT THE CAR IN "DRIVE," AND THE CAR BEGAN TO DRIVE NORMALLY. SEVERAL MINUTES LATER, AFTER PARKING THE CAR, CONDUCTING AN ERRAND, AND THEN RE-STARTING THE CAR AND BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY, THE THROTTLE DID THE SAME THING IN THE MIDDLE OF A STREET: TRIED TO ACCELERATE IN "DRIVE" AND GOT NOTHING UNTIL SHUTTING OFF THE IGNITION AND RE-STARTING. PREVIOUSLY, OVER THE COURSE OF THE PAST SIX MONTHS, I EXPERIENCED WHAT SEEMS TO BE A SIMILAR, THOUGH OPPOSITE, PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE. OCCASIONALLY WHILE DRIVING, I WOULD HEAR AND FEEL WHAT SEEMED TO ME TO BE A SMALL SURGE OF POWER WHILE ACCELERATING ON SURFACE ROADS. I ASSUMED AT THAT TIME THAT IT WAS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM AND MENTIONED IT TO THE DEALER WHEN I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND NORMAL SERVICING. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CHECKED THE TRANSMISSION AND FOUND NO PROBLEM WITH IT. I BELIEVE NOW, AFTER READING ABOUT THE THROTTLE PROBLEMS WITH THIS MODEL ON NCCONSUMER.ORG, THAT THOSE INCIDENTS WERE LIKELY DUE TO THE THROTTLE BODY MALFUNCTIONING AS WELL. I EXPERIENCED APPROXIMATELY 10-12 OF THESE POWER SURGE INCIDENTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2014 - BENNINGTON, NE
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MY 3 YEAR OLD SON IN THE BACK SEAT. AS I WAS IN TRAFFIC ALL OF A SUDDEN I FELT A LOSS OF POWER AND THE WRENCH LIGHT WENT ON. I WAS ALMOST HIT MULTIPLE TIMES, BUT LUCKILY WAS ABLE TO FORCE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I SAT THERE FOR A COUPLE MINUTES AND THEN STARTED THE CAR NORMALLY AND DROVE HOME. IT WAS A SCARY EXPERIENCE AND ONE THAT I HOPE FORD TAKES CARE OF

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2014 - TOPEKA, KS
THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO A FORD DEALERSHIP TO BE SERVICED AND AFTER THAT THE CONTROL MODULE FOR THE AIRBAGS WENT OUT. THE PART HAD TO BE ORDERED AND WHILE WE WERE ON VACATION THE STEERING BEGAN LOCKING UP AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS BEGAN SHOWING DISABLED. ALSO, THE CAR BEGAN SAYING TO RESYNC SOMETHING BECAUSE THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW WHEN IT WAS JUST FINE. AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION AND THE STEERING COLUMN TOTALLY LOCKING UP SEVERAL TIMES, THE DEALERSHIP NOW TELLS US THAT ADDITIONAL CONTROL MODULES ARE OUT. WHEN THE STEERING LOCKS IT REQUIRES STOPPING NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE AT AND TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE TO RESET AND THEN STARTING IT AGAIN. THIS PROBABLY HAPPENED A DOZEN OR MORE TIMES ON BUSY HIGHWAYS. THIS VEHICLE IS ROUGHLY THREE YEARS OLD AND THEY CAN'T EVEN SAY WHY THE MODULES ARE CONTINUING TO GO OUT AND IF FIXING THEM WILL EVEN SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO INDICATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO ROLL ON CURVY ROADS. I SPOKE WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY SAID TO BAD, THIS IS NOT ON THIER LIST OF ITEMS THAT THEY HAVE TO FIX. THEY WILL LET ENGINEERING KNOW BUT NO GUARANTEE THAT THEY WILL EVEN RESPOND TO THIS ISSUE. WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN IN THIS CASE AS THIS IS GOING TO COST ROUGHLY $2500 - $3500 TO FIX AND NOTHING TO SAY IT WON'T GO OUT AGAIN. I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE GO OUT ON ANY OTHER VEHICLE LET ALONE AFTER 3 YEARS AND FORD IS NOT HELPFUL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - TOPEKA, KS
THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO A FORD DEALERSHIP TO BE SERVICED AND AFTER THAT THE CONTROL MODULE FOR THE AIRBAGS WENT OUT. THE PART HAD TO BE ORDERED AND WHILE WE WERE ON VACATION THE STEERING BEGAN LOCKING UP AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS BEGAN SHOWING DISABLED. ALSO, THE CAR BEGAN SAYING TO RESYNC SOMETHING BECAUSE THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW WHEN IT WAS JUST FINE. AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION AND THE STEERING COLUMN TOTALLY LOCKING UP SEVERAL TIMES, THE DEALERSHIP NOW TELLS US THAT ADDITIONAL CONTROL MODULES ARE OUT. WHEN THE STEERING LOCKS IT REQUIRES STOPPING NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE AT AND TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE TO RESET AND THEN STARTING IT AGAIN. THIS PROBABLY HAPPENED A DOZEN OR MORE TIMES ON BUSY HIGHWAYS. THIS VEHICLE IS ROUGHLY THREE YEARS OLD AND THEY CAN'T EVEN SAY WHY THE MODULES ARE CONTINUING TO GO OUT AND IF FIXING THEM WILL EVEN SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO INDICATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO ROLL ON CURVY ROADS. I SPOKE WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY SAID TO BAD, THIS IS NOT ON THIER LIST OF ITEMS THAT THEY HAVE TO FIX. THEY WILL LET ENGINEERING KNOW BUT NO GUARANTEE THAT THEY WILL EVEN RESPOND TO THIS ISSUE. WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN IN THIS CASE AS THIS IS GOING TO COST ROUGHLY $2500 - $3500 TO FIX AND NOTHING TO SAY IT WON'T GO OUT AGAIN. I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE GO OUT ON ANY OTHER VEHICLE LET ALONE AFTER 3 YEARS AND FORD IS NOT HELPFUL.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2014 - TOPEKA, KS
THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO A FORD DEALERSHIP TO BE SERVICED AND AFTER THAT THE CONTROL MODULE FOR THE AIRBAGS WENT OUT. THE PART HAD TO BE ORDERED AND WHILE WE WERE ON VACATION THE STEERING BEGAN LOCKING UP AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS BEGAN SHOWING DISABLED. ALSO, THE CAR BEGAN SAYING TO RESYNC SOMETHING BECAUSE THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW WHEN IT WAS JUST FINE. AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION AND THE STEERING COLUMN TOTALLY LOCKING UP SEVERAL TIMES, THE DEALERSHIP NOW TELLS US THAT ADDITIONAL CONTROL MODULES ARE OUT. WHEN THE STEERING LOCKS IT REQUIRES STOPPING NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE AT AND TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE TO RESET AND THEN STARTING IT AGAIN. THIS PROBABLY HAPPENED A DOZEN OR MORE TIMES ON BUSY HIGHWAYS. THIS VEHICLE IS ROUGHLY THREE YEARS OLD AND THEY CAN'T EVEN SAY WHY THE MODULES ARE CONTINUING TO GO OUT AND IF FIXING THEM WILL EVEN SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO INDICATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL ISSUE COULD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO ROLL ON CURVY ROADS. I SPOKE WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY SAID TO BAD, THIS IS NOT ON THIER LIST OF ITEMS THAT THEY HAVE TO FIX. THEY WILL LET ENGINEERING KNOW BUT NO GUARANTEE THAT THEY WILL EVEN RESPOND TO THIS ISSUE. WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN IN THIS CASE AS THIS IS GOING TO COST ROUGHLY $2500 - $3500 TO FIX AND NOTHING TO SAY IT WON'T GO OUT AGAIN. I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE GO OUT ON ANY OTHER VEHICLE LET ALONE AFTER 3 YEARS AND FORD IS NOT HELPFUL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds