Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 579 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (56) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (213) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (220)
Engine (188) Fuel Propulsion System (131) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/27/2015 - OLATHE, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT 20 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED BUT FAILED TO INFLATE AND THE SIDE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE PASSENGER SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/22/2015 - AMELIA, OH
AN O2/EXHAUST SENSOR & FUEL INDUCTION KIT HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS SUV HAS ONLY 13700 MILES ON IT. THE DEALER SAID THAT THE PARTS WERE FAULTY. MY BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY WENT OUT LAST JULY 2014, SO IT WASN'T COVERED. I FEEL THAT FORD NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE IF OTHER VEHICLES HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM. I SHOULD ALSO BE REIMBURSED FOR MY COST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2015 - AMELIA, OH
AN O2/EXHAUST SENSOR & FUEL INDUCTION KIT HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS SUV HAS ONLY 13700 MILES ON IT. THE DEALER SAID THAT THE PARTS WERE FAULTY. MY BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY WENT OUT LAST JULY 2014, SO IT WASN'T COVERED. I FEEL THAT FORD NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE IF OTHER VEHICLES HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM. I SHOULD ALSO BE REIMBURSED FOR MY COST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2015 - COLUMBIA, MD
DRIVING TO WORK MY ESCAPE LOST POWER AND SPUTTERED TO A STOP. THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. I SHUT OFF THE RADIO, FAN AND VEHICLE. THE TURNED THE VEHICLE BACK ON AND IT RESUMED RUNNING. I SEE THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE. HOPEFULLY, THIS WILL BE MY LAST OR THAT A RECALL WILL COME FORWARD AS THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH FORDS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2015 - ROCHESTER HILLS, MI
I NOTICED A LIGHT GAS SMELL IN MY GARAGE ONE DAY AND FIGURED PERHAPS BECAUSE MY CAR DOES NOT HAVE A GAS LID THAT IS WHY I WAS SMELLING IT. THE NEXT DAY, MY DAUGHTER USED MY CAR TO PICK UP A GAS GRILL FOR A CHRISTMAS GIFT WHICH SHE LEFT IN MY CAR OVERNIGHT. THE FOLLOWING MORNING THE GAS SMELL WAS REALLY STRONG SO I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER WHERE I HAD PURCHASED IT, HUNTINGTON FORD. WHEN THE SERVICE MAN CAME NEAR IT HE SAID TO STEP AWAY FROM THIS CAR AS IT WAS DANGEROUS TO BE NEAR IT AND THAT I HAD TO LEAVE IT. AFTER A DAY OR SO, THEY TOLD ME THAT SOME KIND OF "PEBBLE" MUST HAVE RUBBED A HOLE IN MY FUEL LINE AND THAT IS WOULD BE $634.62 FOR PARTS AND REPAIR. I'M A SENIOR CITIZEN ON A FIXED INCOME AND I AM VERY UPSET ABOUT THIS. HOW CAN SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN AND PUT PEOPLES LIVES IN DANGER? MY DAUGHTER COULD HAVE BEEN IN DANGER WHEN THEY PUT THE HEAVY OBJECT IN IT IF SOMEONE HAD BEEN SMOKING NEARBY. I HAVE SPOKEN TO HUNTINGTON FORD, FORD MOTOR AND WRITTEN 2 SEPARATE LETTERS TO FORD MOTOR AND NO ONE IS WILLING TO HELP ME GET A REFUND FOR PARTS OR LABOR ON THIS. IN MY MIND THEY SHOULD BE WILLING TO WORK WITH ME SINCE I WAS THE ONE WHO WAS PUT INTO HARMS WAY. I DON'T LIVE ON A DIRT ROAD, IN FACT I DON'T KNOW WHEN I EVEN DROVE ON ONE LAST. HOW COULD A "PEBBLE" DO SOMETHING LIKE THIS AND IF SO, HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE ARE IN DANGER THAT MAY LIVE ON A DIRT ROAD AND NOT BE AS FORTUNATE AS I AM THAT NO ONE WAS INJURED. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT I THOUGHT WAS IMPORTANT TO MAKE THE NHTSA AWARE OF. I HAVE ALL OF THE DOCUMENTATION AVAILABLE TO PROVIDE TO YOU INCLUDING MY REPAIR RECEIPT FROM HUNTINGTON FORD AND THE LETTERS THAT I SENT TO FORD MOTOR. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP AND FOR LISTENING. I FEEL THAT I HAVE BEEN TREATED UNFAIRLY AS A CONSUMER AND I AM REGRETTING MY DECISION FOR PURCHASING A VEHICLE FROM FORD MOTOR BECAUSE OF THIS MATTER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/17/2015 - MCLEANSBORO, IL
FROM THE TIME WE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE, THE HORN WOULD SOUND WHEN WE HIT A BUMP. THEN IT BEGAN TO FAIL AND NOT SOUND AT ALL. I HAD THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALERSHIP LOOK AT IT. THEY SAID IT WOULD COST $500 TO REPAIR AND THERE HAD BEEN NO RECALL. WHEN WE PICKED UP OUR VEHICLE FROM THE DEALER, THE HORN WOULD NOT SOUND AT ALL. IT HAS NOT SOUNDED SINCE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
I WAS ACCELERATING TO MERGE ONTO I-495 IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA, ATTAINING A SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH. WHEN I REMOVED MY FOOT FROM THE GAS PEDAL (BECAUSE I HAD REACHED MY DESIRED SPEED), THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UNCONTROLLABLY. I APPLIED FULL PRESSURE TO THE BREAK WITH BOTH FEET, BUT THE CAR CONTINUED TO SURGE FORWARD. I ATTAINED A SPEED OF ALMOST 100 MPH, EVEN WITH BOTH FEET FULLY DECOMPRESSING THE BREAK. BOTH SHOULDERS OF THE INTERSTATE HAD CONSTRUCTION, SO THERE WAS NO SHOULDER TO UTILIZE ON EITHER SIDE. AFTER WEAVING IN AND OUT OF TRAFFIC, I FINALLY FOUND A SUITABLE OFF RAMP. AFTER PULLING THE EMERGENCY BREAK, PUTTING THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, AND EVENTUALLY PARK, THE CAR CAME TO A VERY ABRUPT STOP (JUST BEFORE I REACHED A BUSY INTERSECTION AT THE END OF THE OFF RAMP). THE BREAKS CONTINUED TO SMOKE FOR ANOTHER 45 MINUTES AFTER COMING TO A STOP AND CUTTING THE ENGINE. I DO NOT KNOW HOW I'M ALIVE, BUT I AM GRATEFUL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/10/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
I WAS ACCELERATING TO MERGE ONTO I-495 IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA, ATTAINING A SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH. WHEN I REMOVED MY FOOT FROM THE GAS PEDAL (BECAUSE I HAD REACHED MY DESIRED SPEED), THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UNCONTROLLABLY. I APPLIED FULL PRESSURE TO THE BREAK WITH BOTH FEET, BUT THE CAR CONTINUED TO SURGE FORWARD. I ATTAINED A SPEED OF ALMOST 100 MPH, EVEN WITH BOTH FEET FULLY DECOMPRESSING THE BREAK. BOTH SHOULDERS OF THE INTERSTATE HAD CONSTRUCTION, SO THERE WAS NO SHOULDER TO UTILIZE ON EITHER SIDE. AFTER WEAVING IN AND OUT OF TRAFFIC, I FINALLY FOUND A SUITABLE OFF RAMP. AFTER PULLING THE EMERGENCY BREAK, PUTTING THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, AND EVENTUALLY PARK, THE CAR CAME TO A VERY ABRUPT STOP (JUST BEFORE I REACHED A BUSY INTERSECTION AT THE END OF THE OFF RAMP). THE BREAKS CONTINUED TO SMOKE FOR ANOTHER 45 MINUTES AFTER COMING TO A STOP AND CUTTING THE ENGINE. I DO NOT KNOW HOW I'M ALIVE, BUT I AM GRATEFUL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2015 - FAIRVIEW, PA
WHILE SLOWING TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN A TURNING LANE BEHIND TWO OTHER VEHICLES, THE SUBJECT VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION SLIPPED FROM GEAR AND DISENGAGED THE ENGINE. WHEN THE VEHICLES TRANSMISSION REENGAGED THE ENGINES REMAINING TORQUE NOT YET DISPLACED, THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD CAUSING A LOSE OF CONTROL AND THE BRAKES TO LOCK UP FROM ATTEMPTING THE BRAKING ACTION ALREADY TAKING PLACE. THE SUBJECT VEHICLE HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN IN THE DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPT. TO HAVE ITS TRANSMISSION THAT PREVIOUSLY AND COMPLETELY BURNT ITS CLUTCHES OUT AT ONLY 14,775 MILES DRIVEN. THE SYMPTOMS OF THE TRANSMISSION BURNING THE CLUTCHES OUT WAS PRESENTING ITSELF IN AN INCREASING MANNER FROM AROUND 5,000 MILES. THE NEWLY REBUILT TRANSMISSION FAILED AT ONLY 21,150 MILES AT THE TIME OF THE TOTAL LOSS INCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2015 - FAIRVIEW, PA
WHILE ENTERING A MAIN ARTERY OF TRAFFIC FROM A SIDE ROAD, DURING THE ACCELERATION BETWEEN 35-45MPH, THE TRANSMISSION DISENGAGED FROM THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE, NOT BEING SUBJECT TO TRANSFERRING ENERGY TO THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO GAIN RPM EXCEEDINGLY FASTER ON ITS OWN WITH THE OPERATORS FOOT STILL ONLY APPLYING THE EQUAL FORCE APPLICABLE TO NORMALLY EXECUTE THE ENTERANCE ON TO THE MAIN ROAD. THE TRANSMISSION REGAINED TRACTION WITH THE ENGINE AND THE VEHICLE SUFFERED A VIOLENT LUNGE FORWARD THAN DISENGAGED ONCE MORE AND REPEATED THE SAME AGAIN WITH THE DISENGAGE AND LUNGE FORWARD. THE OPERATOR WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AROUND THE BLOCK AT NO MORE THAN 10MPH AROUND THE BLOCK TO GARAGE THE VEHICLE AND CALL FORD TO REPORT THE INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds