Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2011 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 505 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (46) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (193) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (209)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (16)
Engine (168) Fuel Propulsion System (122) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

7/9/2014 - OAK PARK, IL
SEAT BELT BUCKLE RELEASES MULTIPLE TIMES AFTER CLICKING IN WHILE DRIVING. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2014 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
THE FORD ESCAPE HAS BEEN RANDOMLY STALLING AT TIMES WHILE DRIVING. I AM FORCED TO EITHER PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD OR QUICKLY TURN OFF MY CAR AND TURN IT BACK ON AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/8/2014 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
THE FORD ESCAPE HAS BEEN RANDOMLY STALLING AT TIMES WHILE DRIVING. I AM FORCED TO EITHER PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD OR QUICKLY TURN OFF MY CAR AND TURN IT BACK ON AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/3/2014 - SKANDIA, MI
DRIVING 50 MILES PER HOUR, WHEN A WRENCH LIT UP ON DASH AND INSTANTANEOUSLY THE VEHICLE LOST POWER TO THE THROTTLE. PULLED OVER QUICKLY, TURNED OFF VEHICLE, THEN RESTARTED AND WENT ON ABOUT MY WAY. VERY SCARY AND SO SCARED IT COULD HAPPEN IN A BUSY TRAFFIC SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2014 - DUCK RIVER, TN
SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THE ESCAPE THE ENGINE SEEMED TO QUIT WHEN MAKING A TURN. TURNING OFF THE KEY AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE WORKED. NOTHING FOR MONTHS AND THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN. MY WIFE THOUGHT THE ENGINE WAS QUITTING SO I ASKED THE DEALER IF THEY WERE AWARE OF SIMILAR ISSUES. ALL SERVICING WAS PERFORMED AT FORD UNTIL THE WARRANTY WAS OUT. NEVER A MENTION OF ANY PROBLEMS FROM THE DEALER.THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO HAVE INTERMITTENT ISSUES AND ONE DAY IT HAPPENED WHEN I WAS DRIVING. I DETERMINED THE ENGINE WAS NOT QUITTING BUT WOULD DROP TO ABOUT 1000 RPM WITH NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. IF YOU KEPT THE TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE THE VEHICLE WOULD DECELERATE QUICKLY AND SOMETIMES WOULD NOT ALLOW MOVING TO A SAFE LOCATION. RESTARTING THE ENGINE TWICE ALWAYS RESETS THE PROBLEM AND IT RANDOMLY HAPPENS AT A LATER DATE. IT IS VERY INTERMITTENT AND ALWAYS HAPPENS WITHOUT WARNING. IT'S GETTING WORSE WITH AGE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/1/2014 - DUCK RIVER, TN
SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THE ESCAPE THE ENGINE SEEMED TO QUIT WHEN MAKING A TURN. TURNING OFF THE KEY AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE WORKED. NOTHING FOR MONTHS AND THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN. MY WIFE THOUGHT THE ENGINE WAS QUITTING SO I ASKED THE DEALER IF THEY WERE AWARE OF SIMILAR ISSUES. ALL SERVICING WAS PERFORMED AT FORD UNTIL THE WARRANTY WAS OUT. NEVER A MENTION OF ANY PROBLEMS FROM THE DEALER.THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO HAVE INTERMITTENT ISSUES AND ONE DAY IT HAPPENED WHEN I WAS DRIVING. I DETERMINED THE ENGINE WAS NOT QUITTING BUT WOULD DROP TO ABOUT 1000 RPM WITH NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. IF YOU KEPT THE TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE THE VEHICLE WOULD DECELERATE QUICKLY AND SOMETIMES WOULD NOT ALLOW MOVING TO A SAFE LOCATION. RESTARTING THE ENGINE TWICE ALWAYS RESETS THE PROBLEM AND IT RANDOMLY HAPPENS AT A LATER DATE. IT IS VERY INTERMITTENT AND ALWAYS HAPPENS WITHOUT WARNING. IT'S GETTING WORSE WITH AGE.

View Details

STEERING

6/28/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
I WAS TRAVELING NORTHWEST ON I 26 WHEN I HEARD A POP AND LOST SPEED AND CONTROL. I EASED OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND TRIED TO STOP. AT THIS TIME, THE CAR STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. EVENTUALLY THE CAR STOPPED AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD TO BE TOWED TO NEWBERRY AND LEFT THE CAR AT A GARAGE AND RENTED A CAR TO CONTINUE MY TRIP TO PICK MY GRANDDAUGHTER AND RETURN TO CHARLESTON. I HAD TO PAY 85.00 TO THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER, 385.00 FOR THE CAR RENTAL AND 486.36 TO THE GARAGE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACEMENT. NOW I FIND OUT THIS HAS HAD A RECALL. IF I HAD BEEN NOTIFIED, I WOULD NOT BE OUT NEARLY $1000.00, NOT TO MENTION THE SAFETY ASPECT OF THIS WHOLE INCIDENT. I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/28/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
I WAS TRAVELING NORTHWEST ON I 26 WHEN I HEARD A POP AND LOST SPEED AND CONTROL. I EASED OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND TRIED TO STOP. AT THIS TIME, THE CAR STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. EVENTUALLY THE CAR STOPPED AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD TO BE TOWED TO NEWBERRY AND LEFT THE CAR AT A GARAGE AND RENTED A CAR TO CONTINUE MY TRIP TO PICK MY GRANDDAUGHTER AND RETURN TO CHARLESTON. I HAD TO PAY 85.00 TO THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER, 385.00 FOR THE CAR RENTAL AND 486.36 TO THE GARAGE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACEMENT. NOW I FIND OUT THIS HAS HAD A RECALL. IF I HAD BEEN NOTIFIED, I WOULD NOT BE OUT NEARLY $1000.00, NOT TO MENTION THE SAFETY ASPECT OF THIS WHOLE INCIDENT. I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
I WAS TRAVELING NORTHWEST ON I 26 WHEN I HEARD A POP AND LOST SPEED AND CONTROL. I EASED OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND TRIED TO STOP. AT THIS TIME, THE CAR STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. EVENTUALLY THE CAR STOPPED AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD TO BE TOWED TO NEWBERRY AND LEFT THE CAR AT A GARAGE AND RENTED A CAR TO CONTINUE MY TRIP TO PICK MY GRANDDAUGHTER AND RETURN TO CHARLESTON. I HAD TO PAY 85.00 TO THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER, 385.00 FOR THE CAR RENTAL AND 486.36 TO THE GARAGE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACEMENT. NOW I FIND OUT THIS HAS HAD A RECALL. IF I HAD BEEN NOTIFIED, I WOULD NOT BE OUT NEARLY $1000.00, NOT TO MENTION THE SAFETY ASPECT OF THIS WHOLE INCIDENT. I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/26/2014 - PEARLAND, TX
VEHICLE BUCKED VIOLENTLY AND STALLED. CALLED FORD TO HAVE IT TOWED. BEFORE TOW TRUCK ARRIVED, VEHICLE RESTARTED AND DROVE 2 MILES TO NEAREST FORD DEALER. THROTTLE BODY WAS FOUND TO BE FAULTY AND REPLACED. I HAD MADE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT POOR SHIFTING, BUCKING, BAD MILEAGE, ETC. AND DEALERSHIP ALWAYS TOLD ME IT WAS NOT BROKEN IN YET, AND NOTHING COULD BE DONE UNLESS IT "THREW A CODE". WELL IT THREW ONE THIS TIME. SINCE THE REPLACEMENT, SOFTWARE UPDATES HAVE BEEN MADE, A WARRANTY EXTENSION ISSUED, AND THE PROBLEMS WITH ROUGH SHIFTING, BAD MILEAGE AND AN OCCASIONAL FEELING LIKE I HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED (WHEN NO ONE IS AROUND) HAVE CONTINUED. I HAVE JUST GOTTEN A CASE NUMBER FROM FORD. WE'LL SEE WHERE THIS GOES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds