Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 197 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (116) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2014 - COLUMBIA, SC
MY CAR HAS MALFUNCTIONED AND BEEN "REPAIRED" THREE TIMES. EACH TIME THE CAR MALFUNCTIONED, THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOW. THE GEAR INDICATOR LIGHT SWITCHED FROM D TO P AND BACK AGAIN, OVER AND OVER. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING AND LATER TURNED SOLIDLY ON. SINCE IT WAS JUST COASTING, I HAD TO PULL OVER THE CAR AND IN EACH CASE I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE IN AN AREA WITH A DECENT BREAKDOWN LANE. AT ONE POINT WHEN THE MECHANICS WERE PULLING THE VEHICLE INTO A BAY, IT STARTED DOING THIS AND THE REVERSE LIGHTS ALSO STARTED BLINKING. IN ADDITION, IT JERKED BACK INTO DRIVE, JUMPING FORWARD. THANKFULLY NO ONE WAS CLOSE TO IT. SO FAR THE REPAIRS HAVE INCLUDED AN IGNITION COIL PACK, SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES, REPLACING TWO BOLTS AND REPROGRAMMING, AND REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE FOR A GRAND TOTAL OF OVER $2,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - COLUMBIA, SC
MY CAR HAS MALFUNCTIONED AND BEEN "REPAIRED" THREE TIMES. EACH TIME THE CAR MALFUNCTIONED, THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOW. THE GEAR INDICATOR LIGHT SWITCHED FROM D TO P AND BACK AGAIN, OVER AND OVER. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING AND LATER TURNED SOLIDLY ON. SINCE IT WAS JUST COASTING, I HAD TO PULL OVER THE CAR AND IN EACH CASE I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE IN AN AREA WITH A DECENT BREAKDOWN LANE. AT ONE POINT WHEN THE MECHANICS WERE PULLING THE VEHICLE INTO A BAY, IT STARTED DOING THIS AND THE REVERSE LIGHTS ALSO STARTED BLINKING. IN ADDITION, IT JERKED BACK INTO DRIVE, JUMPING FORWARD. THANKFULLY NO ONE WAS CLOSE TO IT. SO FAR THE REPAIRS HAVE INCLUDED AN IGNITION COIL PACK, SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES, REPLACING TWO BOLTS AND REPROGRAMMING, AND REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE FOR A GRAND TOTAL OF OVER $2,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/29/2014 - COLUMBIA, SC
MY CAR HAS MALFUNCTIONED AND BEEN "REPAIRED" THREE TIMES. EACH TIME THE CAR MALFUNCTIONED, THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOW. THE GEAR INDICATOR LIGHT SWITCHED FROM D TO P AND BACK AGAIN, OVER AND OVER. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING AND LATER TURNED SOLIDLY ON. SINCE IT WAS JUST COASTING, I HAD TO PULL OVER THE CAR AND IN EACH CASE I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE IN AN AREA WITH A DECENT BREAKDOWN LANE. AT ONE POINT WHEN THE MECHANICS WERE PULLING THE VEHICLE INTO A BAY, IT STARTED DOING THIS AND THE REVERSE LIGHTS ALSO STARTED BLINKING. IN ADDITION, IT JERKED BACK INTO DRIVE, JUMPING FORWARD. THANKFULLY NO ONE WAS CLOSE TO IT. SO FAR THE REPAIRS HAVE INCLUDED AN IGNITION COIL PACK, SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES, REPLACING TWO BOLTS AND REPROGRAMMING, AND REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE FOR A GRAND TOTAL OF OVER $2,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2014 - IRVING, TX
THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT TROUBLE SINCE I BOUGHT IT. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR TRANSMISSION ISSUES FOR THE LAST TWO WEEKS. NOT TO MENTION IT WAS IN THE SHOP FOR TWO MONTHS AFTER ONLY HAVING IT FOR TEN DAYS. FORD HAD THE CLUTCH ON BACK ORDER AND IT TOOK ABOUT TWO MONTHS FOR THE PART TO COME IN. IT JERKS VICIOUSLY AND I HAVE TO FLOOR THE GAS TO GET UP A HILL. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN THE CAR STICKS IN GEAR AND WON'T SHIFT AND WHEN IT FINALLY DOES IT JERKS FORWARD AND I'M AFRAID I'M GOING TO REAR END SOMEONE. THE FORD TECHNICIAN IS TELLING ME HE CAN'T EXACTLY POINT OUT WHAT THE ISSUE IS AND IS HAVING TO GET ASSISTANCE FROM OUTSIDE FIRST TECHS AND CORPORATE. IT'S A SAFETY ISSUE AND FORD NEEDS TO RECALL THIS CAR INSTEAD OF JUST EXTENDING THE WARRANTY ON THE DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2014 - KERRVILLE, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE WAS PROGRESSING AND RECURRING INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL CONTROL MODULE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. DYD

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/26/2014 - KERRVILLE, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE WAS PROGRESSING AND RECURRING INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL CONTROL MODULE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. DYD

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/24/2014 - KINGSLAND, GA
AFTER LEAVING THE GROCERY STORE WITH MY 5-YEAR OLD DAUGHTER, I SECURED MY CHILD IN HER SEAT AND BUCKLED HER THEN CLOSED THE DOOR. AS WE WERE DRIVING THROUGH THE PARKING LOT I MADE A TURN AND HER DOOR FLEW OPEN AND HER TOY AND DRINK FELL OUT OF THE CAR. I STOPPED THE CAR TO INVESTIGATE AND THE DOOR WOULD NO LONGER LATCH AND COULD NOT BE SECURED CLOSED. THANK GOODNESS FOR SEAT-BELTS AND THAT NO PEDESTRIANS WERE NEARBY TO BE HIT BY THE FLYING DOOR OR WHO KNOWS WHAT COULD BE DONE. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER FORD DRIVERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AND AM STUNNED THAT THERE IS NOT A RECALL. THE CAR IS ABSOLUTELY UN-DRIVABLE AND UNSAFE DUE TO A FAULTY PART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/21/2014 - IOWA, LA
PASSENGER SIDE REAR DOOR LATCH AND LOCK ASSY FAILS TO KEEP DOOR CLOSED. ONE MORNING I WAS LOADING THE CAR AND PUTTING STUFF IN THE BACK SEAT. WHEN I CLOSED THE DOOR IT FAILED TO STAY SHUT AND SECURE AND THE DOOR LOCK WOULD NOT WORK. I USE BUNGEE CORDS TO KEEP THE DOOR CLOSED. I TALKED TO MY LOCAL FORD DEALER ABOUT ANY. RECALLS OR SERVICE BULLETINS RELATING TO THE DOOR CATCH/ LOCK FAILURE. THEY SAID NOTHING EXIST YET ON MY CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2014 - SACHSE, TX
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING DOWN A MAJOR INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH AND WHEN SHE SLOWED DOWN FOR SLOWER TRAFFIC AND THE CAR STOPPED. THE MOTOR SHUTOFF AND COASTED TO A STOP (SHE SAID IT JOLTED TO A STOP IN ABOUT 20 FEET). THE TRAFFIC WAS VERY HEAVY SO SHE TRIED TO GET TO THE SHOULDER BUT COULDN'T MAKE IT, SHE TURNED ON HER HAZARDS AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED TO RESTART (DIDN'T RESTART) THEN PUT IT INTO PARK TO RESTART (DIDN'T RESTART) SO THEN TRIED TO TAKE IT OUT OF PARK TO MOVE THE CAR (PUSHING TO THE SHOULDER) BUT BECAUSE OF THE WAY THE SYSTEM IS DESIGNED THE CAR WOULDN'T COME OUT OF PARK. SHE EVEN TRIED TO RELEASE THE TRANSMISSION MANUALLY BUT BECAUSE THERE WAS NO POWER TO THE SOLENOIDS, IT WOULD NOT RELEASE AND SO LEFT THE CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY AND CALLED THE POLICE AND TOW TRUCK. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR IN MULTIPLE TIMES FOR A FLASH UPGRADE BUT STILL DOES THE STUMBLING AND HESITATION. THIS CAR HAS ALSO HAD THE WATER PUMP REPLACED AS WELL AS MINOR FIT AND FINISH ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - SACHSE, TX
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING DOWN A MAJOR INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH AND WHEN SHE SLOWED DOWN FOR SLOWER TRAFFIC AND THE CAR STOPPED. THE MOTOR SHUTOFF AND COASTED TO A STOP (SHE SAID IT JOLTED TO A STOP IN ABOUT 20 FEET). THE TRAFFIC WAS VERY HEAVY SO SHE TRIED TO GET TO THE SHOULDER BUT COULDN'T MAKE IT, SHE TURNED ON HER HAZARDS AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND TRIED TO RESTART (DIDN'T RESTART) THEN PUT IT INTO PARK TO RESTART (DIDN'T RESTART) SO THEN TRIED TO TAKE IT OUT OF PARK TO MOVE THE CAR (PUSHING TO THE SHOULDER) BUT BECAUSE OF THE WAY THE SYSTEM IS DESIGNED THE CAR WOULDN'T COME OUT OF PARK. SHE EVEN TRIED TO RELEASE THE TRANSMISSION MANUALLY BUT BECAUSE THERE WAS NO POWER TO THE SOLENOIDS, IT WOULD NOT RELEASE AND SO LEFT THE CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY AND CALLED THE POLICE AND TOW TRUCK. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR IN MULTIPLE TIMES FOR A FLASH UPGRADE BUT STILL DOES THE STUMBLING AND HESITATION. THIS CAR HAS ALSO HAD THE WATER PUMP REPLACED AS WELL AS MINOR FIT AND FINISH ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds