Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 149 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (16) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Power Train (89) Steering (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2014 - MICKLETON, NJ
DRIVING TO WORK STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT, I SAW THE ENGINE LIGHT COME ON AND THE TRANSMISSION SELECTOR DISPLAY FLICKERING THROUGH THE GEARS. ON GREEN I TRIED TO GO BUT, EVEN THOUGH THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE, IT DID NOT GO BUT THE ENGINE REVVED. I WAITED FOR THE NEXT RED, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND ON, PUT IT IN DRIVE AND IT WENT. IT WAS PARKED ALL DAY. WHEN I STARTED IT UP AGAIN, THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF, THINKING IT MIGHT HAVE ONLY BEEN A GLITCH. I DROVE HOME ONTO I-295 AT 65MPH SPEED AND ALL OF SUDDEN IT STARTED AGAIN, ENGINE LIGHT ON, TRANSMISSION SELECTOR GOING THROUGH ALL GEARS, AND I LOST POWER TO THE WHEEL. LUCKILY I COASTED TO AN OFF RAMP, BEFORE I WAS FLATTENED BY SEMI TRACTORS. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND ON, THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF, AND THE CAR DROVE AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED 2 MORE TIMES BEFORE I FINALLY GOT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. NOW I AM JUST WAITING TO HEAR FROM THEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/10/2014 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I HAD JUST STARTED ACCELERATING AFTER STOPPING AT A STREET LIGHT. MY CAR BEGAN SHIFTING BACK AND FORTH AS I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR. I NOTICED MY ENGINE WAS RUNNING BUT MY CAR WASN'T MOVING. IT SEEMED AS THOUGH THE POWER WAS THERE BUT IT WASN'T GOING TO THE WHEELS. MY CAR WAS STRUGGLING TO DO WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. MY CAR JUMPED AND SHIFTED BACK AND FORTH TRYING TO MOVE. FINALLY IT CAUGHT UP WITH THE PROBLEM AND MOVED A LITTLE. I WAS ABLE TO LET IT ROLL DOWNHILL FAR ENOUGH FOR ME TO GET OUT OF THE ROAD INTO SAFETY. LATER WHEN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I TURNED ON MY ENGINE AND IT WORKED. I PUT MY CAR INTO REVERSE AND MOVED IT BACK. WHEN I PUT MY CAR INTO DRIVE THE GEAR LEVER MOVED BUT THE GEAR DID NOT SHIFT INTO DRIVE. I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR BUT MY CAR DIDN'T MOVE AT ALL. I DID HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING UP BUT THE CAR DIDN'T MOVE. I PUT MY CAR IN NEUTRAL AND WAS ABLE TO ROLL IT FORWARDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/10/2014 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I HAD JUST STARTED ACCELERATING AFTER STOPPING AT A STREET LIGHT. MY CAR BEGAN SHIFTING BACK AND FORTH AS I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR. I NOTICED MY ENGINE WAS RUNNING BUT MY CAR WASN'T MOVING. IT SEEMED AS THOUGH THE POWER WAS THERE BUT IT WASN'T GOING TO THE WHEELS. MY CAR WAS STRUGGLING TO DO WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. MY CAR JUMPED AND SHIFTED BACK AND FORTH TRYING TO MOVE. FINALLY IT CAUGHT UP WITH THE PROBLEM AND MOVED A LITTLE. I WAS ABLE TO LET IT ROLL DOWNHILL FAR ENOUGH FOR ME TO GET OUT OF THE ROAD INTO SAFETY. LATER WHEN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I TURNED ON MY ENGINE AND IT WORKED. I PUT MY CAR INTO REVERSE AND MOVED IT BACK. WHEN I PUT MY CAR INTO DRIVE THE GEAR LEVER MOVED BUT THE GEAR DID NOT SHIFT INTO DRIVE. I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR BUT MY CAR DIDN'T MOVE AT ALL. I DID HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING UP BUT THE CAR DIDN'T MOVE. I PUT MY CAR IN NEUTRAL AND WAS ABLE TO ROLL IT FORWARDS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2014 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I HAD JUST STARTED ACCELERATING AFTER STOPPING AT A STREET LIGHT. MY CAR BEGAN SHIFTING BACK AND FORTH AS I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR. I NOTICED MY ENGINE WAS RUNNING BUT MY CAR WASN'T MOVING. IT SEEMED AS THOUGH THE POWER WAS THERE BUT IT WASN'T GOING TO THE WHEELS. MY CAR WAS STRUGGLING TO DO WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. MY CAR JUMPED AND SHIFTED BACK AND FORTH TRYING TO MOVE. FINALLY IT CAUGHT UP WITH THE PROBLEM AND MOVED A LITTLE. I WAS ABLE TO LET IT ROLL DOWNHILL FAR ENOUGH FOR ME TO GET OUT OF THE ROAD INTO SAFETY. LATER WHEN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I TURNED ON MY ENGINE AND IT WORKED. I PUT MY CAR INTO REVERSE AND MOVED IT BACK. WHEN I PUT MY CAR INTO DRIVE THE GEAR LEVER MOVED BUT THE GEAR DID NOT SHIFT INTO DRIVE. I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR BUT MY CAR DIDN'T MOVE AT ALL. I DID HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING UP BUT THE CAR DIDN'T MOVE. I PUT MY CAR IN NEUTRAL AND WAS ABLE TO ROLL IT FORWARDS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2014 - ELMENDORF, TX
I DRIVE A 2011 FORD FIESTA AND THE TRANSMISSION KEPT HESITATING WHEN I WAS CHANGING GEARS. I SAW A WHOLE LOT OF WEB SEARCHES FROM GOOGLE OF OTHER OWNER HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THESE MODELS GOTTA BE ON RECALL IF THE TRANSMISSIONS ARE ALWAYS GOING TO BREAK. BUT THEY'RE NOT UNDER THE LIST FOR A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - BLACKSTONE, MA
HI, I OWN A 2011 FORD FIESTA THAT GETS STUCK IN 4 INCHES OF SNOW AT BUSY INTERSECTIONS CAUSING A CRASH HAZARD. THE EARLY 2011 FORD FIESTAS WERE MADE WITH TRACTION CONTROL THAT YOU CAN NEVER SHUT OFF. YOU CAN'T GET POWER TO THE WHEELS AND YOU BLOCK THE INTERSECTION UNTIL MULTIPLE PEOPLE EXIT THEIR VEHICLES AND PUSH YOU OUT OF THE INTERSECTION. IT IS A DEFINITE SAFETY HAZARD. I CALLED FORD AND THEY TOLD ME TO CALL THE FORD DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR. THE FORD DEALER TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING AVAILABLE TO HELP. I HAVE A CAR WITH ONLY 25,000 MILES ON IT THAT IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE IN THE WINTER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2014 - LAKESIDE, OH
IN JANUARY 2014 I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE PAST 55 MPH. THE SEEMED THE CAR WOULD GO INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE WOULD REV BUT WOULDN'T SHIFT INTO GEAR. I WOULD HAVE TO COAST TO THE SIGN OF THE ROAD, PUT IT INTO PARK, AND THEN START AGAIN. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED A MODULE AND RESET THE COMPUTER, BUT IT HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT 5 MILES FROM THE DEALERSHIP. THE COMPUTER WAS RESET AGAIN. THE SAME THING HAPPENED 2 WEEKS LATER, BUT THIS TIME I COULDN'T GET IT INTO GEAR. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. APPROX. 2 WEEKS LATER THE VEHICLE SOUNDED LIKE AN AIR HORN WAS GOING OFF WHEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE. THE DEALERSHIP PULLED THE TRANSMISSION AND SAID A MAJOR PART OF THE TRANSMISSION HAD BROKEN AND IT WAS MORE COST EFFECTIVE TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. THAT WAS 3 WEEKS AGO. THE DEALERSHIP IS WAITING FOR THE NEW TRANSMISSION FROM FORD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2014 - LIBERTY TOWNSHIP, OH
WHILE DRIVING AT NORMAL SPEEDS RANGING FROM <25 MPH TO HIGHWAY SPEED (65 MPH), GRINDING AND RATTLING SOUNDS MAY BE HEARD FROM THE 2011 FORD FIESTA DUAL CLUTCH AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. THIS BEHAVIOR HAS CONTINUED WITH NO SOLUTION SINCE THE MIDDLE OF 2013. ACCOMPANYING THESE NOISES IS LIGHT VIBRATION WHILE DRIVING AND INSTANCES OF TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE UNDER ACCELERATION LEADING TO DELAYED ACCELERATION IN INSTANCES WHERE POWER IS NEEDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/9/2014 - VINCENNES, IN
FROM A STOP POSITION AT STOP SIGN, STOP LIGHT, ETC. WHEN PRESSING ON THE GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE THE CAR SHUDDERS HARD AND SHAKES THEN IT CATCHES AND SPEEDS UP. I BOUGHT IT USED WITH 24000 MILES ON IT. REALLY UPSETTING WHEN TRYING TO CROSS CROSS TRAFFIC AND IT STARTS TO STALL AND SHUDDER.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
WHILE COMING TO A STOP LIGHT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING. HAD NO RESPONSE FROM ACCELERATOR PEDDLE. WOULD NOT GO. WAS ABLE TO ROLL INTO A PARKING LOT. AFTER SHUTTING OFF VEHICLE AND RESTARTING IT RAN FINE. CONTINUED 1-2 MILES AND CONDITION OCCURRED AGAIN. HAD TO RESTART IN THE ROAD TO CONTINUE HOME. RAN FINE TO WORK AND BACK THE NEXT DAY. THEN, ON HIGHWAY WHILE GOING 65-70 STARTED TO LOSE SPEED AND HAD NO RESPONSE FROM ACCELERATOR PEDDLE. CAME TO A ROLLING STOP UNABLE TO GO. LUCKILY WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SHOULDER WITHOUT GETTING HIT . TOOK IT TO A DEALERSHIP TO LEARN THAT A THROTTLE BODY IS NEEDED AT A COST OF $1000.00. THIS IS NOW SITTING IN THE DRIVE AS WE CANT AFFORD THE $1000.00. BIG SAFETY ISSUE AS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE AND GET OFF OF ROAD AT UNEXPECTED TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds