Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 191 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (114) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (21) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (7) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2014 - BRANDON, FL
ARRIVED HOME AFTER PICKING UP DRY CLEANING AND PLACING IT ON BACK SEAT, VIA BACK DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR. OPENED DOOR TO RETRIEVE CLOTHES, DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH SHUT. HAD TO HAVE MY SON SIT IN BACK SEAT AND HOLD DOOR, WHILE I DROVE TO DEALERSHIP, AS THE DOOR WOULD SWING OPEN WHEN I MADE A TURN. TURNS OUT, CAR WAS FOUR DAYS OUT OF WARRANTY, NECESSITATING MY PAYING THE FULL REPAIR COST. BY THE WAY, I WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE ADVISOR THAT HIS WIFE'S FIESTA WAS IN THE SHOP FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND SHE WAS THREE DAYS OUT OF WARRANTY. PART WAS BACKORDERED. HE TOLD ME FORD IS AWARE THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM, BUT HASN'T MADE IT A RECALL. COST ME $300+ TO FIX. FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP AND COVER/REIMBURSE OWNERS!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/4/2014 - SLIDELL, LA
I OWN A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CAR HAS LEFT ME STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD 4 TIMES. 3 OUT OF THE 4 TIMES I BROKE DOWN I WAS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC IN NEW ORLEANS! NOT GOOD! I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED, OR KILLED SOMEONE ELSE. TWICE I'VE HAD TO WAIT ON THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE FOR 2.5 HOURS WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK WHEN I WAS SUPPOSED TO PICK UP MY 11 YEAR OLD FROM CAMP. I'VE MISSED WORK, MY SON HAS BEEN STRANDED, AND I JUST DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR. IT'S BEEN IN THE SHOP 4 TIMES NOW AND THEY'VE WORKED ON IT 3 TIMES. THE FIRST TIME IT BROKE DOWN I BROUGHT IT TO FORD AND THEY KEPT IT FOR ONE DAY BUT THEY DIDN'T GET TO WORK ON IT BECAUSE I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY EXTENDED WARRANTED, WHICH IS THROUGH NISSAN. THE 2ND TIME I WAS TOLD THE CLUTCH WENT OUT IN THE DUAL TRANSMISSION DUE TO TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKING ON A COMPONENT IN THE CAR. THEY TOOK MY TRANSMISSION OUT, REPLACED THE CLUTCH, ACCIDENTALLY BUSTED OUT MY WINDSHIELD IN THE PROCESS, THEN GAVE THE CAR BACK. NOT TOO LONG AFTER I GOT IT BACK, IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN. THEY SAID IT WAS THE COMPUTER THAT OPERATES THE TRANSMISSION. THEY DID UPDATES ON THE COMPUTER AND GAVE IT BACK TO ME. THE VERY NEXT DAY IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN AND IS NOW SITTING BACK AT FORD IN SLIDELL. AT THIS POINT I DON'T EVEN THINK THEY KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT. I THEN FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FORD AND THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO? SO I'M JUST STUCK WITH THIS BROKEN CAR FROM FORD THAT IS ONLY A FEW YEARS OLD? MY SON WAS WITH ME ONE OF THE TIMES THAT I BROKE DOWN - THE POOR THING WAS SCARED HALF TO DEATH! I CAN'T KEEP MISSING WORK - WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO? ALL I SEE ONLINE IS PEOPLE WITH LAWSUITS AGAINST FORD BECAUSE OF THE TRANSMISSION IN THESE THINGS... WHY ISN'T THIS A RECALL YET? IT IS DEFINITELY DANGEROUS!

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2014 - SLIDELL, LA
I OWN A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CAR HAS LEFT ME STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD 4 TIMES. 3 OUT OF THE 4 TIMES I BROKE DOWN I WAS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC IN NEW ORLEANS! NOT GOOD! I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED, OR KILLED SOMEONE ELSE. TWICE I'VE HAD TO WAIT ON THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE FOR 2.5 HOURS WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK WHEN I WAS SUPPOSED TO PICK UP MY 11 YEAR OLD FROM CAMP. I'VE MISSED WORK, MY SON HAS BEEN STRANDED, AND I JUST DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR. IT'S BEEN IN THE SHOP 4 TIMES NOW AND THEY'VE WORKED ON IT 3 TIMES. THE FIRST TIME IT BROKE DOWN I BROUGHT IT TO FORD AND THEY KEPT IT FOR ONE DAY BUT THEY DIDN'T GET TO WORK ON IT BECAUSE I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY EXTENDED WARRANTED, WHICH IS THROUGH NISSAN. THE 2ND TIME I WAS TOLD THE CLUTCH WENT OUT IN THE DUAL TRANSMISSION DUE TO TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKING ON A COMPONENT IN THE CAR. THEY TOOK MY TRANSMISSION OUT, REPLACED THE CLUTCH, ACCIDENTALLY BUSTED OUT MY WINDSHIELD IN THE PROCESS, THEN GAVE THE CAR BACK. NOT TOO LONG AFTER I GOT IT BACK, IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN. THEY SAID IT WAS THE COMPUTER THAT OPERATES THE TRANSMISSION. THEY DID UPDATES ON THE COMPUTER AND GAVE IT BACK TO ME. THE VERY NEXT DAY IT BROKE DOWN AGAIN AND IS NOW SITTING BACK AT FORD IN SLIDELL. AT THIS POINT I DON'T EVEN THINK THEY KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT. I THEN FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FORD AND THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO? SO I'M JUST STUCK WITH THIS BROKEN CAR FROM FORD THAT IS ONLY A FEW YEARS OLD? MY SON WAS WITH ME ONE OF THE TIMES THAT I BROKE DOWN - THE POOR THING WAS SCARED HALF TO DEATH! I CAN'T KEEP MISSING WORK - WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO? ALL I SEE ONLINE IS PEOPLE WITH LAWSUITS AGAINST FORD BECAUSE OF THE TRANSMISSION IN THESE THINGS... WHY ISN'T THIS A RECALL YET? IT IS DEFINITELY DANGEROUS!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/4/2014 - MESA, AZ
THIS MORNING AT 6:00 AM AS I DROP MY SON OFF TO THE BABYSITTERS TO GO TO WORK IN MY BEAUTIFUL GREEN SES 2011 FIESTA. I SHUT MY BACK PASSENGER DOOR AND IT DIDN'T CLOSE? LUCKILY I HAD 2 BUNGIE CORDS TO HOLD IT CLOSED AS I DROVE TO A DEALERSHIP TO GET IT FIXED.4 HOURS LATER AND A RENTAL CAR. BERGE FORD CALLS ME AND TELLS ME THE PART ISN'T IN TOWN(MESA AZ) AND ISN'T AVAILABLE ANY WHERE TILL AUGUST 25TH 2014 3.5 WEEKS AWAY AND NOW I HAVE NO CAR FOR 3.5 WEEKS. AT THE DEALERSHIP THEY STATE THAT THE REASON IT WILL TAKE SO LONG, IS BECAUSE THE PAST IS ON BACK ORDER.THEY STATE THAT THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE CAR'S THAT HAVE BEEN BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP WITHIN THE PAST COUPLE WEEKS WITH THE SAME ISSUE. MORE THEN TWO CARS A WEEK THEY ARE SEEING,BUT NO RECALL?THERE SOUND'S LIKE THERE'S A PROBLEM?! THERE'S NO WAY TO KEEP THE DOOR SHUT AND THE VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2014 - AVON PARK, FL
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AND MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE .THE CLUTCH WHICH IS A AUTO SHIFT CLUTCH WOULD NOT DISENGAGE HAD TO PULL OVER BETWEEN ON RAMP AND FLOWING TRAFFIC. RESTARTED CAR A COUPLE OF TIMES AND FINNA LOL WORKED OK. I CALLED MY DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPT. AND THEY SAID TO TAKE IT TO NEAREST FORD SERVICE DEPT..CODES WERE SHIFT FORK POSITION CIRCUIT P2832 P2877CLUTCH B DISENGAGING SLOW AND SHIFT FORKA POSITION CIRCUIT RANGE/PERFORMANCE PERMANENT.THIS COULD BE A DANGEROUS ISSUE I'M GLAD WAS DRIVING AND NOT MY DAUGHTER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
BACK PASSENGER DOOR LOCK SUDDENLY WOULD NOT CATCH. WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED 3 MONTHS AGO ALTHOUGH MILEAGE ONLY 28000. I TOOK IT TO 2 DEALERS. ONE TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE SEEN AT LEAST 70 CARS WITH THIS PROBLEM AND THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY THAT THE PARTS ARE ON BACK ORDER. AT THE OTHER DEALERSHIP THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP TOLD ME THAT HE HAD ALREADY SEEN ABOUT 5 IN THE LAST MONTH, IN FACT THERE WAS ANOTHER VEHICLE THERE THAT DAY WITH THE SAME ISSUE, ONLY IT WAS A DIFFERENT FORD MODEL. MY LATCH FAILURE WAS UNUSUAL BECAUSE IT FAILED AFTER THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. MOST ARE FAILING UNDER WARRANTY. ONE DEALERSHIP QUOTED ME $600 TO FIX. THE OTHER DEALERSHIP GAVE ME A BREAK SINCE THERE WAS SUCH LOW MILEAGE AND DISCOUNTED IT TO $100. I SUSPECT THAT THIS LOCK FAILURE IS HAPPENING TO TENS OF THOUSANDS OF CARS, BUT NHTSA IS NOT HEARING ABOUT IT BECAUSE IT IS HAPPENING UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/30/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE BACK DRIVERS SIDE DOOR FLEW OPEN. I HAD JUST RECENTLY PUT SOME PACKAGES IN THE BACK SEAT AND SHUT THE DOOR. TO MY KNOWLEDGE THE DOOR WAS CLOSED. IT APPEARED TO BE ANYWAYS. I TOOK IT IN TO BERGE FORD DEALERSHIP TWO DAYS LATER. THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW LATCH. THEY SAID THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SO MUCH IN THE FORD FIESTA'S AND FORD FOCUS THAT THEY HAVE A HARD TIME GETTING THE PARTS. APPARENTLY, THERE HAVE BEEN SOME RECALLS, BUT JUST NOT ON MY YEAR OF CAR. THEY SUGGESTED I GET ASSISTANCE FROM FORD MOTOR CO. SO A CLAIM WAS FILED. AFTER CALLING FORD EVERY DAY FOR A WEEK THEY FINALLY GAVE ME ANY ANSWER ON JULY 30TH. THEY ARE GOING TO PAY FOR A NEW LATCH, BUT THERE HASN'T BEEN A RECALL AS YET. MY CONCERN, IS IF THAT A CHILD WAS IN THE BACKSEAT AN INJURY OR DEATH COULD HAVE OCCURRED BECAUSE THE DOOR DOES APPEAR TO BE CLOSED WHEN SHUTTING IT. IT IS ALSO CONCERNING THAT THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THESE LATCHES ACCORDING TO NOT ONLY THE DEALER, BUT FORD MOTOR CO. CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER AS WELL.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/30/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE BACK DRIVERS SIDE DOOR FLEW OPEN. I HAD JUST RECENTLY PUT SOME PACKAGES IN THE BACK SEAT AND SHUT THE DOOR. TO MY KNOWLEDGE THE DOOR WAS CLOSED. IT APPEARED TO BE ANYWAYS. I TOOK IT IN TO BERGE FORD DEALERSHIP TWO DAYS LATER. THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW LATCH. THEY SAID THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SO MUCH IN THE FORD FIESTA'S AND FORD FOCUS THAT THEY HAVE A HARD TIME GETTING THE PARTS. APPARENTLY, THERE HAVE BEEN SOME RECALLS, BUT JUST NOT ON MY YEAR OF CAR. THEY SUGGESTED I GET ASSISTANCE FROM FORD MOTOR CO. SO A CLAIM WAS FILED. AFTER CALLING FORD EVERY DAY FOR A WEEK THEY FINALLY GAVE ME ANY ANSWER ON JULY 30TH. THEY ARE GOING TO PAY FOR A NEW LATCH, BUT THERE HASN'T BEEN A RECALL AS YET. MY CONCERN, IS IF THAT A CHILD WAS IN THE BACKSEAT AN INJURY OR DEATH COULD HAVE OCCURRED BECAUSE THE DOOR DOES APPEAR TO BE CLOSED WHEN SHUTTING IT. IT IS ALSO CONCERNING THAT THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THESE LATCHES ACCORDING TO NOT ONLY THE DEALER, BUT FORD MOTOR CO. CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER AS WELL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/28/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
WHEN LEAVING THE GROCERY STORE, I NOTICED THAT THE INDICATOR SHOWED THAT THE REAR DRIVER DOOR SHOWED OPEN. WE TRIED CLOSING IT BUT IT WOULDN'T CLOSE. I DROVE HOME WHILE MY PASSENGER HELD THE BACK DOOR CLOSED. ON THE FOLLOWING MONDAY, I TOOK THE CAR IN TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER A FEW HOURS, THEY CONTACTED ME AND SAID THE PART WAS ON BACKORDER AND THAT IT WOULD BE IN AT THE END OF THE WEEK. I TALKED TO THE PERSON ON WED. AND THEY SAID THE PART WAS ON THE TRUCK AND WOULD BE THERE ON FRIDAY SO I MADE AN APPT. TO BRING MY CAR BACK TODAY. AFTER 5 HOURS AT THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PART WAS ON BACKORDER UNTIL MID-AUGUST AND THAT 2 OTHER PEOPLE BROUGHT IN THE SAME CAR TODAY WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

7/28/2014 - GOODYEAR, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER DOOR LOCKS FAILED TO SECURE AND LOCK THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WAS NOT CLOSING NOR LOCKING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR LATCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THEN THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH BEGAN EXHIBITING THE SAME FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO NOTIFY THE MANUFACTURER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds