Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 520 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (1) Power Train (252) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (29)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (106) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electrical System (54) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (8) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (79) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (6) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
MY 2011 FORD FIESTA WITH ONLY 94K ON IT HAS A AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILURE AND STARTING ISSUES. THERE ARE RECALLS ON WHERE FORD EXTENDED THE TCM WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS 150,000 MILES WHICH I BELIEVE MAY HAVE LEAD TO THE FAILURE OF MY TRANSMISSION. THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN ANKENY IOWA SAYS THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME TO FIX THIS PROBLEM..

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
MY 2011 FORD FIESTA WITH ONLY 94K ON IT HAS A AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILURE AND STARTING ISSUES. THERE ARE RECALLS ON WHERE FORD EXTENDED THE TCM WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS 150,000 MILES WHICH I BELIEVE MAY HAVE LEAD TO THE FAILURE OF MY TRANSMISSION. THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN ANKENY IOWA SAYS THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME TO FIX THIS PROBLEM..

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/29/2017 - FLEMINGSBURG, KY
FAULTY TRANSMISSION. HAD TO BE REBUILT AROUND 35,000 MILES, HAS STILL HAD ALL SIGNS PEOPLE HAVE BEEN HAVING. SHUTTERING ON TAKEOFF,GRINDING NOISES,ETC. TRANSMISSION FAILED ON SECOND INCIDENT AND WAS TOLD AT THE DEALERSHIP IT HAD NO TROUBLE CODES AND TO LET IT COMPLETELY FAIL THE NEXT TIME SO THEY WOULD TOW IT IN. NOW AT 70,000 MILES A WARNING ON THE DASH HAS COME ON SAYING "TRANSMISSION FAILURE". THIS CAR WAS BOUGHT FROM PAUL MILLER FORD IN LEXINGTON KY. THIS IS UNSAFE AND NOT AN ACCEPTABLE DESIGN FROM FORD. FORD HAS AVOIDED THE ISSUE BY TELLING US THERE IS NO PROBLEM AND THERE ARE NO TROUBLE CODES SO SERVICE CAN'T BE PERFORMED. TO TELL PEOPLE THAT A FAULTY TRANSMISSION IS NORMAL AND OPERATING THE WAY IT WAS DESIGNED IS WRONG AND SHOULD NOT BE ACCEPTABLE. PEOPLE WHO PURCHASED THESE CARS NEED HELP TO BE TREATED FAIRLY. AS FAR AS WHEN THE SHUTTERING HAPPENS IT HAPPENS WHEN YOU FIRST START TO MOVE FROM A STOP AND CONTINUES WHEN THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS THROUGH THE FIRST COUPLE GEARS. THERE HAVE ALSO BEEN TIMES WHEN SHIFTING INTO DRIVE IT HAS BEGAN GOING BACKWARDS WHEN LETTING OFF THE GAS. AS FAR AS THE DATE THIS HAPPENED BELOW IT IS HARD TO GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE BECAUSE IT IS THEY WAY THIS TRANSMISSION OPERATES ALL THE TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2017 - PACIFICA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 FORD FIESTA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH IN TRAFFIC, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED, RIPPED AT THE SEAMS, AND EXPELLED DUST. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE COLLISION. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES AND A SEVERE CUT TO THE LEFT HAND THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW LOT AND DEEMED DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER FOR THE AIR BAG FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2017 - WAUSAU, WI
I WAS AT THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN NATIONAL PARK WHEN MY CAR WOULDN'T START. I HAVE A AAA MEMBERSHIP SO THEY CAME AND JUMPED MY CAR. WE DROVE A COUPLE MILES BOUGHT A NEW BATTERY BUT IT WAS WAS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY . WE CALLED OUR FORD DEALERSHIP IN WISCONSIN THAT WE ALWAYS GO TO AND THEY TOLD US THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE WILL PREVENT CAR FROM STARTING , DRAIN YOUR BATTERY , AND NOT ALLOW CAR TO SHIFT PROPERLY. THE DRIVE DOWN THE MOUNTAIN WAS VERY SCARY THE CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT RIGHT AND JERKED THE CAR VIOLENTLY. THE DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY WAS NOT MUCH BETTER, WE HAD SEMI'S ALMOST HIT US. FLASHING LIGHTS AT US BECAUSE WE COULD NOT SPEED UP. WE CALLED AROUND NO ONE HAD THE PART WE NEEDED. WITH IT BEING THE WEEKEND SOME FORD SERVICE SHOPS WEREN'T EVEN OPEN. WE WERE TOLD NOT TO SHUT CAR OFF BECAUSE IT MIGHT NOT START AGAIN SO WE DROVE ALL NIGHT LONG FOR 26 HOURS HOME AT 50 MPH BECAUSE WE COULD NOT GO ANY FASTER. THE SPEED LIMIT WAS 75 MPH AND SEVERAL TIMES WE HAD CARS GET RIGHT ON OUR BUMPER AND SWITCHING LANES AT THE LAST SECOND. FINALLY MY HUSBAND PUT OUR HAZARD LIGHTS ON SO OTHER DRIVERS WOULD REALIZE WE WERE UNABLE TO GO FAST. IT WAS A SCARY AND NERVE RACKING EXPERIENCE. THE FORD FIESTA HAS A REALLY BAD TRANSMISSION THAT HAS BROKEN ON US BEFORE AND FORD KEEPS EXTENDING THE WARRANTY BUT THAT DOESN'T GIVE US PEACE OF MIND WHEN TRAVELING. I HAVE TO WORRY EVERY TIME I TRAVEL THAT THIS CAR WILL BREAK DOWN. IN FACT I HAVE RENTED CARS 3 TIMES TO TRAVEL BECAUSE I DON'T TRUST MY FORD. THIS VACATION I DECIDED IT WAS A WASTE OF MONEY TO RENT A CAR FOR A WEEK AND I TOOK MY FORD AND IT LET MY FAMILY DOWN FOR THE LAST TIME. THIS CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE. YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE THAT YOU HAVE A LOT OF ROOM TO PULL OUT AT INTERSECTIONS BECAUSE IT SHIFTS SO SLOWLY AND DOES NOT TAKE OFF LIKE MOST CARS. PLEASE HELP GET THIS UNSAFE CAR OFF THE ROAD. THANKS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/26/2017 - WILLOW GROVE, PA
PASSENGER SIDE BACK DOOR WILL NOT LATCH. THIS IS A DOOR I VERY RARELY USE AND WAS IN A PARKING LOT AT A GROCERY STORE WHEN I HAD TO USE THAT DOOR TO PUT GROCERIES IN THE BACK SEAT. WHEN SPEAKING WITH THE FORD COMPANY THEY STATED MY CAR DOES NOT QUALIFY FOR THE SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2017 - LOXAHATCHEE, FL
DRIVER DOOR WON'T CLOSE. DOOR LATCH IS BROKEN. WENT TO LOCK IT AFTER GETTING OUT AND THE DRIVER DOOR WON'T CLOSE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2017 - CULPEPER, VA
ENGINE STALLS WHEN PUSHING IN CLUTCH. I HAVE HAD IT STALL AT LIGHTS, STOP SIGNS AND WHILE DOWN SHIFTING. HAS HAPPENED A COUPLE OF TIMES WHILE CAR IS IN MOTION BUT ALWAYS WHEN PUSHING THE CLUTCH IN OTHERWISE MOST STALLS ARE OCCURRING WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY WITH THE CLUTCH PUSHED DOWN WHILE WAITING AT LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, ETC. CAR JUST STALLS OUT. GENERALLY IT CAN AND HAS HAPPENED ANYTIME YOU PUSH DOWN ON THE CLUTCH. I HAVE HAD THE CAR 2 MONTHS SO FAR AND HAVE HAD THE CAR STALL AT LEAST 30 TIMES ALREADY AND AT LEAST 5 OF THOSE STALLS HAPPENED WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN GOING ACROSS ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND ONCE WHEN HALFWAY ENTERING A ROUND ABOUT. I HAVE NOT HAD IT STALL ONCE CAR GETS PASSED SECOND GEAR BUT I WILL NOT PUT ANYONE IN MY CAR AS I'VE ALREADY ENCOUNTERED ALMOST BEING HIT A COUPLE OF TIMES BECAUSE OF ENGINE STALLING OUT ONCE THE CAR STARTING MOVING. PLEASE CHECK INTO THIS AS I HAVE GOOGLED THIS ISSUE AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS CAR WITH NO CLEAR IDEA AS TO WHAT IS CAUSING IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/14/2017 - DALLAS, TX
DOOR LATCH FAILS

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2017 - THOMASTON, GA
WHILE STOPPED (AT A RED LIGHT, STOP LIGHTS, ETC.), WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS PRESSED, THE CAR WILL STALL AND NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE ACTS AS IF IT IS OFF. I HAD TO DOUBLE CHECK TO MAKE SURE THAT IT DID NOT STALL (WHICH IT DOES FREQUENTLY). ONCE I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND WAITED A FEW SECONDS, THE CAR FINALLY MOVED AGAIN. THIS IS SCARY BECAUSE IT OFTEN OCCURS IN TRAFFIC. ALSO, WHEN BACKING UP, THE CAR WILL SHUDDER WHILE IN REVERSE AND ACT AS IF IT WANTS TO STALL OUT. THERE WILL BE TIMES WHEN IT ACTUALLY DOES STALL AND COMPLETELY SHUTS DOWN. I WILL HAVE TO TURN OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTART THE CAR BEFORE I CAN MOVE IT ANY FURTHER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds