Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 311 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (142) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (50)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (57) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Engine (40) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (5) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/24/2015 - BRIDGETON, NV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE AND CLOSING THE FRONT DRIVER+S SIDE DOOR, THE TRUNK INDEPENDENTLY OPENED AND FAILED TO LATCH. IN ADDITION, ALL FOUR DOORS FAILED TO LOCK AND THE TRUNK OPEN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/22/2015 - HARLINGEN, TX
INCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE THE VEHICLE (2011 FORD FIESTA) WAS PARKED IN AUSTIN, TX. AFTER OPENING THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR, IT WOULD NOT CLOSE. THE LATCH ASSEMBLY FOR THE DOOR APPEARS TO BE BROKEN. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY INDICATED THAT IT WOULD COST ~$500 FOR THE NEW LATCH ASSEMBLY AND INSTALLATION. WE HAVE OPTED TO HOLD THE DOOR TOGETHER BY USING A BUNGEE CORD AND ROPE ON THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/21/2015 - CHRISTIANSTED, VI
I LIVE ON THE ISLAND OF ST, CROIX, US VIRGIN ISLANDS. ON SATURDAY FEBRUARY 21, 2015 AFTER DRIVING THE CAR FOR SEVERAL ERRANDS, I RETURNED HOME AND OPENED THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR TO TAKE OUT SOME ITEMS. WHEN I CLOSED THE DOOR IT WOULD NOT STAY CLOSED. IT SEEMS AS IF THE LATCH WILL NOT STAY SHUT. I WILL CONTACT THE DEALER ON MONDAY.

View Details

ENGINE

2/18/2015 - JUNCTION CITY, KS
I PURCHASED MY 2011 FORD FIESTA IN AUGUST 2014 WITH 45,000 MILES ON IT. CAR RAN FINE FOR A WEEK THEN I NOTICED WHEN THE AC IS ON THE CAR JERKS WHEN I ACCELERATE. IT ALSO DOES IT DAILY WHEN I DRIVE SPEEDS UNDER 30 MPH. THE CAR STALLED OUT AS I PULLED OUT LEAVING WAL-MART AND THANK GOD IT WAS DURING THE DAY WHEN EVERYONE IS AT WORK AND THAT THERE WAS NOT A LOT OF TRAFFIC!! THIS CAR MAKES ME NERVOUS DRIVING IT A DISTANCE LONGER THAN 30 MINUTES AND NO CAR SHOULD FEEL THAT UNSAFE. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALER THIS MORNING REPORTING OF CONSTANT JERKING AND HESITATION WHILE I AM DRIVING AND FEELING THE GEARS GRINDING WHEN I BRAKE. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW CLUTCH AND THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND THAT SINCE THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER IT WOULD TAKE MINIMUM 2 WEEKS TO GET IN!. HOW THERE IS NOT A RECALL ON THIS I DO NOT UNDERSTAND. I HAVE READ COMPLAINT AFTER COMPLAINT ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/18/2015 - JUNCTION CITY, KS
I PURCHASED MY 2011 FORD FIESTA IN AUGUST 2014 WITH 45,000 MILES ON IT. CAR RAN FINE FOR A WEEK THEN I NOTICED WHEN THE AC IS ON THE CAR JERKS WHEN I ACCELERATE. IT ALSO DOES IT DAILY WHEN I DRIVE SPEEDS UNDER 30 MPH. THE CAR STALLED OUT AS I PULLED OUT LEAVING WAL-MART AND THANK GOD IT WAS DURING THE DAY WHEN EVERYONE IS AT WORK AND THAT THERE WAS NOT A LOT OF TRAFFIC!! THIS CAR MAKES ME NERVOUS DRIVING IT A DISTANCE LONGER THAN 30 MINUTES AND NO CAR SHOULD FEEL THAT UNSAFE. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALER THIS MORNING REPORTING OF CONSTANT JERKING AND HESITATION WHILE I AM DRIVING AND FEELING THE GEARS GRINDING WHEN I BRAKE. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW CLUTCH AND THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND THAT SINCE THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER IT WOULD TAKE MINIMUM 2 WEEKS TO GET IN!. HOW THERE IS NOT A RECALL ON THIS I DO NOT UNDERSTAND. I HAVE READ COMPLAINT AFTER COMPLAINT ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/15/2015 - ZIONSVILLE, IN
THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS DIDN'T WORK WHEN THE TEMPERATURE WAS COLD. MY DAUGHTER WAS ALMOST IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE WINDSHIELD ICED UP. WE HAD TO FIND A TIME WHEN FORD SERVICE COULD SEE THE PROBLEM AND WERE TOLD THE FIESTA NEEDED A NEW WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR. $400 WHEN I ASKED SERVICE HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN ON SUCH A NEW VEHICLE I WAS TOLD THE MOTOR DOES WEAR OUT. I ASKED WHAT WE COULD DO TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THE MOTOR SHOULD LAST 4 YEARS, THE SAME AS THIS ONE. I'VE NEVER HAD A WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR GO BAD AND I KEEP CARS FROM 10-15 YEARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2015 - ATHENS, GA
I PUT MY BABY INTO HER CAR SEAT, CLOSED THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR, AND STARTED DRIVING WHEN THE "DOOR AJAR" WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASH APPEARED. I IMMEDIATELY STOPPED AND SAW THAT THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR WAS AJAR. HER DOOR WOULD NOT STAY CLOSED. NOTHING I ATTEMPTED WOULD FIX IT. THE CAR WAS NEVER DAMAGED, AND THE BROKEN DOOR RECEIVED BARELY ANY USE, AS SHE IS UNDER SIX MONTHS OLD. I HAD TO TIE A SWADDLE BLANKET TO THE HANDLE AND HOLD ON WHILE DRIVING US HOME. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE HAD PURCHASED THE CAR (FORD AKINS) AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THERE IS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION, AND THAT WE WOULD BE CHARGED TO FIX A GLARING SAFETY ISSUE EVEN THOUGH WE HAD PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THE CAR WAS EXACTLY FOUR YEARS OLD. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO ORDER THE PART, AND AM NOW LEFT WAITING WITH MY BABY IN THE BACK OF A CAR WITH A DOOR THAT IS DUCT TAPED CLOSED. I CONSIDER THIS TO BE AN EXTREMELY SERIOUS SAFETY COMPLAINT, AND DON'T TRUST THAT ANOTHER DOOR WON'T FLY OPEN WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2015 - ATHENS, GA
I PUT MY BABY INTO HER CAR SEAT, CLOSED THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR, AND STARTED DRIVING WHEN THE "DOOR AJAR" WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASH APPEARED. I IMMEDIATELY STOPPED AND SAW THAT THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR WAS AJAR. HER DOOR WOULD NOT STAY CLOSED. NOTHING I ATTEMPTED WOULD FIX IT. THE CAR WAS NEVER DAMAGED, AND THE BROKEN DOOR RECEIVED BARELY ANY USE, AS SHE IS UNDER SIX MONTHS OLD. I HAD TO TIE A SWADDLE BLANKET TO THE HANDLE AND HOLD ON WHILE DRIVING US HOME. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE HAD PURCHASED THE CAR (FORD AKINS) AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THERE IS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION, AND THAT WE WOULD BE CHARGED TO FIX A GLARING SAFETY ISSUE EVEN THOUGH WE HAD PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THE CAR WAS EXACTLY FOUR YEARS OLD. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO ORDER THE PART, AND AM NOW LEFT WAITING WITH MY BABY IN THE BACK OF A CAR WITH A DOOR THAT IS DUCT TAPED CLOSED. I CONSIDER THIS TO BE AN EXTREMELY SERIOUS SAFETY COMPLAINT, AND DON'T TRUST THAT ANOTHER DOOR WON'T FLY OPEN WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/11/2015 - PEORIA, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, THERE WAS A REFLECTION ON THE REAR VIEW MIRROR WHILE LOOKING THROUGH THE REAR WINDOW. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AT NIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY APPLIED TINT TO THE REAR WINDOW HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/11/2015 - NEW YORK, NY
I PURCHASED A FORD FIESTA 2011 IN OCTOBER, 2010. WITHIN THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNERSHIP (AROUND 8,000 MILES), THE CAR BEGAN TO SHUTTER UPON INITIAL ACCELERATION AT LOW SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN GOING UP OR DOWN AN INCLINE; WHEN MOVING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BACK AND FORTH QUICKLY (IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC, FOR EXAMPLE, OR WHEN ACCELERATING TO TURN LEFT FROM A STOP) THE RPMS WOULD JUMP AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PROMPTLY, AND THEN ONLY AFTER HARSH JERKING. NUMEROUS TRIPS TO THE DEALERSHIP RESULTED IN SEVERAL EXPLAINATIONS (AND COSTLY "REPAIRS"), INCLUDING BEING TOLD I NEEDED A COMPLETE ENGINE FLUSH, FAULTY BRAKE CALIPERS, RECALIBRATION OF THE COMPUTER SOFTWARE, AND THE CLASSIC "THAT IS NORMAL OPERATION FOR THE CAR." AS OF FEBRUARY, 2015 (MY CAR NOW HAS 50,000), THE ISSUE CONTINUES TO PERSIST AND, MOST CONCERNING OF ALL, MY CAR WILL NOW PERIODICALLY STALL WITH COMPLETE ENGINE AND ELECTRICAL FAILURE. PLEASE NOTE THE ISSUE DESCRIBED ABOVE OCCURS FROM A STOP AND/OR AT SLOW SPEEDS. MY CAR HAS STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE I WAS ATTEMPTING TO TURN LEFT OR PULL INTO THE ROAD FROM A DRIVEWAY. THESE ARE PARTICULARLY HAZARDOUS TIMES FOR THE CAR TO FAIL AND SEVERLY COMPROMISE NOT ONLY MY SAFTETY BUT THOSE OF OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD. FRUSTRATINGLY, THE DEALERSHIPS CONSISTENTLY REPORT "THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR" AND "IT FUNCTIONS NORMALLY." A CAR LIKE MINE -- RELATIVELY NEW, AVERAGE MILAGE, WITH MAINTENANCE ALWAYS COMPLETED AT A FORD DEALERSHIP AND ACCORDING TO MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDATIONS -- SHOULD NOT STALL. I AM GREATLY CONCERNED EACH AND EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE CAR AND FORD'S APPRENTLY INABILITY TO SOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds