Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 264 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (5)
Electrical System (26) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (129) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (41)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (42) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (31) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (7) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/24/2014 - VERO BEACH, FL
2011 FORD FIESTA SE, 47500 MILES. USE BACK DOORS APPROXIMATELY ONCE A MONTH. I CLOSED THE BACK DOOR ON DRIVER'S SIDE AND IT JUST BOUNCED BACK AT ME. COULD NOT SHUT DOOR, WILL NOT LATCH, CAUSES INTERIOR LIGHTS TO STAY ON. TEMP FIX WAS TO CLOSE THE LATCH MANUALLY TO TURN OFF THE INTERIOR LIGHTS THEN BUNGEE THE DOOR AS CLOSE TO CLOSED AS I COULD - STILL HAS ABOUT A ONE INCH GAP FOR RAIN TO GET IN OR THIEF'S - PLUS WHENEVER I TURNED RIGHT THE BACK DOOR WOULD OPEN. NO WAY TO BUNGEE IT TIGHTER. TOOK CAR TO FORD DEALER WHO ACTED SURPRISED WHEN I TOLD THEM ABOUT THE LATCH/LOCK. COST: $420 TO REPAIR ONE DOOR. UPON RETURNING HOME SEARCHED THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR THE FIESTA'S DOORS AND IN NO WAY SHOULD MY DEALER OF BEEN SURPRISED. CALLED DEALERSHIP BACK, NO COMPASSION - SAID IF THE LOCKS EVER GET RECALLED THEN FORD WOULD REFUND MY MONEY. I'M LOOKING FOR A NEW CAR AND IT WILL NOT BE A FORD. WILL KEEP MY RECEIPT SHOULD THE LOCKS MAKE THE RECALL LIST. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE BUT I GUESS UNTIL SOMEONE IS HURT OR WORSE IT WILL NOT BE RECALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/23/2014 - VISTA, CA
PASSENGER SIDE BACK DOOR LATCH WONT CLOSE. DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE. LATCH WON'T ENGAGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/21/2014 - CORONA, CA
I WAS DRIVING WITH CHILDREN IN BACK SEAT OF VEHICLE AND BOTH REAR DOORS FLEW OPEN WHILE DRIVING. UPON PULLING OVER TO SECURE REAR DOORS, I OBSERVED THAT THE RIGHT REAR DOOR LATCH IS LOCKED AND WILL NOT CLOSE AND THE LEFT REAR DOOR LATCH IS OPEN AND WILL NOT SECURE UPON CLOSING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/20/2014 - SPRING, TX
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR OPENED. AFTER STOPPING, I FOUND THE LATCH ON THE DOOR DID NOT WORK.

View Details

ENGINE

11/19/2014 - PASADENA, CA
UNDER WARRANTY AND WITH VERY FEW MILES ON THE CAR, THE DEALERSHIP FIXED MY FORD FIESTA AFTER I REPORTED THE CAR STALLING. THIS PROBLEM WAS HAPPENING WITHIN THE FIRST YEAR. I COULD BE IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION WAITING TO TURN LEFT, IDLING IN TRAFFIC, STOPPED AT A LIGHT...CAR MIGHT STALL. I DREADED BEING ON A BUSY SOCAL HIGHWAY STUCK IN TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE CAR MIGHT STALL AND OFTEN IT DID. I WAS TOLD IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH OXYGEN OR LACK THEREOF. FAST FORWARD TWO YEARS. MY CAR STARTED STALLING AGAIN BUT THIS TIME IT ALSO SEEMED TO HESITATE, JERK, OR NOT RESPOND WHEN I ACCELERATED.THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. (SIDE NOTE: DURING THE LAST YEAR THE AC STOPPED WORKING PROPERLY AND WAS MAKING A HORRIBLE NOISE. A MECHANIC QUOTED $1000 FOR A NEW CONDENSER & COMPRESSOR). WELL, WITH THESE LAST TWO PROBLEMS I AM NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. MY CAR WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A BAD THROTTLE BODY SENSOR ($880 REPAIR). I HAVE RESEARCHED ONLINE AND HEARD FROM OTHERS THAT THIS IS ALL TOO COMMON WITH FORD FIESTA'S AND OTHER FORD MODELS. I HAVE CALLED FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO REPORT THIS AND COMPLAIN ABOUT THESE PROBLEMS. THEY OPENED A CASE NUMBER AND DIRECTED ME TO ASK THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I TOOK IT FOR REPAIRS IF THEY WOULD HELP OUT. THEY DID NOT HELP WITH THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIR. I LEARNED JUST YESTERDAY THAT A FAMILY MEMBER WITH THE SAME CAR WITH LOW MILES - 2011 FORD FIESTA - IS COMPLAINING OF THE SAME PROBLEMS. SOUNDS VERY MUCH LIKE HE MAY BE FACED WITH THE SAME, EXPENSIVE REPAIRS. I HOPE THERE WILL BE A RECALL FOR THIS THROTTLE BODY SENSOR PROBLEM. THIS STALLING AND ACCELERATION ISSUE IS A REAL SAFETY HAZARD. IT IS NOT ONLY VERY NERVE WRACKING IN TRAFFIC, BUT IS DANGEROUS AS WELL BECAUSE THE CAR CAN STALL AT ANY MOMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

11/14/2014 - SANTEE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL SANK TO THE FLOOR. THE FAILURE OCCURRED DAILY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT RESOLVED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2014 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
I GOT IN MY CAR, SHUT THE DOOR AND DID MY NORMAL START UP ROUTINE. I WAS FOLLOWING MY WIFE HOME AND SHORTLY AFTER STARTING TO DRIVE I LEANED OVER TO THE LEFT LIKE I ALWAYS DO TO PUT MY ELBOW ON THE WINDOW SILL WHEN THE DOOR CAME OPEN. I LOST BALANCE TO THE LEFT AND SLIGHTLY SWERVED AND HIT THE BREAKS TO STOP. THE DOOR FLUNG OPEN FROM MOMENTUM AND BOUNCED BACK AT ME WHEN THE CAR STOPPED. IT HIT MY LEFT SIDE BUT NO MAJOR DAMAGE. MY WIFE STOPPED UP AHEAD AND CAME BACK AND WE WERE UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT WHY THE DOOR POPPED OPEN AND COULD NOT GET IT TO LATCH. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ON MONDAY AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM. THE FIRST SERVICE ADVISER, NOT MY REGULAR SERVICE ADVISER, TOLD ME TO KEEP MY RECEIPT AND WHEN THE RECALL WAS ISSUED THEY WOULD REIMBURSE ME AND THAT IT SHOULD ONLY BE A FEW WEEKS. AS I WAS LEAVING MY REGULAR SERVICE ADVISER SAW ME AND ASKED WHAT WAS GOING ON. I TOLD HER THE SITUATION AND SHE SAID THAT THEY SHOULD NOT HAVE EVEN CHARGED IT AS THEY HAD ALREADY BEEN DEALING WITH THE ISSUE FOR OTHER CUSTOMERS. SHE TRIED TO STOP THE BILLING FROM GOING THROUGH BUT THEY HAD ALREADY PROCESSED IT. SHE SAID NOT TO WORRY AND IT WOULD ONLY BE A FEW WEEKS AT MAX... THIS WAS OVER SIX WEEKS AGO. THIS ISSUE MAY BE UNDER REPORTED BECAUSE OF THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/12/2014 - BURBANK , CA
I WAS UNLOADING STUFF FROM MY CAR AND SHUT THE DOOR WHEN IT RE OPENED , THERE WAS ANOTHER INCIDENT WHERE ANOTHER DOOR DID THE SAME THING ! I CURRENTLY HAVE TWO NON WORKING DOORS ON MY VEHICLE AND BOTH DOORS BROKE WITHIN A MONTH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/11/2014 - OOLTEWAH, TN
MY PASSENGER SIDE REAR DOOR WAS OPENED WHEN GETTING INTO THE CAR AND WAS THEN CLOSED BUT IT DID NOT LATCH. THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT CONTINUES TO STAY ON. TWO WEEKS LATER THE SAME THING HAPPENED WITH THE DRIVER SIDE REAR PASSENGER DOOR. THIS HAS CAUSE MY BATTERY TO GO BAD AND HAD TO BE REPLACED, I CALLED MY FORD DEALERSHIP ZECK FORD IN LEAVENWORTH KANSAS AND THEY TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR AND IF IT IS RECALLED THEN I WOULD BE ISSUED A REFUND OR I COULD JUST WAIT IT OUT AND SEE IF THERE IS A RECALL ISSUED. FOR THE MEAN TIME, I HAVE MY REAR DOORS SECURED WITH A RATCHET STRAP INBETWEEN THE HANDLES DUE TO THE HUGE COST OF REPAIRING THE DOOR LATCHES, MY DOOR AJAR LIGHT CONTINUES TO STAY ON AND MY CAR BATTERY IS BEING DRAINED DOWN EVERYNIGHT PUTTING EXTRA WEAR ON A BRAND NEW BATTERY. IF I LET IT SIT FOR MORE THAN ONE NIGHT THEN IT HAS TO BE JUMP STARTED. I AM NOT VERY HAPPY WITH FORD MOTOR COMPANY FOR NOT ADDRESSING THIS ASAP. I BELIEVE THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM AND I AM UNABLE TO HAVE ANY PASSENGERS IN THE REAR SEATS AND I FEAR THAT ONE OR BOTH OF THE FRONT DOORS COULD FAIL WITH THE SAME PROBLEM CAUSING INJURY TO MYSELF, OR MY PASSENGER OR CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO BE UN DRIVABLE IF ONE OF THE FRONT DOORS FAILS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/6/2014 - CONROE, TX
I PLACED MY GRANDSON HIS CAR SEAT ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE AND TRIED TO CLOSE THE DOOR, THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH CLOSED. WE TRIED AND TRIED TO GET IT CLOSED AS WE WERE ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CITY AND NEEDED TO GET HOME. THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH. WE HAD TO HAVE SOMEONE COME BRING US A STRAP TO HOLD THE DOOR CLOSED IN ORDER TO GET HOME THAT NIGHT. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK MY CAR TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS HAS BEEN A MAJOR CONCERN WITH THE FORD FIESTA AND THAT THE PART WAS NATIONALLY BACK-ORDERED. I DROVE MY CAR HOME WITH THE DOOR STRAPPED CLOSED AND HAD IT LOOKED AT IN MY HOMETOWN. THE PART WAS STILL NATIONALLY BACK-ORDERED. I AM STILL WAITING ON MY CAR TO BE FIXED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A DEFECT AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds