Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FIESTA - 2011 FORD FIESTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 178 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD FIESTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD FIESTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD FIESTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (7) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (24) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Power Train (109) Steering (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/23/2014 - WOODLAWN, TN
AFTER UNLOADING GROCERIES THE PASSENGER (RIGHT SIDE, RH) REAR DOOR WOULDN'T STAY SHUT. IT WOULD CLOSE ALL THE WAY, BUT THE LATCH MECHANISM WOULDN'T KEEP THE DOOR CLOSED. THIS IS A 4 DOOR CAR + HATCHBACK AND THIS IS THE DOOR WE USE THE LEAST. CALLED FORD ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER EVERYWHERE. THIS PART IS SPECIFIC TO THE FIESTA REAR DOOR, THE FRONT DOOR LATCH IS DIFFERENT AS ARE FOCUS DOOR LATCHES. I THINK THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM DUE TO THE DOOR NOT STAYING SHUT. WE WERE LUCKY IT HAPPENED WHEN STOPPED IN OUR DRIVEWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - WOODLAWN, TN
AFTER UNLOADING GROCERIES THE PASSENGER (RIGHT SIDE, RH) REAR DOOR WOULDN'T STAY SHUT. IT WOULD CLOSE ALL THE WAY, BUT THE LATCH MECHANISM WOULDN'T KEEP THE DOOR CLOSED. THIS IS A 4 DOOR CAR + HATCHBACK AND THIS IS THE DOOR WE USE THE LEAST. CALLED FORD ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER EVERYWHERE. THIS PART IS SPECIFIC TO THE FIESTA REAR DOOR, THE FRONT DOOR LATCH IS DIFFERENT AS ARE FOCUS DOOR LATCHES. I THINK THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM DUE TO THE DOOR NOT STAYING SHUT. WE WERE LUCKY IT HAPPENED WHEN STOPPED IN OUR DRIVEWAY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/21/2014 - PHOENIX , AZ
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER FAILED TO LOCK ELECTRONICALLY OR MANUALLY. THE DEALER ADVISED THE REPAIR WAS COSTLY HOWEVER THE PART THAT NEEDED TO REPLACED WAS NOT GIVEN TO THE CONTACT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 28,100. LI

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2014 - BAYONNE, NJ
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A CERTAIN ROAD I NOTICED THE CAR WHILE ON DRIVE, SWITCHED TO REVERSE BACKED UP ON ITS OWN AND THEN TO PARK WITHOUT ME SWITCHING GEARS. IT DID SO UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO SOMEHOW PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. I IMMEDIATELY DECIDED TO CALL 9-11 THE OFFICER WHO ARRIVED ON THE SCENE SAW WITH HIS OWN EYES WHAT THE CAR WAS DOING AND STATED NOT TO DRIVE THE CAR AND THAT IT WAS A HAZARD ON THE ROAD. WHEN WE VISITED FORD THE DEALER DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CAR AND "FLEW OVER A TECHNICIAN" BUT THE SAME PROBLEM PERSISTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/21/2014 - BAYONNE, NJ
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A CERTAIN ROAD I NOTICED THE CAR WHILE ON DRIVE, SWITCHED TO REVERSE BACKED UP ON ITS OWN AND THEN TO PARK WITHOUT ME SWITCHING GEARS. IT DID SO UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO SOMEHOW PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. I IMMEDIATELY DECIDED TO CALL 9-11 THE OFFICER WHO ARRIVED ON THE SCENE SAW WITH HIS OWN EYES WHAT THE CAR WAS DOING AND STATED NOT TO DRIVE THE CAR AND THAT IT WAS A HAZARD ON THE ROAD. WHEN WE VISITED FORD THE DEALER DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CAR AND "FLEW OVER A TECHNICIAN" BUT THE SAME PROBLEM PERSISTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2014 - GROVETOWN, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD FIESTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE NEVER REGAINED ACCERATION AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. RG

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2014 - PALM DESERT, CA
REAR DOOR LATCHES FAIL TO CLOSE BOTH REAR DOORS. THEY BOTH FAILED APPROXIMATELY THE SAME TIME. I NOW HAVE THEM TIED TOGETHER FROM THE INSIDE. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY HAZARD. THE DEALER SAID THERE ISN'T A RECALL. THEY ALSO STATED IT COULD TAKE UP TO 3 WEEKS TO GET REPLACEMENT LATCHES BECAUSE FORD CAN'T KEEP UP WITH REPLACEMENT PARTS. THAT TELLS ME THERE IS A PROBLEM. WAITING TO SEE IF THERE WILL BE A RECALL. FORD WANTS APPROXIMATELY $500 TO REPLACE BOTH LATCHES BECAUSE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. I REQUEST YOU CONTACT FORD AND HAVE THEM REPLACE THE LATCHES AT NO COST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2014 - MARTINEZ, CA
2011 FORD FIESTA AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFTS ERRATICALLY AND INTERMITTENTLY WHENEVER UPSHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR. ENGINE/TRANSMISSION SHAKES AND SOMETIMES MAKES CLANKING NOISES. ENGINE ALSO SEEMS TO STAY ENGAGED TO CLUTCH (OR WHATEVER TRANSMISSION MECHANISM ENGAGES ENGINE TO DRIVE TRAIN) AT ALL TIMES, BECAUSE SUDDEN HARD BRAKING CAN STOP ENGINE. DEALERSHIP HAS TRIED TO FIX TRANSMISSION PROBLEM(S) AT LEAST THREE TIMES, AND COMPUTER FIRMWARE 'UPGRADES' HAVE BEEN DOWNLOADED TO TRANSMISSION CONTROLLER(S) AT LEAST TWICE BY DEALERSHIP. PROBLEMS HAVE NOT BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2014 - HIGHLAND TWP, MI
I WAS PARKED IN A FRIENDS DRIVEWAY AND THE CAR WOULDNT START. THE RADIO AND LIGHTS AND DASHBOARD ALL WORKED BUT WHEN TURN THE KEY THERE WAS ALL KINDS OF CLICKING NOISE AND FLASHING LIGHTS. EVEN AFTER THE KEY WAS REMOVED YOU COULD HEAR ALL KINDS OF MECHANICAL NOISE GOING ON UNDER THE HOOD. THE CAR STARTED AFTER ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE JUMPED IT, SO I THOUGHT I WAS GOOD TO GO. I PUT THE CAR IN REVEARSE AND THOUGHT I WAS BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WHEN IN ALL REALITY I WAS JUST COASTING BECAUSE WHEN I GOT DOWN THE INCLINE PART AND APPLIED THE GAS PEDAL THE RPMS WOULD GO UP BUT THE CAR DIDNT MOVE. I TRIED TO GO FORWARD AND COULD NOT. I COULD PHYSICALLY SHIFT THE CAR INTO GEAR BUT IT WOULD NOT MOVE, EVEN IF I FLOOORED THE GAS PEDAL IT JUST REVVED THE ENGINE. I HAD TO THEN CALL A TOW TRUCK AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALERSHIP. THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM THEREFORE THERE WAS NO REPAIR MADE NOR DID THEY TRY TO FIGURE IT OUT BC THEY SAID IT RAN TO SPECIFICATIONS. I AM CONCERNED WITH BEING STRANDED TRAFFIC AND NOT BEING ABLE TO MOVE AND BEING A SITTING DUCK JUST WAITING TO GET HIT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THANKFULLY NON HAVE PUT ME IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION, BUT I DO NOT DEEM THIS VEHICLE RELIABLE, I DO NOT DEEM FORD CAPABLE OF FIXING IT AND I AM EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED HAVING A CAR THAT CANT BE FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/15/2014 - HIGHLAND TWP, MI
I WAS PARKED IN A FRIENDS DRIVEWAY AND THE CAR WOULDNT START. THE RADIO AND LIGHTS AND DASHBOARD ALL WORKED BUT WHEN TURN THE KEY THERE WAS ALL KINDS OF CLICKING NOISE AND FLASHING LIGHTS. EVEN AFTER THE KEY WAS REMOVED YOU COULD HEAR ALL KINDS OF MECHANICAL NOISE GOING ON UNDER THE HOOD. THE CAR STARTED AFTER ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE JUMPED IT, SO I THOUGHT I WAS GOOD TO GO. I PUT THE CAR IN REVEARSE AND THOUGHT I WAS BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WHEN IN ALL REALITY I WAS JUST COASTING BECAUSE WHEN I GOT DOWN THE INCLINE PART AND APPLIED THE GAS PEDAL THE RPMS WOULD GO UP BUT THE CAR DIDNT MOVE. I TRIED TO GO FORWARD AND COULD NOT. I COULD PHYSICALLY SHIFT THE CAR INTO GEAR BUT IT WOULD NOT MOVE, EVEN IF I FLOOORED THE GAS PEDAL IT JUST REVVED THE ENGINE. I HAD TO THEN CALL A TOW TRUCK AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALERSHIP. THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM THEREFORE THERE WAS NO REPAIR MADE NOR DID THEY TRY TO FIGURE IT OUT BC THEY SAID IT RAN TO SPECIFICATIONS. I AM CONCERNED WITH BEING STRANDED TRAFFIC AND NOT BEING ABLE TO MOVE AND BEING A SITTING DUCK JUST WAITING TO GET HIT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THANKFULLY NON HAVE PUT ME IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION, BUT I DO NOT DEEM THIS VEHICLE RELIABLE, I DO NOT DEEM FORD CAPABLE OF FIXING IT AND I AM EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED HAVING A CAR THAT CANT BE FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds