Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2011 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 239 complaints filed for the 2011 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Equipment (2) Power Train (15) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (38) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

7/9/2019 - POWELL, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SEAT BELT BECAME TANGLED AROUND HIS CHILD'S LEG. AS THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RELEASE THE BUCKLE, THE SEAT BELT JAMMED. THE CONTACT WAS FORCED TO CUT THE SEAT BELT IN ORDER TO RELEASE THE CHILD FROM THE RESTRAINT. THE CHILD CRIED PROFUSELY, BUT WAS NOT INJURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

WHEELS

6/13/2019 - WAIGERAM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SENSOR (TPMS) ILLUMINATED AND WOULD NOT TURN OFF. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE TIRE PRESSURE AND STATED THAT EACH TIRE HAD AIR AND WERE NOT FLAT OR LOW. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,311.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/6/2019 - PEMBROKE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BALL JOINT WAS LOOSE AND CAUSED THE TIRE TO SEPARATE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/20/2019 - FRANKLIN, TN
ON 4/5/19, MY WIFE+S HONDA PILOT EX EXPERIENCED SEVERE ENGINE PROBLEMS ON THE ROAD IN FAIRVIEW TN RESULTING IN AN INABILITY TO ACCELERATE, HESITATION WHEN THE GAS PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, AND A FLASHING +CHECK ENGINE+ LIGHT. THESE SYMPTOMS WERE IDENTICAL TO AN ISSUE SHE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE IN 2017 THAT NECESSITATED A TOW TO DARRELL WALTRIP HONDA IN FRANKLIN TN FOR REPAIR, AND SIMILAR TO LESS SEVERE EPISODES OF HESITANT ACCELERATION BOTH SHE AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED WITH THE VEHICLE SINCE AT LEAST 2016. GRASSLAND CAR CARE CENTER IN FRANKLIN TN DIAGNOSED THE SPARK PLUGS WERE OIL FOULED CAUSING A MISFIRE. ENGINE CODES P0301, P0302, P0303, P0304, AND P0300 RESULTED FROM THE INCIDENT. WE HAVE SINCE LEARNED THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH THIS MODEL OF HONDA AND THAT THE VCM-2 CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT RESULTED IN A WARRANTY EXTENSION OF EIGHT YEARS FROM PURCHASE DATE. WE HAVE AN OPEN CASE WITH HONDA OF AMERICA (CASE MANAGER: ZOE; CASE #09478660), BUT ARE BEING TOLD THAT OUR VEHICLE IS OUTSIDE THE EXTENDED EIGHT YEAR WARRANTY BY FOUR MONTHS. WE CONTEND THIS VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS CONSISTENT WITH THE WARRANTIED ISSUE WELL BEFORE THE 4/5/19 FAILURE, TO INCLUDE THE SAME TYPE OF EPISODE SUPPOSEDLY REPAIRED BY DARRELL WALTRIP HONDA ON 5/1/17. THE SUDDEN INABILITY TO ACCELERATE ON A ROADWAY IS A CONSIDERABLE SAFETY CONCERN. WE ARE QUESTIONING WHY THIS WASN'T A SAFETY RECALL ITEM. WE HAVE ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION AVAILABLE IF NEEDED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2019 - SAN JOSE, CA
PASSENGER AIR BAG IS ALWAYS LIT ( OFF) WHENEVER THE IGNITION IS TURNED ON..ALARM IS ALARM ON ( LIGHT) WHETHER ITS STATIONARY OR CAR IS IN MOTION..EVENTHOUGH THERE IS A PASSENGER SITTING, PASSENGER AIRBAG IS ALWAYS LIGHTING ( FLASHING)...HONDA DEALER SAYS THAT I HAVE TO PAY TO RESET OR DIAGNOSTIC IS DONE..

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/22/2019 - WHITESBORO, NY
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V661000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (CARBONE HONDA OF YORKVILLE, 5009 COMMERCIAL DR, YORKVILLE, NY 13495, (315) 790-6106) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/2/2019 - SAN JOSE, CA
MY HONDA ACCORD 2011, PASSENGER AIR BAG HAS BLINKING OFF, I HAVE A PASSENGER SIT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WITH THE HOPE TO RESET THE ALARM AND NO AVAIL...THERE IS ALSO A RED INDICATION OF THE ALARM ( RED LIGHT) THAT WNEN I TRIED TO START THE IGNITION, THE LIGHT WONT DISAPPEAR..HONDA DEALER SAYS, I HAVE TO PAY DIAGNOSTIC ETC TO RESET THE ALARM..THE ALARM COMES ON WHETHER ITS STATIONARY OR IN MOTION.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2019 - KETTERING, OH
HEARD A WHIRRING NOISE AND SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT OF THE RIGHT SIDE OF MY ENGINE, MY RACK N PINION POWER STEERING WAS LEAKING AND MY CAR ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY MECHANIC AND HE STATED THERE IS A CRACK IN THE RACK N PINION WHICH IS LEAKING FLUID, ESTIMATED 600-1200 DOLLARS TO FIX IT. I LOOKED ONLINE AND THERE WAS A PREVIOUS RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM ON ANOTHER YEAR BUT NOT THE 2011.

View Details

ENGINE

2/23/2019 - NORTH VERNON, IN
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED (55 MPH) AND THEN SLOWING DOWN FOR TRAFFIC, THE VARIABLE TIMING CONTROL ACTUATOR APPARENTLY STUCK. THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON FOLLOWED BY WHITE SMOKE FROM THE TAILPIPES. THERE WAS AN IMMEDIATE LACK OF POWER TRYING TO ACCELERATE AGAIN. THIS CONTINUED UNTIL THE CAR WAS AT A SERVICE SHOP. THE MECHANIC INDICATED THE ENGINE WENT FROM 6 CYLINDERS TO 3 CYLINDERS (ECO MODE) BUT NEVER RECOVERED. THE TROUBLE CODE WAS: P3400 MEANS THAT THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM) HAS DETECTED AN ABNORMALITY IN THE CYLINDER DEACTIVATION SYSTEM FOR ENGINE BANK ONE. BANK 1 DENOTES THE BANK OF THE ENGINE WHICH CONTAINS THE NUMBER ONE CYLINDER. THIS PROBLEMS APPEARS TO BE THE SAME AS PREVIOUSLY REPORTED BY OTHER CONSUMERS. HONDA NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE AND RECALL THE VTC ACTUATORS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2019 - MISHAWAKA, IN
ENGINE MAKES LOUD RATTLE FOR APPROXIMATELY 2-3 SECONDS ON COLD STARTUP. RESEARCH INDICATES THAT PROBLEM COULD LEAD TO CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. HONDA HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS AS A PROBLEM, HOWEVER IS NOT OFFERING TO FIX IT. OUT OF POCKET COST IS AROUND $800, AND CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS WHEN IT IS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds