Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 70 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (8) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (16) Structure (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/15/2014 - DERRY, NH
I PERCHED IT ON SEPT. 9. 214 I REPORTED THIS IN SEPT 214 PROBLEM THE BACK WHEELS SOUND LIE I HAD A FLAT TIRE AS SOON AS YOU PICK UP SPEED OF 50 TO 65 MILES HOUR THEY REPLACE TRIES AND STILL NO CHANGE I HAD THE TECH. TAKE A ROAD TRIP TO HERE IT AND HOW LOUD IT WAS ON HIGHWAY. THEN THEY THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF LINIMENT SO THE DID THAT, AND STILL NO CHANGE, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS ARE WOBBLY AND IT WILL CONTINUE.SO. I WAS TOLD TO GIVE IT 2 WEEKS OR SO, BUT WHEN YOU GO ON HIGHWAY ITS LOUDER THEN VIBRATES AND WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL IT ALSO AND THE TECH. ALSO FELT IT, AND AT THIS POINT THEY STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK DO TO A FRIEND THAT RECOMMEND IT AND KNOW THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.AS MINE AND THEY ALSO COMPLAINED I BOUGHT THIS DO TO, I AM DISABLED AND NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE AND NOT BIG PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT YET MADE A PAYMENT ITS NOT DUE UNTIL OCT. 29,214

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/15/2014 - DERRY, NH
I PERCHED IT ON SEPT. 9. 214 I REPORTED THIS IN SEPT 214 PROBLEM THE BACK WHEELS SOUND LIE I HAD A FLAT TIRE AS SOON AS YOU PICK UP SPEED OF 50 TO 65 MILES HOUR THEY REPLACE TRIES AND STILL NO CHANGE I HAD THE TECH. TAKE A ROAD TRIP TO HERE IT AND HOW LOUD IT WAS ON HIGHWAY. THEN THEY THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF LINIMENT SO THE DID THAT, AND STILL NO CHANGE, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS ARE WOBBLY AND IT WILL CONTINUE.SO. I WAS TOLD TO GIVE IT 2 WEEKS OR SO, BUT WHEN YOU GO ON HIGHWAY ITS LOUDER THEN VIBRATES AND WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL IT ALSO AND THE TECH. ALSO FELT IT, AND AT THIS POINT THEY STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK DO TO A FRIEND THAT RECOMMEND IT AND KNOW THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.AS MINE AND THEY ALSO COMPLAINED I BOUGHT THIS DO TO, I AM DISABLED AND NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE AND NOT BIG PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT YET MADE A PAYMENT ITS NOT DUE UNTIL OCT. 29,214

View Details

WHEELS

10/15/2014 - DERRY, NH
I PERCHED IT ON SEPT. 9. 214 I REPORTED THIS IN SEPT 214 PROBLEM THE BACK WHEELS SOUND LIE I HAD A FLAT TIRE AS SOON AS YOU PICK UP SPEED OF 50 TO 65 MILES HOUR THEY REPLACE TRIES AND STILL NO CHANGE I HAD THE TECH. TAKE A ROAD TRIP TO HERE IT AND HOW LOUD IT WAS ON HIGHWAY. THEN THEY THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF LINIMENT SO THE DID THAT, AND STILL NO CHANGE, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS ARE WOBBLY AND IT WILL CONTINUE.SO. I WAS TOLD TO GIVE IT 2 WEEKS OR SO, BUT WHEN YOU GO ON HIGHWAY ITS LOUDER THEN VIBRATES AND WHEN YOU HIT THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL IT ALSO AND THE TECH. ALSO FELT IT, AND AT THIS POINT THEY STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK DO TO A FRIEND THAT RECOMMEND IT AND KNOW THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.AS MINE AND THEY ALSO COMPLAINED I BOUGHT THIS DO TO, I AM DISABLED AND NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE AND NOT BIG PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT YET MADE A PAYMENT ITS NOT DUE UNTIL OCT. 29,214

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/1/2014 - HUBBARD , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STATIONARY POSITION, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO MOVE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2014 - DAYTON, OH
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 1 HOUR EAST OF ASHEVILLE, NC IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. AT APPROXIMATELY 230 PM ON 8/20/2014 THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THE CAR SHUDDERED AND LOST ALL ACCELERATION. COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER MANAGED TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED CAR OFF. RESTARTED AND DROVE TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN ASHEVILLE, NC ABOUT 30 MILES AWAY. THEY PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND STATED PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED. CONTINUED DRIVING ON HIGHWAY (TRAVELING BACK TO DAYTON OH), AND WITHIN 1 HOUR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AT ABOUT 700 PM, A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER AND NO ACCELERATION, AND HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTART THE ENGINE, ETC. AGAIN, INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS SITUATION ON A BUSY INTERSTATE. THE SAME EXACT SITUATION HAPPENED 2 MORE TIMES ON OUR WAY HOME ON THE INTERSTATE, UNTIL WE COULD FINALLY TAKE IT TO OUR DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE CONTROL ASSEMBLY AND DID ANOTHER SOFTWARE UPDATE. THIS WAS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS, COULD EASILY HAVE RESULTED IN A VERY BAD ACCIDENT AND MERITS INVESTIGATION. PLEASE CONTACT ME IF I CAN PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2014 - DAYTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED HE NOTICED PIECES OF METAL NEAR THE VEHICLE ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROTORS HAD CORRODED AND FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,512. UPDATED 9/12/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
ON JUNE 11, 2014 MY 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ( 55051 MILES) STARTED MAKING A WHINING SOUND WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY DISCOVERED THAT THE PULLEY IDLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. FORTUNATELY MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. ON JUNE 27TH, 2014 MY HYUNDAI SANTA FE (55376 MILES), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR DID NOT WANT TO ACCELERATE. ABOVE 20 MPH. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DISCOVERED THE 55376 PO638 LOST COMMUNICATION AND HAD TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE SENSOR. COMING HOME TODAY JULY 17TH 2014, THE CAR WAS A LITTLE HESITANT WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP AND TRYING TO STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL. HAS ANYONE REPORTED THESE PROBLEMS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2014 - HIGHLAND, CA
THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE WE BOUGHT IT. IT HAPPENS AT LEAST 2-3 TIMES A MONTH. IT IS MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN STOPPED ON A SLIGHT INCLINE, BUT HAS OCCURRED ON A LEVEL STREET. THE CAR DOESN'T RESPOND WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS PRESSED. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, THE CAR LUNGES FORWARD. IF ON AN INCLINE, THE CAR ROLLS BACKWARDS. I HAVE TO KEEP MY LEFT FOOT ON THE BRAKE NOW AND PRESS THE ACCELERATOR WITH THE RIGHT FOOT. THE DEALER HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2014 - SUCCASUNNA, NJ
ENGINE SHUTS OFF AFTER TAKING FOOT OFF GAS, SLOWING DOWN AND THEN APPLYING GAS TO ACCELERATE. AFTER A SHORT PAUSE APROXIMATELY 15 TO 20 SECONDS, THE ENGINE WILL RESTART AND RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARS. THE ENGINE HAS THREE TIMES IN THE LAST 14 MONTHS. CAR WAS BROUGH TO DEALER AFTER FIRST TIME AND NO CODES OR ISSUES COULD BE FOUND. I WILL BRING CAR BACK TO DEALER NOW AFTER THE THIRD TIME. THIS IS LAST STALL RESULTED IN A CLOSE CALL IN HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2014 - SANTA MONICA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds