Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 105 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (35) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/24/2017 - ROCHESTER, MN
THE CAR STALLS COMPLETELY FOR SECONDS WHILE DOING SLOW SPEED TURNS, PARTICULARLY DURING RIGHT HAND TURNS. AND WHEN THE GAS PADDLE IS PRESSED IT REGAINS SPEED. THERE A A LOT MORE PEOPLE WHO HAS SIMILAR PROBLEM. THERE IS A COMPLETE THREAD AT THE WEBSITE LINK PROVIDED BELOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM PEOPLE HAVE FACED. HTTPS://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T39009_DS785550

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/22/2017 - MILLERSPORT, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND NOTICED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRING FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/20/2017 - MOBILE, AL
WHEN L WAS IN TRAFFIC WAITING FOR THE TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE THE CAR CUT OFF AND I IMMEDIATELY PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART THE CAR IT HAS DONE THIS FOR ABOUT 10 TIMES IT IS BACK IN THE SHOP THE DEALER CANNOT RESOLVES THE PROBLEM! THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY!!

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/25/2017 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE TIRE PRESSURE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT HEARD NOISE FROM THE FRONT TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRINGS PUNCTURED THE FRONT TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - BALDWIN, NY
DIRECTIONAL WAS BLINKING FAST AND WAS NOT ON THEN SMOKE CAME FROM STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/29/2016 - SOUTH BEND, IN
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STALLS, LOSES POWER, WILL NOT ACCELERATE, GIVES NO WARNING. THIS COULD CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT AND MULTIPLE DEATHS. THIS HAPPENS SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING ALONG CITY STREETS AND HIGHWAYS AND WHILE TURNING.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2016 - SOUTH BEND, IN
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STALLS, LOSES POWER, WILL NOT ACCELERATE, GIVES NO WARNING. THIS COULD CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT AND MULTIPLE DEATHS. THIS HAPPENS SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING ALONG CITY STREETS AND HIGHWAYS AND WHILE TURNING.

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2016 - SOUTH BEND, IN
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE STALLS, LOSES POWER, WILL NOT ACCELERATE, GIVES NO WARNING. THIS COULD CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT AND MULTIPLE DEATHS. THIS HAPPENS SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING ALONG CITY STREETS AND HIGHWAYS AND WHILE TURNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2016 - OPP, AL
CENTER INFORMATION CONSOLE (RADIO/NAVIGATION) CONSOLE SCREEN IS BLACK IN COLD WEATHER UNTIL IT THAWS OUT. MAKE RADIO AND NAVIGATION UNUSABLE UNTIL IT THAWS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IF SOMEONE IS TRAVELLING AND THE CAR GETS COLD THEY'LL BE UNABLE TO NAVIGATE. IMAGINE GETTING UP FOR AN EMERGENCY TO GO SOMEWHERE AND THE SCREEN IS BLACK PREVENTING YOU FROM TRAVELLING OR YOU'RE TRAVELLING AND STOP FOR A REST AND THE VEHICLE GETS COLD PREVENTING YOU FROM CONTINUING UNTIL IT THAWS OUT. IF SOMEONE HAD AN EMERGENCY AND NEEDED TO FIND A HOSPITAL OR IN CASE OF DIABETIC NEEDED TO FIND SOMEWHERE TO EAT AND THEY COULDN'T BECAUSE THE NAVIGATION SCREEN WAS FROZEN.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
I PURCHASED THIS CAR BRAND NEW, AND I HAVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS FROM THE BEGINNING. I WAS TOLD AT FIRST THAT IT WAS A DEFECTIVE AUTOMATIC STARTER WHICH WAS REMOVED, AND WAS NEVER REPLACED FOR FEAR OF EXPERIENCING SUCH AN EPISODE. I WOULD BE DRIVING, AND SUDDENLY THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF. I WOULD HAVE PEOPLE HONKING, AND CURSING AT ME FOR ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. SEVERAL TIMES I HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID HITTING PEDESTRIANS WHEN THE CAR STALLS. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP WITH NO AVAIL, BECAUSE THE PROBLEM DOES NOT HAPPEN WHEN THEY HAVE THE CAR. I ONLY DRIVE THE CAR FOR SHORT DISTANCES FOR FEAR OF GETTING STUCK ON THE HIGHWAY ETC. RECENTLY MY SON BORROWED MY CAR AND WAS ALMOST KILLED ON THE ROAD WHEN THE CAR STALLED WITH HIM. LUCKILY, HE WAS ABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. NEEDLESS TO SAY, HE REFUSED TO DRIVE THE CAR BACK HOME FOR FEAR OF LOSING HIS LIFE. I DO NOT WANT TO SELL THIS CAR KNOWING THE DANGERS IT CAN CAUSE, AND I KNOW THAT THE DEALER WILL NOT GIVE ME MUCH FOR IT AT THIS POINT. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED ESPECIALLY IF THERE WERE ANY ACCIDENTS OR DEATHS INVOLVING SANTE FES. THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE WOULD VARY FROM 10 TO 35 MILES IN THE CITY, SOMETIMES IT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT, OR WHILE TURNING A CORNER. IT HAS BEEN THE CASE IN ANY WEATHER WITH MY LAST INCIDENT OCCURRING ON 10/11/16.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds