Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 98 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (34) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/10/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
I PURCHASED THIS CAR BRAND NEW, AND I HAVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS FROM THE BEGINNING. I WAS TOLD AT FIRST THAT IT WAS A DEFECTIVE AUTOMATIC STARTER WHICH WAS REMOVED, AND WAS NEVER REPLACED FOR FEAR OF EXPERIENCING SUCH AN EPISODE. I WOULD BE DRIVING, AND SUDDENLY THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF. I WOULD HAVE PEOPLE HONKING, AND CURSING AT ME FOR ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. SEVERAL TIMES I HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID HITTING PEDESTRIANS WHEN THE CAR STALLS. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP WITH NO AVAIL, BECAUSE THE PROBLEM DOES NOT HAPPEN WHEN THEY HAVE THE CAR. I ONLY DRIVE THE CAR FOR SHORT DISTANCES FOR FEAR OF GETTING STUCK ON THE HIGHWAY ETC. RECENTLY MY SON BORROWED MY CAR AND WAS ALMOST KILLED ON THE ROAD WHEN THE CAR STALLED WITH HIM. LUCKILY, HE WAS ABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. NEEDLESS TO SAY, HE REFUSED TO DRIVE THE CAR BACK HOME FOR FEAR OF LOSING HIS LIFE. I DO NOT WANT TO SELL THIS CAR KNOWING THE DANGERS IT CAN CAUSE, AND I KNOW THAT THE DEALER WILL NOT GIVE ME MUCH FOR IT AT THIS POINT. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED ESPECIALLY IF THERE WERE ANY ACCIDENTS OR DEATHS INVOLVING SANTE FES. THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE WOULD VARY FROM 10 TO 35 MILES IN THE CITY, SOMETIMES IT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT, OR WHILE TURNING A CORNER. IT HAS BEEN THE CASE IN ANY WEATHER WITH MY LAST INCIDENT OCCURRING ON 10/11/16.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: CALIPER

11/10/2016 - CENTERTON, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE FLUID WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR BRAKE CALIPERS FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V613000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2016 - DESERT HILLS, AZ
MULTIPLE TIMES THE ENGINE JUST SHUTS OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT IDLE AND AT SPEED. FULL LOSS OF POWER, ALL LIGHTS ON DASH ILLUMINATE, LOUD BANG WHEN AT SPEED. IF YOU PUT IN NEUTRAL AND RE-ENGAGE IGNITION CAR WILL START. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. LAST WAS 9/6

View Details

STEERING

6/6/2016 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I NOTICED MY STEERING WHEEL HAD PLAY IN IT AND WHEN BRAKING WOULD SEVERLY SHAKE.. TOOK TO HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY STATED I NEEDED A COUPLER AND INTERMEDIATE SHAFT AND BOLTS TO BE REPLACED. MY VEHICLE HAS ROUGHLY 77,000 MILES.I HAD TO PAY FOR REPAIR SINCE THIS WAS A SAFETY ISSUE. NOW THERE IS A RECAL REGARDING POWER STEERING. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR OVER 2 YEARS WITH NOTHING BUT SAFTEY CONCERNS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2015 - HAWTHORNE, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A RATE OF LESS THAN 5-10 MPG IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON THE 105 WEST FREEWAY. THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING ABILITIES AND ALL POWER IN THE VEHICLE WITHOUT NOTIFICATION LIGHTS OR ANY OTHER STRANGE PECULIARITIES. BOTH THE CHECK ENGINE AND OIL LIGHTS WENT ON. I MANAGED TO PULL OVER WITH WHATEVER RESIDUAL POWER REMAINING AS NOT TO IMPEDE TRAFFIC BUT IT WAS A TERRIFYING STRUGGLE. THE GEARS WERE ALSO LOCKED AND UNABLE TO SHIFT. I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTARTED THE CAR. ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD CLEARED AND THERE ARE NO DIAGNOSTICS ON THE COMPUTER THAT REFLECT THIS PROBLEM. IT IS UNKNOWN WHAT IS CAUSING THE ISSUE. MONTHS PRIOR (6 MONTHS) I WAS DRIVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED (APPROX 30 MPH) ON THE SAME FREEWAY, EARLY MORNING, AND THE SAME PROBLEM ALSO HAPPENED. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED ME TO BE REAR ENDED BADLY OR WORSE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/18/2015 - HAWTHORNE, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A RATE OF LESS THAN 5-10 MPG IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON THE 105 WEST FREEWAY. THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING ABILITIES AND ALL POWER IN THE VEHICLE WITHOUT NOTIFICATION LIGHTS OR ANY OTHER STRANGE PECULIARITIES. BOTH THE CHECK ENGINE AND OIL LIGHTS WENT ON. I MANAGED TO PULL OVER WITH WHATEVER RESIDUAL POWER REMAINING AS NOT TO IMPEDE TRAFFIC BUT IT WAS A TERRIFYING STRUGGLE. THE GEARS WERE ALSO LOCKED AND UNABLE TO SHIFT. I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTARTED THE CAR. ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD CLEARED AND THERE ARE NO DIAGNOSTICS ON THE COMPUTER THAT REFLECT THIS PROBLEM. IT IS UNKNOWN WHAT IS CAUSING THE ISSUE. MONTHS PRIOR (6 MONTHS) I WAS DRIVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED (APPROX 30 MPH) ON THE SAME FREEWAY, EARLY MORNING, AND THE SAME PROBLEM ALSO HAPPENED. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED ME TO BE REAR ENDED BADLY OR WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2015 - HAWTHORNE, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A RATE OF LESS THAN 5-10 MPG IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON THE 105 WEST FREEWAY. THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING ABILITIES AND ALL POWER IN THE VEHICLE WITHOUT NOTIFICATION LIGHTS OR ANY OTHER STRANGE PECULIARITIES. BOTH THE CHECK ENGINE AND OIL LIGHTS WENT ON. I MANAGED TO PULL OVER WITH WHATEVER RESIDUAL POWER REMAINING AS NOT TO IMPEDE TRAFFIC BUT IT WAS A TERRIFYING STRUGGLE. THE GEARS WERE ALSO LOCKED AND UNABLE TO SHIFT. I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND RESTARTED THE CAR. ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD CLEARED AND THERE ARE NO DIAGNOSTICS ON THE COMPUTER THAT REFLECT THIS PROBLEM. IT IS UNKNOWN WHAT IS CAUSING THE ISSUE. MONTHS PRIOR (6 MONTHS) I WAS DRIVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED (APPROX 30 MPH) ON THE SAME FREEWAY, EARLY MORNING, AND THE SAME PROBLEM ALSO HAPPENED. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED ME TO BE REAR ENDED BADLY OR WORSE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/9/2015 - STRAWBERRY PLAINS, TN
IN OCTOBER OF THIS YEAR, MY 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND THE MALFUNCTION LIGHT CAME ON WHILE I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY GOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MPH. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE RIGHT AND GET TO SAFETY, BUT IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I AND MANY OTHERS COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. THE SAME THING HAPPENED IN 2012 AND THEY SUPPOSEDLY FIXED IT. SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT, THERE HAVE BEEN A COUPLE OF RECALLS DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE. I THINK IT DEALS WITH THE THROTTLE BODY AND THE IDLE SYSTEM. OBVIOUSLY IT IS STILL A VERY DANGEROUS CAR TO DRIVE. I BELIEVE YOU NEED TO INVESTIGATE THIS BEFORE SOMEONE DIES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/9/2015 - STRAWBERRY PLAINS, TN
IN OCTOBER OF THIS YEAR, MY 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND THE MALFUNCTION LIGHT CAME ON WHILE I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY GOING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MPH. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE RIGHT AND GET TO SAFETY, BUT IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I AND MANY OTHERS COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. THE SAME THING HAPPENED IN 2012 AND THEY SUPPOSEDLY FIXED IT. SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT, THERE HAVE BEEN A COUPLE OF RECALLS DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE. I THINK IT DEALS WITH THE THROTTLE BODY AND THE IDLE SYSTEM. OBVIOUSLY IT IS STILL A VERY DANGEROUS CAR TO DRIVE. I BELIEVE YOU NEED TO INVESTIGATE THIS BEFORE SOMEONE DIES.

View Details

ENGINE

10/22/2015 - WELLSVILLE, OH
WHILE DRIVING THE MOTOR LOCKED UP WITH NO WARNING. NO OIL LEFT IN THE PAN BUT NO LIGHTS CAME ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds