Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 67 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (16) Structure (4) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2014 - DAYTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED HE NOTICED PIECES OF METAL NEAR THE VEHICLE ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROTORS HAD CORRODED AND FRACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,512.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
ON JUNE 11, 2014 MY 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ( 55051 MILES) STARTED MAKING A WHINING SOUND WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY DISCOVERED THAT THE PULLEY IDLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. FORTUNATELY MY CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. ON JUNE 27TH, 2014 MY HYUNDAI SANTA FE (55376 MILES), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR DID NOT WANT TO ACCELERATE. ABOVE 20 MPH. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DISCOVERED THE 55376 PO638 LOST COMMUNICATION AND HAD TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE SENSOR. COMING HOME TODAY JULY 17TH 2014, THE CAR WAS A LITTLE HESITANT WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP AND TRYING TO STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL. HAS ANYONE REPORTED THESE PROBLEMS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2014 - HIGHLAND, CA
THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE WE BOUGHT IT. IT HAPPENS AT LEAST 2-3 TIMES A MONTH. IT IS MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN STOPPED ON A SLIGHT INCLINE, BUT HAS OCCURRED ON A LEVEL STREET. THE CAR DOESN'T RESPOND WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS PRESSED. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, THE CAR LUNGES FORWARD. IF ON AN INCLINE, THE CAR ROLLS BACKWARDS. I HAVE TO KEEP MY LEFT FOOT ON THE BRAKE NOW AND PRESS THE ACCELERATOR WITH THE RIGHT FOOT. THE DEALER HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2014 - SUCCASUNNA, NJ
ENGINE SHUTS OFF AFTER TAKING FOOT OFF GAS, SLOWING DOWN AND THEN APPLYING GAS TO ACCELERATE. AFTER A SHORT PAUSE APROXIMATELY 15 TO 20 SECONDS, THE ENGINE WILL RESTART AND RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARS. THE ENGINE HAS THREE TIMES IN THE LAST 14 MONTHS. CAR WAS BROUGH TO DEALER AFTER FIRST TIME AND NO CODES OR ISSUES COULD BE FOUND. I WILL BRING CAR BACK TO DEALER NOW AFTER THE THIRD TIME. THIS IS LAST STALL RESULTED IN A CLOSE CALL IN HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2014 - SANTA MONICA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2014 - DYER, IN
WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE DIED SUDDENLY, I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND IS VERY DANGEROUS FOR A REAR END COLLISION, I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS BUT THEY ARE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND SAY THAT THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOTIFIED HYUNDAI OF THE PROBLEM AND THEY JUST TELL ME TO TAKE IT TO A DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE ON THE INTERNET AND THERE SEEMS TO BE MANY HYUNDAI OWNERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME YEAR AND MAKE OF VEHICLE. THERE DOESN'T SEEM TO BE A FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM THAT HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF. PLEASE HELP! THANK YOU

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/23/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
THIS CAR HESITATES AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK. I AM GETTING AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. WHILE SITTING AT A LIGHT AND I START TO GO I TURN THE WHEEL AND THE CAR HESITATES AND LUNGES FORWARD AND I HAVE TO STEP ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW IT DOWN. MY FOOT IS NOT STUCK ON THE PEDAL AND THE CARPET IS NOT DOING ANYTHING. I WENT ON LINE AND LOOKED UP MY CAR SANTA FE HESITATIONS. I MUST OF READ TWENTY ARTICLES ON THE SAME PROBLEM I HAVE. NOT ONLY THIS YEAR BUT A LOT OF OTHER YEARS OF THE SANTA FE. THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS LIKE ONCE A WEEK.. IT'S SCARY.OTHER PEOPLE HAVE WENT TO HYUNDAI AND WHERE TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG. PLEASE GET ME AN ANSWER. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2014 - JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL
CAR IS STOPPED AND IN THE GARAGE BUT THE FAN WILL NOT SHUT OFF WITHOUT DISCONNECTING THE BATTERY.CAR WAS NOT OVERHEATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/21/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND CAR DIED. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE SLOWED DOWN TO GO AROUND A CURVE, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. HE COULD BARELY GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROADWAY, BECAUSE THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES. TECH SUPPORT, RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE THROTTLE BODY, SINCE THE DEALER COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. HOWEVER, ON MARCH 1, 2014, WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 10 MPH, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WERE NOT OPERABLE. HE LET THE VEHICLE SIT FOR SEVERAL MINUTES BEFORE RE-STARTING IT. THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER, AND AFTER A THOROUGH EXAMINATION, THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND CAR DIED. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE SLOWED DOWN TO GO AROUND A CURVE, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. HE COULD BARELY GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROADWAY, BECAUSE THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES. TECH SUPPORT, RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE THROTTLE BODY, SINCE THE DEALER COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. HOWEVER, ON MARCH 1, 2014, WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 10 MPH, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WERE NOT OPERABLE. HE LET THE VEHICLE SIT FOR SEVERAL MINUTES BEFORE RE-STARTING IT. THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER, AND AFTER A THOROUGH EXAMINATION, THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds