Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 113 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (39) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2017 - MEQUON, WI
WHILE ON A LONG TRIP ABOUT 100 MILES INTO THE DRIVE WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL SET TO 78 MPH THE STEERING COLUMNS (FROM THE TURN SIGNAL SIDE) STARTS SMOKING AND IT SMELLED LIKE ELECTRICAL WIRING BURNING. I IMMEDIATELY SLOWED DOWN BUT DID NOT STOP IN FEAR OF BEING STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE. AT THE SAME TIME THE TURN SIGNAL STARTED MAKING THIS VERY FAST CLICKING NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE TURN SIGNAL WAS STUCK ON, BUT IT WAS NOT ON. NO IDIOT LIGHTS EVER CAME ON TO INDICATE A PROBLEM. AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES THE SMOKE FINALLY STOPPED THE THE SMELL WENT AWAY. HOWEVER THE FAST TURN SIGNAL CLICKING NOISE CONTINUED OFF AND ON FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE TRIP. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE NEXT 250 MILES HOME WITH THE CLICKING NOISE. I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND ON AGAIN WHEN I STOPPED FOR GAS AND IT STARTED JUST FINE. I PLAN TO TAKE THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP ON MONDAY MORNING TO HAVE THE ISSUE DIAGNOSED. JUST AFTER THIS HAPPENED I CALLED MY DEALERSHIP FOR ADVISE ON WHAT TO DO AND HE THOUGHT THERE MIGHT BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. MY BIGGEST FEAR WAS THAT THE INSIDE OF THE CAR WAS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE AND I WAS GOING TO BE STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF NO WHERE WITH NO HELP. NOT TO MENTION THE FEAR ON ME CATCHING ON FIRE AS THE STEERING COLUMN IN RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY BODY. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. PLEASE RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/4/2017 - LAGO VISTA, TX
WHILE DRIVING,I SIGNALED A TURN AND SMOKE CAME FROM BEHIND MY STEERING WHEEL.MY BLINKER WORKED BUT WAS MAKING A FAST CLICKING SOUND AS IF THE BLINKER WAS GOING OUT.THE NOISE WILL NOT STOP AND THE SMOKE IS INTERMITTENT.CONTACTED HYUNDAI BECAUSE IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM PER THE INTERNET BUT THEY ACTED LIKE THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
LED SCREEN ON A/C AND MILEAGE BACK LIGHTING FLICKERING ON AND OFF. VERY DISTURBING AT NIGHT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN ON ANY CAR 2011. LCD BLUE SCREENS ARE SHORTING OUT. MID PANEL RADIO DOWN TO A/C CONTROLS AND ODOMETER SCREEN. DEALER WANTS 2,000 REPLACE. THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN ON A 7 YEAR OLD CAR AND MECHANIC SAYS HE SEES IT ALL THE TIME ON MANY MODELS OF HYUNDAI.

View Details

ENGINE

6/25/2017 - ODENTON, MD
SEVERAL MONTHS AGO THE FAN IN ENGINE CONTINUED RUNNING AFTER VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. RAN BATTERY DOWN. WE COULD HEAR THE FAN RUNNING BUT HAD NO IDEA HOW TO STOP IT. NO PROBLEMS UNTIL YESTERDAY WHEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED. ONLY DIFFERENCE WAS WE COULD NOT HEAR THE FAN RUNNING UNTIL WE POPPED THE HOOD TO JUMP START THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2017 - KALAMAZOO, MI
ON SATURDAY 6/3/17 I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM A BABY SHOWER WHEN I HEARD A METAL SOUNDING NOISE TOWARDS THE FRONT OF MY CAR AFTER HITTING A BUMP. THE NOISE ONLY HAPPENED ONCE AND WHEN I PULLED IN THE DRIVEWAY AND TURNED MY CAR OFF IT SOUNDED LIKE METAL PARTS FALLING OUT UNDER MY CAR BUT WHEN I CRAWLED UNDER MY CAR NOTHING LOOKED ABNORMAL, SO I GOT BACK IN THE CAR TO START IT AND IT WOULD NOT START. MONDAY 6/5/17 I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO KELLEY RADIATOR TO BE LOOKED AT, AFTER THEM CHECKING EVERYTHING THEY TOLD ME MY ENGINE IS SEIZED. THE OWNER OF KELLEY RADIATOR CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHY MY ENGINE SEIZED, HE HAS CHECKED EVERYTHING SUCH AS FLUIDS TO MECHANICAL PARTS AND EVERYTHING CHECKS OUT GOOD. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND ENGINE FAILURE IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH CERTAIN HYUNDAI CARS. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI BUT NO RESPONSE . I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS ,FAITHFULLY GETTING OIL CHANGES AND I STILL OWE $12,366.67 ON THIS CAR. I CANNOT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE WITHOUT APPLYING FOR A LOAN AND REALLY CANNOT AFFORD A LAWYER SO ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE ME WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2017 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
ENGINE STALLED TWICE DURING 35MPH DRIVE HOME THIS EVE, MAKING STEERING AWAY FROM ONCOMING TRAFFIC EXTREMELY CHALLENGING AND TERRIFYING. OCCURRED ON #3 AND #4 OF 6 RIGHT TURNS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2017 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
ENGINE STALLED TWICE DURING 35MPH DRIVE HOME THIS EVE, MAKING STEERING AWAY FROM ONCOMING TRAFFIC EXTREMELY CHALLENGING AND TERRIFYING. OCCURRED ON #3 AND #4 OF 6 RIGHT TURNS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2017 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BE AVAILABLE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2017 - BRANSON, MO
MY MULTI STALK SWITCH IS SMOKING AND CONSTANTLY CLICKING AS IF MY BLINKER IS ON. IT ALSO CAUSES MY SIGNAL LIGHTS TO COME ON AND STICK. THIS IS HAPPENING THE WHOLE TIME THE CAR IS RUNNING. IT FIRST STARTED SMOKING YESTERDAY WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, AND IT ALSO SMOKES WHEN THE CAR IS PARKED. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A HUGE HAZARD BECAUSE I AM AFRAID IT WILL START A FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2017 - BRANSON, MO
MY MULTI STALK SWITCH IS SMOKING AND CONSTANTLY CLICKING AS IF MY BLINKER IS ON. IT ALSO CAUSES MY SIGNAL LIGHTS TO COME ON AND STICK. THIS IS HAPPENING THE WHOLE TIME THE CAR IS RUNNING. IT FIRST STARTED SMOKING YESTERDAY WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, AND IT ALSO SMOKES WHEN THE CAR IS PARKED. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A HUGE HAZARD BECAUSE I AM AFRAID IT WILL START A FIRE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds