Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 83 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (6) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (30) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/2/2015 - FORD CITY, PA
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE GLS (ALL WHEEL DRIVE) 2.4L ENGINE. MILEAGE = 61,339 TRAVELING AT APPROX. 40 MPH ON A SECONDARY PAVED ROAD THE EVENING OF 3/31/2015, HEARD A LOUD BANG AND GRINDING NOISE ORIGINATING FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF VEHICLE. IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. FOUND THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE NEAR THE BOTTOM OF THE SPRING, WHICH ALLOWED THE SPRING TO FALL DOWN AROUND THE STRUT AND COME INTO CONTACT WITH THE INSIDE AREA OF THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT TIRE. SPRING HAD TO BE REPLACED AT OUT OF POCKET COST BECAUSE VEHICLE IS JUST OVER THE 60,000 MILE WARRANTY LIMIT. CALLED HYUNDAI AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NO ACTIVE RECALL FOR BROKEN COIL SPRINGS ON THE 2011 SANTA FE MODELS. HYUNDAI WOULD NOT COVER THE PARTS/LABOR TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM EVEN AS A GOOD FAITH EFFORT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS 1,339 MILES PAST THE WARRANTY LIMIT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/9/2015 - CLINTON, CT
2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE VIBRATION ISSUES. THE DEALER DETERMINED THE REAR COUPLER WAS BROKEN. IT WAS REPLACED. HOWEVER, THE VIBRATION CONTINUED. THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER, WHERE THEY FOUND THE FRONT AXLE WAS BROKEN AND IT WAS REPLACED. THE VIBRATION CONTINUED. THE DEALER BELIEVED THE CENTER DRIVE TRAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2015 - MANALAPAN, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY IN THE VEHICLE DIED MULTIPLE TIMES AFTER REPLACING IT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE STARTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/27/2015 - PORT NECHES, TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THERE WERE NOT ANY OTHER CARS NEAR ME. MY SUNROOF LITERALLY EXPLODED! IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT WENT OFF. THE GLASS SEEMED TO HAVE DISAPPEARED INTO THIN AIR! I POSTED ON FACEBOOK HOW CRAZY THIS IS AND I STARTED RECEIVING INFORMATION FROM FRIENDS HOW THIS IS COMMON WITH HYUNDAIS. THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT EVEN CONSIDER THAT IT MAY BE A DEFECT, DESPITE ME FINDING SEVERAL SANTA FE OWNERS THAT HAVE HAD THEIR SUNROOFS REPLACED BECAUSE OF THIS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/12/2015 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
THIS IS NOT ABOUT AN INCIDENT. THE CAR HAS VERY WEEK HEAD LIGHTS, I USE MY HIGH BEAM AT ALL TIME. NEVER GOT ANY SIGNAL FROM ON COMING CAR THAT MY HIGH BEAM ARE ON, AND IT'S BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 2 YEARS. I CHANGES THE BULBS AND NO CHANGE. I WENT TO 2 DEALERSHIPS, ONE IN DE AND ONE IN MD , AND THE ANSWER I GOT WAS THAT ALL HYUNDAI HAS PROBLEM WITH WEAK LIGHTS. I CONTACTED HYUNDAI AND GOT A STUPID ANSWER "THE DEALER KNOWS EVERYTHING, WE DON'T HAVE ANY INFORMATION TO GIVE YOU" (MY CASE # WAS 7661319). I CAN'T SEE WHEN I DRIVE, THE HEADLIGHTS ARE 55W AND THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT IF I'LL USE STRONGER WATT IT MAY MELT THE WIRES AND WILL COST ME A OF OF MONEY TO FIX. I WONDER IF I AM THE ONLY DRIVER WHO HAS THIS PROBLEM AND IF THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO TO FIX IT. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME

View Details

STEERING

2/11/2015 - ICKESBURG, PA
WHILE OPERATING VEHICLE AT NORMAL SPEED ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD, THERE WAS ANOTHER VEHICLE CLOSER TO THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD IN OPPOSING TRAFFIC ON A TWO LANE ROAD. AS I SWERVED A BIT TO THE RIGHT IN AN EFFORT TO GIVE THE OPPOSING VEHICLE MORE ROOM, I WENT TOO FAR TO THE BRIM OF THE ROAD. AS I TRIED TO CORRECT IT, I LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE STEERING OF THE VEHICLE, CAUSING ME TO DRIVE STRAIGHT ACROSS THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD AND INTO A TREE. THE VEHICLE WENT HEAD ONTO INTO THE TREE, BOUNCED OFF, AND SLID BACKWARDS DOWN INTO A DRAINAGE CULVERT. THERE WAS MELTING SNOW ON THE BRIM OF THE ROAD, BUT THE ROAD ITSELF HAD NO WEATHER RELATED PROBLEMS THAT WOULD CAUSE ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION OF THE VEHICLE, IT WAS NOTED THAT THE STEERING WAS LOCKED, TURNED TO THE LEFT AT 10:00 POSITION, AND BOTH STEER TIRES WERE POINTED STRAIGHT AHEAD. THE STEER TIRES HAD LESS THAN 1,000 ON THEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/30/2015 - BROOKLYN, NY
WHIRRING SOUND FROM DRIVE SHAFT/TRANSMISSION NOTE THER ARE SIMILAR REPORTS ON INTERNET.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2015 - GILBERT, AZ
I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY REVVED VERY QUICKLY AND LURCHED FORWARD TOWARDS THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND THE CAR STOPPED. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS ENOUGH ROOM BETWEEN MY CAR AND THE ONE IN FRONT OF ME THAT I DIDN'T HIT IT. WHEN I RESTARTED IT, IT WORKED FINE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/6/2015 - PANAMA CITY, FL
I GOT IN MAKE VEHICLE TO GO TO THE STORE AND MY SEAT BELT WOULD NOT FASTEN I TRIED EVERYTHING AFTER AN HOUR I GAVE UP

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/28/2014 - DERRY, NH
I BOUGHT THIS 211 HANUDAI SANTE FE I HAVE A NOISE COMING FROM THE BACK REAR I HAVE CALLED AND BROUGHT THIS BACK 5 X AND KEPT BEING TOLD ITS WIND SO I CALLED CORP. AND FIELD A COMPLAINT AND GOT NO WHERE A GUY SHOWED UP AND READ THE REPORT HE CLAMED HE WAS FROM CORP. AND THEN WE TOOK IT OUT AND HE STARTED TO TALK TO ME AND ASKED I ANSWER AT 30 MILES AND UP , AND HE SAID AGAIN ITS THE WIND AND IN SUMMER WITH THE WINDOWS DOWN IT WILL GO AWAY. SO I HIT MY BUTTON OPENED ALL WINDOWS AND IT WAS EVEN LOUDER AND THEN HE SAID THAT THE 208 AND 209 DUE THIS AND ITS THE WIND I SAID THIS IS A 211 NOT A 208 OR 209 AND THAT'S WHEN HE SAID GET IT BACK TO THE DEALERS AUTO FAIR AND HE SAID HIS FINEL DISSUASION WAS FINIAL I SAID NO WAY I ALSO TOLD HIM I HEARD TWO OTHER IN WAITING AREA THAT THEY HAD SAME PROBLEM AND WHEN THE MECHANIC SAID AND REPLACE THE REAR AXLE ON 2 VECH. THEN HE WAS FIRED FOR DOING THIS. THE GUY FROM CORP.?? JUST WALKED AWAY AND THE WAITING LOBBY WAS FULL AND HE HAD NO FURTHER COMMENT AND SAID HIS DISSUASION WAS FINIAL .... ALSO WHEN I BOUGHT THIS VECH. I BE LEAVE IT WAS SOLD TO ME UNDER FALSE PRETENSES BECAUSE IT HAD 2 WRONG SETS OF TIRES ON IT AS WELL

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds