Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 680 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (61) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (109) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Power Train (59) Steering (305) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (6) Structure (26) Visibility (12)
Engine (33) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (35) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (19) Tires (20) Wheels (14)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/22/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
VERY LOAD CLICKING SOUND WHEN MOVING STEERING WHEEL RIGHT OR LEFT. SEE VIDEO HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=M0LTCKLJVJ4 I KNOW THEY HAD A RECALL ON THE STEERING AND SUSPENSION. IT WAS RECALL SERVICED BUT THIS HAS JUST GOTTEN WORSE. THE SOUND IS PROGRESSIVELY LOUDER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2014 - MATTHEWS, NC
PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, I PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE AND IT FELT LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL AS I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE VEHICLE DID NOT MOVE. I TRIED PUTTING IT IN DRIVE AND BACK TO REVERSE BUT NOTHING HAPPENED. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTED. THE CAR WENT INTO REVERSE THIS TIME BUT WHEN I PUT THE GEAR IN DRIVE THE VEHICLE BANGED INTO GEAR AN JOLTED AHEAD. THE VEHICLE FELT LIKE IT WASN'T SHIFTING UP TO THE LIGHT ABOUT 1/4 MILE AWAY. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN THE VEHICLE FELT LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL AGAIN AND WHILE I WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND THEN TO DRIVE. IT BANGED INTO DRIVE AND JOLTED AHEAD AGAIN. THE SAME SCENARIO HAPPENED AGAIN HAPPENED THE NEXT DAY AS I WAS COMING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2014 - ROUND LAKE, IL
INCIDENT DETAILS: ON FRIDAY, JUNE 27TH, AROUND 7:15 A.M., I WAS IN MY CAR WITH MY 18 MONTH OLD SON GETTING READY TO LEAVE MY GARAGE. I PUT MY CAR IN REVERSE; HOWEVER, I NOTICED THE GEAR READOUT ON THE DASHBOARD WAS NON-FUNCTIONAL. I LOOKED DOWN AT THE GEAR SHIFT AND THE INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ALSO NON-FUNCTIONAL. I DECIDED I SHOULD RUN INTO THE HOUSE AND GET MY HUSBAND TO HAVE HIM LOOK AT THE CAR. I PUT THE CAR BACK INTO PARK, TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BREAK, AND TURNED TO TELL MY SON I WOULD BE RIGHT BACK. I OPENED THE DOOR AND STARTED STEP OUT OF THE CAR. I FELT THE CAR JERK VIOLENTLY AND THEN IT STARTED TO ROLL BACKWARDS. I WAS KNOCKED OFF MY FEET AND DRAGGED DOWN MY DRIVEWAY UNTIL MY CAR HIT MY NEIGHBORÆS TREE (APPROX.. 70Æ FROM WHERE THE CAR STARTED INSIDE THE GARAGE), WHERE IT STOPPED. THE EVENT CAUGHT THE ATTENTION OF MY NEIGHBOR WHO RAN OVER TO MY HOUSE TO ALERT MY HUSBAND. HE RAN OUT TO THE CAR, WHICH WAS RESTED AGAINST THE TREE. HE ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE CAR IN ôPARKö, HOWEVER THE GEAR SELECTOR WAS IN ITS ABSOLUTE FORWARD POSITION. HE THEN PULLED THE GEAR SELECTOR BACK INTO THE DRIVE POSITION (GEAR INDICATORS STILL NON-FUNCTIONAL) AND THE CAR MADE AN AUDIBLE ôSNAPö AND LURCHED FORWARD. MY HUSBAND DROVE THE CAR APPROX. 20Æ WHERE HE PARKED IT. MY HUSBAND, MADE A PHONE CALL TO THE GURNEE, IL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP, THEY ADVISED HIM TO CALL THE HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER (1-800-633-5151). HE WAS CONNECTED WITH A CASE MANAGER BY THE NAME OF MERRIETA. SHE TOOK NOTES OF THE INCIDENT AND ADVISED HIM TO HAVE THE CAR SENT TO THE NEAREST HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP FOR AN INVESTIGATION. THE CAR WAS PICKED UP BY TOW TRUCK JUNE 27TH AROUND 11AM AND DELIVERED TO THE GURNEE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/15/2014 - ROUND LAKE, IL
INCIDENT DETAILS: ON FRIDAY, JUNE 27TH, AROUND 7:15 A.M., I WAS IN MY CAR WITH MY 18 MONTH OLD SON GETTING READY TO LEAVE MY GARAGE. I PUT MY CAR IN REVERSE; HOWEVER, I NOTICED THE GEAR READOUT ON THE DASHBOARD WAS NON-FUNCTIONAL. I LOOKED DOWN AT THE GEAR SHIFT AND THE INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ALSO NON-FUNCTIONAL. I DECIDED I SHOULD RUN INTO THE HOUSE AND GET MY HUSBAND TO HAVE HIM LOOK AT THE CAR. I PUT THE CAR BACK INTO PARK, TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BREAK, AND TURNED TO TELL MY SON I WOULD BE RIGHT BACK. I OPENED THE DOOR AND STARTED STEP OUT OF THE CAR. I FELT THE CAR JERK VIOLENTLY AND THEN IT STARTED TO ROLL BACKWARDS. I WAS KNOCKED OFF MY FEET AND DRAGGED DOWN MY DRIVEWAY UNTIL MY CAR HIT MY NEIGHBORÆS TREE (APPROX.. 70Æ FROM WHERE THE CAR STARTED INSIDE THE GARAGE), WHERE IT STOPPED. THE EVENT CAUGHT THE ATTENTION OF MY NEIGHBOR WHO RAN OVER TO MY HOUSE TO ALERT MY HUSBAND. HE RAN OUT TO THE CAR, WHICH WAS RESTED AGAINST THE TREE. HE ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE CAR IN ôPARKö, HOWEVER THE GEAR SELECTOR WAS IN ITS ABSOLUTE FORWARD POSITION. HE THEN PULLED THE GEAR SELECTOR BACK INTO THE DRIVE POSITION (GEAR INDICATORS STILL NON-FUNCTIONAL) AND THE CAR MADE AN AUDIBLE ôSNAPö AND LURCHED FORWARD. MY HUSBAND DROVE THE CAR APPROX. 20Æ WHERE HE PARKED IT. MY HUSBAND, MADE A PHONE CALL TO THE GURNEE, IL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP, THEY ADVISED HIM TO CALL THE HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER (1-800-633-5151). HE WAS CONNECTED WITH A CASE MANAGER BY THE NAME OF MERRIETA. SHE TOOK NOTES OF THE INCIDENT AND ADVISED HIM TO HAVE THE CAR SENT TO THE NEAREST HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP FOR AN INVESTIGATION. THE CAR WAS PICKED UP BY TOW TRUCK JUNE 27TH AROUND 11AM AND DELIVERED TO THE GURNEE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
I AM STILL NOTICING ISSUES WITH STEERING I HEAR KNOCKING IN STEERING WHEEL WHEN TURNING AND SOMETIMES IT SHAKES AS IF IT IS LOOSE. I HAVE TAKEN VEHICLE TO HAVE IT FIXED PER RECALL, BUT THERE STILL APPEARS TO BE ISSUES

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/12/2014 - BRINX, NY
WHILE DRIVING AROUND 10 MPH ON THE EXPRESSWAY WITH TRAFFIC ALL THE LIGHTS ON DASH BOARD LIT UP AND THE CAR JUST TURNED OFF. I WAS ABLE TO SAFETY PULL CAR OVER TO THE RIGHT AND THEN A STRONG ODOR OF FIRE ENTERED THE VEHICLE. THEN SMOKE STARTED COMING FROM THE HOOD. NO FLAMES JUST SMOKE. WHAT'S EXTREMLY DISTURBING IS I JUST GOT AND OIL CHANGE FROM THE DEALERSHIP 3 DAYS PRIOR, I REQUESTED A CHECK OF THE ENGINE BECAUSE THE CAR SHUT OFF 3 TIMES ONE WEEK PRIOR TO INCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP STATED THEY CHECK THE ENGINE AND TEST DROVE VEHICLE AND CAR WAS OK TO DRIVE. THIS CAR HAS HAD ISSUES FROM THE VERY FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASING. AND WHAT MAKES ME VERY UPSET AT THE TIME OF THIS ALMOST CATASTROPHIC INCIDENT IS MY WIFE AND 10 MONTH OLD CHILD WERE IN THE CAR DURING THIS INCIDENT. THIS CAR IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED. AND IT'S UNBELIEVABLE TO ME HOW THESE ARE STILL ON THE ROAD. RECALLING ONLY SEEMS TO PUT A BAND AID ON THE PROBLEM. WHAT'S NEEDED IS FULL CASH REFUNDS TO ALL OWNERS OF 2011 SONATAS. I BELIEVE THE 2011 SONATA MUST HOLD THE RECORD IN A VEHICLES WITH MOST PROBLEMS EVER RECORDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/8/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHEN I PUT CAR IN DRIVE AND START TO DRIVE OFF IT COMES COMPLETELY OUT OF GEAR, I THEN HAVE TO POWER OFF CAR AND THEN RESTART AND IT MAY WORK OR I MAY HAVE SAME ISSUE A FEW TIMES BEFORE IT GOES IN GEAR. THIS HAS CAUSE MY CAR TO STALL, JERK WHEN IT DOES GO IN GEAR, STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN DRIVING, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. SEPARATE ISSUE IS THE FRONT BUMPER IS POORLY MADE IF YOU BARELY TAP ANYTHING WHEN PARKING THE CLAMPS BREAK AND BUMPER STARTS TO COME APART.

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHEN I PUT CAR IN DRIVE AND START TO DRIVE OFF IT COMES COMPLETELY OUT OF GEAR, I THEN HAVE TO POWER OFF CAR AND THEN RESTART AND IT MAY WORK OR I MAY HAVE SAME ISSUE A FEW TIMES BEFORE IT GOES IN GEAR. THIS HAS CAUSE MY CAR TO STALL, JERK WHEN IT DOES GO IN GEAR, STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN DRIVING, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. SEPARATE ISSUE IS THE FRONT BUMPER IS POORLY MADE IF YOU BARELY TAP ANYTHING WHEN PARKING THE CLAMPS BREAK AND BUMPER STARTS TO COME APART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/8/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHEN I PUT CAR IN DRIVE AND START TO DRIVE OFF IT COMES COMPLETELY OUT OF GEAR, I THEN HAVE TO POWER OFF CAR AND THEN RESTART AND IT MAY WORK OR I MAY HAVE SAME ISSUE A FEW TIMES BEFORE IT GOES IN GEAR. THIS HAS CAUSE MY CAR TO STALL, JERK WHEN IT DOES GO IN GEAR, STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN DRIVING, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. SEPARATE ISSUE IS THE FRONT BUMPER IS POORLY MADE IF YOU BARELY TAP ANYTHING WHEN PARKING THE CLAMPS BREAK AND BUMPER STARTS TO COME APART.

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE STEERING COLUMN SHOOK AND MADE A RATTLING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,300 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 15,900.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds