Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 721 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (62) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (114) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (66) Steering (318) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (7) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (37) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (37) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (21) Tires (22) Wheels (14)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - TAMPA, FL
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE IN APRIL 2012. CAR HAS BEEN SERVICED ONLY BY BRANDON HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER. LAST SERVICE WAS DONE ON 7/25/2014. ON AUGUST 31ST MY CAR CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. CAR WAS TOWED TO BRANDON HYUNDAI. ON SEPT 5, I RECEIVED A CALL FROM SERVICE DEPT SAYING DIAGNOSIS FOUND THE ENGINE WAS LOCKED UP. THEY COULDN'T TELL ME WHY BECAUSE IT HAD OIL AND NO LEAKS. IT WOULD HAVE TO BROKEN DOWN TO FIND OUT WHY ENGINE LOCKED UP WHICH WOULD COST ME $500-$600. ALSO, A USED ENGINE WOULD COST ME $6200. ON 9/15/14, I CALLED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 12:27PM AND SPOKE TO ESPERANZE. I EXPLAINED TO HER MY SITUATION. SHE ADVISED ME TO CALL BACK WITH ID# AND SPEAK TO A CASE MANAGER. AT 12:29PM, I CALLED BACK AND SPOKE TO CASE MGR MARIATTA. SHE STATED SHE COULD DO NOTHING FOR ME AND REFERRED ME BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE DIAGNOSIS DONE. I EXPLAINED TO HER THAT I DIDN'T HAVE $600 TO PAY FOR DIAGNOSIS. CASE#6878995. SHE STATED THAT MAYBE DEALERSHIP COULD HELP ME WITH SOME ARRANGEMENTS SINCE WARRANTY RECENTLY EXPIRED AND TOLD ME TO HAVE A GOOD DAY. I AM CURRENTLY DRIVING A LOANER CAR. I NEED HYUNDAI TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND PLEASE GET MY CAR REPAIRED OR ANOTHER CAR. THANKS SO MUCH!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/16/2014 - ST.AUGUSTINE , FL
THURSDAY THE 11TH WAS GOING INTO TOWN FOR SOME ITEMS. CAME TO A STOP LIGHT WITH A CAR A HEAD OF ME WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN WE WENT. THE CAR THAT WAS IN FRONT OF ME MADE A RIGHT HAND TURN I WAS GOING ABOUT 30 TO 35 MPH WHEN I WENT TO APPLIED THE BRAKES THE WOULD NOT GOO DOWN FELT LIKE A BRICK WAS UNDER MY FOOT. FRIDAY THE 12TH WAS LEAVING WORK GOT STOPPED BY A RED LIGHT A AGAIN WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I TOOK OFF I WAS GOING ABOUT 35 MPH WHEN I LOOKED TO MY RIGHT THEIR WAS A CAR COMING OFF THE OFF RAMP AND NOT STOPPING WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES AGAIN THEY WOULD NOT GO DOWN FELT THE SAME WAY LIKE THERE WAS A BRICK UNDER MY FOOT. HAD TO SLAM INTO THE CURB TO AVOID BEING HIT ON THE SIDE. TOOK CAR TO THE DEALER SHIP THEY SAY THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WANTS ME TO PAY FOR NEW RIM AND TIRE FOR 320 DOLLARS. I HAVE READ A BUNCH OF THE SAME THINGS HAPPING TO OTHER PEOPLE AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOME ONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - MILLBROOK, AL
MY 2011 SONATA WAS PURCHASE BRAND NEW. AFTER JUST HAVING THE VEHICLE 2 1/2 YEARS I NOTICED THAT I HAD ALREADY ACCUMULATED 48000 MILES. I HAVE NOT WORKED SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE AND I HAVE NOT TRAVELED IN THE VEHICLE. THE FURTHEST ONE WAY THAT I MAY GO IS 10 MILES TO SHOP. I ONLY DRIVE THE CAR 15 DAYS EACH MONTH. I HAVE NOW HAD MY CAR 3 YRS AND 4 MONTHS AND I ALREADY HAVE 69,000 MILES ON IT. WHICH MEAN'S THAT BETWEEN NOVEMBER 2013 AND TODAY, I HAVE PUT 21000 MILES ON THE CAR. THAT IS FAR FROM RIGHT. I HAVE ONLY PUT ABOUT 5000 - 8000 ON THE VEHICLE, IF THAT MANY. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD NEED A CAMERA TO PROVE ANY MECHANICAL ERROR SINCE THEY DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING. THERE IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THIS IS AFFECTING MY WARRANTY SINCE I HAVE GONE OVER 60000 AND A LOT OF MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WILL NO LONGER BE COVERED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/11/2014 - STILLWATER, OK
I WAS REAR ENDED WHILE AT A STOP BY A LARGE TRUCK THAT WAS GOING 40 MPH. MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY, WHICH DIDN'T SURPRISE ME, BUT MY SEATBELT DID NOT PROPERLY ENGAGE. WHEN I WAS REARENDED, I WENT FORWARD AND MY HEAD HIT SOMETHING, POSSIBLE THE STEERING WHEEL. THE SEATBELT FINALLY ENGAGED AND STRAPPED ME BACK TO THE SEAT. DUE TO THE FAILURE OF ENGAGEMENT, AND MY HEAD HITTING AN OBJECT, I SUSTAINED A SUBSTANTIAL CONCUSSION DUE TO THE HEAD TRAUMA AND HAVE POST CONCUSSION SYNDROME WHICH IS GREATLY EFFECTING ME AT HOME AND AT WORK.

View Details

STEERING

9/11/2014 - BRUNSWICK, GA
THERE IS A LOUD CLICKING SOUND WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED TO THE LEFT OR THE RIGHT. IT STARTED SUBTLE (I.E. NOT AS LOUD ). THEN WITHIN A FEW WEEKS, THE CLICKING NOISE IS VERY NOTICEABLE. IT IS LOUD, AND IT OCCURS EVERY TIME IT IS DRIVEN. IT OCCURS IN PARK, AT LOW MPH - AT HIGHER MPH, AS OF NOW, IT SEEMS TO BE THE MORE SUBTLE SOUND. AFTER RESEARCHING, MY 2011 MODEL IS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL THAT OVER 100,000 2011 SONATAS ARE IN. HYUNDAI NEEDS TO INCLUDE ALL 2011 SONATA'S IN THE RECALL. IT IS UNFAIR CAR MANUFACTURERS DO NOT INCLUDE ALL MODELS, WHEN NOW IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE (OFFICIAL COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN MADE BY PEOPLE LIKE MYSELF). RESEARCH SHOWS PEOPLE ARE REPAIRING AT THEIR OWN EXPENSE - AND ALSO MANY CARS ARE IN TERRIBLE ACCIDENTS DUE TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

9/11/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE STEERING WHEEL RATTLES ANYTIME IT GOES OVER ANY BUMS, DIPS, CENTER DIVIDERS OR ANY INPERFECTION ON THE ROAD. THERE IS A RECALL TILL SEPTEMBER 10TH, 2011...MY VEHICLE IS LESS THAN 20 DAYS FROM THE RECALL DATE AND HAS THE SAME IDENTICAL ISSUE. THE RECALL IS STILL AFFECTING OTHER VEHICLES CLOSE TO THE SEPTEMBER 10 THE, 2010. I TRULY NEED HELP FOR THIS, I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITH NO CHILD SUPPORT FROM THE FATHER, I CAN'T AFFORD TO FIX THIS ISSUE. I AM UNDER STRESS EVERYDAY FOR THE SAFETY OF MY VEHICLE. PLEASE, I AM BEGGING FOR HELP AND WOULD APPRECIATE IF YOU CAN INVESTIGATE HOW CLOSE IN TIME THE MAKE OF MY VEHICLE IS TO THE RECALL DATE. THERE MUST BE A CONNECTION TO THIS RECALL, CONSIDERING THE FACT THAT MY VEHICLE WAS PRODUCED WITHIN 20 DAYS OF THIS RECALL PERTAINING TO REPLACEMENT OF THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN; UNIVERSAL JOINT SHAFT. PLEASE HELP ME, I AM PLEADING FOR HELP. I APPRECIATE YOU TAKING TIME TO READ THIS AND WOULD TRULY APPRECIATE ALL YOU ASSISTANCE FOR THE SAFETY OF MY CHILD AND MYSELF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/10/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I RECEIVED A FACEBOOK MESSAGE FROM HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICA THAT MY 2011 SONATA HAD BEEN RECALLED UNDER HYUNDAI CAMPAIGN 123/NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V-434 FOR A SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE CABLE CONNECTING THE TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH TO THE SHIFT LEVER PIN. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH RED MCCOMBS HYUNDAI NORTHWEST IN SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS. WHEN I BROUGHT MY SONATA IN FOR SERVICE, THE SERVICE ADVISER, GONZALO RAMIREZ, INFORMED ME THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON MY VEHICLE. LATER, IN THE MAIL, I RECEIVED AN IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL, NHTSA CAMPAIGN 14V-434. SO NOW I AM UNSURE WHETHER OR NOT MY HYUNDAI SONATA IS UNDER RECALL. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
CAR STEERING MAKE CLICKING/CLUNKING NOISE WHEN STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED FROM LEFT TO RIGHT WITH AN 5-10 DEGREE PLAY IN THE STEERING WHEEL. NOISE APPEARS TO BECOMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN JOINTS. THERE IS ALSO A LOUD CLICKING NOISE LIKE THERE IS A LOOSE PART IN THE STEERING COLUMN WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS. THIS NOISE EMITS DIRECTLY FROM THE THE STEERING WHEEL HOUSING.

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2014 - SAINT GABRIEL, LA
STEERING COLUMN BEGAN MAKING NOISE WHEN TURNING EITHER DIRECTION. THERE WAS LOOSENESS IN THE COLUMN THAT PROGRESSIVELY BACAME MORE PRONOUNCED OVER TIME. ON SEPTEMBER 4, 2014,I CONTACTED THE LOCAL HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER BY PHONE AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN WAS NOT COVERED IN THE PUBLISHED STEERING COLUMN-RELATED RECALL FOR THE 2011 SONATA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/3/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
MY WIFE AND I CAME OUT OF THE STORE, UNLOCKED THE CAR, PUT THE KEY IN AND NOTHING HAPPENED. NO LIGHTS, NO NOISE, NO CRANK, ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE TO TURNING THE KEY. I THEN REMOVED THE KEY, PUT IT BACK IN, AND AGAIN NOTHING. I THEN PULLED KEYS, GOT OUT, LOCKED THE AND THEN UNLOCKED THE CAR AND THEN SUCCESSFULLY GOT THE CAR ON. TODAY, SEPT. 3, MY WIFE HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN, BUT IT TOOK MUCH LONGER UNTIL SHE COULD GET IT TO GO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds