Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 772 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (65) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (114) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (68) Steering (339) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (7) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (55) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (39) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (23) Tires (22) Wheels (16)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/14/2014 - HONOLULU , HI
TELL US WHAT HAPPENED: BOUGHT VEHICLE NEW AND REGULARLY HAD SERVICED BY DEALER. VEHICLE DIED WITHOUT ANY WARNING COMING OFF HIGHWAY AND I HAD TO TURN FLASHERS ON AND PLACE IN PARK TO RESTART. ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING WITH NO WARNING AND NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. HAD TOWED TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD ENGINE HAD NO OIL AND REQUIRES AN ENGINE CHANGE. WHERE DID IT GO? THERE HAS NEVER BEEN ANY SIGNS OF SMOKE, BURNING SMELL OR LEAKS ANYWHERE AND NO WARNING LIGHTS EVER GIVING INDICATION OF A LOW OIL OR LOW OIL PRESSURE INDICATION NOR ANY OTHER ENGINE LIGHT WARNING. NOW DEALER SAYS WE HAVE TO CONVINCE REGIONAL MANAGER THAT THIS WAS NOT NEGLECT ON OUR PART TO HAVE COVERED UNDER THE 100,000 MILE POWER-TRAIN WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - HAMILTON, OH
I AM A LOYAL HYUNDAI CUSTOMER WHO HAS OWNED 4 OF THEIR VEHICLES. I TOOK MY CAR IN TO SUPERIOR HYUNDAI NORTH TO HAVE A COUPLE SAFETY RECALL ITEMS TAKEN CARE OF. I ALSO WOULD HEAR A WIND TYPE SOUND SOMETIMES (WITHIN A WEEK PRIOR TO TAKING IT IN) WHEN I WOULD START DRIVING FROM A STOPPED POSITION. WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPT. THEY TOLD ME THEY HAD BAD NEWS. MY ENGINE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID THERE WAS NO OIL IN IT. I ASKED THEM HOW IT COULD BE EMPTY AS MY CAR HAS NEVER LEAKED, NEVER SMOKED, NEVER SMELLED LIKE OIL BURNING, HAD ONLY APPROX. 48,000 MILES ON IT, AND HAD BEEN SERVICED. THEY HAD TO TAKE SOME OF THE ENGINE APART AND SAID SINCE THEY FOUND NO SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE, IT WAS COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. PROBLEM I HAVE IS THEY ARE REPLACING MY ENGINE WITH A REBUILT ONE. THEY SAID HYUNDAI WON'T APPROVE THEM TO PUT A NEW ENGINE IN IT. I HAVE NO WAY OF FINDING OUT WHAT HAPPENED TO THE REBUILT ENGINE THEY ARE PUTTING IN MY CAR AND THEY CAN'T TELL ME HOW MANY MILES WAS ON IT ORIGINALLY. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS ONE MORE CAR LIKE MINE THERE WITH THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. THEY ALSO TRIED TO TELL ME IT WOULDN'T HURT MY TRADE-IN VALUE. THAT I DIDN'T HAVE TO DISCLOSE THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT. ONE, THAT'S NOT A MORAL AND DECEITFUL PROBLEM THAT I WOULD NEVER DO AND TWO, I BELIEVE IT'S THE LAW THAT I WOULD HAVE TO DISCLOSE IT. I SPOKE TO ONE OF THE SALESMEN ABOUT BUYING THE LOANER CAR I'M DRIVING WITH THE TRADE OF MY CAR AND THE FIRST THING HE TOLD ME WAS THE PROBLEM WITH MY ENGINE WOULD CAUSE THE TRADE-IN VALUE TO BE LESS. HMMM...JUST AS I THOUGHT!! THEY NEED TO EITHER PUT A NEW ENGINE IN MY CAR OR GIVE ME THE TOP VALUE OF MY CAR WITH A GOOD DISCOUNT AND PRICE ON A NEW ONE OR THEY WILL LOSE A VERY LOYAL CUSTOMER!

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2014 - CARSON CITY, NV
WHILE DRIVING IN THE FAST LANE OF A 3 LANE FREEWAY ON A STEEP UPGRADE, THE CAR SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING LOST A HUGE AMOUNT OF ENGINE POWER. THE EFFECT WAS SIMILAR TO NO LONGER PUSHING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THIS CAUSED THE CARS IN BACK OF ME TO SLAM ON THEIR BREAKS AS WELL AS SCARING ME AS I HAD NO IDEA WHAT HAPPENED. THIS HAS OCCURRED TWICE SO FAR. HYUNDAI AMERICA (HA) IS WELL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND FROM WHAT I HAVE DISCOVERED AFTER VIEWING HA FORUMS, THIS PROBLEM IS SPECIFIC TO THE SONATA'S WITH THE 2.0 TURBOCHARGED ENGINES INCLUDING MODEL YEARS 2011 - 2014. NOT ONLY IS THE PROBLEM A RESULT OF A POORLY DESIGNED WASTE GATE CONTROL ROD, IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. INEXPERIENCED DRIVERS AS WELL AS EXPERIENCED DRIVERS ARE GOING TO BE HARMED. HA IS WELL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND HAS DECIDED NOT TO COVER THE REPAIR EXPENSE AFTER 60,000 MILES. APPARENTLY, A FUNCTIONING TURBOCHARGER IS NOT PART OF THE ENGINE! PLEASE INSURE THE HA NOT ONLY FIXES THIS SAFETY HAZARD BUT ALSO REIMBURSES OWNERS FOR PREVIOUSLY CHARGED REPAIR EXPENSE. MY CAR WAS REPAIRED AROUND 56,000 MILES ANDAT 67,000 MILES, THE PROBLEM IS BACK. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/9/2014 - PETERSBURG, VA
THIS VEHICLE HAS A MANUFACTURED DEFECT AND HAS BEEN REJECTED BY A STATE CERTIFIED STATE INSPECTOR. IT WAS FAILED DUE TO THE AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUED TO SHOW ON THE DASH BOARD. THE STATE INSPECTOR INDICATED THAT THIS VEHICLE WOULD NOT PASS INSPECTION UNTIL THE AIR BAG SITUATION HAS BEEN RESOLVED. I AM NOT CONCERNED IF OTHER HYUNDAI VEHICLES ARE RECALLED OR NOT. MY PRIMARY CONCERN AT THIS PRESENT TIME IS MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA LIMITED IS TAKEN CARE OF IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE NATIONAL TRAFFIC AND MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY ACT. I HAVE ASKED HYUNDAI TO REPAIR THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, I WAS TOLD THAT THE WARRANTY HAS RUN OUT ON THIS VEHICLE. I INDICATED THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURED DEFECT AND SHOULD RESOLVED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/4/2014 - BROOKHAVEN, PA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON INTERSTATE 95 , THE CAR ABRUPTLY STALLED OUT DOING 60 MPG , THE FLASHERS WOULD NOT WORK. I SHIFTED IT IN NEUTRAL AND IT STARTED AFTER TWO ATTEMPTS. WE PROCEEDED TO GET OFF THE INTERSTATE ONTO ANOTHER FOUR LANE HIGHWAY. ABOUT A HALF A MILE DOWN THE ROAD, IT STALLED AGAIN. AFTER TWO MORE ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE ENGINE, IT DID RESTART AND EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE. THREE MORE MILES DOWN THE ROAD, THE CAR STALLED OUT AGAIN AND THEN STARTED SMOKING. WE COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR AND THE FLASHERS INITIALLY WOULD NOT WORK AGAIN. AFTER TEN SECONDS, THE FLASHERS STARTED TO WORK AND THEN WE PROCEEDED TO PUSH THE CAR ACROSS THE HIGHWAY INTO A 7-11. THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED UP. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER. AFTER CALLING THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY, I FOUND OUT THAT FOUR CARS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM WERE WAITING TO BE REPAIRED. THE DEALER IS NOW PUTTING A NEW ENGINE IN THE CAR SINCE IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. THE PROBLEM IS THEY ARE PUTTING A NEW ENGINE IN THE CAR WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. THEY HAVE NOT FIXED THE INITIAL PROBLEM. I AM AFRAID THIS SAME EXACT INCIDENT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND I WILL NOT BE AS LUCKY. THEY ARE PUTTING MY LIFE AND MY FAMILIES' LIFE IN JEOPARDY. I WANT THEM TO BUY BACK THE CAR, THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH ONLY 25,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND AN UP-TO-DATE CAR SERVICE RECORD.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2014 - MOON TOWNSHIP, PA
IN THE SPAN 2 MONTHS, THERE WERE 2 OCCASIONS WHERE MY CAR WOULD NOT START. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY AND HAD SOMEONE JUMP ME AND IT STILL WOULDN'T START. HOWEVER, AFTER TRYING SEVERAL TIMES, CAR WOULD FINALLY START. ONE OTHER TIME I PULLED INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT, MY CAR WOULDN'T START. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, IT FINALLY STARTED. THEN ON NOVEMBER 28TH, 2014, MY BOYFRIEND WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND IT JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I HAD IT TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THEY STATED THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. I DID NOT HAVE ANY WARNING OR INDICATION THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG. TODAY I HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND THEY WILL LET ME KNOW THE EXACT PROBLEM AND IF IT IS COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY.

View Details

STEERING

11/30/2014 - PALMDALE, CA
WHEN I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL ALL THE WAY IN (I.E. WHEN PARALLEL PARKING), THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. THE EPS LIGHT COMES ON IN THE DASHBOARD AND THE STEERING WHEEL JUMPS ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE CENTER POSITION. STEERING IS COMPLETELY GONE. WHEN I THEN TURN OFF THE IGNITION AND TURN IT BACK ON, THE STEERING IS WORKING PROPERLY AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - AKRON, OH
ENGINE SEIZED.

View Details

STEERING

11/22/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
AS I WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 40 MPH THE CAR MADE AN ELECTRICAL NOISE AND THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY. I FOUGHT THE SHAKING WHEEL TO PULL THE CAR OVER AND TURNED IT OFF. THE STEERING WHEEL CONTINUED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES WITH THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. IT WAS EXACTLY LIKE THIS VIDEO: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=KZABDAMQAPS I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHO REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN INTERMEDIATE SHAFT AS PART OF A RECALL AND THEY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN WHICH IS OVER $1,500 DOLLARS AS IT WAS "NOT ASSOCIATED" WITH THE RECALL AND WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2014 - CHICOPEE, MA
AS I BEGAN DRIVING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA THAT MORNING I HEARD A RATTLE WHENEVER MY RPM WOULD REACH BETWEEN 2-3K. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT. TODAY 11/20/14I WAS TOLD THAT MY ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. MY CAR WAS PREVIOUSLY IN THE DEALERSHIP LATE SEPTEMBER 2014FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND ALSO DUE TO A SMALL KNOCK/BANG AS I ACCELERATED. THE TECHNICIAN FOUND THE KNOCK TO BE A SUPPORT HITTING AGAINST THE FIREWALL. UPON TIGHTENING SAID SUPPORT THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. THE CAR WAS REPORTIDLY TEAT DRIVEN BY THE TECHNICIAN NUMEROUS TIMES TO CONCLUDE THAT THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED. OIL CHANGE WAS DONE AS USUAL AND MY CAR WAS GIVEN A CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH (ONLY A RECOMMENDATION OF BRAKES GETTING LOW)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds