Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1280 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (91) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (165) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Power Train (92) Steering (560) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (10) Structure (31) Visibility (14)
Engine (259) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (8) Suspension (67) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (46) Tires (25) Wheels (18)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 165
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/6/2016 - MURFREESBORO, TN
HAD BECOME A FREQUENT OCCURRENCE THAT UPON TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL WHETHER AT HIGH, LOW OR EVEN NO SPEED THAT YOU WOULD HEAR A CLICKING/CLUNKING NOISE. THIS WAS ANNOYING, BUT THEN AT HIGH SPEEDS (INTERSTATE DRIVING) WHEN BRAKING THERE BEGAN TO BE AN OCCASIONAL CONSIDERABLE VIBRATING THAT WENT THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL. I ORIGINALLY THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE MY ROTORS CAUSING THE VIBRATING WHEN BRAKING AND THOUGHT THE CLICKING NOISE WAS FROM A WEAR IN MY AXLE ROD WHICH A MECHANIC HAD PREVIOUSLY MENTIONED WOULD CAUSE CLICKING NOISE WHEN TURNING (AND DIDN'T NEED IMMEDIATE CARE). HOWEVER WHEN I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE 132 AND 136 RECALLS THE HYUNDAI SERVICE TECH IMMEDIATELY KNEW IT WAS THE STEERING COUPLER BY TURNING MY WHEEL BECAUSE HE SEES IT SO OFTEN. HE EVEN HAD EXAMPLES PINNED UP ON THEIR BOARD TO EXPLAIN IT. HE EXPLAINED THE SAFETY RISK OF NOT GETTING IT FIXED AS IT COULD CAUSE SHAKING OF THE WHOLE STEERING COLUMN (ALREADY WAS), LOOSENESS IN THE STEERING MAKING IT LESS RESPONSIVE TO TURNS, AND COULD EVEN CAUSE THE STEERING WHEEL NOT TO RESPOND TO A SUDDEN TURN INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. I OF COURSE WENT AHEAD AND HAD IT REPAIRED, SINCE MY 3 KIDS RIDE IN IT EVERY DAY. DURING MY WAIT IN THE LOBBY I GOOGLED THE ISSUE TO SEE IF THE $266 I WAS BEING CHARGED WAS REASONABLE (IT WAS) BUT I FOUND SO MANY POSTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND SOME PEOPLE SEEMED ABLE TO HAVE THE REPAIR COST COVERED EVEN WHEN OUTSIDE OF THEIR WARRANTY, SO I CALLED HYUNDAI ASKING FOR A REFUND OF THE COST. THEY SAID SINCE MY CAR HAD OVER 60,000 MILES THEY COULDN'T HELP ME WITH ANY COMPENSATION. I DO HAVE OVER 100,000 MILES ON MY CAR, BUT CONSIDERING THE WIDESPREAD ISSUE WITH THIS PART AND THE SAFETY CONCERN I BELIEVE HYUNDAI SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. THE MECHANIC HAD REASSURED ME THE REPLACEMENT PART IS IMPROVED, WHICH ALSO SHOWS HYUNDAI KNOWS ITS A PROBLEM. (DATE WILL BE ESTIMATE OF HIGHWAY VIBRATING)

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2016 - GILBERT, AZ
KNOCKING WAS HEARD WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS BEING ROTATED EITHER TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT WHEN STOPPED OR AT SLOW SPEED. BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS IMMEDIATELY INFORMED IT WAS THE STEERING MOTOR FLEXIBLE COUPLING THAT WAS WORN, LOOSE, OR DEFECTIVE. REPAIR WAS PERFORMED AT A COST OF $230.42, $2.42 OF WHICH WAS THE COST OF THE DEFECTIVE PART. THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY DUE TO BEING A 5 MONTHS OVER THE 5 YEAR LIMIT BUT WELL WITHIN THE MILEAGE LIMIT. THE VEHICLE WAS WELL MAINTAINED, BEING BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP EVERY 3000 MILES FOR OIL CHANGES AND WHATEVER ELSE NEEDED TO BE DONE. SINCE THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN WELL KNOWN TO HYUNDAI FOR SEVERAL YEARS, I WAS APPALLED TO SEE THAT HYUNDAI DID NOT REPLACE THAT BUSHING UNDER THE WARRANTEE DURING ONE OF MY VISITS TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR SERVICE, PARTICULARLY SINCE IT COULD HAVE EVENTUALLY RESULTED IN LOSS OF STEERING, AND A POTENTIALLY FATAL ACCIDENT. I WOULD ENCOURAGE THE NHTSA TO HAVE HYUNDAI ISSUE A SAFETY RECALL AT THIS TIME. THE AFFECTED VEHICLES ARE NOW ABOUT 5 YEARS OLD WHICH, FROM THE NUMBER OF RECENT COMPLAINTS I HAVE SEEN ON LINE, APPEARS TO BE LIFE OF THE FLEXIBLE COUPLING. PLEASE DO SOMETHING BEFORE SOME FATALITIES OCCUR.

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2016 - BURMNIGHAND, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT HEARD A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO KEEP THE STEERING WHEEL STEADY IN ONE POSITION. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON COMPLAINT WITH THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE STEERING FAILURE. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2016 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THANKFULLY, MY SITUATION DOESN'T YET INCLUDE ANY TYPE OF ACCIDENT. MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AROUND AUGUST, 2014. I PURCHASED THE CAR USED IN JANUARY OF THAT SAME YEAR FROM A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. IT WAS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD, SO I DIDN'T THINK THE INDICATOR LIGHT WAS ANYTHING SERIOUS, MAYBE JUST A SENSOR. I SERVICED THE CAR ON SEPT. 17, 2014 FOR A DIFFERENT PROBLEM, AND THE TECH NOTED THE AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON. I DECLINED TO DO REPAIRS OR DIAGNOSTICS BECAUSE I HAD JUST PAID SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS THAT DAY. WHEN I SERVICED THE CAR SEPTEMBER, THE FOLLOWING YEAR (SEP 17, 2015) I REQUESTED THEY CHECK THE AIRBAG. THEY KEPT THE CAR OVERNIGHT, UNABLE TO ESTABLISH THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM -- IN FACT THEY HAD TO CONSULT A HYUNDAI EXPERT OUT-OF-HOUSE. EVENTUALLY THEY TOLD ME THE WHOLE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG ASSEMBLY NEEDED REPLACEMENT - $1,100. THE PAPERWORK LISTS "AIRBAG B1102 BAT VOLTAGE LOW, B1346 RESISTANCE TOO HIGH, NEEDS NEW AIR BAG ASSY." MY CONCERN IS THAT A CAR ONLY 3 YEARS OLD NEEDS A NEW AIR BAG. UNTIL I'M ABLE TO AFFORD A NEW ONE, MINE STILL DOESN'T WORK. GIVEN THE OTHER ELECTRICAL ISSUES IN THE CAR, I HAVE TO WONDER IF OTHER HYUNDAI OWNERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS. I HOPE THIS INFORMATION IS HELPFUL, AND PERHAPS PREVENTS SERIOUS INJURY DUE TO FAULTY AIR BAG ASSEMBLY UNITS.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2016 - PEACHTREE CORNERS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN INTERMEDIATE SHAFT UNIVERSAL JOINT HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V426000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
FIRST, THIS IS MY 2ND COMPLAINT I'VE FILED. MY CAR HAS BEEN REPAIRED MANY TIMES FOR RECALLS (ONE IS BEING DONE CURRENTLY FOR THE SECOND TIME) AND OTHER WARRANTY REPAIRS. THIS IS THE LIST SO FAR: IDLER PULLY, TENSIONER ARM AND BELT, STEERING COLUMN (WHICH BROKE WHILE DRIVING AFTER I HAD TO GET 4 NEW TIRES AND 4-WHEEL ALIGNMENT (24000 MILES) THAT THEY SAID I HAD TO GET), PREMATURE STARTER FAILURE, SHORT BLOCK, LEATHER AROUND GEAR SHIFTER WORE HOLE IN IT, AND MY CAR HAS NOW BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPT. SINCE DEC. 17TH BECAUSE THE ENGINE FAILED AGAIN. THEY ORDERED A LONG BLOCK FOR IT BUT HYUNDAI MOTORS AMERICA CANNOT KEEP UP WITH GETTING THE ENGINES MANUFACTURED AND SENT TO ALL THE DEALERSHIPS FAST ENOUGH FOR THE RECALL.I AM NOW THE 12TH CAR DOWN ON THE LIST. I STILL HAVE ANOTHER OUTSTANDING RECALL FOR THE BRAKE STOP PAD, AND I NOTICED RECENTLY THE REARVIEW MIRROR IS FADED IN SPOTS (DARK WORN AREAS). I CONTACTED HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICA PUBLIC RELATIONS HOTLINE. IT TOOK THEM 2 WEEKS TO GET BACK TO ME. THE MAN THAT CALLED ME ASKED FOR INFORMATION FROM ME, HE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEN SENT ME A LETTER STATING THEY WOULD ONLY REIMBURSE ME A PORTION OF MY REPAIRS I HAD TO PAY FOR. IN THE LETTER, ALSO WAS A RELEASE OF LIABILITY FOR ME TO SIGN. THAT'S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN!!!! THE RELEASE WOULD HAVE MADE THEM NOT LIABLE TO PAST OR ANY FUTURE SITUATIONS, INCLUDING DEATH. HOW STUPID DO THEY REALLY THINK WE ARE? THEY'VE HAD WELL BEYOND AN ACCEPTABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO TAKE CARE OF THESE RECALLS. IT'S TIME TO BUY THE VEHICLES BACK AND REBUILD THEIR IMAGE. IF NOT, THERE WILL BE MORE RECALLS OR EVENTS THAT COULD LEAD TO DEATH. HOLDING THEM ACCOUNTABLE IS THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE WAY TO HANDLE THIS.PEOPLE ARE STILL OUT THERE DRIVING UNSAFE VEHICLES!!

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
FIRST, THIS IS MY 2ND COMPLAINT I'VE FILED. MY CAR HAS BEEN REPAIRED MANY TIMES FOR RECALLS (ONE IS BEING DONE CURRENTLY FOR THE SECOND TIME) AND OTHER WARRANTY REPAIRS. THIS IS THE LIST SO FAR: IDLER PULLY, TENSIONER ARM AND BELT, STEERING COLUMN (WHICH BROKE WHILE DRIVING AFTER I HAD TO GET 4 NEW TIRES AND 4-WHEEL ALIGNMENT (24000 MILES) THAT THEY SAID I HAD TO GET), PREMATURE STARTER FAILURE, SHORT BLOCK, LEATHER AROUND GEAR SHIFTER WORE HOLE IN IT, AND MY CAR HAS NOW BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPT. SINCE DEC. 17TH BECAUSE THE ENGINE FAILED AGAIN. THEY ORDERED A LONG BLOCK FOR IT BUT HYUNDAI MOTORS AMERICA CANNOT KEEP UP WITH GETTING THE ENGINES MANUFACTURED AND SENT TO ALL THE DEALERSHIPS FAST ENOUGH FOR THE RECALL.I AM NOW THE 12TH CAR DOWN ON THE LIST. I STILL HAVE ANOTHER OUTSTANDING RECALL FOR THE BRAKE STOP PAD, AND I NOTICED RECENTLY THE REARVIEW MIRROR IS FADED IN SPOTS (DARK WORN AREAS). I CONTACTED HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICA PUBLIC RELATIONS HOTLINE. IT TOOK THEM 2 WEEKS TO GET BACK TO ME. THE MAN THAT CALLED ME ASKED FOR INFORMATION FROM ME, HE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEN SENT ME A LETTER STATING THEY WOULD ONLY REIMBURSE ME A PORTION OF MY REPAIRS I HAD TO PAY FOR. IN THE LETTER, ALSO WAS A RELEASE OF LIABILITY FOR ME TO SIGN. THAT'S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN!!!! THE RELEASE WOULD HAVE MADE THEM NOT LIABLE TO PAST OR ANY FUTURE SITUATIONS, INCLUDING DEATH. HOW STUPID DO THEY REALLY THINK WE ARE? THEY'VE HAD WELL BEYOND AN ACCEPTABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO TAKE CARE OF THESE RECALLS. IT'S TIME TO BUY THE VEHICLES BACK AND REBUILD THEIR IMAGE. IF NOT, THERE WILL BE MORE RECALLS OR EVENTS THAT COULD LEAD TO DEATH. HOLDING THEM ACCOUNTABLE IS THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE WAY TO HANDLE THIS.PEOPLE ARE STILL OUT THERE DRIVING UNSAFE VEHICLES!!

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
FIRST, THIS IS MY 2ND COMPLAINT I'VE FILED. MY CAR HAS BEEN REPAIRED MANY TIMES FOR RECALLS (ONE IS BEING DONE CURRENTLY FOR THE SECOND TIME) AND OTHER WARRANTY REPAIRS. THIS IS THE LIST SO FAR: IDLER PULLY, TENSIONER ARM AND BELT, STEERING COLUMN (WHICH BROKE WHILE DRIVING AFTER I HAD TO GET 4 NEW TIRES AND 4-WHEEL ALIGNMENT (24000 MILES) THAT THEY SAID I HAD TO GET), PREMATURE STARTER FAILURE, SHORT BLOCK, LEATHER AROUND GEAR SHIFTER WORE HOLE IN IT, AND MY CAR HAS NOW BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPT. SINCE DEC. 17TH BECAUSE THE ENGINE FAILED AGAIN. THEY ORDERED A LONG BLOCK FOR IT BUT HYUNDAI MOTORS AMERICA CANNOT KEEP UP WITH GETTING THE ENGINES MANUFACTURED AND SENT TO ALL THE DEALERSHIPS FAST ENOUGH FOR THE RECALL.I AM NOW THE 12TH CAR DOWN ON THE LIST. I STILL HAVE ANOTHER OUTSTANDING RECALL FOR THE BRAKE STOP PAD, AND I NOTICED RECENTLY THE REARVIEW MIRROR IS FADED IN SPOTS (DARK WORN AREAS). I CONTACTED HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICA PUBLIC RELATIONS HOTLINE. IT TOOK THEM 2 WEEKS TO GET BACK TO ME. THE MAN THAT CALLED ME ASKED FOR INFORMATION FROM ME, HE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEN SENT ME A LETTER STATING THEY WOULD ONLY REIMBURSE ME A PORTION OF MY REPAIRS I HAD TO PAY FOR. IN THE LETTER, ALSO WAS A RELEASE OF LIABILITY FOR ME TO SIGN. THAT'S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN!!!! THE RELEASE WOULD HAVE MADE THEM NOT LIABLE TO PAST OR ANY FUTURE SITUATIONS, INCLUDING DEATH. HOW STUPID DO THEY REALLY THINK WE ARE? THEY'VE HAD WELL BEYOND AN ACCEPTABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO TAKE CARE OF THESE RECALLS. IT'S TIME TO BUY THE VEHICLES BACK AND REBUILD THEIR IMAGE. IF NOT, THERE WILL BE MORE RECALLS OR EVENTS THAT COULD LEAD TO DEATH. HOLDING THEM ACCOUNTABLE IS THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE WAY TO HANDLE THIS.PEOPLE ARE STILL OUT THERE DRIVING UNSAFE VEHICLES!!

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2016 - NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND SIDESWIPED A RETAINER WALL. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V568000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) AND 15V759000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2016 - IRVINE, CA
STEERING WHEEL SHAKES VIOLENTLY WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. THE WHEEL FEELS LOOSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 165
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds