Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1756 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (124) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (113) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (52)
Electrical System (202) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (109) Steering (831) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (12) Structure (39) Visibility (14)
Engine (338) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (78) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (61) Tires (25) Wheels (21)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 225
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/2/2016 - WATERFORD, CA
MY ENGINE IS GOING TO FREEZE IT HAS NO POWER AND THE TRANSMISSION IS SLIPPING. IT ONLY HAS 74,000 MILES ON IT. I SPENT ALL OF MY MONEY ON THAT CAR AND IT HAS A SALVAGE TITLE, SO I CANT SELL IT ORTRADE IT IN. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR THE RECALL AND THEY SAID IT DIDNT FALL UNDER THAT RECALL SO I TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT DEALER THEY SAID THE SAME THING!, I WANT MY CAR FIXED!!!!! IM A SINGLE MOTHER AND IM HOMELESS AT THE MOMENT SO I REALLY NEED MY CAR!!!!

View Details

STEERING

12/1/2016 - WEST BABYLON, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED POWER STEERING FAILURE UNTIL A DEALER COMPLETED A RECALL REPAIR FOR THE STEERING. IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE DEALER'S REPAIR, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF AND DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED THAT THE REMEDY CAUSED A FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE A REPAIR SOLUTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/29/2016 - ODENTON, MD
AFTER TAKING MY CAR TO A DEALER FOR OIL CHANGE AND TIRE ROTATION, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND IT'S REMAINED ON FOR SEVERAL WEEKS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/29/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHEN I ACCELERATE ON THE FREEWAY, ENGINE STALLS. GOES FROM 55 TO ZERO AND WHEN I PUMP VIGOURSLY IN THE GAS TO MAKE IT GO FASTER, IT WILL NOT. I ALMOST WAS SLAMMED IN THE REAR FROM OTHER CARS IN THE FREEWAY. PLUS AIR BAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF. PLUS KNOCK KNOCK NOISE HEARD IN THE ENGINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/29/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHEN I ACCELERATE ON THE FREEWAY, ENGINE STALLS. GOES FROM 55 TO ZERO AND WHEN I PUMP VIGOURSLY IN THE GAS TO MAKE IT GO FASTER, IT WILL NOT. I ALMOST WAS SLAMMED IN THE REAR FROM OTHER CARS IN THE FREEWAY. PLUS AIR BAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF. PLUS KNOCK KNOCK NOISE HEARD IN THE ENGINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHEN I ACCELERATE ON THE FREEWAY, ENGINE STALLS. GOES FROM 55 TO ZERO AND WHEN I PUMP VIGOURSLY IN THE GAS TO MAKE IT GO FASTER, IT WILL NOT. I ALMOST WAS SLAMMED IN THE REAR FROM OTHER CARS IN THE FREEWAY. PLUS AIR BAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF. PLUS KNOCK KNOCK NOISE HEARD IN THE ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/27/2016 - COOLIDGE, AZ
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR INTO HYUNDAI 3 TIMES FOR THE SAME REPAIR ON THE STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE CLICKING AND CHUNKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOW MY KEY WILL NOT RELEASE. I WAS TOLD THIS TIME BY HYUNDAI THAT IT WOULD COST ME 150.00 FOR DIAGNOSTIC AND THOUSANDS IF IT ISNT A RELATED ISSUE. THIS CAR IS A LEMON, AND IM STUCK WITH IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/27/2016 - COOLIDGE, AZ
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR INTO HYUNDAI 3 TIMES FOR THE SAME REPAIR ON THE STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE CLICKING AND CHUNKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOW MY KEY WILL NOT RELEASE. I WAS TOLD THIS TIME BY HYUNDAI THAT IT WOULD COST ME 150.00 FOR DIAGNOSTIC AND THOUSANDS IF IT ISNT A RELATED ISSUE. THIS CAR IS A LEMON, AND IM STUCK WITH IT.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2016 - COOLIDGE, AZ
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR INTO HYUNDAI 3 TIMES FOR THE SAME REPAIR ON THE STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE CLICKING AND CHUNKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOW MY KEY WILL NOT RELEASE. I WAS TOLD THIS TIME BY HYUNDAI THAT IT WOULD COST ME 150.00 FOR DIAGNOSTIC AND THOUSANDS IF IT ISNT A RELATED ISSUE. THIS CAR IS A LEMON, AND IM STUCK WITH IT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2016 - MADISON, AL
CAR STALLED AND ENGINE SHUT DOWN WHILE TRYING TO CROSS OVER A 4 LANE HIGHWAY CAME WITHIN 5 FEET OF A MAJOR COLLISION WITH 2 APPROACHING VEHICLES THERE IS ALSO ANOTHER ISSUE WITH THE STEERING COLUMN. HYUNDAI CHOSE TO USE A PLASTIC BUSHING IN THE STEERING COLUMN THAT HAS COMPLETELY FAILED AT 65000 MILES. THE DEALERSHIPS, 2 SEPARATE ONES, STATE THAT THIS IS NOT COVERED BY THE MULTIPLE OTHER RECALLS WITH THE STEERING. THE BUSHING IS HARD PLASTIC, ABOUT THE SIZE OF A NICKEL AND COSTS 2.00 AT THE DEALERSHIP. BUT THEY WANT 300.00 LABOR TO INSTALL IT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 225
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds