Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 703 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (62) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (112) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (64) Steering (310) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (6) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (35) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (37) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (19) Tires (22) Wheels (14)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/16/2014 - HAHIRA, GA
I BROUGHT MY 2011 SONATA INTO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP FOR AN OIL CHANGE. THE SERVICE ASSOCIATE EXPLAINED THAT MY STEERING COLUMN WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AS IT WAS MAKING A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNED LEFT OR RIGHT. I INQUIRED AS TO WHAT WOULD CAUSE THIS AND THEY DID NOT KNOW. THEY WROTE UP AN ESTIMATE TO HAVE THE STEERING WHEEL AND COLUMN REPLACED. THEY INSTRUCTED ME TO GET THIS REPAIRED AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE AS THIS WAS A SAFETY HAZARD. IF THIS IS INDEED A SAFETY PROBLEM I THINK THAT HYUNDAI NEEDS TO RECALL THESE MODELS AND FIX THEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/12/2014 - SARAOTGA SPRINGS, NY
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR ABOUT 35MPH AND HEARD A VERY LOUD MECHANICAL SOUND ,SAID LIKE SOMETHING METAL/MAJOR FELL OFF UNDER THE HOOD. SHE PULLED OVER AND LOOKED FOR ANYTHING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD THAT SHE THOUGHT LOOKED LIKE IT CAME FROM THE CAR. I HAD THE CAR CHECKED BY HYUNDAI ,BUT NOTHING. I HAVE NOTICED THE CAR PULLS TO RIGHT A BIT, SHE DOES NOT. IT ALSO MAKES A BANG OR POPPING SOUND WHILE BACKING UP SOMETIMES. I HAVE NOT HEARD THAT TILL YESTERDAY. I STARTED LOOKING AROUND ,CHECKING TIRE PRESSURE AND SPOTTED A BROKEN RIGHT FRONT COIL SPRING. THERE IS ABOUT 4" OF THE COIL SPRING MISSING AND NOW IT ALL MAKES SENSE. IT MUST HAVE BROKE OFF ,GOT THROWN BY THE TIRE AND BOUNCED OFF THE BOTTOM OF THE CAR. THANK GOD THIS DID NOT HAPPEN AT HIGH SPEED WITH GRANDKIDS IN THE CAR AND PUNCTURED A TIRE LIKE THE VERACRUZ RECALL. HYUNDAI ADD THE SONATA TO YOUR RECALL LIST !

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/11/2014 - WEST HILLS, CA
LEFT AND RIGHT TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLIES FALLING OUT OF TAILLIGHT HOUSING/CAR BODY. METAL TAILLIGHT BOLTS NO LONGER SECURED IN PLASTIC TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY. PLASTIC TAILLIGHT HOUSING "CRUMBLING" WHERE TAILLIGHT BOLTS ARE AFFIXED INTO HOUSING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/11/2014 - CANTON, GA
IN FEBRUARY 2014 WE STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH THE CAR NOT STARTING AT ALL. WE WOULD PUT OUR FOOT ON THE BREAK AND PRESS THE BUTTON AND IT JUST SITS THERE. I HAVE BEEN STRANDED AT MANY LOCATIONS UNTIL IT DECIDED TO CRANK. I CALLED RICK CASE IN ROSWELL GA AND WAS TOLD TO BRING IT IN IF IT DOES IT AGAIN. NOW THE NEXT THING THAT STARTED TO HAPPEN WAS THE TRANSMISSION LIGHTS P, R, N AND D WOULD START FLASHING AND GO BLANK AS WE WERE DRIVING THEN YOU COULD FEEL THE CAR LOOSE POWER. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR SO THIS WENT ON FOR A BIT UNTIL IT FINALLY QUIT STARTING AND SAT IN THE GARAGE FOR THE TOW TRUCK WHO HAD TO USE A SCREW DRIVER AND IT SLIPPED INTO R EASILY BECAUSE IT WONT START. WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY COULD NOT GET IT STARTED AND KEPT IT FOR MANY DAYS SAYING EVERYTHING IS FINE WE THINK THE STARTER WAS GOING AND WE HAD BOUGHT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THEY TOLD US IT DOES NOT COVER THAT SO WE HAD TO COME UP WITH $552,77. I AM NOT WORKING NOW DUE TO CUSHING DISEASE SO WE ARE DOWN TO ONE CAR. MY HUSBAND HAD TO GET RIDES TO WORK DAILY. I ALSO FOUND IT VERY ODD THAT THE MANAGER MADE US SIGN A FORM STATING WE WOULD NOT BRING THIS CAR BACK WITH THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN. THE CAR IS STILL ACTING UP SO WE ARE NOT SURE WHAT TO DO. WE DO LIKE THE CAR AND WOULD TRADE IT IN BUT WE ARE UPSIDE DOWN AND THE PAYMENTS WOULD BE SO MUCH. WE FEEL WE DO NEED TO GET OUR MONEY BACK BECAUSE I TRULY BELIEVE IT WAS NOT THE STARTER.PLEASE ADVISE ON WHAT TO DO WITH A CAR WE ARE NOW SCARED TO DRIVE. MY SON IS 16 AND THIS WOULD BE HIS CAR BUT NOT KNOW. THANK YOU THEY GAVE ME CASE#6773211

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/11/2014 - CANTON, GA
IN FEBRUARY 2014 WE STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH THE CAR NOT STARTING AT ALL. WE WOULD PUT OUR FOOT ON THE BREAK AND PRESS THE BUTTON AND IT JUST SITS THERE. I HAVE BEEN STRANDED AT MANY LOCATIONS UNTIL IT DECIDED TO CRANK. I CALLED RICK CASE IN ROSWELL GA AND WAS TOLD TO BRING IT IN IF IT DOES IT AGAIN. NOW THE NEXT THING THAT STARTED TO HAPPEN WAS THE TRANSMISSION LIGHTS P, R, N AND D WOULD START FLASHING AND GO BLANK AS WE WERE DRIVING THEN YOU COULD FEEL THE CAR LOOSE POWER. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR SO THIS WENT ON FOR A BIT UNTIL IT FINALLY QUIT STARTING AND SAT IN THE GARAGE FOR THE TOW TRUCK WHO HAD TO USE A SCREW DRIVER AND IT SLIPPED INTO R EASILY BECAUSE IT WONT START. WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY COULD NOT GET IT STARTED AND KEPT IT FOR MANY DAYS SAYING EVERYTHING IS FINE WE THINK THE STARTER WAS GOING AND WE HAD BOUGHT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THEY TOLD US IT DOES NOT COVER THAT SO WE HAD TO COME UP WITH $552,77. I AM NOT WORKING NOW DUE TO CUSHING DISEASE SO WE ARE DOWN TO ONE CAR. MY HUSBAND HAD TO GET RIDES TO WORK DAILY. I ALSO FOUND IT VERY ODD THAT THE MANAGER MADE US SIGN A FORM STATING WE WOULD NOT BRING THIS CAR BACK WITH THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN. THE CAR IS STILL ACTING UP SO WE ARE NOT SURE WHAT TO DO. WE DO LIKE THE CAR AND WOULD TRADE IT IN BUT WE ARE UPSIDE DOWN AND THE PAYMENTS WOULD BE SO MUCH. WE FEEL WE DO NEED TO GET OUR MONEY BACK BECAUSE I TRULY BELIEVE IT WAS NOT THE STARTER.PLEASE ADVISE ON WHAT TO DO WITH A CAR WE ARE NOW SCARED TO DRIVE. MY SON IS 16 AND THIS WOULD BE HIS CAR BUT NOT KNOW. THANK YOU THEY GAVE ME CASE#6773211

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2014 - BALDWIN , NY
I WENT TO PLACE THE CAR IN REVERSE AND NOTICED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER SAID R BUT THE DASH BOARD HAD A 0 . THE VEHICLE WENT INTO DRIVE PLACED ON THE BRAKES PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK. THE DISPLAY ON THE DASH STILL SHOWED 0. I SHUT OFF THE MOTOR AND RE-STARTED THE MOTOR AND THE DASH INDICATED THAT THE CAR WAS IN PARK. I THEN WENT ON LINE AND SAW THERE WAS A RECALL JUST ISSUED FOR THIS. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM HYUNDAI.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/9/2014 - VALLEJO, CA
REGARDING RECALL CAMPAIGN IS096 HYUNDAI/SONATA PASSENGER FRONT DOOR LOCK SWITCH IS OUT. DOOR WON'T OPEN WITH DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR. DOOR SWUNG OPEN WHEN CAR WAS TURNING. DOOR WOULD NOT CLOSE ALL THE WAY . HYUNDI MOTOR AMERICA CONFIRMS RECALL OF 2011 HYUNDI SONATA'S BUT ONLY FOR CARS PRODUCED THROUGH 2/15/2010. MY HUSBAND'S CAR WAS PRODUCED 4/20/2011 OUTSIDE PRODUCTION DATE THEY SAY PROBLEM WAS CORRECTED. THE PROBLEM WAS NOT CORRECTED. AFTER NUMEROUS CALLS TEAM SUPERSTORES AS A ONE TIME GOODWILL ADJUSTMENT TO PAY FOR PART ONLY. THEY ACKNOWLEDGE HIS CAR WAS DOING SAME THING AS RECALL . WE HAD TO PAY $240.00 FOR LABOR, HYUNDI SHOULD REIMBURSE FOR THIS FEE AS IT IS THE EXACT PROBLEM AND THE SAME YEAR. I WAS IN THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR AND I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
OIL CHANGED 1-1.5 MONTHS AGO. ON 8/5/14 WHILE DRIVING HOME THE CAR STARTED HAVING A TICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE MOTOR AND THE OIL LIGHT QUICKLY FLASHED BUT THEN WENT AWAY. MADE A RIGHT TURN AND THERE WAS A SQUEALING NOISE FOLLOWED BY A LOUD BOOM. CAR THEN BEGAN TO HAVE A CLUNK COMING FROM THE MOTOR AND WOULD STUTTER LIKE IT WAS TRYING TO STALL OUT. CHECKED THE OIL AND THERE WAS NOT MUCH IN THE MOTOR. NO OIL LEAKS. CAR IS PARKED AT THE SAME PLACE ALL THE TIME WHILE AT WORK AND HOME, NO OIL MARKS LEFT WHERE CAR IS PARKED. 2 QUARTS OF BRAND NEW OIL PUT INTO CAR (CAR WAS NOT DRIVEN AFTER THIS HAPPENED-BROUGHT OIL TO THE LOW OIL MARK ON THE DIP STICK) THE NEXT DAY AND CAR WAS TOWED TO FAULKNER HYUNDAI (PAXTON ST, HARRISBURG PA). CAR WAS RECEIVED AT DEALERSHIP BY 9:30 AM ON 8/7/14 BUT WAS NEVER LOOKED AT UNTIL THE FOLLOWING DAY. RECEIVED CALL FROM DEALERSHIP STATING THE NOISE WAS FROM COMING FROM THE BOTTOM PART OF THE MOTOR AND QUESTIONED WHEN MY LAST OIL CHANGE WAS STATING "THERE WAS VERY LITTLE OIL IN THE CAR AND IT WAS VERY DIRTY." FIRST RED FLAG CONSIDERING THAT WAS BRAND NEW OIL. HYUNDAI IS NOW TRYING TO NOT COVER THIS UNDER THE WARRANTY. THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE COMMON ON THIS VEHICLE FROM ALL THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE AND SHOULD PROBABLY BE RECALLED. HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A JOKE AS WELL AS THEIR VEHICLES. AND THEIR "AMERICA'S BEST WARRANTY" IS A GIMMICK TO GET PEOPLE TO BUY THESE POLISHED PIECES OF CRAP AND MORE THAN LIKELY WILL NOT BE HONORED. STILL WAITING TO HEAR FROM HYUNDAI ON A QUOTE FOR THE REPAIRS AND IF THE WARRANTY WILL COVER IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2014 - YUKON, OK
I WAS BACKING MY CAR OUT OF A PARKING SPACE WHEN THE CAR ABRUPTLY STOPPED (AS IF I HAD HIT SOMETHING) JERKING THE CAR AND CAUSING THE CAR TO STALL / ENGINE TO DIE. I NOTICED THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WENT BLANK AND THEN A FEW LIGHTS CAME ON; BUT THE LIGHTS FOR THE LETTERS ON THE GEAR SHIFT WAS BLANK. THE CAR WAS ABLE TO BE PLACED IN PARK AND AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES THE CAR STARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME. I NOTICED A SIMILAR COMPLAINT FROM JULY 16,2011. FROM SUGARLOAF, PA. THIS IS ALMOST WORD FOR WORD EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR!

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2014 - PLANTATION, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds