Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 648 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (57) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (107) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (56) Steering (291) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (6) Structure (21) Visibility (12)
Engine (28) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (17) Tires (18) Wheels (14)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/3/2014 - HOWELL , NJ
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH THE ACTIVE AIR FLAP WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY AND THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY ACCELERATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTIVE AIR FLAP SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,000. RK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2014 - CLEVELAND, WI
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, MY CAR WOULD NOT START WITH THE KEYLESS KEY FOB. THE CAR STATED THEY KEY WAS NOT DETECTED ALTHOUGH THE KEY WAS IN THE CAR. I COULD NOT UNLOCK THE CAR, COULD NOT OPEN THE TRUNK OR USE THE BUTTONS ON THE KEY FOB IN ANY WAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED INCREASINGLY IN THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2014 - CLEVELAND, WI
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, MY CAR WOULD NOT START WITH THE KEYLESS KEY FOB. THE CAR STATED THEY KEY WAS NOT DETECTED ALTHOUGH THE KEY WAS IN THE CAR. I COULD NOT UNLOCK THE CAR, COULD NOT OPEN THE TRUNK OR USE THE BUTTONS ON THE KEY FOB IN ANY WAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED INCREASINGLY IN THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - BRECKENRIDGE, TX
MY VEHICLE HYNDAI SONATA 2011, CRASHED INTO A PARKED CONSTRUCTION IN A PARKING LOT AT THE SPEEDS OF UP TO 30 MPH. THE CRASH DAMAGED BASICALLY THE WHOLE FRONT SIDE OF THE DRIVER SIDE AND DAMAGED THE FRONT TWO WHEELS. THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WAS DAMAGED AS WELL WITH CRACKS ON THE SHIELD AND IT ALSO KNOCKED OUT THE REARVIEW MIRRORS. I WAS IN THE DRIVER SEAT WHEN THE CRASH HAPPENED AND MY HEAD CRASHED UP AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL, WHICH LEFT A LITTLE SORENESS. WHAT I WAS WONDERING IS WITH SUCH AN IMPACT AND SUCH DAMAGE, HOW DID THE AIRBAGS NOT GO OFF?. MY HEAD SLAMMED PRETTY GOOD UP AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL AND A LITTLE MORE IMPACT I COULD'VE BEEN SEVERELY HURT. SO I JUST WANT TO ASK WHY DID THE AIRBAGS NOT WORK?

View Details

WHEELS

3/26/2014 - BRECKENRIDGE, TX
MY VEHICLE HYNDAI SONATA 2011, CRASHED INTO A PARKED CONSTRUCTION IN A PARKING LOT AT THE SPEEDS OF UP TO 30 MPH. THE CRASH DAMAGED BASICALLY THE WHOLE FRONT SIDE OF THE DRIVER SIDE AND DAMAGED THE FRONT TWO WHEELS. THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WAS DAMAGED AS WELL WITH CRACKS ON THE SHIELD AND IT ALSO KNOCKED OUT THE REARVIEW MIRRORS. I WAS IN THE DRIVER SEAT WHEN THE CRASH HAPPENED AND MY HEAD CRASHED UP AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL, WHICH LEFT A LITTLE SORENESS. WHAT I WAS WONDERING IS WITH SUCH AN IMPACT AND SUCH DAMAGE, HOW DID THE AIRBAGS NOT GO OFF?. MY HEAD SLAMMED PRETTY GOOD UP AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL AND A LITTLE MORE IMPACT I COULD'VE BEEN SEVERELY HURT. SO I JUST WANT TO ASK WHY DID THE AIRBAGS NOT WORK?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/26/2014 - BRECKENRIDGE, TX
MY VEHICLE HYNDAI SONATA 2011, CRASHED INTO A PARKED CONSTRUCTION IN A PARKING LOT AT THE SPEEDS OF UP TO 30 MPH. THE CRASH DAMAGED BASICALLY THE WHOLE FRONT SIDE OF THE DRIVER SIDE AND DAMAGED THE FRONT TWO WHEELS. THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WAS DAMAGED AS WELL WITH CRACKS ON THE SHIELD AND IT ALSO KNOCKED OUT THE REARVIEW MIRRORS. I WAS IN THE DRIVER SEAT WHEN THE CRASH HAPPENED AND MY HEAD CRASHED UP AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL, WHICH LEFT A LITTLE SORENESS. WHAT I WAS WONDERING IS WITH SUCH AN IMPACT AND SUCH DAMAGE, HOW DID THE AIRBAGS NOT GO OFF?. MY HEAD SLAMMED PRETTY GOOD UP AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL AND A LITTLE MORE IMPACT I COULD'VE BEEN SEVERELY HURT. SO I JUST WANT TO ASK WHY DID THE AIRBAGS NOT WORK?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/19/2014 - INGLEWOOD, CA
IN DECEMBER, AS I WAS WALKING TO MY CAR IN THE MORNING TO GO TO WORK, I NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHT HANGING OUT ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE CAR. THE WHOLE LIGHTING FIXTURE WAS REMOVED FROM THE PLASTIC AND NOT CONNECTED TO THE HINGES ANYMORE. I COULDNÆT AFFORD TO FIX IT AT THE TIME SO I RIGGED IT SO IT WOULD STAY IN PLACE TEMPORARILY. ABOUT 2 MONTHS LATER, THE LEFT SIDE DID THE SAME THING. THE ENTIRE LAMP LIGHT WAS HANGING OUT OF THE SOCKETS AGAIN! I BECAME ENRAGED BECAUSE BOTH TIMES THIS HAPPENED WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID IT WAS VANDALISM AND SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FULL PRICE FOR BOTH LIGHTS. AFTER I DID SOME RESEARCH, I FOUND LOTS AND LOTS OF POSTS WITH THE SAME THING OCCURRING TO THEM. THIS IS NOT A COINCIDENCE! THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FOR THIS AS THIS IS NOT SAFE. I AM SCARED TO WASH MY CAR DUE TO THE ELECTRICAL WIRES THAT MAY BE GET SHORTED. I AM GOING TO TRY MY BEST TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS IN MANY PLATFORMS AS I CAN UNTIL THIS IS DEEMED FAIR AND ADDRESSED BY THE PROPER AUTHORITIES. I WAS ACTUALLY PRAISING HYUNDIA FOR THE EXPERIENCE UP UNTIL THIS POINT. NOW, I FEEL ROBBED AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS CAR DUE TO THE INJUSTICE EXPERIENCE. IF THIS HAS HAPPENED TO YOU, PLEASE REPORT IT. THANK YOU FOR LISTENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
CAR STOPPED SEVERAL TIMES DURING HIGHWAY DRIVING, CAUSING DRIVER UNNECESSARY STRESS THAT SHE WOULD BE INVOLVED IN DEADLY ACCIDENT. HAD TO MOVE TO SHOULDER AREA DURING RUSHHOUR TRAFFIC SEVERAL TIMES, IN THE DC AREA. MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO GET ISSUES ADDRESSED WITH DEALERSHIPS IN DC/MD. TOLD MANY REASONS WHY THE SUDDEN STOPS. HAD TO PAY OFF OF POCKET FOR RENTAL, NEVER ADDRESSED TO SATISFACTION OF OWNER. MAJOR, MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH SUDDEN STOPS WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/12/2014 - KEARNEY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE GLASS SUNROOF SUDDENLY EXPLODED AND SHATTERED CAUSING A VERY LOUD BOOMING SOUND. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE SUNROOF WAS CLOSED DURING THE INCIDENT AND NOTHING MADE CONTACT WITH THE GLASS TO CAUSE THE DEFECT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/11/2014 - SUGAR GROVE, IL
ADD ME TO THE GROWING LIST OF TAIL LIGHT ISSUES. MY TAILLIGHT WAS FOUND HANGING FOR NO APPARENT REASON. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR WARRANTY REPLACEMENT, PICTURES WERE TAKEN AND FORWARDED TO THEIR REP AS THE DEALER HAD NOT SEEN THIS ISSUE BEFORE AND THEY WERE LOOKING FOR AUTHORIZATION. ALTHOUGH THERE WAS NO EXTERIOR DAMAGE TO THE TAILLLIGHT, THE INSIDE PLASTIC WHERE IT IS MOUNTED TO THE CAR WAS ALL BROKEN UP. A DETERMINATION WAS MADE BY SOMEONE WHO HAD NOT EVEN SEEN THE VEHICLE TO DENY WARRANTY WORK DUE TO DAMAGE. THERE IS NO DAMAGE TO MY CAR! THE DEALER OFFERED TO INSTALL THE TAILLIGHT AT NO CHARGE IF I WOULD BUY THE PART. I DIDN'T FEEL THAT I SHOULD PAY $182 FOR A NEW TAILLIGHT AND THEY OFFERED TO FIND ME ONE USED. WHAT DOES THAT TELL YOU? I WAS ABLE TO FIND AN AFTERMARKET REPLACEMENT FOR $61 AND THEY WILL INSTALL FOR FREE. HOW FOOLISH OF HYUNDAI TO LOSE A CUSTOMER FOR A CHEAP REPAIR. WHAT GOOD IS THEIR WARRANTY IF THEY DON'T HONOR IT? AND, BY THE WAY, THEY DON'T RECOGNIZE YOUR WEBSITE WITH ALL OTHERS WHO HAVE ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds