Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 2244 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (215) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (156) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (87)
Electrical System (254) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Power Train (123) Steering (1000) Vehicle Speed Control (59)
Electronic Stability Control (39) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (32) Structure (45) Visibility (16)
Engine (464) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (14) Suspension (106) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (83) Tires (26) Wheels (24)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 290
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/17/2018 - S ST PAUL, MN
AFTER PUTTING GAS IN MY CAR THE GAS GAUGE IS EVERYWHERE. I CAN STOP AND RESTART MY CAR AFTER FILLING IT AND IT WILL SAY I'M EMPTY. WHETHER I'M ACTUALLY DRIVING AT THE MOMENT OR STATIONARY, THE GAUGE WILL CONSTANTLY MOVE UP AND DOWN. I HAVE TO KEEP AN EYE ON MY MILEAGE TO KNOW HOW MUCH I REALLY HAVE. IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR OVER A YEAR NOW. I'VE SEEN OTHER STORIES ONLINE OF MANY OTHERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/17/2018 - S ST PAUL, MN
AFTER PUTTING GAS IN MY CAR THE GAS GAUGE IS EVERYWHERE. I CAN STOP AND RESTART MY CAR AFTER FILLING IT AND IT WILL SAY I'M EMPTY. WHETHER I'M ACTUALLY DRIVING AT THE MOMENT OR STATIONARY, THE GAUGE WILL CONSTANTLY MOVE UP AND DOWN. I HAVE TO KEEP AN EYE ON MY MILEAGE TO KNOW HOW MUCH I REALLY HAVE. IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR OVER A YEAR NOW. I'VE SEEN OTHER STORIES ONLINE OF MANY OTHERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2018 - HYATTSVILLE, MD
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND LOST POWER. IN ADDITION, VARIOUS WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE WAS FAULTY. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V568000 (ENGINE). THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/14/2018 - WESLEY CHAPEL, FL
CONTACTED HYUNDAI USA CORP REGARDING RECALL # 10V070000. THIS RECALL CALLS FOR A PROBLEM WITH THE DOOR LATCHES NOT LATCHING PROPERLY AND NOT RESPONDING WHEN TRYING TO OPEN OR CLOSE THE LATCH. I CONTACTED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE REGARDING THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEIR RECALL WEBSITE AS WELL AS THEIR AUTOMATIC VOICE RECORDING AT THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE DOES NOT HAVE THIS RECALL LISTED AS AN OPEN OR CLOSED CAMPAIGN. THE REP ADVISED HE DOES NOT SEE IT IN THEIR SYSTEM AND HE ALSO REACHED OUT TO HIS SUPERVISOR TO DISCUSSS THE ISSUE. THE REP ADVISED HIS SUPERVISOR STATES SINCE IT IS NOT SHOWING IN THEIR SYSTEM, THEN THEY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FULFILL THE RECALL ON THE DOOR LOCKS. I ADVISED THE CAMPAIGN OCCURRED DURING PRODUCTION, WHERE PRODUCTION HALTED AND THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM TO THOSE NOT PUT OUT ON THE MARKET AND RECALLED OTHERS THAT WERE ALREADY OUT TO FIX THE PROBLEM. REP ADVISED SINCE THE CAMPAIGN WAS CLOSED THEY WOULD NOT FULFILL MY REQUEST. I ADVISED THIS IS A SAFETY RECALL CONCERN AND I ASKED TO SPEAK TO SUPERVISOR AND HAVE THEIR NAME BECAUSE I NEED TO REPORT THIS TO THE NHTSA. REP ADVISED THEY WOULD NOT COVER THIS SINCE IT IS NO LONGER IN THEIR SYSTEM AND REFUSED TO DO FURTHER RESEARCH. REP HUNG UP ON ME AND CALL ENDED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/13/2018 - MARLBOROUGH, MA
A PIECE OF ONE OF MY COILS SPRINGS BROKE OFF AS I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK. ACCORDING TO HYUNDAI, MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF CAMPAIGN 133. I LIVE IN MASSACHUSETTS. THEY ARE INSISTING THAT I GO TO A DEALER TO HAVE IT INSPECTED. THE CAR IS ALREADY REPAIRED BY MY MECHANIC. MASSACHUSETTS HAS A RIGHT TO REPAIR LAW. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2015.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2018 - GRANITEVILLE, SC
WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET I LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND EPS LIGHT AND TRACTION LIGHT CAME ON. I PULLED OVER AND TRIED RESTARTING CAR STILL NO POWER STEERING AND LIGHTS. THE CAR CAN ONLY BE STEERED MANUALLY NOW WHICH IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2018 - LEVITTOWN, PA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED & I PURCHASED A USED CAR WARRANTY FROM THE DEALER BECAUSE IT ALREADY HAD MORE THAN 100,000 MILES ON IT & HAD TO GET MY ENGINE REPLACED BEFORE DRIVING 3000 MILES. BUT NOT LONG AFTER GETTING IT BACK, MY STEERING WAS MAKING A CLICKING, KNOCKING NOISE WHILE BEING STILL & WHILE IN MOTION & IT DOESN'T FILL SAFE. PRIOR TO REPLACING THE ENGINE, IT WAS NOT MAKING THIS NOISE. I BOUGHT IT USED ALREADY OVER 100,00 MILES & IT'S IN GETTING 3 RECALLS REPAIRED & I WAS TOLD THAT IT'S NOT COVERED UNDER HYUNDAI WARRANTY OR RECALL & WILL COST ME OVER $400 LIKE OTHERS & I CAN'T AFFORD $400+. THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER A RECALL ESPECIALLY AFTER THE # OF COMPLAINTS I'VE SEEN ON THIS. IT SOUNDS & FEELS LIKE MY STEERING WHEEL MAY COME OFF WHILE TURNING, GOING OVER BUMPS, ON A STREET, ON A HIGHWAY, WHILE DRIVING, IT DOESN'T MATTER & AGAIN, IT CLICKS/KNOCKS EVEN WHEN I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL JUST SITTING. I HAVE A VIDEO THAT CAPTURES THE SOUND WHEN NOT IN MOTION. IT STARTED IN APRIL 2018, NOT LONG AFTER I GOT MY ENGINE REPLACED IN MARCH 2018. THAT'S WHEN I LOOKED UP THE RECALLS BEFORE MAKING THE APPOINTMENT & LEARNED ABOUT THE STEERING, AIR BAGS & SEATBELTS. SINCE I CAN'T AFFORD IT BECAUSE I'M RETIRED DISABLED I'M GOING TO HAVE TO DRIVE FEELING UNSAFE UNTIL YOU DECIDE RECALLING THIS STEERING WHEEL INFRACTION. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE EXACT SAME THING WHO ARE ALSO WONDERING WHY THIS WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL LIKE YESTERDAY. I'M UPLOADING THE ESTIMATE I RECEIVED FROM THE HYUNDAI THAT DID MY RECALLS. AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THIS ISN'T A RECALL. THANK YOU.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/11/2018 - SHELBYVILLE, KY
THE BRAKE LIGHTS ON MY 2011 SONATA WILL NOT GO OFF. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI AND THEY HAVE INDICATED THIS IS NOT AN OPEN RECALL HOWEVER I CAN NOT DRIVE MY CAR WITHOUT BRAKE LIGHTS WORKING PROPERLY. STATIONARY, IN MOTION AND ON A STREET AND HIGHWAY. THE BRAKE LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2018 - CENTEREACH, NY
ELECTRIC FAILURE AT FIRST, ALWAYS STUCK ON ROAD. ENGINE WAS REPLACED ON RECALL, CLUNKING SOUND UNDERNEATH, STRUTS REPLACED AND HAD TO PAY, THAT DID NOT FIX PROBLEM, THEN THEY REPLACED COUPLING IN STEERING WHEEL, NOISE STILL HAPPENING WITH CLUNKING SOUND, WHICH ALSO IS WEARING OUT TIRES IN FRONT THST WERE REPLACED 3 X. DEALER DID NOT FIX PROBLEM, THEY DONT KNOW WHAT IT IS., CLUNKING IS WHILE DRIVING OVER A LITTLE BUMP OR WHILE STEERING CAR AND TURNING.

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2018 - CENTEREACH, NY
ELECTRIC FAILURE AT FIRST, ALWAYS STUCK ON ROAD. ENGINE WAS REPLACED ON RECALL, CLUNKING SOUND UNDERNEATH, STRUTS REPLACED AND HAD TO PAY, THAT DID NOT FIX PROBLEM, THEN THEY REPLACED COUPLING IN STEERING WHEEL, NOISE STILL HAPPENING WITH CLUNKING SOUND, WHICH ALSO IS WEARING OUT TIRES IN FRONT THST WERE REPLACED 3 X. DEALER DID NOT FIX PROBLEM, THEY DONT KNOW WHAT IT IS., CLUNKING IS WHILE DRIVING OVER A LITTLE BUMP OR WHILE STEERING CAR AND TURNING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 290
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds