Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 2052 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (170) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (138) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (68)
Electrical System (233) Fuel Propulsion System (31) Power Train (118) Steering (947) Vehicle Speed Control (49)
Electronic Stability Control (35) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (20) Structure (42) Visibility (16)
Engine (417) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (13) Suspension (92) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (76) Tires (26) Wheels (24)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 264
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/14/2017 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE STARTER ON MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA IS INOPERABLE. IT DOESNT TURNOVER. IVE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION SEVERAL TIMES. THERE IS NO CLICKING NOISE; IT'S SILENT. MY HYUNDAI ONLY HAS 67,281 MILES. I'VE KEPT UP WITH ALL RECALLS AND THE REGULAR MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE OF MY VEHICLE. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

STEERING

9/14/2017 - WILDWOOD, GA
MY STEEEING COLUMN STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE NOISE AND STARTED SHAKING MADE ME VERY NERVOUS TO DRIVE TO THE REST OF THE WAY HOME FROM CHURCH. THIS IS A SECONDARY ROAD THAT IS PAVED BUT HAS LOTS OF CURVES . IT ALSO FELT LOOSE

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2017 - MARGATE, FL
VEHICLE WOULD SHUT OFF UNEXPECTALLY WHILE DRIVING ON A BUSY MAIL ROAD WITHOUT ANY WARNING SIGNS. THIS IINCIDENT OCCURRED MNTIPLE TIMES. I AM VERY CONCERN FOR MY SAFETY FOR MY FAMILY

View Details

STEERING

9/14/2017 - MARGATE, FL
VEHICLE WOULD SHUT OFF UNEXPECTALLY WHILE DRIVING ON A BUSY MAIL ROAD WITHOUT ANY WARNING SIGNS. THIS IINCIDENT OCCURRED MNTIPLE TIMES. I AM VERY CONCERN FOR MY SAFETY FOR MY FAMILY

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2017 - MARGATE, FL
VEHICLE WOULD SHUT OFF UNEXPECTALLY WHILE DRIVING ON A BUSY MAIL ROAD WITHOUT ANY WARNING SIGNS. THIS IINCIDENT OCCURRED MNTIPLE TIMES. I AM VERY CONCERN FOR MY SAFETY FOR MY FAMILY

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/13/2017 - TRUMBULL, CT
AIR BAG INFLATOR LIGHT STAYS ON CONTINUOUSLY AFTER STARTING VEHICLE, WHETHER AT IDLE OR IN MOTION. VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN IN ANY TYPE OF ACCIDENT. NO BAGS HAVE BEEN DEPLOYED

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2017 - INDEPENDENCE, MO
TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP FOR ENGINE RECALL CHECK IN 2016, WAS TOLD MY CAR WAS FINE ONLY TO HAVE THE ENGINE SEIZE 12 MONTHS LATER WHILE DRIVING. ENGINE WAS REPLACED BY NORTHTOWNE HYUNDAI IN KC, MO AND CAR WAS RETURNED AFTER 7 WEEKS. WITHIN A FEW DAYS OF DRIVING WITH THE NEW ENGINE I HEARD A DISTINCT WHINING AT ABOUT 2500 RPM AND NOTICED A STEADY LEAK DUE TO SPOTS ON MY DRIVEWAY. I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WHO SAID THAT THE LEAK WAS FROM THE TRANSMISSION AND THAT THEY HAVE NO LIABILITY SINCE THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT DID NOT CAUSE THEM TO HAVE TO ACTUALLY TOUCH THE TRANSMISSION SINCE THE TWO SYSTEMS ARE COMPLETELY INDEPENDENT OF ONE ANOTHER. CORPORATE HYUNDAI SAYS THAT THE POWERTRAIN (I.E. TRANSMISSION) IS NOT COVERED UNDER THEIR EXTENDED 120,000 MILE WARRANTY AND THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS GOING TO BE AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE TO ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2017 - INDEPENDENCE, MO
TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP FOR ENGINE RECALL CHECK IN 2016, WAS TOLD MY CAR WAS FINE ONLY TO HAVE THE ENGINE SEIZE 12 MONTHS LATER WHILE DRIVING. ENGINE WAS REPLACED BY NORTHTOWNE HYUNDAI IN KC, MO AND CAR WAS RETURNED AFTER 7 WEEKS. WITHIN A FEW DAYS OF DRIVING WITH THE NEW ENGINE I HEARD A DISTINCT WHINING AT ABOUT 2500 RPM AND NOTICED A STEADY LEAK DUE TO SPOTS ON MY DRIVEWAY. I RETURNED THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WHO SAID THAT THE LEAK WAS FROM THE TRANSMISSION AND THAT THEY HAVE NO LIABILITY SINCE THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT DID NOT CAUSE THEM TO HAVE TO ACTUALLY TOUCH THE TRANSMISSION SINCE THE TWO SYSTEMS ARE COMPLETELY INDEPENDENT OF ONE ANOTHER. CORPORATE HYUNDAI SAYS THAT THE POWERTRAIN (I.E. TRANSMISSION) IS NOT COVERED UNDER THEIR EXTENDED 120,000 MILE WARRANTY AND THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS GOING TO BE AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE TO ME.

View Details

STEERING

9/11/2017 - ROSEVILLE, CA
THIS IS A CURRENT RECALL. PLASTIC STEERING COUPLING ($2.00 PART). I HAVE REQUESTED REIMBURSEMENT MORE THAN THREE MONTHS AGO AND HYUNDAI KEEPS DRAGGING THEIR FEET ON MAKING REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2017 - EAST LANSING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER. LATER, THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO SUBURBAN HYUNDAI OF LANSING (5827 S PENNSYLVANIA AVE, LANSING, MI 48911; (517) 913-9500 WHERE) IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-633-5151 AND STATED THAT THE CONTACT HAD TO PAY FOR THE CHARGES SINCE THE CONTACT HAD A SALVAGED TITLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 264
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds