Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 853 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (70) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (122) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (74) Steering (376) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (29) Visibility (12)
Engine (75) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (7) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (25) Tires (23) Wheels (17)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 111
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/25/2015 - LAREDO, TX
THE STEERING WHEEL IS MAKING A LOUD CLICKING NOISE IT FEELS THAT IF SOMETHING IS LOOSE IT DOESNT MAKE A DIFFERENCE AT WHAT SPEEDS YOUR GOING IT CAUSES THE STEERING WHEEL TO VIBRATE OR SHAKE VIOLENTLY.THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THAT PROBLEM FOR MY VEHICLE BUT THERE ARE RECALL FOR SOME HYUNDAI SONOTA BUILT BETWEEN CERTAIN DATES WHICH MY VEHICLE DOESNT FALL UNDER.I THINK ITS THE SAME PROBLEM AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR ALL HYUNDAI SONOTA WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS WHY RISK SOMEBODY'S LIFE JUST REPAIR THE VEHICLE

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2015 - MURRIETA, CA
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR I STARTED TO HEAR A CLICKING SOUND EVERY TIME I TURN EITHER RIGHT/LEFT AND WHEN I DRIVE OVER A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD. CALLED LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY A DIAGNOSTIC FEE JUST TO LOOK AT THE CAR. I TOLD THEM I WOULD NOT PAY ANYTHING FOR A SAFETY HAZARD. I STARTED MY RESEARCH AND HAVE SEEN THAT THIS CAR HAD A RECALL ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE AND WHEN I CALLED CORPORATE I WAS TOLD IT DOESN'T FALL UNDER MY VEHICLE VIN NUMBER. I REALLY DON'T CARE WHAT THE VIN IS, IF I HAVE A 2011 SONATA I WANT THIS FIXED! THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED ASAP. WHEN WILL IT CHANGE? WHEN SOMEONE DIES OR GETS HURT?? THIS WAS MY FIRST AND LAST TIME I WILL PURCHASE A HYUNDAI. I AM TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED AND CONCERNED . I DON'T EVEN DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE. I WANT THIS CORRECTED NOW!!! LETS NOT WAIT FOR THE WORST TO HAPPEN.

View Details

STEERING

4/22/2015 - SUITLAND, MD
CAR DOES NOT SHIFT FROM PARK TO REVERSE OR DRIVE PROPERLY ALL THE TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2015 - SIMI VALLEY , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE SUDDENLY SHUT OFF AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2015 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/20/2015 - DANBURY, TX
STEERING COLUMN BEGAN MAKING POPPING AND CLICKING SOUNDS. FOUND OUT THERE WAS A RECALL. CALLED HYUNDAI AND THEY SAID PROBLEM WAS FIXED IN 2010. THE CAR WAS MANUFACTURED WITHIN THE TIME FRAME OF THE RECALL. WAS TOLD THAT IT COULDN'T BE FIXED UNDER CAMPAIGN OR WARRANTY AS I WAS SECOND OWNER. MY CHILDREN DRIVE THIS VEHICLE AND I AM CONCERNED FOR THEIR SAFETY. DEALER LOOKED AT IT AT MY EXPENSE AND SAID NOTHING WRONG. THERE IS A MAJOR PROBLEM WHEN THE CAR IS STEERED, HITS A BUMP IN THE ROAD, OR EVEN TURNING. LOUD CLICKING SOUNDS LIKE STEERTING COLUMN IS FALLING APART.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2015 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
I HAVE A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA,MY FIRST CAR I PURCHASE IT ALMOST 4 MONTHS AGO I'LL HAD 2 OIL CHANGES INCLUDING THE ONE THE DEALER DID BEFORE I BOUGHT IT. I WAS SIMPLY DRIVING HOME & HEARD A WEIRD NOSIE SO I PULLED OVER MY BATTERY DIED AND CAR ENGINE STARTED TO SMOKE I WAS GIVING NO WARNING SIGN OR INDICATOR TO CHECK MY OIL OR ANYTHING. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO SUNTRUP HYUNDAI WERE I WAS TOLD MY ENGINE WAS SEIZED AND WOULD COST ME FROM 5,000-9,000 FOR A NEW OR USED. HOW DOES A WELL-MAINTAINED CAR GO FROM NORMAL TO A TOTAL LOST? I'LL DONE MY RESEARCH SO MY QUESTION FOR YOU IS WHEN WILL YOU RECALL THIS ENTIRE CAR? WILL INDEED BE JOINING THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST HYUNDAI. I HAVE NO WARRANTY & DON'T EVEN WANT THE CAR WITH A NEW ENGINE. I JUST WANT HYUNDAI TO BUY THE CAR BACK IT'S A SERIOUS SAFETY RISK I'LL STICK WITH AMERICAN MADE VEHICLES

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2015 - WOODSTOCK, GA
THE ENGINE IS KNOCKING WHEN I START TO DRIVE AND THE KNOCKING SOUND HAS GRADUALLY INCREASED. I HAVE TO PUT 1-2QTS OF ADDITIONAL OIL INTO THE CAR IN BETWEEN SCHEDULED OIL CHANGES.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY CAR NOT WANTING TO ACCELERATE SOMETIMES, I TYPICALLY NOTICE THIS WHEN I AM ON THE FREEWAY GOING ABOUT 60 MPH AND WHEN I TRY TO GO PAST THAT IT WILL SEEM TO NOT WANT TO ACCELERATE AND THEN JERK AND THEN GO ACCELERATE FASTER. LATELY I HAVE ALSO NOTICE THIS WHEN GOING NORMAL SPEEDS IT SEEMS LIKE IT WANTS TO STALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
I PARKED MY CAR AND WHEN I GOT OUT I NOTICE MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT GO OFF. I HAD TO GET BACK IN THE CAR PUMP THE BRAKES A FEW TIMES AND THEY FINALLY WENT OUT. THE NEXT DAY AT WORK I DIDN'T PAY ATTENTION AND WHEN I GOT IN MY CAR FOR LUNCH THE CAR WOULD NOT START I HAD TO GET A JUMP AND I DROVE TO THE DEALERSHIP. I ADVISED DEALER OF WHAT HAPPENED THEY CHECKED MY BATTERY AND IT WAS FINE HE SAYS MY BRAKE SWITCH LIGHT PAD WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO REPLACED. THIS WAS SUPPOSEDLY FIX IN 2014 AFTER THE RECALL BUT THIS CONTINUES TO BE A PROBLEM AND MY DEALERSHIP CHARGED ME FOR THE REPAIRS THIS TIME, PER HYUNDAI THEY ONLY FIX THIS FOR FREE ONE TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 111
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds