Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1406 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (97) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (176) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Power Train (98) Steering (625) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (11) Structure (33) Visibility (14)
Engine (287) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (72) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (49) Tires (25) Wheels (19)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 181
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2016 - COATESVILLE, PA
GEAR SHIFT DISPLAY ON DASH BOARD GOES BLANK AFTER SHIFTING FROM ONE GEAR TO THE NEXT DESIRED GEAR (I.E. CAR IS IN REVERSE AND PUT INTO DRIVE, D APPEARS THAN DISAPPEARS) OR WHILE TRYING TO SHIFT (I.E. CAR IS IN PARK OR NEUTRAL AND SHIFT CAR INTO DRIVE AND THE DISPLAY GOES BLANK WITHOUT D APPEARING FIRST). AFTER THE DISPLAY GOES BLANK, THE CAR FEELS AS THOUGH IT IS GOING TO STALL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARS. PUTTING THE CAR INTO PARK AND TURNING THE CAR OFF AND THEN BACK ON DOES NOT FIX THE ISSUE RIGHT AWAY. AFTER WAITING A FEW MINUTES WITH THE CAR OFF AND TURNING IT BACK ON FIXES THE ISSUE WITH THE GEAR SHIFT DISPLAY TEMPORARILY BUT CHECK ENGINE ICON REMAINS ILLUMINATED.

View Details

STEERING

5/26/2016 - RALEIGH, NC
AT 62,000 MILES THE STEERING WHEEL FELT TIGHT, AND THEN SUDDENLY IT FELT LOOSE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT, AND THEN IT STARTED A CLICKING NOISE EVERY TIME I TURNED THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT OR LEFT. OVER THE NEXT 3,000 MILES IT HAS BECOME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE WITH CLICKING AND RATTLING ANY TIME I TURN THE WHEEL, EVEN SITTING STILL. GOING OVER ANY BUMP MAKES A RATTLING NOISE IN STEERING COLUMN. I SEE THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM IN 2011 SONATA'S AND WONDER WHY THERE IS NO RECALL?!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/25/2016 - DECATUR, GA
I HAVE NOT RECEIVED AN EXACT ANSWER AS TO WHY WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET, EVERY TIME I PRESS THE BRAKES I HEAR A CLICKING SOUND; WHICH YOU CAN ALSO FEEL BY PLACING YOUR HAND ON THE GEAR SHIFT

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2016 - LEWISVILLE, TX
AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON AND DOES NOT GO OFF. I WENT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO FIX IT, BUT THEY SAID THEY HAVE TO REPLACE TWO PARTS AND IT WILL COST ME ABOUT $1200. I GOOGLED IT AND I FOUND OUT THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE WHO DRIVE SONATA HAVE SAME ISSUE. IF IT HAPPENS BEFORE 60000 MILES, WARRANTY COVERS IT, UNFORTUNATELY MY SONATA RUNS ABOUT 73000 MILES. THERE ARE MANY SONATA OWNERS HAVE SAME ISSUE SO I BELIEVE THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH SONATA SINCE THEY WERE MADE. PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM, SO MANY SONATA OWNERS DO NOT HAVE TO PAY THEIR MONEY FOR IT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2016 - CASTLEBERRY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE DECREASED SPEED INDEPENDENTLY, AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V568000 (ENGINE); HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE CYLINDER HEAD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD REMAINS ILLUMINATED. THE CAR WAS NOT INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT PRIOR TO THE LIGHT TURNING ON. THE AIRBAGS MAY NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A COLLISION.

View Details

STEERING

5/23/2016 - QUEENS VILLAGE, NY
UPPER STEERING ASSEMBLY JOINT IS LOOSE. CAUSING A CLUNKING SOUND WHEN DRIVING OVER BUMPS, MANHOLE AND DRIVING AT 60MPH

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2016 - LILBURN, GA
CLICKING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. WILL HAPPEN AT REST OR MOTION. PROGRESSIVELY GOT WORSE. ALSO PRODUCED A THUD SOUND ON BUMPS ON INTERSTATE. DEALER INDICATES THE STEERING COUPLER HAD FAILED. I TOLD THEM I SEEN MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. WHY WAS IT NOT COVERED BY MANUFACTURER WITH IT BEING SO WIDESPREAD ISSUE? COST ME $394.48 FOR DEALER TO REPLACE INCLUDING THE RECOMMEND ALIGNMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2016 - COVINA, CA
THE LIGHT FOR THE AIR BAG IS LIT UP ON MY DASHBOARD

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2016 - NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDIA SONATA. THE CONTACT HEARD A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL COUPLER WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 181
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds