Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1653 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (111) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (46)
Electrical System (195) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Power Train (107) Steering (765) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (11) Structure (38) Visibility (14)
Engine (324) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (76) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (58) Tires (25) Wheels (20)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 212
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/24/2016 - BLUE RIDGE, TX
THE STEERING COLUMN MAKE A HORRIBLE RATTLE SOUND WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS AND ALSO MAKES A POPPING NOISE WHEN YOU TURN THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT AND TO THE RIGHT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/24/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
MY DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT FELL OUT OF THE CASING, DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY DURING THE SUMMER OF 2015. LUCKILY, THE WIRES KEPT IT HOLDING ON OR IT WOULD HAVE FLOWN INTO TRAFFIC. NOW, A BIT OVER A YEAR LATER, IN SEPTEMBER OF 2016, AND OUT OF WARRANTY, THE PASSENGER SIDE HAS DONE THE SAME THING. THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING SINCE I AM OUT OF WARRANTY. ACCORDING TO HYUNDAI FORUMS, THERE ARE A LOT OF CARS THAT ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE. SEE THIS LINK: HTTP://WWW.HYUNDAI-FORUMS.COM/YF-2011-SONATA-I45/143267-TAIL-LIGHT-STUDS-BREAKING-OFF.HTML#/TOPICS/143267?PAGE=3&_K=WUWG5M ALSO, THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH A $3 CLIP IN THE STEERING WHEEL. I GET A LOT OF CLATTER WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, AND TURNING MY STEERING WHEEL ACCORDING TO HYUNDAI FORUMS, MY CAR ISN'T THE ONLY ONE THIS IS HAPPENING TO. I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT ISN'T A SAFETY ISSUE, AND CAN WAIT A BIT TO GET IT REPLACED. IT IS HIGHWAY ROBBERY FOR THEM TO CHARGE $237 TO REPLACE A $3 PART. BUT, BECAUSE IT IS IN THE STEERING COLUMN, NO OTHER AUTO-REPAIR PLACES WILL FIX IT. I CANNOT DOCUMENT THIS AS I HAVE NOT HAD IT FIXED YET, AND I CANNOT RECORD THE SOUND WHILE DRIVING...

View Details

STEERING

9/24/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
MY DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT FELL OUT OF THE CASING, DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY DURING THE SUMMER OF 2015. LUCKILY, THE WIRES KEPT IT HOLDING ON OR IT WOULD HAVE FLOWN INTO TRAFFIC. NOW, A BIT OVER A YEAR LATER, IN SEPTEMBER OF 2016, AND OUT OF WARRANTY, THE PASSENGER SIDE HAS DONE THE SAME THING. THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING SINCE I AM OUT OF WARRANTY. ACCORDING TO HYUNDAI FORUMS, THERE ARE A LOT OF CARS THAT ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE. SEE THIS LINK: HTTP://WWW.HYUNDAI-FORUMS.COM/YF-2011-SONATA-I45/143267-TAIL-LIGHT-STUDS-BREAKING-OFF.HTML#/TOPICS/143267?PAGE=3&_K=WUWG5M ALSO, THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH A $3 CLIP IN THE STEERING WHEEL. I GET A LOT OF CLATTER WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, AND TURNING MY STEERING WHEEL ACCORDING TO HYUNDAI FORUMS, MY CAR ISN'T THE ONLY ONE THIS IS HAPPENING TO. I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT ISN'T A SAFETY ISSUE, AND CAN WAIT A BIT TO GET IT REPLACED. IT IS HIGHWAY ROBBERY FOR THEM TO CHARGE $237 TO REPLACE A $3 PART. BUT, BECAUSE IT IS IN THE STEERING COLUMN, NO OTHER AUTO-REPAIR PLACES WILL FIX IT. I CANNOT DOCUMENT THIS AS I HAVE NOT HAD IT FIXED YET, AND I CANNOT RECORD THE SOUND WHILE DRIVING...

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/23/2016 - CORONA C, CA
THE STEERING COLUMN IS RATTLING AND SHAKING WHEN BRAKING AND OR REACHING A SPEED OF 60. IT IS CAUSING THE BALANCING OF TIRES WORN, AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS COME ON AND TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

9/23/2016 - CORONA C, CA
THE STEERING COLUMN IS RATTLING AND SHAKING WHEN BRAKING AND OR REACHING A SPEED OF 60. IT IS CAUSING THE BALANCING OF TIRES WORN, AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS COME ON AND TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT.

View Details

WHEELS

9/23/2016 - CORONA C, CA
THE STEERING COLUMN IS RATTLING AND SHAKING WHEN BRAKING AND OR REACHING A SPEED OF 60. IT IS CAUSING THE BALANCING OF TIRES WORN, AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS COME ON AND TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/22/2016 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V568000 (ENGINE), 15V759000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC), AND 16V190000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2016 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V568000 (ENGINE), 15V759000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC), AND 16V190000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2016 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V568000 (ENGINE), 15V759000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC), AND 16V190000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2016 - BLUE RIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V190000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WORM SHAFT FLEX COUPLING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,124.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 212
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds