Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 822 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (69) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (121) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (73) Steering (364) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (63) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (45) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (24) Tires (23) Wheels (16)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/4/2015 - FLORENCE, AZ
THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN MAKING A TURN FELT LIKE IT WAS COMING LOOSE AND IT MAKES A CLUNKING NOISE WHILE DRIVING THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: THERE WAS A KNOCKING NOISE AND THE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATED. THE FAILURE BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE WHENEVER MAKING A TURN. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND I WAS TOLD THAT THEIR WAS NOT ANY RECALLS DUE TO ANY STEERING COLLUM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2015 - FAIRPORT, NY
I AM USING THE SAME KEY THAT I HAVE USED SINCE THE CAR WAS FIRST PURCHASED NEW. SEVERAL TIMES PER WEEK, WHEN I STOP THE CAR AND SHIFT IT INTO PARK, I AM UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE STEERING WHEEL IS NOT LOCKED, THE CAR WILL START FINE, AND THE CAR WILL RUN FINE---I AM JUST UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AN IN PARK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/4/2015 - FAIRPORT, NY
I AM USING THE SAME KEY THAT I HAVE USED SINCE THE CAR WAS FIRST PURCHASED NEW. SEVERAL TIMES PER WEEK, WHEN I STOP THE CAR AND SHIFT IT INTO PARK, I AM UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE STEERING WHEEL IS NOT LOCKED, THE CAR WILL START FINE, AND THE CAR WILL RUN FINE---I AM JUST UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AN IN PARK.

View Details

STEERING

3/4/2015 - FAIRPORT, NY
I AM USING THE SAME KEY THAT I HAVE USED SINCE THE CAR WAS FIRST PURCHASED NEW. SEVERAL TIMES PER WEEK, WHEN I STOP THE CAR AND SHIFT IT INTO PARK, I AM UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE STEERING WHEEL IS NOT LOCKED, THE CAR WILL START FINE, AND THE CAR WILL RUN FINE---I AM JUST UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AN IN PARK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: CALIPER

3/2/2015 - LANHAM, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING NOISE EMITTING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE CALIPERS WERE CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE THE BRAKE CALIPERS WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/25/2015 - LAKELAND, FL
WENT TO LAKELAND AUTOMALL WHICH IS A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO GET SOME RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF. UPON ARRIVAL I GAVE THEM SOME RECALL PAPERWORK IN WHICH THEY REFUSED TO LOOK AT AND SAID THAT THEY HAVE IT IN THEIR DATABASE. THE RECALL THAT HAS TO DO WITH THE "STOP LAMP SWITCH MALFUNCTION" WAS NOT COMPLETE. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK I CHECKED MY BRAKE LIGHTS AND THEY DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. I TOLD THEM THAT WHEN I DRIVE IN CRUISE CONTROL MY CAR RELEASES IT AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ILLUMINATED AND MY ESC CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ALSO ON OCASSION ONE OF MY TAIL BRAKE LIGHTS WORK BUT NOT THE OTHER. THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY FIXED THIS PROBLEM LAST APRIL OF 2014 BUT APPARANTLY THE SAME PROBLEM IS REPLICATING. THEY THEN TOLD ME IT NEEDED A WHOLE TAILIGHT ASSEMBLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/25/2015 - LAKELAND, FL
WENT TO LAKELAND AUTOMALL WHICH IS A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO GET SOME RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF. UPON ARRIVAL I GAVE THEM SOME RECALL PAPERWORK IN WHICH THEY REFUSED TO LOOK AT AND SAID THAT THEY HAVE IT IN THEIR DATABASE. THE RECALL THAT HAS TO DO WITH THE "STOP LAMP SWITCH MALFUNCTION" WAS NOT COMPLETE. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK I CHECKED MY BRAKE LIGHTS AND THEY DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. I TOLD THEM THAT WHEN I DRIVE IN CRUISE CONTROL MY CAR RELEASES IT AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ILLUMINATED AND MY ESC CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ALSO ON OCASSION ONE OF MY TAIL BRAKE LIGHTS WORK BUT NOT THE OTHER. THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY FIXED THIS PROBLEM LAST APRIL OF 2014 BUT APPARANTLY THE SAME PROBLEM IS REPLICATING. THEY THEN TOLD ME IT NEEDED A WHOLE TAILIGHT ASSEMBLY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/25/2015 - LAKELAND, FL
WENT TO LAKELAND AUTOMALL WHICH IS A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO GET SOME RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF. UPON ARRIVAL I GAVE THEM SOME RECALL PAPERWORK IN WHICH THEY REFUSED TO LOOK AT AND SAID THAT THEY HAVE IT IN THEIR DATABASE. THE RECALL THAT HAS TO DO WITH THE "STOP LAMP SWITCH MALFUNCTION" WAS NOT COMPLETE. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK I CHECKED MY BRAKE LIGHTS AND THEY DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. I TOLD THEM THAT WHEN I DRIVE IN CRUISE CONTROL MY CAR RELEASES IT AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ILLUMINATED AND MY ESC CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ALSO ON OCASSION ONE OF MY TAIL BRAKE LIGHTS WORK BUT NOT THE OTHER. THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY FIXED THIS PROBLEM LAST APRIL OF 2014 BUT APPARANTLY THE SAME PROBLEM IS REPLICATING. THEY THEN TOLD ME IT NEEDED A WHOLE TAILIGHT ASSEMBLY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/23/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
MODEL: HYUNDAI SONATA 2011 LIMITED ISSUE: RATTLING/CLUNKING/ KNOCKING SOUND FROM SUSPENSION YOU HAVE TO KNOW THIS ISSUE ABOUT SONATA 2011 LIMITED. SHOCK/STRUT KNOCKING AT LOW SPEEDS 1MPH TO 40MPH SOUNDS IS EASILY NOTICEABLE. I MOSTLY DRIVE ON FREEWAY/HIGHWAYS/TOLL AND 90% BUT THE SOUND HAS STARTED TO COME LOUD AND ANNOYING. I AM AFRAID OF MY DEAR LIFE WHILE DRIVING THIS CAR , SINCE AT SPEEDS 60 AND ABOVE THE STEERING TOO IS MAKING KNOCKING SOUND AND HARD TO CONTROL THE CAR AT WHILE ON TURNS.THIS IS COMMON ISSUE WHAT I FOUND FROM FORUMS ONLINE AND WANT THIS ISSUE TO BE BOUGHT TO HYUNDAI NOTICE TO ISSUE RECALL ON SUSPENSION THIS IS A LIFE THREATENING SITUATION FOR ANY DRIVER WHO IS DRIVING THIS CAR SINCE I FEEL THE FRAME OR SUSPENSION WOULD BREAK WHILE DRIVING. HTTP://WWW.HYUNDAI-FORUMS.COM/YF-2011-SONATA-I45/162764-2011-HYUNDAI-SONATA-SE-2-4L-SUSPENSION-PROBLEM.HTML HTTP://WWW.HYUNDAI-FORUMS.COM/YF-2011-SONATA-I45/134299-2012-LOADED-SONATA-SE-NEEDS-NEW-AXLE.HTML

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2015 - COLCHESTER, CT
THIS CAR IS EQUIPPED WITH A SMARTKEY. RECENTLY IT HAS DEVELOPED A STARTING PROBLEM THAT IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE OUTDOOR TEMP. IT HAS BEEN SERVICED SEVERAL TIMES BY THE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE SHIFT INTERLOCK SWITCH AND THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. IT IS BELOW ZERO THIS MORNING (2/21/2015) JUST ONE DAY AFTER THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH WAS REPLACED, AND AGAIN THE CAR REFUSES TO START. WHEN THE START BUTTON IS DEPRESSED EVERYTHING LIGHTS UP ON THE DASH BOARD BUT THE ENGINE WILL NOT EVEN TURN OVER, IT IS COMPLETELY DEAD. THE ENGINE IMOBILIZER LIGHT ALSO COMES ON AFTER ATTEMPTING TO MOVE THE SHIFTER AND THE BRAKE PEDAL BECOMES NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO DEPRESS! THE CAR WILL BE OUT OF WARRANTY SOON. THIS NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED. THE CAR HAS REFUSED TO START DOZENS OF TIMES WITH THE VERY SAME ISSUES. THE CAR HAS LEFT ME STRANDED (AT HOME TO DATE) NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN IT WARMS UP OUTDOORS LATER IN THE DAY AND THE TEMP GOES UP TO 25 - 30 DEGREES THE CAR STARTS VIRTUALLY EVERY TIME AND WILL START WITHOUT A PROBLEM FOR THE REST OF THE DAY. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM ON THIS WEBSITE AND OTHER WEBSITES AND PUSH BUTTON IGNITION PROBLEMS ARE VERY COMMON ON THIS CAR. HYUNDAI NEEDS TO COME UP WITH A PROPER FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM. NUMEROUS PEOPLE REPORT HAVING THE SAME SWITCHES REPLACED AS ON MY CAR THEIR PROBLEMS WERE NOT SOLVED EITHER. IT APPEARS THAT HYUNDAI HAS NEVER BEEN ABLE TO COME UP WITH A PROPER FIX FOR THIS ISSUE OR IT IS JUST TO COSTLY TO IMPLEMENT. THEY HAVE CONTINUALLY SWEPT IT UNDER THE RUG.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds