Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 765 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (65) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (114) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Power Train (67) Steering (338) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seat Belts (7) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (50) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (39) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (23) Tires (22) Wheels (16)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - AKRON, OH
ENGINE SEIZED.

View Details

STEERING

11/22/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
AS I WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 40 MPH THE CAR MADE AN ELECTRICAL NOISE AND THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY. I FOUGHT THE SHAKING WHEEL TO PULL THE CAR OVER AND TURNED IT OFF. THE STEERING WHEEL CONTINUED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES WITH THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. IT WAS EXACTLY LIKE THIS VIDEO: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=KZABDAMQAPS I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHO REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN INTERMEDIATE SHAFT AS PART OF A RECALL AND THEY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN WHICH IS OVER $1,500 DOLLARS AS IT WAS "NOT ASSOCIATED" WITH THE RECALL AND WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2014 - CHICOPEE, MA
AS I BEGAN DRIVING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA THAT MORNING I HEARD A RATTLE WHENEVER MY RPM WOULD REACH BETWEEN 2-3K. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT. TODAY 11/20/14I WAS TOLD THAT MY ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. MY CAR WAS PREVIOUSLY IN THE DEALERSHIP LATE SEPTEMBER 2014FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND ALSO DUE TO A SMALL KNOCK/BANG AS I ACCELERATED. THE TECHNICIAN FOUND THE KNOCK TO BE A SUPPORT HITTING AGAINST THE FIREWALL. UPON TIGHTENING SAID SUPPORT THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. THE CAR WAS REPORTIDLY TEAT DRIVEN BY THE TECHNICIAN NUMEROUS TIMES TO CONCLUDE THAT THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED. OIL CHANGE WAS DONE AS USUAL AND MY CAR WAS GIVEN A CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH (ONLY A RECOMMENDATION OF BRAKES GETTING LOW)

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION A CLICKING NOISE WAS PRESENT COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE STEERING WHEEL FELT VERY LOOSE MAKING THE STEERING UNSTABLE WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT YET DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 10V457000(STEERING)THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME DEFECT LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. JFT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - SHREVEPORT, LA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE WOULD HESITATE TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, HE SMELLED A STRONG FUEL ODOR. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000. NE

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2014 - CARLSBAD, CA
CAR STARTED MAKING KNOCKING NOISES WHILE DRIVING UP HILL, LOSING POWER. PROCEEDED TO DRIVE IT HOME. CHECKED OIL AND APPEARED COMPLETELY DRY. NO ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON WHEN CAR HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN DRIVEN. NO OIL LEAKS SEEN. ADDED OIL AND THEN DROVE TO DEALERSHIP, WHERE THEY STATED ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. REGULARLY SERVICED CAR WITH OIL CHANGES, 120K MILES WITH ALMOST ALL FREEWAY COMMUTE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2014 - BRONX, NY
PUSH TO START DOES START WHEN IT'S COLD OUTSIDE. I HAVE TO UNLOCK THE CAR MANUALLY SINCE THE CAR WON'T EVEN OPEN WITH THE REMOTE. I THEN HAVE TO STRUGGLE WHILE IN THE CAR TRYING TO PUSH THE START BUTTON AND STEP ON THE BRAKE. SOMETIMES IT TURNS ON, OTHER TIMES IT DOESN'T. ITS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE LAST YEAR. AND ALREADY HAPPENED TWICE THIS WEEK.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/16/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
I PURCHASED MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON DEC 15,2013 FROM A HYUNDAI DEALER. IN APRIL I NOTICED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS PULLING TO THE RIGHT SIDE. I TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT LOCATION AND AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS OF THEM CORRECTING THE ISSUE THEY CALLED ME AND TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. I THEN TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY REPLACED A SENSOR AND TOLD ME IT WAS DONE. AGAIN MY CAR WILL NOT STAY IN THE LANE. IT PULLS SO MUCH TO THE RIGHT AND IS VERY UNSAFE. I TOOK IT IN AGAIN AND THEY ARE TELLING ME IT IS JUST THE ALIGNMENT. THEY EVEN STATED THAT SOMEONE ELSE IN MY HOUSE HIT SOMETHING. I LOOKED ONLINE AND SAW THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF CARS PULLING TO LEFT OR RIGHT. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL CAMPAIGN 927 BUT THEY ONLY DID AN ALIGNMENT ON DECEMBER 23,2011 AND NOTHING ELSE WAS DONE BUT THEN IT WAS CLOSED, INDICATING THAT IT HAD BEEN FIXED. THEY WANT ME TO PAY FOR THE ALIGNMENT AND TOLD ME MY TIRES ARE BAD BECAUSE OF HOW IT DRIVES. HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF THE ISSUES AND GIVES ME THE RUN AROUND

View Details

STEERING

11/16/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
I PURCHASED MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON DEC 15,2013 FROM A HYUNDAI DEALER. IN APRIL I NOTICED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS PULLING TO THE RIGHT SIDE. I TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT LOCATION AND AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS OF THEM CORRECTING THE ISSUE THEY CALLED ME AND TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. I THEN TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY REPLACED A SENSOR AND TOLD ME IT WAS DONE. AGAIN MY CAR WILL NOT STAY IN THE LANE. IT PULLS SO MUCH TO THE RIGHT AND IS VERY UNSAFE. I TOOK IT IN AGAIN AND THEY ARE TELLING ME IT IS JUST THE ALIGNMENT. THEY EVEN STATED THAT SOMEONE ELSE IN MY HOUSE HIT SOMETHING. I LOOKED ONLINE AND SAW THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF CARS PULLING TO LEFT OR RIGHT. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL CAMPAIGN 927 BUT THEY ONLY DID AN ALIGNMENT ON DECEMBER 23,2011 AND NOTHING ELSE WAS DONE BUT THEN IT WAS CLOSED, INDICATING THAT IT HAD BEEN FIXED. THEY WANT ME TO PAY FOR THE ALIGNMENT AND TOLD ME MY TIRES ARE BAD BECAUSE OF HOW IT DRIVES. HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF THE ISSUES AND GIVES ME THE RUN AROUND

View Details

WHEELS

11/16/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
I PURCHASED MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON DEC 15,2013 FROM A HYUNDAI DEALER. IN APRIL I NOTICED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS PULLING TO THE RIGHT SIDE. I TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT LOCATION AND AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS OF THEM CORRECTING THE ISSUE THEY CALLED ME AND TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. I THEN TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY REPLACED A SENSOR AND TOLD ME IT WAS DONE. AGAIN MY CAR WILL NOT STAY IN THE LANE. IT PULLS SO MUCH TO THE RIGHT AND IS VERY UNSAFE. I TOOK IT IN AGAIN AND THEY ARE TELLING ME IT IS JUST THE ALIGNMENT. THEY EVEN STATED THAT SOMEONE ELSE IN MY HOUSE HIT SOMETHING. I LOOKED ONLINE AND SAW THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF CARS PULLING TO LEFT OR RIGHT. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL CAMPAIGN 927 BUT THEY ONLY DID AN ALIGNMENT ON DECEMBER 23,2011 AND NOTHING ELSE WAS DONE BUT THEN IT WAS CLOSED, INDICATING THAT IT HAD BEEN FIXED. THEY WANT ME TO PAY FOR THE ALIGNMENT AND TOLD ME MY TIRES ARE BAD BECAUSE OF HOW IT DRIVES. HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF THE ISSUES AND GIVES ME THE RUN AROUND

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds