Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1578 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (79) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (105) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (42)
Electrical System (191) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Power Train (104) Steering (723) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (11) Structure (37) Visibility (14)
Engine (316) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (76) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (56) Tires (25) Wheels (19)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 202
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/27/2016 - TAMPA, FL
I HAVE HAD THIS 2011 SONATA FOR JUST 4 MONTH IT HAS 77.000 MILES AND SINCE I BOUGHT IT I HAVE CALLED THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE THE CAR HAS A KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM WHAT I THINK IS THE ENGINE SPECIALLY AT LOW SPEED THE SOUND BECOMES LOUDER AND AT TIMES THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT WILL FLASH ON AND OFF. DEALER SAID THEY INSPECTED AND CAN'T FIND ANYTHING I AM VERY SCARED THAT THIS IS A MAYOR ISSUE AND WAS ALSO TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR THAT YEAR BUT IT JUST DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE THAT A CAR WILL DO THAT FOR NO REASON. I DON'T KNOW WHO ELSE TO CONTACT, I DID BUY AND EXTENDED WARRANTY WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2016 - RIPLEY, MS
HAD NO IDEA THERE WAS THIS MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE STEERING I AS WELL HAD A RATTLE IN THE STEERING WHEN I WENT OVER A BUMP OR TURNED MY WHEELS IT WOULD MAKE A LOUD NOISE, WAS TOLD BY SOMEONE IN MY HOMETOWN THEY HAD AN ELANTRA THAT SOMETHING IN STEERING BROKE AND CAUSED THEM TO BRAKE SO I WAS REALLY PARANOID THEN. I CALLED THE DEALER TOLD ME EXACTLY WHAT IT WAS AS SOON AS I TOLD HIM HOW IT WAS DOING AND THAT'S A $200 FIX I SAID THIS MUST HAPPEN A LOT REPLY WAS YES IN SONATAS AND ELANTRAS WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL MY CAR DOESN'T EVEN HAVE 58,000 MILES ON IT AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED. ONCE DROVE ONE FOR 15 YEARS NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM!!

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2016 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, A LOUD CLICKING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SOUND WAS HEARD WHEN MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN AND BECAME LOUDER WHEN DRIVING OVER BUMPY ROADS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COUPLING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/25/2016 - LOGANVILLE, GA
WHEN I GET IN MY CAR TO CRANK IT UP, I NOTICED MY AIRBAG LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF AND THEN COME BACK ON AND STAY ON. IT DOES NOT MATTER IF I AM DRIVING OR SITTING IN MY CAR WHILE IN PARK. GOD FORBID IF I GET INTO AN ACCIDENT, MY AIRBAG MIGHT NOT GO OFF. ALSO I HAVE READ OTHER COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME YEAR VEHICLE AS MINE DEALING WITH THE SAME ISSUE. THERE NEED TO BE A RECALL ON THE AIRBAGS. IT COULD BE A FAULTY SENSOR OR SOMETHING.

View Details

STEERING

8/25/2016 - GREENSBORO, NC
AFTER RECALL REPAIR ON STEERING THE STEERING STARTED A HARSH BUMPING WHEN TURNING STEERING WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT WHILE IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY OR STOPPED . THE STEERING WENT FROM NO PROBLEM TO A SEVERE PROBLEM SHORTLY AFTER THE RECALL. HYUNDAI SERVICE SAID THE RELATIONSHIP TO THE RECALL WAS PUIRELY COINCIDENTAL. PROBLEMS LIKE THIS USUALLY OCCUR GRADUALLY. THE SERVICE AGENT STATED THAT HE HAD SEEN HUNDREDS OF HYUNDAIS WITH THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS AS A POSSIBLE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2016 - YORK, PA
I BOUGHT MY HYUNDAI SONATA GLS 2011, IN 2010, AND SINCE THEN THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ON IT. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH, AND HAVE FOUND THAT A MANUFACTURER MUST REPAIR, REPLACE, OR SUPPLY A NEW VEHICLE TO THE OWNER WHEN A RECALL IS MANDATED. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR EACH RECALL, AND WHAT THEY DO IS INSPECT THE VEHICLE, AND IN MOST CASES, TELL ME MY CAR DOESN'T APPLY TO THE RECALL AS THEY FIND NOTHING WRONG. I AM DISTURBED BY THIS BECAUSE AGAIN, EVERYTHING I HAVE READ, EVERYONE I HAVE TALKED TO, ETC ... TELLS ME THAT THE DEALER MUST DO SOMETHING IN ORDER FOR THE RECALL TO BE CONSIDERED COMPLETE. I AM DRIVING AROUND IN A VEHICLE WITH THINGS WRONG WITH IT, TRANSPORTING A TODDLER, AND AM STUCK WITH FINDING RESOLUTION ON MY OWN. HOW IS THIS FAIR TO THE CONSUMER? THE MANUFACTURER HAS ALL OF ITS MONEY, AS MY CAR IS PAID OFF, AND MY CAR ISN'T WORTH ANYTHING FOR TRADE OR RESELL DUE TO NEGLIGENCE. IF I CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE BY FILING A COMPLAINT, AND POSSIBLY SAVE SOMEONE'S LIFE, I AM WILLING TO TRY EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING IN MY POWER TO DO SO.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2016 - YORK, PA
I BOUGHT MY HYUNDAI SONATA GLS 2011, IN 2010, AND SINCE THEN THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ON IT. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH, AND HAVE FOUND THAT A MANUFACTURER MUST REPAIR, REPLACE, OR SUPPLY A NEW VEHICLE TO THE OWNER WHEN A RECALL IS MANDATED. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR EACH RECALL, AND WHAT THEY DO IS INSPECT THE VEHICLE, AND IN MOST CASES, TELL ME MY CAR DOESN'T APPLY TO THE RECALL AS THEY FIND NOTHING WRONG. I AM DISTURBED BY THIS BECAUSE AGAIN, EVERYTHING I HAVE READ, EVERYONE I HAVE TALKED TO, ETC ... TELLS ME THAT THE DEALER MUST DO SOMETHING IN ORDER FOR THE RECALL TO BE CONSIDERED COMPLETE. I AM DRIVING AROUND IN A VEHICLE WITH THINGS WRONG WITH IT, TRANSPORTING A TODDLER, AND AM STUCK WITH FINDING RESOLUTION ON MY OWN. HOW IS THIS FAIR TO THE CONSUMER? THE MANUFACTURER HAS ALL OF ITS MONEY, AS MY CAR IS PAID OFF, AND MY CAR ISN'T WORTH ANYTHING FOR TRADE OR RESELL DUE TO NEGLIGENCE. IF I CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE BY FILING A COMPLAINT, AND POSSIBLY SAVE SOMEONE'S LIFE, I AM WILLING TO TRY EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING IN MY POWER TO DO SO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2016 - YORK, PA
I BOUGHT MY HYUNDAI SONATA GLS 2011, IN 2010, AND SINCE THEN THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ON IT. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH, AND HAVE FOUND THAT A MANUFACTURER MUST REPAIR, REPLACE, OR SUPPLY A NEW VEHICLE TO THE OWNER WHEN A RECALL IS MANDATED. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR EACH RECALL, AND WHAT THEY DO IS INSPECT THE VEHICLE, AND IN MOST CASES, TELL ME MY CAR DOESN'T APPLY TO THE RECALL AS THEY FIND NOTHING WRONG. I AM DISTURBED BY THIS BECAUSE AGAIN, EVERYTHING I HAVE READ, EVERYONE I HAVE TALKED TO, ETC ... TELLS ME THAT THE DEALER MUST DO SOMETHING IN ORDER FOR THE RECALL TO BE CONSIDERED COMPLETE. I AM DRIVING AROUND IN A VEHICLE WITH THINGS WRONG WITH IT, TRANSPORTING A TODDLER, AND AM STUCK WITH FINDING RESOLUTION ON MY OWN. HOW IS THIS FAIR TO THE CONSUMER? THE MANUFACTURER HAS ALL OF ITS MONEY, AS MY CAR IS PAID OFF, AND MY CAR ISN'T WORTH ANYTHING FOR TRADE OR RESELL DUE TO NEGLIGENCE. IF I CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE BY FILING A COMPLAINT, AND POSSIBLY SAVE SOMEONE'S LIFE, I AM WILLING TO TRY EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING IN MY POWER TO DO SO.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2016 - NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL VIOLENTLY SHOOK WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL WITH EXCESSIVE FORCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2016 - HIRAM, GA
MY STEERING COLUMN STARTED CLICKING AND GETTING MORE AND MORE PLAY IN IT. I TOOK IT TO HYUNDAI AND THEY ALREADY KNEW WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT BUT MY CAR WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST-SAME PROBLEM AS THE CARS THAT ARE ON THE LIST EXCEPT I HAVE TO PAY-PUT MY CAR ON THAT LIST AND GIVE MY MONEY BACK. PLEASE THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 202
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds