Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 2153 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (193) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (146) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (79)
Electrical System (245) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Power Train (120) Steering (973) Vehicle Speed Control (54)
Electronic Stability Control (37) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (28) Structure (42) Visibility (16)
Engine (446) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (13) Suspension (96) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (80) Tires (26) Wheels (24)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 278
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/4/2018 - HARRISBURG, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT MADE SEVERAL TIMES TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT IT FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO MODERN HYUNDAI OF CONCORD (965 CONCORD PKWY S, CONCORD, NC 28027, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THAT THE CONTACT HAD TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 855-671-3059 AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL AND NOTHING COULD BE DONE. A CASE NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/4/2018 - SCHERTZ, TX
AIRBAG LIGHT IS REMAINING ON, DESPITE NOT BEING IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/3/2018 - EUREKA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, A NOISE WAS HEARD AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CHECK ENGINE AND OTHER UNKNOWN WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AS OTHER DRIVERS ALERTED HIM OF FLAMES COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT WERE NOTIFIED AS THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. FIRE AND POLICE REPORTS WERE NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW LOT AND AWAITING INSPECTION BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V568000 (ENGINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 157,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2017 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
ON 7-18-2017 MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA LOST POWER AS I WAS DRIVING IN THE CITY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFER PLACE OFF A BUSY ROAD. IMMEDIATELY FELLOW DRIVER ALERTED ME THAT THERE IS FIRE UNDER THE FRONT OF THE CAR. 911 WAS CALLED BUT THE FIRE DEVELOPED VERY QUICKLY AND THE CAR WAS NOT SAVED. SPECIAL CHEMICALS WERE USED TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE POLICE ORDERED THE VEHICLE TO BE TOWED. ON 7-19 I INFORMED HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN DES PLAINES ILLINOIS OF THE EVENT AND OFFERED THEM THE VEHICLE TO INSPECT IF NEEDED. THEY DECLINED AND TOLD ME TO OPEN THE CASE WITH HQ. I CONTACTED THEM AND CASE WAS OPEN AS THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER RECALL FOR DANGER OF ENGINE CATCHING FIRE. ASKED THEM TO TAKE POSITION OF THE VEHICLE OR AGREE TO PAY STORAGE CHARGES BUT THEY DECLINED. OVER ONE MONTH LATER HYUNDAI REQUESTED ME TO PROVIDE THE VEHICLE FOR INSPECTION. THE CAR WAS NO LONGER AVAILABLE AND CASE WAS CLOSED AS THERE WAS NO VEHICLE TO INSPECT. POLICE REPORT ALONG WITH PICTURES WERE SUBMITTED TO HYUNDAI WITH THE ORIGINAL CLAIM.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2017 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
ON 7-18-2017 MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA LOST POWER AS I WAS DRIVING IN THE CITY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFER PLACE OFF A BUSY ROAD. IMMEDIATELY FELLOW DRIVER ALERTED ME THAT THERE IS FIRE UNDER THE FRONT OF THE CAR. 911 WAS CALLED BUT THE FIRE DEVELOPED VERY QUICKLY AND THE CAR WAS NOT SAVED. SPECIAL CHEMICALS WERE USED TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE POLICE ORDERED THE VEHICLE TO BE TOWED. ON 7-19 I INFORMED HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN DES PLAINES ILLINOIS OF THE EVENT AND OFFERED THEM THE VEHICLE TO INSPECT IF NEEDED. THEY DECLINED AND TOLD ME TO OPEN THE CASE WITH HQ. I CONTACTED THEM AND CASE WAS OPEN AS THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER RECALL FOR DANGER OF ENGINE CATCHING FIRE. ASKED THEM TO TAKE POSITION OF THE VEHICLE OR AGREE TO PAY STORAGE CHARGES BUT THEY DECLINED. OVER ONE MONTH LATER HYUNDAI REQUESTED ME TO PROVIDE THE VEHICLE FOR INSPECTION. THE CAR WAS NO LONGER AVAILABLE AND CASE WAS CLOSED AS THERE WAS NO VEHICLE TO INSPECT. POLICE REPORT ALONG WITH PICTURES WERE SUBMITTED TO HYUNDAI WITH THE ORIGINAL CLAIM.

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2017 - FAIRFAX, VA
UNABLE TO DRIVE SAFELY DUE TO STEERING WHEEL PRODUCING CLICKING SOUND DUE TO FAULTY GEARBOX SHAFT SELECTOR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2017 - HARRISBURG, PA
I'VE REPLACED MY BOTH MY HEADLIGHTS AND BRAKE LIGHTS AT LEAST 4 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST 6 MONTHS AND HAVE BEEN TOLD BY THE FAULKNER HYUNDAI DEALER THAT THERE IS NOT AN ISSUE. THERE IS NO WAY THAT I SHOULD BE REPLACING IT SO MANY TIMES, THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WITH EITHER A FUSE OR ELECTRICAL ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

12/26/2017 - MIDLAND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE STEERING SEIZED AND CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND SHE SUFFERED A HEAD INJURY, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT DEALER. LITHIA HYUNDAI OF ODESSA (5000 JOHN BEN SHEPPERD PKWY, ODESSA, TX) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V426000 (STEERING) WAS RELEVANT TO THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2017 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
MY CAR MODEL, HYUNDAI SONATA 2011, HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR ENGINE ISSUES. I CHECKED THE VIN NUMBER OF MY CAR AND MY CAR HAS BEEN AFFECTED. WHEN I TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME BECAUSE MY CAR IS NOT MAKING A CLICKING NOISE THEY WILL NOT FIX IT. I TOLD THEM THAT MY CAR HAS BEEN RECALLED AND I WANT THEM TO TAKE CARE OF IT. THEY REFUSED IT BECAUSE ACCORDING TO THEM THEY DID NOT HEAR ANYTHING. RECENTLY MY CAR STARTED MAKING CLICKING NOISES WHEN I TURN MY WHEEL. IT SEEMS THAT THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE. I CAN ESPECIALLY FEEL IT WHEN I GO THROUGH BUMPS. EVEN WHEN I AM STOPPED AND TURN THE WHEEL FROM SIDE TO SIDE I CAN HEAR THE NOISE. I AM HOPING THAT WHEN I TAKE MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP THEY WILL FIX THE PROBLEM AS I SAW A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE AS WELL. LOOKS LIKE THE DEALERSHIP ONLY WANTS TO FIX THE SMALLER TYPE OF RECALLS AND NOT THE MAJOR PRICY ONES.

View Details

STEERING

12/22/2017 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
MY CAR MODEL, HYUNDAI SONATA 2011, HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR ENGINE ISSUES. I CHECKED THE VIN NUMBER OF MY CAR AND MY CAR HAS BEEN AFFECTED. WHEN I TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME BECAUSE MY CAR IS NOT MAKING A CLICKING NOISE THEY WILL NOT FIX IT. I TOLD THEM THAT MY CAR HAS BEEN RECALLED AND I WANT THEM TO TAKE CARE OF IT. THEY REFUSED IT BECAUSE ACCORDING TO THEM THEY DID NOT HEAR ANYTHING. RECENTLY MY CAR STARTED MAKING CLICKING NOISES WHEN I TURN MY WHEEL. IT SEEMS THAT THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE. I CAN ESPECIALLY FEEL IT WHEN I GO THROUGH BUMPS. EVEN WHEN I AM STOPPED AND TURN THE WHEEL FROM SIDE TO SIDE I CAN HEAR THE NOISE. I AM HOPING THAT WHEN I TAKE MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP THEY WILL FIX THE PROBLEM AS I SAW A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE AS WELL. LOOKS LIKE THE DEALERSHIP ONLY WANTS TO FIX THE SMALLER TYPE OF RECALLS AND NOT THE MAJOR PRICY ONES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 278
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds