Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 739 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (62) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (115) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (66) Steering (329) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (7) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (41) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (37) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (21) Tires (22) Wheels (15)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/20/2014 - LAKE MARY, FL
STEERING WHEEL DEVELOPED NOISE WITH TURNING AND MORE FREE-PLAY IN STEERING WHEEL. I TOOK CAR TO DEALER WHO REPLACED COUPLING SEAL. ACCORDING TO DEALER, THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM THAT CAN LEAD TO SIGNIFICANT STEERING PROBLEMS.

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2014 - MONTICELLO, FL
I HAVE NOTICED A CLICK OR SLIGHT KNOCK COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEN TURNING WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT AT LOW SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN PARKING. OVER UNEVEN SUFACES THERE IS SHAKING OR SHUTTER IN THE STEERING COLUMN ALSO. THESE CONDITIONS SEEM TO BE WORSENING. I WILL BE SCHEDULING FOR SERVICE.

View Details

STEERING

10/19/2014 - SARALAND, AL
THERE IS SOMETHING GOING ON WITH THE STEERING WHEEL OR COLUMN THERE IS LOUD POPPING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL YOU CAN HEAR IT IN AND OUTSIDE OF CAR. WHEN YOU TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. I HAVE NOT HAD IT INSPECT END YET JUST BOUGHT VEHICLE HAVEN'T HAD IT A YEAR AND HAVE HAD SEVERAL REPAIRS SO FAR.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2014 - WHISTLER, AL
WHILE AT A RED LIGHT ON HIGHWAY 45 IN WHISTLER ALABAMA CAR JUST CUT OFF AND WOULD NOT CRANK BACK UP, POLICE HAD TO COME AND STOP TRAFFIC AND PUSH CAR OUT OF THE HIGHWAY SO IT WOULDN'T BE AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE IT WAS NEAR THE INTERSTATE EXITS TO HIGHWAY 45.

View Details

STEERING

10/17/2014 - MANSFIELD, TX
STEERING COLUMN BUSHING BECOMES FRAYED AND CHIPS/BREAKS CAUSE LOUD POPPING/CLUNKING NOISE GOING OVER UNEVEN PAYMENT AND LOOSE STEERING CONDITIONS. I AM TOLD THIS WOULD ULTIMATELY CAUSE FAILED STEERING ABILITY. MANY REPORTS OF EXACTLY SAME ISSUE ARE BEING POSTED ON HYUNDAI FORUMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - BRIMINGHAM, AL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THE PASSENGER BACK DOOR WILL NOT LOCK. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER BACK DOOR LATCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. JB

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - FULSHEAR, TX
THE STEERING WHEEL FEELS LIKE THERE IS SIGNIFICANT BACKLASH WHEN MOVING IT FROM LEFT TO RIGHT (ESPECIALLY AT LOW SPEEDS). THIS IS ALSO ASSOCIATED WITH A CLICKING SOUND. IN ADDITION, WHEN HITTING A BUMP IN THE ROAD, IT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING HAS COME LOOSE IN THE STEERING COLUMN. I AM TAKING THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE ON OCTOBER 16 TO INVESTIGATE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE , NM
I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON A MOUNTAIN ROAD 10/4/2014 WHEN IT STARTED TO MAKE A CLICKING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE. BEFORE I EVEN HAD THE CHANCE TO PULL OVER ALL OF MY SENSORS WENT OF THE THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED INCLUDING POWER BRAKES AND STEERING. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AS I WAS DRIVING ON A WINDING MOUNTAIN ROAD. DEALERSHIP IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO REPLACE MY ENGINE AND BECAUSE I'M THE SECOND OWNER THE 100,000 MILE WARRANTY DOESN'T APPLY TO ME. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED FOR THIS HUGE MANUFACTURING AND OVERLY DANGEROUS FLAW.

View Details

STEERING

10/8/2014 - OXFORD, MS
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A CLICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL INTERMITTENTLY UPON TRAVELING OR MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REFERRED THAT THE CONTACT TAKE THE VEHICLE TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V457000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000. DYD

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2014 - PEMBERTON, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND THE CAR STALLED. I COASTED INTO AN EMPTY PARKING LOT AND TURNED IT OFF. WHEN I TRIED TO RESTART IT, I HEARD ONE CLICK AND THEN NOTHING. THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG, NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO WEIRD NOISES, NOTHING. I HAD THE CAR TOWED THE FOLLOWING MORNING AND WAS TOLD BY THE REPAIR SHOP THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED UP. I FAITHFULLY HAVE MY OIL CHANGED AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THE OIL WAS LOW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 96
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds