Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 2638 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (328) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (3)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (189) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (115)
Electrical System (321) Fuel Propulsion System (58) Power Train (136) Steering (1079) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Electronic Stability Control (56) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (83) Structure (55) Visibility (17)
Engine (607) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (14) Suspension (123) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (103) Tires (26) Wheels (27)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 353
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/21/2019 - DULUTH, GA
I WAS DRIVING IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD NEAR HOME AT AROUND 20 MPH IN A SPEED BUMP AREA. I SUDDENLY BECAME AWARE OF A STRONG BURNING SMELL INSIDE THE CAR. I SLOWED, PULLED OVER AND REALIZED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS BLINKING. SECONDS LATER AN EXPLOSIVE SOUND ERUPTED. THE PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATED. IT COLLIDED WITH AND CRACKED THE WINDSHIELD, BROKE THE REAR-VIEW MIRROR MOUNT AND THREW PLASTIC CHUNKS AROUND THE CAR. SOME PLASTIC STRUCK ME. IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES FOR THE POWDERY SMOKE TO DIMINISH. ON INSPECTION I FOUND DAMAGE TO THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT DOOR AND TO THE DASHBOARD ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. NOBODY BESIDES MYSELF WAS IN THE CAR, FORTUNATELY. THERE WAS ONLY A HAT ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. AFTER TAKING SOME PHONE PICTURES I TURNED THE CAR AROUND, DROVE IT HOME AND PARKED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/21/2019 - DULUTH, GA
I WAS DRIVING IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD NEAR HOME AT AROUND 20 MPH IN A SPEED BUMP AREA. I SUDDENLY BECAME AWARE OF A STRONG BURNING SMELL INSIDE THE CAR. I SLOWED, PULLED OVER AND REALIZED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS BLINKING. SECONDS LATER AN EXPLOSIVE SOUND ERUPTED. THE PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATED. IT COLLIDED WITH AND CRACKED THE WINDSHIELD, BROKE THE REAR-VIEW MIRROR MOUNT AND THREW PLASTIC CHUNKS AROUND THE CAR. SOME PLASTIC STRUCK ME. IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES FOR THE POWDERY SMOKE TO DIMINISH. ON INSPECTION I FOUND DAMAGE TO THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT DOOR AND TO THE DASHBOARD ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. NOBODY BESIDES MYSELF WAS IN THE CAR, FORTUNATELY. THERE WAS ONLY A HAT ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. AFTER TAKING SOME PHONE PICTURES I TURNED THE CAR AROUND, DROVE IT HOME AND PARKED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/21/2019 - DULUTH, GA
I WAS DRIVING IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD NEAR HOME AT AROUND 20 MPH IN A SPEED BUMP AREA. I SUDDENLY BECAME AWARE OF A STRONG BURNING SMELL INSIDE THE CAR. I SLOWED, PULLED OVER AND REALIZED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS BLINKING. SECONDS LATER AN EXPLOSIVE SOUND ERUPTED. THE PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATED. IT COLLIDED WITH AND CRACKED THE WINDSHIELD, BROKE THE REAR-VIEW MIRROR MOUNT AND THREW PLASTIC CHUNKS AROUND THE CAR. SOME PLASTIC STRUCK ME. IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES FOR THE POWDERY SMOKE TO DIMINISH. ON INSPECTION I FOUND DAMAGE TO THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT DOOR AND TO THE DASHBOARD ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. NOBODY BESIDES MYSELF WAS IN THE CAR, FORTUNATELY. THERE WAS ONLY A HAT ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. AFTER TAKING SOME PHONE PICTURES I TURNED THE CAR AROUND, DROVE IT HOME AND PARKED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2019 - MANVILLE, NJ
RECALL CODE 136, BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON. THIS DOES NOT SHOW UP IN MY HISTORY OF RECALLS FOR MY SONATA. THE VEHICLE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WILL STAY ON AFTER FULL RELEASE OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. BRAKE LIGHTS MAY SHOW OFF, CAR IS THEN SHUT OFF. 2 MINUTES LATER, THE CAR BRAKE LIGHTS ARE ON (NOT ALL THE TIME, BUT FREQUENT ENOUGH). THIS IS A REOCCURRING EVENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2019 - MANVILLE, NJ
RECALL CODE 136, BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON. THIS DOES NOT SHOW UP IN MY HISTORY OF RECALLS FOR MY SONATA. THE VEHICLE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WILL STAY ON AFTER FULL RELEASE OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. BRAKE LIGHTS MAY SHOW OFF, CAR IS THEN SHUT OFF. 2 MINUTES LATER, THE CAR BRAKE LIGHTS ARE ON (NOT ALL THE TIME, BUT FREQUENT ENOUGH). THIS IS A REOCCURRING EVENT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/21/2019 - COLUMBUS, OH
REAR BRAKE LIGHT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WAS WORKING INTERMITTENTLY AND NOW WILL NOT WORK AT ALL. I WAS NOT IN AN ACCIDENT AND NO DAMAGE HAS OCCURED TO THE PART. IT JUST STOPPED WORKING. THIS IS AN LED AND IS NOT SUPPOSED TO GO OUT ACCORDING TO GM. GM IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUR AND WILL NOT FIX IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
THE BRAKE LIGHT EXPLODES EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
THE BRAKE LIGHT EXPLODES EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2019 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
SONATA RECALL. ALL OF A SUDDEN MY STEERING WHEELS MAKES THIA CLICKING NOISE WHEN TURNING AND ON ROUGH ROADS. THERE IS A CLAMP THE SNAPPED AND MY MECHANIC FIXES THOSE ALL THE TIME. I WAS DRIVING AND OT NOW SOUNDS LIKE MY STEERING WHEEL IS ABOUT TO FALL OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2019 - CENTRAL ISLIP, NY
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED TO FUNCTION NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ATLANTIC HYUNDAI (193 SUNRISE HWY NORTH SERVICE RD, WEST ISLIP, NY 11795, (631) 587-0700) WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V934000 (ENGINE, FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE REMEDY FAILED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED; HOWEVER, THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AGAIN. IN ADDITION, THE TAIL LIGHTS SHORTED OUT NUMEROUS TIMES AND THE BULBS WERE REPLACED MORE THAN FIVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAULTY ENGINE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 353
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds