Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 836 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (69) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (30)
Electrical System (121) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (74) Steering (371) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (28) Visibility (12)
Engine (66) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (7) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (24) Tires (23) Wheels (17)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/24/2015 - CORAOPOLIS, PA
DRIVING DOWN HWY @65MPH. CAR LOST POWER. WAS ABLE TO GET TO SIDE OF ROAD. CAR SMELLED AND SMOKING. CHECKED OIL...2 LITERS LOW. HAD OIL CHANGED 1000 MILES AGO. NO OIL LIGHT CAME ON. HAVE BEEN ROUTINELY CHECKING MY OIL BECAUSE 2 WEEKS AFTER OIL CHANGED HAD CAR SERVICED FOR BRAKES AND MECHANIC CHECKED OIL AND WAS LOW. HE PUT OIL IN. NO OIL LEAKS ANYWHERE. NOW I HAVE TO PAY 4500 FOR ANOTHER 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ENGINE WHICH I REALLY DON'T WANT TO PUT IT BECAUSE THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A PROBLEM WITH THIS ENGINE AND REPLACING WITH THE SAME I WILL END UP WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2015 - HINESTON, LA
WHEN DRIVING CAR THE RIGHT SIDE WHEEL SOUNDS LIKE IT IS RUBBING I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THIS MODEL IS KNOWN TO MAKE THE SOUND THEY STATED THAT THEY CHANGED OUT PARTS AND IT WILL KEEP MAKE THAT SOUND WHEN GOING OVER A INCLINE OR PULLING UP A HILL OR INTO A PARKING AREA

View Details

WHEELS

3/21/2015 - HINESTON, LA
WHEN DRIVING CAR THE RIGHT SIDE WHEEL SOUNDS LIKE IT IS RUBBING I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THIS MODEL IS KNOWN TO MAKE THE SOUND THEY STATED THAT THEY CHANGED OUT PARTS AND IT WILL KEEP MAKE THAT SOUND WHEN GOING OVER A INCLINE OR PULLING UP A HILL OR INTO A PARKING AREA

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/21/2015 - HINESTON, LA
WHEN DRIVING CAR THE RIGHT SIDE WHEEL SOUNDS LIKE IT IS RUBBING I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THIS MODEL IS KNOWN TO MAKE THE SOUND THEY STATED THAT THEY CHANGED OUT PARTS AND IT WILL KEEP MAKE THAT SOUND WHEN GOING OVER A INCLINE OR PULLING UP A HILL OR INTO A PARKING AREA

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2015 - BEECH BLUFF , TN
I BOUGHT MY SONATA NEW IN 2010 & HAVE JUST NOW IN 2015 PUT 56,000 MILES ON IT. ABOUT A WEEK AGO I WAS DRIVING & NOTICED A POPPING & GRINDING NOISE ANYTIME THE ROAD WASN'T SMOOTH & WHEN I WOULD TURN THE WHEEL. I TOOK IT TO BE CHECKED OUT & WAS TOLD THERE WAS A RECALL. WHEN I CALLED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE ABOUT THE RECALL I WAS INFORMED THAT EVEN THOUGH MY CAR IS EXHIBITING EVERY SIGN OF THE STEERING COUPLING RECALL I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO GET MY CAR REPAIRED BECAUSE MY CAR DOES NOT FALL UNDER THE MANUFACTURING DATES. MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED ON 10/01/2010 & THE RECALL STOPPED ON 09/10/2010. I ASKED HOW THEY COULD BE SURE THAT EVERY CAR MANUFACTURED AFTER 09/10/2010 COULD HAVE BEEN MANUFACTURED CORRECTLY WHEN THEY WERE STILL INVESTIGATING THE ISSUE ON THE DAY MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED. NOW I WILL HAVE TO SPEND $300 FOR A REPAIR HYUNDAI SHOULD BE TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR. I USE TO RECOMMEND HYUNDAI TO EVERYONE, I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND IT AGAIN OR PURCHASE ANOTHER HYUNDAI AGAIN. I WILL BE LOOKING INTO TRADING MY SONATA IN AFTER I HAVE THE STEERING COUPLING REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2015 - CALEDONIA, NY
WAS DRIVING THE CAR WHEN I NOTICED SOME "CLICKING" NOISES COMING FROM THE ENGINE. I IMMEDIATELY BEGAN EXPERIENCING SEVERE ENGINE POWER LOSS AND, AS I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AND A LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER WAS NEARBY, I WENT THERE. UPON ARRIVAL, I ADVISED THE SERVICE PERSON OF THE SYMPTOMS I'D EXPERIENCED. AFTER A CALL FROM THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY, I WAS ADVISED THAT HYUNDAI WANTED THEM (THE DEALER) TO COMPLETELY TEAR THE ENGINE DOWN TO TAKE PICTURES OF THE INTERNALS TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE. THE REPRESENTATIVE ALSO TOLD ME THAT THE OIL WAS EXTREMELY LOW ON THE DIPSTICK, SO LOW THAT IT DIDN'T EVEN REGISTER. NOTE: THE CAR WAS NEXT SCHEDULED TO RECEIVE AN OIL CHANGE AT 57,600 MILES, AND THIS OCCURRED AT 56,000. A FEW DAYS LATER, I HEAR BACK THAT "HYUNDAI" HAD DECLINED THE WARRANTY COVERAGE, SO I CONTACTED HYUNDAI AND THEY STATED THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS THE ONE WHO HAD IN FACT DENIED THE WARRANTY COVERAGE, AND WOULD BE CONTACTING THEM TO UNDERSTAND THE REASON(S) FOR THE DENIAL. AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUES, I'VE FOUND A LAWYER OPENING A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT, AS OTHERS HAVE REPORTED THIS SAME ISSUE. LAWYER: HTTP://WWW.CHIMICLES.COM/2011-HYUNDAI-SONATA-ENGINE-FAILURE-CLASS-ACTION-LAWSUIT?POST-SUBSCRIPTIONS-STATUS=SUBSCRIBE COMPLAINTS: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/HYUNDAI/SONATA/2011/ENGINE/ENGINE_SEIZED.SHTML

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/19/2015 - HAZLET TWP , NJ
SIDE REAR QURTER PANEL ON THE BOTTEM IS VERY LOOSE LOOSE

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2015 - BLAIRSTOWN, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE LEFT INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED AN ALIGNMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/16/2015 - ALBANY, GA
I JUST PURCHASE THIS CAR AND MY STEERING WHEEL SHAKES BAD. I TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI PLACE IN ALBANY GA AND THEY STATED IT WAS THE COUPLER. I HAVE READ A LOT OF INFORMATION ABOUT THIS PART AND MANY OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY IT WASN'T A RECALL CAUSE YOU CAN LOOSE YOUR LIFE WITH YOUR STEERING WHEEL NOT ASSEMBLED CORRECTLY OR A BETTER PART. FROM MY UNDERSTANDING IT'S PLASTIC AND PLASTIC DO NOT LAST LONG.

View Details

SEATS

3/14/2015 - BELFORD, NJ
SENSORS CAUSE AIR SYSTEM LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE. SYSTEM NEEDS TO BE RESET AT DEALERSHIP TO CLEAR. TECHNICIAN SAID AIRBAG WON'T DEPLOY WHILE THIS FAULT OCCURS. I HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE 4OR 5 TIMES. WHEN I GOOGLE HYUNDAI SONATA AIRBAG ISSUES I SEE MANY SIMILAR EXPERIENCES WITH OTHER PEOPLE. THIS COULD BE A POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD. I WAS TOLD IT WAS CAUSED BY A SEAT SENSOR. YET UNDER WARRANTY THEY DID NOT REPLACE. NO CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds