Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 877 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (70) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (123) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (76) Steering (386) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (29) Visibility (12)
Engine (89) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (7) Suspension (48) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (27) Tires (23) Wheels (17)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/23/2015 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
WAS TOLD THE BRAKE SWITCH PAD CAME APART. ALSO PEDAL STOPPER WAS INVOLVED. .BOTH INCIDENTS OCCURRED AS I WAS STOPPED AT A LIGHT WANTING TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN WHEN THE CAR MADE A VERY SLOW MOVEMENT TO MOVE FORWARD, THEN STALLED UNTIL I KEPT FRANTICALLY HITTING THE GAS PEDAL TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND TRYING TO PREVENT GETTING HIT FROM THE BACK BECAUSE MY CAR WASN'T EXPECTED TO STOP DEAD IN ITS TRACKS. I CALLED AAA WHO TOWED MY CAR INTO DEALERSHIP ON N.E. 6TH AVENUE IN DELRAY BEACH, FLORIDA 33483. THE ABOVE PARTS WERE NOTED ON MY INVOICE. DUE TO THE DANGER, I WOULD ABSOLUTELY PUT OUT A RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR WORSE. PARTS NO. 32876-3Q100

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2015 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
WAS TOLD THE BRAKE SWITCH PAD CAME APART. ALSO PEDAL STOPPER WAS INVOLVED. .BOTH INCIDENTS OCCURRED AS I WAS STOPPED AT A LIGHT WANTING TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN WHEN THE CAR MADE A VERY SLOW MOVEMENT TO MOVE FORWARD, THEN STALLED UNTIL I KEPT FRANTICALLY HITTING THE GAS PEDAL TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND TRYING TO PREVENT GETTING HIT FROM THE BACK BECAUSE MY CAR WASN'T EXPECTED TO STOP DEAD IN ITS TRACKS. I CALLED AAA WHO TOWED MY CAR INTO DEALERSHIP ON N.E. 6TH AVENUE IN DELRAY BEACH, FLORIDA 33483. THE ABOVE PARTS WERE NOTED ON MY INVOICE. DUE TO THE DANGER, I WOULD ABSOLUTELY PUT OUT A RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR WORSE. PARTS NO. 32876-3Q100

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - BRENT, AL
WHILE DRIVING HOME THE CAR JUST STOPPED AND SHUT OFF. BEFORE SHUTTING OFF IT WAS LIKE THE CAR LOST ALL POWER. WHAT I MEAN IS THAT THE EVEN THOUGH THE GAS PEDAL WAS PRESSED THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. I HAD TO LEAVE MY CAR ON SIDE OF A VERY DARK AND DANGEROUS ROAD. THE NEXT DAY I WENT TO RETRIEVE MY CAR. I SAW OIL SPOTS ON THE GROUND WHERE I HAD PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND UNDER THE HOOD. AGAIN, MY CAR WOULD NOT START, SO I HAD TO TOW IT HOME. I CALLED TUSCALOOSA HYUNDAI AND THEY TOLD ME THAT SINCE MY CAR WAS PAST THE MILEAGE WARRANTY THAT THE COST WOULD BE ON ME AND THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW MOTOR. I INFORMED THE MECHANIC ABOUT THE COMPLAINTS ON THE 2011 MODEL AND I WAS HAVING THE SAME ISSUES BEFORE MY CAR STOPPED. JOHN TOLD ME THAT, I JUST CANT BELIEVE EVERYTHING THAT I READ. I'M VERY UNSATISFIED WITH HIS COMMENT. HE TOLD ME THAT I WOULD JUST NEED A NEW ENGINE. I CAN NOT AFFORD THIS. I KNOW THAT I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF MY CAR AND FOR HYUNDAI TO SAT THIS IS MY FAULT IS GARBAGE. THEY KNOW THAT THEY HAVE MESSED UP AND ARE REFUSING TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST HYUNDAI FOR PREMATURE ENGINE FAILURE. I JUST DONT KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO. I HAVE BEEN WITHOUT MY CAR FOR 6 MONTHS NOW AND I HAVEN'T GOTTEN ANY WHERE. I STILL HAVE A CAR NOTE AND INSURANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
WAS DRIVING HOME WITH MY 11 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER DURING RUSH HOUR WHEN THE CAR JUST DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. COULDN'T START IT UP, THEN IT STARTING TO SMELL LIKE FIRE AND A LOT OF SMOKE WAS COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE. HAD TO JUMP OUT OF CAR AND GET IT TOWED TO DEALER. THIS WAS AFTER A SIMILAR INCIDENT HAPPENED A WEEK BEFORE ON MY WAY TO WORK WHERE THE CAR JUST STALLED OUT AND STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. BROUGHT IT INTO HYUNDAI DEALER AND THEY SAID I HAD A "SLUDGE" PROBLEM. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST, BUT NOTHING CAME BACK. TOLD ME TO TAKE TO A REPUTABLE CAR REPAIR PLACE AND GET THE OIL CHANGED BECAUSE THEY DIDN'T WANT TO BE LIABLE. WHEN I TOOK IT TO FIRESTONE, THE GUY THERE TOLD ME IT WASN'T A SLUDGE PROBLEM AND THE OIL WASN'T AS BAD AS HYUNDAI MADE IT OUT TO BE. HE CHANGED THE OIL THERE, THEN A WEEK LATER THE ENGINE DIED AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MAIN ROAD AND STARTED SMOKING. I LOOKED IT UP AND SAW NUMEROUS OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME EXACT THING HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE WITH 2011 SONATAS. THEY ARE TRYING TO TELL ME IT'S MY FAULT AND WILL PROBABLY NOT BE COVERED AND WILL COST ME ABOUT $6,000 TO FIX THE ENGINE. IF SO MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE, THEN IT IS NOT MY FAULT, IT SHOULD BE A RECALL (A DANGEROUS LIFE THREATENING ONE) FROM HYUNDAI AS THE CAR CAN JUST STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY! MY DAUGHTER REFUSES TO GET IN THE CAR AGAIN. WAITING TO HEAR WHAT THEY SAY, BUT I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR A FAULTY ENGINE PROBLEM THAT HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF.

View Details

STEERING

5/20/2015 - KATY, TX
WHILE DRIVING I MADE A RIGHT TURN AND HEARD A CLICKING SOUND IN THE STEERING COLUMN. I HAD HEARD THIS ONCE BEFORE & THE PROBLEM WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FIXED, BUT I GUESS IT WAS A COSMETIC FIX. IT MAKES THE SOUND EVERYTIME I MAKE A RIGHT TURN.

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2015 - HOMESTEAD, FL
STEERING WHEEL BEGINS TO SHAKE WHEN SPEED REACHES 70-75 MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL FEELS LOOSE WHEN THE CAR IS IN MOTION. WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION WERE PERFORMED BUT THE ISSUE PERSISTS.

View Details

STEERING

5/18/2015 - DALLAS, NC
MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA BEGAN MAKING A LOUD CLICKING NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS WOULD HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING, REGARDLESS OF SPEED, AND WHILE STATIONARY AND MOVING THE WHEEL EITHER LEFT OR RIGHT. WHEN I DRIVE OVER POTHOLES OR BROKEN/UNEVEN PAVEMENT THE NOISE IS LOUD AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTS TO SHAKE AS IF IT WOULD FALL OFF AT ANY TIME. HYUNDAI SAID THIS WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND I SEE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS SAME ISSUE FOR CERTAIN VEHICLES MADE BETWEEN 12/11/09 AND 9/10/15. VERY DISPLEASED WITH THIS AND WITH HYUNDAI. I THINK THEY ARE WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO GET SERIOUSLY HURT BEFORE THEY INVESTIGATE THIS AND BY THEN IT WILL BE TOO LATE. IT SHOULDNT HAVE TO GET THAT FAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/18/2015 - CLSTSKANIE, OR
I WAS ON THE FREEWAY DRIVING AT 65 MPH WHEN THE ENGINE STALLED AND SHUT OFF. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS INDICATING AN ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED LATER BY MY MECHANIC THAT THE ENGINE HAD A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. THE BRAKES FAILED BECAUSE THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING. I WAS LUCKY AND ABLE TO COAST TO THE NEXT EXIT, THE STOP LIGHT WAS GREEN AND I COULD MAKE IT TO SAFE LOCATION. HAD THE ENGINE FAILED A FEW MINUTES EARLIER I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN THE FAST LANE OF THE FREEWAY TRYING TO MAKE IT TO THE SHOULDER. OR TRYING TO STOP AT A LIGHT WITH NO BRAKES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2015 - CLSTSKANIE, OR
I WAS ON THE FREEWAY DRIVING AT 65 MPH WHEN THE ENGINE STALLED AND SHUT OFF. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS INDICATING AN ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE. I WAS INFORMED LATER BY MY MECHANIC THAT THE ENGINE HAD A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. THE BRAKES FAILED BECAUSE THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING. I WAS LUCKY AND ABLE TO COAST TO THE NEXT EXIT, THE STOP LIGHT WAS GREEN AND I COULD MAKE IT TO SAFE LOCATION. HAD THE ENGINE FAILED A FEW MINUTES EARLIER I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN THE FAST LANE OF THE FREEWAY TRYING TO MAKE IT TO THE SHOULDER. OR TRYING TO STOP AT A LIGHT WITH NO BRAKES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2015 - WOODBRIDGE , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CONTACT MERGED THE VEHICLE OVER AND NOTICED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL LOUD BANGING NOISE FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 73,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds