Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1383 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (97) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electrical System (175) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Power Train (96) Steering (614) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (11) Structure (33) Visibility (14)
Engine (283) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (72) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (48) Tires (25) Wheels (18)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 178
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/28/2016 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V568000 (ENGINE). THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER UNDER THE RECALL; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NOT MET THE CRITERIA TO BE REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE VEHICLE CONSUMED LARGE QUANTITIES OF OIL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2016 - RIVERVIEW, FL
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON ALL THE TIME. ACCORDING TO THE MANUAL IT NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BECAUSE IF THERE IS AN ACCIDENT THE AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY. I WAS BROWSING THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT MANY HYUNDAI SONATAS ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM ON OLD AND NEW MODELS. MY CAR IS A 2011 SONATA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2016 - LITHIA SPRINGS, GA
WHILE DRIVING 45MPH I EXPERIENCE MY STEERING WHEEL SHAKING AND IT LEAVES THE VEHICLE HARD TO CONTROL AND IT PULLS TO THE RIGHT. I THEN STARTED TO EXPERIENCE MY CAR NOT STARTING AFTER SITTING FOR NOT EVEN 5 MINUTES AND THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR 2 DAYS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE STARTER LEVER AND STEERING COUPLER. BOTH OF THESE ARE COMMON DEFECTS OF THIS MODEL AND HAS BEEN RECALLED IN THE PAST. I CALLED HYUNDAI TODAY AND WAS TOLD THAT I AM NOW RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIRS REGARDLESS OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE PAST. THE REPAIRS ARE GOING TO COST ME A LITTLE OVER $600.00 WHEN THE PARTS ARE PLASTIC AND WOULDN'T COST MORE THAN $20.00. A COMPLAINT HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE BBB AS WELL...THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE ON THIS VEHICLE AND THE MANUFACTURE NEEDS TO DO A BETTER JOB AT BUILDING THESE PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/28/2016 - LITHIA SPRINGS, GA
WHILE DRIVING 45MPH I EXPERIENCE MY STEERING WHEEL SHAKING AND IT LEAVES THE VEHICLE HARD TO CONTROL AND IT PULLS TO THE RIGHT. I THEN STARTED TO EXPERIENCE MY CAR NOT STARTING AFTER SITTING FOR NOT EVEN 5 MINUTES AND THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR 2 DAYS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE STARTER LEVER AND STEERING COUPLER. BOTH OF THESE ARE COMMON DEFECTS OF THIS MODEL AND HAS BEEN RECALLED IN THE PAST. I CALLED HYUNDAI TODAY AND WAS TOLD THAT I AM NOW RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIRS REGARDLESS OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE PAST. THE REPAIRS ARE GOING TO COST ME A LITTLE OVER $600.00 WHEN THE PARTS ARE PLASTIC AND WOULDN'T COST MORE THAN $20.00. A COMPLAINT HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE BBB AS WELL...THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE ON THIS VEHICLE AND THE MANUFACTURE NEEDS TO DO A BETTER JOB AT BUILDING THESE PARTS.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2016 - LITHIA SPRINGS, GA
WHILE DRIVING 45MPH I EXPERIENCE MY STEERING WHEEL SHAKING AND IT LEAVES THE VEHICLE HARD TO CONTROL AND IT PULLS TO THE RIGHT. I THEN STARTED TO EXPERIENCE MY CAR NOT STARTING AFTER SITTING FOR NOT EVEN 5 MINUTES AND THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR 2 DAYS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE STARTER LEVER AND STEERING COUPLER. BOTH OF THESE ARE COMMON DEFECTS OF THIS MODEL AND HAS BEEN RECALLED IN THE PAST. I CALLED HYUNDAI TODAY AND WAS TOLD THAT I AM NOW RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIRS REGARDLESS OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE PAST. THE REPAIRS ARE GOING TO COST ME A LITTLE OVER $600.00 WHEN THE PARTS ARE PLASTIC AND WOULDN'T COST MORE THAN $20.00. A COMPLAINT HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE BBB AS WELL...THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE ON THIS VEHICLE AND THE MANUFACTURE NEEDS TO DO A BETTER JOB AT BUILDING THESE PARTS.

View Details

STEERING

4/27/2016 - PLANO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE STEERING COLUMN MADE A LOUD THUMP NOISE AND THE STEERING FELT LOOSE. THE FAILURE WAS NOTICED WHILE DRIVING AND WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COUPLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/22/2016 - JUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND THAT THE STEERING WHEEL FELT STIFF. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V190000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/20/2016 - GARY, IN
MYFRONT PASSENGER SEAT BELT WENT OUT ABOUT 7 MONTHS AGO. SINCE THEN I AM NOW HAVING ISSUES WITH MY FRONT DRIVER SEAT BELT. I HAVE TO INSERT IT 3-5 TIMES FOR IT TO LATCH. SOMETIMES IT DOESNT LATCH AT ALL. ALL IN THE PARKED STATUS. THERE IS NOTHING "STUCK" IN THE BUCKLES. I AM ALSO HAVING ISSUES WITH MY KEY GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION WHEN I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRY TO TAKE IT OUT. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FORATLEAST 2 YEARS.

View Details

STEERING

4/20/2016 - GARY, IN
MYFRONT PASSENGER SEAT BELT WENT OUT ABOUT 7 MONTHS AGO. SINCE THEN I AM NOW HAVING ISSUES WITH MY FRONT DRIVER SEAT BELT. I HAVE TO INSERT IT 3-5 TIMES FOR IT TO LATCH. SOMETIMES IT DOESNT LATCH AT ALL. ALL IN THE PARKED STATUS. THERE IS NOTHING "STUCK" IN THE BUCKLES. I AM ALSO HAVING ISSUES WITH MY KEY GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION WHEN I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRY TO TAKE IT OUT. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FORATLEAST 2 YEARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/20/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
MY AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER I START MY ENGINE, I HAVE NO ONE ELSE IN THE VEHICLE ONLY A LIGHT JACKET OR LUNCH BAG ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. IT STARTED THREE DAYS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 178
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds