Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 900 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (125) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Power Train (76) Steering (399) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (29) Visibility (12)
Engine (96) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (7) Suspension (50) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (27) Tires (23) Wheels (17)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 116
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/19/2015 - BUNNELL, FL
THE STEERING COLUMN IS MAKING A CLICKING NOISE..I CALLED HYUNDAI TO SEE WAS IT A RECALL ON IT BIT WAS TOLD IT HAD ALREADY BEED FIXED.BUT AFTER TWO MONTHS IT STARTED MAKING THE CLICKING NOISE...SO IF IT WAS ALREADY FIXED.WHY IS THE PROBLEM IS STILL ONGOING....CAN IT BE A LEMON...OR JUST A SERIOUS DEFECT THAT JUST KEEP HAPPEN..THEN I LOOKED IT UP ON LINE AND IT SAID THE STEERING WHEEL CAN COME DETACHED FROM THE COLUMN....AND I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO GET IT FIXED...CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP BEFORE ME OR MY FAMILY IS HURT OR KILLED.

View Details

STEERING

6/17/2015 - EULESS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE STEERING COLUMN VIBRATED AND MADE ABNORMAL POPPING NOISES AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V426000 (STEERING), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOOSE AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/15/2015 - COCONUT CREEK, FL
I STARTED UP MY CAR AND REALIZED THAT MY GAS GAUGE WASN'T CORRECT ESPECIALLY WHEN I FILLED THE GAS THE NIGHT BEFORE. SO I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND THE NUMBERS WAS JUST JUMPING AROUND AND THE GAS LIGHT WOULD POP ON ETC. AS OF TODAY MY CAR IS STILL DOING IT AND IT HAS ME CONCERNED

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/15/2015 - COLONIAL BEACH , VA
MY HYUNDAI SONATA TAIL LIGHTS, BRAKE LIGHTS ARE MELTING THE PANELING AND DESTROYING THE SOCKETS WHERE THE BULBS GO. THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT CHARGED ME $250 TO REPLACE THE BRAKE LAMP SWITCH WHICH WAS A RECALL ON 2011 HYUNDAI SONATAS BUT CLAIMED MY CAR WAS NOT ONE ON THE SERVICE RECALL. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID THE BULBS HAD MELTED THE PANELING AND THAT THEY HAD TO SHAVE DOWN THE PANEL TO GET THE BULB TO WORK. NOW THE LEFT TAIL LIGHT IS NOT WORKING AND THEY SAID I NEED TO REPLACE IT FOR ANOTHER $250 THIS IS NOT CAUSED BY ME THE CONSUMER AND WITH THE MELTING OF THIS I AM AFRAID IT WILL CAUSE AN ELECRTRICAL FIRE IN MY REAR. HYUNDAI NEEDS TO FIX THIS ISSUE AND REFUND ME MONEY I ALREADY PAID OUT.

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2015 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V426000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/15/2015 - ORMOND BEACH, FL
MY ENGINE SEIZED WHICH SEEMS TO BE A KNOWN PROBLEM. I HAVE MAINTAINED THE VEHICLE VERY WELL.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2015 - FORT LAWN, SC
CONTACTED HYUNDAI CONCERNING THE STEERING COUPLING AND STEERING COLUMN RECALLS. HYUNDAI REFUSE RECALL REPAIRS BECAUSE OF THE FOLLOWING: 1. SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THEY WERE NOT OBLIGATED TO FIX THE RECALL. 2. THE MILEAGE WAS 13,000 OVER 60,000 MILES AND THEY WERE NOT OBLIGATED TO FIX THE RECALL. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUES WHICH ACCORDING TO THE RECALL SHOULD HAVE A 10 YEAR WARRANTY WHEN IT IS FIXED. PLEASE HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHY HYNDAI WILL NOT HONOR A GOVERNMENT RECALL AND FIX MY VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2015 - LENORE, WV
MY WIFE AND I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA IN LATE 2010. WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL RECALLS BUT NONE OF THEM HAVE BEEN RELATED TO A STEERING AND SUSPENSION PROBLEM WE HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING. A VIBRATION SEEMS TO BE COMING FROM THE RIGHT SIDE AND THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A POPPING NOISE WHEN ROCKING IT BACK AND FORTH. THERE IS AN INCREASED VIBRATION/SHAKING AT 70 MPH OR HIGHER SPEEDS IN THE STEERING/SUSPENSION WITHOUT MUCH VIBRATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND IT IS GETTING WORSE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/13/2015 - LENORE, WV
MY WIFE AND I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA IN LATE 2010. WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL RECALLS BUT NONE OF THEM HAVE BEEN RELATED TO A STEERING AND SUSPENSION PROBLEM WE HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING. A VIBRATION SEEMS TO BE COMING FROM THE RIGHT SIDE AND THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A POPPING NOISE WHEN ROCKING IT BACK AND FORTH. THERE IS AN INCREASED VIBRATION/SHAKING AT 70 MPH OR HIGHER SPEEDS IN THE STEERING/SUSPENSION WITHOUT MUCH VIBRATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND IT IS GETTING WORSE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING COLUMN BEGAN MAKING A STRANDE GRINDING TYPE OF NOISE. THIS IS HEARD WHENEVER THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED AT ANY SPEED. THE VEHICLE FEELS LIKE THERE IS NO POWER STEERING. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE COUPLING, THE STEERING GEAR SYSTEM WAS BAD AND THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. THE DEALER WANTS $1400. THIS IS LUDICROUS! THE COUPLING IS ONLY $8-10. WHAT IS REALLY GOING ON WITH HYUNDAI? I JUST RECENTLY HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE BECAUSE IT JUST SHUT DOWN WHEN MAKING A TURN. THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. THIS IS ALSO AN ISSUE WITH 2011 SONATA!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 116
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds