Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1454 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (99) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electrical System (181) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Power Train (99) Steering (647) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (11) Structure (36) Visibility (14)
Engine (294) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (72) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (52) Tires (25) Wheels (19)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 187
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/24/2016 - RIVERVIEW, FL
TAKATA RECALL I RECIEIVED SEVERAL RECALL NOTICES AND HAS CALLED ABOUT MY VEHICLE ISSUE. ONLY TO HAVE BEEN CALLED A LIAR AND TELLING THEY REFUSED TO FIX MY VEHICLE. IN THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING (EPS) CIRCUIT BOARD MAY BE DAMAGED AND RESULT IN A LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST. THIS IS A HUGE SAFTEY RISH WITH TRAVELING WITH MY KIDS. HYUNDAI DOES NOT HAVE A REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE. WITH A LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST, EXTRA STEERING EFFORT WILL BE REQUIRED, ESPECIALLY AT LOWER SPEEDS, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO FIX THIS, I EVEN HAD BRAND NEW TIRES PLACED ON THE VEHICLE AND I WOULD LIKE TO REIMBURSE FOR.THIS IS TOTAL UNACCPETABLE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
I RECEIVED A LETTER STATING MY ENTIRE ENGINE HAD BEEN RECALLED, BUT THE HYUNDAI DEALER HERE IN SPRINGFIELD, MO CLAIMS THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. THE CAR WAS DOING EXACTLY WHAT THE LETTER SAID

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2016 - CLARKSVILLE, MD
MY CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS BECAUSE OF A RECALL THAT I NEVER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF. I THINK IT WAS CAMPAIGN 132 OR 136. BY THE WAY, CAMPAIGN 143 IS ALSO ON THE HORIZON. I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED AND THEY ARE GOING TO FIX THE CAR WITH NO CHARGE BUT I AM OUT OF WORK WITH NO CAR BECAUSE THEY ONLY RENT CARS THROUGH ENTERPRISE. I CANNOT RENT THROUGH ENTERPRISE AND THEY ARE IN NO WAY TRYING TO HELP ME. I DID NOT ASK FOR THIS TO HAPPEN AND IT IS NOT MY FAULT AT ALL. I SIMPLY ASKED THEM TO ASSIST ME IN GETTING INTO SOMETHING SO THAT I COULD GET TO WORK. I'M MISSING DAYS THAT I AM NOT GETTING PAID FOR BECAUSE I AM STILL NEW ON THE JOB. I WORK FOR THE STATE HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION AND FIND THIS TO BE EXTREMELY WRONG. YOU DON'T NOTIFY OF ME SOMETHING AND THEN SAY THAT IF I CAN'T USE ENTERPRISE, WHOM THEY HAVE STRUCK SOME DEAL WITH, THAT I'M JUST LEFT TO MY OWN DEVICES. THIS IS NOT RIGHT, I SHOULD BE ACCOMMODATED IN SOME WAY REGARDING A CAR AND I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR DAYS MISSED AT WORK. OURISMAN HYUNDAI IN LAUREL, MD HAS MY CAR AND THEY ARE TELLING ME THAT IT MAY UP TO A MONTH TO GET THE PARTS NECESSARY FOR MY ENGINE! SO NOT ONLY ARE THEY FORCING ME TO RENT A CAR FOR SOMETHING THAT HYUNDAI IS RESPONSIBLE FOR (I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED OF) BUT THEY ARE ALSO TELLING ME THAT I HAVE TO PAY FOR A RENTAL FOR A FULL MONTH, WON'T GET REIMBURSED FOR, AND DEAL WITH THE FACT THAT I AM NOT GETTING PAID WHILE BEING OUT OF WORK. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? IN WHAT WORLD IS THIS OKAY?! SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS AND THIS WHOLE SYSTEM OR WAY OF DOING THINGS IS NOT EFFECTIVE AND PENALIZES THE CAR OWNER FOR THINGS THEY HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH. IT'S HYUNDAI'S FAULT AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/23/2016 - WATAUGA, TN
KEY GETS HUNG UP STUCK IN IGNITION WILL NOT SHUT OFF AT TIMES MUST WORK GEAR SHIFT SHOVING IT BACK AND FORTH TO RELEASE KEY AND PULL OUT WHILE DOING THIS CAR CAN ALSO ROLL OUT OF ITS PARKING SPACE AND CAUSE PROBLEMS.... THE VEHICLE IS AND WAS STATIONARY BUT THIS HAS HAPPENED ON CITY STREETS ON A HILL AS WELL VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE READ UP AND SEEN THIS NUMEROUS TIMES FROM OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL SO I KNOW IT IS NOT JUST THIS CAR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - WATAUGA, TN
KEY GETS HUNG UP STUCK IN IGNITION WILL NOT SHUT OFF AT TIMES MUST WORK GEAR SHIFT SHOVING IT BACK AND FORTH TO RELEASE KEY AND PULL OUT WHILE DOING THIS CAR CAN ALSO ROLL OUT OF ITS PARKING SPACE AND CAUSE PROBLEMS.... THE VEHICLE IS AND WAS STATIONARY BUT THIS HAS HAPPENED ON CITY STREETS ON A HILL AS WELL VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE READ UP AND SEEN THIS NUMEROUS TIMES FROM OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL SO I KNOW IT IS NOT JUST THIS CAR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - WATAUGA, TN
KEY GETS HUNG UP STUCK IN IGNITION WILL NOT SHUT OFF AT TIMES MUST WORK GEAR SHIFT SHOVING IT BACK AND FORTH TO RELEASE KEY AND PULL OUT WHILE DOING THIS CAR CAN ALSO ROLL OUT OF ITS PARKING SPACE AND CAUSE PROBLEMS.... THE VEHICLE IS AND WAS STATIONARY BUT THIS HAS HAPPENED ON CITY STREETS ON A HILL AS WELL VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE READ UP AND SEEN THIS NUMEROUS TIMES FROM OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL SO I KNOW IT IS NOT JUST THIS CAR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - TOLEDO, OH
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO DISAPPOINTMENTS IN THE AMOUNT OF RECALL FOR VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/22/2016 - SUFFOLK, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED, THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COUPLING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,888.

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2016 - STRATFORD, CT
CAR STARTED MAKING A METALLIC CLICKING NOISE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND THEN STALLED WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. THE DEALERSHIP INDICATED THAT THE ENGINE WAS SHOT. APPEARS TO BE RELATED TO NHTSA 15V568.

View Details

STEERING

6/21/2016 - EL CERRITO, CA
EVERYTIME I TURN MY STEERING WHEEL AND/OR SLIGHTLY MOVE IT IN ANY WAY, IT MAKES A VERY UNNERVING AND SCARY POPPING SOUND. AS IF IT WILL JUST COME RIGHT OFF OF THE HINGES. IT MAKES THE SAME POPPING SOUND WHILE DRIVING ON THESE TERRIBLE CALIFORNIA UNEVEN HIGHWAYS AND LOCAL STREETS. APPARENTLY THE VEHICLE HAS A RECALL NUMBER 16V19000 BUT THERE IS NO REMEDY....HOW CAN THAT BE? DO WE WAIT UNTIL SOMEONE HAS A ACCIDENT, THEN NOTIFY ALL THE CUSTOMERS?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 187
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds