Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1874 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (138) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (120) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (61)
Electrical System (210) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Power Train (112) Steering (895) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (12) Structure (41) Visibility (15)
Engine (362) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (11) Suspension (83) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (63) Tires (25) Wheels (22)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 239
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/24/2017 - WEST MEMPHIS, AR
ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND IS STILL ON. THE LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY ON THE ENTIRE TIME I AM DRIVING THE CAR. IT WAS LOOKED AT BY A PROFESSIONAL AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE AIR BAG CLOCK SPRING AND IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I HAVE READ SEVERAL FORUMS WHERE OTHER HYUNDAI SONATA OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2017 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION, A CLICKING NOISE WAS PRESENT COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT UNIVERSAL JOINT CONNECTION WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/24/2017 - LEXINGTON, KY
CRUISE CONTROL WILL NOT CANCEL WITH CANCEL BUTTON. WILL HAPPEN ANYTIME I'M DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AND SET THE CRUISE CONTROL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/23/2017 - FONTANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH AND GETTING READY TO EXIT THE HIGHWAY, ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE'S SPEED DECREASED. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND COASTED TO A GAS STATION. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER RECEIVING A NOTICE FROM THE MANUFACTURER IN DECEMBER OF 2016 TO HAVE THE VEHICLE EVALUATED TO DETERMINE IF A NEW ENGINE WAS NEEDED, THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED BY THE MECHANIC THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OK TO BE DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT THE OWNER'S EXPENSE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 167,760.

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2017 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
ON MARCH 10 I TOOK MY SONATA TO GET AN OIL CHANGE AT SUPERLUBE. I ALSO TOOK THE CAR ON THE 11TH TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO CHECK FOR A KNOCKING NOISE I HAD HEARD IN THE CAR. THEY RAN TESTS AND TOLD ME MY ENGINE WAS FINE, AND I NEED BRAKES, AN ALIGNMENT, AND TIRES. SO I SPENT $800 GETTING THESE THINGS DONE ON MY CAR INCLUDING THE OIL CHANGE. WELL ON THE 18TH OF MARCH IN TRAVELING MY CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY. I CRANK UP IT DRIVE FOR A MINUTE AND CUT RIGHT BACK OFF AGAIN. SO I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY HOUSE. THEY RAN TESTS, COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, THOUGHT IT WAS MY PULLEY, BUT IT WAS ALL RIGHT. SO THE MECHANIC SAID LET'S TRY ANOTHER OIL CHANGE. STARTED DRAINING THE OIL, IT WAS BLACK AS TAR AS IF I HAD NOT GOTTEN AN OIL CHANGE. TREATED THE GAS AND THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM. STILL A KNOCK IN ACCELERATION. WENT BACK TO SUPERLUBE TO GIVE THEM A PIECE OF MY MIND ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE MANAGER HAD BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH GDI ENGINES AND THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM. TOLD ME THAT THEY KNEW ABOUT IT AND-AND NOT SAYING ANYTHING. I WAS ONLY MAD BECAUSE I HAD TAKEN MY CAR TO HYUNDAI TWICE SINCE I HAD THE CAR IN A YEAR FOR ENGINE INSPECTION AND NOT ONE TIME DID THEY TELL ME THIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/22/2017 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
ON MARCH 10 I TOOK MY SONATA TO GET AN OIL CHANGE AT SUPERLUBE. I ALSO TOOK THE CAR ON THE 11TH TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO CHECK FOR A KNOCKING NOISE I HAD HEARD IN THE CAR. THEY RAN TESTS AND TOLD ME MY ENGINE WAS FINE, AND I NEED BRAKES, AN ALIGNMENT, AND TIRES. SO I SPENT $800 GETTING THESE THINGS DONE ON MY CAR INCLUDING THE OIL CHANGE. WELL ON THE 18TH OF MARCH IN TRAVELING MY CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY. I CRANK UP IT DRIVE FOR A MINUTE AND CUT RIGHT BACK OFF AGAIN. SO I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY HOUSE. THEY RAN TESTS, COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, THOUGHT IT WAS MY PULLEY, BUT IT WAS ALL RIGHT. SO THE MECHANIC SAID LET'S TRY ANOTHER OIL CHANGE. STARTED DRAINING THE OIL, IT WAS BLACK AS TAR AS IF I HAD NOT GOTTEN AN OIL CHANGE. TREATED THE GAS AND THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM. STILL A KNOCK IN ACCELERATION. WENT BACK TO SUPERLUBE TO GIVE THEM A PIECE OF MY MIND ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE MANAGER HAD BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH GDI ENGINES AND THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM. TOLD ME THAT THEY KNEW ABOUT IT AND-AND NOT SAYING ANYTHING. I WAS ONLY MAD BECAUSE I HAD TAKEN MY CAR TO HYUNDAI TWICE SINCE I HAD THE CAR IN A YEAR FOR ENGINE INSPECTION AND NOT ONE TIME DID THEY TELL ME THIS.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2017 - PROSPER, TX
THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH HYUNDAI AND THEY STILL CHARGE TO FIX IT. I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE 4 RECALLS THAT WERE OUT ON IT AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT I NEED A COUPLING. THE MAN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID THAT THE PART HYUNDAI USED IS FAULTY AND THEY HAVE MADE A REPLACEMENT THAT DOESN'T BREAK BUT THEY STILL CHARGE $300.00+ TO FIX IT. THE PART ONLY COSTS ABOUT $5. MY STEERING SHAKES INCESSANTLY AND MAKES A VERY LOUD CLICKING AND CLANKING SOUND WHILE DRIVING AND IT'S GETTING WORSE. IT'S A DANGER TO DRIVE AND IS HARD TO CONTROL BECAUSE THERE IS SO MUCH PLAY IN THE WHEEL. I HAVE CALLED HYUNDAI AND MADE A COMPLAINT BUT HAVEN'T HEARD BACK FROM THEM YET. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WARRANTY FOR THE PART HAD BEEN EXTENDED TO 100,000 MILES BUT MY PART DIDN'T BREAK UNTIL AFTER THE 100,000 MILES. IT'S SO FRUSTRATING, WHY WASN'T THIS PART OF THE RECALL SINCE IT IS ALSO A DANGER TO THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS?? IF I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THAT IT WAS SUBJECT TO BREAKING, I WOULD HAVE BROUGHT IT IN BEFORE THE 100,000 MILES - HYUNDAI SHOULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS AS IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. THIS IS AN ISSUE EVERY TIME I DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

3/17/2017 - MATTHEWS, NC
"STEERING COUPLER IS BAD" PER THE SECOND MECHANIC THAT HAS LOOKED AT MY CAR, ONE WAS FROM A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. I KNOW TWO INDIVIDUALS THAT HAVE REPLACED THEIR STEERING COUPLER AFTER THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING, RATTLING, OR CLANKING NOISES. IF IT IS NOT REPLACED AND THE COUPLER BREAKS, I WILL LOOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2017 - BIG SPRING, TX
TAKATA LOUD RPM WHEN STARTING THEN LOUD CLICKING IN STEERING WHEEL COUPLER BAD NOW BRAKES HAVING ISSUES AND AXLES CLICKING RADIO GOES ON AND OFF. LIGHTS KEEP BURNING OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/17/2017 - BIG SPRING, TX
TAKATA LOUD RPM WHEN STARTING THEN LOUD CLICKING IN STEERING WHEEL COUPLER BAD NOW BRAKES HAVING ISSUES AND AXLES CLICKING RADIO GOES ON AND OFF. LIGHTS KEEP BURNING OUT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 239
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds