Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 749 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (65) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (115) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (66) Steering (333) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (7) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (44) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (38) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (22) Tires (22) Wheels (15)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/28/2014 - UPLAND, CA
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL OCCURRENCES WHERE IT FEELS AS IF MY CAR IS GOING TO STALL. I ATTEMPTED TO START MY CAR THIS MORNING WHERE IT FAILED TO RESPOND. THE STARTER WAS REPLACED IN 2012, THE BATTERY REPLACED 2013 AND NOW HYUNDAI CLAIMS IT IS MY STARTER LEVER THAT ALSO NEEDS TO BE REPLACED (2014). I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER HYUNDAI OWNERS COMPLAINING OF THE SAME ISSUE. NOW, I HAVE TO PAY OVER $300 TO HAVE THE STARTER LEVER REPLACED WHICH WILL NOW BE MY 3RD ISSUE SINCE I HAVE HAD THIS CAR. ALSO, I DID SUFFER FROM THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT ISSUE THAT WAS RECENTLY RECALLED AND HAVE HAD TO REPLACE MY BACK LIGHT SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE RECALL WAS INITIATED. DUE TO MY CONTINUATION OF BRAKE LIGHT ISSUES POST RECALL CHANGE, I AM TOLD THAT THE LAMP HAS MELTED DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY OF THE BULB OVERHEATING THE LAMP. I DO NOT SEE HOW ANY OF THESE ISSUES ARE MY FAULT AND BELIEVE THAT HYUNDAI SHOULD RECALL, AND REPLACE ALL OF THESE MALFUNCTIONS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/28/2014 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
I WAS INFORMED BY SEVERAL CO-WORKERS THAT THERE WERE RECALLS FOR OUR CAR, THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE PROBLEMS THAT ARE AFFECTING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ARE: EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCHES, BRAKE LIGHT AND STEERING: GEAR BOX: SHAFT SECTOR. THE ONLY RECALL THAT THE HYUNDAI DEALER HONORED WAS FROM CAMPAIGN 123. CAMPAIGN 110 AND 122 WILL NOT BE HONORED DUE TO THE MANUFACTURE DATE OF MY VEHICLE WHICH IS MARCH 28, 2011. IF MY CAR IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AS THE OTHER 2011 HYUNDAI SONATAS WHY CAN'T MY VEHICLE BE REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. I FEEL THAT THIS IS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS OF THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DATE. PLEASE GIVE ME SOME TYPE OF REMEDY FOR THIS MATTER!!! HAD I KNOWN ABOUT THE BUSINESS PRACTICES OF HYUNDAI I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE!!!

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/28/2014 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
I WAS INFORMED BY SEVERAL CO-WORKERS THAT THERE WERE RECALLS FOR OUR CAR, THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE PROBLEMS THAT ARE AFFECTING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ARE: EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCHES, BRAKE LIGHT AND STEERING: GEAR BOX: SHAFT SECTOR. THE ONLY RECALL THAT THE HYUNDAI DEALER HONORED WAS FROM CAMPAIGN 123. CAMPAIGN 110 AND 122 WILL NOT BE HONORED DUE TO THE MANUFACTURE DATE OF MY VEHICLE WHICH IS MARCH 28, 2011. IF MY CAR IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AS THE OTHER 2011 HYUNDAI SONATAS WHY CAN'T MY VEHICLE BE REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. I FEEL THAT THIS IS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS OF THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DATE. PLEASE GIVE ME SOME TYPE OF REMEDY FOR THIS MATTER!!! HAD I KNOWN ABOUT THE BUSINESS PRACTICES OF HYUNDAI I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE!!!

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
I WAS INFORMED BY SEVERAL CO-WORKERS THAT THERE WERE RECALLS FOR OUR CAR, THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE PROBLEMS THAT ARE AFFECTING MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ARE: EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCHES, BRAKE LIGHT AND STEERING: GEAR BOX: SHAFT SECTOR. THE ONLY RECALL THAT THE HYUNDAI DEALER HONORED WAS FROM CAMPAIGN 123. CAMPAIGN 110 AND 122 WILL NOT BE HONORED DUE TO THE MANUFACTURE DATE OF MY VEHICLE WHICH IS MARCH 28, 2011. IF MY CAR IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AS THE OTHER 2011 HYUNDAI SONATAS WHY CAN'T MY VEHICLE BE REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. I FEEL THAT THIS IS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS OF THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DATE. PLEASE GIVE ME SOME TYPE OF REMEDY FOR THIS MATTER!!! HAD I KNOWN ABOUT THE BUSINESS PRACTICES OF HYUNDAI I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE!!!

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
MY 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA LIKE MANY OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ON HERE HAS HAD CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE DUE TO A SNAPPED ROD. LIKE MANY OF YOU I HAVE KEPT UP WITH THE REGULAR MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE AND HAVE BEEN SHUT DOWN BY HYUNDAI FOR REPAIR UNDER THE 100,000 MILE WARRANTY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SERIOUS PUBLIC SAFETY CONCERN AS IT HAPPENS WHILE THE CAR IS IN MOTION AND MY QUESTION IS WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR THE NHTSA TO TAKE ACTION AND FULLY INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE AND BRING IT TO RECALL? WITH THE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS LISTED ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE IT SEEMS LIKE THEY ARE WAITING FOR INJURY OR EVEN WORSE TO OCCUR BEFORE THIS ISSUE IS TAKEN SERIOUSLY.

View Details

STEERING

10/26/2014 - MIAMI, FL
THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING A CLICKING NOISE EVERY TIME THE CAR IS STEERING IN EITHER DIRECTION. IT'S EVEN WORST IF IT IS DRIVE IN AN UNEVEN TERRAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BECAUSE IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 10V457000 OR #10V426000. FOR BOTH CAMPAIGNS, THE LAST DATE OF MANUFACTURING IS 09/10/2010 AND MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED ON 10/18/2010. IN ADDITION, BUTTONS ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL ARE NOT WORKING.THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/26/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
10/1/2014 @ 7:30PM EST - WHILE DRIVING HOME, WAS AT A RED LIGHT WHEN THE CAR STALLED OUT. THEN A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND HAPPENED. ENGINE LIGHT WAS IT IS VERY UNSAFE FOR THE ENGINE TO STALL OR JUST RANDOMLY SHUTOFF WHILE IN TRAFFIC. THERE WERE NO SIGNS OR WARNINGS, THE VEHICLE JUST STALLED. VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO OPERATE. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO NORTHTOWNE HYUNDAI DEALER ON SHERIDAN DRIVE, BUFFALO NY.10/3/2014 @ 2:47PM EST - NORTHTOWNE HYUNDAI DEALER CALLED ME SAID THAT I NEED TO REPLACE MY ENGINE BECAUSE THE PISTON POPPED. I SAID WELL, MY CAR IS WELL WITHIN THE WARRANTY, ISN'T THIS COVERED? NORTHTOWNE HYUNDAI DEALER SAID THAT WE CAN'T SUBMIT YOUR WARRANTY CLAIM WITH OUT RECEIPTS OF YOUR MAINTENANCE FROM 5K MILES TO PRESENT. 10/3 - 10/13/2014 - CONTACTED OUR 3 LOCAL PLACES WE LIKE TO SEND OUR VEHICLES TO FOR COPIES OF OUR RECEIPTS. WITH NO PROBLEM WE WERE ABLE TO OBTAIN COPIES OF OUR LAST 7 OIL CHANGES AND GENERAL MAINTENANCE RECEIPTS. 10/14/2014 @ 2:00PM EST - MY HUSBAND GAVE NORTHTOWNE HYUNDAI DEALER OUR RECEIPTS AND HE STATED THAT HE WILL SUBMIT OUR CLAIM TO HYUNDAI. 10/24/2014 @ 8:59AM EST - "REGIONAL" / "CORPORATE" CALLED ME AND STATED "THE DISTRICT MANAGER WHO WOULD HAVE AUTHORIZED THE REPAIR, HAD THE DEALERSHIP PARTIALLY DISASSEMBLE THE ENGINE; TAKE OFF THE COVER FOR INSPECTION, AND THERE'S A CONDITION OF SLUDGE WHICH IS INDICATIVE OF EITHER THE MAINTENANCE INTERVALS NOT BEING FOLLOWED; OIL CHANGE NOT FREQUENTLY ENOUGH OR POSSIBLY THE QUALITY OR GRADE OF THE OIL USED. IN EITHER CASE THESE IS NOT A MANUFACTURE DEFECT, SO HE HAS DENIED WARRANTY COVERAGE." I'VE ALSO ADDED MY COMPLAINT TO THE FOLLOWING:[ HTTP://WWW.CHIMICLES.COM/2011-HYUNDAI-SONATA-ENGINE-FAILURE-CLASS-ACTION-LAWSUIT ] ** OUR LAST OIL CHANGE WAS 8/2/2014 AT 43K MILES ** WE HAD A CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH, NO ISSUES WERE REPORTED OR MAINTENANCE RECOMMENDED AT THAT TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

10/25/2014 - SPRING , TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A 4 LANEROADWAY WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED. I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A GAS STATION AND NOTICED A SMALL AMOUNT OF SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. HAD IT TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP AND 2 DAYS LATER THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A SEIZED ENGINE AND THAT IT WAS ONLY 1/2 QUARET LOW. I FILED A CLAIM WITH MY EXTENDED WARRANTY SERVICE. THEY SENT AN INSPECTOR OUT AND HIS FINDING WERE IT WAS 2-3 QUARTS LOW AND CITED OWNER NEGECT. WARRANTY SERVICE DENIED THE CLAIM. I USE ROYAL PURPLE SYNTHETIC OIL AND HAVE USED THIS SAME OIL FOR THE PAST 15 YEARS IN ALL MY VEHICLES. I HAD MY OIL CHANGED IN JULY..APPROXIAMTELY 3 MONTHS PRIOR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/24/2014 - MAIZE, KS
DRIVING ON A BUSY STREET, TURNED DOWN A RESIDENTIAL STREET AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY. WE HAVE OWN THE CAR SINCE JUNE, 2013 AND THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM. THE WILL BE A BEEP ,THEN THE EPS AND TRACTION CONTROL WILL SHOW ON THE DASH BOARD AND THEN THE STEERING WHEEL WILL START TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. MY HUSBAND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND IT VIOLENTLY SHAKE FOR 20 MINS. AT TIMES WHEN THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN THE PAST THE CAR WOULD BE ON BUT WE DID NOT EVEN LEAVE THE DRIVE WAY. THE FIRS TIME IT DID IT ME WAS 4 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE AND I HAD MY CHILD IN THE BACK SEAT TAKING HER TO SCHOOL WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY, I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY INTERSECTION AND I COULDNT GET OUT BECAUSE I WAS NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO HANDLE THE STEERING WHEEL, AND WE ALMOST GOT HIT. EACH TIME (MORE THAN 5 TIMES NOW) WE WERE EITHER STOPPED OR GOING LESS THAN 25 MILES PER HOUR, THE EPS AND TRACTION WILL LIGHT, AND THE STEERING WHEEL WILL SHAKE VIOLENTLY ANYWHERE FROM 5 MINUTES TO 45 MINUTES. THERE WAS A TIME WHEN MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING IN OUR SMALL TOWN WHEN THE EPS LIGHT WAS ON BUT MY HUSBAND HAD NO POWER STEERING. THE STEERING WHEEL DIDNT SHAKE.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2014 - MAIZE, KS
DRIVING ON A BUSY STREET, TURNED DOWN A RESIDENTIAL STREET AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY. WE HAVE OWN THE CAR SINCE JUNE, 2013 AND THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM. THE WILL BE A BEEP ,THEN THE EPS AND TRACTION CONTROL WILL SHOW ON THE DASH BOARD AND THEN THE STEERING WHEEL WILL START TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. MY HUSBAND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND IT VIOLENTLY SHAKE FOR 20 MINS. AT TIMES WHEN THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED IN THE PAST THE CAR WOULD BE ON BUT WE DID NOT EVEN LEAVE THE DRIVE WAY. THE FIRS TIME IT DID IT ME WAS 4 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE AND I HAD MY CHILD IN THE BACK SEAT TAKING HER TO SCHOOL WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY, I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY INTERSECTION AND I COULDNT GET OUT BECAUSE I WAS NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO HANDLE THE STEERING WHEEL, AND WE ALMOST GOT HIT. EACH TIME (MORE THAN 5 TIMES NOW) WE WERE EITHER STOPPED OR GOING LESS THAN 25 MILES PER HOUR, THE EPS AND TRACTION WILL LIGHT, AND THE STEERING WHEEL WILL SHAKE VIOLENTLY ANYWHERE FROM 5 MINUTES TO 45 MINUTES. THERE WAS A TIME WHEN MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING IN OUR SMALL TOWN WHEN THE EPS LIGHT WAS ON BUT MY HUSBAND HAD NO POWER STEERING. THE STEERING WHEEL DIDNT SHAKE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds