Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1836 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (133) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (119) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Unknown Or Other (58)
Electrical System (208) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (112) Steering (873) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (12) Structure (41) Visibility (15)
Engine (351) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (81) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (62) Tires (25) Wheels (22)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 234
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/17/2017 - LOCUST GROVE, GA
HYUNDAI NEED TO RECALL THE STEERING COLUMN I SPOKE WITH A EMPLOYEE AT HYUNDAI AND THEY EXPLAINED THIS IS A CHEAP PART HYUNDAI KNOWS IS TEARING UP AND IT MAKES STEERING WHEEL SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY AT 45 PLUS MILES PER HOUR. AND IT IS CAUSING OTHER ISSUES. HYUNDAI SAID PART COST LIKE 10.00 BUT WE HAVE TO PAY $400 TO HAVE PART CHANGED. AND AT THE TIME I WAS SPEAKING TO A EMPLOYEE HE INFORMED ME HE WAS PUTTING ONE ON AT THAT PRESENT MOMENT. CERTAIN MODELS ARE NOT COVERED AND THUS ISN'T FAIR IF THIS HAPPENS TO ALL HYUNDAI SONATAS

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/16/2017 - SHARPSBURG, GA
BRAKE LIGHTS-MY BACK BRAKE LIGHTS WON'T WORK..WIRING PROBLEM? STEERING WHEEL-MY STEERING ASSEMBLY IS LOOSE AND MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND ..THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS A GEAR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED .. AIR BAGS- I WAS IN A WRECK AND THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED..WASBHIT HARD..ALSO NOW A DEFAULT AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2017 - SHARPSBURG, GA
BRAKE LIGHTS-MY BACK BRAKE LIGHTS WON'T WORK..WIRING PROBLEM? STEERING WHEEL-MY STEERING ASSEMBLY IS LOOSE AND MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND ..THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS A GEAR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED .. AIR BAGS- I WAS IN A WRECK AND THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED..WASBHIT HARD..ALSO NOW A DEFAULT AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON?

View Details

STEERING

2/16/2017 - SHARPSBURG, GA
BRAKE LIGHTS-MY BACK BRAKE LIGHTS WON'T WORK..WIRING PROBLEM? STEERING WHEEL-MY STEERING ASSEMBLY IS LOOSE AND MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND ..THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS A GEAR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED .. AIR BAGS- I WAS IN A WRECK AND THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED..WASBHIT HARD..ALSO NOW A DEFAULT AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2017 - DUBOIS, PA
ENGINE IS BAD 100,923, ENGINE SIEZED LIKE ALL THE OTHERS

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - CHESTERFIELD, MO
DRIVING TO THE MOVIE THEATER IN MY 2011 SONATA 2.4 GLS, 113K MILES, TRAVELING THROUGH 40MPH AND ACCELERATING ON AN ACCESS ROAD AND THE ENGINE QUIT. THERE WERE NO WARNING SIGNS, IT JUST STOPPED. I COASTED INTO A PARKING LOT AND TRIED TO RESTART. IT WOULDN'T TURN, SO I TRIED JUMPING IT - NO LUCK. BOUGHT/INSTALLED A BATTERY FROM A WALMART THAT WAS NEAR THE PARKING LOT - NO LUCK. SO, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE STARTER AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEARBY AUTOTIRE REPAIR SHOP. AFTER SOME INVESTIGATION, THEY CALLED ME AND STATED THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. AWESOME. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON LINE, I FOUND OUT IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM, NECESSITATING A CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT. I CALLED THE HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CARE LINE AND THEY TOWED IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER IN ST CHARLES, MO. SO FAR, I'M IN FOR $180 FOR THE TWO TOWS, $165 FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, AND $671 FOR THE RENTAL CAR. HAVE MY LAWYER AT THE READY IF HYUNDAI TRIES TO WEASEL OUT OF THEIR OBLIGATION TO FIX THIS KNOWN DEFECT. MORE TO FOLLOW.

View Details

STEERING

2/15/2017 - NEWINGTON, CT
KNOCKING OR CLICKING OR RATTLING SOUND IS HEARD ANY TIME I DRIVE OVER 50 MPH AND ESPECIALLY WHEN SLOWING DOWN FROM HIGHWAY SPEEDS, IN WHICH CASE THE NOISE BECOMES VERY LOUD AND THE STEERING COLUMN PHYSICALLY SHAKES. I FEEL ENDANGERED WHENEVER I DRIVE THIS CAR. IT IS A HAZARD AND A POTENTIAL LIFE-THREATENING DEFECT. I PUT TODAY'S DATE BUT THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR MONTHS AND IS NOW STARTING IN MY WIFE'S CAR (SAME MAKE MODEL YEAR) AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2017 - KERNERSVILLE, NC
MY VEHICLE'S STEERING MAKES A CLICKING NOISE WHILE STATIONARY AND MOVING. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND THEY KNEW ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THE COST TO REPAIR AS SOON AS I MENTIONED THE SYMPTOMS. THE PROBLEM IS A STEERING COUPLER. THE CSR WAS SURPRISED THAT HYUNDAI HAD NOT MADE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM SINCE HE HAD SEEN QUITE A FEW CARS OF THIS MAKE/MODEL/YEAR WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THE COUPLER IS MADE OF PLASTIC AND WEARS DOWN OVER TIME. MY CAR IS 6 YEARS OLD AND NOW HAS ABOUT 88,000 MILES ON IT. THE REPAIR QUOTED WAS $404. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS IS MAY BE A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER COMPLAINT AND LOGGED CASE NUMBER 9975977.

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2017 - CONYERS, GA
THE STEERING COLUMN MAKES A CLANKING NOISE WHEN TURNING IN EITHER DIRECTION OR HITTING BUMPS IN THE ROAD. I CALLED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL AS IT WAS MADE AFTER THE CARS IN THE RECALL EVEN THOUGH IT HAS THE SAME PROBLEM. IT IS A PLASTIC GEAR THAT CAN CAUSE THE STEERING TO FAIL. WHY NOT IN THE RECALL?

View Details

STEERING

2/9/2017 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE PROGRESSING FROM THE AREA OF THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V426000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 234
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds