Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 1498 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (68) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (21) Exterior Lighting (104) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (39)
Electrical System (186) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Power Train (101) Steering (675) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (11) Structure (37) Visibility (14)
Engine (302) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (75) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (52) Tires (25) Wheels (19)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 193
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/23/2016 - PELHAM, AL
I HAVE HAD THIS CAR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR NOW. IT HAS MADE THE SAME NOISE SINCE I'VE HAD IT. I'VE BEEN TO THE HUYNDA DEALER MANY TIMES. THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT'S WRONG. WHEN YOUR CAR IS BETWEEN 2000 RPM AND 3000 RPMS OR STEADILY AT 2000 IT MAKES A CONTINUOUS RADDLE NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND CONTINUES UNTIL YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR. YOU WANT TO KNOW MY OPINION ABOUT THE DAMN CAR? ANYONE WHO OWNS ONE SHOULD BE GIVEN A NEW ONE. BECAUSE THE CAR IS A PIECE OF CRAP. NOW I ALSO SAW A COMPLAINT ABOUT SOMEONE HAVING TO REPLACE THE COUPLER. I HAVE DOCUMENTATION THAT SHOWS I PAID THE HYUNDAI TO REPLACE MY STEERING COUPLER. IT WAS OVER 300 DOLLARS. WHEN YOUR DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE STEERING IS HARD TO CONTROL AND THE WHEEL MAKES A CLICKING NOISE. SO I TOOK IT IN AND THEY COUPLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WANT REIMBURSEMENT AND YOU GUYS SHOULD IMPLEMENT ANOTHER RECALL ABOUT REPLACING EVERYONE'S COUPLER. YOU GUYS SHOULD MAKE HYUNDAI GIVE EVERYONE A NEW CAR WHO HAS GONE THROUGH AL THE MESS WE HAVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2016 - PELHAM, AL
I HAVE HAD THIS CAR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR NOW. IT HAS MADE THE SAME NOISE SINCE I'VE HAD IT. I'VE BEEN TO THE HUYNDA DEALER MANY TIMES. THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT'S WRONG. WHEN YOUR CAR IS BETWEEN 2000 RPM AND 3000 RPMS OR STEADILY AT 2000 IT MAKES A CONTINUOUS RADDLE NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND CONTINUES UNTIL YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR. YOU WANT TO KNOW MY OPINION ABOUT THE DAMN CAR? ANYONE WHO OWNS ONE SHOULD BE GIVEN A NEW ONE. BECAUSE THE CAR IS A PIECE OF CRAP. NOW I ALSO SAW A COMPLAINT ABOUT SOMEONE HAVING TO REPLACE THE COUPLER. I HAVE DOCUMENTATION THAT SHOWS I PAID THE HYUNDAI TO REPLACE MY STEERING COUPLER. IT WAS OVER 300 DOLLARS. WHEN YOUR DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE STEERING IS HARD TO CONTROL AND THE WHEEL MAKES A CLICKING NOISE. SO I TOOK IT IN AND THEY COUPLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WANT REIMBURSEMENT AND YOU GUYS SHOULD IMPLEMENT ANOTHER RECALL ABOUT REPLACING EVERYONE'S COUPLER. YOU GUYS SHOULD MAKE HYUNDAI GIVE EVERYONE A NEW CAR WHO HAS GONE THROUGH AL THE MESS WE HAVE.

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2016 - PELHAM, AL
I HAVE HAD THIS CAR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR NOW. IT HAS MADE THE SAME NOISE SINCE I'VE HAD IT. I'VE BEEN TO THE HUYNDA DEALER MANY TIMES. THEY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT'S WRONG. WHEN YOUR CAR IS BETWEEN 2000 RPM AND 3000 RPMS OR STEADILY AT 2000 IT MAKES A CONTINUOUS RADDLE NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND CONTINUES UNTIL YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR. YOU WANT TO KNOW MY OPINION ABOUT THE DAMN CAR? ANYONE WHO OWNS ONE SHOULD BE GIVEN A NEW ONE. BECAUSE THE CAR IS A PIECE OF CRAP. NOW I ALSO SAW A COMPLAINT ABOUT SOMEONE HAVING TO REPLACE THE COUPLER. I HAVE DOCUMENTATION THAT SHOWS I PAID THE HYUNDAI TO REPLACE MY STEERING COUPLER. IT WAS OVER 300 DOLLARS. WHEN YOUR DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE STEERING IS HARD TO CONTROL AND THE WHEEL MAKES A CLICKING NOISE. SO I TOOK IT IN AND THEY COUPLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WANT REIMBURSEMENT AND YOU GUYS SHOULD IMPLEMENT ANOTHER RECALL ABOUT REPLACING EVERYONE'S COUPLER. YOU GUYS SHOULD MAKE HYUNDAI GIVE EVERYONE A NEW CAR WHO HAS GONE THROUGH AL THE MESS WE HAVE.

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2016 - APEX, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE AN ABNORMAL SOUND. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COUPLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,475.

View Details

ENGINE

7/22/2016 - DESTIN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V568000 (ENGINE), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE REMEDY WAS NOT EFFECTIVE AND THERE WAS A METALLIC KNOCKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE AFTER THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,241.

View Details

STEERING

7/22/2016 - CARTERET, NJ
WAS TOLD BY HYUNDAI SERVICE TECH THAT I NEEDED A STEERING COUPLER AND IT IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY NOR WAS IT COVERED AS PART OF THE EXISTING STEERING RECALL.THIS COMES AT AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE OF APPROX. $500.00. THE STEERING WHEEL CLICKS AND FEELS LIKE IT IS STICKING WHEN TURNING IT. CAR WAS IN MOTION WHEN IT HAPPENED AND I HAVE NOT TRIED IT WHEN SITTING STATIONARY. WAS ALSO TOLD COULD LOSE ALL STEERING. I THINK WE NEED A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2016 - ST MARTINVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A LOUD "CRANKING" NOISE IN THE SHAFT OF THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 127,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2016 - LITTLETON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE STEERING BECAME UNCONTROLLABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING GEAR BOX FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 54,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2016 - CHAPIN, SC
AFTER CROSSING RAILROAD AT LOW SPEED, THERE WAS A LOUD, METALLIC CLANK, THEN WOULD CLICK/CLANK IN TURNS. STEERING BECAME INCREASINGLY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL, AND CAR WOULD DRIFT AT HIGH SPEEDS . DEALER STATED THE STEERING COUPLER WAS BAD, ALTHOUGH THIS WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MULTITUDE OF STEERING RECALLS FOR 2011 SONATAS. THE SERVICEMAN SAID EVERYTHING IN THOSE MODEL'S STEERING WAS JUNK AND THEY REPLACED THE COUPLERS ALL THE TIME. DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN EVENTUAL LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND I SHOULD NOT WAIT TO GET IT REPAIRED.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2016 - JACKSON, NJ
OUR FAMILY CAR HAS A RECALL WITH THE STEERING THAT IF READ IS DUE TO LOOSE STEERING AND BOLTS THAT HAS CAUSED OTHER CARS TO LOOSE CONTROL . HYUNDAI SAYS THEY WON'T REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN BECAUSE OF A CHIP THAT PASSED INSPECTION.THE ARTICLE I READ SAID NOTHING ABOUT A COMPUTER CHIP. THE STEERING ON THE CAR IS SO LOOSE WE DON'T EVEN FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING IT ANY LONGER. HYUNDAI KEEPS TELLING US THAT IT WILL BE 3 TO 5 DAYS EVERYTIME WE TALK TO THEM TO DECIDE WHAT THEY ARE GOING TO DO FOR US. WE HAVE A NEW BORN BABY AND CANNOT AFFORD TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE. WE REALLY ARE JUST STUCK RIGHT NOW. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD RECALL AFTER RECALL. THE TECH THAT INSPECTED THE CAR SAID IT SHOULD BE FIXED UNDER THE RECALL IN HIS OPINION AND THEY HE WOULD FIX IT BUT CORPORATE IS DRAGGING THERE FEET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 193
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds