Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 801 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (68) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (119) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Power Train (69) Steering (354) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (60) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (41) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (23) Tires (23) Wheels (16)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/24/2015 - APEX, SC
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA TURBO--WHEN DRIVING, THE FRONT END PULLS TO THE RIGHT. I AM REPLACING TIRES YEARLY. THE SHOP SAYS THEY CAN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS, TURBO WHEN APPLIED SMELLS LIKE BURNING RUBBER.

View Details

STEERING

1/24/2015 - APEX, SC
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA TURBO--WHEN DRIVING, THE FRONT END PULLS TO THE RIGHT. I AM REPLACING TIRES YEARLY. THE SHOP SAYS THEY CAN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS, TURBO WHEN APPLIED SMELLS LIKE BURNING RUBBER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/24/2015 - APEX, SC
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA TURBO--WHEN DRIVING, THE FRONT END PULLS TO THE RIGHT. I AM REPLACING TIRES YEARLY. THE SHOP SAYS THEY CAN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS, TURBO WHEN APPLIED SMELLS LIKE BURNING RUBBER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2015 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN AT 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING INTO PARK AND REINSERTING THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE OIL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2015 - RIVERVIEW, FL
PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE WE WERE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, WE HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. WHILE WE WERE LOOKING FOR A GAS STATION TO PULL OVER, THE CHECK OIL LIGHT CAME ON, ALL WITHIN A MATTER OF MINUTES. WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER AND CHECKED THE OIL ONLY TO FIND THAT NO OIL WAS REGISTERING ON THE DIP STICK. WE FOUND THAT ODD AS WE HAD OUR OIL CHANGE JUST A COUPLE MONTHS AGO. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE AND WE NEEDED TO REPLACE IT. THE COST TO REPLACE THE ENGINE WAS $6100. FURTHERMORE, THE DEALERSHIP WENT ON AND CHANGED THEIR STORY 5 TIMES AS TO WHILE THE ENGINE FAILED. THEY ASKED US TO PROVIDE THEM WITH OIL CHANGE RECEIPTS, WHICH WE DID YET THEY STILL DENIED OUR CLAIM. OUR CAR HAD THE OIL CHANGES DONE PROPERLY AND WITHIN THE TIME SCHEDULED. OUR CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY YET THEY DENIED OUR CLAIM WE HAVE FILED A LAWSUIT AGAINST THE DEALERSHIP AND HYUNDAI.

View Details

STEERING

1/22/2015 - PLANTATION, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN UNKNOWN NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. DJR

View Details

STEERING

1/22/2015 - SEGUIN, TX
WHEN FIRST PURCHASED IN MARCH OF 2014 NOTICED A LITTLE CLICKING IN STEERING WHEN TURNED LEFT OR RIGHT. NOW ITS GOTTEN WORST! EVEN WHEN PARKED IT CLICKS. WHEN WE HIT THE SMALLEST BUMP ON THE ROAD IT CLICKS AND SHAKES BAD. I'M TO THE POINT OF SCARED TO DRIVE MY OWN CAR. I'M SCARED I WOULD HAVE NO CONTROL OF THE STEERING ONE DAY. I CAN NOT DRIVE THIS CAR WITH MY 3 KIDS IN IT. I THOUGHT I BOUGHT ME A SAFE FAMILY CAR. I WAS WRONG. I'M DOING MY RESEARCH RIGHT NOW AND SEE LOT OTHERS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IT NEEDS TO BE A RECALL. MY HYUNDAI DEALER SAYS IT'S THE COUPLING. HE KNEW EXACTLY WHAT PROBLEM I WAS HAVING. LIKE IT ISN'T NEWS TO HIM. IT'LL GONNA COST ME $349 TO GET THIS FIXED?!?!?

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2015 - SHAWNEE, KS
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE STARTED MAKING A KNOCKING NOISE. NO LESS THAN 30 SECONDS LATER DID THE CAR'S ENGINE MAKE A LARGE BAG NOISE AND I RAN OVER WHAT FELT LIKE PARTS. I COASTED A WHILE DOWN THE ROAD AND FINALLY PULLED THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. UPON OPENING THE HOOD I DISCOVERED OIL ALL OVER THE INTAKE AND EXHAUST MANIFOLDS AS WELL AS THE RADIATOR. I CALLED HYUNDAI ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO FAULKNER HYUNDAI IN HARRISBURG PA ON 1/19/14. THEY PROVIDED A SERVICE LOANER AND SAID THEY WOULD GET BACK TO ME WITH AN UPDATE ON THE CAR. I WAITED UNTIL WEDNESDAY THE 21ST BEFORE CALLING THEM, ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED AND THEY HAD ALREADY TAKEN PICTURES OF THE DAMAGE AND SENT THEM TO THE HYUNDAI PEOPLE TO SEEK WARRANTEE COVERAGE. THEY ALSO ASKED ME FOR MAINTENANCE RECORDS ON THE CAR. I CHANGE THE OIL MYSELF AND ALWAYS PUT IN FULL SYNTHETIC, SO THEY HAD ME SUBMIT RECEIPTS FROM THE AUTO PARTS STORE PROVING I BOUGHT OIL AND FILTERS OR THE SONATA. I AM NOW AWAITING RESOLUTION FROM HYUNDAI. WILL UPDATE ONCE I HAVE AN ANSWER FROM HYUNDAI. THIS IS A PRETTY SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN, THE ENGINE LET GO AT 60+MPH WITHOUT WARNING, WHEN IT LET GO IT BLEW OIL ALL OVER THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND I'M SURE ON THE ROAD AS WELL. LUCKY I WAS DRIVING EARLY IN THE MORNING AND THEIR WAS VERY LITTLE TRAFFIC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - WATERBURY, CT
GO TO UNLOCK CAR WITH KEY FOB OR PUSH BUTTON ENTRY SWITCH, IT DOES NO WORK, UNLOCK CAR MANUALLY WITH KEY AND THEN TRY TO START THE CAR AND DASH INDICATES KEY NOT DETECTED. THE CAR IS NOT DETECTING MY KEY FOB, WHETHER IN OR OUT OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE TO MANUALLY START THE CAR BY INSERTING FOB INSIDE THE MIDDLE CONSOLE.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2015 - COLUMBIA, SC
THE CAR MAKE A LOUD THUMP AND THE STEERING IS LOOSE WHEN YOU TURN THE STEERING WHEEL FROM SIDE TO SIDE HAD IT CHECK OUT AND STATED IT MIGHT BE THE BEARINGS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds