Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 709 complaints filed for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (20) Exterior Lighting (62) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (65) Steering (313) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (6) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (36) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (37) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (20) Tires (22) Wheels (14)
Equipment (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/30/2014 - STATESBORO, GA
HELLO, I'M NOT SURE IF THIS QUALIFIES, BUT THIS VEHICLE HAS A MAJOR DEFECT IN THE COMPRESSOR KICKING ON FOR AIR CONDITIONING (PER MY OWN EXPERIENCE AND EXAMINING FORUMS OF OTHER USERS). THE A/C DOES NOT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY, ESPECIALLY WHEN THE CAR HASN'T BEEN TURNED ON FOR 3 OR 4 HOURS. THIS CAN BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IN WARM AREAS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2014 - STATESBORO, GA
HELLO, I'M NOT SURE IF THIS QUALIFIES, BUT THIS VEHICLE HAS A MAJOR DEFECT IN THE COMPRESSOR KICKING ON FOR AIR CONDITIONING (PER MY OWN EXPERIENCE AND EXAMINING FORUMS OF OTHER USERS). THE A/C DOES NOT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY, ESPECIALLY WHEN THE CAR HASN'T BEEN TURNED ON FOR 3 OR 4 HOURS. THIS CAN BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IN WARM AREAS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/30/2014 - STATESBORO, GA
HELLO, I'M NOT SURE IF THIS QUALIFIES, BUT THIS VEHICLE HAS A MAJOR DEFECT IN THE COMPRESSOR KICKING ON FOR AIR CONDITIONING (PER MY OWN EXPERIENCE AND EXAMINING FORUMS OF OTHER USERS). THE A/C DOES NOT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY, ESPECIALLY WHEN THE CAR HASN'T BEEN TURNED ON FOR 3 OR 4 HOURS. THIS CAN BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IN WARM AREAS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/27/2014 - CHICAGO , IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE THE VEHICLE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS OR REVERSING, THE VEHICLE WOULD JERK AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WOULD NOT DISPLAY CORRECT GEAR POSITION. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V434000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000. NE

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
WITH CAR RUNNING LOOSENESS IN STEERING COLUMN. THERE IS TSB ON IT BUT IF OUT OF WARRANTY CUSTOMER IS RESPONSIBLE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/26/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE GEAR SHIFT GOT STUCK AND MOVE OUT OF PARK.BREAK LIGHTS DOES NOT WORK WHEN PRESSING BREAK PEDDLE, WHICH RESENTLY ACCURED,THAT IS TO IT BREAK LIGHTS.ALSO FOUR MONTHS AGO I BEGIN TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH MY BREAKS.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

8/26/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE GEAR SHIFT GOT STUCK AND MOVE OUT OF PARK.BREAK LIGHTS DOES NOT WORK WHEN PRESSING BREAK PEDDLE, WHICH RESENTLY ACCURED,THAT IS TO IT BREAK LIGHTS.ALSO FOUR MONTHS AGO I BEGIN TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH MY BREAKS.

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE GEAR SHIFT GOT STUCK AND MOVE OUT OF PARK.BREAK LIGHTS DOES NOT WORK WHEN PRESSING BREAK PEDDLE, WHICH RESENTLY ACCURED,THAT IS TO IT BREAK LIGHTS.ALSO FOUR MONTHS AGO I BEGIN TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH MY BREAKS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2014 - HANOVER PARK, IL
IN THE WINTER ONCE, CAR WOULDN'T START AND IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES TO GET IT STARTED. I BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY SAID IT WAS FINE. IN APRIL IT STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE NOISE WHILE IDLING AND ACCELERATING. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHANGED THE OIL AND THE NOISE WENT AWAY FOR A COUPLE MONTHS. NOISE CAME BACK AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. NOW THEY ARE STATING THERE IS SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE AND UNLESS I HAVE PROOF OF ALL MY OIL CHANGES THEY ARE NOT GOING TO HONOR MY WARRANTY. I HAVE CHANGED THE OILD EVERY 3500-6,000 MILES RELIGIOUSLY. I AM NOT SURE HOW THE ENGINE FAILS AT 50,000. I PURCHASED THIS CAR SPECIFICALLY FOR THE WARRANTY AND NOW THEY ARE BACKING OUT.

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - RICHMOND HILL, GA
THE STEERING COLUMN FEELS AS THOUGH IT WILL FALL OFF ANY MOMENT AND THE NOISE IS CLUNKING AND RATTLES TERRIBLY WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS OR ANY SLIGHT MOMENT. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AND COULD CAUSE A FATALITY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 93
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds