Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2011 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 383 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (105) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (37) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (60) Fuel Propulsion System (76) Seat Belts (3) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (5) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (2) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/11/2018 - CORTLANDT MANOR, NY
FUEL SPIT BACK, AIRBAG MALFUNCTION, TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR, NAVIGATION SYSTEM FREEZES

View Details

AIR BAGS: CLOCKSPRING

11/30/2018 - STEVENSON RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND AN ABNORMAL CHIME SOUNDED IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM VALENCIA, 23820 CREEKSIDE RD, VALENCIA, CA 91355, (661) 379-7709) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG CLOCKSPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/30/2018 - STEVENSON RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND AN ABNORMAL CHIME SOUNDED IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM VALENCIA, 23820 CREEKSIDE RD, VALENCIA, CA 91355, (661) 379-7709) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG CLOCKSPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2018 - VALENCIA, CA
WHEN TURNING ON FAN SPEED SWITCH (CLIMATE CONTROL) WIRE TO FAN BECOMES SOO HOT IT MELTS, HAS BURNING SMELL, AS IF IT WANTS TO BURN OR CATCH FIRE. HAS DONE THIS TWICE EVEN AFTER REPLACING BURNT WIRING. THIS WIRE GETS RED HOT AT ANY POSITION OF THE FAN SPEED SWITCH WHICH CONTROLS THE AC, OR HEAT. I+M AFRAID OF JEEP CATCHING ON FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2018 - MOORESVILLE, NC
I EXPERIENCED A "VIOLENT" SHAKING OF MY 2011 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED TWICE BEFORE TAKING IT INTO THE SHOP. THE FIRST TIME, IN LATE OCTOBER 2018, I WAS GOING AROUND 40MPH AND WAS ON A BUSY ONE LANE HIGHWAY. I HAD NEVER FELT ANYTHING LIKE IT BEFORE. THE JEEP BEGAN TO SHAKE BACK AND FORTH VIOLENTLY. I SLOWED DOWN AND THE SHAKE WENT AWAY. THE SECOND TIME WAS 4 OR 5 DAYS LATER ON AN INTERSTATE. THIS TIME THE JEEP (GOING ABOUT 55MPH) SHOOK SO MUCH, IT PULLED THE CAR INTO THE PASSING LANE BEFORE SLOWING DOWN AND MAINTAINING CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND FOUND A LESS BUSY ROAD TO GET HOME. I TOOK THE JEEP IN TO GET LOOKED AT AND THEY REPLACED THE "TRACK BAR" FOR $500. TWO DAYS LATER THE SAME INCIDENT OCCURRED AGAIN AND HAS HAPPENED ONCE OR TWICE SINCE, EACH TIME GOING BETWEEN 40MPH AND 60MPH. BASED ON THE EXPERIENCES I HAVE HAD, I CANNOT AFFORD TO DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE. I HAVE A BABY DAUGHTER BORN JUST A WEEK AGO AND AM NOT WILLING TO RISK HAVING THE JEEP FALLING APART, ROLL OVER, OR VEER INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

10/29/2018 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
I BOUGHT MY JEEP WITH 67,000 MILES, WITHIN A YEAR BEFORE REACHING 100,000 MILES IT WAS ONLY AT ABOUT 99,000MILES WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND APPARENTLY THE ENGINE WASN+T LUBRICATING CORRECTLY AND A BEARING IN THE ENGINE SHATTERED. EVEN THOUGH I CHANGE MY OIL EVERY 3,000 MILES WITH HIGH MILEAGE BECAUSE MY SPOUSE WORKS ON CARS HE IS ALWAYS MAKING SURE. AFTER LOOKING INTO THIS FURTHER THIS ENGINE IS KNOWN THROUGHOUT THE JEEP COMMUNITY TO FAIL BEFORE REACHING 100,000 MILES YET JEEP STILL HAS NOT USED AN EXTENSION FOR THE ENGINE. I SPENT ALMOST 20,000 DOLLARS ON THIS VEHICLE ONE YEAR AGO AND NOW I+M DRIVING AROUND WITH AN ENGINE THAT WILL FAIL SOON BECAUSE I HAVE TO GET TO WORK SOMEHOW AND THE WARRENTY ON THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY A FIVE YEAR 100,000 MILES WARRENTY SO IT DOESN+T COVER IT. I THINK JEEP SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR SELLING PEOPLE THESE ENGINES KNOWING THEY WILL FAIL BEFORE 100,000 MILES AND THAT THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE AND EXTEND THE ORIGINAL WARRANTIES TO 10 YR 150,000 MILES FOR PEOPLE WHO EXPIERIENCE THIS KIND OF ENGINE FAILURE AND NOW HAVE TO PURCHASE A NEW ENGINE OUT OF POCKET. I NEED SOMEONE TO CONTACT ME REGARDING THIS ISSUE I WILL NOT SIT BACK AND REMAIN SILENT UNTIL IT IS RESOLVED. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER LIVING ON LIMITED INCOME AND HAVE TO TAKE FROM MY SAVINGS TO COVER AN ENTIRE NEW ENGINE. FOR A CAR I BOUGHT 1 YEAR AGO AND DIDN+T EVEN GO 100,000 MILES BEFORE EXPLODING. AND I DIDN+T EVEN PUT THE MOST MILES ON IT. I+VE ONLY GONE ABOUT 40,000 MILES. SO IN REALITY THIS WAS MOST LIKELY AN ISSUE BEFORE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2018 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND REMAINED LIT. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/9/2018 - SHARPSBURG, GA
AIRBAG LIGHT IN ON INDICATING A PROBLEM WITH THE AIRBAG. I CONTACTED JEEP AND THEY SAID THE REPAIR WOULD BE $600. IF THIS IS A SAFETY ITEM DUE TO NO RESULT OF MY OWN, THEN WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/29/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS DRIVING 45 MPH SOUTHBOUND ON HIGHWAY 101 IN CALIFORNIA. I STARTED SMELLING A BURNING SMELL FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WAS COMING UP TO TRAFFIC AND BEGAN TO PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL AND REALIZED THAT I HAD VERY LITTLE BRAKE PRESSURE. I THEN SWITCHED LANES IN PREPARATION TO GET OFF THE HIGHWAY. AS I GOT OFF THE NEXT EXIT WITH VERY LITTLE BRAKE PRESSURE, THE SMELL GOT WORSE AND SMOKE BEGAN TO COME OUT FROM UNDER THE ENGINE BAY. AS SOON AS A I GOT OFF THE NEXT EXIT, I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND HAND TO USE THE HAND BRAKE TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I HAD NO BRAKE PRESSURE LEFT. AS SOON AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, FLAMES STARTED COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE ENGINE BAY. I GRABBED WHAT I COULD AND EXITED THE VEHICLE AND CALLED 911 REQUESTING THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO PUT THE FIRE OUT. THE FIRE STARTED UNDER THE LEFT HAND SIDE OF THE ENGINE BAY. THAT IS WHERE THE FLAMES WERE SEEN VISIBLY FIRST. I HAVE NO AFTERMARKET PARTS OR MODS OUTSIDE OF MOPAR (OEM). CAR HAS BEEN MAINTAINED AND SERVICE BY PUTNAM JEEP IN BURLINGAME. NO OFFROAD USAGE EITHER.

View Details

AIR BAGS: CLOCKSPRING

7/23/2018 - BELLEVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE DRIVING, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, WHICH WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WARNING INDICATOR WOULD ILLUMINATE AT 30 SECOND INTERVALS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FEDERICO CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (1875 E EDWARDSVILLE RD, WOOD RIVER, IL 62095, (618) 254-1000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCKSPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V288000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,537.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds