Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP WRANGLER - 2011 JEEP WRANGLER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 383 complaints filed for the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 JEEP WRANGLER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (105) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (37) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (60) Fuel Propulsion System (76) Seat Belts (3) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (5) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (2) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/6/2017 - ALLEN, TX
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION CAUSED ENGINE TO FAIL, HAD 4000 MILES TO NEXT OIL CHANGE AND ONLY HAD 1/2 QUART OF OIL REMAINING. NO SMOKE OR OIL ON GROUND WERE DETECTED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2017 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
I WAS DRIVING AT UNDER 10 MPH, ON A TEXAS STATE ROAD WHEN THE PLASTIC FUEL LINE WHICH IS CONNECTED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE BODY WITH SOME TYPE OF ADHESIVE FAILED. THIS DROPPED THE FUEL LINE DIRECTLY ON THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, WHICH MELTED THE FUEL LINE CAUSING A FIRE THAT SPREAD TO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. APPARENTLY THIS IS AN ISSUE ON THE 4 DOOR MODEL WRANGLERS AS THE 2 DOOR WRANGLERS HAVE A PLATE PREVENTING THIS. THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE LOOKED AT ON ALL 4 DOOR MODELS, RANGING FROM 2008 THROUGH AT LEAST 2013. I HAVE LOOKED AT OTHER 4 DOOR JEEPS AND SEE THAT THEY HAVE THE SAME POTENTIAL ISSUE THERE IS NOTHING THAT PREVENTS THE FUEL LINE FROM COMING INTO CONTACT WITH THE EXHAUST AND POTENTIALLY CAUSING A FIRE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/30/2017 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
I WAS DRIVING AT UNDER 10 MPH, ON A TEXAS STATE ROAD WHEN THE PLASTIC FUEL LINE WHICH IS CONNECTED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE BODY WITH SOME TYPE OF ADHESIVE FAILED. THIS DROPPED THE FUEL LINE DIRECTLY ON THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, WHICH MELTED THE FUEL LINE CAUSING A FIRE THAT SPREAD TO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. APPARENTLY THIS IS AN ISSUE ON THE 4 DOOR MODEL WRANGLERS AS THE 2 DOOR WRANGLERS HAVE A PLATE PREVENTING THIS. THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE LOOKED AT ON ALL 4 DOOR MODELS, RANGING FROM 2008 THROUGH AT LEAST 2013. I HAVE LOOKED AT OTHER 4 DOOR JEEPS AND SEE THAT THEY HAVE THE SAME POTENTIAL ISSUE THERE IS NOTHING THAT PREVENTS THE FUEL LINE FROM COMING INTO CONTACT WITH THE EXHAUST AND POTENTIALLY CAUSING A FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2017 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
I WAS DRIVING AT UNDER 10 MPH, ON A TEXAS STATE ROAD WHEN THE PLASTIC FUEL LINE WHICH IS CONNECTED TO THE UNDERSIDE OF THE BODY WITH SOME TYPE OF ADHESIVE FAILED. THIS DROPPED THE FUEL LINE DIRECTLY ON THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, WHICH MELTED THE FUEL LINE CAUSING A FIRE THAT SPREAD TO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. APPARENTLY THIS IS AN ISSUE ON THE 4 DOOR MODEL WRANGLERS AS THE 2 DOOR WRANGLERS HAVE A PLATE PREVENTING THIS. THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE LOOKED AT ON ALL 4 DOOR MODELS, RANGING FROM 2008 THROUGH AT LEAST 2013. I HAVE LOOKED AT OTHER 4 DOOR JEEPS AND SEE THAT THEY HAVE THE SAME POTENTIAL ISSUE THERE IS NOTHING THAT PREVENTS THE FUEL LINE FROM COMING INTO CONTACT WITH THE EXHAUST AND POTENTIALLY CAUSING A FIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/11/2017 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
TODAY MY 2011 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED WITH 22K MILES BOUGHT NEW BY MYSELF EXPERIENCED THE OSCILLATING FRONT END ISSUE COMMONLY REFERRED TO AS THE "DEATH WOBBLE". MY STEERING WHEEL SHOOK AND I HAD TO HOLD ON HIGHLY AT 60 MPH TO MAINTAIN CONTROL. I WAS TERRIFIED AND HAVE MAINTAINED THIS VEHICLE PROPERLY AND NEVER HAD IT OFF ROAD. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO A COMPLETE STOP IN HEAVY TRAFFIC TO INSPECT THE TIRES WHICH WERE FINE. APPARENTLY STOPPING THE VEHICLE, STOPPED THE OSCILLATING SUSPENSION COMPONENT(S) AND I WAS ABLE TO GET HOME SAFELY. NOW I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE MORE THAN A FEW MILES BECAUSE OF THIS SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THIS IS THE FIRST EPISODE AND IT IS RELATED TO THE VERY WELL DOCUMENTED FIAT/CHRYSLER'S FAULTY DESIGNED FRONT SUSPENSION COMPONENTS ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/10/2017 - SHERBORN, MA
AT 73,000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. FOR NO REASON. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WHEN I WAS DRIVING, IT FELT LIKE THE CAR WAS SLIPPING OUT OF GEAR. NOTHING HAD BEEN DONE TO THE CAR THAT WOULD HAVE WARNED ME THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS MIGHT HAPPEN. I WAS JUST DRIVING NORMALLY, GOING TO WORK.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
1. LAST YEAR I HAD TO REPLACE MY ENGINE BECAUSE CHRYSLER SAID IT RAN LOW ON OIL WHICH CAUSED ENGINE DAMAGE. I HAD 11 OIL CHANGES AND PROOF OF SERVICE FROM OIL CHANGE SHOPS THAT ENTIRE YEAR. I PAID THE 8K TO PUT A NEW ENGINE IN TO GET IT OUT OF STEVENS CREEK CHRYSLER JEEP AND DODGE. I WAS TOLD TO TAKE CHRYSLER TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT. I NEVER GOT A CHANCE TO BECAUSE I COULD NOT "SERVE" ANYONE AT CHRYSLER CORPORATION PROPERLY. 2. THE NEW ENGINE THAT I BOUGHT HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THEY DID AN OIL COMPRESSION CHECK AND IT LOST ALL OF ITS OIL IN 1000 MILES. MY CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW. CHRYSLER WILL COME BACK AND PROBABLY REPLACE THE ENGINE FOR FREE THIS TIME. 3. WHILE MY CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP THIS WEEKEND , IT WAS BROKEN INTO. BOTH WINDOWS BROKEN AND SPEAKERS STOLEN. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY WOULD PAY FOR THIS AND FIX IT. WHAT I WANT IS NOT A NEW ENGINE. I WANT MY MONEY BACK FOR THE ENTIRE JEEP SINCE THEY SOLD ME A CAR THAT HAS HAD TWO BLOWN ENGINES NOW AND I HAVE ALL THE RECIEPTS TO PROVE THE FIRST TIME I WAS NOT AT FAULT. I DO NOT WANT TO TAKE CHRYSLER TO SMALL CLAIMS. I WANT IT DONE FOR ME. I CANNOT GET TO THE RIGHT PEOPLE AT CHRYSLER IN ORDER TO PUSH THIS FURTHER. I SPOKE TO A FEW LAWYERS AND THEY SAID IT ISNT NECCESARILY A LEMON LAW CASE BUT IT IS MORE OF A DEALERSHIP/CHRYSLER WARRANTY CASE. WHAT CAN I DO? THANK YOU. HERE IS A LINK TO MY RECEIPTS FOR OIL CHANGES (I WILL PUT RECEIPTS UP ON SERVER FOR COSTS SOON) HTTPS://WWW.DROPBOX.COM/SH/VH0B4CXXKCB36AT/AABTPUWDK1ZVC3FRHXD6YJTTA?DL=0

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/18/2017 - MANCHESTER, IA
DEATH WOBBLE, DEALERSHIPS ARE NOT TELLING BUYERS THIS MAY BE A PROBLEM WITH THEIR JEEP. I HAVE DEVELOPED THIS PROBLEM WITHOUT KNOWING WHAT IT WAS AND WAS A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. WILL NOT DRIVE IT ON THE HIGHWAY ANYMORE AND CHECKED TO HAVE IT FIXED AND THEY WANT $700! THAT IS NOT RIGHT, ESPECIALLY IF THEY ARE NOT SURE IT WILL FIX IT.

View Details

STEERING

4/18/2017 - MANCHESTER, IA
DEATH WOBBLE, DEALERSHIPS ARE NOT TELLING BUYERS THIS MAY BE A PROBLEM WITH THEIR JEEP. I HAVE DEVELOPED THIS PROBLEM WITHOUT KNOWING WHAT IT WAS AND WAS A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. WILL NOT DRIVE IT ON THE HIGHWAY ANYMORE AND CHECKED TO HAVE IT FIXED AND THEY WANT $700! THAT IS NOT RIGHT, ESPECIALLY IF THEY ARE NOT SURE IT WILL FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2017 - ELBERT, CO
WHILST PARKED ON DRIVEWAY WAITING FOR THE ELECTRIC GATE TO OPEN TO CONTINUE ON TO WORK (ENGINE RUNNING WITH HEATED SEATS ON AND REAR WINDOW HEATER ON), FIRE STARTED IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT, BURNING JEEP WRANGLER 2011 RUBICON TO THE GROUND. JEEP WAS A DAILY DRIVE, ONLY MODIFICATION WAS 2" LIFT WHICH WAS ON THE JEEP WHEN PURCHASED FROM PERKINS MOTORS COLORADO SPRINGS CO. PERKINS MOTORS ARE A CHRYSLER DEALER, JEEP WAS FULLY INSPECTED AND UP TO DATE WITH ALL RECALLS, SERVICES AND OIL CHANGES

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds