Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 297 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (44) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (134) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (23) Visibility (15)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (19) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

4/22/2014 - HOLDEN, MA
ON TWO DIFFERENT DATES ABOUT A WEEK APART WE HAD TWO TPMS FAILURES. ON THE FIRST ONE THE TPMS TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR SYSTEM SENSOR LOCATED IN THE PASSENGER REAR WHEEL CRACKED AND WAS LOSING AIR. TPMS SENSOR WAS REPLACED. AROUND A WEEK LATER WHILE MY WIFE WAS TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT TPMS SENSOR RETAINING CAP FELL OFF DUE TO CORRODED THREADS AND THE SENSOR FELL INTO THE TIRE CAUSING A HIGH SPEED DEFLATION. DEALER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE SECOND FAILURE AS WE HAVE AN APPOINTMENT IN THE NEXT COUPLE WEEKS. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN DEALER SERVICED SINCE NEW AND HAS ALL REQUIRED SERVICE DONE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/16/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON , SC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATE THAT THE SUNROOF EXPLODED WHILE HE DROVE AT 35MPH THE FRACTURED GLASS FELL INTO THE VEHICLE AND THE SUNROOF FRONT BAR FELL ON THE CONTACT HEAD. THE CONTACT SUFFERED A CUT TO HIS SHOULDER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000. LI

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY JERKS OR CHANGES GEARS WHEN REDUCING SPEED. WHEN TAKING THE FOOT SLOWLY OFF THE GAS PEDAL THE VEHICLE JUMPS CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ALMOST STOP. THE TRANSMISSION ALSO MAKES A VERY LOUD NOISE. SOMETIMES IT JUST TURNS OFF BY ITSELF. CAR IS ONLY 2 YEARS AND A HALF OLD AND IT'S ALREADY HAVING SIGNS OF BREAKING DOWN AND HAVING PROBLEMS THAT COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS. KIA SAYS THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER TWICE. THE FIRST TIME THEY CLEANED THE THROTTLE BODY, BUT IT DIDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER AGAIN, STILL WAITING FOR SOLUTION. RESEARCHING THE INTERNET, I FOUND THERE ARE MANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS WHERE KIA JUST WON'T DO ANYTHING. ACTUALLY I FOUND THIS WEB PAGE AS A RECOMMENDATION FROM ONE OF THE FORUMS. HOPE YOU CAN HELP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/1/2014 - WILLIS, TX
I EXPERIENCED REPEATED HEADLAMPS BULBS BURNING OUT. I FOUND THE SITE REPAIRPAL.COM AND REPORTED THE PROBLEM. I NO LONGER OWN THIS VEHICLE DUE TO THE ISSUE, BUT RECEIVE ALERTS FROM REPAIR PAL WHEN OTHERS REPORT THE PROBLEM. IT CONTINUES -- I STILL RECEIVE ALERTS. I AM GLAD I FOUND THIS MEANS TO REPORT THE PROBLEM. PLEASE INVESTIGATE. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN. I WAS STOPPED BY THE POLICE ONCE AND GIVEN A WARNING. THE FOLLOWING IS WHAT I WROTE ON REPAIRPAL.COM. THE LINK TO THIS SITE IS: HTTP://REPAIRPAL.COM/HEAD-LAMPS-057 HAVE HAD 3 LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS BLOW OVER THE PAST COUPLE OF MONTHS. TODAY THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT IT WAS CAUSED BY A SHORT IN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY TO THE TUNE OF A $400 PART AND ABOUT $250 LABOR. NOT COVERED BY THE MAXIMUM WRAP COVERAGE EXTENDED WARRANTY. ARGHH! HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO HAVE IT FIXED, BUT NEVER WILL I BUY ANOTHER KIA. FOLLOWUP: THIS IS MY NOTE TO THE KIA: "THIS IS IN REFERENCE TO CASE # K241D635. THANK YOU FOR RETURNING MY CALL AFTER I SENT THE PREVIOUS MESSAGE...

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2014 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
WHEN THE SORENTO REACHES A SPEED ABOVE 60 IT HESITATES BEFORE ABRUPTLY JUMPING INTO THE NEXT GEAR, CAUSING THE ENTIRE VEHICLE AND ALL PASSENGERS TO JERK FORWARD. THE JUMPING OF THE GEAR IS SO FORCEFUL THAT IT SOUNDS AS IF THE ENGINE IS ABOUT TO FALL OUT OF THE VEHICLE EACH TIME IT'S PLACED IN GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2014 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
WHEN THE SORENTO REACHES A SPEED ABOVE 60 IT HESITATES BEFORE ABRUPTLY JUMPING INTO THE NEXT GEAR, CAUSING THE ENTIRE VEHICLE AND ALL PASSENGERS TO JERK FORWARD. THE JUMPING OF THE GEAR IS SO FORCEFUL THAT IT SOUNDS AS IF THE ENGINE IS ABOUT TO FALL OUT OF THE VEHICLE EACH TIME IT'S PLACED IN GEAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2014 - DORADO, PR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/20/2014 - BROOKHAVEN , PA
WHEN SWITCHING FROM PARK TO DRIVE A LOUD POP WILL BE HEARD FROM THE VEHICLE USUALLY OCCURRING (LOUDEST) DURING COLD MOIST DAYS. IN THE SAME CONDITIONS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION THE CAR BEGINS TO STUTTER AND VIBRATE WHEN SWITCHING GEARS (THIS IS USUALLY FELT INITIALLY DRIVING OFF OR DURING HARD BRAKES AT LIGHTS). CAR AT ONE POINT STALLED IN MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. WHEN GOING TO DEALER THEY SAID SOFTWARE UPDATES SHOULD HAVE FIXED IT, HOWEVER THE PROBLEM SIMPLY PERSISTS (THOUGH THE CAR DID NOT STALL THUS FAR)

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2014 - BROOKHAVEN , PA
WHEN SWITCHING FROM PARK TO DRIVE A LOUD POP WILL BE HEARD FROM THE VEHICLE USUALLY OCCURRING (LOUDEST) DURING COLD MOIST DAYS. IN THE SAME CONDITIONS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION THE CAR BEGINS TO STUTTER AND VIBRATE WHEN SWITCHING GEARS (THIS IS USUALLY FELT INITIALLY DRIVING OFF OR DURING HARD BRAKES AT LIGHTS). CAR AT ONE POINT STALLED IN MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. WHEN GOING TO DEALER THEY SAID SOFTWARE UPDATES SHOULD HAVE FIXED IT, HOWEVER THE PROBLEM SIMPLY PERSISTS (THOUGH THE CAR DID NOT STALL THUS FAR)

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2014 - BROOKHAVEN , PA
WHEN SWITCHING FROM PARK TO DRIVE A LOUD POP WILL BE HEARD FROM THE VEHICLE USUALLY OCCURRING (LOUDEST) DURING COLD MOIST DAYS. IN THE SAME CONDITIONS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION THE CAR BEGINS TO STUTTER AND VIBRATE WHEN SWITCHING GEARS (THIS IS USUALLY FELT INITIALLY DRIVING OFF OR DURING HARD BRAKES AT LIGHTS). CAR AT ONE POINT STALLED IN MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. WHEN GOING TO DEALER THEY SAID SOFTWARE UPDATES SHOULD HAVE FIXED IT, HOWEVER THE PROBLEM SIMPLY PERSISTS (THOUGH THE CAR DID NOT STALL THUS FAR)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds