Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 608 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (69)
Electrical System (87) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (164) Structure (115) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (27) Visibility (24)
Engine (48) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (9) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/25/2016 - HOLLYWOOD, MD
DRIVERS SIDE DOOR DOES NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. WORKED FINE ONE MINUTE, AND THE NEXT I COULDN'T OPEN IT. I HAVE TO GO THROUGH THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR TO OPEN OR LEAVE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW DOWN AND REACH IN TO OPEN. MANY COMPLAINTS CONCERNING THIS ALREADY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/25/2016 - TAMPA, FL
4 MONTHS AGO, BOTH LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS BURNED OUT AT THE EXACT SAME TIME. I REPLACED BOTH. THIS MORNING, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT BURNED OUT. I WILL REPLACE IT THIS EVENING. 2011 KIA SORENTO EX, V6, AUTO TRANS, NO TOWING PACKAGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/24/2016 - NASHVILLE, IL
DRIVER-SIDE FRONT DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE (WILL ONLY OPEN FROM INSIDE). DRIVE-SIDE REAR DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. PASSENGER-SIDE REAR DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2016 - WORTH, IL
ALREADY FILED COMPLAINT ABOUT 2 DOORS THAT YOU CANNOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHEN UNLOCKED, NOW I HAVE A 3RD DOOR THAT WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE WHILE UNLOCKED. GONNA HAVE TO CLIMB IN FROM THE HATCHBACK PRETTY SOON. THEY ALL OPEN FROM THE INSIDE, NOT THE OUTSIDE. SO NOW I HAVE TO LEAVE THE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS OPEN ALL THE TIME, HOPEFULLY MY 3 YR OLDS WON'T PULL ON THE DOOR HANDLE FROM THE INSIDE AND FALL OUT OF THE VEHICLE. ALL THIS WITHIN THE LAST 3 WEEKS. I'M GUESSING SOMEBODY HAS TO DIE BEFORE THIS WILL BE RECALLED. GOING TO CALL DEALER TODAY TO SEE WHAT THEY SAY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/22/2016 - WORTH, IL
ALREADY FILED COMPLAINT ABOUT 2 DOORS THAT YOU CANNOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHEN UNLOCKED, NOW I HAVE A 3RD DOOR THAT WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE WHILE UNLOCKED. GONNA HAVE TO CLIMB IN FROM THE HATCHBACK PRETTY SOON. THEY ALL OPEN FROM THE INSIDE, NOT THE OUTSIDE. SO NOW I HAVE TO LEAVE THE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS OPEN ALL THE TIME, HOPEFULLY MY 3 YR OLDS WON'T PULL ON THE DOOR HANDLE FROM THE INSIDE AND FALL OUT OF THE VEHICLE. ALL THIS WITHIN THE LAST 3 WEEKS. I'M GUESSING SOMEBODY HAS TO DIE BEFORE THIS WILL BE RECALLED. GOING TO CALL DEALER TODAY TO SEE WHAT THEY SAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2016 - WORTH, IL
ALREADY FILED COMPLAINT ABOUT 2 DOORS THAT YOU CANNOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHEN UNLOCKED, NOW I HAVE A 3RD DOOR THAT WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE WHILE UNLOCKED. GONNA HAVE TO CLIMB IN FROM THE HATCHBACK PRETTY SOON. THEY ALL OPEN FROM THE INSIDE, NOT THE OUTSIDE. SO NOW I HAVE TO LEAVE THE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS OPEN ALL THE TIME, HOPEFULLY MY 3 YR OLDS WON'T PULL ON THE DOOR HANDLE FROM THE INSIDE AND FALL OUT OF THE VEHICLE. ALL THIS WITHIN THE LAST 3 WEEKS. I'M GUESSING SOMEBODY HAS TO DIE BEFORE THIS WILL BE RECALLED. GOING TO CALL DEALER TODAY TO SEE WHAT THEY SAY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/21/2016 - SANTA CRUZ, CA
THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. MY CAR HAS JUST OVER 40,000 MILES. IF THERE WERE AN EMERGENCY, ACCIDENT WERE THE DRIVER WAS UNRESPONSIVE, A RESPONDER COULD NOT OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE TO REACH THE DRIVER. A KIA DEALER SERVICE MANAGER BELIEVES THE PROBLEM IS A FAILED DOOR LATCH AND THE REPAIR COST IS APPROXIMATELY $450-$500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2016 - BELLEVIEW, FL
MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON SO WE HOOKED UP THE SCANNER AND IT THREW THE CODE B1346 FOR THE CLOCK SPRING WHICH SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH ALOT OF OTHER'S AS WELL.I THINK THEIR SHOULD BE A RECALL AND I WILL BE CALLING KIA AND COMPLAINING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2016 - MIDDLETOWN, DE
HAVING TROUBLE WITH SERVICE DEPT OF LOCAL DEALER REGARDING DRIVER'S SIDE AXLE AS IT ENTERS THE DRIVERS SIDE TRANSMISSION CASE. DEALER TELLS ME IT'S NORMAL FOR THIS AMOUNT OF "PLAY" - THEY SAY IT IS DESIGNED THIS WAY FOR GOING OVER BUMPS - DON'T BELIEVE THEM AT ALL AS I KNOW THAT THE CV JOINT HANDLES THE BUMPS. I KNOW THAT THE SHAFT AND THE BEARING ARE A VERY PRECISE FIT AND THERE SHOULD NOT BE ANY PLAY. THERE IS A GRINDING NOISE WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND A FLUTTERING/CLICKING NOISE WHEN I POP THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AT ABOUT 50 MPH (THIS IS PROBABLY THE SPLINES ON THE END OF THE SHAFT NOT MATING INTO THE DIFFERENTIAL CORRECTLY - MISALIGNED - BECAUSE THE BEARING HAS FAILED). DEALER KEEPS TELLING US IT'S EITHER OUR BRAKES OR TIRES. THEY HAVE CHECKED THE BRAKES 4 TIMES ALREADY AND FOUND NOTHING BUT THEY DO ACKNOWLEDGE THE GRINDING NOISE IS STILL THERE. THIS VEHICLE IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE IN THIS CONDITION AS THE SYMPTOMS KEEP GETTING WORSE. IT HAS BEEN AT THE DEALER'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT THIS TIME FOR 6 DAYS ALREADY. THE VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER THE 100,000 KIA DRIVE TRAIN WARRANTY (VEHICLE HAS 91,000 MILES ON IT). I HAVE SENT THE VIDEO ALONG WITH THIS SAME NOTE TO NHTSA.WEBMASTER@DOT.GOV. WOULD LIKE YOUR OPINION OF WHAT THE AMOUNT OF MOVEMENT SIGNIFIES ON THE AXLE AS SHOWN IN THE VIDEO - PRETTY SURE IT IS EVIDENCE OF A FAILED BEARING (WHICH HAS LED TO FURTHER DAMAGE WITHIN TO THE DIFFERENTIAL AND SHAFT SPLINES). THANK YOU!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/14/2016 - OIL CITY, PA
NHTSA RECALL NUMBER: 15V-626 RECALL DATE: NOVEMBER 6, 2015 FAILED TO CONTACT ME ABOUT THIS RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds