Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 747 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (79) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (95)
Electrical System (100) Exterior Lighting (25) Power Train (181) Structure (154) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (29) Visibility (24)
Engine (60) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (34) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/12/2017 - MOUNDS VIEW, MN
CAR JOLTS/SHUDDERS/ SLIGHTLY JERK WHEN PRESSING ON THE GAS PEDAL FOR MORE POWER. CAR SUDDENLY JERKS FORWARD WHEN GOING FROM 60 TO 65 MPH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND HAS STAYED ON. TOOK CAR BACK TO DEALER WAS TOLD THAT THE CLOCK SPRING REPLACEMENT IS UNDER A RECALL AND THAT THE OCS MAT IS DEFECTIVE I CANT PAY 2000.00 FOR THIS REPAIR AND THINK THAT THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED AS IT GOES HAND IN HAND WITH THE CLOCK SPRING. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER AS IT IS NOT COVER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON, THE PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ON AND STAYED ON. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. FE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2017 - NEW CANEY, TX
THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE COMPLETELY FELL OFF IN MY HAND WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR TO GET MY GRANDCHILD OUT OF THE CAR. THE CAR HANDLED WAS DEFECTIVE AND MY GRANDCHILD REMAINED IN A CAR IN EXTREME HEAT WHILE I TRIED TO GET INTO THE CAR ANOTHER WAY. I CRAWLED OVER THE DRIVER'S SET AND PUSHED THE DOOR OPEN FROM THE INSIDE TO BE ABLE TO PULL THE CHILD OUT. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO CRAWL AROUND IN MY CAR TO GET A MINOR OUT OF IT. NOR SHOULD ANYONE BE EXPOSED TO TEXAS HEAT FOR ANY AMOUNT OF TIME DUE TO CAR FAILURE. CALLED KIA CUSTOMER CENTER AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE CAR TO BE EVALUATED AT A DEALERSHIP NEAR ME - THEY CHOSE. THE SERVICE AREA DIDN'T EVEN LOOK AT THE CAR -- SAW THE CAR HANDLE I BROUGHT IN AND SAID 'WELL WHY YOU BRINGING IT IN. IT'S BROKE. I CAN TELL THAT BY LOOKING AT IT." HE SAID HE WOULD OPEN A WORK ORDER THAT DAY. NO RESPONSE, I CALLED KIA AND THEY CALLED THIS PERSON WHO SAID HE WAS JUST THEN WRITING UP THE ORDER. WEEKS LATER I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND I WAS TOLD THAT SOME SALES MANAGER (NO NAME, WOULD NOT PROVIDE PHONE NUMBER) HAD DENIED COVERING THE REPAIR OF THE PART. I TOLD THE KIA SERVICE TO APPEAL IT -- THIS PLASTIC PART IS ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR. FOR 6 YEARS, THIS CAR HAS BEEN USED BY ME EXCLUSIVELY M-F TO AN FROM WORK. ONCE IN AWHILE ON THE WEEKENDS, I TAKE A GRANDCHILD TO AN EVENT OR SOMETIMES I HAVE CARRIED HUSBAND TO YMCA.. IF THE PART FAILED DUE TO USE, THE DRIVERS SIDE HANDLE SHOULD HAVE FAILED. I LOOKED ONLINE AFTER LEARNING FROM KIA THAT THERE WOULD NOT BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. I SAW HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE IN THE SAME SITUATION I WAS IN - WARRANTY DIDN'T COVER IT SINCE IT WAS OVER 70,000 MILES. THE 'FIX' REPAIR IS OVER $500. I SAW THAT A CLASS ACTION IS BEING DISCUSSED. SINCE IT IS ALWAYS THE PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE THAT FAILS FOR 2011 KIA, IT IS OBVIOUSLY DUE TO KIA USING A SUBSTANDARD PART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/9/2017 - NEW CANEY, TX
THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE COMPLETELY FELL OFF IN MY HAND WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR TO GET MY GRANDCHILD OUT OF THE CAR. THE CAR HANDLED WAS DEFECTIVE AND MY GRANDCHILD REMAINED IN A CAR IN EXTREME HEAT WHILE I TRIED TO GET INTO THE CAR ANOTHER WAY. I CRAWLED OVER THE DRIVER'S SET AND PUSHED THE DOOR OPEN FROM THE INSIDE TO BE ABLE TO PULL THE CHILD OUT. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO CRAWL AROUND IN MY CAR TO GET A MINOR OUT OF IT. NOR SHOULD ANYONE BE EXPOSED TO TEXAS HEAT FOR ANY AMOUNT OF TIME DUE TO CAR FAILURE. CALLED KIA CUSTOMER CENTER AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE CAR TO BE EVALUATED AT A DEALERSHIP NEAR ME - THEY CHOSE. THE SERVICE AREA DIDN'T EVEN LOOK AT THE CAR -- SAW THE CAR HANDLE I BROUGHT IN AND SAID 'WELL WHY YOU BRINGING IT IN. IT'S BROKE. I CAN TELL THAT BY LOOKING AT IT." HE SAID HE WOULD OPEN A WORK ORDER THAT DAY. NO RESPONSE, I CALLED KIA AND THEY CALLED THIS PERSON WHO SAID HE WAS JUST THEN WRITING UP THE ORDER. WEEKS LATER I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND I WAS TOLD THAT SOME SALES MANAGER (NO NAME, WOULD NOT PROVIDE PHONE NUMBER) HAD DENIED COVERING THE REPAIR OF THE PART. I TOLD THE KIA SERVICE TO APPEAL IT -- THIS PLASTIC PART IS ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR. FOR 6 YEARS, THIS CAR HAS BEEN USED BY ME EXCLUSIVELY M-F TO AN FROM WORK. ONCE IN AWHILE ON THE WEEKENDS, I TAKE A GRANDCHILD TO AN EVENT OR SOMETIMES I HAVE CARRIED HUSBAND TO YMCA.. IF THE PART FAILED DUE TO USE, THE DRIVERS SIDE HANDLE SHOULD HAVE FAILED. I LOOKED ONLINE AFTER LEARNING FROM KIA THAT THERE WOULD NOT BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. I SAW HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE IN THE SAME SITUATION I WAS IN - WARRANTY DIDN'T COVER IT SINCE IT WAS OVER 70,000 MILES. THE 'FIX' REPAIR IS OVER $500. I SAW THAT A CLASS ACTION IS BEING DISCUSSED. SINCE IT IS ALWAYS THE PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE THAT FAILS FOR 2011 KIA, IT IS OBVIOUSLY DUE TO KIA USING A SUBSTANDARD PART.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2017 - BALLSTON SPA, NY
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON UNEXPECTEDLY EVEN THOUGH THE AIRBAGS HAVE NEVER BEEN DEPLOYED AND THERE HAS BEEN NO DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE DESCRIBING A BROKEN CLOCK SPRING OR PASSENGER OCCUPANT SENSOR MAT. KIA HAS HAD THIS SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER MODELS AS WELL AND THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ASAP. I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM AT THIS TIME SINCE I HAVE MOUNTING MEDICAL BILLS. KIA NEEDS TO ADD THIS VEHICLE TO THE RECALL LIST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2017 - OBERLIN, KS
I WAS DRIVING AT 65 MILES AN HOUR ON FLAT ROADS AND THE CAR WENT TO SHIFT TO A HIGHER GEAR AND CLUNK THE TRANSMISSION FEELS AS THOUGH IT IS GOING TO BREAK. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. I HAVE ALSO HAD TROUBLE WITH THE CLUNKING NOISE WHEN I AM GOING 40 AND GETTING READY TO SPEED UP. PLEASE HELP FIX THIS PROBLEM FOR THE SAFTEY OF OTHERS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/5/2017 - MIAMI, FL
THE DRIVER DOOR WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/4/2017 - LANCASTER, CA
MY CARE IS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD TO REPAIR AND REPLACE MY DOOR LATCHES ON THE DRIVER DOOR AND THE PASSENGERS DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THIS HAS WORN ENTIRELY TOO FAST. NONE WERE MISUSED. I HAVE CHILDRENAND BOTH COMPLETELY FAILED TO WORK CREATING A HAZARD TO ENTERING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2017 - MEADVILLE, PA
BEGINNING MARCH OF 2016, LOUD BANGING AND CLANKING WHEN STARTING ENGINE. I TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED IT WITH BEARING PROBLEM WHICH COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE ENGINE FAILURE. VEHICLE OUT OF WARRANTY SO NO COVERAGE FOR AN ESTIMATED 6,000.00 REPAIR. WHEN MENTION OF RECALL CAME OUT I WAS RELIEVED AS I AM STILL DRIVING THE VEHICLE. HOWEVER, IT SEEMS THAT THE RECALL ONLY COVERS 2012 OR NEWER MODELS. THE 2011'S HAVE MAJOR ENGINE ISSUES AS WELL AND NEED TO BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds