Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 510 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (43)
Electrical System (75) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (160) Structure (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (27) Visibility (23)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/29/2016 - CONNEAUT, OH
WHILE SLOWLY BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, LOUD BANG NOISE, SHOOK CAR. FRONT RIGHT COIL SPRING BROKE OFF. HAD TOWED TO KIA DEALER, FRONT RIGHT COIL SPRING, RIGHT BALL JOINT, AND LEFT FRONT STRUT WAS REPLACED. EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERED ALL COSTS. OVER$ 1,000. 73.600 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/28/2016 - PHILA, PA
DRIVER SIDE DOOR ONLY OPENS FROM INSIDE. SAW MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ON WEB WHEN WILL THEY RECALL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2016 - MARSHFIELD, WI
ONE OF THE 2011 KIA SORENTO DOOR HANDLES NOT WORKING SINCE 09/11/2015 AND NOW THE OTHER DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE STOPPED WORKING SINCE 04/18/2015. THIS IS REALLY FRUSTRATING, AS I COULD OPEN THE DOOR FROM INSIDE BUT NOT FROM OUTSIDE. I HAVE TWO SMALL KIDS, ONE INFANT AND ONE 5 YEAR OLD AND I HAVE TO SNEAK ONE OF THEM INTO THE OTHER DOOR TO OPEN MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR. I AM REALLY FRIGHTENED IF WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF THE CHILD DOOR IS LOCKED MY INFANT IS IN THE CAR SEAT AND I AM NOT ABLE TO GO INSIDE MY CAR. THIS IS A POTENTIAL HAZARD FOR MY INFANT CHILD. KIA HAS TO REALLY STEP FORWARD AND REPLACE THIS FAULTY MECHANISM. THE COST MY KIA DEALER ESTIMATES IS 225/- PER DOOR, SO IT WILL END UP IN 450/- BUCKS FOR ME AND ALSO THE REP AT KIA DEALER TOLD ME TO GO AHEAD AND CHANGE ALL FOUR DOOR PARTS AS THE ORIGINAL PARTS USED BY KIA IS REALLY CHEAP AND ITS OF PLASTIC. SO IT WILL COST ME AROUND 900/- TO FIX MY DOORS. I URGE THE KIA COMPANY TO REALLY FIX THIS ASAP BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT AND/OR RESULT INTO FATALITY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2016 - NITRO, WV
WE TOO HAVE THE "AIR BAG" LIGHT LIT UP ON OUR KIA- HAVE DONE NOTHING TO CAUSE DAMAGE TO AIR BAG SYSTEM EXCEPT FOR MAYBE MOVE THE SEAT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/27/2016 - ORANGE, CA
DRIVER INSIDE DOOR HANDLE MADE A "POPPING SOUND" WHEN DRIVING LOOKED AT DOOR WHEN AT LIGHT AND HANDLE WAS STICKING OUT (AWAY FROM THE DOOR LIKE SOMETHING BROKE)? DIFFICULT TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE INSIDE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2016 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I FILED A COMPLAINT ABOUT THREE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLES NOT WORKING ON MY 2011 KIA SORENTO ON 4/29/2015. COMPLAINT NUMBER 10713499. AS OF TODAY STILL NO RECALLS. I HAVE SEEN THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS AND NOTHING FROM KIA TO REPAIR. MY WIFE SPOKE TO KIS SERVICE REP AND WAS TOLD HE HAD MANY CALLS ABOUT EXTERIOR HANDLES NOT WORKING FROM 2011 - 2016 MODELS OF SORENTOS. KIA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING. IF ANY ACCIDENT OR EMERGENCY HELP WONT BE ABLE TO GET INTO VEHICLE WITHOUT BREAKING GLASS AND CAUSING MORE HARM. US KIA SORENTO OWNERS NEED SOME HELP TO GET KIA CORP. TO SEND OUT A RECALL TO REPAIR ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/21/2016 - KANKAKEE, IL
I HAVE A 2011 KIA SORENTO IN WHICH THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR DOES NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE, ONLY THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE MANAGES TO OPEN THE DOOR. I REPLACED THE DRIVER+S DOOR LAST YEAR. IT APPEARS THAT THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD IF THE VEHICLE IS IN A CRASH AND THE DRIVER OR OCCUPANTS ARE INCAPACITATED. THE DOOR WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO BE OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE BY SOMEONE ASSISTING, GOD FORBID THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN FILED BY CONSUMERS REGARDING THIS ISSUE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT RANDOMLY FLASHED. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK OR IN GEAR, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE HEARD NEAR THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A BUILD UP OF SLUDGE NEAR THE AXLE AND IT WAS UNCERTAIN WHAT TYPE OF FLUID MAY HAVE BEEN RELEASING. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V258000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V626000 (POWER TRAIN). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT RANDOMLY FLASHED. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK OR IN GEAR, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE HEARD NEAR THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A BUILD UP OF SLUDGE NEAR THE AXLE AND IT WAS UNCERTAIN WHAT TYPE OF FLUID MAY HAVE BEEN RELEASING. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V258000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V626000 (POWER TRAIN). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2016 - PORTAGE, MI
FAULT CODE B1620, INTERNAL FAULT REPLACE SRSCM. JUST OUT OF WARRANTY 107000 MLS. NO PREVIOUS AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. MANY COMPLAINTS ON LINE BUT NO RECALL. $1000 TO FIX. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AT KIA'S EXPENSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds