Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (48) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (136) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (23) Visibility (17)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (21) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - MABLETON, GA
CPSC: I1470147A. 2011 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER STATED THE CAR HAS TURNED OFF ON THE HIGHWAY ON 3 OCCASIONS. ALSO STATED ALL OF A SUDDEN THE BATTERY AND ALL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS SHUT DOWN.

View Details

WHEELS

7/22/2014 - FRISCO, TX
I FOUND THAT THE REAR LEFT TIRE WAS SERIOUSLY WORN ON THE INSIDE TO THE POINT THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I HAVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN A REAR TIRE WEAR ON THE INSIDE EDGE WHILE THE REST OF THE TIRE WAS STILL GOOD AT 32000 MILES. WHAT WOULS CAUSE THE WEAR?

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/19/2014 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 5-10 MPH, I WAS BROADSIDED ON DRIVERS SIDE BY ANOTHER SUV TRAVELING AT 35MPH. NONE OF MY AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED THE SIDE HEAD RAIL BAG TO DEPLOY, PARTICULARLY THE ONE RIGHT NEXT TO THE DRIVERS HEAD. IT DID NOT. ACCORDING TO THE IIHS, THIS AIR BAG SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED IN THIS TYPE OF SIDE-IMPACT CRASH. I HAD TO BE TAKEN TO THE LOCAL HOSPITAL BY RESCUE SQUAD AND AM SUFFERING WITH SEVERE BACK AND NECK PAIN AS WELL AS SEVERE HEADACHES FROM THIS COLLISION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/1/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
PURCHASED 2011 KIA SORENTO - NEW- FROM LOCAL DEALERSHIP ON 5/13/2011. IN ONE YEAR (5/17/2012) RIGHT-REAR PASSENGER DOOR STARTED STICKING. ENDED UP BEING THE DOOR PANEL STICKING ON THE WEATHER STRIPPING, BUT THIS REQUIRED TWO SUBSEQUENT ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR, ON 6/6/2012 (WEATHER STRIP REPLACED) AND 9/5/2012 (DOOR PANEL REPLACED) (COVERED BY WARRANTY). THIS FINAL SOLUTION OF REPLACING THE DOOR PANEL WORKED, UNTIL 6/19/2014. SAME ISSUE, WITH THE SAME DOOR, REOCCURRED. THE DOOR PANEL CLIPS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. THE DEALER SHIP OPENED A CASE WITH KIA AT OUR REQUEST AND ADJUSTED THE DOOR STRIKE PLATE. THE PROBLEM SEEMED TO BE FIXED, BUT WITHIN TWO DAYS, WE ARE READY TO TAKE IT BACK TO RE-ADDRESS THE ISSUE. AT THIS POINT THE MILEAGE HAS PLACED THE CAR OUT OF WARRANTY, THUS THE CURRENT COST OF THE PART (THE DOOR PANEL) BEING $675, PLUS LABOR, IS ON US TO BEAR AND LIKELY, BASED ON THE PREVIOUS RECORD WILL NOT BE THE FINAL REPAIR REQUIRED FOR THIS ROUND. WE FULLY EXPECT THIS SAME DOOR TO FAIL IN ANOTHER TWO YEARS. WE FEEL THAT THIS ISSUE IS A SAFETY HAZARD AS WHEN SOMEONE TRIES TO OPEN THE DOOR, FORGETTING IT IS BROKEN, AND DOES NOT PUSH HARD TO CLOSE THE DOOR, IT IS NOT FULLY ENGAGED. THERE IS AN OPEN CASE WITH KIA DIRECTLY TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM (K2738522). THEY ONLY MENTIONED ASSISTING WITH THE REPAIR, NOT REPAIRING IT AT THEIR COST, FOR WHAT IS LIKELY A QUALITY AND SAFETY ISSUE WITH THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE AND DOOR. IT DOES NOT SEEM TO BE LIMITED TO THE 2011 MODEL YEAR AS I DID FIND ANOTHER INSTANCE OF THIS SAME PROBLEM ON A 2012 MODEL IN THE WILD: HTTP://WWW.EDMUNDS.COM/KIA/SORENTO/2012/CONSUMER-REVIEWS/REAR-PASSENGER-DOOR-WON'T-OPEN.HTML?STYLE=101388024&SUB=&REVIEWID=964955855

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - DUNNELLON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER ACTIVATING THE PUSH-TO-START BUTTON. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE KEY FOB, ENGINE MODULE, WIRING HARNESS AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2014 - DUNNELLON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER ACTIVATING THE PUSH-TO-START BUTTON. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE KEY FOB, ENGINE MODULE, WIRING HARNESS AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/27/2014 - PLEASANT HILL, MO
I WAS PARKED IN A PARKING SPOT, PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE TO BACK OUT, WHEN I TRIED TO PUT IT IN DRIVE IT WOULDN'T SHIFT PAST NEUTRAL. IT HAS DONE THIS SIX TIMES IN THE LAST YEAR SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT BUT HAS BECOME MORE FREQUENT. THIS LAST TIME, THE SAME THING OCCURRED EVERY TIME I PARKED (FOUR TIMES IN ONE DAY). ALSO THE ESC AND DBC LIGHTS COME ON WHEN THIS HAPPENS. I FINALLY DECIDED TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP AND SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT BECAUSE ON THIS SAME DAY, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE ESC AND DBC LIGHTS CAME ON AND STAYED ON UNTIL I PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE CAR OFF.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/21/2014 - BRICK, NJ
I PURCHASED MY 2011 KIA SORENTO APPROXIMATELY 1 YR AGO AND MY INTERIOR LIGHT IN FRONT OVER DRIVER AND PASSENGER COMES ON AND OFF DURING DRIVING. THIS DID IT IN THE BEGINNING THEN STOPPED, NOW IT DOES IT ALL THE TIME WITH THE ILLUMINATING DOOR OPEN SIGN ON DASH. THEY STAY ON MUCH LONGER AND HAPPENS MORE FREQUENTLY. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE WITH MY GRAND CHILDREN IN CAR, NOT SURE IF SAFE ANYMORE. DEALER NEVER EXPRESSED AT TIME OF PURCHASE THAT THERE WHERE ANY RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE. FRONT MAKES NOISE EVERYTIME I PLACE FOOT ON BRAKES, PEOPLE LOOK OVER WHEN I HIT BRAKES. NOT SURE IF THIS IS A PROBLEM AS WELL(RECALL). I AM UNEMPLOYED NOW FOR 15 MONTHS NO MONEY TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THESE ARE PART OF ANY RECALLS. I PURCHASED VEHICLE FROM SANSONE JR., ROUTE 66, NEPTUNE, NJ. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/21/2014 - BRICK, NJ
I PURCHASED MY 2011 KIA SORENTO APPROXIMATELY 1 YR AGO AND MY INTERIOR LIGHT IN FRONT OVER DRIVER AND PASSENGER COMES ON AND OFF DURING DRIVING. THIS DID IT IN THE BEGINNING THEN STOPPED, NOW IT DOES IT ALL THE TIME WITH THE ILLUMINATING DOOR OPEN SIGN ON DASH. THEY STAY ON MUCH LONGER AND HAPPENS MORE FREQUENTLY. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE WITH MY GRAND CHILDREN IN CAR, NOT SURE IF SAFE ANYMORE. DEALER NEVER EXPRESSED AT TIME OF PURCHASE THAT THERE WHERE ANY RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE. FRONT MAKES NOISE EVERYTIME I PLACE FOOT ON BRAKES, PEOPLE LOOK OVER WHEN I HIT BRAKES. NOT SURE IF THIS IS A PROBLEM AS WELL(RECALL). I AM UNEMPLOYED NOW FOR 15 MONTHS NO MONEY TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THESE ARE PART OF ANY RECALLS. I PURCHASED VEHICLE FROM SANSONE JR., ROUTE 66, NEPTUNE, NJ. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/10/2014 - KENNESAW, GA
2011 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE AIR BAG, AT A COST OF $ 1200.00

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds