Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 574 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (60)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (163) Structure (99) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (27) Visibility (23)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (9) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/14/2016 - LAKE PLACID, FL
JUST WENT TO OPEN THE DRIVER'S SIDE PASSENGER DOOR OF MY KIA SORRENTO ONE DAY IN JAN. 2016, AND IT WOULD NOT OPEN. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THEY WERE ABLE TO GET IT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE AND DISENGAGED THE CHILD SAFETY LOCK, BUT IT STILL WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. I WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE $350 TO FIX IT. I WENT TO WORK A COUPLE WEEKS LATER AND CAME OUT TO GET IN MY CAR AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE WOULD NOT OPEN. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO GET IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AND REACH OVER TO OPEN IT. I HAVE BEEN DOING THAT FOR 7 MO. NOW BECAUSE OF A LACK OF $700 TO FIX BOTH DOORS, AND LACK OF TIME! I AM TAKING IT IN TOMORROW TO GET THEM FIXED BECAUSE OUR DAUGHTER AND 3 GRANDCHILDREN ARE COMING THIS WEEKEND TO VISIT FOR 2 WEEKS. I BEGAN TO PANIC WHEN I REALIZED IF WE WERE IN A WRECK, NO ONE WOULD BE ABLE TO GET US OUT ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE, WHICH COULD BE THE ONLY AVAILABLE SIDE! MY HUSBAND CALLED KIA A FEW MONTHS AGO ABOUT THE SITUATION AND SOMEONE WAS SUPPOSED TO CALL HIM BACK, BUT THEY NEVER DID. I CALLED, BUT DID NOT HAVE THE VIN WITH ME AT THE TIME. I FIND IT INTERESTING THAT SO MANY OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS AND NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO HELP US WITH THIS OBVIOUS MANUFACTURING PROBLEM, YET I READ OR SAW SOMEWHERE SOMETHING ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS SAFETY BEING A PRIORITY??? I JUST HOPE IT DOESN'T TAKE A DEATH TO GET THEM TO ACT ON THIS! I'M DOING MY BEST TO BE SURE IT ISN'T ONE OF MY LOVED ONES, BUT DO EXPECT KIA TO "MAN UP" AND REIMBURSE US! TO ANSWER YOUR OTHER QUESTIONS...THE CAR WAS STATIONARY, PARKED, WAS TOLD IT WAS SOME MECHANISM INSIDE THE DOOR. I WILL BE ABLE TO UPLOAD A REPAIR INVOICE TOMORROW AFTER THE JOB IS COMPLETE. IN THIS CASE, THEY SAY THEY WILL USE GENUINE FACTORY PARTS, BUT I'M NOT SO SURE I WANT THEM TO!!! ARE WE FACING THE SAME "TRIP" AGAIN "DOWN THE ROAD?" ARE THESE PARTS GOING TO BE ANY BETTER??? THAT REMAINS TO BE SEEN!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/13/2016 - HUDSON, WI
APPROXIMATELY TWO MONTHS AGO, WHILE PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY, I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN MY DRIVER REAR PASSENGER DOOR. IT WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE; THE MECHANISM THAT HOLDS THE DOOR SHUT HAD SOMEHOW MANAGED TO STAY IN THE "HOLDING" POSITION WHICH PREVENTED IT FROM BEING OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE. JUST RECENTLY MY DRIVER DOOR ITSELF HAS STARTED TO DO THE EXACT SAME THING. THIS CAUSES AN ISSUE IF THERE IS AN ACCIDENT AS IT PREVENTS SOMEONE FROM ACCESSING A PERSON SEATED BEHIND THE DRIVER. I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME MAKE/MODEL/YEAR AS MY VEHICLE. WE WOULD LIKE KIA TO ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/12/2016 - CAVE CITY, KY
ONE DAY LAST WEEK I WENT TO OPEN MY DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR & IT WOULDN'T OPEN. TOOK IT TO THE SHOP & THEY HAD TO TAKE THE WHOLE DOOR APART TO FIND OUT WHAT PART WAS NEEDED WHICH TOOK THEM SEVERAL HOURS. IT'S GOING TO COST ME $500.00 TO GET THIS FIXED. I HAVE NOTICED MANY PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME . THING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/12/2016 - BARDSTOWN, KY
"TAKATA RECALL" I HAVE HAD MY KIA FOR ALMOST 3 YEARS NOW AND SINCE A YEAR AGO THERE IS ONLY ONE DOOR LEFT THAT WILL OPEN FROM THE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE IN TERMS OF A LOCKING MECHANISM. TWO DOORS WILL ONLY OPEN FROM THE INSIDE AND THE OTHER WON'T OPEN FROM THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. I KNOW THE PROBLEM WILL ONLY GET WORSE, BUT DUE TO ANY EMERGENCIES AND HAVING KIDS IT MAKES IT REALLY INCONVENIENT TO CLIMB THROUGH THE BACK INTO MY FRONT SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2016 - UPPER DARBY, PA
KIA SENT A NOTICE THAT THEY ARE EXTENDING THE WARRANTY FOR THE FRONT AIRBAG CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY. MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS STAYING ILLUMINATED SO I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THE DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THE ISSUE IS NOT THE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY ITS THE OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION MAT. THIS MEANS THAT IF I AM IN A CRASH MY FRONT AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY AND I AM RISKING THE LIFE OF MY PASSENGER. WHY IS THIS ISSUE NOT INCLUDED WITH THE NOTICE THAT THEY SENT SINCE IT ALSO INVOLVES THE AIRBAG AND THE AIRBAG SENSOR?

View Details

SEATS

7/7/2016 - UPPER DARBY, PA
KIA SENT A NOTICE THAT THEY ARE EXTENDING THE WARRANTY FOR THE FRONT AIRBAG CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY. MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS STAYING ILLUMINATED SO I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THE DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THE ISSUE IS NOT THE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY ITS THE OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION MAT. THIS MEANS THAT IF I AM IN A CRASH MY FRONT AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY AND I AM RISKING THE LIFE OF MY PASSENGER. WHY IS THIS ISSUE NOT INCLUDED WITH THE NOTICE THAT THEY SENT SINCE IT ALSO INVOLVES THE AIRBAG AND THE AIRBAG SENSOR?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2016 - MIAMI SPRINGS, FL
SUDDENLY UNABLE TO OPEN DRIVERS SIDE FRONT DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE. ALREADY PAID OVER $300 FOR SAME ISSUE ON DRIVERS SIDE REAR DOOR DID NOT OPEN FROM OUTSIDE SUDDENLY. OBVIOUS DEFECT AS NORMAL USE AND NO ISSUES UNTIL SUDDENLY STOPS WORKING. LIVING IN SOUTH FLORIDA VERY DANGEROUS WITH CANALS AND WATER SHOULD AN ACCIDENT OCCUR. VEHICLE STATIONARY PARKED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/1/2016 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
THREE WEEKS AGO MY LEFT SIDE REAR DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. I HAD THE CHILD LOCK ON SO IT WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE EITHER. TODAY, I GO TO LEAVE THE HOUSE AND MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. SAME SIDE, SAME ISSUE. THIS SERIOUSLY NEEDS ATTENTION. IF I HAD MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT IT COULD MEAN LIFE OR DEATH TRYING TO GET THEM OUT OF THE CAR. ANOTHER EXAMPLE: IF I WERE BEING ATTACKED AND NEEDED TO GET INTO MY CAR QUICKLY TO DRIVE SAFELY AWAY, I WOULD HAVE TO ENTER MY VEHICLE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE AND CRAWL OVER TO THE DRIVER SIDE TO START MY CAR. AFTER READING ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE, I FEEL AS IF KIA SHOULD MAN UP AND MAKE THIS A RECALL. IT IS DANGEROUS. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THE LIGHTBULB GOES OFF??????? COME ON KIA. SERIOUSLY. EVERYONE WHO HAS THIS ISSUE PLEASE REPORT IT!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/30/2016 - BALLSTON SPA, NY
WHILE ENTERING THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THE DOOR FAILED TO OPEN AS WELL AS THE DRIVER SIDE BACK DOOR DUE TO CHILD LOCK BEING ACTIVATED. I AM UNABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE INSIDE ON TO THE BACK DOOR. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AS MY WARRANTY EXPIRED IN AUG 2015 ALTHOUGH I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE JUNE 2011. THE 60 MONTHS WERE FROM THE TIME THE DEALERSHIP PURCHASED THE CAR NOT ME AND IT ONLY HAD 400 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
REAR DRIVERS SIDE DOOR CAN NOT BE OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE WHICH PRESENTS THE DANGER OF BEING BURNED IF VEHICLE WERE TO CATCH FIRE. THIS CONDITION IS NOW PRESENT IN A LARGE NUMBER OF VEHICLES AND I BELIEVE SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR REPAIR AND CATEGORIZED A SAFETY HAZARD. A SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCH WILL ESTABLISH THE SCOPE OF THIS DEFECT . DEALER INDICATES THE COST OF REPAIR $430.00 PER DOOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds