Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 661 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (80)
Electrical System (89) Exterior Lighting (23) Power Train (169) Structure (129) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (28) Visibility (24)
Engine (51) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (31) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/6/2017 - FENTON, MO
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE HEAD LIGHTS ON MY VEHICLE LONG BEFORE THEY SHOULD HAVE EVER BEEN NEEDED TO. IN FACT I LITERALLY JUST GOT IT BACK FROM DEALER TODAY AFTER THEY DID RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE AND THE DRIVER SIDE IS OUT, WHICH WAS REPLACED BY AUTO ZONE NOT EVEN A MONTH AGO. THE SIDE BLINKER THAT IS NEXT TO THE HEADLIGHT IS ALSO OUT NOW TOO. I'M NOT SURE OF THEY KNOCKED SOMETHING LOOSE, BUT IT WAS WORKING THIS MORNING. HOWEVER, NOW READING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE HEADLIGHTS BURNING OUT TOO QUICKLY, I'M STARTING TO WONDER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/2/2017 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CAR WAS NOT ALWAYS RESPONDING TO ME WHEN I WANTED TO ACCELERATE, I WOULD HEAR THE RPMS GOING UP BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT GO FASTER, THEN A PUFF OF WHITE SMOKE WOULD COME OUT THE TAIL PIPE. THEN ONE DAY, I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND IT STARTED MAKING A CLANKING NOISE WHEN I WOULD PUSH THE GAS PEDAL. IT SOUNDED LIKE THE NOISE A ROLLER COASTER MAKES WHEN YOU ARE CLANKING UP THE HILL AT THE BEGINNING. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOOK THE ENGINE APART TO FIND THE PROBLEM. THE CAR HAS AN ENGINE DEFECT THAT WAS DIAGNOSED BY A KIA DEALER AS A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT. NOW THE CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE AND KIA IS REFUSING TO PAY FOR A NEW ENGINE. KIA NEEDS TO RECALL ALL VEHICLES WITH THESE ENGINES. THEY ARE BUILT BY HYUNDAI AND THEY RECALLED THEIR VEHICLES WITH THE SAME ENGINES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/2/2017 - CONNEAUT, OH
2011 KIA SORRENTO/THE CAR THE LOCK MECHANISM FAILED. THE CAR WILL NOT LOCK WITH THE KEY FOB OR WHEN PUSHING THE LOCKS IN THE DOOR. APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 80,000 MILES. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER SAID I WAS OVER MILEAGE FOR THE REPAIR. IT WILL COST ABOUT $800 FOR REPAIR. I AM SEEKING ADVICE TO SEE IF EXTENDED WARRANTY WILL COVER THIS COST. I HAVE ALREADY REPLACED THE FRONT DRIVERS DOOR LATCH, I RECEIVED A LETTER SAYING THE REPAIR ON THE LOCKS WOULD BE DONE BUT APPARENTLY IT DOES NOT COVER THIS PART. 5 YEAR OLD CAR NO LOCKS WORK AT ALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2016 - FOLSOM, NJ
AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR MILES. KIA STATES IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY, BUT THAT THE ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM IS DEACTIVATED DUE TO THIS ERROR CODE. THEY QUOTED AT THE LEAST $1,500 IN PARTS ALONE, NOT INCLUDING LABOR AND THEY CAN'T GUARANTEE THAT WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. I AM FINDING THIS A COMMON ISSUE IN 2011 KIA SORENTO. THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATORY RECALL. PEOPLE CAN'T AFFORD TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. BUT THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. NOTHING CAUSED THE AIRBAG LIGHT TO COME ON. MY CAR HAS NEVER BEEN IN ONE ACCIDENT NOR HAVE I EVER HIT ANYTHING WITH MY VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/16/2016 - CUMBERLAND, RI
IN THE LAST WEEK, THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY WHILE DRIVING 70MPH - THE CAR SHUT OFF AND DROPPED TO 50MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED BUT IT STARTED BACK UP. TWENTY MINUTES LATER WHILE DRIVING 25MPH ON A SIDE ROAD, THE SAME THING HAPPENED. AND THEN AGAIN WHILE IN A DRIVE THRU LINE. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED TWICE WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. THE VEHICLE DOES START BACK UP AGAIN BUT IT IS OBVIOUSLY UNSAFE TO DRIVE, ESPECIALLY ON THE HIGHWAY. AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUE, I FOUND THERE WAS A RECALL ON 2011-2013 MODELS WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I CONTACTED KIA AND WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL BUT TO BRING IT IN AND HAVE IT LOOKED AT. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2016 TO HAVE SEVERAL OTHER RECALL ITEMS CORRECTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/11/2016 - DETROIT, MI
FAILURE OF AIRBAGS TO DEPLORE. ACCIDENT 12/1/16. INSURANCE COMPANY HAS SUBSEQUENTLY RENDERED THE VEHICLE A TOTALED LOST. ACCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE VEHICLE WAS CROSSING A INTERSECTION (CITY STREET) AND STUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE IN THE MIDSECTION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/10/2016 - PITTSBURG, TX
BOTH DOORS LOCKED ON LEFT SIDE. CAN NOT ENTER CARE ON LEFT SIDE. RUNNING OR NOT. I'M LOCKED OUT. AIR BAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON WHILE UNDER WARRANTY AT TIME I ASK THEM TO FIX IT. STILL NOT FIXED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/10/2016 - PITTSBURG, TX
BOTH DOORS LOCKED ON LEFT SIDE. CAN NOT ENTER CARE ON LEFT SIDE. RUNNING OR NOT. I'M LOCKED OUT. AIR BAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON WHILE UNDER WARRANTY AT TIME I ASK THEM TO FIX IT. STILL NOT FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2016 - BURKESVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO ANY GEAR, A LOUD POPPING NOISE COULD BE HEARD FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE FORWARD AND ROLLED BACKWARDS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED IN ORDER TO RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V258000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2016 - VALLEY CENTER, KS
VEHICLE STARTED GRINDING WITH NO PRIOR ISSUES AT A STOP SIGN. WOULD NOT MOVE AT ALL. TOWED TO MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THAT THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT HAD BROKEN. FOUND PREVIOUS RECALLS FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM ON OTHER 2011 KIA SORENTO 2 WHEEL DRIVE 4 CYLINDER MODELS, THE EXACT SAME MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR AS OUR OWN. CALLED KIA AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS INDEED A RECALL, HOWEVER IT WAS NOT IN EFFECT FOR MY VIN. THE SAME MODEL, YEAR, EVERYTHING. JUST NOT MY VIN. VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR THAT WILL LIKELY REQUIRE THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION. KIA IS AWARE OF A PROBLEM WITH THESE INTERMEDIATE SHAFTS AND IS NOT PROPERLY REPAIRING THOUSANDS OF VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds