Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 561 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (58)
Electrical System (80) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (163) Structure (91) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (27) Visibility (23)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/24/2016 - LANSDALE, PA
ON 6/18/16 MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. I HAD BEEN HAVING ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH THE REMOTE KEY NOT WORKING ALSO. DURING ROUTINE OIL CHANGES, I WOULD ASK FOR THE REMOTE KEY TO BE CHECKED AND THE SERVICE PEOPLE WOULD STATE THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. ON 6/24/26 I TOOK THE CAR INTO MY LOCAL KIA SERVICE SHOP. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE LATCH INSIDE THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND CHARGED ME $400.00. WHILE WAITING FOR MY CAR, I GOOGLED TO SEE HOW MUCH THE LATCH SHOULD COST, BUT INSTEAD I HAPPENED UPON S WEBSITE CAR GURU AND FOUND OUT THAT MULTIPLE PEOPLE HAVE BEEN HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. SOME WITH MULTIPLE DOOR LATCHES GONE BAD. SOME HAVE BEEN LOCKED INSIDE THE CAR TOO. I IT OLD THE SERVICE GUY WHAT I SAW ON THE WEB AND ASK WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN S RECALL. HE RESPECTFULLY TOLD ME TO CALL THE MANUFACTURER. I DID RIGHT THEN AND THERE AND PUT IN A COMPLAINT WITH A KIA CONSUMER COMPLAINT CASE MANAGER. OTHER SAY THEY HAVE BEEN REPORTING TO KIA AND THEY WON'T RECALL THE FAULTY LATCH. NOT BEING ABLE TO GET IN AND OUT OF YOUR CAR IS VERY UNSAFE. THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM AND WE NEED HELP. THANKS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/23/2016 - VENETIA, PA
2011 KIA SORENTO REAR DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR CANNOT BE OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. THIS IS SAFETY MATTER. WE CAN OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE TO GET OUR CHILDREN OR OTHERS OUT OF CAR IN CASE OF ACCIDENT OR OTHER EMERGENCY? MY CAR ONLY HAS 58000 MILES ON IT AND THIS ISSUE JUST STARTED. DUE TO THE SAFETY ASPECT AND THE LARGE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE THERE SHOULD BE A KIA RECALL DUE TO THIS DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - LANSDALE, PA
I HAVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS ON AND OFF WITH MY REMOTE KEY NOT LOCKING OR UNLOCKING THE DOORS. I'VE TAKEN MY CAR IN FOR OIL CHANGES AND HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE ISSUE, BUT SERVICE WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THIS ISSUE. IT IS STILL AN ISSUE. MY MAIN COMPLAINT IS TODAY I'M IN FOR SERVICE BECAUSE MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL ONLY OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. I'M BEING CHARGE $475.00 FOR A LATCH REPLACEMENT . I AM SEEING ON THE WEB THAT MULTIPLE PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH ONE OR MULTIPLE DOORS ON THEIR KIA VEHICLES. KIA HAS NOT DONE A RECALL. I DID MAKE A FORMAL COMPLAINT TO KIA CONSUMER AFFAIRS TODAY. THIS IS S BIG SAFETY ISSUE. SOME FOLKS HAVE BEEN LOCKED INSIDE THEIR VEHICLES AS WELL,

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2016 - GRETNA, LA
"TAKATA RECALL" FRONT PASSAGER DOOR CAN NOT OPEN FROM OUTSIDE AND PASSGER SIDE DOOR ON DRIVER SIDE CAN NOT OPEN FROM OUTSIDE OR INSIDE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IF ANYONE OF THE PASSAGERS NEED TO GET OUT FOR WHAT EVER THE REASON IN AN EMERGENCY. HOW CAN YOU BUY A CAR AND NOT BE ABLE TO GET IN OR OUT OF IT. PLEASE THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND NOT AT MY EXPENCE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2016 - LAKE WORTH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND RESUMED DRIVING. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE FOUND. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2016 - LAKE WORTH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND RESUMED DRIVING. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE FOUND. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/20/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
2011 KIA SORENTO DRIVER SIDE, BOTH REAR DOORS CAN NOT BE OPEN EITHER FROM OUT SIDE AND INSIDER DUE TO CHILD SAFETY. THIS IS SAFETY MATTER. HOW WE CAN GET OUR CHILDREN OUT OF CAR IN CASE OF ACCIDENT? CURRENTLY ONLY ONE DOOR OF MY CAR CAN BE OPEN FROM OUTSIDE. I AM STRONG BELIEVE SOMEONE HAVE TO TAKE A LOOK AND RECOMMEND THE RE-CALL FOR THIS KIA MANUFACTURE PART DEFECTED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/20/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIR BAG LIGHT ON WITHOUT ANY ACCIDENT. THIS IS SAFETY MATTER. AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLORE IN CASE OF ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2016 - PORT ORANGE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND RESTARTED, IT FAILED TO ENGAGE IN GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V258000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/15/2016 - LANSING, MI
DRIVERS SIDE DOOR ON 2011 KIA SORENTO WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. INSIDE STILL WORKS, CAN HEAR LOCK/UN-LOCK BUT SEEMS LIKE OUTSIDE LATCH IS STUCK IN THE LOCK POSITION. HAVE TO EITHER CRAWL THROUGH THE CAR OR REACH IN THE WINDOW AND OPEN FROM INSIDE. STILL HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON CAR (82,000 MILES) BUT WAS STILL GOING TO COST ME $200 TO FIX IT. WHY AM I PAYING $200 TO FIX A HANDLE ON A CAR THAT IS WELL UNDER WARRANTY. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE CONSIDERING IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT IT HINDERS THE FIRST RESPONDERS ABILITY TO GET TO ME. FROM WHAT I'VE READ THIS IS AN ISSUE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING. KIA NEEDS TO ISSUE A RECALL AND FIX IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds