Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 829 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (91) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (33) Unknown Or Other (100)
Electrical System (113) Exterior Lighting (31) Power Train (190) Structure (177) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (34) Visibility (24)
Engine (78) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (38) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/17/2018 - SIOUX CITY, IA
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO OPEN THE DOORS FROM OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER (BILLION AUTO KIA IN SIOUX CITY, IOWA) DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE DOORS NEEDED ACTUATORS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2018 - SIOUX CITY, IA
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO OPEN THE DOORS FROM OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER (BILLION AUTO KIA IN SIOUX CITY, IOWA) DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE DOORS NEEDED ACTUATORS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2018 - ESTERO, FL
AIR BAG ILLUMINATION LIGHT CAME ON & STAYED ON AT 65450 MILES. DEALERSHIP STATES AIR BAG WON'T DEPLOY AS SYSTEM IS RENDERED INOPERABLE. NEEDS SOP CLOCK SPRING & OCS MATT. TOTAL ESTIMATE FOR REPAIR IS $2000. & IT'S NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY KIA SOONER RATHER THAN LATER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2018 - STONY BROOK, NY
POWER DOOR LOCKS DO NOT LOCK, BY DOOR BUTTON, BY REMOTE KEY FOB OR MORE IMPORTANTLY WHEN THE CAR IS TAKEN OUT OF THE PARK POSITION. DOORS DO SUCCESSFULLY UNLOCK VIA REMOTE, DOOR BUTTON AND WHEN THE CAR IS PUT INTO THE PARKED POSITION. DOORS CAN ONLY BE LOCKED MANUALLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/8/2018 - EDINBURG, VA
MY REAR DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE OR THE INSIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/6/2018 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF APPARENTLY EXPLODED WHEN THE CAR WAS PARKED. THE WAS A CIRCLE ABOUT 3' AROUND THE CAR WITH SMALL PIECES OF GLASS, GLASS OVER THE ENTIRE VEHICLE, METAL PIECES FROM HE SUNROOF WERE ON THE HOOD AND WINDSHIELD, THE HEADLINER WAS RIPPED FROM THE CEILING WITH A LARGE HOLE RIPPED OUT OF THE MIDDLE AND PIECES OF GLASS WERE PILED THROUGHOUT THE INTERIOR. THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED ONE DAY. NO ONE WITNESSED THE EXPLOSION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2018 - SANFORD, FL
THE SHIFT GEARS WONT MOVE. THE GEAR WILL STAY IN DRIVE. WON'T GO INTO REVERSE OR PARK. WHEN I HAVE TO PUT VEH IN REVERSE I HAVE TO HOLD GEAR IN REVERSE. THERE HAS BEEN TIMES WHEN I HAD TO LEAVE MY KEYS IN THE IGNITION, LEAVE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND HAVE EMERGENCY BRAKE DOWN. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS KIA CLAIM THEY FIXED THE ISSUE, BUT I'M STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/1/2018 - MOUNDS VIEW, MN
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR SUDDENLY JUMPS FORWARDS AND I FEELS LIKE SOMEONE HIT ME FROM BEHIND. THE SAME THING HAPPENS WHILE ROLLING DOWN A HILL OR SLOWING DOWN WITH OR WITHOUT APPLYING THE BREAKS. IT FEELS LIKE IT WANTS TO SHIFT AND SOMETHING IS HOLDING IT BACK FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND. ON SPORTS MODE, WHEN MANUALLY SHIFTING FROM 2 TO 3 I CAN EXPERIENCE THE SAME RESPONSE. ON GEAR 5 SPORTS MODE, YOU FEEL THE SUDDEN JERK. THE PROBLEM SEEMED TO BE MORE SIGNIFICANT WHEN THE ENGINE IS COLDER. I NOTICED THE HESITATION LASTED LONGER BEFORE THE JERK IN THE WINTER. I HAVE BEEN TO MANY MECHANIC SHOPS AND THEY TELL ME THE CAR IS SHIFTING FINE AND THAT THEY AREN'T TO FULLY REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I HOPE THIS ADDS TO THE MILLIONS OF COMPLAINTS AND GETS KIA TO DO SOMETHING. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN PERSISTENT FOR OVER A YEAR NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2018 - LARGO, FL
LOW BEAM ASSEMBLY WIRING ON BOTH LOW BEAMS HAS MELTED. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED IN NUMEROUS CAR BLOGS AS A KNOWN ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/24/2018 - LARGO, FL
LOW BEAM ASSEMBLY WIRING ON BOTH LOW BEAMS HAS MELTED. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED IN NUMEROUS CAR BLOGS AS A KNOWN ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds