Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (55) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (142) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (25) Visibility (18)
Engine (36) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (25) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/20/2015 - SAYREVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. AFTER PULLING OFF THE ROAD AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS NORMAL. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE THE DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/16/2015 - KENANSVILLE , NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE AT A STOP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A WHIPLASH AS WELL AS SPINE AND BACK INJURIES. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK AND BACK ALONG WITH WHIPLASH, THE SECOND PASSENGER SUSTAINED SPINAL, NECK, AND BACK PAINS. THE THIRD PASSENGER SUSTAINED MINOR BACK PAINS FROM THE IMPACT. ALL REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED TO DETERMINE WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: (AIR BAGS). THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2015 - TAFT, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. UPON PULLING THE VEHICLE OVER, IT WAS FURTHER NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS ON FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT A ROD FRACTURED INTO THE ENGINE AFFECTING THE OTHER COMPONENTS CAUSED A FIRE. ALSO, THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTONS MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED BUT FURTHER EXTENSIVE DIAGNOSIS WAS REQUIRED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V388000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2015 - TAFT, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. UPON PULLING THE VEHICLE OVER, IT WAS FURTHER NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS ON FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT A ROD FRACTURED INTO THE ENGINE AFFECTING THE OTHER COMPONENTS CAUSED A FIRE. ALSO, THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTONS MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED BUT FURTHER EXTENSIVE DIAGNOSIS WAS REQUIRED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V388000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2015 - CLEVELAND , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING OVER A BUMP, THERE WAS AN WHINING SOUND COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V258000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/2/2015 - FRONT ROYAL, VA
AT APPROXIMATELY 9 A.M. ON SEPTEMBER 11TH 2014 MY FAMILY AND I WERE TRAVELING EASTBOUND ON 66 FROM FRONT ROYAL VIRGINIA TO THE DULLES AIRPORT . MY BOYFRIEND ADAM FERNANDEZ WAS DRIVING AT THE TIME AND I WAS SEATED BEHIND HIM NEXT TO OUR 3 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. WE WERE TRAVELING IN THE LEFT LANE OF 66 AT ABOUT 70 MILES AN HOUR WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN OUR VEHICLE WENT WILDLY OUT OF CONTROL. WE FISHTAILED, WENT THROUGH THE RIGHT LANE OF 66 ALL THE WAY ACROSS, SLAMMING US HEAD ON INTO THE DEWEY WALL AND GUARDRAIL. I WAS VIOLENTLY JOLTED FORWARD AND SMASHED MY FACE INTO THE BACK OF THE DRIVER SEAT. I WAS TAKEN BY AMBULANCE TO FRAQUIER CO. HOSPITAL. I SUFFERED MULTIPLE NASAL FRACTURES AND 2 ABRASIONS TO MY NOSE AND GASH ON MY KNEE. I REQUIRED A CT SCAN, STITCHES, AND MY NOSE TO BE RESET. I HAD BLACK EYES, SEVERE HEAD ACHES AND SWELLING FOR SEVERAL WEEKS. THE AXEL IN THE REAR PASSENGER, BEHIND THE DRIVER SIDE, HAD SNAPPED CLEANLY AT THE WELD. THERE WAS NO MAJOR RUST AND NO JAGGED EDGES ON THE BREAK. THERE WAS ALSO NO DENT OR DAMAGED TO THE SCRAPE PLATE AS FOUND BY AUTO REPAIR SHOP.INDICATING THE CAR HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN ROUGHLY. IT IS BELIEVED BY BOTH THE AUTO REPAIR SHOP AND IS WRITTEN IN THE POLICE REPORT AS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT. MY FAMILY AND I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED, LUCKILY MY 3 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS OK EVEN THOUGH SHE STILL TALKS ABOUT THE INCIDENT. I WAS ON MY WAY TO THE AIRPORT FOR MY GRANDFATHER'S FUNERAL WHICH I MISSED. MY NOSE WILL ALSO REQUIRE RHINOPLASTY TO BE COMPLETELY FIXED. I HAD A LOOK AT THE PART MYSELF AND HAVE PICTURES IN CAN'T BELIEVE MY EYES, I AM AWARE THAT THERE HAVE BEEN PROBLEMS WITH THE FRONT AXLES OF THESE VEHICLES. THE INCIDENT HAS LEFT ME WITH SEVERE ANXIETY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - SMITHS STATION, AL
CAR BEGAN TO ACT LIKE IT DID NOT WANT TO CRANK. ONCE I GOT TO DESTINATION, RADIO WENT OFF FIRST, THEN EVERYTHING STARTED DIMMING, THEN IT SHUT OFF. TRIED TO JUMP IT OFF, GOT IT DOWN THE ROAD 1/2 A MILE THEN SHUT OFF AGAIN. TOOK BATTERY OUT AND TRIED TO CHARGE IT BUT IT WAS DEAD. BOUGHT ANOTHER FULLY CHARGED BATTERY, DROVE THE CAR HOME. TRIED TO CRANK NEXT MORNING, WOULDN'T CRANK AGAIN. CHARGED IT UP TOOK IT TO 2 DIFFERENT PLACES..IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR. ACCORDING TO A SERVICE BULLETIN #SA061, THERE WAS AN ISSUE WHERE THE BATTERY LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED CAUSING THE ALTERNATORS NOT TO CHARGE. THIS WAS THE SAME ISSUE MINE WAS DOING..THE BATTERY LIGHT WAS SHOWING BUT I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE ALTERNATOR. THIS IS THIRD BATTERY IN 3 YEARS FOR THIS CAR! AFTER LOOKING AROUND EVERYWHERE WITH NO ALTERNATORS IN STOCK AND NO ONE KNOWING HOW TO RE-BUILD THEM, THE KIA DEALERSHIP WANTED TO CHARGE ME $443 FOR AN ALTERNATOR AND ANOTHER $300 TO PUT IT IN! NOT TO MENTION I WOULD HAVE TO PROBABLY TOW IT OVER THERE! THAT IS CRAZY! THIS IS NOT THE ONLY ISSUE WITH THIS CAR! MY SUNROOF, BACK-UP CAMERA, RIGHT FRONT LIGHT, RADIO KNOB HAS FELL OFF, PASSENGER HEAD REST HAS FELL OFF, OIL PAN SEAL ISSUES....LIST GOES ON AND ON! IT IS RIDICULOUS! THIS SERVICE BULLETIN COVERED DATES 07/12/10 - 09/18/10. MY ALTERNATOR WAS BUILT IN 10/04/10. WOW,,,,IT MIRACULOUSLY GOT FIXED!! THERE WAS NOOOO WAY!!! THE SAME ISSUE IS HAPPENING TO MINE!!! BUT...KIA WANTS ME TO PAY FOR IT!!! IT IS INSANE!!! I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE OUT OF THIS VEHICLE FROM DAY 1.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/24/2015 - ST ROSE, LA
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL ISSUES WITH MY KIA SORENTO BEGINNING IN 2013 TWO OF MY DOORS IN THE CAR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE ONLY THE INSIDE. THE DOORS WAS THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE. THE MOST RECENT DOOR THAT I AM EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH IS THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. I CAN NOT OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE ONLY THE INSIDE. I HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH MY POWER WINDOWS. LAST YEAR THE FRONT DRIVER WINDOW BROKE AND NOW THIS YEAR THE REAR DRIVER WINDOW IS BROKEN. I HAVE REACHED OUT TO KIA NUMEROUS OF TIMES B/C BEING LOCKED OUT OF YOUR CAR IS A SAFETY ISSUES. I HAVE HAD REALLY STRANGE THINGS HAPPENING WITH MY KIA THAT'S REALLY UNHEARD OF. I HAVE ALSO ASKED KIA TO LOOK INTO IF MY CAR IS POSSIBLY ONE OF THEIR LEMONS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2015 - SHRUB OAK, NY
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON TWICE WHEN MY GAS WAS LOW AND WHEN I FILLED UP IT WENT OFF. THAT HAPPENED FOR TWO WEEKS. THE THIRD WEEK IT CAME ON AGAIN, BUT MY GAS TANK WAS FULL SO I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE. TURNS OUT MY VCM HAD TO BE REPLACED. THEY ALSO STATED THAT IT WAS ACCELERATING ON IT'S OWN AT SOME POINT. LUCKILY I WAS UNDER 60,000 WHEN I TOOK IT IN, OTHERWISE I WAS TOLD IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN COVERED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2015 - LAKEWOOD, CO
PASSENGER HEADLIGHT WORKS SOMETIMES ONLY. WHEN I WENT TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHT, THE BULB STARTED WORKING AGAIN. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE CONNECTOR FOR THE BULB HAD DISINTEGRATED. THE ENTIRE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. LESS THAN 6 MONTHS LATER THE CONNECTOR AND THE WIRING IN THE NEW PART HAD TOO DISINTEGRATED. LEADING UP TO THE DISINTEGRATION ON THE REPLACEMENT, I WOULD SMELL AN ELECTRICAL BURNING SMELL. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. I WAS TOLD IT WAS GROUNDING OUT, BUT THEY COULD NOT TELL FROM WHERE. MY CONCERNS ARE 1. THE AREA WHERE WIRING IS FAILING MAY CAUSE A FIRE. 2. WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHT/S MAY GO OUT MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ONCOMING DRIVERS TO SEE MY VEHICLE. SOME OF THE AREAS WHERE I DRIVE ARE NOT WELL LIT AND/OR REFLECTORS ARE USED AS GUIDANCE ALONG THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds