Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 469 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (74) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (158) Structure (44) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (26) Visibility (20)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (29) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2016 - WINNECONNE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FIRE BY A CAR ALARM THAT SOUNDED FROM THE GARAGE. THE CONTACT NOTICED FLASHING LIGHTS COMING FROM THE VEHICLE UPON ENTERING THE GARAGE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,243.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2016 - ANTHEM, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER; HOWEVER, THE RADIO, BLUETOOTH, AND EXTERIOR LIGHTING STILL WORKED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE SHIFTED EXCEPT BETWEEN NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AFTER BEING DRIVEN INTO A PARKING SPACE AGAINST A CURB. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE WHERE THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE OUT OF GEAR INTO PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 91,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2016 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE, IT DOES OPEN ON THE INSIDE SO I HAVE TO LEAVE MY WINDOW DOWN ALL THE TIME SO I DON'T HAVE TO CLIMB IN FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE DUE TO BACK ISSUES

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/28/2016 - EAST GREENWICH, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE AHEAD STOPPED SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A HEAD INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT 24,000 MILES AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT AIR BAG SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/27/2016 - AUGUSTA, GA
THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. THIS HAPPENED WHILE THE CAR WAS STATIONARY. I GOT OUT OF THE CAR IN A PARKING LOT AND THE DOOR WAS WORKING FINE. CAME BACK 5 MINUTES LATER AND IT NO LONGER WORKS. SAME ISSUE WITH THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR. CANNOT OPEN IT FROM THE OUTSIDE OR THE INSIDE SINCE THE CHILD SAFETY LOCK IS ENGAGED. IT IS INCREDIBLY UNSAFE TO NOT BE ABLE TO GET INTO THE CAR IN AN EMERGENCY NOT TO MENTION THE INCONVENIENCE OF HAVING TO CLIMB THROUGH FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE DEALERSHIP WANTS $660 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I THINK THAT IS RIDICULOUS AND FROM WHAT I'VE READ IT SOUNDS LIKE MANY OTHER PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/20/2016 - HORSESHOE BEND, AR
THE SUPPORTS HOLDING THE TRUNK LID OPEN NO LONGER HOLD THE LID OPEN. RATHER ALLOW THE TRUNK LID TO FALL CAUSING A DANGEROUS POTENTIAL THREAT OF THE TRUNK LID FALLING ON MY HEAD!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/15/2016 - ANDOVER, MN
DRIVERS DOOR WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. HAD ISSUE FIXED 2.5 YEARS AGO AT 55000 MILES UNDER WARRANTY. ISSUE KEPT REOCCURRING INTERMITTENTLY UNTIL NOW WHERE IT JUST WON'T OPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/12/2016 - STRATTANVILLE, PA
WHEN OUT TO MY KIA AND I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON. ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR. DIDN'T OPEN, SO I HIT THE UNLOCK AGAIN, STILL WOULDN'T OPEN. SO I WALKED AROUND AND OPENED THE DRIVERS SIDE AND REACHED OVER, THE DOOR OPENED. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME FOR THIS DOOR. BUT I'VE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO ME TO THE REAR DRIVE SIDE DOOR AND HAD TO HAVE THE DOOR HANDLE REPLACED. THE KIA WAS SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY NOT RUNNING AND THAT DOOR DOESN'T HAVE NEAR AS MUCH USE AS SOME OF THE OTHERS. ALSO THE BACK SEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WON'T GO DOWN. I AM ASSUMING THE CABLE IS BROKE. AGAIN THIS WAS NOT USED MUCH SINCE I GOT THE KIA ALMOST 4 YEARS AGO. I THINK I USED THIS FEATURE 2 TIMES AND IT WOULDN'T WORK AFTER THAT.

View Details

SEATS

1/12/2016 - STRATTANVILLE, PA
WHEN OUT TO MY KIA AND I HIT THE UNLOCK BUTTON. ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR. DIDN'T OPEN, SO I HIT THE UNLOCK AGAIN, STILL WOULDN'T OPEN. SO I WALKED AROUND AND OPENED THE DRIVERS SIDE AND REACHED OVER, THE DOOR OPENED. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME FOR THIS DOOR. BUT I'VE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO ME TO THE REAR DRIVE SIDE DOOR AND HAD TO HAVE THE DOOR HANDLE REPLACED. THE KIA WAS SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY NOT RUNNING AND THAT DOOR DOESN'T HAVE NEAR AS MUCH USE AS SOME OF THE OTHERS. ALSO THE BACK SEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WON'T GO DOWN. I AM ASSUMING THE CABLE IS BROKE. AGAIN THIS WAS NOT USED MUCH SINCE I GOT THE KIA ALMOST 4 YEARS AGO. I THINK I USED THIS FEATURE 2 TIMES AND IT WOULDN'T WORK AFTER THAT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/11/2016 - COLUMBIA, MD
FRONT PASSENGER DOOR CAN NOT BE OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE. REPAIRED ONCE AND WITHIN A WEEK DISABLED AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds