Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 764 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (80) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (30) Unknown Or Other (95)
Electrical System (105) Exterior Lighting (25) Power Train (185) Structure (159) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (30) Visibility (24)
Engine (62) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (35) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2017 - BUFFALO, NY
I HAVE OWNED THIS VECHICLE SINCE IT WAS NEW. KIA HAS REPLACED AT LEAST 3 REAR VIEW CAMERAS IN MY REAR LIFT GATE. THE LAST ONE WAS ON 2/10/2016. NOW THIS CAMERA IS MALFUNCTIONING, ALL I SEE IS INTERFERENCE. I CAN'T SEE ANYTHING PASSING ACROSS THE REAR OF MY VECHICLE LIKE A CHILD OR SHORT ADULT. KIA CAN'T DEVELOP A FUNCTIONING CAMERA SO THEYSHOULD HAVE TO KEEP REPLACING THEM UNTIL THEY DO. I WOULDN'T HAVE PURCHASED THIS VECHICLE WITHOUT A CAMERA IT'S REAR WINDOW IS VERY HIGH. THIS IS A DAILY ONGOING PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/3/2017 - ORANGE, TX
FRONT BRAKES LOCKED UP WHILE TURNING ONTO THE HIGHWAY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, HAD TO SHUT OFF THE AUTOMATIC SKID CONTROL TO UNLOCK THE BRAKES TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/29/2017 - KATY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JERKED FORWARD WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (ARCHER KIA, 11614 SOUTHWEST FWY, HOUSTON, TX, 77031), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND OPENED A CASE FOR THE CONTACT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 28,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/28/2017 - RUTLAND, VT
SWAY BAR FAILURE THE VEHICLE HAS A "KNOCKING NOISE" WHEN TRAVELING OVER SLIGHT BUMPS AND CORNING. UPON INSPECTION, THE SWAY BAR (STABILIZER LINK BAR) IS LOOSE AND IN NEED OF REPLACEMENT. THIS IS A ROUTINE ISSUE WITH THE KIA VEHICLES HOWEVER EVEN AFTER REPLACEMENT THE ISSUE RETURNS. THE SWAY BAR (STABILIZER LINK BAR) IS PART OF THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM WHICH HELPS REDUCE BODY ROLL OF A VEHICLE DURING FAST CORNING AND OVER ROAD IRREGULARITIES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2017 - HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V626000 (POWER TRAIN). WHILE ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT THE GEARS, THE VEHICLE LUNGED. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE DRIVING, THE ENGINE STALLED AND LOST POWER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT ALL OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE TAKEN TO A KIA DEALER. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/18/2017 - TOMBALL, TX
AIRBAG LIGHT WENT ON FOR NO REASON. COIL SPRING IS UNDER RECALL, BUT MINE WAS THE PASSENGER SEAT SENSOR. $2000 TO REPLACE THE SEAT. SHOULD BE COVERED OR BYPASS OPTION OFFERED. I DON'T NEED THE SENSOR.

View Details

STEERING

9/9/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
MY CAR STARTED SCREECHING AND STEERING WHEEL MADE A KNOCKING SOUND AFTER LEAVING CHURCH ON 08/27/2017. I THOUGHT IT COULD NOT BE MY POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LOW. THE NEXT DAY MY DAY CHECKED THE LEVEL. IT WAS BELOW THE HALF MARK ON THE RESERVOIR. MY DAD FILLED IT NOSIE STOPPED AND THE KNOCKING TWO DAYS LATER IT STARTED AGAIN. I REFILLED THE RESERVOIR NOSIE STOPPED EXCEPT THIS TIME GRINDING CONTINUED. THE VERY NEXT DAY LOW AGAIN GRINDING KNOCKING AND HARD TO STEER. I COULD NOT TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. I ASKED ABOUT A RECALL. AS USUAL I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER THERE ISN'T ONE. I FILLED THE RESERVOIR AND THE FLUID POURS OUT FROM THE RACK AND PINION. YET THERE IS NO RECALL. THIS IS DANGEROUS. I'M GOING TO CALL THE KIA HEAD QUARTERS TO CHECK ON A RECALL SC147

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/5/2017 - STREAMWOOD, IL
I AM UNABLE TO OPEN MY DRIVERS SIDE REAR DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE. THIS SEEMS TO BE QUITE A PREVELENT PROBLEM ON SEVERAL KIA MODELS. I HAVE SEEN THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SOME WITH MULTIPLE DOORS ON THE SAME VEHICLE. THIS IS A SFETY ISSUE AS YOU CAN'T QUICKLY GET INTO THE VEHICLE TO IF YOU HAD SMALL CHILDREN IN THE BACK AND THER WAS AN EMERGENCY OR IF FIRST RESPONDERS NEEDED ACCESS TO THE BACK OR ANY DOOR THAT HAD THIS PROBLEM FOR THAT MATTER. THE REASON I AM REPORTING THIS IS THAT I HAVE SEEN TOO MANY PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE ON THERE KIA SORENTOS AND OTHER MODELS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/2/2017 - TINNIE, NM
FOR SEVERAL MONTHS NOW, THE DASHBOARD WARNING LIGHTS HAVE COME ON, USUALLY FOUR AT A TIME AS I'M DRIVING. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN MOST OFTEN WHEN IT'S RAINING. I HAD THE KIA DEALER IN LAS CRUCES, NM TRY TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM WHEN I HAD THE CAR IN FOR A COUPLE RECALLS ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO. THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO I HAD A SHOP WITH A AAA MASTER MECHANIC TRY TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM AND THEY ALSO COULD NOT DETERMINE THE REASON THE WARNING LIGHTS WERE COMING ON. THEY COULD NOT FIND A SHORT IN THE WIRING THAT I THOUGHT MIGHT BE THE CAUSE. THE LIGHTS EVENTUALLY GO OFF, USUALLY AFTER THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN FOR SEVERAL HOURS OR OVERNIGHT. I'M CONCERNED THAT, ALTHOUGH I'VE NOT EXPERIENCED SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS WHEN THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS COME ON, COULD A POSSIBLE REAL SAFETY ISSUE OCCUR IF ONE OF THE SYSTEMS INDICATED BY THE LIGHTS ACTUALLY MALFUNCTION? FOR A WHILE WHEN THE LIGHTS CAME ON, THE CAR'S STEERING SEEMED TO BE EFFECTED--ON WINDY CURVY ROADS THE CAR WOULD DEFINITELY OVER STEER ON CURVES, AS THOUGH SOMEONE ELSE WERE IN CONTROL. I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY INFORMATION YOU MIGHT HAVE ON SIMILAR PROBLEMS AND HOW THEY WERE CORRECTED. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/2/2017 - TINNIE, NM
FOR SEVERAL MONTHS NOW, THE DASHBOARD WARNING LIGHTS HAVE COME ON, USUALLY FOUR AT A TIME AS I'M DRIVING. IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN MOST OFTEN WHEN IT'S RAINING. I HAD THE KIA DEALER IN LAS CRUCES, NM TRY TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM WHEN I HAD THE CAR IN FOR A COUPLE RECALLS ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO. THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO I HAD A SHOP WITH A AAA MASTER MECHANIC TRY TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM AND THEY ALSO COULD NOT DETERMINE THE REASON THE WARNING LIGHTS WERE COMING ON. THEY COULD NOT FIND A SHORT IN THE WIRING THAT I THOUGHT MIGHT BE THE CAUSE. THE LIGHTS EVENTUALLY GO OFF, USUALLY AFTER THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN FOR SEVERAL HOURS OR OVERNIGHT. I'M CONCERNED THAT, ALTHOUGH I'VE NOT EXPERIENCED SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS WHEN THE DASH WARNING LIGHTS COME ON, COULD A POSSIBLE REAL SAFETY ISSUE OCCUR IF ONE OF THE SYSTEMS INDICATED BY THE LIGHTS ACTUALLY MALFUNCTION? FOR A WHILE WHEN THE LIGHTS CAME ON, THE CAR'S STEERING SEEMED TO BE EFFECTED--ON WINDY CURVY ROADS THE CAR WOULD DEFINITELY OVER STEER ON CURVES, AS THOUGH SOMEONE ELSE WERE IN CONTROL. I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY INFORMATION YOU MIGHT HAVE ON SIMILAR PROBLEMS AND HOW THEY WERE CORRECTED. THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds