Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 653 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (77)
Electrical System (88) Exterior Lighting (22) Power Train (168) Structure (129) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (28) Visibility (24)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (31) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2016 - VALLEY CENTER, KS
VEHICLE STARTED GRINDING WITH NO PRIOR ISSUES AT A STOP SIGN. WOULD NOT MOVE AT ALL. TOWED TO MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THAT THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT HAD BROKEN. FOUND PREVIOUS RECALLS FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM ON OTHER 2011 KIA SORENTO 2 WHEEL DRIVE 4 CYLINDER MODELS, THE EXACT SAME MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR AS OUR OWN. CALLED KIA AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS INDEED A RECALL, HOWEVER IT WAS NOT IN EFFECT FOR MY VIN. THE SAME MODEL, YEAR, EVERYTHING. JUST NOT MY VIN. VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR THAT WILL LIKELY REQUIRE THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION. KIA IS AWARE OF A PROBLEM WITH THESE INTERMEDIATE SHAFTS AND IS NOT PROPERLY REPAIRING THOUSANDS OF VEHICLES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/23/2016 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE CV AXLE LEAKED FLUID. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/23/2016 - YORK, SC
WE PURCHASED THIS CAR BRAND NEW IN 2011. IT HAS BEEN SERVICED AND NEVER IN AN ACCIDENT. AT 104,000 MILES, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND NOW IS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR, I'M AFRAID THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WILL FAIL RESULTING IN PREVENTABLE INJURIES/DEATH. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE, THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FILED CONCERNING THE AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

11/23/2016 - DE QUEEN, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR LOCK WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

11/23/2016 - DE QUEEN, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR LOCK WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/22/2016 - TEMPLE, TX
AFTER OUR PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE, THE CANCEL BUTTON WOULD GET STUCK AT THE TOP OF THE BUTTON. THEREFORE NOT BEING ABLE TO TURN OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEM COMPLETELY. WITHOUT THE BRAKE SWITCH IT COULD CAUSE THE CRUISE CONTROL TO NOT DISENGAGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2016 - TEMPLE, TX
AFTER OUR PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE, THE CANCEL BUTTON WOULD GET STUCK AT THE TOP OF THE BUTTON. THEREFORE NOT BEING ABLE TO TURN OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEM COMPLETELY. WITHOUT THE BRAKE SWITCH IT COULD CAUSE THE CRUISE CONTROL TO NOT DISENGAGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/18/2016 - WESTERLY, RI
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AT 90,000 AND AND ITS NEVER BEEN HIT I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY WANT 2000.00 TO FIX IT ,I'M ON SSI .THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE PLEASE HELP?

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/16/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE AIRBAG. I HAVE NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW, AND I AM THE ONLY DRIVER. IT JUST CAME ON THE OTHER DAY AND HAS NOT TURNED OFF. I AM AFRAID THAT THE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/14/2016 - RICE, TX
I HAVE HAD MY 2011 KIA SORENTO FOR 2 YEARS NOW AND AT ABOUT 115K MILES AFTER STARTING THE CAR THE AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF. AFTER RESEARCHING, IT APPEARS THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. I SUGGEST THAT KIA LOOKS INTO THIS AND ISSUES A RECALL SINCE THIS IS A OBVIOUS PROBLEM AND I LIKE OTHERS CARRY CHILDREN AS PASSENGERS AND DO NOT FEEL SAFE ANYMORE AND AM LOOKING INTO OTHER AUTO MANUFACTURERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds