Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 334 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (52) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (138) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (24) Visibility (17)
Engine (28) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (23) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/28/2014 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE DASH DOES NOT GO OFF I AM NOT SURE IF THAT IS A SAFETY THINK THIS THE AIRBAGS ARE NOT OR WILL DEPLOY WHILE WE ARE DRIVING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2014 - CLEVELAND, TX
THE LEFT SIDE PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE MECHANISM QUIT WORKING. CANNOT OPEN DOOR FROM OUTSIDE. HAVE TO REACH IN AND OPEN FROM INSIDE. THIS COULD BE A HAZARD DUE TO THAT I CANNOT GET TO MY CHILDREN QUICKLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/6/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE STARTED BY LOSING POWER ON TAKE-OFF. LATER VIOLENT JERKING/SHIFTING OVER 30 MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO BOTH DEALER AND PERSONAL MECHANIC. CRANK AND CAM SENSORS WERE REPLACED. ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED. THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES SHUTS OFF UPON TAKE-OFF. SOMETIMES IT IMMEDIATELY STARTS AGAIN, OTHER TIMES I HAVE TO PUT INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTART. THIS ISSUE IS ALSO NOT RESOLVED. POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE WAS REMOVED TO RESET THE COMPUTER. THIS TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEMS FOR A DAY. WHEN PLACED INTO "SPORTS MODE", THE VEHICLE SHIFTS WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT (SECOND GEAR AND ABOVE). NOTE: UNSCRUPULOUS DEALER MECHANIC VOIDED ENGINE WARRANTY FOR "SLUDGE" IN ENGINE AND INCORRECTLY REMOVED A SENSOR, RESULTING IN BREAKAGE OF SAID SENSOR. PERSONAL MECHANIC SAW NORMAL TRACES OF "SLUDGE" IN ENGINE. VEHICLE IS ACTING SIMILAR TO PREVIOUS RECALLS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE/MODEL, BUT DOES NOT FALL INTO VIN/DATE RANGES FOR RECALL REPAIR..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/6/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE STARTED BY LOSING POWER ON TAKE-OFF. LATER VIOLENT JERKING/SHIFTING OVER 30 MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO BOTH DEALER AND PERSONAL MECHANIC. CRANK AND CAM SENSORS WERE REPLACED. ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED. THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES SHUTS OFF UPON TAKE-OFF. SOMETIMES IT IMMEDIATELY STARTS AGAIN, OTHER TIMES I HAVE TO PUT INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTART. THIS ISSUE IS ALSO NOT RESOLVED. POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE WAS REMOVED TO RESET THE COMPUTER. THIS TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEMS FOR A DAY. WHEN PLACED INTO "SPORTS MODE", THE VEHICLE SHIFTS WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT (SECOND GEAR AND ABOVE). NOTE: UNSCRUPULOUS DEALER MECHANIC VOIDED ENGINE WARRANTY FOR "SLUDGE" IN ENGINE AND INCORRECTLY REMOVED A SENSOR, RESULTING IN BREAKAGE OF SAID SENSOR. PERSONAL MECHANIC SAW NORMAL TRACES OF "SLUDGE" IN ENGINE. VEHICLE IS ACTING SIMILAR TO PREVIOUS RECALLS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE/MODEL, BUT DOES NOT FALL INTO VIN/DATE RANGES FOR RECALL REPAIR..

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE STARTED BY LOSING POWER ON TAKE-OFF. LATER VIOLENT JERKING/SHIFTING OVER 30 MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO BOTH DEALER AND PERSONAL MECHANIC. CRANK AND CAM SENSORS WERE REPLACED. ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED. THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES SHUTS OFF UPON TAKE-OFF. SOMETIMES IT IMMEDIATELY STARTS AGAIN, OTHER TIMES I HAVE TO PUT INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTART. THIS ISSUE IS ALSO NOT RESOLVED. POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE WAS REMOVED TO RESET THE COMPUTER. THIS TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEMS FOR A DAY. WHEN PLACED INTO "SPORTS MODE", THE VEHICLE SHIFTS WITHOUT DRIVER INPUT (SECOND GEAR AND ABOVE). NOTE: UNSCRUPULOUS DEALER MECHANIC VOIDED ENGINE WARRANTY FOR "SLUDGE" IN ENGINE AND INCORRECTLY REMOVED A SENSOR, RESULTING IN BREAKAGE OF SAID SENSOR. PERSONAL MECHANIC SAW NORMAL TRACES OF "SLUDGE" IN ENGINE. VEHICLE IS ACTING SIMILAR TO PREVIOUS RECALLS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE/MODEL, BUT DOES NOT FALL INTO VIN/DATE RANGES FOR RECALL REPAIR..

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - NORTHERN CAMBRIA, PA
4/26/14 MY SORENTO CEL LIGHT WAS FLASHING & VEHICLE RUNNING ROUGH. AFTER SHUTTING OFF AND RESTARTING, NO ISSUES, CONTACTED DEALERSHIP TOOK IN FOR SERVICE 5/9/14, THEY SAID THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE PROBLEM AS IT WAS NOT DOING IT AT THAT TIME. ON 7/25/14 CEL LIGHT FLASHING & RUNNING ROUGH AGAIN, CALLED DEALERSHIP AND TOOK IN 8/9/14, AGAIN THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE AND NO CODES SHOWING UP OR IN HISTORY STATED THEY HAVE A CALL INTO KIA MOTORS AND OPENED A TECH LINE CASE HAVE NEVER HEARD ANYTHING BACK FROM THEM. 9/18/14 CEL LIGHT FLASHING AND RUNNING ROUGH, I CONTACTED DEALERSHIP THAT I ALWAYS HAVE USED SINCE PURCHASE OF VEHICLE BUT ANOTHER DEALERSHIP WAS CLOSE TO MY WORKPLACE. I REFUSED TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF BECAUSE WHEN YOU DO, IT RESETS EVERYTHING AND IT CANNOT BE DIAGNOSED. I TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP, LEFT IT RUNNING TILL THEY COULD PUT THE OBD SCANNER ON IT TO CODE IT. I RECEIVED CALL FROM MANAGER, HE STATED THAT THEY WERE ABLE TO GET CODES FROM IT AND THAT 2 COILS WERE MISFIRING. THEY SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF, IT WOULD NOT START. THEY LEFT IT SIT AN HOUR AND IT STARTED UP AND THEY TRIED TO CODE IT AGAIN AND NOTHING SHOWED IN THE CODES AT ALL, NOT EVEN CODE HISTORY. THEY REPLACED TWO COILS, THEN ON 9/25/14 THE CEL LIGHT STARTED FLASHING AGAIN AND RUNNING ROUGH. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP THAT JUST CHANGED THE COILS, HE DIDN'T HAVE MUCH TO SAY. ASKED ME WHERE I PURCHASE MY GAS FROM AND THAT HE COULDN'T DO ANYTHING TODAY BECAUSE THEY CLOSE AT 4:30 AND IT WAS AFTER 4:00 THEN. WHEN I SHUT THE CAR OFF, IT WOULD NOT START. LEFT FOR WORK THIS MORNING AND YOU WOULD NEVER KNOW ANYTHING WAS WRONG, RAN FINE. THERE IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING GOING ON THAT SOMEBODY NEEDS TO FIGURE OUT BECAUSE I AM NOT GOING TO BE HANDED A BIG BILL FOR REPAIR ONCE MY WARRANTY EXPIRES, AS THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE FOR 5 MONTHS NOW.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2014 - EASLEY, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/17/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, AR
I BUCKLED IN MY SEAT BELT AS USUAL ONLY TO FIND WHEN SHIFTING TO DRIVE THE SEAT BELT INDICATOR LIGHT CONTINUED TO FLASH. I CHECKED THE CHILDREN'S SEAT BELT TO MAKE SURE THEY WERE BUCKLED IN AND THEY WERE. I DISCONNECTED MY SEAT BELT AND TRIED TO RECONNECT AND IT WOULD NOT RECONNECT. I VISITED THE DEALERSHIP AS THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED ROUGHLY 3 MONTHS AGO AND WAS INFORMED BY THE GENERAL SALES MANAGER THIS WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM AND A LOANER COULD NOT BE PROVIDED UNTIL THE PART COMES IN. I ASKED IF I WOULD BE SAFE AND HE REITERATED AGAIN THIS WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. I ASKED FOR THE GENERAL MANAGER AND WAS DENIED THE OPPORTUNITY TO SPEAK WITH HIM. I BUCKLED INTO THE PASSENGER BUCKLE AND WAS LATER INFORMED THIS WAS UNSAFE, IF I WERE TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT, I WOULD NOT BE PROTECTED. I HAVE RECEIVED NO ASSISTANCE. THIS HAS YET TO BE FIXED

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2014 - FRISCO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE DRIVER SIDE BRAKES LOCKED, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SWERVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/3/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED INDICATING THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO REMEDY WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds