Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 536 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (51)
Electrical System (76) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (162) Structure (81) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (27) Visibility (23)
Engine (45) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/27/2016 - BROOKLYN, NY
MY DRIVER SIDE 2011 KIA SORENTO DOOR HANDLES STOPPED WORKING ON 05/27/2016. THIS IS REALLY FRUSTRATING, AS I COULD OPEN THE DOOR FROM INSIDE BUT NOT FROM OUTSIDE. I THINK IT'S A SAFETY ISSUE IN CASE OF AN A ACCIDENT/FIRE. THIS IS A POTENTIAL HAZARD FOR MY FAMILY. KIA HAS TO REALLY STEP FORWARD AND REPLACE THIS FAULTY MECHANISM. MY CAR IS JUST OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE ESTIMATE TO FIX IT IS $400.00. I URGE THE KIA COMPANY TO REALLY FIX THIS ASAP BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT AND/OR RESULT INTO FATALITY. THERE TOO MANY PEOPLE HAVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2016 - BOALSBURG, PA
THE DRIVERS DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM OUTSIDE. THIS ACCRUED WHEN I RETURN TO MY CAR IN HALF AN HOUR. THIS IS POSING A HAZARD DUE TO INABILITY OF FIRST RESPONDENTS TO OPEN DOOR, IF THIS HAPPENS AGAIN. I HAD MY KIA DEALER REPAIR IT. IT DID NOT FALL UNDER ANY WARRANTY, THE FAILURE MILLAGE 99,000. HOWEVER, DUE TO MANY COMPLAINS OF THIS EXACT PROBLEM FROM OTHER OWNERS, I THINK KIA SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPLACING LATCHES AND MAKING A RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/25/2016 - CLERMONT, FL
TAKATA RECALL KIA SORENTO 2011 MY DRIVER SIDE AND BACK PASSENGER DOORS DON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE WHEN NOT IN MOTION OR IN MOTION. MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON AS WELL. I CALLED KIA AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME $500.00 DOLLARS FOR A DIAGNOSTIC BECAUSE I AM OVER MY WARRANTY. I TRIED CONTACTING THE KIA'S HEADQUARTER AND ALL I GET IS A RECORDING. THIS ILLEGAL AND ITS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS IF I GET INTO A CAR ACCIDENT. I HAVE CHILDREN AS WELL. WHAT CAN I DO TO GET KIA TO FIX THIS MATTER. I WHEN ON THE WEBSITE AND READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. WHY IS THIS MATTER NOT A RECALL. KIA IS PUTTING PEOPLES LIFE IN DANGER. I NEED MY DOORS FIXED. I HAVE TO CLIMB THROUGH THE RIGHT PASSENGER CAR TURN ON THE CAR BRING THE WINDOW DOWN AND THEN WALK AROUND AND OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. KIA SHOULD NOT BE CHARGING OWNERS OF THERE VEHICLE FOR THIS SINCE ITS A SAFETY MATTER. PLEASE WHAT CAN I DO TO GET THIS MATTER FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/25/2016 - CLERMONT, FL
TAKATA RECALL KIA SORENTO 2011 MY DRIVER SIDE AND BACK PASSENGER DOORS DON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE WHEN NOT IN MOTION OR IN MOTION. MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON AS WELL. I CALLED KIA AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME $500.00 DOLLARS FOR A DIAGNOSTIC BECAUSE I AM OVER MY WARRANTY. I TRIED CONTACTING THE KIA'S HEADQUARTER AND ALL I GET IS A RECORDING. THIS ILLEGAL AND ITS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS IF I GET INTO A CAR ACCIDENT. I HAVE CHILDREN AS WELL. WHAT CAN I DO TO GET KIA TO FIX THIS MATTER. I WHEN ON THE WEBSITE AND READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. WHY IS THIS MATTER NOT A RECALL. KIA IS PUTTING PEOPLES LIFE IN DANGER. I NEED MY DOORS FIXED. I HAVE TO CLIMB THROUGH THE RIGHT PASSENGER CAR TURN ON THE CAR BRING THE WINDOW DOWN AND THEN WALK AROUND AND OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. KIA SHOULD NOT BE CHARGING OWNERS OF THERE VEHICLE FOR THIS SINCE ITS A SAFETY MATTER. PLEASE WHAT CAN I DO TO GET THIS MATTER FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE?

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/24/2016 - QUINTON, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE DOORS FAILED TO OPEN FROM OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LATCHES FOR BOTH DOORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,566.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/24/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
MY DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WON'T OPEN FROM THE OUTSIDE. I CAN HEAR IT WHEN IT LOCK AND UNLOCK BUT IT WILL NOT OPEN. I TRIED TO USE THE KEY AND IT STILL WOULD NOT OPEN. I HAVE TO GO AROUND TO THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR AND OPEN IT FROM THE INSIDE. THIS REALLY WORRIES ME. THE "WHAT IF" IS CONCERNING. TO ME, THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT AND THE EMERGENCY PERSONS CAN NOT GET MY DOOR OPEN TO GO ME OUT. OR TO HAVE MY GRANDSON STUCK IN THE CAR AND ME NOT BE ABLE TO GET HIM OUT. I CALLED MY KIA REPAIR SHOP TODAY AND WAS TOLD TO BRING IT IN AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I'M CURIOUS TO SEE WHAT THE ISSUE IS AND WHAT THEY PLAN TO DO ABOUT IT. I ONLY HAVE ABOUT 61K MILES ON THIS VEHICLE AND NO EXTENDED WARRANTY. HENCE, ANOTHER CONCERN. KIA DEALERS SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE AND REPAIR WHAT IS CAUSING OUR DOORS TO NOT OPEN. WE CAN NOT WAIT UNTIL SOMEONE DIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2016 - FORT RUCKER, AL
THE DRIVERS DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. NOW THE DRIVERS SIDE, PASSENGER DOOR WON'T OPEN FROM OUTSIDE AND INSIDE. POSING A HAZARD, BECAUSE FIRST RESPONDERS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR DUE TO A REOCCURING DEFECT. MANY OTHER CONSUMERS REPORT THIS IN BLOGS AND FORUMS SO THIS IS KIA'S PROBLEM TO FIX AND MAKE A RECALL.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/19/2016 - RIALTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT AND REAR DRIVER SIDE DOORS LOCKED AND FAILED TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/19/2016 - RIALTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT AND REAR DRIVER SIDE DOORS LOCKED AND FAILED TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/18/2016 - EASLEY, SC
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THE DOORS. IT STARTED WITH MY FRONT DRIVERS DOOR AND NOW IT IS THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR. YOU CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE AND YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE DOOR APART TO FIX IT. HOWEVER, I CAN'T OPEN MY BACK DOOR AT ALL BECAUSE MY CHILD SAFETY LOCK IS ON, SO I CANNOT OPEN IT FROM THE INSIDE LIKE I DO WITH MY DRIVERS DOOR. I AM UNABLE TO GET MY KIDS IN OR OUT OF THE CAR, WITHOUT HAVING TO PUT THEM ALL IN THROUGH ONE DOOR AND OVER CAR SEATS. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM. SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE. HERE IS THE LINK TO THE COMPLAINTS HTTP://WWW.CARGURUS.COM/CARS/DISCUSSION-T37046_DS615605. IF THERE WAS EVER AND EMERGENCY I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO GET MY CHILDREN OUT IN A TIMELY MANNER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds