Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 345 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (139) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (24) Visibility (17)
Engine (30) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (25) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/17/2014 - VIVIAN , LA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE STOPPED ABRUPTLY CAUSING THE CONTACT LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A DITCH. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD AND FACE LACERATION DUE TO AN OBJECT EJECTED FROM THE AIR BAG WHEN IT DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000. SS

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - CHARDON, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON LIGHT, NEW SNOW MY CAR HAD SUDDENLY SKIDDED SLIGHTLY, NO OVER-CORRECTING, I SIMPLY GOT THE CAR BACK IN CONTROL WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SHOT FORWARD, STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND STARTED RACING DOWN THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET INTO THE EMBANKMENT! I HAD PULLED THE CAR TO THE LEFT AND HAD THE BRAKES PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN (AND BOTH FEET INCLUDING ALL MY WEIGHT ON THEM) UNTIL MY CAR CRASHED COMPLETELY INTO A TREE! THE TIRES WERE STILL SPINNING WHEN THE CAR STOPPED AND MY FEET WERE ON THE BRAKES! IT WAS ALSO HARD TO GET THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO PARK --- WHEN I WAS ABLE TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK I QUICKLY TOOK THE KEYS OUT. THE 2011 KIA SORENTO AND SUDDEN ACCELERATION SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM AND SHOULD SERIOUSLY BE LOOKED INTO. YES, I WAS INJURED AND THANKFULLY A TREE STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND NO ONE ELSE WAS HURT!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/12/2014 - CHARDON, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON LIGHT, NEW SNOW MY CAR HAD SUDDENLY SKIDDED SLIGHTLY, NO OVER-CORRECTING, I SIMPLY GOT THE CAR BACK IN CONTROL WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SHOT FORWARD, STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND STARTED RACING DOWN THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET INTO THE EMBANKMENT! I HAD PULLED THE CAR TO THE LEFT AND HAD THE BRAKES PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN (AND BOTH FEET INCLUDING ALL MY WEIGHT ON THEM) UNTIL MY CAR CRASHED COMPLETELY INTO A TREE! THE TIRES WERE STILL SPINNING WHEN THE CAR STOPPED AND MY FEET WERE ON THE BRAKES! IT WAS ALSO HARD TO GET THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO PARK --- WHEN I WAS ABLE TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK I QUICKLY TOOK THE KEYS OUT. THE 2011 KIA SORENTO AND SUDDEN ACCELERATION SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM AND SHOULD SERIOUSLY BE LOOKED INTO. YES, I WAS INJURED AND THANKFULLY A TREE STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND NO ONE ELSE WAS HURT!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/12/2014 - CHARDON, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON LIGHT, NEW SNOW MY CAR HAD SUDDENLY SKIDDED SLIGHTLY, NO OVER-CORRECTING, I SIMPLY GOT THE CAR BACK IN CONTROL WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SHOT FORWARD, STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND STARTED RACING DOWN THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET INTO THE EMBANKMENT! I HAD PULLED THE CAR TO THE LEFT AND HAD THE BRAKES PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN (AND BOTH FEET INCLUDING ALL MY WEIGHT ON THEM) UNTIL MY CAR CRASHED COMPLETELY INTO A TREE! THE TIRES WERE STILL SPINNING WHEN THE CAR STOPPED AND MY FEET WERE ON THE BRAKES! IT WAS ALSO HARD TO GET THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO PARK --- WHEN I WAS ABLE TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK I QUICKLY TOOK THE KEYS OUT. THE 2011 KIA SORENTO AND SUDDEN ACCELERATION SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM AND SHOULD SERIOUSLY BE LOOKED INTO. YES, I WAS INJURED AND THANKFULLY A TREE STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND NO ONE ELSE WAS HURT!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/4/2014 - BOISE, ID
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN MY 2011 KIA SORENTO LAST NIGHT, THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON, ALONG WITH THREE OTHER LIGHTS (ALL BRAKE RELATED). LIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. THEY TOLD ME IT IS A REAR SPEED SENSORING ISSUE AND MY ANTI LOCK BRAKES ARE NOT WORKING. FIXING IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME MY KIA HAS ELECTRONIC ISSUES. BUT THESE ARE DANGEREOUS! IF YOUR BRAKES DON'T WORK AND YOU ARE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, DANGER ABOUT TO HAPPEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2014 - BOISE, ID
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN MY 2011 KIA SORENTO LAST NIGHT, THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON, ALONG WITH THREE OTHER LIGHTS (ALL BRAKE RELATED). LIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. THEY TOLD ME IT IS A REAR SPEED SENSORING ISSUE AND MY ANTI LOCK BRAKES ARE NOT WORKING. FIXING IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME MY KIA HAS ELECTRONIC ISSUES. BUT THESE ARE DANGEREOUS! IF YOUR BRAKES DON'T WORK AND YOU ARE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, DANGER ABOUT TO HAPPEN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/1/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
NOT ABLE TO OPEN BACK DOORS ONE WEEK APART FROM OUTSIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/1/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
NOT ABLE TO OPEN BACK DOORS ONE WEEK APART FROM OUTSIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
OUR KIA WENT UP IN FLAMES LAST SUNDAY. IT HAD BEEN IN THE SHOP ON THURSDAY BEFORE. HERE IS THE ARTICLE THAT GOT ME THINKING IT WAS UNDER A RECALL. HTTP://MONEY.CNN.COM/2010/09/03/AUTOS/HYUNDAI_KIA_RECALL/INDEX.HTM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/16/2014 - MAPLEWOOD, NJ
THIS IS THE MOST RECENT AND SERIOUS ELECTRIC ISSUE; I DO NOT KNOW THE EXACT DATES OF EARLIER ISSUES. I BELIEVE ALL THESE ELECTRIC ISSUES ARE RELATED. ISSUES BEGAN IN 2010 AFTER THE PURCHASE OF THE CAR. WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND THEY REPAIRED LOSE CLUSTER ARRAY. OTHER ELECTRIC ISSUES FROM 2011-2013: WHEN TURNING LEFT THE DOWNHILL BRAKE CONTROL INDICATOR WOULD LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND PREVENT THE CAR BEING PUT INTO PARK, THE HEADLIGHTS FLICKER WHEN CAR IS AT A STOP, DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT FREQUENTLY BURNS OUT. DECEMBER 2013-JANUARY 2014: ALL DASH INDICATOR LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED (NO WARNING LIGHTS/GAUGES, INCLUDING FUEL, SPEED, TURN SIGNALS, LOW FUEL INDICATOR, ETC.). DEALER FOUND THE FACTORY CLUSTER ARRAY TO BE FAULTY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE CLUSTER WITH A NEW ONE. I AM REPORTING THE FOLLOWING: I WAS TRAVELING 65MPH AND TURNED THE CRUISE CONTROL OFF, THE ABS WARNING, DOWNHILL BRAKE CONTROL, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL INDICATOR AND 4WD AUTO LOCK LIGHTS ALL ILLUMINATED. THE CAR WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. TODAY, ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME, STAYED ON, THEN WENT OFF. UPON DRIVING, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR DOWNSHIFTED AS I WAS DRIVING. ALL OTHER OF INDICATOR LIGHTS NOTED CAME BACK ON. I AM TAKING MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER TOMORROW. MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS ARE REPORTING ALMOST IDENTICAL ISSUES. THIS MOST RECENT INCIDENT OCCURRED WHEN I WAS TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED AND FOLLOWS A SERIOUS OF ELECTRICAL ISSUES I HAVE HAD SINCE I OWNED MY CAR, NEW FROM THE DEALER. SOMETHING IS WRONG AT THE MANUFACTURING LEVEL THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds