Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 350 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (141) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (24) Visibility (18)
Engine (32) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (25) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/20/2015 - LIVERPOOL, NY
A VEHICLE ABRUPTLY STOPPED TO TURN LEFT AND I HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID REAR-ENDING IT RESULTING IN HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A UTILITY POLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2015 - LIVERPOOL, NY
A VEHICLE ABRUPTLY STOPPED TO TURN LEFT AND I HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID REAR-ENDING IT RESULTING IN HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A UTILITY POLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - LIVERPOOL, NY
A VEHICLE ABRUPTLY STOPPED TO TURN LEFT AND I HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID REAR-ENDING IT RESULTING IN HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A UTILITY POLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2015 - ALBANY, OR
MY SON WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE I-5 NEAR SALEM, OR WHEN HIS CAR SUDDENLY STOPPED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CAR HAD A 50.000 MILE AND $1000.00 SERVICE 3 MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. I DID ON LINE RESEARCH AND SAW SEVERAL INSTANCES OF KIA SORENTOS STOPPING SUDDENLY ON THE HIGHWAY. KIA OFFERED $400.00 TO COMPENSATE OUR INCONVENIENCE BUT I THINK THE US CONSUMER SAFETY IS WORTH MUCH MORE. I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR INVESTIGATION OF THIS INCIDENCE. THANK YOU, DEIDRE GREENE THE KIA REPRESENTATIVE IS MR. VU DAND (949) 468 4951

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

1/7/2015 - AMARILLO , TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, THE PANORAMIC SUN ROOF SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,620. DJR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/1/2015 - KANKAKEE, IL
I HAVE EXPERIENCED SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE LEFT DRIVERÆS DOOR HAD LOCK MALFUNCTIONS AND NOW THE RIGHT DOOR IS DOING THE SAME THING NOT ALLOWING PASSENGERS TO OPEN THE DOOR. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN SEVERAL TIMES WITH CONCERNS OF A KNOCKING SOUND ON THE RIGHT FRONT. I THINK THE RIGHT SHOCK ABSORBER ON THE VEHICLE IS GONE, BUT THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN INDICATES THAT THEY CANÆT HEAR ANYTHING WHEN DRIVING IT. AN ALIGNMENT WAS COMPLETED LAST MONTH BUT THE VEHICLE HAS A ROUGH RIDE AND I AM STILL HEARING THE KNOCKING SOUND. I NOTICED YESTERDAY THAT THERE IS A HUMMING SOUND WHEN THE CAR WOULD ACCELERATE AND THE ACCELERATION IS SLOW. NEEDLESS TO SAY THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED AND WHEN I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT PURCHASING AN EXTENDED WARRANTY I WAS GIVEN THE RUN AROUND.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/28/2014 - WASHINGTONVILLE, NY
MY VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING AT ABOUT 50 MILES AND HOUR AND A CAR TURNED IN FRONT OF ME AND I T- BONED HIM. MY CAR WENT UP ONTO THE 2 FRONT WHEELS AND THEN SKIDDED INTO A TELEPHONE POLE AT ABOUT 30 MILES AN HOUR. MY CAR IS TOTALED. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED DURING EITHER IMPACT AND I THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE. I HAVE PICTURES TO SHOW THE CONDITION OF THE CAR...UPDATED 01/21/15 */BF UPDATED 01/26/15

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2014 - VIVIAN , LA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE STOPPED ABRUPTLY CAUSING THE CONTACT LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASH INTO A DITCH. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD AND FACE LACERATIONS DUE TO AN OBJECT EJECTED FROM THE AIR BAG WHEN IT DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - CHARDON, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON LIGHT, NEW SNOW MY CAR HAD SUDDENLY SKIDDED SLIGHTLY, NO OVER-CORRECTING, I SIMPLY GOT THE CAR BACK IN CONTROL WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SHOT FORWARD, STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND STARTED RACING DOWN THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET INTO THE EMBANKMENT! I HAD PULLED THE CAR TO THE LEFT AND HAD THE BRAKES PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN (AND BOTH FEET INCLUDING ALL MY WEIGHT ON THEM) UNTIL MY CAR CRASHED COMPLETELY INTO A TREE! THE TIRES WERE STILL SPINNING WHEN THE CAR STOPPED AND MY FEET WERE ON THE BRAKES! IT WAS ALSO HARD TO GET THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO PARK --- WHEN I WAS ABLE TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK I QUICKLY TOOK THE KEYS OUT. THE 2011 KIA SORENTO AND SUDDEN ACCELERATION SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM AND SHOULD SERIOUSLY BE LOOKED INTO. YES, I WAS INJURED AND THANKFULLY A TREE STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND NO ONE ELSE WAS HURT!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/12/2014 - CHARDON, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON LIGHT, NEW SNOW MY CAR HAD SUDDENLY SKIDDED SLIGHTLY, NO OVER-CORRECTING, I SIMPLY GOT THE CAR BACK IN CONTROL WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SHOT FORWARD, STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND STARTED RACING DOWN THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET INTO THE EMBANKMENT! I HAD PULLED THE CAR TO THE LEFT AND HAD THE BRAKES PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN (AND BOTH FEET INCLUDING ALL MY WEIGHT ON THEM) UNTIL MY CAR CRASHED COMPLETELY INTO A TREE! THE TIRES WERE STILL SPINNING WHEN THE CAR STOPPED AND MY FEET WERE ON THE BRAKES! IT WAS ALSO HARD TO GET THE CAR OUT OF DRIVE AND INTO PARK --- WHEN I WAS ABLE TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK I QUICKLY TOOK THE KEYS OUT. THE 2011 KIA SORENTO AND SUDDEN ACCELERATION SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM AND SHOULD SERIOUSLY BE LOOKED INTO. YES, I WAS INJURED AND THANKFULLY A TREE STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND NO ONE ELSE WAS HURT!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds