Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2011 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 691 complaints filed for the 2011 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (63) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (88)
Electrical System (94) Exterior Lighting (25) Power Train (175) Structure (137) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (28) Visibility (24)
Engine (52) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (11) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (34) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/22/2017 - NEWBURGH, IN
WHILE DRIVING ONE EVENING, MY AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON, THEN IT TURNED OFF, AND THIS HAPPENED FOR ABOUT A WEEK. NOW IT IS ON 100% OF THE TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2017 - MCKEESPORT, PA
ON FEBRUARY 27, 2017, MY 2011 KIA SORENTO'S ENGINE DIED. I HAD ONLY ONE WARNING THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM AND THAT WAS A LACK OF POWER. I WAS GOING UP A SLIGHT HILL AND I HAD TO FLOOR THE GAS PEDAL TO MAINTAIN 20MPH UP IT. I WENT OUT AT 830PM THAT NIGHT TO TAKE IT TO MY MECHANIC AND MY SORENTO WOULD NOT START. I HAD IT TOWED TO GORRING AUTOMOTIVE AT 1030PM. ON MARCH 1, 2017, MR. GORRING CALLED AND TOLD ME I WOULD NEED A NEW ENGINE. I CONTACTED CENTURY 3 KIA AND SPOKE TO THE SERVICE MANAGER DAN. HE STATED THAT I NEEDED TO BRING IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. I ALSO CONTACTED KIA CONSUMER NUMBER AND SPOKE TO ERIC. ERIC TOLD ME THE SAME INFORMATION AND I STATED I DID NOT WANT TO PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSIS AGAIN. I HAD MY SORENTO TOWED TO CENTURY 3 KIA ON MARCH 1, 2017. DAN STATED THAT HE WAS SURPRISED THAT MY VIN WAS NOT ON THE EXTENDED WARRANTY LIST. ON MARCH 3, 2017, DAN FROM CENTURY 3 KIA CALLED ME AND SAID THAT I DID NEED A NEW ENGINE. CHARLES FROM KIA'S CONSUMER NUMBER AND DAN FROM CENTURY 3 KIA BOTH STATED THAT IF I WAS THE ORIGINAL OWNER THEY WOULD REPLACE THE ENGINE AT NO COST TO ME BUT SINCE I AM THE SECOND OWNER OF THE SORENTO, IT WOULD BE MY RESPONSIBILITY. I INQUIRED AT THE COST OF LABOR AND WAS TOLD 15 HOURS AT $108 AN HOUR. I HAVE LOOKED AROUND AND FOUND THAT MOST ENGINES WITH ROUGHLY THE SAME MILEAGE AS MINE ARE AROUND $2,500. THE TOTAL COST WILL ROUGHLY BE BETWEEN $4,500 AND $6,500 TOTAL WITH ALL THE FLUIDS AND OTHER PARTS NEEDED TO RETURN MY SORENTO TO A FUNCTIONAL STATE. I PURCHASED THE SORENTO WITH 53,857 MILES ON IT AND HAD IT FOR ONE YEAR. I PUT 12,000 MILE ON IT ROUGHLY. MY SORENTO HAD ROUGHLY 65,500 MILES ON IT WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THIS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2.4L ENGINES. IF THIS IS TRUE, WHY HAS KIA NOT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
FOR OVER A YEAR NOW AND HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, ALMOST EVERY DAY, WHEN ACCELERATING AT 35-40 MPH THERE IS A HESITATION AND THEN A JERK IN THE TRANSMISSION. ALSO, WHEN FOOT IS TAKEN OFF THE ACCELERATOR IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS GOING TO DIE. THIS HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING IN THE CITY AND THE HIGHWAYS. I TOLD THE DEALER EVERY TIME I WENT IN FOR A OIL CHANGE. INFORMED DEALER LAST WEEK AND I WAS TOLD I STILL HAD TIME (WARRANTY).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2017 - ASTON, PA
DRIVER SIDE FRONT DOOR HANDLE WONT OPEN DOOR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/19/2017 - ASTON, PA
DRIVER SIDE FRONT DOOR HANDLE WONT OPEN DOOR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/8/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
KIA SORENTO 2011 ESC DBS LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD AND EITHER CANNOT GET OUT OF PARK OR WHEN TRYING TO SHUT VEHICLE DOWN WILL GET STUCK IN BETWEEN NEUTRAL AND DRIVE, I SHUT DOWN CAR BUT OBVIOUSLY CANNOT TAKE KEYS OUT, WAIT A FEW MINUTES RESTART IN NEUTRAL AND SOMETIMES I CAN GET IT IN OR OUT OF PARK. SOMETIMES THIS IS DONE SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/8/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
KIA SORENTO 2011 ESC DBS LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD AND EITHER CANNOT GET OUT OF PARK OR WHEN TRYING TO SHUT VEHICLE DOWN WILL GET STUCK IN BETWEEN NEUTRAL AND DRIVE, I SHUT DOWN CAR BUT OBVIOUSLY CANNOT TAKE KEYS OUT, WAIT A FEW MINUTES RESTART IN NEUTRAL AND SOMETIMES I CAN GET IT IN OR OUT OF PARK. SOMETIMES THIS IS DONE SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/7/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR JUST STOPPED WORKING FROM THE OUTSIDE. IT UNLOCKS, BUT THE HANDLE DOES NOT OPEN THE DOOR. THIS IS SUCH AN INCONVENIENCE, NOT TO MENTION A SAFETY ISSUE. I SEARCHED AND SEE TONS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING, BUT NO RECALL. I AM SO SURPRISED AT KIA FOR NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR JUST STOPPED WORKING FROM THE OUTSIDE. IT UNLOCKS, BUT THE HANDLE DOES NOT OPEN THE DOOR. THIS IS SUCH AN INCONVENIENCE, NOT TO MENTION A SAFETY ISSUE. I SEARCHED AND SEE TONS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING, BUT NO RECALL. I AM SO SURPRISED AT KIA FOR NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/7/2017 - SALEM, CT
MY 2011 KIA SORRENTO PARKING LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. MECHANIC STATED THAT WIRE HARNESS HAD TO BE REPLACED FROM TURN SIGNAL SWITCH/INSIDE STEERING COLUMN AND DOWN THROUGH TO REAR LIGHTS. HE STATED THAT THE AREA WAS PACKED WITH DIRT AND DEBRIS EVEN INTO THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLE. MECHANIC COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHY THE AREA WAS SO PACKED WITH DIRT AND WATER. TOTAL REPAIR COST $398.00

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds