Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA COROLLA - 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Steering (33) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (6) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Engine (10) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/9/2014 - NASHVILLE, TN
IM THE FIRST OWNER TO THIS 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA LE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE NICE TO OWN SEEMING HOW I GOT IT WITH 6 MILES LETS START WHEN EVER I GET ON THE INTERSTATE AN LETS SAY IM GOING 50 OR BETTER LIKE 70 IN SPEED THE CAR JERKS AN IT SHAKES AN IT STEERS TO THE RIGHT I AM NOW AT 45,000 MILES I HAVE HAD THE CAR ALMOST UP TO 3YEARS NOW THE BRAKE CALIBER MAKES OFFUL SOUNDS WHEN COMING DOWN A HILL NEVER HAD A CAR THAT DOES THIS NOW I'M PAYING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A CAR THAT IS TO GREAT OR SAFE THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS MY BRAKES ARE UP TO DATE MY MAINTENANCE IS UP TO DATE THIS CAR MAKES ME UNHAPPY NOW I SEE THEIRS A RECALL WOW THE DEALERSHIP ISN'T GONNA GIVE ME A NEW CAR LIKE IN MY DREAMS I GUESS LOL I ASKED TOYOTA WHY DO MY BRAKES SOUND LIKE THAT THEY SAY O THATS HOW TOYOTA BRAKES SOUND AN THEY AREN'T GONNA FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/2/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON APRIL 19TH, 2014, AT ABOUT 1:30 PM, MYSELF AND MY WIFE LEFT OUR FRIEND'S HOME IN LOS ALTOS HILLS, CA. AS WE LEFT THE DRIVEWAY AT ABOUT 5 MPH ON BAKER LN, THE CAR WENT INTO A SUDDEN, UNCONTROLLABLE ACCELERATION MODE, REACHING SPEEDS 50 - 60 MPH. WITHIN ABOUT 1000 - 1500 FT WE APPROACHED A THE INTERSECTION OF BAKER LN AND PURISSIMA RD., ALL THE WHILE DESPERATELY TRYING TO PRESS THE BRAKE, APPLYING HAND BRAKE AND SHIFTING TO NEUTRAL. AGAINST THIS SUDDEN BURST OF ACCELERATION, THE CAR WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THAT INTERSECTION, AND FELL INTO A DITCH AND STOPPED BY A TREE TRUNK. BOTH OF US WERE INJURED WITH MULTIPLE INTERNAL/ EXTERNAL FRACTURES, BUT WE WERE CONSCIOUS; MY WIFE IN THE PASSENGER SEAT HAD MORE GRIEVOUS INJURIES, INCLUDING AN OPEN WOUND OF BROKEN BONE IN ANKLE AND SEVERE SPINAL CORD INJURIES, AND WAS SCREAMING WITH PAIN. ONCE I COLLECTED MYSELF, I CALLED 911 AND THE FD/ PARAMEDICS RESPONDED AND WE WERE HAULED FROM THE DITCH BY CUTTING OPEN THE CAR DOORS. WE WERE TRANSPORTED TO STANFORD MEDICAL CENTER IN PALO ALTO, AFTER WHICH WE WERE SHIFTED TO OUR HMO, AFTER ABOUT 10 DAYS IN ICU. I AM NOW DISCHARGED AND REHABILITATING/ GETTING PHYSICAL THERAPY AT HOME, WHILE MY WIFE IS STILL AT A REHAB CENTER, OVER 10 WEEKS AFTER THE ACCIDENT. AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT, THE WEATHER, VISIBILITY AND ROAD CONDITIONS WERE EXCELLENT; BOTH OF US HAD OUR SEAT BELTS FIRMLY IN PLACE; NO CELL PHONE WAS BEING USED; I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND OFF THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE TIME; AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AS EXPECTED. SINCE BOTH OF US WERE CRITICALLY INJURED, WE COULD NOT INITIATE/ PURSUE ANY LEGAL ACTION AGAINST TOYOTA AND SURRENDERED THE VEHICLE (WHICH WAS TOTALED) TO MY INSURER, FARMERS. WE STRONGLY FEEL THAT TOYOTA IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DEFECTIVE ACCELERATION SYSTEM AND CAUSING SERIOUS BODILY INJURY AND MENTAL TRAUMA FOR BOTH OF US. WE SHOULD BE COMPENSATED BY TOYOTA.

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON APRIL 19TH, 2014, AT ABOUT 1:30 PM, MYSELF AND MY WIFE LEFT OUR FRIEND'S HOME IN LOS ALTOS HILLS, CA. AS WE LEFT THE DRIVEWAY AT ABOUT 5 MPH ON BAKER LN, THE CAR WENT INTO A SUDDEN, UNCONTROLLABLE ACCELERATION MODE, REACHING SPEEDS 50 - 60 MPH. WITHIN ABOUT 1000 - 1500 FT WE APPROACHED A THE INTERSECTION OF BAKER LN AND PURISSIMA RD., ALL THE WHILE DESPERATELY TRYING TO PRESS THE BRAKE, APPLYING HAND BRAKE AND SHIFTING TO NEUTRAL. AGAINST THIS SUDDEN BURST OF ACCELERATION, THE CAR WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THAT INTERSECTION, AND FELL INTO A DITCH AND STOPPED BY A TREE TRUNK. BOTH OF US WERE INJURED WITH MULTIPLE INTERNAL/ EXTERNAL FRACTURES, BUT WE WERE CONSCIOUS; MY WIFE IN THE PASSENGER SEAT HAD MORE GRIEVOUS INJURIES, INCLUDING AN OPEN WOUND OF BROKEN BONE IN ANKLE AND SEVERE SPINAL CORD INJURIES, AND WAS SCREAMING WITH PAIN. ONCE I COLLECTED MYSELF, I CALLED 911 AND THE FD/ PARAMEDICS RESPONDED AND WE WERE HAULED FROM THE DITCH BY CUTTING OPEN THE CAR DOORS. WE WERE TRANSPORTED TO STANFORD MEDICAL CENTER IN PALO ALTO, AFTER WHICH WE WERE SHIFTED TO OUR HMO, AFTER ABOUT 10 DAYS IN ICU. I AM NOW DISCHARGED AND REHABILITATING/ GETTING PHYSICAL THERAPY AT HOME, WHILE MY WIFE IS STILL AT A REHAB CENTER, OVER 10 WEEKS AFTER THE ACCIDENT. AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT, THE WEATHER, VISIBILITY AND ROAD CONDITIONS WERE EXCELLENT; BOTH OF US HAD OUR SEAT BELTS FIRMLY IN PLACE; NO CELL PHONE WAS BEING USED; I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND OFF THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE TIME; AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AS EXPECTED. SINCE BOTH OF US WERE CRITICALLY INJURED, WE COULD NOT INITIATE/ PURSUE ANY LEGAL ACTION AGAINST TOYOTA AND SURRENDERED THE VEHICLE (WHICH WAS TOTALED) TO MY INSURER, FARMERS. WE STRONGLY FEEL THAT TOYOTA IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DEFECTIVE ACCELERATION SYSTEM AND CAUSING SERIOUS BODILY INJURY AND MENTAL TRAUMA FOR BOTH OF US. WE SHOULD BE COMPENSATED BY TOYOTA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/2/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON APRIL 19TH, 2014, AT ABOUT 1:30 PM, MYSELF AND MY WIFE LEFT OUR FRIEND'S HOME IN LOS ALTOS HILLS, CA. AS WE LEFT THE DRIVEWAY AT ABOUT 5 MPH ON BAKER LN, THE CAR WENT INTO A SUDDEN, UNCONTROLLABLE ACCELERATION MODE, REACHING SPEEDS 50 - 60 MPH. WITHIN ABOUT 1000 - 1500 FT WE APPROACHED A THE INTERSECTION OF BAKER LN AND PURISSIMA RD., ALL THE WHILE DESPERATELY TRYING TO PRESS THE BRAKE, APPLYING HAND BRAKE AND SHIFTING TO NEUTRAL. AGAINST THIS SUDDEN BURST OF ACCELERATION, THE CAR WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THAT INTERSECTION, AND FELL INTO A DITCH AND STOPPED BY A TREE TRUNK. BOTH OF US WERE INJURED WITH MULTIPLE INTERNAL/ EXTERNAL FRACTURES, BUT WE WERE CONSCIOUS; MY WIFE IN THE PASSENGER SEAT HAD MORE GRIEVOUS INJURIES, INCLUDING AN OPEN WOUND OF BROKEN BONE IN ANKLE AND SEVERE SPINAL CORD INJURIES, AND WAS SCREAMING WITH PAIN. ONCE I COLLECTED MYSELF, I CALLED 911 AND THE FD/ PARAMEDICS RESPONDED AND WE WERE HAULED FROM THE DITCH BY CUTTING OPEN THE CAR DOORS. WE WERE TRANSPORTED TO STANFORD MEDICAL CENTER IN PALO ALTO, AFTER WHICH WE WERE SHIFTED TO OUR HMO, AFTER ABOUT 10 DAYS IN ICU. I AM NOW DISCHARGED AND REHABILITATING/ GETTING PHYSICAL THERAPY AT HOME, WHILE MY WIFE IS STILL AT A REHAB CENTER, OVER 10 WEEKS AFTER THE ACCIDENT. AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT, THE WEATHER, VISIBILITY AND ROAD CONDITIONS WERE EXCELLENT; BOTH OF US HAD OUR SEAT BELTS FIRMLY IN PLACE; NO CELL PHONE WAS BEING USED; I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND OFF THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE TIME; AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AS EXPECTED. SINCE BOTH OF US WERE CRITICALLY INJURED, WE COULD NOT INITIATE/ PURSUE ANY LEGAL ACTION AGAINST TOYOTA AND SURRENDERED THE VEHICLE (WHICH WAS TOTALED) TO MY INSURER, FARMERS. WE STRONGLY FEEL THAT TOYOTA IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DEFECTIVE ACCELERATION SYSTEM AND CAUSING SERIOUS BODILY INJURY AND MENTAL TRAUMA FOR BOTH OF US. WE SHOULD BE COMPENSATED BY TOYOTA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/20/2014 - SANTA ROSA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT EQUIPPED WITH AUTOMATIC LOCKS AND THE DOORS DID NOT HAVE A PLACE TO INSERT A KEY, PREVENTING HER FROM OPENING THE DOOR IF THE CHILD SAFETY LOCK WAS ENGAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 8,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE REMOVED HIS FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR, THE ENGINE WOULD SOMETIMES CONTINUE RUNNING AT THE SAME RPM, NOT DECREASING AND COASTING AS HE WOULD EXPECT. AS TIME PROGRESSED, THE ISSUE BECAME MORE FREQUENT AND THE DECREASE IN RPM SOMETIMES CAME 30 SECONDS AFTER PRESSURE WAS LIFTED FROM THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/5/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE REMOVED HIS FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR, THE ENGINE WOULD SOMETIMES CONTINUE RUNNING AT THE SAME RPM, NOT DECREASING AND COASTING AS HE WOULD EXPECT. AS TIME PROGRESSED, THE ISSUE BECAME MORE FREQUENT AND THE DECREASE IN RPM SOMETIMES CAME 30 SECONDS AFTER PRESSURE WAS LIFTED FROM THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/8/2014 - GRAHAM, TX
I REAR ENDED A TRUCK FULL BUMPER TO FULL BUMPER COLLISIONIN GOING ABOUT 25-30MPH. MY ENTIRE FRONT END WAS CRUSHED, RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION BUSTED, AND FRONT BUMPER PULLED OFF, AND INSIDE CAR UNDER STEERING WHEEL HAD BEEN SLIGHTLY PUSHED OUT TOWARDS DRIVER SEAT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED. I BUSTED THE WINDSHIELD WITH MY HEAD WHEN I HIT IT GIVING ME A CONCUSSION AND HAD CONTUSIONS TO MY CHEST FROM HITTING STEERING WHEEL, AND CONTUSION AND SPRAIN TO MY RIGHT HAND. NO ONE INCLUDING POLICE, FIREMEN, AMBULANCE, AND WRECKING YARD COULD BELIEVE MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. MY HUSBAND AND I CONTACTED TOYOTA ABOUT THIS AND THEY ASSURED ME IT SHOULD NOT HAVE DEPLOYED AND SENT ME AN EMAIL LINK TO READ DESCRIBING WHEN AIR BAGS SHOULD DEPLOY. WHEN I CALLED BACK AFTER READING THE EMAIL AND TOLD THE MAN WHAT THE EMAIL SAID AND THAT MY AIR BAG SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED HE CALLED ME A LIAR, AND SAID THAT WAS NOT WHAT THE EMAIL SAID. MY HUSBAND THEN CALLED AND REQUESTED INFORMATION FROM EDR BE DOWNLOADED AND READ. TOYOTA NEVER RETURNED OUR PHONE CALL AND NEVER RETRIEVED INFORMATION FROM EDR, AND NOW INSURANCE HAS TAKEN POSSESSION OF THE VEHICLE AND IT IS GONE. A MONTH LATER WE STILL HAVE NEVER RECEIVED A RETURN PHONE CALL OR EXPLANATION FROM TOYOTA.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - CLEVELAND, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WAS ROUGH AND UNSTABLE WHEN TRAVELING AT 35 MPH OR HIGHER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/7/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
I CAME TO AN INTERSECTION AND STOPPED, THEN TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE BEFORE NOTICING THAT THE LIGHT WAS STILL RED. THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS ROUGHLY 30 FEET AWAY WHEN I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES. I SHOULD HAVE EASILY BEEN ABLE TO STOP. BRAKES DID NOT ENGAGE AND I HAD BEEN PUSHING THEM SO HARD AND FOR SO LONG THAT I FRACTURED MY ANKLE. THERE WERE NOT EVEN SKID MARKS AT THE ACCIDENT SCENE. MY CAR HAD FRONT END FRAME DAMAGE FROM THE ACCIDENT (TOTALED), AND THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. ADDITIONALLY, IN THE PAST I HAD NOTICED THE RPMS RISING FOR NO REASON WHILE CAR WAS IDLING, AND THE ACCELERATION ISSUE, WHERE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO ôHANGö BETWEEN SPEEDS OF ABOUT 35 AND 40 AND 60 AND 65MPH. THE RPMS I ONLY NOTICED ONCE-SO I DID NOT REPORT IT, AND THE ôHANGINGö WAS MY OWN IGNORANCE (I HAVENÆT HAD A 4 CYLINDER IN A LONG TIME AND THIS WAS MY FIRSTùAND PROBABLY LASTùTOYOTA). I ALSO HAD PRIOR BRAKING CONCERNS-- ABS ONLY MADE A NOISE (DID NOT VIBRATE AGAINST PEDAL--AGAIN, MY IGNORANCE OF HOW THIS VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSED TO RESPOND) AND IT WAS A VERY ICY WINTER, SO I ASSUMED THAT I HAD BEEN TRYING TO STOP ON ICE. THE BRAKES BEHAVED FINE IF I PHYSICALLY PUMPED THEM, BUT SUDDEN STOPS COULD NOT BE MADE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds