Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA COROLLA - 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 102 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (5) Steering (33) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Structure (6) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/18/2014 - STOCKTON, CA
I WAS HIT BY A HONDA VAN RUNNING A REDLIGHT HIT ME RIGHT ON THE FRONT PASSANGER SIDE CAR SPEND 360 NONE OF THE AIRBAG WAS DEPLOY THE DAMAGE TO THE CAR WAS NOT FIXABLE IT A TOTAL LOSS TO THE CAR BUT NONE THE THE AIRBAGE WAS DEPLOY THE VAN THAT HIT ME WAS GOING BETWEEN 30 TO 40 MILE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2014 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
I NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR MAT MOVED TO THE FRONT AND I AM AFRAID THAT THE FLOORMAT COULD JAM THE GAS PEDAL LIKE IT HAPPENED BEFORE. TO MY KNOWLEDGE THERE HAVE BEEN FATALITIES DUE TO GAS PEDALS JAMMED BY THE FLOORMAT ON PREVIOUS TOYOTA MODELS. TOYOTA CLAIMED THAT THE FLOOR MAT ISSUE WAS ADDRESSED BUT THE 2 CLIPS WHICH ARE SUPPOSED TO SECURE THE FLOORMAT ARE NOT STRONG ENOUGH. MY VEHICLE WAS NOT EVEN 3 YEARS OLD WHEN I FIRST NOTICED THAT THE FLOOR MAT CAN'T BE SECURED ANYMORE. THE TWO TINY PLASTIC HOOKS ARE BENT AND DON'T HOLD THE FLOOR MAT IN PLACE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2014 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
ONCE A MONTH OR SO WHEN I AM AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS THE CAR DOES NOT DECELERATE AS NORMAL WHEN I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PETAL. THE CAR TEND TO STAYS AT THE SPEED IT WAS AT UNTIL I USE THE BREAK. IT IS ALMOST LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL HAS BEEN TURNED ON WITHOUT NOTICE (IT IS NEVER TURNED ON DURING THESE CASES). THIS SOMETIMES INCLUDES THE SLIGHT ACCELERATION LIKE SOME CAR GET WHEN THEY ARE GOING BACK ON CRUISE CONTROL. LUCKILY I KEEP A GOOD DISTANCE BETWEEN ME AND THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. I CAN SEE THIS ISSUES CAUSING ACCIDENTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/24/2014 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
ONCE A MONTH OR SO WHEN I AM AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS THE CAR DOES NOT DECELERATE AS NORMAL WHEN I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PETAL. THE CAR TEND TO STAYS AT THE SPEED IT WAS AT UNTIL I USE THE BREAK. IT IS ALMOST LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL HAS BEEN TURNED ON WITHOUT NOTICE (IT IS NEVER TURNED ON DURING THESE CASES). THIS SOMETIMES INCLUDES THE SLIGHT ACCELERATION LIKE SOME CAR GET WHEN THEY ARE GOING BACK ON CRUISE CONTROL. LUCKILY I KEEP A GOOD DISTANCE BETWEEN ME AND THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. I CAN SEE THIS ISSUES CAUSING ACCIDENTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
SHAKING OF CAR AND SWEAKY BRAKES

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

8/6/2014 - NORTH BERGEN, NJ
THE FIRST ACCIDENT WAS IN JUNE 29 2012, WHILE I WAS DRIVING 10 MILES AN HOUR (FOR TRANSIT) THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED AND I TRY TO STOP AS WELL BUT MY CAR DIDN+T STOP (INCREASE ITS SPEED) AND I CRASHED IN THE BACK OF THE CAR (I REMAIN SURPRISED, DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAD HAPPENED). THE SECOND ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON DECEMBER THE 28TH OF 2012, AROUND 2:00 PM, I WAS IN MY WAY TO NEW JERSEY, 2 MILES AWAY FROM THE WASHINGTON BRIDGE; THERE WAS A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME AND I WAS NOT MOVING AND PUSHING THE BRAKES BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN MY VEHICLE STARTED GOING FORWARD SO I USED THE HAND BRAKE TRYING TO STOP IT; BUT MY CAR STILL CRASH THE OTHER CAR ON THE BACK. I BOUGHT THIS CAR ZERO MILES FROM YOUR DEALER (HUDSON TOYOTA) AND I AM VERY UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED! THIS SHOULDN+T HAPPEN TO ME IF THE CAR WOULD BE IN PERFECT CONDITIONS!!, I AM ALWAYS WORRY DRIVING IT, I DON+T KNOW WHEN THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN!! I TAKE THE CAR TO TOYOTA'S DECEMBER 29, 2012, REVISED IT AND SAID IT DID NOT FIND ANYTHING, WAS HIS REPLY IN MARCH 28 OF 2013. NOW I AM IN TROUBLE BECAUSE I USED TO PAY $700 EVERY SIX MONTHS FOR MY CAR INSURANCE AND NOW THEY RAISE IT TO $ 1,300.00 EVERY SIX MONTHS. -EN ESPANOL EN JUNIO 29 2012 ESTABA MANEJANDO HACIA CASA HABIA TRANSITO E IBA A 10 MILLAS DE VELOCIDAD, DE UN MOMENTO A OTRO EL AUTO ACELERO Y CHOQUE AL AUTO DELENTE MIO, NO NTENDI QUE HABIA PASADO, QUEDE SORPRENDIDO, TUVE QUE USAR MI SEGURO. EL SEGUNDO ACCIDENTE OCURRIO EN DICIEMBRE 28 DEL 2012 COMO A LAS 2PM, ESTABAMOS EN TRANSITO PERO TODOS LOS AUTOS ESTABAMOS DETENIDOS, NADIE AVANZABA Y DE UN MOMENTO A OTRO MI AUTO COMENZO A ACELERARSE Y SE ESTRELLO CONTRA UN TRAIRLER AUN ASI PRESIONANDO EL FRENO Y ASU VEZ USANDO EL FRENO DE MANO, TOYOTA LO REVISO AL DIA SIGUIENTE Y DIJO QUE NO ENCONTRO NADA Y ENVIO UNA CARTA EN MARZO 28 DEL 2013. NO ES JUSTO QUE ESTE PAGANDO EL SEGURO Y ELLOS NO ASUMAN SU RESPONSIBILIDAD

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/6/2014 - NORTH BERGEN, NJ
THE FIRST ACCIDENT WAS IN JUNE 29 2012, WHILE I WAS DRIVING 10 MILES AN HOUR (FOR TRANSIT) THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED AND I TRY TO STOP AS WELL BUT MY CAR DIDN+T STOP (INCREASE ITS SPEED) AND I CRASHED IN THE BACK OF THE CAR (I REMAIN SURPRISED, DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAD HAPPENED). THE SECOND ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON DECEMBER THE 28TH OF 2012, AROUND 2:00 PM, I WAS IN MY WAY TO NEW JERSEY, 2 MILES AWAY FROM THE WASHINGTON BRIDGE; THERE WAS A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME AND I WAS NOT MOVING AND PUSHING THE BRAKES BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN MY VEHICLE STARTED GOING FORWARD SO I USED THE HAND BRAKE TRYING TO STOP IT; BUT MY CAR STILL CRASH THE OTHER CAR ON THE BACK. I BOUGHT THIS CAR ZERO MILES FROM YOUR DEALER (HUDSON TOYOTA) AND I AM VERY UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED! THIS SHOULDN+T HAPPEN TO ME IF THE CAR WOULD BE IN PERFECT CONDITIONS!!, I AM ALWAYS WORRY DRIVING IT, I DON+T KNOW WHEN THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN!! I TAKE THE CAR TO TOYOTA'S DECEMBER 29, 2012, REVISED IT AND SAID IT DID NOT FIND ANYTHING, WAS HIS REPLY IN MARCH 28 OF 2013. NOW I AM IN TROUBLE BECAUSE I USED TO PAY $700 EVERY SIX MONTHS FOR MY CAR INSURANCE AND NOW THEY RAISE IT TO $ 1,300.00 EVERY SIX MONTHS. -EN ESPANOL EN JUNIO 29 2012 ESTABA MANEJANDO HACIA CASA HABIA TRANSITO E IBA A 10 MILLAS DE VELOCIDAD, DE UN MOMENTO A OTRO EL AUTO ACELERO Y CHOQUE AL AUTO DELENTE MIO, NO NTENDI QUE HABIA PASADO, QUEDE SORPRENDIDO, TUVE QUE USAR MI SEGURO. EL SEGUNDO ACCIDENTE OCURRIO EN DICIEMBRE 28 DEL 2012 COMO A LAS 2PM, ESTABAMOS EN TRANSITO PERO TODOS LOS AUTOS ESTABAMOS DETENIDOS, NADIE AVANZABA Y DE UN MOMENTO A OTRO MI AUTO COMENZO A ACELERARSE Y SE ESTRELLO CONTRA UN TRAIRLER AUN ASI PRESIONANDO EL FRENO Y ASU VEZ USANDO EL FRENO DE MANO, TOYOTA LO REVISO AL DIA SIGUIENTE Y DIJO QUE NO ENCONTRO NADA Y ENVIO UNA CARTA EN MARZO 28 DEL 2013. NO ES JUSTO QUE ESTE PAGANDO EL SEGURO Y ELLOS NO ASUMAN SU RESPONSIBILIDAD

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2014 - NORTH BERGEN, NJ
THE FIRST ACCIDENT WAS IN JUNE 29 2012, WHILE I WAS DRIVING 10 MILES AN HOUR (FOR TRANSIT) THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED AND I TRY TO STOP AS WELL BUT MY CAR DIDN+T STOP (INCREASE ITS SPEED) AND I CRASHED IN THE BACK OF THE CAR (I REMAIN SURPRISED, DID NOT KNOW WHAT HAD HAPPENED). THE SECOND ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON DECEMBER THE 28TH OF 2012, AROUND 2:00 PM, I WAS IN MY WAY TO NEW JERSEY, 2 MILES AWAY FROM THE WASHINGTON BRIDGE; THERE WAS A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME AND I WAS NOT MOVING AND PUSHING THE BRAKES BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN MY VEHICLE STARTED GOING FORWARD SO I USED THE HAND BRAKE TRYING TO STOP IT; BUT MY CAR STILL CRASH THE OTHER CAR ON THE BACK. I BOUGHT THIS CAR ZERO MILES FROM YOUR DEALER (HUDSON TOYOTA) AND I AM VERY UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED! THIS SHOULDN+T HAPPEN TO ME IF THE CAR WOULD BE IN PERFECT CONDITIONS!!, I AM ALWAYS WORRY DRIVING IT, I DON+T KNOW WHEN THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN!! I TAKE THE CAR TO TOYOTA'S DECEMBER 29, 2012, REVISED IT AND SAID IT DID NOT FIND ANYTHING, WAS HIS REPLY IN MARCH 28 OF 2013. NOW I AM IN TROUBLE BECAUSE I USED TO PAY $700 EVERY SIX MONTHS FOR MY CAR INSURANCE AND NOW THEY RAISE IT TO $ 1,300.00 EVERY SIX MONTHS. -EN ESPANOL EN JUNIO 29 2012 ESTABA MANEJANDO HACIA CASA HABIA TRANSITO E IBA A 10 MILLAS DE VELOCIDAD, DE UN MOMENTO A OTRO EL AUTO ACELERO Y CHOQUE AL AUTO DELENTE MIO, NO NTENDI QUE HABIA PASADO, QUEDE SORPRENDIDO, TUVE QUE USAR MI SEGURO. EL SEGUNDO ACCIDENTE OCURRIO EN DICIEMBRE 28 DEL 2012 COMO A LAS 2PM, ESTABAMOS EN TRANSITO PERO TODOS LOS AUTOS ESTABAMOS DETENIDOS, NADIE AVANZABA Y DE UN MOMENTO A OTRO MI AUTO COMENZO A ACELERARSE Y SE ESTRELLO CONTRA UN TRAIRLER AUN ASI PRESIONANDO EL FRENO Y ASU VEZ USANDO EL FRENO DE MANO, TOYOTA LO REVISO AL DIA SIGUIENTE Y DIJO QUE NO ENCONTRO NADA Y ENVIO UNA CARTA EN MARZO 28 DEL 2013. NO ES JUSTO QUE ESTE PAGANDO EL SEGURO Y ELLOS NO ASUMAN SU RESPONSIBILIDAD

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2014 - NASHVILLE, TN
IM THE FIRST OWNER TO THIS 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA LE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE NICE TO OWN SEEMING HOW I GOT IT WITH 6 MILES LETS START WHEN EVER I GET ON THE INTERSTATE AN LETS SAY IM GOING 50 OR BETTER LIKE 70 IN SPEED THE CAR JERKS AN IT SHAKES AN IT STEERS TO THE RIGHT I AM NOW AT 45,000 MILES I HAVE HAD THE CAR ALMOST UP TO 3YEARS NOW THE BRAKE CALIBER MAKES OFFUL SOUNDS WHEN COMING DOWN A HILL NEVER HAD A CAR THAT DOES THIS NOW I'M PAYING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A CAR THAT IS TO GREAT OR SAFE THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS MY BRAKES ARE UP TO DATE MY MAINTENANCE IS UP TO DATE THIS CAR MAKES ME UNHAPPY NOW I SEE THEIRS A RECALL WOW THE DEALERSHIP ISN'T GONNA GIVE ME A NEW CAR LIKE IN MY DREAMS I GUESS LOL I ASKED TOYOTA WHY DO MY BRAKES SOUND LIKE THAT THEY SAY O THATS HOW TOYOTA BRAKES SOUND AN THEY AREN'T GONNA FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/2/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON APRIL 19TH, 2014, AT ABOUT 1:30 PM, MYSELF AND MY WIFE LEFT OUR FRIEND'S HOME IN LOS ALTOS HILLS, CA. AS WE LEFT THE DRIVEWAY AT ABOUT 5 MPH ON BAKER LN, THE CAR WENT INTO A SUDDEN, UNCONTROLLABLE ACCELERATION MODE, REACHING SPEEDS 50 - 60 MPH. WITHIN ABOUT 1000 - 1500 FT WE APPROACHED A THE INTERSECTION OF BAKER LN AND PURISSIMA RD., ALL THE WHILE DESPERATELY TRYING TO PRESS THE BRAKE, APPLYING HAND BRAKE AND SHIFTING TO NEUTRAL. AGAINST THIS SUDDEN BURST OF ACCELERATION, THE CAR WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THAT INTERSECTION, AND FELL INTO A DITCH AND STOPPED BY A TREE TRUNK. BOTH OF US WERE INJURED WITH MULTIPLE INTERNAL/ EXTERNAL FRACTURES, BUT WE WERE CONSCIOUS; MY WIFE IN THE PASSENGER SEAT HAD MORE GRIEVOUS INJURIES, INCLUDING AN OPEN WOUND OF BROKEN BONE IN ANKLE AND SEVERE SPINAL CORD INJURIES, AND WAS SCREAMING WITH PAIN. ONCE I COLLECTED MYSELF, I CALLED 911 AND THE FD/ PARAMEDICS RESPONDED AND WE WERE HAULED FROM THE DITCH BY CUTTING OPEN THE CAR DOORS. WE WERE TRANSPORTED TO STANFORD MEDICAL CENTER IN PALO ALTO, AFTER WHICH WE WERE SHIFTED TO OUR HMO, AFTER ABOUT 10 DAYS IN ICU. I AM NOW DISCHARGED AND REHABILITATING/ GETTING PHYSICAL THERAPY AT HOME, WHILE MY WIFE IS STILL AT A REHAB CENTER, OVER 10 WEEKS AFTER THE ACCIDENT. AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT, THE WEATHER, VISIBILITY AND ROAD CONDITIONS WERE EXCELLENT; BOTH OF US HAD OUR SEAT BELTS FIRMLY IN PLACE; NO CELL PHONE WAS BEING USED; I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND OFF THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE TIME; AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AS EXPECTED. SINCE BOTH OF US WERE CRITICALLY INJURED, WE COULD NOT INITIATE/ PURSUE ANY LEGAL ACTION AGAINST TOYOTA AND SURRENDERED THE VEHICLE (WHICH WAS TOTALED) TO MY INSURER, FARMERS. WE STRONGLY FEEL THAT TOYOTA IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DEFECTIVE ACCELERATION SYSTEM AND CAUSING SERIOUS BODILY INJURY AND MENTAL TRAUMA FOR BOTH OF US. WE SHOULD BE COMPENSATED BY TOYOTA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds