Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA COROLLA - 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 92 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Steering (32) Traction Control System (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (6) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Engine (8) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/11/2014 - CLEVELAND, TN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WAS ROUGH AND UNSTABLE WHEN TRAVELING AT 35 MPH OR A HIGHER SPEED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WOULD SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 500. DYD

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
I CAME TO AN INTERSECTION AND STOPPED, THEN TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE BEFORE NOTICING THAT THE LIGHT WAS STILL RED. THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS ROUGHLY 30 FEET AWAY WHEN I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES. I SHOULD HAVE EASILY BEEN ABLE TO STOP. BRAKES DID NOT ENGAGE AND I HAD BEEN PUSHING THEM SO HARD AND FOR SO LONG THAT I FRACTURED MY ANKLE. THERE WERE NOT EVEN SKID MARKS AT THE ACCIDENT SCENE. MY CAR HAD FRONT END FRAME DAMAGE FROM THE ACCIDENT (TOTALED), AND THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. ADDITIONALLY, IN THE PAST I HAD NOTICED THE RPMS RISING FOR NO REASON WHILE CAR WAS IDLING, AND THE ACCELERATION ISSUE, WHERE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO ôHANGö BETWEEN SPEEDS OF ABOUT 35 AND 40 AND 60 AND 65MPH. THE RPMS I ONLY NOTICED ONCE-SO I DID NOT REPORT IT, AND THE ôHANGINGö WAS MY OWN IGNORANCE (I HAVENÆT HAD A 4 CYLINDER IN A LONG TIME AND THIS WAS MY FIRSTùAND PROBABLY LASTùTOYOTA). I ALSO HAD PRIOR BRAKING CONCERNS-- ABS ONLY MADE A NOISE (DID NOT VIBRATE AGAINST PEDAL--AGAIN, MY IGNORANCE OF HOW THIS VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSED TO RESPOND) AND IT WAS A VERY ICY WINTER, SO I ASSUMED THAT I HAD BEEN TRYING TO STOP ON ICE. THE BRAKES BEHAVED FINE IF I PHYSICALLY PUMPED THEM, BUT SUDDEN STOPS COULD NOT BE MADE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/7/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
I CAME TO AN INTERSECTION AND STOPPED, THEN TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE BEFORE NOTICING THAT THE LIGHT WAS STILL RED. THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS ROUGHLY 30 FEET AWAY WHEN I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES. I SHOULD HAVE EASILY BEEN ABLE TO STOP. BRAKES DID NOT ENGAGE AND I HAD BEEN PUSHING THEM SO HARD AND FOR SO LONG THAT I FRACTURED MY ANKLE. THERE WERE NOT EVEN SKID MARKS AT THE ACCIDENT SCENE. MY CAR HAD FRONT END FRAME DAMAGE FROM THE ACCIDENT (TOTALED), AND THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. ADDITIONALLY, IN THE PAST I HAD NOTICED THE RPMS RISING FOR NO REASON WHILE CAR WAS IDLING, AND THE ACCELERATION ISSUE, WHERE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO ôHANGö BETWEEN SPEEDS OF ABOUT 35 AND 40 AND 60 AND 65MPH. THE RPMS I ONLY NOTICED ONCE-SO I DID NOT REPORT IT, AND THE ôHANGINGö WAS MY OWN IGNORANCE (I HAVENÆT HAD A 4 CYLINDER IN A LONG TIME AND THIS WAS MY FIRSTùAND PROBABLY LASTùTOYOTA). I ALSO HAD PRIOR BRAKING CONCERNS-- ABS ONLY MADE A NOISE (DID NOT VIBRATE AGAINST PEDAL--AGAIN, MY IGNORANCE OF HOW THIS VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSED TO RESPOND) AND IT WAS A VERY ICY WINTER, SO I ASSUMED THAT I HAD BEEN TRYING TO STOP ON ICE. THE BRAKES BEHAVED FINE IF I PHYSICALLY PUMPED THEM, BUT SUDDEN STOPS COULD NOT BE MADE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/7/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
I CAME TO AN INTERSECTION AND STOPPED, THEN TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE BEFORE NOTICING THAT THE LIGHT WAS STILL RED. THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS ROUGHLY 30 FEET AWAY WHEN I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES. I SHOULD HAVE EASILY BEEN ABLE TO STOP. BRAKES DID NOT ENGAGE AND I HAD BEEN PUSHING THEM SO HARD AND FOR SO LONG THAT I FRACTURED MY ANKLE. THERE WERE NOT EVEN SKID MARKS AT THE ACCIDENT SCENE. MY CAR HAD FRONT END FRAME DAMAGE FROM THE ACCIDENT (TOTALED), AND THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. ADDITIONALLY, IN THE PAST I HAD NOTICED THE RPMS RISING FOR NO REASON WHILE CAR WAS IDLING, AND THE ACCELERATION ISSUE, WHERE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO ôHANGö BETWEEN SPEEDS OF ABOUT 35 AND 40 AND 60 AND 65MPH. THE RPMS I ONLY NOTICED ONCE-SO I DID NOT REPORT IT, AND THE ôHANGINGö WAS MY OWN IGNORANCE (I HAVENÆT HAD A 4 CYLINDER IN A LONG TIME AND THIS WAS MY FIRSTùAND PROBABLY LASTùTOYOTA). I ALSO HAD PRIOR BRAKING CONCERNS-- ABS ONLY MADE A NOISE (DID NOT VIBRATE AGAINST PEDAL--AGAIN, MY IGNORANCE OF HOW THIS VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSED TO RESPOND) AND IT WAS A VERY ICY WINTER, SO I ASSUMED THAT I HAD BEEN TRYING TO STOP ON ICE. THE BRAKES BEHAVED FINE IF I PHYSICALLY PUMPED THEM, BUT SUDDEN STOPS COULD NOT BE MADE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/29/2014 - ASHBURN, VA
WELL THE ACCIDENT HASN'T HAPPENED YET, BUT IT COULD BE RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER IF THE DEALERSHIP DOESN'T FIX THIS. WHEN I LET OFF THE GAS AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 40-60 MPH. IT SEEMS AS THOUGHT THE CRUISE IS ON. THE CAR DOES NOT DECELERATE NORMALLY. IF THERE IS A SLIGHT SLOPE DOWN IT EVEN PICKS UP SPEED, I HAVE TO SLAM THE BREAK REALLY HEARD TO SLOW DOWN THE CAR ITS REALLY SCARY WHEN I GO DOWN HILL. IT'S STILL GETTING FUEL EVEN THOUGH YOU DON'T HAVE YOUR FOOT ON THE PEDAL. IT CAN TAKE A FEW MIN OR SEVERAL MILES BEFORE IT KICKS OFF THE GAS AND ACTS NORMALLY. I BUY THIS CAR BRAND NEW IN APRIL 2011 SINCE THEN EVERY TIME I WENT FOR SERVICE I TOLD THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE PROBLEM I GOT REPLY -++ITS NORMAL-+¥ IF THIS IS NORMAL THEN WHAT IS ABNORMAL. RIGHT NOW ON MY CAR I HAVE 34000 MILES. SO PLEASE MAKE IT AS RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2014 - ASHBURN, VA
WELL THE ACCIDENT HASN'T HAPPENED YET, BUT IT COULD BE RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER IF THE DEALERSHIP DOESN'T FIX THIS. WHEN I LET OFF THE GAS AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 40-60 MPH. IT SEEMS AS THOUGHT THE CRUISE IS ON. THE CAR DOES NOT DECELERATE NORMALLY. IF THERE IS A SLIGHT SLOPE DOWN IT EVEN PICKS UP SPEED, I HAVE TO SLAM THE BREAK REALLY HEARD TO SLOW DOWN THE CAR ITS REALLY SCARY WHEN I GO DOWN HILL. IT'S STILL GETTING FUEL EVEN THOUGH YOU DON'T HAVE YOUR FOOT ON THE PEDAL. IT CAN TAKE A FEW MIN OR SEVERAL MILES BEFORE IT KICKS OFF THE GAS AND ACTS NORMALLY. I BUY THIS CAR BRAND NEW IN APRIL 2011 SINCE THEN EVERY TIME I WENT FOR SERVICE I TOLD THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE PROBLEM I GOT REPLY -++ITS NORMAL-+¥ IF THIS IS NORMAL THEN WHAT IS ABNORMAL. RIGHT NOW ON MY CAR I HAVE 34000 MILES. SO PLEASE MAKE IT AS RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/25/2014 - CATHEDRAL CITY, CA
WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY OR HIGHWAY AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED THE CAR WILL DRIFT TO THE RIGHT OR LEFT. WHEN I CORRECT THE STEERING IT THEN WILL OVER CORRECTS AND SEND ME OUT OF MY LANE. SO I NOW HAVE TO DRIVE WITH A FIRM GRIP ON THE MY STEERING WHEEL WHICH DOES NOT STOP THE ISSUE BUT HELPS ME TO MAKE CONSTANT LITTLE CORRECTS AT ALL TIMES. DRIVING HAS NEVER BEEN SO ANNOYING AND FRUSTRATING AND TERRIFYING ALL AT THE SAME TIME. I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY AS WELL AS MY 3 YEAR OLD SON'S SAFETY. THE NHTSA DID AN INVESTIGATION INTO THE STEERING OF THE 2009-2010 COROLLAS FOR THIS SAME ISSUE AND COULD HAVE SAVED US ALL THIS HASSLE THE FIRST GO AROUND. MAYBE AFTER A FEW MORE PEOPLE DIE AND THEY HIT A CERTAIN QUOTA THEY WILL DO SOMETHING ABOUT DEFECTIVE CARS THAT ARE LITERALLY STEERING THEMSELVES. I HAVE TAKEN MY 2011 COROLLA INTO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT 4 TIMES FOR THIS SAME ISSUE AND THEY JUST TELL ME THAT IT'S THE WIND AND THE ROAD CAUSING MY STEERING ISSUES. YET WHEN I TAKE TO AN OUTSIDE SERVICE CENTER JUST TO VERIFY THE STEERING ISSUE, THEIR TECHS HAVE NO PROBLEM NOTICING WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT. BACK IN 2010 THE CEO OF TOYOTA STATED HE WOULD FIX THE ISSUE FREE OF CHARGE FOR ANY CUSTOMER STATING THEY HAD A PROBLEM. OF COURSE THIS WAS WITH FOREGOING THE RECALL. SO NOW THAT THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE CLAIM TO HAVE ISSUES, THEY ARE BEING TURNED AWAY AT SERVICE CENTERS. AND WHEN THEY TRY TO SUE TO SELL BACK THEIR CAR, TOYOTA FINDS A WAY OUT OF THAT TOO. STEERING ISSUES ARE BEING FOUND IN COROLLA FROM 2009 TO 2013. IT'S TIME SOMETHING IS DONE!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/6/2014 - TOWNVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE AND CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHILE IN DRIVE GEAR. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WHICH DID NOT INDICATE A FAILURE CODE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,703 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 46,000. UPDATED 4/3/14

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

12/17/2013 - CINCINNATTI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE AIR PRESSURE SENSOR LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT TIRE DEALER BUT THE DEFECT WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PROPER AMOUNT OF AIR WAS IN THE TIRES BUT THE SENSOR CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEIHCLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/13/2013 - LAKEWOOD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, HE HEARD A POPPING NOISE AS THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND CRASHED AGAINST A PARKED VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BY ENGAGING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND REMOVING THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THERE WERE NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 65,200.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds