Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA COROLLA - 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (5) Steering (35) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Structure (9) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2015 - DEL RAY BEACH, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT AND AFTER PRESSING THE FUEL PEDAL TO DRIVE FORWARD THE BRAKES ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATED AND ABRUPTLY STOPPED THE VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSING A SECOND VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD ALSO OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE AND A LOUD NOISE WAS ALWAY PRESENT WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURS. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000 . JFT

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/16/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I BEGIN HEARING AN UNEXPLAINABLE NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF MY VEHICLE AT 33,527 MILES WHEN DRIVING SLOW AND OVER SPEED BUMPS. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (ARLINGTON TOYOTA) ON 6/12/2013 TO HAVE THE VEHICLE LOOKED OVER. AFTER PERFORMING A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION, I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND ASKED TO COME BACK IF IT CONTINUED TO MAKE THE NOISE. ON THE RIDE HOME AND UP UNTIL 4/24/2014, IT CONTINUED TO MAKE THE SAME NOISE PROGRESSIVELY GETTING WORSE AS TIME WENT ON. ON 4/24/2014 I FINALLY HAD ENOUGH OF THE NOISE AND STARTED TO DO SOME INVESTIGATING OF MY OWN. I LOOKED OVER AT THE PORTION OF THE STRUTS THAT WERE VISIBLE, AND FOUND THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WITH A GREASY SUBSTANCE RUNNING DOWN THE STRUT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE SAME TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (ARLINGTON TOYOTA) AND WAS AGAIN TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. AFTER REQUIRING THE SERVICE MANAGER TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE AND THEN TELL ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT BEFORE LEAVING, AND HIM ACTUALLY DRIVING IT, HE CONFIRMED THAT IT WAS A FAILED FRONT DRIVER SIDE STRUT AND WOULD BE REPLACED AS "GOOD WILL".

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I STARTED TO HEAR A LOUD ROARING/ROAD NOISE FROM FRONT OF MY VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH. SINCE MY VEHICLE ONLY HAS 49,000 MILES ON IT, I ASSUMED IT WAS A TIRE PROBLEM AND NOT A FAILED BEARING. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO COSTCO WHERE I RECENTLY PURCHASED TIRES. I INFORMED THE ADVISOR THERE THAT THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE ( I DID NOT SPECIFY A SIDE). HE THEN TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE TIRES AND SOUNDED LIKE A FAILED/FAILING BEARING. HE ALSO INFORMED ME THAT THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2009-2013 TOYOTA COROLLA'S, SPECIFICALLY THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (ARLINGTON TOYOTA) WHO CONFIRMED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL BEARING HAD FAILED AND THE REPLACEMENT WOULD COVERED UNDER THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE WHEEL BEARING AT NO COST TO ME.

View Details

STEERING

3/27/2015 - ELK GROVE, CA
JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR AT FREMONT TOYOTA. THEN I NOTICED THE STEERING SEEMS TO WANDERS. I HAVE TO CORRECT IT ALL THE TIME. BUT I THOUGHT THIS IS NORMAL SINCE IT IS A COMPACT CAR OR IT COULD BE WINDY. BUT THERE ARE TIMES WHEN IT DOES OKAY. JUST TONIGHT, I NOTICED MY CAR STEERING WHEEL IS NOT STRAIGHT AND I'M AFRAID IT COULD BE A STEERING COMPUTER PROBLEM WHICH THE 2009 TO 2010 COROLLAS HAD. I ALSO HEARD A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN I TURN THE STEERING ON BOTH RIGHT AND LEFT, WHICH IS THE SAME PROBLEM THE 2009 TO 2010 HAD. HOW I WISH THEY WILL EXTEND THE TSB OR RECALL TO 2012 SINCE I HAVE READ SOME ARTICLES THAT EVEN THE 2012 COROLLA OWNERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME THING. TOMORROW I WILL TAKE THIS CAR TO THE DEALER AND SEE WHAT IS WRONG. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/13/2015 - RINCON, PR
MY 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA HAS ACTING UP WE THE RPM GOING HIGHER THAN NORMAL. THE CAR ONCE GOES DOWNHILL IT AUTOMATIC INCREASE SPEED. I WILL LIKE TO KNOW WHAT CAN I DO TO GET THIS PROBLEM TAKING CARE OR IT. ITS A SAFETY ISSUEE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW. THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2015 - PAWTUCKET, RI
DEPLOYED AIRBAGS EXCEPT PASSENGERS ONE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/27/2015 - HAMBURG, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA COROLLA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ENGAGING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE FORWARD. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. UPDATED 4/6/15

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

2/21/2015 - BELLEVUE, WA
ON 2/19/15 AT AROUND 9:27 PM MY CAR WAS HIT BY A PICKUP TRUCK IN DOWNTOWN BELLEVUE, HERE IS WHAT HAPPENED 1. I APPROACHED THE INTERSECTION TO TAKE A LEFT FROM BELLEVUE WAY NE TO ENTER NE 7TH ST WHICH TAKES INTO THE LINCOLN SQUARE CINEMA PARKING LOT 2. I SAW THE RED SIGNAL (EXCLUSIVE LEFT ARROW) AND WAITED FOR THE LIGHT TO TURN GREEN TO TAKE LEFT. MY CAR WAS FIRST IN LINE WAITING ON RED 3. ONCE THE LEFT ARROW TURNED GREEN I STARTED TURNING LEFT AND HALF WAY INTO THE ROADWAY A PICKUP TRUCK (DRIVING AT AROUND 45-50 MPH) HIT MY CAR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE (SIDE COLLISION) 4. WITH THAT IMPACT MY CAR WAS DRAGGED ABOUT 15 FEET AND HIT ANOTHER CAR, THAT WAS STANDSTILL AND WAITING TO TURN RIGHT FROM NE 7THST TO BELLEVUE WAY NE) THE IMPACT TO MY CAR WAS SO INTENSE POLICE OFFICER FILED A CASE AND INTERVIEWED WITNESSES AT THE SCENE AND CONCLUDED IT WAS OTHER GUY (PICKUP TRUCK) MISTAKE. HOWEVER, I AM SURPRISED WHY AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY? MINE IS FAIRLY NEW CAR, ONLY 3 YEAR OLD WITH 33K MILAGE. I BROUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN DECEMBER 2011 I AM TAKING THIS SERIOUS BECAUSE, FORTUNATELY MY WIFE IS NOT IN THE CAR WHEN ACCIDENT HAPPENED. HOWEVER, ME AND MY WIFE USUALLY GO EVERYWHERE TOGETHER, AND I CAN'T EVEN IMAGINE WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED IF SHE WAS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAR. SO I WANT TO FILE A CASE AGAINST THE CAR COMPANY FOR SELLING ME A DEFECTIVE CAR

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/21/2015 - BELLEVUE, WA
ON 2/19/15 AT AROUND 9:27 PM MY CAR WAS HIT BY A PICKUP TRUCK IN DOWNTOWN BELLEVUE, HERE IS WHAT HAPPENED 1. I APPROACHED THE INTERSECTION TO TAKE A LEFT FROM BELLEVUE WAY NE TO ENTER NE 7TH ST WHICH TAKES INTO THE LINCOLN SQUARE CINEMA PARKING LOT 2. I SAW THE RED SIGNAL (EXCLUSIVE LEFT ARROW) AND WAITED FOR THE LIGHT TO TURN GREEN TO TAKE LEFT. MY CAR WAS FIRST IN LINE WAITING ON RED 3. ONCE THE LEFT ARROW TURNED GREEN I STARTED TURNING LEFT AND HALF WAY INTO THE ROADWAY A PICKUP TRUCK (DRIVING AT AROUND 45-50 MPH) HIT MY CAR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE (SIDE COLLISION) 4. WITH THAT IMPACT MY CAR WAS DRAGGED ABOUT 15 FEET AND HIT ANOTHER CAR, THAT WAS STANDSTILL AND WAITING TO TURN RIGHT FROM NE 7THST TO BELLEVUE WAY NE) THE IMPACT TO MY CAR WAS SO INTENSE POLICE OFFICER FILED A CASE AND INTERVIEWED WITNESSES AT THE SCENE AND CONCLUDED IT WAS OTHER GUY (PICKUP TRUCK) MISTAKE. HOWEVER, I AM SURPRISED WHY AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY? MINE IS FAIRLY NEW CAR, ONLY 3 YEAR OLD WITH 33K MILAGE. I BROUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN DECEMBER 2011 I AM TAKING THIS SERIOUS BECAUSE, FORTUNATELY MY WIFE IS NOT IN THE CAR WHEN ACCIDENT HAPPENED. HOWEVER, ME AND MY WIFE USUALLY GO EVERYWHERE TOGETHER, AND I CAN'T EVEN IMAGINE WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED IF SHE WAS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAR. SO I WANT TO FILE A CASE AGAINST THE CAR COMPANY FOR SELLING ME A DEFECTIVE CAR

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2015 - BELLEVUE, WA
ON 2/19/15 AT AROUND 9:27 PM MY CAR WAS HIT BY A PICKUP TRUCK IN DOWNTOWN BELLEVUE, HERE IS WHAT HAPPENED 1. I APPROACHED THE INTERSECTION TO TAKE A LEFT FROM BELLEVUE WAY NE TO ENTER NE 7TH ST WHICH TAKES INTO THE LINCOLN SQUARE CINEMA PARKING LOT 2. I SAW THE RED SIGNAL (EXCLUSIVE LEFT ARROW) AND WAITED FOR THE LIGHT TO TURN GREEN TO TAKE LEFT. MY CAR WAS FIRST IN LINE WAITING ON RED 3. ONCE THE LEFT ARROW TURNED GREEN I STARTED TURNING LEFT AND HALF WAY INTO THE ROADWAY A PICKUP TRUCK (DRIVING AT AROUND 45-50 MPH) HIT MY CAR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE (SIDE COLLISION) 4. WITH THAT IMPACT MY CAR WAS DRAGGED ABOUT 15 FEET AND HIT ANOTHER CAR, THAT WAS STANDSTILL AND WAITING TO TURN RIGHT FROM NE 7THST TO BELLEVUE WAY NE) THE IMPACT TO MY CAR WAS SO INTENSE POLICE OFFICER FILED A CASE AND INTERVIEWED WITNESSES AT THE SCENE AND CONCLUDED IT WAS OTHER GUY (PICKUP TRUCK) MISTAKE. HOWEVER, I AM SURPRISED WHY AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY? MINE IS FAIRLY NEW CAR, ONLY 3 YEAR OLD WITH 33K MILAGE. I BROUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN DECEMBER 2011 I AM TAKING THIS SERIOUS BECAUSE, FORTUNATELY MY WIFE IS NOT IN THE CAR WHEN ACCIDENT HAPPENED. HOWEVER, ME AND MY WIFE USUALLY GO EVERYWHERE TOGETHER, AND I CAN'T EVEN IMAGINE WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED IF SHE WAS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAR. SO I WANT TO FILE A CASE AGAINST THE CAR COMPANY FOR SELLING ME A DEFECTIVE CAR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds