Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2011 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (8) Structure (26) Visibility (7)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (1)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2019 - ROCKPORT, MA
REAR DOOR SENSOR IS DEFECTIVE. LIGHT EITHER STAYS ON AND GETS EXTREMELY HOT WHICH DRAINS THE BATTERY OR LIGHT AND BACK DOOR AJAR INDICATOR FLASHES AND SOUNDS SIGNAL BEEP ON AND OFF CONSTANTLY AS YOU DRIVE. I READ ONLINE THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. ONE SOLUTION IS TO CUT WIRE, BUT THAT IS UNSAFE AS YOU COULD BE DRIVING WITH AN OPEN DOOR AND NOT KNOW IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/10/2019 - FREEPORT, FL
THE CONTACT COMPLAINED ABOUT A 2011 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE DRIVER WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT WHICH STOPPED ABRUPTLY. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK IN PLACE (STAYED LOOSE). THERE WAS NO WARNING. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT WHO WAS AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A BODY SHOP. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/10/2019 - FREEPORT, FL
THE CONTACT COMPLAINED ABOUT A 2011 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE DRIVER WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT WHICH STOPPED ABRUPTLY. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT DID NOT LOCK IN PLACE (STAYED LOOSE). THERE WAS NO WARNING. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT WHO WAS AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A BODY SHOP. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/26/2019 - BEAUMONT, TX
THE ELECTRIC DOOR LOCKS HAVE FAILED AGAIN FOR THE THIRD TIME. I HAVE HAD ALL 4 DOOR LOCKS REPLACED, SOME TWICE, AT CONSIDERABLE EXPENSE. THE DRIVER'S DOOR LOCK AND THE DRIVER'S-SIDE REAR DOOR LOCK ARE NOW BROKEN AGAIN. THE DRIVER'S DOOR LOCK DOES NOT OPERATE ELECTRICALLY AT ALL AGAIN. THIS MEANS I MUST PULL THE MECHANICAL KEY OUT OF THE KEY FOB TO UNLOCK THE DOOR. WHEN THE CAR IS PLACED IN DRIVE, THE DRIVER'S DOOR REMAINS UNLOCKED, AS DOES THE DRIVER'S-SIDE REAR DOOR - A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE SINCE THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO LOCK AUTOMATICALLY, AND THEY WILL NOT LOCK MANUALLY WITH THE ELECTRIC DOOR LOCK SWITCH LOCATED ON THE DRIVER'S DOOR - I HAVE TO MANUALLY PUSH THE DOOR LOCK LEVER MECHANICALLY. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN TOYOTA. THE PROBLEM LIES WITH THE CHEAP SOLENOIDS/MOTORS THAT ARE USED TO ACTUATE THE DOOR LOCKS - A DEVICE THAT COSTS LESS THAN $5 ON AMAZON, BUT IS DIFFICULT TO INSTALL FOR US NON-MECHANICS. I HAVE HEARD OF THE SAME PROBLEM HAPPENING WITH OTHER CAR MANUFACTURERS AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

3/22/2019 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
WHEN TURNING OR OVER BUMPS THE STEERING COLUMN MAKES CLUNKING NOISE. HAS BECOME LOUDER WITH TIME

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/20/2019 - BROOKINGS, SD
DRIVER SIDE SUN VISOR STUCK IN DOWN POSITION, AND WILL NOT MOVE UPWARD OUT OF THE WAY, OBSTRUCTING DRIVER'S VIEW. IT CAN BE MOVED TO THE SIDE WINDOW, BUT THEN THE SIDE VIEW IS OBSTRUCTED. I HESITATE TO TRY AND FORCE IT UP, BECAUSE IT FEELS LIKE IT WOULD BREAK AND JUST FLOP AROUND. RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM, I HAVE LEARNED OF MANY OTHER OWNERS OF SIMILAR-VINTAGE TOYOTA HIGHLANDERS WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. THE TOYOTA DEALER QUOTED OVER $300 TO REPLACE WITH A NEW PART. THIS IS SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2019 - SPRINGFIELD, VA
THERE IS A KNOWN DEFECT IN TOYOTA HIGHLANDERS (2010 - 2013) SUN VISORS. THE VISOR NO LONGER STAYS IN EITHER THE UPRIGHT OR DOWNWARD POSITION. IT IS EITHER AT A 45 DEGREE ANGLE WHEN PLACED IN THE "UP" POSITION OR IS IN A POSITION TO SLIGHTLY OBSCURE VISIBILITY IN THE "DOWN" POSITION. TOYOTA OFFERED A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT (LETTER ZF1) HOWEVER I AM NOW PAST THE EXTENDED WARRANTY PERIOD. THIS IS A HAZARD IN DRIVING AND WOULD BE HAZARDOUS TO THE DRIVER SHOULD THERE BE AN ACCIDENT - THE VISOR WOULD HIT THE DRIVER IN THE FOREHEAD OR FACE SHOULD THERE BE AN IMPACT.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2019 - LOS ALTOS, CA
AT AROUND 90,000 MILES I NOTICED A DISTINCT CLUNK IN THE STEERING AS THE WHEEL UNWOUND FROM SHARP TURNS AT SLOW SPEED. THE CLUNK ALSO SHOWED UP WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT ON ROUGH ROADS AND UNDER FIRM BRAKING. THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN ISSUE HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/TSBS/2013/SB-10075792-2280.PDF. I HAVE HAD THE PART REPLACED WITH THE UPDATED VERSION, AND THE STEERING IS NOW GOOD AGAIN, BUT I EXPECTED SOMETHING LIKE TO BE COVERED IN A SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/25/2019 - ATLANTA, GA
SUN VISORS WILL NOT STAY IN UPRIGHT POSITION.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2019 - PANAMA CITY, FL
I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A RED LIGHT IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD, PREPARING TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN. WHEN I THEN BEGAN THE RIGHT TURN I LOST POWER STEERING AND COULD NOT STRAIGHTEN OUT THE WHEEL, RESULTING IN ME RUNNING UP ONTO THE CURB. I IMMEDIATELY LET OFF OF THE GAS PEDAL- LUCKILY NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I THEN GAVE THE CAR GAS AGAIN WHILE TURNING THE WHEEL BACK TO THE LEFT, AND SUDDENLY THE POWER STEERING WAS WORKING AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds