Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2011 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 311 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment (2) Power Train (14) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Seat Belts (4) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (7) Suspension (3) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Hybrid Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (113) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2019 - KANSAS CITY, MO
AUTOMOBILE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND EVEN SPEED UP WITH FOOT ON THE BRAKES. WHILE STOPPED, WAITING TO TURN, CAR WOULD STILL ACCELERATE, EVEN SPEED UP, INTO ON-GOING TRAFFIC. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I PURCHASED THE AUTO, BUT IS NOW HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY AND FOR LONGER PERIODS. NEVER REPORTED BECAUSE IT ONLY HAPPENED FOR A BRIEF MOMENT. HOWEVER, IN THE LAST WEEK THIS HAPPENED TWICE AND I COULDN'T CONTROL THE AUTO. WAITING FOR CALL BACK FROM DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/28/2019 - LAFAYETTE, LA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY OR INTERSTATE, MY TRACTION WARNING LIGHT, THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ALL CAME ON, AND THE BRAKES BECAME HARD TO PRESS. WHEN LETTING OFF THE BRAKE, THERE WAS AN AIRY, SUCTION SOUND. AFTER A WHILE, WHILE DRIVING, ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS WENT OFF, AND THE BRAKE PRESSURE NORMALIZED. THERE IS STILL AN AIRY SOUND WHEN I USE THE BRAKE PEDAL, THOUGH, WHICH ALWAYS SEEMS TO BE THERE, EVEN WHEN THE WARNING LIGHTS ARE OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 4 TIMES WITHIN THE PAST SIX MONTHS. I HAD A DIAGNOSTIC TEST RUN, AND IT GAVE CODE #1391, LEAKAGE IN ACCUMULATOR ABNORMAL, WHICH POINTED TO AN INTERNAL LEAK IN THE BRAKE BOOSTER/MASTER CYLINDER ASSEMBLY. I NOTICED THAT TOYOTA HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM IN 2010 AND PRIOR PRIUS MODELS, BUT MINE DOES NOT QUALIFY BECAUSE IT IS A 2011. SINCE THIS ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED AND APPEARS TO BE A DEFECT IN TOYOTA'S BRAKE BOOSTER ASSEMBLY, I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THIS RECALL EXTENDED TO COVER MODELS BEYOND 2010.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/27/2019 - PITTSBORO, NC
THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT, ABS, AND TRACTION LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD. TOOK THE CAR INTO THE DEALER AND THEY REPORTED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND MASTER CYLINDER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR WAS STATIONARY WHEN THE LIGHTS INITIALLY CAME ON AND THE LIGHTS STAYED ON WHILE IT WAS MOVING (HIGHWAY AND CITY STREETS). THE 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS WAS RECALLED FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. IT SEEMS THE 2011 CONTINUES TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/21/2019 - BELLINGHAM, WA
WE WERE ON FREEWAY WHEN AN ODD SMELL WAS DETECTED. THERE WERE SEVERAL LARGE TRUCKS IN THE AREA AND WE PASSED OFF THE SMELL TO THE TRUCKS. A COUPLE OF MILES LATER THE PASSENGER SAID, "THE FLOOR IS ON FIRE!" AT THIS POINT, AN ABUNDANCE OF SMOKE APPEARED ABOVE THE DASHBOARD ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. WE EXITED THE FREEWAY, FOUND A FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND WERE ABLE TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER WAS INFORMED BUT NO ACTION WAS TAKEN. THE INSURANCE COMPANY HAS TOTALED THE VEHICLE. WE ARE AWAITING THE SETTLEMENT CHECK. WE HAVE NO IDEA WHAT STARTED THE FIRE. THERE WERE NO INDICATORS I.E. WARNING LIGHTS/BUZZERS, ETC. PRIOR TO THE FIRE. THE AREA UNDER THE DASHBOARD ON THE PASSENGER'S SIDE IS A CHARRED MASS. THEREIN A LARGE HOLE AT THE TOP OF THE DASH NEAR WHERE THE SPEAKER FOR THAT SIDE IS HOUSED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/13/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
MY CAR WAS PARKED ON THE STREET,I GOT INTO IT, TURNED IT ON, SHIFTED TO DRIVING AND STARTED PROCEEDING FORWARD. I THEN NOTICED 3 LIGHTS (THE ABS LIGHT, BRAKE LIGHT, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT) SUDDENLY APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD. NOTHING OUT OF THE ORDINARY OCCURRED PRIOR TO THE LIGHT COMING ON, IT JUST SUDDENLY APPEARED. THE ERROR CODE IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM READ C1391. THE DETAILS READ THERE WAS "ABNORMAL LEAK IN ACCUMULATOR". THE CAR NO LONGER DRIVES SAFELY. IF THE BRAKES ARE PRESSED SUDDENLY THE CAR SKIDS INSTEAD OF SLOWING DOWN. IN ORDER FOR THE CAR TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP A LOT MORE PRESSURE HAS TO BE APPLIED TO THE BRAKE COMPARED TO BEFORE ABS PROBLEM. THE STOPPING DISTANCE HAS INCREASED BY APPROXIMATELY TWICE ITS LENGTH. THE CAR IS NO LONGER CAPABLE OF SHARP TURNS, THE BACK END OF THE CAR SKIDS DANGEROUSLY LEFT OR RIGHT WHILE TURNING, DEPENDING ON THE DIRECTION THE DRIVER IS TURNING. THE BRAKING, HANDLING AND CONTROL OF THE CAR DECREASES SO MUCH WHEN THE ROADS ARE WET THAT AT TIMES THE CAR SKIDS EVEN WHEN GOING AT A CAUTIOUS SPEED IN RAIN. FOR MY SAFETY AND FOR OTHERS I DRIVE IN "B" INSTEAD OF "D" WHEN IT RAINS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

5/29/2019 - TORRANCE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD SOUND. HE NOTICED THAT THE SUN ROOF EXPLODED AND THE GLASS SHATTERED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. DCH TOYOTA OF TORRANCE (2909 CA-1, TORRANCE, CA 90505, (424) 271-2340) INFORMED THE CONTACT TO BRING IN THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED WITH OTHER VEHICLES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,360.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/26/2019 - MOBILE, AL
BRAKE LIGHT, ANTILOCK LIGHT, VEHICLE STABILITY LIGHT, AND YELLOW TRAINS CAME ON. HAVING PROBLEM WITH BRAKING. DOES NOT NOT SEEM TO BRAKE AS GOOD. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/26/2019 - MOBILE, AL
BRAKE LIGHT, ANTILOCK LIGHT, VEHICLE STABILITY LIGHT, AND YELLOW TRAINS CAME ON. HAVING PROBLEM WITH BRAKING. DOES NOT NOT SEEM TO BRAKE AS GOOD. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/14/2019 - NORTH FORT MYERS, FL
THE FOLLOWING DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON ON OUR VEHICLE AT THE SAME TIME:TRACTION MODE, EMERGENCY BRAKE, ABS, AND BRAKE SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT. SINCE THE LIGHTS HAVE CAME ON, I HAVE NOTICED THAT I HAVE TO PRESS DOWN FURTHER DOWN ON THE BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. MY STOPPING DISTANCE IS FURTHER NOW AS WELL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/14/2019 - NORTH FORT MYERS, FL
THE FOLLOWING DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON ON OUR VEHICLE AT THE SAME TIME:TRACTION MODE, EMERGENCY BRAKE, ABS, AND BRAKE SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT. SINCE THE LIGHTS HAVE CAME ON, I HAVE NOTICED THAT I HAVE TO PRESS DOWN FURTHER DOWN ON THE BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. MY STOPPING DISTANCE IS FURTHER NOW AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds