Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SIENNA - 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 486 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (200) Equipment (22) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (51) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (14) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (9) Structure (128) Visibility (12)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (9) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Tires (32) Wheels (32)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/22/2018 - DALLAS, TX
OPENED FRONT HOOD USED ROD TO HOLD HOOD UP - WHEN I WENT TO CLOS HOOD I FORGOT ABOUT ROD AND WITH VERY LITTLE PRESSURE THE HOOD CRUMPLED LIKE ALUMINUM FOIL AT THE PLACE WHERE ROD WAS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/9/2018 - COLUMBIA, MD
1. LH & RH SLIDING DOOR : WARNING LIGHT OF OPEN DOOR SHOWS UP WHEN THE CAR STOP, TURN OR ON RAMP ON ANY ROAD. 2. REAR DOOR : WARNING LIGHT OF OPEN DOOR SHOWS UP WHEN DRIVING SIDE WINDOW IS LOWED ON ANY ROAD. RECALLED ON 2017. BUT FAB.2018 HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2018 - TROY, MI
I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND IT STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING. HOWEVER, THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING AND I COULD NOT MAINTAIN THE POSTED SPEED LIMIT. THE ONLY WAY TO KEEP THE VEHICLE MOVING WAS TO REV THE ENGINE UP TO BETWEEN 5,000 AND 6,000 RPM. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ABLE TO GET TO AN EXIT AND GET THE VEHICLE TO A PARKING LOT. AT THAT POINT, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE UNDER IT'S OWN POWER. THE ENGINE WOULD RUN, BUT THERE WAS NO POWER TO THE DRIVE WHEELS. THIS CONCERNS ME AS I WAS LUCKY TO GET THE VEHICLE OFF THE INTERSTATE AND OFF THE ROAD WITHOUT INCIDENT. OTHERWISE, GIVEN THE TRAFFIC AND POSTED SPEED LIMIT, I WAS CONCERNED THAT SOMEONE WOULD RUN INTO ME.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/25/2018 - COLUMBIA, MO
3 TIMES THE WINDSHIELD HAS CRACKED, TWICE IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS. THE CRACK STARTS DOWN LOW NEAR THE EDGE AND QUICKLY SPREADS. THERE IS A LARGE BODY OF EVIDENCE ON THE INTERNET SUGGESTING THIS MALFUNCTION IS VERY COMMON ON THIS MAKE AND MODEL AND THERE HAS BEEN NO OFFICIAL RECALL FROM TOYOTA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/24/2018 - ARLINGTON, VA
VAN WAS PARKED ON A CITY STREET. I WAS TRYING TO PULL OUT OF A PARKING SPACE.I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE WHEN THE ENGINE REVVED UP AND LUNGED FORWARD. I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE MAT WAS SECURED DOWN. I TOOK MY VAN IN TO HAVE THE TOYOTA DEALER CHECK. THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THIS HAPPENED 3 DIFFERENT TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/22/2018 - TIMONIUM, MD
OIL STARTED LEAKING HEAVILY; I WAS NOTIFIED BY A COWORKER AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR INTO FIRESTONE BEFORE THE ENGINE LOCKED UP. LOW OIL PRESSURE WARNING CAME ON AS I DROVE INTO FIRESTONE LOT. TECHS TOLD ME THE OIL COOLING HOSE FAILED (AT 109000 MILES). OLD HOSE WAS MADE OF RUBBER ATTACHED TO METAL PLATES AND HAD FAILED TWO PLACES IN THE RUBBER HOSE. NEW HOSE IS MADE OF METAL SO TECHS CHECKED FOR A RECALL AND FOUND NONE. THIS COULD BE A BIG SAFETY ISSUE IF PEOPLE ARE NOT AWARE OF WHAT IS HAPPENING AND GET STRANDED SOMEWHERE OR THE ENGINE LOCKS OUT ON THEM AT SPEED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/8/2018 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
FUEL DOOR HINGE BROKE BECAUSE THE FUEL DOOR PIN HAS SO MUCH TENSION THAT IT BROKE THE HINGE. THIS CAUSED A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE DOOR CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE IF IT IS NOT CLOSED ALL THEY WAY OR PUSHED CLOSED ENOUGH FOR THE SENSOR TO ALLOW THE SLIDING DOOR TO OPEN. THIS EVENT WAS REPORTED PAST THE 36 MONTH WARRANTY, BUT HAD BEGUN BEFORE THE WARRANTY HAD ENDED. CURRENT OWNERS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT IF THERE ARE INSTANCES BEGINNING OF THE DOOR NOT BEING ABLE TO BE OPENED, THIS SHOULD BE AN ITEM COVERED UNDER AN EXTENDED WARRANTY DUE TO THE SAFETY ISSUE OF NOT BEING ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION. THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE PARKED AND EXITING THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS ISSUE ON DIFFERENT SIENNA AND TOYOTA FORUMS. TOYOTA SERVICE MANAGER CONFIRMS THAT IT IS EXCESSIVE, BUT ONLY RESOLUTION WOULD BE TO REPLACE CABLE WITH NO GUARANTEE IT WOULDN'T HAVE EXCESSIVE FORCE ALSO. ONLY OTHER RESOLUTION WOULD BE TO HAVE SERVICE BULLETIN ISSUED BY TOYOTA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/5/2018 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER SLIDING DOOR FAILED TO AUTOMATICALLY OPEN OR CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V858000 (STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BUTLER TOYOTA (3232 HARPER RD, INDIANAPOLIS, IN 16240, (844) 829-9600) INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND WAS PLACED ON A WAITING LIST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

1/18/2018 - STOCKTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE DOOR WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DRIVER COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ATTEMPTED TO LOCK THE SLIDING DOOR, BUT IT FAILED TO REMAIN LOCKED. THE DRIVER PLACED A ROPE AROUND THE SLIDING DOOR TO KEEP IT FROM SLIDING OPEN AND RESUMED DRIVING. THE CONTACT CALLED STOCKTON TOWN TOYOTA AT (209) 320-1800 (LOCATED AT 2150 E HAMMER LN, STOCKTON, CA 95210) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WOULD BE A FEE TO DIAGNOSE AND REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V858000 (STRUCTURE). THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED AND DID NOT OFFER FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2018 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
TAKATA RECALL. BEEN CALLING DEALER EVERY FEW MONTHS, WAITING FOR THE RECALL TO GET REMEDIED FOR THE AIRBAGS. ALSO, WAITING FOR THE DEALER TO REMEDY THE SLIDING DOOR RECALL. MANY CALLS TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAVE BEEN UNRESOLVED, EVEN WITH THE PROMISE TO BE CALLED BACK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds