Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SIENNA - 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 184 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Unknown Or Other (10)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (6) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (5) Structure (38) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (6) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (22) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2015 - WHITESBORO, NY
HELLO, I OWN A 2011 SIENNA LE V6. IN COLD WEATHER, IT HAS A PROBLEM WHEN BREAKING WHERE THE VEHICLE LURCHES FORWARD AS IT COMES TO A STOP (A SIGNIFICANT INCREASE IN RPM IS SEEN JUST AS THE VEHICLE IS ABOUT TO STOP). SO MUCH SO THAT IT SEEMS AS THOUGH IT'S GIVING ITSELF GAS (INCREASED RPM) AND DRIVING ITSELF, CREATING A HAZARD. I CAN LITERALLY TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VAN WILL INCREASE IT'S SPEED TO ABOUT 35MPH WITH NO INPUT FROM ME IN REGARDS TO THE GAS PEDAL. AFTER WARMING UP, THE PROBLEM DOES TEND TO FADE AWAY. BUT THE WARMUP PERIOD, ESPECIALLY ON COLD NORTHEAST DAYS, COULD TAKE AS LONG AS 20 MINS. AND 8 MILES OF CITY DRIVING TO OCCUR (AND THIS IS AFTER A 5 MIN. PARKED IDLE WARMUP PERIOD), AND EVEN THEN, THE VAN STILL EXHIBITS THIS REVVING ISSUE SOMEWHAT, JUST NOT AS SIGNIFICANT AS WHEN IT'S IN THE WARMUP STAGE. ON MY FIRST COMPLAINT LAST WINTER, THE DEALER CHANGED OUT THE THERMOSTAT AND CONSIDERED THE PROBLEM FIXED. HOWEVER, THE VAN CONTINUES TO SHOW THE SAME PROBLEM THIS WINTER. AS YOU CAN SEE ON THIS INTERNET THREAD, MANY OTHER OWNERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. HTTP://WWW.SIENNACHAT.COM/FORUM/193-PROBLEMS-MAINTENANCE-REPAIR/158410-ENGINE-REVVING-UP-JUST-BEFORE-STOP.HTML THIS ISSUE IS NOT JUST ANNOYING, I BELIEVE IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE, PARTICULARLY ON SLIPPERY SURFACES SUCH AS SNOW AND ICE WHICH ARE LIKELY TO OCCUR IN THE COLDER WEATHER THAT PRECIPITATES THIS ISSUE. I BELIEVE EITHER THE ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION PROGRAMMING NEEDS TO BE MODIFIED TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - MARTVILLE, NY
SLIDING POWER DOORS WORK INTERMITTENTLY AND HAVE NEEDED TO BE FORCED OPEN OR CLOSED ON OCCASION. HOWEVER I ATTEMPTED TO USE THE HANDLE TO ACTIVATE THE POWER DOOR TO OPEN THE DOOR IN ORDER TO PLACE MY SON IN HIS CAR SEAT, THE DOOR BEGAN TO OPEN, AND THEN STOPPED AFTER ONLY OPENING AN INCH. THE DOOR AJAR ALARM BEGAN SOUNDING. I PULLED THE DOOR OPEN PACKED MY LITTLE ONE UP IN HIS CAR SEAT AND WENT TO SHUT THE DOOR. THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH TO STAY CLOSED AND THE DOOR WOULD MOVE FREELY WITHOUT THE USE OF THE DOOR HANDLE. THE VEHICLE IS NOW UNSAFE TO TRANSPORT ANYONE IN AS DOOR CAN NOT BE CLOSED. AT LEAST THIS HAPPENED AT HOME PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. BUT IF THESE DOORS ARE FAILING UNDER NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES I NO LONGER FEEL I HAVE A SAFE VEHICLE TO TRANSPORT MY FAMILY IN. WHO KNOWS WHAT WOULD HAPPEN UNDER MORE STRESSFUL CONDITIONS. MY HUSBAND HAD TO TIE THE DOOR SHUT IN ORDER TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE EXPECTED REPAIR PART WAS $937.00. I THOUGHT BUYING TOYOTA WAS BUYING QUALITY BUT, I GUESS THEY DON'T MAKE THEM LIKE THEY USED TO. I'M NOT SURE IF THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT TOYOTA NEEDS TO EVALUATE BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR LOSS OF LIFE OCCURS BUT, IT'S FOURS YEARS OLD AND DOOR COMPLAINTS, AFTER DOING SOON RESEARCH ARE NOTHING NEW. NEXT VEHICLE.. IF I STILL NEED THE PASSENGER SPACE A MINIVAN HAS TO OFFER I THINK I'LL LOOK AT HONDA INSTEAD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/17/2015 - MARTVILLE, NY
SLIDING POWER DOORS WORK INTERMITTENTLY AND HAVE NEEDED TO BE FORCED OPEN OR CLOSED ON OCCASION. HOWEVER I ATTEMPTED TO USE THE HANDLE TO ACTIVATE THE POWER DOOR TO OPEN THE DOOR IN ORDER TO PLACE MY SON IN HIS CAR SEAT, THE DOOR BEGAN TO OPEN, AND THEN STOPPED AFTER ONLY OPENING AN INCH. THE DOOR AJAR ALARM BEGAN SOUNDING. I PULLED THE DOOR OPEN PACKED MY LITTLE ONE UP IN HIS CAR SEAT AND WENT TO SHUT THE DOOR. THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH TO STAY CLOSED AND THE DOOR WOULD MOVE FREELY WITHOUT THE USE OF THE DOOR HANDLE. THE VEHICLE IS NOW UNSAFE TO TRANSPORT ANYONE IN AS DOOR CAN NOT BE CLOSED. AT LEAST THIS HAPPENED AT HOME PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. BUT IF THESE DOORS ARE FAILING UNDER NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES I NO LONGER FEEL I HAVE A SAFE VEHICLE TO TRANSPORT MY FAMILY IN. WHO KNOWS WHAT WOULD HAPPEN UNDER MORE STRESSFUL CONDITIONS. MY HUSBAND HAD TO TIE THE DOOR SHUT IN ORDER TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE EXPECTED REPAIR PART WAS $937.00. I THOUGHT BUYING TOYOTA WAS BUYING QUALITY BUT, I GUESS THEY DON'T MAKE THEM LIKE THEY USED TO. I'M NOT SURE IF THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT TOYOTA NEEDS TO EVALUATE BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR LOSS OF LIFE OCCURS BUT, IT'S FOURS YEARS OLD AND DOOR COMPLAINTS, AFTER DOING SOON RESEARCH ARE NOTHING NEW. NEXT VEHICLE.. IF I STILL NEED THE PASSENGER SPACE A MINIVAN HAS TO OFFER I THINK I'LL LOOK AT HONDA INSTEAD.

View Details

WHEELS

2/6/2015 - DANVILLE, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN: 11V560000 (WHEELS). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN PUT THE SPARE TIRE IN THE MIDDLE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT AS A TEMPORARY REMEDY. THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/2/2015 - WAUKEGAN, IL
THE WELD AT THE TOP OF THE HINGE ON THE FUEL FILLER DOOR HAS BROKEN, SO THE DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE. THIS PREVENTS OPENING THE SLIDING DOOR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. I HAVE CHILDREN AND WOULD NEED THE ABILITY TO EVACUATE PASSENGERS QUICKLY AND EASILY IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY. ONE OF MY PASSENGERS IS RESTRAINED IN A CAR SEAT THAT I NEED TO ACTIVATE IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE CHILD FROM THE CAR. THE DOOR CANNOT BE OPENED MORE THAN A FEW INCHES WITH THE BROKEN FUEL FILLER DOOR AS AN OBSTRUCTION, SO IT CREATES A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/30/2015 - WICKLIFFE, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO STOP. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOWS FAILED TO OPERATE AND THE SLIDING DOORS FAILED TO STOP AUTOMATICALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE WINDOWS WERE REPAIRED BUT THE SLIDING DOORS WERE NOT. THE SPECIFICS OF THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND REQUIRED TO BE JUMP STARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - WICKLIFFE, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED AND THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO STOP. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOWS FAILED TO OPERATE AND THE SLIDING DOORS FAILED TO STOP AUTOMATICALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE WINDOWS WERE REPAIRED BUT THE SLIDING DOORS WERE NOT. THE SPECIFICS OF THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND REQUIRED TO BE JUMP STARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

WHEELS

1/23/2015 - ANDOVER, MN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V273000 (WHEELS). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STRAPPED THE SPARE TIRE TO THE TRUNK AS A TEMPORARY REMEDY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/22/2015 - NORFOLK , VA
MY CHILDREN WERE GETTING INTO THE VEHICLE ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. I AM A FORMER CPST. MY SON'S CAR SEAT WAS LOOSE, SO I CHECKED TO SEE WHY. I CHECKED THE BELT AND THE ENTIRE BUCKLE STALK CAME LOOSE IN MY HAND. THE BOLT THAT ATTACHED IT TO THE CAPTAIN'S CHAIR FELL OUT OF THE SOCKET. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. IF WE HAD BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, MY SON COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. A SEAT BELT SHOULD NOT JUST FALL OFF OF THE SEAT. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO GET THE PART REATTACHED AND WAS ASKED WHY I COULD NOT JUST ATTACH IT BACK MYSELF. THIS IS ALSO NOT ACCEPTABLE. THEY DID END UP SCHEDULING ME FOR THE REATTACHMENT, BUT IT WILL COST ME A SUM THAT THEY HAVE YET TO DETERMINE. IN THE MEANTIME, I HAVE TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO TRANSPORT MY SON SAFELY SINCE HE IS OVER THE WEIGHT LIMIT FOR LATCH FOR HIS CAR SEAT AND NO LONGER HAS A USABLE SEAT BELT IN THAT SPOT IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

WHEELS

1/21/2015 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:11V560000 (WHEELS). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STRAPPED THE SPARE TIRE TO THE LUGGAGE COMPARTMENT AS A TEMPORARY REMEDY DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING AVAILABLE FOR REPAIRS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds