Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SIENNA - 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (7)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (4) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (4) Structure (36) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (6) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (20) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/24/2014 - LEBANON, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA CALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14B273000(BODY) WAS RECEIVED IN MAY 2014. AFTER CONTACTING BOTH THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT A REMEDY TO REPAIR THE DEFECT HAD NOT YET BEEN DEVELOPED AND NO ESTIMATED TIME TO GET THE VEHICLE REPAIRED COULD BE GIVEN. JFT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/13/2014 - LIVERPOOL , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V273000 (TIRES). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE THE SPARE TIRE RACK WAS REMOVED, BUT NOT REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/10/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
CAR STARTED ROLLING BACK AND GEAR SHIFTED TO REVERSE WHEN IT WAS ON DRIVE GEAR. IT SHIFTED TO GEARS AUTOMTICALLY WITHOUT CHANGING GEARS. WHEN WENT TO DEALER, THEY SAID ITS TRANSMISSION IS FAILED AT 55 K MILES. IT WAS IN WARRANTY AND THEY CHANGED TRANSMISSION BUT WHEN ASKED THEY DIDN'T GIVE ME MUCH DETAILED INFORMATION. MY 1 WORK DAY WAS SPOILED AND INCONVINIENCE.

View Details

STEERING

11/3/2014 - FRESH MEADOWS, NY
ON NOV 2, 2014 AT AROUND 5:40AM, AFTER TURNING FROM 7TH AVENUE TO W50TH ST FOR ABOUT 200FT AT MANHATTAN, THE POWER STEERING WAS SUDDENLY DEAD. THE POWER STEERING FAULT INDICATING LIGHT WAS ON. WHEN TRYING MOVE THE VEHICLE TO A PARK/STAND, THE VEHICLE STEERING WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/31/2014 - SOUTH BEND, IN
MY CAR WAS RECALLED ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO FOR A TEMPORARY REPAIR OF THE CONNECTOR TO HOLD THE SPARE TIRE. THIS RESULTED IN THE SPARE TIRE BEING PLACED IN THE BACK-SEAT AREA OF THE VAN. THIS PREVENTS ME FROM USING THE FOLD DOWN FEATURE AND FULL STORAGE AREA. ON OCTOBER 20, 2014, I CALLED THEIR 888-270-9371 NUMBER TO SEE HOW MUCH LONGER BEFORE A PERMANENT FIX WOULD BE COMPLETED. I RECEIVED A VAGUE ANSWER THAT IT SHOULD BE DONE IN NOVEMBER 2014. I STILL WAIT A SOLUTION, AND BELIEVE THAT THIS ISSUE SHOULD HAVE BEEN LONG AGO RESOLVED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/28/2014 - PARKTON, NC
I WAS TRAVELING IN AN AREA SURROUNDED BY CONSTRUCTION BARRELS TRYING TO NAVIGATE MY TURN. THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED SUDDENLY, AND I HIT HIM IN THE REAR. THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED ALMOST $9000 WORTH OF DAMAGE, HOWEVER WAS NOT TOTALED. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. WE ASKED TOYOTA FOR AN EXPLINATION, AND THEY FINALLY SENT A THIRD PARTY TO INVESTIGATE. WE WERE SENT THE DOWNLOAD OF THE CRASH DATA RECORDER, BUT NO EXPLINATION OF WHAT IT MEANT, AND TOYOTA DETERMINED THAT THE AIRBAG WAS NOT FAULTY, EVEN THOUGH THE CRASH DATA RECORDER SHOWS I HIT SOMEONE FRONT-TO-REAR TRAVELING 38 MILES PER HOUR. AFTER WAITING 3 MONTHS ON TOYOTA, WE FINALLY GAVE UP AND ARE HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. I HAVE A CHRONIC NECK CONDITION WHICH WAS NOT CAUSED BY THE ACCIDENT BUT WAS GREATLY AGGREVATED AND MADE MORE PAINFUL FROM THE ACCIDENT. WE HAVE ASKED TOYOTA FOR AN EXPLINATON OF THE DATA FROM THE RECORDER, BUT HAVE NOT BEEN PROVIDED ONE, ONLY SENT A LETTER STATING TOYOTA WAS NOT AT FAULT AND THAT INJURIES SUCH AS MINE AREN'T PROVEN TO BE PREVENTED BY THE AIRBAG. ..UPDATED 11/03/14 .

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/28/2014 - PARKTON, NC
I WAS TRAVELING IN AN AREA SURROUNDED BY CONSTRUCTION BARRELS TRYING TO NAVIGATE MY TURN. THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED SUDDENLY, AND I HIT HIM IN THE REAR. THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED ALMOST $9000 WORTH OF DAMAGE, HOWEVER WAS NOT TOTALED. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. WE ASKED TOYOTA FOR AN EXPLINATION, AND THEY FINALLY SENT A THIRD PARTY TO INVESTIGATE. WE WERE SENT THE DOWNLOAD OF THE CRASH DATA RECORDER, BUT NO EXPLINATION OF WHAT IT MEANT, AND TOYOTA DETERMINED THAT THE AIRBAG WAS NOT FAULTY, EVEN THOUGH THE CRASH DATA RECORDER SHOWS I HIT SOMEONE FRONT-TO-REAR TRAVELING 38 MILES PER HOUR. AFTER WAITING 3 MONTHS ON TOYOTA, WE FINALLY GAVE UP AND ARE HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. I HAVE A CHRONIC NECK CONDITION WHICH WAS NOT CAUSED BY THE ACCIDENT BUT WAS GREATLY AGGREVATED AND MADE MORE PAINFUL FROM THE ACCIDENT. WE HAVE ASKED TOYOTA FOR AN EXPLINATON OF THE DATA FROM THE RECORDER, BUT HAVE NOT BEEN PROVIDED ONE, ONLY SENT A LETTER STATING TOYOTA WAS NOT AT FAULT AND THAT INJURIES SUCH AS MINE AREN'T PROVEN TO BE PREVENTED BY THE AIRBAG. ..UPDATED 11/03/14 .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - BONITA SPRINGS, FL
I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND HEARD A CLUNK. THE AREA WAS CLEAR SO I DIDN'T HIT ANYTHING. LOST POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES. THE INFORMATION SCREEN FLASHED MESSAGES TO CHECK BRAKES AND CONTACT DEALER. I DROVE BACK INTO DRIVEWAY WITH DIFFICULT STEERING AND SLOW ENOUGH TO NOT NEED BRAKES. THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING FINE. I SHUT IT OFF THINKING SOMETHING NEEDED TO RESET. IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN. HAT IT TOWED TO DEALER. THEY REPLACED A FUSE ($445.00 + TOWING). MY CONCERN IS THAT IF THIS HAD HAPPENED WHILE IN TRAFFIC AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED, IT WOULD BE DIFFICULT TO STEER OR STOP. THE DEALER STATED THEY HAD NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE WHERE THE ENGINE WOULD CONTINUE TO RUN AND THE FUSE IS USUALLY BLOWN IF SOMEONE REVERSES POLARITY DURING A JUMP START. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE FOR OVER 1 YEAR AND HAVE NEVER JUMP STARTED IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2014 - MARS, PA
OUR 2011 SIENNA HAD A MALFUNCTIONING REAR PASSENGER DOOR. RUSTED DOOR LATCHES WERE IDENTIFIED AS THE PROBLEM. HOW DOES A THREE YEAR OLD VEHICLE HAVE RUSTED LATCHES? THE REPAIR COST OVER $1200. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AT DIELHL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP BLAMED THE PROBLEM ON WEATHER. WRONG PARTS WERE INITIALLY DELIVERED, THE CORRECT PARTS HAD TO BE SENT IN FROM CA, RESULTING IN A THREE DAY REPAIR JOB. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP., JOYCE, DID NOT EVEN APOLOGIZE FOR THE DELAY AND INCONVENIENCE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO CALL TOYOTA DIRECTLY TO PASS ALONG MY COMPLAINT, I WAS -++LOST-+¥ IN THEIR AUTOMATED PHONE ANSWERING SYSTEM. I THEN CONTACTED THEM VIA EMAIL, I AM STILL WAITING FOR A RESPONSE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED LATCHES AND TOLD US THAT ALL OF THE DOOR LATCHES ON THE VEHICLE WERE LUBED. WE CHECKED THE OTHER DOOR LATCHES, AND FOUND THEY WERE NOT -++LUBED-+¥. THIS VEHICLE-++S MANUFACTURE QUALITY CERTAINLY HAS NOT MET OUR EXPECTATIONS OR THE TOYOTA REPUTATION WE THOUGHT WE HAD PURCHASED. NOT ONLY IS THE PRODUCT PERFORMANCE POOR, SO IS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SUPPORT. THIS PROBLEM NOT ONLY IS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE, BUT COULD POSE TO BE A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE IF EARLY DOOR LATCH DETERIORATION RESULTS IN DEFECTIVE LOCKING AN LATCHING OF REAR PASSENGER DOORS.

View Details

STEERING

8/23/2014 - LONGVIEW, TX
I WAS PARKING THE CAR AND NEEDED TO MOVE THE VEHICLE BACKWARD IN A PARKING LOT WITH A SLIGHT SLOPE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO MOVE THE SHIFT LEVER TO REVERSE THE LEVER LOCKED UP AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO ROLE BACKWARD. I APPLIED THE BRAKES TO NO AVAIL AND THE ENGINE DIED. THE STEERING WAS LOCKED. THE IGNITION SWITCH ALSO LOCKED. THE VEHICLE STOPPED . I CALLED THE TOYOTA DEALER AND THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID TO APPLY THE BRAKES VIGOROUSLY, AT THE SAME TIME PUMP THE ACCELERATOR AND TURN THE IGNITION. I DID AND THE FUNCTIONS ALL STARTED WORKING. NO DAMAGE, NO INJURIES. THIS OCCURRED IN FREDERICKS BURG, TX THIS APPEARS TO BE THE SAME INCIDENT IN COMPLAINT # 10585286, DATED 3-17-2014.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds