Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK REGAL - 2012 BUICK REGAL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2012 BUICK REGAL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 BUICK REGAL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 BUICK REGAL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Equipment (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (2) Seats (1) Steering (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/10/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
2012 BUICK REGAL. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE WHEELS AND BRAKE PROBLEMS. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE WHEELS WERE SQUEAKING, BECAUSE THERE WAS MOISTURE AND CONDENSATION ON THE ROTORS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2014 - STERLING HIEGHTS , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DECELERATING FROM 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY JERKED FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT DEALERS. THE FIRST DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM WHILE THE SECOND STATED THAT THE SHIFT ADAPTER NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE WORSENED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - STERLING HIEGHTS , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DECELERATING FROM 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY JERKED FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT DEALERS. THE FIRST DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM WHILE THE SECOND STATED THAT THE SHIFT ADAPTER NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE WORSENED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/29/2013 - CHARLOTTE, NC
VEHICLE TURNS OFF WHEN GOING IN REVERSE. VEHICLE ALSO MAKES WEIRD SPUTTERING NOISE WHEN STARTED. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW IN 2011 BUT DEALERS CAN NEVER REPLICATE THE PROBLEMS!

View Details

ENGINE

10/29/2013 - CHARLOTTE, NC
VEHICLE TURNS OFF WHEN GOING IN REVERSE. VEHICLE ALSO MAKES WEIRD SPUTTERING NOISE WHEN STARTED. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW IN 2011 BUT DEALERS CAN NEVER REPLICATE THE PROBLEMS!

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: HEAD RESTRAINT

9/26/2013 - NEWNAN , GA
OUR NECKS BEGAN TO HURT ABOUT A FEW WEEKS AGO. BEFORE THEN WE HAD NOT DRIVEN THE CAR OFTEN OR FOR LONG DURATIONS. THEN THE MORE WE WERE IN THE CAR, E.G. A 5 DAY TRIP TO AND FROM NEW ORLEANS, THE MORE WE HAD NECK DISCOMFORT. INITIALLY WE THOUGHT IT COULD BE OTHER ACTIVITY BEING THE CAUSE. BUT TODAY, AFTER SEEING INFORMATION AND ILLUSTRATIONS ON THE INTERNET, WE FEEL THAT THE ANGLE OF THE HEADREST ON THE SEAT BACKS IS IMPROPER AND THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. WHAT TO DO? IS THERE A "RECALL" ON THIS MATTER? SINCERELY,

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2013 - SOUTH HILL, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING PULLED TO THE LEFT INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT NO CAUSE OF FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/5/2013 - MADISON, WI
ON DECEMBER 12, 2012 , SHORTLY AFTER SUNSET, MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING ON A RURAL ROAD AT ABOUT 30 MPH. I WAS IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. I REACHED OVER TO SWITCH THE RADIO FROM SIRIUS TO FM, BUT INADVERTENTLY HIT THE ENGINE ON/OFF BUTTON, LOCATED ABOUT 2 CM FROM THE RADIO BUTTON. WHEN I HIT THE BUTTON, THE ENGINE WENT OFF, WE LOST ALL INTERNAL AND EXTERNAL LIGHTS, AND THE CAR SLOWED DRAMATICALLY. IT WAS TERRIFYING. WE MANAGED TO PULL THE CAR TO SIDE OF THE ROAD. HAD WE BEEN ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, A MAJOR COLLISION AND PILE-UP LIKELY WOULD HAVE FOLLOWED. WHEN WE REPORTED THE INCIDENT TO THE DEALERSHIP, IT INITIALLY CLAIMED THE CAR'S INTERNAL CONTROLS WOULD PREVENT THE ENGINE FROM TURNING OFF WHILE THE CAR WAS MOVING BUT SUBSEQUENT DEALER TESTS DISCLOSED EVEN A SLIGHT TOUCH OF THE POWER BUTTON SHUT OFF ALL POWER. I REPORTED IT TO BUICK AND BUICK ASKED THE DEALER TO RECONFIRM THE TESTS, WHICH IT DID. THE DEALERSHIP SEEMED VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY PROBLEM BUT SAID BUICK NEEDED TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. BUICK SAID THE CAR OPERATED AS DESIGNED AND THERE WAS NOTHING MORE IT COULD DO. I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH BUICK'S RESPONSE; NOR SHOULD THIS AGENCY. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE, I WAS GIVEN NO WARNING ABOUT THIS POTENTIALLY LIFE THREATENING HAZARD. ALTHOUGH THE DRIVERS' MANUAL CONTAINS MANY HIGHLIGHTED WARNINGS, IT ONLY MENTIONS THE ENGINE SHUT OFF IN PASSING. QUOTING 9-18 OF THE DRIVERS' MANUAL: "DO NOT TURN OFF THE ENGINE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS MOVING. THIS WILL CAUSE A LOSS POWER ASSIST IN THE BRAKE AND STEERING SYSTEMS AND DISABLE THE AIRBAG." NOTHING ELSE WAS SAID. THE CLOSE PROXIMITY OF THE PRIMARY CONTROL FOR RADIO CHANNEL SELECTION TO THE POWER BUTTON, AND THE POTENTIALLY LETHAL CONSEQUENCES OF INADVERTENTLY HITTING THE POWER BUTTON IS AN INHERENTLY DANGEROUS DESIGN FLAW. THE LACK OF EXPLICIT WARNINGS EXACERBATES THIS ALREADY SERIOUS PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/15/2012 - MOUNT JULIET, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AT THE TIME OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/15/2012 - MOUNT JULIET, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AT THE TIME OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds