Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC SRX - 2012 CADILLAC SRX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2012 CADILLAC SRX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CADILLAC SRX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CADILLAC SRX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine (6) Power Train (3) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

6/11/2015 - BARDSTOWN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V571000 (SUSPENSION). WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STRUCK A BUMP IN THE ROAD AND VEERED TO THE LEFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL BEARING WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/28/2015 - BARDSTOWN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH OVER A POTHOLE, THE VEHICLE SWAYED FROM THE LEFT TO THE RIGHT AND THE ANTILOCK BRAKE AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V571000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/28/2015 - BARDSTOWN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH OVER A POTHOLE, THE VEHICLE SWAYED FROM THE LEFT TO THE RIGHT AND THE ANTILOCK BRAKE AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V571000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2015 - EVANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE CONSOLE CAUGHT FIRE AND MELTED. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED SOOT IN THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE INDEPENDENTLY EXTINGUISHED ITSELF. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/13/2015 - HIGHLAND , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT RECEIVED EXCESSIVE AMOUNTS OF MOISTURE, CAUSING THEM TO SHORT CIRCUIT. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ENTIRE LIGHTING ASSEMBLY AND SEALS NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,485.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2015 - EAGLE RIVER, AK
MVA WITH TWO IMPACTS; FRONT DRIVER SIDE (SIGNIFICANT IMPACT) AND FRONT OF VEHICLE NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/15/2015 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN A DRIVEWAY WITH A SLIGHT SLANT. REAR HATCH WAS OPENED AND WE WERE UNLOADING VEHICLE. VEHICLE WAS IN PARK AND TURNED OFF. APPROXIMATELY 5-10 MINUTES AFTER EXITING THE VEHICLE, WE WENT BACK OUTSIDE TO REMOVE ITEMS FROM THE REAR. THE VEHICLE STARTED ROLLING AWAY (TIRES TURNING, NOT A SLIDE). A PERSON IN THE GROUP WAS ABLE TO CATCH IT AND JUMPED IN THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND APPLIED THE BRAKE. SERVICE DEPT REPORTS THEY CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG. I'M GRATEFUL WE WERE ABLE TO CATCH IT OTHERWISE, SOMEONE COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED WHILE UNLOADING THE REAR OR IT COULD HAVE ROLLED AWAY AND CRASHED WHILE WE WERE IN THE HOUSE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/15/2015 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN A DRIVEWAY WITH A SLIGHT SLANT. REAR HATCH WAS OPENED AND WE WERE UNLOADING VEHICLE. VEHICLE WAS IN PARK AND TURNED OFF. APPROXIMATELY 5-10 MINUTES AFTER EXITING THE VEHICLE, WE WENT BACK OUTSIDE TO REMOVE ITEMS FROM THE REAR. THE VEHICLE STARTED ROLLING AWAY (TIRES TURNING, NOT A SLIDE). A PERSON IN THE GROUP WAS ABLE TO CATCH IT AND JUMPED IN THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND APPLIED THE BRAKE. SERVICE DEPT REPORTS THEY CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG. I'M GRATEFUL WE WERE ABLE TO CATCH IT OTHERWISE, SOMEONE COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED WHILE UNLOADING THE REAR OR IT COULD HAVE ROLLED AWAY AND CRASHED WHILE WE WERE IN THE HOUSE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - SEATAC, WA
I WAS ENTERING THE FREEWAY DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, AND NEEDED TO CROSS 4 LANES OF TRAFFIC. I GOT TO THE SECOND LANE AND STARTED TO MOVE INTO THE THIRD LANE. WHEN I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR, IT WAS AS IF I SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES. THE CAR HAD NO POWER AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE FOR A FEW SECONDS. THE CAR BEHIND ME NEARLY REAR-ENDED ME BECAUSE THERE WAS NO WARNING, NO BRAKE LIGHTS, SINCE I WAS PRESSING ON THE ACCELERATOR, YET THE CAR BEHAVED AS IF I HAD HIT THE BRAKES. THIS IS THE 3RD NEAR MISS DUE TO THIS HAPPENING. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS OCCASSIONALLY FOR THE PAST YEAR AND A HALF, BUT IT IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY NOW AND I FEAR AN ACCIDENT IS INEVITABLE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER BUT, SINCE I COULDN'T MAKE IT HAPPEN ON DEMAND, THEY TOOK NO ACTION. THEY SAID THERE WERE NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES APPEARING. IN THAT CASE, I DON'T SEE WHAT DIFFERENCE IT MAKES IF I CAN REPRODUCE IT FOR A TECH OR NOT. IF THERE ARE NO CODES APPEARING THEN MY THOROUGH DESCRIPTION OF THE PROBLEM SHOULD BE SUFFICIENT BECAUSE THE TECH IS NOT GOING TO GET ANY FURTHER INFORMATION OTHER THAN EXPERIENCING THE LOSS OF ACCELERATION PROBLEM. THERE ARE OTHERS REPORTING THIS BEHAVIOR ON CADILLACFORUMS.COM, AND THERE WAS EVEN A RECALL FOR THE 2013 SRX FOR THIS BEHAVIOR. I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY SINCE I NEVER KNOW WHEN THIS IS GOING TO HAPPEN AS I TRY TO ACCELERATE, ESPECIALLY WHEN ENTERING ANOTHER LANE. SOMETIMES THE CAR BUCKS AND JERKS BACK AND FORTH A FEW TIMES, OTHER TIMES IT JUST ACTS LIKE I HIT THE BRAKES AND SLOWS DOWN, BUT EVENTUALLY IT ACCELERATES AND RETURNS TO NORMAL BEHAVIOR. VERY DISCONCERTING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/22/2014 - CARROLLTON, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 2/9/15

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds