Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC SRX - 2012 CADILLAC SRX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 23 complaints filed for the 2012 CADILLAC SRX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CADILLAC SRX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CADILLAC SRX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine (2) Power Train (1) Structure (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Service Brakes (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/4/2014 - ABILENE, TX
WE STARTED THE CAR, AND WAS BACKING UP AND THERE WAS A GRINDING IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN TURNING IT RIGHT AND LEFT. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING OUT OF THE POWER STEERING PUMP INTO THE STEERING. THEY CLEANED IT ALL OUT, AND ADDED A THICKER FLUID ON 3/ 25/2014, WE STARTED THE CAR IT HAPPENED AGAIN WE TOOK IT DIRECTLY TO DEALER AND THEY AGREED SOMETHING WASN'T RIGHT. THEY PUT IN A NEW PUMP. WE PICKED IT UP HAD IT TWO DAYS AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. WE TOOK IT BACK,AND WAS TOLD THE DEALER CALLED GM AND THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING ELSE BECAUSE THEY DIDN'T HAVE THE PARTS. WE WERE TOLD IT WASN'T DANGEROUS, BUT I'M THINKING IF THE POWER STEERING FAIL WORKING WHILE DRIVING, WE COULD CRASH

View Details

STEERING

4/4/2014 - ABILENE, TX
WE STARTED THE CAR, AND WAS BACKING UP AND THERE WAS A GRINDING IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN TURNING IT RIGHT AND LEFT. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING OUT OF THE POWER STEERING PUMP INTO THE STEERING. THEY CLEANED IT ALL OUT, AND ADDED A THICKER FLUID ON 3/ 25/2014, WE STARTED THE CAR IT HAPPENED AGAIN WE TOOK IT DIRECTLY TO DEALER AND THEY AGREED SOMETHING WASN'T RIGHT. THEY PUT IN A NEW PUMP. WE PICKED IT UP HAD IT TWO DAYS AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. WE TOOK IT BACK,AND WAS TOLD THE DEALER CALLED GM AND THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING ELSE BECAUSE THEY DIDN'T HAVE THE PARTS. WE WERE TOLD IT WASN'T DANGEROUS, BUT I'M THINKING IF THE POWER STEERING FAIL WORKING WHILE DRIVING, WE COULD CRASH

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2014 - SADDLEBROOKE, AZ
VEHICLE DRIVER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, NOR ANY OTHER AIR BAG, UPON COLLISION TO REAR OF A STOPPED PICK UP TRUCK. SPEED OF OFFENDING VEHICLE WAS APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH. DRIVER SUFFERED CHEST INJURY FROM SEAT BELT. DAMAGE ESTIMATED TO FRONT END EXCEEDS $10,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/31/2014 - KAPLAN , LA
I FELL ASLEEP WHILE DRIVING, JUMPED A LEVEE, RAN THROUGH A FENCE, AND WRECKED IN A GRASSY WATERY AREA. MY ENGINE WAS SMASHED, THE MOTOR MOUNT BROKE, AND MY TIRES ARE PUSHED BACK. MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. MY FACE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND MY NOSE IS BROKEN. I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT IF THERE IS ANY RECALLS ON THIS CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/25/2014 - RIDGEFIELD, NJ
2012 CADILLAC SRX. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS NO FAIL SAFE, CHIME OR TIMED SHUTOFF ONCE HE LEFT THE VEHICLE. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO HIS VEHICLE TO FIND THE VEHICLE RUNNING AND THE GARAGE FULL OF FUMES. THE STEERING WHEEL AND WINDSHIELD BLOCKED THE VIEW OF THE ENGINE START/STOP BUTTON. WHICH HAS RESULTED IN THE CONSUMER LEAVING THE ENGINE RUNNING ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE START BUTTON SHOULD BE MOVED TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT OR UP OR DOWN , IN ORDER TO BE VISIBLE FROM THE DRIVER'S SEAT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/19/2014 - BURKBURNETT, TX
LATE IN THE FIRST YEAR AFTER WE PURCHASED THE CAR WE NOTICED FROM THE BACK HOW LOW THE FUEL TANK EXTENDED TOWARD THE GROUND. WE DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF THIS UNTIL THIS YEAR WE NOTICED A DENT ON THE TANK. I CHECKED THE NEW SRXS AT THE DEALER AND FOUND THE NEWER MODELS HAD MUCH MORE GROUND CLEARANCE ON THE TANK. WE THOUGHT THERE MUST HAVE BEEN SOME PROBLEMS AND THEY HAD CHANGED THE TANK CLEARANCE TO CORRECT THIS. I HAVE NOT YET CONTACTED THE DEALER TO SEE IF A CORRECTION CAN BE MADE ON MY CAR. THIS APPEARS TO BE A POSSIBLE CAUSE FOR A FIRE WITH THE TANK IF YOU BACKED OVER A HIGH CURB WITH THE TANK EXTENDING PAST THE BACK WHEELS TOWARD THE REAR BUMPER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/27/2013 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN DECELERATION OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AT THE DEALER BUT THE DEFECT COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED AND NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CONTACT INDICATED SHE EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE RECURRINGLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 280.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2013 - AVON PARK , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CADILLAC SRX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE TRAVELING 65 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, WHO DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE ENGINE MOTOR. THE ENGINE AND MOTOR WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 8,600. UPDATED 2/4/14 UPDATED 02/06/14

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2013 - BURLINGTON, MA
THE SRX 3.6 LITER DETONATES CONTINUOUSLY WHEN 87 OR 89 OCTANE IS USED AND THE OUTSIDE AIR TEMP. IS 70 DEGREES OR ABOVE. THE CURRENT PROGRAM IN THE 2012, 2013 AND CURRENT SRX CROSSOVERS CAN NOT RETARD THE TIMING ENOUGH WHEN THE KNOCK SENSORS SENSE THE PINGING. GM HAS REPLACED ENGINES TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE BUT HAS FOUND THAT IT IS A SOFTWARE ISSUE AND IS WORKING ON WRITING A NEW PROGRAM FOR ALL SRX CROSSOVERS, THEY CLAIM A SOFTWARE UPDATE IN A YEAR. DRIVING A CONTINUOUSLY DETONATING ENGINE WILL PERMANENTLY DAMAGE THE ENGINE AND CAN CAUSE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/5/2013 - SCOTIA, NY
I WAS PULLING IN TO A PARKING SPACE AT A LOCAL MALL. AS I TURNED MY WHEEL MY VEHICLE TOOK OFF AND I LOST ALL CONTROL. THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED AND THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP. WITHIN A FEW SECONDS MY VEHICLE HIT 3 OTHER PARKED VEHICLES PUSHING ONE IN TO ANOTHER. I BELIEVE I HAD THEN EXPERIENCED SUDDEN ACCELERATION. THREE VEHICLES WERE TOWED AWAY INCLUDING MINE. NO TICKETS WERE ISSUED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds